About Harbor House

550 N. Harbor Dr
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Located on the shores of Lake Michigan in Downtown Milwaukee, Harbor House replicates a New England style seafood restaurant commonly found on Cape Cod and Nantucket. The menu features a wide array of fresh seafood, salads, sandwiches, pastas, steaks, and chops. Additionally, Harbor House features two outdoor patios.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Fri & Sat: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 8:00pm (Brunch served until 2:00pm)
Happy Hour: Mon-Fri 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
Harbor Dr & N Lincoln Memorial Dr

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 395-4900

Website:
http://www.harborhousemke.com/

Entertainment:
We have music on our patio every Sunday from 4-7 pm from June through August.

Parking Details:
Valet - $ 4 dinner, complimentary at lunch and brunch.

Executive Chef:
Zach Espinosa

Private Party Facilities:
Harbor House can create the perfect social or business event for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Katelyn Arnold: 4143954900x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/category/harbor-house to see upcoming events at Harbor House!

Restaurant Photos

Harbor House
Harbor House
Harbor House
Harbor House
lobster roll
Cioppino
Rye Old Fashioned
Bloody Mary With Beer Chaser
Shrimp Cocktail
Hawaiian Snapper
Lobster Tacos
Key Lime Pie
Fried Perch Sandwich
Red Snapper
Softshell Crab Blt
Schlitz Gusto
fried oysters
New England Clam Chowder
Clams, Oysters, Shrimp, Stone Crab Claw
Clams
Sailboat Appetizer
Caesar Salad
Softshell
Vanilla bean panna cotta
Filet with Scallops with Wilted Spinach, Potato Puree and Black Truffle Sauce
Crab Claw
Spinach Salad
Kusshi Oysters
Halibut Cheeks
Great lakes walleye
Seafood Tacos
Belon Oysters And Jumbo Shrimp Cocktail
Filet
Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon
Whole Sea Bass
Warm Chocolate Cake with Hazelnut Ice Cream, Candied Hazelnuts and Creme Anglaise
Crustacean Bisque
Crab Cakes
Cheeseburger
Kumamoto oysters
Salmon
Salad
Oysters
 Ceaser Salad With Shrimp
Caramel Creme Dessert
Halibut
Mesclun Salad
Shrimp And Crab Salad
Seafood Risotto
Ceviche

Harbor House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Wisconsin
Scenic View
Wisconsin
Most Booked
Wisconsin
4 More
Best Ambiance
Milwaukee
Scenic View
Milwaukee
Special Occasion
Milwaukee
Most Booked
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

scenic view (326)
special occasion (289)
romantic (184)
See All
fit for foodies (161)
good for groups (111)
great for outdoor dining (108)
great for lunch (94)
great for brunch (91)
notable wine list (87)
neighborhood gem (64)
hot spot (47)
vibrant bar scene (37)
kid-friendly (18)
late-night find (9)
Sort By:
Newest
3074 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent, from the vale ...

Dined 3 days ago

The service was excellent, from the valet to the hostess, to our server. FABULOUS!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always a solid brunch choice. Great r ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

As always a solid brunch choice. Great raw bar. Perfect protein options and a made to order omelet bar.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time dining, beautiful view. Great ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

First time dining, beautiful view. Great experience

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

This is one of our favorite places to ea ...

Dined 3 days ago

This is one of our favorite places to eat! Great views, love the food and the atmosphere is a 10! They do need to get drinks to the table a bit quicker though...

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was good, but it felt a little ...

Dined 3 days ago

The food was good, but it felt a little over-priced for what we received. Beautiful view of Lake Michigan.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Gorgeous location and great food. Make ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Gorgeous location and great food. Make sure to request a table if you do not wish to sit right next to the open kitchen.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, service, ambiance and ...

Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding food, service, ambiance and view! We sat in an elevated booth with a beautiful view of the lake. There were 4 of us dining and we had shrimp cocktail and crab cake appetizers which were fantastic! Our entrees included filet mignon, scallops and trout. Each and every item was delicious. We will be back!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Phenomenal food and views and not too ba ...

Dined 4 days ago

Phenomenal food and views and not too bad on price considering the above- highly recommend going between 4-6 on weekday nights for happy hour specials.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed when dining here for ...

