About Hardware Grill

9698 Jasper Ave
Edmonton, AB T5H 3V5
View Larger Map

Established in 1996, hardware grill is an A-list dining spot in Canada. It is a glorious setting for Chef / Owner Larry Stewart's progressive Canadian Cuisine, bold flavors, dramatic presentation, creative and whimsical prairie regional flavors, French influenced style, enthralling design and impeccable standards of service form the entire experience hardware grill.

Local owners Melinda and Chef Larry Stewart have a hand picked brigade to offer culinary grace in an elegant casual setting with professional, convivial service.

Located in the heart of the Arts District, the Historic Goodridge Block is the perfect home for this restaurant that has come to epitomize contemporary regional cuisine at its best.

For groups of 9 and over, or the Chef's Table, please contact the restaurant for availability.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Now open for Lunch Wednesdays to Friday 1130 to 130 and Starting November 21 Monday to Friday 1130 to 130

Cross Street:
Corner of 97th Street & Jasper Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 423-0969

Website:
http://www.hardwaregrill.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on 97th Street and both sides of Jasper Avenue. There is also underground parking at Canada Place across the street as well as several surface parking lots within 2 blocks.

Executive Chef:
Larry Stewart

Private Party Facilities:
The Red Wine Cellar can accommodate groups up to 16 people. It comes with an exclusive server, and a wall-mounted HDTV for presentation and entertainment purposes.

There are three available menus.

Room charge is waived for groups of eight or more.

The Red Wine Cell

Private Party Contact:
Leona: 7804230969x

Additional:
Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
"Edmonton has the best restaurant in Canada, the Hardware Grill.
The room is Frasier-and-Niles chic, but the lack of pretension is pure Martin Crane."

Restaurant Photos

Creme Brulee - Hardware Grill, Edmonton, AB
Burrata Salad With Heirloom Beets and Figs. - Hardware Grill, Edmonton, AB
60 Day Aged New York Steak - Hardware Grill, Edmonton, AB
Bacon Wrapped Elk And Short Rib - Hardware Grill, Edmonton, AB
Blackened Sea Bass With Prawn And Potato Crepes - Hardware Grill, Edmonton, AB
Lobster Rissotto - Hardware Grill, Edmonton, AB
Lamb Chop - Hardware Grill, Edmonton, AB
Brownie - Hardware Grill, Edmonton, AB
Kobe Beef Burger - Hardware Grill, Edmonton, AB
Salmon - Hardware Grill, Edmonton, AB

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

New Year's Eve Prepaid Event:3 course menu $125/person until 7pm
4 course menu $150/person after 7pm
Refunds available in gift card form only after December 1st.

Hardware Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Food
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Ambiance
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
11 More
Best Value
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Fit for Foodies
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Romantic
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Most Booked
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Overall
Edmonton
Best Food
Edmonton
Best Ambiance
Edmonton
Best Value
Edmonton
Fit for Foodies
Edmonton
Romantic
Edmonton
Most Booked
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

Special Occasion (96)
Fit for Foodies (76)
Romantic (72)
See All
Good for a Date (71)
Good for Anniversaries (68)
Notable Wine List (59)
Creative Cuisine (58)
Good for Birthdays (55)
Quiet Conversation (45)
Business Meals (39)
Good for Groups (38)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Worth the Drive (32)
Historic (29)
Cozy (29)
Open Kitchen (28)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Comfort Food (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Private Room (16)
Casual (15)
Authentic (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Modern Decor (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Seasonal (8)
Scenic View (6)
Fun (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Disabled Access (6)
People Watching (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Healthy (3)
Family Style (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1339 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Curtis was phenomenal! Personal and a pl ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 2 days ago

Curtis was phenomenal! Personal and a pleasure to speak with. Will definitely be back and will request him to be our server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My friend and i enjoyed our appetizers a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

My friend and i enjoyed our appetizers and main. the mains were very large and neither one of us finished. We were also too full for desert. The little 2 seater booths are cute but it feels as though you are facing the table across from you. Our waiter was a bit goofy and the only real negative.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Restaurant was lovely. Service was great ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Restaurant was lovely. Service was great. Food was uninspiring. Two of the appetizers were fantastic, everything else was closer to Moxies / Keg quality fare. Main of lamb rack was unfortunately prepared, chewy and not very flavourful. Vegetarian plate was okay, nothing to brag about. Might have been an off night for Hardware, but it was a $900.00 tab at the end of it, and usually I like to feel like it was spectacular at that price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

The Hardware Grill did not disappoint ho ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

The Hardware Grill did not disappoint however the waiter seem to be in a hurry. Also, I spilled my wine and we were moved to a table with no linens. Kind of killed the ambiance of date night sitting at a wood laquered table with a $24 glass of wine.

