About Hallback's Bar & Grill

Hallback's is a family owned establishment that offers American flare mixed with a touch of southern staples. We pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service. The restaurant offers amazing airplane runway views, infused with great food. We’re a family who enjoys preparing amazing dishes, and look forward to meeting and serving your family soon. We hope you enjoy your experience at Hallback’s and we look forward to building relationships and serving your family for many years to come. Eat well!

3900 Don Emerson Dr.
2nd Floor
Lakeland, FL 33811
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 8:00am - 6:00pm; Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Friday: 11:00am - 12:00am; Saturday: 8:00am - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Drane Field Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(863) 937-8900

Website:
http://www.hallbacksbarandgrill.com/

Catering:
Hallback’s Catering is proud to offer our catering and event services at many of the best special event venues in the Lakeland/Tampa Bay area

Private Party Facilities:
Ask us about renting out the restaurant or airport terminal for your special event. We can cater all needs.

Private Party Contact:
Catering & Event Director: (678) 994-7700

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Hallback's Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (8)
People Watching (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
See All
Dancing (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Live Music (5)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Scenic View (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Romantic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Cozy (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Authentic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Private Room (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Family Style (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great Beer (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Spicy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
60 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The atmosphere is just so awesome! The ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The atmosphere is just so awesome! The owner & family are wonderful & very friendly people and they make you feel like you are a part of a big happy family!. I come from Tampa to enjoy the good food and dancing! I have invited a few of my friends and they are inviting their friends and everyone loves the atmosphere. Kudos to the Hallbach Family! You make us proud. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Dancing, Open Kitchen, Fun, Live Music, People Watching, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every one in our group had a blast. The ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Every one in our group had a blast. The food was excellent and they danced the night away with ole school music and line dancing. We will be back to Hallsback.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Casual, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Dancing, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy going to Hallbacks, i ha ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I always enjoy going to Hallbacks, i have had several reservations for a lot of friends, co-workers and acquaintances. Everyone enjoy this dining/partying experience. Thanks,ChaCha

Tags: Private Room, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Dancing, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Scenic View, People Watching, Romantic, Live Music, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Fun, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It started out horrible I had reservatio ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 19, 2016

It started out horrible I had reservations for my husband's birthday and they stated I was not on the reservation list. The food was okay and entertainment was great the service was excellent

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

It was a birthday celebration and dancin ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It was a birthday celebration and dancing...a LOT of fun!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Authentic, Casual, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Fun, Tapas, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Dancing, Live Sports, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great! Service was horrible! ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Food was great! Service was horrible! Staff has poor attitudes and act like they are doing you a favor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

No one was in restaurant when we arrived ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 30, 2016

No one was in restaurant when we arrived.

Did not go over specials.

Menus were dirty

ask about drink selection server did not offer drink menu. I walked over to bar and retrieved drink menu

I ordered tea and sever never offered to refill during our one hour plus stay

Appetizer was edible but Sysco or GFS.

Wife had pulled pork sandwich and I had 1lb brisket

Sandwich was cold.

Brisket was thickly sliced and covered in an overly sweet bbq sauce.

Very disappointed, We spent close to 70 dollars and would have been better off staying home

I do not give poor reviews lightly and always try to find something positive about everywhere I go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Great place for 35 and over. Will return ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great place for 35 and over. Will return again. DJ played all school which was great. Danced for the first time in years.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Dancing, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I always have a great time at Hallbacks. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I always have a great time at Hallbacks.. atmosphere is awesome ..bring all your friends who love to have fun

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We didn't receive correct order but was ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We didn't receive correct order but was fixed. Disappointed in pulled pork sandwich. Wasn't very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

I've always enjoyed the food and atmosph ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 28, 2016

I've always enjoyed the food and atmosphere. I shared the experience with several friends they now go without me with their family and friends. Great place!!! I will definitely keep going back.

Tags: Live Music, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Casual, Family Style, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Dancing, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went late Saturday afternoon. Seated at ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went late Saturday afternoon. Seated at window, with view of airport, not much going on there. Restaurant was mostly empty, but service was very slow and not very friendly, either. Think a smile would be nice, blond haired waitress! Seated, given a menu, drink order delivered, waitress disappeared for a goodwhile. When she finally returned to take order, however, two of us wanted pulled pork, one of their specialties. Now, she tells us they 'ran out' of that. Not good planning on late Saturday afternoon, me thinks. Anyway, we need to rethink, so she disappears and we have to summon her to reorder. Two of us had ribs, hubby thinks so-so, fatty, dry. I have burger, okay, just not what I wanted. Mac and cheese not bad but 5 bucks for small portion. Won't be back, particularly for service issues.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We have been there a couple of times bef ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We have been there a couple of times before and enjoyed the brisket and I was so hungry for this again I wanted to share with all my friends this mouth watering experience. You didn't let me down it was as wonderful and when we first went there and can't wait to share this wonderful taste sensation with others again. They all said it was worth the drive from Wesley Chapel. This time we got to meet Mr. Hallback. Great job!!

