Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Hampton Street Vineyard

For fine dining in Columbia, SC, be sure to visit Hampton Street Vineyard. Our philosophy of food and wine is simple and straightforward. We use local products when possible, classic techniques at all times and make ourselves available to the influences of far-flung cuisines.

Our menu changes quarterly in order to utilize each seasons unique offerings, keep the kitchen engaged and creative and of course to ensure your interest, entertainment and curiosity in this fine dining experience.

Your server is well trained and passionate about food and wine. Please don’t hesitate to inquire about the preparation of our dishes or the nuances of our extensive wine list. Relax and enjoy. Thank you.

1201 Hampton Street
Columbia, SC 29201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 252-0850

Website:
http://www.hamptonstreetvineyard.com/

Parking Details:
Parking Garage across the street next to the Marriott Hotel, or the corner of Sumter and Taylor

Executive Chef:
William Murphy

Private Party Facilities:
Hampton Street Vineyard is available for private parties up to seventy people depending on your requirements. Through the years we have hosted many Wedding rehearsal dinners, corporate functions, sales meetings, and the National Trial Lawyers Association monthly dinners. We"ll rent you the whole place. Just let us know and we'll close our doors to the rest of the world for your special function.

We also have the "Wine Room" available for smaller groups, this room will accommodate up to ten people and is available at no extra charge. It's a great place for you and your friends to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries or conduct small business and sales meetings. Please make reservations for this room as soon as possible because of the high demand.

Private Party Contact:
Leigh Talmadge: (803) 252-0850

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Hampton Street Vineyard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (16)
Good for a Date (13)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Creative Cuisine (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Cozy (7)
Romantic (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Worth the Drive (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Historic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Private Room (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fun (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Live Music (2)
Seasonal (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
527 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very disappointed. In the past we have really enjoyed our experience here. They were out of some of the dishes. Extremely small amount of scallops. Certainly did not relieve the hunger. The experience did not live up to our expectations .

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great wine, great service, and fun ambiance. Food value, not so much. We just wanted appetizers so ordered salads, soup, and oysters. The oysters were wonderful. Fried just right which can be hit or miss in some restaurants. The Caesar salads were tiny with not that much dressing or cheese for $8.00 which was ridiculous. Not even a small side salad size. My husband ordered some sort of beef soup which was not that wonderful either. All in all, we would go back when we are in Columbia because the atmosphere is great and the wine is perfect and a good value as well. We may skip the food and just order wine. The entrees that were being served looked really good. There were two young couples at the bar who had definitely had too much to drink which the bartender acknowledge but was very adept at handling. Oh well, we did sit at the bar, and it didn't bother us.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Lamb shank is awesome. As good as any I've had anywhere. Good service. Right up there with Motor Supply for Columbia restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service was excellent. Food was fair. We each got 3 different entrees and all agreed. Establishment was EXTREMELY LOUD. So much that the server could not hear what I was saying and she was across the table from me. Felt like we were in a loud bar instead of a nice relaxing fine dining establishment. Did not enjoy that we felt like we had to yell to be heard at our own table.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Return after a year was disappointing. This used to be our "go to" downtown restaurant for special occasions. We haven't been there for a while but knew something was different when the server read off the specials. Instead of a French flare everything seem to be kind of Southwestern. I asked if there was a different chef and sure enough they changed chefs about a year ago. My dish was served with disregard to the food allergy I had specified.
Although I was disappointed I will try it one more time before I write it off my list because we have been coming here since it opened and have never been displeased before.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 21, 2017

First time visit, but not the last. Very good wine list, some familiar, some not; which we like. We were seated promptly, asked for a quiet table and they tried. This restaurant is VERY LOUD, so be prepared. We were not aware that they have several tables in the wine room which is completely separated from the main area and quiet. Would have been great to know that! Next time we'll reserve there. This area would also be good for a small party, max of 12 people. We shared an appetizer of flash fried oysters (8 to an order), good size and very crispy, with a nice remoulade type sauce, really good. Also shared the duck breast, ample serving and a wonderful sauce, plated with mashed sweet potato and green beans. All beautifully prepared and attractively plated. Also shared the cranberry bread pudding, not quite sweet enough for my taste but still nice. Best part of the evening was the service. Our server (wish I'd gotten his name) was fantastic. Just friendly enough, knew his wine and food menu thoroughly, and timed our meal nicely so we weren't hurried but got out in plenty of time for our concert. Overall, just a really nice experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

2nd visit at Hampton St Vineyard. Food and wine outstanding. Service good but not outstanding...waiters first night on job. Prior service outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We loved the entire experience of our meal. Steve our waiter was great and all of our food was very tasty and well presented. The owner of the establishment stopped by our table. She was friendly and we had a nice chat with her. Next time we are in Columbia SC we will go back there again.

