About Hammocks Trading Company

7285 Roswell Road
Sandy Springs, GA 30328
View Larger Map

Hammocks Trading Company is the choice for high quality seafood in North Atlanta. Local owners Jason Sheetz and William Sigley pride themselves on great food, service, bar, and atmosphere. Together they have 50 years of restaurant experience at the best restaurants in Atlanta and Las Vegas. Hammocks combines our attention to detail with a casual neighborhood feel. Our most reviewed items include the BBQ Oysters and the Baked Salmon. Both were reviewed in the AJC and on Atlanta Eats. Our menu features cuisine from the southern coastal regions of the United States. Gumbo, Shrimp and Grits, BBQ Ribs are just a few examples. Our fresh veggies include fried okra, creamed corn, and collard greens. The grouper sandwich has become known as the best in town. Our other sandwiches include the Crispy Shrimp or Oyster Po-Boys, Smoked Chicken Salad, Brisket, and the Salmon BLTA. We are family friendly and have options for all ages. Every item from the kitchen is made from scratch.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:30 am - 4:00 pm, Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 4:00 pm - 9:00 pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Dalrymple Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 395-9592

Website:
http://www.hammockstradingcompany.com/

Catering:
Customized Catering options, call Jason to inquire.

Parking Details:
2 lots are available for parking, one on each side of the restaurant. The full lot on the left (North) side of the building is available after 6:30 Monday-Saturday and all day Sunday.

Executive Chef:
William Sigley

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Hammocks Trading Company
Hammocks Trading Company
Hammocks Trading Company
Hammocks Trading Company
Hammocks Trading Company
Hammocks Trading Company
Hammocks Trading Company
Hammocks Trading Company
Hammocks Trading Company
Hammocks Trading Company
Hammocks Trading Company
Fried Fish Platter
Chipotle Chicken Tenders
NY Strip
Double Espresso Chocolate Creme Brulee
buttermilk biscuits
Spaghetti & Clams
Rocky Road Ice Cream Sandwich
Blackened Fish Tacos
Lemon Pepper Wings
Gumbo
Ginger Peach Sangria
Lemon Grilled Shrimp
Salmon BLT Sandwich
Lemon Ice Box
s'mores
Grilled Shrimp
Mixed Fry
seafood gumbo
Shrimp Po'boy
Sweet Ice Tea
Smoked Chicken
Blackened Grouper Sandwich
Coconut Fried Shrimp
Mac & Cheese
Smoked Brisket
Salmon BLT
fish tacos
Fried Okra
Sweet Tea
Smoked Brisket Taco
Spicy pickled shrimp
Lamb Stew For St. Patrick's Day
Fried Artich
Beer Battered Shrimp
Fried Fish Tacos
Lamb Meatballs
Fried Cat Fish With Black Eyed Peas
Brisket And 2 Sides
Fried Grouper Sandwich
Whole Roasted Porgy
Country Terrine
Oysters on the Half Shell
P.E.I. Mussels
Grouper Sandwich

Hammocks Trading Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

3.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (60)
fit for foodies (35)
good for groups (34)
See All
kid-friendly (31)
great for lunch (26)
great for outdoor dining (22)
special occasion (16)
vibrant bar scene (14)
hot spot (9)
notable wine list (7)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (4)
romantic (3)
Sort By:
Newest
267 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was nicely presented and full o ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 hours ago

The food was nicely presented and full of flavor. Service was great

Would definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

fresh seafood. grilled oysters were per ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

fresh seafood. grilled oysters were perfect. creative specials. attentive service. great neighborhood spot.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I always order the same (6 shrimp and t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I always order the same (6 shrimp and two sides). The food is amazing and it's the drinks are great. My fiancé loves the Moscow mules and my son, the Mac and cheese. The staff is great and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

It wasn't overly crowded for a Saturday ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It wasn't overly crowded for a Saturday night yet the restaurant is noisy and I couldn't really make out the music.

The Grilled grouper was very good and cooked just right with it having the perfect amount of seasoning and moistness. The mashed potatoes were delicious as was the asparagus and they were the perfect accompanments. The jalapeno cornbread was a fail for me because of the over abundance of butter, they were soaked in butter, the first bite is sweet then you get the spicy heat of the jalapeno. I would recommend much less butter or even for me no butter.

