About Hamptons

4 West Hampton Avenue
Sumter, SC 29150
View Larger Map

Featuring Regional American Cuisine with an Italian accent, all in a unique and inviting atmosphere. Hamptons combines American Fine Dining with an on-site bakery and market.
Located in the heart of South Carolina in the beautifully restored historic downtown setting of Sumter. Hamptons provides an ideal destination for top shelf business luncheons or relaxation and entertainment.
Executive Chef, Raffaele Dall’Erta, formerly of the Inn at Little Washington by way of Milan -Italy, offers classic weekday lunch menus, evening dinners and a casual menu outside in our Alleyway. ...
When you seek an exceptional dining experience for holiday parties, supper clubs, dinner parties and luncheons, Hamptons is the destination of choice. Let us tell you more about what we can provide.
We look forward to serving you and your guest!




Thank You and Best Regards

The Staff at Hamptons

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm;
Sunday Brunch 11am - 2pm
Bakery & Fresh Market Hours: Tuesday - 10:30am - 3:00pm and Wednesday -Friday 10:30am - 6:00pm;
Outdoor Dining Wednesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 774-4400

Website:
http://www.hamptonsfoods.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment every Friday night.

See our website for details or check us out on Facebook

Catering:
Seal the Deal or Celebrate in Style.

Hamptons can accommodate up to 120 guests for private functions in our Main Room off premise events to 600. Ideal for business or social gatherings, with the ability to offer special services for any private or corporate event, including wine tastings and seminars, audio-visual presentations, and more..

Parking Details:
City lot on west side of building.

Public Transit:
Hamptons is happy to arrange for Limo or taxi service with prior notice.

Executive Chef:
Raffaele Dall'Erta

Private Party Facilities:
Seal the Deal or Celebrate in Style.
Hamptons can accommodate up to 120 guests for private functions. Ideal for business or social gatherings, with the ability to offer special services for any private or corporate event, including wine tastings and seminars, audio-visual presentations, and more..

Private Party Contact:
Mary Jones: 8773461140

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something special going on at Hamptons.
Hamptons is now serving brunch!
Featuring an array of contemporary and classic dishes every Sunday from 11am til 2pm
Reservations accepted for parties of 5 or more

Restaurant Photos

  • Excellent Restaurant - Hamptons, Sumter, SC
Excellent Restaurant - Hamptons, Sumter, SC

Hamptons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.6

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
Best Ambiance
South Carolina
8 More
Best Value
South Carolina
Romantic
South Carolina
American
South Carolina
Best Overall
Columbia
Best Food
Columbia
Best Service
Columbia
Best Ambiance
Columbia
Best Value
Columbia
Best Restaurants in Sumter ›

Good for Anniversaries (15)
Romantic (10)
Special Occasion (9)
See All
Good for a Date (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Authentic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Business Meals (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Cozy (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Live Music (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fireplace (3)
Vegan (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
Organic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
627 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

From the moment we entered Hamptons the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

From the moment we entered Hamptons the service was good, in fact better than good. Very accommodating yet unintrusive. My husband started with a salad that was lovely in appearance and the layers of flavor excellent. I had the corn and shrimp chowder that has a light cream base, bacon and just enough potato to balance the flavors. Unfortunately, the corn, although probably freshly cut from the cob, was tough which is not unusual for end of the season. Overall the flavors were delicious and I can't wait to try it again next summer. Although I am not prone to ordering chicken when dining out, I chose this dish because the combination of veggies accompanying the chicken sounded wonderful. The chicken was moist and, as described, the veggies and potatoes were superb. My husband said his ravioli was excellent. Although we were pleasantly full, we splurged on an apple pie and ice cream - both made in-house - that was delicious with a tender crust served in an individual skillet. Yum!

The only negatives - The lights were very bright but we were told the remote was being fixed. I would also suggest music a little more mellow and conducive to fine dining and romantic evenings.

The drive back to Columbia was pleasant but we decided next trip we'll call Uber. Many thanks to Velvet who made our evening extra special.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I have eaten at Hamptons several times. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I have eaten at Hamptons several times. The Gumbo Soup with the Rock Shrimp was absolutely delicious to start out. Then I had to order the Spanish Octopus Carpaccio that was out of this world. I couldn't stop there I then had the Apple Braised Rabbit with Carrots that melted in your mouth. The Chef made a surprised appearance ,the staff was amazing ,the wine was great with my meal that the server recommended. I can't thank Hamptons enough for the great experience. It's was absolutely wonderful. Thank you for a great night.

