About Hardware Grill

Established in 1996, hardware grill is an A-list dining spot in Canada. It is a glorious setting for Chef / Owner Larry Stewart's progressive Canadian Cuisine, bold flavors, dramatic presentation, creative and whimsical prairie regional flavors, French influenced style, enthralling design and impeccable standards of service form the entire experience hardware grill.

Local owners Melinda and Chef Larry Stewart have a hand picked brigade to offer culinary grace in an elegant casual setting with professional, convivial service.

Located in the heart of the Arts District, the Historic Goodridge Block is the perfect home for this restaurant that has come to epitomize contemporary regional cuisine at its best.

For groups of 9 and over, or the Chef's Table, please contact the restaurant for availability.

9698 Jasper Ave
Edmonton, AB T5H 3V5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Now open for Lunch Wednesdays to Friday 1130 to 130 and Starting November 21 Monday to Friday 1130 to 130

Cross Street:
Corner of 97th Street & Jasper Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 423-0969

Website:
http://www.hardwaregrill.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on 97th Street and both sides of Jasper Avenue. There is also underground parking at Canada Place across the street as well as several surface parking lots within 2 blocks.

Executive Chef:
Larry Stewart

Private Party Facilities:
The Red Wine Cellar can accommodate groups up to 16 people. It comes with an exclusive server, and a wall-mounted HDTV for presentation and entertainment purposes.

There are three available menus.

Room charge is waived for groups of eight or more.

The Red Wine Cell

Private Party Contact:
Leona: (780) 423-0969

Additional:
Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
"Edmonton has the best restaurant in Canada, the Hardware Grill.
The room is Frasier-and-Niles chic, but the lack of pretension is pure Martin Crane."

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Creme Brulee - Hardware Grill, Edmonton, AB
Burrata Salad With Heirloom Beets and Figs. - Hardware Grill, Edmonton, AB
60 Day Aged New York Steak - Hardware Grill, Edmonton, AB
Bacon Wrapped Elk And Short Rib - Hardware Grill, Edmonton, AB
Blackened Sea Bass With Prawn And Potato Crepes - Hardware Grill, Edmonton, AB
Lobster Rissotto - Hardware Grill, Edmonton, AB
Lamb Chop - Hardware Grill, Edmonton, AB
Brownie - Hardware Grill, Edmonton, AB
Kobe Beef Burger - Hardware Grill, Edmonton, AB
Salmon - Hardware Grill, Edmonton, AB

Hardware Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (87)
Good for Anniversaries (69)
Good for a Date (67)
See All
Romantic (65)
Fit for Foodies (60)
Creative Cuisine (58)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Notable Wine List (49)
Quiet Conversation (48)
Business Meals (41)
Good for Groups (34)
Cozy (32)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Worth the Drive (27)
Open Kitchen (27)
Historic (23)
Local Ingredients (21)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Private Room (16)
Casual (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Authentic (14)
Modern Decor (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Seasonal (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Healthy (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
People Watching (6)
Scenic View (5)
Fun (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Family Style (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Waterfront (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1407 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best restaurant in Edmonton! Food and se ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Best restaurant in Edmonton! Food and service is outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was incredible, and so wa ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The experience was incredible, and so was the food. The server was also very knowledgable and charming. Will definitely be returning often.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy Meal. Good service. Beef carpaccio ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Yummy Meal. Good service. Beef carpaccio is always good, as is the sea bass. Burger was a surprise hit! We will be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

prices have increase quite a bit, but st ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 8, 2017

prices have increase quite a bit, but still great food

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our overall experience at hardware was ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our overall experience at hardware was pretty good! The food was exceptionally well plated and the taste was delightful. The four of us quite enjoyed our meals. Highly recommended to go! The service was great at the beginning of the meal and then got worse as the night went on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Went to Hardware Grill on a Friday night ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Went to Hardware Grill on a Friday night, it does not get busy until around 7pm. We went around 6pm and enjoyed the ability to have a conversation and the space between tables.

Our server Anne I believe was fantastic, great sense of humour and gave us the proper space/service ratio. Sometimes servers can hover a little to much. She also comped an appetizer that I mentioned I loved but did not think it was necessary, as it was my Birthday. Really kind and intuitive of her!

