About Hamptons

4 West Hampton Avenue
Sumter, SC 29150
View Larger Map

Featuring Regional American Cuisine with an Italian accent, all in a unique and inviting atmosphere. Hamptons combines American Fine Dining with an on-site bakery and market.
Located in the heart of South Carolina in the beautifully restored historic downtown setting of Sumter. Hamptons provides an ideal destination for top shelf business luncheons or relaxation and entertainment.
Executive Chef, Raffaele Dall’Erta, formerly of the Inn at Little Washington by way of Milan -Italy, offers classic weekday lunch menus, evening dinners and a casual menu outside in our Alleyway. ...
When you seek an exceptional dining experience for holiday parties, supper clubs, dinner parties and luncheons, Hamptons is the destination of choice. Let us tell you more about what we can provide.
We look forward to serving you and your guest!




Thank You and Best Regards

The Staff at Hamptons

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm;
Sunday Brunch 11am - 2pm
Bakery & Fresh Market Hours: Tuesday - 10:30am - 3:00pm and Wednesday -Friday 10:30am - 6:00pm;
Outdoor Dining Wednesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 774-4400

Website:
http://www.hamptonsfoods.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment every Friday night.

See our website for details or check us out on Facebook

Catering:
Seal the Deal or Celebrate in Style.

Hamptons can accommodate up to 120 guests for private functions in our Main Room off premise events to 600. Ideal for business or social gatherings, with the ability to offer special services for any private or corporate event, including wine tastings and seminars, audio-visual presentations, and more..

Parking Details:
City lot on west side of building.

Public Transit:
Hamptons is happy to arrange for Limo or taxi service with prior notice.

Executive Chef:
Raffaele Dall'Erta

Private Party Facilities:
Seal the Deal or Celebrate in Style.
Hamptons can accommodate up to 120 guests for private functions. Ideal for business or social gatherings, with the ability to offer special services for any private or corporate event, including wine tastings and seminars, audio-visual presentations, and more..

Private Party Contact:
Mary Jones: 8773461140

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something special going on at Hamptons.
Hamptons is now serving brunch!
Featuring an array of contemporary and classic dishes every Sunday from 11am til 2pm
Reservations accepted for parties of 5 or more

Restaurant Photos

  • Excellent Restaurant
Excellent Restaurant

Hamptons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Food
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
11 More
Best Value
South Carolina
American
South Carolina
Best Overall
Columbia
Best Food
Columbia
Best Service
Columbia
Best Ambiance
Columbia
Best Value
Columbia
Fit for Foodies
Columbia
Neighborhood Gem
Columbia
Romantic
Columbia
Special Occasion
Columbia
Best Restaurants in Sumter ›

special occasion (38)
notable wine list (27)
fit for foodies (26)
See All
neighborhood gem (25)
romantic (22)
great for outdoor dining (16)
great for lunch (15)
good for groups (13)
great for brunch (10)
hot spot (6)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
609 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I like the diverse menu changes we see e ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

I like the diverse menu changes we see each time we dine at Hamptons -always been good food and service

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice restaurant. Excellent service ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Excellent service and food was good. Dessert is not to be missed. Try the sampler for sure! Small tastes of many of Hamptons' delicious treats.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was wonderful! Lovely place, lovel ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was wonderful! Lovely place, lovely people, amazing food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You won't be disappointed. Excellent fo ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

You won't be disappointed. Excellent food. The chef was incredible. Great service!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Evelyn and I had the most wonderful time ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Evelyn and I had the most wonderful time celebrating our 25th anniversary with the Hamptons people. The food is incredible, the atmosphere is perfect and Velvet is the greatest gem. We're definitely looking forward to finding another reason to going back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our 52 anniversary and was a spec ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

It was our 52 anniversary and was a special occasion. We were greeted, had a great seats,. The food was even greater, the service was even better. A GREAT EXPERIENCE!!!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Chef

Dined on June 9, 2016

Chef Raf creates delightful dishes. I love how he incorporates seasonal and local vegetables in his dishes. Velvet Wieble is attentive and knows her customers. Unique dining experience with a "at home" atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

Dined on June 8, 2016

What a great place to go for a special occasion. The food was superb and the service was great. We highly recommend The Hamptons for a great night out

