About Hallback's Bar & Grill

3900 Don Emerson Dr.
2nd Floor
Lakeland, FL 33811
View Larger Map

Hallback's is a family owned establishment that offers American flare mixed with a touch of southern staples. We pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service. The restaurant offers amazing airplane runway views, infused with great food. We’re a family who enjoys preparing amazing dishes, and look forward to meeting and serving your family soon. We hope you enjoy your experience at Hallback’s and we look forward to building relationships and serving your family for many years to come. Eat well!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Barbecue, American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 8:00am - 6:00pm; Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Friday: 11:00am - 12:00am; Saturday: 8:00am - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Drane Field Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(863) 937-8900

Website:
http://www.hallbacksbarandgrill.com/

Catering:
Hallback’s Catering is proud to offer our catering and event services at many of the best special event venues in the Lakeland/Tampa Bay area

Private Party Facilities:
Ask us about renting out the restaurant or airport terminal for your special event. We can cater all needs.

Private Party Contact:
Catering & Event Director: 6789947700x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Hallback's Bar & Grill
Hallback's Bar & Grill

Hallback's Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Tampa / Central Florida West
Most Booked
Lakeland
Best Restaurants in Lakeland ›

Good for Groups (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Scenic View (6)
See All
Good for Birthdays (6)
Romantic (6)
Fun (5)
Casual (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Dancing (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Live Music (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Cozy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
53 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place for 35 and over. Will return ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great place for 35 and over. Will return again. DJ played all school which was great. Danced for the first time in years.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Dancing, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I always have a great time at Hallbacks. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I always have a great time at Hallbacks.. atmosphere is awesome ..bring all your friends who love to have fun

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We didn't receive correct order but was ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We didn't receive correct order but was fixed. Disappointed in pulled pork sandwich. Wasn't very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

I've always enjoyed the food and atmosph ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I've always enjoyed the food and atmosphere. I shared the experience with several friends they now go without me with their family and friends. Great place!!! I will definitely keep going back.

Tags: Live Music, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Casual, Family Style, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Dancing, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went late Saturday afternoon. Seated at ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went late Saturday afternoon. Seated at window, with view of airport, not much going on there. Restaurant was mostly empty, but service was very slow and not very friendly, either. Think a smile would be nice, blond haired waitress! Seated, given a menu, drink order delivered, waitress disappeared for a goodwhile. When she finally returned to take order, however, two of us wanted pulled pork, one of their specialties. Now, she tells us they 'ran out' of that. Not good planning on late Saturday afternoon, me thinks. Anyway, we need to rethink, so she disappears and we have to summon her to reorder. Two of us had ribs, hubby thinks so-so, fatty, dry. I have burger, okay, just not what I wanted. Mac and cheese not bad but 5 bucks for small portion. Won't be back, particularly for service issues.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We have been there a couple of times bef ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We have been there a couple of times before and enjoyed the brisket and I was so hungry for this again I wanted to share with all my friends this mouth watering experience. You didn't let me down it was as wonderful and when we first went there and can't wait to share this wonderful taste sensation with others again. They all said it was worth the drive from Wesley Chapel. This time we got to meet Mr. Hallback. Great job!!

Thanks again!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall it was a good experience. I was ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Overall it was a good experience. I was a little disappointed about the entertainment. Their website advertises live music on Fridays, but they only had a DJ that night. The server said that one has to call for live music availability, that's not advertised as such on their website. They were hospitable and accommodating though.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my third trip to Hallback's and ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was my third trip to Hallback's and I'm always pleased with the food, service and value. I've recommended this restaurant to friends and family.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I will not book through OPEN TABLE again ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I will not book through OPEN TABLE again, as restaurant did not have the reservation!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful selection of home-made tasty s ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful selection of home-made tasty soul food. The prime rib was great, the oxtail and chittlins tasty. Desert choices were a little bit limited, but this was a buffet type meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was great and at a good pri ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The food was great and at a good price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service great music

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent food and service great music. I to go at least once a month

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food, music, dancing, the overa ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Love the food, music, dancing, the overall atmosphere. Very warm welcoming family owned restaurant. Thank you for making our friends birthday special. May the Lord continue to bless you and your family business.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere was astonishing! They hired a ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Atmosphere was astonishing! They hired a funk, R&B band and they also did a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

there's no brunch

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The food is excellent but there is no brunch. Breakfast buffet 7-11 and dinner 12ish until 2. Live music is always awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We always enjoy Hallback's with the dinn ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

We always enjoy Hallback's with the dinning and dancing and the food is very good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We enjoyed brunch on Easter Sunday at Ha ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We enjoyed brunch on Easter Sunday at Hallback's. Food was very tasty, $10 bottomless bloody mary's and entertainment. It was crowded, but they handled seating and service well. Everyone was pleasant and happy to see us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service/Menu

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Let me begin by stating that I have frequented Hallback's Bar and Grill several times and always had an enjoyable time. When we were seated on Friday, we were given a Valentine's Day Menu which included a three course meal. We had three different entrees to choose from. I asked the gentlemen who seated us for the regular menu and he stated that was all that was being offered tonight. My party and I looked around and other patrons had items from the regular menu. I am not sure why we were told one thing which clearly was untrue. My friends have vowed not to return to Hallback's.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

great place to dine and dance

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

I had fun as usual great place For The Nightlife of having fun. Bands always great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Hallbacks is a fun place.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Hallbacks is a great place to go for food and entertainment. The entertainment is only on Fri and Sat nights. Everyone has a great time whether there is live entertainment or a dj. Fun place for dancing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food just ok.

