Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Hardware Grill

Established in 1996, hardware grill is an A-list dining spot in Canada. It is a glorious setting for Chef / Owner Larry Stewart's progressive Canadian Cuisine, bold flavors, dramatic presentation, creative and whimsical prairie regional flavors, French influenced style, enthralling design and impeccable standards of service form the entire experience hardware grill.

Local owners Melinda and Chef Larry Stewart have a hand picked brigade to offer culinary grace in an elegant casual setting with professional, convivial service.

Located in the heart of the Arts District, the Historic Goodridge Block is the perfect home for this restaurant that has come to epitomize contemporary regional cuisine at its best.

For groups of 9 and over, or the Chef's Table, please contact the restaurant for availability.

9698 Jasper Ave
Edmonton, AB T5H 3V5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of 97th Street & Jasper Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 423-0969

Website:
http://www.hardwaregrill.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on 97th Street and both sides of Jasper Avenue. There is also underground parking at Canada Place across the street as well as several surface parking lots within 2 blocks.

Executive Chef:
Larry Stewart

Private Party Facilities:
The Red Wine Cellar can accommodate groups up to 16 people. It comes with an exclusive server, and a wall-mounted HDTV for presentation and entertainment purposes.

There are three available menus.

Room charge is waived for groups of eight or more.

The Red Wine Cell

Private Party Contact:
Leona: (780) 423-0969

Additional:
Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
"Edmonton has the best restaurant in Canada, the Hardware Grill.
The room is Frasier-and-Niles chic, but the lack of pretension is pure Martin Crane."

Hardware Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (74)
Special Occasion (65)
Romantic (58)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Notable Wine List (40)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Business Meals (31)
Cozy (27)
Worth the Drive (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Local Ingredients (16)
Open Kitchen (16)
Historic (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Private Room (13)
Modern Decor (11)
Authentic (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Fun (9)
Casual (8)
Healthy (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Great for Lunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tapas (4)
Seasonal (4)
People Watching (4)
Scenic View (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Spicy (2)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fireplace (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great Beer (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Vegan (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
1488 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Our family enjoys the Hardware Grill for special occasions. We have never been disappointed, enjoying fine meals, well presented with attentive, well informed service.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent meal! Have wanted to try for a long time, and was very impressed. Will be back one day.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Very good food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Two of our party of six got sick from the mac and cheese. Maybe the seafood had gone off?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Always a treat at the Hardware Grill! Alex provided outstanding service at just the right pace. We had the salmon and sea bass and both were delicious and full of flavour. Wine options are excellent. Dinner was lovely, perfect before the Citadel. Our sweet ending was the creme brûlée and gingerbread cake. YUM!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 14, 2017

High-quality atmosphere, food (much of which is BOTH unique AND high-quality), amazing service staff, and all around enjoyable "dining out" experience. Make sure you go a little hungry as you'll want to savour all the good-sized portions/courses fully.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Amazing food - I had the vegetarian tasting plate - and fabulous cocktails. Try their Alberta Mule. I LOVE the Hardware Grill

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Always been a fan of the Hardware, however this time I was disappointed in the food, I had the beef tenderloin and there was not much taste to it, was very bland, the appetizers were ok but very small. Our server was nice and friendly, however she must not of liked the tip we gave her as she came back to the table and questioned us on it and said it wasn't really enough since she also had to cash out the kitchen at the end of her shift... I just dont think I would be back after that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I had heard great reviews and the Hardware Grill lived up to it's reputation. I was very impressed and will definitely recommend the restaurant and return again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We were here to celebrate birthday(didn't indicate this on booking information though). It's my second time dining here and the first time was great. However, this time was terrible, the food are not tasty at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great appetizers. The scallops were a great starter and had lots of sauce. The olive oil with the bread was so delicious. Great ceasar salad.

The mains were all good. Great tenderloin, great salmon and sea bass (the fish came out hot which was so enjoyable). But the star for our table was the lamb!!!

