HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 16 times today

Hampton Street Vineyard

4.7
632 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Notable Wine List (23)
  • Special Occasion (21)
  • Good for Anniversaries (19)
For fine dining in Columbia, SC, be sure to visit Hampton Street Vineyard. Our philosophy of food and wine is simple and straightforward. We use local products when possible, classic techniques at all times and make ourselves available to the influences of far-flung cuisines.

Our menu changes quarterly in order to utilize each seasons unique offerings, keep the kitchen engaged and creative and of course to ensure your interest, entertainment and curiosity in this fine dining experience.

Your server is well trained and passionate about food and wine. Please don’t hesitate to inquire about the preparation of our dishes or the nuances of our extensive wine list. Relax and enjoy. Thank you.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(803) 252-0850
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Nathan Park
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Hampton Street Vineyard is available for private parties up to seventy people depending on your requirements. Through the years we have hosted many Wedding rehearsal dinners, corporate functions, sales meetings, and the National Trial Lawyers Association monthly dinners. We"ll rent you the whole place. Just let us know and we'll close our doors to the rest of the world for your special function.

We also have the "Wine Room" available for smaller groups, this room will accommodate up to ten people and is available at no extra charge. It's a great place for you and your friends to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries or conduct small business and sales meetings. Please make reservations for this room as soon as possible because of the high demand.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Leigh Talmadge: (803) 252-0850
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Main
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking Garage across the street next to the Marriott Hotel, or the corner of Sumter and Taylor
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine
What 632 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7  based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
SteveW (Atlanta)
4.0  Dined 4 days ago

Really enjoyed the dinner. This is about the only bar I've been to (except my house) that carries Tanqueray Rangpur. How refreshing! I found the short-rib tasty, but VERY skimpy. On the one bone, there may have been an ounce of meat. But overall I enjoyed the restaurant and will come back.

Report
Helpful
vipGIna (Atlanta)
3.0  Dined 6 days ago

Good food, but it was so loud! I had the oysters yum and my friend the water buffalo. Yep water buffalo. It was really a pot roast. The oysters were great. The wine list impressive. But the noise really loud.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charleston)
5.0  Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful service and outstanding food

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Minneapolis)
4.0  Dined 6 days ago

The place was filled with smoke from the kitchen - maybe the fans were broken — and the wine was lukewarm (two words: cellar temperature— that’s what the markup is for!)

The food was excellent and the service was attentive

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charleston)
5.0  Dined 7 days ago

The menu is very unique. A lot of original entrees. The food was very good and the service was terrific. Absolutely no wait with a reservation on a Friday night.

Report
Helpful
Bill2dineagain (Charleston)
4.0  Dined 7 days ago

Excellent service. The water buffalo and cheesecake were great!

Report
Helpful
MatthewS (Charleston)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Wonderful as always. Classic date night spot with great wine list and outstanding food. Short ribs are wonderful.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charleston)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

We had a wonderful Valentine's Day dinner at Hampton Vineyard. The restaurant is one our favorites whether having appetizers at the bar, lunch, or a more elaborate dinner. Food and service are always first rate. Would highly recommend to locals or those visiting Columbia.

Report
Helpful
Majorfoodie (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Enjoyed the cuisine. Fried Oysters were the best. Good menu selection.

Report
Helpful
R22H (Charleston)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

We had a great Valentine's Day dinner. The food was excellent. We both tried the lobster ravioli and it was delicious. Topped with big chunks of lobster.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Atlanta)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Leigh and his staff are amazing and the food never disappoints. Will is our favorite and we would go back for his hospitality any time! Always a great experience!

Report
Helpful
JessMac (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Probably the best lunch dish I've had in Columbia in years. All three were delicious -- no disappointments at all. I take my two daughters to a Valentines lunch every year (this was our 20th) and I could not have been happier with the experience.

