Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Hampton Street Vineyard

For fine dining in Columbia, SC, be sure to visit Hampton Street Vineyard. Our philosophy of food and wine is simple and straightforward. We use local products when possible, classic techniques at all times and make ourselves available to the influences of far-flung cuisines.

Our menu changes quarterly in order to utilize each seasons unique offerings, keep the kitchen engaged and creative and of course to ensure your interest, entertainment and curiosity in this fine dining experience.

Your server is well trained and passionate about food and wine. Please don’t hesitate to inquire about the preparation of our dishes or the nuances of our extensive wine list. Relax and enjoy. Thank you.

1201 Hampton Street
Columbia, SC 29201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 252-0850

Website:
http://www.hamptonstreetvineyard.com/

Parking Details:
Parking Garage across the street next to the Marriott Hotel, or the corner of Sumter and Taylor

Executive Chef:
Nathan Park

Private Party Facilities:
Hampton Street Vineyard is available for private parties up to seventy people depending on your requirements. Through the years we have hosted many Wedding rehearsal dinners, corporate functions, sales meetings, and the National Trial Lawyers Association monthly dinners. We"ll rent you the whole place. Just let us know and we'll close our doors to the rest of the world for your special function.

We also have the "Wine Room" available for smaller groups, this room will accommodate up to ten people and is available at no extra charge. It's a great place for you and your friends to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries or conduct small business and sales meetings. Please make reservations for this room as soon as possible because of the high demand.

Private Party Contact:
Leigh Talmadge: (803) 252-0850

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Hampton Street Vineyard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Business Meals (8)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Fun (5)
Romantic (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Casual (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Cozy (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
576 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

The food is always so good. Excellent service for our group. This was a business dinner after a long day of meetings -- the perfect way to unwind.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

First visit and it was exactly what I was expecting. Very good wine list and cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 14, 2017

The food at Hampton Street is always amazing. Our waiter this time didn't seem to have his whole heart into being at work. After pouring our white wine he put it on the table and didn't bother to put it in the chiller that was adjacent to our table nor did he bother to refill our glasses throughout the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Creative menu in a cozy restaurant downtown
We're in town for the hurrivac, and what a great way to forget Irma for a short time. We both had the tomatillo-corn-jalapeno gazpacho: refreshing, spicy but not too much, moderated by the sweetness of fresh corn kernals. I ordered the seared ahi tuna with edamame. The tuna was incredibly tender and the dots of ginger-soy were a perfect complement to the fish. My husband had a special, grilled swordfish over mushroom risotto. A lovely swordfish steak, perfectly cooked; the risotto was delicious. Service was pleasant, friendly, and the atmosphere is fun. The small space at a level a few steps down from street has a European feel, and the French posters add to that atmosphere. We will definitely return, just hope it's not because of a hurricane.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Our server was EXCELLENT! The restaurant staff was kind and accommodating. The wine room seating provided a quiet ambiance, which we preferred over the noise level in the general restaurant. Thank you!!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Our meal was tastefully prepared and presented. We were well attended and served. The wine list is exceptional.
The hard walls, ceiling, and floor accentuate noise, and ventilation is not adequate, which caused food smells to permeate our clothing.
Would suggest a table near the entrance. The private room is likely a better place to dine.
In the top three of restaurants on Main Street.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Great food and service! Wine list is fantastic and extensive, biggest I've seen. My only complaint was the noise, way too loud. They need to figure out how to dampen it. We had a very large group next to our table, plus the bar was full. Everyone was trying to talk over each other. I felt like I had to yell at my wife so she could hear me. If you're looking for a quiet, romantic dinner you should look somewhere else.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great Meal. Flash fried Oyster starter was outstanding. Entree special, Swordfish with mussels and lobster bisque was excellent. Only minor negative was sitting in the smallish "Wine Cooler" area that was quite noisy.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Server could have been a bit more engaged...too bad. Cuisine was wonderful, wine list interesting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 21, 2017

This meal (second only to the total solar eclipse) was the highlight of our trip. The oysters were spectacular and the ravioli special was one of the best I've ever tasted. Not every restaurant can cook swordfish right, but this place did it exceptionally well. Lovely wine selection. Their location right across from the Marriott in the downtown area was an added bonus.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Went for lunch the day of the eclipse. Staff was very friendly and lunch menu had several good options. Solid choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2017

We were in town for the eclipse and had a very good meal here. Salads are small enough for 1 person. The entrees we had were Salmon, ribeye, scallops, vegetarian pad Thai and water buffalo special. Everyone enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The ambiance and service was very nice. Our dinners were good but not fantastic; however, the overall experience was nice and I would recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We stumbled onto HSV because we were in town for family and the eclipse and found a reservation on Open Table when previously there hadn't been any available options except for one restaurant I wasn't interested in. The availability occurred apparently because HSV decided to open on Sunday to serve folks coming to witness the eclipse. We were delighted. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable making good recommendations. The food was beautifully presented and delicious. The wines were reasonably priced and to our liking. This was our first time at HSV but I hope to have many more!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Lovely restaurant with delicious food. Seared Diver scallops with blue corn grits superb. Would return. The only negative is a very noisy dining room which would be hard for conversation. Alodia's has an open dining room similar to Hampton Street Vineyard but noise level much lower (Hampton Street should check to see how they dampen the noise). However, we were able to eat outside on a quiet street and balmy night. Delightful!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Hadn't been in a long time. Love the location and the food and the decor. But - like most restaurants these days, the noise level is way too high.
If I go back, it will be right when they open/slow time.
Hope they will consider working on that, like most of the places around town.
Gentle murmur is one things, but most places way surpass that :/

