About Gyu-Kaku - Philadelphia

1901 Callowhill Street
Philadelphia, PA 19130
View Larger Map

Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ in Philadelphia is the ideal spot for an amazing experience in Pennsylvania! Traditionally called Yakiniku, this Japanese barbecue spot is known for their delicious, fresh (never frozen), high-quality meats! Enjoy an ice cold beer as you grill your own meat. Happy Hours offer the best deals on food and drinks, so be sure to wind down and get the night started right with us.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Barbecue, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Everyday: 11:30AM–5PM

Lunch Specials
Everyday: 11:30AM–3PM

Dinner
Sun–Thu: 5PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 5PM–11:30PM last call

Happy Hour

Food
Everyday: 11:30AM–6PM
Mon–Thu: 9PM–10:30PM last call

Alcohol
Mon–Thu: 6PM–7PM last call
Mon–Fri: 9PM–Close

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(267) 603-9482

Website:
http://www.gyu-kaku.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Gyu-Kaku - Philadelphia can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: 8559003883

Restaurant Photos

  • Gyu-Kaku - Philadelphia
  • Gyu-Kaku - Philadelphia
Gyu-Kaku - Philadelphia
Gyu-Kaku - Philadelphia

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Gyu-Kaku - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

3.8

ambience

4.1

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Japanese
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Art Museum ›

Good for Groups (20)
Special Occasion (17)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
See All
Great for Lunch (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Romantic (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Casual (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Great Beer (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Family Style (2)
Tapas (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Cozy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
Newest
140 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We sat there for 20 minutes without seei ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We sat there for 20 minutes without seeing our waitress. We had to grab a random waitress to give our order. We gave feedback to the manager, who brought over water soon after. He tried to make up for the bad service which we appreciated but they really need to improve some of the wait staff.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

The A/C is so bad that everyone sweats ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The A/C is so bad that everyone sweats a lot. The food sigmoid though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Place is very fun, awesome for friends m ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Place is very fun, awesome for friends meal. Reasonably priced. Their late night happy hour is the best thing in the world

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Ordering the food was a little confusing ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Ordering the food was a little confusing, but after we figured that out, it was OK. The service was really not good at all. I don't know if they don't have enough servers because they think you are doing the cooking yourself, or what the explanation is, but they really need to improve upon the service. The waitress we had was so nice and sweet and informative, but she just had too many tables and customers to take care of.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Food and experience was awesome however ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food and experience was awesome however we waited to be greeted and assisted at the door for 12 minutes until the bartender came and seated us . Even he grew tired of watching us stand there... Also the waiter was not the greatest but still sweet, she kept forgetting to turn the fire on she also forgot certain food items and we had to ask for them. The food was awesome , drinks tasty bit pricy ...I would go back nonetheless

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

The open pit bbq is always a fun interac ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The open pit bbq is always a fun interactive meal. Cheap draft special this month too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Completely blown away. Everything was ab ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Completely blown away. Everything was absolutely perfect

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Tapas, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, People Watching, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time we have been to this location ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Every time we have been to this location, the food and service have both been extraordinary. It seems that the waitstaff is less attentive than previously, which was disappointing. Otherwise, the food was excellent and dinner was great.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great place. I went for lunch with a fri ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great place. I went for lunch with a friend. We each had 2 beers, 2 plates of meat, rice, soup, salad, and we split sides of broccoli and cucumber. The bill was $30. The lunch specials are great and the beer is $2 on tap. Really good, I'm planning a return trip, maybe for dinner. The only reason I rated the atmosphere lower is because the AC was broken, but don't let that stop you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Great place, highly recommend , Food exc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great place, highly recommend , Food excellent and great value

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Japanese BBQ is fun and delicious. Alw ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Japanese BBQ is fun and delicious. Always a favorite on mine. Make sure you are hungry and you have time to relax and enjoy your friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

server is nice but never check on us on ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

server is nice but never check on us on how we doin, did we get our food right? etc, we have to wait for our desserts for a long time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

The service was great the food was good ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The service was great the food was good and I would recommend this to my friends and family who are looking for a different dining experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Really enjoyed our meal. We will be back ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Really enjoyed our meal. We will be back! Fast and friendly service and staff. Great prices for happy hour and late dining. Really great time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good times every time. The food and drin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good times every time. The food and drinks are delish and the bartender is a whoot! The waiters are very cool.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waitress was not the best and she wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our waitress was not the best and she was my waitress a previous time before and she has not improved. My friends arrived before I did and as they were waiting and looking at the menu our waitress (which my friend did not know would be her) walks over, does not introduce herself and say "just so you know it's expensive" and just walks. The food was great and I wish the lady who was cleaning up our tables as the dishes became empty was our waitress. She was way more helpful, attentive and a pleasure to talk to. Our waitress mad us feel like we were unconvincing her and when the bill came she said "just to let you know gratitude is added automatically to a group of 5 or more." When we looked at the receipt the gratitude was not automically included, she wrote it on there. The food there is amazing and I wish I had her name and the receipt so I could let everyone know which waitress to avoid. This is my second encounter with her and she just isn't pleasant no matter how nice you are to her. But the food is good

