About Hampton Street Vineyard

1201 Hampton Street
Columbia, SC 29201
View Larger Map

For fine dining in Columbia, SC, be sure to visit Hampton Street Vineyard. Our philosophy of food and wine is simple and straightforward. We use local products when possible, classic techniques at all times and make ourselves available to the influences of far-flung cuisines.

Our menu changes quarterly in order to utilize each seasons unique offerings, keep the kitchen engaged and creative and of course to ensure your interest, entertainment and curiosity in this fine dining experience.

Your server is well trained and passionate about food and wine. Please don’t hesitate to inquire about the preparation of our dishes or the nuances of our extensive wine list. Relax and enjoy. Thank you.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 252-0850

Website:
http://www.hamptonstreetvineyard.com/

Parking Details:
Parking Garage across the street next to the Marriott Hotel, or the corner of Sumter and Taylor

Executive Chef:
William Murphy

Private Party Facilities:
Hampton Street Vineyard is available for private parties up to seventy people depending on your requirements. Through the years we have hosted many Wedding rehearsal dinners, corporate functions, sales meetings, and the National Trial Lawyers Association monthly dinners. We"ll rent you the whole place. Just let us know and we'll close our doors to the rest of the world for your special function.

We also have the "Wine Room" available for smaller groups, this room will accommodate up to ten people and is available at no extra charge. It's a great place for you and your friends to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries or conduct small business and sales meetings. Please make reservations for this room as soon as possible because of the high demand.

Private Party Contact:
Leigh Talmadge: 8032520850x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • duck confit risotto - Hampton Street Vineyard, Columbia, SC
duck confit risotto - Hampton Street Vineyard, Columbia, SC

Hampton Street Vineyard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (20)
Special Occasion (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
See All
Quiet Conversation (10)
Romantic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (5)
Private Room (5)
Historic (4)
Fun (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Business Meals (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
478 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love this restaurant. The Menu is crea ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

I love this restaurant. The Menu is creative and has variety . The ambiance and service make for a very enjoyable experience. The crab cakes are amazing ! Nice wine selection also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, good flavors. Staff ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was excellent, good flavors. Staff was kind and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal, wine & service. Seared a ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Excellent meal, wine & service. Seared ahi tuna entree was outstanding as was the recommended Oregon Pinot Noir. Lemon sorbet hit the spot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love this restaurant, but felt the en ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We love this restaurant, but felt the entres were poorly executed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Wonderful food and excellent ambiance. O ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wonderful food and excellent ambiance. Or waitress was sweet and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So convenient to the art museum and Town ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 10, 2016

So convenient to the art museum and Township Auditorium. Zack always makes us feel at home. His timing is impeccable. We never feel rushed and he makes sure we are on time for an event or concert. Tuna and Salmon are our favorites.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my fourth or fifth visit to the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This was my fourth or fifth visit to the Hampton Street Vineyard. Their base menu has superb diversity that is always enhanced by their specials. This visit was no exception. The wahoo special was very delicious.

The HSV wine list and cellar is one of the best in COLA and has selections at all price points.

Plan on continuing to visit and enjoy the HSV in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The service and food was amazing... the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The service and food was amazing... the staff was kind and professional. I was visiting from Orlando, Florida one an important first date and i was extremely pleased with the service and food. Thank you

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food was spectacular the o ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

As always the food was spectacular the oysters were perfectly cooked the special beet salad was fresh and seasonal my husband had the short ribs his absolute favorite and I had the salmon again perfectly cooked The only reason we did not have dessert is because we were full most pleasantly full I would highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fun, Romantic, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Innovative dishes that are delicious

