Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About harbourstone sea grill & pour house - Halifax Marriott Harbourfront

Welcome to harbourstone sea grill and pour house. Join us in a truly inviting social atmosphere while savoring the locally inspired cuisine. Executive Chef Trevor Simms features a menu that speaks to his dedication for fresh local products, sustainability and a commitment to the community. Harbourstone brings together local artisans and culinarians to provide coastal cuisine featuring fresh dayboat seafood, local inspired dishes, refreshing salads and light sandwiches which are truly delicious. Harbourstone also features classic inspired Bar Arts cocktails, showcasing local favourites and creative cocktails using fresh juices and premium beverages. From the Apricots Between the Sheets to the The Admiral's Wife they all are made with the same commitment to quality and creativity.

1919 Upper Water Street
Halifax, NS B3J 3J5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Continental

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30 am - 11:30 am; Saturday - Sunday: 7:00 am - 11:30 am

Lunch: Daily: 11:30 am - 5:00 pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Lounge open until 12:00 am

Cross Street:
Barrington

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(902) 428-7852

Website:
http://www.harbourstonerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is conveniently available at the hotel underground parkade which is located on the hotel's lower level.



On-site parking, fee: 19.95 CAD daily
Valet parking, fee: 25 CAD daily
Off-site parking, fee: 3.5 CAD hourly
Limited oversize vehicle parking available (Valet Only). Off site available.

Public Transit:
Harbourstone is located within a few minutes walk from the public bus transportation system and several bus terminals it is also conveniently a short 5 minute walk to the downtown ferry terminal.



Terminals
Ferry .25 mile(s)
Barrington Bus Terminal .25 mile(s)

Executive Chef:
Trevor Simms

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

Group menu available upon request

harbourstone sea grill & pour house - Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
See All
Cozy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Casual (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fun (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
75 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Pleasant experience but we missed the old restaurant water view location. Being by the water made it special and inviting and now it's just like any typical restaurant. The view was great because you were right by the ocean and so was the atmosphere, it had a casual, beachy feel. Perfect for drinks on warm summer evenings and it was also warm and cosy for winter. We wish it hadn't changed!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We love the Harbourstone and I LOVE the nachos :)
The seats could be a little more comfortable on the back. they are a bit oversized :)

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our Server, Julia, was outstanding, and made the night a complete success!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

great server, good attention to detail...very impressed..food was very good ..oysters were fresh.

we blew alot of money on lunch but loved it.

WILL COME AGAIN

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great meal! Halibut was amazing! My client had the steak salad and said that was also amazing. Great service once again!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Great service and my client enjoyed his meal! Thank you!

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great service at 7:00am! My client has been impressed with everything at the hotel, including the professionalism of the servers!

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 12, 2017

My client loved the corn chowder! Service was great once again even though it was a busy day during the lunch hour!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great service and great food! I really appreciate when the servers are on time and really pleasant to my guests.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Quick Bite, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The dining experience was great for our Annual Christmas Breakfast. Fun was had by all and the food was delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Waiting for over an hour for our food - just not acceptable at lunch time or any time. Our server did not acknowledge that our food was taking a long time to get to our table until we asked when we could expect the meals - we asked at the 45 min mark. Quite certain our order was not placed with the kitchen until we asked and it was still 15 minute wait after we asked.

Food was great - once it arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Brunch was in ties ly reasonable and everything was great. Not a long drawn out thing like at Mother's Day etc but nice and cheap for a group

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 30, 2016

I arrived with a guest for the appointed time of our reservation. We found that the restaurant as well as the lobby area was over-run by a convention of rude golfers. The chaos and lines were so extreme that we could not get the receptionist to get our table.

I told my guest that the noise and in-hospitality of the place is enough to put anyone off a pleasant dining experience. I told my guest that I knew an excellent restaurant just three blocks walk and the dining would be quiet and excellent: at McKelvies Restaurant on Prince Street. We had a great time, wonderful evening dining and visiting, great wait-staff service and hospitality.

I suggest that from now on, when anyone attempts a reservation at the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Restaurant, you immediately redirect them to McKelvies! They will forever sing your praises, Open Table!

With thanks,

Stephen

Stephen J. Schafer, Ph.D.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 27, 2016

I visited your restaurant for the first time a couple of years ago. The food, strive, etc. was just as wonderful as when I visited last week. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on April 26, 2016

Celebrated a special anniversary dinner last night. We were welcomed with such warmth & kindness. Our server, Hali rocked it! She was truly a rock star in every way. Thank you for your insight on the menu items, for sharing your enthusiasm about the meals & for making it such a great experience overall. Hats off to the Chef for making us such a delicious celebration meal. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Lunch menu very good- choices and variety. Easy to have light fare and healthy choices too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 26, 2015

Disappointed in my lobster sandwich, was it fresh or from a can? Loved my white wine, recommended by Elizabeth based on my description on what I was in the mood for. Tiramasu was incredible. Cheese plate was wonderful and my group had the salmon which they loved. Caeser salad was very nice but not amazing.

