Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

harbourstone sea grill & pour house - Halifax Marriott Harbourfront

4.8
80 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Continental
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Worth the Drive
  • Casual
Welcome to harbourstone sea grill and pour house. Join us in a truly inviting social atmosphere while savoring the locally inspired cuisine. Executive Chef Trevor Simms features a menu that speaks to his dedication for fresh local products, sustainability and a commitment to the community. Harbourstone brings together local artisans and culinarians to provide coastal cuisine featuring fresh dayboat seafood, local inspired dishes, refreshing salads and light sandwiches which are truly delicious. Harbourstone also features classic inspired Bar Arts cocktails, showcasing local favourites and creative cocktails using fresh juices and premium beverages. From the Apricots Between the Sheets to the The Admiral's Wife they all are made with the same commitment to quality and creativity.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Continental
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30 am - 11:30 am; Saturday - Sunday: 7:00 am - 11:30 am

Lunch: Daily: 11:30 am - 5:00 pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Lounge open until 12:00 am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(902) 428-7852
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Trevor Simms
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Barrington
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is conveniently available at the hotel underground parkade which is located on the hotel's lower level.



On-site parking, fee: 4 CAD hourly, 25 CAD daily
Valet parking, fee: 30 CAD daily
Off-site parking, fee: 3.5 CAD hourly
Limited oversize vehicle parking available (Valet Only). Off site available.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Harbourstone is located within a few minutes walk from the public bus transportation system and several bus terminals it is also conveniently a short 5 minute walk to the downtown ferry terminal.



Terminals
Ferry .25 mile(s)
Barrington Bus Terminal .25 mile(s)

Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access
What 80 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

The six of us enjoyed our dining experience and will come back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

The food was delicious. I was very impressed by the high quality of the ingredients and the skill to make such high standards of food. The ingredients are fresh, and made perfectly. I particularly liked the oysters which were great. This is a great place to go for dinner. The salted caramel pie was one of the best desserts I have ever had, a bold statement but totally accurate. One of the best in Halifax.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We were there on new Years Eve with friends before the Tom Cochrane show at the casino. Oneill, our server was outstanding. The appetizers were fair. The prime rib was chewy and needed a steak knife to cut through it, I am used to prime rib being melt in your mouth tender.
The vegetables were bland and overcooked. All three deserts were tried, no more than two bites were taken from the other two, I had the bread pudding and it was delicious, possibly the best I have ever had. Unfortunately the value for this meal was just not there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 24, 2017

The 2 dishes we had were both fantastic. They have a small menu. The only thing I could find to complain about was the salt Shaker didn't grind the salt fine enough...

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 28, 2017

Service was great, fish was a little overcooked. The table wasn't great. Seated us in a higher traffic area under a television.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 26, 2017

Pleasant experience but we missed the old restaurant water view location. Being by the water made it special and inviting and now it's just like any typical restaurant. The view was great because you were right by the ocean and so was the atmosphere, it had a casual, beachy feel. Perfect for drinks on warm summer evenings and it was also warm and cosy for winter. We wish it hadn't changed!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2017

We love the Harbourstone and I LOVE the nachos :)
The seats could be a little more comfortable on the back. they are a bit oversized :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Our Server, Julia, was outstanding, and made the night a complete success!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 4, 2017

great server, good attention to detail...very impressed..food was very good ..oysters were fresh.

we blew alot of money on lunch but loved it.

WILL COME AGAIN

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2017

Great meal! Halibut was amazing! My client had the steak salad and said that was also amazing. Great service once again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2017

Great service and my client enjoyed his meal! Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2017

Great service at 7:00am! My client has been impressed with everything at the hotel, including the professionalism of the servers!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2017

My client loved the corn chowder! Service was great once again even though it was a busy day during the lunch hour!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 11, 2017

Great service and great food! I really appreciate when the servers are on time and really pleasant to my guests.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2016

The dining experience was great for our Annual Christmas Breakfast. Fun was had by all and the food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 21, 2016

Waiting for over an hour for our food - just not acceptable at lunch time or any time. Our server did not acknowledge that our food was taking a long time to get to our table until we asked when we could expect the meals - we asked at the 45 min mark. Quite certain our order was not placed with the kitchen until we asked and it was still 15 minute wait after we asked.

Food was great - once it arrived.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 21, 2016

Brunch was in ties ly reasonable and everything was great. Not a long drawn out thing like at Mother's Day etc but nice and cheap for a group

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 30, 2016

I arrived with a guest for the appointed time of our reservation. We found that the restaurant as well as the lobby area was over-run by a convention of rude golfers. The chaos and lines were so extreme that we could not get the receptionist to get our table.

I told my guest that the noise and in-hospitality of the place is enough to put anyone off a pleasant dining experience. I told my guest that I knew an excellent restaurant just three blocks walk and the dining would be quiet and excellent: at McKelvies Restaurant on Prince Street. We had a great time, wonderful evening dining and visiting, great wait-staff service and hospitality.

I suggest that from now on, when anyone attempts a reservation at the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Restaurant, you immediately redirect them to McKelvies! They will forever sing your praises, Open Table!

