About Hammocks Trading Company

7285 Roswell Road
Sandy Springs, GA 30328
View Larger Map

Hammocks Trading Company is the choice for high quality seafood in North Atlanta. Local owners Jason Sheetz and William Sigley pride themselves on great food, service, bar, and atmosphere. Together they have 50 years of restaurant experience at the best restaurants in Atlanta and Las Vegas. Hammocks combines our attention to detail with a casual neighborhood feel. Our most reviewed items include the BBQ Oysters and the Baked Salmon. Both were reviewed in the AJC and on Atlanta Eats. Our menu features cuisine from the southern coastal regions of the United States. Gumbo, Shrimp and Grits, BBQ Ribs are just a few examples. Our fresh veggies include fried okra, creamed corn, and collard greens. The grouper sandwich has become known as the best in town. Our other sandwiches include the Crispy Shrimp or Oyster Po-Boys, Smoked Chicken Salad, Brisket, and the Salmon BLTA. We are family friendly and have options for all ages. Every item from the kitchen is made from scratch.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:30 am - 4:00 pm, Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 4:00 pm - 9:00 pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Dalrymple Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 395-9592

Website:
http://www.hammockstradingcompany.com/

Catering:
Customized Catering options, call Jason to inquire.

Parking Details:
2 lots are available for parking, one on each side of the restaurant. The full lot on the left (North) side of the building is available after 6:30 Monday-Saturday and all day Sunday.

Executive Chef:
William Sigley

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Hammocks Trading Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (64)
good for groups (41)
fit for foodies (39)
See All
kid-friendly (38)
great for lunch (28)
great for outdoor dining (25)
special occasion (19)
vibrant bar scene (12)
great for brunch (11)
hot spot (9)
notable wine list (7)
late-night find (5)
romantic (4)
Sort By:
Newest
244 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Seafood

Dined on May 21, 2016

We decided to try some place new and wanted seafood. We found this spot and it was perfect!! My husband and I both ordered the snow crab legs and it was perfect. We ordered smores for desert and was amazed you made the smores right at your table. It's a MUST try!! We will definitely be going back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Weekend dinner

Dined on May 20, 2016

Very good food. Made reservation on opentable for four and requested an open booth when we arrived. We were told the booth was reserved for a specific party and we were seated at a less desirable table. Did not notice an option on opentable to request a booth or table and this was not a good first impression. Our waitress asked if we would like to hear about the daily specials. When we said yes she told us there were several and we could read about them on the menu. The food was good but the staff needs some training.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun atmosphere. Great menu. Food is co ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Fun atmosphere. Great menu. Food is consistently great.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hammocks has been one of our favorites f ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Hammocks has been one of our favorites for years and on this special occasion (son's hi school graduation), it didn't fail. We had a group of 10 whom most had never eaten there. The waitress was fabulous and offered on the house a replacement for a child's meal that she did not like. Every raved about the food. Thank you Hammocks!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

After reading tons of great reviews, I w ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

After reading tons of great reviews, I was excited to try Hammocks. The place is cute and the food is okay, but something needs to be done about their hostess. My party of 3 arrived on time for our 6:30 reservation. We were seated in pretty much the worst table in the entire restaurant right beside the kitchen. We asked if we could sit in the booth instead and we were told that the booth was reserved for a large party. About 10 minutes later, a party of 3 was seated in the booth. I questioned the hostess, but she was rude and dismissive. She said, "I knew you were going to ask me about that" and then proceeded to tell me that there was nothing she could do. I will go back and hope to be treated with a little more courtesy next time.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great Mothers Day Dinner!

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was Mothers Day and we were able to get a reservation for 5 within a day of the event. Despite the crowds our table was cleaned off within a very reasonable time. Our waiter was very good, entertaining and knowledgeable. Even though he lost our order somewhere in the restaurant, he was able to remedy the situation quickly and accurately.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

mother's day dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

went to hammocks based on recommendation of a chef friend and his wife. had fried catfish and black-eyed peas on same recommendation. fish perfectly fried; creole peas were beyond delightful. wife's coconut fried shrimp described as outstanding as well. was difficult to follow original recommendation because there were so many tempting options on the menu; want to get back soon to try the oyster po'boy. wait time was zero with prior reservation. staff was energetic, informative and pleasant. hammocks has been open about four years though I only recently learned of them . happyto have discovered this dining option in sandy springs.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jason and his team continue to provide d ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Jason and his team continue to provide dining experiences.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5

Excellent service. Entrees were great. S ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent service. Entrees were great. Side items were ok.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem

Dined on May 8, 2016

Hidden Gem on Roswell Road, great atmosphere, great food...friendly staff. Oysters 1/2 price 4-6!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall experience was excellent

Dined on May 7, 2016

Overall experience was excellent

food5
ambience3
service5

Great food Oysters are the best but no ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food Oysters are the best but noise level is ridiculous

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

misleading on the outside

Dined on May 7, 2016

I was scared to be honest. The area is odd to be beached theme. But walking in I was pleasantly surprised. I liked the decor. Service was a bit slow which is odd because we were there before the rush at 430 with a table of 8. But the food was awesome and strawberry shortcake is AWESOME! I will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food!

Dined on April 23, 2016

The restaurant is clean, the staff is friendly and the food is fresh and delicious. I recommend the Mexican corn and the shrimp and grits.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great fish

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Their salmon in parchment is outstanding. Their fresh fish is always excellent. The other couple with us had beef and enjoyed. Only problem is noisy due to rooms structure. Parking a but of a oribl m but valet is available

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service, nice menu, good food, ver ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great service, nice menu, good food, very convenient location

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THE NEIGHBORHOOD gathering spot.

