Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Harbor House

Located on the shores of Lake Michigan in Downtown Milwaukee, Harbor House replicates a New England style seafood restaurant commonly found on Cape Cod and Nantucket. The menu features a wide array of fresh seafood, salads, sandwiches, pastas, steaks, and chops. Additionally, Harbor House features two outdoor patios.

550 N. Harbor Dr
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Fri & Sat: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 8:00pm (Brunch served until 2:00pm)
Happy Hour: Mon-Fri 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
Harbor Dr & N Lincoln Memorial Dr

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 395-4900

Website:
http://www.harborhousemke.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live music on our patio every Sunday and Monday from 4-7 pm from June through August.

Parking Details:
Valet - $6 dinner, complimentary at lunch and brunch.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Fisher

Private Party Facilities:
Harbor House can create the perfect social or business event for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Katelyn Arnold: (414) 395-4900

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/restaurant/harbor-house/to see upcoming events at Harbor House!

Harbor House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (180)
Scenic View (149)
Special Occasion (141)
See All
Good for a Date (124)
Good for Anniversaries (123)
Romantic (103)
Good for Birthdays (74)
Notable Wine List (60)
Worth the Drive (59)
Business Meals (59)
Bar Seating (55)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Great for Brunch (52)
Quiet Conversation (44)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Open Kitchen (40)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Great for Lunch (37)
Modern Decor (37)
Pre/post Theatre (35)
Sunday Lunch (34)
Good for Groups (34)
Fun (32)
Happy Hour (30)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
People Watching (28)
Healthy (28)
Casual (28)
Hot Spot (26)
Cozy (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Authentic (22)
Seasonal (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Historic (13)
Comfort Food (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Disabled Access (9)
Private Room (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Great Beer (7)
Family Style (7)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dancing (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
3764 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Delicious food with outstanding service. Will definitely be back for another special occasion.

Tags: Great Beer, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Great spot to celebrate a special occasion. Food and staff never disappoint!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

These guys were wonderful when we showed up with a 9th person and they also gave my daughter a free graduation dessert. Food is very good but not to die for as was remembered. View is incredible. For 9 people bill was over $500 with no appetizers, little alcohol and 4 additional desserts.

Tags: Waterfront, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

We were there to celebrate a graduation which ran late, they extended the brunch an hour to accommodate all if the graduation parties. Food, ambience and service was great. Only comment woud be the desert bar was less than I expected.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Expensive for quality. Food ok done but not exceptional. Soft shell crabs tough and greens salty and too much bacon! Shrimp succotash...Shrimp done well But succotash not fresh or special for price. Salads fresh but again just ok. However, waitstaff really nice and fun. Would ONLY return for atmosphere and perhaps lunch and careful when ordering.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, People Watching, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Have been there before and loved it but this was college graduation so it was packed with large groups. One of the entries for our group was forgotten, service was slow and food was good but not spectacular like before. Still, we'll be back

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

What can be said other than perfect? A bottle of Duckhorn Pinot Noir: excellent. French Kiss oysters: big, tender, delicious . Caesar salad: anchovies and Parmesan: outstanding. Grilled lobster and a steak done to perfection: amazing. A complimentary schaum torte dessert and being wished a happy anniversary by every staff member we interacted with: a superlative touch. Keep it up, Joe! Can you top perfection?

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Exotic location on the walkie waterfront. Lots of windows and great views. Service was highly attentive and justifiably proud. The food was very good but not great. Good beer list.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food and a beautiful view of Lake Michigan - we loved our meal at the Harbor House!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Tapas, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Waterfront, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent location! Wonderful service and a great selection of dining options

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

We always have a wonderful lunch or dinner here. Easy to talk to others in our party.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

It was our anniversary. Sat at a great corner window table overlooking the lake. Perfect!
Great food and ambiance. Great service. A bit pricey. I feel parking should not cost $6 plus tip.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Its always great going to Harbor House. The service, atmosphere and food are always fantastic!

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Another wonderful brunch - attentive wait staff, tasty food, gorgeous views of Milwaukee's skyline, and a 2pm reservation for 8 that was ready at 2pm! Extraordinary on Mothers Day!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We've come to Harbor House and Pieces of Eight for many years on Mother's Day. I felt the food choices were really scaled back this year, especially the hot dishes. Food was just okay. The chocolate eclairs seemed like they were purchased frozen from Sam's Club, as were other dessert choices. Fairly disappointing this year. We probably won't come back next year. For the price, I don't think the food is up to Barolotta's par.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I was a little disappointed in the in service at the bar at first because I was being ignored. Once that was cleared up, we had a fabulous time and the food was great. Our server Chris was spectacular. The drinks were good as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have had Sunday brunch, Special Occassion dinner, and business farewell dinner - all were outstanding! The service is impeccable - the views are to die for, especially at ight! This is our go to special-occasion dining1 We love it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Business Meals, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

we have been to Harbor House many many times and always love it. I was especially glad that the restaurant was able to accomodate our party of 7 to have a window view. Its so gorgeous on the water and I really appreciated that.
The food was fantastic especially my Branziono fish . Maybe the only thing I would say is that the portion size of the salmon for 30.00 was pretty small. I understand that the restaurant is not about huge portions, I don't want that either but for that amount of money I think the size could be increased abit.

