About Hammocks Trading Company

Hammocks Trading Company is the choice for high quality seafood in North Atlanta. Local owners Jason Sheetz and William Sigley pride themselves on great food, service, bar, and atmosphere. Together they have 50 years of restaurant experience at the best restaurants in Atlanta and Las Vegas. Hammocks combines our attention to detail with a casual neighborhood feel. Our most reviewed items include the BBQ Oysters and the Baked Salmon. Both were reviewed in the AJC and on Atlanta Eats. Our menu features cuisine from the southern coastal regions of the United States. Gumbo, Shrimp and Grits are just a few examples. Our fresh veggies include fried okra, fried green tomatoes, and collard greens. The grouper sandwich has become known as the best in town. Our other sandwiches include the Crispy Shrimp or Oyster Po-Boys, Lobster Roll, Smoked Chicken Salad and the Salmon BLTA. We are family friendly and have options for all ages. Every item from the kitchen is made from scratch.

7285 Roswell Road
Sandy Springs, GA 30328
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Monday: 11:30 am - 9:00 pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30 am - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Dalrymple Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 395-9592

Website:
http://www.hammockstradingcompany.com/

Catering:
Customized Catering options, call Jason to inquire.

Parking Details:
2 lots are available for parking, one on each side of the restaurant. The full lot on the left (North) side of the building is available after 6:30 Monday-Saturday and all day Sunday.

Executive Chef:
William Sigley

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hammocks Trading Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

3.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (39)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Comfort Food (14)
See All
Great for Lunch (13)
Fun (13)
Family Style (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Healthy (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Authentic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Cozy (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Business Meals (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
 (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
380 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was very good and our waitress was knowledgeable and helpful in choosing meals. However, there was not enough staff for the amount of customers and although we made it clear we were pressed for time, we waited a long time to get our meals and were there for late for our show.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Vegan, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

We are Hammock's regulars when visiting our kids in Sandy Springs. Must say, this visit was less than the many previous visits. My crispy cornmeal shrimp were not as large or as flavorful as before and the cornmeal just came right off. Wife's grilled shrimp were small and disappointing. Cheesy grits not really hot and veggies waaay underdone. Oh we'll be back but this visit just didn't hit their usually high mark.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Very pleased, excellent food, good service. I will go back.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food, great service the staff was very welcoming and attentive. Great price for such great seafood and side menu. Definitely coming back and bringing friends / family.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Our server was amazing and the food very fresh ! Love their salmon ! I get the pecan , peach
Salad with the salmon on top and love it ! They have a chocolate cake with vodka Icing out of this world 🌎

One of my new favorite restaurants on Roswell rd

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Celebrated Mother's Day and 4 year olds birthday.. our server, Sara, was exceptionally good. She was so helpful, got everything to us in a timely manner. And, even when we asked her to serve a birthday cake that I had brought in, she did it with a smile on her face and was very accommodating. All this while she was busy serving other people too. I will definitely come back again, because the food was also great. Everyone got something different, and the kids menu accommodated my three very picky grandchildren. Thank you.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Hammocks is a great spot for seafood and drinks. Has that gulf feel to it. Food is excellent and it is a very good value for what you get. We usually eat outside if possible...inside gets a little noisy. Location is easy to get to without many of the traffic headaches experienced in other parts of ATL. Would certainly recommend to friends!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were very pleased with our drinks, meal, and deserts Thank you for a pleasant Mothers' Day!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was outstanding! Especially the fried seafood platter. Mac and cheese quite good as well Service was very good

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Prices have gone up,some popular items no longer on new menu and some dishes have gone down in quality.Needs more owners attention.Other times everything is good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Spectacular food for a great price! This is a good place for individuals that love seafood. Its not easy to find that in Georgia but this place sets the bar high in flavor!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Enjoyed my dinner. Was not rushed and did not want to be. Had a nice leisurely dinner with a friend. Food was good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our family met here for Sunday lunch/brunch. The food and service was fantastic. This is a great place for seafood and they have wonderful options for sides. The collard greens and rosemary grits were delicious as well as the seafood. We definitely would go back!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The crab legs are really hot or miss. They are pretty pricey. At least half the time they are either not fresh enough or not properly cooked such that they are impossible the crack and eat. Saturday they were impossible to eat and smelled fishy.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Oysters were great especially char grilled

