About Harbor House

550 N. Harbor Dr
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Located on the shores of Lake Michigan in Downtown Milwaukee, Harbor House replicates a New England style seafood restaurant commonly found on Cape Cod and Nantucket. The menu features a wide array of fresh seafood, salads, sandwiches, pastas, steaks, and chops. Additionally, Harbor House features two outdoor patios.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Fri & Sat: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 8:00pm (Brunch served until 2:00pm)
Happy Hour: Mon-Fri 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
Harbor Dr & N Lincoln Memorial Dr

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 395-4900

Website:
http://www.harborhousemke.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live music on our patio every Sunday and Monday from 4-7 pm from June through August.

Parking Details:
Valet - $6 dinner, complimentary at lunch and brunch.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Fisher

Private Party Facilities:
Harbor House can create the perfect social or business event for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Katelyn Arnold: 414-395-4900x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/restaurant/harbor-house/to see upcoming events at Harbor House!

Restaurant Photos

Harbor House
Harbor House
Harbor House
Harbor House
Cioppino
lobster roll
Rye Old Fashioned
Bloody Mary With Beer Chaser
Shrimp Cocktail
Hawaiian Snapper
Lobster Tacos
Key Lime Pie
Fried Perch Sandwich
Red Snapper
Softshell Crab Blt
Schlitz Gusto
fried oysters
New England Clam Chowder
Clams, Oysters, Shrimp, Stone Crab Claw
Clams
Sailboat Appetizer
Caesar Salad
Softshell
Vanilla bean panna cotta
Filet with Scallops with Wilted Spinach, Potato Puree and Black Truffle Sauce
Crab Claw
Spinach Salad
Kusshi Oysters
Halibut Cheeks
Great lakes walleye
Seafood Tacos
Belon Oysters And Jumbo Shrimp Cocktail
Filet
Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon
Whole Sea Bass
Warm Chocolate Cake with Hazelnut Ice Cream, Candied Hazelnuts and Creme Anglaise
Crustacean Bisque
Salad
Kumamoto oysters
Crab Cakes
Salmon
Cheeseburger
Oysters
 Ceaser Salad With Shrimp
Caramel Creme Dessert
Halibut
Mesclun Salad
Shrimp And Crab Salad
Seafood Risotto
Ceviche

Harbor House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Wisconsin
Scenic View
Wisconsin
Most Booked
Wisconsin
3 More
Best Ambiance
Milwaukee
Scenic View
Milwaukee
Most Booked
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

Scenic View (376)
Special Occasion (311)
Romantic (222)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (176)
Fit for Foodies (154)
Great for Lunch (100)
Good for Groups (98)
Notable Wine List (94)
Great for Brunch (82)
Waterfront (67)
Neighborhood Gem (62)
Hot Spot (56)
Good for a Date (48)
Vibrant Bar Scene (43)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Worth the Drive (27)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Business Meals (18)
Late-night Find (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Fun (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Bar Seating (13)
People Watching (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Casual (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Seasonal (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Cozy (7)
Historic (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Authentic (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Music (2)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went here for the first time to celebrat ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 5 days ago

Went here for the first time to celebrate our 9 year anniversary and couldn't have picked a better spot. The food was outstanding as well as the service & the view was beautiful. Highly recommend the price is definitely worth it!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food, Ambience, but Service was so ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Good Food, Ambience, but Service was so so. I wrote my new Bartolottas card number on the bill, but points never made the account

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I had a reservation two weeks in advance ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

I had a reservation two weeks in advance and asked for Windows seats to celebrate my wife birthday with a table for 2. We were seated smack dab in the middle of an extremely congested restaurant and we almost left but decided we already paid for valet parking we may as well just stay. Poor attention to detail especially for someone who was proactive in reserving a good table

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Excellent plating. So so service. I'd ex ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent plating. So so service. I'd expect to get better service than the cheesecake factory, but that was not the case.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

My wife and I went out for our date nigh ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I went out for our date night. This was our first time visiting the Harbor House and we had a positive experience. We had a beautiful view of the lake, outstanding service by two gentlemen, and it was the best filet that we've ever had. We typically do not go out to restaurant's of this caliber due to cost, but in the future when we do go out for a more expensive meal I do believe we will be coming back. :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The view and atmosphere of the restauran ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

The view and atmosphere of the restaurant cannot be beat! The food and service was good, but the ambiance is what would bring me back more than anything.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Second time we have dined at Harbot Hous ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Second time we have dined at Harbot House. It has beautiful view, great service and food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our dinner was wonderful!!!!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Our dinner was wonderful!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice brunch.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Nice brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

The food was delicious and the service o ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was delicious and the service outstanding even though the restaurant was packed.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant is situated on Lake Michi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The restaurant is situated on Lake Michigan and the views are incredible! The food was delicious and the service was good. We have had dinner at Harbor House twice and look forward to returning!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a delicious dinner. Ernest and A ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had a delicious dinner. Ernest and Alex were very attentive and made the whole meal enjoyable.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the view is lovely. Our serve ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

As usual, the view is lovely. Our server was fabulous Fri night (?Tom and Crystal). Oysters were great, as was the Caesar. The main course (Ahi & Swordfish) didn't amaze us, mediocre at best. Dessert was very good. Surprised when we arrived they checked us in and gave us a buzzer for when our table was ready. Isn't this supposed to be a 4-5 star restaueabt? It wasn't busy, no reason they couldn't walk over and let us know by name our table was ready. In the end, we'll stick with happy hour, a cocktail and the view and forgo the $$$ dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Sarah was most accommodating our request ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Sarah was most accommodating our request to enjoy the patio prior to dining. In from out of town and our timeline was a bit hectic. Thank you.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful time to celebrate my newly gra ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Wonderful time to celebrate my newly graduated daughters NEW JOB!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Seafood great but slow out of kitchen wa ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Seafood great but slow out of kitchen waiter busy talking to fellow employees had to ask others to get him

