About Halls Chophouse

434 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Halls Chophouse is American-Fine Dining, serving prime steaks, Lowcountry and fresh seafood specialties in an energetic, visually striking environment. Complemented by signature desserts, an extensive wine list, a vibrant bar and innovative, rich decor true to old-world steakhouses, Halls Chophouse is the latest restaurant offering in the heart of Charleston's Upper King Street design and dining district. A traditional American steakhouse with superior service and a knowledgeable staff, Halls Chophouse offers a classic and comfortable dining experience that will entice our guests to visit and enjoy time after time. We offer 2 private dining rooms for groups of up to 32 guests each with audio visual capabilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight, Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm.
Bar is open Monday - Saturday starting at 4pm to close and 10:00am to close on Sundays!

Cross Street:
John St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 727-0090

Website:
http://hallschophouse.com/

Catering:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Parking Details:
http://hallschophouse.com/contact-us#parking

Executive Chef:
Matthew Niessner

Private Party Facilities:
Business, social, or whatever the occasion, Hall’s Chophouse is the place for your next event. Our three Private Rooms can hold up to 40 people. State-of-the-art AV equipment and flat screens are also available to help you with any presentation needs. Set menus for large groups also available.

For private dining, groups, banquets, receptions and event reservations please call us at
(843) 727-0090.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Hall: 8437270090

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Restaurant Photos

She Crab Soup
Petite Filet 8 Oz
strawberry shortcake
Dry Aged Bone In Ribeye And 16 Oz Lobster Tail
Fried Green Tomatoes
Beet Salad With Warm Brie Dressing
Fillet Mighon Steak
Oysters Rockerfeller
Crab Cake Benedict
Medium Rare Aged Ribeye with Sauteed Button Mushrooms & Basil Roasted Tomato - How Friday night Dinner was Done!
Burger
NY Steak
Ny Strip And Creamed Corn
Traditional Eggs Benedict
Tomahawk Bone-In Ribeye
Red Velvet Cake

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Halls Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Food
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
12 More
Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Best Value
South Carolina
Steakhouse
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Best Value
Charleston
Romantic
Charleston
Special Occasion
Charleston
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Special Occasion (557)
Romantic (355)
Fit for Foodies (309)
See All
Notable Wine List (271)
Hot Spot (196)
Good for Groups (194)
Vibrant Bar Scene (175)
Neighborhood Gem (146)
Great for Brunch (133)
Good for Anniversaries (107)
Good for a Date (98)
Good for Birthdays (77)
Worth the Drive (58)
Business Meals (46)
Late-night Find (44)
Live Music (43)
Great for Lunch (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Historic (30)
Authentic (30)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Local Ingredients (27)
Fun (26)
Bar Seating (24)
People Watching (23)
Cozy (23)
Comfort Food (22)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Kid-friendly (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Outstanding Value (16)
Happy Hour (14)
Scenic View (12)
Family Style (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Private Room (7)
Casual (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great Beer (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Spicy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
6978 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was delicious, but what made the ex ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 2 days ago

Food was delicious, but what made the experience the best was meeting the owner who was very kind and there to help his staff. We loved that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good customer service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Very good customer service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were made most welcome better than an ...

 
 (Cornwall)
·Dined 3 days ago

We were made most welcome better than anywhere else,and we have visited all the top restaurants in CHARLESTON and this was the best. Food was excellent, staff faultless and the air conditioning was not to cold as to spoil the evening as was many places,what more can you say!!! Well done to the Hall family for keeping up good old fashion business sense you deserve your success, you work very hard maintaining the level of service you deliver.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved this place! It's a bit pricey b ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined 3 days ago

We loved this place! It's a bit pricey but well worth it if you want a fine dining experience. The owner greeted everyone as we walked in and each member of the staff tried to make sure that we had a special experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly staff! Food is good... Pri ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

Very friendly staff! Food is good... Prices a bit high!.....

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was like no other. Truly uni ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service was like no other. Truly unique and family owned and operated. Everyone in there has great attention to detail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress and everyone we came in contact ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Waitress and everyone we came in contact was very nice, They gave us superior service!! Definitely would recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Greeted by one of the owners at front do ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

Greeted by one of the owners at front door, nice touch. Asked if it was a special occasion. It was our anniversary. We were seated and treated to a nice glass of champagne. Our sever Candace was knowledgeable,attentive and very friendly. The food was excellent. Pricey but you can see that from the menu,but well worth it for a special occasion. Would return for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An exceptional restaurant that offers th ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

An exceptional restaurant that offers the finest cuisine on the east coast. The staff were very courteous and friendly and very engaging. First class all the way.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful restaurant! Great steaks co ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

A wonderful restaurant! Great steaks cooked to perfection; delicious sides; desserts to die for. Amazingly attentive service. I will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time to Halls Chophouse, but w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our first time to Halls Chophouse, but we will definitely be back. Very friendly, Billy Hall introduced himself when we entered and thanked us for coming as we left. The meat cuts were excellent and the service was first-rate. Entrees are a little pricey, but they try to compensate with reasonably priced appetizers and sides. Wine choices were also reasonably priced. On the whole, well worth it.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Historic, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter went out of his way, food and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Our waiter went out of his way, food and drinks were fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food and service could not be better ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The food and service could not be better. 5 of 5 stars well deserved.