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Nice restaurant. Great service. Good cocktails and good selection of wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Food was good but didn't live up to the reputation. Server went to check in availability of fish special and confirmed it was available. About 10 minutes later she came back to apologize because the (larger) table next to us got the last special. Surprising given they sat after she took our order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great service by Will. Had a delightful meal and service was impeccable. We ordered drinks and wine then Appetizer-flash fried oysters. .served both hot and crispy. Nicely spaced out meal. Diver scallops, BlackSea Bass, and Buffalo. Each of our plates were beautiful and tasty. Even with desserts, the winner was the fried Apalachicola oysters. This was our second time eating here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food was absolutely delicious! Had the macaroni appetizer (best most gourmet Mac I've ever had) and the fish special (swordfish) as my entree. It was cooked to perfection! The service was outstanding and me and my mom have a new place to visit when she's in town!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Anniversary dinner. Seated in wine room without requesting! Certainly a special evening which they honored for us. Thank you Hampton Street Vineyard! Outstanding meal and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Knowledgeable waitstaff - well prepared entrees - extensive wine list - reasonably priced. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great food, great service, and setting. However, our meal was interrupted by a few visitors in the form of flying insects.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 18, 2017

I selected this restaurant for a business lunch since it was within walking distance of two of the four people in our group. We were seated quickly, and I was even able to request and receive use of the private "wine room" for our lunch, which included a business discussion. However, due to us being in the private room, our waiter didn't have us in the front of his mind during our time there, and, after waiting for a considerable amount of time, we had to find him to ask him to take our order and, later, to bring us our bill. Our waiter was very nice and took care of our needs when he was with us, but it seemed as if he forgot about us as he became busy with the lunch crowd in the rest of the establishment.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Hampton Street Vineyard is a gem in downtown Columbia, both for a cozy dining atmosphere and food. It has an exceptional wine list and is small enough to be intimate yet large enough to offer a diverse menu. My partner and I dined on a summer Saturday evening. In celebration of Bastile Day, I ordered the duck confit macaroni and cheese to start . Simply fabulous. My companion chose the cheese plate as he had ordered it previously and enjoyed the selections. He selected their Sancerre by the glass. Our server was informative without being pushy, prompt with hot bread, and apologetic that I had to wait a moment before bringing my hot appetizer after serving the cheese board. For the entree my choice of the water buffalo ribeye was deliciously flavorful, but more muscular than say, a beef ribeye steak. The side vegetables were tender and fresh, and not overcooked. The sea bass was equally enjoyed by my partner. Dessert was ice cream-basil ricotta, and our second time of having it there. Request that they leave off the shaved chocolate; it's perfect unadulterated. HSV has old world charm and should be a happy dining destination for locals as well as out of towners. The Marriott is located directly across the street. It may be tucked below street level-but it's top drawer dining.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great meal. Excellent wine selection. Menu has many options.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I had not been to this restaurant in years! I definitely will be back soon, though. Wonderful experience!
Cannot say enough about the entire evening. Fresh farm to table selections. Relaxed atmosphere. Wonderful wait staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Menu was not very extensive. I had reviewed the menu prior to the vist/most things were not offered. Waiter was not very flexible. Hostess was much more helpful.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Hampton Street Vineyard is a small restaurant that doesn't get a lot of press but has and excellent wine selection and the best food in Columbia. Very fresh and innovative with a changing menu depending on what they can get locally. Fresh made pasta and sauces are to die for... The staff is knowledgeable about the food and the wines. Must go for date nite.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Great dinner, had the fish (Tile) special and scallops. Both were excellent and well prepared. Good price for the quality of food. We do enjoy coming here when in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Fathers' Day celebration!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Hampton St., Vineyard is consistently excellent on all levels The food and service are always first-rate .I wish that my husband and I could eat there every night .

Tags: Fun, Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I love this place. Best restaurant in Columbia. The menu always surprises and the wine and knowledge of wine is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 30, 2017

i selected Hampton Street Vineyard because of the positive reviews and the comments so many made about being able to enjoy conversation in the environment. It was a lovely, quaint restaurant tucked below street level with an impressive ambiance but a very loud group at a nearby table made it very difficult to hear my table mates when we tried to talk. That wasn't the restaurant's fault but affected our enjoyment. Would definitely like to dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food at Hampton Street Vineyard is always exceptional. The beet salad was Devine. The Snapper was great as were the mussels. Great wine list. Staff friendly and attractive. Definitely a top restaurant in Columbia.

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

They have the best fried oysters in Columbia when available. Plus everything else is always great. I had the salmon and my wife had the beet salad and chicken-kale soup which was soup of the day and both were excellent. Service is always excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Great Beer, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Delicious food & great service. My new Columbia fave!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Incredible!!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Chose Hampton St to celebrate an early Mothers Day dinner for a dear friend I wouldn't be able to see on the actual day of. They didn't disappoint! I had the duck and it was presented well and cooked to perfection. She had the crab cakes and said they were delicious. Since I have seafood allergies our server was very attentive to those as well. We chose a nice bottle of wine to go with our meal. It had been years since I'd eaten there (I live out of town), but I won't wait that long again! Thank you Hampton St for helping me make Mothers Day special for a very special person!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had dinner in celebration of my daughters graduation from university. The ambiance was beautiful, service was great, wine was very good with a wide selection, food was very tasty and everone enjoyed their meal. They could stand a wider food menu selection. My 16 year old son (somewhat picky eater) wanted the ceasar salad on the menu but wanted to add chicken; at first they were not sure the chef would do that, but when dinner was served, they brought out a wonderful ceasar with grilled chicken. My daughter needed gluten free options which they did not have on the menu but they worked to accommodate her needs and she was able to have a very tasty steak and veges. They put the sauce on top of the steak which they should have either asked her or put it on the side if not sure. Overall, it was a perfect dinner celebration and we'd definitely recommend to our friends and family

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.