About Hammocks Trading Company

7285 Roswell Road
Sandy Springs, GA 30328
View Larger Map

Hammocks Trading Company is the choice for high quality seafood in North Atlanta. Local owners Jason Sheetz and William Sigley pride themselves on great food, service, bar, and atmosphere. Together they have 50 years of restaurant experience at the best restaurants in Atlanta and Las Vegas. Hammocks combines our attention to detail with a casual neighborhood feel. Our most reviewed items include the BBQ Oysters and the Baked Salmon. Both were reviewed in the AJC and on Atlanta Eats. Our menu features cuisine from the southern coastal regions of the United States. Gumbo, Shrimp and Grits, BBQ Ribs are just a few examples. Our fresh veggies include fried okra, creamed corn, and collard greens. The grouper sandwich has become known as the best in town. Our other sandwiches include the Crispy Shrimp or Oyster Po-Boys, Smoked Chicken Salad, Brisket, and the Salmon BLTA. We are family friendly and have options for all ages. Every item from the kitchen is made from scratch.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:30 am - 4:00 pm, Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 4:00 pm - 9:00 pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Dalrymple Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 395-9592

Website:
http://www.hammockstradingcompany.com/

Catering:
Customized Catering options, call Jason to inquire.

Parking Details:
2 lots are available for parking, one on each side of the restaurant. The full lot on the left (North) side of the building is available after 6:30 Monday-Saturday and all day Sunday.

Executive Chef:
William Sigley

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Fried Fish Platter - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
1.5 lb Lobster Special - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Chipotle Chicken Tenders - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
NY Strip - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Double Espresso Chocolate Creme Brulee - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
buttermilk biscuits - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Spaghetti & Clams - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Blackened Fish Tacos - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Rocky Road Ice Cream Sandwich - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Gumbo - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Lemon Pepper Wings - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Lemon Grilled Shrimp - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Ginger Peach Sangria - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Salmon BLT Sandwich - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Grilled Shrimp - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
s'mores - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Lemon Ice Box - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
seafood gumbo - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Mixed Fry - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Sweet Ice Tea - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Shrimp Po'boy - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Smoked Chicken - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Blackened Grouper Sandwich - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Salmon BLT - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Smoked Brisket - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Mac & Cheese - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Coconut Fried Shrimp - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Fried Okra - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
fish tacos - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Sweet Tea - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Smoked Brisket Taco - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Spicy pickled shrimp - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Lamb Stew For St. Patrick's Day - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Lamb Meatballs - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Fried Fish Tacos - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Fried Artich - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Beer Battered Shrimp - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Fried Cat Fish With Black Eyed Peas - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Fried Grouper Sandwich - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Whole Roasted Porgy - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Brisket And 2 Sides - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Oysters on the Half Shell - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Country Terrine - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
P.E.I. Mussels - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Grouper Sandwich - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 8:00PM - 8:30PM

Tue - Thu 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Hammocks Trading Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

3.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (18)
Casual (13)
Fit for Foodies (9)
See All
Creative Cuisine (9)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fun (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Great Beer (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Authentic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Cozy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Spicy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Family Style (2)
Historic (1)
Healthy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
305 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was enjoyable however the manner in ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was enjoyable however the manner in which is parking is handled is very poor.