Our waitress Elizabeth was amazing, never really had someone like her in my life and I've been around. So quiet yet so available and very personable without being intrusive!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 9, 2015

Had fish and chips along and a colleague had the lobster mac and cheese. Both meals were peprepared timely and well presenterd with our sides.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 12, 2015

Although it was a typical hotel restaurant and bar, with some noisy bar patrons, the food was excellent. We shared the blue crab fritters with lemon aioli as an appetizer, which was a very good introduction for me to crab. I had the steak frites and my husband had a seafood pasta. Both were excellent. A shared creme brûlée with strawberry rhubarb sauce finished the meal perfectly. The service for the most part was very good. Our server went on a break and the substitute he arranged was not so great as we had to wait quite a while for our bill.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 3, 2015

The server was inattentive, resulting in errors in the order. She was then unavailable to fix it in a timely fashion, resulting in a bad experience.

To top it off the music is set too loud for a pleasant conversation.

Not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 23, 2015

The food was excellent. Lobster roll is a must have and the nachos were great. Service was amazing, friendly and accommodating. There was a free dessert promo with our concert ticket. Didn't have them on our persons but they honored it anyway. I would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on July 23, 2015

Everyone enjoyed their meal, food was hot and very good.... great price as well Service was excellent. Good job.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 5, 2015

Restaurant wad within the Halifax Marriott but presented a surprisingly interesting, reasonably priced and delicious menu. Experience was specially enhanced by the great service. My husband's spider crab sandwich was superb, my fish and chips was really good, but most of all - our daughter's cobster salad was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 10, 2015

I took my mom for the mothers day brunch. The food was excellent with a huge variety to choose from. Elizabeth was our server and she couldn't have been any more wonderful. My mom and I have decided to make it a permanent spot for mothers day!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 9, 2015

Very friendly service and speed lunch for business lunch. Just learn that we can have Easter brunch over there.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 21, 2015

The food was really good, but it took a long time.
We ate at the restaurant when it used to be 44 North. The menu options were better then, and it was a really nice atmosphere.
I was saddened that the harbor view was gone, the menu was more like an upscale pub as opposed to a fine dining experience.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2014

The restaurant is nice, we ( two couples who eat out often) had a nice table, with good atmosphere. Our waitress was very good, friendly, and always there when we needed her. Our salads were very good, but the main courses (chicken and chips, steak, and burger) were, "just Ok" at best...lacking in juicy flavor, and I felt really awful ( like I had eaten fast food) for hours after eating. The meal started out with promise, but I ended up very disappointed !! We all agreed on that !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 8, 2014

Fantastic service as usual! It is a must for anyone who hasn't been. The hard part is picking what to choose to eat as the menu is outstanding. The easy part is sitting back to enjoy great quality food and friendly, prompt service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 26, 2014

I always enjoy my visits to the harbourstone. Servers and bartenders are wonderful! We had Sattina as our server this time and she was very attentive and friendly. Thank you for another great visit! Looking forward to my next one.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on November 14, 2014

Fun, hip place. Lots of different seating types so you can pick what you like. Great staff to greet you and the greatnes continues through to the bar staff and the servers! Congrats to the kitchen team and Chef for putting together fantastic menus.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 31, 2014

Food was yum.... Service was great.... A very comfortable dining experience..... Presentation od food was very nice

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2014

Although this is in the middle of a big hotel, they have done a great job at creating a fab dining and drinking spot!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 15, 2014

We had lunch here a couple of days ago. I had the Grouper sandwich- YUM! It's a difficult to find fish and one of my favourites. At Harbourstone they serve it in grilled pita with a Greek twist- diced tomato, cucumber, feta and a lemon oregano dressing. My friend ordered the Cauliflower Steak which may sound a bit different. It too was fantastic. A thick slice from a whole cauliflower that is seasoned and grilled and served over creamy curried chickpeas, with basmati rice. I could have devoured just a bowl of the curried chickpeas, they were so good! The service was attentive although more info on the menu items would have been helpful. Everything came out of the kitchen fast which is appreciated when you only have an hour for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 11, 2014

Harbourstone Sea Grill and Pour House is an amazing restaurant! Everyone is always welcoming. The staff working there are always smiling and everyone goes out of their way to help. Of course...the food is oustanding! Great for all ages! :)

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 15, 2014

Great atmosphere and décor. Great service...attentive, quick and polite.
The food was fantastic. Have been there for breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner. Always a great experience.
Highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 6, 2014

Always a little concerned about in house restaurants in major brand hotels but the food here was terrific! And the service really helpful and friendly but not overbearing. Flatbreads, salads with scallops and Caesars salad all excellent. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on June 2, 2014

All was good with our breakfast, certainly book again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 29, 2014

I had a wonderful dining experience and I will return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 22, 2014

My group and I had a great breakfast, good was good and the service was great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 3, 2014

My husband's dinner (Halibut) was dry and overcooked. We were given a package as a wedding gift for a night's stay including the 3 course meal each. We were very disappointed in the meal itself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.