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Innovative dishes that are delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Hampton Vineyards is always a dependable ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Hampton Vineyards is always a dependable choice for a good meal. Saturday night was no exception. The duck was well prepared and the addition of figs and corn made it a special treat. Wish the wine by the glass choices were a bit more robust but HV remains a favorite.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at the Hampton Street Vineyard recently. We requested a quiet table for 3, and they put us in the wine cellar, a small quiet room lined with wine bottles. The fried oysters were delicious, and we all enjoyed our entrees. I had a special, swordfish fillet with pesto topping and pomegranate garnish, and the other two diners had the short ribs and crispy skin duck, respectively. All were as described and a treat to eat. I recommend this restaurant enthusiastically.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service, and wine list make Hampto ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Food, service, and wine list make Hampton Street Vineyard an always reliable choice for a great experience. My only caution is that noise level is very loud making conversation for groups larger than four very difficult.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Slow service. Meal not cooked properly ( ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Slow service. Meal not cooked properly (steak over done, potatoes not cooked through, and veggies soggy). Few vegetarian options and chef unwilling to accommodate (even after we called ahead and was assured that dishes could be made vegetarian). I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Poor experience. Understaffed, uninspir ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Poor experience. Understaffed, uninspired menu, cold/old food served, live plant hanging on the wall attracted fruit flies that were buzzing around our head for majority of meal. We never complain but they were missing on all fronts so we shared our experience. Manager/owner did not charge us for the meal but seemed more annoyed that apologetic. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Had a nice lunch, including a lovely gla ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Had a nice lunch, including a lovely glass of Zinfandel. Only disappointment was the lack of an espresso machine.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were in Columbia for the Fightin' Tex ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We were in Columbia for the Fightin' Texas Aggie and South Carolina fb game and found this gem due to its location right next to the Marriott where we stayed. My wife and I ate there Thursday night and were so impressed took our out of town friends and daughter back Friday. The owner talked to us both nights, our server Zach was awesome, and even the lady at the front desk took a personal interest in us. Food was great and the wine list was spectacular and reasonable for the quality level. I could eat here every night. Felt like home. Heartily recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very loud. Food was fancy and pricey, bu ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very loud. Food was fancy and pricey, but not delicious. I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Noise level - the main dining room was s ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Noise level - the main dining room was so loud that it was virtually impossible to carry on a conversation with tablemates. The restaurant has a lengthy wine list and is proud of its "Award of Excellence" from Wine Spectator. We selected a bottle of a vineyard-designate pinot noir and were presented a wine from a different vineyard, but the waiter didn't notice or recognize the difference. This was the only wine from that winery the restaurant had in stock. That's not consistent with Wine Spectator's award. Food has declined over the years from creative to "Hmm, that's different, let's try it and see what happens." Also, my entrée was cold. When the bill came, we had been overcharged for an after-dinner cognac. The waiter said, "Just take it out of my tip, it was my mistake." Overall, the experience was Fair, but there are better places in town to spend $100 per person on dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

I surprised my boyfriend for his birthda ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I surprised my boyfriend for his birthday and made a reservation at Hampton St Vineyard and everything was excellent. Our waitress made wonderful menu recommendations, she didn't hover over us during our meal and she surprised my boyfriend with a candle in his dessert. Overall we had a wonderful dining experience and will be back.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Hampton Street Vineyard is consistently ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Hampton Street Vineyard is consistently good. Great food and wine, but if you are looking for a quiet dinner this is not the place because it is very loud. Brick walls and concrete floors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious food, superb service, in an ou ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Delicious food, superb service, in an outstanding atmosphere. A most enjoyable evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for USC parents weekend and a bi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We went for USC parents weekend and a birthday. Our waitress was excellent and the food was very good. I highly recommend the oyster appetizer and cheese board.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience. Brought my family whil ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great experience. Brought my family while they were in town- very much worth the value! Loud but wasn't a bad thing- felt like an NYC restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Hampton Street Vineyard is always great. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Hampton Street Vineyard is always great. They have an eclectic menu with a broad range of choices. I had an elk chop with a cherry reduction which was great. They also have an extensive wine list. At dinner it is quite enough to have an actual conversation. I was there for a business dinner but it is a good spot for a special date or anniversary.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I was really excited to try this restaur ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I was really excited to try this restaurant for my bday dinner. Although our service and wine were great the food was extremely small portions and very expensive. It also was not as good as I expected from such a nice restaurant. Unfortunately, we will not be returning.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent menu, food and service.

