About Halls Chophouse

434 King St.
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Halls Chophouse is American-Fine Dining, serving prime steaks, Lowcountry and fresh seafood specialties in an energetic, visually striking environment. Complemented by signature desserts, an extensive wine list, a vibrant bar and innovative, rich decor true to old-world steakhouses, Halls Chophouse is the latest restaurant offering in the heart of Charleston's Upper King Street design and dining district. A traditional American steakhouse with superior service and a knowledgeable staff, Halls Chophouse offers a classic and comfortable dining experience that will entice our guests to visit and enjoy time after time. We offer 2 private dining rooms for groups of up to 32 guests each with audio visual capabilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - Midnight, Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm.
Bar is open Monday - Saturday starting at 4pm to close and 10:00am to close on Sundays!

Cross Street:
John St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 727-0090

Website:
http://hallschophouse.com/

Catering:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Parking Details:
http://hallschophouse.com/contact-us#parking

Executive Chef:
Matthew Niessner

Private Party Facilities:
Business, social, or whatever the occasion, Hall’s Chophouse is the place for your next event. Our three Private Rooms can hold up to 40 people. State-of-the-art AV equipment and flat screens are also available to help you with any presentation needs. Set menus for large groups also available.

For private dining, groups, banquets, receptions and event reservations please call us at
(843) 727-0090.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Hall: 8437270090x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We are able to accommodate private breakfasts, brunch, lunchs and dinners for groups up to 100. Special menu and a la carte menus available.

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Halls Chophouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Food
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
12 More
Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Best Value
South Carolina
Steakhouse
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
Best Food
Charleston
Best Service
Charleston
Best Ambiance
Charleston
Best Value
Charleston
Notable Wine List
Charleston
Special Occasion
Charleston
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

special occasion (589)
fit for foodies (407)
romantic (354)
See All
notable wine list (309)
hot spot (248)
good for groups (235)
vibrant bar scene (206)
neighborhood gem (181)
great for brunch (165)
late-night find (60)
great for lunch (49)
scenic view (16)
kid-friendly (16)
 (13)
great for outdoor dining (5)
 (3)
 (3)
 (3)
 (3)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
6368 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding chophouse. Great steak is ...

vip
Dined a day ago

Outstanding chophouse. Great steak is a given here. They also have exceptional sides. Don't miss the pepper jack corn skillet. Billy Hall is an outstanding host. You feel welcome from the moment you cross his doorway.

food5
ambience5
service5

You'll never find a better steakhouse ex ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

You'll never find a better steakhouse experience!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated my husbands birthday here, th ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Celebrated my husbands birthday here, thank you to the staff for making it so special. Everything we ordered was delicious. We purposely ordered more food than we could eat just so we could have leftovers

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent steaks done perfectly as was t ...

Dined 3 days ago

Excellent steaks done perfectly as was the duck. Tuna dinner was also to to desired temperature service was excellent. Overall a wonderful experience

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Highly recommended. Food excellent. Lo ...

Dined 3 days ago

Highly recommended. Food excellent. Loud for our taste for a quiet Friday night. Lots going on. Service over the top, very attentive. Waitress talked fast so hard for us to keep up. Skillet corn and okra, excellent sides. Expensive but great for a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still stands out in a city of full of fine dining

Dined 4 days ago

If you want Charleston, Halls is the place. I've been to a handful of great steakhouses, including Berns in Tampa, and Halls is right there. With one or both of the Halls brothers personally greeting and serving guests, the ambiance at Halls is a spirited mix of old and new, refined southern charm and family. The service wouldn't matter if the food did not exceed expectations, and the 6 oz filet rivaled my experience at Berns. We'll be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1. Ask to sit up stairs 2 Order the Bis ...

Dined 5 days ago

1. Ask to sit up stairs 2 Order the Bison!!! (It's not on the menu) 3. Be prepared to enjoy yourself!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable Meal for Twenty-Fifth Anniversary

Dined 5 days ago

I discovered Hall's Chophouse on Trip Advisor when I searched for the most recommended Charleston restaurant for a romantic special occasion; I promptly made reservations using Open Table (in February for a May 25 dinner). Other reviews said they were greeted by the owner or the owner's son; I'm not sure who the gentleman was who greeted us at the door (and congratulated us on the way out on our anniversary), but he was extremely kind. We were early (almost an hour) but they graciously seated us upstairs. We received two glasses of complimentary champagne for the occasion; our server was from Russia and was very professional and knowledgeable. As appetizers I had the french onion soup (best I've ever had) and my husband started with the she-crab soup, which he loved. Pricing was a la carte, by the way, but YOLO, and it was our anniversary! We both chose steaks (8 oz. filet for me and the ribeye for my husband) and potatoes (sweet and baked, respectively), and all were amazing. My husband's a steak lover, and he said his ribeye was the best he's eaten in his 48 years! We would have tried some additional sides (which are shareable portions and looked amazing as they passed by on the way to other diners) but we have different tastes and sharing usually doesn't work. We were stuffed anyway! But that didn't keep us from (a complimentary!) dessert--a scrumptious cobbler. Five stars all the way!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Steaks - Bone in Filet - out of this world

Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I visited on our trip to Charleston. This restaurant comes highly rated and it lived up to its billing. We had fried green tomatoes for an appetizer, it was excellent. I had the she crab soup, very good as well. MY wife has the bone in filet mignon was perfect and the sides great as well. Best of all is the ambiance. I met two of the Hall family and they were very warm and inviting. I love this kind of place; you can feel the pride of the employees’. Will definitely be returning on our next visit!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!!!!

Dined 5 days ago

Everything we had was just" WONDERFUL"!! Our server was "THE BEST"!!! Everything we ate was beyond delicious and, we felt, the entire staff was really a group of very welcoming professionals. We also appreciated the information on the web the restaurant gave about parking. This info. was extremely HELPFUL.!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent dining experience

Dined 5 days ago

The steak (a filet) was perfection. The sides were very good, but not great. The service was excellent, both friendly and attentive. It was a wonderful evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

An establishment still practicing all th ...

Dined 6 days ago

An establishment still practicing all that is positive about old school dining. Service was the star here: unintrusive, intelligently schooled, appropriately paced and cordial ... perfect. The food quality was high grade, well executed and entirely enjoyable; grade A, just not A+. Steaks were the marquis, but the menu very well rounded. All of our party enjoyed aged steaks of correct temperature and delectable sides. This is a destination to which we shall return. Tariff is expensive, hence its impact upon the concept of value. The wine list was excellent and well represented. It remains our primary destination in a highly competitive epicurean town for steaks. It is a very pleasurable oasis within the modern over evolved concept of a dining night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose Hall's for our final meal durin ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

We chose Hall's for our final meal during our six night stay in Charleston... It didn't disappoint... The staff truly seem as if they love working there... One of those epic steak house experiences

food5
ambience5
service5

Do yourself a favor - just go!

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Do yourself a favor - just go!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food! Best place we ate at in C ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Fabulous food! Best place we ate at in Charleston!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service, staff and ambiance at Hall' ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The service, staff and ambiance at Hall's was outstanding. However, the food was nothing short of divine. This is a must on anyone's list for the best steak in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We will definitely return!

Dined on May 22, 2016

Wonderful experience! Don't know if I've ever encountered a more attentive and personable manager/owner as Billy Hall. The gospel music brunch did not disappoint. We will definitely return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Everyone on staff was super friendly and ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Everyone on staff was super friendly and welcoming. We had eight entrees, with each one being wonderful. We went for the Gospel Brunch and plan on returning for dinner on our next trip.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My absolutely favorite restaurant...

Dined on May 22, 2016

It has it all! I love the wonderful southern hospitality of the Hall family. Everything on the menu is awesome... & the wine list is superb!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I can not say enough about this place. T ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I can not say enough about this place. The food was incredible and the service was so personal. The owners greet you and make you feel like family. The kitchen was backed which my husband and I were so into each other bc it was our 1 year anniversary that we didn't even notice and they brought out Shea crab soup on the house and one of the owners brought us champagne on the house too. And when we wrapped up they gave us dessert to take home. Our dinning experience here will forever ruin all other restaurants.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was delicious and the service ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Everything was delicious and the service was the best I've ever had anywhere! The creamed corn side was recommended and outstanding, definitely a must. Also the bread pudding dessert was amazing and another must! Loved the live music (piano player)! Would definitely recommend and return again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent staff, service, and food. We ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent staff, service, and food. We mentioned it was our anniversary and the entire wait staff ensured they came by and congratulated us. Billy Jr and the staff made us feel like we were the only ones at the restaurant even though the restaurant was full. The food was superb as usual. Hall's will always be on our list when visiting Charleston. Billy and staff, thank you for the excellent service and making the night special. Your restaurant has become one of our favorite places while in Charleston.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great dinner. Our only slight n ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had a great dinner. Our only slight negative is that upon our greeting at the front we were asked if we were celebrating a special event and we said we were celebrating my husbands 60th birthday. No one followed up or asked if we wanted anything special. Other than that a great dinner with excellent food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

