Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Hardware Grill

Established in 1996, hardware grill is an A-list dining spot in Canada. It is a glorious setting for Chef / Owner Larry Stewart's progressive Canadian Cuisine, bold flavors, dramatic presentation, creative and whimsical prairie regional flavors, French influenced style, enthralling design and impeccable standards of service form the entire experience hardware grill.

Local owners Melinda and Chef Larry Stewart have a hand picked brigade to offer culinary grace in an elegant casual setting with professional, convivial service.

Located in the heart of the Arts District, the Historic Goodridge Block is the perfect home for this restaurant that has come to epitomize contemporary regional cuisine at its best.

For groups of 9 and over, or the Chef's Table, please contact the restaurant for availability.

9698 Jasper Ave
Edmonton, AB T5H 3V5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of 97th Street & Jasper Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 423-0969

Website:
http://www.hardwaregrill.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on 97th Street and both sides of Jasper Avenue. There is also underground parking at Canada Place across the street as well as several surface parking lots within 2 blocks.

Executive Chef:
Larry Stewart

Additional:
Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
"Edmonton has the best restaurant in Canada, the Hardware Grill.
The room is Frasier-and-Niles chic, but the lack of pretension is pure Martin Crane."

Private Dining

The Red Wine Cellar can accommodate groups up to 16 people. It comes with an exclusive server, and a wall-mounted HDTV for presentation and entertainment purposes. There are three available menus. Room charge is waived for groups of eight or more. The Red Wine Cellar

Hardware Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (52)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Good for a Date (46)
See All
Romantic (41)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Notable Wine List (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Business Meals (27)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Cozy (21)
Good for Groups (17)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Authentic (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Healthy (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Casual (4)
Historic (4)
Seasonal (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Organic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fun (3)
Private Room (3)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1537 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

First time in Edmonton, and a co-worker in Vancouver recommended it. Heritage building location was a great start, and then the food and the service closed the deal. Great night and great menu options...will recommend to anyone else i know going to Edmonton.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The Hardware Grill was superb. My date and I had an exceptional time. The food was fantastic and very plentiful. The waiter was very knowledgable and professional. I would not hesitate to attend another dinner at this fine establishment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 15, 2017

As others have said - this is a pricey spot, however the menu and food are worth the extra you will spend. Absolutely Delicious!! I wish I had taken photos of the plate before we dove in - stunning. We will definitely return when we are looking to treat friends to something special :)

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Disappointed. We went their for our anniversary and had high expectations being that it is expensive. The half circle booth was very uncomfortable. Not a good spot to sit for people who are taller. The hostess was unfriendly and reserved. We did not feel very welcomed. Our server was great. Food was ok. I've had better for less money. We had the tenderloin and the sea bass. For dessert we had creme brulee with a bacon, maple donut and the profiteroles. Creme brulee was very sweet. It's a restaurant where you would say been there, but probably won't go back.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 14, 2017

another excellent meal at the HG, service was great, not rushed and you could hear your partner when they speak.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We loved it! Great Anniversary dinner. Haven't been for while but will definitely go back ! Food was excellent!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Hands down the best meal I've had in the YEG! The lacquered duck was cooked to perfection and the bacon wrapped elk was delicious. The desserts were to die for. Get the crème brûlée. Trust me.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great to see & taste continued excellence at this fine restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I love the hardware grill and was excited to bring my relatives from Europe for dinner, the food, as always was excellent, however we had a few comments for feedback. The hostess poured water into a glass and missed, getting my aunt's hand all wet as well as the menu and table. She apologized, but made no effort to clean up the water at all, meaning my aunt had to use her dinner napkin to do so. It was her 81 birthday. The food came so fast that we were in and out of the restaurant in less than 1 hour, and we felt rushed out by the way the plates were removed before everyone had finished their meal and how fast the bill was presented. Again, wonderful food, but it would have been nice to feel a little more welcomed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Awesome! Food and service superb as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Maybe if we had a different main course we would have enjoyed it more. Not a place for steak.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Decent dinner but under my expectation.The restaurant was highly re commanded to us for our business meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Apatizers were amazing. Both our dinners were okay but nothing spectacular for the price.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 20, 2017

