About Halls Chophouse

434 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Halls Chophouse is American-Fine Dining, serving prime steaks, Lowcountry and fresh seafood specialties in an energetic, visually striking environment. Complemented by signature desserts, an extensive wine list, a vibrant bar and innovative, rich decor true to old-world steakhouses, Halls Chophouse is the latest restaurant offering in the heart of Charleston's Upper King Street design and dining district. A traditional American steakhouse with superior service and a knowledgeable staff, Halls Chophouse offers a classic and comfortable dining experience that will entice our guests to visit and enjoy time after time. We offer 2 private dining rooms for groups of up to 32 guests each with audio visual capabilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight, Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm.
Bar is open Monday - Saturday starting at 4pm to close and 10:00am to close on Sundays!

Cross Street:
John St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 727-0090

Website:
http://hallschophouse.com/

Catering:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Parking Details:
http://hallschophouse.com/contact-us#parking

Executive Chef:
Matthew Niessner

Private Party Facilities:
Business, social, or whatever the occasion, Hall’s Chophouse is the place for your next event. Our three Private Rooms can hold up to 40 people. State-of-the-art AV equipment and flat screens are also available to help you with any presentation needs. Set menus for large groups also available.

For private dining, groups, banquets, receptions and event reservations please call us at
(843) 727-0090.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Hall: (843) 727-0090

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

She Crab Soup  - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
Petite Filet 8 Oz - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
strawberry shortcake - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
Dry Aged Bone In Ribeye And 16 Oz Lobster Tail - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
Fried Green Tomatoes - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
Beet Salad With Warm Brie Dressing  - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
Fillet Mighon Steak - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
Oysters Rockerfeller  - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
Crab Cake Benedict - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
Medium Rare Aged Ribeye with Sauteed Button Mushrooms & Basil Roasted Tomato - How Friday night Dinner was Done! - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
Burger - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
NY Steak - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
Ny Strip And Creamed Corn - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
Traditional Eggs Benedict - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
Tomahawk Bone-In Ribeye - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC
Red Velvet Cake - Halls Chophouse, Charleston, SC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Halls Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (314)
Good for Anniversaries (269)
Good for a Date (241)
See All
Romantic (219)
Good for Birthdays (192)
Notable Wine List (154)
Worth the Drive (138)
Fit for Foodies (136)
Business Meals (129)
Live Music (111)
Good for Groups (98)
Hot Spot (94)
Cozy (84)
Authentic (84)
Fun (83)
Great for Brunch (81)
Historic (81)
Neighborhood Gem (80)
Bar Seating (79)
Handcrafted Cocktails (75)
Vibrant Bar Scene (69)
People Watching (62)
Sunday Lunch (62)
Pre/post Theatre (62)
Creative Cuisine (57)
Local Ingredients (54)
Comfort Food (47)
Family Style (38)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Happy Hour (36)
Outstanding Value (32)
Tasting Menu (22)
Private Room (22)
Late-night Find (20)
Casual (18)
Great for Lunch (14)
Kid-friendly (14)
Scenic View (13)
Paleo Friendly (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Seasonal (12)
Great Beer (11)
Healthy (11)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Tapas (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Fireplace (4)
Organic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Spicy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Waterfront (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
7766 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fabulous!! from when we walked in the do ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 hours ago

Fabulous!! from when we walked in the door (before they actually opened) all throughout our desert. Charlie was extremely knowledgeable of the cuts of beef and wine list - which made it extremely hard to decide on what to have. The bison with mushroom risotto and filet of course were excellent but have to say my husband loved the collard greens as well, even tho he'd never even heard of them coming from Brooklyn.

Will definitely go back and bring family.

