About Harbor House

550 N. Harbor Dr
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Located on the shores of Lake Michigan in Downtown Milwaukee, Harbor House replicates a New England style seafood restaurant commonly found on Cape Cod and Nantucket. The menu features a wide array of fresh seafood, salads, sandwiches, pastas, steaks, and chops. Additionally, Harbor House features two outdoor patios.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Fri & Sat: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 8:00pm (Brunch served until 2:00pm)
Happy Hour: Mon-Fri 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
Harbor Dr & N Lincoln Memorial Dr

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 395-4900

Website:
http://www.harborhousemke.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live music on our patio every Sunday and Monday from 4-7 pm from June through August.

Parking Details:
Valet - $6 dinner, complimentary at lunch and brunch.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Fisher

Private Party Facilities:
Harbor House can create the perfect social or business event for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Katelyn Arnold: 414-395-4900x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/restaurant/harbor-house/to see upcoming events at Harbor House!

Restaurant Photos

Harbor House
Harbor House
Harbor House
Harbor House
lobster roll
Cioppino
Rye Old Fashioned
Bloody Mary With Beer Chaser
Shrimp Cocktail
Hawaiian Snapper
Lobster Tacos
Key Lime Pie
Fried Perch Sandwich
Red Snapper
Softshell Crab Blt
Schlitz Gusto
fried oysters
New England Clam Chowder
Clams, Oysters, Shrimp, Stone Crab Claw
Clams
Sailboat Appetizer
Caesar Salad
Softshell
Vanilla bean panna cotta
Filet with Scallops with Wilted Spinach, Potato Puree and Black Truffle Sauce
Crab Claw
Spinach Salad
Kusshi Oysters
Halibut Cheeks
Great lakes walleye
Seafood Tacos
Belon Oysters And Jumbo Shrimp Cocktail
Filet
Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon
Whole Sea Bass
Warm Chocolate Cake with Hazelnut Ice Cream, Candied Hazelnuts and Creme Anglaise
Crustacean Bisque
Salad
Kumamoto oysters
Crab Cakes
Salmon
Cheeseburger
Oysters
 Ceaser Salad With Shrimp
Caramel Creme Dessert
Halibut
Mesclun Salad
Shrimp And Crab Salad
Seafood Risotto
Ceviche

Harbor House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Wisconsin
Most Booked
Wisconsin
Best Ambiance
Milwaukee
2 More
Scenic View
Milwaukee
Most Booked
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

Scenic View (407)
Special Occasion (349)
Romantic (231)
See All
Fit for Foodies (189)
Great for Outdoor Dining (181)
Good for Groups (120)
Great for Lunch (118)
Notable Wine List (107)
Great for Brunch (100)
Neighborhood Gem (73)
Hot Spot (56)
Vibrant Bar Scene (49)
Kid-friendly (15)
Late-night Find (15)
Historic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3210 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Faculty is showing its age; table was p ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 3 days ago

Faculty is showing its age; table was propped up into a level plane via folded bar napkins, even then it wobbled. The outside lake walkway needs refurbishment correcting the gaps among pavers, while the "garden" area Adirondack chairs, etc., are in desperate need of restoration.

Lastly, what purpose was served by having bar tv's active during Sunday Brunch while the bar is primarily for having customers make their own Bloody Mary's?

The food as well as the service is outstanding while view is spectacular.

We have dined here many times and highly recommend it for any occasion .

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very lively atmosphere with great views ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Very lively atmosphere with great views of the harbor and the Milwaukee Art Museum. Seafood selection was also great and varied. We had some great Oysters, Halibut and Cioppino.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Impeccable service and food. The atmosph ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 3 days ago

Impeccable service and food. The atmosphere can't be beat. The best dining experience in Milwaukee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was terrific. The restaurant a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was terrific. The restaurant accommodated my special requests for seating. They were attentive to the special guest we had for dinner. We were very pleased.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here to celebrate my bday and ou ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

