About Hammocks Trading Company

7285 Roswell Road
Sandy Springs, GA 30328
View Larger Map

Hammocks Trading Company is the choice for high quality seafood in North Atlanta. Local owners Jason Sheetz and William Sigley pride themselves on great food, service, bar, and atmosphere. Together they have 50 years of restaurant experience at the best restaurants in Atlanta and Las Vegas. Hammocks combines our attention to detail with a casual neighborhood feel. Our most reviewed items include the BBQ Oysters and the Baked Salmon. Both were reviewed in the AJC and on Atlanta Eats. Our menu features cuisine from the southern coastal regions of the United States. Gumbo, Shrimp and Grits, BBQ Ribs are just a few examples. Our fresh veggies include fried okra, creamed corn, and collard greens. The grouper sandwich has become known as the best in town. Our other sandwiches include the Crispy Shrimp or Oyster Po-Boys, Smoked Chicken Salad, Brisket, and the Salmon BLTA. We are family friendly and have options for all ages. Every item from the kitchen is made from scratch.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:30 am - 4:00 pm, Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 4:00 pm - 9:00 pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Dalrymple Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 395-9592

Website:
http://www.hammockstradingcompany.com/

Catering:
Customized Catering options, call Jason to inquire.

Parking Details:
2 lots are available for parking, one on each side of the restaurant. The full lot on the left (North) side of the building is available after 6:30 Monday-Saturday and all day Sunday.

Executive Chef:
William Sigley

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

1.5 lb Lobster Special - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Fried Fish Platter - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Chipotle Chicken Tenders - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
NY Strip - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Double Espresso Chocolate Creme Brulee - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Blackened Fish Tacos - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
buttermilk biscuits - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Rocky Road Ice Cream Sandwich - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Gumbo - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Lemon Pepper Wings - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Lemon Grilled Shrimp - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Ginger Peach Sangria - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Salmon BLT Sandwich - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Grilled Shrimp - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
s'mores - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Lemon Ice Box - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
seafood gumbo - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Mixed Fry - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Sweet Ice Tea - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Shrimp Po'boy - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Smoked Chicken - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Blackened Grouper Sandwich - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Salmon BLT - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Smoked Brisket - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Mac & Cheese - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Coconut Fried Shrimp - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Fried Okra - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Spaghetti & Clams - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
fish tacos - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Sweet Tea - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Smoked Brisket Taco - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Spicy pickled shrimp - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Lamb Stew For St. Patrick's Day - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Lamb Meatballs - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Fried Fish Tacos - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Fried Artich - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Beer Battered Shrimp - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Fried Cat Fish With Black Eyed Peas - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Fried Grouper Sandwich - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Whole Roasted Porgy - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Brisket And 2 Sides - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Oysters on the Half Shell - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Country Terrine - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
P.E.I. Mussels - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA
Grouper Sandwich - Hammocks Trading Company, Sandy Springs, GA

Hammocks Trading Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

3.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (20)
Casual (19)
Comfort Food (7)
See All
Fit for Foodies (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fun (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Cozy (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Authentic (4)
Family Style (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Special Occasion (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
322 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best place to eat oysters. I come here o ...

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

Best place to eat oysters. I come here often for oysters and it certainly is one of the best in town.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good choice for seafood. We lov ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Always a good choice for seafood. We love coming here for happy hour when oysters on the half shell are half price. The food is always fresh, cooked perfectly, with a rotating selection.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fair. Much too much batter. Ser ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Food was fair. Much too much batter. Server was excellent though. LINDSAY

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value5

Love this place! Fantastic drinks and f ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Love this place! Fantastic drinks and food! The seafood dishes have all been amazing and their desserts too off the perfect dinner experience!

Tags: Casual, , Good for Groups, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for our small NYE celebration! Foo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great for our small NYE celebration! Food is always delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We wanted to be casual for New Year's Ev ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We wanted to be casual for New Year's Eve and hammocks was the perfect place- food was great- just wish they had thousand island salad dressing and nachos and cheese and guacamole

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find! Local, casual, great staff a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great find! Local, casual, great staff and service, food is amazing, and portions are more than generous. Can't believe they've been here 5 yrs and we just discovered them. Will probably be back on regular basis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mussels were spoiled - we had to have th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Mussels were spoiled - we had to have them taken away from the table due to the awful stench. Our waitress was really great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Two-sided coin. Raw oysters came out roo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Two-sided coin. Raw oysters came out room temperature. Replaced with steamed. My salmon was great. Service was spotty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great seafood! Looking forward to our n ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great seafood! Looking forward to our next meal! Oysters are a must!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love the food; some of the best seafood ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Love the food; some of the best seafood in town!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, , Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was good once they figured o ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The service was good once they figured out who's table we were sitting at but I didn't think the food was worth the price of admission. Don't get me wrong the food was good but a little disappointing for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We LOVE Hammocks and wanted to try the T ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 7, 2016

We LOVE Hammocks and wanted to try the Tuesday night lobster special: a whole steamed lobster with 2 sides. It was cooked perfectly and a deal at 21.00!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was not good. Service was excellen ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was not good. Service was excellent. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Food was enjoyable however the manner in ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was enjoyable however the manner in which is parking is handled is very poor.