Food was very good as usual, except for the butterscotch pudding which was completely forgettable.

Overall good tho.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

If you looking for a quiet intimate plac ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 6 days ago

If you looking for a quiet intimate place to go for an anniversary, valentines day, first dates, ect. This is the spot. The ambience was awesome! Our waiter was very friendly, knew the menu very well. The food was AMAZING I ordered the Bacon-wrapped Elk and Slow Braised Beef Rib. It was really good. I liked the Slow Braised Beef Rib the best.. it was melt in your mouth delicious! I highly suggest this restaurant to anyone you will not leave disappointed!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for my birthday. Everything was goo ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Went for my birthday. Everything was good! Server was really nice. Nice place for special occasions.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent and professional service from ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Excellent and professional service from senior wait staff, not bubbly 18 year olds; great food, continental influence, great wine list and quality across the board.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fantastic dinner. Shane our ser ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We had a fantastic dinner. Shane our server was so professional and really made our night pleasant. Thank You.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service with respect ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent food and service with respect and caring.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was impeccable from when we walk ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Service was impeccable from when we walked in the door till we left. I will definitely be back for a repeat visit.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous time. I have been many ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a fabulous time. I have been many times over the years when I resided in Edmonton. We were up for a concert from Calgary and my husband loves a fantastic meal out. He wants to come back on our next visit to Edmonton. Perfect for us as the Westin and Fairmont are a stones throw. Ask for Shane, best waiter and service is exceptional.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Authentic, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious sea bass!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Delicious sea bass!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A nice classy restaurant. My daughter an ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

A nice classy restaurant. My daughter and I have small appetites so we shared our meal. It was more than enough. There were three scallops on the appetizer each in its own relish or sauce. Delicious. Our friends had the beef carpaccio. Not a morsel left on their plate. We had the duck which was nice but not as tender as it might have been but my daughter said the potatoes were " life changing ". Very tasty. My friend had the sea bass and it was heavenly as well as being a fairly large portion. We all shared the "small bites" dessert and found it to be a nice eclectic selection more than enough for four.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service all around. T ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent food and service all around. The beef tenderloin and lobster mac and cheese is outstanding! Also recommend, the KFC and carpaccio as a starter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Hardware Grill is always excellent a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The Hardware Grill is always excellent and our recent meal was no exception. Great food and wine and a lovely server.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

With all sincerity, Hardware Grill never ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 19, 2016

With all sincerity, Hardware Grill never disappoints! Our food was delicious and memorable, our server took excellent care of us and we can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was absolutely delicious! 3-course ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food was absolutely delicious! 3-course meal was wonderful value and the tables were nice and cozy but also awkwardly open. Staff was friendly but did not go over the top to recognize or celebrate that we were there for a special occasion. I'd definitely go back for the food!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always enjoy Hardware Grill, but the ser ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Always enjoy Hardware Grill, but the service is not what it was before.

Service this time was arrogant, did not service in a professional manner,

was only friendly after he seen our tip. I should not have tipped 15% it

was not worth it. Please, get it back to what it once use.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Our waiter, Shane, was fantastic and the ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Our waiter, Shane, was fantastic and the food Amazing! We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, very accommodating wait staf ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great food, very accommodating wait staff. Definitely a "do again".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Shane is just the best! He wasn't our wa ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Shane is just the best! He wasn't our waiter but stopped by our table. Friendly & conversational, he's just awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A few years back I enjoyed a marvelous m ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 12, 2016

A few years back I enjoyed a marvelous meal at the HG. When my children asked where I wanted to go for my birthday, I chose the HG. They are from out of town and this was anticipated to be a special evening for them too.

