About harbourstone sea grill & pour house - Halifax Marriott Harbourfront

1919 Upper Water Street
Halifax, NS B3J 3J5
View Larger Map

Welcome to harbourstone sea grill and pour house. Join us in a truly inviting social atmosphere while savoring the locally inspired cuisine. Executive Chef Trevor Simms features a menu that speaks to his dedication for fresh local products, sustainability and a commitment to the community. Harbourstone brings together local artisans and culinarians to provide coastal cuisine featuring fresh dayboat seafood, local inspired dishes, refreshing salads and light sandwiches which are truly delicious. Harbourstone also features classic inspired Bar Arts cocktails, showcasing local favourites and creative cocktails using fresh juices and premium beverages. From the Apricots Between the Sheets to the The Admiral's Wife they all are made with the same commitment to quality and creativity.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30 am - 11:30 am; Saturday - Sunday: 7:00 am - 11:30 am

Lunch: Daily: 11:30 am - 5:00 pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Lounge open until 12:00 am

Cross Street:
Barrington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 428-7852

Website:
http://www.harbourstonerestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
NEW! Every Friday night we host our guests with a live jazz band from 5:00-9:00pm.
Come out and enjoy a lovely dinner accompanied with a relaxing atmosphere!

Parking Details:
Parking is conveniently available at the hotel underground parkade which is located on the hotel's lower level.



On-site parking, fee: 19.95 CAD daily
Valet parking, fee: 25 CAD daily
Off-site parking, fee: 3.5 CAD hourly
Limited oversize vehicle parking available (Valet Only). Off site available.

Public Transit:
Harbourstone is located within a few minutes walk from the public bus transportation system and several bus terminals it is also conveniently a short 5 minute walk to the downtown ferry terminal.



Terminals
Ferry .25 mile(s)
Barrington Bus Terminal .25 mile(s)

Executive Chef:
Trevor Simms

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

Group menu available upon request

harbourstone sea grill & pour house - Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

great for lunch (4)
fit for foodies (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
See All
notable wine list (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
good for groups (1)
romantic (1)
special occasion (1)
Sort By:
Newest
60 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Disaster

Dined on May 30, 2016

I arrived with a guest for the appointed time of our reservation. We found that the restaurant as well as the lobby area was over-run by a convention of rude golfers. The chaos and lines were so extreme that we could not get the receptionist to get our table. I told my guest that the noise and in-hospitality of the place is enough to put anyone off a pleasant dining experience. I told my guest that I knew an excellent restaurant just three blocks walk and the dining would be quiet and excellent: at McKelvies Restaurant on Prince Street. We had a great time, wonderful evening dining and visiting, great wait-staff service and hospitality. I suggest that from now on, when anyone attempts a reservation at the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Restaurant, you immediately redirect them to McKelvies! They will forever sing your praises, Open Table! With thanks, Stephen Stephen J. Schafer, Ph.D.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I visited your restaurant for the first ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

I visited your restaurant for the first time a couple of years ago. The food, strive, etc. was just as wonderful as when I visited last week. Keep up the good work.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dinner for 2

Dined on April 26, 2016

Celebrated a special anniversary dinner last night. We were welcomed with such warmth & kindness. Our server, Hali rocked it! She was truly a rock star in every way. Thank you for your insight on the menu items, for sharing your enthusiasm about the meals & for making it such a great experience overall. Hats off to the Chef for making us such a delicious celebration meal. We will definitely be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lunch menu very good- choices and variet ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Lunch menu very good- choices and variety. Easy to have light fare and healthy choices too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waitress Elizabeth was amazing.

Dined on December 26, 2015

Disappointed in my lobster sandwich, was it fresh or from a can? Loved my white wine, recommended by Elizabeth based on my description on what I was in the mood for. Tiramasu was incredible. Cheese plate was wonderful and my group had the salmon which they loved. Caeser salad was very nice but not amazing. Our waitress Elizabeth was amazing, never really had someone like her in my life and I've been around. So quiet yet so available and very personable without being intrusive!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Had fish and chips along and a colleague ...

Dined on December 9, 2015

Had fish and chips along and a colleague had the lobster mac and cheese. Both meals were peprepared timely and well presenterd with our sides.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience2
service4

Very good food

Dined on September 12, 2015

Although it was a typical hotel restaurant and bar, with some noisy bar patrons, the food was excellent. We shared the blue crab fritters with lemon aioli as an appetizer, which was a very good introduction for me to crab. I had the steak frites and my husband had a seafood pasta. Both were excellent. A shared creme brûlée with strawberry rhubarb sauce finished the meal perfectly. The service for the most part was very good. Our server went on a break and the substitute he arranged was not so great as we had to wait quite a while for our bill.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience2
service2

Inattentive Server

vip
Dined on August 3, 2015

The server was inattentive, resulting in errors in the order. She was then unavailable to fix it in a timely fashion, resulting in a bad experience. To top it off the music is set too loud for a pleasant conversation. Not good.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. Lobster roll is ...