Dined 5 days ago

Never disappointed when dining here for either lunch or dinner, and I don't eat fish or seafood! Food is delicious. Great, happening atmosphere. Friendly but not intrusive wait staff. Love the valet parking for quick in and out, especially during inclement weather.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We arrived 20 minutes ahead of our 7:30 ...

Dined 6 days ago

We arrived 20 minutes ahead of our 7:30 reservation time. The young hostess greeting us seemed uninterested and snobbish when I asked if a window table was available. She then lectured us that many people want a window table and most were already reserved. I pointed out we had a reservation. She directed the 4 of us to a small bar table where we waited until 7:50. She then came to us and told us they were very busy and that we could order food at the bar table. I told her the small table was much too small to feed 4 people, she shrugged OK and returned to the front. At a little after 8:00 I returned to her and asked about our table. We had seen several parties enter after us and be seated. She again suggested we eat at the small bar table. I repeated the small table would not hold 4 people's dinners. At this point the manager came and took over and got us seated at a good table with a view and comp. us two appetizers. The service from the wait staff and food was excellent and we enjoyed the meal. Except for the rude snobbish hostess everything was outstanding. I would return with friends again but not wait so long to get the manager involved if that same hostess is still working there.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

'Everything' was excellent except the ta ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

'Everything' was excellent except the table provided us that evening. I had five business guest and we were all first timers at Harbor House. The views are special but instead of seating us at a round table directly in front view of the lake, we were seated at a long table next door to a large and loud dinner party. The noise until the party left was very distracting. Seating us at a better table would have made for a perfect evening. I do recommend Harbor House; the food, drinks and wine was fantastic but the service just missed the mark, a little bit.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wrote ahead asking about food restrict ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I wrote ahead asking about food restrictions, the restaurant assured me they take restrictions seriously and to let my waiter know. The waiter did great working with my gluten allergy and my food was amazing. I can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

The ambiance was great. I expected more ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The ambiance was great. I expected more from the most notable seafood restaurant in Milwaukee, as I have had much greater quality elsewhere. The view and vibe of the restaurant was excellent. Service was slow, food came out very slow as well, but they were busy.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Why do the servers ask if we were celebr ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Why do the servers ask if we were celebrating a special occasion, (we were) , but no little cake or something? Also, I asked twice for a window table but ended up in the middle, again.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The fried clams were a delicious appetiz ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

The fried clams were a delicious appetizer, oysters were tasty and fresh, soft-shell crab BLT good, and lobster Louis salad delicious and full of lobster. Can't beat the view of the lake and the art museum.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff could not have been kinder and ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The staff could not have been kinder and generous with making a great night for us. We were celebrating an anniversary and they did all of the little things that really made our evening special. We have both been there before and thoroughly enjoyed it. This time, however, they went far above and beyond what was expected.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Absolutely, fantastic from start to fini ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Absolutely, fantastic from start to finish. Host and hostess were friendly and accommodating, food was fantastic and the surroundings, beautiful. Yes, waited 20 minutes despite a reservation but, It was well worth it! Our daughter just moved to town....we will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The staff was cheerful from the moment w ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The staff was cheerful from the moment we arrived until we were done. The drinks from the outside bar were good, but not consistent. The food was tasty and reasonably well prepared, but not as good as it could have been.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about the experience was exce ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything about the experience was exceptional. Our waiters (yes there were 2) were pleasant and very knowledgeable. The view of downtown Milwaukee (and the art museum) was spectacular. The food was perfectly prepared and the pacing of the meal was perfect. everything was presented right when we needed or expected it. It is no surprise that every table was occupied when we arrived and when we departed two hours later. We will be back! :)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

While I had made reservations for inside ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

