Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Hardware Grill

Established in 1996, hardware grill is an A-list dining spot in Canada. It is a glorious setting for Chef / Owner Larry Stewart's progressive Canadian Cuisine, bold flavors, dramatic presentation, creative and whimsical prairie regional flavors, French influenced style, enthralling design and impeccable standards of service form the entire experience hardware grill.

Local owners Melinda and Chef Larry Stewart have a hand picked brigade to offer culinary grace in an elegant casual setting with professional, convivial service.

Located in the heart of the Arts District, the Historic Goodridge Block is the perfect home for this restaurant that has come to epitomize contemporary regional cuisine at its best.

For groups of 9 and over, or the Chef's Table, please contact the restaurant for availability.

9698 Jasper Ave
Edmonton, AB T5H 3V5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of 97th Street & Jasper Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 423-0969

Website:
http://www.hardwaregrill.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on 97th Street and both sides of Jasper Avenue. There is also underground parking at Canada Place across the street as well as several surface parking lots within 2 blocks.

Executive Chef:
Larry Stewart

Additional:
Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
"Edmonton has the best restaurant in Canada, the Hardware Grill.
The room is Frasier-and-Niles chic, but the lack of pretension is pure Martin Crane."

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Ring in the New Year with HW! Come Dine with us this NYE
PREPAID EVENT 5-7pm 3Course menu $110, 7:15+ 4Course menu $150
REFUNDS IN GC FORM ONLY AFTER DEC 15th

Hardware Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (74)
Good for a Date (64)
Good for Anniversaries (59)
See All
Romantic (57)
Creative Cuisine (51)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Notable Wine List (38)
Worth the Drive (35)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Business Meals (32)
Cozy (27)
Good for Groups (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Local Ingredients (16)
Healthy (15)
Authentic (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Casual (7)
Seasonal (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Fun (4)
Scenic View (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1625 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Our experience at the Hardware Grill was outstanding. The food was delicious and the service was really great. We will come back again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 15, 2017

The service was amazing, the food was fantastic, highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 15, 2017

The food was delicious .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Excellent food. Amazing service. Beautiful restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

As always, a delight to dine in a warm comfortable atmosphere with great service and a wonderful menu of options. From the appetizer to desert, Hardware Grill does not disappoint. Granted, if you’re looking for a cheap night out, this is not the place. However, if it’s great cuisine and a special night for that special person you’re looking for…DO IT!!!! Your “brownie point” score board will be racked up.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We had a wonderful time here. The foie gras was as delicious as always, the sea bass excellent, and my date loved her planked salmon. The service was great, and they gave us the captain's table, which was top notch. The only downside was not hearing "another one down!". Hope it comes back. Cheers.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Excellent atmosphere and food. Great place to unwind after a work day .

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Highly recommend!! The scallops for a starter and the sea bass for a main! Excellent!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Wonderful experience, friendly and seasoned staff. We enjoyed the evening and never felt that we should rush so the table could be filled again like other some Edmonton restaurants. Well done!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Possibly the best dining experience we have ever had. We both hadn’t the elk and beef short ribs which was fantastic.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The food was top notch! Our waiter, Curtis, was funny, authentic, and was wonderful to deal with.
The ambience could be appropriate for a special dinner out, but not to romantic for a business meal or friendly get together. A great value for your dollar and they were great about sharing meals as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Enjoyed a evening night out with my wonderful wife, witch we did need a brake for the dally busy life what we do have. Plus to add on top of our night out we stayed overnight at the Hyatt hotel just around the corner witch I had reservations.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

First time at Hardware Grill, but it won't be our last. Great recommendations made by our server, and the food was excellent. Expect to pay a high price, but the portions are generous, and you will not leave hungry. We tried the appetizers (tomato bisque, lobster risotto), 4 different main meals, and the fantastic desserts. Great service by the server - not too intrusive, but personable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Fantastic service and very good meal. This has got to be the best table service we have had for a very long time! The restaurant is such that even with a table of six we had an intimate meal and best of all could easily hear one another with ease.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

The Hardware Grill has never been less than excellent in our many meals there. It's pricey but it's a sure shot great food and service.
FAn for life....

