About Halls Chophouse

434 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Halls Chophouse is American-Fine Dining, serving prime steaks, Lowcountry and fresh seafood specialties in an energetic, visually striking environment. Complemented by signature desserts, an extensive wine list, a vibrant bar and innovative, rich decor true to old-world steakhouses, Halls Chophouse is the latest restaurant offering in the heart of Charleston's Upper King Street design and dining district. A traditional American steakhouse with superior service and a knowledgeable staff, Halls Chophouse offers a classic and comfortable dining experience that will entice our guests to visit and enjoy time after time. We offer 2 private dining rooms for groups of up to 32 guests each with audio visual capabilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight, Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm.
Bar is open Monday - Saturday starting at 4pm to close and 10:00am to close on Sundays!

Cross Street:
John St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 727-0090

Website:
http://hallschophouse.com/

Catering:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Parking Details:
http://hallschophouse.com/contact-us#parking

Executive Chef:
Matthew Niessner

Private Party Facilities:
Business, social, or whatever the occasion, Hall’s Chophouse is the place for your next event. Our three Private Rooms can hold up to 40 people. State-of-the-art AV equipment and flat screens are also available to help you with any presentation needs. Set menus for large groups also available.

For private dining, groups, banquets, receptions and event reservations please call us at
(843) 727-0090.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Hall: 8437270090x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Halls Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Food
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
12 More
Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Best Value
South Carolina
Steakhouse
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Best Value
Charleston
Notable Wine List
Charleston
Special Occasion
Charleston
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

special occasion (603)
fit for foodies (416)
romantic (354)
See All
notable wine list (315)
hot spot (251)
good for groups (240)
vibrant bar scene (211)
neighborhood gem (186)
great for brunch (172)
late-night find (61)
great for lunch (51)
scenic view (16)
kid-friendly (16)
great for outdoor dining (5)
Sort By:
Newest
6354 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

An establishment still practicing all th ...

Dined 3 days ago

An establishment still practicing all that is positive about old school dining. Service was the star here: unintrusive, intelligently schooled, appropriately paced and cordial ... perfect. The food quality was high grade, well executed and entirely enjoyable; grade A, just not A+. Steaks were the marquis, but the menu very well rounded. All of our party enjoyed aged steaks of correct temperature and delectable sides. This is a destination to which we shall return. Tariff is expensive, hence its impact upon the concept of value. The wine list was excellent and well represented. It remains our primary destination in a highly competitive epicurean town for steaks. It is a very pleasurable oasis within the modern over evolved concept of a dining night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose Hall's for our final meal durin ...

Dined 4 days ago

We chose Hall's for our final meal during our six night stay in Charleston... It didn't disappoint... The staff truly seem as if they love working there... One of those epic steak house experiences

food5
ambience5
service5

Do yourself a favor - just go!

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Do yourself a favor - just go!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food! Best place we ate at in C ...

Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous food! Best place we ate at in Charleston!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service, staff and ambiance at Hall' ...

Dined 6 days ago

The service, staff and ambiance at Hall's was outstanding. However, the food was nothing short of divine. This is a must on anyone's list for the best steak in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We will definitely return!

Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful experience! Don't know if I've ever encountered a more attentive and personable manager/owner as Billy Hall. The gospel music brunch did not disappoint. We will definitely return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Everyone on staff was super friendly and ...

Dined 6 days ago

Everyone on staff was super friendly and welcoming. We had eight entrees, with each one being wonderful. We went for the Gospel Brunch and plan on returning for dinner on our next trip.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My absolutely favorite restaurant...

Dined 6 days ago

It has it all! I love the wonderful southern hospitality of the Hall family. Everything on the menu is awesome... & the wine list is superb!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was delicious and the service ...

Dined 6 days ago

Everything was delicious and the service was the best I've ever had anywhere! The creamed corn side was recommended and outstanding, definitely a must. Also the bread pudding dessert was amazing and another must! Loved the live music (piano player)! Would definitely recommend and return again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent staff, service, and food. We ...