If you have an issue, no one at the service/reception desk will care.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Best casual, laidback Floriday seafood j ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Best casual, laidback Floriday seafood joint north of the gnat line!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and we especially enj ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was great and we especially enjoyed the HTC salad as our appetizer. However, our server was really what made the experience special. She was engaging, helpful and very friendly - she made our good experience even better. We will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Good experience as always. Metal chairs ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Good experience as always. Metal chairs in the area where we were seated were a little uncomfortable at first on a chilly evening. I'll request another area next time. Red fish was well blackened but pretty small for the $28.50 price. The sides of colard greens and fried okra were great as always. We enjoyed the tastey but very reasonably priced house Chardonnay.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was very spicy. I wish we had ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Everything was very spicy. I wish we had been warned how spicy the seafood gumbo was. Additionally, we had their signature chips. There was so much old bay coated on it was also a wrong choice. We were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Had the Tuesday special Lobster--delicio ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Had the Tuesday special Lobster--delicious and a super value. Sides were great too.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sort of on the expensive side, for what ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Sort of on the expensive side, for what you get. My wife's salmon was undercooked, and had to be sent back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Reliably good! We are always returning f ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Reliably good! We are always returning for the good food and great service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for an early Sunday dinner. No ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We went for an early Sunday dinner. No wait and the food was delicious. The fish tasted fresh and the sides were delicious. The only negative was the side of cold fries.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always great! Tried the lobster roll thi ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Always great! Tried the lobster roll this time and it was amazing!! And don't the chocolate espresso Creme brûlée!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been over 10 times and most of th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I have been over 10 times and most of the time get the Salmon, which is their specialty. When I try other dishes they are just as good. I love Hammocks

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the food was great. I selected ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2016

As usual, the food was great. I selected items from the special Octoberfest menu and it was great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food was excellent and the waiter wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Our food was excellent and the waiter was very helpful !! It was a fun atmosphere watching football on the TVs !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the smoked prime rib special and it ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Had the smoked prime rib special and it was amazing! Another good reason to go on a saturdAy night. ✅

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never sat in the lower area before....to ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Never sat in the lower area before....toooooooo noisy! Couldn't have a conversation-we texted each other to communicate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I enjoyed the lobster dinner but some of ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 20, 2016

I enjoyed the lobster dinner but some of the people with me felt that they weren't cracked properly and were difficult to eat. I think that's part of eating lobsters.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great restaurant! The seafood is amazin ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great restaurant! The seafood is amazing. We enjoyed a lobster roll, blackened grouper sandwich, fried okra, and fried green tomatoes. The chocolate espresso crème brule was a great finishing touch after dinner. We will definitely be coming back! Thanks again for the great service Shannon!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried the special "Hammocks Famous Salmo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Tried the special "Hammocks Famous Salmon Baked In Parchment" - very good.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent restaurant for fresh seafood. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Excellent restaurant for fresh seafood. Initially we were seated in a section near the front...like an enclosed porch...and it was extremely loud. We asked to be moved to a booth in the main building and it was MUCH better. We had a reservation which is a must on a Friday night. They were very accommodating to our request. We had Paul as our waiter and he was terrific. Very knowledgeable, friendly and attentive. Only problem is with parking! Valet was full and we had to struggle a bit to find a place to park. There are signs saying not to park in the huge lot across the street...we figured it's because it's such a busy street and dangerous to cross there. But better signage of where you CAN park would be appreciated.

The food was excellently prepared and interestingly creative. We will definitely go back! I had never heard of Hammocks until searching for good seafood in Sandy Springs! Try this place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Extremely loud (especially in the bar ar ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Extremely loud (especially in the bar area during a UGA game). Nice selection of wines & interesting cocktails. Yelp indicated they are a BBQ & Seafood restaurant but there wasn't any BBQ that I saw. Trout was really well done & comes with 2 sides...

Good variety of gluten-free selections. Only have valet parking!!! That was a surprise as everything said there was self-parking on both sides of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Excellent quality with unique sides like ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Excellent quality with unique sides like Mexican corn on the cob with spivey dry rub. Tuesday night Maine lobster special was superb.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Spicy, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Refreshing update to menu and many wonde ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Refreshing update to menu and many wonderful new offerings. Lobster roll and prime rib were awesome. Specials for each night of the week are a nice alternative to the old menu. Great job Jason and Chef William.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Much more than fried seafood, Chef Willi ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Much more than fried seafood, Chef William REALLY knows how to cook. Don't miss the sides and the authentic strawberry shortcake (fresh basil in there) is great.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great Beer, Healthy, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Fun, Casual, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food continues to be outstanding food. H ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food continues to be outstanding food. However disappointed that salmon in parchment jumped from $17 to $25 and that brisket was eliminated from the menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

