Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 9 times today

Harbour House - Inn at Mystic

3.9
275 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Special Occasion
The Harbour House features fresh, seasonal and local cuisine served in Mystic’s most spectacular setting at the Inn at Mystic. This iconic property is a treasured and historic place, and our restaurant reflects that magnetic ambiance amidst serene waterfront surroundings and hidden New England beauty.

Offering an eclectic mix of casually elegant cuisine mingled with the traditional seafood staples we know and love, the Harbour House redefines the landscape of New England cuisine. Enjoy handmade wood-fired pizza from our brick oven and freshly shucked Ninigrets from the raw bar, or delve into one of our delicious steaks. To complement your dining experience, the Harbour House bar features 24 beers on tap along with an impressive list of signature cocktails made with only the freshest of ingredients.

Whatever appeals to your palette, the Harbour House offers something for everyone in a relaxed and comfortable setting.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Seafood, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch
Sat, Sun 8:30 am–2:00 pm
Lunch
Mon–Fri 11:30 am–2:00 pm
Happy Hour
Mon–Fri 3:00 pm–6:00 pm
Sat, Sun 2:00 pm–4:00 pm
Dinner
Mon–Fri 4:00 pm–9:00 pm
Sat, Sun 4:00 pm–10:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(860) 536-8140
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chaz Paull
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Denison Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Plenty of onsite free parking
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Check our calendar for live entertainment schedules.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 275 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.9based on all time ratings
3.9
food
3.9
service
4.0
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Moderate
81% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

This was our third time here since January and I was thrown a bit by the change to the look of the menu. It's a little deceiving as the new menu has the look of a laminated placemat. But don't let this deter you, the food was EXCELLENT, the same quality we had during our previous visits. We had a party of 6 and everyone was very satisfied with their meals. Service was great, very nice, friendly waitress and other servers who delivered our food. I had requested, on Open Table, a table by the window in the side room with the fireplace and my request was granted. It can get a bit load with the live music in the bar, so I am glad we were tucked around the corner and able to have a conversation without shouting. Very nice early Mother's day dinner with my family. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Very attentive staff. We went during brunch, great options for kids as well as adults

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2017

We are new to the area and trying different restaurants around town. I really wanted scallops and they had them on the menu.. my god they were fantastic. Craving satisfied. Great decor and fabulous service. Our server was Jeff and honestly, he provided the best service I've had in 10 years. He was attentive but not hovering. He was knowledgeable about the menu and detail oriented. My family was well taken care of here and we will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2017

The food is delicious. The wait staff and bartenders were very friendly and knowledgeable. The best Happy Hour I've ever been to.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 21, 2017

Pleasant locale and attentive staff. Live band playing soft jazz added a lovely touch to our Sunday brunch. Menu offers some variety --enough to please different tastes. In general food was fine though my sirloin hash was dry dry dry. A good place for a larger group get together in which food is fine but not necessarily the feature of the event.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2017

Great dinner on the deck overlooking the trees and water.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

My wife and I went for Mother's Day brunch. We had reservations and were promptly seated. The brunch was excellent especially the shrimp cocktail appetizer. Our service was very friendly and very good. Look forwar to returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2017

Very attentive waiter. Great food. Something for everyone! I had a salad with shrimp. My sister and nephew enjoyed their burgers. My niece liked her margarita flatbread pizza! Yummy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2017

My wife and thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience - looking forward to returning as soon as we can.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2017

Thank you for making our anniversary a special night. Enjoyed listening to the music coming from the other room. Talented singer/guitarist that was an added amenity to our dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2017

The food is good and plentiful. The ambiance is cosy. The view is wonderful. The service is typically very good, but on our last visit last week, it seemed to be unusually slow. The bar next door is noisy but not annoying. If the weather is good, the noise goes outside on the terrace/deck. Reservations are desirable. One good feature is that Harbor House is not a typical tourist restaurant - it's more for the locals even though there is a large motel/inn on the premises.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 21, 2017

Ordered the sliders....Very fatty, bread was soggy, no flavor....and they were cold.
Main course....I ordered fish tacos ( as did one other person in our party.) Both of us were very surprised when they came with seared/raw tuna..... No Mentioin of this in the menu, nor did the waiter alert us to the fact it was tartar.

