About Halls Chophouse

434 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Halls Chophouse is American-Fine Dining, serving prime steaks, Lowcountry and fresh seafood specialties in an energetic, visually striking environment. Complemented by signature desserts, an extensive wine list, a vibrant bar and innovative, rich decor true to old-world steakhouses, Halls Chophouse is the latest restaurant offering in the heart of Charleston's Upper King Street design and dining district. A traditional American steakhouse with superior service and a knowledgeable staff, Halls Chophouse offers a classic and comfortable dining experience that will entice our guests to visit and enjoy time after time. We offer 2 private dining rooms for groups of up to 32 guests each with audio visual capabilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight, Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm.
Bar is open Monday - Saturday starting at 4pm to close and 10:00am to close on Sundays!

Cross Street:
John St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 727-0090

Website:
http://hallschophouse.com/

Catering:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Parking Details:
http://hallschophouse.com/contact-us#parking

Executive Chef:
Matthew Niessner

Private Party Facilities:
Business, social, or whatever the occasion, Hall’s Chophouse is the place for your next event. Our three Private Rooms can hold up to 40 people. State-of-the-art AV equipment and flat screens are also available to help you with any presentation needs. Set menus for large groups also available.

For private dining, groups, banquets, receptions and event reservations please call us at
(843) 727-0090.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Hall: 8437270090x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Restaurant Photos

Petite Filet 8 Oz
She Crab Soup
strawberry shortcake
Dry Aged Bone In Ribeye And 16 Oz Lobster Tail
Fried Green Tomatoes
Beet Salad With Warm Brie Dressing
Fillet Mighon Steak
Crab Cake Benedict
Oysters Rockerfeller
Medium Rare Aged Ribeye with Sauteed Button Mushrooms & Basil Roasted Tomato - How Friday night Dinner was Done!
Burger
Ny Strip And Creamed Corn
NY Steak
Traditional Eggs Benedict
Tomahawk Bone-In Ribeye
Red Velvet Cake

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Halls Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Food
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
12 More
Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Best Value
South Carolina
Steakhouse
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Best Value
Charleston
Notable Wine List
Charleston
Special Occasion
Charleston
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

special occasion (569)
fit for foodies (384)
romantic (335)
See All
notable wine list (291)
good for groups (236)
hot spot (222)
vibrant bar scene (183)
neighborhood gem (175)
great for brunch (154)
late-night find (50)
great for lunch (48)
kid-friendly (18)
scenic view (16)
great for outdoor dining (4)
Sort By:
Newest
6518 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everyone was insaneouly nice. Everyone i ...

Dined 3 days ago

Everyone was insaneouly nice. Everyone involved making sure your dining experience was amazing. Can not say enough good things about the staff! Oh yeah is the food was great too!!!!!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent in every way!

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Excellent in every way!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On a visit to Charleston, we heard from ...

Dined 4 days ago

On a visit to Charleston, we heard from a few locals that we just had to check out Halls Chophouse. And, we're so glad we did because it lived up to it's reputation!! From the greeting at the door to the last bite of dessert, my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Every person on staff was friendly, our waiter made some wonderful recommendations on side dishes (loved the Pepper Jack Cream Corn Skillet) and desserts to try out, and the steaks were definitely the best that we've ever had. We will definitely go back the next time we're in Charleston.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment we walked into Halls Cho ...

Dined 4 days ago

From the moment we walked into Halls Chophouse, we knew we would have an unbelievable experience. The staff went above and beyond and went out of their way to make our 17th anniversary a special one. Billy, one of the owners treated us to champagne and also sought us several times to congratulate us. The steak was AMAZING!!!! Cooked and seasoned perfectly! The cream corn was to die for! We couldn't ask for a better place to celebrate 17 years together. We will definitely return when we visit Charleston again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were warmly greeted at Hall's and pro ...

Dined 4 days ago

We were warmly greeted at Hall's and promptly taken to the table we had requested - an upstairs booth. Our server was terrific, she provided plenty of information about the menu and the specials. She did not rush us or impose herself in any way. My husband had the duck which he has ordered in many restaurants around the globe and he declared this the best he had ever had which makes it very special. We shared oysters Rockefeller which were delicious. I had a bone in filet which was cooked exactly as I requested. As it was a special occasion we were treated to champagne and cake which we thoroughly enjoyed. We cannot wait to go back, even if it is not a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been to the best high end steakhou ...

