Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Hardware Grill

Established in 1996, hardware grill is an A-list dining spot in Canada. It is a glorious setting for Chef / Owner Larry Stewart's progressive Canadian Cuisine, bold flavors, dramatic presentation, creative and whimsical prairie regional flavors, French influenced style, enthralling design and impeccable standards of service form the entire experience hardware grill.

Local owners Melinda and Chef Larry Stewart have a hand picked brigade to offer culinary grace in an elegant casual setting with professional, convivial service.

Located in the heart of the Arts District, the Historic Goodridge Block is the perfect home for this restaurant that has come to epitomize contemporary regional cuisine at its best.

For groups of 9 and over, or the Chef's Table, please contact the restaurant for availability.

9698 Jasper Ave
Edmonton, AB T5H 3V5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of 97th Street & Jasper Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 423-0969

Website:
http://www.hardwaregrill.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on 97th Street and both sides of Jasper Avenue. There is also underground parking at Canada Place across the street as well as several surface parking lots within 2 blocks.

Executive Chef:
Larry Stewart

Private Party Facilities:
The Red Wine Cellar can accommodate groups up to 16 people. It comes with an exclusive server, and a wall-mounted HDTV for presentation and entertainment purposes.

There are three available menus.

Room charge is waived for groups of eight or more.

The Red Wine Cell

Private Party Contact:
Leona: (780) 423-0969

Additional:
Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
"Edmonton has the best restaurant in Canada, the Hardware Grill.
The room is Frasier-and-Niles chic, but the lack of pretension is pure Martin Crane."

Hardware Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (67)
Special Occasion (61)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
See All
Romantic (54)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Business Meals (37)
Notable Wine List (36)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Cozy (31)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Historic (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Private Room (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Authentic (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Healthy (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Fun (6)
Casual (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Seasonal (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Scenic View (4)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1501 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 2 days ago

Overwhelmingly accomplished experience, every time! We came to celebrate a friend's birthday with a 5 course tasting menu as paired by the expert hands of the Hardware Grill. We arrived to beautiful service, each course surmounting the other and the wine pairings were perfect bridges, every time.

The pace was spot on, the Chefs table a lovely surprise....truly a memorable evening from Edmonton's Best. The attention to detail and customer service is beautiful!

Thank you to Larry, Melinda and the staff for a beautiful Gourmet experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

We hosted friends from out of town, and we were all very impressed with Hardware Grill. From friendly staff to fantastic food, we could not have asked for anything more. It had been a long time since my wife and I had been there, but it will not be so long before we return. Will recommend Hardware Grill to anyone looking for a classy dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

We dine out a lot in Edmonton and the States and always appreciate great service and outstanding food. Hardware Grill remains as one my go to in Edmonton for a number of reason.

First of all the service is outstanding, the food will open up your palete with such amazing flavours. Whether they are decanting the wine or serving one of their delicious meals, the friendly and creative staff we make you want to come back for more.

Hats off to the Hardware Grill owner and staff for being consistent. I cannot say that about any other restaurant in town.

Shane....you made our Anniversary memorable....thank you very much!

Marilyn and Todd.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 6 days ago

Another excellent experience at Hardware Grill. This is my favourite restaurant to celebrate special occasions in Edmonton. Each time I have dined here, it's been worth every penny.

Elk was cooked perfectly, and the accompanying sides were creative and delicious.

Each time I have been here Kyle has looked after us. Friendly, professional, attentive service; some of the best I have received (and I work in the food industry as well, so I can appreciate the level of service he provides)

Mentioned in the notes that it was my girlfriends birthday, and dessert came out with a Happy Birthday chocolate, and celebratory wishes from staff. This is my girlfriends favourite restaurant in the city and the only one she wants to celebrate her birthday at.

Well done Hardware Grill and thank you again Kyle for making our occasion a special one!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 19, 2017

They have the best Mac and cheese if you go there you definitely try it

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Amazing food! The sea bass was incredible! Very accommodating to gluten free. Our server Alex was great! He made lots of good suggestions, kept us laughing and told us we were a pleasure to serve!

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service. I ordered the elk and found that it was tough and under seasoned. The sides were delicious and the beef was also quite nice. White wine selection could be better for such a nice restaurant.
Overall had a lovely time with great friends.
Thank you,
Shalini

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We used to love it here, unfortunately the last two times , the sea bass ,which should be fresh , tasted old, fishy...
Two out of the four of us had it last night,we couldn't eat it and our sever didn't seem to care.
Its 48 dollars. Seeing as this now has happened twice,sadly we wont be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 13, 2017

