About Gyu-Kaku - Philadelphia

1901 Callowhill Street
Philadelphia, PA 19130
View Larger Map

Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ in Philadelphia is the ideal spot for an amazing experience in Pennsylvania! Traditionally called Yakiniku, this Japanese barbecue spot is known for their delicious, fresh (never frozen), high-quality meats! Enjoy an ice cold beer as you grill your own meat. Happy Hours offer the best deals on food and drinks, so be sure to wind down and get the night started right with us.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Barbecue, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Everyday: 11:30AM–5PM

Lunch Specials
Everyday: 11:30AM–3PM

Dinner
Sun–Thu: 5PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 5PM–11:30PM last call

Happy Hour

Food
Everyday: 11:30AM–6PM
Mon–Thu: 9PM–10:30PM last call

Alcohol
Mon–Thu: 6PM–7PM last call
Mon–Fri: 9PM–Close

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(267) 603-9482

Website:
http://www.gyu-kaku.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Gyu-Kaku - Philadelphia can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: (855) 900-3883

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Gyu-Kaku - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.7

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Fun (17)
Good for Birthdays (14)
See All
Special Occasion (14)
Family Style (12)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Casual (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Cozy (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Business Meals (5)
Romantic (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Authentic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
181 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great time with some great food. The ser ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Great time with some great food. The server was wonderful and fun. Absolutely great place to have a date night. Returning really soon.

Tags: Modern Decor, Spicy, Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very relaxed but comfortable atmosphere. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Very relaxed but comfortable atmosphere. Friendly and attentive staff and manager. Food was interesting and delicious! Will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, the experience was great! We on ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Overall, the experience was great! We only waited about 5 minutes before being seated. At first our waiter seemed to have a very bad attitude but further into the night she became pleasant. The only thing I had a problem with is that if the food wasn't finished we would have to pay for it. So even if we didn't like something we had to eat it or it becomes added to the bill. We got 90 minutes to eat all that we could which at first we did not like but we then took it as a challenge. The atmosphere was nice and inviting. There was a kid beside us, so our conversation was limited out of respect for the child. However, everything was nice the food was seasoned perfectly, the portions were small but surprisingly filled us up, the spicy cabbage salad was one of my favorite sides of the night. I would totally recommend this place to my friends and family.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

The food was delicious. Our issue was wi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was delicious. Our issue was with the service. Everyone was friendly but despite the restaurant being very empty (it was early) our waitress was slow to bring food and drinks and rarely checked on us. Part way through our meal our waitress disappeared (she was supposed to be getting more food and drinks). We waited a looong time. Finally asked a server with a water pitcher who said "oh I will be your server". No apology. No explanation. We had to reorder what we were waiting for and again wait a long time. Looking at other reviews it is possible that the pace of our service was deliberate because we ordered the "all you can eat" and you have a time limit. The food and atmosphere was great. Parking was easy. We liked the unique style of food and cooking. But because of the service I would not recommend and we won't come back. We will look for this style of restaurant elsewhere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Bad service bad food!never come again !! ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Bad service bad food!never come again !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Service was a little slow otherwise a go ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Service was a little slow otherwise a good dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

Too expensive for not enough food. Not e ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Too expensive for not enough food. Not enough food options for those not interested in grilling. Hosin wings are extremely salty! Service is usually pretty solid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious. Service was a little ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food was delicious. Service was a little slow, but this was due to a special they were running on New Year's day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The staff were very friendly and good wi ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The staff were very friendly and good with checking up on our party to make sure our needs were meet. The seared salmon appetizer was exceptionally good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Yummy and fun!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Yummy and fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Anniversary

