About Hammocks Trading Company

Hammocks Trading Company is the choice for high quality seafood in North Atlanta. Local owners Jason Sheetz and William Sigley pride themselves on great food, service, bar, and atmosphere. Together they have 50 years of restaurant experience at the best restaurants in Atlanta and Las Vegas. Hammocks combines our attention to detail with a casual neighborhood feel. Our most reviewed items include the BBQ Oysters and the Baked Salmon. Both were reviewed in the AJC and on Atlanta Eats. Our menu features cuisine from the southern coastal regions of the United States. Gumbo, Shrimp and Grits are just a few examples. Our fresh veggies include fried okra, fried green tomatoes, and collard greens. The grouper sandwich has become known as the best in town. Our other sandwiches include the Crispy Shrimp or Oyster Po-Boys, Lobster Roll, Smoked Chicken Salad and the Salmon BLTA. We are family friendly and have options for all ages. Every item from the kitchen is made from scratch.

7285 Roswell Road
Sandy Springs, GA 30328
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Monday: 11:30 am - 9:00 pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 11:30 am - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30 am - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Dalrymple Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 395-9592

Website:
http://www.hammockstradingcompany.com/

Catering:
Customized Catering options, call Jason to inquire.

Parking Details:
2 lots are available for parking, one on each side of the restaurant. The full lot on the left (North) side of the building is available after 6:30 Monday-Saturday and all day Sunday.

Executive Chef:
William Sigley

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hammocks Trading Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
See All
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Special Occasion (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort by
S
427 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 9 hours ago

Fantastic meal! Oysters on the half shell, lobster roll and fried green tomatoes! Yum! Shannon was our server and she was great... very friendly and you could tell she enjoyed her job... love her and will be back for more meals here... and I will ask for Shannon and you should too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Great selection of seafood dishes and prices. Love the shrimp and grits!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Relaxing, casual restaurant with great food, great service and great prices. This place hits the sweet spot: Fresh food not pre-portioned and processed. Friendly, attentive staff. Half-price oysters (raw and cooked) 4-6pm! My second time here--I intend to be a regular.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Fun, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Doesn’t look,like much but Chef William is a real pro. From oysters any way you want ‘me to the gourmet salmon aux legumes en papillote, first class all the way. And do not leave Wilbur sampling the most authentic southern strawberry shortcake ever.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Food good service good easy to find and free parking

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

Nothing , the service was slow it forever for drinks to come. The food was under seasoned

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 18, 2017

We have been dining at hammocks for several years, never had a bad meal. On this occasion it was the first time we have had extremely poor service! Don’t know why but the server neglected to even fill our water glasses and they were empty. Completely forgot my order, But brought my wife’s. Never came back to check on our meal or to see if everything was OK. Just brought the check after a long wait. When we go back to hammocks we will make sure we never have that server again.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2017

It’s been awhile since I had eaten there. I forgot how good and comfortable it is. Will return a lot sooner next time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Quick Bite, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Went during sandy springs restaurant week. Salad was delicious. Had the fried combo-grouper was the best. Desserts were okk

Tags: Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2017

I was interested in the crab leg special that I got from a pop up ad. The crab legs were way overpriced and over all value just wasn't there.

Tags: Great Beer, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Always outstanding! I’ve been dining here for years and recently discovered the Tuesday lobster special...at $20 with two sides, what a deal! I had the Mexican corn and asparagus for sides and loved it! Partner had a fantastic salmon BLT with gumbo and a biscuit...this place keeps getting better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Went to Hammocks for a family birthday dinner. Food was fantastic as always, and we had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Love it but slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great Gulf Oysters 1/2 price before 6PM EVERY DAY!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great neighborhood Seafood and causal dining place. Feels like the Restaurant near the beach that we all go to when on vacation. The difference is it is 7 hours closer to your house. Fresh Seafood prepared by a chef that knows what he is doing. Great place we go back frequently.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