Dined on July 23, 2015

The food was excellent. Lobster roll is a must have and the nachos were great. Service was amazing, friendly and accommodating. There was a free dessert promo with our concert ticket. Didn't have them on our persons but they honored it anyway. I would highly recommend.

food4
ambience5
service4

Very good food & Service excellent

Dined on July 23, 2015

Everyone enjoyed their meal, food was hot and very good.... great price as well Service was excellent. Good job.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant wad within the Halifax Marrio ...

vip
Dined on July 5, 2015

Restaurant wad within the Halifax Marriott but presented a surprisingly interesting, reasonably priced and delicious menu. Experience was specially enhanced by the great service. My husband's spider crab sandwich was superb, my fish and chips was really good, but most of all - our daughter's cobster salad was amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely mother's day brunch

Dined on May 10, 2015

I took my mom for the mothers day brunch. The food was excellent with a huge variety to choose from. Elizabeth was our server and she couldn't have been any more wonderful. My mom and I have decided to make it a permanent spot for mothers day!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice business lunch and more

Dined on March 9, 2015

Very friendly service and speed lunch for business lunch. Just learn that we can have Easter brunch over there.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Good, but not for a romantic night

Dined on February 21, 2015

The food was really good, but it took a long time. We ate at the restaurant when it used to be 44 North. The menu options were better then, and it was a really nice atmosphere. I was saddened that the harbor view was gone, the menu was more like an upscale pub as opposed to a fine dining experience.

Tags: late-night find
food2
ambience4
service5

night out with friends

Dined on December 21, 2014

The restaurant is nice, we ( two couples who eat out often) had a nice table, with good atmosphere. Our waitress was very good, friendly, and always there when we needed her. Our salads were very good, but the main courses (chicken and chips, steak, and burger) were, "just Ok" at best...lacking in juicy flavor, and I felt really awful ( like I had eaten fast food) for hours after eating. The meal started out with promise, but I ended up very disappointed !! We all agreed on that !!

food5
ambience5
service5

If you haven't been...you are missing out!

Dined on December 8, 2014

Fantastic service as usual! It is a must for anyone who hasn't been. The hard part is picking what to choose to eat as the menu is outstanding. The easy part is sitting back to enjoy great quality food and friendly, prompt service.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service!

Dined on November 26, 2014

I always enjoy my visits to the harbourstone. Servers and bartenders are wonderful! We had Sattina as our server this time and she was very attentive and friendly. Thank you for another great visit! Looking forward to my next one.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun, hip place. Lots of different seati ...

Dined on November 14, 2014

Fun, hip place. Lots of different seating types so you can pick what you like. Great staff to greet you and the greatnes continues through to the bar staff and the servers! Congrats to the kitchen team and Chef for putting together fantastic menus.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One word..... Delicious

Dined on October 31, 2014

Food was yum.... Service was great.... A very comfortable dining experience..... Presentation od food was very nice

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Great find!

Dined on August 29, 2014

Although this is in the middle of a big hotel, they have done a great job at creating a fab dining and drinking spot!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Great for Lunch!

Dined on August 15, 2014

We had lunch here a couple of days ago. I had the Grouper sandwich- YUM! It's a difficult to find fish and one of my favourites. At Harbourstone they serve it in grilled pita with a Greek twist- diced tomato, cucumber, feta and a lemon oregano dressing. My friend ordered the Cauliflower Steak which may sound a bit different. It too was fantastic. A thick slice from a whole cauliflower that is seasoned and grilled and served over creamy curried chickpeas, with basmati rice. I could have devoured just a bowl of the curried chickpeas, they were so good! The service was attentive although more info on the menu items would have been helpful. Everything came out of the kitchen fast which is appreciated when you only have an hour for lunch.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always welcoming!

