About Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth

Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth is a dining experience focused on providing a truly seasonal meal with ingredients from local wineries, dairies and artisanal farms. With a naturally rustic decor that reflects the focus on simple good, Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth is a unique place to enjoy dinner or to host a private event.

The menu at Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth can be hard to predict, but locals have frequently enjoyed mushroom tarts, bleu cheese souffle's, shrimp and octopus entrees, duck egg ravioli and more. From venison and rabbit to sole and brussels sprout entrees, there is plenty for everyone to love on the Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth menu. Located on the avenue of Levine Arts in the heart of Uptown Charlotte.

500 S Tryon St
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, French, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday: 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Levine Avenue of the Arts

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 910-0865

Website:
http://www.halcyonflavors.com/

Parking Details:
Halcyon is directly connected to the Levine Center for Arts parking garage, which is accessible from both South Church Street and Stonewall Street. Park in Visitor Parking and take the Plaza Elevators to level 2, the entry hall.

Executive Chef:
James Stouffer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for a Date (23)
Special Occasion (20)
See All
Creative Cuisine (20)
Local Ingredients (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Scenic View (17)
Business Meals (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Great for Lunch (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Romantic (9)
Organic (8)
Seasonal (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Authentic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Tapas (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fun (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Cozy (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Casual (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
989 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

I took my parents to dinner at Halcyon on a Saturday night. We had reservations for 7PM. When we arrived, the restaurant had many open tables, so I don't think a reservation was entirely necessary. We started with cocktails, and dove into a few of the spreads and a small plate for an appetizer. We ordered the baba gannoush, a goat cheese, and the blue cheese souffle. Baba gannoush was oddly sweet and had cinnamon notes. We would have preferred a traditional flavor profile. The goat cheese (paired with apples, honey, wine soaked raisins, and breads and crackers) was phenomenal. The blue cheese souffle was the highlight though! With heavier appetizers, we had lighter salads and soups for dinner. Salad portions were small and dainty; however, they totally delivered on taste!
My only complaint of the night was that I had called in before we arrived to arrange for a special dessert to be brought to the table as a surprise for my parents--they were celebrating their anniversary. Unfortunately, the message that it was a surprise did not translate, and our server asked the table if she could bring the special dessert as she was clearing our entree plates.
Otherwise, no complaints!

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Organic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great spot. Outside is best for moderate temp. days. But ambience abounds oitside and in. The entire staff was fiendly and helpful and we interacted with several during our lunch. If time permits make time to visit the museum. Or plan like us to go back for the same.

A great experience overall.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Went for a business lunch and it was excellent. Our waitress Meghan was also fantastic! Planning to make this a weekly lunch spot.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Ceviche is a great way to begin your meal, along with roasted vegetable spread and small peppers. The blue cheese soufflé is to die for. It's a "must try." Next, the duck or the scallops are a great choice. End with peach cobbler or warm apple cake with cardamom ice cream and a cappuccino. Halcyon is my fave!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 31, 2017

My husband and I treated guests from out-of-town to lunch at Halcyon. We each ordered a different dish, and all were wonderful! The wine selection was very nice and service was excellent! I love the views and the ambiance. The music stayed nicely in the background...this is one of a very few Charlotte restaurants that allow for a relaxed conversation! Our guests were very impressed, and the 'locals' will definitely be back! In fact, I've already invited a friend to join me next week for a belated birthday lunch, and I'm looking forward to trying another wonderful creation!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Went for a business lunch and it was excellent. I now plan on bringing my wife on our next date night!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Have been there 2 times now and each time the menu and not been very good. We reserved a table on the deck to find out when we arrived We told we can not reserve a table on the deck and had to wait for the table. The menu was limited and not what was online. We gave it a second chance but will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Inventive and diverse, but healthy, menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 23, 2017

As always, great food and wonderful setting. Love the views.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We have eaten here several times and always enjoy the food. For some reason this time the chef appeared to be heavy handed with the salt. Just about everything we ordered was a little saltier than we would have liked. It did not make the food inedible just different. In the future we will remember to ask for no salt and add what we need.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Fantastic meal, so memorable. Really flavorful, delicious food. Well cooked, paired, presented. Easy to make gluten free. Exceptional service. Just overall an amazing night and experience. Most tables have fantastic views of the city. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great meal as always! Our waitress Meghan was wonderful - attentive but not overly. We were able to have a great conversation with our friends and Meghan kept our waters full without being overt.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Enjoyed variety of choices. Server knowledgeable with good recommendations. Earthy natural menu. Lovely decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Good service, wine and food made our experience very positive overall. We were seated at the table near the entrance, which felt awkward when arriving guests were hovering over us as we ate. Other than that one drawback, it was a great evening.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Always a pleasure! Amazingly creative menu items, beautifully created and served by a lovely server fast enough to keeps even ADD folks happy but not so fast that we felt rushed in anyway.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The wait staff was wonderful getting us moved to a quieter table for a business meeting. The inside of the restaurant is incredibly loud so we were moved to an outdoor table. Food was wonderful as was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent. The hand made custom tables and accent pieces are just as much to see, as is the great food. Had the croque madam, French toast and the pork belly blt. Savory and excellent presentation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great location as we were going next door for a concert. Beautiful maple slab table was special. Great background music and small plate was perfect.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Always terrific. Great place for a group lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great restaurant in Charlotte! We spent time at the Mint Museum while we were there. Highly recommended!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Burgers were raw and service extremely slow. Not impressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The ambiance is nice and have a nice view of the city but wish they had a larger menu. We were celebrating a birthday which we put in the open table reservation and it was now acknowledged at all which was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I always enjoy every meal that I have at Halcyon. I love that the food is locally sourced and very high quality. And the flavors are so fresh, unexpected and super delicious. Additionally, the service is always superb. For this meal, I sat on the patio and they weren't busy, but it can be very loud and busy during the week at lunch and dinner time.

