Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi

About Hamptons

Featuring Regional American Cuisine with an Italian accent, all in a unique and inviting atmosphere. Hamptons combines American Fine Dining with an on-site bakery and market.
Located in the heart of South Carolina in the beautifully restored historic downtown setting of Sumter. Hamptons provides an ideal destination for top shelf business luncheons or relaxation and entertainment.
Executive Chef, Raffaele Dall’Erta, formerly of the Inn at Little Washington by way of Milan -Italy, offers classic weekday lunch menus, evening dinners and a casual menu outside in our Alleyway. ...
When you seek an exceptional dining experience for holiday parties, supper clubs, dinner parties and luncheons, Hamptons is the destination of choice. Let us tell you more about what we can provide.
We look forward to serving you and your guest!




Thank You and Best Regards

The Staff at Hamptons

4 West Hampton Avenue
Sumter, SC 29150
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm;
Sunday Brunch 11am - 2pm
Bakery & Fresh Market Hours: Tuesday - 10:30am - 3:00pm and Wednesday -Friday 10:30am - 6:00pm;
Outdoor Dining Wednesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 774-4400

Website:
http://www.hamptonsfoods.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment every Friday night.

See our website for details or check us out on Facebook

Catering:
Seal the Deal or Celebrate in Style.

Hamptons can accommodate up to 120 guests for private functions in our Main Room off premise events to 600. Ideal for business or social gatherings, with the ability to offer special services for any private or corporate event, including wine tastings and seminars, audio-visual presentations, and more..

Parking Details:
City lot on west side of building.

Public Transit:
Hamptons is happy to arrange for Limo or taxi service with prior notice.

Executive Chef:
Raffaele Dall'Erta

Private Party Facilities:
Seal the Deal or Celebrate in Style.
Hamptons can accommodate up to 120 guests for private functions. Ideal for business or social gatherings, with the ability to offer special services for any private or corporate event, including wine tastings and seminars, audio-visual presentations, and more..

Private Party Contact:
Mary Jones: (877) 346-1140

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something special going on at Hamptons.
Hamptons is now serving brunch!
Featuring an array of contemporary and classic dishes every Sunday from 11am til 2pm
Reservations accepted for parties of 5 or more

Hamptons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
See All
Romantic (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Business Meals (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Fun (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Casual (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Cozy (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Live Music (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Authentic (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great Beer (3)
Organic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
733 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious, creative, soul-feeding food. Waitstaff is superb, the chef is of the gods. Worth a long drive, flight, walk. Get there, love it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Wife's bday. We have come fairly often. Always enjoy the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I've always enjoyed the menu selections. Probably the most exciting thing about the menu menu is that I find every bite to be a different taste sensation. Presentation was beautiful. But there were so many different little flavor nuances to the items that it is really a treat. The chef does an excellent job of exciting the pallet. My most recent visit I ordered the pork chop and it was without a doubt one of the best restaurant meals I have ever had. My husband, a meat and potatoes guy, had a filet and he was in heaven. A great bottle of wine, and good friends made the evening very nice. The restaurant is not large, so make reservations. Dress was better casual but no jacket required.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Aimee provided excellent service. She was very friendly and helpful in us making a decision on menu choices. She was right. All the staff that we interacted with displayed wonderful customer service. My wife put your location on her Facebook page. We will be back with family and friends in the near future.

Theodore

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I always love my trips to Hampton's. Great food, great wine, great service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Brunch was amazing from the food to the service. It was hard to decide on what to order because everything looked so good. I went with the chicken tinga rancheros with corn tortillas, poached egg, local corn, onions, peppers, pico de galllo and lime crema it made me feel like I was in Austin, Texas. My husband had the fried quail, homestyle gravy and grits. We are never able to pass up on the blueberry pancakes; we had those for dessert. Great job Hamptons!

