About Hadsten House Dining Room

1450 Mission Dr
Solvang, CA 93463
View Larger Map

The Bistro restaurant experience includes a wonderful and romantic dining room with a cozy fireplace as well as couch seating for your enjoyment.

Its original wine country gourmet menu is great for any occasion. Come celebrate with us!

Our ever-changing, always-growing wine list features special wines that mostly come from our local Santa Barbara, Santa Ynez and Santa Maria Valley wine country but also features French, Italian and Spanish varietals.

Our friendly and knowledgeable staff will guide you through the menu featuring our farm-to-table selections and nightly specials to help you choose the perfect meal. Your server will then help you choose the perfect wine to pair with your menu selection.

Bon appetite!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 10:00am.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm. We will be open on Mother's Day, Sunday May 8th, 2016 for Regular Dinner Service and Sunday May 29th, 2016 through Labor Day, 2016 for Regular Dinner Service.

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 688-3210

Website:
http://www.hadstenhouse.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking lot

Executive Chef:
Chef James Owens

Private Party Facilities:
Hadsten House has both banquet and board rooms available for private meetings and events. Contact Restaurant Manager Rory for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Rory Cox: 8056883210x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Hadsten House Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
California Central Coast
Best Service
Santa Ynez Valley
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Ynez Valley
2 More
Notable Wine List
Santa Ynez Valley
Special Occasion
Santa Ynez Valley
Best Restaurants in Solvang ›

romantic (12)
notable wine list (11)
special occasion (10)
See All
neighborhood gem (9)
fit for foodies (9)
good for groups (4)
kid-friendly (3)
hot spot (1)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a small group for dinner. Everyt ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had a small group for dinner. Everything was quite good. A little pricey. Portions were large. Service was friendly.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ribeye was average not what I expect ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The ribeye was average not what I expected. Roasted veges were very good. Service was great.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Very good. Better than expected. Very ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Very good. Better than expected. Very generous portion and romantic in Solvang.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service. Pleasantly surprise ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Outstanding service. Pleasantly surprised with the large portions & the gourmet quality of the good. Loved & will go back when in the area!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hadsten House serves delicious food in a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Hadsten House serves delicious food in a sophisticated yet friendly atmosphere. We were a group of 9 and everyone was delighted with their meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food great service!

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Great food great service! My wife and I had dinner there and we loved both our entrée and the Caesar salad was the best we've ever had and we travel all the time. Anytime we're near Solvang we will be eating Here!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went here after our child graduated f ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We went here after our child graduated from high school and chose this restaurant because of its varied menu. We've been once before and knew it would be a great choice for our group.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were staying at Hadsten House for the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We were staying at Hadsten House for the weekend and so decided to have dinner there after reading reviews. The service was slow, but friendly and helpful. The portions are HUGE and the food was quite rich. The combinations were good, but a lighter hand on the sauces would be nice. The outstanding Lobster Bisque should be shared as it is a meal unto itself. The scallops were of the large, diver variety and would have been great if placed atop sautéed vegetables or simple mashed potatoes instead of the parmesan risotto which was drenched in way too much sauce. The added beurre blanc was unnecessary. People at an adjoining table ordered burgers that were so large they had to be consumed with a knife and fork. If you have massive appetites and enjoy rich sauces, this is the place for you.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great variety of entres and wonderful wine list!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Small dining room, but great food and excellent wine list! I would certainly go back. The squid ink pasta was amazing as was the pork belly appetizer. Also, the burger was enormous! Enough to share. Can't wait to go back again next time I am in Solvang.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Local gem

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

I wanted a QUIET place to celebrate my husbands birthday...so many of our great restaurants in the SY Valley are really loud...the Hadston was perfect!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Just a great gem to dine at.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Just a great gem to dine at.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Food!

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

It was my dad's 81st birthday and I took them to the Hadsten House. My step-mom is very particular about her food and if she does not like it you will know. She is still talking about how great the food was. She was also impressed had how quiet it was. Most of the restaurants in the valley require you to almost shout to be heard because the acuostics are so bad. This restaurant has a nice calm atmosphere and you can actually carry on a conversation just between the people at your table. The wait staff is very attentive and my dad highly recommends the onion rings as an appetizer. Even though this is owned by the tribe, I would definitely eat there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a reservation at the Hadsten Hous ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

I made a reservation at the Hadsten House restaurant based on the reviews on Open Table. We also heard from locals that it was outstanding. I have to say that I was very disappointed in the meal. Although my husbands choice of the Pork Tenderloin was better, the pasta I ordered was mediocre at best. The flavors were 1 note and the Sausage used in the dish was tough and bland.