Tags: Healthy, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Cozy, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Found this restaurant through Open Table ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Found this restaurant through Open Table and visited when in town for a meeting. Excellent food, great atmosphere.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We both ordered the the ribeye, Her's wa ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We both ordered the the ribeye, Her's was good, mine was full of fat & gristle.

The cost of the ribeye was $36. Knowing how bad mine was, I wouldn't have

paid $5.00. Other than that everything else was okay. I should have sent mine

back but You never know when you'll get another & by then my date is full &

ready to go. We took boxes home with us but even then when I tried finishing it.

I couldn't help wondering how they got such a bad cut of meat. It was probably

the worse ribeye I have ever had in my life. Again her ribeye was good??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Hampton's has always been a special plac ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Hampton's has always been a special place to go to have a great meal and wonderful evening with your special someone or friends. The Chef creates wonderful meal that satisfies the taste-buds and makes them happy. The wait staff seem to know the right time to serve you or attend to your needs. The atmosphere allows you to have a conversation without having to talk loud.

Great place for special occasions.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated anniversary with my beautiful ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Celebrated anniversary with my beautiful wife. Meal was good, and the service was excellent. I would recommend Hampton's, as it provided us a very nice experience for our special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I have never had a bad experience at the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I have never had a bad experience at the Hamptons. If you want a special night with amazing service this is the place. Wonderful food, great ambiance, fantastic beverages, you really just can't go wrong. It is pricey but it's most definitely worth it's cost.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful dinner with my wife. Ham ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner with my wife. Hamptons continues to delight with great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our occasion was my wife's birthday. Ou ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our occasion was my wife's birthday. Our awesome experience began as soon as we were seated as the menus we were given had been personalized with Birthday well wishes and my wife's first name. During the wine selection our waiter was knowledgeable and could call comparable selection as to what I actually requested. During the course of the meal he anticipated our needs without hovering and let us enjoy the ambiance of the evening/setting. I had requested to be away from the front entrance and my requests was me and thought the restaurant became busy during our stay we were left in a area of solitude until there was no other tables available for arriving diners. The meal was superb as was the overall experience. We were able to quickly relate the Hampton's experience to the 5 star restaurants we enjoyed during our nine years in Europe. Have no qualms booking again.

Tags: Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated wife's birthday. Food delici ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Celebrated wife's birthday. Food delicious. Wait stay exemplary. No rush. Wife really pleased. Chef came out and spoke to us. Memorable evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We took another couple who had never bee ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We took another couple who had never been, and I was a bit nervous that I might have built it up too much with them. I needn't have worried -- it was fabulous from the moment we walked in until we left. The service itself is worth going there for -- they don't miss a single trick, and should win an Olympic gold for delivering all entrees simultaneously! We will definitely go back on a regular basis. This is Sumter's BEST kept secret.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, excellent service, excel ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service, excellent wine.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great night out to end a busy w ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a great night out to end a busy week. Thanks Hampton's for allowing us to do it right here in Sumter.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a fine meal supported by exce ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We enjoyed a fine meal supported by excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a really nice brunch here. Th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We enjoyed a really nice brunch here. The waffle was perfectly done. Nice atmosphere. Service was attentive. I definitely plan to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic, Hampton's ! We had our Board ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Fantastic, Hampton's ! We had our Board Dinner and everyone was pleased with the Meal and Service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been here several times now and t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 30, 2016

I have been here several times now and the food is always amazing! It doesnt matter if you are outside in the alley listening to live music or inside enjoying a romantic meal this place is always worth the money. I have never had bad service. I highly recommend this place to anyone who enjoys food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoy having this fine restaurant in ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We enjoy having this fine restaurant in Sumter, that continues to delight each and every time. We no longer have to travel to have great food and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner!

