About Halls Chophouse

434 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Halls Chophouse is American-Fine Dining, serving prime steaks, Lowcountry and fresh seafood specialties in an energetic, visually striking environment. Complemented by signature desserts, an extensive wine list, a vibrant bar and innovative, rich decor true to old-world steakhouses, Halls Chophouse is the latest restaurant offering in the heart of Charleston's Upper King Street design and dining district. A traditional American steakhouse with superior service and a knowledgeable staff, Halls Chophouse offers a classic and comfortable dining experience that will entice our guests to visit and enjoy time after time. We offer 2 private dining rooms for groups of up to 32 guests each with audio visual capabilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight, Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm.
Bar is open Monday - Saturday starting at 4pm to close and 10:00am to close on Sundays!

Cross Street:
John St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 727-0090

Website:
http://hallschophouse.com/

Catering:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Parking Details:
http://hallschophouse.com/contact-us#parking

Executive Chef:
Matthew Niessner

Private Party Facilities:
Business, social, or whatever the occasion, Hall’s Chophouse is the place for your next event. Our three Private Rooms can hold up to 40 people. State-of-the-art AV equipment and flat screens are also available to help you with any presentation needs. Set menus for large groups also available.

For private dining, groups, banquets, receptions and event reservations please call us at
(843) 727-0090.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Hall: 8437270090x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Restaurant Photos

Petite Filet 8 Oz
She Crab Soup
strawberry shortcake
Dry Aged Bone In Ribeye And 16 Oz Lobster Tail
Fried Green Tomatoes
Beet Salad With Warm Brie Dressing
Fillet Mighon Steak
Crab Cake Benedict
Oysters Rockerfeller
Medium Rare Aged Ribeye with Sauteed Button Mushrooms & Basil Roasted Tomato - How Friday night Dinner was Done!
Burger
Ny Strip And Creamed Corn
NY Steak
Traditional Eggs Benedict
Tomahawk Bone-In Ribeye
Red Velvet Cake

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Halls Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Food
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
12 More
Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Best Value
South Carolina
Steakhouse
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Best Value
Charleston
Notable Wine List
Charleston
Special Occasion
Charleston
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

special occasion (567)
fit for foodies (386)
romantic (328)
See All
notable wine list (289)
good for groups (236)
hot spot (226)
vibrant bar scene (188)
neighborhood gem (172)
great for brunch (160)
great for lunch (50)
late-night find (50)
kid-friendly (19)
scenic view (15)
great for outdoor dining (5)
Sort By:
Newest
6497 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Plenty of good food, and service; howeve ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Plenty of good food, and service; however the noise level was too high to have a conversation at a table for four. All in all a good one time experience but I wouldn't go back.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is the greatest dining experience in ...

Dined 3 days ago

It is the greatest dining experience in Charleston. I would recommend to everyone.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Halls is literally the best restaurant i ...

Dined 4 days ago

Halls is literally the best restaurant in Charleston. I am local here, and when I want to go out and take my lady or my friends out for the best meal ever, it is Halls all the way. 5⭐️ service and 5⭐️ food. Billy Hall rocks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great dinner to celebrate my da ...

Dined 4 days ago

We had a great dinner to celebrate my dads 75th. Exceptional service along with exceptional food made for a great night. They even threw in a flute of champagne and a dessert for us on account of the birthday. Not cheap but well worth the money. Or waiter even mailed us a hand written than you note 2 days later, pretty special.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were planning a vacation t ...

Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I were planning a vacation to Charleston, SC and made reservations at Hall's based on the numerous good reviews on the web. We were not disappointed at all. The services was excellent, the food was better than the service and the ambiance was fantastic. The meal presentation prior to ordering was really helpful. The waiter went over each protein, giving the specific traits associated with that type and cut of meat. Both my wife and I, had our steaks prepared perfectly! It was a great experience!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Incredible food and service! Very atten ...