Tags: Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service was excellent as was the meal. The only drawback and this is very slight is the noise , however would go back in heartbeat .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Love the food and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and environment. Fun with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Nice small restaurant but nothing over the top that would entice me to give it 5-stars. Service was very good, food was OK and restaurant decor was so so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We came based upon the many reviews. They were wrong. We had a meal with tasteless courses that were presented very sloppily. And, the dining room was filled with kithen exhaust leaving us smelling of fried foods. Our crabcakes were burned outside and cold inside with little flavor, bland crab? Our goat cheese was also burned and tasted as such. The elk chop was burned and charred with the center cold and mysteriously mushy. This chop was tossed atop a sloppy mixed mess of once individual foods. The NY Strip was not rare but a charred dry chunk of cardboard. However, our server was very nice and our cocktails excellent. Should we return it will only be for cocktails and then a real dinner elsewhere.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We entertained a native New Yorker who said Hampton Street reminded him of a number of his favorite New York restaurants, but at half the price!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Excellent wine list!! Wide price range and selection.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We really enjoyed our evening at The Hampton Street Vineyard. The wait staff and kitchen were particularly attentive to my wife's dietary restrictions and worked hard to be sure we had what we needed. The Lamb Shank was absolutely amazing... by far the best I've ever had. As the evening drew to a close, the owners invited us to hang out with them and some of their friends at a community table toward the front of the restaurant and we got to know them, learn about their passion for the business and get a private tour of their wine room. Great night, great people, awesome food. Highly, highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A group of six of us went for dinner on NYE and everything was absolutely outstanding!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We celebrated our 22nd wedding anniversary and it was a nice experience. Very quiet like we wanted. Our server Steve was very nice and knowledgeable about the food and drink choices. The food portion was adequate and the food itself was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Superb as usual. Michelle is the greatest! Always our favorite spot!!!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Very disappointing! Crab cake not fresh, tasted fishy. Chef tried to cover this with hot pepper. Oysters were good, but ovrall, very disappointed. All four of us were.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The food was creative, but not especially tasty. Venison Osso Buco was dry and tough; caramel bacon apple cheddar pie tasted like apple pie -- good, but no bacon. Not as good as I thought it would be. Maybe my expectations were too high.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 16, 2016

You don't have enough stars up here for this occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Best lunch in Columbia. 6 friends met for lunch and all were extremely pleased. When 5 women clean their plate it has to be great food. Very good and attentive wait staff as well.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Food is fantastic! The veal pot roast was delicious. Service excellent.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Food was phenomenal, as always. Did get loud at times during the night where I felt like I was shouting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I love this restaurant. The Menu is creative and has variety . The ambiance and service make for a very enjoyable experience. The crab cakes are amazing ! Nice wine selection also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Food was excellent, good flavors. Staff was kind and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Excellent meal, wine & service. Seared ahi tuna entree was outstanding as was the recommended Oregon Pinot Noir. Lemon sorbet hit the spot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We love this restaurant, but felt the entres were poorly executed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wonderful food and excellent ambiance. Or waitress was sweet and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 10, 2016

So convenient to the art museum and Township Auditorium. Zack always makes us feel at home. His timing is impeccable. We never feel rushed and he makes sure we are on time for an event or concert. Tuna and Salmon are our favorites.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This was my fourth or fifth visit to the Hampton Street Vineyard. Their base menu has superb diversity that is always enhanced by their specials. This visit was no exception. The wahoo special was very delicious.

The HSV wine list and cellar is one of the best in COLA and has selections at all price points.

Plan on continuing to visit and enjoy the HSV in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The service and food was amazing... the staff was kind and professional. I was visiting from Orlando, Florida one an important first date and i was extremely pleased with the service and food. Thank you

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

As always the food was spectacular the oysters were perfectly cooked the special beet salad was fresh and seasonal my husband had the short ribs his absolute favorite and I had the salmon again perfectly cooked The only reason we did not have dessert is because we were full most pleasantly full I would highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fun, Romantic, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Innovative dishes that are delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Hampton Vineyards is always a dependable choice for a good meal. Saturday night was no exception. The duck was well prepared and the addition of figs and corn made it a special treat. Wish the wine by the glass choices were a bit more robust but HV remains a favorite.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at the Hampton Street Vineyard recently. We requested a quiet table for 3, and they put us in the wine cellar, a small quiet room lined with wine bottles. The fried oysters were delicious, and we all enjoyed our entrees. I had a special, swordfish fillet with pesto topping and pomegranate garnish, and the other two diners had the short ribs and crispy skin duck, respectively. All were as described and a treat to eat. I recommend this restaurant enthusiastically.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Food, service, and wine list make Hampton Street Vineyard an always reliable choice for a great experience. My only caution is that noise level is very loud making conversation for groups larger than four very difficult.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Poor experience. Understaffed, uninspired menu, cold/old food served, live plant hanging on the wall attracted fruit flies that were buzzing around our head for majority of meal. We never complain but they were missing on all fronts so we shared our experience. Manager/owner did not charge us for the meal but seemed more annoyed that apologetic. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Slow service. Meal not cooked properly (steak over done, potatoes not cooked through, and veggies soggy). Few vegetarian options and chef unwilling to accommodate (even after we called ahead and was assured that dishes could be made vegetarian). I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.