Dined 4 days ago

We've been to the best high end steakhouses around the country and Hall's is top tier. The service is the best I've ever experienced. Overall amazing experience!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again a wonderful experience. Look ...

Dined 4 days ago

Once again a wonderful experience. Look forward to going back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service amazing! Have never fel ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Food and service amazing! Have never felt so welcomed at a restaurant. Thank you Billy Hall for a fabulous brunch, wonderful service and great gospel jazz! Can't wait to go back for dinner!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I love Hall's Chop House. We ...

Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I love Hall's Chop House. We have been on several occasions and will definitely go back in the future. The mood is always right from the moment you enter the building until the moment you leave. The food is some of the best cuisine Nationally and Internationally that you will ever eat, I am speaking from first hand experience. Our favorite....

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbelievable dining experience from the ...

Dined 5 days ago

Unbelievable dining experience from the warm welcome before we walked in the door until hugs on the way out. Hall's truly treats every guest like family, and the amazing food and extensive wine list is only icing on the cake. Definitely a must if you are in Charleston!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hall's was once again excellent as alway ...

Dined 5 days ago

Hall's was once again excellent as always! We were there for our anniversary dinner and we hope to be back for meany more. The staff is wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was terrific but it had the best se ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was terrific but it had the best service I have ever encountered. A wonderful experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Arrived at Halls for an 8:30pm reservati ...

Dined 6 days ago

Arrived at Halls for an 8:30pm reservation and we were seated immediately. Even though it was a late dinner for us, Halls was slammed. The downstairs was busy and seemed to be very casual/bar type crowd. Upstairs was where we ate. The service is what you should expect from a high-rated restaurant. The meals are served a la carte. Picking your meat and then your sides are family style. We were just two and were able to order half-sides, which was perfect for us. I had the filet and it was cooked exactly as requested. My friend ordered the goat-cheese ravioli - I had a bite and it was fantastic. Good balance of cheese, pasta, sauce, and veggies. Our sides were the mac and cheese (wow!), brussel sprouts (yes!), and the duck confit french fries (great by them self, but wouldn't have minded a fancy dipping sauce like an aioli). While the sides were a good price, I felt the meat/entree prices were steep considering that it only came with a piece of meat. Either way, it was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service were perfect. ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food and the service were perfect. We will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the best crab cake of my life here ...

Dined 6 days ago

I had the best crab cake of my life here. Everything was amazing, especially the service! The waitstaff and managers were constantly checking to make sure our dinner was going well. My husband and I went to celebrate both of our birthdays. One of the owners (I believe) brought us both some champagne to celebrate. I wasn't super impressed with my ahi tuna (it was a little bland is all) and they offered to bring me anything else. They wanted to make sure that I had enough to eat. At the end my husband and I got the whiskey bread pudding to celebrate. They ended up bringing out the bread pudding along with their layered cake both with candles in them! It was such a great place to spend our birthday dinner at. The ambiance was perfect, the food was delicious, and everyone ensured that we were having the best time we could. Both of us left there as full as we could be. If you have the chance, go!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Plenty of good food, and service; howeve ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Plenty of good food, and service; however the noise level was too high to have a conversation at a table for four. All in all a good one time experience but I wouldn't go back.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Must! Best Steak ever!! Warm welcome, ...

Dined 7 days ago

A Must! Best Steak ever!! Warm welcome, good service a Dinner to remember. Thank you so much.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is the greatest dining experience in ...

Dined 7 days ago

It is the greatest dining experience in Charleston. I would recommend to everyone.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Halls is literally the best restaurant i ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Halls is literally the best restaurant in Charleston. I am local here, and when I want to go out and take my lady or my friends out for the best meal ever, it is Halls all the way. 5⭐️ service and 5⭐️ food. Billy Hall rocks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great dinner to celebrate my da ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

We had a great dinner to celebrate my dads 75th. Exceptional service along with exceptional food made for a great night. They even threw in a flute of champagne and a dessert for us on account of the birthday. Not cheap but well worth the money. Or waiter even mailed us a hand written than you note 2 days later, pretty special.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a perfect meal celebration evenin ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

It was a perfect meal celebration evening with superior service!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were planning a vacation t ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

My wife and I were planning a vacation to Charleston, SC and made reservations at Hall's based on the numerous good reviews on the web. We were not disappointed at all. The services was excellent, the food was better than the service and the ambiance was fantastic. The meal presentation prior to ordering was really helpful. The waiter went over each protein, giving the specific traits associated with that type and cut of meat. Both my wife and I, had our steaks prepared perfectly! It was a great experience!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Incredible food and service! Very atten ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Incredible food and service! Very attentive waitstaff and superb food! Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vacationing in Charleston, great steak h ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

vacationing in Charleston, great steak house the staff was the best.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an all around excellent experienc ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