The first beer I ordered was an IPA.... It was served warm and tasted nothing like an IPA.

My wife had stuffed sole with lobster.... Lobster was tough, sole cold, and the fingerling potatoes served with it were like those from school lunch.

The band on Friday night set up about nine ( in an adjacent room.) It was unnecessarily loud and from that point on no one could converse.

On a positive note, they were able to accommodate a group of ten on two hours notice on a Friday night.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 16, 2017

Treated family to Easter dinner. My reservations were made well in advance but we were seated at the lounge. The noise level was high, the music was too loud and did not fit the occasion. The chairs and table needed tightening, extremely wobbly, spilling drinks.
Food was very good. Wait staff not quite as attentive as I like. First two beer choices were out but the waitress' recommendation was spot on. Pricey. I give it a B-

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2017

We attended Easter Sunday brunch. We reserved a late seating and the meal service continued past their normal closing time to accommodate everyone. They did not rush people and they made sure everyone was satisfied. The food was excellent and the location was great for a spring event with views of Fishers Island Sound. We will go again for such occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2017

wonderful family Easter dinner buffet! we were promptly seated, the meal was exceptional. our special requests were happily provided.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2017

We were there for Easter Sunday Brunch. While the food was very good, what stood out was the excellent service, especially by the chefs cooking at the different stations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch was great! Large selection with variety. Everything was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch was very good. The service was exceptional and the food was great.
I would recommend this restaurant and will return in the future.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2017

Beautiful location and a really great attentive service. Unfortunately, the food is not so great....

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 14, 2017

Over priced for poor food!! Drinks also over priced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2017

My wife and myself went to the Harbour House for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. I requested and got what I think is the best table in the house, window four top overlooking the harbour with the fireplace at our backs. Our server Ethan was knowledgeable and attentive. We started with the Mussels and grilled Caesar salad,both fantastic.My wife had the Filet Mignon, cooked to perfection and I had the Stuffed Sole absolutely delicious. Finished the evening with the Profiteroles which were on the house. Great food, wonderful atmosphere, truly a great night. Thank you Harbour House. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was really great! I only gave it a four for service because even though the whole place was packed the three times I went, there seemed to be only one waiter. The service from the waiter was wonderful but we did have to wait a bit for our orders to be taken. Once the order was taken though the food did come surprisingly quickly. The lobster anything (I had them all) is fresh, delicious and devine!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2017

The staff was courteous, friendly and accommodating. The food was very tasty and a good value - especially when we received a discount for brunch ( when staying at the Inn); another nice extra perk.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2017

The service, food, and space were fantastic! I will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner celebrating my husband's birthday. Tim, the waiter, was wonderful; the food was excellent and the atmosphere perfect. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 11, 2017

We were originally excited to be coming back to Harbor House to celebrate our anniversary having been there Valentine's Day a few years ago. Unfortunately this time the food was subpar and the service worse. Our waiter didn't even remember to bring us bread and then loomed surprised when I asked about it even though all the tables around us had bread. The braised ribeye was VERY overdone and served in a bowl with mashed potatoes stuck under it leaving them drowned in drippings (not yummy gravy) to the point where they were inedible. My husband's prime rib was cut too thick, not seasoned and tough. It takes more like a cheap london broil. SO disappointing!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 10, 2017

We arrived on time for our 7 p.m. reservation. The front desk attendant seemed distracted, not welcoming. However, she took us to a nice table was near the fireplace, in a small dining room. In the adjoining bar, there were 3 TV screens going and a fair-sized crowd. Midway through our meal, an amplified rock band began playing in the bar, which made conversation difficult in our nearby dining area.
The food was average. A gray hamburger was sent back for the medium rare that was ordered. The fried shellfish entree was good as was the grilled lettuce with shrimp. Buffalo wings and blue cheese dip were good.
Our waiter was pleasant, helpful and efficient.
Recommended to friends who are not overly fussy about food and like a noisy atmosphere, not to anyone else.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2017

Everything about the dining experience was outstanding from the service to the food.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 19, 2017

