About Harbour House - Inn at Mystic

3 Williams Avenue
Mystic, CT 06355
View Larger Map

The Harbour House features fresh, seasonal and local cuisine served in Mystic’s most spectacular setting at the Inn at Mystic. This iconic property is a treasured and historic place, and our restaurant reflects that magnetic ambiance amidst serene waterfront surroundings and hidden New England beauty.

Offering an eclectic mix of casually elegant cuisine mingled with the traditional seafood staples we know and love, the Harbour House redefines the landscape of New England cuisine. Enjoy handmade wood-fired pizza from our brick oven and freshly shucked Ninigrets from the raw bar, or delve into one of our delicious steaks. To complement your dining experience, the Harbour House bar features 24 beers on tap along with an impressive list of signature cocktails made with only the freshest of ingredients.

Whatever appeals to your palette, the Harbour House offers something for everyone in a relaxed and comfortable setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Closed Monday-Wednesday
Happy Hour: Thursday & Friday, 3:00pm-6:00pm
Dinner: Thursday, 3:00pm – 9:00pm; Friday, 4:00pm – 10:00pm
Saturday, 4:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday, 4:00pm – 9:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday, 8:00am-4:00pm


Cross Street:
Denison Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(860) 536-8140

Website:
http://www.innatmystic.com/

Entertainment:
Check our calendar for live entertainment schedules.

Parking Details:
Plenty of onsite free parking

Executive Chef:
Vincent Venice

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Harbour House - Inn at Mystic Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.7

ambience

4.0

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Connecticut
Best Restaurants in Mystic ›

Scenic View (22)
Waterfront (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Casual (11)
Great Beer (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Seasonal (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Cozy (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Historic (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Romantic (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Authentic (2)
Fireplace (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Live Sports (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Private Room (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
230 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went to the Thanksgiving buffet. The ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went to the Thanksgiving buffet. The food was good, but not exceptional. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We did not like the table we were initia ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We did not like the table we were initially seated at as it was in the middle of a couple large loud parties already seated but they were able to accommodate our request to a quieter table...after that everything was fine

Tags: Healthy, Historic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for Thanksgiving dinner. The fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving dinner. The food was mediocre at best. The side dishes were few and not appealing to the eye. The turkey was good the first time, but the second time it was very dry and extremely salty. There was no jellied cranberry sauce. There were no rolls or other breads. The salad was not in plain view. The appetizers seemed to be only shrimp and they were not in plain view. All in all, for $45.00 per person, this was a very poor dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

My husband and I celebrated our annivers ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary there. We were looking for some place quiet and romantic but although it was in the room we were in, there was a family gathering in the area next to us and rather loud. The scallops that I ordered were rather bland. Dessert was the best part! The wait staff was very attentive and pleasant though.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Not just a summertime destination. Great ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Not just a summertime destination. Great year round. My favorite is the patio in the fall -- a combo of water view and colorful foliage

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very quiet night as the restaurant seeme ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Very quiet night as the restaurant seemed to be slow. Food was great... Highly recommended the lobster crepes as an appetizer. My wife had the pesto salmon and i had the seafood fra' diavlo.... Would go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Never disappoints & always surprises as ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Never disappoints & always surprises as to the quality and value. Interesting and the kind of quality food you expect to find in a 5 star restaurant.

Tags: Outstanding Value, People Watching, Fun, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a lovely brunch spot with a great v ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It's a lovely brunch spot with a great view and delightful food! Always a good choice!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went on a Thursday evening for a rest ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We went on a Thursday evening for a restaurant week special. Three courses for $25.

Nice selection. Would have preferred fewer fried choices. Wonderful chocolate mousse for dessert.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was all great.. my seafood dinn ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The food was all great.. my seafood dinner was enough for two people! The location is just gorgeous and our server was friendly and gave us good information.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall dining experience was a disappoi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Overall dining experience was a disappointment. Food was adequate although several people in our group of 6 said their food wa served lukewarm. Service was the primary issue. The server was very pleasant; however, we had long waits throughout the evening even though the restaurant wasn't excessively busy. We had reservations and still had to wait 10 minutes to be seated even with several empty tables available. Then we had long waits between every course and with the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

There were hardly any vegetarian options ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2016

There were hardly any vegetarian options. The place was quiet and serene though and the service was fine. Drinks were good.

