About Hardware Grill

9698 Jasper Ave
Edmonton, AB T5H 3V5
View Larger Map

Established in 1996, hardware grill is an A-list dining spot in Canada. It is a glorious setting for Chef / Owner Larry Stewart's progressive Canadian Cuisine, bold flavors, dramatic presentation, creative and whimsical prairie regional flavors, French influenced style, enthralling design and impeccable standards of service form the entire experience hardware grill.

Local owners Melinda and Chef Larry Stewart have a hand picked brigade to offer culinary grace in an elegant casual setting with professional, convivial service.

Located in the heart of the Arts District, the Historic Goodridge Block is the perfect home for this restaurant that has come to epitomize contemporary regional cuisine at its best.

For groups of 9 and over, or the Chef's Table, please contact the restaurant for availability.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of 97th Street & Jasper Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 423-0969

Website:
http://www.hardwaregrill.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on 97th Street and both sides of Jasper Avenue. There is also underground parking at Canada Place across the street as well as several surface parking lots within 2 blocks.

Executive Chef:
Larry Stewart

Additional:
Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
"Edmonton has the best restaurant in Canada, the Hardware Grill.
The room is Frasier-and-Niles chic, but the lack of pretension is pure Martin Crane."

Restaurant Photos

Creme Brulee
Burrata Salad With Heirloom Beets and Figs.
60 Day Aged New York Steak
Blackened Sea Bass With Prawn And Potato Crepes
Bacon Wrapped Elk And Short Rib
Lobster Rissotto
Lamb Chop
Kobe Beef Burger
Brownie
Salmon

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

The Red Wine Cellar can accommodate groups up to 16 people. It comes with an exclusive server, and a wall-mounted HDTV for presentation and entertainment purposes. There are three available menus. Room charge is waived for groups of eight or more. The Red Wine Cell

Hardware Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Ambiance
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Fit for Foodies
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
14 More
Notable Wine List
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Romantic
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Special Occasion
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Canadian
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Most Booked
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Food
Edmonton
Best Ambiance
Edmonton
Fit for Foodies
Edmonton
Notable Wine List
Edmonton
Romantic
Edmonton
Special Occasion
Edmonton
Most Booked
Edmonton
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

special occasion (120)
fit for foodies (95)
romantic (89)
See All
notable wine list (71)
good for groups (45)
neighborhood gem (26)
hot spot (11)
late-night find (10)
scenic view (6)
great for lunch (6)
great for brunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1196 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Large portion sizes were a pleasant surp ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 5 days ago

Large portion sizes were a pleasant surprise. Excellent service and wonderful ambiance for a romantic dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome! Have always loved this restaur ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Awesome! Have always loved this restaurant and is truly a gem for Edmonton! :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My fiancé and I had a great experience a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My fiancé and I had a great experience at the hardware grill. The food was delicious and the service was great. They made us feel very special there by giving us one of he nicest tables in the restaurant because we dressed up nice for dinner. Would definitely go back there!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an excellent experience with exce ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was an excellent experience with excellent food.

One of our members however did not enjoy the amount of choice and price. However he did enjoy the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Best meal I've ever had. Friendly servic ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Best meal I've ever had. Friendly service, great atmosphere, delicious food.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved our first experience here. The ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We loved our first experience here. The old building has lots of character. We appreciated the mature staff and the advise they offered on the menu. Everyone we encountered was professional, friendly and relaxed. We had the sea bass, and the salmon. Both were delicious and good size portions. The KFC(Korean cauliflower) was not greasy(it was sooooo good) The caprese tomatoes were not as tasty as some I've had. We shared the mint white chocolate creme brûlée and I found it too heavy and I wouldn't order this flavor again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oversized portions, and no real special ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Oversized portions, and no real special focus. Dessert (white chocolate mint creme brulee) was inedible, and they even managed to ruin strawberries by coating them in balsamic vinaigrette. Apps and main were tasty enough, but way too much, with poorly conceived accompanying items. Just a bit behind the times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

The evening was very nice and quite comf ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The evening was very nice and quite comfortable. The ambiance was very nice.

