About Halls Chophouse

434 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Halls Chophouse is American-Fine Dining, serving prime steaks, Lowcountry and fresh seafood specialties in an energetic, visually striking environment. Complemented by signature desserts, an extensive wine list, a vibrant bar and innovative, rich decor true to old-world steakhouses, Halls Chophouse is the latest restaurant offering in the heart of Charleston's Upper King Street design and dining district. A traditional American steakhouse with superior service and a knowledgeable staff, Halls Chophouse offers a classic and comfortable dining experience that will entice our guests to visit and enjoy time after time. We offer 2 private dining rooms for groups of up to 32 guests each with audio visual capabilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight, Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm.
Bar is open Monday - Saturday starting at 4pm to close and 10:00am to close on Sundays!

Cross Street:
John St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 727-0090

Website:
http://hallschophouse.com/

Catering:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Parking Details:
http://hallschophouse.com/contact-us#parking

Executive Chef:
Matthew Niessner

Private Party Facilities:
Business, social, or whatever the occasion, Hall’s Chophouse is the place for your next event. Our three Private Rooms can hold up to 40 people. State-of-the-art AV equipment and flat screens are also available to help you with any presentation needs. Set menus for large groups also available.

For private dining, groups, banquets, receptions and event reservations please call us at
(843) 727-0090.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Hall: 8437270090

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Restaurant Photos

Petite Filet 8 Oz
She Crab Soup
strawberry shortcake
Dry Aged Bone In Ribeye And 16 Oz Lobster Tail
Fried Green Tomatoes
Beet Salad With Warm Brie Dressing
Fillet Mighon Steak
Oysters Rockerfeller
Crab Cake Benedict
Medium Rare Aged Ribeye with Sauteed Button Mushrooms & Basil Roasted Tomato - How Friday night Dinner was Done!
Burger
NY Steak
Ny Strip And Creamed Corn
Traditional Eggs Benedict
Tomahawk Bone-In Ribeye
Red Velvet Cake

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Halls Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Food
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
12 More
Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Best Value
South Carolina
Steakhouse
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Best Value
Charleston
Romantic
Charleston
Special Occasion
Charleston
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Special Occasion (591)
Romantic (363)
Fit for Foodies (361)
See All
Notable Wine List (295)
Good for Groups (223)
Hot Spot (220)
Vibrant Bar Scene (184)
Neighborhood Gem (166)
Great for Brunch (144)
Late-night Find (47)
Great for Lunch (40)
Kid-friendly (23)
Scenic View (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
6812 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Halls is our top choice for dining in Ch ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

Halls is our top choice for dining in Charleston. The food and service are great and they go out of their way to make you feel especially welcome. We're sold.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, service and stories beau ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, service and stories beautiful restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just a couple of disappointing points. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

Just a couple of disappointing points. They had the reservation well in advance but when we arrived, they did not have a table set up for 6 as requested. Not a big deal but a little miss. I also told them it was our anniversary and I half expected some type of acknowledgement....a mini cake with a candle or something like that but it simply went unnoticed.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great service and hospitality! It was m ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great service and hospitality! It was my dad's first time dining and he had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wait staff was great. They treated my w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

Wait staff was great. They treated my wife and I very well from start to finish. They knew it was our anniversary so they had complimentary champagne and dessert. Food was outstanding. Presentation was outstanding as well. Overall, one of the best dining experiences we've had together!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was really great, not overbe ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service was really great, not overbearing. They made us feel very special without over-doing it. The steak was other-worldy, the accompaniments were so-so for the price. I would go again, but only for a special occasion.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal. Loved it ! Tried the dry ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent meal. Loved it ! Tried the dry aged beef and it was fabulous. Wil definitely have it again. Can't wait to go back ...

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

What to say about this wonderful place? ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

What to say about this wonderful place? The food was out of this world delicious ! The service was outstanding! The ambiance was amazing!

I'd recommend this restaurant in a heartbeat!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second time at Hall's--the steak was ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our second time at Hall's--the steak was absolutely fantastic again, but the service and atmosphere weren't as impressive. Certainly not bad, just not to match. Be prepared to almost yell to talk across the table and a staff that struggles to operate amid such a crowd. I believe they pack too many people in the rooms they have which causes both problems.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

To whom it may concern, My wife and I c ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

To whom it may concern,

My wife and I came to this lovely restaurant on Sunday for brunch after church before a late afternoon matinee. The ambiance was great, the mood was special, service outstanding, food and beverage tasty and good. My wife and I was treated as if we were at home (very welcomed). The Gospel music gave the atmosphere a feeling realness and color far beyond words.

Ron Perry

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I never visit Charleston without a stop ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

I never visit Charleston without a stop at the Halls Chophouse. Never a disappointment. Sunday brunch a real treat with the gospel singers

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Live Music, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would highly recommend this place for ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

I would highly recommend this place for Sunday Gospel brunch. The owners circled the restaurant and made us feel very welcomed and the gospel music really added to the experience!

