Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Harbor House

Located on the shores of Lake Michigan in Downtown Milwaukee, Harbor House replicates a New England style seafood restaurant commonly found on Cape Cod and Nantucket. The menu features a wide array of fresh seafood, salads, sandwiches, pastas, steaks, and chops. Additionally, Harbor House features two outdoor patios.

550 N. Harbor Dr
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Fri & Sat: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 8:00pm (Brunch served until 2:00pm)
Happy Hour: Mon-Fri 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
Harbor Dr & N Lincoln Memorial Dr

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 395-4900

Website:
http://www.harborhousemke.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live music on our patio every Sunday and Monday from 4-7 pm from June through August.

Parking Details:
Valet - $6 dinner, complimentary at lunch and brunch.

Executive Chef:
Andrew Fisher

Private Party Facilities:
Harbor House can create the perfect social or business event for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Katelyn Arnold: (414) 395-4900

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/restaurant/harbor-house/to see upcoming events at Harbor House!

Harbor House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (184)
Scenic View (158)
Special Occasion (139)
See All
Good for a Date (120)
Good for Anniversaries (109)
Romantic (105)
Worth the Drive (80)
Good for Birthdays (78)
Business Meals (68)
Great for Brunch (56)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Great for Outdoor Dining (53)
Notable Wine List (51)
Bar Seating (47)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Great for Lunch (39)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Sunday Lunch (38)
Fun (37)
Good for Groups (36)
Hot Spot (36)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Happy Hour (34)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
People Watching (31)
Casual (28)
Open Kitchen (27)
Healthy (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Modern Decor (24)
Cozy (23)
Authentic (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Seasonal (17)
Late-night Find (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Historic (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Private Room (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Great Beer (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Family Style (5)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
3825 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined a day ago

My son and I were there for lunch and it was fantastic.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Bar Seating, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service! Really good food. Great hostess team! Great Valet service! The prices are worth it! One thought - and the reason you didn't get five stars(and I've read this about your place already) - the bathrooms! Although not dirty the garbage can was overflowing! Bathrooms in great places are so important! Check out Eddie Martini's or maybe any restroom at Harrods in London. It's a nasty job - I get it. So pay somebody extra - maybe 20 dollars cash a night to clean and empty. It's important. Everyplace I walked in the Harbour House was perfect - except that.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 3 days ago

Our food was superb! Alex's recommendation was spot on. The location and ambience were terrific. The valet was very helpful with a special accommodation. All in all a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Been going to Bartolatta restaurants for years and my wife and I would rate this one as are least favorite thus far other then the beautiful back drop of Lake Michigan and the Milwaukee shoreline

Tags: Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

This place is amazing. Great views of Lake Michigan and an awesome patio for outdoor seating.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

We had been here a couple of years ago and our experience was just so so. However, Sunday's dining and patio experience was stellar. The staff was gracious and helpful and the meal was delicious. It was a beautiful evening capped off with the gorgeous view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Birthday brunch was top notch! The freshest seafood I have ever tasted outside of New England. We had food allergies and the staff was considerate and educated us on what things to avoid. The wait staff and chef staff made sure our meals were prepared with no cross contamination. The food was fresh and everything was made with great flavor and attention to detail. Our waitress was great and our meal was more than we could have asked for. Our family will definitely come back again and again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

We took our daughter to Harbor House for her 21st birthday. I had requested a window table but they weren't able to accommodate the request. The food and service were wonderful. They do pack the place with tables and the noise level is quite loud. Even with that, it is one of my favorite places to eat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I brought my daughter and her boyfriend to Harbor House before heading to a show and we all loved our meals. Our wait staff was very friendly and accommodating. My daughter is vegan and the chef recommended a dish that she said was very good. More vegan options would be great though. In the end, our dining experience started our evening off perfectly and we will be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Great location, food, and service! Always enjoy the great views

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

The views are amazing ! The food is very good and lots of great Seafood choices. My only complaint is that the seating is very snug- you are VERY close to your neighbors... I also did not appreciate paying $6 to valet my car after a $200 dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Service and drinks were outstanding. Food was not that good.
Loved the venue. Will be back for drinks but not to dine.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Harbor House is my go-to place for lunch when I have friends visiting from out of town. Perfect setting on the lakefront, excellent service and varied menu. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

We celebrated our anniversary at Harbor House and really enjoyed the evening. We were seated in a booth facing the lake -- which we had requested to help accommodate my husband with some special needs. The view was great and the service and food was excellent, as it has been every time we've been there over the years.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We had a show to go to and told our awesome waiter Chris we had a time deadline. He totally took care of use. We were served promptly and made it to the show with time to spare. We have had Chris once before for a waiter several months earlier. He actually remembered our names. He is a gem of a guy. Better keep him around!