The Duck was amazing and I have always had a great experience there.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to Hardware Gr ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This was our second visit to Hardware Grill, and as it turned out, we had the same waiter as last time. He was very friendly, and gave us information about some menu items that were very helpful. The food preparation, presentation, and combinations of ingredients were excellent, showed creativity, and resulted in textures and tastes that were remarkable. The duck confit starter item was tremendous; the beef tenderloin was perfectly prepared (medium rare); and the textures and tastes of all items made the overall experience so memorable. Hardware Grill is one of our high-end restaurant easy choices, especially for birthdays and anniversary.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, , Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been too hardware grill a number of ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I've been too hardware grill a number of times and the food has always been excellant. This time was no exception. I thought our New Years meal was great . My one issue with this visit was the service.

  1. We felt a little rushed through the meal

  2. My wife ordered a steak but was not asked how she wanted it cooked.

  3. Out orders were consistently served backwards . Or my wife would get my meal and I would get hers

  4. My dessert order was different from what I ordered . ( a positive is the correct dessert was brought out immediately )

  5. I had notified the restaurant that the dinner was for my wife's bday but nothing was done to mark the occasion . ( note we were not expecting any thing but would have been a nice touch)

Onc again our experience In The past has been great so hopefully the next time around would be better

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

New Years sub standard pre set meal. Ve ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years sub standard pre set meal. Very disappointed they over charge because it is New Years Eve. Hardware Grill is great otherwise but I would never go again for what the say is a special planned evening what a rip off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Fantastic experience. We are looking for ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic experience. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu was full of tempting appy's, salads ...

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Menu was full of tempting appy's, salads and mains - each of which sounded really good and made choosing one difficult. We settled on a pork belly appy which was served on a very tasty potato pancake, an excellent Caesar salad then for our mains we had duck breast and an Elk and beef dish. They were all excellent. The server was tremendous and touted the passion of the chef / owners attention to quality and unique dishes. They had a really good wine, liquor line up. Atmosphere was very relaxed and comfortable. Highly recommend Hardware Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I found this restaurant over priced. An ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I found this restaurant over priced. An 8 oz glass of wine is $20 and plate of Sea Bass runs at $48 which I find ridiculous. Our server was condescending at time and we dropped a hint we were there for a birthday dinner no special dessert was offered. The portion sizes are generous and the food was tasty. I guess this is the best Edmonton has to offer🙁

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Awesome meal!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Awesome meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a lovely dinner. Dinner and servi ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a lovely dinner. Dinner and service did not disappoint. We had a variety of items off the menu. We were all pleased.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food never disappoints here. Always ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food never disappoints here. Always outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love everything about this place. The co ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Love everything about this place. The consistency is what is most important us. The food and staff are always at a very high level. The ambiance has that just right balance of relaxing and upbeat. Just a delightful place to be. Crazy about the scallop appetizer and the rack of lamb is perfect. My wife can't wait for the gingerbread cake. In a word.....bravo!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal and service were outstanding. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The meal and service were outstanding. For an appetizer I had the pork belly with green onion pancake, the combination of flavours were wonderful. Our entres were the salmon and elk which were cooked perfectly. For desert I had the salted carmel creme broule and maple bacon doughnut, my partner had the ginger cake both were very tasty. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was great. Service was superb. Food w ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 22, 2016

It was great. Service was superb. Food was great. Would definitely go back

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food. Fantastic service. What ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Fantastic food. Fantastic service. What more is there to say?

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was amazing, as usual. I have been ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food was amazing, as usual. I have been holding out for the past 12 months, hoping that the vegetarian main would be changed, it's been the same every time I've been here. Unfortunately the veggie option never changed. Fortunately they have many vegetarian appetisers. So I had 2 appetisers for my main meal. Everything was delicious. Server was knowledgeable, cocktails were beautiful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Historic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great - food, service, ambience - ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Always great - food, service, ambience - Larry Stewart still runs the best in the city

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful night! Excellent food! Loved t ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Wonderful night! Excellent food! Loved the scallops, steaks, lamb and the chocolate cake!

Our server has been there for 20 years. I don't remember his name but he made the night special!

We will be back!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent as well as the se ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was excellent as well as the service. Perhaps a little overpriced,but for a special occasion it was well worth it! The sea bass , elk and steak were cooked perfectly and very delicious. The appetizers and desserts were good ,but not great.Wine a little on the pricey side.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Dinner was exceptional and service was v ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Dinner was exceptional and service was very good. A table not so close to the door would have been nice.

Expected a bit more from the wine list .

This is an "annual " dinner out with my daughter prior to ESO ! Need to experiment with the menu more next year -- but the sea bass is hard to pass up !

