About Hardware Grill

9698 Jasper Ave
Edmonton, AB T5H 3V5
View Larger Map

Established in 1996, hardware grill is an A-list dining spot in Canada. It is a glorious setting for Chef / Owner Larry Stewart's progressive Canadian Cuisine, bold flavors, dramatic presentation, creative and whimsical prairie regional flavors, French influenced style, enthralling design and impeccable standards of service form the entire experience hardware grill.

Local owners Melinda and Chef Larry Stewart have a hand picked brigade to offer culinary grace in an elegant casual setting with professional, convivial service.

Located in the heart of the Arts District, the Historic Goodridge Block is the perfect home for this restaurant that has come to epitomize contemporary regional cuisine at its best.

For groups of 9 and over, or the Chef's Table, please contact the restaurant for availability.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of 97th Street & Jasper Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 423-0969

Website:
http://www.hardwaregrill.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on 97th Street and both sides of Jasper Avenue. There is also underground parking at Canada Place across the street as well as several surface parking lots within 2 blocks.

Executive Chef:
Larry Stewart

Additional:
Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
"Edmonton has the best restaurant in Canada, the Hardware Grill.
The room is Frasier-and-Niles chic, but the lack of pretension is pure Martin Crane."

Restaurant Photos

Creme Brulee
Burrata Salad With Heirloom Beets and Figs.
60 Day Aged New York Steak
Blackened Sea Bass With Prawn And Potato Crepes
Bacon Wrapped Elk And Short Rib
Lobster Rissotto
Lamb Chop
Kobe Beef Burger
Brownie
Salmon

Private Dining

The Red Wine Cellar can accommodate groups up to 16 people. It comes with an exclusive server, and a wall-mounted HDTV for presentation and entertainment purposes. There are three available menus. Room charge is waived for groups of eight or more. The Red Wine Cell

Hardware Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Notable Wine List
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Special Occasion
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
7 More
Most Booked
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Food
Edmonton
Notable Wine List
Edmonton
Special Occasion
Edmonton
Most Booked
Edmonton
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

special occasion (142)
fit for foodies (119)
romantic (100)
See All
notable wine list (80)
good for groups (57)
neighborhood gem (29)
hot spot (15)
late-night find (11)
great for lunch (9)
scenic view (5)
great for brunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1180 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Service was slow...disorganized when it ...

Dined 4 days ago

Service was slow...disorganized when it was time to pay. The food was good...some better than others.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing food. Great service! Waiter was ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing food. Great service! Waiter was amazing at giving suggestions with wine pairings and dishes to recommend. No wishy washy commentary at all. He was very decisive with what he thought was good. Kind and funny to boot!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Hardware Grill is a great place to g ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The Hardware Grill is a great place to go. We have been there twice for our anniversary and a dinner with friends. It is pricey but the food is amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was delicious. Would highly rec ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The food was delicious. Would highly recommend the lobster risotto and scallops as starters as well as the salmon and sea bass for mains! Service however was generally weak.....and not a particularily busy night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My New Favorite!

Dined on June 11, 2016

We received a gift card to the Hardware Grill and had heard that it was an amazing experience. We saved it for a special evening and was not disappointed. They gave us a choice of tables to sit at, both were great but one was exceptional and that was just the start. The waiter was amazing and not in our face! We wanted everything on the menu so we decided to try almost all of the appetizers!! I am still dreaming about the scallops!!! As we watched main courses go by, we started planning what we would order next time! The atmosphere was terrific, the music was easy listening and we could actually talk to each other without yelling. This truly is our new favorite and can't wait until the next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing choice!

Dined on June 10, 2016

I enjoy great food and wine . I live on a budget and hate to dine out and have a negative experience. Hardware Grill exceeded all of my expectations. The Prix Fixe menu is huge in portion and value and they have an extensive wine list. The highlight of the evening was our server.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

My wife and I are foodies and have tried ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

My wife and I are foodies and have tried many paces throughout North America and internationally - this place is five star, the sea bass was great, service was great, wine suggestions great, it's all great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So great we went town nights in a row!

Dined on June 9, 2016

This restaurant is the best. The service was perfect and the food was divine. So great in fact, that we went back the next night to sneak in one more dinner before leaving Edmonton. Highly recommend it and looking forward to our next visit. I hope to book the Chef's Table next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tasty, high quality, good value

Dined on June 7, 2016

Food was high quality and very tasty. The quantities were surprisingly large for the quality level. The price fix menu was a great value. Service was prompt and friendly. Overall very nice experience.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Loved

Dined on June 5, 2016

The elk /bison main course was wonderfully prepared.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Oh what a meal!