Lastly for dessert we had the strawberry shortcake which is worth the visit anytime. Fresh cooked cake with fresh strawberries and whipped cream piled high. Of course I asked for extra whipped cream. We are still talking about the Strawberry Shortcake.

Our server was very attentive, friendly, helpful with menu questions and pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We have dined here on several occasions ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We have dined here on several occasions and this past Saturday was way below par. We were terribly disappointed in the food as well as the indifference of our server. Total disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

The food is good, but kitchen is slow to ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food is good, but kitchen is slow to get things out. The atmosphere is very casual and fun. I really enjoy this place a lot. The tile floors through out the restaurant are very sticky when you walk, which gives the impression of being unclean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

This was my second visit to the restaura ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was my second visit to the restaurant. I came back primarily for the oysters (grilled with BBQ butter). They were worth the drive from Snellville. However, I was not too impressed with my entree selection. They were out of sea scallops and the crispy snapper so I settled for the soft shell crab sandwich. It was not great. Unfortunately, the cole slaw over powered the bread leaving it wet and torn. The crab was not seasoned well. I wouldn't recommend this sandwich unless you request to have the slaw on the side.

With that said, I will return and still highly recommend this place to friends and family. The oysters are freaking terrific. The service was fantastic both times and my dish during my initial visit was good (fish tacos and and garlic spinach).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a group of 9 for dinner. The ser ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We had a group of 9 for dinner. The server was extremely attentive, so the service was excellent. I had the baked salmon with roasted vegetables and it was excellent. Others were not quite as pleased with the portions they received with the meals they chose. The real downside of the evening was the noise level in the restaurant. We absolutely could not even hear the person talking if they were sitting right next to us. Noise level was actually unbearable. I was sorry our experience was not better because the restaurant is very close to our house and the food was good. Probably will not go back because of the noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

The service was the only thing better th ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The service was the only thing better than the food. BUT, the chairs are VERY UNCOMFORTABLE. That could cause me not to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great overall restaurant! The food is de ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great overall restaurant! The food is delicious, and so fresh. You can tell the fish is not frozen. Great place for kids, families. The bar looked like a fun place to catch a game

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The fresh seafood @ Hammock's is delicio ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The fresh seafood @ Hammock's is delicious. I had the Red Snapper Blackened with Fried Green Tomatoes and Garlic Sauteed Spinach. It was wonderful!!!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food for the money. Just imag ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Very good food for the money. Just imagine you are in Drift, because the restaurant itself is pretty nasty/run down. But the food is as good as Drift and 1/3 to 1/2 the price. We'll be back. Service very friendly.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

We love this restaurant. Great food and ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love this restaurant. Great food and service. Good place for family dining too. We are never disappointed. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been going to Hammocks sine they opened ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Been going to Hammocks sine they opened - NEVER a disappointment, and I always want to order more things than I can eat. Staff and owners are friendly, prompt, and welcoming - highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always great shrimp, service and atmo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

As always great shrimp, service and atmosphere unfortunately the A/C had failed so rather warm......

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and service were absolutely fin ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The food and service were absolutely fine. The biggest issues were the fact that the a/c was offline (on a nice, hot day in Atlanta) and a little more attention may be paid to keeping the place nice and clean as opposed to the slightly dreary environment. The portions were well designed and not too large.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Not as good as it used to be. A/C inade ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Not as good as it used to be. A/C inadequate and food not done as requested on two separate occasions. Valet parking at a small place like that?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Everything was excellent! Oysters and M ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Everything was excellent! Oysters and Mussels to start, Salmon and Shrimp entrees. Food was fresh and prepared well.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service and delicious food out way ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great service and delicious food out way the ambiance and comfort. A little pricey, but well worth it to us. We can go dressed up or totally casual. It's our go to neighborhood restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good aside from the noise.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The noise was initially disconcerting but after awhile it subsided; the food was plentiful; the food was tasty; and the service was excellent.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

Great seafood in landlocked Atlanta

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I was in the mood for non-sushi seafood and was really happy to find Hammocks Trading Company. The ambiance is beach-like, and the wait staff was friendly. The stand-out of the evening though was the crispy snapper vera cruz! The presentation was impressive and the flavor simply amazing, and I don't say that much about restaurant food. I'm glad we found this place - we'll go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good good , great service, good for fami ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Good good , great service, good for familes and freinds

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

wonderful Sunday lunch.

