About Hampton Street Vineyard

1201 Hampton Street
Columbia, SC 29201
View Larger Map

For fine dining in Columbia, SC, be sure to visit Hampton Street Vineyard. Our philosophy of food and wine is simple and straightforward. We use local products when possible, classic techniques at all times and make ourselves available to the influences of far-flung cuisines.

Our menu changes quarterly in order to utilize each seasons unique offerings, keep the kitchen engaged and creative and of course to ensure your interest, entertainment and curiosity in this fine dining experience.

Your server is well trained and passionate about food and wine. Please don’t hesitate to inquire about the preparation of our dishes or the nuances of our extensive wine list. Relax and enjoy. Thank you.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 252-0850

Website:
http://www.hamptonstreetvineyard.com/

Parking Details:
Parking Garage across the street next to the Marriott Hotel, or the corner of Sumter and Taylor

Executive Chef:
William Murphy

Private Party Facilities:
Hampton Street Vineyard is available for private parties up to seventy people depending on your requirements. Through the years we have hosted many Wedding rehearsal dinners, corporate functions, sales meetings, and the National Trial Lawyers Association monthly dinners. We"ll rent you the whole place. Just let us know and we'll close our doors to the rest of the world for your special function.

We also have the "Wine Room" available for smaller groups, this room will accommodate up to ten people and is available at no extra charge. It's a great place for you and your friends to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries or conduct small business and sales meetings. Please make reservations for this room as soon as possible because of the high demand.

Private Party Contact:
Leigh Talmadge: 8032520850x

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • duck confit risotto
duck confit risotto

Hampton Street Vineyard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
South Carolina
Notable Wine List
South Carolina
Contemporary American
South Carolina
6 More
Best Overall
Columbia
Best Food
Columbia
Best Service
Columbia
Best Ambiance
Columbia
Best Value
Columbia
Fit for Foodies
Columbia
Best Restaurants in Columbia ›

Notable Wine List (29)
Special Occasion (27)
Fit for Foodies (27)
See All
Romantic (22)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Good for Groups (14)
Great for Lunch (11)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
450 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding food and service, excellent ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined a day ago

Outstanding food and service, excellent wine selections. This was our first visit and will definitely come back. We had appetizers of salmon w/ beets and ahi tuna, both very fresh and outstanding. Enjoyed entrees of grouper and duck, both very delicious. Presentations of all dishes were really super.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We found this originally by accident las ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We found this originally by accident last year and it now our consistent place for special occasions. Always great food, excellent service and a creative menu.

In our opinion, one of the best dining finds in Columbia.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had an opportunity to have dinner wit ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had an opportunity to have dinner without the kids and chose to revisit the HSV. We arrived for our 6:30p reservation and the place was nearly empty. Our waitress was attentive and helpful when asked questions. Service was quick and the dishes were unique, eye-appealing and very tasty. The wine menu is complete, if not overwhelming. The restaurant started to get busy by the time we were done. Noise levels were rising and exhaust from the kitchen was infiltrating the dining area. Overall a great experience, but I'm glad we had an early reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Normally, Hampton Street is one of my fa ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Normally, Hampton Street is one of my favorites - service & food is usually exceptional...not so much this trip. We were seated in the wine room which was great. It's small & our party of 6 were the only ones there.

Our server seemed fine - we ordered & the food came out as ordered and in a timely manner. There were 4 of us who ordered the flash fried oysters which are normally delicious. This time, they were WAY OVERSALTED! We told our server & said we wanted the chef to know. We weren't looking for anything free but did expect the chef to say something to us.

We were asked about dessert & we laughed and asked what do you have tonight. He told us...no one immediately said yes. He left & suddenly our bill was presented to us.

We paid & ended up sitting there chatting a while & decided we wanted another glass of wine. Our waiter was no where to be found...turns out he'd clocked out & left. The owner did take care of us (and we again mentioned the salty oysters when asked)...no response or comment there.

Not sure what was going on that night but we did not receive the service or food expected at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Wonderfully romantic ! Had our own priva ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderfully romantic ! Had our own private room and waiter was awesome . Great way to celebrate anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was spectacular. The food was ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Everything was spectacular. The food was beyond description. Executive Chef Nathan Park takes fresh ingredients to a new realm, the likes of which I've never experienced. The level of finesse, even in the simplest of dishes, elevates the tastes and textures to unforeseen magnitudes. This food is worth a trip to Columbia, even if for nothing more than the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Crab cakes combined w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent service. Crab cakes combined wth butter beans and raisins were mouth watering. Local produce.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Awesome place to eat! Conveniently close ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Awesome place to eat! Conveniently close to work, but, it's the Perfect Getaway!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to have a nice dinner with our f ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We went to have a nice dinner with our family and they graciously kept in mind my wife as I had requested a corner table since she has difficulty around crowds. They put us in a separate little room where the wine was stored on the wall in a beautiful wine rack. It was a great room to enjoy our dinner in. The food was wonderful! I had the octopus app and it was the best octopus I ever had! We had steaks and duck as well as a couple of the specials...all terrific! We would gladly come again when in Columbia :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were staying at the Mar ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