Dined on June 5, 2016

A lot of heart goes into the meal preparations, an assortment of fresh bread, extensive wine list and very attentive servers. Desserts were sadly, not very notable, however I have yet to try everything on the menu. There's hope for redemption here! Will be going back for every special occasion!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

would recommend

Dined on June 4, 2016

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who likes more then the basics , the food is not just meat and potatoes but some basics layered with incredible add ons. Not the norm but great food , decent prices, a wine list that has several Canadian wines and a decent location in a historical spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Warmth and charm...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Keep the food coming, and interesting creations. This is my top dining room in the downtown area for the last dozen yrs., Class, and service is top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great Dinnng

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was fantastic. But this was our second time dinning here and both times we had desert and both time it was not at all good. The first time we had the warm gingerbread cake and this time we had the warm butter cake. They where dry and rubbery. The rest of our meal was great. We will go back again but we will not be having dessert

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my top picks for fine dinning in ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

One of my top picks for fine dinning in Edmonton. Amazing dishes and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was straight forward and the qu ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

The menu was straight forward and the quality of the service and food were excellent. I can't wait until I eat here again! We each had items off the prix Fixe menu and left absolutely stuffed and satisfied.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I would really like to see them bring ba ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

I would really like to see them bring back their lunch time menu

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Great service, good food

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great service, good food

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food and service was exceptional. Th ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The food and service was exceptional. The atmosphere we felt could have felt warmer however. Will be back

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

I had the prix fixe 3-course menu when I ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I had the prix fixe 3-course menu when I dined here on Saturday night. The tomato caprese salad was delicious. I had the lobster mac n' cheese for my main. Also great, but just be sure your partner has a few bites as well...VERY garlicky!! And for dessert I had the warm butter cake...a wonderful way to finish the meal, not too rich or heavy after a very rich entrée. The ambience is upscale (especially for Edmonton) and we had a very accommodating server. We didn't like the 1st bottle of wine we chose and he was very happy to change it for something else. He just wanted to make sure we were happy. I would highly recommend The Hardware Grill, and I will definitely be returning!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyable evening with my friend from South Africa

Dined on May 12, 2016

The menu was varied and we found dishes to satisfy each of our appetites. She had the lamb and I had the sea bass. The wines were very good and the meals were delicious, and we saved a little room to share the gingerbread and mango ice cream. My only disappointment was that our mouths got very dry afterwards which is a sure sign for me that MSG was used. I'm not allergic to MSG but I find that although it enhances the flavour, my thirst becomes insatiable and quite often end up with a headache. I went to the Hardware Grill to avoid the restaurant chains that use MSG ubiquitously. The food at HG would likely taste wonderful without the added flavouring salts. Why not feature MSG free entrees?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was friendly and prompt. We ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The service was friendly and prompt. We had the sea bass and the strip loin and both meals were FABULOUS! The food was hot and delicious, the best meal we'd had in a long time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

We had dinner at hardware grill for my f ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

We had dinner at hardware grill for my fiancé's 30th birthday. I was really excited that we were able to go here again because the last time we went it was amazing but this time was a little bit different. I found that our waiter was in a rush and then my fiancé ordered a regular Cesaer to drink and it was so spicy that he couldn't even drink it. My fiancé's steak was also over cooked but mine was fantastic. I actually wouldn't go back here just because my expectations were so high from the last time and once we got our bill it was quite expensive and I didn't feel like the food lived up to that.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service5

We had a great anniversary dinner. The ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a great anniversary dinner. The service is second to none and the food was beyond amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my boyfriend for his birthday dinner; Honestly the best in the city. Neither he nor I had been before & The reviews I read beforehand were 100% accurate. We haven't stopped talking about it. Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Our waitress was very professional and k ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our waitress was very professional and kind

food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed both of our dinners: the beef ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

We enjoyed both of our dinners: the beef tenderloin and the duck , both excellently prepared and presented. The gingerbread dessert was delicious and our waiter was friendly and attentive. My friend had never been before and was very impressed.

