Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Kaiser's ChophouseKaiser's Chophouse
(175)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Sandy Springs, Atlanta
Booked 27 times today
il Giallo Osteria & Baril Giallo Osteria & Bar
(691)
$$$$
Italian | Sandy Springs, Atlanta
Booked 20 times today
Rumi's Kitchen - Sandy SpringsRumi's Kitchen - Sandy Springs
(1891)
$$$$
Persian | Sandy Springs, Atlanta
Booked 53 times today
Seasons 52 - PerimeterSeasons 52 - Perimeter
(3438)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Dunwoody, Atlanta
Booked 66 times today
Little Alley SteakLittle Alley Steak
(1135)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Roswell, Alpharetta / Roswell
Booked 29 times today
BRIO Tuscan Grille - Atlanta - PerimeterBRIO Tuscan Grille - Atlanta - Perimeter
(1455)
$$$$
Italian | Dunwoody, Atlanta
Booked 11 times today
J. Alexander's - DunwoodyJ. Alexander's - Dunwoody
(792)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Dunwoody, Atlanta
Booked 30 times today
Brooklyn CafeBrooklyn Cafe
(1057)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Sandy Springs, Atlanta
Booked 43 times today
Novo CucinaNovo Cucina
(233)
$$$$
Italian | Dunwoody, Atlanta
Booked 2 times today
Maggiano's - PerimeterMaggiano's - Perimeter
(3426)
$$$$
Italian | Dunwoody, Atlanta
Booked 15 times today
The Capital Grille - Dunwoody, AtlantaThe Capital Grille - Dunwoody, Atlanta
(988)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Dunwoody, Atlanta
Booked 32 times today
McKendrick's Steakhouse - Perimeter CenterMcKendrick's Steakhouse - Perimeter Center
(2358)
$$$$
Steak | Dunwoody, Atlanta
Booked 19 times today
Food 101Food 101
(1417)
$$$$
American | Sandy Springs, Atlanta
Booked 10 times today
Eclipse di Luna - DunwoodyEclipse di Luna - Dunwoody
(1073)
$$$$
Tapas / Small Plates | Dunwoody, Atlanta
Booked 18 times today
La Petite Maison - AtlantaLa Petite Maison - Atlanta
(1225)
$$$$
French | Sandy Springs, Atlanta
Booked 13 times today

About Hammocks Trading Company

Hammocks Trading Company is the choice for high quality seafood in North Atlanta. Local owners Jason Sheetz and William Sigley pride themselves on great food, service, bar, and atmosphere. Together they have 50 years of restaurant experience at the best restaurants in Atlanta and Las Vegas. Hammocks combines our attention to detail with a casual neighborhood feel. Our most reviewed items include the BBQ Oysters and the Baked Salmon. Both were reviewed in the AJC and on Atlanta Eats. Our menu features cuisine from the southern coastal regions of the United States. Gumbo, Shrimp and Grits are just a few examples. Our fresh veggies include fried okra, fried green tomatoes, and collard greens. The grouper sandwich has become known as the best in town. Our other sandwiches include the Crispy Shrimp or Oyster Po-Boys, Lobster Roll, Smoked Chicken Salad and the Salmon BLTA. We are family friendly and have options for all ages. Every item from the kitchen is made from scratch.

7285 Roswell Road
Sandy Springs, GA 30328
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Monday: 11:30 am - 9:00 pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30 am - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Dalrymple Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 395-9592

Website:
http://www.hammockstradingcompany.com/

Catering:
Customized Catering options, call Jason to inquire.

Parking Details:
2 lots are available for parking, one on each side of the restaurant. The full lot on the left (North) side of the building is available after 6:30 Monday-Saturday and all day Sunday.

Executive Chef:
William Sigley

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hammocks Trading Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

3.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (33)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Great for Lunch (17)
See All
Healthy (13)
Kid-friendly (13)
Fun (13)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Authentic (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Cozy (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Family Style (4)
People Watching (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Spicy (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
416 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Went to Hammocks for a family birthday dinner. Food was fantastic as always, and we had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Love it but slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great Gulf Oysters 1/2 price before 6PM EVERY DAY!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great neighborhood Seafood and causal dining place. Feels like the Restaurant near the beach that we all go to when on vacation. The difference is it is 7 hours closer to your house. Fresh Seafood prepared by a chef that knows what he is doing. Great place we go back frequently.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

EXCELLENT FOOD. I expected more of an upscale looking restaurant, but gave it a try anyway. I'm SO glad I did. I will definitely return to taste more of the menu. Staff was great. And it stays open late.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Go for the oysters. They are large and tasty. Go for the fish and chips, a good choice. Go for the casual atmosphere and friendly servers. Don't expect too much from things like homemade chips (too covered with seasoning and no crunch). Next time we will also try fresh fish items. And a cold beer. Enough choices on the menu.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Sports, Fun, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Food was great, especially special of the day lobster. However, so loud in there we had to yell across the table to hear what was being said. Have never been to a restaurant that we had to do that. The deck was small and unappealing to use. All food was really good though.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Biggest sweetest oysters weve ever seen! Presented in iced galvanized tubs. Thick, dark roux crab shrimp gumbo. Huge pc of catfish and perfect plump oyster po boy. Exciting to be there on National Oyster day. But Chef William didnt shirk on fine cooking. Going back for Tues 1# lobster +2 sides!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Food was good, but the service was terrible. First time I've ever left a small tip. There are too many complaints to write. If you are very patient with poor service, this is the place for you.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We love Hammocks! Always a delicious meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Casual atmosphere, excellent food. The scallops and crabcake were excellent. It gets loud when it gets a little busy. All-around good meal