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 21, 2017

My wife had the halibut special and it was sensational. I had the lobster - claws were fine, tail was tough...but still very tasty.
Key lime was just the right ending. Great ambiance, location and service. It was for our 50th anniversary and they kindly celebrated us with a glass of champagne! Our gratitude to all, and it was a very busy Tuesday night yet we were not rushed. - J. Hyde, Holland, MI

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 21, 2017

For 70 dollars a person, I expected better food. I feel they are relying on their location instead of quality food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, People Watching, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The service was outstanding and the restaurant is really nice looking. Unfortunately I thought the food was pretty bad. I ordered the clam chowder which was OK, but I found it a little watery. Most of the menu was fried, it was hard to find something to order. I ordered the trout which was OK, but it showed up in a pool of grease. Then there was a hair on my dessert. The only reason to return is because it's a lakeside view. I probably won't get any food!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We were celebrating our 35th wedding aniversary & our server immediately welcomed us and congratulated us. She made us feel very special. We loved having two servers assigned to us so we were always taken care of including clearing any dishes. They were very helpful in explaining the menu items and were spot on what we ordered. Only downfall is the bathrooms were not attended to, however they quickly stepped in when it was mentioned. They also accommodated my request for a window seat and the view was fantastic. Thanks for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I ordered the roasted chicken. It was extremely dry and tough. Was seated with my back to the wonderful lake view. With lots of open table I felt we could have been seated at the window to enjoy the view rather than looking at a wall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was prepared well and plating was appetizing. Wait staff was attentive and server able to answer questions about wine choice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great service, food is delicious The staff is so sweet

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Healthy, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Good food however full disclosure is needed badly on cocktails during their brunch. I paid $9.00 per cocktail for Bloody Mary's which I thought was included in the brunch price.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had a wonderful Father's Day brunch at Harbor House. Great view. Awesome blood mary bar. Lots of variety. Excellent service. We will definitely go back to Harbor House and do dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We made a reservation many days in advance and got stuck at the "chef's table" a high top in the opening between the dining room and kitchen. Very noisy, small table for four people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Once again the food was great and the servers were very friendly. Every table in the restaurant has a water view. We sat in a booth facing the water and because we were a step higher than the rest of the tables, we could see the fantastic view of the water. My fish had the best sear on the outside-almost crunchy-and very moist on the inside. There was nothing left to bring home. I have eaten there three times now and the food is consistently good. I would eat there more often, but it is a little pricey for every day eating. I will continue to go for special occasions because the quality of the food is so terrific.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent seafood! Love the view of Milwaukee Harbor. Service is excellent. We drive over an hour to get there. Well worth the trip!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Absolutely wonderful! Delicious food and amazing ambiance. Truly romantic and good with groups.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Service was impeccable. Food was outstanding. Great vibe... will go back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Had a great lunch with a friend. Staff was extremely friendly and the view was great. Love that there's valet parking at the door.

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Lobster roll was quit good though pricy.

Seafood bisque tasted odd, waitress mentioned that many people had noticed the same thing and sent it back to the kitchen. Why would they continue serving it?

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

What a nice place. Was with someone wheelchair bound and it was accessible for her. Thanks!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Loved this restaurant! Easy to make a reservation, and the day of I had to change the time. They were very accommodating. Service at the bar as well as wait staff couldn't have been better. So glad we chose to spend our anniversary here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner experience with six out of town guest. Everyone had a great time and loved the food.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We came to the Harbor House to celebrate our 18th anniversary and we were not disappointed!!! From the time we handed over our vehicle to the valet to the time we got back in it, the service was excellent!!!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Amazing service and food--made for a memorable date night!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Late-night Find, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Very nice lunch. Ken was attentive and friendly. Food was excellent.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Wonderful night, great food! Never disappoints for a special occasion!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Took my parents out for my mother's retirement. Service was phenomenal as was the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with a beautiful view. Service was great. They gave us champagne for our anniversary. Steak was past medium but still tasted good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.