About Hamilton's Kitchen at the Alfond Inn

300 East New England Ave
Winter Park, FL 32789
View Larger Map

Hamilton’s Kitchen menus feature current Florida farm to table practices, respecting nature’s sustainable indigenous products, freshly presented with modern culinary techniques. Al fresco dining on the Hamilton’s Kitchen patio is also available. Hamilton’s Kitchen serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch Daily: 11-30am - 2-00pm
Dinner Sun - Tue: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner Wed - Sat: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 7:00am - 2:00pm

Lounge and Bar Daily: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 998-8089

Website:
http://thealfondinn.com/

Parking Details:
Validated Parking for all restaurant and lounge guests.

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining Room available in the restaurant

Private Party Contact:
Amy: x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Hamilton's Kitchen at the Alfond Inn, Winter Park, FL
  • Hamilton's Kitchen at the Alfond Inn, Winter Park, FL
Hamilton's Kitchen at the Alfond Inn, Winter Park, FL
Hamilton's Kitchen at the Alfond Inn, Winter Park, FL

Hamilton's Kitchen at the Alfond Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Orlando
Best Restaurants in Winter Park ›

Special Occasion (52)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Good for a Date (35)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Romantic (25)
Local Ingredients (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Great for Brunch (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Casual (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Cozy (8)
Scenic View (8)
Healthy (7)
Historic (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Seasonal (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Authentic (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Fun (5)
Fireplace (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Private Room (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Live Music (4)
Dancing (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Organic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
518 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love, Love, Love this place! When we to ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 3 days ago

Love, Love, Love this place! When we told our waiter we were celebrating my birthday he immediately brought the whole table each a glass of champagne! We started off with a ceaser salad which you could tell the dressing was made from scratch. Their menu is fresh and exciting and each entree looks like a work of art. We are lucky to have Chef Klingensmith in Winter Park. I can't wait to come back again!

Tags: Private Room, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Dancing, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Something weird happened with our server ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Something weird happened with our server but management made it right! Always appreciate that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The entire staff from hostess to server ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

The entire staff from hostess to server and chef were outstanding. As this was our anniversary they went out their way to treat us in a very special manner. The food was outsnading. Unique presentations and great menu.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Dancing, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

At first I thought the menu looked a lit ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

At first I thought the menu looked a little sparse. However, the mix of cuisine styles worked to successfully change my mind. We ordered two items that are very easy to overcook and serve dry, double cut pork chop and yellow fin snapper. Both were perfectly cooked. I mean perfect! Not to moist and not too dry. The pork was on a bed of tangy grits (cider had a vinegar tang) and I wanted to trade for those BUT the black beans and rice under my fish was just as tempting. Completely different flavors but both excellent in their own right. We will be back; I know my husband was eyeing the filet!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

They finally changed their brunch menu. ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

They finally changed their brunch menu. It's a bigger menu with better options. Thank goodness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This is the second time we were at Hamil ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This is the second time we were at Hamilton's Kitchen. The menu is very limited and that night they were out of two fish dishes. When the food arrived the meal was luke warm. The staff quickly reheated the meal and was very apologetic. Additionally, the portions for the value are not there. Although the service was very good the food, value and selection is not consistent with an upscale restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

The food was amazing from start to finis ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was amazing from start to finish, and the service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual our Brunxh with dear grinds was ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 25, 2016

As usual our Brunxh with dear grinds was cordial and cozy. Our waiter, Eduardo, has helped us previously and he is delightful. He gives us all necessary info on selections and has a delightful personality. The venue is so pleasant and good was delicious. Our favorite place for Brunch and dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fireplace, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friends met here at noon on a weekday ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 22, 2016

My friends met here at noon on a weekday lunch to celebrate a friend's birthday. The waiter was attentive and helpful with menu suggestions. The food was very good, including the broiled salmon, shrimps & grits, and the chicken/almond/cranberry salad. After the meal, the waiter delivered a special treat for the birthday person. I thought that was a nice touch, because we did not make arrangements for this ahead of time. The dining room manager checked in to make sure we were satisfied. She also came back to take a photo of our group. Again, it was a nice touch.

This was my first time eating here. I thought the menu was somewhat limited, with breakfast items and a few lunch items. That seemed unusual for a weekday noon meal. Overall, the food, service, and atmosphere is special. I will likely return, maybe for breakfast or dinner. I would also recommend Hamilton's to anyone interested in a different type dining experience in Winter Park.

Tags: Modern Decor, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Special night out. First class service

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Special night out. First class service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was definitely above average. Servi ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was definitely above average. Service was excellent. Total atmosphere was very accommodating to an enjoayable evening

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there for brunch on Sunday morning. ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Went there for brunch on Sunday morning. First, the bartender seemed to have just woken up (10:30AM) as he did not have his bank nor celery for the Bloody Mary's, and the drinks were weak to say the least!