Tags: Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Stopped by Hammocks while in town for business after checking some reviews. It was a Tuesday evening and the place was empty. There were 2 or 3 people at the bar but my guest and I were the only ones eating in the main dining area. Sometimes that makes me nervous but the meal ended up being good. It wasn't 5-star (that's a very rare score), but was definitely 3 or 3 1/2 stars - meaning it was good and I will probably eat there again. I had the lobster bisque to start and it was actually very good - the best part of my meal. I would have liked to see a little more lobster meat, but at least it wasn't missing altogether. My entrée was the grouper fish tacos. I had them blackened and even though I like spicy, it was a little too hot for my taste. Overall the tacos were good but not that memorable. My guest had fish and chips, and she said they were really good and that she would definitely eat them again. Our waitress was friendly and quick. Overall a good experience but not a place I will go out of my way for. If I'm in the area and it's close to my hotel I will try it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Fantastic as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Nice neighborhood gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Felt like being at the beach (as long as you are inside and not facing the road)

Very good "beach food" and beach vibe. Good raw oysters, quick attentive service...a little noisy but not a deal breaker.

Give it a go - you will like it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Been here several times and enjoy. This time everything was "spot-on."

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Good local restaurant for your seafood fix. Service was great. Not a quiet place to eat but the food made up for that. Parking is very limited. Had to wait 5 minutes for someone to leave so I could park. There is an empty shopping center parking lot but there are towing signs all over. Think the restaurant clientele should be able to park there as an option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Went with friends who are local and thought food was good. But service was lack luster at best.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food is phenomenal but the service is unfortunately lacking. Orders were mixed up, late and drink refills were extremely slow. The manager didn't seem to care much either even though our party of six was spending a good chunk of money in their establishment. Luckily for them the food is amazing - extremely fresh and excellently prepared - but the service on a Saturday night was pretty poor. It's also very noisy as the acoustics are not good in the building, especially with a table of unruly children sitting behind you.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food and service were excellent; I thought my portion was a little small.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great dining and service as always. Our kids loved it too their first time and popcorn shrimp 🍤 perfect!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Excellent as always!

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 22, 2017

I have been twice in the last month. Both times the service was outstanding and the seafood was very fresh. My favorite is the lobster roll (best in Atlanta) & corn side dish that is almost a chowder. I have also tried the fried seafood platter, scallops, catfish, all great. The only downside is the indoor noise level. Thank you for the great bananas foster for our anniversary!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Food was awesome as always. Our waitress was attentive without hovering.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Ceviche was non-traditional...in a bad way; hardly any meat at all - it was like salsa. Weak cocktails and bar service. We tried 5 different cocktails and only the horse's neck was decent. Everything else tasted overly sweet and watery.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Cute and beach! Food was delish and cooked perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great neighborhood hangout! Great service, food, ambience all there. Always the right choice!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Happy Hour, Live Music, Disabled Access, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Went for lunch on Thursday. Had a nice experience. Orderd Grilled shrimp taco with french fries. Food was good, but I would probably go back for drinks only. Dont be put off by location, next to pawn shop, defunct strip mall, gas station, very small parking lot. Place is clean and friendly inside. Great bar area and beachy feel for frozen drinks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 11, 2017

What an awesome find I did find me and wife were visiting Atlanta for a long extended weekend. Great food, great raw oysters :)

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This place looks like it should be on the beach in Destin. Very comfortable and open feel. The surprise though is the food! Everything tasted freshly prepared and expertly cooked. The $4 sides are big enough to share between 3 or 4 people. Very nice menu and the service was good too. Glad we found this place!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Great seafood, some of the best oysters I've had in Atlanta. Friendly service, great ingredients, and a killer sangria. Definitely going into our rotation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Noisy and the food is nothing special. The shrimp had no flavor whatsoever. The fried green tomatoes and grits were delicious. All in all if I were letter rating it, I would give it a C.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great food, fun ambiance, and great service...glad to have this little gem near home

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was outstanding. If you haven't tried it you don't know what your missing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food was very good and our waitress was knowledgeable and helpful in choosing meals. However, there was not enough staff for the amount of customers and although we made it clear we were pressed for time, we waited a long time to get our meals and were there for late for our show.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Vegan, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We are Hammock's regulars when visiting our kids in Sandy Springs. Must say, this visit was less than the many previous visits. My crispy cornmeal shrimp were not as large or as flavorful as before and the cornmeal just came right off. Wife's grilled shrimp were small and disappointing. Cheesy grits not really hot and veggies waaay underdone. Oh we'll be back but this visit just didn't hit their usually high mark.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Very pleased, excellent food, good service. I will go back.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Amazing food, great service the staff was very welcoming and attentive. Great price for such great seafood and side menu. Definitely coming back and bringing friends / family.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Our server was amazing and the food very fresh ! Love their salmon ! I get the pecan , peach
Salad with the salmon on top and love it ! They have a chocolate cake with vodka Icing out of this world 🌎

One of my new favorite restaurants on Roswell rd

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Celebrated Mother's Day and 4 year olds birthday.. our server, Sara, was exceptionally good. She was so helpful, got everything to us in a timely manner. And, even when we asked her to serve a birthday cake that I had brought in, she did it with a smile on her face and was very accommodating. All this while she was busy serving other people too. I will definitely come back again, because the food was also great. Everyone got something different, and the kids menu accommodated my three very picky grandchildren. Thank you.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.