While I had made reservations for inside, we found a couple seats outside at the bar and chose to sit there because of the beautiful weather. However, we didn't know the bar menu was VERY limited (4 entree choices), which is different than the rest of the outdoor seating. Service at the bar was poor. We were told we would have our apps first since we ordered at the same time as our entrees. Entrees came first. Bartender must've been fairly new. Didn't offer water; didn't notice or realize our entrees were served before our apps because he never asked how our meal was; didn't know how to make a regular Manhattan. Had another bartender and server spray themselves with sunscreen 10 feet from us. Ended with having to wait for computer to boot back up so we could be cashed out. Certainly don't expect this sort of poor service from any Bartolotta's restaurant.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal before going to the Lake Fron ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great meal before going to the Lake Front Festival.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved everything that we ordered. The ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We loved everything that we ordered. The steaks were amazing, the lobster was wonderful. Everything came out in good timing. You can't beat the views at Harbor House. The lake surrounds it and there are so many windows. There is no bad seat in the place.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

An excellent evening with friends. Food ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

An excellent evening with friends. Food and service was excellent and attentive. Appreciated the food suggestions.

food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Great view and cocktails. but food pret ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Great view and cocktails. but food pretty average. Fish dry and lacking flavor.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Good atmosphere, unfortunately overcooke ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Good atmosphere, unfortunately overcooked my wife's dinner. But very responsive and brought back entree cooked appropriately and took off our menu.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, food and setting. Best of ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Great service, food and setting. Best of all they never rush you. Wonderful place to spend time with friends.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

This was our first visit and we were so ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

This was our first visit and we were so impressed with the ambience and food. Great experience. And we were very, very impressed with your valet parking staff - the best we have ever experienced - friendly, kind, interested, etc.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our teenage son here few months ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We took our teenage son here few months ago and he discovered the filet mignon, and he asked to come back for his high school graduation dinner. The food is phenomenal, the service is fantastic and the view is spectacular. A few of us had the halibut and it was delicious. Never disappointing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time for Sunday brunch, it was ver ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

First time for Sunday brunch, it was very nice, food was great and as always the view of Lake Michigan was fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, good service... although we ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food, good service... although we were there at an early dinner time, our service was somewhat slow - it took a long time for our appetizers and salads to come out, drink service was fairly slow. I feel that for the price, service should be exceptional.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an outstanding experience. Food ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We had an outstanding experience. Food was great and service was outstanding. We had reservations for 5PM and arrived early and chose to sit in the bar area and enjoy a glass of wine and the view, Great decision! Service was perfect. At about 5 minutes after 5PM we were advised our table was ready. Can't think of anything they could have done better for us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Paying for the view

Dined on June 11, 2016

If you're looking for a spot to have a nice dinner that gives you a fantastic view of Milwaukee's skyline or the art museum, then this is the place for you. If you're looking for amazing food that you would pay big bucks for...this is not for you. The food was pretty plain and small for how expensive it was. I'm sure the ingredients were of the highest quality but honestly, it did not taste that way.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Beach chairs for Dining... NO!

Dined on June 10, 2016

The restaurant has to remove the beach side chairs for dining. Super uncomfortable.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect evening

Dined on June 10, 2016

Everything about Harbor House is first rate. The service was outstanding as was the food. And, of course the views of the lake shore and the city are lovely. I would recommend this restaurant for a special occasion or just for a great night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great atmosphere!

Dined on June 9, 2016

Location is fabulous. Really great atmosphere, excellent food. Service was good but a little rushed. Had a great evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4

Great food!!

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Great food!!

food4
ambience4
service3
value1

Good food, wrong charges on bill

Dined on June 8, 2016

The Harbor House is in a perfect location, right on the lake. The food was excellent and there were even a few affordable options other than fish. However, we didn't realize until after leaving the restaurant that our waitor charged us for $25+ worth of alcohol, which we never ordered. The place wasn't even that busy. We learned our lesson to ALWAYS check the bill line by line, even at high quality restaurants. I'm hopeful that they would have corrected the bill if we would have caught the mistake sooner, but it's our expectation as customers that these kinds of mistakes shouldn't be happening in the first place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

It was our 35th anniversary and they could not give us a special table. Very disappointing otherwise love the restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Occasion

Dined on June 6, 2016

Our visit was on a Monday evening. We started our evening at the happy hour and finished with our scheduled dinner reservation. Restaurant was busy but pleasantly crowded, not over-crowded. Food was excellent and staff was attentive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful place and food. Made graduatio ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Wonderful place and food. Made graduation complete.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.