Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Hardware Grill

Established in 1996, hardware grill is an A-list dining spot in Canada. It is a glorious setting for Chef / Owner Larry Stewart's progressive Canadian Cuisine, bold flavors, dramatic presentation, creative and whimsical prairie regional flavors, French influenced style, enthralling design and impeccable standards of service form the entire experience hardware grill.

Local owners Melinda and Chef Larry Stewart have a hand picked brigade to offer culinary grace in an elegant casual setting with professional, convivial service.

Located in the heart of the Arts District, the Historic Goodridge Block is the perfect home for this restaurant that has come to epitomize contemporary regional cuisine at its best.

For groups of 9 and over, or the Chef's Table, please contact the restaurant for availability.

9698 Jasper Ave
Edmonton, AB T5H 3V5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of 97th Street & Jasper Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 423-0969

Website:
http://www.hardwaregrill.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on 97th Street and both sides of Jasper Avenue. There is also underground parking at Canada Place across the street as well as several surface parking lots within 2 blocks.

Executive Chef:
Larry Stewart

Additional:
Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
"Edmonton has the best restaurant in Canada, the Hardware Grill.
The room is Frasier-and-Niles chic, but the lack of pretension is pure Martin Crane."

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Details

Treat the one you love
PREPAID EVENT! 3-Course Dinner $125/person
Tax & Gratuity INCLUDED. Refund in GC form ONLY after Feb 1

Hardware Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (80)
Good for a Date (74)
Good for Anniversaries (67)
See All
Creative Cuisine (58)
Romantic (57)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Notable Wine List (46)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Business Meals (34)
Cozy (29)
Worth the Drive (28)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Local Ingredients (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Authentic (19)
Tasting Menu (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Healthy (14)
Casual (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Seasonal (9)
Fun (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
People Watching (5)
Great Beer (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (3)
Vegan (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
1716 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely amazing food,great atmosphere and friendly staff. Will be going back. Oh and I highly recommend the lobster risotto!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Splendid as always. Delicious appies (scallops and ricotta), and mains were generous portions. Two small knocks... The Shyraz we preferred was out of stock, and mains took a longgg time to arrive. But great service and delicious fixings as always ...!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing food and amazing staff. Well worth the money.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I booked this special dinner for a friends birthday. When they arrived and not sure what name I booked under, the host said, you can sit on the side there in the lobby until you figure it out.
They said they should have left as it it was downhill from there.
They were seated at a table with peeling, dirty looking, uncomfortable chairs. The room lighting was too dark and they later understood that was so you could not see the food or the bill.
The appetisers texture and taste was off; the pork like old fridge leftovers and scallops seemed raw, so they were set aside. Ordered sea bass; 'very' small portion, only the fish tasted fine, the crepes were mucky (like they were made days in advance) and bitter.
They were charged $8 more than menu price.
For $52 per plate they expected that the food to be exceptional, however, it was terrible taste, texture, quality and presentation.
They packed up the food to look at later at home. The scallops when cut in half were raw, pork was grey coloured, mostly fat with slimy texture, pancake dry.
Guest that had eaten some of the scallop and pork was sick that night thru to Sunday night.
She has a picture on her phone from August, 2015 that shows that same meal as exceptional and the fish 4 times the size, so did not expect any of this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great meal and great Service. We had Yesterday's soup - mushroom and truffle oil then Porcini encrusted Sea Bass. Both fantastic and decent sized meals.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

The Hardware Grill was highly recommended. Two of us ate there for a business dinner and it was much better than I had expected. Our waiter pushed this smoked tomato bisque to start. I would have ordered five more of those if I could have gotten away with it and still looked professional. The entrees were equally good.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We had a very enjoyable evening that fit well with it being a dinner with the management team. The service was attentive, professional, and polite. The food was very good and well presented. Waiter was very good at making sure he was involved and around but not intrusive or disruptive.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2018

Our waiter was attentive but all let us be, the food was amazing, and the prixe fie menu was perfect!

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 14, 2018

You can never go wrong choosing to come here. Always great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 13, 2018

The food and service was great! The attention was phenomenal! The only thing I didn’t like was when I booked I requested a birthday dessert and called to confirm before and they said all was good! But when I arrived they didn’t have it and I had to sneak and ask a server to do that for me. They did it and was good anyway! Too bad it wasn’t surprising as I requested. But overall great place

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 13, 2018

Absolutely fantastic!! definitely would go again soon! our waiter was quick, reliable, responsive and always polite. Will be attending a bit more often now.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

Way too salty. Food was horrible for what you pay. You get better food at 5 guys and fries . Not impressed.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

Kids loved the food, and that means a lot to me

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Excellent food and service. Highly recommended! We’ve been here three times and every occasion has been a pleasure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Surprised my wife for her birthday. Everything was fantastic from the welcoming as we walked through the door to helping decide on a wine to dinner choices. Extremely friendly staff and the atmosphere was great.

