About Hacienda del Rio - Old Town

302 San Felipe NW
Albuquerque, NM 87104
View Larger Map

Hacienda del Rio is located in historic Old Town Albuquerque. We feature exceptional New Mexican food, prepared from scratch, always fresh and always healthy. It’s what brings locals and visitors back again and again. Come in relax, and enjoy a fabulous Hacienda margarita. Inside or out... Our staff is ready to serve you.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican / Southwestern, American, Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner: Daily: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Central & Rio Grande

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 243-3131

Website:
http://www.haciendadelriocantina.com/

Entertainment:
Hacienda del Rio has LIVE entertainment on weekends.

Catering:
Planning an event? We hope you will consider serving delicious, authentic Hacienda del Rio food as a real treat for your guests! With delivery and set-up included - and servers available upon request - rest assured that your event will go off without a hitch! We also offer all utensils and dishware upon request...we have everything you need for a complete event. We set up, break down, and make it look pretty. Just sit back, relax, and enjoy your party!

Parking Details:
Private parking available.

Executive Chef:
Andres Rosales

Additional:
Bar Dining, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access

Hacienda del Rio - Old Town Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

2.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

2.0

service

1.5

ambience

1.5

value

1.0

noise

Moderate

0% would recommend it to a friend
Sort By:
S
22 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very run of the mill. Food was just ok. ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Very run of the mill. Food was just ok. Service was pressing constantly to order more. Outside dining was not shaded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

We had a good experience for first time, ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 22, 2016

We had a good experience for first time, we will return! Waiter was a little nervous, especially when my husbands order came wrong , but was quickly reordered and arrived within five minutes. Both of our meals were delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The server was very nice and friendly, b ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 17, 2016

The server was very nice and friendly, but the service was VERY slow. The food was good and the location is convenient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Food wasn't very good. Seemed to be prep ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Food wasn't very good. Seemed to be prepared ahead and got hard. Rice was stuck together in lumps, chili relleno was hard and had to be cut with a knife. Server neglected to return our credit card and we had to ask for it after signing our check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Embarrassed to host friends at this place

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 8, 2015

I thought this would be a reasonable place to host 7 friends for a reunion since it's on the old town plaza and the reservation was for prime time Saturday night when restaurants should be at their prime. Boy were we disappointed! We should have left when the waitress told us she was our hostess, waitress, bartender and would probably be doing some of the cooking as well. She then informed us that they had no steaks that night. Drink orders were taken and chips and (generic) salsa served. The drinks took a good bit of time to arrive but we were visiting so no big deal. Dinner orders were taken and off she went to post them. She came back 15 minutes later saying they had no ground beef, no fajitas and offered substitutions for those affected. The resturant was not at all busy but it still took 35-45 minutes for food to start arriving. The portions were small, the spanish rice was crunchy like it had been drying out for days, the refried beans tasted like they were from a can, and all the food was pretty much cold to barely warm and rather tasteless. The sopapias were fresh but the honey was watered down as well. Overall, the food quality was extremely poor and the prices high. The whole operation is grossly understaffed and why a new mexican restaurant would not have stocked beef or tacos or steaks for a Saturday night is beyond belief! In summary, the operation is very poorly managed and run and I was embarrassed to host friends here. I will not be back and will not recommend this place to anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

There for the Holiday Stroll in Old Town Plaza.

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 6, 2014

One of the busiest nights at Old Town Plaza, the place was packed. Good food, good drink. Waitress was attentive. This was not your typical evening so will not comment further.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

GreatMexican choice !

