About Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth

Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth is a dining experience focused on providing a truly seasonal meal with ingredients from local wineries, dairies and artisanal farms. With a naturally rustic decor that reflects the focus on simple good, Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth is a unique place to enjoy dinner or to host a private event.

The menu at Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth can be hard to predict, but locals have frequently enjoyed mushroom tarts, bleu cheese souffle's, shrimp and octopus entrees, duck egg ravioli and more. From venison and rabbit to sole and brussels sprout entrees, there is plenty for everyone to love on the Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth menu. Located on the avenue of Levine Arts in the heart of Uptown Charlotte.

500 S Tryon St
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, French, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday: 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
Levine Avenue of the Arts

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 910-0865

Website:
http://www.halcyonflavors.com/

Parking Details:
Halcyon is directly connected to the Levine Center for Arts parking garage, which is accessible from both South Church Street and Stonewall Street. Park in Visitor Parking and take the Plaza Elevators to level 2, the entry hall.

Executive Chef:
James Stouffer

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Halcyon, Flavors from the Earth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Scenic View (13)
See All
Business Meals (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Romantic (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Organic (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Healthy (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Tapas (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Casual (3)
Seasonal (3)
Cozy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
People Watching (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
959 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Another fantastic meal at Halcyon (Kobe tartare, foie gras, duck & creme brulee). I've never been disappointed eating here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

As always, Halcyon provided a great setting for our large group business meeting. There was a tiny mix-up with our table being given to another group but the staff was excellent at getting another setting in place before the rest of our group arrived. The food was fabulous and I will absolutely be booking here again next time I'm in Charlotte for client meetings.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

On a visit to the Museum, my husband and I decided to have lunch at Halcyon. It was lovely--the sole was delicate and flavorful. And my husband's French toast with local peaches was just what he wanted. Good service and pleasant atmosphere!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

Loved the food! Great portions and the food was great. Service was bit disappointing. Waiter while nice was not very attentive. Felt like we were "the other table" even though it wasn't overly busy. View was great. I am hopefully he was having an off night.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We ate here for a lunch. The food was outstanding. Superb creativity with the sole and stewed chicken. But the peach fritter was worth a trip by itself. Fritters like French beignets with fresh peaches, peach ice cream and peach sauce..... !

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great service and fantastic food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Western KY)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner here. We just ordered appetizers abd "snacks" from the tasting boards. We asked the server to serve as they became ready. Everything came out at the same time so we had quite the feast on our table but we enjoyed.

Tags: Casual, Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Halcyon is an absolute gem. Park across the street at "On the Green" parking deck. The restaurant is across the street up the tall stairs and worth the climb! If it is nice out the patio has a wonderful view of S Tryon street. The menu is ever changing and always charming. There are several wines on the list by the glass that are of notable mention. This place always charms us and keeps getting better. We will be back many times to come. Rapidly becoming our go-to place in downtown Charlotte.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

great dinner in charlotte

had an 8 pm reservation. outdoor seating was fun. nice breeze.
enjoyed the full moon above.
had the small plates. Started with the charcuterie board.
our server gave great recommendations for the cheeses. the presentation was beautiful.
we then stared the braised bison which was delicious.
over all a great meal.
server was very attentive but not overbearing.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Excellent in every way. The babganoush, artisan cheese, and the rabbit saddle were particularly notable. What a great pre- theatre dinner!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The food was outstanding, just a little bit on the pricey side.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Despite our reservation, a request to sit outside and two empty tables on the patio, we sat on stools at an outside bar. Not really a problem, except that there were tables but no chairs. We were told that other diners “pulled up chairs”. Well, okay, but who sat them and allowed it? Also, I received notification from Open Table that I did not honor my reservation, which clearly I did, or why would I be writing this? Overall, maybe it was a busy day, but not good front of house management. :-(

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great spot for a nice lunch. Variety of meat, seafood, and veg options, all served in a lovely place by great servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We have previously had very good experiences here. However, on this occasion, the service was very bad. Our waiter welcomed us but then disappeared. We had to flag someone down to order a glass of wine. Then only one of us got our wine. Food was great but service very poor.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Had reservations at six for two,waiter had 5 tables seated at one time,took 20 minutes for beer,ten more minutes to order,got food at 7:00 did not see waiter again until 7:15 when he brought check,never got to order another beer nor was asked about dessert. Had three so called refine ladies sitting beside us, dressed nicely flashing the bling and boobs,language was more suitable for white trash in line at a porta potty. Probably will not return.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We went for my daughter's birthday. Restaurant is beautiful and the food and service were excellent. Wine menu sorely lacking, expensive and unimpressive.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food was interesting and delicious. Service was excellent, and it is a really great setting. All round good experience!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Wonderful as always! Keep coming back to try different things on the menu and am never disappointed.

