Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 6 times today

Hamptons

4.5
778 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Special Occasion
  • Creative Cuisine
Featuring Regional American Cuisine with an Italian accent, all in a unique and inviting atmosphere. Hamptons combines American Fine Dining with an on-site bakery and market.
Located in the heart of South Carolina in the beautifully restored historic downtown setting of Sumter. Hamptons provides an ideal destination for top shelf business luncheons or relaxation and entertainment.
Executive Chef, Raffaele Dall’Erta, formerly of the Inn at Little Washington by way of Milan -Italy, offers classic weekday lunch menus, evening dinners and a casual menu outside in our Alleyway. ...
When you seek an exceptional dining experience for holiday parties, supper clubs, dinner parties and luncheons, Hamptons is the destination of choice. Let us tell you more about what we can provide.
We look forward to serving you and your guest!




Thank You and Best Regards

The Staff at Hamptons
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Wednesday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm
Sunday Brunch 11am - 2pm
Rafters Bar : Wednesday - Saturday: 5pm - Until
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(803) 774-4400
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Raffaele Dall'Erta
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Seal the Deal or Celebrate in Style.
Hamptons can accommodate up to 120 guests for private functions. Ideal for business or social gatherings, with the ability to offer special services for any private or corporate event, including wine tastings and seminars, audio-visual presentations, and more..
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Mary Jones: (877) 346-1140
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Seal the Deal or Celebrate in Style.

Hamptons can accommodate up to 120 guests for private functions in our Main Room off premise events to 600. Ideal for business or social gatherings, with the ability to offer special services for any private or corporate event, including wine tastings and seminars, audio-visual presentations, and more..
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
City lot on west side of building.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Hamptons is happy to arrange for Limo or taxi service with prior notice.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live entertainment every Friday night.

See our website for details or check us out on Facebook
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
There’s always something special going on at Hamptons.
Hamptons is now serving brunch!
Featuring an array of contemporary and classic dishes every Sunday from 11am til 2pm
Reservations accepted for parties of 5 or more

Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 778 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.5
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on May 16, 2018

The new location is very nice and comfortable. The service was unusually poor. Server brought the wrong bottle of wine to the table, food delivery was slow and the bill was wrong. This is not the typical Service provided by Hampton’s.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Good and service great. A little more noise than optimal but not too bad. This was our first visit since they moved and will be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

We visited the Hamptons for a family dinner after graduation at the University of South Carolina. The hostess was incredibly accommodating as I changed the reservation time several times as the ceremony dragged on. Once we arrived, we were seated immediately. We were given a great table in the center of the restaurant and menus were personalized, congratulating my son on his graduation. What a lovely and surprisingly thoughtful touch! The restaurant itself is gorgeous. The tables are spaced far apart, the lighting is flattering and the sound system was unobtrusive. The artwork is stunning.
Once we were seated, things went downhill. There seemed to be a problem with the servers. Someone stopped by several times promising bread soon but it took an hour to arrive. And when it did it was two baguette slices hand delivered to our bread plates. You might think they were doling out gold bars. Our orders were taken and another server stopped by 10 minutes later to take our orders. The restaurant was less than half full so I did not understand the source of confusion. We had been seated for an hour and a half by the time our dinners arrived. By this point, it had been a very long day and I was no longer hungry. I ordered the scallops appetizer as an entree, as did my mother. They were perfectly cooked and delicious. The graduate has the bass, which he loved, my husband had a shrimp and pasta dish and my other son had the chicken. Everyone enjoyed their meal but the service was uneven.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

The Chef is an amazing talent. The GM led an attentive and pleasant staff. A 5 star experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Enjoyed our meal, service took a little longer than previously but everything was good and the waitresses very attentive and provided great service. appreciate the extra servers helping with bread and drinks too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

This was our first time in the new restaurant. It was fantastic!! The food and service have always been great but tonight it was exceptional! Our favorite waitress, Ashleigh, took great care of us and we can’t wait to go back!! Thanks for a great anniversary celebration!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Just what Sumter needed, a beautiful spot for dinner. Dress nice and treat yourself to a lovely meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Dined for my wife's birthday. Blown away by the ambiance, service, and taste of the food. The upstairs bar just knocked it out of the park for us.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Our group had a terrible experience! I felt as if we were treated as “unworthy” guests. Lots of snarky comments by the staff, empty water glasses, and one of the meals were brought out incorrect. We asked about having dessert and the comment made to us was “all the chef will be able to offer...”. I feel that was an inappropriate way to describe something to your customer. We also asked about having some bread before our dinner and were told “well you will have to pay for it”. Did we seem like we would not be able to? We were a very well dressed, well mannered group. Overall, I felt very unwelcome in this restaurant and our service was sub par. We will take our money elsewhere next time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We had brunch at 12 on a Sunday. The dining room is elegant and bright. Table and chairs were very comfortable. The food was perfect. The orders were all correct, and the service was on point. I would highly recommend Hampton's for Brunch or dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Another great experience. Service was great, food excellent and the restaurant is magnificent. Hard to believe it is in Sumter