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The servers forgot every order and kept ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The servers forgot every order and kept spilling drinks on people. And we had to go to the bar to get water because for some reason asking our waitress for water was too much to ask. Literally an hour later and no water, WATER! That's the first thing that comes out at restaurants. The food was really good, but unless the service is improved I don't see myself or any of my group coming back. It took forever to even get our raw cuts of meat. It wasn't even that we were waiting for prepared food, just cuts of meat. We got there at 7:40, with a reservation at 8, got seated at 8:20 because no one came to the front to greet anyone and we only actually received our meals to cook by 9:45. After waiting 20 minutes for someone to come to the front, a hostess said, "can I help you with something?" As if she couldn't fathom why patrons of a restaurant were waiting to be seated. Our waitress either kept forgetting or wouldn't write down our orders so most people didn't receive some of the items they ordered. And then every bill was wrong and overcharged for things either no one received or no one ordered. It was just a stressful and sadly comedic night. But again, until better service comes along, we won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

My boyfriend was on business in Californ ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My boyfriend was on business in California and told me about this restaurant. He realized they had a Philadelphia location, which is close to us. I found the website and made a surprise reservation for his birthday. I see why he found the restaurant to be a fun and yummy experience! We had a great server. It was a very busy night but she was very accommodating, as well as other staff who were helping out. We had salmon, filet mignon, scallops, two different rice bowls, veggie rolls, and the drinks rum punch and pineapple saki were good! We will be back!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Short Review: Long wait time. Bad waitr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Short Review: Long wait time. Bad waitress = Bad service. Good General Manager, Karen, but she cannot be everywhere. Delicious food (cost a bit), wanted more, but no one approached us after GM Karen dropped off our order.

Long Review:

My family and I have been here multiple times, and this was the worst visit ever. I had reservations, and we were not seen to be seated for a good 15 minutes - didn't get any service at the table for another 15 minutes, and even then it was by the General Manager, Karen. We were seated in a sectioned-off, private area where one half of the room was serviced by one waitress and the other half by another waitress. The waitress for our table saw that we were seated when she went to "check in" on our neighbor table, deliberately turning her back on us in doing so. The General Manager, Karen, took our order, served us our drinks, oiled our grill, and served us ALL of our food. The waitress, Lidia, for the OTHER SIDE of the room served us our alcoholic beverages. Our waitress did not seek us out until well OVER ONE hour AFTER being seated. She sneaked in to get the paid bill from our neighboring table well before approaching us. She did not know what we ordered and had the gall to ask us what it was. We were going to order more food along with our complimentary s'mores, but no one approached us for a good 30 minutes. We got fed up, paid our bill, and left. I give major props for the General Manager, Karen, but this was the worst service we have ever experienced. Honestly, it will be a long while before we will even contemplate visiting this establishment again. Bad service backed up the subsequent reservations after us. There were at least 3 groups waiting for seating, one of whom voiced a long waiting time even with a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

I love the food here and plan on coming ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I love the food here and plan on coming back for dates and with friends, but multiple times I had to send back plates and other dishes brought out to me because they were dirty. Please stack your dishes properly in the dishwasher and check them before giving to customers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Food services and quality was fast and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food services and quality was fast and excellent. drinks on the other hand were poor quality and took forever to be served. when they finally arrived we order a second round immediately. this round took even longer and wasn't served until we had completed our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was soooo good but we had 18 wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was soooo good but we had 18 waiters and our burner did not work on one side of the table. So we went into the meal with a handicap that not one person offered to help with or fix. Shouldn't you be able to grill the meat you've paid for?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

it was terrible , I love the Japanese BB ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

it was terrible , I love the Japanese BBQ but the waiter was bad, no service at all , 2 for $100 dollars but take forever to get your food and the waiter kept forget to bring out the food. Never refil my drink.