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

just great ,will be back................ ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 6 days ago

just great ,will be back..................it was everything we expected and over the years enjoyed

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hall's has done it again! From the gree ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 7 days ago

Hall's has done it again! From the greeting at the front door, the excellent service and the superb food, Hall's has it all. Learning a lesson from past visits, we opted not to order an appetizer- their portions are good size and I can never finish my meal if I eat an appetizer. Two in our party had the salmon which was excellent. It was cooked perfectly, very moist and tasteful. I ordered the special, a sautéed grouper. The presentation was excellent and the meal as delicious.

While certainly not a cheap dinner, it was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely sublime,as was t ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was absolutely sublime,as was the service and presentation. The only thing I wish I had known was that is was slacks and button-down shirt kinda place. Dress appropriately.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an incredible restaurant! From the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

What an incredible restaurant! From the moment we arrived - 30 minutes early for our 8:00 reservation, we were graciously greeted and immediately seated. From our arrival to departure, everyone we encountered or even passed was warm and welcoming - saying hello or, at the very least, making eye contact and smiling.

The waitress Sara was so helpful, explaining the different cuts of steak and the two types of aging. She was so thorough and informative, allowing us plenty of time for questions and contemplating! When my husband explained that he is not a meat eater, she checked with him to make sure he would not be uncomfortable with her display of the steak options. And she was just as helpful in helping him with his seafood selection.

The food was absolutely superb, and I can honestly say that my ribeye (dry aged) was probably the best steak I ever had! I was bound and determined to enjoy every morsel, putting my veggies on the back burner. However the pepper jack creamed corn and asparagus with hollandaise sauce were so delicious that I ate every bit of them as well

What a wonderful experience - beaUtifully decorated, comfortable seating, phenomenal food, and amazing personal attention. No wonder Halls is nationally ranked in the top 10. They absolutely deserve their stellar rating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Justin the bartender makes a great cucum ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Justin the bartender makes a great cucumber martinis!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was fantastic - dining at Ha ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The service was fantastic - dining at Hall's was a highlight of our trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak we had ever eaten....expensiv ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Best steak we had ever eaten....expensive, but worth it. The sides were large and delicious as well. Service was good, almost seemed like too many people waiting on you, but better than none. the atmosphere is very old school Charleston (we were in the back section, original home). Great for a special occasion or a romantic night out.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hate to say it but, this experience was ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Hate to say it but, this experience was not that fantastic as I had hoped. We had reservations and were greeted by the halls , as most have mentioned, but the dinner itself was below avg especially for the prices being paid at this location. It was my dates birthday and they were aware of this. We ordered Oyster rockafeller appetizer which took over 30 mins to arrive at the table, after which we were told the ticket had been lost in the back and they also comped the dish, and served us a ship cocktail while they saw us waiting so long for the dish to come out

We then continued with some main dishes. My date ordered the Scallops and I ordered the tomahawk steak, when the dishes arrived. My date (who's a chef) noted that her Scallops were cold to the touch, like they were not fired all the way, They were also slightly raw. We sent them back and I ate my tomahawk steak and offered her some, which for being such an expensive cut (90$) , honestly it tasted alright, it was cooked perfectly which I give congrats for but If i had to do it again I would have gotten something else. After some time, her New Scallops arrived, fully cooked this time, and apologies were given all around for the issues our table was having. We were also offered a free dessert and a wine glass on the house for the issues we had. The bill came to about 210$ with tip.. Which honestly I wish we had spent elsewhere that night.

But the fun didn't end there, after going downstairs to the main bar Area, We were addressed by a VERY HAPPY , and red faced Mr Bill Hall, who asked us about dinner and I kind of let him know it was all over the place, he was disappointed and offered a shot of fireball to us, which we accepted, He also then proceeded to be all over my Fiancé , Touching her face 3 times with the back of his hand , after taking the shot we quickly excited and waited for our Uber to arrive With speaking with people outside waiting, we were told its a normal occurrence for Mr Hall to be this way.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

We always enjoy Halls! They do such a b ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We always enjoy Halls! They do such a beautiful job. I wish they had more affordable options on their wine list.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Karen, our server, was knowledgeable and ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Karen, our server, was knowledgeable and efficient....the entire experience, Karen, the food and

the atmosphere were perfect!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the best dining experience I have ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

It was the best dining experience I have ever had! I can’t say enough good things about this place, it is fantastic!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steaks! Had shrimp cocktail a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent steaks! Had shrimp cocktail and fried calamari for appetizers and they were great. Salads were good, not great. Dessert was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best steaks in Charleston .

