Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Harbor House

Located on the shores of Lake Michigan in Downtown Milwaukee, Harbor House replicates a New England style seafood restaurant commonly found on Cape Cod and Nantucket. The menu features a wide array of fresh seafood, salads, sandwiches, pastas, steaks, and chops. Additionally, Harbor House features two outdoor patios.

550 N. Harbor Dr
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Fri & Sat: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 8:00pm (Brunch served until 2:00pm)
Happy Hour: Mon-Fri 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
Harbor Dr & N Lincoln Memorial Dr

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 395-4900

Website:
http://www.harborhousemke.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live music on our patio every Sunday and Monday from 4-7 pm from June through August.

Parking Details:
Valet - $6 dinner, complimentary at lunch and brunch.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Fisher

Private Party Facilities:
Harbor House can create the perfect social or business event for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Katelyn Arnold: (414) 395-4900

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/restaurant/harbor-house/to see upcoming events at Harbor House!

Harbor House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (181)
Scenic View (151)
Special Occasion (139)
See All
Good for a Date (116)
Good for Anniversaries (110)
Romantic (103)
Good for Birthdays (73)
Worth the Drive (72)
Business Meals (61)
Notable Wine List (55)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Great for Brunch (51)
Bar Seating (49)
Great for Outdoor Dining (44)
Quiet Conversation (44)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Fun (38)
Great for Lunch (36)
Hot Spot (35)
Good for Groups (35)
Sunday Lunch (34)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Happy Hour (31)
Open Kitchen (30)
People Watching (29)
Modern Decor (29)
Casual (28)
Healthy (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Cozy (22)
Authentic (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Seasonal (18)
Historic (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Private Room (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Family Style (6)
Great Beer (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
3804 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

We were celebrating our 35th wedding aniversary & our server immediately welcomed us and congratulated us. She made us feel very special. We loved having two servers assigned to us so we were always taken care of including clearing any dishes. They were very helpful in explaining the menu items and were spot on what we ordered. Only downfall is the bathrooms were not attended to, however they quickly stepped in when it was mentioned. They also accommodated my request for a window seat and the view was fantastic. Thanks for a wonderful evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

I ordered the roasted chicken. It was extremely dry and tough. Was seated with my back to the wonderful lake view. With lots of open table I felt we could have been seated at the window to enjoy the view rather than looking at a wall.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was prepared well and plating was appetizing. Wait staff was attentive and server able to answer questions about wine choice.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service, food is delicious The staff is so sweet

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Healthy, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Good food however full disclosure is needed badly on cocktails during their brunch. I paid $9.00 per cocktail for Bloody Mary's which I thought was included in the brunch price.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

We made a reservation many days in advance and got stuck at the "chef's table" a high top in the opening between the dining room and kitchen. Very noisy, small table for four people.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Once again the food was great and the servers were very friendly. Every table in the restaurant has a water view. We sat in a booth facing the water and because we were a step higher than the rest of the tables, we could see the fantastic view of the water. My fish had the best sear on the outside-almost crunchy-and very moist on the inside. There was nothing left to bring home. I have eaten there three times now and the food is consistently good. I would eat there more often, but it is a little pricey for every day eating. I will continue to go for special occasions because the quality of the food is so terrific.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent seafood! Love the view of Milwaukee Harbor. Service is excellent. We drive over an hour to get there. Well worth the trip!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely wonderful! Delicious food and amazing ambiance. Truly romantic and good with groups.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was impeccable. Food was outstanding. Great vibe... will go back!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a great lunch with a friend. Staff was extremely friendly and the view was great. Love that there's valet parking at the door.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

What a nice place. Was with someone wheelchair bound and it was accessible for her. Thanks!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

