Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Hardware Grill

Established in 1996, hardware grill is an A-list dining spot in Canada. It is a glorious setting for Chef / Owner Larry Stewart's progressive Canadian Cuisine, bold flavors, dramatic presentation, creative and whimsical prairie regional flavors, French influenced style, enthralling design and impeccable standards of service form the entire experience hardware grill.

Local owners Melinda and Chef Larry Stewart have a hand picked brigade to offer culinary grace in an elegant casual setting with professional, convivial service.

Located in the heart of the Arts District, the Historic Goodridge Block is the perfect home for this restaurant that has come to epitomize contemporary regional cuisine at its best.

For groups of 9 and over, or the Chef's Table, please contact the restaurant for availability.

9698 Jasper Ave
Edmonton, AB T5H 3V5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of 97th Street & Jasper Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 423-0969

Website:
http://www.hardwaregrill.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on 97th Street and both sides of Jasper Avenue. There is also underground parking at Canada Place across the street as well as several surface parking lots within 2 blocks.

Executive Chef:
Larry Stewart

Additional:
Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
"Edmonton has the best restaurant in Canada, the Hardware Grill.
The room is Frasier-and-Niles chic, but the lack of pretension is pure Martin Crane."

Hardware Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (74)
Good for a Date (61)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
See All
Romantic (51)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Creative Cuisine (48)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Worth the Drive (36)
Notable Wine List (35)
Business Meals (30)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Cozy (22)
Good for Groups (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Authentic (13)
Hot Spot (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Healthy (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Disabled Access (5)
Fun (4)
Seasonal (4)
Casual (3)
Scenic View (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1598 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

So good! The service was fast and efficient to deliver the amazing dishes to the table. The elk was a can't miss!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I have been going to the Hardware Grill since it opened, for both business and personal dining and it is consistently good with great food. I live in Vancouver but consider the Hardware Grill the best restaurant in Edmonton for a fancy dinner and night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

They seated us early, our server was very friendly and efficient, the food was delicious! We didn't like that gratuity was already added to the bill, he would have made more without that. Other than that our experience was great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great atmosphere! Amazing food! Great service with good recommendations!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Our waiteress, from Germany, was very good and attentionate, Super professionnal. She made good suggestions and represented the restaurent very well.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Set ice and food were incredible. Would go back to Edmonton just for this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

We went here for my 40th birthday last night. I have never been but heard great things. Honestly, I wasn't blown away. The service was completely canned - like the waiter had said the same thing 500 times. The atmosphere could have been much better... I think they had music playing but you could barely hear it. Our table was a half circle shape that faced directly toward another table. Glad there wasn't anyone seated at it (it was a booth style and faced our table). I wasn't in love with anything I ate... and at $175, I should have left loving something. We had the truffle mac n cheese to start. I had the bacon wrapped elk & slow braised beef rib. My wife had the crab-crusted cedar planked salmon, which she found all to be too salty. For dessert we had the Crete brûlée with a maple bacon donut. I asked for no bacon on it and it came with bacon... pretty sure our server only had us as a table, so not sure how he missed that one. Anyway, we're not really fine diners but every now and again we give it a go. I'd rather save my dollars and hit up a middle of the road restaurant for half the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Anazing food and staff. Would go back any day. Their three course menu for $50 is an amazing deal. The portion size is quite large and it's all very filling.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance. The dessert was delicious. The salmon dish was covered with so many flavours that it took away the amazing flavour of the salmon. The waiter seemed disinterested. Very disappointing, for

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The food was phenomenal and the service impeccable. I must recommend the Seabass. My husband had it and it was so moist and tender it's actually melted in your mouth. A fantastic place to go with friends or for that special someone. We will definitely be back again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our waiter Shane was great! We took his recommendations and ordered the KFC for our appetizer and the sea bass and bacon wrapped elk and braised short rib for our mains. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent food and fantastic service. Great place for our anniversary celebration!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Absolutely delicious. Portions are also surprisingly generous for fine dining. A wonderful choice for a special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Wonderful service, and the food was excellent. I would recommend the elk dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We were out Celebrating my Wife's Birthday. She was craving the Fois Gras, and you didn't disappoint!! We purchased a bottle of the Olive Oil that was served with the bread at the start.
It was excellent. We had a great evening. Thanks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food is always on point, consistent and delicious. Knowledgable servers. Bring back the meat and potato appetizer please :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 3, 2017

My wife and I celebrated an anniversary milestone at this exceptional fine-dining restaurant. We received top-notch service from Anna our server: personable, attentive, guided us through menu choices, and took really good care of us. She was supported by an outstanding kitchen. The entrees[cedar plank salmon and vegetarian platter] were outstanding. Tables are spaced to allow for private conservation; great for a date night! Highly recommend the Hardware Grill as a fine choice for special occasions.































