Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM

Hacienda del Rio - Old Town

2.8
28 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mexican / Southwestern
Perfect For:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Kid-friendly
Hacienda del Rio is located in historic Old Town Albuquerque. We feature exceptional New Mexican food, prepared from scratch, always fresh and always healthy. It’s what brings locals and visitors back again and again. Come in relax, and enjoy a fabulous Hacienda margarita. Inside or out... Our staff is ready to serve you.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mexican / Southwestern, American, Mexican
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner: Daily: 11:00am - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(505) 243-3131
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Andres Rosales
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Planning an event? We hope you will consider serving delicious, authentic Hacienda del Rio food as a real treat for your guests! With delivery and set-up included - and servers available upon request - rest assured that your event will go off without a hitch! We also offer all utensils and dishware upon request...we have everything you need for a complete event. We set up, break down, and make it look pretty. Just sit back, relax, and enjoy your party!
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Central & Rio Grande
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Private parking available.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Hacienda del Rio has LIVE entertainment on weekends.
Additional
Bar Dining, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access
What 28 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
2.8based on all time ratings
2.7
food
2.7
service
3.1
ambience
2.1
value
Noise · Moderate
54% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined on November 10, 2017

We had a chance to go on a date night on Thursday before Veterans Day and we ended up at Hacienda Del Rio for dinner. The place was pretty empty and there were absolutely no customers in the bar. I noticed there was an NFL game on, and being a veteran myself, I oppose seeing people who disrespect our flag and freedoms on television, so I asked the waitress if the channel could be changed to anything else. I found out later that the manager (who was constantly watching the game herself) said she could not because the non-existent customers in the bar wanted to watch the game.
I moved my chair so I didn’t have to see the game, and we ordered the chicken and beef fajitas. Our meal arrived about 20 minutes later, but we were given chicken and beef nachos instead. The waitress (who was great) said she would have the kitchen make the fajitas. About 5 minutes later, the ‘new’ fajitas arrived. It was simple to realize that the cook had simply taken the meat off the other dish, slapped some onion and pepper in with it, and put it on a hot plate. The process made the meat stick to the pan and very over cooked. We ate it anyway.
The bill came, and I paid it and asked the waitress to pass on to the manager that I was disappointed and would begin a social media campaign. As we were leaving I realized the bill was very high and it turned out we were charged for both dishes. I went back in and the waitress asked the manager to remove the nachos.
After three issues with a customer, the manager did ABSOLUTLY NOTHING to make the situation right. Not even a simple apology. I must admit, I became quite irate, but as a person who has worked in restaurants for years, I knew this was not the way things are done. I apologize for acting the way I did but no manager who acts as she did should ever manage a restaurant.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 18, 2017

We made reservations on open table for a party of 4 at 8:30 we came early and they seated us immediately... 8:05 ... They took our drink orders and then returned to the table to take our food order.. I was last to order, I ordered a steak, the waitress said they had taken steak off the menu, as I watched the table next to me eat their steak. So I politely changed my order, didn't say anything... the waitress then returned 15 minutes later, still no drinks, and told us it would be at least an hour for them to cook our food as they were extremely busy... there were only 2 more tables inside and yes quite a few tables outside... she then proceeded to tell us it would be better if we just left because they were closing... it was 8:30 they close at 9:00 and incidentally you can make a 9:00 pm reservation ... needless to say this was the WORST dining experience we've ever encountered... DO NOT EAT HERE!!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 14, 2017

Met friends for dinner prior to salsa music at the Art Museum. Everyone was satisfied with their margarita and meal choice. The fried ice cream was excellent too! Our server was very attentive. He rang us up before asking if we wanted dessert - my only complaint.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 15, 2017

Food was average Mexican fare, nothing special. Service was slow. Table was not level and dirty.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2017

We went on Valentine's Day around 6:00 pm and there was maybe a couple tables seated. But once the night went on, the place started to fill up. We were got drinks and food in about 15 minutes. The food was tasty and enjoyable. We were very happy with our experience.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 31, 2016

This was one of the worst dining experiences ever. While the place looked great, even in the smaller new location... the service was non-existent, the tables were dirty, the menus were sticky & the place was empty (except for 1 table with a party of 3). After being promptly and politely seated, we were then ignored for the next 15 - 20 minutes, we never saw a waiter /waitress. In the end we left without anyone ever approaching our table . In the past we have always made a point to have at least one meal at the Hacienda anytime we visited Albuquerque... never again the Hacienda del Rio just isn't the same, in fact it's not even close. I wouldn't recommend this place to ANYONE!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 10, 2016

Very run of the mill. Food was just ok. Service was pressing constantly to order more. Outside dining was not shaded.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 22, 2016

We had a good experience for first time, we will return! Waiter was a little nervous, especially when my husbands order came wrong , but was quickly reordered and arrived within five minutes. Both of our meals were delicious.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 17, 2016

The server was very nice and friendly, but the service was VERY slow. The food was good and the location is convenient.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 15, 2016

Food wasn't very good. Seemed to be prepared ahead and got hard. Rice was stuck together in lumps, chili relleno was hard and had to be cut with a knife. Server neglected to return our credit card and we had to ask for it after signing our check.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 7, 2015

