Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi

About Hamptons

Featuring Regional American Cuisine with an Italian accent, all in a unique and inviting atmosphere. Hamptons combines American Fine Dining with an on-site bakery and market.
Located in the heart of South Carolina in the beautifully restored historic downtown setting of Sumter. Hamptons provides an ideal destination for top shelf business luncheons or relaxation and entertainment.
Executive Chef, Raffaele Dall’Erta, formerly of the Inn at Little Washington by way of Milan -Italy, offers classic weekday lunch menus, evening dinners and a casual menu outside in our Alleyway. ...
When you seek an exceptional dining experience for holiday parties, supper clubs, dinner parties and luncheons, Hamptons is the destination of choice. Let us tell you more about what we can provide.
We look forward to serving you and your guest!




Thank You and Best Regards

The Staff at Hamptons

4 West Hampton Avenue
Sumter, SC 29150
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm;
Sunday Brunch 11am - 2pm
Bakery & Fresh Market Hours: Tuesday - 10:30am - 3:00pm and Wednesday -Friday 10:30am - 6:00pm;
Outdoor Dining Wednesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 774-4400

Website:
http://www.hamptonsfoods.com/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment every Friday night.

See our website for details or check us out on Facebook

Catering:
Seal the Deal or Celebrate in Style.

Hamptons can accommodate up to 120 guests for private functions in our Main Room off premise events to 600. Ideal for business or social gatherings, with the ability to offer special services for any private or corporate event, including wine tastings and seminars, audio-visual presentations, and more..

Parking Details:
City lot on west side of building.

Public Transit:
Hamptons is happy to arrange for Limo or taxi service with prior notice.

Executive Chef:
Raffaele Dall'Erta

Private Party Facilities:
Seal the Deal or Celebrate in Style.
Hamptons can accommodate up to 120 guests for private functions. Ideal for business or social gatherings, with the ability to offer special services for any private or corporate event, including wine tastings and seminars, audio-visual presentations, and more..

Private Party Contact:
Mary Jones: (877) 346-1140

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There’s always something special going on at Hamptons.
Hamptons is now serving brunch!
Featuring an array of contemporary and classic dishes every Sunday from 11am til 2pm
Reservations accepted for parties of 5 or more

Hamptons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Romantic (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Business Meals (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Casual (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Cozy (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Authentic (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Fireplace (3)
Family Style (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Historic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Healthy (3)
Live Music (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
721 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

I really wanted to like Hampton's after seeing the glowing reviews on Yelp. Perhaps it would have been better for dinner. We went for Father's Day brunch and I'm afraid I was extremely underwhelmed. Again, maybe it was just the items we ordered. My husband and son are big fans of chicken and waffles and I went for the pozole soup and salad. The chicken tenders that came with the waffles were among the blandest I've ever tasted--not just lacking in flavor but they tasted as if they hadn't been salted at all. My soup, on the other hand, was flavorful but the ingredients were too jumbled and I didn't see where it included the hominy that I was expecting. The salad was fine but nothing special and I've had better. The servers were nice and helpful and the prices weren't terrible but I just don't think I'd go again...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The food and service was excellent! The restaurant is very clean and inviting. The staff all seemed to work together. That is always nice to see.
Over all we had a very good dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Everything was great, except for the flies that I had to fight the whole time that we were enjoying our meal with....We sat at the bar, and the door to the patio area was continually opened and closed.....Other than that, great place, great food, great service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 4, 2017

My husband & I needed a night out together. The food, service and atmosphere was absolutely wonderful.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Local Favorite with lots of character and professionals that know how to do food, service, and presentation right. Never had a bad experience. Everything is made on site and from scratch. Bakery is first quality and always fresh.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Outstanding cuisine! The steaks are perfect and the atmosphere is quaint

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The chef is amazing and the waitstaff is friendly and efficient. This is our favorite place to eat.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This was a very enjoyable experience, high quality service, wonderful menu selection. The Sea Bass was outstanding as well as the Spinach Ravioli. I almost forgot the Bread Pudding with Ice Cream

