About Hamptons

4 West Hampton Avenue
Sumter, SC 29150
View Larger Map

Featuring Regional American Cuisine with an Italian accent, all in a unique and inviting atmosphere. Hamptons combines American Fine Dining with an on-site bakery and market.
Located in the heart of South Carolina in the beautifully restored historic downtown setting of Sumter. Hamptons provides an ideal destination for top shelf business luncheons or relaxation and entertainment.
Executive Chef, Raffaele Dall’Erta, formerly of the Inn at Little Washington by way of Milan -Italy, offers classic weekday lunch menus, evening dinners and a casual menu outside in our Alleyway. ...
When you seek an exceptional dining experience for holiday parties, supper clubs, dinner parties and luncheons, Hamptons is the destination of choice. Let us tell you more about what we can provide.
We look forward to serving you and your guest!




Thank You and Best Regards

The Staff at Hamptons

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm;
Sunday Brunch 11am - 2pm
Bakery & Fresh Market Hours: Tuesday - 10:30am - 3:00pm and Wednesday -Friday 10:30am - 6:00pm;
Outdoor Dining Wednesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 774-4400

Website:
http://www.hamptonsfoods.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment every Friday night.

See our website for details or check us out on Facebook

Catering:
Seal the Deal or Celebrate in Style.

Hamptons can accommodate up to 120 guests for private functions in our Main Room off premise events to 600. Ideal for business or social gatherings, with the ability to offer special services for any private or corporate event, including wine tastings and seminars, audio-visual presentations, and more..

Parking Details:
City lot on west side of building.

Public Transit:
Hamptons is happy to arrange for Limo or taxi service with prior notice.

Executive Chef:
Raffaele Dall'Erta

Private Party Facilities:
Seal the Deal or Celebrate in Style.
Hamptons can accommodate up to 120 guests for private functions. Ideal for business or social gatherings, with the ability to offer special services for any private or corporate event, including wine tastings and seminars, audio-visual presentations, and more..

Private Party Contact:
Mary Jones: 8773461140

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something special going on at Hamptons.
Hamptons is now serving brunch!
Featuring an array of contemporary and classic dishes every Sunday from 11am til 2pm
Reservations accepted for parties of 5 or more

Restaurant Photos

  • Excellent Restaurant
Excellent Restaurant

Hamptons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Food
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
10 More
Best Value
South Carolina
Notable Wine List
South Carolina
American
South Carolina
Best Overall
Columbia
Best Food
Columbia
Best Service
Columbia
Best Ambiance
Columbia
Best Value
Columbia
Fit for Foodies
Columbia
Special Occasion
Columbia
Best Restaurants in Sumter ›

Special Occasion (34)
Notable Wine List (27)
Fit for Foodies (23)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Romantic (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Great for Brunch (12)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
620 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We took another couple who had never bee ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 7 days ago

We took another couple who had never been, and I was a bit nervous that I might have built it up too much with them. I needn't have worried -- it was fabulous from the moment we walked in until we left. The service itself is worth going there for -- they don't miss a single trick, and should win an Olympic gold for delivering all entrees simultaneously! We will definitely go back on a regular basis. This is Sumter's BEST kept secret.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, excellent service, excel ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service, excellent wine.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed a really nice brunch here. Th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We enjoyed a really nice brunch here. The waffle was perfectly done. Nice atmosphere. Service was attentive. I definitely plan to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic, Hampton's ! We had our Board ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Fantastic, Hampton's ! We had our Board Dinner and everyone was pleased with the Meal and Service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been here several times now and t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I have been here several times now and the food is always amazing! It doesnt matter if you are outside in the alley listening to live music or inside enjoying a romantic meal this place is always worth the money. I have never had bad service. I highly recommend this place to anyone who enjoys food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I just love this restaurant. The food is ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I just love this restaurant. The food is incredible, all of the staff are so welcoming and such a joy. Hamptons is my happy place!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoy having this fine restaurant in ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We enjoy having this fine restaurant in Sumter, that continues to delight each and every time. We no longer have to travel to have great food and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had another perfect evening at Hamptons. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Had another perfect evening at Hamptons. The food is amazing and the staff truly add to the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I enjoyed a rare opportunity ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a rare opportunity for a date night at Hamptons. Our server was such a joy and recommend the tenderloin which was perfection. We are very lucky to have a restaurant of this caliber In our community. Thanks for making our night so memorable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I like the diverse menu changes we see e ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I like the diverse menu changes we see each time we dine at Hamptons -always been good food and service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The staff at Hamptons is always so invit ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The staff at Hamptons is always so inviting and makes your night out very special. Every dish we had was absolute perfection. Without a doubt our favorite restaurant in South Carolina.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice restaurant. Excellent service ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Excellent service and food was good. Dessert is not to be missed. Try the sampler for sure! Small tastes of many of Hamptons' delicious treats.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was wonderful! Lovely place, lovel ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was wonderful! Lovely place, lovely people, amazing food.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You won't be disappointed. Excellent fo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

You won't be disappointed. Excellent food. The chef was incredible. Great service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Evelyn and I had the most wonderful time ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Evelyn and I had the most wonderful time celebrating our 25th anniversary with the Hamptons people. The food is incredible, the atmosphere is perfect and Velvet is the greatest gem. We're definitely looking forward to finding another reason to going back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 1st time dining here as we ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This was our 1st time dining here as we just moved to the area. The in laws were in town and they are a bit in the picky side so we were in search of a place for a nice Sunday Brunch. After a little research I made reservations for 11:30am on Sunday.