Report
Helpful
THEPBQ (Charleston)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

I decided to celebrate Valentine's Day one evening earlier due to my busy schedule. Hampton Street Vineyard was hopping with customers. The staff was doing a great job of serving each course with appropriate timing and servicing beverages as needed and requested. The bar, although small, is always a great place for conversation and appetizers. The wine list is very very good and priced affordably. Michelle does an expert job mixing cocktails with high quality and top shelf liquors. The menu was very appealing for all pallets. I had swordfish, which was a thick loin cut allowing for great flavor while staying moist. We also had a very nice lobster appetizer with roasted fennel and a light tarragon sauce. The lobster was on a very nice polenta cake, and just the right amount to balance all of the flavors and set us up for the entree.
I highly recommend Hampton Street Vineyard for any occasion calling for fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
vipWineguy920 (Orlando)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

The meatloaf was out of this world, it was moist with great flavor. would definitely recommend it.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charleston)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

The food was extraordinary. Wine list best around. It is our new favorite for special occasions. Our server was attentive and friendly. Unfortunately, I went to collect the car in the rain and my wife miscalculated the tip. I'm going back first chance downtown and give him another 15%. She tipped well but not nearly enough. Get there early to find a place to park. Have cash if you go in a garage. The check out machine spit out my credit card under my car. Fortunately, I had a five in my wallet. It would be great if they had valet parking. Even with the parking aggravation, we're going back soon.

Report
Helpful
Karen (Charleston)
5.0  Dined on February 7, 2018

- - - - - - Consistently makes dining a W-O-W! experience! - - - - - -

Report
Helpful
vipGlenF (New Orleans)
5.0  Dined on February 5, 2018

Always love Hampton Street Vineyard. The specials are always spectacular. The salmon special is always a hit and when they have it paired with Gumbo, you cannot pass up.

Report
Helpful
Nina102 (Charleston)
4.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

Everything was great, from the service to the atmospheres, to the food!

Report
Helpful
Henry (Greensboro)
4.0  Dined on January 29, 2018

Seemingly traditional dishes done very well. Excellent house made pasta. Attentive service.

Report
Helpful
vipGIGI (Charleston)
5.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

Best meal I have had in Columbia in a long time! Excellent.

Report
Helpful
SmkyMtnCarpenter (Charlotte)
4.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

Hampton Street Vineyard was one of our favorite restaurants when we lived in Columbia. This was our first return in several years and we weren't disappointed. The wine list is imaginative and (compared to many upmarket restaurants) reasonable, particularly wine by the glass. The men is not lengthy but imaginative (without being over the top absurd/extreme) and extremely well prepared. In our case, we had duck breast and a seafood bouillabaisse that was not traditional, but quite well done. In fact, both dishes were excellent. Our waiter was attentive without hovering and seemed knowledgeable about both the wine list and the items on the menu. (We overheard another patron speaking enthusiastically to her partner about the fish special on the menu.) In short, one of the best restaurants in Columbia.

Report
Helpful
SCGentleman (Charleston)
5.0  Dined on January 24, 2018

Excellent dinner, we both had the salmon. Very attentive and pleasant service. It's my third visit, and I'll be back.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
5.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

We wife and I took our son to Hampton Street for his birthday and all enjoyed our meals. My wife's short ribs with greens and mashed potatoes were excellent and I "assisted" her after I finished my crab cake (just the right mixture of crab and cake). My son's steak was cooked exactly to order and our waiter was available when needed but not lurking.

Thanks and we will be back!

Report
Helpful
vipdanm (Charleston)
3.0  Dined on January 16, 2018

This particular visit I was disappointed. Te oyster appetizer special was great. The entrees were not. The swordfish was slightly overcooked causing little dryness, the duck breast was undercooked creating a toughness to the meat. For the value and the money spent, was disappointed this visit.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on January 3, 2018

Excellent meal, good wine selection and very pleasant and timely service

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

Great food and service. Too noisy. Server was great, host a little too casual, not professional

Report
Helpful
vipwilliamn (Charleston)
5.0  Dined on December 29, 2017

Everything was wonderful!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner 
5.0  Dined on December 20, 2017

It was a wonderful meal. The food and service were excellent. Our server, William, was attentive without being intrusive. Noise level was a little higher than I expected for a restaurant of this quality. This may be due to the small and intimate, but open, dining area. My wife and I intend to return as often as we are able.

Report
Helpful
dobo335 (New Orleans)
3.0  Dined on December 19, 2017

Nice enough but the main courses were petite and the crab cake was served just warm on a bed of COLD ratatouilly.. when returned to be warmed up they left the ratatouille cold and over cooked the crab cake. Pork chop was well cooked but tasteless.
Date night with wife... not good.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Charleston)
5.0  Dined on December 16, 2017

Hampton Street Vineyard is one of my favorites. The menu has a great variety and the cooks always prepare the food to my request and taste. The wine selections are fabulous!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
22