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

While the food was tasty...and it was fu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

While the food was tasty...and it was fun grilling at the table, I felt the portions were way too small for the amount charged. Not likely that we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was perfect -- good food, goo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Everything was perfect -- good food, good wait staff, priced appropriately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We're in downtown Philadelphia visiting ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We're in downtown Philadelphia visiting the Franklin Institute with my family. We usually don't eat in the cafeteria of museums because of overpriced food so we opted to search for restaurants nearby. As a family who have lived in Japan for a decade and came to the US 5yrs ago, what utter joy we felt when we realized Gyu-Kaku is 7min walk from the museum. Remembering what it was like in Japan, Gyu-Kaku is a very casual restaurant that we used to hang out with friends after work to grab cheap, tasty dinner with affordable drinks. So coming here we had our expectations. It was very easy to reserve a table in OpenTable app so that's convenient. We were seated within 5mins after arrival. Of course, it was a pleasure hearing once again the Irrashaemase greeting when we entered the dining hall. This is a practice in every casual dining place in Japan so for those people who complain that it's unnecessary, I would suggest that this is not the place for you. Dining is an experience from the moment you walk in to the moment you leave. One should respect how people from other culture dine. Upon reaching the table, waiting on us is our own oshibori (wet towel) to clean our hands. Honestly, I wish all restaurant would provide this. We ordered several meat with bibimbap rice and cooked it to perfection. Server was very helpful. My only negative comment was our dirty plates/bowls were taken away even if we're still using them. The garlic chicken noodles wasn't that great either. Hope they add the authentic yakisoba dish. Overall, we had a good luncheon experience. We will be back for sure!

Tags: Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed this outing with my daughter , v ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Enjoyed this outing with my daughter , visiting home from college. I wanted to try some place new. We had a wonderful time! We are new loyal customers. Would recommend to anyone who likes good food!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good would go again portion are sma ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very good would go again portion are small but food very good!

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

the food is so so. the wine list is terr ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 8, 2016

the food is so so. the wine list is terrible. shouting everytime a new customer comes in the door is totally annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Great work on a busy night by the hostes ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great work on a busy night by the hostess, server and expediter!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The loud greeting with each arrival was ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The loud greeting with each arrival was unnecessary.

There was a piece of glass in my salad. As I was dining with an elderly couple, I did not want to alarm them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We love Gyu Kaku. We'll be back again s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We love Gyu Kaku. We'll be back again soon!! Thank you!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to the locations in New York ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I have been to the locations in New York and Chicago and have had a consistently good service. This location, however, needs to get more organized. They served us our rice first and had to wait about 20 mins for the meats to arrive. By the time we got the meats cooked, the rice was cold and had been sitting there awhile. We were supposed to get 2 salads - only served one. Our edamame didnt get served until we asked for it when the meats were delivered.

This location needs to get their act together. There didnt seem to be an experienced manager on site.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We went for their thanksgiving dinner al ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We went for their thanksgiving dinner all you can eat at 24.99 12 items. the place was packed. even though we made reservations we were made to stand and wait for at least 30 minutes before we were greeted, that was after i searched for the hostess. we ended up leaving because there was such a long wait and my husband had to work in the next 2 hours. Their excuse was sorry the guests took too long to dine. There was a 90 minute dining limit so they should have not overbooked. if there were reservations, I say stop taking walk ins if you know you cant seat your reservations. Do this on a special occasion? such a turn off. We dined at same restaurant before and we thought it was a bit pricey. We did not returned for like a year, and then they sent us email for promotions so we thought we would try back. This is what happened. I dont think we will be wasting our time coming back to this place again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

We arrived at 8pm, and were seated promp ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We arrived at 8pm, and were seated promptly. We were given 2 menus and 1 drink menu for 6 people. 25 minutes later a server came over, she took our drink orders and walked away. 10 minutes later, waters came to the table.

At this point, we had been at the restaurant for 45 minutes, and just received our first round of drinks. 2 of us ordered the $18 Sake Flight, which I've had before and enjoyed! The flight came out and had 3 of the same types of Sake, rather than 3 different. Since the server was no aware to be found, i went to the bar. The server saw me and stepped in, she said she didn't know much about Sake, but she would send the manager over.