Dined 5 days ago

Incredible food and service! Very attentive waitstaff and superb food! Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vacationing in Charleston, great steak h ...

Dined 5 days ago

vacationing in Charleston, great steak house the staff was the best.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an all around excellent experienc ...

Dined 5 days ago

It was an all around excellent experience! From the moment we walked in the door until we left. The service at our table was attentive - and I noted great attention to detail by the manager - always walking around, further straightening already perfect table settings. Our steaks were superb and the Brussels sprouts were awesome. The restaurant is "club" like with beautiful wood and oil paintings. I would definitely go again on another visit to Charleston and would confidently recommend it to friends. Go Halls!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best dining experiences I've ...

Dined 6 days ago

One of the best dining experiences I've had.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were excited about going to Halls, ha ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

We were excited about going to Halls, having read a lot of favorable reviews. But the experience was sooo much better! Billy greeted my wife and I at the door and learned we were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. When we were seated, Billy treated us to complimentary champaign. It was perhaps the best we've ever had. Rob waited on us. He has been with the 'Hall's family' for 4-years. He educated us on all the different menu options, even taking time to discuss the different cuts of meats and how the dry aged meat vs. wet aged differ in taste. Rob recommended we split a porterhouse steak and share a number of sides, including mushrooms and onions, broccolini, and fried Brussel sprouts. When the food came it was amazing. When I say amazing, I mean everything. You would never expect mushrooms and onions to be spectacular. Even they were. The steak was cooked to perfection and they even sliced it before bringing it to the table. The service was excellent. Rob is top notch and so is the entire staff. After dinner we decided not to eat desert. We were too full. But Rob wanted to make the occasion special, so he brought us an amazing adult milk shake named after a patron that recently passed away. Complete with 2 straws. It, too, was incredible. As we were leaving Billy thanked us for spending our special occasion with them - and he really meant it. Do yourself a favor and enjoy the Halls experience. It is incredible!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best plce I've ever been too. Owner was ...

Dined 6 days ago

Best plce I've ever been too. Owner was amazing. Would recommend to anyone

food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite place to eat of all time!!

Dined 6 days ago

My favorite place to eat of all time!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was incredible. The food was ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was incredible. The food was excellent. Everyone went above board to welcome us. We let our waiter know that we were celebrating our anniversary. Before the night was over, everyone from the owner to the manager, had stopped by our table to congratulate us on our marriage anniversary. The staff goes to so much trouble in explaining the difference in the cut of steaks, and the cooking of those steaks. If you are looking for a memorable experience, look no further.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow!! Everyone said we needed to go and ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Wow!! Everyone said we needed to go and I'm so happy we did. Father's Day dinner with kids and they catered perfectly to us. Steaks were perfection!

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Lots of new staff I noticed. Communicat ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Lots of new staff I noticed. Communicating better so that customers get the full experience. Thanks for the boss for making sure we were happy even though it was on our way out. Thanks for the fireball shots & choc cake! I really appreciate that since I brought new friends to experience the Halls Experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service. Great food. A great F ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful service. Great food. A great Father's Day and Birthday celebration.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Miranda was very attentive ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our server, Miranda was very attentive to our needs. We were there to celebrate Father's Day. The gospel group was awesome , very friendly and welcoming. The manager came by our table to welcome us, he also stopped by several times to be sure we were being taken care of and ask if we enjoyed ourselves. Everyone was friendly. We will be back again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always. Made for a great Fat ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing as always. Made for a great Father's Day Brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, the service was phenomenal! T ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

As always, the service was phenomenal! The atmosphere was very welcoming, and the gospel singers were amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the Best restaurant I have di ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Absolutely the Best restaurant I have dined in!!! Fantastic Service and great quality of Food. I will return the next time I'm in Charleston!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Our service was fantastic! The whiskey b ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our service was fantastic! The whiskey bread pudding was the standout dish!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you want FANTASTIC service, delicious ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