The food was unreal. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Fantastic food. Waiter was amazing. We will definitely be back again

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 29, 2017

While the food was quite good, it wasn’t to the level expected. The service was good, but for the $’s, I expected more attention, more servers and a higher level of attention to our needs. I will continue my search for a high quality dining experience in Edmonton.

Tags: Special Occasion
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Always a good meal. Service is excellent. Been coming here for over 15 years and never disappointed.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

As always, we have a wonderful experience at Hardware. The service is so friendly and the food is amazing!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 23, 2017

We found the décor to be a bit questionable. The wine menu's cover page certainly does NOT fit with the high end restaurant theme. If you're spending $50 on an entrée, the wine menu should at least look high end vs. what you would find at a Chinese Buffet. The bathrooms were also not very appealing. The womens had plywood dividers. Again, not a top notch accessory you'd expect to find in a restaurant that charges these prices.

That said, the food was great. Everything was presented very well and timed perfectly so that we were never waiting extremely long. Expect a dinner seating to last about 1.5 - 2 hours. Our server was great and not pushy or overbearing. I do appreciate the cocktail list despite the book in which it came from. We had a great meal and will be back. It's in the pricey range, so not for everyone and not for regular occurrences unless you're pretty well off. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone. The menu is small, but it should be that way so that the Chef's can focus on nailing a few dishes rather than being OK at a million dishes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 23, 2017

Had heard nothing but GREAT things about Hardware Grill so we had to see for ourselves. It was beyond what we had expected! From the service, environment, food and drinks, top notch! Will be back for Valentines Day!

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Food is outstanding as well as the service. Hardware Grill never disappoints!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 22, 2017

One of our favourites !!! Food is always exceptional and service is second to none . If your looking for a fine dining experience in Edmonton this is it!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 22, 2017

Really great dinner place if you don’t mind spending a bit more than typical restaurants. From some tables uou can see the chefs working in the kitchen as they prepare the meals which is neat. Our waiter was amazing. Great overall experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Excellent food. Excellent service. Highly recommend the sea bass.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

The server was very good, he to give us advices to help us choose our dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Came here with my partner for our anniversary. We had an amazing waitress that took care of us while visiting the restaurant, the food we ordered was absolutely outstanding! It is a bit pricey, however, we do not have a problem paying for exceptional food and service. The ambiance was quiet yet had a vibrant feel to it, can dress casual or formal. We will definately be back to dine at this restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary on Friday night. Dean and the rest of the staff treated us like royalty. The food was excellent and inventive. The KFC cauliflower, elk tenderloin and gingerbread cake were standouts for the evening. We will definitely come again and have already recommended it to friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Comfort Food
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 15, 2017

Always excellent food and sublime service. The menu is always well executed, and I love the room.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 15, 2017

Great food and service for a birthday celebration. Sea Bass was amazing and everything we tried was tasty

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 10, 2017

We always dine at Hardware Grill when we want a special meal, wine, etc.
Larry received my special request and gave me what I wanted.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

We had an amazing dinner at Hardware Grill. Would highly recommend it to friends and family.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, People Watching, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

The evening at the Hardware Grill was worth every cent!! The main reason we decided to give this location a try because of the chocolate lava cake (Warm Soft-Centre Molten Chocolate Cake) which is nut-free due to allergies. Anyway, when we came in, two hostesses were very kind and quick to find our reservations and led us to the table. We met our waiter who was very accommodating due to our deafness... he was more than willing to speak a dictation to one of my friends' iPhone and we were able to pick up what the specials were and what he could do for us. His service as well as other wait staff were wonderful! They were attentive to our needs even when we did not ask for it. Before the aforementioned dessert, I enjoyed the handrolled butternut squash mascarpone tortellini as an appetizer and then the main entree: crab-crusted cedar planked salmon with potato gnocchi, aspargus, and mushrooms with sauce americaine. I enjoyed a pinot grigio wine to go with the 3-course meal. This is not the usual place I would go to on a regular basis but this is special for me and my friends to enjoy before the year closes out this month. What a Merry Christmas gathering with my friends enjoying great food!! Hope Hardware Grill sticks around for a long time!!! A gem in Edmonton!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fun, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 7, 2017

We do recommend 100% quite atmoshere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 5, 2017

Amazing, loved everything about it and will be going back!

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2017

My wife & I had a superb dinner during our recent visit from Los Angeles. Hardware Grill was a highlight on our last visit, and it continues to deliver a memorable dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 3, 2017

great service and food
Enjoyed the excellent tenderloin

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Great night catching up with friends. Food was amazing. Service was perfect. Enjoyed our quiet little corner.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

We have visited the restaurant a few times over the past 15 years and have always been satisfied with the results. This is rare as many restaurants have trouble maintaining there the quality and they know how to charge they dont loose that but the quality often goes in the tanks. Congrats for a sustained quality product

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.