Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Hardware Grill

Established in 1996, hardware grill is an A-list dining spot in Canada. It is a glorious setting for Chef / Owner Larry Stewart's progressive Canadian Cuisine, bold flavors, dramatic presentation, creative and whimsical prairie regional flavors, French influenced style, enthralling design and impeccable standards of service form the entire experience hardware grill.

Local owners Melinda and Chef Larry Stewart have a hand picked brigade to offer culinary grace in an elegant casual setting with professional, convivial service.

Located in the heart of the Arts District, the Historic Goodridge Block is the perfect home for this restaurant that has come to epitomize contemporary regional cuisine at its best.

For groups of 9 and over, or the Chef's Table, please contact the restaurant for availability.

9698 Jasper Ave
Edmonton, AB T5H 3V5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of 97th Street & Jasper Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 423-0969

Website:
http://www.hardwaregrill.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on 97th Street and both sides of Jasper Avenue. There is also underground parking at Canada Place across the street as well as several surface parking lots within 2 blocks.

Executive Chef:
Larry Stewart

Private Party Facilities:
The Red Wine Cellar can accommodate groups up to 16 people. It comes with an exclusive server, and a wall-mounted HDTV for presentation and entertainment purposes.

There are three available menus.

Room charge is waived for groups of eight or more.

The Red Wine Cell

Private Party Contact:
Leona: (780) 423-0969

Additional:
Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
"Edmonton has the best restaurant in Canada, the Hardware Grill.
The room is Frasier-and-Niles chic, but the lack of pretension is pure Martin Crane."

Hardware Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (82)
Special Occasion (82)
Romantic (65)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (61)
Creative Cuisine (55)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Notable Wine List (45)
Business Meals (39)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Cozy (32)
Good for Groups (24)
Local Ingredients (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Open Kitchen (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Historic (15)
Private Room (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Outstanding Value (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Casual (10)
Authentic (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Fun (8)
Healthy (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Seasonal (6)
People Watching (5)
Scenic View (5)
Tapas (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vegan (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Spicy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fireplace (2)
Organic (2)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great Beer (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1469 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service and excellent recommendations!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

We celebrated my son's 23rd birthday. Our waiter Shane was welcoming, knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour. We started off sharing the scallops, Torchon foie gras, pork belly and fantastic soup of yesterday which was cream of mushroom. The 4 starters presented enough food for each of us to have a taste. The cream of mushroom soup was amazing! The Foie gras with relish was the best I have ever had. Each of us had a different entree; Beef Tenderloin (served with a bone marrow mixture which was outstanding); Sea Bass (served with a potato crepe filled with seafood, was to die for); duck was amazing and the lamb also terrific. There were so many flavours on each plate! This whole meal was one of the best I have ever had!!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Amazing dinner! The food was absolutely fantastic, a lot of great choices and everything we tried was wonderful. The portions are very generous and the service was great all night. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We have been here several times and never disappointed. Excellent service all around. Tasty food especially the Sea Bass and the Salmon . It is pricey but worth going for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had a group of 6 going to celebrate 2 Birthdays. One of the guests of Honor was turning 60 and her and her husband had never been to hardware before.
The other 4 have all been there several times and always had a great experience, so chose the location for the 60th knowing the new diners would not be disappointed.
Between the 6 of us we managed to order about 75% of the whole menu and everything was delectable. Everyone left sated and looking forward to returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food, service was friendly. Every time we have been to hardware grill it has been great! We will be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Food was so tasty, cooked to perfection, surprisingly filling portions. Ambiance and service were discreet but attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Cozy, Scenic View, Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Amazing tomato soup. Super friendly staff

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Very nice restaurant, food is amazing! Love the enviornment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 15, 2017

As our waiter said don't eat to much bread. Our crispy duck confit on a waffle and a shared truffle parmesan fries and we were stuffed. Then our mains were Chicken ‘Schnitzel’ for my wife and for myself Heritage Pork Chop. Then dessert came my wife had Glenlivet Infused Butterscotch Pudding with salted shortbread cookies and myself Marble Chocolate Brownie with Chocolate Mousse, Vanilla Ice Cream and a Bourbon Caramel Sauce. We finished our dessert and took the rest of our mains home. The food was unbelievable, it was fantastic.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always been there be of the best restaurants in town

Tags: Historic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I have heard so many great things of this restaurant and I am pleased to say that I was not disappointed at all. Our server was so witty and entertaining - he gave great feedback on the menu. The food was absolutely fabulous! Appetizers, Mains & Desserts - just awesome! :)

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Awesome service and great food. Large portions no very tasty. Will be going back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 2, 2017