Tags: Vegan, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great, clean food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I thought Halcyon was just ok. We enjoyed our bison appetizer very much but the rabbit entree was dry and not flavorful. This restaurant is very expensive and we were hoping to really be wowed by the food. Our service was excellent but the uninspiring food left a lot to be desired. We will likely not be returning as there are plenty of other excellent restaurants in the area.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 7, 2017

This was a wonderful way to begin our evening. Food was outstanding(as always). Enjoyed the Fragile Irishman as an after dinner drink.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 6, 2017

everything tastes so fresh and each menu option is original and inventive

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Service took longer than usual, and then the order was incorrect. Not my usual experience here, will still come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My halibut was excellent as was the salad. But my wife's scallops were only so so - bland, not very flavorful- especially for the price. Service was cordial but very slow. Great venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Fantastic food and service in an atmosphere that echoes Tavern on the Green NY. Wait staff was very attentive and handled all our idiosyncratic requests with a smile and a "No worries" attitude.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 26, 2017

An evening out during a trip to Charlotte from Manchester, England. Nice warm feel to an excellent restaurant. Food was very good, we stuck with ordering little sharing plates, and lots of them! Service was also good, with a knowledgeable server. Only downside I found was a drinks menu that was trying too hard to match the creative food, and failing! We had 5 different cocktails and wasn't impressed, by either taste or price! But let's get back to the food, that far outweighed any negative thoughts, wouldn't hesitate to go back!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Waitress asked upfront if we were attending a show and on a schedule. We told her yes, we had one hour for dinner. She then took 15 minutes to come back, forgot my husband's beer, and the food took forever. We ordered as quickly as she returned to the table and finally had to let them know to cancel any food that didn't arrive in the next 5 minutes as we had already waited 45. They then rushed the food that arrived all at once (small plates), food was not impressive, and we had to rush to eat it all in under 10 minutes. We don't get out often on date nights and this experience was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We've been curious about Halcyon for sometime. Our sons graduation made for a good time to check you out. The decor and ambiance were wonderful . Megan our server knew the menu and description of the dishes. And checked on us just enough and was tipped over 20%. You were out of bison and that was a dish we were hoping to try. Our party of six enjoyed their meal but the over all opinion was , decent food but just ok. Two of us had the Seafood Bullion. The scallop was delicious , the veggies fresh but too heavy on the fennel . Not a dish I would recommend or eat again. The Special of French Toast was average . Our appetizer board was pretty good but the Baba Ganosh was not really tasty and it could have used a few more pieces of bread or cracker. If someone was looking for a nice setting and view I would suggest they give you a try but over all I feel the food it self was just average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This was one of the best 10 meals of my life; and I am a foody!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 17, 2017

This restaurant was recommended as having a good variety of both meat and vegetarian options. The menu had recently changed and there were no veg option the evening I went. Normally a chef will accommodate a variety of dietary restrictions but this night the waiter instructed me to "get a bunch of appetizers". Was leading the group so we decided to oder one app each and finish our drinks and go to another place. Don't get me wrong, the food was good, nothing beyond the normal farm to table fare, but still a solid offering. If you plan to take a large group, hopefully everyone in your party has the same diet because I don't get the sense this place is very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Service was slower than expected, waited long to order.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

They forgot my side salad with my brunch sandwich, and getting the check took quite some time, although they didn't seem too busy it was Mother's Day though, so I was understanding. The food was very tasty and so were the bloody mary's! It's definitely a place to splurge, and if the weather is good definitely sit outdoors! We will certainly return, but won't make it a regular stop.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Incredible food never disappoints. The chef is truly talented and balanced flavors so well. It's always an awesome experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food is always excellent. My favorite uptown restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Awesome (as always). Never disappoints. Love this place a ton'

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great food... the tartare and blue cheese soufflé were very nicely done. We also started with a nice salad. Great selection of local craft beers and European wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 16, 2016

A nice special treat in downtown Charlotte. Located right in the heart of Charlotte Arts and Downtown. The food was great and well priced. The presentation also wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 25, 2016

We sat outside and enjoyed a beautiful view of the city. The food and service were excellent. I do wish they had a few more options for wine by the glass and more local craft beers on tap. Halcyon has an upscale feel without being stuffy or pretentious. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2016

A delicious lunch. The food was phenomenal and the Hendricks cocktail with basil was incredible! We had a late lunch reservation so the servers changed partway through. The server who took care of us for most of the meal was super pleasant. The young lady who took over for her at dessert was less pleasant. But I would definitely recommend Halcyon to friend and will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 23, 2016

This was our first visit to Halcyon and the food was spectacular. We were only one of about three occupied tables because we were eating early to get to a concert that night. Yet for some reason, they put us right near the door next to the bassist and piano. We asked if we could be moved and the answer was inexplicably, no. It doesn't sound that bad except we were shouting at each other to be heard. Furthermore, we had to endure listening to the ongoing conversation of the couple who was playing discuss such awkward topics as her admiration for his songwriting, why she could not keep up with his playing that night, and how she wrote him a poem that made him somewhat uncomfortable.

That being said, the food was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.