About Hamilton's Kitchen at the Alfond Inn

300 East New England Ave
Winter Park, FL 32789
View Larger Map

Hamilton’s Kitchen menus feature current Florida farm to table practices, respecting nature’s sustainable indigenous products, freshly presented with modern culinary techniques. Al fresco dining on the Hamilton’s Kitchen patio is also available. Hamilton’s Kitchen serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch Daily: 11-30am - 2-00pm
Dinner Sun - Tue: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner Wed - Sat: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 7:00am - 2:00pm

Lounge and Bar Daily: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 998-8089

Website:
http://thealfondinn.com/

Parking Details:
Validated Parking for all restaurant and lounge guests.

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining Room available in the restaurant

Private Party Contact:
Amy: x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Hamilton's Kitchen at the Alfond Inn
  • Hamilton's Kitchen at the Alfond Inn
Hamilton's Kitchen at the Alfond Inn
Hamilton's Kitchen at the Alfond Inn

Hamilton's Kitchen at the Alfond Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Orlando / Central Florida East
Great for Brunch
Orlando
Best Restaurants in Winter Park ›

great for outdoor dining (39)
special occasion (39)
fit for foodies (33)
See All
neighborhood gem (30)
great for brunch (30)
romantic (25)
good for groups (22)
great for lunch (20)
scenic view (14)
notable wine list (9)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (3)
hot spot (3)
Sort By:
Newest
401 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is incredible. They took such ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This place is incredible. They took such good care of us. I notified the staff that it was our anniversary ahead of time, and they gave us (ALL complimentary) a champagne toast, little bites of a few chef specialties, chocolate covered strawberries for desert, and a card and fresh pink rose awaiting us at the table, wishing us a happy anni. It made us both feel so special. I LOVE THIS PLACE! Food was yummy and it was incredibly romantic. Cant wait to go back and bring friends!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely one of the best dining experi ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Absolutely one of the best dining experiences we ever had. Everyone should try going there at least once. We live 145 miles away and plan to go back soon!! The shrimp and grits appetizer was to die for and the snapper (recommended by our waiter) was superbly outstanding!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Local Find

Dined on June 10, 2016

I enjoyed my experience at Hamilton's Kitchen. I liked the creativity of the menu, the ambiance, and the fact that it is not the 'chain restaurant' experience. Our server knew the menu well and made great suggestions. On a Friday night the noise level gets a little loud, which was a slight turn-off.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant inside boutique hot ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Wonderful restaurant inside boutique hotel. Very friendly staff and great food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Service is on the decline

Dined on June 4, 2016

We have eaten at hamilton's several times since it opened a couple of years ago. The food is always good and the service is fair at best. Last night's experience pushed us over the edge and will most likely be our last time eating there. It took over ten minutes for our waiter to introduce himself and after we finally received our drinks, we reached the 45 minute mark before we placed our dinner order. He actually told us he forgot he had a table outside. After our food arrived, he walked past our table to take drink order without even asking us how our food was as he passed by us again on his way back inside. Although the manager did address the situation, the damage had been done. Not the best birthday dinner for my wife by a long shot.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Cool location in a new hotel.

Dined on June 3, 2016

There is potential but in a party of six, half were disappointed with their food, including sub par salads and desserts! They really need to step up their service. Steak eaters were happy, fish and lamb eaters were unhappy. The jalapeno mini muffins, when seated, are a pleasant touch but apparently there is no other bread available, as we were not served any bread. Unfinished drinks were removed without asking. The service was generally inattentive. I honestly feel we may just gone on a bad night...there is no way they could be like this every night and stay in business. If the service had been better, it would have made up for the poor quality of food and food preparation. I would give it another chance because I did enjoy the atmosphere and the bar!

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Lost opportunity

Dined on May 29, 2016

2nd visit within a week. Beautiful room & ambiance but smoke from the open kitchen grill filled the dining area both times I visited beyond what was acceptable. The smoke ruined our dining experience and everyone at our table agreed it was unpleasant. Food was decent, average I'd say, but overpriced for the quality. I'm disappointed because the location & gardens are lovely. The food does not live up to the potential of the surroundings. They need some sort of ventilation fix that keeps grill smoke within the kitchen area.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience.

Dined on May 29, 2016

The menu and staff here are fantastic. There's always something unique to try and everything I've had so far has been wonderful. This is a great place to take out of town guests or a date.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Too Much for Mediocre

Dined on May 28, 2016

The restaurant was pleasant enough and the service was very good. However, our appetizer and entrees came out at the same time which was a bit weird. The waiter apologized and offered to take the entrees back, but we had waited a while and were hungry. The food was tasteless--no seasoning. For the price, I expected more. Very disappointing!

food2
ambience5
service2

Has gone down hill. Terrible quality foo ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Has gone down hill. Terrible quality food for the amount of money they charge. Steak was chewy and overcooked and of poor quality. Fish also bland and overcooked. Sad because of the beautiful ambiance. Definitely not worth the cost though.