Service was good but not consistent. Overall would try again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great restaurant with good food for even the pickiest eater. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Food was average or a little above. Seafood was fresh but a tad overcooked. Green beans were barely cooked. It seemed a little over priced for a more casual place. Decor was quaint and perfect for a little coastal like restaurant. Waiter was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Noisy but waitstaff adjusted and made it into an excellent evening for is by moving us outside. I would suggest getting there after 7:30 pm for dinner with a reservation.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had the salmon blackened with grits and asparagus delicious. I had the trout wth asparagus. We shared a ceasar salad..
We will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Can't beat the half priced oyster happy hour. Food is always fresh and delicious. It's our go to restaurant on Friday night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Food was good, not great. Shrimp tacos only had about 2 shrimp in each - for the price you'd expect more. The rosemary grits were awesome. Would give it a second try....maybe.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Service was a little slow but we were in no hurry so it worked well for us. Food was great. Server was full of personality and great recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

First time trying this restaurant. We had a movie to catch, so we were in a bit of a hurry. Unfortunately, however, they kept us waiting for nearly 15 minutes. I had to go to the hostess podium to get some attention.

To the restaurant's credit, the manager came by and apologized profusely. He sent out an appetizer on the house. Again unfortunately, they didn't check with us about which appetizer we would like. They just sent the fried one. Since I had already ordered a fried seafood platter, this was a bit of fried overkill.

I will probably give them one more chance, and see if we like them better. My fried platter was good and her cioppino was delicious, albeit a little salty.

To add insult to injury, when we got to the movie, we found they had change the schedule on us that very day. That's what we get for relying on the printed newspaper instead of Fandango.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The menu is varied and the food is good, but perhaps a bit pricey for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Very disappointing. First grouper 's poor condition camouflaged by ultra hot red pepper on the blackening. Replacement, grilled piece totally inedible. Won't be back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fish and asparagus good, spinach had no taste

Tags: Casual, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything was really good so why four andnot five sfars? The fried oysters were kind of dry and small .

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Delicious food and wonderful, informed entertaining server!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Lobster Dinner on Tuesdays is a real bargain. Our friends do not eat lobster ; they enjoyed very good fish dinners.
We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food and service were good. A little pricey for specials

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We split an entree and laughed because they gave us each 1/2 of a biscuit. The biscuit were very hard. They should have been generous and given us each a hard biscuit 🤣.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Our server was very good and knowledgeable about the menu and the food seemed very fresh and was very good. We went for the seafood and were not disappointed. Never heard of sheepshead fish but it was very good and our server was able to tell us all about it before we ordered. Value was also good. This was our third visit over several months and I'm sure we will be back, as the experience has been more than satisfactory each time. A nice little discovery.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food at Hammock's is always fresh and delicious. We come each week for Happy Hour oysters on the half shell. This week, the oysters were the largest I've ever seen. You almost needed to cut them in half with a knife just to eat them. For half the price and twice the size, I have nothing to complain about. See you next week.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Always so fun. Six of us went to celebrate an anniversary. Some booths are perfect for six. Enjoyed trying new cocktails and love trying new fish specials. Best fish and chips in town. Also, best oysters ever. Shannon was great and really good at accommodating 6 people who can talk at the same time! It's always impressive when the chef/owner delivers meals. Both owners, William and Jason, make their presence known , and are super friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food is an outstanding value. Great food and reasonable prices. Great place for casual dining. Usually see a nice mix of diners, so people watching can be interesting. Highly recommend the lobster bisque soup. Fish is always fresh and very generous portions

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We were three adults and t wo children eating at 2:45 on a Sunday, so it was quiet, as expected. The children has food from the children's menu and enjoyed it. We adults decided to have a selection of appetizers and sides. We were very disappointed that they were OUT of chicken wings!! How is a casual bear/restaurant OUT of chicken wings?? It seemed to us that there could have been easy solutions to that problem. We ultimately ordered the shrimp/lobster bisque, collards, fried green tomatoes, shrimp with garlic, and mixed fried appetizer. All were absolutely delicious! The chef-made hot vinegar they serve with the collards, as well as the remoulade, were exceptional and set off all the food choices. For dessert, adults shared a wonderful, FRESH peach (not canned) cobbler that "hit the spot". However, the children were forced to share a cookie and ice cream, because - you guessed it - it was the last cookie! The food is great here, service a bit lackluster, but something is truly amiss with kitchen management!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

A local favorite for your seafood fix. Fresh catches daily plus menu staples like fish tacos and crab legs. $5 margaritas that are yummy. Great food quality and variety. Only negative is can get loud and the 4-top tables are too small if you actually have 4 people.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The service got slow as the restaurant filled up

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The Tuesday night special, 1 LB lobster with two sides for $21. is a great buy and fresh and tasty! The presentation was great and the service staff was very accommodating!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We had a dinner meeting here. Everyone got something different and all parties seemed to be pleased w/ the dinner. Highlights were the trout and the scallops for sure! Always enjoy Hammocks for a casual dining experience.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.