My husband and I had a wonderful meal before attending the symphony at the Winspear. We shared the lobster risotto to start then had the vegetarian sampler and the sea bass as entrees. They were delicious! The restaurant is pricey but worth every penny. Service was excellent-attentive and professional.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Hardware Grill is a must when we are in Edmonton. Amazing food and wine list along with outstanding service. 10 out of 10.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We came to Edmonton to see Garth Brooks in concert and made reservations at the Hardware Grill, sight unseen. This was a great choice and a perfect pairing for the evening, a great show and a great pre-show meal.
Our server was both knowledgeable and attentive without being overly so. We let him know our time table and he made sure that everything came in a timely manner and such that we did not feel rushed or uncomfortable.
The food was excellent and our Sea Bass cooked to perfection. the atmosphere was calm and relaxed with the staff quietly going about their duties in a non- obtrusive manner.
Overall, a great meal, wonderful staff, and a relaxing atmosphere. We will look forward to our next return visit to this restaurant in June.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Fantastic as usual! Great food, great service, great ambience! If any restaurant was to claim it was Canadian food this wood be it! Bacon wrapped Elk, duck confit, salmon, its all there!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Larry Steward is a credit to Edmonton's culinary scene - as always the Hardware Grill topped the charts!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was really good! The food was amazing, all of it, the scallops were the best I've had! We were so impressed with the quality of the food, probably the best meal we've had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Always a treat ! Never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food has been

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food, service and ambiance very good! A little pricey but worth the extra.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellence service, creative meals as well as modern decoration makes it a fantastic restaurant but some fresh start and dessert may not that fit for traditional Chinese taste. But selecting some main course is a better choice since it tastes well. Love the wonderful service they provides for Valentine's Day!

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great service, great food, great place, love the menu, but you definitely pay for it. Overall great for a super special occasion

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful ambience, great service and most of all great food! Our fave place in town

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great recommendations, service and food! Would definitely go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful evening out with friends - delicious meals, to-die-for desert and great, friendly service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Overall We would recommend. Our meal (we had the salmon and beef/ elk combo) and dessert (creme brûlée) was excellent and very speedy. Starters were very tasty as well. (Tomato bisque soup and beet salad). Was a little disappointed in the truffle mac n cheese. Very, very al dente. Was heavy on the garlic (and we love garlic) and not much for cheese flavour. The host at the front door was not the friendliest guy but our waiter was fantastic. A little pricey, but we would go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

For many years Hardware Grill has always been consistently in the top. Food quality, menu, service is always right on. It's a sure thing. You will not go wrong going here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Best restaurant in Edmonton. Would not hesitate recommending it to everyone. Always receive great food the way we order it and wonderful service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our waiter was amazing and made the dining experience all the better.turns out he was our waiter 8 years ago at Ruth Chris! Awesome guy!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Scallop starter and sea bass main - outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We had a good dinner - not as fantastic as I was expecting, but good. We started with KFC (Korean Fried Cauliflower). It was the least successful dish. The breading on the cauliflower wasn't fully cooked so there was a taste of corn starch and a yucky texture. We also had a romaine salad that was ok. Nothing very interesting but ok. The mains: elk tenderloin/short rib with cabbage and Sea Bass with lobster potato and corn/ spinach were both well executed and delicious. The service was excellent and a great wine, recommended by our server was appreciated. At the end of our evening, we we're having difficulty with cell reception and stepped outside to order a cab. We were immediately locked out of the restaurant and left to wait outside in the freezing cold. The staff could see us and did not offer to let us wait in the foyer. Overall, a nice evening but it could have been better.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great place for business meals as well as for friends and special occasions. Consistently outstanding service and excellent cuisine. Local cuisine including Elk, as well as the best sea bass in the city! Sea Bass is served with with delicious crepes stuffed with potatoes, corn and lobster. Service is always attentive and efficient yet unobtrusive. Understated elegance.

Our server (Dean) has been there for many years - fantastic waiter, excellent palate and taste in wine. He always has great suggestions for food. Professional, friendly and charming.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This is the best restaurant in Edmonton hands down. The food is always outstanding. The staff is very good and always makes you feel welcome. The menu has something for everybody on it - I am particularly fond of the Alberta Angus Beef Burger - yes - burger even in this fine establishment. It is absolutely outstanding! The only thing that could be improved is the parking situation. Unless I have missed it, there is no convenient lot - you have to find space on the street. Nobody minds that six months of the year but the other six months makes it a tad challenging. Be aware that street parking requires payment up to 6PM (at last report) so keep an eye on this and remember your license plate number for the machine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Dinner was very good.. we had the lobster risotto which was an 8/10. The bread basket provided variety. There was one beef and one salmon dinner ... beef was 8/10 and salmon with crab was a definite 10/10.
Ambiance is very nice although the booth for three people was a little large and we felt like we were quite far from each other. The two person booths are lovely for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I took my boyfriend there for his birthday. We had not been there before. I had requested my salmon to be cooked a little longer than usual and it turned out perfect. Awesome service and good food. A little expensive but worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Wonderful menu. Little pricey but not terrible. Would eat here again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Service was poor. Food was ok, nothing special. Very expensive $200 for 2 of us. Would not recommend and won't be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Excellent food. Reasonable prices. Highly recommend.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.