Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Harbor House

Located on the shores of Lake Michigan in Downtown Milwaukee, Harbor House replicates a New England style seafood restaurant commonly found on Cape Cod and Nantucket. The menu features a wide array of fresh seafood, salads, sandwiches, pastas, steaks, and chops. Additionally, Harbor House features two outdoor patios.

550 N. Harbor Dr
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Fri & Sat: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 8:00pm (Brunch served until 2:00pm)
Happy Hour: Mon-Fri 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
Harbor Dr & N Lincoln Memorial Dr

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 395-4900

Website:
http://www.harborhousemke.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live music on our patio every Sunday and Monday from 4-7 pm from June through August.

Parking Details:
Valet - $6 dinner, complimentary at lunch and brunch.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Fisher

Private Party Facilities:
Harbor House can create the perfect social or business event for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Katelyn Arnold: (414) 395-4900

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/restaurant/harbor-house/to see upcoming events at Harbor House!

Harbor House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (224)
Scenic View (211)
Special Occasion (169)
See All
Good for a Date (155)
Good for Anniversaries (139)
Romantic (127)
Good for Birthdays (122)
Worth the Drive (94)
Great for Outdoor Dining (85)
Fit for Foodies (74)
Business Meals (71)
Great for Lunch (69)
Notable Wine List (64)
Creative Cuisine (62)
Good for Groups (59)
Bar Seating (54)
People Watching (54)
Great for Brunch (52)
Happy Hour (51)
Fun (50)
Sunday Lunch (50)
Pre/post Theatre (45)
Hot Spot (43)
Casual (42)
Handcrafted Cocktails (37)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Authentic (30)
Cozy (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Seasonal (20)
Local Ingredients (17)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Great Beer (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Disabled Access (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Live Music (3)
Organic (3)
Vegan (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
4073 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 17 hours ago

wonderful good food good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Fair seafood restaurant. Used to think was excellent but food quality seems to be declining. Raw oysters are excellent and crab legs are great. But much of the food is declining. Fried clams were more fried grease than claims. Trout was greasy. Green beans were fairly good, crisp and thin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

Sunday brunch is a treat! There's not one bad item that they serve! Everything is delicious- the mashed potatoes (one doesn't think that mashed potatoes can be a bit of heaven but these are!!), the breakfast sausages, the fresh seafood are on point!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was amazing! It was me and my fiancé first time ever eating oysters and the waiter explain the difference between each oysters as well as lined up the oysters in order they why they where displayed on the menu! Amazing service it is truly worth every penny to eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved this place, can't wait to go back. Great food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful location. Wonderful ambience. Food was good not great. RedFish was slightly overcooked and a bit dry.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 10, 2017

The special events, like Oyster Week, are worth marking on the calendar.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

The service was fine. The waitress was overworked but she did her best. The food was ok, but not for the price. The chicken on my wife's salad was cold on the ends. The crab cake we shared was good. The cippiono i had was good but not very much of it. Overall kind of disappointing .

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Diverse and expertly prepared fish menu with good meat options for carnivores. Excellent service. Great view of the lake. Interesting mixed drinks. Excellent in all respects. The only negative I would mention is that bottles of wine and champagne are higher priced (3x's consumer store price) than can be found at other fine dinning restaurants. If it weren't for the bottle prices, I would have given Harbor House five stars for value.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Everything about our Sunday evening dinner at Harbor House was wonderful! The setting was breathtaking, the service spectacular, and the food absolutely delicious. It was easy to have a conversation, and we were made to feel like honored guests. We will make this a tradition when visiting Milwaukee. Highly recommend!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Harbor House has a beautiful setting on Lake Michigan. I had requested a window seat but did not get one - although all seats have a nice view. The food was excellent (we had yellow-fin tuna and scallops as our main course), nice selection of oysters on the half shell as well. The waiter was knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly. My only issue was the service was very slow. We told our waiter we needed to leave by 7:30 for a show and we were out a bit late. Luckily close to our venue so we made it but were quite rushed. Our reservation was at 6:00- seemed like 1.5 hours should have been enough time for a leisurely dinner. Also we had to wait to be seated as they were not seating the 6:00 reservations yet (it was 6:00) we got a drink at the bar and then our table was ready. This seems to be the way the were handling other reservations as well as I heard them say this to a later reservation when we were leaving. Soup was very salty - told manager he immediately took it off our bill - he went to the line and tasted it and agreed and informed the chef that it needed to be changed. Nice that he came back to our table and let us know. I would definitely return as the food and atmosphere were very good, will just allow an extra 1/2 hour or not be on a time frame.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We were greeted by the valet and the front desk staff. The hostess noted that we asked for a booth and we were seated in one. Our cocktails were good. The wedge salad was a little loaded on the dressing but my husbands was fine. Our steaks were good. The view was amazing. I guess we felt a bit rushed. Our meal was over in 45 minutes. We did ask not to be served too quickly.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great food and excellent service. A very nice way to celebrate a special birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Wonderful experience, beautiful view, attentive staff and great food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Outstanding! A bit pricey but you pay for quality. The food and service are top notch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Harbor House is beautiful. The view is the best in Milwaukee. The food was not as good, average at best. For lunch the value was not there. For a Bartalotta restaurant we expected better food.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 5, 2017