Side note: the owner heard we just moved to SC from NYC and welcomed us with a glass of champagne. Nice touch! -reason they have such a high rating - they know how to make everyone feel special.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food we've ever had in our life a l ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined a day ago

Best food we've ever had in our life a little bit of a loud place but I love it regardless

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hall's is a very special place to dine a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Hall's is a very special place to dine at. It's upscale and they treat you like family! Within 13seconds of walking in the door we were personally greeted by the owner, manager and hostess. We were seated immediately and the food was heavenly. Definitely recommend to anyone who enjoys phenomenal food and top tier service. It's a must if you are visiting town or are seeking an over the top dining experience!! Already planning my return trip..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for my boyfriend's birthday ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

We went here for my boyfriend's birthday and the second we walked in the door it was an amazing experience! The owner greeted us and gave my boyfriend a hug. Even though we were a little early for our reservation, they seated us right away. Our server was wonderful, very personable & knowledgeable. We even received champagne on the house from the owner for our birthday celebration! The food was exquisite! We didn't want our meals to end! We will be back for all future special occasions!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy dining at Halls. I go ab ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 2 days ago

I always enjoy dining at Halls. I go about once a year. Bill Hall and his brother are great hosts. The few things that I didn't love this time around is 1) We were seated a bit too close to the entrance. 2) All of my leftovers were not packaged up in my take home box that I was really looking forward to eating the next day. I know it was merely an oversight, but when you pay a lot of money for a special occasion (our 24th anniversary), little things like that do count. I won't hold it against the wait staff, but now I feel like I must check my bag in the future. 3) And finally, I heard wait staff asking other guests if they were dining there for a special occasion, but we were not asked… it was our 24 anniversary. We didn't think anything of it until we kept hearing the question.

Overall, we had a very good experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Romantic, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have been to Hall's several times and ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

We have been to Hall's several times and the food is always good. This time it was with friends for restaurant week. The meal was a good value but we had a very loud and obnoxious group in our room which made it difficult to converse. When they left, it was much better. The service is usually top notch but we had top chase down our server to get coffee with dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The Hall family is always amazing. This ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

The Hall family is always amazing. This is hands down the best meal and dining experience in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, ambiance and serve were all am ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

The food, ambiance and serve were all amazing! I will definitely be back to visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

At the Halls Chophouse before going to a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

At the Halls Chophouse before going to a show at Guillard Center. The service was exceptional and the food was delicious! Perfect dining experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Justin the server was amazing! Bill or B ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Justin the server was amazing! Bill or Bob Hall was a drunk mess who was buying shots for everyone and rudely responded to a guest who answered that the steak was good but had been a little overcooked after Hall asked how everything was. He then leaned into my friend and called the other guest an idiot.

I was under the impression that Halls Chophouse was classy and not harbor if drunk managers or owners the way many Charleston Restaurants do.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Service and food were excellent. Espec ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Service and food were excellent. Especially appreciated the value option wines for restaurant week (very good choices) and the terrific sides included with the entree on the restaurant week menu. The music was a great added touch. Can't think of anything they could have done to make it a more pleasurable dining experience. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Historic, Live Music, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best filet that we have ever had. Ex ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