We went here to celebrate my bday and our 5th wedding anniversary. They really went out of their way to make our evening special. My husband had the branzino and he said it was the best fish entree he's ever had at a restaurant. I'd recommend ordering seafood if you come here...clearly, it's what they do best! I love that it's not an overly pretentious atmosphere either. It's great for a special occasion or a kid-free night out! We've already recommended this restaurant to our Milwaukee friends.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh seafood with a great view in Milwa ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 4 days ago

Fresh seafood with a great view in Milwaukee. Highlights are the oyster bar with rotating selections, solid cocktails and wine list, and the featured fish dishes. Steak was good, but that's not why you go here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic meal and a delightful way to ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic meal and a delightful way to spend a summer evening in Milwaukee

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our anniversary. I noted that on ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 5 days ago

It was our anniversary. I noted that on the reservation -- though I didn't ask for anything specific. It would have been nice to been saved a table near the window so we would have a view, or at least one of the big booths facing the window -- one of the main reasons we chose Harbor House. Instead we got a table near the kitchen.

Our waitress was absent-minded. She said she'd bring ketchup, then forgot about it for 5 minutes. She asked us if we wanted more bread, then never brought it. I ordered a cup of soup but was served and charged for a bowl.

The food was just OK. Fried clam appetizer was very good, but it came with a boatload of french fries. Had I known that, I might have chosen a different entree since my lobster roll also came with fries, so we wasted most of them. The lobster roll had a lot of meat; however, it lacked seasoning. My husband's scallops were good, but he didn't like the fennel salad that came with it. We chose creme brulee as our complimentary dessert. Flavor was good, but the brulee topping wasn't crisp -- like it had been torched hours earlier and refrigerated.

I wish Harbor House had a dress code. I was appalled at how some diners were dressed -- in athletic shorts and T-shirts, and these were grown men, not children. That pretty much takes away all the elegant ambience of the place. Office casual should be the minimum. When you pay $100 for lunch for 2, I don't think it's asking too much for diners to not show up in gym clothes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a very nice dinner at the Harbor ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a very nice dinner at the Harbor House, and the view is spectacular.

The clam chowder and the 2 seafood entrees were delicious.

Great Food and great service !

Be sure to make a reservation.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Would highly recommend the Harbor House ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 6 days ago

Would highly recommend the Harbor House for lunch or dinner. Spectacular view and cuisine.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A WONDERFUL SPECIAL OCCASSION DINNER. TH ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

A WONDERFUL SPECIAL OCCASSION DINNER. THE ROOM TEMPERATURE WAS A TAD ON THE COLD-TO-FREEZING SIDE BUT OTHERWISE A WONERFUL EXPERIENCE.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was excellent, although I would ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was excellent, although I would have liked to have seen a gluten-free menu of some sort. As it was, the waitress was able to put some special notes to the chef on my order, and everything worked out well.

My guests from the middle east found the restaurant and the views outstanding!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Harbor House is our "go to" place for sp ...

 
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Harbor House is our "go to" place for special occasions. The food, service, atmosphere all combine to make it one of the best restaurants in Milwaukee.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated my upcoming wedding with some ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Celebrated my upcoming wedding with some of my closest girlfriends at Harbor House on Sunday. The brunch was amazing....even to our most discriminating ladies. Everyone was impressed. I loved the eggs benedict and the selection of salads. Thank you so much for a memorable day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You cannot beat the ambiance of the Harb ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

You cannot beat the ambiance of the Harbor House. It is beautiful both inside and out. The service was also excellent. Aside from that, I was a little disappointed with the food. I ordered a basic green salad and was quite amazed with how very small it was. I almost asked where the rest of it was. I also had the halibut which was served over a small arrangement of cooked vegetables. The fish tasted good but it was on the dry side which was unfortunate. A member of our party ordered a small dish of oysters and found them to be fishy tasting. And she is one who regularly eats oysters. This was the second time that we were less than wowed with our experience at a Bartolotta's restaurant. They have to be careful to not get so big that they compromise quality.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food and service. They worked ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food and service. They worked to accomodate our special requests.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and view were fantastic. Howeve ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food and view were fantastic. However, the waitress needed some training on the menu items. It was difficult for her to explain what was included with selected menu items including desserts. The service was extremely slow. Two hours and 20 minutes for lunch seemed somewhat protracted and unnecessary . However, we enjoyed the lunch and the relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