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

We were blessed the day Hammocks arrived at their beach house location in our neighborhood. It feels like home thanks to a wonderful staff and owners, Jason and William. It is also a great location for meeting friends since it is on Roswell Rd. Tuesdays are 1/2 price wine and there is something for everyone along with their signature fish and seafood. We had their seasonal soft shell crabs with their best signature salad ever last week and it was better than any soft shell crabs I've ever had. Lindsay is an incredible waitress and can't say enough about this restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal and service

Dined on April 7, 2016

My husband and I had a very enjoyable meal. The blackened red snapper was prepared perfectly and the mexican corn was delicious. The waiter was very helpful, friendly and professional. The hostess was also very accommodating and friendly.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place!

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

Went twice and had the same server and a great experience both times.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Can't Wait to go Back

Dined on April 3, 2016

The food was fantastic! Such a fun place! I can't wait to go back and dine on the gorgeous patio.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch food

Dined on April 2, 2016

Delicious food. Really enjoyed the ambiance and the energy in the place. Our server Shannon was very nice and knowledgeable about the menu and was able to recommend top dishes!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We chose Hammock's for their seafood. W ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

We chose Hammock's for their seafood. We had Oysters for an appetizer and the fresh fish specials for our main entree and all were fantastic. The food was hot and delicious and service was great. The ambiance could be upgraded to fit their menu and pricing. They have single stall restrooms and the women's room was closed so that was a bit of a turnoff using men's room, but besides that would absolutely recommend it!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Hammocks is a great slice of the beach i ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Hammocks is a great slice of the beach in Sandy Springs - always reliable and good. Be sure to make a reservation

food4
ambience3
service3

Really great food in a casual atmosphere ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Really great food in a casual atmosphere. Love the shrimp and grits.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Easter Sunday dinner

Dined on March 27, 2016

Hammocks Trading Company was an excellent pick for Easter Sunday. I had to change the reservation twice, but didn't encounter any problems. The Food was GLORIOUS! I wanted to pick somewhere that my nephew could also eat. The kids menu had really great selections for him. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great Food!

Dined on March 27, 2016

It was less formal and a bit noisier than I had expected, but the food and service was excellent!! I would definitely go back there again.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service2

Took way too long for someone to greet u ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Took way too long for someone to greet us once we were seated, then waited forever to order and then even longer to get our food. Once we did nobody asked how it was or even came to refill water. Food was good but service was subpar and only once the server brought the bill was he interested in trying to provide an explanation.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome first experience for our group of five.

Dined on March 20, 2016

Five of us had dinner at Hammocks for the first time and everyone's meals were terrific. All of the seafood was well prepared and the value is good. We were fortunate to meet the owner Jason who is Mr. Hospitality. I'd highly recommend this as a casual great dinner or lunch spot with awesome food.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

noisy noisy noisy

Dined on March 18, 2016

Oh my sore ears!!! This place is excessively loud. It really kills the dining experience. The food was quite good. Wife loved her scallops, and the strawberry shortcake to die for. My grouper sandwich not so much. Did not like how they prepared so I was disappointed. Walter was very nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a. Good experience

Dined on March 17, 2016

Always a. Good experience

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent crab legs!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Just wish they weren't out of king crab. Had to settle for snow crab (we chose Hammocks specifically for the king crab on the menu) and it was delicious! Had a great time with friends and service was the best I've had in a while.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

good food

Dined on March 12, 2016

overall the food was good....not great. Nice casual dining.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Just okay

Dined on February 24, 2016

I had the oyster po' boy -- to compare to the one I had a week before at C&S Seafood in Vinings. This was no where near as good though because they used a cornmeal based batter that I thought overpowered the oysters. Also had the strawberry short cake, the best part of which was the whipped cream. This is only slightly less expensive than C&S and for the difference in cost not worth it. Having said that, this is a much more casual place to dine and probably better for larger gatherings of friends/co-workers.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

Dined on February 16, 2016

Always love stopping in for some great food. The ciopinno is always delicious. I love the bbqchips too.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my girlfriends birthday and she e ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

It was my girlfriends birthday and she enjoyed her food immensely.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amateur foodie from NOLA

Dined on February 14, 2016

great all around. Chef Chris is a real joy and asset to the restaurant

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic

Dined on February 13, 2016

Been here several times, and it never disappoints!! Love the food, ambiance, service,etc!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Disappointed

Dined on February 13, 2016

We have been here before, and found the food and service was pretty good. However, made reservations for the Saturday before Valentines Day, and was not up to par. Must have been short staffed, as there were several empty tables, but no servers to seat patrons. Our food took over an hour to come out, and several dishes were cold when they were served. We sent one plate of scallops back that was undercooked, and 25 minutes later it came back still undercooked. Things seemed to be rather disorganized, which was disappointing for our group.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

I ate at Hammock's for the first time on Saturday night. The food was great and the menu had a variety of choices. Our server was very friendly and did a wonderful job helping us. The atmosphere reminded me of being at the beach. I will definitely go back there soon and often in the future!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service3

Food was a bit salty for me. Clams were ...

vip
Dined on February 5, 2016

Food was a bit salty for me. Clams were fresh though.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.