The best filet that we have ever had. Excellent service, excellent food, an enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was awesome! This was our 2nd ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Our meal was awesome! This was our 2nd time dining at Halls. The 2nd time was just as wonderful as the 1st! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Charleston overall, l ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Best restaurant in Charleston overall, little pricey but well worth the dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Fun, Late-night Find, Spicy, Romantic, Family Style, Worth the Drive, , Live Sports, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service! Our server C ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service! Our server Collin was the perfect balance of attentiveness, professionalism, and true southern charm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service is attentive and friendly. Sinc ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Service is attentive and friendly. Since this is a steakhouse they go out of their way to explain and show the cuts of meat which was very informative. I opted for the filet, it was tender and delicious. My date (not a beef eater) selected the fish of the day - Grouper Oscar. The fish was light and flaky, the hollandaise not heavy at all. It was a wonderful dinner and we were quite happy. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! This was our second time h ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food! This was our second time here. The steak was amazing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our biggest disappointment of our weeken ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Our biggest disappointment of our weekend in Charleston.... picked this because of the excellent reviews. Had dinner there on a Sunday evening. We all got a steak and while the steak was good, for the price we paid, I should have been able to say "wow!" Even the sides were just overpriced sides - no creativity. Among the table we had the collards, onion rings, asparagus, and corn. Nothing specially remarkable about any. The creamed spinach was the only side we had they I somewhat enjoyed. I started with the wedge salad that was simply a wedge of lettuce that had been drowned in a blue cheese dressing. To be honest, I received more enjoyment out of the $3 wedge salad I've ordered at Red Robin! While some of the lavish pricing can be somewhat "excused" by a certain upscale ambience you might experience in other fine establishments, the chophouse was loud and crowded. Since we had to wait till 9pm to get in the door, the restaurant seemed to have turned into an overpriced bar - I can't speak for the ambience upstairs but there was probably 20-25 people standing and crowding the bar, followed by a row of packed pub tables, then some booth seating which is where our party had been seated. Not to mention loud "jukebox" music blaring over the noise of the crowd. Plus, every time I looked up I saw a large tv broadcasting a football game - nothing typical of my idea of "fine dining." Since our table did order some wine, my meal was well over $100 just for myself and by far my least favorite dining experience. By the time our server handed us the desert menu, we were not willing continue to pay premium cost for a very average dining experience. Maybe we were spoiled as the previous evening we had dined at the Charleston grill - another meal over $100 but worth every penny! Not meaning to add in a free endorsement when I am critiquing the chophouse, but in comparison between the two...there really is no comparison. Based on my experience, I would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Food The food was excellent, though a bi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Food

The food was excellent, though a bit overpriced for what it is. My Filet was excellent, cooked as ordered, and the collards were cooked perfectly and seasoned very well. The waiter gave us the option to "buffalo style" our steak which basically meant they put it over rice. No mention of an additional price, later they charged us $18 each for the rice. I guess that is upselling, but it gave me a bad taste in my mouth. Dessert was very good.

Drink

Cocktails were excellent, well mixed and proportioned. The wine list was excellent, priced as one would expect. After dinner drinks were as expected as was the coffee, nothing special but nothing too bad either.

Atmosphere

We sat upstairs and it was incredibly loud. I couldn't hear my wife unless she shouted. It was disturbing, I would not recommend Chops for date night (unless you really don't want to converse much). As bad as the upstairs was the downstairs room also had live music absolutely blasting. Again, if one was not there to watch the live music they were out of luck. The tables were also unusually close together. Every time a member of the staff went past our table they had to turn sideways and scoot. This seemed to be happening all night. I kind of felt like we were in the way.

Service

The staff went overboard to assist, which is usually good... but they were excessive, once delivered, at least 5 people asked how our meal was. They regularly interrupted us to "check on us." That said they were very well versed on the menu, educated on the cuts of meat and could easily answer questions on the menu. They did very well recommending both food and drink. Our waiter was personable and attentive. Had he been the only one checking up on us I think we would have had a more enjoyable visit.

Parking

The restaurant has ample parking. There is a parking garage less than two blocks away. Beware of the lurking homeless population who lurk around the first floor of the garage.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

Very disappointing, was expecting experi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Very disappointing, was expecting experience similar to other fine restaurants in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Excellent dining experience

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I feel the service has declined, however ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

I feel the service has declined, however it is still good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food is great with lots of Southern ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

The food is great with lots of Southern Cuisine, meat dishes so tender,salad to die for, I'm going to make it a monthly dining experience! #HallChophouseRock!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This is our favorite brunch spot in Char ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