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had another perfect evening at Hamptons. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Had another perfect evening at Hamptons. The food is amazing and the staff truly add to the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I enjoyed a rare opportunity ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 2, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a rare opportunity for a date night at Hamptons. Our server was such a joy and recommend the tenderloin which was perfection. We are very lucky to have a restaurant of this caliber In our community. Thanks for making our night so memorable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I like the diverse menu changes we see e ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 25, 2016

I like the diverse menu changes we see each time we dine at Hamptons -always been good food and service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice restaurant. Excellent service ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Excellent service and food was good. Dessert is not to be missed. Try the sampler for sure! Small tastes of many of Hamptons' delicious treats.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was wonderful! Lovely place, lovel ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was wonderful! Lovely place, lovely people, amazing food.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You won't be disappointed. Excellent fo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 16, 2016

You won't be disappointed. Excellent food. The chef was incredible. Great service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Evelyn and I had the most wonderful time ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Evelyn and I had the most wonderful time celebrating our 25th anniversary with the Hamptons people. The food is incredible, the atmosphere is perfect and Velvet is the greatest gem. We're definitely looking forward to finding another reason to going back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 1st time dining here as we ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 12, 2016

This was our 1st time dining here as we just moved to the area. The in laws were in town and they are a bit in the picky side so we were in search of a place for a nice Sunday Brunch. After a little research I made reservations for 11:30am on Sunday.

I was presently surprised with the entire experience. We had come from another small town in NM and even "well reviewed" restaurants were underwhelming, so I was thinking this may be more of the same. However I was wrong! The staff and service were very friendly and knowledgable. The food was delicious and really hit the spot for a Sunday Brunch. The in laws were even impressed, which is no small feat and a special shout out to the manager that came over after the father in law asked for a business card. The manager was very nice and entertained all his questions for nearly 20mins. We will definitely be back and highly recommended it to anyone looking for a nice and more upscale place in Sumter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our 52 anniversary and was a spec ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 11, 2016

It was our 52 anniversary and was a special occasion. We were greeted, had a great seats,. The food was even greater, the service was even better. A GREAT EXPERIENCE!!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Chef

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Chef Raf creates delightful dishes. I love how he incorporates seasonal and local vegetables in his dishes. Velvet Wieble is attentive and knows her customers. Unique dining experience with a "at home" atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 8, 2016

What a great place to go for a special occasion. The food was superb and the service was great. We highly recommend The Hamptons for a great night out

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for brunch

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Though they messed up my order three times (I asked for no meat in omelet and it came out with lobster and ham first time then lobster second time!), they were very gracious and the final (third) omelet was delicious!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Outstanding Chef. Great appetizers. Cr ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Outstanding Chef. Great appetizers. Crab Cakes were as good as those cooked by family members. Main Course, four different ones, enjoyed by each patron. Wine excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I love dining at Hamptons. The menu chan ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2016

I love dining at Hamptons. The menu changes daily so it is always a delight to read through the chef's selections. The food is always fresh and prepared deliciously.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice Dinner Spot

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Very nice and quiet place. Great staff. Food was great. Very elegant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite food in Sumter

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 5, 2016

The combination of flavors in every dish is remarkable. The chef is very creative in his choice of ingredients. I am well on the way of trying every single dish on the menu and every new dish discovery is a wonderful experience. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drinks, food and service were excellent. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Drinks, food and service were excellent. Have been here before for special occasions and was equally great. Little pricey but would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Hampton Dining Experience

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2016

We enjoyed excellent food with exceptional service at reasonable price.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not as good as usual but still great

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 9, 2016

The service was outstanding. The food had a few minor flaws. Both my wife and I ordered beef dishes. The cuts of meat were excellent but the requested Rare came out Medium. I asked for horseradish on the side and was told that they did not have any in the restaurant. They did say that they tried to source it at another restaurant on the block. The brownie desert was good but the crème Brule was not as good as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Still Great!

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 2, 2016

We've been driving over three hours to meet family here several times a year (they drive two hours)--and we're always happy with the experience. The food is delicious and creative, but not pretentious, and the service is impeccable. A real gem in an out-of-the-way place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Service....as always!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 31, 2016

Velvet was extremely responsive and most accommodating. This is a standard for The Hamptons and we've never been disappointed. Food was prepared in a timely fashion, presented well, and lived up to The Hampton's reputation for the highest of dining pleasures. Exceptionally good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.