Then as we were seated the hostess complained to us, like we cared, that they were short staffed stating that wait staff did not show up, and it was Parents Weekend at nearby Rollins College blah blah blah. It took 45 minutes for our four breakfast plates to arrive. It looked like the food was thrown on the plate in a rush. I had the Eggs Benedict. It was not on a toasted English muffin as stated in the menu, but on a soggy greasy toasted piece of bread . The roasted potatoes while tasty were under portioned so I guess they improvised and threw some greens on to fill the plate. We dealt with multiple waiters who rushed to and fro especially when a group of about 35-40 people came for a party. We were just relieved that our order was in before they arrived. The poor party was short seats, and stares came our way because our table would have been perfect for the kids since we were adjacent to the main table.

We would have willingly moved if we were asked and given some free drinks for the imposition. Instead some members of the party were seated on the other side of the room which caused a constant stream of parents parading back and forth to their kids asking them not to break anymore plates, and to behave. As usual in these instances, I blame management. They have unreliable help and standards are not kept in the kitchen. I cancelled my Thanksgiving dinner reservation there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Very happy with the high level of servic ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very happy with the high level of service we received from a great staff starting with the Hosts and following with Pietro as well as Ron who were all fantastic. The food was also excellent and as the early evenings are cooling, the beautiful outside patio was wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the 2nd year in a row that we ce ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is the 2nd year in a row that we celebrated our anniversary at Hamilton's. The food & service were excellent. I am sure there is a high probability we will celebrate there next year.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our anniversary and it was ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary and it was a fabulous experience. We would recommend this dining establishment.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Bar Seating, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food Fair prices Excellent service ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great food Fair prices Excellent service Recommend to all

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The waiter was not professional, seemed ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The waiter was not professional, seemed like someone fresh out of a diner. He was not able to aptly describe the menu and pointed to pages in the menu making general statements. He could not adequately describe the dishes bing offered. After first waiting on us, We waited a very long time for him to come back to the table. We finally had to go find someone to take our order. When a new waiter arrived, he explained that the original waiter had a variety of important duties and just couldn't get to everyone. Want an embarrassing experience.

Amazingly, the food was outstanding, reasonably priced, and the ambience was nice. Once we ordered, the food arrived at a reasonable time. Our waiter never checked backed with us until we finished...he actually made the statement "your not interested in dessert are you?"

Someone please train the wait staff...this could be a great restaurant if excellent service was offered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Beautiful hotel and dining area. I loved ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Beautiful hotel and dining area. I loved the decor and the ambiance. The food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I were at this restaurant on ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 19, 2016

My wife and I were at this restaurant on the evening of Oct 18th, 2016

I ordered a filet and my wife had Chilaean Beabass The food was excellant with super service.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is fabulous! Our server was po ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The food is fabulous! Our server was poor and never checked back with us. Portions are large, but got cold quickly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Delicious food with nice ambiance. Bring ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Delicious food with nice ambiance. Bring something similar to The Villages, FL.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was our first visit during magical di ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 2, 2016

It was our first visit during magical dining and we were really looking forward to it. The service is what really detracted from the experience. We were expecting more knowledge and engagement from our server but were left unsatisfied. In addition, the dessert dish was dirty on the outside. Also, the executive chef was not there, which was disappointing. The restaurant left us with no reason to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We brought friends for their first visit ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We brought friends for their first visit to Alfond Inn and Hamiltons. We were promptly seated but our server was certainly less than friendly and quite frankly rushed our evening dinner, returning to the table several times, "are you ready to order" without even taking time to ensure we had ordered a cocktail/wine. When asked about substitutions to magical dining, very rude "NO', we make no exceptions. Quite frankly, he could have offered that we could include other dishes, just at the price listed. Lastly, no return to the table to check on our meal, did not include the condiment I asked for, simply pushing us to eat and pay the tab. Not at all what I would have expected from an elegant, evening dinner.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

Went for Magical Dining and was a great ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Went for Magical Dining and was a great experience. It was also nice that they had a wine pairing option with each course. Service was great and food was fresh and delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food on the magical dining was amazing. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food on the magical dining was amazing. The wine pairing was great too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second time dining at Hamilt ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was my second time dining at Hamilton's Kitchen and it was equally as amazing as the first time. We went for Magical Dining and it was magical for sure. Everything was so delicious. Chef Jason's menu does not disappoint. Our party had the entire Magical Dining menu (and then some) and each dish was beautiful and amazingly delicious. You definitely need to check out Hamilton's Kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Magical Dining lead us to try Hamilton's ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Magical Dining lead us to try Hamilton's Kitchen at Alfond Inn. I will definitely go back. The food was fresh, attractive and innovative. My husband had the butternut squash soup (delish). I tried the beet raviole with crab but it actually wasn't that great. Everything else was superior.

