About Harbor House

550 N. Harbor Dr
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Located on the shores of Lake Michigan in Downtown Milwaukee, Harbor House replicates a New England style seafood restaurant commonly found on Cape Cod and Nantucket. The menu features a wide array of fresh seafood, salads, sandwiches, pastas, steaks, and chops. Additionally, Harbor House features two outdoor patios.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Fri & Sat: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 8:00pm (Brunch served until 2:00pm)
Happy Hour: Mon-Fri 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
Harbor Dr & N Lincoln Memorial Dr

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 395-4900

Website:
http://www.harborhousemke.com/

Entertainment:
We have music on our patio every Sunday from 4-7 pm from June through August.

Parking Details:
Valet - $ 4 dinner, complimentary at lunch and brunch.

Executive Chef:
Zach Espinosa

Private Party Facilities:
Harbor House can create the perfect social or business event for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Katelyn Arnold: 4143954900x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/category/harbor-house to see upcoming events at Harbor House!

Restaurant Photos

Harbor House
Harbor House
Harbor House
Harbor House
lobster roll
Cioppino
Rye Old Fashioned
Bloody Mary With Beer Chaser
Shrimp Cocktail
Hawaiian Snapper
Lobster Tacos
Key Lime Pie
Fried Perch Sandwich
Red Snapper
Softshell Crab Blt
Schlitz Gusto
fried oysters
New England Clam Chowder
Clams, Oysters, Shrimp, Stone Crab Claw
Clams
Sailboat Appetizer
Caesar Salad
Softshell
Vanilla bean panna cotta
Filet with Scallops with Wilted Spinach, Potato Puree and Black Truffle Sauce
Crab Claw
Spinach Salad
Kusshi Oysters
Halibut Cheeks
Great lakes walleye
Seafood Tacos
Belon Oysters And Jumbo Shrimp Cocktail
Filet
Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon
Whole Sea Bass
Warm Chocolate Cake with Hazelnut Ice Cream, Candied Hazelnuts and Creme Anglaise
Crustacean Bisque
Crab Cakes
Cheeseburger
Kumamoto oysters
Salmon
Salad
Oysters
 Ceaser Salad With Shrimp
Caramel Creme Dessert
Halibut
Mesclun Salad
Shrimp And Crab Salad
Seafood Risotto
Ceviche

Harbor House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Wisconsin
Scenic View
Wisconsin
Seafood
Wisconsin
4 More
Most Booked
Wisconsin
Best Ambiance
Milwaukee
Scenic View
Milwaukee
Most Booked
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

scenic view (327)
special occasion (293)
romantic (189)
See All
fit for foodies (169)
great for outdoor dining (118)
good for groups (114)
great for lunch (101)
great for brunch (91)
notable wine list (83)
neighborhood gem (59)
hot spot (45)
vibrant bar scene (35)
kid-friendly (19)
late-night find (10)
Sort By:
Newest
3125 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our wait staff was very busy with two la ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our wait staff was very busy with two large groups thus we had very poor service for the two of us. We finished eating and waited fifty minutes for someone to ask if we needed anything like a to go container. My wife waited so long she was able to finish her ice cold food. We were about to leave and ask a manager for our check when we finally had someone give it to us. Thankfully I had cash and didn't have to deal with our wait staff any longer. I did leave them about eighteen percent gratuity which hurt me to do.

Overall the experience was ruined due to the poor service. This was our wedding night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

It is a beautiful place on the lake, but ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 4 days ago

It is a beautiful place on the lake, but we were very disappointed with our service. Wait staff had no patience for elderly parent with walker who was hard of hearing. She was Impatient and abrupt. Absolutely No sense of humor. The place & view are amazing, the food is truly so-so for the price. We would go back, but hope for a friendlier server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

We enjoyed the food, appreciated the fri ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed the food, appreciated the friendly service, and loved the view. A great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent restaurant. it is a bit noisy ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 5 days ago

excellent restaurant. it is a bit noisy which can take away from an interesting conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A group of 5 enjoyed a business lunch ou ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 6 days ago

