About Hampton Street Vineyard

1201 Hampton Street
Columbia, SC 29201
View Larger Map

For fine dining in Columbia, SC, be sure to visit Hampton Street Vineyard. Our philosophy of food and wine is simple and straightforward. We use local products when possible, classic techniques at all times and make ourselves available to the influences of far-flung cuisines.

Our menu changes quarterly in order to utilize each seasons unique offerings, keep the kitchen engaged and creative and of course to ensure your interest, entertainment and curiosity in this fine dining experience.

Your server is well trained and passionate about food and wine. Please don’t hesitate to inquire about the preparation of our dishes or the nuances of our extensive wine list. Relax and enjoy. Thank you.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(803) 252-0850

Website:
http://www.hamptonstreetvineyard.com/

Parking Details:
Parking Garage across the street next to the Marriott Hotel, or the corner of Sumter and Taylor

Executive Chef:
William Murphy

Private Party Facilities:
Hampton Street Vineyard is available for private parties up to seventy people depending on your requirements. Through the years we have hosted many Wedding rehearsal dinners, corporate functions, sales meetings, and the National Trial Lawyers Association monthly dinners. We"ll rent you the whole place. Just let us know and we'll close our doors to the rest of the world for your special function.

We also have the "Wine Room" available for smaller groups, this room will accommodate up to ten people and is available at no extra charge. It's a great place for you and your friends to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries or conduct small business and sales meetings. Please make reservations for this room as soon as possible because of the high demand.

Private Party Contact:
Leigh Talmadge: 8032520850x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Hampton Street Vineyard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
South Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Columbia
Best Restaurants in Columbia ›

notable wine list (30)
special occasion (29)
romantic (27)
See All
fit for foodies (24)
neighborhood gem (19)
great for lunch (10)
good for groups (7)
hot spot (6)
great for outdoor dining (6)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
433 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great menu with wonderful flavors. Only ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great menu with wonderful flavors. Only concern was that the appetizer (bacon bruschetta) was sub par. It should have been on small bread but was served on a large piece of Italian bread with a tough and chewy thick piece of undercooked bacon. It was more like fat back than bacon. We told our server that the appetizer was not good, ate very little of it but were still charged $15 for it.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was delicious !

Dined on May 21, 2016

Everything was delicious !

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite restaurant in Columb ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in Columbia. I eat here every time I am in town which is at least once per month. The staff is courteous, fun and friendly and I always make a new friend at the bar. Great food and wine.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Not worth the trip

Dined on May 13, 2016

Wife and I went for dinner, hoping to find a new place to regularly visit. She had crab cakes (on menu) and a pasta dish (special.) I had a BLT board (on special) and the duck (on menu.) Crab cakes were pretty decent, nothing special. The sauce was (a chutney) actually quite good, if a bit stronger than I'd like to see paired with something as delicate as crab. The BLT board left me wondering 'where's the foie' and wishing whoever designed it had some familiarity with the idea of balancing a dish. It was sweet on sweet on fatty on sweet. The bacon could have been smokey and salty, and the tomatoes bright and acidic; instead the bacon was sweet, the tomatoes were a jam (and an overly sweet one at that.) The whole dish was one dimensional and rather disappointing, though palatable and likely the best thing we had all night. Pasta was tough, and doughy. Very clearly over worked, by quite a bit. Was nearly sauce-less as well, a shame as the sauce had good flavor. The duck prosciutto, rather than being cut to lardons was in large slices, making it difficult to eat, and poorly distributed. Duck breast was skinless . What's the point? It was also breaded, and seemingly deep fried. Gnocchi was initially mistaken for polenta. It appeared to have been cooked in a sheet tray, and cubed rather than formed as gnocchis and boiled. It was a glutenous mess, I'd guess more than half flour, and again grossly overworked. The wine menu was extensive, and the front of house staff was good; however a good restaurant has to be based on food worth eating. If you come here at all: make it for a couple of drinks, then go elsewhere for dinner.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Vegan friendly!

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

While our waiter was a little confused, the kitchen staff went above and beyond accommodating vegan dishes. I will definitely recommend this restaurant for a vegan meetup and to anyone who likes good food and wine!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

Dined on April 28, 2016

I was looking to try a different restaurant to celebrate my birthday and while doing some research, I found the Hampton Street Vineyard. They had good reviews, so I thought to give it a chance. My family and I really enjoyed the food. Everything was delicious and even though we didn't order any wine, they had a variety to choose from. It was a pleasant experience and I would definitely recommend it going.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstand food prepared by knowledgeable chef

Dined on April 21, 2016

Great fine dining in Columbia, SC. The food pairing is excellent for a full flavored dish. The wine list is also great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband's birthday. Romantic.