And the gingerbread cake was a great finish! We were all way more excited about this meal than we expected and plan to return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great times

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Lee theatre dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 6, 2017

shane was amazing. awesome recommendations. perfect portions. overall such a great date night. shane really shined!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Our server was so amazing. He was friendly and helped us pick a wine which we all loved. He also took off two desserts from our bill because it was my birthday! We all loved the cocktails, wine, food, and overall atmosphere. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food and staff were amazing. Thank you for a spectacular meal

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent evening date at the Hardware Grill. Husband and I went for our anniversary which is why we chose this awesome restaurant. Delicious food! Our waiter was excellent and knowledgable about food allergy info for myself. Even with gluten and dairy free restrictions, I had an amazing meal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Overall nice experience. Beautiful decor and I loved the open kitchen. I thought the food was somewhat pricey compared to other higher end restaurants. I did not like having the bone with marrow on my plate.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great way to celebrate. The cuisine was top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great service and excellent recommendations!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We celebrated my son's 23rd birthday. Our waiter Shane was welcoming, knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour. We started off sharing the scallops, Torchon foie gras, pork belly and fantastic soup of yesterday which was cream of mushroom. The 4 starters presented enough food for each of us to have a taste. The cream of mushroom soup was amazing! The Foie gras with relish was the best I have ever had. Each of us had a different entree; Beef Tenderloin (served with a bone marrow mixture which was outstanding); Sea Bass (served with a potato crepe filled with seafood, was to die for); duck was amazing and the lamb also terrific. There were so many flavours on each plate! This whole meal was one of the best I have ever had!!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Amazing dinner! The food was absolutely fantastic, a lot of great choices and everything we tried was wonderful. The portions are very generous and the service was great all night. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We have been here several times and never disappointed. Excellent service all around. Tasty food especially the Sea Bass and the Salmon . It is pricey but worth going for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had a group of 6 going to celebrate 2 Birthdays. One of the guests of Honor was turning 60 and her and her husband had never been to hardware before.
The other 4 have all been there several times and always had a great experience, so chose the location for the 60th knowing the new diners would not be disappointed.
Between the 6 of us we managed to order about 75% of the whole menu and everything was delectable. Everyone left sated and looking forward to returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food, service was friendly. Every time we have been to hardware grill it has been great! We will be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Food was so tasty, cooked to perfection, surprisingly filling portions. Ambiance and service were discreet but attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Cozy, Scenic View, Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Amazing tomato soup. Super friendly staff

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Very nice restaurant, food is amazing! Love the enviornment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 15, 2017

As our waiter said don't eat to much bread. Our crispy duck confit on a waffle and a shared truffle parmesan fries and we were stuffed. Then our mains were Chicken ‘Schnitzel’ for my wife and for myself Heritage Pork Chop. Then dessert came my wife had Glenlivet Infused Butterscotch Pudding with salted shortbread cookies and myself Marble Chocolate Brownie with Chocolate Mousse, Vanilla Ice Cream and a Bourbon Caramel Sauce. We finished our dessert and took the rest of our mains home. The food was unbelievable, it was fantastic.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always been there be of the best restaurants in town

Tags: Historic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I have heard so many great things of this restaurant and I am pleased to say that I was not disappointed at all. Our server was so witty and entertaining - he gave great feedback on the menu. The food was absolutely fabulous! Appetizers, Mains & Desserts - just awesome! :)

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Awesome service and great food. Large portions no very tasty. Will be going back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 2, 2017

My husband and I had a wonderful meal before attending the symphony at the Winspear. We shared the lobster risotto to start then had the vegetarian sampler and the sea bass as entrees. They were delicious! The restaurant is pricey but worth every penny. Service was excellent-attentive and professional.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Hardware Grill is a must when we are in Edmonton. Amazing food and wine list along with outstanding service. 10 out of 10.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We came to Edmonton to see Garth Brooks in concert and made reservations at the Hardware Grill, sight unseen. This was a great choice and a perfect pairing for the evening, a great show and a great pre-show meal.
Our server was both knowledgeable and attentive without being overly so. We let him know our time table and he made sure that everything came in a timely manner and such that we did not feel rushed or uncomfortable.
The food was excellent and our Sea Bass cooked to perfection. the atmosphere was calm and relaxed with the staff quietly going about their duties in a non- obtrusive manner.
Overall, a great meal, wonderful staff, and a relaxing atmosphere. We will look forward to our next return visit to this restaurant in June.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Fantastic as usual! Great food, great service, great ambience! If any restaurant was to claim it was Canadian food this wood be it! Bacon wrapped Elk, duck confit, salmon, its all there!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Larry Steward is a credit to Edmonton's culinary scene - as always the Hardware Grill topped the charts!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was really good! The food was amazing, all of it, the scallops were the best I've had! We were so impressed with the quality of the food, probably the best meal we've had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Always a treat ! Never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food has been

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.