The food was very good and the service w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was very good and the service was wonderful. The staff was helpful from the moment we stepped out of the car with the Valet. The hostess was pleasant, the bartender welcoming and our servers were extremely attentive. We will be back! Thank you.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff slow and banging down food. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wait staff slow and banging down food. Oysters were so bad they needed return twice. Noise was impossible for visiting with friends. But the trout was great.

Will not return -- too much trouble.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Fabulous! We had a reservation for 6 and ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fabulous! We had a reservation for 6 and it was ready when we got there our server Chris was very good! It is a wonderful place to go right on the lake front in Milwaukee.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing gem in Milwaukee! Bravo! The Che ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Amazing gem in Milwaukee! Bravo! The Chefs Reserve oysters were to die for.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always consistent quality and service. B ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always consistent quality and service. Best views in Milwaukee!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal but very, very expensive.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent meal but very, very expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated an anniversary this past m ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We celebrated an anniversary this past month at Harbor House. As my husband and I are both gluten free we asked for help in ordering. Our waiter couldn't have been better. He steered us safely through the menu. Our dinners arrived a little late because the kitchen took extra precautions with our meal. We spent the extra time relaxing with an awesome bottle of wine recommended by our waiter. All in all a great evening. I highly recommend Harbor House for people with food allergies. They care!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Best location in Milwaukee. Good food, ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Best location in Milwaukee. Good food, great service, fine food choices,

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is very marginal. The best thin ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food is very marginal. The best thing about the place is the view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

The waitress was serving a dozen tables: ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The waitress was serving a dozen tables: pouring water, serving drinks, taking orders, delivering food, and removing plates.

This explains what it took ten minutes to get a glass of ice water, and 30 minutes to get an appetizer.

The restaurant is large, yet we were seated in a crowded section by a service station. Meanwhile there was plenty of parts of the restaurant that we're practically empty.

Wake up management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

My husband and I were celebrating our 1 ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 17th anniversary! The food was great, as well as the atmosphere. My only issue was, we ate outside and when I sat on the chair it was soak n wet! Not on my cute outfit!!!!đŸ˜¡ So I was upset for a split second! That was a bad oops!

However we enjoyed our food n waiter! I will make a visit again!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

View can't be beat. We actually had lunc ...

vip
·Dined on August 8, 2016

View can't be beat. We actually had lunch and came back later for drinks and appetizers. Lunch was good. Jack our waiter not very warm nor inviting. Service adequate.

Afternoon was slow and a fiasco. Sat outside and Amanda was our waitress. Also, not welcoming and disappeared for long periods. Took a long time to get drinks and appetizers. Gave us the wrong bill and rang it up on our card. More time to straighten it our. Again, go for the view food and service average.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

As always, the Harbor House was an excel ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

As always, the Harbor House was an excellent choice for lunch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and the views of the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was excellent and the views of the lakefront unlike any other in the city. A little spendy for regular dining, but well worth the expense for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit to Harbor house ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was our first visit to Harbor house it was wonderful. We sat at bar for about 10mins got our drinks and chit chatted then they took us to our table with a perfect view of the lake and art museum the food was awesome I had never eaten clams before so I ordered one to try and right after ordered half dozen a mix but I do feel that the first clam I ate should have been free seeing as that I ordered half dozen right after for my entrée I ordered the Halibut the fish was very fresh and moist my wife ordered crab cake as appetizer and her entrée was the filet and grilled lobster she loved it the filet was amazingly soft and the lobster was incredible the experience was wonderful cant wait to visit again

