About Harbor House

550 N. Harbor Dr
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Located on the shores of Lake Michigan in Downtown Milwaukee, Harbor House replicates a New England style seafood restaurant commonly found on Cape Cod and Nantucket. The menu features a wide array of fresh seafood, salads, sandwiches, pastas, steaks, and chops. Additionally, Harbor House features two outdoor patios.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Fri & Sat: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 8:00pm (Brunch served until 2:00pm)
Happy Hour: Mon-Fri 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
Harbor Dr & N Lincoln Memorial Dr

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 395-4900

Website:
http://www.harborhousemke.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live music on our patio every Sunday and Monday from 4-7 pm from June through August.

Parking Details:
Valet - $6 dinner, complimentary at lunch and brunch.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Fisher

Private Party Facilities:
Harbor House can create the perfect social or business event for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Katelyn Arnold: 414-395-4900x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/restaurant/harbor-house/to see upcoming events at Harbor House!

Restaurant Photos

Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Cioppino - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Rye Old Fashioned - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
lobster roll - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Bloody Mary With Beer Chaser - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Shrimp Cocktail - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Hawaiian Snapper - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Lobster Tacos - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Key Lime Pie - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Fried Perch Sandwich  - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Red Snapper - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Softshell Crab Blt - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Schlitz Gusto - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
fried oysters - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
New England Clam Chowder - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Clams, Oysters, Shrimp, Stone Crab Claw - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Clams - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Sailboat Appetizer - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Caesar Salad - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Softshell - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Vanilla bean panna cotta - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Filet with Scallops with Wilted Spinach, Potato Puree and Black Truffle Sauce - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Crab Claw - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Spinach Salad - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Kusshi Oysters - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Halibut Cheeks - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Great lakes walleye - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Seafood Tacos - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Belon Oysters And Jumbo Shrimp Cocktail - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Filet - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Whole Sea Bass - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Warm Chocolate Cake with Hazelnut Ice Cream, Candied Hazelnuts and Creme Anglaise - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Crustacean Bisque - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Salad - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Kumamoto oysters - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Crab Cakes - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Salmon - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Cheeseburger - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Oysters - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
 Ceaser Salad With Shrimp - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Caramel Creme Dessert - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Halibut - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Mesclun Salad - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Shrimp And Crab Salad - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Seafood Risotto - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI
Ceviche - Harbor House, Milwaukee, WI

Harbor House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Wisconsin
Scenic View
Wisconsin
Most Booked
Wisconsin
5 More
Best Ambiance
Milwaukee
Romantic
Milwaukee
Scenic View
Milwaukee
Special Occasion
Milwaukee
Most Booked
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

Scenic View (222)
Special Occasion (183)
Waterfront (172)
See All
Romantic (127)
Good for a Date (117)
Good for Anniversaries (106)
Great for Outdoor Dining (78)
Worth the Drive (72)
Fit for Foodies (71)
Good for Birthdays (65)
Notable Wine List (57)
Great for Lunch (54)
Business Meals (50)
Good for Groups (46)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Bar Seating (36)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Great for Brunch (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Hot Spot (33)
Modern Decor (31)
Fun (29)
Cozy (29)
People Watching (26)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Open Kitchen (25)
Happy Hour (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Seasonal (21)
Casual (19)
Healthy (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Authentic (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Historic (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Private Room (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Live Music (4)
Great Beer (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Family Style (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Fireplace (2)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
3383 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have been here before for lunch, but ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

We have been here before for lunch, but not for dinner.

The expectations were high going in with such a reputation.

Unfortunately, they did not meat the expectations. Food was good to great. Service was good.

It is a beautiful restaurant. But the service details were just not there to give it a high rating or review.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Celebrating my daughter getting her doct ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

Celebrating my daughter getting her doctorate in Psychology and coundn't have been more pleased!! Wonderful ambience, tolerant of my gluten free and allergies diet and so many choices!!!!! Will be back many times in the future--

Mark, Neide, and Dr. Kari Terrill

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special mention of Chris our waiter, he ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

Special mention of Chris our waiter, he was outstanding. Great recommendations, all of his suggestions were spot on. His good humor and interchanges with us were wonderful. Also special mention of Jake our server, his was also very good. Always had a smile and what great to talk to.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

As always, wonderful in all respects. Th ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 26, 2016

As always, wonderful in all respects. The quality of the food keeps up with the service and the setting, which is a high very high bar.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our first time at the Harbor Hous ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It was our first time at the Harbor House. We chose this restaurant because my daughter and her husband had been there before and had raved about the steaks. They were right! The filets were delicious as was everything else, from beginning to end!It was my son's 25th birthday and they brought him a complimentary cheese cake for dessert. How nice! I definitely recommend the chocolate mint brownie as a dessert. Amazing!!

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With tickets to the theatre, we were hop ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 25, 2016

With tickets to the theatre, we were hoping for efficient service and they delivered. Paying for parking is a little excessive, however after paying for a meter on the street we realized lunch parking is free. But the signage is so small that it is hard to see until you walk up. The food was delicious and great selection of wine.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Harbor House is a gem - from location, f ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Harbor House is a gem - from location, food, wait staff, ambience. It's my go-to destination for special occasions and out-of-town guests.