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Best steaks in Charleston .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never miss a chance to visit. The food i ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Never miss a chance to visit. The food is the best in town! The bartender was friendly and the drinks superb. Wait staff is professional and friendly anticipating what we needed before we could ask. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience.

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Always a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dinner at Hall's Chop House was as p ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Our dinner at Hall's Chop House was as perfect as it gets. The level of service was truly exceptional, the food was outstanding and the ambiance terrific. The somm spent considerable time with us even though we brought our own bottle of wine. The waitstaff were attentive without being overbearing. The food was generous and prepared as requested. Everything was first class, start to finish. I will definitely return to Hall's when in Charleston again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone in the restaurant business shou ...

 
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Everyone in the restaurant business should follow the business plan from Halls. You are greeted when you arrive by Bill Hall, just like you would be greeted when you arrive at a friends home. Dustin our server was fantastic and very attentive. The food is superb whether you are a steak, pork or veal chop eater...or you prefer seafood. They were also kind enough to provide two glasses of champagne and dessert, on the house, to help celebrate the special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, the best! Sp ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great food, great service, the best! Special contact from Billy Hall, great guy

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were greeted at the door and immediat ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were greeted at the door and immediately made to feel very welcome. It was a special occasion so this was acknowledged. The Service was fabulous; thank you Josh. Food was all excellent and we enjoyed that the vegetables were served family style so we could all enjoy them. We were brought 2 flutes of champagne to add to our celebration which was a nice touch I've never experienced before at any other restaurant. The entire time we were treated like 'old friends', even though we had never been there before! It was just a nice feeling. We will definitely be back, and would recommend Hall's Chophouse to anyone visiting Charleston looking for an exception dining experience. Thank you!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant and such excellent se ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Amazing restaurant and such excellent service. The Halls truly care about every detail from their exceptional wait staff, the presentation and the quality of their food to the personal touch of visiting your table. The filet melted in our mouths. I highly recommend Halls, what a dining experience!!! It is a must to visit when in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was nice to be welcomed by one of the ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was nice to be welcomed by one of the owners. We were celebrating a birthday. Everyone came over to say Happy Birthday. It made you feel special.

Great omelet and homemade hash.

Our server was attentive. Coffee is outstanding. We will be back !

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Halls never disappoints - we try to come ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Halls never disappoints - we try to come every time we are in town. From the warm greeting from the owners to the great advice on wine selection to the amazing steaks (if you are a rib eye lover, it is a must) to the amazing sides (we had a group of 4 and went with the corn skillet (#1!) lobster mac and cheese and the mashed potatoes) to the great service - it was first class from beginning to end. If I had one mild complaint it would be that it was really pretty loud upstairs from the vibrant scene on the first floor. If they are booked keep checking on Open Table - at least on this Saturday night there were some last minute cancellations. Just a really great and enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to a lot of steakhouses, inclu ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I've been to a lot of steakhouses, including most of those that you'd think of as the best in the country (Bern's, Peter Luger, Dickie Brennan's, Killen's, St Elmo's, etc.) and this is probably my favorite. The hospitality here is absolutely amazing, and it truly is a culture all the way from the ownership. I've made a habit of coming here every time I am in town, and I have yet to be disappointed. On my most recent visit I enjoyed the Tomahawk ribeye, which was one of the best I've ever had. This is a wonderful place to enjoy a special occasion or business dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top notch steakhouse!!! Very expensive, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Top notch steakhouse!!! Very expensive, but the food and the service matches the price. The Halls run the business and all of them are present to make sure the service, food, and anything you want is going the way it should. Pure Charleston charm. It is well worth going for a special occasion or an important business meeting. If I could afford that price, I would go there on a regular basis. I have not had overall food or service in Charleston that compares to this. This easily gives all the top steakhouses in the country a run for their money. Very impressive. The thing that I most liked was that the dining rooms upstairs have hallways inbetween and the wait staff are able to observe what you need, but they stay in the inner hallways, you really don't see them much. I am hard of hearing so upstairs was a must, downstairs is more open next to the bar and loud. They had very good piano, jazz music starting around 7:30pm that filtered upstairs, but also gave the bar a very nice environment. Can't wait for the next special occasion!!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tremendous staff . They know how to succ ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Tremendous staff . They know how to successfully anticipate when the patron needs service. Best in Charlston.

Great menu with excellent preparation

This is one of our go to restaurants, along with Galitoires in New Orleans, Raos in NY, Peter Lugers, and LaFrancese in Chicago

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Hall bros. treat you like old friend ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The Hall bros. treat you like old friends,a very fun,vibrant place that you feel very welcome in.Appears to be packed every night to reserve early unless eating after 10pm is good for you.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in every way!! Perfectly pr ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Outstanding in every way!! Perfectly prepared steak!!Excellent service! From the time we walked in the door, we were treated like family!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendliest staff ever. The food was ve ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Friendliest staff ever. The food was very good. A beautiful evening.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.