With thanks,

Stephen

Stephen J. Schafer, Ph.D.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2016

I visited your restaurant for the first time a couple of years ago. The food, strive, etc. was just as wonderful as when I visited last week. Keep up the good work.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2016

Celebrated a special anniversary dinner last night. We were welcomed with such warmth & kindness. Our server, Hali rocked it! She was truly a rock star in every way. Thank you for your insight on the menu items, for sharing your enthusiasm about the meals & for making it such a great experience overall. Hats off to the Chef for making us such a delicious celebration meal. We will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2016

Lunch menu very good- choices and variety. Easy to have light fare and healthy choices too.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 26, 2015

Disappointed in my lobster sandwich, was it fresh or from a can? Loved my white wine, recommended by Elizabeth based on my description on what I was in the mood for. Tiramasu was incredible. Cheese plate was wonderful and my group had the salmon which they loved. Caeser salad was very nice but not amazing.

Our waitress Elizabeth was amazing, never really had someone like her in my life and I've been around. So quiet yet so available and very personable without being intrusive!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2015

Had fish and chips along and a colleague had the lobster mac and cheese. Both meals were peprepared timely and well presenterd with our sides.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 12, 2015

Although it was a typical hotel restaurant and bar, with some noisy bar patrons, the food was excellent. We shared the blue crab fritters with lemon aioli as an appetizer, which was a very good introduction for me to crab. I had the steak frites and my husband had a seafood pasta. Both were excellent. A shared creme brûlée with strawberry rhubarb sauce finished the meal perfectly. The service for the most part was very good. Our server went on a break and the substitute he arranged was not so great as we had to wait quite a while for our bill.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 3, 2015

The server was inattentive, resulting in errors in the order. She was then unavailable to fix it in a timely fashion, resulting in a bad experience.

To top it off the music is set too loud for a pleasant conversation.

Not good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 23, 2015

The food was excellent. Lobster roll is a must have and the nachos were great. Service was amazing, friendly and accommodating. There was a free dessert promo with our concert ticket. Didn't have them on our persons but they honored it anyway. I would highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 23, 2015

Everyone enjoyed their meal, food was hot and very good.... great price as well Service was excellent. Good job.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 5, 2015

Restaurant wad within the Halifax Marriott but presented a surprisingly interesting, reasonably priced and delicious menu. Experience was specially enhanced by the great service. My husband's spider crab sandwich was superb, my fish and chips was really good, but most of all - our daughter's cobster salad was amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2015

I took my mom for the mothers day brunch. The food was excellent with a huge variety to choose from. Elizabeth was our server and she couldn't have been any more wonderful. My mom and I have decided to make it a permanent spot for mothers day!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2015

Very friendly service and speed lunch for business lunch. Just learn that we can have Easter brunch over there.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 21, 2015

The food was really good, but it took a long time.
We ate at the restaurant when it used to be 44 North. The menu options were better then, and it was a really nice atmosphere.
I was saddened that the harbor view was gone, the menu was more like an upscale pub as opposed to a fine dining experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 21, 2014

The restaurant is nice, we ( two couples who eat out often) had a nice table, with good atmosphere. Our waitress was very good, friendly, and always there when we needed her. Our salads were very good, but the main courses (chicken and chips, steak, and burger) were, "just Ok" at best...lacking in juicy flavor, and I felt really awful ( like I had eaten fast food) for hours after eating. The meal started out with promise, but I ended up very disappointed !! We all agreed on that !!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2014

Fantastic service as usual! It is a must for anyone who hasn't been. The hard part is picking what to choose to eat as the menu is outstanding. The easy part is sitting back to enjoy great quality food and friendly, prompt service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 26, 2014

I always enjoy my visits to the harbourstone. Servers and bartenders are wonderful! We had Sattina as our server this time and she was very attentive and friendly. Thank you for another great visit! Looking forward to my next one.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 14, 2014

Fun, hip place. Lots of different seating types so you can pick what you like. Great staff to greet you and the greatnes continues through to the bar staff and the servers! Congrats to the kitchen team and Chef for putting together fantastic menus.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 31, 2014

Food was yum.... Service was great.... A very comfortable dining experience..... Presentation od food was very nice

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 29, 2014

Although this is in the middle of a big hotel, they have done a great job at creating a fab dining and drinking spot!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 15, 2014

We had lunch here a couple of days ago. I had the Grouper sandwich- YUM! It's a difficult to find fish and one of my favourites. At Harbourstone they serve it in grilled pita with a Greek twist- diced tomato, cucumber, feta and a lemon oregano dressing. My friend ordered the Cauliflower Steak which may sound a bit different. It too was fantastic. A thick slice from a whole cauliflower that is seasoned and grilled and served over creamy curried chickpeas, with basmati rice. I could have devoured just a bowl of the curried chickpeas, they were so good! The service was attentive although more info on the menu items would have been helpful. Everything came out of the kitchen fast which is appreciated when you only have an hour for lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 11, 2014

Harbourstone Sea Grill and Pour House is an amazing restaurant! Everyone is always welcoming. The staff working there are always smiling and everyone goes out of their way to help. Of course...the food is oustanding! Great for all ages! :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2014

Great atmosphere and décor. Great service...attentive, quick and polite.
The food was fantastic. Have been there for breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner. Always a great experience.
Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
1
2

Tweets by harbourstone sea grill & pour house - Halifax Marriott Harbourfront