About Hampton Street Vineyard

For fine dining in Columbia, SC, be sure to visit Hampton Street Vineyard. Our philosophy of food and wine is simple and straightforward. We use local products when possible, classic techniques at all times and make ourselves available to the influences of far-flung cuisines.

Our menu changes quarterly in order to utilize each seasons unique offerings, keep the kitchen engaged and creative and of course to ensure your interest, entertainment and curiosity in this fine dining experience.

Your server is well trained and passionate about food and wine. Please don’t hesitate to inquire about the preparation of our dishes or the nuances of our extensive wine list. Relax and enjoy. Thank you.

1201 Hampton Street
Columbia, SC 29201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 252-0850

Website:
http://www.hamptonstreetvineyard.com/

Parking Details:
Parking Garage across the street next to the Marriott Hotel, or the corner of Sumter and Taylor

Executive Chef:
William Murphy

Private Party Facilities:
Hampton Street Vineyard is available for private parties up to seventy people depending on your requirements. Through the years we have hosted many Wedding rehearsal dinners, corporate functions, sales meetings, and the National Trial Lawyers Association monthly dinners. We"ll rent you the whole place. Just let us know and we'll close our doors to the rest of the world for your special function.

We also have the "Wine Room" available for smaller groups, this room will accommodate up to ten people and is available at no extra charge. It's a great place for you and your friends to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries or conduct small business and sales meetings. Please make reservations for this room as soon as possible because of the high demand.

Private Party Contact:
Leigh Talmadge: (803) 252-0850

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Hampton Street Vineyard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (16)
Good for a Date (14)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Romantic (7)
Cozy (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Historic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Business Meals (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Authentic (2)
Casual (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Private Room (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
520 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

2nd visit at Hampton St Vineyard. Food ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined a day ago

2nd visit at Hampton St Vineyard. Food and wine outstanding. Service good but not outstanding...waiters first night on job. Prior service outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The service was excellent as was the mea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was excellent as was the meal. The only drawback and this is very slight is the noise , however would go back in heartbeat .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food and atmosphere

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Love the food and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and environment. Fun with fri ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and environment. Fun with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice small restaurant but nothing over t ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Nice small restaurant but nothing over the top that would entice me to give it 5-stars. Service was very good, food was OK and restaurant decor was so so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We came based upon the many reviews. The ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We came based upon the many reviews. They were wrong. We had a meal with tasteless courses that were presented very sloppily. And, the dining room was filled with kithen exhaust leaving us smelling of fried foods. Our crabcakes were burned outside and cold inside with little flavor, bland crab? Our goat cheese was also burned and tasted as such. The elk chop was burned and charred with the center cold and mysteriously mushy. This chop was tossed atop a sloppy mixed mess of once individual foods. The NY Strip was not rare but a charred dry chunk of cardboard. However, our server was very nice and our cocktails excellent. Should we return it will only be for cocktails and then a real dinner elsewhere.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We entertained a native New Yorker who s ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We entertained a native New Yorker who said Hampton Street reminded him of a number of his favorite New York restaurants, but at half the price!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent wine list!! Wide price range ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Excellent wine list!! Wide price range and selection.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We really enjoyed our evening at The Ham ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We really enjoyed our evening at The Hampton Street Vineyard. The wait staff and kitchen were particularly attentive to my wife's dietary restrictions and worked hard to be sure we had what we needed. The Lamb Shank was absolutely amazing... by far the best I've ever had. As the evening drew to a close, the owners invited us to hang out with them and some of their friends at a community table toward the front of the restaurant and we got to know them, learn about their passion for the business and get a private tour of their wine room. Great night, great people, awesome food. Highly, highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A group of six of us went for dinner on ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A group of six of us went for dinner on NYE and everything was absolutely outstanding!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our 22nd wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We celebrated our 22nd wedding anniversary and it was a nice experience. Very quiet like we wanted. Our server Steve was very nice and knowledgeable about the food and drink choices. The food portion was adequate and the food itself was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Superb as usual. Michelle is the greate ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Superb as usual. Michelle is the greatest! Always our favorite spot!!!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing! Crab cake not fresh, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Very disappointing! Crab cake not fresh, tasted fishy. Chef tried to cover this with hot pepper. Oysters were good, but ovrall, very disappointed. All four of us were.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was creative, but not especiall ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The food was creative, but not especially tasty. Venison Osso Buco was dry and tough; caramel bacon apple cheddar pie tasted like apple pie -- good, but no bacon. Not as good as I thought it would be. Maybe my expectations were too high.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

You don't have enough stars up here for ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 16, 2016

You don't have enough stars up here for this occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best lunch in Columbia. 6 friends met fo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Best lunch in Columbia. 6 friends met for lunch and all were extremely pleased. When 5 women clean their plate it has to be great food. Very good and attentive wait staff as well.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is fantastic! The veal pot roast w ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Food is fantastic! The veal pot roast was delicious. Service excellent.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was phenomenal, as always. Did get ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Food was phenomenal, as always. Did get loud at times during the night where I felt like I was shouting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this restaurant. The Menu is crea ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I love this restaurant. The Menu is creative and has variety . The ambiance and service make for a very enjoyable experience. The crab cakes are amazing ! Nice wine selection also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, good flavors. Staff ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Food was excellent, good flavors. Staff was kind and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal, wine & service. Seared a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Excellent meal, wine & service. Seared ahi tuna entree was outstanding as was the recommended Oregon Pinot Noir. Lemon sorbet hit the spot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love this restaurant, but felt the en ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We love this restaurant, but felt the entres were poorly executed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Wonderful food and excellent ambiance. O ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wonderful food and excellent ambiance. Or waitress was sweet and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So convenient to the art museum and Town ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 10, 2016

