Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Harbor House

Located on the shores of Lake Michigan in Downtown Milwaukee, Harbor House replicates a New England style seafood restaurant commonly found on Cape Cod and Nantucket. The menu features a wide array of fresh seafood, salads, sandwiches, pastas, steaks, and chops. Additionally, Harbor House features two outdoor patios.

550 N. Harbor Dr
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Fri & Sat: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 8:00pm (Brunch served until 2:00pm)
Happy Hour: Mon-Fri 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
Harbor Dr & N Lincoln Memorial Dr

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 395-4900

Website:
http://www.harborhousemke.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live music on our patio every Sunday and Monday from 4-7 pm from June through August.

Parking Details:
Valet - $6 dinner, complimentary at lunch and brunch.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Fisher

Private Party Facilities:
Harbor House can create the perfect social or business event for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Katelyn Arnold: (414) 395-4900

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/restaurant/harbor-house/to see upcoming events at Harbor House!

Harbor House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (223)
Scenic View (205)
Special Occasion (170)
See All
Good for a Date (152)
Good for Anniversaries (138)
Romantic (126)
Good for Birthdays (103)
Worth the Drive (91)
Great for Outdoor Dining (78)
Business Meals (77)
Fit for Foodies (61)
Good for Groups (54)
Notable Wine List (53)
Great for Lunch (53)
Bar Seating (52)
Creative Cuisine (52)
People Watching (51)
Great for Brunch (49)
Hot Spot (47)
Happy Hour (46)
Sunday Lunch (45)
Fun (45)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Pre/post Theatre (40)
Casual (39)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Authentic (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Cozy (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Seasonal (24)
Local Ingredients (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Great Beer (9)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Historic (3)
Live Music (3)
Tapas (2)
Organic (2)
Private Room (2)
Dancing (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
3953 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Absolutely wonderful
Everyone was great
Food oyster
Bartender great

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Ate outside on beautiful evening. Great view of Lake Michigan and city lights. Very good wine list and fresh seafood. Oysters are really good and crab legs are among best in the city.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Very poor presentation of a $58 a plate lobster dinner😪 . Meat was tough probably over cooked and part of the tail meat was covered with green slime! The shell crackers we next to worthless on top of being rusty at the hinge. The potatoes were par cooked at best.After spending 250 dollars for an aniversery dinner for two I was embarrassed and disgusted! On the plus side the glass of champagne (gratis) was a nice touch. In retrospect perhaps I should have asked if the lobster was deshelled.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Harbor House is my favorite restaurant in SE Wisconsin (and beyond). Wonderful food, extraordinary service, an inimitable setting, and a creative menu that should please anyone; all at appropriate prices. We'll return soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Restaurant staff was great. Really made our evening special.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was excellent and the food was superb as always

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We loved our lunch there, it was such a welcome break from only fast food options at Irish Fest!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was amazing. Service was a little slow at the beginning (server was busy with many tables). We sat outside and had a great view of the lake and art museum. Already planning our next visit.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We were there for lunch celebrating an anniversary. The bread, chowder, and mussels were wonderful. The halibut portion was on the small side. We should have heeded the waitress when she said she liked the vegetable assortment that accompanied the halibut. On another note, the views were outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent drink options, my spouse had a delicious ginger peach sangria. The oyster raw bar was uniquely diverse, certainly worth making another trip just to try some of the other options. The crustacean bisque was equally delicious, the bowl may have been a tad much for me, so maybe going with a cup would be my choice next time around. Finally, the entree was quite filling, the two lobster tails where excellent sized portions, so that alone earns the best rating for value. Our two servers Bradley and Enrique deserve a shoutout for their stellar customer service. A tip of the hat for Enrique who went above and beyond, worth noting that he is also a former service member. Semper Fi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

If you want a dinner location in Milwaukee that combines a scenic river view, excellent service and very good food Harbour House should be your destination. We visited for our anniversary and everything for the most part was perfect. Highly recommend this restaurant!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Beautiful view, excellent food, great service. Not inexpensive, though.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

I really do love dining here especially because of the incredible views we are able to enjoy during our meal and the wonderful service. I did not, however, enjoy my meal this time. The fried clams we had ordered for appetizers were overcooked and quite dry, as well as, bland. The entree I had ordered was also a disaster. I ordered the Rainbow trout which was literally sitting in a pool of oil. As for the rest of our meal, the fried calamari was good and everyone else's entrees seemed to be edible as no one else had negative things to say about the experience.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Unpredictable timeliness with reservation times. Waited an extra 30 minutes beyond my scheduled reservation. They only acknowledged the delay after I made it an issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Great service, fabulous lunch and the best view in Milwaukee. It was a gorgeous day, so perfect for the patio lunch!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The food Harbor House is good, but typically about 25% over priced. Our service experience was horrible. We sat outside near the hostess stand which allowed us to see our champagne come out and sit in the humid air for 15 minutes. The same thing happened with our food, it was delivered to a resting area for our server to bring it to our table (about 12 feet) and it sat. This was a common theme for the patio. This is not a new operation, but their execution would suggest they opened the patio 1 week ago and are still working things out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

