Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 17 times today

Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth

4.6
1100 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Modern European
Top Tags:
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Creative Cuisine
Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth is a dining experience focused on providing a truly seasonal meal with ingredients from local wineries, dairies and artisanal farms. With a naturally rustic decor that reflects the focus on simple good, Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth is a unique place to enjoy dinner or to host a private event.

The menu at Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth can be hard to predict, but locals have frequently enjoyed mushroom tarts, bleu cheese souffle's, shrimp and octopus entrees, duck egg ravioli and more. From venison and rabbit to sole and brussels sprout entrees, there is plenty for everyone to love on the Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth menu. Located on the avenue of Levine Arts in the heart of Uptown Charlotte.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Modern European, French, Californian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Tuesday - Friday: 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(704) 910-0865
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
James Stouffer
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Levine Avenue of the Arts
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Halcyon is directly connected to the Levine Center for Arts parking garage, which is accessible from both South Church Street and Stonewall Street. Park in Visitor Parking and take the Plaza Elevators to level 2, the entry hall.
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 1100 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.7
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 7 days ago

Chose Halcyon since it is next to the Knight theatre. Over all I usually enjoy this place even though their menu is limited. We were disappointed that our server never offered us cocktails, never told us the specials, which we overheard the other waitress tell a table near us, they sounded delicious. She never offered nor brought bread out as the other tables got. The food was delicious. Although expensive for what you get. I had the trout salad. There was neither a lot of trout or salad. She did get us a dessert menu which was also very limited, although I did see another table having something that wasn’t a chocolate truffle of a scoop of ice cream. I would go back because of previous positive experiences. But there are so many other plCes to try in Charlotte anyway, so maybe not.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Beautiful modern restaurant overlooking the Charlotte skyline. The wood decor, tables, tree branches, etc... beautifully compliment the floor to ceiling windows. Our server was very kind and did a great job making sure we have beverages, answered menu question with confidence, and made great recommendations. We loved the menu and tried several things, and they are all excellent. The Sole is delicious and the Grouper had a unique presentation. I'd highly recommend it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

18th Wedding Anniversary

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

The restaurant and the wait staff were wonderful however we had two small plates that were port to average. One was stuffed calamari it wasn’t appealing looking for a tasting the rice inside was cold and the red sauce kind of drab. The duck stuffed raviolisHad very little duck actually in them and were served in kind of a weird green cream sauce. The scallop and pork belly were amazing and delicious and the cheeseboard also was beautiful and good tasting. All in all I would return but make different food choices

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Ashley provided great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Food, location, decor, architecture and staff were all amazing. What else could you ask for!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Food used to be better; there was a new menu with small plates - like the concept but execution wasn’t all there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

the sole franchise was superb. We enjoyed obsessing about how it was done and we are good cooks.

Ashley picked up on our time schedule to get to the Mozart Jupiter symphony and seamlessly worked with making it work and still be dining.

Well done, Ashely.

We will. Return

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Halcyon is right across the street from Knight Theatre, which is why we chose this restaurant. We had a pre-theatre lunch and the timing worked out perfectly. We ordered the special, which was a French toast with blueberries, raspberries and a special syrup. The food was delicious and plentiful. The atmosphere and view were pleasant. Service was good. I would definitely recommend!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Went to Halcyon because was going to knight theatre. We were seated outside which was great but our waiter had tables assigned to him inside and we felt our service was not as good as it should have been.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 1, 2018

I’ve Visited this restaurant many times in the past, it is a favorite prior to going to a show at the knight theater. Our reservation was at six, we were on time but after 15 minutes of being seated we had to ask for a server to place our drink order. Soon after we placed our dinner order for four items to share. The first two arrived and they were delicious, but the second two did not arrive until we had already had to ask for our check at 7:20 to make it to the show next-door at 7:30. Our server knew as well as the Hostess that we had tickets to the show next door. In the past, 1.5 hours has been plenty of time to have dinner., with time to spare. I’m very sorry not to have gotten to have a full dinner prior to the show. I’m not sure this will be my go to restaurant in the future.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Very disappointed on this visit, although prior visits had been good. First, upon arrival, the sanitation grade was 91. That's terrible for a high end restaurant with their reputation. Normally I walk away from anyplace under 95, but I was meeting friends who were already seated. Menu has changed completely. It's not the dinner menu that's STILL posted on their website. There were no main course options. Now it's only small, very strange, expensive shareables. If that's your thing then you won't be disappointed! Service was fine and the featured cocktails were good. My friends & I agreed that we will not return any time soon. There are so many other great dining options in the city now.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Food was delicious as always. Halcyon still has my favorite dish in Charlotte- Scallops with Pork Belly. Hopefully they will keep it in the menu forever :-).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

My husband and I had not been to Halcyon in a while and we could not get over how amazing the food was this time! I had the kale and faro salad and it was so delicious! Then, I had the hamachi...incredible!! I cannot remember what my husband got--some salad and a seafood dish and he absolutely loved both. The service was wonderful and it is just a beautiful room, so we will definitely go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