Dined on April 9, 2016

Loved the atmosphere. The food was amazing. We're planning on going back soon. Big variety of wines.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Quiet Saturday night

Dined on March 26, 2016

We had a party of 5 and all ate a different main course. Four approved of their meal (one being me who found the fish special very good) and one thought the duck was a poor alternative with a thin sauce. The ceasar salad had way too much pepper corn in what was otherwise a great salad. Server was very attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome crab cake!!! Excellent wine list ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Awesome crab cake!!! Excellent wine list!

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Lunch Date

Dined on March 22, 2016

Enjoyed this jewel that was close to hotel and in the city center

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoughtful Staff and Awesome Birthday Experience

Dined on March 16, 2016

We brought a friend for her birthday and the staff really just took care of us from beginning to end - whether it was the hostess, bartender or our waiter - they were just all awesome. Great meal, great drinks, great dessert. Go here and you will get taken care of.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

great place!

Dined on March 11, 2016

We really enjoyed our first time at HSV. Food was super yummy and service was good. Only disappointment. ....we made a reservation via open table and received a confirmation. When we got to the restaurant , they didn't have record of our reservation. They were not busy at all that night, so it worked out. Not sure if it was the fault of opentable.com or the restaurants that they didn't have our reservation! ?

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Another nice meal

Dined on February 20, 2016

This was the third time I have eaten there and they have been consistently good. Unfortunately they are not vegetarian friendly. Their sesame tuna was tasty and my date enjoyed her scallops. We enjoyed the deconstructed smore.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

Dined on February 15, 2016

This was the second Valentine's Day my boyfriend and I went to Hampton Street Vineyard, and we were just as impressed this year as we were last year. The service was outstanding as usual, and the food was absolutely delicious. We love the cozy atmosphere and creative dishes, and the server was very considerate about our special diet restrictions. I will certainly be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great meal as always

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a great meal at Hampton Street last weekend, I had the lamb shank with a delicious demi glaze and my wife had the monk fish. We've never had anything bad here!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

The restaurant was very loud. To the poi ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The restaurant was very loud. To the point where it was difficult to hold a conversation. They offered an extensive wine list of various prices, some affordable some not so much. The food was good. I saw several things I was interested in ordering.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious meal and great ambiance

Dined on February 2, 2016

Delicious meal and great ambiance

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Napa Valley in Columbia, SC

Dined on January 30, 2016

Followed up on a recommendation by a friend and decided to dine at Hampton Street Vineyard for the celebration of a special person's birthday. The restaurant was cozily located a few steps below the level of Hampton Street across the street from the Columbia Marriott. Upon arrival, my party was immediately greeted by the hostess and seated at a comfortable in the small dining room. Our server was very attentive and immediately introduced himself and ran down the specials and then proceeded to bring us water and bread. The menu was very diverse and the daily specials added to these diversities. The Hampton Street Vineyard also had a very expansive wine menu with bottles that ranged in a price from $40 to $500, with a very good selection of fine wines at the all price levels. Selected dishes included a seafood dish (scallops) and a pork dish. Both were very tasty and their presentation was superb. The desert menu had some interesting items, including the cheesecake lollipops, which were excellent. I will definitely return to the Hampton Street Vineyard to sample another great wine and entrée.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Extremely good entrees. I had scallop/p ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Extremely good entrees. I had scallop/pork belly ensemble. They played off each other quite well. The waitress was friendly yet professional.

food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Favorite restaurant in Columbia

Dined on January 23, 2016

Best food in Columbia. Great little restaurant tucked away in a quiet setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

I made a request on my OpenTable reserva ...

Dined on January 22, 2016

I made a request on my OpenTable reservation for a quite table or something special for my girlfriends birthday. The gentleman that seated us had no clue and put us in the middle of the dining area. I asked for the manager and he wasn't very concerned and offered us a free drink. They had three days notice and simply had no clue or plan to accommodate my request. Very disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service4

We went on a Monday night and the servic ...