Thanks!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Our dinning experience at Harbour House ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Our dinning experience at Harbour House Inn was really not successful. Poor food quality. Our kids even had a food poisoning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Friends from out of town came to visit a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Friends from out of town came to visit and love seafood. HH was the perfect place to go!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Fun, Historic, Comfort Food, Casual, Healthy, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant with great atmosphere. I ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Nice restaurant with great atmosphere. I had prime rib which was delicious. My husband had a fried seafood platter which was extremely greasy. So we've got split reviews on the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We had a table for 6 and the table was t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We had a table for 6 and the table was too small. The fish tacos were bland, They contained shrimp and lettuce, nothing else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Service was great. Most of the food was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Service was great. Most of the food was great. One out of the six was just average. Nice place. Did I mention service was great? It was !!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were really looking forward to eating ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We were really looking forward to eating at the HH, but ended up waiting well over an hour for what ended up being very slow fast food, and not exactly what was ordered. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Our server was great and attentive to ou ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Our server was great and attentive to our needs. I had the lobster Benedict which was amazing and my wife had the chief special nutty pancakes that she loved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was wonderful and the wine recomm ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Dinner was wonderful and the wine recommended complimented my scallops and my friends fried oysters. Service was excellant!!

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Think of a seafood menu from 20 years ag ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Think of a seafood menu from 20 years ago and you'll know what's available at Harbor House. After its recommendation from Trip Advisor, our entire group of 6 was disappointed. The room was uncomfortably warm, we had to ask twice for bread (20 minute wait) and we went elsewhere for coffee and dessert. There are much better places in Mystic, especially at the prices charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Great ambiance and beautiful view. Medio ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great ambiance and beautiful view. Mediocre service at best, food was just ok . Food arrived in waves. Some 20 minutes apart for four people. Great for a drink and some view but skip for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was excellent, great presentation a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Food was excellent, great presentation and reasonably priced. Many options for seating from larger public areas to small intimate selections. Great outdoor seating in several spaces.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Live Music, Private Room, Wood Oven, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Historic, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Fireplace, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was terrible. Server was very sl ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Service was terrible. Server was very slow and the place was pretty empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Great food and service. The atmosphere o ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great food and service. The atmosphere of the restaurant was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating our 53rd wedding ann ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 31, 2016

We were celebrating our 53rd wedding anniversary. Food was excellent . Service was acceptable. It was a bit noisy but did not interfere with talking.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awful experience! Hour and 45 min wait f ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Awful experience! Hour and 45 min wait for entrees which never came.Tables seated after us were served before us. Everyone was complaining. We left. Service was inattentive. Avoid at all costs. Mismanaged !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We made a reservation for 6:15pm but whe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We made a reservation for 6:15pm but when we arrived we were told that we could not have a water front view, which is what this restaurant is know for and the only reason we made a reservation here. Our salads did not arrive until 7pm. At 7:40pm, our dinner had still not arrived!! We complained to the manager and we were told it would be out shortly. Finally received dinner at 7:50pm. At this point we didn't even feel like eating. Overall a huge disappointment. Would not recommend as they obviously have huge kitchen and service issues! And way overpriced!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

5:30 reservation. Did not leave restaura ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2016

5:30 reservation. Did not leave restaurant until 8:45 due to slow service. 3 out of 5 meals had to be returned as they were cold and prepared incorrectly. The overall quality of the food, service and attitude of the manager were very disappointing. A shame since the outside setting is pleasant. A clear lack of professional management and poor quality of kitchen knowledge and food execution. Will never return. Can't recommend this place for anything other than an outdoor drink. And even then, the wait staff has poor knowledge of their rotating beer choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Lovely midpoint meeting spot for CT & MA ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Lovely midpoint meeting spot for CT & MA friends. Good daily soup, seafood specials. Nice view. Raw bar was prepping for evening & looked great!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My 10 year old son and I spent an overni ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2016