If you want FANTASTIC service, delicious food in an upscale atmosphere this is your place!!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have visited Hall's Chopho ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

My wife and I have visited Hall's Chophouse a few times, and every time the service is over-the-top (in a good way), the food is outstanding, and the atmosphere is lively and energetic. We each had the 12 oz bone-in filet, and it was worth every penny (make sure to get the truffle butter, when you're paying $65 per steak what's another $3?!). Don't go if you're a cheapskate, this really isn't the place. Also, be sure to make reservations a few weeks in advance of you want a time between 6:30 and 8:30.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wow. What a wonderful evening. Billy H ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Wow. What a wonderful evening. Billy Hall was so gracious and welcoming. He greeted us at the door, checked on us periodically and made our 13th anniversary very special. And our server Charlie was phenomenal. He was very helpful and courteous and always there to meet our needs. Can't wait to go back. Did I say I had the best steak I've ever eaten? Out of this world.

food5
ambience5
service5

The Wagyu beef was amazing!

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

The Wagyu beef was amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Filet and bone in filet were both amazin ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Filet and bone in filet were both amazing. The service was top notch starting with the owner greeting us at the door and ensuring everything with our experience was perfect. I can see why the place is so popular.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best food experiences of my l ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

One of the best food experiences of my life. The Hall's make sure you are taken care of and personally come to everyone's table to check on you and make sure all your needs are met. The tomahawk ribeye was outstanding as well as all the other meals ordered at the table. Great service staff all around as well. Now I know why they are rated so high nationally.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a must do in Charleston - a 5 st ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This is a must do in Charleston - a 5 star restaurant; great service, food, cocktails and dessert

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

WONDERFUL as always. Going back again n ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

WONDERFUL as always. Going back again next month.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great southern steak house! Great appet ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great southern steak house! Great appetizers... Fun bar for an after dinner drink.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was over the top in every ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Our experience was over the top in every way! From the owner Tommy meeting us and others at the front door to our fabulous waiter, Justin, taking care of our every need, in the most engaging way! Our entire party rated it "best meal out ever!" I've only been too one restaurant that rivaled Hall's... And that was Hall's in Greenville! Great job!

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!! Everyone we had interaction wi ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Amazing!! Everyone we had interaction with there was beyond professional and caring.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding restaurant with best food in ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Outstanding restaurant with best food in the City. A true family feel and unparalleled quality. Chicago has nothing on theses folks when it comes to steak. Only downside is the noise level but not too bothersome and somewhat depends on section of the restaurant. Overall superb

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Overall great dinner but the tables next ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Overall great dinner but the tables next to the bar are not the best

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were met at the door, where my wife, ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We were met at the door, where my wife, who normally does not do this, revealed that it was our anniversary. After much celebration of our longevity, we received champagne and dessert on the house, along with our excellent meal. No elf food here! We realize that all guests receive such treatment, but it still felt good. Great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the person delivering your water to ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

From the person delivering your water to the server to the owner the professionalism and kindness is out of the world. It is a must stop anytime we are near Charleston! Can get quite pricy but when the service, food and ambience is this good we don't mind paying for it. 5 stars hands down!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in Charleston. Loved it ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Best restaurant in Charleston. Loved it, brought a group to celebrate a new business opening and birthday!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit. Very welcoming. Staf ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

First time visit. Very welcoming. Staff was friendly, offering advice and recommendations when asked. Best prime rib

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We always love going to Hall's for a gre ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We always love going to Hall's for a great meal! Three of us had prime rib that was outstanding and another ordered the grouper special as she doesnt eat red meat. Grouper was tasty but slightly over cooked. Stick with steaks here, they are out of this world! Service was impeccable and we didnt feel rushed at all even though the restaurant was packed with customers waiting...

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went there for our 25th wedding annivers ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Went there for our 25th wedding anniversary dinner and the food was outstanding. Our server Charlie was also outstanding. Will definitely dine there again. It was the best meal I had in Charleston!

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.