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

A few hits, but no home run

Dined on May 4, 2016

Arriving before 6 PM on a weekday, my partner and I each opted for the $50 "Before Sunset" menu. Of our two appetizers, the butternut squash ravioli was outstanding, but the BLT contained a few brown leaves was drowning in dressing. Of our entrees, the salmon was very good, but its spinach bed was too salty to enjoy. The pork ribs, root veggies and fries were underwhelming. For dessert, the cake on pineapple was good, but the brownie was a marvelous taste sensation! The service was attentive when we arrived, but dropped off noticeably as the other tables filled.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food with tepid service

Dined on April 29, 2016

As always, food is great here. Ordered from the 'before sunset' menu and had the 3 course fixed price menus. Had the wedge BLT which was ok, didn't love the dressing but the romaine was beautifully crisp. Short ribs were ridiculous. Dessert was a wonderful butter cake with caramelized slice of pineapple. Wine menu is truly spectacular. Our primary server seemed a bit offish and apathetic but the assisting staff (bread, water) were fabulous and much more outgoing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Dinner with my sister

Dined on April 28, 2016

My sister and i ordered the small plates so that we could sample more of the items on the menu. We walked away with a new fav....the duck confit. Exceptional!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Wine stock could be improved

Dined on April 27, 2016

This is the second time I've dined here recently where I had to go through multiple selections of wines before they had the bottle listed in stock. When they did have the bottle it was not the vintage as listed, which is another problem. They even advised the list was just updated, which I doubt. I'd suggest either correcting the list routinely or at minimum mark out what no longer remains so guest don't have to keep making another selection. It's not the servers fault but then becomes awkward, particularly for a business dinner.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good for special dietary needs. Del ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Very good for special dietary needs. Delicious food, beautifully cooked. Presentation excellent. Service very cordial.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fortunately, some dining establishments stay great

Dined on April 26, 2016

The recent renovations at Hardware Grill made it even more palatable, so to speak: you can select an intimate rounded booth or sit near the kitchen and observe the chefs put together their wonderful concoctions. The food has stayed consistent since they've opened, an anomaly in itself since the Edmonton dining scene can be iffy and fickle. It's without question the best place pre-symphony or pre-Citadel theatre but regardless you should go there to revel in their signature menu items, most notably the Porcini-Crusted Sea Bass which never fails to impress. It's a brilliant arrangement of colors, textures, and succulent perfectly done fish. I have only once ordered anything else since the opening, so I estimate at least 50 immensely satisfying dinner experiences there. Staff rarely changes, which surely a sign of faith in the religion of fine food and wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best fois gras ive ever had.

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Best fois gras ive ever had.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal even if a bit pricey but ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Excellent meal even if a bit pricey but for a special occasion we don't mind. Noise level on a Friday night was a bit high for visiting; hard to hear conversations with friends at the same table at times.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ALWAYS GREAT!

Dined on April 23, 2016

THEY ARE ALWAYS GREAT THERE! THE SERVICE AND THE FOOD IS OUTSTANDING. WILL CONTINUE TO GO HERE, AND I'VE REFERRED MANY OF MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY TO COME HERE AS WELL. THEY HAVE ALSO ENJOYED IT!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Interesting menu. Good service

Dined on April 20, 2016

The menu was very diverse and interesting. I had the elk and beef dish - cooked to perfection and great sides. Dessert was fabulous. Excellent wine list at all price points to enjoy and enhance the meal. Service was good. Interesting building and finishes. Was there for a business dinner. Will return and bring my wife for a special occasion. A great find in the Edmonton market.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always good

Dined on April 17, 2016

Not our first time at the Hardware Grill. Can always count on good service and good food. Kind of pricey but not as bad as some in downtown Edmonton. Favorable overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth it!

Dined on April 16, 2016

I've been wanting to try this place for some time now and am so very pleased I finally did. The food was absolutely amazing and the portions were huge! Not at all what I expected from an "expensive/fancy" spot. The menu prices were actually very reasonable.... I've paid more for less satisfying dishes In town. The Service was also great, our waiter made good recommendations and described the dishes perfectly. Every item that came out of the kitchen passed our table looked so appetizing, I can't wait to go back and try them all!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We booked our reservation for 9:45 as we ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

We booked our reservation for 9:45 as we all had to work till 9. Everything was amazing except for the fact that we felt very rushed. We were the only table in there and it felt like everyone just wanted us to be finished. I was taking our corporate training team out for dinner as they had just worked two weeks straight and it was their first night off. We just wanted to relax and enjoy our meal without feeling like we were an inconvenience. Other than that everything was great, food was absolutely amazing, the server was very knowledgable and helpful with the menu. I will recommend the Hardware Grill to anyone who will listen. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.