The manager arrived 30 minutes later! 1.5hrs onto our meal, still 2 of us didn't have proper drinks, while the rest of the table was on their 2nd. The manager proceeded to tell us that they were out of the other types of Sake, and that he would get something else instead. He said he would remove the flights from our tab, and took them from the table, rather than offering to leave them. The food finally started to arrive, yet each couple was missing part of their appetizer orders.

By 10pm our entrees came. The entrees are RAW food. Why it took 2 hours to bring that over to the table is concerning. Again, 2 of the couples received their orders (one was missing part of their order) while 2 of us had none. The other couples were finished their meal, we still 2 people had nothing. Again, we called the server. She made up an excuse about how the kitchen was backed up, then I pushed back. The kitchen was too busy to put raw shrimp, steak and veggies on a plate??

She brought over our entree, 10 minutes later, and then told us it was last call and the kitchen was closing. There was 0 accommodations made on our bill for the 3 hour ordeal. Instead the server explained what the room we were sitting in often gets ignored by the kitchen.

NEVER AGAIN! I wish there was a way to get money back for the awful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

I love this place, the food is phenomena ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I love this place, the food is phenomenal and the staff is so friendly.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my son and two nephews to Gyu-Kak ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I took my son and two nephews to Gyu-Kaku, thinking they would get a kick out of Korean BBQ, and they loved it! Everything was delicious and very reasonable, service was prompt, the restaurant was impeccably clean and the menu has something for everyone.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Usually service is great wit ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food. Usually service is great with help from all servers. However, this visit I felt I had to chase down servers, request refills, missing plates I never received and a long wait . It was not busy when I arrived in a Sunday before dinner time, 3:30-5 2 booths filled when I arrived. Otherwise food was great. Deals were good.

Tags: Family Style, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

My first visit to Gyu-Kaku was 6 months ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 27, 2016

My first visit to Gyu-Kaku was 6 months ago on my birthday. I loved it show much and told my mother about it. She said that she'd love to visit someday. Fast forward to October and I had no idea what to do for her birthday; I asked did she want to go out for dinner at Gyu-kaku, she agreed, even tho it's something that put her out of her comfort zone. But at the same time she, and my family really enjoyed themselves and trying something new. I think what they loved the most was cooking. Not only that but our waitress was amazing and very attentive to us and our needs.

It was a magical night for the birthday girl and the family in general. Y'all will see us in the near future.

P.S. My mother still talks about the beef sukiyaki bibimbap, that was her absolute favorite.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great meal. We got to experienc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 26, 2016

It was a great meal. We got to experience great service.

Tags: Organic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decided to take my wife here for date ni ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Decided to take my wife here for date night. It was delicious and out wait staff was very helpful and friendly. I would recommend it for anyone with a special occasion and at least an hour to relax.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the dining experience! Our ladie ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I loved the dining experience! Our ladies night out was a success. It was different cooking our own food at our table. The food was so Delicious! The service could've been a little better, they weren't prompt but the manager was very good and stepped in to help throughout the night. Only thing is they forgot to bring my mixed vegetables to the table and charged me but I do plan to call them I'm sure they'll compensate me. I will be returning back soon to share the experience with my husband.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Definitely a hit or miss experience. Se ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Definitely a hit or miss experience. Seaweed salad OK, Sauteed Chicken and Noodles OK. In other words, kitchen prepared items are OK. As for the raw food brought out to barbeque at the table, not OK. The Calimari was inedible - just absolutely awful. Raw tofu that sticks to the barbeque grill made no sense. Steamed seasoned broccoli in a pouch was just OK. Mentioned the lousy Calimari to the server, but it was on the bill. Should have been taken off. Service was OK. Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Undue delay in receiving salmon. Then i ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Undue delay in receiving salmon. Then it arrived in one chunk that was not sliced for cooking on table top grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

We sat there for 20 minutes without seei ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We sat there for 20 minutes without seeing our waitress. We had to grab a random waitress to give our order. We gave feedback to the manager, who brought over water soon after. He tried to make up for the bad service which we appreciated but they really need to improve some of the wait staff.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.