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We came for our staff holiday lunch and ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We came for our staff holiday lunch and everyone loved their food! It was wonderful!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time here and the food was amazing ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 16, 2016

First time here and the food was amazing!!! The service however was surprisingly poor...our waiter built zero rapport and sounded like he was following a script the entire evening, trying to sell us on everything. We were out for a birthday dinner and so were taking our time after dinner after the bill had been delivered. The waiter circled a few times before rudely asking us to hurry up and pay basically as he had been there for 12 hours, his eyes were getting heavy waiting for us, and he wanted to go home. As a former server myself and someone in the customer service industry, I found this to be totally unacceptable. Again, great food but service is far from matching that same quality sadly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Great food, great atmosphere. and defini ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere. and definitely will come again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great meal and excellent, attentive serv ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great meal and excellent, attentive service by Chef Larry Stewart and the Hardware Grill team. Always a tremendous experience. Thank you.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was slow despite knowing we h ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Our server was slow despite knowing we had to see a play.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Tenderloin was amazing, the best I have ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Tenderloin was amazing, the best I have tried in Edmonton. My friends tried lamb and elk and they said that are really good. Wine menu is great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed a friend's night at Hardware ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We enjoyed a friend's night at Hardware Grill. The food is definitely first class and there are some quite original dishes.

I wish the east room had a little more ambiance--just seems like a tired long corridor--almost overflow and not very inviting.

Our waiter seemed rushed and impatient with us. Perhaps because we decided to order two appetizers each and desserts, not a main. However with wine and dessert we still ordered $300 at our table of 3 and left a generous tip. In this economy you should feel appreciated for your business; we really didn't.

The bread, water and table clearing server was the most attentive and appreciative of our business.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Very Kind waiters, overall good food. Ve ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very Kind waiters, overall good food. Very expensive, some worth the money but not all.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We attended for a staff Christmas party ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We attended for a staff Christmas party and we had an amazing time service was impeccable and food was great everyone had an excellent meal. This restaurant was a hidden find:)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We rated the restaurant overall as a fou ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We rated the restaurant overall as a four out of five. The only negative that we could offer was that the entrees were probably not quite up to the standard that we felt it should have been. There was six of us out for a Christmas Business celebration. Three had the sea bass. The sea bass was delicious but the rest of the meal was somewhat odd and just ok. One had the salmon entree and remarked that it was good, not outstanding, though. We would probably return and hope for an improvement of the meal itself.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Close to the Shaw Conference, this downt ...

 
·Dined on December 8, 2016

Close to the Shaw Conference, this downtown restaurant serves excellent food and good portions. On a 'value-for-money' scale it is well worth a visit.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hardware Grill is always a solid choice, ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Hardware Grill is always a solid choice, and I find it very fairly priced as well, considering that it is mostly an elegant place for special occasion and/or important business dinners. The menu has a good variety of choices and I always find something worth trying.

I recommend the smoked salmon and ricotta appetizers, definitely very tasty (by the way it is refreshing to find a place where they advertise it as "ricotta" and they serve you actual ricotta -- unlike other trendy restaurants in town with numbers in the name, where they call it ricotta and they serve creme fraiche... but I digress). My main course was the vegan sampler, I have to say I was slightly disappointed in that I expect a bit more variety and some of the parts were a bit too salty. On the other hand, my wife had the steak and she said it was perfect. Dessert selection is also outstanding.

Service is excellent, you get all you expect from a distinguished restaurant, courtesy, competence, friendliness.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Healthy, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Curtis was phenomenal! Personal and a pl ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Curtis was phenomenal! Personal and a pleasure to speak with. Will definitely be back and will request him to be our server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food, service and ambiance is always ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The food, service and ambiance is always outstanding!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, , Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and i enjoyed our appetizers a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My friend and i enjoyed our appetizers and main. the mains were very large and neither one of us finished. We were also too full for desert. The little 2 seater booths are cute but it feels as though you are facing the table across from you. Our waiter was a bit goofy and the only real negative.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Restaurant was lovely. Service was great ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Restaurant was lovely. Service was great. Food was uninspiring. Two of the appetizers were fantastic, everything else was closer to Moxies / Keg quality fare. Main of lamb rack was unfortunately prepared, chewy and not very flavourful. Vegetarian plate was okay, nothing to brag about. Might have been an off night for Hardware, but it was a $900.00 tab at the end of it, and usually I like to feel like it was spectacular at that price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.