Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Hampton Street Vineyard

For fine dining in Columbia, SC, be sure to visit Hampton Street Vineyard. Our philosophy of food and wine is simple and straightforward. We use local products when possible, classic techniques at all times and make ourselves available to the influences of far-flung cuisines.

Our menu changes quarterly in order to utilize each seasons unique offerings, keep the kitchen engaged and creative and of course to ensure your interest, entertainment and curiosity in this fine dining experience.

Your server is well trained and passionate about food and wine. Please don’t hesitate to inquire about the preparation of our dishes or the nuances of our extensive wine list. Relax and enjoy. Thank you.

1201 Hampton Street
Columbia, SC 29201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 252-0850

Website:
http://www.hamptonstreetvineyard.com/

Parking Details:
Parking Garage across the street next to the Marriott Hotel, or the corner of Sumter and Taylor

Executive Chef:
William Murphy

Private Party Facilities:
Hampton Street Vineyard is available for private parties up to seventy people depending on your requirements. Through the years we have hosted many Wedding rehearsal dinners, corporate functions, sales meetings, and the National Trial Lawyers Association monthly dinners. We"ll rent you the whole place. Just let us know and we'll close our doors to the rest of the world for your special function.

We also have the "Wine Room" available for smaller groups, this room will accommodate up to ten people and is available at no extra charge. It's a great place for you and your friends to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries or conduct small business and sales meetings. Please make reservations for this room as soon as possible because of the high demand.

Private Party Contact:
Leigh Talmadge: (803) 252-0850

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Hampton Street Vineyard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Romantic (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Business Meals (12)
Cozy (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Authentic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Historic (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Private Room (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Casual (2)
Live Music (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
540 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

They have the best fried oysters in Columbia when available. Plus everything else is always great. I had the salmon and my wife had the beet salad and chicken-kale soup which was soup of the day and both were excellent. Service is always excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Great Beer, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Incredible!!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Chose Hampton St to celebrate an early Mothers Day dinner for a dear friend I wouldn't be able to see on the actual day of. They didn't disappoint! I had the duck and it was presented well and cooked to perfection. She had the crab cakes and said they were delicious. Since I have seafood allergies our server was very attentive to those as well. We chose a nice bottle of wine to go with our meal. It had been years since I'd eaten there (I live out of town), but I won't wait that long again! Thank you Hampton St for helping me make Mothers Day special for a very special person!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had dinner in celebration of my daughters graduation from university. The ambiance was beautiful, service was great, wine was very good with a wide selection, food was very tasty and everone enjoyed their meal. They could stand a wider food menu selection. My 16 year old son (somewhat picky eater) wanted the ceasar salad on the menu but wanted to add chicken; at first they were not sure the chef would do that, but when dinner was served, they brought out a wonderful ceasar with grilled chicken. My daughter needed gluten free options which they did not have on the menu but they worked to accommodate her needs and she was able to have a very tasty steak and veges. They put the sauce on top of the steak which they should have either asked her or put it on the side if not sure. Overall, it was a perfect dinner celebration and we'd definitely recommend to our friends and family

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The food is always interesting and well prepared and I often get an appetizer and a salad to make a meal. Usually the noise level is low enough to enjoy conversation without having to shout and that's hard to find these days.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great service food was better than average. Noisy , always has been.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Has been too loud on many occasions but was not at all on this visit. Food was delicious. It's definitely the best uptown restaurant for lunch. I don't go anywhere else.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We had the Salmon and special bone in ribeye. Food was cooked perfect. Sides had wonderful flavor. Wine selection and pairings were on target . Service was attentive . Atmosphere was elegant but not stuffy.
We will definitely dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I love this restaurant , but this was not my best visit. The salmon was overdone and dry. The server did not ask how I wanted it cooked and that was a mistake. I was distracted by conversation and did not voice my preference -- so partly my oversight, but that doesn't totally excuse the restaurant. The dish was also "heavy" -on odd grains that really did not compliment the dish. My partner, however, thoroughly enjoyed his elk steak. It's not a deal breaker. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

table for two is small couldn't hold all the clutter - silverware, plates, bread basket and large bowl of oil and rosemary for dipping, add to this the wine glasses and bottle along with salt pepper and a candle - yikes - we were juggling.

Earthy fare - new tastes;

average service - slow to think about ice bucket for white wine, coffee was not fresh (I consider this a service detail).

Would go back as I like the ambiance and location.

Tags: Historic, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent choice when dining in Columbia. Steak was cooked to perfection. Sides were perfectly executed as well. Wonderfully paced meal. Exceptional wine selection. Decor and location lend to the feeling of upscale dining, very similar as to going out in NYC or D.C. Will definitely return and recommend to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Dinners were excellent, especially the scallops, cooked perfectly. The soup of the day, chicken and vegetable soup was wonderful, definitely homemade.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Great food! Great service! The soft shell crab was amazing! Highly recommend the Sangiovese wine by the glass!

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very disappointed. In the past we have really enjoyed our experience here. They were out of some of the dishes. Extremely small amount of scallops. Certainly did not relieve the hunger. The experience did not live up to our expectations .