If you have an issue, no one at the service/reception desk will care.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Great place for lunch with very good ser ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great place for lunch with very good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Best casual, laidback Floriday seafood j ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Best casual, laidback Floriday seafood joint north of the gnat line!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and we especially enj ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was great and we especially enjoyed the HTC salad as our appetizer. However, our server was really what made the experience special. She was engaging, helpful and very friendly - she made our good experience even better. We will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Good experience as always. Metal chairs ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Good experience as always. Metal chairs in the area where we were seated were a little uncomfortable at first on a chilly evening. I'll request another area next time. Red fish was well blackened but pretty small for the $28.50 price. The sides of colard greens and fried okra were great as always. We enjoyed the tastey but very reasonably priced house Chardonnay.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was very spicy. I wish we had ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Everything was very spicy. I wish we had been warned how spicy the seafood gumbo was. Additionally, we had their signature chips. There was so much old bay coated on it was also a wrong choice. We were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Had the Tuesday special Lobster--delicio ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Had the Tuesday special Lobster--delicious and a super value. Sides were great too.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sort of on the expensive side, for what ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Sort of on the expensive side, for what you get. My wife's salmon was undercooked, and had to be sent back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Reliably good! We are always returning f ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Reliably good! We are always returning for the good food and great service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for an early Sunday dinner. No ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We went for an early Sunday dinner. No wait and the food was delicious. The fish tasted fresh and the sides were delicious. The only negative was the side of cold fries.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always great! Tried the lobster roll thi ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Always great! Tried the lobster roll this time and it was amazing!! And don't the chocolate espresso Creme brûlée!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been over 10 times and most of th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I have been over 10 times and most of the time get the Salmon, which is their specialty. When I try other dishes they are just as good. I love Hammocks

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the food was great. I selected ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2016

As usual, the food was great. I selected items from the special Octoberfest menu and it was great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food was excellent and the waiter wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Our food was excellent and the waiter was very helpful !! It was a fun atmosphere watching football on the TVs !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the smoked prime rib special and it ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Had the smoked prime rib special and it was amazing! Another good reason to go on a saturdAy night. ✅

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never sat in the lower area before....to ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Never sat in the lower area before....toooooooo noisy! Couldn't have a conversation-we texted each other to communicate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I enjoyed the lobster dinner but some of ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 20, 2016

I enjoyed the lobster dinner but some of the people with me felt that they weren't cracked properly and were difficult to eat. I think that's part of eating lobsters.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great restaurant! The seafood is amazin ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great restaurant! The seafood is amazing. We enjoyed a lobster roll, blackened grouper sandwich, fried okra, and fried green tomatoes. The chocolate espresso crème brule was a great finishing touch after dinner. We will definitely be coming back! Thanks again for the great service Shannon!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried the special "Hammocks Famous Salmo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Tried the special "Hammocks Famous Salmon Baked In Parchment" - very good.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent restaurant for fresh seafood. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Excellent restaurant for fresh seafood. Initially we were seated in a section near the front...like an enclosed porch...and it was extremely loud. We asked to be moved to a booth in the main building and it was MUCH better. We had a reservation which is a must on a Friday night. They were very accommodating to our request. We had Paul as our waiter and he was terrific. Very knowledgeable, friendly and attentive. Only problem is with parking! Valet was full and we had to struggle a bit to find a place to park. There are signs saying not to park in the huge lot across the street...we figured it's because it's such a busy street and dangerous to cross there. But better signage of where you CAN park would be appreciated.

The food was excellently prepared and interestingly creative. We will definitely go back! I had never heard of Hammocks until searching for good seafood in Sandy Springs! Try this place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Extremely loud (especially in the bar ar ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Extremely loud (especially in the bar area during a UGA game). Nice selection of wines & interesting cocktails. Yelp indicated they are a BBQ & Seafood restaurant but there wasn't any BBQ that I saw. Trout was really well done & comes with 2 sides...

Good variety of gluten-free selections. Only have valet parking!!! That was a surprise as everything said there was self-parking on both sides of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Excellent quality with unique sides like ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Excellent quality with unique sides like Mexican corn on the cob with spivey dry rub. Tuesday night Maine lobster special was superb.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Spicy, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Refreshing update to menu and many wonde ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Refreshing update to menu and many wonderful new offerings. Lobster roll and prime rib were awesome. Specials for each night of the week are a nice alternative to the old menu. Great job Jason and Chef William.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Much more than fried seafood, Chef Willi ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Much more than fried seafood, Chef William REALLY knows how to cook. Don't miss the sides and the authentic strawberry shortcake (fresh basil in there) is great.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great Beer, Healthy, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Fun, Casual, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food continues to be outstanding food. H ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food continues to be outstanding food. However disappointed that salmon in parchment jumped from $17 to $25 and that brisket was eliminated from the menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

First time visiting this gem! So good! ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 18, 2016

First time visiting this gem! So good! Shrimp tacos were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.