Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Harbor House

Located on the shores of Lake Michigan in Downtown Milwaukee, Harbor House replicates a New England style seafood restaurant commonly found on Cape Cod and Nantucket. The menu features a wide array of fresh seafood, salads, sandwiches, pastas, steaks, and chops. Additionally, Harbor House features two outdoor patios.

550 N. Harbor Dr
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Fri & Sat: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 8:00pm (Brunch served until 2:00pm)
Happy Hour: Mon-Fri 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
Harbor Dr & N Lincoln Memorial Dr

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 395-4900

Website:
http://www.harborhousemke.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live music on our patio every Sunday and Monday from 4-7 pm from June through August.

Parking Details:
Valet - $6 dinner, complimentary at lunch and brunch.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Fisher

Private Party Facilities:
Harbor House can create the perfect social or business event for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Katelyn Arnold: (414) 395-4900

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/restaurant/harbor-house/to see upcoming events at Harbor House!

Harbor House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (162)
Scenic View (141)
Special Occasion (127)
See All
Good for a Date (107)
Good for Anniversaries (102)
Romantic (97)
Notable Wine List (64)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Worth the Drive (53)
Business Meals (52)
Bar Seating (42)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Pre/post Theatre (38)
Great for Brunch (37)
Modern Decor (35)
Happy Hour (33)
Open Kitchen (33)
Good for Groups (30)
Great for Lunch (30)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Fun (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
People Watching (23)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Cozy (20)
Healthy (18)
Authentic (17)
Seasonal (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Casual (14)
Historic (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Disabled Access (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Private Room (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Great Beer (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Family Style (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Live Music (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
3670 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 17 hours ago

Food is very good but far too many tables packed in so noise level made it very difficult to talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding dining experience from start to finish.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Waited 30 mins when others without reservations got seated before us. Food was way too salty. Couldn't eat spinach due to salty taste. Clams were more fries than clams. Had to ask for butter. Way too expensive to quality. Steak was so-so; odd flavor.
Waitstaff were good. Free dessert for our special celebration was a nice touch but didn't make up for salty food.

Tags: Vegan, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent all around. Much better experience than Mr. B's. Wish they had a few more unique fish choices - but great food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Good seafood restaurant of fine, but not outstanding, seafood. Lobster and crab legs are very good, and steaks to go with seafood are good. Great view of harbor and skyline. Best to ask for table by window or booth but not tables in-between. Nice bar with TV's to watch sporting events although generally sound is not on.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

Good food, nice view, but very poor service. Not worth the expense.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

Harbor House will always be one of my favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We have been to the Harbor House many times for their Sunday Brunch. It is my daughter's favorite place.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Bar service wasn't very good - long wait, hastily made drink. They were out of cherries :-( But once we were seated the experience was great. Attentive and knowledgeable servers. Delicious dinner. Would return for the food.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We came to show an out of town guest the Milwaukee skyline and enjoy a good meal. We were seated right by the window, as requested! Although it was a very busy Saturday night, our wait staff showed us just the right amount of attention. The trout almondine entree was very generous - much larger than the sea scallops. I wish there had been a few more dessert options on the menu. But all in all this restaurant is one we return to again and again - the location and ambiance make it well worth the cost.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Everything was great, but the person who seated us was very snobby on letting my group of 5 sit at the table by the windows. The reason I asked the group to go to the Harbor house was the great tables by the large windows. When I asked the gentlemen who was seating us on Sat 3/19 at 5pm if e could get a window table (which had many-many free) he very snobbishly stated that he could not give us a table there. I know this is not true because I have been there at least 50 times, and always request a window seat, and get it.

I did tip the wait crew good, they did a excellent job, and the food was great. But the person seating us almost ruined the night. It was more attitude than anything else.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Family Style, Organic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food was well prepared and very, very good.
The service was spot on.
The setting is beautiful and the restaurant is very attractive
and welcoming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We are foodies & this is our favorite restaurant we have been to in a long time. Everything was outstanding.....great ambiance, scenic views, amazing food & incredible service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great food. My favorite restaurant in Milwaukee. Love it

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Food was very good. Menu can have additional fish selections as it is currently somewhat limited. Serving sizes on the smaller side.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Healthy, Waterfront, Late-night Find, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Awesome place to eat! The walleye was amazing!