A group of 5 enjoyed a business lunch outdoors with a beautiful view of the Lake and even got to see the art museum "wings" open and close. The food was incredible. The lobster roll was nearly what you would expect on the East Coast. The gnocchi dish was a large portion with the freshest vegetables. Nothing was lost in providing a spectacular plate for lunch. The service was only ok. Certainly not what I would expect for the price point of this restaurant. Our server appeared annoyed when one of our party members asked her recommendation between two items. Then more annoyance when the onion ring haystack arrived and we asked if there was a dipping sauce she would recommend that we could get. Had it not been for a server not caring much about our group's experience, this would have been rated five stars. I'm hoping she was just having an off day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

From the valet, to the front desk staff, ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 7 days ago

From the valet, to the front desk staff, to our servers, our food experience was wonderful. The cocktails were prepared well with delicious blue cheese stuffed olives thrown in. The calamari appetizer was flavorful and the shrimp cocktail chilled, fresh and so good. Our main dishes were great as well. My filet was too well done, but I didn't want to delay the rest of the table so I did not send it back. They graciously took that amount off the bill. We were also seated in a booth as requested. After dinner, we sat in the outside area and had desserts and cocktails. We were never rushed. It was a terrific night and we'll be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome as always! Out of town guests ex ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 7 days ago

Awesome as always! Out of town guests extremely impressed!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was fantastic. The food was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

The service was fantastic. The food was very good, but the price was a tad high. We went with my 91 year old Mom, and the staff was wonderful and very accommodating!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful food, lake view & walk, in bet ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wonderful food, lake view & walk, in between art museum and Discovery World, close to downtown. Best I've been in Milwaukee area.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was great I would r ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food and service was great I would really recommend this restaurant to anybody else

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our anniversary with a won ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary with a wonderful lunch. Lobster roll and a lobster salad. Both were excellent! Good service and a wonderful table overlooking the harbor. A wonderful dining venue for lunch and dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed dinner at the Harbor House on ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We enjoyed dinner at the Harbor House on Friday, 7/15. The service, as always, was extremely attentive. The food was great, all four of us ordering something different. We all enjoyed our meals. We sat by a big window, and while eating we could see sail boats bobbing on the water. The day was glorious, which made the dinner all that much more enjoyable.

I would recommend this restaurant without reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful dining Great waiter Gorgeous v ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wonderful dining

Great waiter Gorgeous view Great food Great cocktails

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly nice atmosphere good food park ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Friendly nice atmosphere good food parking soso would return maybe by boat next time

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We celebrated our mother's retirement an ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We celebrated our mother's retirement and it was an absolutely amazing time! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time and we loved it. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This was our first time and we loved it. We had lunch and walked over to the museum.

Beautiful lake Michigan view from every table in the restaurant. The food was great, can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our lunch was perfect and the staff was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our lunch was perfect and the staff was very professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at Harbor House was outst ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our experience at Harbor House was outstanding! The staff was very friendly and willing to go the extra mile! The food was excellent! We would highly recommend Harbor House!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Milwaukee's best restaurants in a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

One of Milwaukee's best restaurants in a beautiful spot overlooking the harbor. Nice menu although there are limited vegetarian options. Service was impeccable and the staff was friendly and attentive. I'll definitely be coming back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great evening. Our business guests from ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great evening. Our business guests from Toronto were very impressed. All the seafood was splendid including the oysters that were part of our appetizer! Great location on the water.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best view of Milwaukee's sky line & lak ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Best view of Milwaukee's sky line & lake front is at "Harbor House". Music Monday's are always appreciated. The Bartolotta group is taking over the Milwaukee metro scene and I don't mind a bit... The Harbor House is another example of fine dinning and a "standard of elegance" that we expect and receive at all Bartolotta establishments!

