Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Down HouseDown House
(52)
Contemporary American | Heights / Washington, Houston
Reserve Now
Cane Rosso-HeightsCane Rosso-Heights
(8)
Italian | Heights / Washington, Houston
Reserve Now
Bernadine'sBernadine's
(212)
Seafood | Heights / Washington, Houston
Reserve Now
Hunky DoryHunky Dory
(197)
Steakhouse | Heights / Washington, Houston
Reserve Now
Foreign Correspondents –Foreign Correspondents –
(165)
Thai | Downtown, Houston
Reserve Now
RitualRitual
(96)
American | Heights / Washington, Houston
Reserve Now
Black & WhiteBlack & White
(71)
Mediterranean | Heights / Washington, Houston
Reserve Now
Arthur AveArthur Ave
(38)
Italian | Heights / Washington, Houston
Reserve Now
Republic Diner + SojubangRepublic Diner + Sojubang
Reviews Coming Soon
Korean | Heights / Washington, Houston
Reserve Now
Crisp - HeightsCrisp - Heights
(225)
Contemporary Italian | Heights / Washington, Houston
Reserve Now
Ginger & ForkGinger & Fork
(59)
Chinese (Canton) | Heights / Washington, Houston
Reserve Now
Mascalzone - ShepherdMascalzone - Shepherd
(134)
Italian | Heights / Washington, Houston
Reserve Now
Cavatore Italian RestaurantCavatore Italian Restaurant
(428)
Italian | Heights / Washington, Houston
Reserve Now
Glass WallGlass Wall
(754)
Contemporary American | Heights / Washington, Houston
Reserve Now
Nundini Chef's TableNundini Chef's Table
(187)
Italian | Heights / Washington, Houston
Reserve Now

About Harold's @ Heights General Store

350 W 19th St
Suite C
Houston, TX 77008
View Larger Map

Harold's @ Heights General Store is located in the heart of the Heights on 19th Street and is a multi-concept with two levels. Our restaurant serves authentic Southern/Creole cuisine and is located on the second floor. In addition to our main dining room, we have a full service bar, outdoor covered terrace overlooking 19th Street and a private dining room. The lower level features a Pizzaria with pizza from our brick stone oven and bar serving beer & wine as well as our neighborhood market where you can find fresh produce, gift items and many local items.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Market & Coffee Bar opens daily at 9:00am
Pizzaria opens daily at 11:00am
Harold's Restaurant - Bar - Terrace Hours:
Lunch: Tues-Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Tues-Wed 5:00pm-9:00pm
Thur-Sat: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm-8:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Ashland

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 360-6204

Website:
http://www.heightsgeneralstore.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music on Sunday Nights

Catering:
Contact us at info@heightsgs.com or 713-360-6204 to discuss catering options.

Parking Details:
There is a private lot directly behind the restaurant. Entrance is on Ashland between 18th and 19th St. An additional parking lot is behind Comerica Bank. Entrance is on 18th St. and the exit feeds into the alley behind the bank. Elevator to the restaurant is behind the building between 18th and 19th, but can also be accessed by entering the General
Store on 19th and walking through toward the back catching the elevator or stairway. Street parking is also available on 19th and Ashland.

Executive Chef:
Antoine Ware

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact us at info@heightsgs.com or call 713-360-6204 to discuss reserving all or part of the rooftop terrace, private dining room or our entire space for your next special event.

Sort By:
Newest
85 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice lunch

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 16, 2014

We received good service; they could have used an additional waiter. The food was good, some items better than others. The restaurant was only about 1/4 filled, partly because of the area and partly because it's new. Recommendation of PB pie was spot on!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

One of the few places we have found wher ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 13, 2014

One of the few places we have found where we can enjoy a meal outside without smokers.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

HIDDEN gem....

