About Harbor House

550 N. Harbor Dr
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Located on the shores of Lake Michigan in Downtown Milwaukee, Harbor House replicates a New England style seafood restaurant commonly found on Cape Cod and Nantucket. The menu features a wide array of fresh seafood, salads, sandwiches, pastas, steaks, and chops. Additionally, Harbor House features two outdoor patios.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Fri & Sat: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 8:00pm (Brunch served until 2:00pm)
Happy Hour: Mon-Fri 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
Harbor Dr & N Lincoln Memorial Dr

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 395-4900

Website:
http://www.harborhousemke.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live music on our patio every Sunday and Monday from 4-7 pm from June through August.

Parking Details:
Valet - $6 dinner, complimentary at lunch and brunch.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Fisher

Private Party Facilities:
Harbor House can create the perfect social or business event for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Katelyn Arnold: (414) 395-4900

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/restaurant/harbor-house/to see upcoming events at Harbor House!

Harbor House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (165)
Scenic View (145)
Special Occasion (123)
See All
Good for a Date (106)
Good for Anniversaries (101)
Romantic (89)
Worth the Drive (57)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Notable Wine List (53)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Business Meals (45)
Pre/post Theatre (39)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Bar Seating (33)
Good for Groups (31)
Great for Brunch (31)
Open Kitchen (31)
Modern Decor (30)
Great for Lunch (27)
Cozy (26)
Happy Hour (25)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Healthy (22)
People Watching (22)
Fun (21)
Authentic (19)
Seasonal (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Casual (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Private Room (7)
Historic (7)
Great Beer (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Tapas (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Live Music (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
3618 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was excellent, and the music an ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent, and the music and atmosphere is fantastic. Our server was named Brad and we loved him. Everything is pretty expensive, so be prepared to drop a lot of money.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The best service and meal I've ever had. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

The best service and meal I've ever had. It's a great place to take a date or a special person in your life for a special occasion. You'll absolutely enjoy the food and service guaranteed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food in a beautiful ambience ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Exceptional food in a beautiful ambience. Highly recommend!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation just after sunset t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a reservation just after sunset this past Valentine's Day and were not in the least bit disappointed. Delicious seafood, great wine, beautiful view, doting and remarkably friendly wait staff. It really made a special night come together perfectly. Thank you so much.

Tags: Waterfront, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our evening at Harbor House made our Val ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Our evening at Harbor House made our Valentine's night very special !! The food was great and the service even better!!

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

bland overcooked food at expensive price ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 6 days ago

bland overcooked food at expensive prices. Nice location and décor though.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The scallops were awesome, but the steak ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

The scallops were awesome, but the steak I had with it was the best steak I've ever had!

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place to take friends and family ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome place to take friends and family to for special occasion! Definitely go for the sunday brunch buffet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is friendly and efficient. Very ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service is friendly and efficient. Very knowledgeable staff. The Sunday brunchbuffet from 10am-2pm is a can't miss for anyone! Trust me, it's worth the $40! You get way over your money's worth with the fresh and absolutely delicious salmon and steak, pastas, made to order omelettes on the spot, fresh mini waffles with a full topping station, all the bacon and breakfast sausages you can dream of, and the best part, the crab legs and specialty omelettes! (You order the crab legs and specialty omelettes from the server as these are not out on the buffet line. The day we went they had salmon omelettes and crab cakes eggs Benedict which were absolutely glorious!) And let's not forget the cold foods station packed with peel and eat shrimp, oysters with a wide variety of sauces and garnishes, cold cuts, cheeses, salads, and a dessert bar full of dozens of fresh delicious goodies! Also have a good selection of alcoholic drinks and wines by the glass at very affordable prices! And the views of the lake front and the art museum, simply immaculate! Worth going just for the view especially on a bright sunny morning.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food, Service and Atmosphere was fantast ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food, Service and Atmosphere was fantastic! Do yourself a favor and order the whole Branzino, it was insanely delicious!

Looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Waterfront, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome service and the the food is amaz ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome service and the the food is amazing!! Good for special occasions or date night! Price is worth it!

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great dinner for wife's birthday. Alex ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great dinner for wife's birthday. Alex and Michael were very attentive without being intrusive. The food was excellent and the meal was paced perfectly. Would definitely return and recommend to our friends. Would like to try the Sunday Brunch.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

amazing as always....we love the HH!!! G ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 10, 2017

amazing as always....we love the HH!!!

Great place to enjoy a drink or a full meal....

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Harbor House is extraordinary in eve ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The Harbor House is extraordinary in every way... service, ambiance is just the best. The food was exceptional. Definitely the finest Milwaukee has to offer. You will not be disappointed but amazed. Five stars all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tom and Cory (waitstaff) were great. Att ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Tom and Cory (waitstaff) were great. Attentive to asking how the dining experience was going, made sure wine was poured at timely intervals--but not overly pressing with stops at our table. Gave us time to dine and visit. Milwaukee nightlights shoreline is amazing!