ONLY nit was the live music wafting from the ground floor to the main dining room on the second floor was a tad loud. My wife and I love music, particularly live, but the music gentleman's rendition of "Here Comes the Sun". (G. Harrison RIP) wasn't written to be cranked up on a bad amp overcome by high volume. Musician was talented, but please turn down the volume.

Food for foodies, service impeccable, we will come back, but please turn down the volume!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Natalie and Justin were awesome servers. ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Natalie and Justin were awesome servers. We always have a perfect time and my visiting mother refuses to go anywhere else. It always feels like home.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Live Sports, People Watching, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was absolutely amazing! Best food I'v ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

It was absolutely amazing! Best food I've had in Charleston!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing. Such good service. Wonderful pl ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Amazing. Such good service. Wonderful place. Nothing but great things to say. Steaks are to die for.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our 17th anniversary and h ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We celebrated our 17th anniversary and had a wonderful time. The food was exceptional, the service was wonderful. We had a great time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the Hall family and their person ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We love the Hall family and their personal touch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Sunday Gospel brunch. Service a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Amazing Sunday Gospel brunch. Service and food were impeccable!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my third time eating at Hall's. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was my third time eating at Hall's. First two times were amazing. Wonderful food and phenomenal service. This time was OK. The food as always is exceptional and the owners are very attentive to the patrons. I believe our waiter was either new or not in the mood to work that day. We went for the Gospel Brunch, and he was less than attentive. Which is a shame because we have always said Hall's Chophouse is an experience. So I left just a bit disappointed that we did not have the same service we had expected especially since I had bragged on Hall's so much and took my mother who was visiting from out of state.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Historic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This dining experience was everything de ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This dining experience was everything described to me. The food, service, ambience (Sunday Gospel Brunch) was fantabulous! Everyone was especially attentive. I had left the building and Phillip Hall caught up with me to thank me and welcome me back. For sure I'll be back and so will others whom I've shared this.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, Great Service. Made our anni ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great food, Great Service. Made our anniversary extra special. Like family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service and food. Gospel sing ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Fantastic service and food. Gospel singing was a special treat. We will definitely do it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I visited Charleston rece ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My husband and I visited Charleston recently and went to the Sunday gospel breakfast/brunch. It was a great experience. Food was delicious and staff couldn't be nicer. Would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pretty expensive but well worth it. Lobs ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Pretty expensive but well worth it. Lobster Mac and cheese is a must try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food and service. Believe the ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Fantastic food and service. Believe the entire staff wished us a Happy Anniversary and received complimentary champagne. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing! Incredible favors all cooked to ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Amazing! Incredible favors all cooked to your specifications. The quality of the filet was superb and the desserts were fabulous.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always exceptional food and service! Al ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Always exceptional food and service! Always!!!

Food and service consistently wonderful.

Favorite Charleston restaurant!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best steakhouses in the count ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

One of the best steakhouses in the country. Bill Hall is a true pro. Come to Charleston, come to Hall's Chophouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Halls is one of the best steakhouses in ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Halls is one of the best steakhouses in America. The food, ambiance, and attention to detail on service were second to no place I have been. You will not be disappointed with any aspect of your dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. The owners and staff ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent service. The owners and staff make every person who walks in the door feel special from start to finish. Loved our experience. Will certainly go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the best dining experien ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This was one of the best dining experiences I have ever had. I try to take advantage of Charleston's Restaurant Week and my friends and I chose Hall's. Greeted by the owner was so welcoming. It felt truly genuine! Many servers to meet your every need...and all so friendly and professional! The food was delicious ! The calamari appetizer and shrimp (huge) appetizer were delicious! Entrees and dessert did not disappoint! Yummy😄! As we departed, the owner came to personally say "thank you" and "good-bye". Wow! Incredible customer service! This is how you run a business! Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were visiting from out of town and tr ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We were visiting from out of town and tried out Halls for Restaurant Week. Great food and ambiance!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was a superb dining experience as alw ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

It was a superb dining experience as always! Halls never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience. Only complaint ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great dining experience. Only complaint would be the noise level.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Great food, terrific service, excellent ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great food, terrific service, excellent music... But too noisy..: my only complaint. It might have been the huge table near us, however, I prefer some cozier tables / booths in a place like this. Overall.. Exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went to calibrate a birthday a few days ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Went to calibrate a birthday a few days past. We had an awesome dinner, great service. Live music in the back ground , great time.

Wonder why we wait for special occasions, duh no brainier. Need to go there more!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food and service is always superb at ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food and service is always superb at Halls. The bar menu is also good if you just want to pop in for drinks and a bite to eat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Great Steaks, great service, pric ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Always Great Steaks, great service, pricey but worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing steaks. The rest of the food was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Amazing steaks. The rest of the food was very good but did not separate itself from places such as capital grille. The service of the friendly and welcoming staff was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.