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

Had the trio platter of ribs, brisket and pulled pork. Wondered where this was prepared. So no pit for cooking. Service was real slow even those restaurant was two thirds empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Christmas dinner

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

The food and atmosphere were excellent. Our second year having Christmas dinner and they didn't disappoint. They even made accommodations for a friends daughter who came but was limited on food choices due to recent oral surgery. They went above and beyond!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu or buffet offered

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

The buffet needed some additional meat items; however, the dessert offerings were plentiful. The buffet is directed more towards children than to adults.

I suggest that one should check the bill vs the costs stated in the menu. I was told that their pricing was in transition!..Meaning that there was a discrepancy which needed to be corrected before I paid our bill.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Wonderful

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

My girl friends and I had a great time Saturday night dining and dancing at Hallbacks. Great music, food, and fun!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great time

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Food and service was excellent. Band was wonderful and played lots of great dance music. Everybody was having a great time. We will be back next weekend too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best soul food restaurant in Lakeland

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

Since the day that I went with my family to Hallback's, the restaurant has been a gem that I love to tell people about. I had no idea that Lakeland was holding such an amazing place with chefs who know how to cook better than somebody's grandmother. I recommend Hallback's to everyone I come in contact with. The restaurant is great for family outings, large group get-togethers, food with a friend, and it's also a great date spot.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice place

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

The food is great, the service is wonderful. Great place for the over 50 crowd to have a great time dining and dancing. Love this place. The music seems to be changing for the worst though, at least on Saturday night. Hope they get their regular Saturday night group back soon. Where is Destiny?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The BEST Sunday Brunch buffet around. AB ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 16, 2015

The BEST Sunday Brunch buffet around. ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!! If you leave hungry it's your own fault.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mac & Cheese is the best ever.

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 11, 2015

Mac & Cheese is the best ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Hallback's has a nice view overlooking L ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 26, 2015

Hallback's has a nice view overlooking Lakeland Linder Airport. A hidden gem that provides live entertainment on Friday night and has a very good brisket.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Loveit

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

Enjoyed the music. Food was nicely displayed plentiful and delicious flavor. Try it you will not be disappointed. You will return again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Hallbacks is a hidden treasure

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 4, 2015

The Hallback family has chosen a wonderful spot at the Lakeland Airfield. You can sit and watch planes take off and land. Our salads for lunch were big and packed full of all the goodies listed on the menu vs some restaurants that give you a few of those items throughout the salad. Best homemade mac and cheese also. Server friendly and we will come back when we are visiting here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 29, 2015

Very nice. Pleasant atmosphere, friendly, food tasty, music was soothing. No complaint. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

the atmosphere was perfect for the occasion .

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 29, 2015

Our first time here.. welcomed with a smile we were seated right away.. our waiter Jennifer was awesome the food was good the music was great motown music.. my husband and I enjoyed every bit of it.. will diffently come back .. Thanks Hallback 's for making it a memorable Birthday dinner .. Mr&Mrs Martinez - Polk County ,Fl

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

ENJOYABLE LUNCH TIME

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 28, 2015

Our group of 13 Senior Citizen Ladies from Highland Village were very pleased with my choice of a place for our monthly luncheon. Our server was excellent in all ways. Great personality, very conscientious, and always available. The food came out quickly and was fresh and delicious.

It is certainly a place we will visit again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere, loved the lively ambience.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 15, 2015

We went on a Friday night . I understand why you must have reservations! Live music was very good. There seemed to have been several groups that made the place crowded really quick. It was our first time there, the waiters were extremely slow but the food was good. I would visit this place again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

This place is awesome!!!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 1, 2015

My wife and I were celebrating our 22nd wedding anniversary and the staff made sure it was a special night. We both enjoyed the food, hospitality and the entertainment.

The MIX were Awesome !! We highly recommend iHallback's Bar & Grill and will be returning again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food for lunch and dinner

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 7, 2015

Service was friendly but decor could be up graded. Food was good

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The overall experience was okay. Service ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 15, 2015

The overall experience was okay. Service department needs some help we had a reservation and still had to wait 10 minutes to be seated. It took quite along time for the food to come out approx. an hour and my meal wasn't the best so I ended up sharing my boyfriend food which was was really good. The entertainment did a awesome job. I will return to try their brunch one day soon

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Sunday Lunch Buffet

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on December 14, 2014

We had the Sunday lunch buffet. Their website indicated an omelet station would be available (it was not). I made reservations on line they did not have them when we arrived. The food was fair, for $15 per person I expected something different then fried chicken, pulled pork, mashed & sweet potatoes & tuna salad. The desserts appeared to be store bought and they were not very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.