Dined on August 11, 2014

Harbourstone Sea Grill and Pour House is an amazing restaurant! Everyone is always welcoming. The staff working there are always smiling and everyone goes out of their way to help. Of course...the food is oustanding! Great for all ages! :)

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very very good

Dined on June 15, 2014

Great atmosphere and décor. Great service...attentive, quick and polite. The food was fantastic. Have been there for breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner. Always a great experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

Dined on June 7, 2014

Always a little concerned about in house restaurants in major brand hotels but the food here was terrific! And the service really helpful and friendly but not overbearing. Flatbreads, salads with scallops and Caesars salad all excellent. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4

All was good with our breakfast, certain ...

Dined on June 2, 2014

All was good with our breakfast, certainly book again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

I had a wonderful dining experience and ...

Dined on May 29, 2014

I had a wonderful dining experience and I will return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Breakfast

Dined on May 22, 2014

My group and I had a great breakfast, good was good and the service was great.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service3

My husband's dinner (Halibut) was dry an ...

Dined on May 3, 2014

My husband's dinner (Halibut) was dry and overcooked. We were given a package as a wedding gift for a night's stay including the 3 course meal each. We were very disappointed in the meal itself.

food5
ambience4
service5

excellent lunch

Dined on April 24, 2014

This is a great open space with lots of booths and different seating niches including high top tables. I had the 'Dayboat' feature which was a whole sea bass, perfectly cooked and simply seasoned with salt and pepper and a grilled lemon. My companion had the halibut tacos to start- he wished he'd ordered a double portion! Then he had the filet of beef with chimichurri. The sauce really brightened a very tender but slightly underseasoned steak. Friendly and attentive service. I'd definitiely go back.

food4
ambience5
service4

Good Place!!

Dined on April 9, 2014

I had a dinner with a friend of mine food was great restaurant and hotel seems not bussy at all.Great combination of food even though the menu was small.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Loving the Lentil Burger

Dined on April 8, 2014

I am not strictly vegan or vegetarian but I do eat a number of meatless meals a week. At home, I make a mean chickpea burger so when I read the menu and saw the lentil burger, I was curious. I am often a bit timid to order such foods in restaurants, as the meatless options are often bland. This "burger" was incredible! The spicy tahini really kicked it up a notch and the "burger" itself was thick and satisfying. I would order this meal again and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a meatless option.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience3
service4

Captive hotel audience

Dined on March 25, 2014

Limited menu selection typical of lower volume captive hotel restaurants. Full clams shells in the chowder was hard to consume.with etiquette. Open concept makes for noisy dining. Staff was courteous and responsive. Gluten free option was appreciated.

food5
ambience5
service5

We'll be coming back for sure!

Dined on March 7, 2014

From the time you see the restaurant coming down the stairs until the time you leave it is like being on vacation!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A Wow Brunch with my Gal Palz

Dined on March 2, 2014

We all arrived a couple of minutes after our reservation and the hostess knew who we were right away. She showed us to our set table and then our server came directly over to greet us and continued to be very attentive providing us with exceptional service. We were all wowed by the food selections at the buffet brunch and Joyce at the omelet bar took very good care of us! We enjoyed every moment and mouthful and will definitely be back. I have already spread the word how we were all wowed and cannot wait to return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

I have never been there before,

Dined on February 7, 2014

I have never been there before, but would definitely return. The food was great, the people extremely helpful and friendly. The place was clean, and very quiet (except when our group got a little loud!). I saw all types of people there - couples, groups of friends, mother and baby - it was just a great overall experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Dinner!

Dined on January 24, 2014

We have a very enjoyable dining experience on Friday night and we would recommend this restaurant to our friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent Experience!!

Dined on December 30, 2013

We took the in-laws to dinner during their recent visit. The Harbourstone was excellent!! The food was great and they were quick to accommodate the allergies at the table. The service was fantastic and the prices were good. We will go back. Good spot for dinner prior to a visit to the casino too.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Great Xmas eve find

Dined on December 24, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised by the level of food quality. Two outstanding appetizers, dry ribs and the nachos, were a real surprise. I had he steak frites and, with the exception of being a little heavy on the salt, this was excellent. My daughter and son in law really enjoyed the back ribs and my other daughter and her husband had equally delightful chowder. Our experience was completed by the service and attention provided by our server and the maitre d'. We will be back

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4

modern ambiance and good food

Dined on November 15, 2013

Generally the food was good and the ambiance and service were excellent. Had the med. dip which we found was on the bland side, but otherwise all was good.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service5

We made reservations on-line,

Dined on October 25, 2013

We made reservations on-line, prior to seeing the restaurant. When we walked by the restaurant the night before our planned lunch, we were not sure if we would like the location in a busy hotel. However, once seated we felt as if we were separate from the busy hotel. The food and service were great!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.