About Harbour House - Inn at Mystic

3 Williams Avenue
Mystic, CT 06355
View Larger Map

The Harbour House features fresh, seasonal and local cuisine served in Mystic’s most spectacular setting at the Inn at Mystic. This iconic property is a treasured and historic place, and our restaurant reflects that magnetic ambiance amidst serene waterfront surroundings and hidden New England beauty.

Offering an eclectic mix of casually elegant cuisine mingled with the traditional seafood staples we know and love, the Harbour House redefines the landscape of New England cuisine. Enjoy handmade wood-fired pizza from our brick oven and freshly shucked Ninigrets from the raw bar, or delve into one of our delicious steaks. To complement your dining experience, the Harbour House bar features 24 beers on tap along with an impressive list of signature cocktails made with only the freshest of ingredients.

Whatever appeals to your palette, the Harbour House offers something for everyone in a relaxed and comfortable setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 11:30am-3:00pm, Monday-Friday
Happy Hour: 3:00pm-6:00pm, Monday-Friday
Weekday Dinner: 4:00pm – 9:00pm, Sunday-Thursday
Weekend Dinner: 4:00pm – 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday
Brunch: 8:00am-4:00pm, Saturday & Sunday

Cross Street:
Denison Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(860) 536-8140

Website:
http://www.innatmystic.com/

Entertainment:
Check our calendar for live entertainment schedules.

Parking Details:
Plenty of onsite free parking

Executive Chef:
Vincent Venice

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Harbour House - Inn at Mystic Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

3.6

ambience

3.9

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Romantic (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
202 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awful experience! Hour and 45 min wait f ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Awful experience! Hour and 45 min wait for entrees which never came.Tables seated after us were served before us. Everyone was complaining. We left. Service was inattentive. Avoid at all costs. Mismanaged !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Lovely midpoint meeting spot for CT & MA ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Lovely midpoint meeting spot for CT & MA friends. Good daily soup, seafood specials. Nice view. Raw bar was prepping for evening & looked great!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My 10 year old son and I spent an overni ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

My 10 year old son and I spent an overnight in mystic. Harbor house was at our hotel. It was beautiful and the food was delicious! I also appreciated the fact that I could have a cocktail and not have to drive! My son declared the lobster was the best he ever had. I would return to this restaurant in a heartbeat!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

After fairly good reviews of this establ ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

After fairly good reviews of this establishment we decided to check it out on 8/18/16. The site was nice but upon entering the actual restaurant building it was musty smelling.

Drinks were fair at best for $10 a piece and took longer than expected to receive. We had a 6:15 pm seating.

We ordered entrees only. All entrees came in reasonable time. I ordered the ahi tuna which was OK. The other entrees included filet mignon and chicken caprese. The filet was good but the pile of mashed potatoes tasted like anything but. The chicken was the worst. A breaded piece of chicken over white rice with unseasoned greens and tomatoes surrounding it. The most unflavored dish possible. No thought put in to dish at all.

For dessert we were told about 3 things they were already out of and when one choice was made to make up for the chicken that was taken off bill we were then told that also wasn't available. Did I mention a 6:15 pm seating?

Mediocre food, old ambience in need of update. Saving grace is view but I can't eat that.

Wouldn't not recommend at all to anyone.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Sad to say this was a very disappointing ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Sad to say this was a very disappointing outing. The restaurant has the potential to be a real "go to restaurant" with a great view but the waite staff needs definite training and the food better preparation. The Bar is very active with alive band (noisy) and plenty of dancing young people - so I would say it is quite successful. The deck off the Bar is popular. Just hope the management concentrates on bringing the restaurant to it's possible potential.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Great view, good martini's, new menu is ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great view, good martini's, new menu is loaded with too many fried foods, service needs improvement, slow service and our appetizers were served with our entrees.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

