About Hammocks Trading Company

Hammocks Trading Company is the choice for high quality seafood in North Atlanta. Local owners Jason Sheetz and William Sigley pride themselves on great food, service, bar, and atmosphere. Together they have 50 years of restaurant experience at the best restaurants in Atlanta and Las Vegas. Hammocks combines our attention to detail with a casual neighborhood feel. Our most reviewed items include the BBQ Oysters and the Baked Salmon. Both were reviewed in the AJC and on Atlanta Eats. Our menu features cuisine from the southern coastal regions of the United States. Gumbo, Shrimp and Grits are just a few examples. Our fresh veggies include fried okra, fried green tomatoes, and collard greens. The grouper sandwich has become known as the best in town. Our other sandwiches include the Crispy Shrimp or Oyster Po-Boys, Lobster Roll, Smoked Chicken Salad and the Salmon BLTA. We are family friendly and have options for all ages. Every item from the kitchen is made from scratch.

7285 Roswell Road
Sandy Springs, GA 30328
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Monday: 11:30 am - 9:00 pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30 am - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Dalrymple Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 395-9592

Website:
http://www.hammockstradingcompany.com/

Catering:
Customized Catering options, call Jason to inquire.

Parking Details:
2 lots are available for parking, one on each side of the restaurant. The full lot on the left (North) side of the building is available after 6:30 Monday-Saturday and all day Sunday.

Executive Chef:
William Sigley

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hammocks Trading Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

3.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (29)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Comfort Food (11)
See All
Family Style (10)
Fun (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Authentic (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Cozy (6)
Healthy (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Special Occasion (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Seasonal (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Romantic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
346 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food is an outstanding value. Great food and reasonable prices. Great place for casual dining. Usually see a nice mix of diners, so people watching can be interesting. Highly recommend the lobster bisque soup. Fish is always fresh and very generous portions

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We were three adults and t wo children eating at 2:45 on a Sunday, so it was quiet, as expected. The children has food from the children's menu and enjoyed it. We adults decided to have a selection of appetizers and sides. We were very disappointed that they were OUT of chicken wings!! How is a casual bear/restaurant OUT of chicken wings?? It seemed to us that there could have been easy solutions to that problem. We ultimately ordered the shrimp/lobster bisque, collards, fried green tomatoes, shrimp with garlic, and mixed fried appetizer. All were absolutely delicious! The chef-made hot vinegar they serve with the collards, as well as the remoulade, were exceptional and set off all the food choices. For dessert, adults shared a wonderful, FRESH peach (not canned) cobbler that "hit the spot". However, the children were forced to share a cookie and ice cream, because - you guessed it - it was the last cookie! The food is great here, service a bit lackluster, but something is truly amiss with kitchen management!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

A local favorite for your seafood fix. Fresh catches daily plus menu staples like fish tacos and crab legs. $5 margaritas that are yummy. Great food quality and variety. Only negative is can get loud and the 4-top tables are too small if you actually have 4 people.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The service got slow as the restaurant filled up

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The Tuesday night special, 1 LB lobster with two sides for $21. is a great buy and fresh and tasty! The presentation was great and the service staff was very accommodating!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We had a dinner meeting here. Everyone got something different and all parties seemed to be pleased w/ the dinner. Highlights were the trout and the scallops for sure! Always enjoy Hammocks for a casual dining experience.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We've been to Hammocks several times....always good. But tonight just seemed average. Fried okra was bland, as was snapper special. No salt, pepper, cocktail or tartar offered. My daughter was given a quarter cup of butter to go with her biscuit (weird). And appetizer of mussels came with 2 rather small pieces of bread for 4 people, when we asked for more, they brought 3 more. My pet peeve is when the bread or other items are not the right number for people at he table. The server was nice, but rushed us through dinner. I would've had another cocktail or a glass of wine (I had 1), but she never asked....so our bill actually could've been bigger and therefore her tip. It's nice to be able to go someplace other than Red Lobster, I just wasn't impressed tonight....just meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It had great food and service!
Crab legs were awesome.
Food came out in a timely manner and waiter was very helpful!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The seafood was good, the service was terrible. Our server was not well-trained. She failed to notice many issues with missing items, drinks that needed to be refilled, etc. I will not bother to return to this restaurant. It is a long distance from my home & the interior decorations are uninspiring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Food and service has always been great. Fat Tuesday and large crowd slowed things down a bit, but food was worth the wait.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent food that we all enjoyed. The baked salmon and Scottish salmon cannot be beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our go-to spot for great food, great service and a great time together. Hammocks never disapoints.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Fabulous food and even better service! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had a great experience. If you like seafood you will love it. Good variety of choices. Everything we had was great.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