Dined on May 21, 2016

We dine at this restaurant every time we visit Charleston, and it never disappoints us! The service is outstanding. They truly make you think that you are the only diner they are caring for that night. The tuna tartare was the best I've had and the steaks do melt in your mouth. Sides are always good. I'm looking forward to coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hall's Chophouse never disappoints. Our ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Hall's Chophouse never disappoints. Our dinner was fantastic...as always!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

An annoying non-answer from the hostess ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

An annoying non-answer from the hostess to a simple question when we arrived about 40 minutes early set us off on the wrong foot. Ended up have cocktails elsewhere then came back for dinner. Dinner was good as was service but we preferred more innovative southern fare abundantly available in town to the dated experience at Halls. Great steak for sure though.

food5
ambience5
service5

Halls goes above and beyond customer ser ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Halls goes above and beyond customer service. It's a must anytime you visit Charleston

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five stars

Dined on May 20, 2016

We recently visited Hall's Chophouse while in Charleston for our honeymoon. We received some of the best food and customer service we've ever experienced. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Halls is the best of the best!

Dined on May 19, 2016

Billy Hall really makes the Halls Chophouse experience. Never have we experienced such great customer service. The steak is the absolute best you will ever eat! Hands down our favorite place ever.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a special occasion for us. I a ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

This was a special occasion for us. I asked my girlfriend to marry me. The staff helped me as I customized a menu to do the asking for me. They made sure she got the right menu and had the custom ring box on the table for me. The gave us champagne to celebrate the event. Their food is always great. Thanks to Billy and staff for all their hard work to make things wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Halls. We we ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

This was our first visit to Halls. We were celebrating our daughter graduating from MUSC College of Nursing. The entire staff went above and beyond recognizing our daughters accomplishment and making her feel so special! It was an awesome experience with great food!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff at Halls went above and beyond ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The staff at Halls went above and beyond to make our anniversary dinner amazing. Upon arrival we were greeted by one of the Hall family members and took upstairs to enjoy a glass of Champaign to celebrate the occasion while our table was being prepared. We were told happy anniversary by our server and several other staff members once we were seated. The server was extremely knowledgeable and explained all of the steak options to us. In passing another staff member noticed me glancing over the wine list and offered suggestions which were helpful. The attention to detail was so impressive, from pulling out the table to make it easier to sit down to setting the wine bottle down facing us so we could see the label to folding our napkins when we got up from the table. The food was also incredible. My husband and I both got the filet and they were cooked to perfection. Sides are ordered to share. We decided on the asaparagus and mashed potatoes. Both were very good! They also brought us out another round of Champaign at the table to celebrate the occasion and Foie gras with our meal. It was delicious by itself and with the steak. We were too full for dessert but Halls sent us home with a slice of chocolate cake that was pure chocolate heaven. I will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friends Get-together

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

I'm from New York and my friend is from Los Angeles. We meet at least once a year in different parts of the country and this year was Charleston and Savannah. We both loved, loved, loved everything about Hall's. Jeanne Hall greeted us upon entry with her wonderful smile. We waited a few short minutes for our table, which was upstairs (a bit quieter than downstairs). We knew we were in for a real treat from all the attention we received. Hall's is absolutely NOT TO BE MISSED if you are in Charleston. It rivals any NY or LA restaurant, and I wish they were in my neighborhood. Food, service, and ambiance were above the top! We also enjoyed the music. I hope to return some day. Until then, I can only dream.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was beyond amazing. We were tre ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The food was beyond amazing. We were treated exceptionally well. We were there for our honeymoon and the staff sure made us feel special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The staff and the Chophouse itself were ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The staff and the Chophouse itself were outstanding. The steak I ordered (boneless dry aged ribeye) although tasty was not of the flavor or quality of other steakhouses I have visited that were comparable.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eat here. Expensive but worth every penny.

Dined on May 18, 2016

Incredible meal with impeccable service. The dry aged rib eye is a must order

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible food! Best meal I've had in ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Incredible food! Best meal I've had in Charleston. Spicy shrimp app was great and the steaks are unreal. Took it home the leftovers and steak was still great reheated.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the variety on your menu so m ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

We enjoyed the variety on your menu so much we had to return for a second night. Even then we had to take food home both nights. We had read on the internet that Hall's was the number one steakhouse in the United States and my wife and I both agree with the assessment. We made the trip especially from Greensboro, Georgia just to eat at your restaurant. I'm glad that we did. Hopefully we can return again, soon.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

As always. Perfect

Dined on May 17, 2016

As always. Perfect

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hall's Never Disappoints

Dined on May 17, 2016

As always, Hall's Chophouse was amazing. The quality of food and service is unparalleled. This is our go-to spot for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.