Tags: Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good service, always good food. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Always good service, always good food. Very accommodating. Dog-friendly patio!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderfully composed food, quality ingre ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Wonderfully composed food, quality ingredients and an inventive chef that knows how to let the ingredients come together for an outstanding culinary experience. We had the filet with a great gratin from white and sweet potato and my wife had the fish dish. The creme brulee was to die for. We went there again with some friends the same week.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time over the last mo ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 29, 2016

This is the second time over the last month that we have gone to Hamilton's Kitchen and have had a less than desirable experience. We love the Alfond Inn (we were married there a year ago and have eaten at Hamilton's Kitchen on numerous occasions). When we ate there recently for our anniversary, the food was marginal and the service was poor. I thought it might have just been an off night for Hamilton's Kitchen. Unfortunately our bad experience a few weeks ago was surpassed by our most recent visit. The service was extremely slow (again), the server did not understand English very well, the soup was cold, and the filet mignon tasted rancid. I suspect we will be making alternative choices for our optional dining going forward. I am very disappointed because we love the location and the atmosphere.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Might be the best food I've had in Orlan ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Might be the best food I've had in Orlando. Service was good. Wine list was decent. I will return as often as possible.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best experience we've had at Hamilton's ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Best experience we've had at Hamilton's Kitchen. New chef is doing a great job. My wife and I tried the Magical Dining menu which was fantastic. Great food and wine pairings. Keep up the great work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

My husband and I took advantage of the M ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 24, 2016

My husband and I took advantage of the Magical Dining Month and had dinner at Hamilton's Kitchen at The Alfond Inn. The new executive chef, Jason Klingensmith is a true artist. His artistically prepared modern-American dishes were a double treat...not just for the presentation but also for the creative ingredients. The sous vide filet with a persilliade of herbs and red wine syrup was a hit...and his version of Creme Brulee with a Biscoff twist was one of the best desserts I have ever had. Ian our server was also great...very personable and knowledgeable who is passionate about the talents of chef Jason. We also took advantage of the wine pairings offered with the special menu which was a nice addition. Great "Night at the Museum".

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Server not good. Everything else great!

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Server not good. Everything else great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

The food and service were outstanding! ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food and service were outstanding! We enjoyed the Magical Dinner menu with food and wine pairings for our anniversary. The pairings were out of this world! Very nicely done.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to have our weekly family din ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We decided to have our weekly family dinner here and take advantage of Magical Dining month. I'm not sure why we hadn't come here before! The restaurant and lobby of the hotel are just stunning. The service was top notch...keeping all glasses full, replacing flatware for different courses, knowledgeable about menu. 5 of us ordered from the MD menu and were very pleased with it. Chef prepared a kid-size pappardelle bolognese portion for our 10 yr old (excellent!). We were pleasantly surprised to receive an amuse bouche of one of the items on their regular menu (salmon) - even our young daughter loved it! It was delicious! The Biscoff creme brûlée MUST be added to the regular menu, please! It was presented in a small mason jar with a raspberry and cream dollop on top, the bottom of the creme brûlée had a caramel-like biscoff cookie layer - absolute perfection! The decor and ambiance are lovely. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had Sunday Brunch with a friend. Asked ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Had Sunday Brunch with a friend. Asked for table on the patio which we got, they are very accommodating. It was lovely except a bit hot, there are NO ceiling fans on the porch and it would be so easy to add them, that would extend season for the use of the porch for alfreso dining

I had the salmon open-face sandwich with a salad, very healthy, very good, decent portion. Service is still a little 'spotty' and they don't seem to retain the service staff as, mostly, you see new faces when you come back.

Has improved a lot since they first opened! Keep it up!

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Outstanding service at Hamilton's Kitch ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Outstanding service at Hamilton's Kitchen. Delightful meal. Very good filet. Creme brulee was fantastic! Listen to your server, Tommy, and take his recommendation!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I had been to Hamiton's for ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 17, 2016

My wife and I had been to Hamiton's for lunch a number of times but this was our first dinner. My bloody mary was excellent and the complimentary pork belly appetizer was a nice touch. We shared a flatbread starter that waa excellent and its softer, tasty bread was a nice change from the usual charred cracker consistency. My wife had the rack of lamb and I had the pork chop and both were excellent in taste and presentation. A complimentary creme brulee to share for desert was a pleasant surprise. The ambiance is very upscale and not at all like a hotel restaurant. The wait staff was friendly and efficient. The overall experience was well beyond expectation and we will return soon.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Another great dinner! I've always enjoy ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Another great dinner! I've always enjoyed Hamilton's and I invited 3 friends to join me for dinner there as a start to our evening. We had a wonderful time. Such a pretty atmosphere and the food is delicious and very nicely presented. Our waitstaff was very attentive and actually recognized an issue before we did and quickly removed the item (liquid-y Creme brûlée). The restaurant manager returned with the replacement and waited to be sure the dessert was as good as usual. Everyone felt special! And it was a great start to our evening out.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Romantic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.