This was our second visit and unfortunat ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was our second visit and unfortunately didn't go very well. Sat for quite a while and had no server. I had to get up and interrupt a group of six servers, chatting together, to ask for a waitperson. Soup came not even room temperature, fried lobster tail was good but a little explanation on how to eat it would have saved us some time, no specials were offered. We had to ask for everything, including flatware and water, multiple times. Ordered the chicken carbonaro and everything about this dish was awesome except for the chicken. It was overcooked, dry and stringy and I had to spit it into my napkin, I couldn't break it down by chewing. The rest of the dish, minus eating any of the chicken, was amazing. The stuffed sole was also very good. We told our waitress of the food problems and her answer was "that is why I never order chicken in a restaurant". She offered us nothing for all of our troubles, and we didn't ask. The new asst. manager happened to stop over and say hi and we told her everything and she gave us 10% off the bill. I imagine some day we will go back, but not anytime soon.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Food was very disappointing and dry. Al ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food was very disappointing and dry. Also it took almost an hour to get our food. Would not go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Had a pretty average meal here. It was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Had a pretty average meal here. It was quite a disappointment since I expected better. Service was slow and we felt abused. We ate outside since the weather was nice and the view was pretty. The extremely slow service, which was "apologized" for by the server, left us outside eating in the dark. There was no where near enough lighting for us to see our food which left us disappointed and disparaged. I'll never go back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Exceptional Wonderful Everything was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Exceptional Wonderful Everything was perfect. 😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😊😋😊😊😊

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visit was excellent for everything excep ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Visit was excellent for everything except the restaurant was extremely hot due to air conditioning not being able to keep it cooler.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice , clean, and roomy layout. Tables n ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Nice , clean, and roomy layout. Tables not squished together. Very good food and very good variety of food. Good and attentive servers. Attentive manager (rare). Also stayed and listened to music which was also very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was my birthday so my husband and I c ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

It was my birthday so my husband and I chose to eat at the Harbour House on the 1st night of our stay at the Inn at Mystic. Big mistake! I requested a quiet table with a nice view and my request was fulfilled but I should have been a little suspicious when I saw we were the only couple inside the restaurant. We did have a late reservation that evening but didn’t think that would impact food quality or atmosphere, especially from a restaurant with a good rating. We started with an appetizer and salads which were okay but what I found strange we never got served a roll with the salad. Most reputable restaurants that I visit always serve bread! My husband ordered a seafood pasta dish which was okay but certainly not 4 star; I ordered the scallops which were extremely over spiced and so salty I couldn’t eat them. I told the waitress they were not edible but she said they only use salt and pepper and that the chef may have just been heavy-handed that evening! In any event, I did not have a pleasant birthday dinner and what I found more distressing is that neither the chef nor the manager acknowledged my disappointment or dissatisfaction. We paid the entire bill even though I would have expected it to be adjusted for my bad meal. Loved the Inn but won’t be going back to HH anytime soon!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The view was nice; just lacked a bit of ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The view was nice; just lacked a bit of specialness overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Overall a great place to dine with one o ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Overall a great place to dine with one of the best scenic views in all of Mystic. ! Owner Tim Brown is an excellent host and has a great thing going ! I would recommend the Harbor House to anyone !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

2nd time and just as impressed as first. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

2nd time and just as impressed as first. Good was delicious. Would def go again. Prime rib excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was slow. Food was ok. Steamers ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service was slow. Food was ok. Steamers were very good. I would go back just to sit at the bar or outside and have a drink and steamers but not in any hurry to go back for a full meal

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The aren't a lot of choices in Mystic. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The aren't a lot of choices in Mystic. This a good stop, not great, but not in anyway disappointing. The bar is fun, the view great and try the colossal onion rings.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Had reservation for 8pm. Arrived 7:30 pm ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Had reservation for 8pm. Arrived 7:30 pm and said we had to wait 20 some minutes. We said we go to the bar. Maybe 4 tables in the bar were taken out of say 15 tables. We sat down and said maybe we should eat here. I went back and told the hostess and she did not want us to eat in the bar and I said you have plenty of tables. I asked why she said we have reservations. Ha!! She said okay you can eat in the bar. May I say about 3 or 4 tables came into the bar after that. They need a new attitude. Will not be eating there again. Janet Incerto

