Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi

About Hamptons

Featuring Regional American Cuisine with an Italian accent, all in a unique and inviting atmosphere. Hamptons combines American Fine Dining with an on-site bakery and market.
Located in the heart of South Carolina in the beautifully restored historic downtown setting of Sumter. Hamptons provides an ideal destination for top shelf business luncheons or relaxation and entertainment.
Executive Chef, Raffaele Dall’Erta, formerly of the Inn at Little Washington by way of Milan -Italy, offers classic weekday lunch menus, evening dinners and a casual menu outside in our Alleyway. ...
When you seek an exceptional dining experience for holiday parties, supper clubs, dinner parties and luncheons, Hamptons is the destination of choice. Let us tell you more about what we can provide.
We look forward to serving you and your guest!




Thank You and Best Regards

The Staff at Hamptons

4 West Hampton Avenue
Sumter, SC 29150
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm;
Sunday Brunch 11am - 2pm
Bakery & Fresh Market Hours: Tuesday - 10:30am - 3:00pm and Wednesday -Friday 10:30am - 6:00pm;
Outdoor Dining Wednesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 774-4400

Website:
http://www.hamptonsfoods.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment every Friday night.

See our website for details or check us out on Facebook

Catering:
Seal the Deal or Celebrate in Style.

Hamptons can accommodate up to 120 guests for private functions in our Main Room off premise events to 600. Ideal for business or social gatherings, with the ability to offer special services for any private or corporate event, including wine tastings and seminars, audio-visual presentations, and more..

Parking Details:
City lot on west side of building.

Public Transit:
Hamptons is happy to arrange for Limo or taxi service with prior notice.

Executive Chef:
Raffaele Dall'Erta

Private Party Facilities:
Seal the Deal or Celebrate in Style.
Hamptons can accommodate up to 120 guests for private functions. Ideal for business or social gatherings, with the ability to offer special services for any private or corporate event, including wine tastings and seminars, audio-visual presentations, and more..

Private Party Contact:
Mary Jones: (877) 346-1140

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something special going on at Hamptons.
Hamptons is now serving brunch!
Featuring an array of contemporary and classic dishes every Sunday from 11am til 2pm
Reservations accepted for parties of 5 or more

Hamptons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (19)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Romantic (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Business Meals (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Modern Decor (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Cozy (4)
Casual (4)
Healthy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fireplace (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Live Music (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Authentic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
699 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We enjoyed our evening very much. The tenderloin my friend and I both ordered was not quite up to its usual quality, but it was still tasty. The desserts and coffee were a nice way to end the evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We usually make reservations for special occasions. The food and service are wonderful. Always such a treat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Perfect osso bucco.

Get the angel hair pasta with black truffle.
Everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was delicious and service outstanding! Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Amazing chicken, beef tenderloins, pasta with black truffle!!!
The truffle was particularly fragrant.
Salads were also fantastic. Best food anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The Hamptons is the place to go. I had the classic corn chowder with shrimp to start with that was the best I have had. I decided to go with the pan roasted striped Bass with parmsean grits and vegetables for my main course. . The menu had alot of great choices . I have to go back to try more. Thanks for a great evening and great service. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Cozy, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Kid-friendly, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Absolutely phenomenal! I had eaten here many times for lunch but this was my first dinner visit. Food was spectacular, great wine list, even got dessert which I never do but don't regret. Perfect date night. One of the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food and service. Highly recommend. ................,,,,

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Everyone in my extended family love this restaurant. In addition, for health reasons I am on gluten free and very low sodium diet. The chef does a really great job with special dietary requirements.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food unfortunately the service was slow and the restaurant wasn't even full

