Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Bernardin's Restaurant - CharlotteBernardin's Restaurant - Charlotte
(856)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Uptown, Charlotte
Booked 42 times today
JP CharlotteJP Charlotte
(152)
$$$$
American | Uptown, Charlotte
Booked 3 times today
Mimosa GrillMimosa Grill
(1364)
$$$$
Southern | Uptown, Charlotte
Booked 45 times today
5Church Charlotte5Church Charlotte
(1677)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Uptown, Charlotte
Booked 31 times today
Aria Tuscan GrillAria Tuscan Grill
(1782)
$$$$
Italian | Uptown, Charlotte
Booked 42 times today
McCormick & Schmick's Seafood - Charlotte (Tryon Street)McCormick & Schmick's Seafood - Charlotte (Tryon Street)
(1835)
$$$$
Seafood | Uptown, Charlotte
Booked 36 times today
StagioniStagioni
(427)
$$$$
Italian | Myers Park, Charlotte
Booked 31 times today
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte UptownRuth's Chris Steak House - Charlotte Uptown
(1403)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Uptown, Charlotte
Booked 21 times today
The Capital Grille - CharlotteThe Capital Grille - Charlotte
(1911)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Uptown, Charlotte
Booked 50 times today
300 East300 East
(1144)
$$$$
American | Dilworth, Charlotte
Booked 45 times today
Fahrenheit - CharlotteFahrenheit - Charlotte
(1382)
$$$$
American | Uptown, Charlotte
Booked 62 times today
StokeStoke
(73)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Uptown, Charlotte
Booked 38 times today
The Fig Tree RestaurantThe Fig Tree Restaurant
(1772)
$$$$
Continental | Elizabeth, Charlotte
Booked 33 times today
The Cellar at Duckworth'sThe Cellar at Duckworth's
(132)
$$$$
Gastro Pub | Uptown, Charlotte
Booked 8 times today
Blue Restaurant - Charlotte, NCBlue Restaurant - Charlotte, NC
(2071)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Uptown, Charlotte
Booked 21 times today

About Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth

500 S Tryon St
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Halcyon is a refined, modern restaurant dedicated to sustainability and a community perspective of food. Our dining room showcases a stunning view of the Charlotte cityscape through a wall of windows. Bask in candlelight beneath a painting of mythological Halcyon at a table sculpted from natural wood and enjoy a magical combination of ambiance, ingredients, and the techniques of Chef James Stouffer.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Contemporary European, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Sunday 11am-3pm, Tuesday through Saturday 11am-3pm
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday 5pm-10pm
(Reservations not required, but always recommended)

Cross Street:
Levine Avenue of the Arts

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 910-0865

Website:
http://www.halcyonflavors.com/

Parking Details:
Halcyon is directly connected to the Levine Center for Arts parking garage, which is accessible from both South Church Street and Stonewall Street. Park in Visitor Parking and take the Plaza Elevators to level 2, the entry hall.

Executive Chef:
James Stouffer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
marinated peppers - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Fried Oyster Sandwich With Salad - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Belon Oyster On The Half Shell - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Spanish chorizo - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Some Pig - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Seafood Bouillon  - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Chicken Liver Pâté - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Chesapeake Bay Oyster  - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Scallop & Pork Belly - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Pineapple Upside Down Cake - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Bulgar Wheat Salad - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Spring Forward Cocktail - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Dark Chocolate Marquise - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Spiced Peach Toddy - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Seasonal Flatbread - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Bronzed Scallops - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Butchers Board - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Shrimp & Grits Bowl - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Burger - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Beef Tartare - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Musikal Hog - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Pork And Greens - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
The Convict And The Rose - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
French Onion Soup - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Tennessee Schmaltz - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Meatloaf - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Cheeseburger And Fries - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Squash Blossoms with Herbed Ricotta Fontina and Oven-Dried Tomatoes - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Meat Loaf - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Salade Lyonnaise - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Scallop And Pork Belly  - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Three Eggs Omelette - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Country Line Salad - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Braised Bison with Parsnips Puree, Tomato Confit, Beech Mushrooms, and Hollandaise - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Monkfish with Corn, Ramps, Saffron, Spring Onion,  and Asparagus - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Beet Salad - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Some Pig -- Benson's Bacon Fat-Washed Maker's 46 with Orange Bitters, Maple Syrup, and Kosher Salt - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Mushroom Crepes W/ Micro-Green Salad - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
garden salad - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Bird's Nest - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Red Velvet Parfait - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
"Coffee And Donuts" - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Nc Smoked Trout - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
biscuits with sausage gravy - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Peanut Butter White Chocolate Blondie - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Market Veggie Bowl - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Country Fried Calamari - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Shrimp Fried Rice Grits - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Warm Romaine Salad - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Cornbread - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Cauliflower Gratin - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Black Rice Risotto - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
NC Ciderhouse Doughnut - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Coffee & Biscotti - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Line-Caught Grouper With Pickled Ginger And Prawns - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Shepard's Benedict - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Phwaw Burger - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Scrambled Eggs with Bacon and Hashbrowns - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC
Duck, Duck, Goose - Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth, Charlotte, NC