My husband and I were staying at the Marriott across the street and remembered how much we liked this restaurant with a large selection of wines, serving terrific food. I also recalled how romantic and intimate it was. Well, that was not the case on this particular evening. There were two large parties in the restaurant the night we dined, 7:30 pm on a Tuesday. The noise level was deafening. We asked to move to a quieter table but it did not help. Food and wine were as wonderful as we remembered. Too bad the staff did not ask noisy diners to be considerate of others. As we were leaving the restaurant, other diners stood outside discussing the unbearable noise level, so I know it was not just us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

The Hampton Street Vineyard is good each ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The Hampton Street Vineyard is good each time we have been. The menu is always new and interesting so we do not get the same thing twice. The staff is very professional and does not hover. The ambience is relaxing and the interior is one of our favorites.

It is one of our go-to restaurants!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was phenomenal. Food and wine ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Service was phenomenal. Food and wine recommendations were perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and excellent service. Th ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service. Thoroughly enjoyed both.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We seldom eat beef, but when we do ,it i ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We seldom eat beef, but when we do ,it is at Hampton Street Vineyard. Delicious , perfectly cooked, great starters and sides. Quiet , romantic, downtown feel. Love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed our experience in this quaint lo ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Enjoyed our experience in this quaint location. Lots of large groups, so it was very noisy when we were there. Most of the wine bottles were at around an 80% from what you can buy it for on the street, but that isn't mad compared to other places. Food was good, but not necessarily plentiful for the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food highlight of our trip to Columbia

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

In Columbia for a conference. Selected this restaurant from Open Table for a meal with colleagues. Food was exceptional across the board. I had the filet, which was cooked perfectly and well accompanied by bacon and Brussels sprouts. Two colleagues chose the duck and raved about it. Wine was excellent. Service was a little slow to start with, in that it took a while before our oder was actually placed (perhaps because our server had several tables seated at the same time), but was otherwise fantastic. This isn't cheap food, but it's worth it!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great menu with wonderful flavors. Only ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Great menu with wonderful flavors. Only concern was that the appetizer (bacon bruschetta) was sub par. It should have been on small bread but was served on a large piece of Italian bread with a tough and chewy thick piece of undercooked bacon. It was more like fat back than bacon. We told our server that the appetizer was not good, ate very little of it but were still charged $15 for it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was delicious !

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Everything was delicious !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is my favorite restaurant in Columb ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in Columbia. I eat here every time I am in town which is at least once per month. The staff is courteous, fun and friendly and I always make a new friend at the bar. Great food and wine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not worth the trip

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Wife and I went for dinner, hoping to find a new place to regularly visit. She had crab cakes (on menu) and a pasta dish (special.) I had a BLT board (on special) and the duck (on menu.)

Crab cakes were pretty decent, nothing special. The sauce was (a chutney) actually quite good, if a bit stronger than I'd like to see paired with something as delicate as crab.

The BLT board left me wondering 'where's the foie' and wishing whoever designed it had some familiarity with the idea of balancing a dish. It was sweet on sweet on fatty on sweet. The bacon could have been smokey and salty, and the tomatoes bright and acidic; instead the bacon was sweet, the tomatoes were a jam (and an overly sweet one at that.) The whole dish was one dimensional and rather disappointing, though palatable and likely the best thing we had all night.

Pasta was tough, and doughy. Very clearly over worked, by quite a bit. Was nearly sauce-less as well, a shame as the sauce had good flavor. The duck prosciutto, rather than being cut to lardons was in large slices, making it difficult to eat, and poorly distributed.

Duck breast was skinless . What's the point? It was also breaded, and seemingly deep fried. Gnocchi was initially mistaken for polenta. It appeared to have been cooked in a sheet tray, and cubed rather than formed as gnocchis and boiled. It was a glutenous mess, I'd guess more than half flour, and again grossly overworked.

The wine menu was extensive, and the front of house staff was good; however a good restaurant has to be based on food worth eating. If you come here at all: make it for a couple of drinks, then go elsewhere for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Vegan friendly!

