About Halls Chophouse

434 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Halls Chophouse is American-Fine Dining, serving prime steaks, Lowcountry and fresh seafood specialties in an energetic, visually striking environment. Complemented by signature desserts, an extensive wine list, a vibrant bar and innovative, rich decor true to old-world steakhouses, Halls Chophouse is the latest restaurant offering in the heart of Charleston's Upper King Street design and dining district. A traditional American steakhouse with superior service and a knowledgeable staff, Halls Chophouse offers a classic and comfortable dining experience that will entice our guests to visit and enjoy time after time. We offer 2 private dining rooms for groups of up to 32 guests each with audio visual capabilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight, Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm.
Bar is open Monday - Saturday starting at 4pm to close and 10:00am to close on Sundays!

Cross Street:
John St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 727-0090

Website:
http://hallschophouse.com/

Catering:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Parking Details:
http://hallschophouse.com/contact-us#parking

Executive Chef:
Matthew Niessner

Private Party Facilities:
Business, social, or whatever the occasion, Hall’s Chophouse is the place for your next event. Our three Private Rooms can hold up to 40 people. State-of-the-art AV equipment and flat screens are also available to help you with any presentation needs. Set menus for large groups also available.

For private dining, groups, banquets, receptions and event reservations please call us at
(843) 727-0090.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Hall: 8437270090

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Restaurant Photos

She Crab Soup
Petite Filet 8 Oz
strawberry shortcake
Dry Aged Bone In Ribeye And 16 Oz Lobster Tail
Fried Green Tomatoes
Beet Salad With Warm Brie Dressing
Fillet Mighon Steak
Oysters Rockerfeller
Crab Cake Benedict
Medium Rare Aged Ribeye with Sauteed Button Mushrooms & Basil Roasted Tomato - How Friday night Dinner was Done!
Burger
NY Steak
Ny Strip And Creamed Corn
Traditional Eggs Benedict
Tomahawk Bone-In Ribeye
Red Velvet Cake

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Halls Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Food
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
12 More
Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Best Value
South Carolina
Steakhouse
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Best Value
Charleston
Romantic
Charleston
Special Occasion
Charleston
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Special Occasion (559)
Romantic (357)
Fit for Foodies (309)
See All
Notable Wine List (268)
Hot Spot (192)
Good for Groups (191)
Vibrant Bar Scene (173)
Neighborhood Gem (144)
Great for Brunch (133)
Good for Anniversaries (119)
Good for a Date (106)
Good for Birthdays (88)
Worth the Drive (61)
Business Meals (51)
Live Music (46)
Late-night Find (44)
Historic (34)
Great for Lunch (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Authentic (31)
Fun (29)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Local Ingredients (28)
Bar Seating (27)
Cozy (26)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Comfort Food (23)
People Watching (23)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Kid-friendly (18)
Outstanding Value (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Scenic View (13)
Family Style (11)
Tasting Menu (9)
Private Room (8)
Casual (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great Beer (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Spicy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
6990 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellence experience! The food was ex ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellence experience! The food was excellent; the service was outstanding and staff was most welcoming and friendly. I will gladly come back time after time and would highly recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is AMAZING! My husband and I ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 3 days ago

This place is AMAZING! My husband and I have ate at many great restaurants and this place is by far the BEST!! The service is unreal and we can't quit talking about the food! We were greeted by the owners with their southern hospitality as soon as we walked in the door. We were celebrating our anniversary and the owner brought over champagne to help us celebrate. I can not say enough about this place, it is a must do when in Charleston. I can understand why they have so many great reviews. The waiter even took our address so he could send us a thank you note for spending the evening with them! Never has that happened!!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was fantastic as wasvthe food, a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 3 days ago

Service was fantastic as wasvthe food, atmosphere & cocktails, best filet mignon I have had in a long time, shareable sides & hearty cocktails!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the most delicious meals I've had ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined 3 days ago

One of the most delicious meals I've had in a long time! My husband and I were celebrating his birthday and we thoroughly enjoyed the entire evening from the meal , to the ambiance, and the service! Our steaks were cooked perfectly and the onion soup and side vegetables, served family style were delicious! We will definitely add this restaurant to our top three choices for fine dining.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious, but what made the ex ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was delicious, but what made the experience the best was meeting the owner who was very kind and there to help his staff. We loved that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best service we have ever had! The owner ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Best service we have ever had! The owner greeted us at the door and made sure everything was perfect! He served us complimentary champagne to celebrate my birthday! We had an amazing experience at Halls and will surely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience! Wonderful food and fr ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great Experience! Wonderful food and friendly helpful staff. Owner greeted us at the door and was very friendly. We loved the singers at the Gospel Brunch. We tried 8 restaurants in Charleston and all of them were really good but this was our favorite!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to the gospel brunch so above choic ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

Went to the gospel brunch so above choices do not pertain. The gospel brunch is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the best steak I've ever had! ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely the best steak I've ever had! We went for our 10th wedding anniversary & it definitely made for a memorable experience. The owners are always there to insure your dining experience is 5 star & the servers' customer service & attentiveness are send to none. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a place to dine in Charleston. Worth the drive as well!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As fabulous as ever!

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 4 days ago

As fabulous as ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good customer service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very good customer service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were made most welcome better than an ...

