About Halls Chophouse

434 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Halls Chophouse is American-Fine Dining, serving prime steaks, Lowcountry and fresh seafood specialties in an energetic, visually striking environment. Complemented by signature desserts, an extensive wine list, a vibrant bar and innovative, rich decor true to old-world steakhouses, Halls Chophouse is the latest restaurant offering in the heart of Charleston's Upper King Street design and dining district. A traditional American steakhouse with superior service and a knowledgeable staff, Halls Chophouse offers a classic and comfortable dining experience that will entice our guests to visit and enjoy time after time. We offer 2 private dining rooms for groups of up to 32 guests each with audio visual capabilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight, Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm.
Bar is open Monday - Saturday starting at 4pm to close and 10:00am to close on Sundays!

Cross Street:
John St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 727-0090

Website:
http://hallschophouse.com/

Catering:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Parking Details:
http://hallschophouse.com/contact-us#parking

Executive Chef:
Matthew Niessner

Private Party Facilities:
Business, social, or whatever the occasion, Hall’s Chophouse is the place for your next event. Our three Private Rooms can hold up to 40 people. State-of-the-art AV equipment and flat screens are also available to help you with any presentation needs. Set menus for large groups also available.

For private dining, groups, banquets, receptions and event reservations please call us at
(843) 727-0090.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Hall: 8437270090x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Restaurant Photos

Petite Filet 8 Oz
She Crab Soup
strawberry shortcake
Dry Aged Bone In Ribeye And 16 Oz Lobster Tail
Fried Green Tomatoes
Beet Salad With Warm Brie Dressing
Fillet Mighon Steak
Crab Cake Benedict
Oysters Rockerfeller
Medium Rare Aged Ribeye with Sauteed Button Mushrooms & Basil Roasted Tomato - How Friday night Dinner was Done!
Burger
Ny Strip And Creamed Corn
NY Steak
Traditional Eggs Benedict
Tomahawk Bone-In Ribeye
Red Velvet Cake

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Halls Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Food
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
11 More
Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Best Value
South Carolina
Steakhouse
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Best Value
Charleston
Special Occasion
Charleston
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

special occasion (601)
fit for foodies (386)
romantic (364)
See All
notable wine list (297)
good for groups (239)
hot spot (226)
vibrant bar scene (195)
neighborhood gem (172)
great for brunch (163)
late-night find (51)
great for lunch (45)
kid-friendly (18)
scenic view (14)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
6670 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Greatly exceeded our expectations from ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 3 days ago

Greatly exceeded our expectations from the beginning to the end.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hate ordering steak at a restaurant - ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

I hate ordering steak at a restaurant - so few can make a steak as well as you can grill one at home. Halls Chophouse is the exception. Fantastic steaks; the best Caesar salad I've ever had and they can handle groups of different sizes and children of different ages. Really, really great meal. I will go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

As good as it ever was. Impeccable servi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

As good as it ever was. Impeccable service, impeccable food! Billy always makes you feel like family.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our steaks were overlooked, we were char ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our steaks were overlooked, we were charged for two items that were ordered but never received and food was dropped in my husband's lap, ruining a pair of silk pants. No apology was made.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious as usual. The Halls family get ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious as usual. The Halls family gets it right. We will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I were on vacation in C ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined 4 days ago

My boyfriend and I were on vacation in Charleston and chose Halls for our one really nice dinner date. Though pricey, we both agreed we had the best steak of our lives and were treated like we were as important as the people next to us who were clearly spending much more money. And the piano and saxophone players were just lovely. An extremely well managed business.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pork chop was more amazing than the ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

The pork chop was more amazing than the Dry Aged Ribeye.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit to Halls. We wi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was our first visit to Halls. We will definitely be back. Great food, excellent service, cool jazz...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff was very attentive. The food ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

The staff was very attentive. The food was good, not great for the price. The cocktails could have been better. For having made a reservation far in advance, we were disappointed to be placed at the smallest table directly in the entrance when there appeared to be ample seating available. The wait staff was excellent, and very informed, but overall the atmosphere and low value of food considering the price made this visit just average.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

My husband and I went to Hall's for our ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I went to Hall's for our 30th anniversary after seeing it listed as one of the top 10 Restaurants in the United States from Trip Advisor. We were very disappointed in the food and the amount of money we spent for what we had. We had two glasses of wine, 2 entrees and one side and our meal was $168 before gratuity. My husband had a special bone-in filet that was just mediocre but cost $68 and I had the veal chop which was tough to cut into and the flavor was just mediocre as well. We had one side of mashed potatoes that were so rich and soupy I did not eat them. We skipped dessert but after we told our waiter we were not interested in dessert they brought us a huge piece of chocolate cake to take with us for our anniversary. Their service is very, very attentive and they try to sell you on just about everything you can imagine.....extra sides, truffle butter, very expensive wine, etc. This is the perfect restaurant to take anyone you are trying to impress, but if you are interested in a really wonderful meal I would chose someplace else. We don't mind spending $200 on an outstanding meal and service, but this meal was just not outstanding by any means; more "average" than outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I both had steak and he a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I both had steak and he added on the fresh-caught Maine lobster. The steaks were done to perfection, and the lobster was the best (sweetest) we've ever eaten! In the future we will remember the sides are meant to be shared. We both ordered a side dish with our entree, and the portions are too large for one person to consume. The staff are very attentive and personable. They make your dining experience a special one.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love it at Hall's but this past exper ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