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Little Pricey - It starts with the man ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A Little Pricey - It starts with the mandatory valet parking for $6.00 plus gratuity. If you're from Chicago or if there is very little parking available, this isn't a bad price. But we're from the Milwaukee area and there were plenty of parking spaces in their own lot. The food was nicely presented with many food stations to choose a variety of different mini foods. I say mini as the fruit was cut into tiny bite size pieces as well as the cheese, etc. I guess this keeps portions down. The mini desserts were appreciated as this was a great way to try two or three. With the exception of the Lobster Pot Pie which had little to no lobster, all of the food was tasty. The view and ambience is the real reason to come here. The price is a bit high considering Champagne or Mimosas are not included as with other high-end brunches.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was just OK. Everything else ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was just OK. Everything else was above average.

Did not like the Open Table reservation system that used 3 sheets of paper to print the reservation. This is a waste of paper, ink and my $$. I realize 2 extra sheets of paper are not much but they add up. Will not use Open Table again for this reason.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Disappointing second visit. Drinks at th ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Disappointing second visit. Drinks at the bar were fine with good service. Shown to table and waited 15 minutes before first visit from waitress. Ordered a bloody mary with chaser (which we had just had at the bar). Waitress returned with a bloody mary and a full beer. She explained that chasers are not served in the restaurant. ??? Seafood bisque was great. Oysters were great. Soft shell crab sandwich was undercooked and crab louis salad was very average with poor presentation. This is a great spot and we'll be back - but they did not have their A game during this visit.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Always enjoy going there... Flew in from ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Always enjoy going there... Flew in from Az., so love being by water.. We had indoor table reserved but chose to go outside, but had to wait.. The problem was there was a terrible problem with gnats or bugs in the air.. We asked for a candle, etc. but was told they don't do that. After the sun went down it wasn't a problem.. Next to us were a couple with two young girls LITERALLY running around going WILD around the whole area, especially ours. It would have been great if the server/maitre D had told them to stop running around screaming, etc. All in all a great place... For two people, no alcohol, it was a steep bill of $127.00.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

The food , service, and view are great. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food , service, and view are great. Bartenders are excellent. Only complaint would be that we had a very small table barely big enough for the dinner service.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great dinner with great view of the wate ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great dinner with great view of the water I had soft shell crabs which were perfectly cooked. Friend had cioppino. We are from California so the taste was very different from our style. But, it was deliciously prepared. Attentive wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had reservation for 7pm. Asked a few ti ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Had reservation for 7pm. Asked a few times about seating. Staff stated: "They forgot about us" and seated us at 7:35. Swordfish & Halibut were dry. Had to request water refills. Bill did not include the bottle of wine - had to request correction. My daughter had called with her credit card to pay $50 of our bill. The staff failed to do so. When the manager called my cell at 10pm to rectify- I told her to forget it.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

We have dined here on a number of occasi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We have dined here on a number of occasions and every time the food, service, etc. is outstanding. For the most part, the same could be said for this particular dining experience.

However, there are two problems we had on this occasion. One, which is minor, was that my Virgin Strawberry Daiquiri truly tasted like strawberry flavored water. I politely sent it back with that explanation and the new drink was only slightly better. The conclusion is presumably that is as good as it gets, which would be sad as our local small town restaurants' drink of the same mix is better, by far.

The other issue is that we see that dogs are allowed at the outdoor seating area. Despite growing up with and owning dogs and other animals, to have dogs allowed at a restaurant the caliber of the Harbor House was not only a complete surprise, it’s was disturbing enough to have us conclude that should we ever choose to dine outside, we would not chose the Harbor House to do so. And while we did eat inside on this occasion, we initially tried to dine outside, (but the wait was too long), and in hindsight, it was a good decision as despite the thought that one’s dog might be a family member, when it comes to a restaurant, again, of the caliber of the Harbor House, it is still a dog; the location is not a park, and it especially is not ones back yard. It is an unpleasant thought to have to dine next to someone’s dog to say the least, and it’s an enabling practice that is without merit and will clearly alter our decision or recommendations for future outdoor dining experiences there. I hope this is a policy change that would be considered for the future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.