About Hamilton's Kitchen at the Alfond Inn

300 East New England Ave
Winter Park, FL 32789
View Larger Map

Hamilton’s Kitchen menus feature current Florida farm to table practices, respecting nature’s sustainable indigenous products, freshly presented with modern culinary techniques. Al fresco dining on the Hamilton’s Kitchen patio is also available. Hamilton’s Kitchen serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch Daily: 11-30am - 2-00pm
Dinner Sun - Tue: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner Wed - Sat: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 7:00am - 2:00pm

Lounge and Bar Daily: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 998-8089

Website:
http://thealfondinn.com/

Parking Details:
Validated Parking for all restaurant and lounge guests.

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining Room available in the restaurant

Private Party Contact:
Amy: x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Hamilton's Kitchen at the Alfond Inn
  • Hamilton's Kitchen at the Alfond Inn
Hamilton's Kitchen at the Alfond Inn
Hamilton's Kitchen at the Alfond Inn

Hamilton's Kitchen at the Alfond Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (45)
great for outdoor dining (40)
fit for foodies (36)
See All
neighborhood gem (34)
great for brunch (30)
romantic (29)
good for groups (26)
great for lunch (20)
scenic view (16)
notable wine list (10)
vibrant bar scene (9)
hot spot (5)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (4)
Sort By:
Newest
413 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The new chef at Hamiltons has transforme ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The new chef at Hamiltons has transformed this restaurant. Hamiltons will be the hottest restaurant in Winter Park in a few months. Go now, because it will be difficult to get in later.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, great service! David we ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Wonderful food, great service! David went above and beyond as out server. Smoked fish appetizer was extremely tasty! Highly recommend this restersuant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Sunday brunch menu with enough ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent Sunday brunch menu with enough variety to appeal to all. Food was exceptional with a special mention for the grits snd French fries! Service was excellent, despite the restaurant being packed! Live saxophone music was a nice surprise! It was my mom's 79th birthday celebration, we could not have chosen a better place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Maybe our expectations were too high. Fr ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Maybe our expectations were too high. Friendly staff with great intentions, decent food but not stellar. Have to learn how to prepare a martini. They killed it with an excess of vermouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We have dined at Hamilton's Kitchen nume ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We have dined at Hamilton's Kitchen numerous times in the past and have always had a great experience. We decided to take an out of town friend to Hamilton's for dinner. The experience was less than great. The service was fair. The waitress was not attentive and we had to pour our the bottle of wine we ordered ourselves. The oysters they served us were not fresh and had to be returned.

The main meals were tasty, but the lamb portion serve to me were on the small side with more bone than meat.

Desserts were great. Not sure we will be going back for dinner at Hamilton's in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

There was nothing special about the food ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

There was nothing special about the food, and the service was below the neighborhood standard. Our order was delivered incorrectly, though a quick effort was made to correct the error. Two of us ate less than half of our food because it was not to our liking. The location is beautiful, but the restaurant was so noisy (and even while less than half filled!) that it was difficult to enjoy. I brought a "from out of town" guest... we were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Whenever trying a restaurant for the fir ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Whenever trying a restaurant for the first time, I usually read the reviews of past diners to see if anything stood out. I am specifically looking for patterns. In the case of Hamilton’s Kitchen, one thing did stand out – inconsistent service with many poor ratings.

When we arrived at the restaurant, my wife spoke to the hostess and said that we had an Open Table reservation and would undoubtedly be asked to write a review. The hostess said that we would have their best server – Shana G.

From that point on, we received nothing but the very best service. Shana brought the four of us complimentary glasses of champagne. Later, she brought each of us a “gift” from the chef of a very delicious single scallop mini-appetizer. My only reaction was to wonder why this item was not on the menu. We all agreed that it was that good.

We used a Travelzoo coupon and, while it was a very good value, it did come with some restrictions. The one appetizer (up to $19 could not be split into 2, $10 dinner salads with the extra $1 being paid by us) but they did split one salad and the portions were very generous. Although the flatbread was good, it could have been better. Overall, the food was tasty, the ambiance superb and, unlike previous diners, the service was friendly and very efficient. The restaurant appeared to be trying to improve upon previous reviews…and it showed!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Eduardo made the occasion of my 73rd Bir ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Eduardo made the occasion of my 73rd Birthday special! The service was wonderful with no interruptions during conversation which seems to be a rarity here in Florida. His wine suggestion was on spot.

We came to the Alfond a bit early just to walk around and look at the art collection which had some wonderful contemporary artists that I was not yet familiar with. Fun!

It is so nice to experience such a lovely relaxed atmosphere right in the midst of our over-stressed world.

I shall return often!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were greeted and congratulated on our ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We were greeted and congratulated on our anniversary. The hostess had a personalized note at the table. Food and service were excellent and the chef prepared a couple of unexpected treat. We make a point of returning for special occasions and have recommended Hamilton's Kitchen to friends.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for anniversary and was very happy ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Went for anniversary and was very happy we did. Free glass of champagne, a card, and a dessert cake slice with happy anniversary written in chocolate! Filet was perfect! Risotto cooked just right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second visit. We've dined ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This was our second visit. We've dined for brunch and breakfast with our daughters and grands. Both times enjoyable and the food was delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hotel and restaurant are beautiful. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The hotel and restaurant are beautiful. We felt the food a bit overpriced for what we got and we were disappointed that we couldn't substitute a beer for a glass of wine (at the same price).

