About Halls Chophouse

434 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Halls Chophouse is American-Fine Dining, serving prime steaks, Lowcountry and fresh seafood specialties in an energetic, visually striking environment. Complemented by signature desserts, an extensive wine list, a vibrant bar and innovative, rich decor true to old-world steakhouses, Halls Chophouse is the latest restaurant offering in the heart of Charleston's Upper King Street design and dining district. A traditional American steakhouse with superior service and a knowledgeable staff, Halls Chophouse offers a classic and comfortable dining experience that will entice our guests to visit and enjoy time after time. We offer 2 private dining rooms for groups of up to 32 guests each with audio visual capabilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight, Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm.
Bar is open Monday - Saturday starting at 4pm to close and 10:00am to close on Sundays!

Cross Street:
John St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 727-0090

Website:
http://hallschophouse.com/

Catering:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Parking Details:
http://hallschophouse.com/contact-us#parking

Executive Chef:
Matthew Niessner

Private Party Facilities:
Business, social, or whatever the occasion, Hall’s Chophouse is the place for your next event. Our three Private Rooms can hold up to 40 people. State-of-the-art AV equipment and flat screens are also available to help you with any presentation needs. Set menus for large groups also available.

For private dining, groups, banquets, receptions and event reservations please call us at
(843) 727-0090.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Hall: 8437270090

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Restaurant Photos

She Crab Soup  - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
Petite Filet 8 Oz - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
strawberry shortcake - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
Dry Aged Bone In Ribeye And 16 Oz Lobster Tail - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
Fried Green Tomatoes - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
Beet Salad With Warm Brie Dressing  - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
Fillet Mighon Steak - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
Oysters Rockerfeller  - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
Crab Cake Benedict - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
Medium Rare Aged Ribeye with Sauteed Button Mushrooms & Basil Roasted Tomato - How Friday night Dinner was Done! - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
Burger - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
NY Steak - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
Ny Strip And Creamed Corn - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
Traditional Eggs Benedict - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
Tomahawk Bone-In Ribeye - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
Red Velvet Cake - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Halls Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Food
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
11 More
Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Best Value
South Carolina
Steakhouse
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Best Value
Charleston
Special Occasion
Charleston
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Special Occasion (341)
Good for Anniversaries (246)
Romantic (235)
See All
Good for a Date (228)
Good for Birthdays (184)
Notable Wine List (152)
Fit for Foodies (152)
Worth the Drive (130)
Business Meals (114)
Hot Spot (108)
Good for Groups (107)
Live Music (104)
Neighborhood Gem (93)
Vibrant Bar Scene (88)
Great for Brunch (88)
Fun (82)
Bar Seating (78)
Authentic (77)
Handcrafted Cocktails (75)
Historic (74)
Cozy (73)
People Watching (63)
Pre/post Theatre (56)
Local Ingredients (55)
Sunday Lunch (55)
Creative Cuisine (50)
Comfort Food (49)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Outstanding Value (36)
Family Style (27)
Happy Hour (27)
Late-night Find (26)
Tasting Menu (20)
Private Room (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Casual (14)
Paleo Friendly (13)
Modern Decor (11)
Great Beer (10)
Scenic View (9)
Seasonal (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Healthy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Tapas (5)
Waterfront (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Fireplace (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Live Sports (3)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
7302 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of my all time favorites

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined a day ago

One of my all time favorites

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food, wine, and service. Truly ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic food, wine, and service. Truly one of America's great restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals I have had around ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

One of the best meals I have had around the world. Would highly recommend trying. Extremely knowledgeable and educated staff and high quality service. We went while visiting for my girlfriends birthday and they treated us as royalty. Some of the best service I have ever seen.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Live Music, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent overall. My biggest complaint ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent overall. My biggest complaint is that the 16 oz dry aged rib eye I ordered was not as marbled as I would have liked. Perhaps I could have requested a well marbled steak but did not cross my mind. Other than that pretty perfect service, great wine choices, steak cooking temp was spot on and decent atmosphere. One other tiny issue I had was that we were asked if this was a special ocassion no less than 4 times.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great night at halls! Went here ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a great night at halls! Went here for dinner with my date- who i have not seen in almost 6 years. We both wanted a delish steak & as he is out of town of course Halls is the top of the list! Great service as always, Nate, who has taken care of myself & friends previously did a wonderful job & is very laid back, nice, and knowledgeable. Good music, great filet & can't wait to go back! Thank you so much for making our night special!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fun, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal at Halls Chophouse was outstand ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Our meal at Halls Chophouse was outstanding. The food, service and atmosphere was incredible. It was our 10-year anniversary and the staff at Halls made it memorable. I would highly recommend Halls to anyone visiting Charleston.