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 7, 2014

Most people drive by and don't even realize that there is an AMAZING restaurant on the roof! FABULOUS terrace with a fireplace....and it overlooks the Historic 19th Street. Food is consistently yummy with Southern Flair....and servers are helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Nice venue....

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 1, 2014

In looking for a place for a late lunch, I found this little gem. Everything was prepared and presented very well...small, cozy dining room with a very nice patio on the upper level. Yummy desserts...nice variety of hot menu items...I will return soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

disappointed

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 24, 2014

went for lunch on Sunday. didnt know they only serve Brunch. the menu is different and not as large. the food was good but we were expecting the regular or the restaurant week menu. neither were available

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

I rate the entire experience (Food + Dri ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 20, 2014

I rate the entire experience (Food + Drinks) save a few minor glitches; nothing to keep us from coming back many times. Decor is ultra-new, Harolds still has comforatable feel of its once-popular clothing store roots. Steaks were two of the most tender and flavorful I've ever ordered. Two ribeyes equally flavorful and juicy even though one was prepared "medium". The blackened fresh snapper was outstanding and not overly seasoned. WOW is how I describe the house made cucumber vodka martini that becomes an AMAZING tart martini if you ask to hold the sugar and tonic (off menu). House Chardonnay is also good choice. I thought the romaine lettuce was cut too small and the forks felt undersized for such outstanding food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Looking Forward to Another Visit

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2014

I was not sure what to expect from Harold's, but I have to say that I was very pleased with this HRW choice. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was very nice. We were sat at a dirty table, but it was cleaned quickly so it was an overall great experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Like Home

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2014

Many of the dishes here "feels like home", if you're from the south; but with a bit of a twist. You are welcomed by the owner as you enter, as well the friendly staff. I will return for lunch/brunch and happy hour. Just not all in one day! :)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great!!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2014

Amazing! Suggested it to some colleagues of mine and what a freaking awesome lunch!!! All of us will def be back! Thanks for a great time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Return only for the view.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2014

The outside patio seems like a great place to people watch as the restaurant is located near bustling 19th street. As for the service, our waiter was very friendly and personable, albeit somewhat slow. The food on the other hand was fairly bland and unmemorable. The bread pudding was dry and tasteless, the fried chicken was very moist and juicy, but terribly bland. and over fried. The mac and cheese was bland, the coconut cake was a weird texture and not enjoyable. My steak, on the other hand, was perfectly seasoned and cooked as requested. I won't be returning.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Excellent

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2014

Food is fantastic, but it takes a while to get out from the kitchen.

Shrimp and Grits. Awesome

Bolognese pasta was fantastic, it's not italian, it was somewhat of a Hungarian family tasting dish, with a fried egg on top, so SO yummy!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Quaint Spot

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2014

I visited Harold's for the first time for Houston Restaurant Weeks. I found a great spot to come back to again and again. I tried the peach and arugula salad, shrimp and grits and the cobbler - all of which were delicious. I will also be back for the pizzeria downstairs.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

AWFUL

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2014

The cocktails prepared by Damian were great! The gumbo AND red beans and rice soup were lukewarm, but we thought things would improve. We ordered the hush puppies and were told they would not take long but after probably 10-15 minutes asked about them; Damian went to check and came back to tell us that there would be no hush puppies because they were on the '2 o'clock kitchen closing side' of the menu(which they were clearly on the bottom left side and were not included there - ALAS no hush puppies!! The peach/mozzarella salad had tasteless mozzarella and even worse (gag) cilantro (very thick) dressing?? The house made hot dog was inedible. I realize we were dining at a late afternoon time, but don't serve food if its AWFUL.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Greg, our waiter

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 9, 2014

did an excellent job of explaining the odd liquor law and the need for club membership. Tony, the manager was a true expert in hospitality. The food was fresh, well prepared and delicious. There was no wait time to be seated and food came out quickly and correct. Drinks were average. Prices were VERY good. We will be back frequently.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just fine