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Sat 11:00AM - 11:15AM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM
Sort By:
S
881 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A nice special treat in downtown Charlot ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 16, 2016

A nice special treat in downtown Charlotte. Located right in the heart of Charlotte Arts and Downtown. The food was great and well priced. The presentation also wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside and enjoyed a beautiful v ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 25, 2016

We sat outside and enjoyed a beautiful view of the city. The food and service were excellent. I do wish they had a few more options for wine by the glass and more local craft beers on tap. Halcyon has an upscale feel without being stuffy or pretentious. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A delicious lunch. The food was phenome ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2016

A delicious lunch. The food was phenomenal and the Hendricks cocktail with basil was incredible! We had a late lunch reservation so the servers changed partway through. The server who took care of us for most of the meal was super pleasant. The young lady who took over for her at dessert was less pleasant. But I would definitely recommend Halcyon to friend and will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Halcyon and ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 23, 2016

This was our first visit to Halcyon and the food was spectacular. We were only one of about three occupied tables because we were eating early to get to a concert that night. Yet for some reason, they put us right near the door next to the bassist and piano. We asked if we could be moved and the answer was inexplicably, no. It doesn't sound that bad except we were shouting at each other to be heard. Furthermore, we had to endure listening to the ongoing conversation of the couple who was playing discuss such awkward topics as her admiration for his songwriting, why she could not keep up with his playing that night, and how she wrote him a poem that made him somewhat uncomfortable.

That being said, the food was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Absolutely fantastic food, great wine a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Absolutely fantastic food, great wine and excellent service. Definitely recommend to anyone looking to eat very good food with a great view of charlotte!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful Father's day lunch ou ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a wonderful Father's day lunch out on the terrace. It was very peaceful despite looking over some downtown streets. Our waitress, Megan, was very friendly and helpful, sharing her knowledge and thoughts about the Charlotte area. The rest of the staff, including the chef, was also very friendly, stopping by the table to chat. We had a great time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I've dined twice at Halcyon and plan man ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2016

I've dined twice at Halcyon and plan many more outings here. Love the location, menu, plating, and service. Our server was very helpful with recommendations and even with portion alerts so we didn't over order (and over eat). Her honest insight was tremendously appreciated (and rewarded). If you're looking for an expertly crafted dining experience, look no further than Halcyon. #nourishyourbodyandsoul

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Myhusband reallyloved ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great experience. Myhusband reallyloved the food he order. I enjoyedmine as well, however, I don't eat dairy orshellfish due to allergies,whichusuallyisn'tanissueforme, but atthis restaurant itwas a challenge. Theywere abletoaccomodate mewith modifications which Iappreciated. Do which therewas just alittle more variety totheirofferings, butI'mnot complaining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always wonderful! We brought some frien ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Always wonderful! We brought some friends who had not visited Halcyon before and they loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and accommodations for our bu ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great food and accommodations for our business meeting. Everyone enjoyed their meal! The service here is so bad though - I have yet to dine here and have a smooth service experience. The food and location are the reason why you return!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Exceptional food and service. Wine was ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 14, 2016

Exceptional food and service. Wine was a bit on the expensive side but the food made up for it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our service was just ok. I ordered a dr ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our service was just ok. I ordered a drink that I didn't particularly like, after that our waitress seemed annoyed with us. It was our anniversary which I made a note of when I made the reservation and didn't really make a difference. We arrived early enough 5:45 to get a good seat. It was pretty quit in the restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Very cool place right next to museums an ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Very cool place right next to museums and theater

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Lunch!

