About Hardware Grill

9698 Jasper Ave
Edmonton, AB T5H 3V5
View Larger Map

Established in 1996, hardware grill is an A-list dining spot in Canada. It is a glorious setting for Chef / Owner Larry Stewart's progressive Canadian Cuisine, bold flavors, dramatic presentation, creative and whimsical prairie regional flavors, French influenced style, enthralling design and impeccable standards of service form the entire experience hardware grill.

Local owners Melinda and Chef Larry Stewart have a hand picked brigade to offer culinary grace in an elegant casual setting with professional, convivial service.

Located in the heart of the Arts District, the Historic Goodridge Block is the perfect home for this restaurant that has come to epitomize contemporary regional cuisine at its best.

For groups of 9 and over, or the Chef's Table, please contact the restaurant for availability.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of 97th Street & Jasper Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 423-0969

Website:
http://www.hardwaregrill.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on 97th Street and both sides of Jasper Avenue. There is also underground parking at Canada Place across the street as well as several surface parking lots within 2 blocks.

Executive Chef:
Larry Stewart

Additional:
Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
"Edmonton has the best restaurant in Canada, the Hardware Grill.
The room is Frasier-and-Niles chic, but the lack of pretension is pure Martin Crane."

Restaurant Photos

Creme Brulee
Burrata Salad With Heirloom Beets and Figs.
60 Day Aged New York Steak
Bacon Wrapped Elk And Short Rib
Blackened Sea Bass With Prawn And Potato Crepes
Lobster Rissotto
Lamb Chop
Brownie
Kobe Beef Burger
Salmon

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

The Red Wine Cellar can accommodate groups up to 16 people. It comes with an exclusive server, and a wall-mounted HDTV for presentation and entertainment purposes. There are three available menus. Room charge is waived for groups of eight or more. The Red Wine Cell

Hardware Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Ambiance
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Fit for Foodies
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
12 More
Romantic
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Special Occasion
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Canadian
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Food
Edmonton
Best Service
Edmonton
Best Ambiance
Edmonton
Fit for Foodies
Edmonton
Romantic
Edmonton
Special Occasion
Edmonton
Most Booked
Edmonton
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

Special Occasion (120)
Fit for Foodies (102)
Romantic (93)
See All
Notable Wine List (77)
Good for Groups (46)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Hot Spot (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Scenic View (8)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1228 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waiter Shane recommended several ite ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Our waiter Shane recommended several items that sounded amazing. We tried the all and he was right! Exceptional service! We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and great service. Pricey ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic food and great service. Pricey but worth it

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was ok, certainly not gushing over th ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

It was ok, certainly not gushing over the food, service or environment. Touch over priced for the quality. The waiter was a tad pretentious, I wouldn't return.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was exceptional but a suprise was h ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was exceptional but a suprise was how good the cocktails are. The Solstice cocktail was insanely good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went here for my husband's birthday. ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We went here for my husband's birthday. It was so great! The food was amazing and our server was on the ball. It is not a place I would go often, but only due to the cost. But for once in a while it was worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lately my wife an I have spoiled ourselv ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Lately my wife an I have spoiled ourselves with a number of dining adventures, all of which ranked with high favorability ratings. Visiting from Calgary and having spent the evening dining at Hardware Grill this past week, I could not muster up one single criticism, not even a slight one. The menu selection, quantity, quality and presentation of food, along with the service and atmosphere were all excellent and helped to make our experience the highly enjoyable and memorable one that is was. We fully intend to revisit this experience the next opportunity we have.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of those restaurants you wal ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

This is one of those restaurants you walk passed a million times and it always looks empty. However, we entered and it was packed full on a wenesday night. Their interior blinds really do them a disservice, no one outside can enjoy the beautiful restoration of this lovely heritage site. While the decor and the quips our server made the whole meal were a bit dated, the food made up for it. I think this was a better experience for the meat eaters in the crowd, as the vegetarian meal was oily and overly infused with truffle oil. Dont get me wrong i love truffles but the taste should be a subtle delight, not so heavy handed you cant' taste anything else. But the steak and the elk were apparently delicious. We would probably eat here again for a special occasion. Make a reservation!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

After knowing that the Hardware Grill wa ...

 
·Dined on August 17, 2016

After knowing that the Hardware Grill was one of the best restaurants in Edmonton for a long time, we finally made a reservation and it was outstanding.

Each course offered good portion sizes that were prepared to perfection with numerous wonderful flavours.