We love it at Hall's but this past experience was not our best that we have had . Service was slow they come to find out we were put under the wrong reservation . We were there celebrating my mother in laws birthday. I hope next time it will be a better experience for them when they come back since it was my in laws first in.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Halls Chophouse was our favorite restaur ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Halls Chophouse was our favorite restaurant that we dined at while recently visiting Charleston. The Gospel Brunch was absolutely marvelous! The food was perfect. The staff and management were very kind and extremely attentive. We hope to dine at Halls many times in the future.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I took a group of 6 to br ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I took a group of 6 to brunch here for my 30th birthday. We've had dinner before, but this was my first time at the Gospel Brunch. The menu had so many delicious things on it! Most of our group ordered steak - because.... Halls - but those of use who had items on the brunch menu were not disappointed. The service here was amazing and I'd come back again and again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The gospel brunch was even better than m ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

The gospel brunch was even better than my expectations. Great food, uplifting songs.

We will come back often for the gospel brunch.

Halls attention to customer service is without equal.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really good but it took ove ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was really good but it took over an hour to get our food. When asked by the owner's son about our meal I said it was good and was prepared to let it go because our previous experiences were much better. When further pressed by the owner's son as to why I wouldn't look directly at him when speaking about our experience, I did let him know that I thought over an hour was too long in getting our meal. His response was to ask me if I was in a hurry. That's not the point. We were at this restaurant for 2 hrs. for brunch. The complimentary dessert from the manager was nice, but the initial dismissive attitude when pressed is the reason I will not be back. There are many other restaurants in Charleston and to set yourself above others, you must be prepared to handle the answer that you asked for in a more professional manner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Excellent experience, as always. Sunday ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent experience, as always. Sunday brunch gospel music was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was impeccable and the food ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

The service was impeccable and the food was absolutely amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome as always'

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome as always'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hands down the best steak I have ever ha ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Hands down the best steak I have ever had in my life. I do not prefer steak usually but the filet mignon was cooked to perfection.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our annivers ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here and we felt so special. The food was incredible! The service was outstanding! The ambiance was beautiful! We will visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time to Hall's in th ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was our second time to Hall's in the last two months. This time my husband and I decided to celebrate our 10th Anniversary at Hall's for dinner and cocktails, and they did not disappoint! From being greeted at the door by a warm and sincere Billy Hall to all of the staff there, they made our evening truly special. Moments after we were at our table Billy Hall came by with two glasses of champaign to help us "Get the party started". We felt like part of the family and settled in for a terrific night.

We enjoyed the special Bison filet over risotto with black truffle butter and the 16 oz. ribeye with a side of creamed corn. Everything was absolutely delicious and perfectly cooked. The St. Cecilia Punch drinks were perfectly refreshing on a hot summer night. Then we ended the meal with the Whiskey Bread Pudding which I would easily pay double for!

We will definitely be back again!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WOW! I am at a loss for words to describ ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

WOW! I am at a loss for words to describe my first experience dining there. From the beginning it was hands down a truly wonderful experience. Just walking in we were greeting by Mr. Hall with a hand shake asking if this was our first time dining and if we were celebrating something special. We were in fact dining there for the first time and celebrating my dad’s birthday. You could see he was genuinely excited for us. It wasn’t long after we were seated with the rest of our party that we accidently bumped one of the water glasses spilling it on the table. Within seconds we had 10 waiters and waitresses at our table ready to change the linens and reset the table. It was impressive to say the least. Once everything was back to normal we were brought Champagne in celebration of my dad’s birthday. That really was a nice touch. Now onto the more important stuff….the food. For starters I ordered the Prime Steak tartar while others tried the She Crab soup. Both were excellent. For our entrees we ordered their Bison special (x2) which was a bison filet served with a mushroom risotto, the 24oz Bone-In Rib eye as well as the 16oz Rib eye (dry aged/heavy marbled). For our sides we selected their Pancetta Roasted Brussel Sprouts and the Baked Sweet Potato Skillet. The meat was cooked perfectly and the sides were delicious. We ended the night with a piece of their Double Chocolate Cake and a candle for the birthday boy. While on our way out we were again greeted by Mr. Hall who wished my dad a happy birthday and took my brother aside to make sure we and more specifically, my father, had enjoyed our experience. It is those touches that truly made this experience outstanding. I am already looking forward to my next dining experience and would love to try their Sunday Brunch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Hall's on several specia ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

