Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Hardware Grill

Established in 1996, hardware grill is an A-list dining spot in Canada. It is a glorious setting for Chef / Owner Larry Stewart's progressive Canadian Cuisine, bold flavors, dramatic presentation, creative and whimsical prairie regional flavors, French influenced style, enthralling design and impeccable standards of service form the entire experience hardware grill.

Local owners Melinda and Chef Larry Stewart have a hand picked brigade to offer culinary grace in an elegant casual setting with professional, convivial service.

Located in the heart of the Arts District, the Historic Goodridge Block is the perfect home for this restaurant that has come to epitomize contemporary regional cuisine at its best.

For groups of 9 and over, or the Chef's Table, please contact the restaurant for availability.

9698 Jasper Ave
Edmonton, AB T5H 3V5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of 97th Street & Jasper Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 423-0969

Website:
http://www.hardwaregrill.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on 97th Street and both sides of Jasper Avenue. There is also underground parking at Canada Place across the street as well as several surface parking lots within 2 blocks.

Executive Chef:
Larry Stewart

Additional:
Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
"Edmonton has the best restaurant in Canada, the Hardware Grill.
The room is Frasier-and-Niles chic, but the lack of pretension is pure Martin Crane."

Hardware Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (64)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Good for a Date (56)
See All
Romantic (48)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Notable Wine List (34)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Business Meals (32)
Worth the Drive (32)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Cozy (25)
Good for Groups (22)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Authentic (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Disabled Access (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Seasonal (4)
Casual (4)
Historic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fun (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1564 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic food & service.... we will definitely be coming back...the ambiance was excellent and wine selection was great!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I ordered the pork belly and bacon crusted bone marrow for appetizers, and I never got the opportunity to try the pork belly, she just smiled. The Porcini crusted sea Bass was the nicest fish fish I perhaps have ever ate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We came for our anniversary dinner. It was romantic and quiet with fine dining. It was very expensive but we ordered high end pricy food. Our meal was delicious and it was an amazing night...Thank you!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 7 days ago

Absolutely excellent! We had an amazing evening out to celebrate our Aunt's 80th birthday! Great food, great ambiance, great service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, amazing food, outstanding service!!

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The food wasn't as tasty as I remember it to be. I came to find out that the chef had changed. Service was excellent. Server really took care of our kids and made them feel welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great all around experience. The service was impeccable and the food was amazing. My wife and both got the three course meal and couldn't have been happier. Left with a full belly and happy hearts. Will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Awesome food and awesome service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Absolutely outstanding meal. Had high hopes and everything from appy's to dessert far exceeded expectations. Will be back!

Tags: Disabled Access, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food was excellent, cooked to perfection and delicious. Service was great, very professional and polite, attentive without being disruptive. Ambiance was quite nice, not too loud or and just the right amount of lighting. Would definitely recommend for a date or special occasion. Very happy with the experience overall

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Such wonderful service. I really appreciated the acknowledgement of my belated birthday with a treat of a wonderful dessert. We had had to cancel the occasion several times before finally making it in so wasn't really expecting anything so generous. So thank you to our waiter for such kindness. Food is spectacular as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Amazing entrées and desserts! We can't often afford to eat at places like this all of the time, but our experience was exceptional. This was our first time there and we will definitely try to come back again! The Bacon-wrapped Elk & Gingerbread Cake plates were phenomenal.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

We decided to eat here for our anniversary. It had been a couple of years since we were here. The food was even better than we remembered. It is a little pricier but the portions are still large. The menu is unique and the food is to die for. I recommend everyone to try this restaurant. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 3, 2017

The Hardware Grill shone brightly, as expected and as always. Great service and great food and wine selections. The sea bass and planked salmon are consistently 'to die for'. This of course comes at a significant cost!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Our party all enjoyed their food and have fond memories of dining here. The food is high quality and well made however conservative in content and flavour. Service was efficient, maybe a little brisk, and could have been more informative in describing what to expect in both the food and the wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The service we got from Shane was exceptional and he really made our engagement dinner a night to remember! I highly recommend Hardware Grill to anyone who woild like to treated well and enjoy some really exceptional food!