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Great for brunch

Dined on May 22, 2016

Though they messed up my order three times (I asked for no meat in omelet and it came out with lobster and ham first time then lobster second time!), they were very gracious and the final (third) omelet was delicious!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding Chef. Great appetizers. Cr ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Outstanding Chef. Great appetizers. Crab Cakes were as good as those cooked by family members. Main Course, four different ones, enjoyed by each patron. Wine excellent.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I love dining at Hamptons. The menu chan ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I love dining at Hamptons. The menu changes daily so it is always a delight to read through the chef's selections. The food is always fresh and prepared deliciously.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Dinner Spot

Dined on May 7, 2016

Very nice and quiet place. Great staff. Food was great. Very elegant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite food in Sumter

Dined on May 5, 2016

The combination of flavors in every dish is remarkable. The chef is very creative in his choice of ingredients. I am well on the way of trying every single dish on the menu and every new dish discovery is a wonderful experience. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Drinks, food and service were excellent. ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Drinks, food and service were excellent. Have been here before for special occasions and was equally great. Little pricey but would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hampton Dining Experience

Dined on April 22, 2016

We enjoyed excellent food with exceptional service at reasonable price.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Not as good as usual but still great

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

The service was outstanding. The food had a few minor flaws. Both my wife and I ordered beef dishes. The cuts of meat were excellent but the requested Rare came out Medium. I asked for horseradish on the side and was told that they did not have any in the restaurant. They did say that they tried to source it at another restaurant on the block. The brownie desert was good but the crème Brule was not as good as usual.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still Great!

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

We've been driving over three hours to meet family here several times a year (they drive two hours)--and we're always happy with the experience. The food is delicious and creative, but not pretentious, and the service is impeccable. A real gem in an out-of-the-way place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Service....as always!

Dined on March 31, 2016

Velvet was extremely responsive and most accommodating. This is a standard for The Hamptons and we've never been disappointed. Food was prepared in a timely fashion, presented well, and lived up to The Hampton's reputation for the highest of dining pleasures. Exceptionally good!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Food

Dined on March 25, 2016

Quite frankly this was one of the best meals I've had in a long time....and I visit fine dining establishments regularly.....taste and presentation were exceptional!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

From drinks & appetizers to dinner we we ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

From drinks & appetizers to dinner we were impressed. We had a chicken dish, Tilefish, which I've never had before and loved it and the Duck. Everyone ate every bite on their plates. The service was outstanding. We don't live here but if we did we would be regulars.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had clients in for meetings and they ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

We had clients in for meetings and they were blown away with this great place in Sumter SC!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hamptons is the Place for Great Food

Dined on March 12, 2016

Hamptons menu selections are always very enticing and the variety is great. I have always been very pleased with the quality of the food and the service is unmatched.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

thanks for a great evening

Dined on March 10, 2016

Just wanted to say a great big Thank You for a truly amazing evening the staff at Hamptons made for us. My husband and I had such a great time. This restaurant never misses a beat. Everything from the food to the service is extraordinary. Great for Sumter, even better for the state of South Carolina.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What a special treat Hamptons is! This i ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

What a special treat Hamptons is! This is by far our favorite restaurant in South Carolina. The food and service are impeccable, please try them out!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant

Dined on March 10, 2016

Our dining experience at Hamptons was out of this world. It was quite a busy night and the restaurant had such a great energy to it. Every staff member they have goes out of their way to take such great care of you and it is completely genuine. The food is amazing, 5 stars all the way.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great evening out

Dined on March 4, 2016

This was our second visit to Hampton's. It is a 45 minute drive but worth making the trip. We invited friends to dine with us and we were all impressed with our experience. The only thing thta would have made it better is if we had been able to eat more. Fast becoming one of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BEST IN SUMTER

Dined on March 2, 2016

There is no better than Hampton in the tri-county area. Wine service excellent, plate presentation exceptional and taste is outstanding. My niece, who was with us from Maine, is herself an owner of a fine dining restaurant in Kennebunkport and was very impressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just the best

Dined on February 28, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants! The food is consistently great. Everyone, from hostess to servers, is very nice and helpful. All the desserts are amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The scallops are consistently excellent, ...

