About Halls Chophouse

434 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Halls Chophouse is American-Fine Dining, serving prime steaks, Lowcountry and fresh seafood specialties in an energetic, visually striking environment. Complemented by signature desserts, an extensive wine list, a vibrant bar and innovative, rich decor true to old-world steakhouses, Halls Chophouse is the latest restaurant offering in the heart of Charleston's Upper King Street design and dining district. A traditional American steakhouse with superior service and a knowledgeable staff, Halls Chophouse offers a classic and comfortable dining experience that will entice our guests to visit and enjoy time after time. We offer 2 private dining rooms for groups of up to 32 guests each with audio visual capabilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight, Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm.
Bar is open Monday - Saturday starting at 4pm to close and 10:00am to close on Sundays!

Cross Street:
John St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 727-0090

Website:
http://hallschophouse.com/

Catering:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Parking Details:
http://hallschophouse.com/contact-us#parking

Executive Chef:
Matthew Niessner

Private Party Facilities:
Business, social, or whatever the occasion, Hall’s Chophouse is the place for your next event. Our three Private Rooms can hold up to 40 people. State-of-the-art AV equipment and flat screens are also available to help you with any presentation needs. Set menus for large groups also available.

For private dining, groups, banquets, receptions and event reservations please call us at
(843) 727-0090.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Hall: 8437270090

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Restaurant Photos

Petite Filet 8 Oz
She Crab Soup
strawberry shortcake
Dry Aged Bone In Ribeye And 16 Oz Lobster Tail
Fried Green Tomatoes
Beet Salad With Warm Brie Dressing
Fillet Mighon Steak
Oysters Rockerfeller
Crab Cake Benedict
Medium Rare Aged Ribeye with Sauteed Button Mushrooms & Basil Roasted Tomato - How Friday night Dinner was Done!
Burger
NY Steak
Ny Strip And Creamed Corn
Traditional Eggs Benedict
Tomahawk Bone-In Ribeye
Red Velvet Cake

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Halls Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Food
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
12 More
Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Best Value
South Carolina
Steakhouse
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Best Value
Charleston
Romantic
Charleston
Special Occasion
Charleston
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Special Occasion (568)
Romantic (350)
Fit for Foodies (342)
See All
Notable Wine List (285)
Good for Groups (212)
Hot Spot (208)
Vibrant Bar Scene (180)
Neighborhood Gem (161)
Great for Brunch (134)
Late-night Find (45)
Great for Lunch (37)
Kid-friendly (22)
Scenic View (16)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Live Music (3)
Cozy (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Casual (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Historic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
Newest
6835 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved everything about this place. One ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 2 days ago

Loved everything about this place. One of the best (and last) evening on our first trip to Charleston. Incredible Oyster Rockefeller and steak. Great service and waiter was so much fun and helpful. Everyone at this restaurant is nice and helpful.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place to celebrate our anniver ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful place to celebrate our anniversary. Well worth the visit.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far the best service and food quality ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

By far the best service and food quality that you can experience. Every visit you make to Halls you feel like the most important person in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hall's Chophouse epitomizes excellence f ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined 3 days ago

Hall's Chophouse epitomizes excellence from the get go. From the warmth of the owners greeting when you walk in, to the professionalism of the servers, to the outstanding steaks and sides, this is a special place. Great wine list also. Worth every penny.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Casual, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a bad meal at Hall's! Impeccable s ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

Never a bad meal at Hall's! Impeccable service and great food!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is awesome but pricey. Go ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food here is awesome but pricey. Go for Sunday brunch. Stay away from the caramel cake- not very good

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful service and food. Absolutely l ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful service and food. Absolutely loved the Sunday brunch with the gospel singers. Greeted by Billy Hall at the door who brought us champagne for our anniversary celebration. They made it a memorable occasion that I'd highly recommend. Looking forward to returning the next time in Charleston!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dining experiences. The ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

