About Halls Chophouse

434 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Halls Chophouse is American-Fine Dining, serving prime steaks, Lowcountry and fresh seafood specialties in an energetic, visually striking environment. Complemented by signature desserts, an extensive wine list, a vibrant bar and innovative, rich decor true to old-world steakhouses, Halls Chophouse is the latest restaurant offering in the heart of Charleston's Upper King Street design and dining district. A traditional American steakhouse with superior service and a knowledgeable staff, Halls Chophouse offers a classic and comfortable dining experience that will entice our guests to visit and enjoy time after time. We offer 2 private dining rooms for groups of up to 32 guests each with audio visual capabilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight, Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm.
Bar is open Monday - Saturday starting at 4pm to close and 10:00am to close on Sundays!

Cross Street:
John St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 727-0090

Website:
http://hallschophouse.com/

Catering:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Parking Details:
http://hallschophouse.com/contact-us#parking

Executive Chef:
Matthew Niessner

Private Party Facilities:
Business, social, or whatever the occasion, Hall’s Chophouse is the place for your next event. Our three Private Rooms can hold up to 40 people. State-of-the-art AV equipment and flat screens are also available to help you with any presentation needs. Set menus for large groups also available.

For private dining, groups, banquets, receptions and event reservations please call us at
(843) 727-0090.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Hall: 8437270090

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Restaurant Photos

Petite Filet 8 Oz
She Crab Soup
strawberry shortcake
Dry Aged Bone In Ribeye And 16 Oz Lobster Tail
Fried Green Tomatoes
Beet Salad With Warm Brie Dressing
Fillet Mighon Steak
Oysters Rockerfeller
Crab Cake Benedict
Medium Rare Aged Ribeye with Sauteed Button Mushrooms & Basil Roasted Tomato - How Friday night Dinner was Done!
Burger
NY Steak
Ny Strip And Creamed Corn
Traditional Eggs Benedict
Tomahawk Bone-In Ribeye
Red Velvet Cake

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Halls Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Food
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
12 More
Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Best Value
South Carolina
Steakhouse
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Best Value
Charleston
Romantic
Charleston
Special Occasion
Charleston
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Special Occasion (569)
Romantic (349)
Fit for Foodies (342)
See All
Notable Wine List (282)
Good for Groups (212)
Hot Spot (209)
Vibrant Bar Scene (178)
Neighborhood Gem (162)
Great for Brunch (132)
Late-night Find (44)
Great for Lunch (37)
Kid-friendly (22)
Scenic View (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
6824 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

By far the best service and food quality ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined a day ago

By far the best service and food quality that you can experience. Every visit you make to Halls you feel like the most important person in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What an incredible experience. By far t ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 2 days ago

What an incredible experience. By far the best meal I have ever had. So worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Widely recognized as a top 10 steakhouse ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

Widely recognized as a top 10 steakhouse in America, and dining here you know why. What separates it from many of the others is personalized service. It was my first time there and Billy Hall treated me like an old friend. He treats everyone this way but it feels genuine. Staff is excellent, food is excellent. I don't think I'd bring kids here because they just can't appreciate it, although I'm sure they're welcome. Very spendy but very special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I celebrated our 43rd annive ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I celebrated our 43rd anniversary at Hall's Chophouse. The food and service were excellent. The manager went out of his way to make our evening unforgettable. We really enjoyed the dinner and evening.

Thanks.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was fantastic as always, but unfort ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was fantastic as always, but unfortunately our server was not quite as good as usual. We have come to expect a certain level of service at Hall's - and this time was just a bit lacking.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Best steak I have ever eaten combines wi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Best steak I have ever eaten combines with a wonderful warm atmosphere and a stellar staff!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Halls is our top choice for dining in Ch ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Halls is our top choice for dining in Charleston. The food and service are great and they go out of their way to make you feel especially welcome. We're sold.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was superb, as everyone who goes ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service was superb, as everyone who goes there notes. But food was only fair, and steaks, their claim to fame were not that great. Tom Hall, an owner, meets you at the door and is a supremely warm human. Makes you more at home than in your own home, probably. However, food is not nearly worth the very high price, except for a very special occasion.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

I'm a steakhouse guy. The food and servi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

I'm a steakhouse guy. The food and service was as good as any in the country. Outstanding in every way. If you're in Charleston and like steak, you must go to Hall's.

Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, service and stories beau ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food, service and stories beautiful restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just a couple of disappointing points. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Just a couple of disappointing points. They had the reservation well in advance but when we arrived, they did not have a table set up for 6 as requested. Not a big deal but a little miss. I also told them it was our anniversary and I half expected some type of acknowledgement....a mini cake with a candle or something like that but it simply went unnoticed.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great service and hospitality! It was m ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great service and hospitality! It was my dad's first time dining and he had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wait staff was great. They treated my w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wait staff was great. They treated my wife and I very well from start to finish. They knew it was our anniversary so they had complimentary champagne and dessert. Food was outstanding. Presentation was outstanding as well. Overall, one of the best dining experiences we've had together!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was really great, not overbe ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service was really great, not overbearing. They made us feel very special without over-doing it. The steak was other-worldy, the accompaniments were so-so for the price. I would go again, but only for a special occasion.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Halls does not disappoint!! One of the b ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Halls does not disappoint!! One of the best steaks I've ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was absolutely spectacular a ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service was absolutely spectacular and the food...wow! Every second of the evening was perfect.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recently on a business trip to Charlesto ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined 6 days ago

Recently on a business trip to Charleston, SC I had the pleasant opportunity to dine at the Hall's Chop House on King Street downtown. The restaurant was walking distance from the hotel that was hosting our business conference. The menu was extremely impressive with all the different steaks and of course seafood. I had the filet which was cooked medium rare (perfect) with great flavor and my friend had the grouper which he stated was delicious. We shared two side dishes due to each side dish feeds at least two people. The service was outstanding as well as the servers were professional, friendly and prompt which made for a great dining experience.

I will most certainly return to Halls Chop House in the future!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal. Loved it ! Tried the dry ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Excellent meal. Loved it ! Tried the dry aged beef and it was fabulous. Wil definitely have it again. Can't wait to go back ...

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

What to say about this wonderful place? ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

What to say about this wonderful place? The food was out of this world delicious ! The service was outstanding! The ambiance was amazing!

I'd recommend this restaurant in a heartbeat!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate here during a trip to Charleston. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We ate here during a trip to Charleston. It not an inexpensive meal, but it is a wonderful, special occasion meal!

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our second time at Hall's--the steak was ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our second time at Hall's--the steak was absolutely fantastic again, but the service and atmosphere weren't as impressive. Certainly not bad, just not to match. Be prepared to almost yell to talk across the table and a staff that struggles to operate amid such a crowd. I believe they pack too many people in the rooms they have which causes both problems.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

To whom it may concern, My wife and I c ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

To whom it may concern,

My wife and I came to this lovely restaurant on Sunday for brunch after church before a late afternoon matinee. The ambiance was great, the mood was special, service outstanding, food and beverage tasty and good. My wife and I was treated as if we were at home (very welcomed). The Gospel music gave the atmosphere a feeling realness and color far beyond words.

Ron Perry

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I never visit Charleston without a stop ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I never visit Charleston without a stop at the Halls Chophouse. Never a disappointment. Sunday brunch a real treat with the gospel singers

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Live Music, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would highly recommend this place for ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I would highly recommend this place for Sunday Gospel brunch. The owners circled the restaurant and made us feel very welcomed and the gospel music really added to the experience!

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

just great ,will be back................ ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

just great ,will be back..................it was everything we expected and over the years enjoyed

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hall's has done it again! From the gree ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Hall's has done it again! From the greeting at the front door, the excellent service and the superb food, Hall's has it all. Learning a lesson from past visits, we opted not to order an appetizer- their portions are good size and I can never finish my meal if I eat an appetizer. Two in our party had the salmon which was excellent. It was cooked perfectly, very moist and tasteful. I ordered the special, a sautéed grouper. The presentation was excellent and the meal as delicious.

While certainly not a cheap dinner, it was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely sublime,as was t ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was absolutely sublime,as was the service and presentation. The only thing I wish I had known was that is was slacks and button-down shirt kinda place. Dress appropriately.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an incredible restaurant! From the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

What an incredible restaurant! From the moment we arrived - 30 minutes early for our 8:00 reservation, we were graciously greeted and immediately seated. From our arrival to departure, everyone we encountered or even passed was warm and welcoming - saying hello or, at the very least, making eye contact and smiling.