Dined on January 18, 2016

We went on a Monday night and the service was good and the food was good to. For columbia it's considered fine dining, but in reality it's just not. Great atmosphere and huge wine list this is definitely a good place for a nice dinner. Paid around 120 for appetizers, wine, entree and tip. food is good for the price. Not outstanding but it's good.

food3
ambience1
service2
value3

New Year's Eve Dinner

Dined on December 31, 2015

The restaurant was filled with the smoke and smell from the kitchen. On the ride home both my wife and myself could smell the kitchen smoke in our cloths. We were seated close to the open kitchen. This may not have been as much of a problem if seated further away.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience for my anniversary.

Dined on December 26, 2015

My wife and I loved this experience. Nice romantic atmosphere. Definitely going back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent, delicious and we ...

Dined on December 19, 2015

The food was excellent, delicious and well presented. Our server was great and very attentive! However, the owner was very rude, and our server had to apologize for his actions and comments!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food and serve but too loud if a l ...

Dined on December 17, 2015

Great food and serve but too loud if a large group is there at the time you are.

food5
ambience5
service5

As always, everything was very good. E ...

vip
Dined on December 13, 2015

As always, everything was very good. Excellent service. Great wine choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Our server was fabulous she was fun and ...

vip
Dined on December 12, 2015

Our server was fabulous she was fun and energetic ! Great experience

food5
ambience4
service5

LOUD!!!

Dined on December 3, 2015

The food is wonderful. My only objection to HSV is that it is so horribly loud that it is impossible to talk without shouting.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service1

Great food - Poor service

Dined on November 21, 2015

We had a reservation for 8pm and arrived at 755pm. We were greeted and seated at 810pm. In any normal situation this would be considered expectable. However, the restaurant is small (maybe 20 tables) and the host walked past us at least three times without greeting. Once we were seated, it took an additional 10 minutes for the server to greet us and offer a glass of water. The server delivered the wrong bottle of wine claiming the vineyard changed their name (clearly not the case). The food was excellent and the wine selection was vast. Unfortunately, I would not recommend this restaurant to my friends as there are other locations in the area comparable with better service.

food4
ambience5
service4

We make it a priority to stop for dinner ...

Dined on November 19, 2015

We make it a priority to stop for dinner when we are anywhere Columbia

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

One of my favs

Dined on November 14, 2015

This has become one of my go to restaurants when I am in Columbia. The service is always good and the food is excellent. Never had a bad meal. We ordered the fried oysters and mussels for apps. I had the salmon. We were a party of 5 and we were all pleased with our dinner. The wine list is amazing. The only bad thing is the parking but I think it's like that in any city restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

The food at Hampton Street Vineyard was ...

Dined on November 14, 2015

The food at Hampton Street Vineyard was delicious. We really loved the short ribs and the eggplant oscar and our waiter Todd was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite Columbia restaurants

Dined on November 13, 2015

Great food, top-notch service, and a terrific wine list! The menu features locally-produced products and is a blend of regional dishes and classic cuisine; all prepared and presented artfully. Portions are large; I don't think we've ever made it to dessert. The wine list is extensive; it has won an award from Wine Spectator and they obviously take pride in their offerings. There is a small side dining room that also doubles as their wine library - I always assumed it was for private parties but I was told on my last visit that you can request to dine there when making a reservation and they'll seat you there if it isn't otherwise taken - I'll have to try it next time. Service is knowledgeable, prompt and professional. The dining room can be noisy when full; the room is open and the surfaces are hard, which may contribute to sounds reflecting around. I'm usually put off by noisy restaurants but I don't care when it comes to the Hampton Street Vineyard; it's that good. Just raise your voice a little more; you'll be fine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasure!

vip
Dined on November 13, 2015

The staff is always kind, low key and accommodating. The food is no surprises, but stellar. Always, the veggies are fresh and the meats and sauces beautifully paired and delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

It was the best dining experience I have ...

Dined on November 12, 2015

It was the best dining experience I have ever received. Our waiter Zach Made the whole experience fun and recommended great dishes. I plan on coming back because of it.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, wine, and staff!

Dined on November 11, 2015

My wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary. I surprised her with this dinner and some roses waiting at the restaurant. Food was amazing, very large wine selection, and the staff was the best!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Rick

Dined on November 10, 2015

Well worth your time. Excellent menu and the dishes met our expectations. Very pleasant staff, attentive but not hovering. Just a bit noisy, but not intolerable.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

A new found gem

Dined on November 5, 2015

A great romantic place. You will enjoy the hospitality. Go now!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.