Tags: Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great Views of the City, and the lake. Great Service, and great food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have become a fan of Harbor House. The food is excellent and the view is one of the best.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The temperature was extremely warm. However, our service was wonderful and the food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

All of our entrees were delicious. Service was outstanding. We will go again!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Small but annoying...Made a point we were there for a birthday celebration dropped over $400.00 for three people on dinner you would think they could stick a candle in a desert. Even if they are too cheap to comp one.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We had an absolutely fantastic time with great food and even better service.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Oysters, clams, and shrimps are very good. Clab, robster, clam chowder are moderate.
Very nice location!

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Can't beat the view of Milwaukee's lakefront. Service could be faster and more attentive. Food was good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Came here with colleagues and had a lovely lunch. Food was fabulous as always and the atmosphere is perfect for a work meal at midday, spacious, bright & airy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

One of the great locales in Milwaukee. Beautiful lake setting. The food was decent, but not spectacular.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The experience was outstanding from the service to the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My husband and I went to Harbor House for our wedding anniversary and had the most amazing experience! Alex our server was awesome--super knowledgeable and provided great suggestions! It was so sweet to also receive prosecco and dessert on the house! Thank you Harbor House--we definitely will be returning!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 7, 2017

It was a very busy Saturday night and the staff was spread thin but still maintained a very positive attitude and attended to our table as quickly as they could under the circumstances. The food was outstanding, the view was great and the hostess worked hard to get us the window table we had requested particularly since we were willing to wait for it to free up. Overall it was a very enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We've eaten at HH several times since it opened and are always wowed by the skyline and the lake - now even more impressive with some new buildings. I've had a little problem with almost every meal I've eaten there because the flavors are not as exciting as I think they should be. The fish is always fresh and properly cooked, but I find some of the sauces and preparations a bit bland. We ordered the halibut and the grouper and wished for deeper flavors in both. The seafood bisque was great, as was the bread pudding with vanilla ice cream. We will continue to come back to HH because the total package (which includes great service and views) is awesome.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Amazing evening. All of the food was outstanding and prepared perfectly. Was provided a glass of champagne to taste your anniversary on the house. Service was great a little pricey

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We have been to Harbor House on several occasions but this was the first time we experienced a significant drop off in service (waiter was not attentive) and the food was not up to their usual standards. Two members of our party ordered the trout entrée. Like all of our meals, it arrived at the table late, barely warm and overcooked. This signified to us that it had been sitting ready to serve but sat until the waiter found time to serve it to our table.
Our out of town guests were impressed with the restaurant, but felt the food was not worth the price.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Very disappointing. There were four of us and we all had a different seafood dish, and none of them was outstanding. In fact, they were all very mediocre. We also had the mussels appetizer and several of the mussels tasted 'off'. The seafood bisque was bland. I expected more from this restaurant. The great view was not enough to make up for the pricey, mediocre food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The Harbor House is my favorite restaurant in Milwaukee. It has wonderful fresh seafood, prepared in interesting and original ways. It also offers a selection of entrees for the meat eater as well as salads for the vegetarian. The ambiance is very pleasing and the setting, directly on the harbor, offers stunning views of the Milwaukee Art Museum, the harbor and the Milwaukee waterfront skyline.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Harbor House is consistent in their presentation, food quality, delicious drinks and lovely views. The service is friendly, knowledgeable, and competent, from the valet, to the hostess and servers. It's a favorite whenever we visit Milwaukee. Never disappointed; often happily surprised. Uniquely situated on the water - observe the Lake or art museum or skyline. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Special Occasion, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 4, 2017

My wife and I typically get to Harbor House 2-3 times a year. We went on Thurs. night (5/4/2017) for our 32nd anniversary. We ordered 2 appetizers (crab cake and fried clams/fries) which were really good (but, I like the fried clams at St. Paul Fish Market better......). Main course was filet and scallops for me and a filet and lobster tail for my wife. Spectacularly done, as usual. Each came with spinach, which I cannot have. Server was happy to substitute roasted carrots for me. After dinner, we split a piece of carrot cake. The frosting was very good. I had to pick the raisins out of the cake, as I don't like those. Service was efficient and unobtrusive. Ambient noise was a bit up, as we had a very loud table of 6 right next to us in the back of the house overlooking Lake Michigan who were yelling across the table from each other in Spanish. On the other side of us was a couple and their son. I figure the father was early 50's, mother mid-30's, and son was 15 or so. Mother had a half a cup of soup and a piece of her son's steak. That was it. She was up from the table 3 times taking her cell phone with her. Kid was on his phone too. I wish Harbor House would get rid of Wi-Fi - - and this isn't a U.S. Constitutional rights issue. The phone use in restaurants is ridiculous ! (My editorial for the evening). Cost of our meal, with 2 drinks, 1 beer, 2 appetizers, 2 entrees, and 1 dessert was $165, excluding tip. Very pricey, but we feel we get MORE than we pay for when going to the Harbor House. If you have never been to a Harbor House brunch or Mother's Day brunch, do yourself a favor and go. It's amazing !!

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The filet mignon was tender and totally delectable! The calamari was delicious! Especially loved the crust on the key lime pie!

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Scenic View, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.