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Excellent in every way. Check the menu for prices, as it is somewhat expensive. For me, not a weekly option, but excellent for special occasions or out-of-town guests. Shows off the museums and the beautiful lakefront. Expect to use the valet parking service, as convenient parking not nearby. A real gem.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Service going downhill. This was my second meal in three weeks there. The brunch service on both has left something to be desired. Food is excellent, but last time waiter took 15m to bring wine list, never asked if it was our first visit, never told us where stations were set up, never mentioned the brunch specials avail from the kitchen (not on the buffet) and was generally very slow to take care of us.

Previous experience before this similar but not as bad. Poor service seems to be a new bartolottas trend.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Went here for my Mother's 69th birthday
Grant it, we've been coming here since it was pieces of eight. That's a long time ago!

Food here is always great. Sunday brunch is always awesome. But just one thing. I get it, it's Sunday brunch, but please, just be a little bit more attentive to my table. I left my cc on the table. You didn't catch my drift. We had further plans on the day, and really had to get going. For 100 bucks, just bring me my check!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Scenic View, Historic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We are always very satisfied with our meal and our evening at the Harbor House. Great food, service and views of the city from the waterfront.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Ordered Happy Hour shrimp along with twin lobster tails and walleye with a side of brussel sprouts. Food was delicious and expertly prepared. All of their fish is Wild. Had mint brownie for dessert and was also very good. Beers were reasonably priced but hard liquor is very expensive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We've eaten at harbor house several times, it's our go to place for celebrations and special occasions. My steak and scallops was excellent. My husband’s lobster was rough and chewy. Great champagne!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Took my wife there for her birthday. We went for the Sunday Brunch. And had a wonderful time
View of Milwaukee and the Lake was fabulous.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Enjoyed my dinner, ambience was great! Will be returning really soon.

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Awesome dining experience! Staff was exceptional, food was timely & delicious and drinks were on point. Worth the $!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Fabulous food and service. Quite noisy at the end of the evening with all the dishes etc being moved around in the exposed kitchen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Location and food quality make this one of our favorite spots in milwaukee.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very nice elegantly modern restaurant. Great food and service with a nice view of downtown Milwaukee and the lake. Our group had both fish fishes and steak and everything was excellent. A bit pricey but worth it for the experience. Reservations are a must especially on week-ends. We always try to go to Harbour House when we are in Milwaukee.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, People Watching, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

If you can, get a window seat. We did not have one, so we felt like all diners arriving after us were being paraded past us. If the food and view weren't so good, I would have been irate.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Best view in Milwaukee combined with great food and servive cannot be beat!

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Very good meal. When your away from home you like to find a place that you can enjoy in place of being with family and friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 27, 2017

I have dined at harbor house numerous times, and this dinner was excellent as usual. Stone crab claws are in season, and they were also superb The Cioppini broth was extremely flavorful, and provided an excellent base for a plethora of mussels, clams, scallops, and other delicious fish. Our server was extremely knowledgeable and attentive. She recommended an excellent wine that really complimented the cioppini. We will be returning soon!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Open Kitchen, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a terrific brunch experience with outstanding food and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Brunch was excellent. All of the food was delicious. The staff was so nice as they greeted us at the door. Our server was one of the best I have ever had. She (Cindy) left us wanting for nothing!!

Tags: Historic, Great for Brunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We were seated at a very small table and very close to the other tables. The wait staff tried not to but bumped into us many times. Because of this, we left before we ordered our food.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Nice view of the lake and a good selection on the menu. Prices are a bit too high for the food though. Our meals were good, but not food heaven.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had a great service and the food was wonderful. Great location for downtown, easy on and off the freeway.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent service, drinks, food, scene - my wife's birthday and she was thrilled! I made special requests of chilled sparkling and ordered flowers and everything was perfect prepped.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 24, 2017

First time visit to Harbor House. Loved it, quiet, arrived a little early but easily found a seat at bar. Greeted by our bartender Jake who was very personable. Wait time was minimal we were seated within 10 minutes of arriving. Wait staff was excellent. They took time to explain the menu and the specials. And made sure to check on us often. Food came fast and was delicious. This may well become our favorite restaurant downtown. View of lake and art museum is priceless.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We have eaten at Harbor House many times. We love the atmosphere and the food is usually excellent. However they seem to have lost their way recently. The service is well meaning, but unprofessional. After being seated in an empty restaurant it was at least 10 minutes before anyone even acknowledged us. Because we were afraid we would never see a wait person again, we ordered our food and drinks in one go. It was good that we did because the drinks did not come until after our food was served. However the most important change is that the prices are decidedly un-Milwuakee like. The day we ate there, the daily special was a veal dish for $56 and their wine special was a bottle for more than $100. It is clear they are catering to either business people or people who have more money than they know what to do with.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.