Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Hadsten House Dining Room

The Bistro restaurant experience includes a wonderful and romantic dining room with a cozy fireplace as well as couch seating for your enjoyment.

Its original wine country gourmet menu is great for any occasion. Come celebrate with us!

Our ever-changing, always-growing wine list features special wines that mostly come from our local Santa Barbara, Santa Ynez and Santa Maria Valley wine country but also features French, Italian and Spanish varietals.

Our friendly and knowledgeable staff will guide you through the menu featuring our farm-to-table selections and nightly specials to help you choose the perfect meal. Your server will then help you choose the perfect wine to pair with your menu selection.

Bon appetite!

1450 Mission Dr
Solvang, CA 93463
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 10:00am.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm. We will be open on Mother's Day, Sunday May 8th, 2016 for Regular Dinner Service and Sunday May 29th, 2016 through Labor Day, 2016 for Regular Dinner Service.

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 688-3210

Website:
http://www.hadstenhouse.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking lot

Executive Chef:
Chef James Owens

Private Party Facilities:
Hadsten House has both banquet and board rooms available for private meetings and events. Contact Restaurant Manager Rory for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Rory Cox: (805) 688-3210

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hadsten House Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (7)
Romantic (7)
Special Occasion (6)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Cozy (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Fireplace (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
161 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Delicious meal and great service from Stephanie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great service - our server made several recommendations, was friendly and checked on us often. The food was tasty (big portions). Overall, a very nice anniversary dinner and we would definitely recommend to others.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food and ambience. It's one of my favorite restaurants to eat at in Solvang. The steaks and the scallops never disappoint!

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Anniversary Date night.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent food and wine. The Hadsten House was a good find. We don't eat out very often, but we have been here twice in 2 weeks and plan to be back soon. First discovered during restaurant week. We plan to make it a regular date night stop.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Best lobster bisque ever topped with pastry crust. Portions are generous and very tasty. This was our 3rd time there and look forward to next time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent as always! The food is fantastic and prepared so well. Additionally, the ambiance is very modern and creates such a nice environment!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had a great meal at the Hadsten House. Our server, Stephanie, was very attentive and made good recommendations on both food and wine. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent meal. Service was great, there was a great wine selection and the food was delicious. It was a little louder than I expected but that may have been a problem with my expectations rather than a flaw in the Hadsten House.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 27, 2017

It was a great experience and the waiter we had was great

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We have never had a bad meal at this place. The service is always excellent, with the wait staff being very friendly. Excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday in Solvang and enjoyed an amazing dinner at Hadsten House. The fact that it was restaurant week an added bonus. Our server, Emanuel, was attentive and made our dining experience an absolute pleasure! He even put a candle in my bread puffing for my birthday! We will definitely go back to Hadsten House the next time we are in Solvang.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Went during restaurant week. Great value. Not sure I could afford to go often at regular prices, but food was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was fantastic. The wait staff was friendly, but not very attentive. After we were seated and our order taken, our waiter disappeared until we needed the check. Another waitress refilled our water and took our dessert order.

Overall I would give this place another try. We had the steak and the diver scallops, both were amazing. Steak and scallops were perfectly cooked. We had the lava cake for dessert which takes about 15 mins (it's noted on the menu). They also had a great list of local wines. We had a bottle of 2012 Zaca Mesa Cuvée.

I hope next time we go the service is better. I would have liked the waiter to stop by and check on how the meal was going to order our dessert sooner and possibly bottle of wine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Lobster bisque was wonderful and I would come back for that only. The burger was okay but not memorable and service slow.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The waiter and other servers were nice and friendly. Their knowledge of what was on the menu was fabulous in helping us with our choices. We were here on Christmas Eve and it was very cozy and warm. We would definitely go again. Get a reservation.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great food , service for Christmas Eve was somewhat disappointing. Not the A team working .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went with our four young children on Christmas Eve, and it was a wonderful dining experience, one of the best we've had! The service was friendly and prompt, the food was out-of-this-world, and the ambiance was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Best dam food in the valley. We have enjoyed dining here since it opened. Great friendly staff.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Charming hotel restaurant. Wonderful wine list, mostly local. Great calamari.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Love the Hadsten House. Our server, responsible for Table 3, was outstanding. Food preparation was great! Everything we have had there has great and nicely seasoned. They were very accommodating to our requests to slightly modify what we ordered due to food allergies.