Thank You,

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

service was great as was the food. love ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

service was great as was the food. loved the combination of oysters offered along with the steak and seafood combos.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The last time I ate at Harbor House over ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The last time I ate at Harbor House over a year ago, the food took over an hour to come out after ordering. We decided to try again and really enjoyed the atmosphere on the patio but the food took about 45 minutes after we had finished our appetizers, causing us to have to rush to finish it to make it to a concert. Very disappointing. I'm not sure why you can't seem to manage the timing of your orders.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

I've been to Harbor House for Sunday Bru ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I've been to Harbor House for Sunday Brunch 4 or 5 times, and it is my absolute favorite place. Everything is consistently top notch, and the atmosphere and view are unbeatable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service with a special vi ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food and service with a special view of Lake Michigan. We were there for Sunday brunch and the food selections were fantastic -- also a great bloody mary bar.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

First time brunch!!! Love the food and ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

First time brunch!!! Love the food and the drinks. Patio service was awesome. Kristyl is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food on a perfect evening. Liv ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Delicious food on a perfect evening. Lived the peach and tarragon sangria. Great soft shell crabs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent staff- professional, courteous ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

excellent staff- professional, courteous,attentive. Food was exquisite. Gorgeous views of the water and the art museum. Definitely come again. This was 3rd visit. Excellent every time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our friends introduced us to this gem an ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our friends introduced us to this gem and we are eternally grateful. The ambience, the entire staff, the food.... It is the whole package. We live in Chicago and can't wait to return with friends.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to Harbor House with our sons an ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We came to Harbor House with our sons and families just as a get together lunch. We loved sitting by the window overlooking the lake. The ambience was wonderful and the food was scrumptious as always. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Geneva Inn is a restaurant I have en ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The Geneva Inn is a restaurant I have enjoyed over a dozen times. WE go there mainly with special friends or occasions. The decor and views are the best and are the real reason for going. The food is well prepared and presented but modest in portions especially with fish dishes.

With wine and a cocktail, tip and taxes you will be $100 plus per person so don't forget your credit cards.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We at outdoors on the patio. Food was g ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We at outdoors on the patio. Food was great, but service was disappointing. Asked for some sweetener for tea, and my waitress came back 20 minutes later with it. Asked for dressing to be served on the side and it came dressed. I think that perhaps their more professional waiters work indoors and use the college kids for the patio.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Food, service and ambiance were outstand ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food, service and ambiance were outstanding. We came here for a special occasion and could not have had a better experience than we did. We tried a variety of seafood dishes (oysters, crab, lobster) and each one was fantastic -- by far the best seafood in Milwaukee.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our waitress was nice but the food took ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

our waitress was nice but the food took a long time to be prepared. Thats ok though, the view was nice. The main problem was we wanted to have a drink outside after dinner. We sat at the outside bar for 15 minutes and 4 boys goofed around and did not greet us, instead they danced and ignored us, so we left. Do you not serve drinks outside?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

We had a fantastic seafood meal and oyst ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had a fantastic seafood meal and oyster experience that was top notch. The noise level was a bit high, but didn't deter from our celebration. It was higher priced , but in line with what they have to offer. We will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant has some very scenic view ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The restaurant has some very scenic views of the lake and city. Despite the fact that the restaurant was very busy the servers did a great job .The food was good and reasonably priced.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Appetizers and cocktails on the outside ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Appetizers and cocktails on the outside patio were terrific. Dinner was solid and service was timely.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It was a date night with the wifte. Enjo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

It was a date night with the wifte. Enjoyed the atmosphere and service. Wife and I ordered filet mignon combo, she had the shrimp and i had the salmon. We both ordered our steaks medium, mine came out slightly dry and hers was juicy. Should have erred on the side of medium rare. would still recommend the place though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Took my wife out for her birthday . Grea ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Took my wife out for her birthday . Great oysters at the bar . Nice table by the window . Beautiful view . Great service . Great food . Lobster salad is a favorite . Very nice evening out . Our favorite restaurant .

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding but the service was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food was outstanding but the service was disappointing. No water refills without requesting same. It was early evening so it was not very busy. No excuse for the poor service.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.