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 8, 2016

I took some great clients to Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth for lunch and everyone said their meal was fantastic. I will schedule another lunch there soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Charlotte ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 7, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Charlotte by far

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place was amazing. The food was gre ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 22, 2016

This place was amazing. The food was great. We went to celebrant our anniversary and couldn't have picked a better place. We shared the meat board as an appetizer and it was delicious. I had the grilled swordfish and my wife had the duck breast. Both were prepared perfectly. I will definitively be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Business Lunch

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 18, 2016

We entertained 15 business guests for lunch. Reservations were easy to make on Open Table. We were seated quickly and made very comfortable. Everyone appreciated the variety of selections available. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great go-to

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Always love Halcyon. Such a yummy and creative menu and great service. The view and patio add to the ambiance for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great time at Halcyon. Lovely l ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a great time at Halcyon. Lovely location and view. Food was delicious and original. We will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing food, great restaurant

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 3, 2016

Amazing food, great restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden in Plain Sight

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 1, 2016

This was a terrific option for brunch! Came in for an impromptu weekend and after having the meal, very surprised it was not more crowded. Location is terrific just above the Mint Museum. Food was outstanding - locally sourced and just the right amount; very professional service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect pre-Ballet Dinner

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2016

A chance to sample some new appetizers and "tapas-style" courses - generously provided with a "surprise" course, compliments of the house, as well as excellent service all around. This is often my husband's and my go to restaurant pre or post and event, and the range of items, freshness and attractiveness of the restaurant overall are what attract us.

We did note that service seemed slow on the terrace, and a friend confirmed same, as she and her family had dined there and were trying to get to the same event as we were - net, a little backing up of service at a rush time.

However, we had an exemplary time - As usual, we will be coming back again and again...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, Average service

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 28, 2016

Food was outstanding from appetizers, good wine menu to dessert options. BUT service was incredibly slow on this night. Sat for nearly forty minutes before drinks and appetizers arrived. Difficult to even manage to catch a waiter/waitress.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Prelude to Jazz

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 23, 2016

My friend and I decided to eat at Halcyon because we were going to the Knight Theater to hear Winston Marsalis at the Charlotte Jazz Festival. I had never been and my maiden voyage was quite nice. We ate outside on the terrace, and after the sunlight off the building went away, the view was outstanding. The menu was diverse enough to accommodate my vegan friend as well as my carnivore desires. Very good wine list; and I must add that I had the best Manhattan I have had in Charlotte; and I've tried quite a few........I'll be back just for that if nothing else!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Lovely restaurant but questionable service

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Very slow service and had to ask for a lot of things that should have been offered in such an upscale restaurant such as decanting our bottle of wine suggested by the server. We were there for 2 hours and still had to ask for our bill. Had small plates which were all delicious but it was over an hour between the plates. We almost missed our show and we allowed 2 1/2hours to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Best place to eat in Charlotte

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Every time we dine here, we're pleased. Amazing food, well-prepared, and well-presented. Menu changes depending on what's fresh and available. I chose halibut over ramps. Delicious! Desserts are made in house and are tasty with a cappuccino. Perfect spot if you work uptown for lunch or if seeing a show at Knight Theater.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous meal-- the blue cheese and mush ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 21, 2016

Fabulous meal-- the blue cheese and mushroom souffle was heavenly, the roasted beet salad was creative and delicious, the bison was outstanding--tender and flavorful, and the rabbit was perfectly prepared. Our waiter provided good recommendations for wine and for our meal choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lackluster waiter crushed a potentially great day

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 14, 2016

Halcyon is one of our favorite restaurants in Charlotte because of the wide variety of unique offerings. On this night we invited some out of town VIPs to join us. Unfortunately we got a waiter who was not very accommodating. from having ice cubes in water where we requested none to not knowing the detail on menu items. He told our guest that his appetizer would be very mild when in fact, it had a spicy kick!

Despite the fact that we alerted the restaurant of our dietary needs (gluten and nut allergies) in the reservation and when we were seated and again when our waiter introduced himself, he served my wife a desert that had a flour based cookie. She inquired before eating it and he shrugged and said, "I don't know".