 
 (Cornwall)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were made most welcome better than anywhere else,and we have visited all the top restaurants in CHARLESTON and this was the best. Food was excellent, staff faultless and the air conditioning was not to cold as to spoil the evening as was many places,what more can you say!!! Well done to the Hall family for keeping up good old fashion business sense you deserve your success, you work very hard maintaining the level of service you deliver.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved this place! It's a bit pricey b ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined 6 days ago

We loved this place! It's a bit pricey but well worth it if you want a fine dining experience. The owner greeted everyone as we walked in and each member of the staff tried to make sure that we had a special experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When ever we are on vacation in Charlest ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

When ever we are on vacation in Charleston a must stop for us is Halls. I can't praise the food, service and Billy enough. We were celebrating my birthday and Halls made sure it was special. Will we be coming back? YOU BETTER BELIEVE IT!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly staff! Food is good... Pri ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very friendly staff! Food is good... Prices a bit high!.....

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was like no other. Truly uni ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service was like no other. Truly unique and family owned and operated. Everyone in there has great attention to detail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would give Halls 6 stars if I could! I ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

I would give Halls 6 stars if I could! It was one of the best meals and evenings we have ever experienced. The food is fantastic and the service wonderful. If you are in Charleston you must go here.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress and everyone we came in contact ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Waitress and everyone we came in contact was very nice, They gave us superior service!! Definitely would recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Greeted by one of the owners at front do ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Greeted by one of the owners at front door, nice touch. Asked if it was a special occasion. It was our anniversary. We were seated and treated to a nice glass of champagne. Our sever Candace was knowledgeable,attentive and very friendly. The food was excellent. Pricey but you can see that from the menu,but well worth it for a special occasion. Would return for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A first class restaurant with an outstan ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

A first class restaurant with an outstanding menu, excellent steaks and warm, friendly ambiance.

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An exceptional restaurant that offers th ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

An exceptional restaurant that offers the finest cuisine on the east coast. The staff were very courteous and friendly and very engaging. First class all the way.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful restaurant! Great steaks co ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

A wonderful restaurant! Great steaks cooked to perfection; delicious sides; desserts to die for. Amazingly attentive service. I will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time to Halls Chophouse, but w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Our first time to Halls Chophouse, but we will definitely be back. Very friendly, Billy Hall introduced himself when we entered and thanked us for coming as we left. The meat cuts were excellent and the service was first-rate. Entrees are a little pricey, but they try to compensate with reasonably priced appetizers and sides. Wine choices were also reasonably priced. On the whole, well worth it.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Historic, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter went out of his way, food and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Our waiter went out of his way, food and drinks were fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food and service could not be better ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The food and service could not be better. 5 of 5 stars well deserved.

ONLY nit was the live music wafting from the ground floor to the main dining room on the second floor was a tad loud. My wife and I love music, particularly live, but the music gentleman's rendition of "Here Comes the Sun". (G. Harrison RIP) wasn't written to be cranked up on a bad amp overcome by high volume. Musician was talented, but please turn down the volume.

Food for foodies, service impeccable, we will come back, but please turn down the volume!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Natalie and Justin were awesome servers. ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Natalie and Justin were awesome servers. We always have a perfect time and my visiting mother refuses to go anywhere else. It always feels like home.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Live Sports, People Watching, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was absolutely amazing! Best food I'v ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

It was absolutely amazing! Best food I've had in Charleston!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing. Such good service. Wonderful pl ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Amazing. Such good service. Wonderful place. Nothing but great things to say. Steaks are to die for.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our 17th anniversary and h ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We celebrated our 17th anniversary and had a wonderful time. The food was exceptional, the service was wonderful. We had a great time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the Hall family and their person ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We love the Hall family and their personal touch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Sunday Gospel brunch. Service a ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Amazing Sunday Gospel brunch. Service and food were impeccable!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my third time eating at Hall's. ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was my third time eating at Hall's. First two times were amazing. Wonderful food and phenomenal service. This time was OK. The food as always is exceptional and the owners are very attentive to the patrons. I believe our waiter was either new or not in the mood to work that day. We went for the Gospel Brunch, and he was less than attentive. Which is a shame because we have always said Hall's Chophouse is an experience. So I left just a bit disappointed that we did not have the same service we had expected especially since I had bragged on Hall's so much and took my mother who was visiting from out of state.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Historic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This dining experience was everything de ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This dining experience was everything described to me. The food, service, ambience (Sunday Gospel Brunch) was fantabulous! Everyone was especially attentive. I had left the building and Phillip Hall caught up with me to thank me and welcome me back. For sure I'll be back and so will others whom I've shared this.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, Great Service. Made our anni ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great food, Great Service. Made our anniversary extra special. Like family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service and food. Gospel sing ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Fantastic service and food. Gospel singing was a special treat. We will definitely do it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I visited Charleston rece ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My husband and I visited Charleston recently and went to the Sunday gospel breakfast/brunch. It was a great experience. Food was delicious and staff couldn't be nicer. Would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pretty expensive but well worth it. Lobs ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Pretty expensive but well worth it. Lobster Mac and cheese is a must try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food and service. Believe the ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Fantastic food and service. Believe the entire staff wished us a Happy Anniversary and received complimentary champagne. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing! Incredible favors all cooked to ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Amazing! Incredible favors all cooked to your specifications. The quality of the filet was superb and the desserts were fabulous.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always exceptional food and service! Al ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Always exceptional food and service! Always!!!

Food and service consistently wonderful.

Favorite Charleston restaurant!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.