This is our favorite brunch spot in Charleston... our table had French toast, bacon, filet, eggs, burger, truffle fries, lobster tail and bacon quiche. We topped it off with whiskey bread pudding and a mimosa juice bar. It was worth all the calories - fabulous!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was great! Mr. Hall was s ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Our experience was great! Mr. Hall was so welcoming and made us feel so special! The service was great, the food was delicious, and the restaurant was gorgeous on the inside.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food, drinks and service. Always ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food, drinks and service. Always love celebrating special occasions here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Celebrating a job offer for my son in la ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Celebrating a job offer for my son in law

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite place to go in Char ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

This is our favorite place to go in Charleston and we make sure to visit every time we are in town. The steak is the best we have had anywhere. The atmosphere is lively in and around the bar, and quieter in the upstairs and Halls II dining rooms. The hospitality is unmatched and the food can't be beat.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This isn't our first time at Halls, ever ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

This isn't our first time at Halls, every time we go to Charleston we visit Halls. This is the best steakhouse hands down, and it's not just the steaks, the Hall family makes you feel like family and the service is impeccable. If you ever get the chance, go visit Halls!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our evening at Halls was excellent, the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Our evening at Halls was excellent, the food was perfect, the service was impeccable, awesome evening.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Samantha our server was AWESOME!!! Know ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Samantha our server was AWESOME!!! Knowledgeable, friendly, & courteous!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal and service. Lovely atmo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent meal and service. Lovely atmosphere and quiet so conversation was easy. One of the best meals I have had in America and we will definitely be going back. I would recommend for a quiet meal for two or a large party to celebrate an occasion. The truffle mushroom soup was the best I have had - would be a great addition to the regular menu

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was excellent. My f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service was excellent. My favorite steakhouse restaurant in Charleston.

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the staff are second to non ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and the staff are second to none. We were greeted at the door by management and promptly seated. The server was attentive without being obtrusive and was knowledgeable. 10pm reservation on a Friday night did lead to other patrons being a bit livelier than we had hoped for a special occasion dinner, but, the food and the service surpassed our expectations and made up for it. Thanks for a wonderful meal.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was great but where we were sat had ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great but where we were sat had a crowd around the bar and all we could see was peoples rear end. It made us feel very enclosed and crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Amazing food! Spectacular service! Our s ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food! Spectacular service! Our server Brandon was the best!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly enjoyed myself. Each year I do my ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Truly enjoyed myself. Each year I do my best to take advantage of the great deals offered during Restaurant week. I dined off of the special restaurant week menu (3 course for $45) and enjoyed the She Crab soup, the Filet Mignon which was served with cream corn and collard greens and I added the Oscar style for a little surf and turf experience, and for dessert my date and I shared the fudge brownie w/vanilla ice cream. My date enjoyed the Bacon Steak to start and the Bison served with a risotto. The food was great and our server, Carter, was very friendly and professional was even very helpful in picking a delicious bottle of wine for us to enjoy. I recommend for anyone looking to enjoy a romantic evening with that special someone. It was a bit noisy but only due to others experiencing a great dinner.

Tags: Comfort Food, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service was excellent as always ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and service was excellent as always. The steaks are awesome. Nobody tops Hall's.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience! The food and servic ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing experience! The food and service were outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5 star treatment from the minute we walk ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 13, 2017

5 star treatment from the minute we walked in, I assume he was the general manager who shook our hands when we arrived. All the food was fantastic, we both had steaks cooked to perfection. The only negative that I could say that affected my not rating ambiance higher was that there were sooo many staff members in the small dining room we were in upstairs. There were 5 tables sat of the 7 and at one point I think there were 14 employees in the room, filling water, bussing plates, filling wine, bringing bread, bringing entrees. It was a bit overwhelming and it did interfere with conversation at times. But we didn't have to ask for anything so I guess it's a positive too. Wouldn't stop be from returning as I would expect nothing less for the price. Thanks Halls for the hand written thank you card you sent to our house, that was truly an unexpected personal touch! See you next time! Also make your reservation several days in advance, we booked 5 days out and the only time we could get on a Friday was 10pm!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.