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent staff, service, and food. We mentioned it was our anniversary and the entire wait staff ensured they came by and congratulated us. Billy Jr and the staff made us feel like we were the only ones at the restaurant even though the restaurant was full. The food was superb as usual. Hall's will always be on our list when visiting Charleston. Billy and staff, thank you for the excellent service and making the night special. Your restaurant has become one of our favorite places while in Charleston.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great dinner. Our only slight n ...

Dined 7 days ago

We had a great dinner. Our only slight negative is that upon our greeting at the front we were asked if we were celebrating a special event and we said we were celebrating my husbands 60th birthday. No one followed up or asked if we wanted anything special. Other than that a great dinner with excellent food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

Dined on May 21, 2016

We dine at this restaurant every time we visit Charleston, and it never disappoints us! The service is outstanding. They truly make you think that you are the only diner they are caring for that night. The tuna tartare was the best I've had and the steaks do melt in your mouth. Sides are always good. I'm looking forward to coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hall's Chophouse never disappoints. Our ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Hall's Chophouse never disappoints. Our dinner was fantastic...as always!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

An annoying non-answer from the hostess ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

An annoying non-answer from the hostess to a simple question when we arrived about 40 minutes early set us off on the wrong foot. Ended up have cocktails elsewhere then came back for dinner. Dinner was good as was service but we preferred more innovative southern fare abundantly available in town to the dated experience at Halls. Great steak for sure though.

food5
ambience5
service5

Halls goes above and beyond customer ser ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Halls goes above and beyond customer service. It's a must anytime you visit Charleston

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five stars

Dined on May 20, 2016

We recently visited Hall's Chophouse while in Charleston for our honeymoon. We received some of the best food and customer service we've ever experienced. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Halls is the best of the best!

Dined on May 19, 2016

Billy Hall really makes the Halls Chophouse experience. Never have we experienced such great customer service. The steak is the absolute best you will ever eat! Hands down our favorite place ever.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Halls. We we ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

This was our first visit to Halls. We were celebrating our daughter graduating from MUSC College of Nursing. The entire staff went above and beyond recognizing our daughters accomplishment and making her feel so special! It was an awesome experience with great food!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff at Halls went above and beyond ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The staff at Halls went above and beyond to make our anniversary dinner amazing. Upon arrival we were greeted by one of the Hall family members and took upstairs to enjoy a glass of Champaign to celebrate the occasion while our table was being prepared. We were told happy anniversary by our server and several other staff members once we were seated. The server was extremely knowledgeable and explained all of the steak options to us. In passing another staff member noticed me glancing over the wine list and offered suggestions which were helpful. The attention to detail was so impressive, from pulling out the table to make it easier to sit down to setting the wine bottle down facing us so we could see the label to folding our napkins when we got up from the table. The food was also incredible. My husband and I both got the filet and they were cooked to perfection. Sides are ordered to share. We decided on the asaparagus and mashed potatoes. Both were very good! They also brought us out another round of Champaign at the table to celebrate the occasion and Foie gras with our meal. It was delicious by itself and with the steak. We were too full for dessert but Halls sent us home with a slice of chocolate cake that was pure chocolate heaven. I will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friends Get-together

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

I'm from New York and my friend is from Los Angeles. We meet at least once a year in different parts of the country and this year was Charleston and Savannah. We both loved, loved, loved everything about Hall's. Jeanne Hall greeted us upon entry with her wonderful smile. We waited a few short minutes for our table, which was upstairs (a bit quieter than downstairs). We knew we were in for a real treat from all the attention we received. Hall's is absolutely NOT TO BE MISSED if you are in Charleston. It rivals any NY or LA restaurant, and I wish they were in my neighborhood. Food, service, and ambiance were above the top! We also enjoyed the music. I hope to return some day. Until then, I can only dream.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was beyond amazing. We were tre ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The food was beyond amazing. We were treated exceptionally well. We were there for our honeymoon and the staff sure made us feel special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The staff and the Chophouse itself were ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The staff and the Chophouse itself were outstanding. The steak I ordered (boneless dry aged ribeye) although tasty was not of the flavor or quality of other steakhouses I have visited that were comparable.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eat here. Expensive but worth every penny.