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

This place is incredible. They took such ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This place is incredible. They took such good care of us. I notified the staff that it was our anniversary ahead of time, and they gave us (ALL complimentary) a champagne toast, little bites of a few chef specialties, chocolate covered strawberries for desert, and a card and fresh pink rose awaiting us at the table, wishing us a happy anni. It made us both feel so special. I LOVE THIS PLACE! Food was yummy and it was incredibly romantic. Cant wait to go back and bring friends!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely one of the best dining experi ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Absolutely one of the best dining experiences we ever had. Everyone should try going there at least once. We live 145 miles away and plan to go back soon!! The shrimp and grits appetizer was to die for and the snapper (recommended by our waiter) was superbly outstanding!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Local Find

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I enjoyed my experience at Hamilton's Kitchen. I liked the creativity of the menu, the ambiance, and the fact that it is not the 'chain restaurant' experience. Our server knew the menu well and made great suggestions. On a Friday night the noise level gets a little loud, which was a slight turn-off.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant inside boutique hot ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Wonderful restaurant inside boutique hotel. Very friendly staff and great food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service is on the decline

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We have eaten at hamilton's several times since it opened a couple of years ago. The food is always good and the service is fair at best. Last night's experience pushed us over the edge and will most likely be our last time eating there. It took over ten minutes for our waiter to introduce himself and after we finally received our drinks, we reached the 45 minute mark before we placed our dinner order. He actually told us he forgot he had a table outside. After our food arrived, he walked past our table to take drink order without even asking us how our food was as he passed by us again on his way back inside. Although the manager did address the situation, the damage had been done. Not the best birthday dinner for my wife by a long shot.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Cool location in a new hotel.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

There is potential but in a party of six, half were disappointed with their food, including sub par salads and desserts! They really need to step up their service. Steak eaters were happy, fish and lamb eaters were unhappy. The jalapeno mini muffins, when seated, are a pleasant touch but apparently there is no other bread available, as we were not served any bread. Unfinished drinks were removed without asking. The service was generally inattentive. I honestly feel we may just gone on a bad night...there is no way they could be like this every night and stay in business. If the service had been better, it would have made up for the poor quality of food and food preparation. I would give it another chance because I did enjoy the atmosphere and the bar!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Lost opportunity

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

2nd visit within a week. Beautiful room & ambiance but smoke from the open kitchen grill filled the dining area both times I visited beyond what was acceptable. The smoke ruined our dining experience and everyone at our table agreed it was unpleasant. Food was decent, average I'd say, but overpriced for the quality. I'm disappointed because the location & gardens are lovely. The food does not live up to the potential of the surroundings. They need some sort of ventilation fix that keeps grill smoke within the kitchen area.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Always a great experience.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The menu and staff here are fantastic. There's always something unique to try and everything I've had so far has been wonderful. This is a great place to take out of town guests or a date.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too Much for Mediocre

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The restaurant was pleasant enough and the service was very good. However, our appetizer and entrees came out at the same time which was a bit weird. The waiter apologized and offered to take the entrees back, but we had waited a while and were hungry.

The food was tasteless--no seasoning. For the price, I expected more. Very disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Has gone down hill. Terrible quality foo ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Has gone down hill. Terrible quality food for the amount of money they charge. Steak was chewy and overcooked and of poor quality. Fish also bland and overcooked. Sad because of the beautiful ambiance. Definitely not worth the cost though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

The overall experience was not good, we ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The overall experience was not good, we had to send my wife's lunch back it was way too salty, it took forever to replace it. the service was very poor. We had to ask someone else several times for assistances. When we received our bill we were billed for both of my wife's dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was excellent. The servings ample.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Our server was friendly and helpful and knowledgeable. We were served promptly but never rushed. The music was pleasant and never drowned out the converasation

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have eaten in Hamilton's Kitchen sever ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I have eaten in Hamilton's Kitchen several times and I am never disappointed.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food and ambiance were excellent but ser ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food and ambiance were excellent but service was lacking. Had to request spoons

for coffee and had to request coffee refill multiple times. Once our food order was

placed we never saw our waiter again until he brought our bill unsolicited and before

we had even finished eating which was most uncomfortable and embarrassing for my

guests since we had not yet finished ordering either. In this caliber restaurant, a bill

should never presented until the patrons have finished eating/ordering and request

the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Top Notch Breakfast

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall a terrific spot for breakfast/brunch, but... when we inquired about a special menu selection that was advertised at the front of house and on tables throughout the restaurant, our server seemed perplexed and somewhat irritated- insisting that we choose from the limited menu and investigating the existence of "the special" only after we demonstrated to her it was being advertised steps away. We chalk it up to a miscommunication, but it could have been handled much more professionally.