My 10 year old son and I spent an overnight in mystic. Harbor house was at our hotel. It was beautiful and the food was delicious! I also appreciated the fact that I could have a cocktail and not have to drive! My son declared the lobster was the best he ever had. I would return to this restaurant in a heartbeat!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

After fairly good reviews of this establ ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 18, 2016

After fairly good reviews of this establishment we decided to check it out on 8/18/16. The site was nice but upon entering the actual restaurant building it was musty smelling.

Drinks were fair at best for $10 a piece and took longer than expected to receive. We had a 6:15 pm seating.

We ordered entrees only. All entrees came in reasonable time. I ordered the ahi tuna which was OK. The other entrees included filet mignon and chicken caprese. The filet was good but the pile of mashed potatoes tasted like anything but. The chicken was the worst. A breaded piece of chicken over white rice with unseasoned greens and tomatoes surrounding it. The most unflavored dish possible. No thought put in to dish at all.

For dessert we were told about 3 things they were already out of and when one choice was made to make up for the chicken that was taken off bill we were then told that also wasn't available. Did I mention a 6:15 pm seating?

Mediocre food, old ambience in need of update. Saving grace is view but I can't eat that.

Wouldn't not recommend at all to anyone.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Sad to say this was a very disappointing ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Sad to say this was a very disappointing outing. The restaurant has the potential to be a real "go to restaurant" with a great view but the waite staff needs definite training and the food better preparation. The Bar is very active with alive band (noisy) and plenty of dancing young people - so I would say it is quite successful. The deck off the Bar is popular. Just hope the management concentrates on bringing the restaurant to it's possible potential.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Great view, good martini's, new menu is ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great view, good martini's, new menu is loaded with too many fried foods, service needs improvement, slow service and our appetizers were served with our entrees.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

This was our second visit and unfortunat ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was our second visit and unfortunately didn't go very well. Sat for quite a while and had no server. I had to get up and interrupt a group of six servers, chatting together, to ask for a waitperson. Soup came not even room temperature, fried lobster tail was good but a little explanation on how to eat it would have saved us some time, no specials were offered. We had to ask for everything, including flatware and water, multiple times. Ordered the chicken carbonaro and everything about this dish was awesome except for the chicken. It was overcooked, dry and stringy and I had to spit it into my napkin, I couldn't break it down by chewing. The rest of the dish, minus eating any of the chicken, was amazing. The stuffed sole was also very good. We told our waitress of the food problems and her answer was "that is why I never order chicken in a restaurant". She offered us nothing for all of our troubles, and we didn't ask. The new asst. manager happened to stop over and say hi and we told her everything and she gave us 10% off the bill. I imagine some day we will go back, but not anytime soon.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Food was very disappointing and dry. Al ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food was very disappointing and dry. Also it took almost an hour to get our food. Would not go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Had a pretty average meal here. It was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Had a pretty average meal here. It was quite a disappointment since I expected better. Service was slow and we felt abused. We ate outside since the weather was nice and the view was pretty. The extremely slow service, which was "apologized" for by the server, left us outside eating in the dark. There was no where near enough lighting for us to see our food which left us disappointed and disparaged. I'll never go back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Exceptional Wonderful Everything was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Exceptional Wonderful Everything was perfect. 😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😋😊😊😊

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visit was excellent for everything excep ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Visit was excellent for everything except the restaurant was extremely hot due to air conditioning not being able to keep it cooler.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice , clean, and roomy layout. Tables n ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Nice , clean, and roomy layout. Tables not squished together. Very good food and very good variety of food. Good and attentive servers. Attentive manager (rare). Also stayed and listened to music which was also very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.