Loved this restaurant! Easy to make a reservation, and the day of I had to change the time. They were very accommodating. Service at the bar as well as wait staff couldn't have been better. So glad we chose to spend our anniversary here.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner experience with six out of town guest. Everyone had a great time and loved the food.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We came to the Harbor House to celebrate our 18th anniversary and we were not disappointed!!! From the time we handed over our vehicle to the valet to the time we got back in it, the service was excellent!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Amazing service and food--made for a memorable date night!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Late-night Find, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Very nice lunch. Ken was attentive and friendly. Food was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Wonderful night, great food! Never disappoints for a special occasion!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with a beautiful view. Service was great. They gave us champagne for our anniversary. Steak was past medium but still tasted good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great service and great food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Reliably a good meal with a great view. Be prepared to spend about 50% more than you would for comparable food in a less picturesque location. The service is excellent. The less experienced waite staff tends to be a little too obsequious, but most offer genuinely friendly attentiveness. The food is overall great with a little miss here and there. I recently had fish tacos served with a bean salad on the side. The fish was perfect but the beans were tasteless.
The real draw is the view- its far and above the best Milwaukee has to offer. This is where you do your recruiting.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The desserts were amazing. The entire meal was good, but the deserts were out of this world.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Nice lake front setting! Good seafood selection. Nice for a special evening, but seems a bit close and crowded when full. Beautiful view of downtown area!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We were in Milwaukee for a somber weekend of sitting in hospital with a seriously ill family member. We had flown in from Kansas. We had many hospital workers and locals tell us to get a break from the difficult days and go to the Harbor House. We were so lucky to get a lake side table. The food and atmosphere was wonderful and we were well taken care of. Our spirits were lifted greatly. Lovely place. I would recommend to all.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great food and service with a great view. Service was great and not rushed

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We were celebrating our friend's retirement. It was a perfect setting for food service and ambiance.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Excellent food, intense flavors in everything. One bite is satisfying- yet you can't stop!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Sadly, I believe that Harbor House has gone down hill a bit. I called the day before to confirm my reservation, that I made two weeks before and-was told it was the next weekend - then they said "oh sorry, we were looking at last year's calendar" When we arrived the valet area was teaming with people making it difficult and dangerous to drive up to. We sat at the bar for 25 minute while we waited for our table (for 6 for a special occasion) When I approached the Hostess she said"sorry we forgot to write your pager number down, we couldn’t find you" We were sitting 14 feet from her. When we were finally sat - we were put at a very noisy table for 6 right in front of the kitchen area - you could hear nothing but the order calls from the kitchen. The waiter and waitress were very good but the food was very disappointing. Harbor House was our "go to" place for special occasions but I think that we will move on.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Waitstaff Alex and Abby made the night for us !! Personable, friendly and caring !!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent food, amazing staff & beautiful views. Alex, our server as well as all the staff we inyeraxted with were beyond professional. The restaurant's ability to respond to special dietary requests & allergies is worthy of note. Highly recommend. Bisque & scallops were exceptional.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great Beer, Scenic View, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Harbor House is my favorite restaurant in the Milwaukee area. They have superb service and the food is always prepared top notch.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great place with a great view. Soft shell crab was delicious and reasonably priced. I highly recommend this place for date night!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Location was wonderful, food was good.
We ordered a glass of their featured wine. A glass was $18.00 and the pour was maybe 4 oz.
Very disappointing.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Utterly indifferent service. Very high prices for decent food. Beautiful views. But the soul of a restaurant is in how it treats its guests and here Harbor House really fell down. I would never go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 1, 2017

It was a wonderful experience. Our waiter gave us complimentary sparkling wine as a welcome toast as we are from Texas. I recommend anyone if it's your first time, second time , third time, etc... in Milwaukee the Harbor House is a must. Great views and food. The Branzino is amazing, steak and scallops awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 31, 2017

After spending our happy hour on a dinner cruise, my girl and I arrrived at the Harbor House. Our reservation was perfect. I asked for a window seat, they delivered. We sat perfectly perched in the middle of everything. We were far away from a table as not allow our conversation to be interupted, but close enough for our service to be quick. I wanted to order a bottle of winethat brought my date back to her trip to New Zealand, our servers recommendation was not shy of perfection(2015 Peter Yealands,Marlborough). We follwed that with the crab cakes (to keep to my theme of her moving to MD) and yet again HH delivered!!! Next we ordered our meal. She got the Filet and Scallops and I had the Lobster and Ribeye. We were both in awe of the speediness as well as the flavors. Finally, to conclude our culinary journey we split the creme brulee, paired with a port(15 year) which again was above our expections.

Thank You HH for allowing me to show my date a wonderful last evening in WI!!

Sincerely K. Kallenbach

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We had a very nice meal with a great view of the lake. I had the special which was red snapper. It was excellent. The price tag is high but a nice way to celebrate a birthday.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Beautiful setting, great food, great service. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Was a great place. Service food and mAnagement was wonderful. I drove from lake forest IL to try. Loved it will be going back. Seafood was amazing.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We were seated in a booth overlooking the lake. Our servers were terrific, attentive, and knowledgeable. Our salads were fresh, delicious. The steaks were prepared perfectly. Well be back soon,

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.