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our go to place for a special meal. They accommodate special requests for seating and privacy while having a wait staff that accommodates and anticipates the diner's needs while not being lingering or intrusive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent service with a great meal.
The rack of lamb was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food and the service were very good, as usual. A special place for a special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Not great to be the first table in the restaurant and then have every table following you seated directly around and next to you while the rest of the establishment is empty. Made dinner uncomfortable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful 32nd anniversary dinner. I had the bass dish and my wife had the shrimp. Both were done to perfection. We were too full for dessert this time but plan to return soon. The service was outstanding as well!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Very nice dinner. Had the short rib ravioli appetizer, which was phenomenal. Then for entrees we shared the mushroom ravioli and the grilled Ribeye. Everything was cooked to perfection and we had an excellent bottle of wine to go along with it. Staff was courteous and helpful.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This would be the WORST dining experience I have ever had. I emailed and called the restaurant several days prior to my reservation to order a cake and no one ever got back with me. This should have been my first clue that my expectations would not be met. To begin with we were seated and literally waited 45 minutes just to get some bread and our salads. I requested lemon and the waitress did not bring it until I requested this again and she stated "Oh, it's coming." Never apologized for anything. When we requested bread again, she did not offer any apologies and had an attitude. She did not keep our glasses full and seemed annoyed when we asked for refills on our beverages. The wait staff then attempted to take my mother's plate off the table while she was still eating!! They did not bother to ask if she was finished with her meal. This is the most incompetent wait staff and service I have ever experienced at a restaurant. We requested to speak with the manager and he offered no apologizes for the poor service even though I spent well over $400 at this restaurant! Needless to say, I do not plan on returning nor would I recommend this restaurant to anyone!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It has become a tradition for my granddaughter and me to have Brunch at the Hampton the Sunday before her birthday for the past few years. She looks forward to it each year. Thank you for making her 18th birthday as special as previous years.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Me - cup of corn chowder and duck a l'orange. The best of both I've ever had. Not to mention the bok choy and parsnips with some kind of rice and sweet potato cream thing ... awesome

Wife - rack of lamb, Yukon gold mashed potatoes, mushrooms and kale. She said it's a 10 out of 10 and in the top five meals she's ever eaten.

We split a dessert which was a coconut ice cream in a chocolate shell with a peanut butter chocolate mousse to which she said after the fist bite "I need this in my life every day".

Very friendly attentive staff. Come try it you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at Hamptons tonight and it was wonderful. They made us feel as though we were the only ones in the restaurant on our special night, and even customized our menus to wish us a happy anniversary. The food was very tasty and the desserts capped the evening off perfectly. Thank you, Hamptons, for always going above and beyond to make dinner special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was excellent. However, the prices were extremely high. It was New Year's Eve and we expected to see a nice crowd celebrating the occasion. Instead we were disappointed to find we were only one of four or five tables! We had made reservations online and were led to believe we got one of the few remaining tables!!! When we arrived, the hostess showed us to a two top table. We asked for a larger table since there were many available. Then we were moved to a table right in front of the kitchen. I asked about another table and we were told they were all reserved. If they were, no one showed! Then we felt rushed. The evening was very disappointing. Could have stayed at home and dined by ourselves.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The Hamptons lived up to all of the reviews I read before going. The staff was very attentive but not overly so. The food was different but excellent. A little on the pricey side. We took a piece of strawberry cake home. It was out of this world good. Will go again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was perfect. They even had sweetbreads!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food. Great for a special night out. They made my wife feel very special on her birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Had a grest meal here, surprised to find that quality in that town

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 9, 2016

This is a world class restaurant with an inviting atmosphere, an ever-changing menu, and food to die for. It sports a friendly bar, a long bar table where you can eat while watching the chef at work, and a varied dining room setup suitable for large groups or intimate dining for a couple. The service is friendly, efficient, and unobtrusive. The tab is a tad pricey, but your definitely get what you pay for, well worth the hour's drive I spend to get there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Drove from Aiken to Sumter for a performance at the opera house . Hamptons made the trip special.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Fabulous food and wine! Wonderful evening, thanks Hamptons!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 26, 2016