The food was excellent as always but that service left a bad taste in our minds, especially my wife who has Celiacs Disease.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Your tastebuds will thank you

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2016

Everything about Halcyon is perfect. The ambiance, the service, the view ... and of course, the food. Chef Jim Stouffer has brought a new level of dining to Charlotte -- upscale but unpretentious. Each plate is a work of art with a delightful combination of flavors. Our group had the cheese plate, ceviche, scallops, grouper, and swordfish. All of it was amazing. Halcyon is a perfect location for visiting the Mint Museum or a show at the Knight Theater. Favorite restaurant in Charlotte by far.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for my husband's birthday. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2016

We went here for my husband's birthday. When we arrived we got there with the theatre cried so it was fairly busy at the bar and noisier than expected. Service was very good and she was knowledge about the offerings. The cheese plate was my favorite part of the meal. The cheeses, assorted fruit, and honey were well matched. The Harvest Plate (vegetarian entree) was perfectly balanced with all flavor senses. The cocktails were mediocre and a bit over priced in my opinion. The Pineapple Toffee Cake was divine! My husband enjoyed his cup of black coffee with his dessert and the sorbet offerings. Overall, the experience was great. The only complaint we had was the cocktails, which were a bit lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Loved the ambience and flavors. Came wit ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2016

Loved the ambience and flavors. Came with some work friends for lunch on a Wednesday. It's was busy, but there was barely a wait. Our server, Justin, was amazing and had a lot of helpful tips on what to order and wait to pair it with. He was funny as well! Great place overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Luncheon

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 12, 2016

A group of long time friends gathered together on a Saturday. One of the friends had requested eating downtown with a few. Well, Halcyon was great for both of those requests.

One of the friends ordered the lamb wrap and was very unhappy with the taste and texture of the meal. She contacted the waitress and let her know. The waitress was great and immediately offered to exchange the meal for another.

The shrimp and tuber salad was great!

We also wanted pictures and she was great in taking them for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu sent upon reservation was not t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 10, 2016

The menu sent upon reservation was not the same menu as was actually at the restaurant. The server said this happens quite regularly and that they have told Open Table the menus they present on behalf of the restaurant are wrong. Would suggest Open Table consider just providing a link to the restaurant's menu rather than trying to keep up with ever changing courses. I based my decision on the menu Open Table provided and was disappointed it had been 3 years since this restaurant actually had that dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Patio is great spot for lunch!

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 9, 2016

Took a group from work here for celebration lunch and we sat on patio. It was lovely, food was great and service was very good. The menu is always interesting!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good for work lunch.

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 8, 2016

Good for work lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great date night

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2016

Server was very professional and helpful in selecting the right amount of food as we wanted to sample a number of dishes. She also helped in selecting what ended up being a wonderful bottle of wine. And all the food was great. Would definitely come back for another night out on the town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Halcyon is never a disappointment

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2016

Each time I return to Halcyon the food gets better. I cannot speak highly enough about the great creations from the kitchen. The only downside remains the service.

I find it hard to believe that a place that has such fantastic food and strives to be so good sometimes struggles to get it right in the front of the house. Food is a 10. Service is a 6-10 depending on who you get. Requests for selected servers continues to go unfulfilled.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

This restaurant is truly a gem! The food ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 26, 2016

This restaurant is truly a gem! The food WOW amazing! Service was delightful! Just be sure to get there way before 10pm close time because mint museum will lock you out and not allow you for any reason to come inside restaurant. That's was a little weird. But the experience was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great as usual. However a ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 25, 2016

Everything was great as usual. However at lunchtime this particular time, the service was a little slow. The waiter did apologize and admitted that the kitchen was backed up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, great wine, close to theaters

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 25, 2016

We've dined here twice this week - once with out-of-town guests, and once when attending a concert at the Knight Theater. Both were great experiences. The blue cheese souffle on the hot appetizer menu was just superb, as was the ceviche - I highly recommend both. We ordered multiple small plates and shared - a great choice for a couple or small group. The service both nights was excellent. They were highly attentive but did not hover. The wine list is well chosen with some great values. I appreciated their offer to let us taste several so we were certain we would like the bottles we selected. The only reason for the 4 star rating is that they were out of a number of key items like pickled shrimp and prawns - two things our guests had been looking forward to trying! It would have been nice to have that mentioned before we looked over the menu. The restaurant interior is very attractive, with walls of windows that look out at the city skyscape. The views at night are charming. It is housed in the the Mint Museum next to the Knight Theater so it is a great stop before or after events at either location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.