About Hadsten House Dining Room

1450 Mission Dr
Solvang, CA 93463
View Larger Map

The Bistro restaurant experience includes a wonderful and romantic dining room with a cozy fireplace as well as couch seating for your enjoyment.

Its original wine country gourmet menu is great for any occasion. Come celebrate with us!

Our ever-changing, always-growing wine list features special wines that mostly come from our local Santa Barbara, Santa Ynez and Santa Maria Valley wine country but also features French, Italian and Spanish varietals.

Our friendly and knowledgeable staff will guide you through the menu featuring our farm-to-table selections and nightly specials to help you choose the perfect meal. Your server will then help you choose the perfect wine to pair with your menu selection.

Bon appetite!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 10:00am.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm. We will be open on Mother's Day, Sunday May 8th, 2016 for Regular Dinner Service and Sunday May 29th, 2016 through Labor Day, 2016 for Regular Dinner Service.

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 688-3210

Website:
http://www.hadstenhouse.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking lot

Executive Chef:
Chef James Owens

Private Party Facilities:
Hadsten House has both banquet and board rooms available for private meetings and events. Contact Restaurant Manager Rory for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Rory Cox: 8056883210x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Hadsten House Dining Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (5)
Business Meals (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
See All
Fit for Foodies (3)
Seasonal (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Romantic (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Cozy (2)
Organic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Casual (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
S
148 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was fantastic. The wait staff w ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was fantastic. The wait staff was friendly, but not very attentive. After we were seated and our order taken, our waiter disappeared until we needed the check. Another waitress refilled our water and took our dessert order.

Overall I would give this place another try. We had the steak and the diver scallops, both were amazing. Steak and scallops were perfectly cooked. We had the lava cake for dessert which takes about 15 mins (it's noted on the menu). They also had a great list of local wines. We had a bottle of 2012 Zaca Mesa Cuvée.

I hope next time we go the service is better. I would have liked the waiter to stop by and check on how the meal was going to order our dessert sooner and possibly bottle of wine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Lobster bisque was wonderful and I would ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Lobster bisque was wonderful and I would come back for that only. The burger was okay but not memorable and service slow.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

The waiter and other servers were nice a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The waiter and other servers were nice and friendly. Their knowledge of what was on the menu was fabulous in helping us with our choices. We were here on Christmas Eve and it was very cozy and warm. We would definitely go again. Get a reservation.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food , service for Christmas Eve w ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great food , service for Christmas Eve was somewhat disappointing. Not the A team working .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

We went with our four young children on ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went with our four young children on Christmas Eve, and it was a wonderful dining experience, one of the best we've had! The service was friendly and prompt, the food was out-of-this-world, and the ambiance was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dam food in the valley. We have enj ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Best dam food in the valley. We have enjoyed dining here since it opened. Great friendly staff.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming hotel restaurant. Wonderful win ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Charming hotel restaurant. Wonderful wine list, mostly local. Great calamari.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the Hadsten House. Our server, res ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Love the Hadsten House. Our server, responsible for Table 3, was outstanding. Food preparation was great! Everything we have had there has great and nicely seasoned. They were very accommodating to our requests to slightly modify what we ordered due to food allergies.

Thank you,

John

Tags: Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service started slow and got worse. Orde ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Service started slow and got worse. Ordered Pork Tenderloin and after ten minutes said they were out of cherry sauce but could substitute something else. I said OK but when food arrived it was at room temperature so I sent it back to reheat and finally got it back at just above room temperature. After we finished meal could not get check. Waited 40 minutes to clear table and bring check and we were first diners that night so not that busy. Went thinking it would be great experience and fine dining but totally dissatisfied. Would not recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Great lobster bisque ! Huge portions a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great lobster bisque ! Huge portions and quality food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had to wait 6 minutes from the time we s ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Had to wait 6 minutes from the time we sat down until the server took our drink order but after that the service was great. Ordered the filet mignon and it was one of the best I have ever had. Great quiet spot to take the wife to. We will be back again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It's very cute place that doesn't look i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

It's very cute place that doesn't look it from the outside. Loved the decor. The scallops were delish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We took a chance, as we knew nothing abo ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We took a chance, as we knew nothing about Hadsten House. Kind of an old style steakhouse decor, with high ceilings. Our server was very knowledgeable about the wines served, and we very much appreciated his suggestions. The food alone will bring us back, when we are in the area. Add the excellent service, and Hadsten House is a hidden gem! I will recommend it to anyone looking for a diner location in the Solvang area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food, great wine selection, QUIET, ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great food, great wine selection, QUIET, and super friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great experience. Lots of gluten free op ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great experience. Lots of gluten free options and handled gluten free well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We love the Hadsten House. Great food, ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We love the Hadsten House. Great food, ambiance, and generous portions. Not overpriced like most SYV restaurants. Our server Charles is always exceptional.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Tender steak and lobster bisqueu along w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Tender steak and lobster bisqueu along with a flair of elegance and great wine, what more can you ask for.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We planned our small wedding at the Sant ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We planned our small wedding at the Santa Barbara Courthouse and actually stayed in a hotel right up the street. We wanted a nice, reasonably priced restaurant to celebrate with our friends and family after the ceremony. We had a fairly large party of 12, and while the restaurant is not large they had our table ready and waiting for us. The menu was reasonably priced with great selections for anyone to choose from. The wine was excellent as was the service. My husband and I have talked about revisiting this restaurant for anniversaries and would definitely recommend it to anyone!