From the moment we entered Hamptons the service was good, in fact better than good. Very accommodating yet unintrusive. My husband started with a salad that was lovely in appearance and the layers of flavor excellent. I had the corn and shrimp chowder that has a light cream base, bacon and just enough potato to balance the flavors. Unfortunately, the corn, although probably freshly cut from the cob, was tough which is not unusual for end of the season. Overall the flavors were delicious and I can't wait to try it again next summer. Although I am not prone to ordering chicken when dining out, I chose this dish because the combination of veggies accompanying the chicken sounded wonderful. The chicken was moist and, as described, the veggies and potatoes were superb. My husband said his ravioli was excellent. Although we were pleasantly full, we splurged on an apple pie and ice cream - both made in-house - that was delicious with a tender crust served in an individual skillet. Yum!

The only negatives - The lights were very bright but we were told the remote was being fixed. I would also suggest music a little more mellow and conducive to fine dining and romantic evenings.

The drive back to Columbia was pleasant but we decided next trip we'll call Uber. Many thanks to Velvet who made our evening extra special.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I have eaten at Hamptons several times. The Gumbo Soup with the Rock Shrimp was absolutely delicious to start out. Then I had to order the Spanish Octopus Carpaccio that was out of this world. I couldn't stop there I then had the Apple Braised Rabbit with Carrots that melted in your mouth. The Chef made a surprised appearance ,the staff was amazing ,the wine was great with my meal that the server recommended. I can't thank Hamptons enough for the great experience. It's was absolutely wonderful. Thank you for a great night.

Tags: Healthy, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Cozy, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Found this restaurant through Open Table and visited when in town for a meeting. Excellent food, great atmosphere.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We both ordered the the ribeye, Her's was good, mine was full of fat & gristle.
The cost of the ribeye was $36. Knowing how bad mine was, I wouldn't have
paid $5.00. Other than that everything else was okay. I should have sent mine
back but You never know when you'll get another & by then my date is full &
ready to go. We took boxes home with us but even then when I tried finishing it.
I couldn't help wondering how they got such a bad cut of meat. It was probably
the worse ribeye I have ever had in my life. Again her ribeye was good??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Hampton's has always been a special place to go to have a great meal and wonderful evening with your special someone or friends. The Chef creates wonderful meal that satisfies the taste-buds and makes them happy. The wait staff seem to know the right time to serve you or attend to your needs. The atmosphere allows you to have a conversation without having to talk loud.
Great place for special occasions.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Celebrated anniversary with my beautiful wife. Meal was good, and the service was excellent. I would recommend Hampton's, as it provided us a very nice experience for our special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I have never had a bad experience at the Hamptons. If you want a special night with amazing service this is the place. Wonderful food, great ambiance, fantastic beverages, you really just can't go wrong. It is pricey but it's most definitely worth it's cost.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner with my wife. Hamptons continues to delight with great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our occasion was my wife's birthday. Our awesome experience began as soon as we were seated as the menus we were given had been personalized with Birthday well wishes and my wife's first name. During the wine selection our waiter was knowledgeable and could call comparable selection as to what I actually requested. During the course of the meal he anticipated our needs without hovering and let us enjoy the ambiance of the evening/setting. I had requested to be away from the front entrance and my requests was me and thought the restaurant became busy during our stay we were left in a area of solitude until there was no other tables available for arriving diners. The meal was superb as was the overall experience. We were able to quickly relate the Hampton's experience to the 5 star restaurants we enjoyed during our nine years in Europe. Have no qualms booking again.

Tags: Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Celebrated wife's birthday. Food delicious. Wait stay exemplary. No rush. Wife really pleased. Chef came out and spoke to us. Memorable evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We took another couple who had never been, and I was a bit nervous that I might have built it up too much with them. I needn't have worried -- it was fabulous from the moment we walked in until we left. The service itself is worth going there for -- they don't miss a single trick, and should win an Olympic gold for delivering all entrees simultaneously! We will definitely go back on a regular basis. This is Sumter's BEST kept secret.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service, excellent wine.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.