This was a wonderful find: the food was excellent as was the service and the ambience. We have been recommending it to anyone who is going to Charlotte, and we are looking forward to going there again when we return. Perfect for every day as well as special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Tasty, innovative food from starters through entrees, Halcyon never disappoints. Our waitress, Marie, was friendly, knowledgeable and moved our meal along perfectly; plenty of time to enjoy dinner and conversation, but timely enough to get us to the ballet on time. Excellent all around; we will be back for an encore.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Went here after free Wednesday night at The Mint Museum. Convenient and open at 8:45. Excellent service compared to other places at that hour where they are irritated at late arrival on a Wednesday. They had a special but went with menu items and that was no problem. Pate was tasty with several choices of crisps and bread as accompaniments. Dover sole was moist and flaky with nice crab stuffing. (Real crab). Very satisfying end to a museum outing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

I love this place. Totally delicious food & a lot of healthy choices. And a beautiful view of the Green. Just delightful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Good food, great atmosphere. I especially enjoyed the complimentary popcorn and the delicious Halcyon burger.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Cheese course and beet salad very good. Dover sole was disappointing-would not order again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Food, service, music, decor were outstanding. A real treat. Thank you!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

It had been a while since I had been to the restaurant, but it did not disappoint. The menu was fresh and seasonal (get the bison) and our server was awesome making suggestions for my friend and I, who shared dishes. Also, get the farro and kale salad, it was spectacular.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We were there at prime time when there was a show at Knight theater next door. The service was horrible. Took almost an hour before we got our appetizers and they got the order wrong. No bread was offered while we waited. My husband and I had empty drinks until the appetizers came. Took over 2 hours to complete our meal, and we only ordered small plates. The food was decent but after that experience, I will not be back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Ir took over 45 minutes for us to get our lunch orders, no reason given. Unacceptable!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Outstanding food in an atmosphere worthy of it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

our first visit to Halcyon and we were NOT disappointed!! the space was beautiful with nice views of the city..our server alison was very personable with excellent attention to detail..thank you alison! we ordered several small plates...all good, but the duck tortelinni was my fave..dark chocolate truffles for dessert..OMG! we will definitely return to Halcyon

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

The ambiance in this restaurant is awesome and the service and food/drink is phenomenal. Our waitress gave great recommendations for dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Halcyon is one of my top 3 favorite restaurants in Charlotte. The dishes are unique and beyond reproach in their execution. The staff even went above and beyond to serve my ultimate favorite dish, foie gras (currently off the menu).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Food was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Lovely meal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Great food and service. Perfect place for a business lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Share the small plates

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Overall great experience. Service is prompt but not in your face, with food thoughtfully prepared.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Not bad but certainly not memorable. The soup of the day was a broth of some sort with a few lentils for 9 dollars. I don't mind paying 20 dollars for soup if it good. It just was not great.

Well at least the view is good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Our meal was fabulous! We had the Bleu Cheese Souffle as a starter. It was fluffy and flavorful but the bleu cheese was not overpowering. The Salmon and Sole entrees were also stars. The Salmon is a large portion so could easily be split.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

After our first visit to Halcyon, we bought a Mint Museum membership so that we would be able to get a discount on future dining - we enjoyed it that much. For our first visit we were taking our son and his girlfriend out for a nice lunch, and it did not disappoint. The food is creative without being fussy, the service is attentive but not intrusive, and the ambiance is elegant but comfortable. One would expect that a restaurant attached to a museum of design would be well designed, and it is. The cool surfaces of the floors and walls are balanced by the warm wood tables and chandeliers and the large, comfortably upholstered chairs. We've never been there when it was a good temperature for outside dining, but the patio looks like it would be beautiful during good weather.
Both times we've eaten there we've ordered some cheese/charcuterie, and although the cost can add up very quickly, it is fun to try new cheese combinations, and they are always accompanied by an assortment of flatbreads, honey, and a smattering of other little goodies.
On the most recent visit, my husband ordered a turkey pressed sandwich with fries. He said the sandwich was delicious, and I can attest to the fact that the fries were also, since I stole a fair amount of them. I ordered an endive salad with roasted beets and a delicious creamy dressing. It looked small, but was more filling than I thought it would be, and the combination of flavors was very balanced and unexpected. Coffee was delicious, and although I would have liked to try some dessert, we didn't have room.
We did see the family at the next table had ordered the french toast, and it also looked wonderful! My husband and I both said that this would be a place that we would gladly bring out of town guests to lunch or dinner and feel confident that it would be a great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Halcyon was a gem of a find. It appeared during my online search for organic restaurants in uptown Charlotte. Not long after fighting a cancer battle, I was looking for a restaurant to dine at for a special date with my husband. It did not disappoint but exceeded our hopes. Not only does their menu include organic & local farm to table fare but also some imported from other countries such as Italy. Their chef(s) are creative & there is always something new and deliciousto try on the menu. Even beyond this is the ambiance. My husband who is an artist himself, and I were both delighted with Halcyon's interior design. It is intimate with a taste of elegance yet earthy & artistic at the same time. I have been back there 3 more times since the first & it has become our dining go to before attending an event or performance uptown.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

The food was excellent, as always. Had the blue cheese soufflé - mouth watering - and the scallops and pork belly - exquisite tastes. If you want excellent food this is place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Excellent food and service!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

Fabulous food and service as always!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
28