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great lunch with Grandma who visits from Chicago and always wants to go to Hammocks. Owner, Jason, put 4 soft shell crabs aside the night before since they knew they would run out. It's a seasonal special and flash fried and wonderful here. Glad Chef William and wonderful waitress Lindsay suggested it. Not to mention being on the email list!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Seafood

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We decided to try some place new and wanted seafood. We found this spot and it was perfect!! My husband and I both ordered the snow crab legs and it was perfect. We ordered smores for desert and was amazed you made the smores right at your table. It's a MUST try!! We will definitely be going back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Weekend dinner

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Very good food. Made reservation on opentable for four and requested an open booth when we arrived. We were told the booth was reserved for a specific party and we were seated at a less desirable table. Did not notice an option on opentable to request a booth or table and this was not a good first impression.

Our waitress asked if we would like to hear about the daily specials. When we said yes she told us there were several and we could read about them on the menu.

The food was good but the staff needs some training.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Fun atmosphere. Great menu. Food is co ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Fun atmosphere. Great menu. Food is consistently great.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hammocks has been one of our favorites f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Hammocks has been one of our favorites for years and on this special occasion (son's hi school graduation), it didn't fail. We had a group of 10 whom most had never eaten there. The waitress was fabulous and offered on the house a replacement for a child's meal that she did not like. Every raved about the food. Thank you Hammocks!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After reading tons of great reviews, I w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

After reading tons of great reviews, I was excited to try Hammocks. The place is cute and the food is okay, but something needs to be done about their hostess. My party of 3 arrived on time for our 6:30 reservation. We were seated in pretty much the worst table in the entire restaurant right beside the kitchen. We asked if we could sit in the booth instead and we were told that the booth was reserved for a large party. About 10 minutes later, a party of 3 was seated in the booth. I questioned the hostess, but she was rude and dismissive. She said, "I knew you were going to ask me about that" and then proceeded to tell me that there was nothing she could do. I will go back and hope to be treated with a little more courtesy next time.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

Great Mothers Day Dinner!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was Mothers Day and we were able to get a reservation for 5 within a day of the event. Despite the crowds our table was cleaned off within a very reasonable time. Our waiter was very good, entertaining and knowledgeable. Even though he lost our order somewhere in the restaurant, he was able to remedy the situation quickly and accurately.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

mother's day dinner

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

went to hammocks based on recommendation of a chef friend and his wife. had fried catfish and black-eyed peas on same recommendation. fish perfectly fried; creole peas were beyond delightful. wife's coconut fried shrimp described as outstanding as well. was difficult to follow original recommendation because there were so many tempting options on the menu; want to get back soon to try the oyster po'boy.

wait time was zero with prior reservation. staff was energetic, informative and pleasant.

hammocks has been open about four years though I only recently learned of them . happyto have discovered this dining option in sandy springs.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Jason and his team continue to provide d ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Jason and his team continue to provide dining experiences.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Entrees were great. S ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent service. Entrees were great. Side items were ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Hidden Gem

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Hidden Gem on Roswell Road, great atmosphere, great food...friendly staff. Oysters 1/2 price 4-6!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall experience was excellent

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Overall experience was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food Oysters are the best but no ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food Oysters are the best but noise level is ridiculous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

misleading on the outside

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I was scared to be honest. The area is odd to be beached theme. But walking in I was pleasantly surprised. I liked the decor. Service was a bit slow which is odd because we were there before the rush at 430 with a table of 8. But the food was awesome and strawberry shortcake is AWESOME! I will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Food!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The restaurant is clean, the staff is friendly and the food is fresh and delicious. I recommend the Mexican corn and the shrimp and grits.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fish

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Their salmon in parchment is outstanding. Their fresh fish is always excellent. The other couple with us had beef and enjoyed. Only problem is noisy due to rooms structure. Parking a but of a oribl m but valet is available

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great service, nice menu, good food, ver ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Great service, nice menu, good food, very convenient location

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

THE NEIGHBORHOOD gathering spot.

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

We were blessed the day Hammocks arrived at their beach house location in our neighborhood. It feels like home thanks to a wonderful staff and owners, Jason and William. It is also a great location for meeting friends since it is on Roswell Rd. Tuesdays are 1/2 price wine and there is something for everyone along with their signature fish and seafood. We had their seasonal soft shell crabs with their best signature salad ever last week and it was better than any soft shell crabs I've ever had. Lindsay is an incredible waitress and can't say enough about this restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.