Dined on May 18, 2016

Incredible meal with impeccable service. The dry aged rib eye is a must order

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible food! Best meal I've had in ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Incredible food! Best meal I've had in Charleston. Spicy shrimp app was great and the steaks are unreal. Took it home the leftovers and steak was still great reheated.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the variety on your menu so m ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

We enjoyed the variety on your menu so much we had to return for a second night. Even then we had to take food home both nights. We had read on the internet that Hall's was the number one steakhouse in the United States and my wife and I both agree with the assessment. We made the trip especially from Greensboro, Georgia just to eat at your restaurant. I'm glad that we did. Hopefully we can return again, soon.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

As always. Perfect

Dined on May 17, 2016

As always. Perfect

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hall's Never Disappoints

Dined on May 17, 2016

As always, Hall's Chophouse was amazing. The quality of food and service is unparalleled. This is our go-to spot for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent. Food, service ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Everything was excellent. Food, service and attention to detail were 2nd to none. Our server Sydney was friendly and knowledgeable,she alerted the owner to the fact that we were on our honeymoon and he made a special trip to the table to congratulate us and offer champagne or a dessert to celebrate our occasion. It truly was a memorial dinner and hopefully in the future we will be able to visit Halls Chop house again

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service and a great way to celebrate

Dined on May 16, 2016

We were so impressed with our night at Halls. The staff were very friendly and knew we were there to celebrate our anniversary. The owner gave us a special greeting and stopped by our table to congratulate us and check on us. All the wait staff were very helpful. And to top it all off, the food is excellent. Best steaks we've ever had.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great celebration

Dined on May 16, 2016

We were celebrating our 35th anniversary and were treated so special!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, but sets the bar for service!

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Service simply can't be matched, and the food was fantastic! Can't wait for our second visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hall's was amazing from the moment we wa ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Hall's was amazing from the moment we walked in the front door! The food was delicious and the service was extraordinary. Will most definitely recommend to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything exceeded our already high exp ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Everything exceeded our already high expectations. Service and class were exceptional.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife an I visited on our trip to Char ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

My wife an I visited on our trip to Charleston. This restaurant comes highly rated and it lived up to it's billing. We had fried green tomatoes for an appetizer, it was excellent. I had the she crab soup, very good as well. The filet was perfect and the sides great as well. Best of all is the ambiance. I met two of the Hall family and they were very warm and inviting. I love these kind of places, you can feel the pride of the employees.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Steak House in Charleston

Dined on May 15, 2016

Awesome dinner like always. Our waiter Zach took very good care of us like he always does. Changed things up this time and got the dry aged ribeye, delicious. My only complaint is that I could not eat all of eat

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best dining experiences we've ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

One of the best dining experiences we've ever had! Recommend Hall's to anyone looking for a culinary experience and mouthwatering dishes. The steaks are extraordinary!!

food5
ambience5
service5

We went for Brunch and the Gospel singin ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We went for Brunch and the Gospel singing. Naturally noise level is higher downstairs but we have ate upstairs in the past, which isn't noisy. We requested downstairs so we could enjoy the music. We go every year to Halls when we visit Charleston. Every aspect of it is excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Halls

Dined on May 15, 2016

Loved returning Halls with my friends and can't wait go again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday brunch gospel choir a treat! And ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Sunday brunch gospel choir a treat! And the grits are to die for

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were both fantastic. T ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food and service were both fantastic. The owners obviously know and care as they personally greet every diner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.