It was an all around excellent experience! From the moment we walked in the door until we left. The service at our table was attentive - and I noted great attention to detail by the manager - always walking around, further straightening already perfect table settings. Our steaks were superb and the Brussels sprouts were awesome. The restaurant is "club" like with beautiful wood and oil paintings. I would definitely go again on another visit to Charleston and would confidently recommend it to friends. Go Halls!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best dining experiences I've ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

One of the best dining experiences I've had.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were excited about going to Halls, ha ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

We were excited about going to Halls, having read a lot of favorable reviews. But the experience was sooo much better! Billy greeted my wife and I at the door and learned we were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. When we were seated, Billy treated us to complimentary champaign. It was perhaps the best we've ever had. Rob waited on us. He has been with the 'Hall's family' for 4-years. He educated us on all the different menu options, even taking time to discuss the different cuts of meats and how the dry aged meat vs. wet aged differ in taste. Rob recommended we split a porterhouse steak and share a number of sides, including mushrooms and onions, broccolini, and fried Brussel sprouts. When the food came it was amazing. When I say amazing, I mean everything. You would never expect mushrooms and onions to be spectacular. Even they were. The steak was cooked to perfection and they even sliced it before bringing it to the table. The service was excellent. Rob is top notch and so is the entire staff. After dinner we decided not to eat desert. We were too full. But Rob wanted to make the occasion special, so he brought us an amazing adult milk shake named after a patron that recently passed away. Complete with 2 straws. It, too, was incredible. As we were leaving Billy thanked us for spending our special occasion with them - and he really meant it. Do yourself a favor and enjoy the Halls experience. It is incredible!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best plce I've ever been too. Owner was ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Best plce I've ever been too. Owner was amazing. Would recommend to anyone

food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite place to eat of all time!!

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

My favorite place to eat of all time!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was incredible. The food was ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was incredible. The food was excellent. Everyone went above board to welcome us. We let our waiter know that we were celebrating our anniversary. Before the night was over, everyone from the owner to the manager, had stopped by our table to congratulate us on our marriage anniversary. The staff goes to so much trouble in explaining the difference in the cut of steaks, and the cooking of those steaks. If you are looking for a memorable experience, look no further.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow!! Everyone said we needed to go and ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Wow!! Everyone said we needed to go and I'm so happy we did. Father's Day dinner with kids and they catered perfectly to us. Steaks were perfection!

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Lots of new staff I noticed. Communicat ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Lots of new staff I noticed. Communicating better so that customers get the full experience. Thanks for the boss for making sure we were happy even though it was on our way out. Thanks for the fireball shots & choc cake! I really appreciate that since I brought new friends to experience the Halls Experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service. Great food. A great F ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful service. Great food. A great Father's Day and Birthday celebration.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Miranda was very attentive ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our server, Miranda was very attentive to our needs. We were there to celebrate Father's Day. The gospel group was awesome , very friendly and welcoming. The manager came by our table to welcome us, he also stopped by several times to be sure we were being taken care of and ask if we enjoyed ourselves. Everyone was friendly. We will be back again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always. Made for a great Fat ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing as always. Made for a great Father's Day Brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, the service was phenomenal! T ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

As always, the service was phenomenal! The atmosphere was very welcoming, and the gospel singers were amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the Best restaurant I have di ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Absolutely the Best restaurant I have dined in!!! Fantastic Service and great quality of Food. I will return the next time I'm in Charleston!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Our service was fantastic! The whiskey b ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our service was fantastic! The whiskey bread pudding was the standout dish!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you want FANTASTIC service, delicious ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

If you want FANTASTIC service, delicious food in an upscale atmosphere this is your place!!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have visited Hall's Chopho ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

My wife and I have visited Hall's Chophouse a few times, and every time the service is over-the-top (in a good way), the food is outstanding, and the atmosphere is lively and energetic. We each had the 12 oz bone-in filet, and it was worth every penny (make sure to get the truffle butter, when you're paying $65 per steak what's another $3?!). Don't go if you're a cheapskate, this really isn't the place. Also, be sure to make reservations a few weeks in advance of you want a time between 6:30 and 8:30.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.