About Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth

Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth is a dining experience focused on providing a truly seasonal meal with ingredients from local wineries, dairies and artisanal farms. With a naturally rustic decor that reflects the focus on simple good, Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth is a unique place to enjoy dinner or to host a private event.

The menu at Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth can be hard to predict, but locals have frequently enjoyed mushroom tarts, bleu cheese souffle's, shrimp and octopus entrees, duck egg ravioli and more. From venison and rabbit to sole and Brussels sprout entrees, there is plenty for everyone to love on the Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth menu.

500 S Tryon St
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, French, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday: 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Levine Avenue of the Arts

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 910-0865

Website:
http://www.halcyonflavors.com/

Parking Details:
Halcyon is directly connected to the Levine Center for Arts parking garage, which is accessible from both South Church Street and Stonewall Street. Park in Visitor Parking and take the Plaza Elevators to level 2, the entry hall.

Executive Chef:
James Stouffer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Modern Decor (4)
See All
Scenic View (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Casual (1)
Romantic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Organic (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
933 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

An evening out during a trip to Charlotte from Manchester, England. Nice warm feel to an excellent restaurant. Food was very good, we stuck with ordering little sharing plates, and lots of them! Service was also good, with a knowledgeable server. Only downside I found was a drinks menu that was trying too hard to match the creative food, and failing! We had 5 different cocktails and wasn't impressed, by either taste or price! But let's get back to the food, that far outweighed any negative thoughts, wouldn't hesitate to go back!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We've been curious about Halcyon for sometime. Our sons graduation made for a good time to check you out. The decor and ambiance were wonderful . Megan our server knew the menu and description of the dishes. And checked on us just enough and was tipped over 20%. You were out of bison and that was a dish we were hoping to try. Our party of six enjoyed their meal but the over all opinion was , decent food but just ok. Two of us had the Seafood Bullion. The scallop was delicious , the veggies fresh but too heavy on the fennel . Not a dish I would recommend or eat again. The Special of French Toast was average . Our appetizer board was pretty good but the Baba Ganosh was not really tasty and it could have used a few more pieces of bread or cracker. If someone was looking for a nice setting and view I would suggest they give you a try but over all I feel the food it self was just average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This was one of the best 10 meals of my life; and I am a foody!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 17, 2017

This restaurant was recommended as having a good variety of both meat and vegetarian options. The menu had recently changed and there were no veg option the evening I went. Normally a chef will accommodate a variety of dietary restrictions but this night the waiter instructed me to "get a bunch of appetizers". Was leading the group so we decided to oder one app each and finish our drinks and go to another place. Don't get me wrong, the food was good, nothing beyond the normal farm to table fare, but still a solid offering. If you plan to take a large group, hopefully everyone in your party has the same diet because I don't get the sense this place is very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Service was slower than expected, waited long to order.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

They forgot my side salad with my brunch sandwich, and getting the check took quite some time, although they didn't seem too busy it was Mother's Day though, so I was understanding. The food was very tasty and so were the bloody mary's! It's definitely a place to splurge, and if the weather is good definitely sit outdoors! We will certainly return, but won't make it a regular stop.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Incredible food never disappoints. The chef is truly talented and balanced flavors so well. It's always an awesome experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food is always excellent. My favorite uptown restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Awesome (as always). Never disappoints. Love this place a ton'

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great food... the tartare and blue cheese soufflé were very nicely done. We also started with a nice salad. Great selection of local craft beers and European wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 16, 2016

A nice special treat in downtown Charlotte. Located right in the heart of Charlotte Arts and Downtown. The food was great and well priced. The presentation also wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 25, 2016

We sat outside and enjoyed a beautiful view of the city. The food and service were excellent. I do wish they had a few more options for wine by the glass and more local craft beers on tap. Halcyon has an upscale feel without being stuffy or pretentious. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2016

A delicious lunch. The food was phenomenal and the Hendricks cocktail with basil was incredible! We had a late lunch reservation so the servers changed partway through. The server who took care of us for most of the meal was super pleasant. The young lady who took over for her at dessert was less pleasant. But I would definitely recommend Halcyon to friend and will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 23, 2016

This was our first visit to Halcyon and the food was spectacular. We were only one of about three occupied tables because we were eating early to get to a concert that night. Yet for some reason, they put us right near the door next to the bassist and piano. We asked if we could be moved and the answer was inexplicably, no. It doesn't sound that bad except we were shouting at each other to be heard. Furthermore, we had to endure listening to the ongoing conversation of the couple who was playing discuss such awkward topics as her admiration for his songwriting, why she could not keep up with his playing that night, and how she wrote him a poem that made him somewhat uncomfortable.

That being said, the food was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Absolutely fantastic food, great wine and excellent service. Definitely recommend to anyone looking to eat very good food with a great view of charlotte!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a wonderful Father's day lunch out on the terrace. It was very peaceful despite looking over some downtown streets. Our waitress, Megan, was very friendly and helpful, sharing her knowledge and thoughts about the Charlotte area. The rest of the staff, including the chef, was also very friendly, stopping by the table to chat. We had a great time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2016

I've dined twice at Halcyon and plan many more outings here. Love the location, menu, plating, and service. Our server was very helpful with recommendations and even with portion alerts so we didn't over order (and over eat). Her honest insight was tremendously appreciated (and rewarded). If you're looking for an expertly crafted dining experience, look no further than Halcyon. #nourishyourbodyandsoul