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The patio is just lovely but the night w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The patio is just lovely but the night we were there, it was chilly. Our waiter provided us with blankets to keep warm. Food was good but a bit ordinary and a bit bland. But we will definitely go back again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Very scenic, nice ambiance, live jazz a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Very scenic, nice ambiance, live jazz a plus. Good service from Jeff.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The view is gorgeous and food/drink was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The view is gorgeous and food/drink was wonderful. Our waitress was lovely and very attentive but for the second time we experienced an extended wait for our food. The waitress warned us the kitchen was running behind and manager came to apologize, but after 30 minutes, our raw bar order still wasn't out and they had run out of what we ordered. We were having fun so no one made a stink, but there was no offer to comp our drinks or raw bar order. There was not a real effort to court return customers. With all the options in the area, we won't be rushing back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We stopped here for dinner on our drive ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We stopped here for dinner on our drive up to cape cod. I was surprised and a bit leery that we were able to get a Saturday night reservation at the last minute. But we were pleasantly surprised. The location is right on the water with pretty views of the harbor. We ordered the lobster quesadilla and meatball appetizers and both were delicious. For our main dishes we ordered the flak steak entrée and the flank steak salad, and my son had the fish and chips. The steak dishes in particular were very good. the only draw back is that we were promised bread several times and when we finally received it, the basket was short by one roll for our party . The main dish was served almost immediately after so we didn't bother asking for more bread. Other than that, our meal was quite enjoyable.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was quite good and what would be ex ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was quite good and what would be expected at an above average restaurant. It wasn't especially creative, but was presented very nicely and well prepared. I was a very pleasant end to a busy day!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The special occasion was our wedding ann ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The special occasion was our wedding anniversary, which the restaurant knew. We 4 were seated promptly & the server was pleasant & helpful but only sporadically present. Our salads were prompt, but main courses took another hour plus. By the time they were presented, 1 entree was cold & inedible. The mgr scurried up another in 5 mins, but the entire(costly) experience soured an otherwise happy occasion. The food was adequate even when warm, so we'll go elsewhere next year.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

great Father's Day brunch ... wonderful ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

great Father's Day brunch ... wonderful lobster rolls (both hot and cold), and lobster crepe. Beautiful view. Relaxing and fun.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasantly surprised

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We met for a girl's luncheon and were very happy with the location and the atmosphere. Our waitress was great and we were not rushed. We had outside dining and the view was beautiful even on an overcast day. We will definitely be visiting again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Least favorite in area. Quality lacking. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Least favorite in area. Quality lacking. Service good. Nice views.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

bad scene

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

horrible service- sat for an hour after ordering, no contact from waitress, no food, no bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Poor service mediocre food. W.ould not g ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Poor service mediocre food. W.ould not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Great location overlooking Mystic harbor ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great location overlooking Mystic harbor. Food is well prepared, but overly salted. Still had a very good experience and will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Harbour House is always good. They offer ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Harbour House is always good. They offer great service and delicious food. The view is pretty, the music afterwards is nice at the bar,too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place to eat!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

The food is great and the service was prompt. Separate checks was no issue for the server. The views are terrific and I am glad to see so much life being brought back to this enjoyable dining location. I have been here at least once a month for all kinds of occasions since they opened as Harbour House.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Celebrated Mother's Day and my birthday with my wife and daughter at Harbor House-Inn at Mystic. The Brunch-Buffet provided many delicious choices, and the staff was warm and friendly. A thank you to Shannon for making us feel at home.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice scenery and ambience

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The Harbor House has a lovely, scenic setting in Mystic, and we were accommodated in a part of the mansion of the Inn at Mystic, instead of in the noisier, more crowded, smaller detached restaurant. We enjoyed that aspect of the dining experience. The food was good, but was not extraordinary. For this reason, the price per person seemed a bit extravagant. The ambience was nice, but not worth what they were charging for the special Mother's Day menu. Our service was also adequate. We were most impressed with the considerateness of the staff manager in asking our permission to stop serving the brunch because we were the last diners in our part of the restaurant. Our reservation was for 2:45 on Mother's Day, and apparently most other reservations had preceded ours, and people had left before we did. We did appreciate that they asked us before just discontinuing the brunch service. They also asked before allowing their serving staff to partake and dine in the same space. Overall, I would recommend this dining establishment, but I would caution people not to expect an extravaganza of an experience for the price. We are local Mystic residents, and I'm not sure that we would come again for an expensive special occasion, although we have considered giving it a try for Thanksgiving.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The Mother's day buffet was outstanding ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The Mother's day buffet was outstanding and the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Avoid. Especially for Mothers Day. Over ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Avoid. Especially for Mothers Day. Over priced with a substantial lack of quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Delicious!

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Everything here was great. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our room

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a very nice time at the Inn at Mystic. We were celebrating our 6 year anniversary and my birthday. We really enjoyed the cocktail hour and dinner at Harbour house. the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The only complaint was when we initially arrived and entered our room, there was a really bad odor coming from the fireplace. It was a burning odor from the ashes which was probably from poor ventilation. We had to open the sliding glass doors and the windows to try to ventilate the room, although it didn't remedy the issue. We did enjoy the jacuzzi tub, however, it would have been nicer if the room had a fresh smell.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The service was excellent, portions correct, not too much.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.