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 26, 2014

We actually have eaten here several times but this time we ate outside.....it was delightful. It's not a place that seats multitudes of guests, so it's quieter and outside you can overlook Old Town Plaza which is really delightful in the evening. The food is always fresh....but definitely try the fajitas!....I'm vegetarian and theirs are wonderful.....in addition to being a really substantial plate....we'll continue frequenting this eatery :)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Every staff member tries to help every t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2014

Every staff member tries to help every table which is very inefficient but shows that everyone is interested in providing service. Just make sure that you get checked in as an Open Table member so that they actually let Open Table know.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Overall not really happy

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 18, 2014

We dined at Hacienda Del Rio with friends. The service staff ignored us for about 15 minutes. Other couples were seated and served

after we had been seated. I complained to our server when she finally showed up and we got a lip service apology. The slow service

continued throughout the evening. The quality of my meal was lacking. Small portions of adequate food. The outside patio was a

fabulous location to people watch and provides great ambiance. However I would likely not go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Don't go.

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on October 5, 2014

I was very disappointed with the restaurant. The food was terrible. Ordered frajitas and the meat was the cheapest, over cooked, and lacked flavor. Some else ordered chili rejenos and they coating was hard as if old, maybe even reheated and served. The service was terrible. No one knew anything, not prices and not their menu. DON'T GO.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Terrible All Around

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 21, 2014

The food here was absolutely terrible and service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Unfriendly

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 10, 2014

We made a reservation via Open Table based on the restaurant's listed hours. We showed up 15 minutes before our reservation time to find out that they were closing early and would not take our reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Saturday night in Albuquerque

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 3, 2014

Ok place to eat downtown. Cool look and feel. Staff is accommodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Hacienda Del Rio

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 31, 2014

Have eaten here twice, once for lunch and this time for dinner. Both experiences were enjoyable - food was good, service good. As this restaurant is right on the Plaza I can imagine that at times it could get very crowded. Both times we attended were "off peak" hours so we did not have that problem. My wife lately is having a problem with spicy food, so if someone in your party does as well, be very careful what you order. Overall a good time and would go again next time we are in Albuquerque.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Old Town Authentic

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 28, 2014

Found this restaurant through travel sites while researching for a family trip to Albuquerque. The food was delicious, and they gave enormous portions for the price! Wait staff was extremely friendly and attentive. Anyone traveling to ABQ looking for an authentic Mexican restaurant in Old Town with delicious food, great prices, and a wonderful ambiance, Hacienda del Rio is for you!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We waited over 45 minutes

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 13, 2014

We waited over 45 minutes to get waters and drinks that we ordered. So we left. It was not that busy. We saw two tables served before us.

I could not rate the food because the service was so poor...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Small town oasis in the big city

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 6, 2014

Great service, good food and a very welcome respite from suburban chain stores or fast-food. If you want a glimpse of real southwest life before everything became one big strip-mall, this is the right neighborhood.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for tourists, not locals

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 23, 2014

We had high hopes for this restaurant, but unfortunately, it fell short of our expectations. Given its location in Old Town, it is targeted at tourists. If I were a tourist visiting from say, back east, I would probably be very impressed...it would probably be unlike anything I've ever experienced before. However, being a native New Mexican, it didn't do much for me. The atmosphere and ambiance are great, but the food is only mediocre. Not bad, mind you, but there are many better New Mexican restaurant options in Albuquerque in my opinion. If a festive atmosphere is what you are seeking, this is the place. However, if you're seeking a really great New Mexican meal, you may want to consider other options.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

poor experience

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 22, 2014

The choice of red or green chile didn't matter. There was very

little on both of our meals. The food was mediocre. The margaritas were mostly ice.

Also expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Good food, good spot, fun time

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 23, 2014

We took our 4 and 7 year old sons. They had a blast. There was live music and they engaged the crowd, including the wait staff. They took my boys out and they shook maracas, marching in a line around the restaurant. Good food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner w/ your special someone

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2014

Highly recommend for dinner with that special someone! Our waiter was super nice!!! We actually brought our kids along (ages 14 & 9) and we had a lovely Valentines Day Dinner!! Don't forget the fried ice cream for dessert!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Kent

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 2, 2014

we ordered chili rellenos and they were inedible, too tough to cut, skins not removed, rather tastless; sopapillas were greasy and tough. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone, probably the poorest Mexican food I have add after living in New Mexico since 1970!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.