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great experience. Myhusband reallyloved the food he order. I enjoyedmine as well, however, I don't eat dairy orshellfish due to allergies,whichusuallyisn'tanissueforme, but atthis restaurant itwas a challenge. Theywere abletoaccomodate mewith modifications which Iappreciated. Do which therewas just alittle more variety totheirofferings, butI'mnot complaining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Always wonderful! We brought some friends who had not visited Halcyon before and they loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great food and accommodations for our business meeting. Everyone enjoyed their meal! The service here is so bad though - I have yet to dine here and have a smooth service experience. The food and location are the reason why you return!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 14, 2016

Exceptional food and service. Wine was a bit on the expensive side but the food made up for it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our service was just ok. I ordered a drink that I didn't particularly like, after that our waitress seemed annoyed with us. It was our anniversary which I made a note of when I made the reservation and didn't really make a difference. We arrived early enough 5:45 to get a good seat. It was pretty quit in the restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Very cool place right next to museums and theater

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 8, 2016

I took some great clients to Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth for lunch and everyone said their meal was fantastic. I will schedule another lunch there soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 7, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Charlotte by far

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 22, 2016

This place was amazing. The food was great. We went to celebrant our anniversary and couldn't have picked a better place. We shared the meat board as an appetizer and it was delicious. I had the grilled swordfish and my wife had the duck breast. Both were prepared perfectly. I will definitively be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 18, 2016

We entertained 15 business guests for lunch. Reservations were easy to make on Open Table. We were seated quickly and made very comfortable. Everyone appreciated the variety of selections available. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Always love Halcyon. Such a yummy and creative menu and great service. The view and patio add to the ambiance for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a great time at Halcyon. Lovely location and view. Food was delicious and original. We will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 3, 2016

Amazing food, great restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 1, 2016

This was a terrific option for brunch! Came in for an impromptu weekend and after having the meal, very surprised it was not more crowded. Location is terrific just above the Mint Museum. Food was outstanding - locally sourced and just the right amount; very professional service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2016

A chance to sample some new appetizers and "tapas-style" courses - generously provided with a "surprise" course, compliments of the house, as well as excellent service all around. This is often my husband's and my go to restaurant pre or post and event, and the range of items, freshness and attractiveness of the restaurant overall are what attract us.

We did note that service seemed slow on the terrace, and a friend confirmed same, as she and her family had dined there and were trying to get to the same event as we were - net, a little backing up of service at a rush time.

However, we had an exemplary time - As usual, we will be coming back again and again...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 28, 2016

Food was outstanding from appetizers, good wine menu to dessert options. BUT service was incredibly slow on this night. Sat for nearly forty minutes before drinks and appetizers arrived. Difficult to even manage to catch a waiter/waitress.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 23, 2016

My friend and I decided to eat at Halcyon because we were going to the Knight Theater to hear Winston Marsalis at the Charlotte Jazz Festival. I had never been and my maiden voyage was quite nice. We ate outside on the terrace, and after the sunlight off the building went away, the view was outstanding. The menu was diverse enough to accommodate my vegan friend as well as my carnivore desires. Very good wine list; and I must add that I had the best Manhattan I have had in Charlotte; and I've tried quite a few........I'll be back just for that if nothing else!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Very slow service and had to ask for a lot of things that should have been offered in such an upscale restaurant such as decanting our bottle of wine suggested by the server. We were there for 2 hours and still had to ask for our bill. Had small plates which were all delicious but it was over an hour between the plates. We almost missed our show and we allowed 2 1/2hours to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Every time we dine here, we're pleased. Amazing food, well-prepared, and well-presented. Menu changes depending on what's fresh and available. I chose halibut over ramps. Delicious! Desserts are made in house and are tasty with a cappuccino. Perfect spot if you work uptown for lunch or if seeing a show at Knight Theater.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 21, 2016

Fabulous meal-- the blue cheese and mushroom souffle was heavenly, the roasted beet salad was creative and delicious, the bison was outstanding--tender and flavorful, and the rabbit was perfectly prepared. Our waiter provided good recommendations for wine and for our meal choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 14, 2016

Halcyon is one of our favorite restaurants in Charlotte because of the wide variety of unique offerings. On this night we invited some out of town VIPs to join us. Unfortunately we got a waiter who was not very accommodating. from having ice cubes in water where we requested none to not knowing the detail on menu items. He told our guest that his appetizer would be very mild when in fact, it had a spicy kick!
Despite the fact that we alerted the restaurant of our dietary needs (gluten and nut allergies) in the reservation and when we were seated and again when our waiter introduced himself, he served my wife a desert that had a flour based cookie. She inquired before eating it and he shrugged and said, "I don't know".
The food was excellent as always but that service left a bad taste in our minds, especially my wife who has Celiacs Disease.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2016

Everything about Halcyon is perfect. The ambiance, the service, the view ... and of course, the food. Chef Jim Stouffer has brought a new level of dining to Charlotte -- upscale but unpretentious. Each plate is a work of art with a delightful combination of flavors. Our group had the cheese plate, ceviche, scallops, grouper, and swordfish. All of it was amazing. Halcyon is a perfect location for visiting the Mint Museum or a show at the Knight Theater. Favorite restaurant in Charlotte by far.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2016

We went here for my husband's birthday. When we arrived we got there with the theatre cried so it was fairly busy at the bar and noisier than expected. Service was very good and she was knowledge about the offerings. The cheese plate was my favorite part of the meal. The cheeses, assorted fruit, and honey were well matched. The Harvest Plate (vegetarian entree) was perfectly balanced with all flavor senses. The cocktails were mediocre and a bit over priced in my opinion. The Pineapple Toffee Cake was divine! My husband enjoyed his cup of black coffee with his dessert and the sorbet offerings. Overall, the experience was great. The only complaint we had was the cocktails, which were a bit lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.