Thank you,

John

Tags: Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Service started slow and got worse. Ordered Pork Tenderloin and after ten minutes said they were out of cherry sauce but could substitute something else. I said OK but when food arrived it was at room temperature so I sent it back to reheat and finally got it back at just above room temperature. After we finished meal could not get check. Waited 40 minutes to clear table and bring check and we were first diners that night so not that busy. Went thinking it would be great experience and fine dining but totally dissatisfied. Would not recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great lobster bisque ! Huge portions and quality food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Had to wait 6 minutes from the time we sat down until the server took our drink order but after that the service was great. Ordered the filet mignon and it was one of the best I have ever had. Great quiet spot to take the wife to. We will be back again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

It's very cute place that doesn't look it from the outside. Loved the decor. The scallops were delish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We took a chance, as we knew nothing about Hadsten House. Kind of an old style steakhouse decor, with high ceilings. Our server was very knowledgeable about the wines served, and we very much appreciated his suggestions. The food alone will bring us back, when we are in the area. Add the excellent service, and Hadsten House is a hidden gem! I will recommend it to anyone looking for a diner location in the Solvang area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great food, great wine selection, QUIET, and super friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great experience. Lots of gluten free options and handled gluten free well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We love the Hadsten House. Great food, ambiance, and generous portions. Not overpriced like most SYV restaurants. Our server Charles is always exceptional.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Tender steak and lobster bisqueu along with a flair of elegance and great wine, what more can you ask for.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We planned our small wedding at the Santa Barbara Courthouse and actually stayed in a hotel right up the street. We wanted a nice, reasonably priced restaurant to celebrate with our friends and family after the ceremony. We had a fairly large party of 12, and while the restaurant is not large they had our table ready and waiting for us. The menu was reasonably priced with great selections for anyone to choose from. The wine was excellent as was the service. My husband and I have talked about revisiting this restaurant for anniversaries and would definitely recommend it to anyone!

Tags: Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We have been to Hadsen House Bistro before going to the theater - the food and service has been great, and we're always on-time for the show!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Enjoyed our evening. The food was well-prepared. Would return.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 19, 2016

This was our first experience and the ambiance and food was perfect for our dinner out for a special occasion. The lobster bisque was delicious and scallops were prepared perfectly. The service was friendly and well timed. We live locally and will definitely return again and again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We celebrated our best friends 50th wedding anniversary with a dinner at Hadsten House. Each course was better than the previous one. We appreciated that the noise level was quiet even though many dining tables were filled. Our waiter was knowledgeable and also very friendly and made our dining experience even better. It was a memorable dinner that will long be remembered.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food is great. Stephanie our server who we have had on numerous occasions knows the menu. Makes great recommendations & provides top notch service. A true professional. Great restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I love this place and the food, we go there every time we're in Solvang.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 27, 2016

A very good dining experience. We will return when we are in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Very enjoyable, romantic birthday dinner. Our server was Brian - very knowledgeable and professional and friendly, not pretentious like upscale restaurant waitstaff can be. He and the other staff were attentive and took good care of us. I normally don't get excited about salads but the warm spinach with bacon-balsamic vinaigrette was amazing. We had the oven-braised short ribs and the filet mignon, both were delicious and made to order. The wine and beer list was lengthy, and dessert (Fuji apple pie) was a great finish. What more could anyone ask for...? Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had a small group for dinner. Everything was quite good. A little pricey. Portions were large. Service was friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.