Highly recommended for fine dining in downtown Edmonton.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated my daughter's 13th birthda ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We celebrated my daughter's 13th birthday with 4 kids; 9, 11,12 & 13 yrs old. The kids enjoyed the food and ordered from their regular menu. Not sure if they have a kids menu. Their regular menu has amazing food that you wouldn't find at other chain restaurants! Overall the food was fantastic! And the portions were generous! Their deserts were also very tasty! I would definitely recommend this restaurant to friends and family!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the appetizers of risotto, duck le ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

While the appetizers of risotto, duck leg confit, and tomato caprese were delicious. The main entrees were only okay. The flat iron steak dish came with grilled toast that ended up soggy from the steak juice and the crusted salmon dish did not stand out in anyway. The desserts were probably the most disappointing with the warm butter cake neither warm nor buttery. The cake itself was hard and crunchy. The PB&J dessert came with a peanut butter crumble that was again too hard and took away from the velvety cheesecake. Our waiter was nice enough but did not once ask us how our meals were and also did not take the time to explain the different parts of each dish. This was our second time at the restaurant because our first experience was so great! The food was delicious and the service exceptional. This year it felt like we were eating at a totally different restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

My wife I really enjoyed meals at HG. We ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My wife I really enjoyed meals at HG. We opted in on the trio meals. A decent selection of options to choose from on our first visit. The dishes were prepared perfectly and tasted amazing. The wine list also had some of my favorites. The restaurant atmosphere is good, and dress accordingly. Service was great and staff very knowledgeable. Pricing is reasonable for an excellent menu selection. I recommend it for evenings out with your spouse or partner, and special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The evening started out great. Good serv ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The evening started out great. Good service, quick bar service, a very attentive server. The meals were very good and tasty. Then it went downhill. The server disappeared. It appeared a large table sat in our section. After a long wait she came to see if we wanted dessert. Two of us ordered coffee and my wife ordered dessert. The coffee came and we waited, and waited,and waited. When she finally came back we asked for our bill and to cancel the dessert which obviously had not been prepared. A total damper on the evening so we paid the bill and left. I left a 20% gratuity but thinking back I should have cut it in half. At the time I thought she was just to busy but after I thought does anyone care. The restaurant made it's money, she got her tip. We were the only disappointed people. I would still recommend the restaurant but would not put up with the same kind of service again or it would be the last time.

Sincerely

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

We have lived in Edmonton for 50 plus ye ...

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We have lived in Edmonton for 50 plus years. This is , without a doubt, the finest restaurant in the City. In the past, we have had some good local as well as international meals however they do not compare to the great meal we had at the Hardware Grill. Some claim it to be expensive, I strongly disagree. Prices are very comparable to other local fine dining restaurants.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Definitely a great place with a great at ...

 
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Definitely a great place with a great atmosphere. We ordered the tenderloin and the vegetarian entree, both of which were fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I ordered the vegetarian sampler. Would ...

 
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I ordered the vegetarian sampler. Would have been fantastic if it wasn't so heavily salted. Couldn't even eat it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

I loved the food and the service was exc ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I loved the food and the service was excellent. You had a great wine selection but we are Prosecco drinkers and you only had 1 bottle to choose from. It would be nice to see a selection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The smoked tomato soup as well as the s ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The smoked tomato soup as well as the seabass were delicious. The wine selection was very good and our waiter Shane knew the menu very well . There was no room left for desert, we were completely satisfied.

It was daylight when we entered and left the restaurant and there were some sketchy people nearby. I know that I would not feel comfortable going on my own in the dark.

It would be good to know if a staff member would accompany their solo female patrons to their vehicle if requested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Literally the best meal we have had in E ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Literally the best meal we have had in Edmonton. We are not "foodies" and frankly have been confused with the obsession over delicious food. In the spirit of adventure we have sampled many of Edmonton's up and coming as well as established restaurants in the last year. The food and service at The Hardware Grill opened our eyes into why everyone is so in love with food. Fantastic!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The server was really knowledgeable and ...

 
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The server was really knowledgeable and friendly. Even recommend a delish dessert. Food was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I have been reading the r ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My husband and I have been reading the reviews for for Hardware Grill for years now, literally. We finally made it and we were not disappointed! Our reservation was for later, 8:30 pm and after a short while our section was virtually empty, very pleasant. The scallop starters were amazing, and both our elk and tenderloin entrees lived up to our expectations. Regrettably we had no room left to try dessert. The wine list is extensive but not necessarily expensive. We live out of town but can't wait to go back. We had a nice Saturday evening in town that started off right with a wonderful dinner experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been a few times to celebrate sp ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We have been a few times to celebrate special occasions and as always the food is great, with a great ambiance.