First time visiting this gem! So good! ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 18, 2016

First time visiting this gem! So good! Shrimp tacos were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was better than average, but ove ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Service was better than average, but overall experience was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The food was very average. Several dish ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was very average. Several dishes came out cold. Service was pretty good, but not great. Overall disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Where there for the 4 year anniversary. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Where there for the 4 year anniversary. So happy to see Hammocks continue to put out great food and has been a welcome addition to the area.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I met a friend here on Saturday. We bot ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I met a friend here on Saturday. We both had a lobster roll, homemade BBQ chips and craft beers on tap. It was a splurge, but worth every cent and every calorie. WOW! Delicious! And our waiter was adorable. The beach shack atmosphere is not my favorite aspect of the experience, but I'll overlook it for food this good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

LOUD NOISES!!! We've come to Hammocks m ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2016

LOUD NOISES!!!

We've come to Hammocks many times and it is always busy and loud. However, this past Friday, it was so loud that it was hard to enjoy our meal. In fact, it was disappointing experience. The food is always fresh and delicious. We had oysters on the half shell, crab stuffed lobster, grilled trout, salmon, and crab legs. All were wonderful. We may wait until it cools off before returning in hopes of sitting outside where it is not so loud.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Being there celebrating Hammock's 4th an ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Being there celebrating Hammock's 4th anniversary was a great occasion. The new menu is fantastic and we look forward to return many times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Somewhat noisy but ok. Will ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food. Somewhat noisy but ok.

Will go back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food is outstanding! A little price ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food is outstanding! A little pricey for 2 people but don't mind paying if the food is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our first time dining here and ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was our first time dining here and maybe we came on an off night. Our appetizers took forever and arrived cold as if they had been sitting a while. The entrees took forever too and were just okay, nothing spectacular. Will have to try again and hope it's better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We should have stopped at the appetizer. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We should have stopped at the appetizer. Having sampled ceviche many times and enjoyed it fully every one, my wife and I were surprised when the dish was delivered in red sauce with tortilla chips. The shrimp was fresh, but the appetizer was bad.

Then, two seemingly simple entrees (fish and chips and fish tacos) caught our fancy and we gave them a try. Couldn't finish either one - not a problem with the size of the portion, but basically inedible food. The fish and chips was more bread than fish, and the fish inside the thick, fried wrapping was cold and tough. The fish tacos were a disaster on a plate.

Service was ok, but we never saw our waitress again after she delivered the tab - surprisingly expensive for two "pub" meals and a couple of beers. Maybe even she was embarrassed.

Won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

The food was nicely presented and full o ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was nicely presented and full of flavor. Service was great

Would definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was great including food, ser ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Everything was great including food, service and comfort. Thank you Eric for taking good care of us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

fresh seafood. grilled oysters were per ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 16, 2016

fresh seafood. grilled oysters were perfect. creative specials. attentive service. great neighborhood spot.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I always order the same (6 shrimp and t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 16, 2016

I always order the same (6 shrimp and two sides). The food is amazing and it's the drinks are great. My fiancé loves the Moscow mules and my son, the Mac and cheese. The staff is great and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

It wasn't overly crowded for a Saturday ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 10, 2016

It wasn't overly crowded for a Saturday night yet the restaurant is noisy and I couldn't really make out the music.

The Grilled grouper was very good and cooked just right with it having the perfect amount of seasoning and moistness. The mashed potatoes were delicious as was the asparagus and they were the perfect accompanments. The jalapeno cornbread was a fail for me because of the over abundance of butter, they were soaked in butter, the first bite is sweet then you get the spicy heat of the jalapeno. I would recommend much less butter or even for me no butter.

Lastly for dessert we had the strawberry shortcake which is worth the visit anytime. Fresh cooked cake with fresh strawberries and whipped cream piled high. Of course I asked for extra whipped cream. We are still talking about the Strawberry Shortcake.

Our server was very attentive, friendly, helpful with menu questions and pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.