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Love the new location!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Excellent!! This could easily be a top restaurant on upper King in Charleston.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Excellent as always

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Hamptons is a wonderful restaurant that never disappoints.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

I have been all around the world and I am totally satisfied and surprised to find a great place to dine out locally. The experience really made my night. Thanks !!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Great creative food . Service was exceptional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed our brunch at Hampton's after church on Sunday. Lot's of creative options to choose from on the brunch menu. I had the sausage and crawfish gumbo and the brisket hash, both were delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Great dinner and excellent dessert options - definitely worth the time and effort to go to Hampton’s.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

As usual did not disappoint! Service and food were excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

An absolutely wonderful dining experience! The service was exceptional and our meals were outstanding! We were celebrating my husbands birthday, they made it extra special with a personalized happy birthday message on our menus, and a visit by the chef. Thank you Hamptons for a very special evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

We invited friends to dine with us that have not been to Sumter's downtown in 13 years. They were astonished with the changes and quickly fell in love with Hamptons. They continuously complimented on the quality of the food, from the perfect prime rib to the light and delightful Carolina shrimp with pasta. Our friends commented " it's well worth the drive from Charlotte ".

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Nice brunch and attentive service. Really enjoyed the meal. Only issue was table was under a vent and we were a bit cold.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 22, 2017

Always a superb meal in a great atmosphere. Never disappointed!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

The service was outstanding, the birthday message on the menu was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 15, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service. Fried oyster appetizer was incredible. Try the Maine lobster with ravioli appetizer and the ribeye for entree.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 7, 2017

As always, Hamptons was a wonderful dining experience that didn’t disappoint. There were 7 of us and we all thoroughly enjoyed our dishes. My roasted eggplant ravioli was AMAZING, I will be getting that again. Impecccable service and delicious, creative dishes make Hamptons beyond reproach.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2017

The food has always been great when we go. However this time it seemed even better. Cant say enough about the pork raviolis for an appetizer.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 10, 2017

Our table of 4 had fish and steaks and everyone was happy. Ladies raved about the Australian Bass and short-rib ravioli starter. Good wine selection, a little pricey in the by-the-glass section. Wish we had saved room for dessert, they looked great passing our table.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 4, 2017

We were expecting a nice, quiet and romantic dinner for our anniversary, boy were we wrong. There was an extremely loud table a few tables back from us and we heard more of their conversation than we could our own. The food was good, but we probably won't be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 28, 2017

As Always Incredible .........Thanks, Byron Yahnis

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 25, 2017

Service was 3 stars. Normally a host(ess) will ask where we would like to be seated since it was fairly empty. She didn’t, rather we were tucked away in a corner. It made me feel unwelcomed.
Food was fantastic! Especially the salad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 18, 2017

Best in the state! Better than Charleston dinning!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 11, 2017

Velvet was our server and she was awesome. Food was fantastic and, as always the mood and ambiance was just right. Will continue to dine here. Best in SC.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 6, 2017

It was my wife’s birthday and they printed special menus for her! That was the first time we’ve ever experienced anything like that. The food was amazing and the whole dining experience was on point!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 23, 2017

I am my wife are foodies coming from the NYC Tri-state area. We have visited many restaurants over the years and actually take pride in scoring different cuisines. We must say that the chef at the Hamptons is awesome because the food was incredible. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 22, 2017

Best restaurant in the area for special occasions. Outstanding food and service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 22, 2017

Taking my husband to Hampton's for his birthday has become somewhat of a tradition. He likes coming here for this occasion, and I don't mind taking him, but I just wish that their servers were more friendly and accommodating. Each time I've been there I've never felt like my presence was valued or appreciated. Yes, they did their job and they were friendly enough, but it wasn't the type of service I expect from a fine dining establishment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 15, 2017

Really good chef. Best food in the area. We all had something different and everything was cooked well and good. Our go to place now for special occasions. We're from Florence.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 15, 2017

The setting, the meal and the service were all superb. We dine at the Hamptons on a recurring basis for special occasions. This most recent experience matched all of our previous visits; outstanding.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
20