The waitress Sara was so helpful, explaining the different cuts of steak and the two types of aging. She was so thorough and informative, allowing us plenty of time for questions and contemplating! When my husband explained that he is not a meat eater, she checked with him to make sure he would not be uncomfortable with her display of the steak options. And she was just as helpful in helping him with his seafood selection.

The food was absolutely superb, and I can honestly say that my ribeye (dry aged) was probably the best steak I ever had! I was bound and determined to enjoy every morsel, putting my veggies on the back burner. However the pepper jack creamed corn and asparagus with hollandaise sauce were so delicious that I ate every bit of them as well

What a wonderful experience - beaUtifully decorated, comfortable seating, phenomenal food, and amazing personal attention. No wonder Halls is nationally ranked in the top 10. They absolutely deserve their stellar rating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Justin the bartender makes a great cucum ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Justin the bartender makes a great cucumber martinis!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was fantastic - dining at Ha ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The service was fantastic - dining at Hall's was a highlight of our trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak we had ever eaten....expensiv ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Best steak we had ever eaten....expensive, but worth it. The sides were large and delicious as well. Service was good, almost seemed like too many people waiting on you, but better than none. the atmosphere is very old school Charleston (we were in the back section, original home). Great for a special occasion or a romantic night out.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hate to say it but, this experience was ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Hate to say it but, this experience was not that fantastic as I had hoped. We had reservations and were greeted by the halls , as most have mentioned, but the dinner itself was below avg especially for the prices being paid at this location. It was my dates birthday and they were aware of this. We ordered Oyster rockafeller appetizer which took over 30 mins to arrive at the table, after which we were told the ticket had been lost in the back and they also comped the dish, and served us a ship cocktail while they saw us waiting so long for the dish to come out

We then continued with some main dishes. My date ordered the Scallops and I ordered the tomahawk steak, when the dishes arrived. My date (who's a chef) noted that her Scallops were cold to the touch, like they were not fired all the way, They were also slightly raw. We sent them back and I ate my tomahawk steak and offered her some, which for being such an expensive cut (90$) , honestly it tasted alright, it was cooked perfectly which I give congrats for but If i had to do it again I would have gotten something else. After some time, her New Scallops arrived, fully cooked this time, and apologies were given all around for the issues our table was having. We were also offered a free dessert and a wine glass on the house for the issues we had. The bill came to about 210$ with tip.. Which honestly I wish we had spent elsewhere that night.

But the fun didn't end there, after going downstairs to the main bar Area, We were addressed by a VERY HAPPY , and red faced Mr Bill Hall, who asked us about dinner and I kind of let him know it was all over the place, he was disappointed and offered a shot of fireball to us, which we accepted, He also then proceeded to be all over my Fiancé , Touching her face 3 times with the back of his hand , after taking the shot we quickly excited and waited for our Uber to arrive With speaking with people outside waiting, we were told its a normal occurrence for Mr Hall to be this way.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

We always enjoy Halls! They do such a b ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We always enjoy Halls! They do such a beautiful job. I wish they had more affordable options on their wine list.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Karen, our server, was knowledgeable and ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Karen, our server, was knowledgeable and efficient....the entire experience, Karen, the food and

the atmosphere were perfect!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the best dining experience I have ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

It was the best dining experience I have ever had! I can’t say enough good things about this place, it is fantastic!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steaks! Had shrimp cocktail a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent steaks! Had shrimp cocktail and fried calamari for appetizers and they were great. Salads were good, not great. Dessert was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best steaks in Charleston .

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Best steaks in Charleston .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never miss a chance to visit. The food i ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Never miss a chance to visit. The food is the best in town! The bartender was friendly and the drinks superb. Wait staff is professional and friendly anticipating what we needed before we could ask. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience.

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Always a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dinner at Hall's Chop House was as p ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Our dinner at Hall's Chop House was as perfect as it gets. The level of service was truly exceptional, the food was outstanding and the ambiance terrific. The somm spent considerable time with us even though we brought our own bottle of wine. The waitstaff were attentive without being overbearing. The food was generous and prepared as requested. Everything was first class, start to finish. I will definitely return to Hall's when in Charleston again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.