This was our first time dining here, as we were in Milwaukee on business. This restaurant came highly recommended and it was well worth it. We were seated promptly (be sure to make a reservation!!). The menu was extensive and our meal was excellent. My salmon was cooked exactly as ordered (a special request), as was the tuna. We had two excellent servers as well. They also offer valet parking. Only an $8 cab fare ($6 Uber) from downtown. Highly recommended!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Although we arrived on time we had to wait another 25 minutes. Since this was a business meeting, time was of the essence. The staff was very apologetic, however and offered us an appetizer when they realized our additional wait was not 10 minutes, but substantially longer.
The server was not attentive, and we had to continue to "stop" her to get assistance. Her attention seemed divided among tables. For instance she was talking with us, and turned to the table in back of us that was also wanting drink refills and left us to deal with their situation first. Thought that was rather rude. The noice level was extreme - not for conversation. At 9:30pm the kitchen staff were banging pots and pans so loud we thought something was about to happen to get our attention. I guess they were trying to clean up to get out on time ???
Not an enjoyable occasion at all. Must say the food, however was excellent, but not worth the ambiance/experience.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Harbor House is an excellent restaurant with wonderful seafood. I had the halibut which was prepared deliciously. It is a bit noisy when it is completely full but you can't beat the views and the service. excellent!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Nice lake and art museum view. Welcoming ambiance. Diversified menu, vegetarian friendly also. Good wine selection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Excellent all around. Great food and the view out the windows of the lake/skyline is amazing. Great evening.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 1, 2017

great, happy....................50 characters..............................................................................ok.............................................................................................................................................................................................................

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Nick our server was awesome!!! Such an amazing dining experience, can't wait to come back

Tags: Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 1, 2017

This is our favorite milwaukee restaurant hands down. Best food, Best Service, Best View. Simply the best!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Food and service was very good, but my one compliant with Bartolotta restaurants is they cram in too many tables. However, they are full, so they are just trying to meet demand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I know, don't order steak at a sea food restaurant.........

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Very scenic, great service, wonderful choice to celebrate a special occasion

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

The food was excellent, the service exceptional. A very special birthday treat!

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

The servers were wonderful and very attentive. I absolutely love their crab cakes and scallops. Be sure to ask about their amazing dining program too! Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 30, 2017

The food and service was outstanding as usual! This is our favorite restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Heidi was our server for the second time and she is marvelous. She knows the menu , took care of our needs with out hovering, and makes the experience at Harbor House professional and one in which we want to return to. Heidi is a 10 out of 10! Thanks so much for making a good lunch.....Great!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Awesome view, excellent service. You pay for what you get and what you get is quality !

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Excellent as usual. Our go to place when we are in Milwaukee.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Scenic View, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Sunday brunch was great! Great food selection and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 24, 2017

For Sunday Brunch, a great location.
Very busy when we arrived (12.30pm) but soon quietened down.

Good value, with a reasonable brunch buffet range.

Note, we were not offered any a-la-carte alternatives.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Harbor House has always provided an atmosphere for fine dining. However, on this recent visit, two companions stated that their fish seemed over salted (the halibut and the flounder). My trout amandine was fine. The calamari, salads and desserts (crème brule and key lime pie) were excellent. Wonderful wine selection. Service was attentive and professional.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 23, 2017

An excellent experience with a spectacular view! Fried calamari was delicious, as were the oysters and cracked crab claws. Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food and service were excellent. The lake views cannot be topped. Very impressed with overall care and concern afford one of our table mates who has shellfish allergies.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Yellowfin Tuna was dried out, entrees underwhelming. Oysters were good for appetizers. Very nice service but menu was disappointing and food very overpriced for how it was prepared. Overall I keep hoping for more out of this amazing location but continue to be disappointed in the food.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.