Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Hardware Grill

Established in 1996, hardware grill is an A-list dining spot in Canada. It is a glorious setting for Chef / Owner Larry Stewart's progressive Canadian Cuisine, bold flavors, dramatic presentation, creative and whimsical prairie regional flavors, French influenced style, enthralling design and impeccable standards of service form the entire experience hardware grill.

Local owners Melinda and Chef Larry Stewart have a hand picked brigade to offer culinary grace in an elegant casual setting with professional, convivial service.

Located in the heart of the Arts District, the Historic Goodridge Block is the perfect home for this restaurant that has come to epitomize contemporary regional cuisine at its best.

For groups of 9 and over, or the Chef's Table, please contact the restaurant for availability.

9698 Jasper Ave
Edmonton, AB T5H 3V5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of 97th Street & Jasper Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 423-0969

Website:
http://www.hardwaregrill.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on 97th Street and both sides of Jasper Avenue. There is also underground parking at Canada Place across the street as well as several surface parking lots within 2 blocks.

Executive Chef:
Larry Stewart

Additional:
Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
"Edmonton has the best restaurant in Canada, the Hardware Grill.
The room is Frasier-and-Niles chic, but the lack of pretension is pure Martin Crane."

Private Dining

The Red Wine Cellar can accommodate groups up to 16 people. It comes with an exclusive server, and a wall-mounted HDTV for presentation and entertainment purposes. There are three available menus. Room charge is waived for groups of eight or more. The Red Wine Cellar

Hardware Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (63)
Good for a Date (52)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
See All
Romantic (50)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Notable Wine List (37)
Business Meals (36)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Cozy (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Good for Groups (20)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Authentic (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Historic (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Private Room (7)
Seasonal (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Healthy (4)
Fun (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Casual (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tapas (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (3)
Fireplace (2)
Organic (2)
Family Style (2)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
1521 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 4 days ago

I love the hardware grill and was excited to bring my relatives from Europe for dinner, the food, as always was excellent, however we had a few comments for feedback. The hostess poured water into a glass and missed, getting my aunt's hand all wet as well as the menu and table. She apologized, but made no effort to clean up the water at all, meaning my aunt had to use her dinner napkin to do so. It was her 81 birthday. The food came so fast that we were in and out of the restaurant in less than 1 hour, and we felt rushed out by the way the plates were removed before everyone had finished their meal and how fast the bill was presented. Again, wonderful food, but it would have been nice to feel a little more welcomed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome! Food and service superb as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 21, 2017

This was our first time at this restaurant. Our server was wonderful. He helped us make great choices for our dinner. Our dinner choices were absolutely amazing, which were the Seabass and the Salman dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Exceptional food as always. Great service as always. Despite a number of new restaurants in yeg, Hardware Grill remains our favourite.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 17, 2017

After being at another restaurant tonight, we were disappointed to see that the 9 oz glass of wine we ordered was almost twice as much as was poured at the Hardware Grill.

We had planned to order both more wine as well as ask for seconds on my drink as well, but the waiter never came by until after we had finished the meal, so never had a chance to inquire if we had received the correct amount.

The service was certainly not very attentive, and although we visit this restaurant every trip to Edmonton, enjoy the food and ambience, and have taken friends there as well as highly recommended it in the past, in future we will certainly pay closer attention to how much wine is served.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 16, 2017

My wife and I came here on a Thursday evening for date night.
To start out the staff was very friendly and courteous. We were seated immediately and our waiter promptly came and gave us some recommendations which were bang on. We had the KFC for an appetizer and it was delicious, I will never look at cauliflower the same!

I had the Sea Bass and my wife had the bacon wrapped elk and beef short rib. Everything was cooked perfectly and the flavours blended very well.