EXCELLENT FOOD. I expected more of an upscale looking restaurant, but gave it a try anyway. I'm SO glad I did. I will definitely return to taste more of the menu. Staff was great. And it stays open late.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Go for the oysters. They are large and tasty. Go for the fish and chips, a good choice. Go for the casual atmosphere and friendly servers. Don't expect too much from things like homemade chips (too covered with seasoning and no crunch). Next time we will also try fresh fish items. And a cold beer. Enough choices on the menu.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Sports, Fun, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Food was great, especially special of the day lobster. However, so loud in there we had to yell across the table to hear what was being said. Have never been to a restaurant that we had to do that. The deck was small and unappealing to use. All food was really good though.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Biggest sweetest oysters weve ever seen! Presented in iced galvanized tubs. Thick, dark roux crab shrimp gumbo. Huge pc of catfish and perfect plump oyster po boy. Exciting to be there on National Oyster day. But Chef William didnt shirk on fine cooking. Going back for Tues 1# lobster +2 sides!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Food was good, but the service was terrible. First time I've ever left a small tip. There are too many complaints to write. If you are very patient with poor service, this is the place for you.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We love Hammocks! Always a delicious meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Casual atmosphere, excellent food. The scallops and crabcake were excellent. It gets loud when it gets a little busy. All-around good meal

Tags: Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Stopped by Hammocks while in town for business after checking some reviews. It was a Tuesday evening and the place was empty. There were 2 or 3 people at the bar but my guest and I were the only ones eating in the main dining area. Sometimes that makes me nervous but the meal ended up being good. It wasn't 5-star (that's a very rare score), but was definitely 3 or 3 1/2 stars - meaning it was good and I will probably eat there again. I had the lobster bisque to start and it was actually very good - the best part of my meal. I would have liked to see a little more lobster meat, but at least it wasn't missing altogether. My entrée was the grouper fish tacos. I had them blackened and even though I like spicy, it was a little too hot for my taste. Overall the tacos were good but not that memorable. My guest had fish and chips, and she said they were really good and that she would definitely eat them again. Our waitress was friendly and quick. Overall a good experience but not a place I will go out of my way for. If I'm in the area and it's close to my hotel I will try it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Fantastic as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Nice neighborhood gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Felt like being at the beach (as long as you are inside and not facing the road)

Very good "beach food" and beach vibe. Good raw oysters, quick attentive service...a little noisy but not a deal breaker.

Give it a go - you will like it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Been here several times and enjoy. This time everything was "spot-on."

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Good local restaurant for your seafood fix. Service was great. Not a quiet place to eat but the food made up for that. Parking is very limited. Had to wait 5 minutes for someone to leave so I could park. There is an empty shopping center parking lot but there are towing signs all over. Think the restaurant clientele should be able to park there as an option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Went with friends who are local and thought food was good. But service was lack luster at best.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food is phenomenal but the service is unfortunately lacking. Orders were mixed up, late and drink refills were extremely slow. The manager didn't seem to care much either even though our party of six was spending a good chunk of money in their establishment. Luckily for them the food is amazing - extremely fresh and excellently prepared - but the service on a Saturday night was pretty poor. It's also very noisy as the acoustics are not good in the building, especially with a table of unruly children sitting behind you.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food and service were excellent; I thought my portion was a little small.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great dining and service as always. Our kids loved it too their first time and popcorn shrimp 🍤 perfect!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Excellent as always!

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 22, 2017

I have been twice in the last month. Both times the service was outstanding and the seafood was very fresh. My favorite is the lobster roll (best in Atlanta) & corn side dish that is almost a chowder. I have also tried the fried seafood platter, scallops, catfish, all great. The only downside is the indoor noise level. Thank you for the great bananas foster for our anniversary!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Food was awesome as always. Our waitress was attentive without hovering.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Ceviche was non-traditional...in a bad way; hardly any meat at all - it was like salsa. Weak cocktails and bar service. We tried 5 different cocktails and only the horse's neck was decent. Everything else tasted overly sweet and watery.

Tags: Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Cute and beach! Food was delish and cooked perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great neighborhood hangout! Great service, food, ambience all there. Always the right choice!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Happy Hour, Live Music, Disabled Access, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Went for lunch on Thursday. Had a nice experience. Orderd Grilled shrimp taco with french fries. Food was good, but I would probably go back for drinks only. Dont be put off by location, next to pawn shop, defunct strip mall, gas station, very small parking lot. Place is clean and friendly inside. Great bar area and beachy feel for frozen drinks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 11, 2017

What an awesome find I did find me and wife were visiting Atlanta for a long extended weekend. Great food, great raw oysters :)

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.