Beyond that- the food was top notch, plentiful and served promptly. Terrific Bloody Mary, excellent coffee and great ambiance. A very satisfying breakfast experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Server showed no knowledge. Kitchen was ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Server showed no knowledge. Kitchen was extremely slow, took 90 minutes to get entrée. Check came with no offer of desert or coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

Good But Not Great

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This was my first visit to Hamilton's at the Alfond Inn. I had high expectations since the culinary competition in Winter Park is so high. I don't want to say I was disappointed because it is a beautiful space. I simply thought the food and service fell short. From what I could gather this establishment is billing themselves as an 'upscale eatery.' If that's true guests shouldn't have to wait 10 minutes for water to be poured. I've worked in many restaurants and currently reside in South Florida which is a mecca for every major restaurant in the nation. This meal was average at best. With all of the other fantastic options in Winter Park it may be a while before I venture back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food but small portions

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great food, but portions could be bigger to make it a better value. Noise level inside was moderate, but we sat outside and it was quite so that we could actually make conversation. Don't miss the art collection throughout the hotel.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood Gem - Slow paced

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We went to celebrate our anniversary. If you are looking for free champagne or complementary dessert to commemorate your special occasions, this is not your place. The environment was pretty relaxing, we like that it's further away from the chaotic Park Ave. We sat outside, under the covered patio. Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable of the menu. He gave us a few recommendations on what to do and what's shareable -- we had the shrimp &grits. We were given these delicious jalapeno cornbread popovers and whipped butter while waiting on our appetizer. The appetizer was great in flavor and size, they divided the dish into two portions for us. It took 25-30 mins for the main course to arrived after the appetizer, our waiter had disappeared as well. The restaurant was very busy, many tables were sat at the same time near us in the patio so we imagined the kitchen being super behind. By then we have had too much to drink. The bar made delicious cocktails/ great wine list-- highly recommended. I had the olive oil poached snapper which was delicious and really big. It was perfectly cooked and seasoned, had to take it home because the portion was really large. My partner had squid ink pasta with shrimp. We loved the creamy sauce but hated the undercooked pasta. We didn't make it to dessert because we had too much to drink and it was getting late. Despite the slow pace in service, we enjoyed the outdoor dining. The food wasn't amazing but it has potential, we were told that they're bringing on a new head chef. Great concept, location and great potential. We will definitely return and give it another try.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Beautiful Hotel and Fresh Food

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Excellent shrimp and grits, good salads, and trout was well prepared. Lovely place to enjoy a good meal. Service is excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

everything that could go wrong did

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The Bar staff were good and friendly nice drinks.

The restaurant staff , waited 10-15 mins after being sat before anyone came to the table and it was the bus boy to fill water glasses. Ordered a bottle of wine took 20 mins to get it. no apology

everything took so long to come out. it was just a bad experience. The restaurant was not even full, maybe less than half full.

the chicken was dry. Cesar salad too much mustard.

Lamb Chops way over cooked. Filet however cooked to temp. Fish ordered was good.

Had to ask for the manager, one avoided us totally the other tried to rectify the situation but trust me it was beyond repair. The one i spoke with was pleasant enough, i am sure i was harsh with her but frustration at what was occurring clouded my better judgement. Sent over a wine we werent even drinking and the waiter started pouring it right on top of what we were drinking. Just not a good thing.

The chef came out of the kitchen and one of my guest commented about how they were out of short ribs, he says oh we pull them off the menu when we only have one or two left. Went to get them and the were still out. just not worth the sentence it took for him to explain that.

i wanted to like it, i had been once before , service was slow then too but i gave it another chance. HOWEVER i will not spend my money here again. Just disappointed and embarassed for having to put my friends through this meal.

complimentary dessert sampler which was good and champagne finished off the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Good food, nice place but Not Open Table friendly

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Food was fine, service was good and the place is nice. I showed up 5 min before the reservation, gave them my name and they found me in their reservations. the next day I get a note from Open Table that I no-showed for my reservation. if they are going to use the system, they need to make sure they don't make errors of this type. I had to waste time letting Open Table know that I didn't miss the reservation and give details of the meal to prove I was there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place for breakfast. Saturday brun ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Great place for breakfast. Saturday brunch is even better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been here several times and really ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I've been here several times and really enjoy the service and the food. I had the misfortune of having Luis as a server and it completely changed my experience. It felt as if he was bored and serving us was a bother. I will say if you have a chance ask to have Allison as a server. She was great the last few times I've been there and had her as a server. The great service she provided was one of the reasons I kept coming back to Hamilton's kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Our waitress was knowledgeable and perso ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Our waitress was knowledgeable and personable! Great insights on our preferences and WP. Best meal of our trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outside Saturday Brunch. Wonderful amb ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Outside Saturday Brunch. Wonderful ambience. Terrific frittata and omelette. Fresh fruit was high quality. Hostess was fabulous. Waitress was testy. Came back every two minutes to get our order, but after we paid, she disappeared for 20 minutes and we could t get more coffee!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Good food and great service!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Hamilton's Kitchen offered very good food and excellent service. Outdoor dining was special as was the wine list.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Brunch is delicious. Ambience is great. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Brunch is delicious. Ambience is great. Just love it here, just wish they kept breakfast options a bit later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.