About Harbor House

550 N. Harbor Dr
Milwaukee, WI 53202
View Larger Map

Located on the shores of Lake Michigan in Downtown Milwaukee, Harbor House replicates a New England style seafood restaurant commonly found on Cape Cod and Nantucket. The menu features a wide array of fresh seafood, salads, sandwiches, pastas, steaks, and chops. Additionally, Harbor House features two outdoor patios.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thurs: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Fri & Sat: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 8:00pm (Brunch served until 2:00pm)
Happy Hour: Mon-Fri 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
Harbor Dr & N Lincoln Memorial Dr

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 395-4900

Website:
http://www.harborhousemke.com/

Entertainment:
We have music on our patio every Sunday from 4-7 pm from June through August.

Parking Details:
Valet - $ 4 dinner, complimentary at lunch and brunch.

Executive Chef:
Zach Espinosa

Private Party Facilities:
Harbor House can create the perfect social or business event for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Katelyn Arnold: 4143954900x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit https://www.bartolottas.com/events/category/harbor-house to see upcoming events at Harbor House!

Restaurant Photos

Harbor House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Wisconsin
Scenic View
Wisconsin
Most Booked
Wisconsin
3 More
Best Ambiance
Milwaukee
Scenic View
Milwaukee
Most Booked
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

scenic view (264)
special occasion (246)
romantic (161)
See All
fit for foodies (131)
good for groups (90)
notable wine list (85)
great for lunch (71)
great for brunch (65)
great for outdoor dining (59)
neighborhood gem (42)
hot spot (41)
vibrant bar scene (27)
kid-friendly (14)
late-night find (11)
Sort By:
Newest
3005 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant truly exceeded my expec ...

Dined 3 days ago

This restaurant truly exceeded my expectations. Not only is it in a beautiful location, the food was creative and delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Harbor House is Amazing!

Dined 4 days ago

Celebrated our daughter's graduation from Marquette at Harbor House. Food is almost as amazing as our daughter!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and view, great staff

Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I had a great date night here! Obviously the view is great with the location but the food is excellent too. Most impressive was how well the staff handles a bustling business. Our food was cooked perfectly and we never felt neglected even with a full house.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was exceptional, lobster and st ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food was exceptional, lobster and steak were both cooked to perfection and the calamari appetizer was delicately tender, not rubbery like it is most places.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience each time! Amazi ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great dining experience each time! Amazing views, Amazing food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Showed Off for Chicago Guests

Dined 6 days ago

I entertained three Chicago business contacts at the Harbor House. It was a great way to show off what Milwaukee has to offer. Great restaurant with great food and an awesome view of the skyline including the art museum. Three of us ordered the halibut and it was amazing. This coming from a guy who prefers beef.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Had a reservation, we were a little earl ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Had a reservation, we were a little early and they said it would be a few minutes, 40 minutes later I checked with hostess - somehow we were overlooked. We were seated at a small table on the main aisleway and had constant disruptions from people and staff passing by. Ordered a filet medium RARE but was served a medium WELL filet. Service was very slow. Waitress was inattentive. The bill included drinks we did not order. All in all a terrible dining experience for $180 !!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Harbor House is great for any occasion

Dined on May 15, 2016

We went to Harbor House for a business dinner after reading many positive reviews about the establishment. We were very pleased that it completely lived up to the expectations. Food, service, and scenery were all outstanding. I later heard my well-traveled boss talking on the phone with an emphatic recommendation to a colleague. I can't wait to visit Milwaukee again so that I can dine at the Harbor House.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food & service. Beautiful view ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent food & service. Beautiful view of the lake. So nice not having to yell across the table to be heard.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Food, service, wine and view all spectacular! Will go back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent menu and food with the best vi ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Excellent menu and food with the best view in Milwaukee!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great choice.

Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife & I visit Milwaukee a couple of weekends a year and include a dinner at the Harbor House every time. It's a special place, great for special occasions.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch was fabulous.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The oyster were fresh, the fish was fresh and perfectly prepared. All the other menu items were beyond average. The service was efficient and unobtrusive. Fantastic for family get together.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant

Dined on May 8, 2016

I love this restaurant but for Mothers Day they added to many tables. They tables were to close together we felt that we could join the other tables conversations. The service still was great and the food was still amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

It was a very nice brunch! However one s ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was a very nice brunch! However one suggestion- stations are far apart and it is difficult for older patrons. I will chose Lake Park Bistro next time when brunching with my mom:)

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great! View of lakeshore ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Everything was great! View of lakeshore and city very nice. Only complaint would be tables are small and I kept getting bumped into while I was eating.

food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Beautiful venue with a great view

Dined on May 8, 2016

Harbor House is a beautiful venue with a great view. I had been here years ago with my husband after visiting the Art Museum and were able to have a drink at the hightops and watch the wings come down. I knew I had to bring my besties here to celebrate before one of them gets married in two weeks. We were sat 10-15 minutes past our reservation, which didn't bother us, since we had gotten there early to grab a cocktail at the bar. Our server switched mid-way through the meal and we wondered if it was because of our 4th guest cancelling, so we were only a party of 3 at that point. Overall, this was a wonderful experience and I would definitely recommend Harbor House to those visiting Milwaukee :)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

Really enjoyed our dining experience here. In general, have not had luck with the Bartalotta restaurants but the Harbor House was the exception. Everything about our meal including the scenery and service was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Main Lobster

Dined on May 7, 2016

The lobster was over cooked. It was cut in half and then cooked which dried it out and caused it to be over cooked. They should not cut them in half prior to cooking them. My daughter ordered the Lobster roll which was served cold and she could not eat it. I have never had one served cold. The other seafood that was ordered turned out well but a small center peace of the salmon was still a bit undercooked. The appetizers and drinks we had were awesome but the food could use some work. We eat at 5:30-6:00pm so it should not have been to difficult for them at this point yet. The service was outstanding and they wait staff was very knowledgeable about the dishes.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect night

Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a wonderful experience from the attentive staff to the incredible food to the beautiful view of the lake. There was not a thing I would have changed! My halibut was to die for!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waiter was top notch

Dined on May 7, 2016

Almost ready to leave after a cold reception! Do they not like us because we used open table?