The service was timely and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Valentine's Dinner

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Went here for a few reasons; (1) reviews were good, (2) hadn't been there before, & (3) it had available seating! First, don't let the location fool you. It's basically a restaurant located in the parking lot of the Hadsten House Inn, which really looks like mid-rate motel (although the reviews for the Inn seem pretty good!). The restaurant itself is open and nicely decorated. Our waiter was fairly attentive (lost him a few times) and was good about letting my wife sample a few wines until she found one she liked. As for the food, the french onion soup was unlike any french onion soup my wife or I had ever had...and not in a good way! It had no onions, was oily, and had some sort of spicy taste to it (picture chimichurri soup!). Needless to say, we returned it and the waiter took it off our bill. The wedge salad, on the other hand, was very good. For dinner, my duck breast was good, although the skin could've been a little crispier as the fat wasn't fully rendered, and my wife enjoyed her filet. All in all, it was a good meal, although when paying @ $100/person I expect a slightly elevated experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Pre Valentine Dinner

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I ate here for dinner during our Valentine's weekend stay in Solvang. We started our meal sharing the Lobster Bisque, it was definitely big enough to share. She had the halibut and I had the short ribs. Both dinners tasted wonderful and plated beautifully.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the first time we have visited t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This is the first time we have visited this restaurant. We were very impressed with evertyhing. The service was great, the food was wonderful and the ambiance was very nice. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant week menu

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Enjoyed the restaurant week menu,

Small portions then the regular menu, but very tasty. Of course or service was great, as usual!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Restaurant Week Dinner

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

Food was good and service fine.

Our only suggestion would be that a hostess station be added. There are 3 doors

into the large open dining room and no designated area to stand while waiting

for a table. Felt awkward just standing near the small bar. Saw other patrons

do the same walking in.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Excellent date night location. The food ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Excellent date night location. The food and wine were fabulous. The service and ambience are very good and we had an enjoyable evening. We had the cheese board, short ribs and ribeye and recommend them all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Who would of thought!

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

Had dinner there on a Wednesday night and only 2 of the tables were taken at 6:00. The waitress was wonderful and the food was quite good. This was my first time and I loved the decor. With the high ceilings, I am not sure how the noise level would be if the place was full. I do plan on going back again to try some of the other menu items. They all sounded wonderful and if they are as good as my first meal, I plan on making this a regular spot to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have eaten here many times ,they have ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

We have eaten here many times ,they have a wide varied menu and very good food. But even better is the service by Stephanie. She is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

We had a delightful anniversary dinner! The food was delicious, beautifully presented, cooked to perfection, expertly seasoned. The staff was very friendly, attentive without interrupting, and several of them had obviously seen the note on our reservation about our anniversary and went out of their way to extend congratulations. We chose a terrific Pinot Noir from the extensive wine list that was recommended by the staff and were impressed with how wonderful it was! Many thanks for a beautiful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 4, 2016

I was celebrating our anniversary and wanted a nice place to eat. The service was excellent, because I have severe food allergies, the waiter made sure, I didn't have food with nuts.

The food was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Christmas Day Dinner!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

First time my husband & I had dined at The Hadsten House. Our waiter was great, perfect in every way. Gave us good advice on food selections, mine being the scallops (they were divine) and my husband ordered the pork roast (he loved it). Portions were just right. An a la carte menu. Overall, we felt a bit overpriced but it wouldn't keep us from coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Exceptional food for evening dining and quiet.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

One of the best restaurants in the area. Manager Rory knew the wines. Chef did an outstanding job with the scallops and pork loin. The calamari appetizer was the best we've ever had. The servers appeared at appropriate time. Loved the quietness, the Manager Rory and friendly staff. I would highly recommend this restaurant. Fine dining. No rushing.