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Historic, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I used to love the brunch at Harbor Hous ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I used to love the brunch at Harbor House. Best one in town, I thought. So, because my daughter was visiting from Germany and my granddaughter's birthday was that day, I reserved a table for 7 at 12:45pm Sunday, February 5. First of all, prices have gone way up. Food quality has gone way down. For example, when my daughter and I went to the cold selections there was just a tiny dab of caesar salad dressing left in the bowl, only 6 lonely peel and eat shrimp in the ice bowl and no tuna tartare at all. What used do be a delicious lobster pot pie is now called "seafood pot pie" and I found no trace of seafood in mine. Coffee not included. Mimosas not included in the price. More attention should be paid if Harbor House is going to continue to charge the prices they do. We were so disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Always awesome! Thanks for making my mo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always awesome! Thanks for making my mother's 80th birthday celebration special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Used a gift card and will definitely be ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Used a gift card and will definitely be back for Sunday brunch again! Excellent menu choices in a beautiful setting and didn't feel rushed. Was able to truly enjoy the great food in a relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. Wait staff was atten ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was very good. Wait staff was attentive without being to over the top annoying. Great views of the city and Lake Michigan. Excellent upscale date spot.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Servers talk way too much! Waiting on fo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Servers talk way too much! Waiting on food bill, etc.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value5

The food was great. Our server could hav ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was great. Our server could have been a little more attentive, but overall a very nice experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Overall good quality food from the menu, ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Overall good quality food from the menu, but the best part is they have the Best creme brûlée in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I have been to the Harbor House many tim ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I have been to the Harbor House many times for business meals but this is the first time I took my wife as it is a fair drive to get their. She had the filet with shrimp and I had the filet with lobster tail. Both were phenomenal. Excellent date night or anniversary spot for a romantic evening; the lights around the harbor at night can be seen from any table in the restaurant. We will be back.

Tags: Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our anniversary there and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary there and they made it really special. Seated us in a booth to give us more privacy, even though restaurants only concerned about the dollar usually won't give up a booth that accomodates 4 or 5 to just 2. Food was outstanding! Best filet I believe I've ever had and my wife had the branzino. When she hesitated about having it served whole, they promptly told her that would fillet it for her. And to top it off, they brought a nice complimentary dessert to recognize our anniversary. food, service, atmosphere, location were all just perfect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great view. Overall good ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great food and great view. Overall good experience for a date

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ate sturgeon, which was delicious

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I ate sturgeon, which was delicious

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great window seating with real nice view ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great window seating with real nice views of the harbor and the wildlife. Variety of food choices of which both of us found seafood that was very tasty and nicely presented.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday celebration.

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Birthday celebration.

Tags: Modern Decor, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wife celebrated our 57 years of marriage ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wife celebrated our 57 years of marriage with a brunch, food and tables were super. My only complaint would be that there is not a good place to sit while waiting to be shown to table - they have the bar stools but I do not like the high chairs.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We haven't been here in a while. The fo ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We haven't been here in a while. The food was very good, and the wine list seems to have improved since our last visit. We chose an interesting (and delicious) Chardonnay from South Africa. Service was attentive. Our only complaint is that we were not offered coat check and had to ask. Noticed there were coats all over the dining room, and the coat room was practically empty when we fetched our coats. What's the deal with not taking coats?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent service and wait staff. Lobste ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent service and wait staff. Lobster roll severely overpriced; mostly bread. Bisque soup average at best..little flavor. Disappointing overall; too crowded.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

We found this place after our "usual" re ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We found this place after our "usual" restaurant was under construction and were not disappointed. The lake view is outstanding. The food and service were impeccable. We will definitely be returning!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious, service great. Havin ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food was delicious, service great. Having to pay for valet parking left a sour note on the evening. I mean I just spent $150 on dinner and you want another $6 to get my car. Tacky!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphere is very nice... the food ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The atmosphere is very nice... the food not so much.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Terrific brunch! Freshest, highest quali ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Terrific brunch! Freshest, highest quality seafood (crab legs, smoked salmon, tuna tartare, oysters, mussels) for buffet-style brunch available anywhere in the midwest, and includes some made to order items - crab cake benedict was one of my favorite eggs benedicts that I've ever had. Simple and elegant decor and awesome location. Great service.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They are known for their Sunday brunch a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

They are known for their Sunday brunch and they delivered! Food is spread over separate stations around the restaurant including a Bloody Mary/Mimosa bar. Great views and wonderful ambience including the right music for Sunday brunch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good - not great, and it was lu ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was good - not great, and it was luke warm when it arrived at our table. Not at all what I am used to with a Bartolatta Restaurant. Service was good not great. I am used to great service, at a Bartolatta restaurant. Do not care for $6.00 for valet parking, way out of line. I can park my own car. Would like to return to see if restaurant gets there act together. But they were off on this night. Would pay the valet parking, but I do expect much better attention to the food and the service. When you pay as much as they charge, I want to receive that in food and service. It should be excellent. Mr B.'s is always excellent, my hats off to there manager.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food/atmosphere!! Spectacular view ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food/atmosphere!!

Spectacular view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I rave about the Harbor H ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My husband and I rave about the Harbor House! The oyster selection is amazing for the MidWest! Always fresh and different we enjoy the oysters every time we come. The wait staff is overly attentive and polite. The cuisine is impeccable! The bar, amazing drinks especially the Amelia!! Food presentation is beautiful and tastes amazing! We also love the proximity to the waterfront!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great 21st birthday spot

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great 21st birthday spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.