One of the best dining experiences. The owners are so involved in your meal and truly care about the customers and make every effort to make sure you are happy. I have never been to a restaurant with such quality food and service. I was really impressed. It's too bad that we live so far away, otherwise we would be regulars! I said that it was our last night in Charleston and we were given two complimentary glasses of champagne and free dessert. Amazing place - highly recommend! You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an incredible experience. By far t ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

What an incredible experience. By far the best meal I have ever had. So worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food - pricey but ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service and food - pricey but worth it for a special occasion. It is impressive that a member of the Hall family, in this case Billy Hall, greets the diners. They oblige by offering smaller servings of the salads, appetizers and side dishes. We were in a back room and it was quite noisy but it seems to come with the territory.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

From the owner to the entire staff is wa ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

From the owner to the entire staff is was an awesome experience.

I would recommend Hall's to anyone interested in a quality/first class experience!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great from start to finish! Dinner atmos ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great from start to finish! Dinner atmosphere and service 5 stars!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Halls for our anniversary. Th ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

We went to Halls for our anniversary. The food was excellent and the service was impeccable! Our waiter Carter was the best waiter we have ever had and we have eaten in restaurants all over Charleston and all over the world! Billy Hall brought us complimentary champagne for our anniversary. We were also given complimentary dessert. I cannot say enough good things about our dining experience! I would highly recommend Halls to anyone!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fun, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Widely recognized as a top 10 steakhouse ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Widely recognized as a top 10 steakhouse in America, and dining here you know why. What separates it from many of the others is personalized service. It was my first time there and Billy Hall treated me like an old friend. He treats everyone this way but it feels genuine. Staff is excellent, food is excellent. I don't think I'd bring kids here because they just can't appreciate it, although I'm sure they're welcome. Very spendy but very special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I celebrated our 43rd annive ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I celebrated our 43rd anniversary at Hall's Chophouse. The food and service were excellent. The manager went out of his way to make our evening unforgettable. We really enjoyed the dinner and evening.

Thanks.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was fantastic as always, but unfort ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was fantastic as always, but unfortunately our server was not quite as good as usual. We have come to expect a certain level of service at Hall's - and this time was just a bit lacking.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Best steak I have ever eaten combines wi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

Best steak I have ever eaten combines with a wonderful warm atmosphere and a stellar staff!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Halls is our top choice for dining in Ch ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Halls is our top choice for dining in Charleston. The food and service are great and they go out of their way to make you feel especially welcome. We're sold.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was superb, as everyone who goes ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Service was superb, as everyone who goes there notes. But food was only fair, and steaks, their claim to fame were not that great. Tom Hall, an owner, meets you at the door and is a supremely warm human. Makes you more at home than in your own home, probably. However, food is not nearly worth the very high price, except for a very special occasion.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

I'm a steakhouse guy. The food and servi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I'm a steakhouse guy. The food and service was as good as any in the country. Outstanding in every way. If you're in Charleston and like steak, you must go to Hall's.

Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, service and stories beau ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Excellent food, service and stories beautiful restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just a couple of disappointing points. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Just a couple of disappointing points. They had the reservation well in advance but when we arrived, they did not have a table set up for 6 as requested. Not a big deal but a little miss. I also told them it was our anniversary and I half expected some type of acknowledgement....a mini cake with a candle or something like that but it simply went unnoticed.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great service and hospitality! It was m ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great service and hospitality! It was my dad's first time dining and he had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wait staff was great. They treated my w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Wait staff was great. They treated my wife and I very well from start to finish. They knew it was our anniversary so they had complimentary champagne and dessert. Food was outstanding. Presentation was outstanding as well. Overall, one of the best dining experiences we've had together!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was really great, not overbe ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The service was really great, not overbearing. They made us feel very special without over-doing it. The steak was other-worldy, the accompaniments were so-so for the price. I would go again, but only for a special occasion.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Halls does not disappoint!! One of the b ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Halls does not disappoint!! One of the best steaks I've ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was absolutely spectacular a ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The service was absolutely spectacular and the food...wow! Every second of the evening was perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recently on a business trip to Charlesto ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Recently on a business trip to Charleston, SC I had the pleasant opportunity to dine at the Hall's Chop House on King Street downtown. The restaurant was walking distance from the hotel that was hosting our business conference. The menu was extremely impressive with all the different steaks and of course seafood. I had the filet which was cooked medium rare (perfect) with great flavor and my friend had the grouper which he stated was delicious. We shared two side dishes due to each side dish feeds at least two people. The service was outstanding as well as the servers were professional, friendly and prompt which made for a great dining experience.