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value5

Good food. Make sure to check your bill ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Good food. Make sure to check your bill. Ours was inflated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

there was a mistake on our order, the st ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

there was a mistake on our order, the staff were really good about correcting it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food and service was great - bit on the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food and service was great - bit on the loud side where it became difficult to hear the person sitting next to you without shouting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Guy kaku has solid food and good service ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Guy kaku has solid food and good service. Recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great staff and service! Food was quick and fun to cook.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience. Delicious food. R ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Wonderful experience. Delicious food. Relatively inexpensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent. The food was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

The service was excellent. The food was sublime. The beef was tender and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was very average and required some le ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

It was very average and required some level of skill in grilling food. Not for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Loud and Expensive

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

First time at this restaurant. It was clean and servers were friendly. We ordered a combination of cooked entrees and a combo of meats to BBQ. Everything was overly priced. The BBQ meats were tasty but serving size for both BBQ and cooked entrees were significantly below average and underwhelming. Expensive place to dine. Lastly, it became so annoying when they all shouted to greet new customers who entered the restaurant. It was not pleasant at all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

I come here a lot but this time was real ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I come here a lot but this time was really not the same as all my previous experience here. Perhaps it's Mother's Day. I had reservation at 7, but I was seated around 8, I had to wait one extra hour even though I showed up on time. And then when we got seated, we waited another 15 min until our waiters show up to us, during that time, no water no service no one cared about us. And then the food was came up so slow, I literally spent 2 hours eating there. And the waiter missed 2 plates, luckily I checked my receipt, or I would just pay for what I didn't get

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Peter, our server, was excellent. Actua ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Peter, our server, was excellent. Actually, all of the servers were great. The food was great. I loved the ambiance, the music was great, not too noisy. And the service was superb. I cannot wait to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Slow service

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Slow service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

I'm partial to restaurants where you coo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

I'm partial to restaurants where you cook your own food but this one stands out. All the meats were great. It was restaurant week a b d the place was packed so that may explain the long delay bring out the meats but there isn't much to do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, mediocre experience

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Love this restaurant! Have been to other locations and this one is just as expected. However, I did book a reservation and wasn't seated until 75 minutes after. Apparently the restuarant was overbooked that night. Besides that, our waitress was really friendly and service was great. Food is always top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Tasty and great service

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Good friends out for dinner, add $0.99 Kirin on draft and grilling meat and veggies with fun and responsive servers = great night.

Enjoyed the food. Had the meat lovers combo for 2, plus two ramen, seaweed salad and two desserts. Perfect for four. The food was delicious. Definitely recommend the green tea ice cream & crepe cake dessert

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The $12 Mille crêpe cake was disappointi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

The $12 Mille crêpe cake was disappointing. It didn't taste fresh. But that didn't turn

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Awesome quality,seasoned to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Great food! Awesome quality,seasoned to perfection. We had a good time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Started out frustrating as we had to wai ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Started out frustrating as we had to wait 30 minutes after our reservation time, even though we were on time. Otherwise, we enjoyed the experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great food, poor service

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Food quality was great, but the servers were terribly slow and some of them looked very grim. We knew how to grill in this DIY style but I would've freaked out if that had been our first time. The restaurant needs to improve its operation a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Very fun experience! The food is very we ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Very fun experience! The food is very well marinated also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Very good Asian Barbeque

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

More familiar with Korean Barbeque, but very much enjoyed this Japanese Barbeque experience. Great bar special, unrushed service. Worked out to a wonderful night. Seems like they get an early rush here, so 7 p.m. isn't the best time for making reservations.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrible

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

I was dismayed by everything about this restaurant. I could not believe the other reviews did not prepare me for what we experienced. I had no idea we would have to cook our own lunch. the food was terrible. The restaurant itself was very unattractive. It was a HUGE disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Overall the experience was great. We ha ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Overall the experience was great. We had a 7:00 pm reservation for a party of 8 (4 of were children under the age of 8). We arrived early and knew we had to wait, but when it was 10 past 7:00, we had to speak the manager. He was wonderful. He took our order while we waited and shortly there after we were seated. It didn't take long for the first courses to come out which was great. The kids could not wait much longer. We were right by the kitchen so the food came quickly. The only thing that was a little odd was that we order one of the value meal and the proteins came out at different times and then at the very end the vegetables came out when we were pretty much done. The one other thing to note is that it was loud. It was hard to hear across the table. Other than that we had a great time and I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great group meal

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

We were a group of 5 and it was a fun, chatty, loungy. We had a nice dinner, great variety of food. Service was pretty good......nice little gem just off BF parkway

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.