Tags: Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Hadsen House Bistro befo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We have been to Hadsen House Bistro before going to the theater - the food and service has been great, and we're always on-time for the show!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our evening. The food was well- ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Enjoyed our evening. The food was well-prepared. Would return.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first experience and the am ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 19, 2016

This was our first experience and the ambiance and food was perfect for our dinner out for a special occasion. The lobster bisque was delicious and scallops were prepared perfectly. The service was friendly and well timed. We live locally and will definitely return again and again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our best friends 50th wedd ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We celebrated our best friends 50th wedding anniversary with a dinner at Hadsten House. Each course was better than the previous one. We appreciated that the noise level was quiet even though many dining tables were filled. Our waiter was knowledgeable and also very friendly and made our dining experience even better. It was a memorable dinner that will long be remembered.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is great. Stephanie our server ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food is great. Stephanie our server who we have had on numerous occasions knows the menu. Makes great recommendations & provides top notch service. A true professional. Great restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place and the food, we go th ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I love this place and the food, we go there every time we're in Solvang.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very good dining experience. We will r ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 27, 2016

A very good dining experience. We will return when we are in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very enjoyable, romantic birthday dinner ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Very enjoyable, romantic birthday dinner. Our server was Brian - very knowledgeable and professional and friendly, not pretentious like upscale restaurant waitstaff can be. He and the other staff were attentive and took good care of us. I normally don't get excited about salads but the warm spinach with bacon-balsamic vinaigrette was amazing. We had the oven-braised short ribs and the filet mignon, both were delicious and made to order. The wine and beer list was lengthy, and dessert (Fuji apple pie) was a great finish. What more could anyone ask for...? Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a small group for dinner. Everyt ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had a small group for dinner. Everything was quite good. A little pricey. Portions were large. Service was friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ribeye was average not what I expect ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 22, 2016

The ribeye was average not what I expected. Roasted veges were very good. Service was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Very good. Better than expected. Very ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Very good. Better than expected. Very generous portion and romantic in Solvang.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service. Pleasantly surprise ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Outstanding service. Pleasantly surprised with the large portions & the gourmet quality of the good. Loved & will go back when in the area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hadsten House serves delicious food in a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Hadsten House serves delicious food in a sophisticated yet friendly atmosphere. We were a group of 9 and everyone was delighted with their meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food great service!

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Great food great service! My wife and I had dinner there and we loved both our entrée and the Caesar salad was the best we've ever had and we travel all the time. Anytime we're near Solvang we will be eating Here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went here after our child graduated f ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 28, 2016

We went here after our child graduated from high school and chose this restaurant because of its varied menu. We've been once before and knew it would be a great choice for our group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were staying at Hadsten House for the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2016

We were staying at Hadsten House for the weekend and so decided to have dinner there after reading reviews. The service was slow, but friendly and helpful. The portions are HUGE and the food was quite rich. The combinations were good, but a lighter hand on the sauces would be nice. The outstanding Lobster Bisque should be shared as it is a meal unto itself. The scallops were of the large, diver variety and would have been great if placed atop sautéed vegetables or simple mashed potatoes instead of the parmesan risotto which was drenched in way too much sauce. The added beurre blanc was unnecessary. People at an adjoining table ordered burgers that were so large they had to be consumed with a knife and fork. If you have massive appetites and enjoy rich sauces, this is the place for you.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great variety of entres and wonderful wine list!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Small dining room, but great food and excellent wine list! I would certainly go back. The squid ink pasta was amazing as was the pork belly appetizer. Also, the burger was enormous! Enough to share. Can't wait to go back again next time I am in Solvang.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We have always had great service at Hads ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2016

We have always had great service at Hadsten House, and the food is good. It isn't amazing, but it's good. There is a patio that is nice for warm evenings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Local gem

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2016

I wanted a QUIET place to celebrate my husbands birthday...so many of our great restaurants in the SY Valley are really loud...the Hadston was perfect!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Just a great gem to dine at.

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 17, 2016

Just a great gem to dine at.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Food!

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 14, 2016

It was my dad's 81st birthday and I took them to the Hadsten House. My step-mom is very particular about her food and if she does not like it you will know. She is still talking about how great the food was. She was also impressed had how quiet it was. Most of the restaurants in the valley require you to almost shout to be heard because the acuostics are so bad. This restaurant has a nice calm atmosphere and you can actually carry on a conversation just between the people at your table. The wait staff is very attentive and my dad highly recommends the onion rings as an appetizer. Even though this is owned by the tribe, I would definitely eat there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a reservation at the Hadsten Hous ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 29, 2016

I made a reservation at the Hadsten House restaurant based on the reviews on Open Table. We also heard from locals that it was outstanding. I have to say that I was very disappointed in the meal. Although my husbands choice of the Pork Tenderloin was better, the pasta I ordered was mediocre at best. The flavors were 1 note and the Sausage used in the dish was tough and bland.

The service was timely and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.