I would go back here in a heart beat but the price makes that a little bit prohibitive. Don't be mistaken though, the food, ambiance and staff make it worth every penny!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Wonderful! Food was delicious. Service could've been improved but it wasn't terrible. Will definitely be back!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 14, 2017

My husband and I came here for dinner to celebrate our anniversary. Service was spectacular, our server was very attentive and had a good sense of humour. We enjoyed our meal, I ordered the lamb (done medium) and it was cooked perfectly, my husband ordered the burger and it was very well seasoned. We got the Beef Carpaccio to start and it was the best that I've had compared to other restaurants. No complaints, we will definitely come here again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We've been to Hardware Grill a number of times over the years, and it's always great. Service was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

This dinner went to the top of our list for amazing meals. The attention to detail that went into every dish is why this place is excellent.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Best Convocation dinner location in the city!! Bar none!!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Quickly becoming our first choice for our anniversary and other special occasions.
Thanks for the continued professional service, great ambiance and awesome food :)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Evening dinner for 6 to celebrate my son's Grad. Service was excellent. Most food choices were very good. Three of us had the tenderloin, which was just OK at best. For the price, and the establishment, I would have expected it to be much more tender. We are in Alberta, after all. Also, FYI, I was not expecting an 18% gratuity to be automatically added for a party of 6. Philosophically, I disagree with this practice for this size of party. Overall, I did not find the value to be there.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I was really looking forward to this meal because it has been highly acclaimed... however, we arrived at 2045 because that was the earliest reservation available on line...the reception at the door and with the person who brought our bread was chilly. It was like both of them were not happy to see us. Their words may have said that, but both my partner and I felt the coolness. The waiter however was very friendly...

The food was amazing! Thank you. But we had not finished our appetizers and the main meal arrived!!! Not what you would expect from a high end restaurant! I did make the comment " that was fast" thinking the waitress would pick up on the fact that the food should not have been delivered yet! We did not refuse the food... but I was annoyed...

I was asked if this was a special occasion when I booked, and yes it was...but not a thing mentioned about that at the time of the meal...pretty disappointing!

We should have said something about all of this at the time....

But I did go on the website looking for a way to contact the restaurant with my comments...and could not find an e.mail address.... so thanks for this opportunity. I am not sure if I would recommend...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Atmosphere was nice. Parking was close. Server was fine, nothing exceptional. There was a proposal when I visited. THe staff didn't have the courtesy to quiet the rest of the restaurant while they attempted to record what I assume is going to be a muffled proposal video. Food was delivered quickly. Ordered the KFC (Korean fries cauliflower) which was fine. My date and I both ordered the bacon wrapped elk and braised beef short rib. Our main course was terrible. The best part about it was the sides that came with the meal. The sauce on the elk was so harsh and overpowering there was no taste of elk or bacon. There was no sauce on the short rib. And the starter bread was ice cold. Overall I'd probably rate this place a 2/10 considering how expensive it was. The waiter never asked once how the meal was during our stay.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 3, 2017

had a great family special occasion dinner here,
the food was very interesting, delicious and the serving size was perfect for everyone. there is an extensive wine list to enjoy our waiter was very knowlegable

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Really liked our server. Very friendly. Enjoyed the food.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Our first time at Hardware Grill was an excellent experience for us. The wait staff were eager to serve and accommodate, but not pushy. We all picked the fixed price meal and every course was a treat. We especially loved the tortellini--so very delicious. The steak was perfect, as well, and the cream puffs were also a very fine treat. The wine list offers a great and varied choice and the prices are reasonable. When in Edmonton again, we will definitely consider another meal at Hardware Grill.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The Hardware Grill does not disappoint. The service was great and the food was spectacular. The sea bass is highly recommended. The scallop entree is served with three distinct sauces - to die for. The menu is pricey but well worth it. The chef uses the finest of ingredients.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Overwhelmingly accomplished experience, every time! We came to celebrate a friend's birthday with a 5 course tasting menu as paired by the expert hands of the Hardware Grill. We arrived to beautiful service, each course surmounting the other and the wine pairings were perfect bridges, every time.

The pace was spot on, the Chefs table a lovely surprise....truly a memorable evening from Edmonton's Best. The attention to detail and customer service is beautiful!

Thank you to Larry, Melinda and the staff for a beautiful Gourmet experience!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We hosted friends from out of town, and we were all very impressed with Hardware Grill. From friendly staff to fantastic food, we could not have asked for anything more. It had been a long time since my wife and I had been there, but it will not be so long before we return. Will recommend Hardware Grill to anyone looking for a classy dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Delicious meal!! The steak was cooked to perfection!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We dine out a lot in Edmonton and the States and always appreciate great service and outstanding food. Hardware Grill remains as one my go to in Edmonton for a number of reason.