So convenient to the art museum and Township Auditorium. Zack always makes us feel at home. His timing is impeccable. We never feel rushed and he makes sure we are on time for an event or concert. Tuna and Salmon are our favorites.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my fourth or fifth visit to the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This was my fourth or fifth visit to the Hampton Street Vineyard. Their base menu has superb diversity that is always enhanced by their specials. This visit was no exception. The wahoo special was very delicious.

The HSV wine list and cellar is one of the best in COLA and has selections at all price points.

Plan on continuing to visit and enjoy the HSV in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The service and food was amazing... the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The service and food was amazing... the staff was kind and professional. I was visiting from Orlando, Florida one an important first date and i was extremely pleased with the service and food. Thank you

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food was spectacular the o ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

As always the food was spectacular the oysters were perfectly cooked the special beet salad was fresh and seasonal my husband had the short ribs his absolute favorite and I had the salmon again perfectly cooked The only reason we did not have dessert is because we were full most pleasantly full I would highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fun, Romantic, Seasonal, , Casual, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Innovative dishes that are delicious

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Innovative dishes that are delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Hampton Vineyards is always a dependable ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Hampton Vineyards is always a dependable choice for a good meal. Saturday night was no exception. The duck was well prepared and the addition of figs and corn made it a special treat. Wish the wine by the glass choices were a bit more robust but HV remains a favorite.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at the Hampton Street Vineyard recently. We requested a quiet table for 3, and they put us in the wine cellar, a small quiet room lined with wine bottles. The fried oysters were delicious, and we all enjoyed our entrees. I had a special, swordfish fillet with pesto topping and pomegranate garnish, and the other two diners had the short ribs and crispy skin duck, respectively. All were as described and a treat to eat. I recommend this restaurant enthusiastically.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service, and wine list make Hampto ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Food, service, and wine list make Hampton Street Vineyard an always reliable choice for a great experience. My only caution is that noise level is very loud making conversation for groups larger than four very difficult.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Poor experience. Understaffed, uninspir ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Poor experience. Understaffed, uninspired menu, cold/old food served, live plant hanging on the wall attracted fruit flies that were buzzing around our head for majority of meal. We never complain but they were missing on all fronts so we shared our experience. Manager/owner did not charge us for the meal but seemed more annoyed that apologetic. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Slow service. Meal not cooked properly ( ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Slow service. Meal not cooked properly (steak over done, potatoes not cooked through, and veggies soggy). Few vegetarian options and chef unwilling to accommodate (even after we called ahead and was assured that dishes could be made vegetarian). I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Had a nice lunch, including a lovely gla ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Had a nice lunch, including a lovely glass of Zinfandel. Only disappointment was the lack of an espresso machine.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were in Columbia for the Fightin' Tex ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We were in Columbia for the Fightin' Texas Aggie and South Carolina fb game and found this gem due to its location right next to the Marriott where we stayed. My wife and I ate there Thursday night and were so impressed took our out of town friends and daughter back Friday. The owner talked to us both nights, our server Zach was awesome, and even the lady at the front desk took a personal interest in us. Food was great and the wine list was spectacular and reasonable for the quality level. I could eat here every night. Felt like home. Heartily recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very loud. Food was fancy and pricey, bu ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very loud. Food was fancy and pricey, but not delicious. I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Noise level - the main dining room was s ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Noise level - the main dining room was so loud that it was virtually impossible to carry on a conversation with tablemates. The restaurant has a lengthy wine list and is proud of its "Award of Excellence" from Wine Spectator. We selected a bottle of a vineyard-designate pinot noir and were presented a wine from a different vineyard, but the waiter didn't notice or recognize the difference. This was the only wine from that winery the restaurant had in stock. That's not consistent with Wine Spectator's award. Food has declined over the years from creative to "Hmm, that's different, let's try it and see what happens." Also, my entrée was cold. When the bill came, we had been overcharged for an after-dinner cognac. The waiter said, "Just take it out of my tip, it was my mistake." Overall, the experience was Fair, but there are better places in town to spend $100 per person on dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

I surprised my boyfriend for his birthda ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I surprised my boyfriend for his birthday and made a reservation at Hampton St Vineyard and everything was excellent. Our waitress made wonderful menu recommendations, she didn't hover over us during our meal and she surprised my boyfriend with a candle in his dessert. Overall we had a wonderful dining experience and will be back.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Hampton Street Vineyard is consistently ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Hampton Street Vineyard is consistently good. Great food and wine, but if you are looking for a quiet dinner this is not the place because it is very loud. Brick walls and concrete floors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious food, superb service, in an ou ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Delicious food, superb service, in an outstanding atmosphere. A most enjoyable evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.