I was presently surprised with the entire experience. We had come from another small town in NM and even "well reviewed" restaurants were underwhelming, so I was thinking this may be more of the same. However I was wrong! The staff and service were very friendly and knowledgable. The food was delicious and really hit the spot for a Sunday Brunch. The in laws were even impressed, which is no small feat and a special shout out to the manager that came over after the father in law asked for a business card. The manager was very nice and entertained all his questions for nearly 20mins. We will definitely be back and highly recommended it to anyone looking for a nice and more upscale place in Sumter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our 52 anniversary and was a spec ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

It was our 52 anniversary and was a special occasion. We were greeted, had a great seats,. The food was even greater, the service was even better. A GREAT EXPERIENCE!!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Chef

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Chef Raf creates delightful dishes. I love how he incorporates seasonal and local vegetables in his dishes. Velvet Wieble is attentive and knows her customers. Unique dining experience with a "at home" atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

What a great place to go for a special occasion. The food was superb and the service was great. We highly recommend The Hamptons for a great night out

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for brunch

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Though they messed up my order three times (I asked for no meat in omelet and it came out with lobster and ham first time then lobster second time!), they were very gracious and the final (third) omelet was delicious!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Outstanding Chef. Great appetizers. Cr ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Outstanding Chef. Great appetizers. Crab Cakes were as good as those cooked by family members. Main Course, four different ones, enjoyed by each patron. Wine excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I love dining at Hamptons. The menu chan ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I love dining at Hamptons. The menu changes daily so it is always a delight to read through the chef's selections. The food is always fresh and prepared deliciously.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice Dinner Spot

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Very nice and quiet place. Great staff. Food was great. Very elegant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite food in Sumter

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

The combination of flavors in every dish is remarkable. The chef is very creative in his choice of ingredients. I am well on the way of trying every single dish on the menu and every new dish discovery is a wonderful experience. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drinks, food and service were excellent. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Drinks, food and service were excellent. Have been here before for special occasions and was equally great. Little pricey but would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Hampton Dining Experience

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We enjoyed excellent food with exceptional service at reasonable price.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not as good as usual but still great

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The service was outstanding. The food had a few minor flaws. Both my wife and I ordered beef dishes. The cuts of meat were excellent but the requested Rare came out Medium. I asked for horseradish on the side and was told that they did not have any in the restaurant. They did say that they tried to source it at another restaurant on the block. The brownie desert was good but the crème Brule was not as good as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Still Great!

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We've been driving over three hours to meet family here several times a year (they drive two hours)--and we're always happy with the experience. The food is delicious and creative, but not pretentious, and the service is impeccable. A real gem in an out-of-the-way place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Service....as always!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Velvet was extremely responsive and most accommodating. This is a standard for The Hamptons and we've never been disappointed. Food was prepared in a timely fashion, presented well, and lived up to The Hampton's reputation for the highest of dining pleasures. Exceptionally good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Quite frankly this was one of the best meals I've had in a long time....and I visit fine dining establishments regularly.....taste and presentation were exceptional!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From drinks & appetizers to dinner we we ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

From drinks & appetizers to dinner we were impressed. We had a chicken dish, Tilefish, which I've never had before and loved it and the Duck. Everyone ate every bite on their plates. The service was outstanding. We don't live here but if we did we would be regulars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had clients in for meetings and they ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

We had clients in for meetings and they were blown away with this great place in Sumter SC!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hamptons is the Place for Great Food

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Hamptons menu selections are always very enticing and the variety is great. I have always been very pleased with the quality of the food and the service is unmatched.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

thanks for a great evening

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Just wanted to say a great big Thank You for a truly amazing evening the staff at Hamptons made for us. My husband and I had such a great time. This restaurant never misses a beat. Everything from the food to the service is extraordinary. Great for Sumter, even better for the state of South Carolina.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a special treat Hamptons is! This i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

What a special treat Hamptons is! This is by far our favorite restaurant in South Carolina. The food and service are impeccable, please try them out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful restaurant

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Our dining experience at Hamptons was out of this world. It was quite a busy night and the restaurant had such a great energy to it. Every staff member they have goes out of their way to take such great care of you and it is completely genuine. The food is amazing, 5 stars all the way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great evening out

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

This was our second visit to Hampton's. It is a 45 minute drive but worth making the trip. We invited friends to dine with us and we were all impressed with our experience. The only thing thta would have made it better is if we had been able to eat more. Fast becoming one of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BEST IN SUMTER

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

There is no better than Hampton in the tri-county area. Wine service excellent, plate presentation exceptional and taste is outstanding. My niece, who was with us from Maine, is herself an owner of a fine dining restaurant in Kennebunkport and was very impressed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just the best

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants! The food is consistently great. Everyone, from hostess to servers, is very nice and helpful. All the desserts are amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The scallops are consistently excellent, ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

The scallops are consistently excellent, even when they change the recipe.

The seasonal salad was a very nice surprise, also excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.