One of my favourite restaurants in Edmonton. Had another wonderful meal here. The food and service is consistently excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food and service was exceptional!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Haven't been in years and was across the street for a wine tasting at the Shaw. Dean was great and really made my Tuesday.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent food and ambiance. Food was unique and well prepared. Definitely worth trying.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Visited Hardware Grill for the first time to celebrate our anniversary. It was absolutely the best meal we've had for years! As we were eating, we were reminiscing about other memorable meals that we've had during our travels (Jules Verne in the Eiffel Tower, Sydney Opera House, Napa Valley, etc) and Hardware Grill will now be added to our list of memorable meals. We've only lived in Edmonton for 3 years, but now I'm sad that I didn't visit earlier. I had the sea bass and it was exquisite. My husband had the elk/short rib and he was just as happy with his meal as I was with mine. We couldn't resist the dessert menu - one creme brûlée and one molten chocolate cake later, we were full. It was so delicious and the service was excellent! I can't remember the last time I rated someone 5 stars, but Hardware Grill totally deserved it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Our family enjoys the Hardware Grill for special occasions. We have never been disappointed, enjoying fine meals, well presented with attentive, well informed service.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent meal! Have wanted to try for a long time, and was very impressed. Will be back one day.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Very good food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Two of our party of six got sick from the mac and cheese. Maybe the seafood had gone off?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Always a treat at the Hardware Grill! Alex provided outstanding service at just the right pace. We had the salmon and sea bass and both were delicious and full of flavour. Wine options are excellent. Dinner was lovely, perfect before the Citadel. Our sweet ending was the creme brûlée and gingerbread cake. YUM!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 14, 2017

High-quality atmosphere, food (much of which is BOTH unique AND high-quality), amazing service staff, and all around enjoyable "dining out" experience. Make sure you go a little hungry as you'll want to savour all the good-sized portions/courses fully.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Amazing food - I had the vegetarian tasting plate - and fabulous cocktails. Try their Alberta Mule. I LOVE the Hardware Grill

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Always been a fan of the Hardware, however this time I was disappointed in the food, I had the beef tenderloin and there was not much taste to it, was very bland, the appetizers were ok but very small. Our server was nice and friendly, however she must not of liked the tip we gave her as she came back to the table and questioned us on it and said it wasn't really enough since she also had to cash out the kitchen at the end of her shift... I just dont think I would be back after that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I had heard great reviews and the Hardware Grill lived up to it's reputation. I was very impressed and will definitely recommend the restaurant and return again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We were here to celebrate birthday(didn't indicate this on booking information though). It's my second time dining here and the first time was great. However, this time was terrible, the food are not tasty at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great appetizers. The scallops were a great starter and had lots of sauce. The olive oil with the bread was so delicious. Great ceasar salad.

The mains were all good. Great tenderloin, great salmon and sea bass (the fish came out hot which was so enjoyable). But the star for our table was the lamb!!!

And the gingerbread cake was a great finish! We were all way more excited about this meal than we expected and plan to return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great times

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Lee theatre dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 6, 2017

shane was amazing. awesome recommendations. perfect portions. overall such a great date night. shane really shined!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Our server was so amazing. He was friendly and helped us pick a wine which we all loved. He also took off two desserts from our bill because it was my birthday! We all loved the cocktails, wine, food, and overall atmosphere. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food and staff were amazing. Thank you for a spectacular meal

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent evening date at the Hardware Grill. Husband and I went for our anniversary which is why we chose this awesome restaurant. Delicious food! Our waiter was excellent and knowledgable about food allergy info for myself. Even with gluten and dairy free restrictions, I had an amazing meal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Overall nice experience. Beautiful decor and I loved the open kitchen. I thought the food was somewhat pricey compared to other higher end restaurants. I did not like having the bone with marrow on my plate.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great way to celebrate. The cuisine was top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great service and excellent recommendations!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We celebrated my son's 23rd birthday. Our waiter Shane was welcoming, knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour. We started off sharing the scallops, Torchon foie gras, pork belly and fantastic soup of yesterday which was cream of mushroom. The 4 starters presented enough food for each of us to have a taste. The cream of mushroom soup was amazing! The Foie gras with relish was the best I have ever had. Each of us had a different entree; Beef Tenderloin (served with a bone marrow mixture which was outstanding); Sea Bass (served with a potato crepe filled with seafood, was to die for); duck was amazing and the lamb also terrific. There were so many flavours on each plate! This whole meal was one of the best I have ever had!!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Amazing dinner! The food was absolutely fantastic, a lot of great choices and everything we tried was wonderful. The portions are very generous and the service was great all night. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We have been here several times and never disappointed. Excellent service all around. Tasty food especially the Sea Bass and the Salmon . It is pricey but worth going for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had a group of 6 going to celebrate 2 Birthdays. One of the guests of Honor was turning 60 and her and her husband had never been to hardware before.
The other 4 have all been there several times and always had a great experience, so chose the location for the 60th knowing the new diners would not be disappointed.
Between the 6 of us we managed to order about 75% of the whole menu and everything was delectable. Everyone left sated and looking forward to returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food, service was friendly. Every time we have been to hardware grill it has been great! We will be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Food was so tasty, cooked to perfection, surprisingly filling portions. Ambiance and service were discreet but attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Cozy, Scenic View, Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Amazing tomato soup. Super friendly staff

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.