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

While our waiter was a little confused, the kitchen staff went above and beyond accommodating vegan dishes. I will definitely recommend this restaurant for a vegan meetup and to anyone who likes good food and wine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

I was looking to try a different restaurant to celebrate my birthday and while doing some research, I found the Hampton Street Vineyard. They had good reviews, so I thought to give it a chance. My family and I really enjoyed the food. Everything was delicious and even though we didn't order any wine, they had a variety to choose from. It was a pleasant experience and I would definitely recommend it going.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstand food prepared by knowledgeable chef

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Great fine dining in Columbia, SC. The food pairing is excellent for a full flavored dish. The wine list is also great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband's birthday. Romantic.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Loved the atmosphere. The food was amazing. We're planning on going back soon. Big variety of wines.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quiet Saturday night

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We had a party of 5 and all ate a different main course. Four approved of their meal (one being me who found the fish special very good) and one thought the duck was a poor alternative with a thin sauce. The ceasar salad had way too much pepper corn in what was otherwise a great salad. Server was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome crab cake!!! Excellent wine list ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Awesome crab cake!!! Excellent wine list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lunch Date

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Enjoyed this jewel that was close to hotel and in the city center

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Thoughtful Staff and Awesome Birthday Experience

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

We brought a friend for her birthday and the staff really just took care of us from beginning to end - whether it was the hostess, bartender or our waiter - they were just all awesome. Great meal, great drinks, great dessert. Go here and you will get taken care of.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great place!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

We really enjoyed our first time at HSV. Food was super yummy and service was good. Only disappointment. ....we made a reservation via open table and received a confirmation. When we got to the restaurant , they didn't have record of our reservation. They were not busy at all that night, so it worked out. Not sure if it was the fault of opentable.com or the restaurants that they didn't have our reservation! ?

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Another nice meal

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

This was the third time I have eaten there and they have been consistently good. Unfortunately they are not vegetarian friendly. Their sesame tuna was tasty and my date enjoyed her scallops. We enjoyed the deconstructed smore.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and service

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

This was the second Valentine's Day my boyfriend and I went to Hampton Street Vineyard, and we were just as impressed this year as we were last year. The service was outstanding as usual, and the food was absolutely delicious. We love the cozy atmosphere and creative dishes, and the server was very considerate about our special diet restrictions. I will certainly be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal as always

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a great meal at Hampton Street last weekend, I had the lamb shank with a delicious demi glaze and my wife had the monk fish. We've never had anything bad here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The restaurant was very loud. To the poi ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The restaurant was very loud. To the point where it was difficult to hold a conversation. They offered an extensive wine list of various prices, some affordable some not so much. The food was good. I saw several things I was interested in ordering.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Delicious meal and great ambiance

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

Delicious meal and great ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Napa Valley in Columbia, SC

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Followed up on a recommendation by a friend and decided to dine at Hampton Street Vineyard for the celebration of a special person's birthday. The restaurant was cozily located a few steps below the level of Hampton Street across the street from the Columbia Marriott. Upon arrival, my party was immediately greeted by the hostess and seated at a comfortable in the small dining room. Our server was very attentive and immediately introduced himself and ran down the specials and then proceeded to bring us water and bread.

The menu was very diverse and the daily specials added to these diversities. The Hampton Street Vineyard also had a very expansive wine menu with bottles that ranged in a price from $40 to $500, with a very good selection of fine wines at the all price levels.

Selected dishes included a seafood dish (scallops) and a pork dish. Both were very tasty and their presentation was superb.

The desert menu had some interesting items, including the cheesecake lollipops, which were excellent.

I will definitely return to the Hampton Street Vineyard to sample another great wine and entrée.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Extremely good entrees. I had scallop/p ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Extremely good entrees. I had scallop/pork belly ensemble. They played off each other quite well. The waitress was friendly yet professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Favorite restaurant in Columbia

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Best food in Columbia. Great little restaurant tucked away in a quiet setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

I made a request on my OpenTable reserva ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

I made a request on my OpenTable reservation for a quite table or something special for my girlfriends birthday. The gentleman that seated us had no clue and put us in the middle of the dining area. I asked for the manager and he wasn't very concerned and offered us a free drink. They had three days notice and simply had no clue or plan to accommodate my request. Very disappointing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

We went on a Monday night and the servic ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

We went on a Monday night and the service was good and the food was good to. For columbia it's considered fine dining, but in reality it's just not. Great atmosphere and huge wine list this is definitely a good place for a nice dinner. Paid around 120 for appetizers, wine, entree and tip. food is good for the price. Not outstanding but it's good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

New Year's Eve Dinner

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

The restaurant was filled with the smoke and smell from the kitchen. On the ride home both my wife and myself could smell the kitchen smoke in our cloths. We were seated close to the open kitchen. This may not have been as much of a problem if seated further away.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.