This was our first time at this restaurant. Our server was wonderful. He helped us make great choices for our dinner. Our dinner choices were absolutely amazing, which were the Seabass and the Salman dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Exceptional food as always. Great service as always. Despite a number of new restaurants in yeg, Hardware Grill remains our favourite.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 17, 2017

After being at another restaurant tonight, we were disappointed to see that the 9 oz glass of wine we ordered was almost twice as much as was poured at the Hardware Grill.

We had planned to order both more wine as well as ask for seconds on my drink as well, but the waiter never came by until after we had finished the meal, so never had a chance to inquire if we had received the correct amount.

The service was certainly not very attentive, and although we visit this restaurant every trip to Edmonton, enjoy the food and ambience, and have taken friends there as well as highly recommended it in the past, in future we will certainly pay closer attention to how much wine is served.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We were just recently at Hardware Grill. It use to be the spot to go for great food on a special occasion. We were very disappointed with the evening. I had asked for a table by a window and we were put way in the back by the bar with no ambience. Will not be going there again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 15, 2017

My wife and I came here on a Thursday evening for date night.
To start out the staff was very friendly and courteous. We were seated immediately and our waiter promptly came and gave us some recommendations which were bang on. We had the KFC for an appetizer and it was delicious, I will never look at cauliflower the same!

I had the Sea Bass and my wife had the bacon wrapped elk and beef short rib. Everything was cooked perfectly and the flavours blended very well.

I would go back here in a heart beat but the price makes that a little bit prohibitive. Don't be mistaken though, the food, ambiance and staff make it worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Wonderful! Food was delicious. Service could've been improved but it wasn't terrible. Will definitely be back!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 13, 2017

My husband and I came here for dinner to celebrate our anniversary. Service was spectacular, our server was very attentive and had a good sense of humour. We enjoyed our meal, I ordered the lamb (done medium) and it was cooked perfectly, my husband ordered the burger and it was very well seasoned. We got the Beef Carpaccio to start and it was the best that I've had compared to other restaurants. No complaints, we will definitely come here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I booked this reservation for my parents

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Enjoyed evrything and the service was great as well. The rhubarb ginger cake dessert was one of the best desserts i have had anywhere.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We've been to Hardware Grill a number of times over the years, and it's always great. Service was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 8, 2017

This dinner went to the top of our list for amazing meals. The attention to detail that went into every dish is why this place is excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Best Convocation dinner location in the city!! Bar none!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Quickly becoming our first choice for our anniversary and other special occasions.
Thanks for the continued professional service, great ambiance and awesome food :)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Evening dinner for 6 to celebrate my son's Grad. Service was excellent. Most food choices were very good. Three of us had the tenderloin, which was just OK at best. For the price, and the establishment, I would have expected it to be much more tender. We are in Alberta, after all. Also, FYI, I was not expecting an 18% gratuity to be automatically added for a party of 6. Philosophically, I disagree with this practice for this size of party. Overall, I did not find the value to be there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I was really looking forward to this meal because it has been highly acclaimed... however, we arrived at 2045 because that was the earliest reservation available on line...the reception at the door and with the person who brought our bread was chilly. It was like both of them were not happy to see us. Their words may have said that, but both my partner and I felt the coolness. The waiter however was very friendly...

The food was amazing! Thank you. But we had not finished our appetizers and the main meal arrived!!! Not what you would expect from a high end restaurant! I did make the comment " that was fast" thinking the waitress would pick up on the fact that the food should not have been delivered yet! We did not refuse the food... but I was annoyed...

I was asked if this was a special occasion when I booked, and yes it was...but not a thing mentioned about that at the time of the meal...pretty disappointing!

We should have said something about all of this at the time....