I will most certainly return to Halls Chop House in the future!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal. Loved it ! Tried the dry ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Excellent meal. Loved it ! Tried the dry aged beef and it was fabulous. Wil definitely have it again. Can't wait to go back ...

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

What to say about this wonderful place? ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

What to say about this wonderful place? The food was out of this world delicious ! The service was outstanding! The ambiance was amazing!

I'd recommend this restaurant in a heartbeat!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate here during a trip to Charleston. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We ate here during a trip to Charleston. It not an inexpensive meal, but it is a wonderful, special occasion meal!

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our second time at Hall's--the steak was ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our second time at Hall's--the steak was absolutely fantastic again, but the service and atmosphere weren't as impressive. Certainly not bad, just not to match. Be prepared to almost yell to talk across the table and a staff that struggles to operate amid such a crowd. I believe they pack too many people in the rooms they have which causes both problems.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

To whom it may concern, My wife and I c ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

To whom it may concern,

My wife and I came to this lovely restaurant on Sunday for brunch after church before a late afternoon matinee. The ambiance was great, the mood was special, service outstanding, food and beverage tasty and good. My wife and I was treated as if we were at home (very welcomed). The Gospel music gave the atmosphere a feeling realness and color far beyond words.

Ron Perry

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I never visit Charleston without a stop ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I never visit Charleston without a stop at the Halls Chophouse. Never a disappointment. Sunday brunch a real treat with the gospel singers

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Live Music, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would highly recommend this place for ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I would highly recommend this place for Sunday Gospel brunch. The owners circled the restaurant and made us feel very welcomed and the gospel music really added to the experience!

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

just great ,will be back................ ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

just great ,will be back..................it was everything we expected and over the years enjoyed

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hall's has done it again! From the gree ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Hall's has done it again! From the greeting at the front door, the excellent service and the superb food, Hall's has it all. Learning a lesson from past visits, we opted not to order an appetizer- their portions are good size and I can never finish my meal if I eat an appetizer. Two in our party had the salmon which was excellent. It was cooked perfectly, very moist and tasteful. I ordered the special, a sautéed grouper. The presentation was excellent and the meal as delicious.

While certainly not a cheap dinner, it was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely sublime,as was t ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was absolutely sublime,as was the service and presentation. The only thing I wish I had known was that is was slacks and button-down shirt kinda place. Dress appropriately.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an incredible restaurant! From the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

What an incredible restaurant! From the moment we arrived - 30 minutes early for our 8:00 reservation, we were graciously greeted and immediately seated. From our arrival to departure, everyone we encountered or even passed was warm and welcoming - saying hello or, at the very least, making eye contact and smiling.

The waitress Sara was so helpful, explaining the different cuts of steak and the two types of aging. She was so thorough and informative, allowing us plenty of time for questions and contemplating! When my husband explained that he is not a meat eater, she checked with him to make sure he would not be uncomfortable with her display of the steak options. And she was just as helpful in helping him with his seafood selection.

The food was absolutely superb, and I can honestly say that my ribeye (dry aged) was probably the best steak I ever had! I was bound and determined to enjoy every morsel, putting my veggies on the back burner. However the pepper jack creamed corn and asparagus with hollandaise sauce were so delicious that I ate every bit of them as well

What a wonderful experience - beaUtifully decorated, comfortable seating, phenomenal food, and amazing personal attention. No wonder Halls is nationally ranked in the top 10. They absolutely deserve their stellar rating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Justin the bartender makes a great cucum ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Justin the bartender makes a great cucumber martinis!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.