I thought this would be a reasonable place to host 7 friends for a reunion since it's on the old town plaza and the reservation was for prime time Saturday night when restaurants should be at their prime. Boy were we disappointed! We should have left when the waitress told us she was our hostess, waitress, bartender and would probably be doing some of the cooking as well. She then informed us that they had no steaks that night. Drink orders were taken and chips and (generic) salsa served. The drinks took a good bit of time to arrive but we were visiting so no big deal. Dinner orders were taken and off she went to post them. She came back 15 minutes later saying they had no ground beef, no fajitas and offered substitutions for those affected. The resturant was not at all busy but it still took 35-45 minutes for food to start arriving. The portions were small, the spanish rice was crunchy like it had been drying out for days, the refried beans tasted like they were from a can, and all the food was pretty much cold to barely warm and rather tasteless. The sopapias were fresh but the honey was watered down as well. Overall, the food quality was extremely poor and the prices high. The whole operation is grossly understaffed and why a new mexican restaurant would not have stocked beef or tacos or steaks for a Saturday night is beyond belief! In summary, the operation is very poorly managed and run and I was embarrassed to host friends here. I will not be back and will not recommend this place to anyone!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 5, 2014

One of the busiest nights at Old Town Plaza, the place was packed. Good food, good drink. Waitress was attentive. This was not your typical evening so will not comment further.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 25, 2014

We actually have eaten here several times but this time we ate outside.....it was delightful. It's not a place that seats multitudes of guests, so it's quieter and outside you can overlook Old Town Plaza which is really delightful in the evening. The food is always fresh....but definitely try the fajitas!....I'm vegetarian and theirs are wonderful.....in addition to being a really substantial plate....we'll continue frequenting this eatery :)

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 23, 2014

Every staff member tries to help every table which is very inefficient but shows that everyone is interested in providing service. Just make sure that you get checked in as an Open Table member so that they actually let Open Table know.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 17, 2014

We dined at Hacienda Del Rio with friends. The service staff ignored us for about 15 minutes. Other couples were seated and served
after we had been seated. I complained to our server when she finally showed up and we got a lip service apology. The slow service
continued throughout the evening. The quality of my meal was lacking. Small portions of adequate food. The outside patio was a
fabulous location to people watch and provides great ambiance. However I would likely not go back.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 5, 2014

I was very disappointed with the restaurant. The food was terrible. Ordered frajitas and the meat was the cheapest, over cooked, and lacked flavor. Some else ordered chili rejenos and they coating was hard as if old, maybe even reheated and served. The service was terrible. No one knew anything, not prices and not their menu. DON'T GO.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 20, 2014

The food here was absolutely terrible and service was slow.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 9, 2014

We made a reservation via Open Table based on the restaurant's listed hours. We showed up 15 minutes before our reservation time to find out that they were closing early and would not take our reservation.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 2, 2014

Ok place to eat downtown. Cool look and feel. Staff is accommodating

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 30, 2014

Have eaten here twice, once for lunch and this time for dinner. Both experiences were enjoyable - food was good, service good. As this restaurant is right on the Plaza I can imagine that at times it could get very crowded. Both times we attended were "off peak" hours so we did not have that problem. My wife lately is having a problem with spicy food, so if someone in your party does as well, be very careful what you order. Overall a good time and would go again next time we are in Albuquerque.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 27, 2014

Found this restaurant through travel sites while researching for a family trip to Albuquerque. The food was delicious, and they gave enormous portions for the price! Wait staff was extremely friendly and attentive. Anyone traveling to ABQ looking for an authentic Mexican restaurant in Old Town with delicious food, great prices, and a wonderful ambiance, Hacienda del Rio is for you!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 12, 2014

We waited over 45 minutes to get waters and drinks that we ordered. So we left. It was not that busy. We saw two tables served before us.

I could not rate the food because the service was so poor...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2014

Great service, good food and a very welcome respite from suburban chain stores or fast-food. If you want a glimpse of real southwest life before everything became one big strip-mall, this is the right neighborhood.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 23, 2014

We had high hopes for this restaurant, but unfortunately, it fell short of our expectations. Given its location in Old Town, it is targeted at tourists. If I were a tourist visiting from say, back east, I would probably be very impressed...it would probably be unlike anything I've ever experienced before. However, being a native New Mexican, it didn't do much for me. The atmosphere and ambiance are great, but the food is only mediocre. Not bad, mind you, but there are many better New Mexican restaurant options in Albuquerque in my opinion. If a festive atmosphere is what you are seeking, this is the place. However, if you're seeking a really great New Mexican meal, you may want to consider other options.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 22, 2014

The choice of red or green chile didn't matter. There was very
little on both of our meals. The food was mediocre. The margaritas were mostly ice.
Also expensive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2014

We took our 4 and 7 year old sons. They had a blast. There was live music and they engaged the crowd, including the wait staff. They took my boys out and they shook maracas, marching in a line around the restaurant. Good food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2014

Highly recommend for dinner with that special someone! Our waiter was super nice!!! We actually brought our kids along (ages 14 & 9) and we had a lovely Valentines Day Dinner!! Don't forget the fried ice cream for dessert!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 1, 2014

we ordered chili rellenos and they were inedible, too tough to cut, skins not removed, rather tastless; sopapillas were greasy and tough. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone, probably the poorest Mexican food I have add after living in New Mexico since 1970!

Report
Helpful