This was our first experience with a Bartolotta's restaurant, and I was sadly unimpressed. The waiter seemed to lose interest in us as soon as we failed to order expensive appetizers and main courses. The food was good, but plain - so it's good for those with a desire for understated flavors. The portions are not large, so be prepared to order additional items to go with your meal. The wedge salad was disappointing - it had a huge amount of lettuce, but not much in the way of the other ingredients - three grape tomatos halved, four bacon bits, and six to eight croutons.

We ate outside, and the view of the bay was gorgeous, and the guitar player was a nice touch for ambiance. The restaurant itself was very nice and very clean, even outside where there were the inevitable birds hoping for a dropped morsel or two.

If the portions were higher or the service was better, I'd give it a higher rating. It was an interesting experiment, but I believe there is much better value to be had elsewhere in Milwaukee.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Enjoyed Sunday Brunch and celebrated a Birthday. All the food was very good. There is a very large selection. We like the Snow Crab Legs, Roast Beef, Ham, Shrimp and Herring. Would appreciate the cream puffs and éclair pastry to be dry and not soggy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Loved it. Went there while visiting from out of town and can't wait to go back

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

From the moment that we walked in, everyone treated us like royalty. The food was exceptional and the views are the best in Milwaukee. It was a wonderful way to spend my husband's birthday. Thank you.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent food, great service, gorgeous view of Lake Michigan, Art museum. Stroll on breakwater after dining.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Awesome! Great date night. Wonderful location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Came up from Pleasant Prairie on a date/anniversary dinner with my wife. Great choice, 5 pm reservation, seated by 5:10. With 2 servers per table, made the experience more efficient. I hate dirty dishes in front of me, they did a great job. Apps and food was great, no rush, but prompt. Presentation was good and food was hot. As a surprise we were offered a glass of champagne at the beginning of dinner and a slice of desert cheese cake for our celebration. Another win for the Bartolotta family of restaurants.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

This place has it all. Great ambiance, views, service and food! The raw bar was my favorite. Our server Shey was the best, very knowledgeable about the menu and too great care of us. Would highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 11, 2017

It was excellent. Been here many times and always consistent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Very expensive with average food and below average service. Harbor house is off the list.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The clam strips and shrimp cocktails were excellent starters to our meal. The tuna and branzino entrees were delicious entrees as was the caesar salad. Considering the success and size of the restaurant, i would suggest that a bit more attention be paid to the craft cocktail list as well as the wine list as there is room for improvement.

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The food was very good! I specially enjoyed my salmon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Fabulous views of the lake! But the food was very average for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We just love Harbor House. There is NO better view in Milwaukee! The wine list is great, cocktails also. Our servers were very friendly, fun and had good timing. I had the shellfish stew and ate every morsel. Thanks and don't ever change or go away!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Our server asked if we were there for a special occasion and we were, our 49th wedding anniversary, and she surprised us with two glasses of champagne! Very nice!

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Always excellent service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Really appreciate the attention given to our young son!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating our 18th wedding anniversary and drove from Arlington Heights, IL. for the food, waterfront view and overall ambiance of Harbor House . Great service every time we have dined at Harbor House . We"ll be back

John & Mariette

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Wait staff was extremely attentive and very knowledgable about the menu and wine list. Food was exceptional (scallops!!!!!). Dessert was a must.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Perfect view of the lake and downtown from the east. Excellent seafood!!! And the service was impeccable. Thank you!

Tags: Scenic View, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Was a little disappointed that the salad dressings and sauces were not labeled or kept full. Brunch bar was slightly messy and new dinner plates were not available readily. Still didn't deter us from enjoying our brunch.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

A unique experience to be experienced. We will be returning.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Outstanding Food and Service! Views are spectacular! We are from Minneapolis and we eat here every time we go to Milwaukee. In fact, we very much look forward to it. Experiencing an evening or afternoon at the Harbor House in Milwaukee is simply one of Milwaukee's Classiest and Most Memorable experiences! We MOST HIGHLY RECOMMEND The Harbor House!

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Fantastic food and service with a beautiful view of the lake - what is not to love?

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.