Tags: Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hospitality, service and value were ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

The hospitality, service and value were amazing! The food was prepared to perfection. The Hall family's personal active involvement/interaction add a special touch to the ambiance.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best if not the best dinners ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

One of the best if not the best dinners in Charleston. Have a steak they are amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Bar Seating, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect as ALWAYS! Must go to for anyone ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 days ago

Perfect as ALWAYS! Must go to for anyone visiting Charleston!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Gospel Brunch. Food, service ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent Gospel Brunch. Food, service and the gospel singers were all fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you are looking for the total package ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

If you are looking for the total package, this is the place to have dinner. Food and service was excellent. Atmosphere was lively but it looked like there were quiet areas in the back of the restaurant if noise would be a problem for your dining experience. The owner shook our hands on the way in and out and asked us how everything was. Be prepared to drop some cash here but it's really worth it. We loved it and will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was wonderful. It's was my an ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was wonderful. It's was my anniversary and it was an awesome experience for me and my wife

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience. Definitely get the ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic experience. Definitely get the recommended creamed corn side. Great place to celebrate a special occasion. Book early! It's tough to get in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always have a wonderful time at Hall' ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

We always have a wonderful time at Hall's. It is very alive and bustling but they always make you feel like family when you arrive. And there isn't a better steak in Charleston. And the sides are incredible. So are the martinis. So is the wine list. I think you get my drift.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hall's was an amazing experience. Our se ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Hall's was an amazing experience. Our server Carter was charming, helpful, and so professional. Mr. Hall treated us to champagne and Hall's famous shake to top off a splendid anniversary celebration. The food, atmosphere and service were beyond compare, and we can't wait to return. An unforgettable evening.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Family Style, Comfort Food, Historic, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Hall's. It ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our first visit to Hall's. It was my son's 20th birthday, and we loved everything about this place. From the moment we came in until the moment we left we felt extra special. The food, the service and the whole experience was so much more than we expected. The owner stopped by a few times to check on everything and wish our son a happy birthday. It truly was a special night. We will be back next time we are in Charleston.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit to Hall's was for dinner ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Our first visit to Hall's was for dinner on our honeymoon and it was wonderful. We were back in Charleston for the weekend and couldn't wait for Hall's. It was just wonderful. The food was amazing, the service was impeccable, the restaurant is beautiful. It is exactly as one would wish every dining experience to be. The Halls are just wonderful and the hospitality is palpable. Go there. Eat!!! Drink!!! Be Merry!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

“No wonder this place is currently #1 on ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

“No wonder this place is currently #1 on Trip Advisor

5 of 5 bubbles Pending review

We decided to visit Charleston on our way south to our winter/spring home in Florida from Tennessee. It was seventy miles out of the way, but we were tired of overnighting in Savannah.

We arrived at 14:00 and the Marriott Courtyard Historic District which is only a six minute walk from the restaurant through a nice park. The hotel review you will find in that subject area on TA.

I had Opentable reservations for 17:30. They were already booked several weeks in advance for a 18:00 preferred time slot. Book early if you want to eat here. We were greeted at reception and introduced to management who took a lot of hands on style that probably helps makes this place work. That, along with and excellent young staff, that always seems to be able to make your experience a memory, but not in an intrusive way.

The restaurant is beautiful with the dark woods you would expect from a top tier steakhouse ambience. The downstairs bar area tends to be on the loud side, but the small upstairs room we were led to was perfect. It could probably use a little brighter lights to read the menu, but we know how to use an iPhone flashlight.

Serita was our lead server. She and her staff were excellent.

We started with two Beefeater Martinis that were nice pours. We skipped the appetizers because we had our eyes on a couple of sides we wanted to try. The wife went with the Shrimp & Grits - Jumbo shrimp with tasso ham gravy, peppers and onions on stone ground grits and I had the Seared Scallops - With butternut squash purée, roasted artichokes, oyster mushrooms and tomato confit. For the sides we opted for shared portions of Asparagus with Hollandaise and a nice presentation of Onion Straws.

Everything was excellent and well worth your visit to this signature location on King Street in Charleston. Total price before tip was $136.61 - a great value for a great meal.

Visited December 2016

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great!