I'd say this is the perfect place to meet up with coworkers for lunch or take a date for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great restaurant. The food is unique, delicious and reasonably priced for the quality. The restaurant is beautiful and the view of the city is outstanding. Great place to eat before visiting the uptown Mint Museum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 26, 2017

My husband and I went here for our anniversary, and were disappointed, because the menu looks fantastic, but it seemed that every item we asked for was not available or the chef had removed some ingredients from the dish to which we wanted to order. Also we ordered a bottle of champagne and it took over 20 minutes for someone to come back to us and say it wasn't available, meanwhile our appetizers and salads came out at the same time, one hot and one not, so the timing of things was way off. So no champagne, a cold "hot appetizer. Then our entrees came over a half hour later and they were not very hot. Our server was super nice, but the experience almost overshadowed what was supposed to be a fun, delicious celebration. We really liked Halcyon, and were most disappointed by the lack of concern over what was going on by the manager. Then when we got our check, the bottle of champagne was still on the bill, even though we didn't have any wine or licquor. The manager has to remove it, so the manager was not very concerned about our experience in any way... we had to ask to have it removed.
Overall...disappointing

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 22, 2017

If you are looking for a nice evening out in downtown Charolette, then try Halycon! From the drinks to the dessert there is enough for everyone to choose from. Food is fantastic whether for small bites or entree's.

This is a don't miss if you are in the area, you will not be disappointed and the view of the city is especially nice from the outdoor seating area.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Tapas, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The food is decent and the atmosphere is great but this restaurant has service in Charlotte. I wouldn't eat here for free.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Made reservations on line via Open Table. Service was very slow and restaurant was not that crowded. Ordered drinks, and our up-martini was presented in a rocks glass. Less than desirable, to say the least. The entire experience was far less than anticipated/expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Ambience, food and service were great! Our waitress was new and not able to answer our questions about food and berages which was surprising considering everything else was perfect. On the other hand she was sweet and personable so we really overlooked her inexperience with the menu!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Another fantastic meal at Halcyon (Kobe tartare, foie gras, duck & creme brulee). I've never been disappointed eating here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 19, 2017

As always, Halcyon provided a great setting for our large group business meeting. There was a tiny mix-up with our table being given to another group but the staff was excellent at getting another setting in place before the rest of our group arrived. The food was fabulous and I will absolutely be booking here again next time I'm in Charlotte for client meetings.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

On a visit to the Museum, my husband and I decided to have lunch at Halcyon. It was lovely--the sole was delicate and flavorful. And my husband's French toast with local peaches was just what he wanted. Good service and pleasant atmosphere!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Loved the food! Great portions and the food was great. Service was bit disappointing. Waiter while nice was not very attentive. Felt like we were "the other table" even though it wasn't overly busy. View was great. I am hopefully he was having an off night.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We ate here for a lunch. The food was outstanding. Superb creativity with the sole and stewed chicken. But the peach fritter was worth a trip by itself. Fritters like French beignets with fresh peaches, peach ice cream and peach sauce..... !

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great service and fantastic food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Western KY)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner here. We just ordered appetizers abd "snacks" from the tasting boards. We asked the server to serve as they became ready. Everything came out at the same time so we had quite the feast on our table but we enjoyed.

Tags: Casual, Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Halcyon is an absolute gem. Park across the street at "On the Green" parking deck. The restaurant is across the street up the tall stairs and worth the climb! If it is nice out the patio has a wonderful view of S Tryon street. The menu is ever changing and always charming. There are several wines on the list by the glass that are of notable mention. This place always charms us and keeps getting better. We will be back many times to come. Rapidly becoming our go-to place in downtown Charlotte.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

great dinner in charlotte

had an 8 pm reservation. outdoor seating was fun. nice breeze.
enjoyed the full moon above.
had the small plates. Started with the charcuterie board.
our server gave great recommendations for the cheeses. the presentation was beautiful.
we then stared the braised bison which was delicious.
over all a great meal.
server was very attentive but not overbearing.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Excellent in every way. The babganoush, artisan cheese, and the rabbit saddle were particularly notable. What a great pre- theatre dinner!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.