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great wine, great service, and fun ambiance. Food value, not so much. We just wanted appetizers so ordered salads, soup, and oysters. The oysters were wonderful. Fried just right which can be hit or miss in some restaurants. The Caesar salads were tiny with not that much dressing or cheese for $8.00 which was ridiculous. Not even a small side salad size. My husband ordered some sort of beef soup which was not that wonderful either. All in all, we would go back when we are in Columbia because the atmosphere is great and the wine is perfect and a good value as well. We may skip the food and just order wine. The entrees that were being served looked really good. There were two young couples at the bar who had definitely had too much to drink which the bartender acknowledge but was very adept at handling. Oh well, we did sit at the bar, and it didn't bother us.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Lamb shank is awesome. As good as any I've had anywhere. Good service. Right up there with Motor Supply for Columbia restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was excellent. Food was fair. We each got 3 different entrees and all agreed. Establishment was EXTREMELY LOUD. So much that the server could not hear what I was saying and she was across the table from me. Felt like we were in a loud bar instead of a nice relaxing fine dining establishment. Did not enjoy that we felt like we had to yell to be heard at our own table.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Return after a year was disappointing. This used to be our "go to" downtown restaurant for special occasions. We haven't been there for a while but knew something was different when the server read off the specials. Instead of a French flare everything seem to be kind of Southwestern. I asked if there was a different chef and sure enough they changed chefs about a year ago. My dish was served with disregard to the food allergy I had specified.
Although I was disappointed I will try it one more time before I write it off my list because we have been coming here since it opened and have never been displeased before.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 21, 2017

First time visit, but not the last. Very good wine list, some familiar, some not; which we like. We were seated promptly, asked for a quiet table and they tried. This restaurant is VERY LOUD, so be prepared. We were not aware that they have several tables in the wine room which is completely separated from the main area and quiet. Would have been great to know that! Next time we'll reserve there. This area would also be good for a small party, max of 12 people. We shared an appetizer of flash fried oysters (8 to an order), good size and very crispy, with a nice remoulade type sauce, really good. Also shared the duck breast, ample serving and a wonderful sauce, plated with mashed sweet potato and green beans. All beautifully prepared and attractively plated. Also shared the cranberry bread pudding, not quite sweet enough for my taste but still nice. Best part of the evening was the service. Our server (wish I'd gotten his name) was fantastic. Just friendly enough, knew his wine and food menu thoroughly, and timed our meal nicely so we weren't hurried but got out in plenty of time for our concert. Overall, just a really nice experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

2nd visit at Hampton St Vineyard. Food and wine outstanding. Service good but not outstanding...waiters first night on job. Prior service outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We loved the entire experience of our meal. Steve our waiter was great and all of our food was very tasty and well presented. The owner of the establishment stopped by our table. She was friendly and we had a nice chat with her. Next time we are in Columbia SC we will go back there again.

Tags: Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service was excellent as was the meal. The only drawback and this is very slight is the noise , however would go back in heartbeat .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Love the food and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and environment. Fun with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Nice small restaurant but nothing over the top that would entice me to give it 5-stars. Service was very good, food was OK and restaurant decor was so so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We came based upon the many reviews. They were wrong. We had a meal with tasteless courses that were presented very sloppily. And, the dining room was filled with kithen exhaust leaving us smelling of fried foods. Our crabcakes were burned outside and cold inside with little flavor, bland crab? Our goat cheese was also burned and tasted as such. The elk chop was burned and charred with the center cold and mysteriously mushy. This chop was tossed atop a sloppy mixed mess of once individual foods. The NY Strip was not rare but a charred dry chunk of cardboard. However, our server was very nice and our cocktails excellent. Should we return it will only be for cocktails and then a real dinner elsewhere.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We entertained a native New Yorker who said Hampton Street reminded him of a number of his favorite New York restaurants, but at half the price!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Excellent wine list!! Wide price range and selection.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We really enjoyed our evening at The Hampton Street Vineyard. The wait staff and kitchen were particularly attentive to my wife's dietary restrictions and worked hard to be sure we had what we needed. The Lamb Shank was absolutely amazing... by far the best I've ever had. As the evening drew to a close, the owners invited us to hang out with them and some of their friends at a community table toward the front of the restaurant and we got to know them, learn about their passion for the business and get a private tour of their wine room. Great night, great people, awesome food. Highly, highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A group of six of us went for dinner on NYE and everything was absolutely outstanding!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We celebrated our 22nd wedding anniversary and it was a nice experience. Very quiet like we wanted. Our server Steve was very nice and knowledgeable about the food and drink choices. The food portion was adequate and the food itself was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Superb as usual. Michelle is the greatest! Always our favorite spot!!!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Very disappointing! Crab cake not fresh, tasted fishy. Chef tried to cover this with hot pepper. Oysters were good, but ovrall, very disappointed. All four of us were.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The food was creative, but not especially tasty. Venison Osso Buco was dry and tough; caramel bacon apple cheddar pie tasted like apple pie -- good, but no bacon. Not as good as I thought it would be. Maybe my expectations were too high.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 16, 2016

You don't have enough stars up here for this occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Best lunch in Columbia. 6 friends met for lunch and all were extremely pleased. When 5 women clean their plate it has to be great food. Very good and attentive wait staff as well.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Food is fantastic! The veal pot roast was delicious. Service excellent.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Food was phenomenal, as always. Did get loud at times during the night where I felt like I was shouting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I love this restaurant. The Menu is creative and has variety . The ambiance and service make for a very enjoyable experience. The crab cakes are amazing ! Nice wine selection also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Food was excellent, good flavors. Staff was kind and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.