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent dining experience! Would highl ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent dining experience! Would highly recommend for fine dining.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting on thelake. There is ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Beautiful setting on thelake. There is a lovely outdoor area when it is warm that is worth the visit in itself. The food is much better than it has to be given the spectacular setting. Service was extremely friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I celebrated our 1st wedd ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary there. The waiters anticipated needs, didn't bombard, surprised us with champagne and TWO desserts! Drinks and food were phenomenal and the candlelit ambient and the lake views were exceptional. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chris our waiter was knowledgeable and a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Chris our waiter was knowledgeable and attentive. Food was very good...scallops were terrific and lobster tail was fantastic. Lakefront dining near window was extraodinary!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful surroundings, impressive menu, ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Beautiful surroundings, impressive menu, great service. We were revisiting after 15 years & impressed by the changes.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary with dinner here. Our servers were knowledgeable and attentive. Complementary glass of champagne was a nice touch! The muscles in butter wine sauce were delicious! Our entres of scallops with ribeye steak and Lake Erie walley were excellent. Will definitely dine here again! Want to try the happy hour menu as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered twin lobster tails , one was exc ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Ordered twin lobster tails , one was excellent the other not so good

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is good, although a bit pricey ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food is good, although a bit pricey for frequent visits. The service was wonderful. A little disappointed in the fact that children were running around outside our window without adult supervision. However, the view of Lake Michigan was very nice.

Tags: Waterfront, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The Harbor House brings us to Milwaukee ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The Harbor House brings us to Milwaukee (about a 50 mile drive) 2 or 3 times a year . . . it's just that good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We always have a wonderful time and enjo ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We always have a wonderful time and enjoy the freshest delicious seafood and the best views. The wait staff are consistently welcoming and helpful. Appreciate too the valet staff who have become familiar friendly faces to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Harbor House is a great spot. We were in ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Harbor House is a great spot. We were in town for a wedding and a friend recommended it. Amazing! The food was SO good. We were stuffed but didn't want to leave any behind! Everything was over-the-top delicious. We would recommend this to anyone visiting Milwaukee.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Your web site states that Happy hour is ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Your web site states that Happy hour is from 4-6 and includes beer, wine and appetizers and does restrict it the rail purchases. Upon arrival for a 5 o'clock reservation we told happy hour is restricted to rail purchases . Your web site needs CORRECTION!

A bit misleading !!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Outstanding ambiance with view of the ci ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Outstanding ambiance with view of the city of Milwaukee shoreline. Service very slow, 35+ minutes for appetizers at the bar and 30+ minutes for dinner to be served once seated. For white table cloth restaurant expectation would be wait staff with higher level of service skills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

We were referred here by a friend, to ta ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We were referred here by a friend, to take my parents and out of town family. We were not disappointed! They are a bit tricky to find, as they are out in the lake near the children's museum, but that is what provides their view. You get a lovely view of the lake, the art museum, and the downtown. The food was great, the service was prompt, and even though we arrived very late for lunch, when they start seating people in a different area to prep for dinner, we didn't feel they were irritated with us - which is a huge deal. I will definitely return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Waterfront, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great lakefront dinning. We used to go w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great lakefront dinning. We used to go when it was the "Pieces of Eight" Many years ago. We saw it was open again and went on Labor Day weekend. Food was great! Had raw oysters, many different kinds to chose from, fried clams, not chewy like some, large shrimp cocktail. Also a lobster salad and a lobster pot pie. Both were very large, full of lobster meat and neither us could finish. Next time in Milwaukee, we will return. A little pricey but what the hey? Service was great. Just enough attention with out being intrusive.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant with a great view. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with a great view. Staff very pleasant and service excellent. Food very good. Excellent seafood. Nice wine list. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view of the harbor ,super ambiance ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great view of the harbor ,super ambiance and wonderful food.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent; would recommend to f ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was excellent; would recommend to friends and business associates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience. Lively, bright, c ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent experience. Lively, bright, clean atmosphere. Food and service were very good. Hosted clients from out of town, and I cannot think of a better place to showcase Milwaukee - excellent views of downtown and Lake Michigan. We were in town for the LSU-Wisconsin game and it appeared there was no dress code at least on the night we were there. The visuals on the Harbor House website seem to convey a more upscale, formal atmosphere but in reality it was a very casual place. Not at all a criticism, as it fit our needs very well, but just a heads up for those seeking "formal/upscale" particularly for business purposes.

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific location and wonderful meal and ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Terrific location and wonderful meal and service. Place was very busy but the service was excellent. Very knowledgeable staff for both food and wine. View of the water is great from almost any table. (We had a table by the water which was an added bonus.) We were visiting Milwaukee from out of town and when we return to the city, will definitely dine at Harbor House again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere and ambience was nice, bu ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The atmosphere and ambience was nice, but the service was extremely slow. My wife excused herself to make a trip to the ladies room, but she left her order with me. Upon her return she learned the waiter did not return for the order. I subsequently had to waive the server over to our table and we placed our order. When our meal finally arrived, the halibut was dry and very salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Food & service excellent Somewhat minor ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food & service excellent

Somewhat minor concern was lack of dress code - difficult to feel like it is fine dining with people in blue jeans, baseball caps, tennis shoes & cut-offs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great view of the bay, food and service ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great view of the bay, food and service are outstaning

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had four different entrees- all of wh ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We had four different entrees- all of which were pestrian at best. I had the crab stuffed sole. The stuffing was mushy and bland. One daughter had the scallops. These were rubbery and bland.

Tags: Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.