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2014

We went for the restaurant month menu, two kids in tow. I made reservations and it was pretty empty at 6 pm on a Thursday but it seemed like a very big deal that I asked for the fix prix menu. I've had the gumbo before and it was awesome - last time. This time, nice roux but the shrimp were quite overcooked. I had the shrimp and grits that were tasty but just too much brown stuff on a plate. I'd have been happier with a smaller portion of everything and a small side of greens. The coconut grandma's cake had a delicious description. I envisioned a layer cake. It was served in a ramekin. The top was quite delicious as my son can attest (didn't get too much of that!) but the underlying cake was soggy with coconut milk. Not my thing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Very nice restaurant; friendly but not t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2014

Very nice restaurant; friendly but not terribly efficient service, especially considering the dining room was not packed. Server gave us our food, and was never seen again, until it was time to present the check. Not even a refill on water glasses. Food was good, but not great. Way too much salt/seasoning in the collard greens; pretty much inedible. Baked flounder was delicious however. Dessert of individually cooked cobbler with vanilla ice cream on top was also delicious. Just not sure the quality of the entrees meets the standard of a restaurant with these menu prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Brunch 8/3/14

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2014

food service was extremely slow. Waitress was having to cover tables both inside and outside and it was very difficult to get her attention. when we ordered appetizers, we didn't see her again for 20 minutes to order our main course. Hopefully this will get better.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Great addition to 19th Street

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2014

As residents of the Heights, we are delighted to welcome these new neighbors! We felt like rock stars escaping the throngs on White Linen Night, to sweep in for our dinner reservations, made (amazingly) the morning of. I got the shrimp and grits and my husband got the steak -- both were delicious (though nothing fancy). Good, solid comfort food. Our only complaint was our less-than-helpful server. When asked for his suggestion for an appetizer, his response was "there are only two on the menu." When asked for a craft beer suggestion, he was equally irritated. Yes he was busy, but I hope this gem of a restaurant recognizes the need to cultivate warm, helpful, sincere relationships with its customers to ensure repeat business. We'll be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

White Linen Night Dinner

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 2, 2014

The menu was limited due to the WLN in the Height's, but overall it was good. The fried chicken with homemade mac n cheese and green beans were very tasty. We also had the hamburger, not quite as tasty, a bit bland. Overall the food was good, the craft beers were served very cold and lots of Karbach to choose from. Our server was excellent. Would love to go back and check out the full menu soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

My new favorite spot! Updated Southern ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2014

My new favorite spot! Updated Southern cooking but true to its roots.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Nice addition

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 26, 2014

Outstanding service. Delicious comfort food. Lovely ambience with tribute to Harold's. Great patio. I look forward to being a regular.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Cool spot with excellent service

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 13, 2014

I think all of us enjoyed our food very much. The pizzas are really tasty and allow you to be adventurous in toppings. The burger, according to my partner, was very good, as were the fries and the fried chicken. I especially like their variety of cocktails, though they are a bit pricey. The real gem of our experience was our server. She was energetic, fun and very nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Neighborhood favorite

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 12, 2014

This is officially our new favorite restaurant. We live off 18th street and have been to Heights General Store a few times and have loved every bite and every interaction with the staff! The sweet owner comes and checks on you and the southern hospitality is unmatchable. Try the PBLT pizza or the short rib pizza, right now the peach and arugula salad too is the perfect summer dinner!

Can't wait to go back on Mondays for Pizza and bottle of wine for $25!!! You'll thank me later.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not what I expected

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2014

The restaurant was very small but cozy. I liked the decor and the staff was fantastic. But the food was underwhelming. I had the pasta dish and the best way to describe it would be a very expensive version of Hamburger Helper. Not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Great rooftop terrace, covered with fans ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 5, 2014

Great rooftop terrace, covered with fans. Drink menu was inventive and ours were delicious!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Disappointed

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 29, 2014

This was our first visit to Heights General Store and my wife and I were very disappointed. The chicken was over cooked in old oil and dry. The cornbread was also old and dry. With many other restaurant options, we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Repeat Customer

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2014

We have been several times....Great Food...Warm and Friendly Atmosphere....Don't miss the mac and cheese....