We went for Sunday midday meal and were seated quickly but adjacent to a live jazz band. We asked to be seated farther away because we could not hear ourselves talk. They moved us into a different lower level room with large family groups and dozens of small children. It was as noisy as the jazz group so we left. This was s nice restaurant when it was Flood Tide.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food. Music too loud. Can't have a conversation when music is playing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2017

Took the fiancé here for a "Valentine's Day" dinner on the 16th. The server was extremely professional and polite. The food and wine option was really great and so was the quality as well. It was a very quiet and warming atmosphere near the fireplace. We will definitly be returning again.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Happy Valentines Day!
Here er go
It all must have been my fault Being 6 Minutes late tho I did call ahead to tell them. walking passed the dining room with the fire place and ocean view we walk into a separate room that over looked the motel parking lot. Sitting at the table with no table cloth I unfold my paper napkin Thinking they must be very busy tonight and may be booked up and we only scheduled our reservations a week ahead of time, I look at all of the empty tables over looking the harbor and think it was a 6:30 reservation where is everyone? Bread comes. One generous piece for each of us. The 13$ appetizer lobster stuffed seafood crepes. How does such a warm crepe cover house cold filling. The reminded me of microwaved mashed potatoes you know cold in the middle hot on the edges. The Cesar salad comes. It was hard to taste any Cesar dressing at all. There might have been a hint of it somewhere in there buy all I could taste was all of the mayonnaise covered romaine with what looked like 4 carefully placed croutons. while I watched my best friend of 6 years push it away.I remember, That's right She doesn't eat mayonnaise. I was thinking it might bring out the mayonnaise with some pepper but it wasn't offered. Ahh! The awaited $40 per plate meal that we were expecting. A stuffed sole of fish over leeks It was hard to taste anything over the salt. Also I had never seen stuffing that looked like shredded meat from a can with little squares of red pepper. I don't know what it was but when I think stuffing I think some sort of mushy breaded mix. Ahh! My beef tender loin and jumbo shrimp dinner. What a disappointment. It was one of the smallest beef tenderloin medallions I have ever seen and 2 large shrimp slopped on top of a pile of mashed potatoes. don't get excited. The shrimp weren't that big. When I said large I meant what you think when she says "it's a good size" and 3 asparagus.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 11, 2017

This was a decent restaurant food was very good I would go back again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2017

The cod fritters were amazing! The main dishes were scallops, which were cooked to perfection. Dessert was the best chocolate dessert I've ever been served at a restaurant. The staff, the view, the atmosphere including the fireplace, were truly amazing. Thank you for these wonderful memories!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 29, 2017

Enjoyed this restaurant previously. Decent food and service for a decent price. However, this time the service was terrible and the food was comparable to a bad diner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 28, 2017

Dinner was very good. Service was incredible. We were not rushed, but the food came out very quickly. We had the chili as an appetizer which was delicious. Also the filet mignon was very good, served with mashed potatoes and mushrooms. Would have been a little nicer if there was a green vegetable on the plate. We also enjoyed the pasta with scallops. Very tasty. All in all it was a wonderful restaurant that I would highly recommend and would go back to if I was ever in the area again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 28, 2017

My dinner of stuff sole was good(stuffing could have been hotter). Unfortunately, My husband had the 16oz prime rib and it was n Very tough! Could not even eat it!! French green beans were absolutely raw and cold! It is a beautiful building and we will try again another time since we live locally.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 21, 2017

Service was pathetically slow - took over an hour to get appetizers. Food only fair. Would not recommend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 6, 2017

Outstanding appetizers with very good service by our waiter.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 31, 2016

We went for New Years Eve, the menu was pre fixe and the options were fine, the price was $45.00 per person and I felt up front that was very reasonable for the meals offered. In general we were both very disappointed in the overall service and quality of the food. We asked twice for bread and never received it, the duck came out cold, we had to ask for the water to be refilled, we were never asked if we would like another cocktail, and the chocolate mousse came out very crumbly, it looked like dry clumpy powder. They were busy but not any busier than any other restaurant on a normal Saturday evening. I do not think I would go back for dinner.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7

Tweets by Harbour House - Inn at Mystic