9

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great experience for our 30th wedding anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

My wife and I really enjoyed our evening and we will be dining here again for sure!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

A perennial "go-to" favourite for our family of 4-adults. Generous portions and a varied menu. Good timing between our courses and each dish was served hot and together at the same time. Nice wine pairing by our waiter too. Great atmosphere for business casual or formal dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We have enjoyed Hardware Grill for special occasions over many years. This early seating, however, was not the experience we are used to enjoying. Noisy with a big crowd at a nearby table. Dress code was jeans and T shirts for some. Service was the usual professional service but we felt we were rushed through our meal. Food, as always, was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

The appettizers were so delicious- pork belly and salmon with perogy. My partner enjoyed the elk and beef and said the elk was so tender and delicious .
I had the sea bass and it was okay. I found the arugula had too much lemon and the potatoes mixture could be more crispier. However the sea bass was nice and flaky with a bit of spice.
We have been here before and really enjoy the food. This restaurant is for special occassions.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Made our 20th anniversary of special occasion our waiter Kyle was excellent

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Food was amazing looking forward to having our next visit

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

The ambience was great.
Had the Korean FC, Ricotta Agnolotti,Salmon and Sea Bass. For dessert we shared the crème brûlée.
Service was excellent and the meal delish.
$ - very reasonable fine dining experience. This was our 5th visit will definately be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We dined here with another couple celebrating our anniversaries. I had the prix fixe tortellini to start followed by braised ribs and raspberry torte for dessert. I thought this was good value for $50. The food was delicious and the portion sizes adequate. My friend had the Arctic char which she found to be delicious and the guys both had elk and ribs also very tasty. The wine list was extensive. This is definitely a great place to go for a special occasion and I would highly recommend it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 30, 2017

With all the trendy(noisy) new joints in town Hardware is a great reliable experience, good food, friendly service, lots of space. We have been going there since it opened and I have had some of my most memorable dining experiences at Hardware Grill. Highly recommended for those that want quality over trend.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great food and service! Charcuterie board for two was very generous -- a meal in itself!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Excellent service great food with a nice atmosphere.
Look forward to next time.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great ambiance, loved the two-seater booths! Menu stays the same except for an occasional modification so if you're looking for seasonal menu changes, this isn't the place for you. Overall we enjoyed it but for the price, there are other restaurants I would rather go back to over this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Fantastic food, and very personable, knowledgeable service staff. All in all, a great dining experience, and we will definitely be back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

My husband and I love this restaurant. This past experience was the best. Curtis was our server and he was wonderful! So friendly!
The food is outstanding as always.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 24, 2017

I literally dream of their crispy pork belly. Great food with even better service! This was visit #3 and planning #4 for the near future. LOVE this place!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Fantastic food & service.... we will definitely be coming back...the ambiance was excellent and wine selection was great!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Hardware Grill remains one of, if not the best Fine Dining restaurants in Edmonton!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

My wife and I ordered the pork belly and bacon crusted bone marrow for appetizers, and I never got the opportunity to try the pork belly, she just smiled. The Porcini crusted sea Bass was the nicest fish fish I perhaps have ever ate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

We came for our anniversary dinner. It was romantic and quiet with fine dining. It was very expensive but we ordered high end pricy food. Our meal was delicious and it was an amazing night...Thank you!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Absolutely excellent! We had an amazing evening out to celebrate our Aunt's 80th birthday! Great food, great ambiance, great service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, amazing food, outstanding service!!

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The food wasn't as tasty as I remember it to be. I came to find out that the chef had changed. Service was excellent. Server really took care of our kids and made them feel welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.