First of all the service is outstanding, the food will open up your palete with such amazing flavours. Whether they are decanting the wine or serving one of their delicious meals, the friendly and creative staff we make you want to come back for more.

Hats off to the Hardware Grill owner and staff for being consistent. I cannot say that about any other restaurant in town.

Shane....you made our Anniversary memorable....thank you very much!

Marilyn and Todd.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Another excellent experience at Hardware Grill. This is my favourite restaurant to celebrate special occasions in Edmonton. Each time I have dined here, it's been worth every penny.

Elk was cooked perfectly, and the accompanying sides were creative and delicious.

Each time I have been here Kyle has looked after us. Friendly, professional, attentive service; some of the best I have received (and I work in the food industry as well, so I can appreciate the level of service he provides)

Mentioned in the notes that it was my girlfriends birthday, and dessert came out with a Happy Birthday chocolate, and celebratory wishes from staff. This is my girlfriends favourite restaurant in the city and the only one she wants to celebrate her birthday at.

Well done Hardware Grill and thank you again Kyle for making our occasion a special one!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 19, 2017

They have the best Mac and cheese if you go there you definitely try it

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Amazing food! The sea bass was incredible! Very accommodating to gluten free. Our server Alex was great! He made lots of good suggestions, kept us laughing and told us we were a pleasure to serve!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service. I ordered the elk and found that it was tough and under seasoned. The sides were delicious and the beef was also quite nice. White wine selection could be better for such a nice restaurant.
Overall had a lovely time with great friends.
Thank you,
Shalini

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We used to love it here, unfortunately the last two times , the sea bass ,which should be fresh , tasted old, fishy...
Two out of the four of us had it last night,we couldn't eat it and our sever didn't seem to care.
Its 48 dollars. Seeing as this now has happened twice,sadly we wont be back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 13, 2017

One of my favourite restaurants in Edmonton. Had another wonderful meal here. The food and service is consistently excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food and service was exceptional!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Haven't been in years and was across the street for a wine tasting at the Shaw. Dean was great and really made my Tuesday.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent food and ambiance. Food was unique and well prepared. Definitely worth trying.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Visited Hardware Grill for the first time to celebrate our anniversary. It was absolutely the best meal we've had for years! As we were eating, we were reminiscing about other memorable meals that we've had during our travels (Jules Verne in the Eiffel Tower, Sydney Opera House, Napa Valley, etc) and Hardware Grill will now be added to our list of memorable meals. We've only lived in Edmonton for 3 years, but now I'm sad that I didn't visit earlier. I had the sea bass and it was exquisite. My husband had the elk/short rib and he was just as happy with his meal as I was with mine. We couldn't resist the dessert menu - one creme brûlée and one molten chocolate cake later, we were full. It was so delicious and the service was excellent! I can't remember the last time I rated someone 5 stars, but Hardware Grill totally deserved it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Our family enjoys the Hardware Grill for special occasions. We have never been disappointed, enjoying fine meals, well presented with attentive, well informed service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent meal! Have wanted to try for a long time, and was very impressed. Will be back one day.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Very good food. Great service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Two of our party of six got sick from the mac and cheese. Maybe the seafood had gone off?

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Always a treat at the Hardware Grill! Alex provided outstanding service at just the right pace. We had the salmon and sea bass and both were delicious and full of flavour. Wine options are excellent. Dinner was lovely, perfect before the Citadel. Our sweet ending was the creme brûlée and gingerbread cake. YUM!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 14, 2017

High-quality atmosphere, food (much of which is BOTH unique AND high-quality), amazing service staff, and all around enjoyable "dining out" experience. Make sure you go a little hungry as you'll want to savour all the good-sized portions/courses fully.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Amazing food - I had the vegetarian tasting plate - and fabulous cocktails. Try their Alberta Mule. I LOVE the Hardware Grill

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.