Thanks again!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall it was a good experience. I was ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Overall it was a good experience. I was a little disappointed about the entertainment. Their website advertises live music on Fridays, but they only had a DJ that night. The server said that one has to call for live music availability, that's not advertised as such on their website. They were hospitable and accommodating though.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my third trip to Hallback's and ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was my third trip to Hallback's and I'm always pleased with the food, service and value. I've recommended this restaurant to friends and family.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I will not book through OPEN TABLE again ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 25, 2016

I will not book through OPEN TABLE again, as restaurant did not have the reservation!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful selection of home-made tasty s ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful selection of home-made tasty soul food. The prime rib was great, the oxtail and chittlins tasty. Desert choices were a little bit limited, but this was a buffet type meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was great and at a good pri ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 27, 2016

The food was great and at a good price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service great music

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent food and service great music. I to go at least once a month

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food, music, dancing, the overa ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Love the food, music, dancing, the overall atmosphere. Very warm welcoming family owned restaurant. Thank you for making our friends birthday special. May the Lord continue to bless you and your family business.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere was astonishing! They hired a ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Atmosphere was astonishing! They hired a funk, R&B band and they also did a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

there's no brunch

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 10, 2016

The food is excellent but there is no brunch. Breakfast buffet 7-11 and dinner 12ish until 2. Live music is always awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We always enjoy Hallback's with the dinn ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 8, 2016

We always enjoy Hallback's with the dinning and dancing and the food is very good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We enjoyed brunch on Easter Sunday at Ha ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 27, 2016

We enjoyed brunch on Easter Sunday at Hallback's. Food was very tasty, $10 bottomless bloody mary's and entertainment. It was crowded, but they handled seating and service well. Everyone was pleasant and happy to see us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service/Menu

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Let me begin by stating that I have frequented Hallback's Bar and Grill several times and always had an enjoyable time. When we were seated on Friday, we were given a Valentine's Day Menu which included a three course meal. We had three different entrees to choose from. I asked the gentlemen who seated us for the regular menu and he stated that was all that was being offered tonight. My party and I looked around and other patrons had items from the regular menu. I am not sure why we were told one thing which clearly was untrue. My friends have vowed not to return to Hallback's.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

great place to dine and dance

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2016

I had fun as usual great place For The Nightlife of having fun. Bands always great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Hallbacks is a fun place.

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Hallbacks is a great place to go for food and entertainment. The entertainment is only on Fri and Sat nights. Everyone has a great time whether there is live entertainment or a dj. Fun place for dancing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food just ok.

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 15, 2016

Had the trio platter of ribs, brisket and pulled pork. Wondered where this was prepared. So no pit for cooking. Service was real slow even those restaurant was two thirds empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Christmas dinner

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2015

The food and atmosphere were excellent. Our second year having Christmas dinner and they didn't disappoint. They even made accommodations for a friends daughter who came but was limited on food choices due to recent oral surgery. They went above and beyond!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu or buffet offered

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 29, 2015

The buffet needed some additional meat items; however, the dessert offerings were plentiful. The buffet is directed more towards children than to adults.

I suggest that one should check the bill vs the costs stated in the menu. I was told that their pricing was in transition!..Meaning that there was a discrepancy which needed to be corrected before I paid our bill.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Wonderful

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 17, 2015

My girl friends and I had a great time Saturday night dining and dancing at Hallbacks. Great music, food, and fun!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great time

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 10, 2015

Food and service was excellent. Band was wonderful and played lots of great dance music. Everybody was having a great time. We will be back next weekend too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best soul food restaurant in Lakeland

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 27, 2015

Since the day that I went with my family to Hallback's, the restaurant has been a gem that I love to tell people about. I had no idea that Lakeland was holding such an amazing place with chefs who know how to cook better than somebody's grandmother. I recommend Hallback's to everyone I come in contact with. The restaurant is great for family outings, large group get-togethers, food with a friend, and it's also a great date spot.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice place

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 5, 2015

The food is great, the service is wonderful. Great place for the over 50 crowd to have a great time dining and dancing. Love this place. The music seems to be changing for the worst though, at least on Saturday night. Hope they get their regular Saturday night group back soon. Where is Destiny?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The BEST Sunday Brunch buffet around. AB ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 16, 2015

The BEST Sunday Brunch buffet around. ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!! If you leave hungry it's your own fault.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mac & Cheese is the best ever.

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 11, 2015

Mac & Cheese is the best ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Hallback's has a nice view overlooking L ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 26, 2015

Hallback's has a nice view overlooking Lakeland Linder Airport. A hidden gem that provides live entertainment on Friday night and has a very good brisket.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Loveit

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 21, 2015

Enjoyed the music. Food was nicely displayed plentiful and delicious flavor. Try it you will not be disappointed. You will return again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Hallbacks is a hidden treasure

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 4, 2015

The Hallback family has chosen a wonderful spot at the Lakeland Airfield. You can sit and watch planes take off and land. Our salads for lunch were big and packed full of all the goodies listed on the menu vs some restaurants that give you a few of those items throughout the salad. Best homemade mac and cheese also. Server friendly and we will come back when we are visiting here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 29, 2015

Very nice. Pleasant atmosphere, friendly, food tasty, music was soothing. No complaint. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.