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Always excellent. Never disappointed. It's our favorite restaurant and we're glad it's in Sumter!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We have been here a total of three times and each dining experience was outstanding. Excellent food, drinks and deserts.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Absolutely wonderful experience! We love dining at Hamptons fine dining!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Historic, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Very pleasant. Looking forward to returning.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Absolutely a southern gem!! Food is out of this world.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Hamptons is a great local restaurant with very good food. It is well-managed and very upscale. There is an outdoor part that's good for drinks and music, and an inside part that is dressier

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We love the Sunday brunch. The menu is unique and delicious.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was excellent. I had a steak cooked to perfection and my wife had a great shrimp pasta dish. We had a reservation and were promptly seated.upon arrival.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great food as always. This isn't the best restaurant in Sumter or even South Carolina. It is one of the best anywhere.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Wonderful food !!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Absolutely the best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Never disappointed

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Wonderful food, great atmosphere. Perfect for a date night or evening business meeting!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We enjoyed our evening very much. The tenderloin my friend and I both ordered was not quite up to its usual quality, but it was still tasty. The desserts and coffee were a nice way to end the evening.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We usually make reservations for special occasions. The food and service are wonderful. Always such a treat!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Perfect osso bucco.

Get the angel hair pasta with black truffle.
Everything was perfect.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was delicious and service outstanding! Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Amazing chicken, beef tenderloins, pasta with black truffle!!!
The truffle was particularly fragrant.
Salads were also fantastic. Best food anywhere.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The Hamptons is the place to go. I had the classic corn chowder with shrimp to start with that was the best I have had. I decided to go with the pan roasted striped Bass with parmsean grits and vegetables for my main course. . The menu had alot of great choices . I have to go back to try more. Thanks for a great evening and great service. I can't wait to go back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Cozy, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Kid-friendly, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Absolutely phenomenal! I had eaten here many times for lunch but this was my first dinner visit. Food was spectacular, great wine list, even got dessert which I never do but don't regret. Perfect date night. One of the best!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food and service. Highly recommend. ................,,,,

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Everyone in my extended family love this restaurant. In addition, for health reasons I am on gluten free and very low sodium diet. The chef does a really great job with special dietary requirements.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food unfortunately the service was slow and the restaurant wasn't even full

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our go to place for a special meal. They accommodate special requests for seating and privacy while having a wait staff that accommodates and anticipates the diner's needs while not being lingering or intrusive.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent service with a great meal.
The rack of lamb was delicious!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food and the service were very good, as usual. A special place for a special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Not great to be the first table in the restaurant and then have every table following you seated directly around and next to you while the rest of the establishment is empty. Made dinner uncomfortable.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful 32nd anniversary dinner. I had the bass dish and my wife had the shrimp. Both were done to perfection. We were too full for dessert this time but plan to return soon. The service was outstanding as well!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Very nice dinner. Had the short rib ravioli appetizer, which was phenomenal. Then for entrees we shared the mushroom ravioli and the grilled Ribeye. Everything was cooked to perfection and we had an excellent bottle of wine to go along with it. Staff was courteous and helpful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This would be the WORST dining experience I have ever had. I emailed and called the restaurant several days prior to my reservation to order a cake and no one ever got back with me. This should have been my first clue that my expectations would not be met. To begin with we were seated and literally waited 45 minutes just to get some bread and our salads. I requested lemon and the waitress did not bring it until I requested this again and she stated "Oh, it's coming." Never apologized for anything. When we requested bread again, she did not offer any apologies and had an attitude. She did not keep our glasses full and seemed annoyed when we asked for refills on our beverages. The wait staff then attempted to take my mother's plate off the table while she was still eating!! They did not bother to ask if she was finished with her meal. This is the most incompetent wait staff and service I have ever experienced at a restaurant. We requested to speak with the manager and he offered no apologizes for the poor service even though I spent well over $400 at this restaurant! Needless to say, I do not plan on returning nor would I recommend this restaurant to anyone!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It has become a tradition for my granddaughter and me to have Brunch at the Hampton the Sunday before her birthday for the past few years. She looks forward to it each year. Thank you for making her 18th birthday as special as previous years.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.