About Hammocks Trading Company

7285 Roswell Road
Sandy Springs, GA 30328
View Larger Map

Hammocks Trading Company is the choice for high quality seafood in North Atlanta. Local owners Jason Sheetz and William Sigley pride themselves on great food, service, bar, and atmosphere. Together they have 50 years of restaurant experience at the best restaurants in Atlanta and Las Vegas. Hammocks combines our attention to detail with a casual neighborhood feel. Our most reviewed items include the BBQ Oysters and the Baked Salmon. Both were reviewed in the AJC and on Atlanta Eats. Our menu features cuisine from the southern coastal regions of the United States. Gumbo, Shrimp and Grits, BBQ Ribs are just a few examples. Our fresh veggies include fried okra, creamed corn, and collard greens. The grouper sandwich has become known as the best in town. Our other sandwiches include the Crispy Shrimp or Oyster Po-Boys, Smoked Chicken Salad, Brisket, and the Salmon BLTA. We are family friendly and have options for all ages. Every item from the kitchen is made from scratch.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:30 am - 4:00 pm, Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 4:00 pm - 9:00 pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Dalrymple Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 395-9592

Website:
http://www.hammockstradingcompany.com/

Catering:
Customized Catering options, call Jason to inquire.

Parking Details:
2 lots are available for parking, one on each side of the restaurant. The full lot on the left (North) side of the building is available after 6:30 Monday-Saturday and all day Sunday.

Executive Chef:
William Sigley

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Hammocks Trading Company
Hammocks Trading Company
Hammocks Trading Company
Hammocks Trading Company
Hammocks Trading Company
Hammocks Trading Company
Hammocks Trading Company
Hammocks Trading Company
Hammocks Trading Company
Hammocks Trading Company
Hammocks Trading Company
Fried Fish Platter - Hammocks Trading Company
1.5 lb Lobster Special - Hammocks Trading Company
Chipotle Chicken Tenders - Hammocks Trading Company
NY Strip - Hammocks Trading Company
Double Espresso Chocolate Creme Brulee - Hammocks Trading Company
buttermilk biscuits - Hammocks Trading Company
Spaghetti & Clams - Hammocks Trading Company
Blackened Fish Tacos - Hammocks Trading Company
Rocky Road Ice Cream Sandwich - Hammocks Trading Company
Gumbo - Hammocks Trading Company
Lemon Pepper Wings - Hammocks Trading Company
Lemon Grilled Shrimp - Hammocks Trading Company
Ginger Peach Sangria - Hammocks Trading Company
Salmon BLT Sandwich - Hammocks Trading Company
Grilled Shrimp - Hammocks Trading Company
s'mores - Hammocks Trading Company
Lemon Ice Box - Hammocks Trading Company
seafood gumbo - Hammocks Trading Company
Mixed Fry - Hammocks Trading Company
Sweet Ice Tea - Hammocks Trading Company
Shrimp Po'boy - Hammocks Trading Company
Smoked Chicken - Hammocks Trading Company
Blackened Grouper Sandwich - Hammocks Trading Company
Salmon BLT - Hammocks Trading Company
Smoked Brisket - Hammocks Trading Company
Mac & Cheese - Hammocks Trading Company
Coconut Fried Shrimp - Hammocks Trading Company
Fried Okra - Hammocks Trading Company
fish tacos - Hammocks Trading Company
Sweet Tea - Hammocks Trading Company
Smoked Brisket Taco - Hammocks Trading Company
Spicy pickled shrimp - Hammocks Trading Company
Lamb Stew For St. Patrick's Day - Hammocks Trading Company
Lamb Meatballs - Hammocks Trading Company
Fried Fish Tacos - Hammocks Trading Company
Fried Artich - Hammocks Trading Company
Beer Battered Shrimp - Hammocks Trading Company
Fried Cat Fish With Black Eyed Peas - Hammocks Trading Company
Fried Grouper Sandwich - Hammocks Trading Company
Whole Roasted Porgy - Hammocks Trading Company
Brisket And 2 Sides - Hammocks Trading Company
Oysters on the Half Shell - Hammocks Trading Company
Country Terrine - Hammocks Trading Company
P.E.I. Mussels - Hammocks Trading Company
Grouper Sandwich - Hammocks Trading Company

Hammocks Trading Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

3.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (29)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Groups (15)
See All
Kid-friendly (15)
Great for Lunch (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Casual (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fun (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Spicy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Authentic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Romantic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Historic (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
293 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our food was excellent and the waiter wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

Our food was excellent and the waiter was very helpful !! It was a fun atmosphere watching football on the TVs !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the smoked prime rib special and it ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

Had the smoked prime rib special and it was amazing! Another good reason to go on a saturdAy night. ✅