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

The scallops are consistently excellent, even when they change the recipe. The seasonal salad was a very nice surprise, also excellent.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Place in Sumter

Dined on February 26, 2016

We recently had a business conference in Sumter, SC and found this gem quite by accident. The service was the best I have had anywhere in quite some time. The food was excellent and arrived quickly. The table bread was fresh and refills were provided automatically. The greater and sommelier was quite knowledgeable and helped our wine drinkers select a cabernet sauvignon for their meal. The appetizers were generous: I had the divers scallops with rib; and the entrees were very appealing visually: I had the asparagus ravioli. Portions were large without being heavy or cumbersome, and they unfortunately left us too full to sample the delicious-looking desert bar just over our shoulder. It appears all desserts and bread are made onsite, and again, if the table bread was any indication, then the desserts themselves must be pretty impressive. The only notable drawback was the noise level. The establishment is in a converted warehouse or some similar building, and while it did not interfere with our conversation, the reverberating noise might dissuade customers wishing a particularly quiet evening. One final note on the service. We were commenting on the decor to the lead server, and she remarked that we needed to see their partner establishment, the SideBar, located out a back door and through a converted alleyway, which itself serves as outdoor dining during warmer months. We were unable to stay for a drink, but the bar looked enticing. Notably, staff from both establishments seemed genuinely proud to show off their businesses, and every single one of them extended their thanks for spending the evening with them.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The asparagus ravioli was amazing. The ...

Dined on February 25, 2016

The asparagus ravioli was amazing. The manager was even kind enough to coach me on a wine pairing. This place never disappoints and would earn a Michelin star if available in South Carolina.

food5
ambience5
service5

Had guest from Washington DC and they w ...

Dined on February 24, 2016

Had guest from Washington DC and they were thrilled!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow, What a Gem!

Dined on February 21, 2016

If you want to feel like a million bucks and completely pampered then you need to go to Hamptons. Every waitstaff member makes you feel like you are the only person they are taking care of. We've been to a lot of fine dining restaurants around the world and this one is truly a special experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

The black bean soup was to die for. It w ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

The black bean soup was to die for. It was so good that when we go back I may have that and a salad. My husband had the pork chop and thought it was tasty but it wasn't as hot as it should be. I had the shrimp with pasta and vegetables and it was only fair. Needed to be kicked up a notch. For dessert we shared a huge piece of coconut cake. The cake was really light and yummy! Really nicely decorated restaurant. We will definitely go back.

food5
ambience5
service4

Our first trip here was a lovely evening ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Our first trip here was a lovely evening. Food was generally light and scrumptious. Great sauces. Dessert was not heavy and I wish it had been a bit more sweet. Service was attentive and pleasant. Overall very nice.

food5
ambience5
service5

Once again we had an amazing time at Ham ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Once again we had an amazing time at Hamptons. This restaurant never disappoints. Service is thoughtful and and never misses a beat and the food is tremendous

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Amazing

Dined on February 19, 2016

Every time we come to Hamptons we have a wonderful experience. It is like going to a fine dining restaurant in the big city in a small town. Service is thoughtful and friendly and the food is great!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nicest restaurant in Sumter!

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

We enjoyed our delicious meal at Hamptons. We had the Cuban black bean soup (nicely spiced but not too spicy), tilefish entree served with corn salsa and white rice, the mixed green salad with dried apricots and goat cheese, rack of lamb served with collards and potatoes, and chocolate bread pudding with caramel sauce and rum raisin ice cream. Everything was perfect! The wine list is good for the area, lots of selections to choose from. We will be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

just perfect, as usual

Dined on February 17, 2016

Hampton's is my favorite restaurant, and there was nothing in my recent experience to disappoint. The watermelon molasses glaze on that big old green tea-brined pork chop was sublime, quite unlike any other taste i've had. And, having Chef come out for a long chat was a treat, as it always is. Nothing here not to like.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed Valentine brunch! The food was d ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Enjoyed Valentine brunch! The food was delicious and everyone was very friendly. The guy at checkin was not very inviting, but everyone else made up for it! Can't wait to try lunch and dinner!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.