I was disappointed. We chose the three-course event menu. The appetizer was great,but my daughter's lobster mac and cheese lukewarm and my salmon not properly cooked. I had eaten about half of it when I discovered it was really raw so sent it back. They put it back in the oven. When it was returned to me it looked like and was as dry as an overcooked hamburger. There was no sign of the green beans and mushrooms that were part of the dish. Instead some sort of sauce was poured over the top. I tried it but the salmon was dry and tasteless so the server took it away. The dessert was mediocre.

Gratefully, our bill for the salmon dinner was reduced by $15.00 and we were not charged for my after dinner drink. I appreciate these gestures but they did in no way make up for the disappointing experience we had. I will not be back as the food was nothing special and I would describe the service as mediocre at best.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

A great place to enjoy good food and to ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 12, 2016

A great place to enjoy good food and to enjoy a relaxed meal while you socialize.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience. Waitress was not tryin ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great experience. Waitress was not trying too hard. She was relaxed and walked us through the menu like a normal person. Very nice!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location that's an easy walk from ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great location that's an easy walk from downtown hotels. Menu had a great selection and a substantial wine list.

Food was delicious, well plated and generouse portions.

Our server was not very attentive. We had trouble keeping our drinks filled. The server brought us our first cocktail but then after a pretty long wait we had to ask another staff to find our server for us, another server came and took our wine order and delivered it, then our server showed back up to take our dessert order. She returned with the dessert in a timely matter but did a quick drop off and left before we could ask to have another glass of wine or fill our empty water glasses. Hopefully she was just having an off night as the other servers seemed to be attentive.

We will definitely return next time we visit the city as the food was fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Shane was our waiter again! He's great!! ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Shane was our waiter again! He's great!!! Very knowledgeable and friendly. Great recommendation on the bass.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Casual, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always fantastic and you get ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The food is always fantastic and you get a lot of food for a fine dining restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

For my first formal dinner this was amaz ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 9, 2016

For my first formal dinner this was amazing! My friends and I had a truly wonderful time. We each loved our dinner choices, as well as our desserts. Having a place to go in a dress and heels with friends, plus have good food was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Since moving to Edmonton over a year ago ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Since moving to Edmonton over a year ago from Toronto, Hardward Grill is our favourite location for dinner. I'm looking forward to trying the chef's table in the near future. As a recommendation, I would go on a weeknight. The service is impeccable, and is a huge asset to the restaurant's experience, however weekend evenings are difficult to truly appreciate this as the wait staff is extremely busy with multiple tables.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food and ambience. Thoroughly ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent food and ambience. Thoroughly enjoyed the occasion.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was second rate. When we w ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The service was second rate. When we were seated the person who seated us simply set the menus on the table and hurried of not even holding the chair for the lady. The waiter was garrulous and while I did not mind, my date did not like it. The food was OK, not great, and my potato was cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Everything was very good. The server kep ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Everything was very good. The server kept us entertained and was very attentive. The wine selection was great, the food, always amazing.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Fun, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was good and the menu is goo ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The service was good and the menu is good, but the menu has not changed in many years. I defiantly would recommend this restaurant ,but will not be going back until the menu changes.

I have been going for years for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

My wife choose this place and I had my c ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My wife choose this place and I had my concerns, only for her as the menu was not exactly her traditional taste. Great meal, fantastic service. We really enjoyed it and would go back again. The only thing I did not like was the 2 person mini booth we sat in which was a tad uncomfortable.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food!!! Worth while going, wan ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent food!!! Worth while going, wanted to try everything off the menu. Had a hard time deciding what to order. Very nice, clean and refreshing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went with friends to have an early di ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We went with friends to have an early dinner before the theatre. There was a special early menu for those with limited time but still wishing for the full experience. The food was amazing with generous portions and delicious flavours. Lovely ambience and decor.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very well made dishes. The wine selecti ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Very well made dishes. The wine selection is excellent & the options available for dining are both unique & tantalizing.

The staff are polite, but rigid & impersonal, hence 4 stars.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Best restaurant in Edmonton bar none!

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Best restaurant in Edmonton bar none!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a business friend in from Toronto ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We had a business friend in from Toronto. We took him the Hardware for dinner and he was very impressed. Food and service were outstanding!

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great dining experience at the H ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Another great dining experience at the Hardware Grill.

The food was amazing as always; great salad, scallops, house made ricotta - wonderful.

Thanks Gary for your great service.

Number 1 on our list if you want the best of the best.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.