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never sat in the lower area before....to ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Never sat in the lower area before....toooooooo noisy! Couldn't have a conversation-we texted each other to communicate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I enjoyed the lobster dinner but some of ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

I enjoyed the lobster dinner but some of the people with me felt that they weren't cracked properly and were difficult to eat. I think that's part of eating lobsters.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great restaurant! The seafood is amazin ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great restaurant! The seafood is amazing. We enjoyed a lobster roll, blackened grouper sandwich, fried okra, and fried green tomatoes. The chocolate espresso crème brule was a great finishing touch after dinner. We will definitely be coming back! Thanks again for the great service Shannon!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried the special "Hammocks Famous Salmo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Tried the special "Hammocks Famous Salmon Baked In Parchment" - very good.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent restaurant for fresh seafood. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Excellent restaurant for fresh seafood. Initially we were seated in a section near the front...like an enclosed porch...and it was extremely loud. We asked to be moved to a booth in the main building and it was MUCH better. We had a reservation which is a must on a Friday night. They were very accommodating to our request. We had Paul as our waiter and he was terrific. Very knowledgeable, friendly and attentive. Only problem is with parking! Valet was full and we had to struggle a bit to find a place to park. There are signs saying not to park in the huge lot across the street...we figured it's because it's such a busy street and dangerous to cross there. But better signage of where you CAN park would be appreciated.

The food was excellently prepared and interestingly creative. We will definitely go back! I had never heard of Hammocks until searching for good seafood in Sandy Springs! Try this place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Extremely loud (especially in the bar ar ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Extremely loud (especially in the bar area during a UGA game). Nice selection of wines & interesting cocktails. Yelp indicated they are a BBQ & Seafood restaurant but there wasn't any BBQ that I saw. Trout was really well done & comes with 2 sides...

Good variety of gluten-free selections. Only have valet parking!!! That was a surprise as everything said there was self-parking on both sides of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Excellent quality with unique sides like ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Excellent quality with unique sides like Mexican corn on the cob with spivey dry rub. Tuesday night Maine lobster special was superb.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Spicy, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Refreshing update to menu and many wonde ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Refreshing update to menu and many wonderful new offerings. Lobster roll and prime rib were awesome. Specials for each night of the week are a nice alternative to the old menu. Great job Jason and Chef William.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Much more than fried seafood, Chef Willi ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Much more than fried seafood, Chef William REALLY knows how to cook. Don't miss the sides and the authentic strawberry shortcake (fresh basil in there) is great.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great Beer, Healthy, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Fun, Casual, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food continues to be outstanding food. H ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food continues to be outstanding food. However disappointed that salmon in parchment jumped from $17 to $25 and that brisket was eliminated from the menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

First time visiting this gem! So good! ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

First time visiting this gem! So good! Shrimp tacos were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was better than average, but ove ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Service was better than average, but overall experience was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The food was very average. Several dish ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was very average. Several dishes came out cold. Service was pretty good, but not great. Overall disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Where there for the 4 year anniversary. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Where there for the 4 year anniversary. So happy to see Hammocks continue to put out great food and has been a welcome addition to the area.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I met a friend here on Saturday. We bot ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I met a friend here on Saturday. We both had a lobster roll, homemade BBQ chips and craft beers on tap. It was a splurge, but worth every cent and every calorie. WOW! Delicious! And our waiter was adorable. The beach shack atmosphere is not my favorite aspect of the experience, but I'll overlook it for food this good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

LOUD NOISES!!! We've come to Hammocks m ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

LOUD NOISES!!!

We've come to Hammocks many times and it is always busy and loud. However, this past Friday, it was so loud that it was hard to enjoy our meal. In fact, it was disappointing experience. The food is always fresh and delicious. We had oysters on the half shell, crab stuffed lobster, grilled trout, salmon, and crab legs. All were wonderful. We may wait until it cools off before returning in hopes of sitting outside where it is not so loud.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Being there celebrating Hammock's 4th an ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Being there celebrating Hammock's 4th anniversary was a great occasion. The new menu is fantastic and we look forward to return many times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Somewhat noisy but ok. Will ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food. Somewhat noisy but ok.

Will go back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food is outstanding! A little price ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food is outstanding! A little pricey for 2 people but don't mind paying if the food is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our first time dining here and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was our first time dining here and maybe we came on an off night. Our appetizers took forever and arrived cold as if they had been sitting a while. The entrees took forever too and were just okay, nothing spectacular. Will have to try again and hope it's better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We should have stopped at the appetizer. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We should have stopped at the appetizer. Having sampled ceviche many times and enjoyed it fully every one, my wife and I were surprised when the dish was delivered in red sauce with tortilla chips. The shrimp was fresh, but the appetizer was bad.