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

My wife and I have eaten here several times over the years. Unfortunately it seems to have gone down hill a bit lately. The last few times we have been there, the place has been empty. On Saturday night the starters and entrees were excellent. However, the tonic in my gin and tonic was flat and the after dinner coffee was weak. The wait staff was friendly and attentive but inexperienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Wedding Anniversary for us. Always wanted to try the restaurant. Drove 60 miles, about 29 minutes late, greeter seemed miffed but she thought could seat us (note: there weren’t but six diners in the entire place when we arrived and all gone when we left). Décor was exceptional. All tables were heavy wooden with table cloths. Waiter was prompt and courteous. He forgot to bring extra napkins and hot tea, but was pleasant when reminded. Menu appeared limited. We ordered ‘chicken and waffles’ which we had never had. It is a southern dish, tasty and filling although waffles for dinner seems a little strange. We ordered the only available soup on the menu, new corn chowder with shrimp. Again, maybe a southern dish we were unfamiliar with. It tasted good and was the filler of the meal rather than the chicken strips.
We were given two cupcakes as an anniversary, which was appreciated.
Price surprisingly a moderately priced for a lunch (2 pm). It appeared the dinner starting a 5 pm was double the lunch price. All in all, the event pleasant but not fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Best food around, not just the local area. The Hampton's can compete with any restaurant anywhere. We went here one last time before we have to head back to Texas. To me this is upscale dining with all the riches of South Carolina cuisine.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Healthy, Fun, Casual, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Always a great night at Hamptons!! Started out with local Cantaloupe with Prosciutto that was delicious. The Carolina Grouper was my main course that was cooked to perfection. Thank you Hamptons for a great meal and service. I can't wait to come back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I really wanted to like Hampton's after seeing the glowing reviews on Yelp. Perhaps it would have been better for dinner. We went for Father's Day brunch and I'm afraid I was extremely underwhelmed. Again, maybe it was just the items we ordered. My husband and son are big fans of chicken and waffles and I went for the pozole soup and salad. The chicken tenders that came with the waffles were among the blandest I've ever tasted--not just lacking in flavor but they tasted as if they hadn't been salted at all. My soup, on the other hand, was flavorful but the ingredients were too jumbled and I didn't see where it included the hominy that I was expecting. The salad was fine but nothing special and I've had better. The servers were nice and helpful and the prices weren't terrible but I just don't think I'd go again...

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The food and service was excellent! The restaurant is very clean and inviting. The staff all seemed to work together. That is always nice to see.
Over all we had a very good dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Everything was great, except for the flies that I had to fight the whole time that we were enjoying our meal with....We sat at the bar, and the door to the patio area was continually opened and closed.....Other than that, great place, great food, great service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great food and service as always. Thanks for making my night special!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My husband & I needed a night out together. The food, service and atmosphere was absolutely wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Very pleasant friends get together dinner. Will return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Local Favorite with lots of character and professionals that know how to do food, service, and presentation right. Never had a bad experience. Everything is made on site and from scratch. Bakery is first quality and always fresh.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Outstanding cuisine! The steaks are perfect and the atmosphere is quaint

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The chef is amazing and the waitstaff is friendly and efficient. This is our favorite place to eat.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This was a very enjoyable experience, high quality service, wonderful menu selection. The Sea Bass was outstanding as well as the Spinach Ravioli. I almost forgot the Bread Pudding with Ice Cream

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Always excellent. Never disappointed. It's our favorite restaurant and we're glad it's in Sumter!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We have been here a total of three times and each dining experience was outstanding. Excellent food, drinks and deserts.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Absolutely wonderful experience! We love dining at Hamptons fine dining!

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Very pleasant. Looking forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Absolutely a southern gem!! Food is out of this world.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Hamptons is a great local restaurant with very good food. It is well-managed and very upscale. There is an outdoor part that's good for drinks and music, and an inside part that is dressier

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We love the Sunday brunch. The menu is unique and delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was excellent. I had a steak cooked to perfection and my wife had a great shrimp pasta dish. We had a reservation and were promptly seated.upon arrival.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great food as always. This isn't the best restaurant in Sumter or even South Carolina. It is one of the best anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Wonderful food !!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Absolutely the best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Never disappointed

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Wonderful food, great atmosphere. Perfect for a date night or evening business meeting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We enjoyed our evening very much. The tenderloin my friend and I both ordered was not quite up to its usual quality, but it was still tasty. The desserts and coffee were a nice way to end the evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We usually make reservations for special occasions. The food and service are wonderful. Always such a treat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Perfect osso bucco.

Get the angel hair pasta with black truffle.
Everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was delicious and service outstanding! Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Amazing chicken, beef tenderloins, pasta with black truffle!!!
The truffle was particularly fragrant.
Salads were also fantastic. Best food anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The Hamptons is the place to go. I had the classic corn chowder with shrimp to start with that was the best I have had. I decided to go with the pan roasted striped Bass with parmsean grits and vegetables for my main course. . The menu had alot of great choices . I have to go back to try more. Thanks for a great evening and great service. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.