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

The food variety is creative. We were not keen on sitting on the semi round booth as it puts the diners across the aisle in direct line of sight and they become a distraction.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Great food and good place to go for birthdays!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 3, 2017

It was fine... nothing particularly special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 2, 2017

I love coming back to the Hardware Grill. It makes the perfect spot for date night or any special occasion, and they were fabulous as usual in accommodating my allergies. I love that so many items on the menu are made in house. Absolutely amazing!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Food was great. All around great experience! Very happy would defiantly recommend to friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Still one of our favorite places to eat. Food and service are always top notch.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 30, 2017

The food was ok but we have had better in our visits in the past. The waiter was awkward and strange and had difficulty with the basic concept of not everyone ordering appetizers and not everyone having entrees and when food would arrive. He made the dinner less then enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

It was the best meal I have had in a long time. I really cant complain at all! Thank you for a great night Hardware Grill!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

The Lobster risotto was crunchy hard and the lobster we could not cut. Way over cooked. Same with the Elk. The Oil that you dipped your bread tasted old. I felt like I was at a pub with the wooden tables and the hostess stomping through the area every few minutes. Not a nice experience for an anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Waited for a considerable time to see a waitress, food was ok, nothing amazing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The food wasn't as good as we had anticipated.
I had called after making my reservation and left a message asking if we could experience the chef's table and no one bothered to call me back. Very disappointing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

So good! The service was fast and efficient to deliver the amazing dishes to the table. The elk was a can't miss!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I have been going to the Hardware Grill since it opened, for both business and personal dining and it is consistently good with great food. I live in Vancouver but consider the Hardware Grill the best restaurant in Edmonton for a fancy dinner and night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

They seated us early, our server was very friendly and efficient, the food was delicious! We didn't like that gratuity was already added to the bill, he would have made more without that. Other than that our experience was great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great atmosphere! Amazing food! Great service with good recommendations!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Our waiteress, from Germany, was very good and attentionate, Super professionnal. She made good suggestions and represented the restaurent very well.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Set ice and food were incredible. Would go back to Edmonton just for this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

We went here for my 40th birthday last night. I have never been but heard great things. Honestly, I wasn't blown away. The service was completely canned - like the waiter had said the same thing 500 times. The atmosphere could have been much better... I think they had music playing but you could barely hear it. Our table was a half circle shape that faced directly toward another table. Glad there wasn't anyone seated at it (it was a booth style and faced our table). I wasn't in love with anything I ate... and at $175, I should have left loving something. We had the truffle mac n cheese to start. I had the bacon wrapped elk & slow braised beef rib. My wife had the crab-crusted cedar planked salmon, which she found all to be too salty. For dessert we had the Crete brûlée with a maple bacon donut. I asked for no bacon on it and it came with bacon... pretty sure our server only had us as a table, so not sure how he missed that one. Anyway, we're not really fine diners but every now and again we give it a go. I'd rather save my dollars and hit up a middle of the road restaurant for half the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Anazing food and staff. Would go back any day. Their three course menu for $50 is an amazing deal. The portion size is quite large and it's all very filling.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance. The dessert was delicious. The salmon dish was covered with so many flavours that it took away the amazing flavour of the salmon. The waiter seemed disinterested. Very disappointing, for

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The food was phenomenal and the service impeccable. I must recommend the Seabass. My husband had it and it was so moist and tender it's actually melted in your mouth. A fantastic place to go with friends or for that special someone. We will definitely be back again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our waiter Shane was great! We took his recommendations and ordered the KFC for our appetizer and the sea bass and bacon wrapped elk and braised short rib for our mains. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent all around experience. Food was superb, as was the service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent food and fantastic service. Great place for our anniversary celebration!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Absolutely delicious. Portions are also surprisingly generous for fine dining. A wonderful choice for a special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.