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the time we entered the restaurant ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

From the time we entered the restaurant and were greeted by Billy Hall, the overall experience was fabulous. The servers were quite friendly and helped us decide on our meals. The food was prepared as ordered. Great place with great people. A must stop when in Charleston.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

never get's old going to Hall's and I ho ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

never get's old going to Hall's and I hope it never does. Great food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have never had a better overall dining e ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Have never had a better overall dining experience. Great table, bar, wine list and food. A fun evening.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always...Great service, out ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent as always...Great service, outstanding food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With all the fine restaurant options in ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

With all the fine restaurant options in Charleston we still are most fond of Halls. These service provided by the Hall family, the quality of the food and the lively atmosphere is tough to find anywhere else in town. It's just a fun, energetic evening spot where locals and tourists enjoy mingling. Always looking forward to our next visit here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not our first time at Halls. The superb ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

Not our first time at Halls. The superb food, excellent service, beautiful environment and warm and friendly owners keep us coming back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The area is rather small and the tables ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

The area is rather small and the tables are quite close together so the sound level is rather high, not very for a "smooth" romantic night out. The steaks were excellent and the salad was great. The staff was very nice and knowledgeable. Out anniversary celebration was much more "cozy" the following evening at another eating establishment. We received a surprise glass of Champaign. The prices are rather high, but we expected that. Total for steaks, appetizer, bottle of wine, tax and gratuity was $277 for two. Food is top notch.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

1st visit to Halls and as Charleston nat ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

1st visit to Halls and as Charleston natives we weren't sure if the food would live up to the hype but it absolutely did. The service was fantastic...almost too good. The food is pricey but is actually worth it. It was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

AS usual, the food was excellent, the st ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 30, 2016

AS usual, the food was excellent, the staff was attentive and everything was perfectly done. Kudos to Halls.

Tags: Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous service. Fantastic service. Ste ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Fabulous service. Fantastic service. Steaks were cooked to perfection. Loved the Pepper Jack corn skillet. Will definitely return!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we've gone to Hall's many times over the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 29, 2016

we've gone to Hall's many times over the years and i must admit the most recent visit was simply superb. it's pretty easy for a restaurant to rest on their laurels after years of consistent good service. hall's, however, hasn't done that. their food and service is just as good as it ever was, if not better.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Possibly the best steak I've ever had! T ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Possibly the best steak I've ever had!

The service, ambiance and delicious food made it a pure pleasure.

There was lively conversation at our table, but when the food arrived, magically we all stopped talking and all just basked in the pleasure of deliciously perfect steaks. It wasn't until somebody pointed out that we had all become silent that we realised the impact that the food had on us and the introspection it had caused. As a foodie, I loved it, from the simple but amazing salad through the steaks and other delicious accompanying side dishes to the great wine list that blended it all into a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate here on our last night in Charles ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We ate here on our last night in Charleston. Wish we had gotten reservations earlier in our stay because by the end of the week, we had eaten so many heavy meals, all we wanted was a light dinner. The steaks they showed us were amazing but we just couldn't do it! We had soup and salad which was so delicious. The service is perfect, the ambiance lovely. We had a great meal in spite of the fact we did not get what they are famous for. I would definitely recommend eating here if you are in Charleston - just go hungry! Great spot!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful Food is the best! Service was ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wonderful

Food is the best! Service was incredible.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit and we were so ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This was our first visit and we were so impressed that we booked a table for Easter Sunday. Rarely have we had such attentive service from management all the way through each and every employee. And this attention was given to all patrons. The gospel music was a lively and lively - a wonderful addition. The value for the quality of the meal was outstanding. This will now be a regular outing during our time in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our daughter was home for the first time ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our daughter was home for the first time since beginning her MD residency in Richmond, VA . We have always raved about Halls, and wanted to treat her to brunch, and celebrate her homecoming. It was our 5th time dining with you. For the first time, unfortunately, the food was not up to your usual superior quality. Our daughter ordered steak and eggs. Said the eggs were extremely salty.The steak was very rare. I ordered the Belgian waffles. They were cold, as well as the (pale)sausage. My husband got prime rib eggs benedict...no flavor. Our other daughter and son in law ordered omlets. They were pleased with their food. The service was excellent, and we certainly enjoyed the gospel music. However, left there pretty disappointed. Didn't want to ruin the celebratory mood by complaining to your very gracious staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Wonderful brunch with great live gospel ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wonderful brunch with great live gospel music. Champagne cocktails served with 3 juices lots of fun. Staff makes every diner feel special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The moment you walk through the door the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The moment you walk through the door the staff makes you feel that you're very important. The food and ambiance was great. Servicers are professional, knowledgeable, curtious and friendly. Overall experience was magnificent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and the best filet I ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Outstanding service and the best filet I have ever had! Thank you for making our special occasion an amazing experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit every time we are in Charleston ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We visit every time we are in Charleston. Always the best meal, service and evening we have while we are there. Thank you always for a great experience !!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service cannot be beat! From the mo ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The service cannot be beat! From the moment the owner welcomes you & shakes your hand while leading you to a table, to your server's can-do attitude and extensive food & wine knowledge, to the amazing dinner & complimentary nightcap we received - this was hands down one of our best dining experiences in Charleston we have had. The menu can suit whatever type evening is at hand- a quick date night bite to a gluttonous celebratory feast for all. Incredible! And don't forget the jelly beans at the end. We will be back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Private Room, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.