But I did go on the website looking for a way to contact the restaurant with my comments...and could not find an e.mail address.... so thanks for this opportunity. I am not sure if I would recommend...

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Atmosphere was nice. Parking was close. Server was fine, nothing exceptional. There was a proposal when I visited. THe staff didn't have the courtesy to quiet the rest of the restaurant while they attempted to record what I assume is going to be a muffled proposal video. Food was delivered quickly. Ordered the KFC (Korean fries cauliflower) which was fine. My date and I both ordered the bacon wrapped elk and braised beef short rib. Our main course was terrible. The best part about it was the sides that came with the meal. The sauce on the elk was so harsh and overpowering there was no taste of elk or bacon. There was no sauce on the short rib. And the starter bread was ice cold. Overall I'd probably rate this place a 2/10 considering how expensive it was. The waiter never asked once how the meal was during our stay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 2, 2017

had a great family special occasion dinner here,
the food was very interesting, delicious and the serving size was perfect for everyone. there is an extensive wine list to enjoy our waiter was very knowlegable

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Really liked our server. Very friendly. Enjoyed the food.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Food was OK and service was OK but nothing special considering the price. Menu pretty limited. Location is on the edgy of a pretty dodgy area.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Our first time at Hardware Grill was an excellent experience for us. The wait staff were eager to serve and accommodate, but not pushy. We all picked the fixed price meal and every course was a treat. We especially loved the tortellini--so very delicious. The steak was perfect, as well, and the cream puffs were also a very fine treat. The wine list offers a great and varied choice and the prices are reasonable. When in Edmonton again, we will definitely consider another meal at Hardware Grill.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The Hardware Grill does not disappoint. The service was great and the food was spectacular. The sea bass is highly recommended. The scallop entree is served with three distinct sauces - to die for. The menu is pricey but well worth it. The chef uses the finest of ingredients.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Overwhelmingly accomplished experience, every time! We came to celebrate a friend's birthday with a 5 course tasting menu as paired by the expert hands of the Hardware Grill. We arrived to beautiful service, each course surmounting the other and the wine pairings were perfect bridges, every time.

The pace was spot on, the Chefs table a lovely surprise....truly a memorable evening from Edmonton's Best. The attention to detail and customer service is beautiful!

Thank you to Larry, Melinda and the staff for a beautiful Gourmet experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We hosted friends from out of town, and we were all very impressed with Hardware Grill. From friendly staff to fantastic food, we could not have asked for anything more. It had been a long time since my wife and I had been there, but it will not be so long before we return. Will recommend Hardware Grill to anyone looking for a classy dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Delicious meal!! The steak was cooked to perfection!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We dine out a lot in Edmonton and the States and always appreciate great service and outstanding food. Hardware Grill remains as one my go to in Edmonton for a number of reason.

First of all the service is outstanding, the food will open up your palete with such amazing flavours. Whether they are decanting the wine or serving one of their delicious meals, the friendly and creative staff we make you want to come back for more.

Hats off to the Hardware Grill owner and staff for being consistent. I cannot say that about any other restaurant in town.

Shane....you made our Anniversary memorable....thank you very much!

Marilyn and Todd.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Another excellent experience at Hardware Grill. This is my favourite restaurant to celebrate special occasions in Edmonton. Each time I have dined here, it's been worth every penny.

Elk was cooked perfectly, and the accompanying sides were creative and delicious.

Each time I have been here Kyle has looked after us. Friendly, professional, attentive service; some of the best I have received (and I work in the food industry as well, so I can appreciate the level of service he provides)

Mentioned in the notes that it was my girlfriends birthday, and dessert came out with a Happy Birthday chocolate, and celebratory wishes from staff. This is my girlfriends favourite restaurant in the city and the only one she wants to celebrate her birthday at.

Well done Hardware Grill and thank you again Kyle for making our occasion a special one!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 18, 2017

They have the best Mac and cheese if you go there you definitely try it

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.