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Harbor House is absolutely beautiful ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The Harbor House is absolutely beautiful! It felt so inviting and warm too. Everybody was kind, the food came out much quicker than I expected, and my boyfriend almost cried because his lobster was so good! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful and special dinner. Scallops w ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wonderful and special dinner. Scallops were phenomenal and wait staff superb! Thanks for a memorable evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and excellent service. W ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service. We absolutely enjoyed ourselves dining there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The view of the lake was great and so wa ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The view of the lake was great and so was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my lovely partner there for her b ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I took my lovely partner there for her birthday, the scallops were great, African lobster grilled perfectly, whole Maine was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Phenomenal experience!!! Wonderful serv ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Phenomenal experience!!! Wonderful service, food, and ambience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have had the Maine Lobster Roll before a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Have had the Maine Lobster Roll before and this time it was not as good. None of us raved about the food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

always great. My granddaughter has alle ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 15, 2016

always great. My granddaughter has allergies and the waiter was great explaining how they prepare and protect her from eating the wrong foods. great place on the lake.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Well done as usual. The rainbow trout ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Well done as usual.

The rainbow trout almondine was perfect.

Keep up the good work.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Groups, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dined here for my birthday and it was a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Dined here for my birthday and it was a wonderful experience. The food was fresh and very tasty. The ambiance was perfect for a cozy, intimate dining experience. You cannot beat the view of the lake; it's really a wondering perk for fresh seafood dining.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food & service. I have experie ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent food & service. I have experienced dinner and lunch. Great menu selections and bar selections. Recommend the oyster bar during Friday Happy Hour. Great prices for oysters.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Authentic, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was great, atmosphere was was m ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was great, atmosphere was was mellow, the only minor thing was that the chairs were a little uncomfortable after sitting for awhile, overall a great place to take some for a special occasion.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my husband for his birthday. The ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I took my husband for his birthday. They made the evening very special for him. Food was delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great. Our waiter made two mist ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Food was great. Our waiter made two mistakes. First he brought the wrong cocktail. Then I ordered a salad and he forgot the dressing. Otherwise all was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We had the fillet and lobster tail. The ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We had the fillet and lobster tail. The fillet, potatos, and spinach were fantastic. The lobster tail was a little rubbery, like it was cooked to long. Otherwise, a great meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We had high expectations and were not di ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We had high expectations and were not disappointed. The entire staff made us feel like VIPs. We had clam chowder and crab cakes for starters and lobster and king crab for our entrees. Everything was perfectly cooked, perfectly seasoned, and brought to our table piping hot. Not bad for a Sunday night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Harbor House was great to us. Both food ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Harbor House was great to us. Both food and service were top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Salmon was dry. Overall good food and gr ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Salmon was dry.

Overall good food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Seafood Brunch. Wow. Seafood Brunch. Col ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Seafood Brunch. Wow. Seafood Brunch. Cold Bar: Oysters. Three types. Lox. Salmon on cracker. Tuna poke. Shrimp. Salads. Deviled Eggs much more. I went back 3 times to just the cold bar.

Second station. Lobster pot pie. Cedar Planked salmon. Plus carved tenderloin and ham. Pasta. I went back twice. Third station, omelette bar and breakfast favorites. Desert station. Key lime pie. Chocolate Mousse. Dark chocolate brownies covered in dark chocolate. Much more. Special order snow crab legs and crab cake benedict. Plus their usual multiple draft beers and drinks. The brunch is a very good bargain for the quality and items you get, if you are a seafood lover. For non seafood lovers, they might think it is overpriced. And the view. I have gone twice, and I live in Iowa.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful location, attentive staff. A l ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Beautiful location, attentive staff. A little disappointed with the entree but the bisque and creme brûlée were outstanding

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent dinner!! Great food, amazing ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent dinner!! Great food, amazing location! The only complaint (and it's super minor) is that our request for a window table was not fulfilled. We had an amazing time and a wonderful waiter named Ken!! We'll definitely be back!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

At least my 10th visit and yet to experi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

At least my 10th visit and yet to experience anything but top tier meals and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible location.... better if there ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Incredible location.... better if there is day light to catch the city and lake views. The view of the Art Museum is incomparable. The lobster sandwich along with the crab cake is excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Had a wonderful birthday dinner with my ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Had a wonderful birthday dinner with my wife. Excellent views of the city. Very good service and food as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wow. exceptional views and extraordinar ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wow.

exceptional views and extraordinary food and service. No better place to eat in the state of Wisconsin. A perfect setting , active atmosphere , and top shelf all the way. 5 stars plus and a fair value. Not over the top prices but a little more than its peers but worth every cent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was very good. The waiter was fr ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Service was very good. The waiter was friendly and informative. The house surprised our party with complementary sparking wine as there were two wedding anniversaries being celebrated.

The surf & turf was done as expected as was the salmon. The trout was some what over cooked. The last dish was the scallops, which I have had before. They were slightly over cooked but he biggest problem was the size of them. As a restaurant known for upper end seafood dishes the quality of these scallops was something I would would only expect if they were bought from the local grocery store. Except for the scallop disappointment we had a nice evening.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent experience, great food and pic ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Excellent experience, great food and picture perfect view on the lake. Wonderful, attentive and personal service.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved our dinner, great food and grea ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We loved our dinner, great food and great service with amazing Harbor views

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food is some of the best seafood in ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The food is some of the best seafood in Milwaukee. Service was prompt and professional. Location and views are really good. Low key for lunch which was great for our meeting.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding location, food and service. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Outstanding location, food and service. The best of Milwuakee and one of the best of the midwest.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All nine of our group were impressed wit ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 31, 2016

All nine of our group were impressed with the great atmosphere, food quality, and great service. We dined on a Sunday evening which sometimes can be less satisfactory but this was not the case at the Harbor House. I would put this restaurant on my "A" list

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant on the water with v ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Beautiful restaurant on the water with views of the Milwaukee Art Museum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Outstanding!

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.