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

great pastrami sandwich

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 22, 2014

My pastrami sandwich was delicious. It had the right amount of pastrami, not piled 2 inches thick, and the meat was made in house. I would have preferred more sauerkraut, but in general I enjoyed the sandwich. Unfortunately my friend did not like her Beef Debris Po'Boy

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

What a beautiful place!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 14, 2014

I wasn't that hungry when I came, but my friends got amazing looking food and all were delighted. I shared some Boudin Balls and Mac & Cheese and it was delicious. The place is really nice and bright and the staff really very friendly. I wish them great success. My only sadness was not having time to peruse the grocery store half!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They still need work

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 9, 2014

We wanted to give them another chance. Unfortunately, nothing has changed. Monday evenings they have a limited menu. The wedge salad, was good, BUT the chicken salad sandwich tasted like paper mulch. The pizza, while adequate, but not memorable. The white wine was tasty. The real problem is still the service. Our waitress took our drink order - one cocktail and a bottle of wine. The wine came out after the salad. We had to ask several times for cheese, red pepper, and water. We even had to ask other servers besdies our. Again, the restaurant was not busy, so I'm not sure what else could be the problem but poor training. I doubt we will go back again, which is sad because it is such a great space. They need to get some better training.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Heights General Store-a nice place

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 8, 2014

This is my second visit to Heights General Store. It is situated in the Heights on 19th Street in the old Harold's Men's Store building. The ambiance is great indoor and out. The food is delicious and the service is good. The noise level is a bid high, but not so much that it interferes with conversation at your table. I like the restaurant and will go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great new spot, southern comfort

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 8, 2014

Mostly southern comfort food, very simple dishes and hit the taste buds. Nothing to write home about, but I think it's a decent spot and a nice cafe for a casual lunch or dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Outstanding

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 6, 2014

There were six in our party -none of which had been here before - and we all can hardly wait to return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great brunch!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 1, 2014

This was our first time to try HGS brunch and we thought they have exceeded our expectations. One, looks like they have added more staff. We had bad experience with their dinner before, so that was a good change. We ordered a carafe of mimosa and for $20, it was very reasonable. The HGS burger was a very beefy one and best to share. The lost toast was simple yet tasty french toast. The crawfish fried pie was yummy and great for appetizer. Lastly, the beef debris po'boy was prob our favorite. Very juicy roasted beef and shredded across the bun with crunchy onion, tomato and lettuce. The staff was much more attentive this visit than our previous 2 dinner visits. It's good to see the restaurant is improving.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice Patio

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 1, 2014

The patio was great! Cocktails were fantastic. Fried Chicken was tasty but way overcooked and dry - coating was not crispy either. But I would be back just for the ambiance. Manager was very accommodating.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Mixed review

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 31, 2014

The food was tasty, but the service and noise level were off the chart TERRIBLE. Not sure if we will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

Very fresh and well prepared food. Ever ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 25, 2014

Very fresh and well prepared food. Everything was excellent. A very good place to go.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Great place!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 19, 2014

Great place for lunch with a friend! We split the arugula and pear salad and the reuben sandwich with their home made chips. Three out of three were delicious. They have a wonderful terrace! And for those who prefer the a/c like myself, the inside is as light and happy as the outside. Can't wait to go back and try the greek lamburger!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

What an overall fine time!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 16, 2014

This was a well priced all around fine time. Bartender, host, waitress, owner -- couldn't have been nicer and more eager for us to enjoy.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Wish it was better

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 11, 2014

We really wanted this to be better but the food was inconsistent. Fried chicken and grits were delicious but eggs, potatoes and lamb tostada were bland. Desserts were delicious.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.