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent menu, food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service, excellent ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Outstanding food and service, excellent wine selections. This was our first visit and will definitely come back. We had appetizers of salmon w/ beets and ahi tuna, both very fresh and outstanding. Enjoyed entrees of grouper and duck, both very delicious. Presentations of all dishes were really super.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We found this originally by accident las ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 4, 2016

We found this originally by accident last year and it now our consistent place for special occasions. Always great food, excellent service and a creative menu.

In our opinion, one of the best dining finds in Columbia.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had an opportunity to have dinner wit ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had an opportunity to have dinner without the kids and chose to revisit the HSV. We arrived for our 6:30p reservation and the place was nearly empty. Our waitress was attentive and helpful when asked questions. Service was quick and the dishes were unique, eye-appealing and very tasty. The wine menu is complete, if not overwhelming. The restaurant started to get busy by the time we were done. Noise levels were rising and exhaust from the kitchen was infiltrating the dining area. Overall a great experience, but I'm glad we had an early reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Normally, Hampton Street is one of my fa ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Normally, Hampton Street is one of my favorites - service & food is usually exceptional...not so much this trip. We were seated in the wine room which was great. It's small & our party of 6 were the only ones there.

Our server seemed fine - we ordered & the food came out as ordered and in a timely manner. There were 4 of us who ordered the flash fried oysters which are normally delicious. This time, they were WAY OVERSALTED! We told our server & said we wanted the chef to know. We weren't looking for anything free but did expect the chef to say something to us.

We were asked about dessert & we laughed and asked what do you have tonight. He told us...no one immediately said yes. He left & suddenly our bill was presented to us.

We paid & ended up sitting there chatting a while & decided we wanted another glass of wine. Our waiter was no where to be found...turns out he'd clocked out & left. The owner did take care of us (and we again mentioned the salty oysters when asked)...no response or comment there.

Not sure what was going on that night but we did not receive the service or food expected at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Wonderfully romantic ! Had our own priva ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderfully romantic ! Had our own private room and waiter was awesome . Great way to celebrate anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was spectacular. The food was ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Everything was spectacular. The food was beyond description. Executive Chef Nathan Park takes fresh ingredients to a new realm, the likes of which I've never experienced. The level of finesse, even in the simplest of dishes, elevates the tastes and textures to unforeseen magnitudes. This food is worth a trip to Columbia, even if for nothing more than the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Crab cakes combined w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent service. Crab cakes combined wth butter beans and raisins were mouth watering. Local produce.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Awesome place to eat! Conveniently close ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Awesome place to eat! Conveniently close to work, but, it's the Perfect Getaway!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to have a nice dinner with our f ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 30, 2016

We went to have a nice dinner with our family and they graciously kept in mind my wife as I had requested a corner table since she has difficulty around crowds. They put us in a separate little room where the wine was stored on the wall in a beautiful wine rack. It was a great room to enjoy our dinner in. The food was wonderful! I had the octopus app and it was the best octopus I ever had! We had steaks and duck as well as a couple of the specials...all terrific! We would gladly come again when in Columbia :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were staying at the Mar ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 28, 2016

My husband and I were staying at the Marriott across the street and remembered how much we liked this restaurant with a large selection of wines, serving terrific food. I also recalled how romantic and intimate it was. Well, that was not the case on this particular evening. There were two large parties in the restaurant the night we dined, 7:30 pm on a Tuesday. The noise level was deafening. We asked to move to a quieter table but it did not help. Food and wine were as wonderful as we remembered. Too bad the staff did not ask noisy diners to be considerate of others. As we were leaving the restaurant, other diners stood outside discussing the unbearable noise level, so I know it was not just us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

The Hampton Street Vineyard is good each ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2016

The Hampton Street Vineyard is good each time we have been. The menu is always new and interesting so we do not get the same thing twice. The staff is very professional and does not hover. The ambience is relaxing and the interior is one of our favorites.

It is one of our go-to restaurants!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was phenomenal. Food and wine ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Service was phenomenal. Food and wine recommendations were perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and excellent service. Th ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service. Thoroughly enjoyed both.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.