It was our 48th Anniversary and the service and food was very good.

The only "disappointment" might have been that, even though our Anniversary was noted on the reservation booking, we had no mention or even a word of any kind from the staff regarding our special occasion.

All we expected was maybe a "Congratulations" or acknowledgement of the event.

Thank You!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Every time I go... awesome!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Every time I go... awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent and very attentive ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Service was excellent and very attentive. Food was outstanding. Best sea bass ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was incredibly tasty! Each plate wa ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was incredibly tasty! Each plate was a delight. Just too expensive to make this a more regular dinner spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food critics must have been there o ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food critics must have been there on a different day.

Just an average restaurant for the hype it gets.

Yes everything was fine but not the raves I read about.

Way over priced for what was presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

It was our first time here and the servi ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

It was our first time here and the service, food and overall experience was excellent. We will definitely be coming back and highly recommend it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to Hardware Grill for our tenth ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We came to Hardware Grill for our tenth anniversary. The food was outstanding and the atmosphere very serene. The server was a very friendly, outgoing gentleman who was a long-term employee and seemed to really enjoy his job. Our only complaint was that when our drinks were gone he did not ever ask if we wanted another or cleared our empty glasses even though he did refill our water glasses at least once.

On a side note, and this has nothing to do with the restaurant, I was disappointed to see the attire of some of the other diners there. One person was wearing a poorly-fitting tank top and leggings with her bra straps showing. Now, I am not a prude, but I dressed according to the location and occasion and felt quite overdressed. I understand that nowadays dress codes are pretty much a thing of the past but I feel we might do well to require at least a modest level of proper attire.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Wonderful food, professional service. Ou ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Wonderful food, professional service. Our only complaint would be that our seating was not comfortable. Shallow bench and awkward angle for a booth

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Service was slow...disorganized when it ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Service was slow...disorganized when it was time to pay. The food was good...some better than others.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Amazing food. Great service! Waiter was ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing food. Great service! Waiter was amazing at giving suggestions with wine pairings and dishes to recommend. No wishy washy commentary at all. He was very decisive with what he thought was good. Kind and funny to boot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Hardware Grill is a great place to g ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The Hardware Grill is a great place to go. We have been there twice for our anniversary and a dinner with friends. It is pricey but the food is amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. Would highly rec ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The food was delicious. Would highly recommend the lobster risotto and scallops as starters as well as the salmon and sea bass for mains!

Service however was generally weak.....and not a particularily busy night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Service was great, good food. Great for ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Service was great, good food. Great for a special occasion.

Might want to have the water and table cleaners a bit happier. The one we had wasn't very nice and pretty grumpy. Could have cared less if we were there. Channel earrings. Tell her to smile and at least pretend she enjoys working there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

My New Favorite!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We received a gift card to the Hardware Grill and had heard that it was an amazing experience. We saved it for a special evening and was not disappointed. They gave us a choice of tables to sit at, both were great but one was exceptional and that was just the start. The waiter was amazing and not in our face! We wanted everything on the menu so we decided to try almost all of the appetizers!! I am still dreaming about the scallops!!! As we watched main courses go by, we started planning what we would order next time! The atmosphere was terrific, the music was easy listening and we could actually talk to each other without yelling. This truly is our new favorite and can't wait until the next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An amazing choice!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I enjoy great food and wine . I live on a budget and hate to dine out and have a negative experience. Hardware Grill exceeded all of my expectations. The Prix Fixe menu is huge in portion and value and they have an extensive wine list. The highlight of the evening was our server.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I are foodies and have tried ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

My wife and I are foodies and have tried many paces throughout North America and internationally - this place is five star, the sea bass was great, service was great, wine suggestions great, it's all great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

So great we went town nights in a row!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