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely wonderful choices! Only time I'v ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Lovely wonderful choices! Only time I've see top neck clams in Milwaukee. Also nice choice of caviar. Loved our dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We LOVE this place...

Dined on May 6, 2016

We love this place; this most recent visit is probably our 12th or 13th in the past number of years. We visit Milwaukee often and go to Harbor House as it likely has some of the best seafood in the Midwest. Not too pricey. Impeccable service. Amazing view of lake, lakefront and art museum.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Service

Dined on May 4, 2016

The service left something to be desired. The server was a bit inattentive.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Always a wonderful experieince.

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food in combination with the lake views is the best in the city..

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated my engagement here this past ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Celebrated my engagement here this past Saturday. Had the most amazing time! I ordered the swordfish and she had the salmon filet combo. It could not have been a meal with any better person or at a better place. The view was spectacular once the sun went down the city popped. GO TO THE HARBOR HOUSE!

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great view & accommodating staff.

Dined on April 30, 2016

This was our first visit to Harbor House. We arrived 20 minutes early and were seated immediately. No smile though from the hostess. Our waiter made up for it with his friendliness and attentiveness. One lobster tail dinner and one steak and lobster dinner were ample and delicious! The creamy clam chowder was especially tasty, the lobster half Louis salad had little flavor and could easily have been skipped. A slice of key lime pie for dessert was on the tart side and could have used more of the honey meringue topping to give it more of a creamy, rich flavor. Overall, a pleasant and better than average meal and dining experience÷

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Fish Ever

Dined on April 30, 2016

I had the Whole Branzino once a few years ago and remembered it still. I brought three friends and 2 of us had the Branzino. It was even better than I remember it! Nice wine, salad, raw oysters, scallop salad and terrific Coffee Creme Brulee and Key Lime Pie topped off this wonderful meal. A superb restaurant with a great view.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent as was the servic ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was excellent as was the service. The noise level is a little high but otherwise it was an excellent experience

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful views of Lake Michigan from a ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Beautiful views of Lake Michigan from a bright, cheerful contemporary restaurant. Seafood fresh and delicious with a great oyster selection. Attentive and friendly service. Overall a great evening!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice evening.

Dined on April 27, 2016

Good food. Good service. Knowledgeable waitstaff. Made for a nice evening for a birthday dinner. Would like to see a larger variety of price points for wines by the glass.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on April 27, 2016

We could not have asked for anything better. The entire evening was exceptional

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely...and delicious!!

Dined on April 26, 2016

Service, view, great lunch menu...all in all one fine dining experience! Had melt in your mouth delicious trout...and had mentioned my guest was retiring from Alverno's board after 25+ years and server congratulated her and brought a special dessert...a delicious surprise! Overall experience was certainly five star and will be #1 on my list of fine Milwaukee restaurants. Thanks so!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went there for our anniver ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

My wife and I went there for our anniversary and the staff accommodated all of my request to perfection. Our waiters were great we were shocked to have two. The atmosphere was very romantic and the scenery was top notch.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Disappointed

Dined on April 24, 2016

We were pleased with the greeting and the speed with which we were seated. The surroundings are lovely and our table was very satisfactory. The food disappointment was with the saltiness of the two different soups we ordered as well as the blandness of the cioppino. Sadly, the service for a restaurant of this level was also lacking. Water glasses were only filled by request and attention to details was lacking.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

If only...

Dined on April 24, 2016

When it comes to brunch, Harbor House is the clear favorite in the Milwaukee area. I took my family there for a birthday celebration and the food and dining experience in the restaurant was exceptional. It isn't inexpensive but, unlike most brunches, there weren't any offerings that were not top rated. Unfortunately upon leaving and getting valet to bring my (new) car up I found my tire vandalized and punctured. The brunch got way more expensive as the restaurant has been less than forthcoming in getting this resolved ($300 for the tire replacement and a tow). I'll either become a regular customer or will avoid Bartolotta restaurants and will continue to seek out other great choices in the Milwaukee area.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Long omelet wait

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had a reservation for 2 at 11:45 am on Sun 04/24/2016. We had to wait 15 minutes. We saw tables available. We were told we were waiting for people to get up. Once we were seated we went to the omelet station and to our surprise and others in line, there were only two omelet cooks. For the amount of people this took some time standing in line waiting for an omelet. Other than this everything else was great at the restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great, fresh fish. Wonderful ambiance an ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great, fresh fish. Wonderful ambiance and great service. Another very enjoyable meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Seafood

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our waiter made excellent suggestions - we were all very pleased with our appetizers, salads and entrees. No room for dessert but they looked fabulous!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Not sure what the point of making a reservation is

Dined on April 23, 2016

I booked a table for two months prior to our reservation specifically asking for a window table with Lakeview when we arrived they gave us a table that was not near the window and not doing the lake this was for me and my wife's 10 year anniversary so then we were given A pager and told to wait 20 to 30 minutes even though I had booked this a month earlier. We finally had been paged and our table was again not directly in the window but slightly away from it as we had become hungry at this point we settled on it and did not want to wait any longer. The food and the service were good but I am not sure what the point of making a reservation is if you have to wait and you never get the table you asked for a month earlier. I don't mean to be a negative Nancy but this was me and my wife's 10 year anniversary and we specifically wanted a table by the window as entered in our reservation notes.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, scenic view, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.