As always Food and Service was excellent. It was very crowded and noisy, but it is normal for a Friday. If you don't mind the noise, it is a very good place to go eat and have a couple of drinks.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

their speciality is salmon in parchment and it is outstanding. lobster soup is also very good. draw back is noise level which is very high. our favorite waitress is Shannon with her great sense of humor and knowledge off the entire menu

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Good seafood choices: Oysters ($17/doz)--half-price everyday 4-6!
Trout, Catfish, Redfish, and Snapper--$15 to $28 for dinner.
Vegetable sides, southern-style, were delicious.
Good beer selection--inexpensive.
Great, casual service.

One drawback: the building was drafty and cold (wasn't even the coldest of nights)...server said it was always that way...

I'll be back--in the Summer.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We were so grateful to have such fresh, exquisite tasting food in such a lovely environment with amazing service. Our last night together in Atlanta was very special, thanks to Hammocks Trading Company. True Fact.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 22, 2017

From. 5 to a 2. First visit was fantastic. Saturday was the opposite. Poor service, waited 40 minutes for green tomatoes, shrimp dinner came out cold and the bathrooms were disgusting. I know this was a busy night, but clearly you didn't have enough staff. The experience was so bad all around, we will not be going back as the drive is to far for anything less than an all star performance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Love their shrimp po-boy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

Best place to eat oysters. I come here often for oysters and it certainly is one of the best in town.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Always a good choice for seafood. We love coming here for happy hour when oysters on the half shell are half price. The food is always fresh, cooked perfectly, with a rotating selection.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Food was fair. Much too much batter. Server was excellent though. LINDSAY

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Love this place! Fantastic drinks and food! The seafood dishes have all been amazing and their desserts too off the perfect dinner experience!

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great for our small NYE celebration! Food is always delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We wanted to be casual for New Year's Eve and hammocks was the perfect place- food was great- just wish they had thousand island salad dressing and nachos and cheese and guacamole

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great find! Local, casual, great staff and service, food is amazing, and portions are more than generous. Can't believe they've been here 5 yrs and we just discovered them. Will probably be back on regular basis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Mussels were spoiled - we had to have them taken away from the table due to the awful stench. Our waitress was really great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Two-sided coin. Raw oysters came out room temperature. Replaced with steamed. My salmon was great. Service was spotty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great seafood! Looking forward to our next meal! Oysters are a must!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Love the food; some of the best seafood in town!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The service was good once they figured out who's table we were sitting at but I didn't think the food was worth the price of admission. Don't get me wrong the food was good but a little disappointing for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 7, 2016

We LOVE Hammocks and wanted to try the Tuesday night lobster special: a whole steamed lobster with 2 sides. It was cooked perfectly and a deal at 21.00!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was not good. Service was excellent. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was enjoyable however the manner in which is parking is handled is very poor.
If you have an issue, no one at the service/reception desk will care.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great place for lunch with very good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Best casual, laidback Floriday seafood joint north of the gnat line!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was great and we especially enjoyed the HTC salad as our appetizer. However, our server was really what made the experience special. She was engaging, helpful and very friendly - she made our good experience even better. We will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Good experience as always. Metal chairs in the area where we were seated were a little uncomfortable at first on a chilly evening. I'll request another area next time. Red fish was well blackened but pretty small for the $28.50 price. The sides of colard greens and fried okra were great as always. We enjoyed the tastey but very reasonably priced house Chardonnay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Everything was very spicy. I wish we had been warned how spicy the seafood gumbo was. Additionally, we had their signature chips. There was so much old bay coated on it was also a wrong choice. We were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.