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The overall experience was not good, we ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The overall experience was not good, we had to send my wife's lunch back it was way too salty, it took forever to replace it. the service was very poor. We had to ask someone else several times for assistances. When we received our bill we were billed for both of my wife's dishes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent. The servings ample.

Dined on May 19, 2016

Our server was friendly and helpful and knowledgeable. We were served promptly but never rushed. The music was pleasant and never drowned out the converasation

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I have eaten in Hamilton's Kitchen sever ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I have eaten in Hamilton's Kitchen several times and I am never disappointed.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Food and ambiance were excellent but ser ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food and ambiance were excellent but service was lacking. Had to request spoons for coffee and had to request coffee refill multiple times. Once our food order was placed we never saw our waiter again until he brought our bill unsolicited and before we had even finished eating which was most uncomfortable and embarrassing for my guests since we had not yet finished ordering either. In this caliber restaurant, a bill should never presented until the patrons have finished eating/ordering and request the bill.

food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Top Notch Breakfast

Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall a terrific spot for breakfast/brunch, but... when we inquired about a special menu selection that was advertised at the front of house and on tables throughout the restaurant, our server seemed perplexed and somewhat irritated- insisting that we choose from the limited menu and investigating the existence of "the special" only after we demonstrated to her it was being advertised steps away. We chalk it up to a miscommunication, but it could have been handled much more professionally. Beyond that- the food was top notch, plentiful and served promptly. Terrific Bloody Mary, excellent coffee and great ambiance. A very satisfying breakfast experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience5
service1

Server showed no knowledge. Kitchen was ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Server showed no knowledge. Kitchen was extremely slow, took 90 minutes to get entrée. Check came with no offer of desert or coffee.

food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Good But Not Great

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was my first visit to Hamilton's at the Alfond Inn. I had high expectations since the culinary competition in Winter Park is so high. I don't want to say I was disappointed because it is a beautiful space. I simply thought the food and service fell short. From what I could gather this establishment is billing themselves as an 'upscale eatery.' If that's true guests shouldn't have to wait 10 minutes for water to be poured. I've worked in many restaurants and currently reside in South Florida which is a mecca for every major restaurant in the nation. This meal was average at best. With all of the other fantastic options in Winter Park it may be a while before I venture back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but small portions

Dined on May 6, 2016

Great food, but portions could be bigger to make it a better value. Noise level inside was moderate, but we sat outside and it was quite so that we could actually make conversation. Don't miss the art collection throughout the hotel.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Neighborhood Gem - Slow paced

Dined on May 5, 2016

We went to celebrate our anniversary. If you are looking for free champagne or complementary dessert to commemorate your special occasions, this is not your place. The environment was pretty relaxing, we like that it's further away from the chaotic Park Ave. We sat outside, under the covered patio. Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable of the menu. He gave us a few recommendations on what to do and what's shareable -- we had the shrimp &grits. We were given these delicious jalapeno cornbread popovers and whipped butter while waiting on our appetizer. The appetizer was great in flavor and size, they divided the dish into two portions for us. It took 25-30 mins for the main course to arrived after the appetizer, our waiter had disappeared as well. The restaurant was very busy, many tables were sat at the same time near us in the patio so we imagined the kitchen being super behind. By then we have had too much to drink. The bar made delicious cocktails/ great wine list-- highly recommended. I had the olive oil poached snapper which was delicious and really big. It was perfectly cooked and seasoned, had to take it home because the portion was really large. My partner had squid ink pasta with shrimp. We loved the creamy sauce but hated the undercooked pasta. We didn't make it to dessert because we had too much to drink and it was getting late. Despite the slow pace in service, we enjoyed the outdoor dining. The food wasn't amazing but it has potential, we were told that they're bringing on a new head chef. Great concept, location and great potential. We will definitely return and give it another try.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful Hotel and Fresh Food