This restaurant is the best. The service was perfect and the food was divine. So great in fact, that we went back the next night to sneak in one more dinner before leaving Edmonton. Highly recommend it and looking forward to our next visit. I hope to book the Chef's Table next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty, high quality, good value

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Food was high quality and very tasty. The quantities were surprisingly large for the quality level. The price fix menu was a great value. Service was prompt and friendly. Overall very nice experience.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The elk /bison main course was wonderfully prepared.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Oh what a meal!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

A lot of heart goes into the meal preparations, an assortment of fresh bread, extensive wine list and very attentive servers. Desserts were sadly, not very notable, however I have yet to try everything on the menu. There's hope for redemption here! Will be going back for every special occasion!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

would recommend

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who likes more then the basics , the food is not just meat and potatoes but some basics layered with incredible add ons. Not the norm but great food , decent prices, a wine list that has several Canadian wines and a decent location in a historical spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Warmth and charm...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Keep the food coming, and interesting creations. This is my top dining room in the downtown area for the last dozen yrs.,

Class, and service is top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Dinnng

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was fantastic. But this was our second time dinning here and both times we had desert and both time it was not at all good. The first time we had the warm gingerbread cake and this time we had the warm butter cake. They where dry and rubbery. The rest of our meal was great. We will go back again but we will not be having dessert

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

One of my top picks for fine dinning in ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

One of my top picks for fine dinning in Edmonton. Amazing dishes and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was straight forward and the qu ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The menu was straight forward and the quality of the service and food were excellent. I can't wait until I eat here again! We each had items off the prix Fixe menu and left absolutely stuffed and satisfied.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would really like to see them bring ba ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I would really like to see them bring back their lunch time menu

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, good food

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great service, good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food and service was exceptional. Th ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The food and service was exceptional. The atmosphere we felt could have felt warmer however. Will be back

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I had the prix fixe 3-course menu when I ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I had the prix fixe 3-course menu when I dined here on Saturday night. The tomato caprese salad was delicious. I had the lobster mac n' cheese for my main. Also great, but just be sure your partner has a few bites as well...VERY garlicky!! And for dessert I had the warm butter cake...a wonderful way to finish the meal, not too rich or heavy after a very rich entrée. The ambience is upscale (especially for Edmonton) and we had a very accommodating server. We didn't like the 1st bottle of wine we chose and he was very happy to change it for something else. He just wanted to make sure we were happy. I would highly recommend The Hardware Grill, and I will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Enjoyable evening with my friend from South Africa

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The menu was varied and we found dishes to satisfy each of our appetites. She had the lamb and I had the sea bass. The wines were very good and the meals were delicious, and we saved a little room to share the gingerbread and mango ice cream. My only disappointment was that our mouths got very dry afterwards which is a sure sign for me that MSG was used. I'm not allergic to MSG but I find that although it enhances the flavour, my thirst becomes insatiable and quite often end up with a headache. I went to the Hardware Grill to avoid the restaurant chains that use MSG ubiquitously. The food at HG would likely taste wonderful without the added flavouring salts. Why not feature MSG free entrees?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was friendly and prompt. We ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

The service was friendly and prompt. We had the sea bass and the strip loin and both meals were FABULOUS! The food was hot and delicious, the best meal we'd had in a long time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dinner at hardware grill for my f ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

We had dinner at hardware grill for my fiancé's 30th birthday. I was really excited that we were able to go here again because the last time we went it was amazing but this time was a little bit different. I found that our waiter was in a rush and then my fiancé ordered a regular Cesaer to drink and it was so spicy that he couldn't even drink it. My fiancé's steak was also over cooked but mine was fantastic. I actually wouldn't go back here just because my expectations were so high from the last time and once we got our bill it was quite expensive and I didn't feel like the food lived up to that.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

We had a great anniversary dinner. The ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a great anniversary dinner. The service is second to none and the food was beyond amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.