Then, two seemingly simple entrees (fish and chips and fish tacos) caught our fancy and we gave them a try. Couldn't finish either one - not a problem with the size of the portion, but basically inedible food. The fish and chips was more bread than fish, and the fish inside the thick, fried wrapping was cold and tough. The fish tacos were a disaster on a plate.

Service was ok, but we never saw our waitress again after she delivered the tab - surprisingly expensive for two "pub" meals and a couple of beers. Maybe even she was embarrassed.

Won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

The food was nicely presented and full o ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was nicely presented and full of flavor. Service was great

Would definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was great including food, ser ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Everything was great including food, service and comfort. Thank you Eric for taking good care of us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

fresh seafood. grilled oysters were per ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

fresh seafood. grilled oysters were perfect. creative specials. attentive service. great neighborhood spot.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I always order the same (6 shrimp and t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I always order the same (6 shrimp and two sides). The food is amazing and it's the drinks are great. My fiancé loves the Moscow mules and my son, the Mac and cheese. The staff is great and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

It wasn't overly crowded for a Saturday ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It wasn't overly crowded for a Saturday night yet the restaurant is noisy and I couldn't really make out the music.

The Grilled grouper was very good and cooked just right with it having the perfect amount of seasoning and moistness. The mashed potatoes were delicious as was the asparagus and they were the perfect accompanments. The jalapeno cornbread was a fail for me because of the over abundance of butter, they were soaked in butter, the first bite is sweet then you get the spicy heat of the jalapeno. I would recommend much less butter or even for me no butter.

Lastly for dessert we had the strawberry shortcake which is worth the visit anytime. Fresh cooked cake with fresh strawberries and whipped cream piled high. Of course I asked for extra whipped cream. We are still talking about the Strawberry Shortcake.

Our server was very attentive, friendly, helpful with menu questions and pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We have dined here on several occasions ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We have dined here on several occasions and this past Saturday was way below par. We were terribly disappointed in the food as well as the indifference of our server. Total disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

The food is good, but kitchen is slow to ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food is good, but kitchen is slow to get things out. The atmosphere is very casual and fun. I really enjoy this place a lot. The tile floors through out the restaurant are very sticky when you walk, which gives the impression of being unclean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

This was my second visit to the restaura ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was my second visit to the restaurant. I came back primarily for the oysters (grilled with BBQ butter). They were worth the drive from Snellville. However, I was not too impressed with my entree selection. They were out of sea scallops and the crispy snapper so I settled for the soft shell crab sandwich. It was not great. Unfortunately, the cole slaw over powered the bread leaving it wet and torn. The crab was not seasoned well. I wouldn't recommend this sandwich unless you request to have the slaw on the side.

With that said, I will return and still highly recommend this place to friends and family. The oysters are freaking terrific. The service was fantastic both times and my dish during my initial visit was good (fish tacos and and garlic spinach).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a group of 9 for dinner. The ser ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We had a group of 9 for dinner. The server was extremely attentive, so the service was excellent. I had the baked salmon with roasted vegetables and it was excellent. Others were not quite as pleased with the portions they received with the meals they chose. The real downside of the evening was the noise level in the restaurant. We absolutely could not even hear the person talking if they were sitting right next to us. Noise level was actually unbearable. I was sorry our experience was not better because the restaurant is very close to our house and the food was good. Probably will not go back because of the noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

The service was the only thing better th ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The service was the only thing better than the food. BUT, the chairs are VERY UNCOMFORTABLE. That could cause me not to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great overall restaurant! The food is de ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great overall restaurant! The food is delicious, and so fresh. You can tell the fish is not frozen. Great place for kids, families. The bar looked like a fun place to catch a game

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The fresh seafood @ Hammock's is delicio ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The fresh seafood @ Hammock's is delicious. I had the Red Snapper Blackened with Fried Green Tomatoes and Garlic Sauteed Spinach. It was wonderful!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food for the money. Just imag ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Very good food for the money. Just imagine you are in Drift, because the restaurant itself is pretty nasty/run down. But the food is as good as Drift and 1/3 to 1/2 the price. We'll be back. Service very friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

We love this restaurant. Great food and ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love this restaurant. Great food and service. Good place for family dining too. We are never disappointed. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been going to Hammocks sine they opened ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Been going to Hammocks sine they opened - NEVER a disappointment, and I always want to order more things than I can eat. Staff and owners are friendly, prompt, and welcoming - highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always great shrimp, service and atmo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

As always great shrimp, service and atmosphere unfortunately the A/C had failed so rather warm......

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and service were absolutely fin ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The food and service were absolutely fine. The biggest issues were the fact that the a/c was offline (on a nice, hot day in Atlanta) and a little more attention may be paid to keeping the place nice and clean as opposed to the slightly dreary environment. The portions were well designed and not too large.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.