Dined on May 3, 2016

Excellent shrimp and grits, good salads, and trout was well prepared. Lovely place to enjoy a good meal. Service is excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

everything that could go wrong did

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The Bar staff were good and friendly nice drinks. The restaurant staff , waited 10-15 mins after being sat before anyone came to the table and it was the bus boy to fill water glasses. Ordered a bottle of wine took 20 mins to get it. no apology everything took so long to come out. it was just a bad experience. The restaurant was not even full, maybe less than half full. the chicken was dry. Cesar salad too much mustard. Lamb Chops way over cooked. Filet however cooked to temp. Fish ordered was good. Had to ask for the manager, one avoided us totally the other tried to rectify the situation but trust me it was beyond repair. The one i spoke with was pleasant enough, i am sure i was harsh with her but frustration at what was occurring clouded my better judgement. Sent over a wine we werent even drinking and the waiter started pouring it right on top of what we were drinking. Just not a good thing. The chef came out of the kitchen and one of my guest commented about how they were out of short ribs, he says oh we pull them off the menu when we only have one or two left. Went to get them and the were still out. just not worth the sentence it took for him to explain that. i wanted to like it, i had been once before , service was slow then too but i gave it another chance. HOWEVER i will not spend my money here again. Just disappointed and embarassed for having to put my friends through this meal. complimentary dessert sampler which was good and champagne finished off the evening.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food, nice place but Not Open Table friendly

Dined on April 29, 2016

Food was fine, service was good and the place is nice. I showed up 5 min before the reservation, gave them my name and they found me in their reservations. the next day I get a note from Open Table that I no-showed for my reservation. if they are going to use the system, they need to make sure they don't make errors of this type. I had to waste time letting Open Table know that I didn't miss the reservation and give details of the meal to prove I was there.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for breakfast. Saturday brun ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Great place for breakfast. Saturday brunch is even better!

food4
ambience5
service2

I've been here several times and really ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

I've been here several times and really enjoy the service and the food. I had the misfortune of having Luis as a server and it completely changed my experience. It felt as if he was bored and serving us was a bother. I will say if you have a chance ask to have Allison as a server. She was great the last few times I've been there and had her as a server. The great service she provided was one of the reasons I kept coming back to Hamilton's kitchen.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress was knowledgeable and perso ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our waitress was knowledgeable and personable! Great insights on our preferences and WP. Best meal of our trip.

food5
ambience5
service2

Outside Saturday Brunch. Wonderful amb ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Outside Saturday Brunch. Wonderful ambience. Terrific frittata and omelette. Fresh fruit was high quality. Hostess was fabulous. Waitress was testy. Came back every two minutes to get our order, but after we paid, she disappeared for 20 minutes and we could t get more coffee!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and great service!

Dined on April 21, 2016

Hamilton's Kitchen offered very good food and excellent service. Outdoor dining was special as was the wine list.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Brunch is delicious. Ambience is great. ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Brunch is delicious. Ambience is great. Just love it here, just wish they kept breakfast options a bit later.

food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Plated Food

Dined on April 15, 2016

They plate the food in a way that is not pleasing. They put the Filet on a bed of vegetables.....with sauce. A poor way to present a expensive cut of meat.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place for lunch.

Dined on April 14, 2016

Took a friend for a birthday lunch and was pleasantly surprised. Did not know what to expect since I usually don't like going to hotel restaurants. Food was good, service was exceptional, and ambience was pleasant. Was a little pricey but it was worth it. We were there for 2 1/2 hours and they didn't kick us out! Would recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was great and food was mouthwate ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

Service was great and food was mouthwatering

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday celebration

Dined on April 12, 2016

Superb service, food, and atmosphere! Literally the best I've ever experienced. It was my daughter's 23rd birthday and she was treated like royalty. I cannot say enough good things about our experience! We look forward to going back when we are in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Great environment!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Great environment!

food5
ambience5
service3

The space is gorgeous. I could try and c ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

The space is gorgeous. I could try and come up with other words to describe the ambiance, but that says it all. I would go back just for the al fresco dining. The food runs a close second -it was satisfying without feeling heavy. The service was a little suspect -had to send back cocktails a few times - but overall a delightful meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

I took my wife there for a birthday lunc ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

I took my wife there for a birthday lunch. Our waiter went out of his way to make our experience special. We sat outside as the weather was perfect. The food is always excellent.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best Spot in Winter Park!

Dined on March 27, 2016

I love going to Hamilton's Kitchen. I have been going there to celebrate special occasions for the past couple of years. The food is always great as well as the service. The menu is seasonal so there are always a few new things. My favorite is the beef short ribs and shrimp appetizer. I appreciate the different variety of food choices that they have. I would highly recommend checking this restaurant out!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

The service and the quality of the food.

Dined on March 27, 2016

The service and the quality of the food.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice

Dined on March 26, 2016

Food was very good and serv ice and staff very a combating. Bar looked fun, but very loud.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing ambiance and terrific cuisine!

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Amazing ambiance and terrific cuisine!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great date night dinner

Dined on March 6, 2016

We recently had our second visit to Hamilton's Kitchen for a night out. The ambiance and service were excellent! My husband ordered the filet, which I must say I preferred over my entree. I had the poached snapper. Mine was good as well, but I think I may have enjoyed it more had it been grilled or baked. We shared the butterscotch pudding for dessert--awesome!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.