We also enjoyed the brunch buffet. It was good but nothing special.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food, memorable experience, ev ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Delicious food, memorable experience, everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Made my Wife's Birthday memorable!!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

The restaurant was amazing, the food was a lot and it was very good. It took a while to get the food but we had nice hot bread and the server came to apologize for the late food but we were ok since we have a whole bottle of rose, we had a great experience in this restaurant and the ambiance and style is very chick and updated!! I would certainly come back to this restaurant! Also, they gave us a complementary creme brulee for my wife's Birthday!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

good experiences

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

I have been to this restaurant twice and each time the food and service was exceptional. It is a larger room but it doesn't get too loud. I'm not sure why it is not busier than it has been when I go.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great place to eat

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

One of the top three restaurants in Solvang. This was our second dinner here and we will return if the opportunity presents itself. It came highly recommended by several local businesses. The food was excellent and the service attentive, but not obtrusive. Rita's pork loin was tender and my lamb was juicy. The bread was steaming, right out of the oven. Prices are on the higher end, but the meal was worth it. Excellent wine list and there is complimentary corkage for wines from affiliated local wineries (Alexander & Wayne and Arthur Earl).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing and the service was ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

The food was amazing and the service was too notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Experience

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

I was totally impressed with the whole experience. The service and food was nothing but spectacular. I even had a special event and the staff made it memorable. I want to especially thank the manager, Rory Cox for being so professional. I was taken aback that she actually helped serve the meal to the table. I have never been in a higher end restaurant where that has ever happened. Props to her.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

My mother, daughter and I had Thanksgiving dinner here. It was spectacular! There were actually vegan choices, which is rare in Solvang. I had the quinoa stuffed squash and a fantastic salad. Everything was fresh tasting and perfectly seasoned. The wine list is extensive. My daughter had the pasta with spinach, and it too was on point. Service was excellent and very attentive.

Great dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My husband just took me here for our 5th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

My husband just took me here for our 5th anniversary. This place is fantastic! When u first walk in it smells wonderful. The bistro is a bigger sized room with a bar and a great fireplace. They also have some lounge couches. Overall it was a very sweet dinner. We sat near the fireplace because the staff was on their game. 😍 they read our note about the anniversary. The staff was great, they were very knowledgable about the wines. I appreciated that! Husband and I both loved our meals. The waiter was nice enough to bring us extra plates to share abit easier. When we paid the bill my husband thought they made a mistake. It was very low for what we ordered. When he asked the waiter if

they could please double check the waiter responded, "OH, we took 15% off your meal. We wanted to help make sure you had a nice celebration." I was STUNNED! This place is amazing and they have earned a lifetime reservations from us when we make our visits. Go check them out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Value and Food in Solvang

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Consistent food with a great selection and good service. A secret find for a lovely evening

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

First time

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

The food was great. The ambiance and wait staff are wonderful. We would definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in Solvang

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Amazing food, the GM and Wine Director has done an excellent job producing an extensive wine list that expands beyond California to Italy, France and beyond. Perfect for a romantic dinner, group of friends celebrating a special occasion, or anyone wanting an overall superb dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a little unsure at first, scene ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 4, 2015

We were a little unsure at first, scene as the restaurant was at a hotel. What a pleasant surprise! The food was awesome the service was excellent and we would recommend it to everyone. If you're traveling down the 5 freeway it's worth the detour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Horrible restaurant, unfortunatley.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

I was disappointed in this restaurant, because the town of Solvang is so cute! And we had a great stay at Hotel Corque, which is right up the street. My boyfriend and I had our anniversary dinner at Hadsten House Dining Room, and when we first walked in, we thought, this is such a nice restaurant! But then it went down hill from there.... the service was extremely slow (we had to wait about 20min between sitting down to getting drinks, and then between our orders being taken to our appetizers coming out, and then waited for our entrees for at least 30min. At the end of the meal I asked to speak to a manager, and they said the manager is the chef (what kind of $30-$40 entrée restaurant has the chef as the manager???) so he is too busy to talk to us (we were there on a Saturday night!!!). Also, they were out of the first 3 white wines that my boyfriend requested, but were not offered any comp on a more expensive wine that the server brought out instead (which was a few dollars more than the one that he originally chose). When the food finally came out, I thought my shrimp pasta was pretty good, but my boyfriends "kobe" beef burgers might have been fast food... and were DEFINATLEY not Kobe beef. Overall, an unfortunate anniversary dinner.... but a great weekend in Solvang! I will definatley be back to Solvang, but definatley NOT be back to Hadsten House Restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Excellent service, great tasting food.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

Excellent service, great tasting food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

2 thumbs up

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 26, 2015

This is one of our favorite go to places. The service is fabulous,Stephanie:-) is our gal! So professional, happy and the best waitress we know!

And you can always count on the food to be consistently GOOD!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.