We have been to Hall's on several special occasions and have been disappointed but tried again hoping for a better experience. On this very special occasion celebrating our daughter getting her Doctorate Degree, we tried once again but will definitely not be back. The noise was unbearable and we could hardly hear ourselves speak much less have conversation. Our server was not very attentive at all and very rude when my husband tried to ask about having his steak cooked a certain way. We had 4 in our party and I was unable to order a steak because of recent oral surgery and had only a little of each side dish we ordered. We ordered several sides, 3 drinks and only 3 steaks and our bill was over 450.00. This place is outrageous and absolutely overpriced for what you receive. NEVER AGAIN.......think twice before going to Hall's and spending a small fortune for an average meal.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Best meal in a long time. Each item we o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Best meal in a long time. Each item we ordered was fabulous: the soups, crab cakes, steaks and the sweet potato casserole. The service was great. Will definitely return.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful martinis and grass fed option. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Wonderful martinis and grass fed option. All staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our entire experience was great from the ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Our entire experience was great from the time we stepped in the door until we stepped out. First time ever being there and felt as though we were everyone's favorite customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hall's great very personal. The owner co ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Hall's great very personal. The owner come over on several occasions and made the night so memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Halls is one of my all time favorite res ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Halls is one of my all time favorite restaurants. Superb service, sincere concern that the meat is cooked just perfectly., outstanding wine list. Very good sides. Unbeatable beef cuts - both dry and wet cured.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to Hall's on a recomm ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

My wife and I went to Hall's on a recommendation of friends to celebrate our anniversary while in Charleston. We were not disappointed. We felt like family friends as soon as we were greeted by Billy Hall. The service was top-notch. We were given a complimentary cocktail and dessert since we were celebrating our anniversary. The steaks were cooked perfectly. The sides were large enough to share with plenty left over.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Right there with the very best restauran ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Right there with the very best restaurants I have ever had the privilege to dine. Their wine list was excellent and the choice of steaks was superb. Everything was cooked to perfection. If you want to impress someone with fine food with a great atmosphere then this is the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and amazing service. Billy i ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great food and amazing service. Billy is always an awesome host. This is mine and my wife's favorite spot for a romantic night out. Always fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was simply outstanding. One o ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Everything was simply outstanding. One of the best meals I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My party had 5 people total. When every ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

My party had 5 people total. When everyone ordered a steak and a side, the waiter failed to inform us the sides were family style and therefore not everyone needed to order a side. (He had the opportunity when two people ordered the mashed potato side.) Instead all of us were eating 5 sides and our bill came out to $350 with only two alcoholic drinks purchased. I am used to be better taken care of when I eat in downtown Charleston.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

OUTSTANDING in every possible way. I had ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

OUTSTANDING in every possible way. I had read all the reviews about the outstanding service and food and it was even better than expected. Yes, you are greeted at the door by the owner--Billy who I found very sincere and gracious. The food was amazing. We have had steaks all over the world and my husband thinks his dry-aged rib eye is the best steak he ever ate. My veal chop was delicious. We got several side dishes for our table of four and had more than enough food. The corn side dish is very good. The service was wonderful without being intrusive. You never feel rushed. Any drawback has nothing to do with Hall's but rather our society. The people next to us were very loud. And another table included men in baseball caps and shorts. Perhaps they were raised by wolves. You can't blame Hall's for those folks. They are doing everything right! As we left they called us a cab and Billy Hall gave my husband his card and told us to call if we needed anything. We will never forget our memorable dinner at Hall's.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The BEST restaurant in Charleston! Steak ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The BEST restaurant in Charleston! Steaks were delicious and bernaise sauce was top notch! The sides are large and easily fed two people! Service was amazing!!!! Greetings at the door with a hand shake and hug from Billy Hall! They treated us well for our anniversary! Will return!!! Best steak you will ever eat!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Halls Chop House provides a top-notch di ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Halls Chop House provides a top-notch dining experience. Service is fantastic and food is among the best meals I have eaten. This is a must every time I visit Charleston. Dry aged tomahawk ribeye, Brussels sprouts, creamed corn and bread pudding. Also generous pours in cocktails.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ask about which sides have bread crumbs ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Ask about which sides have bread crumbs on top. Otherwise, you might end up with multiple sides with the same bread crumbs that taste the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

My wife and I recently had an anniversar ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My wife and I recently had an anniversary dinner at Hall's while vacationing in Charleston, and we had an excellent experience. We both got the 12 oz filet mignon and they were both cooked perfectly (we went with "rare warm"). This is definitely one of those steakhouses where you want to order it rare, because they know how to do it just right.

Our server, Brian, was also fantastic. He knew the menu inside and out, and he was able to answer any questions or requests we had. Speaking of which, I suggest that you ask your server how big certain sides and desserts are before you order. Brian made us aware that certain sides/desserts were big enough to be shared, and I'm glad he did, because I'm pretty sure the shrimp & grits skillet side (which was delicious; highly recommended) would be enough for someone's lunch. You will definitely walk away from this restaurant feeling full.

Atmosphere was cozy and romantic, so it's a good anniversary spot. The bar also has a meat & cheese plate that's complimentary for anyone sitting there, even for my me and my wife, who did nothing but drink water until our table was ready (we got there about a half hour before our 5:00 PM reservations).

The only potential downside is that it's pricey, but you know that going in. Even with the price, it's not a pretentious place, and they're just fine with business casual dress. We would definitely go back if we lived in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.