Overall the HG hit all the right notes, but with two small minor concerns

1) The waitress filling water and cleaning the tables was unpleasant and did not speak at all. My wife and I chalked it up to her having a bad day.

2) The Waiter did not ask if we were celebrating a special occasion, though we heard other waiters asking this question and being more attentive.

As mentioned minor concerns.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Was absolutely great. Food was fabulous. ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Was absolutely great. Food was fabulous. Service was awesome. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Easily the best in Edmonton. While Danie ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Easily the best in Edmonton. While Daniel Costa at Corso32 is amazing this is a different experience and all class.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was pleasant. Some of the ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The experience was pleasant. Some of the food was exceptional like our Pork Belly , however most were very one noted, lobster macaroni had too much truffle oil ,I believe was the flavor, the same for my tortellini and the macaroni lacked lobster! The Caesar salad was very bland, no anchovies, garlic was light , the crouton curls were tasteless and soft. I believe our waitress had too many tables assigned to her and therefore dishes arrived room temp, even the crème brulee. Both my husband and my self will give it another try , we enjoyed a lovely Amarone

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was awesome!! Service was awesome ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was awesome!! Service was awesome!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful atmosphere, and excellent serv ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, and excellent service. Waiter was very professional but a lot of fun. My companions had the sea bass which was exceptional and is their specialty. I had the prix fix. All which was great altho the flat iron steak was a little bit flavourless and the veggies provided with were not appealing. Other than that, great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal was awesome! Shane is a great s ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The meal was awesome! Shane is a great server!! Very knowledgable and super personable

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This is our second time dinning at the H ...

 
·Dined on July 26, 2016

This is our second time dinning at the Hardware Grill , were from Fort McMurray so we don't get to edmonton often. We went this time for our first anniversary and everything was absolutely amazing. My server gave me a spoon for my butternut squash ravioli sauce which blew me away and I didn't have to feel silly asking for one . He also would appear out of no wate and top up my wine without saying a word which made me feel extra special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overal good dining experience, but why a ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Overal good dining experience, but why ask if it is a special occasion? Since nothing was done by the restaurant to acknowledge a special event?

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We went to the Hardware Grill for a mil ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We went to the Hardware Grill for a milestone birthday for my wife. Food was fantastic, service excellent, and all around a wonderful dining experience. I highly recommend for an unforgettable meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food- super waitress( cuteGerman ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food- super waitress( cuteGerman lady very professional ) Four seniors were seated facing young romatics- we were moved as per our request-thank you. Will be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Large portion sizes were a pleasant surp ...

 
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Large portion sizes were a pleasant surprise. Excellent service and wonderful ambiance for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome! Have always loved this restaur ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Awesome! Have always loved this restaurant and is truly a gem for Edmonton! :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My fiancé and I had a great experience a ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My fiancé and I had a great experience at the hardware grill. The food was delicious and the service was great. They made us feel very special there by giving us one of he nicest tables in the restaurant because we dressed up nice for dinner. Would definitely go back there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an excellent experience with exce ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was an excellent experience with excellent food.

One of our members however did not enjoy the amount of choice and price. However he did enjoy the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Best meal I've ever had. Friendly servic ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Best meal I've ever had. Friendly service, great atmosphere, delicious food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved our first experience here. The ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We loved our first experience here. The old building has lots of character. We appreciated the mature staff and the advise they offered on the menu. Everyone we encountered was professional, friendly and relaxed. We had the sea bass, and the salmon. Both were delicious and good size portions. The KFC(Korean cauliflower) was not greasy(it was sooooo good) The caprese tomatoes were not as tasty as some I've had. We shared the mint white chocolate creme brûlée and I found it too heavy and I wouldn't order this flavor again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is amazing. The service is pr ...

 
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This place is amazing. The service is professional yet friendly

Always enjoy this dining experience when I visit Edmonton

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Oversized portions, and no real special ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Oversized portions, and no real special focus. Dessert (white chocolate mint creme brulee) was inedible, and they even managed to ruin strawberries by coating them in balsamic vinaigrette. Apps and main were tasty enough, but way too much, with poorly conceived accompanying items. Just a bit behind the times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

The evening was very nice and quite comf ...

 
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The evening was very nice and quite comfortable. The ambiance was very nice.

It was our 48th Anniversary and the service and food was very good.

The only "disappointment" might have been that, even though our Anniversary was noted on the reservation booking, we had no mention or even a word of any kind from the staff regarding our special occasion.

All we expected was maybe a "Congratulations" or acknowledgement of the event.

Thank You!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.