Adam

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 29, 2017

As usual the food is exquisite! It's always has been. The portions are perfect, you don't go away hungry. The scotch list is sorely lacking for the caliber of the establishment but the wine list is very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great service and very good food. We ordered a 3-course meal and it was great value for what we paid. I would come back again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

We'll definitely be back. Sitting at the edge of the kitchen was really interesting. We got to see the preparation/ plating of food. Nice clean kitchen too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

We had appies, main course and desert. My wife and I enjoyed every bite, from start to finish. I can also attest the bartender knows how to mix up a mean Old Fashioned cocktail. The restaurant is classy but maintains a causal atmosphere ... a pairing which is often difficult to achieve. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 28, 2017

This restaurant is definitely on the expensive end of the scale, but the experience is well worth it. The serving staff are all long term and very knowledgable. We had appetizers, entrees and dessert which ended up being a bit too much for us so unless you are a big eater, I would recommend scaling back a bit. The food was excellent. For the appetizers we had the lobster risotto, the scallops and the caprese salad. The only complaint was the portion of lobster was a little tough. Entrees were the duck breast and sausage, the elk and bison (my dish - see picture), and the sea bass. All three were perfect with perhaps overly generous portions. We finished the dinner with a glass of the Sauternes (wonderful) and the sharing platter of desserts which was ample. Overall, a surgery dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on July 25, 2017

We visited for our anniversary, and were seated at an awesome table. Food was excellent - crab crusted salmon and bacon wrapped elk were our mains, and did not disappoint! We will be visiting again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

My boyfriend took me out for my birthday and it was an amazing meal! Everything about it was perfect. Amazing staff and service, the food was delicious and it was a very romantic atmosphere. Will definitely come back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Whenever we are in Edmonton we try to get to the Hardware Grill. We love the fact we can have a conversation while dining. There are less and less restaurants that offer this kind of relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Hardware Grill - a great place to meet friends, have a wonderful dinner and socialize. The food is excellent (Salmon is extraordinary), with service to match! Wonderful!

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Really good food. Good atmosphere. Good service. Good wine list.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We chose to come here for our 5th wedding anniversary. The food was very tasty. There was not one thing on either of out plates that we didn't enjoy. The service was wonderful and friendly. We will be back for sure. One negative was the location (the building itself is beautiful) but I unfortunately watched the same man walk by 10 times yelling to himself which kinda sucked.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 17, 2017

First time in Edmonton, and a co-worker in Vancouver recommended it. Heritage building location was a great start, and then the food and the service closed the deal. Great night and great menu options...will recommend to anyone else i know going to Edmonton.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The Hardware Grill was superb. My date and I had an exceptional time. The food was fantastic and very plentiful. The waiter was very knowledgable and professional. I would not hesitate to attend another dinner at this fine establishment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 15, 2017

As others have said - this is a pricey spot, however the menu and food are worth the extra you will spend. Absolutely Delicious!! I wish I had taken photos of the plate before we dove in - stunning. We will definitely return when we are looking to treat friends to something special :)

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Disappointed. We went their for our anniversary and had high expectations being that it is expensive. The half circle booth was very uncomfortable. Not a good spot to sit for people who are taller. The hostess was unfriendly and reserved. We did not feel very welcomed. Our server was great. Food was ok. I've had better for less money. We had the tenderloin and the sea bass. For dessert we had creme brulee with a bacon, maple donut and the profiteroles. Creme brulee was very sweet. It's a restaurant where you would say been there, but probably won't go back.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 14, 2017

another excellent meal at the HG, service was great, not rushed and you could hear your partner when they speak.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We loved it! Great Anniversary dinner. Haven't been for while but will definitely go back ! Food was excellent!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Hands down the best meal I've had in the YEG! The lacquered duck was cooked to perfection and the bacon wrapped elk was delicious. The desserts were to die for. Get the crème brûlée. Trust me.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great to see & taste continued excellence at this fine restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I love the hardware grill and was excited to bring my relatives from Europe for dinner, the food, as always was excellent, however we had a few comments for feedback. The hostess poured water into a glass and missed, getting my aunt's hand all wet as well as the menu and table. She apologized, but made no effort to clean up the water at all, meaning my aunt had to use her dinner napkin to do so. It was her 81 birthday. The food came so fast that we were in and out of the restaurant in less than 1 hour, and we felt rushed out by the way the plates were removed before everyone had finished their meal and how fast the bill was presented. Again, wonderful food, but it would have been nice to feel a little more welcomed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Awesome! Food and service superb as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Maybe if we had a different main course we would have enjoyed it more. Not a place for steak.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Decent dinner but under my expectation.The restaurant was highly re commanded to us for our business meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Apatizers were amazing. Both our dinners were okay but nothing spectacular for the price.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.