About Gyu-Kaku - Philadelphia

1901 Callowhill Street
Philadelphia, PA 19130
View Larger Map

Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ in Philadelphia is the ideal spot for an amazing experience in Pennsylvania! Traditionally called Yakiniku, this Japanese barbecue spot is known for their delicious, fresh (never frozen), high-quality meats! Enjoy an ice cold beer as you grill your own meat. Happy Hours offer the best deals on food and drinks, so be sure to wind down and get the night started right with us.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Barbecue, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Everyday: 11:30AM–5PM

Lunch Specials
Everyday: 11:30AM–3PM

Dinner
Sun–Thu: 5PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 5PM–11:30PM last call

Happy Hour

Food
Everyday: 11:30AM–6PM
Mon–Thu: 9PM–10:30PM last call

Alcohol
Mon–Thu: 6PM–7PM last call
Mon–Fri: 9PM–Close

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(267) 603-9482

Website:
http://www.gyu-kaku.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Gyu-Kaku - Philadelphia can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: 8559003883

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Celebrate Father's Day with us and enjoy an experience he'll be sure to love! Grilling meats!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Gyu-Kaku - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.8

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Art Museum ›

good for groups (44)
fit for foodies (30)
special occasion (28)
See All
neighborhood gem (22)
great for lunch (21)
late-night find (18)
hot spot (16)
romantic (14)
vibrant bar scene (8)
kid-friendly (5)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (2)
notable wine list (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yum!

Dined 5 days ago

Great staff and service! Food was quick and fun to cook.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. Delicious food. R ...

Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful experience. Delicious food. Relatively inexpensive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent. The food was ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The service was excellent. The food was sublime. The beef was tender and tasty.

food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Loud and Expensive

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

First time at this restaurant. It was clean and servers were friendly. We ordered a combination of cooked entrees and a combo of meats to BBQ. Everything was overly priced. The BBQ meats were tasty but serving size for both BBQ and cooked entrees were significantly below average and underwhelming. Expensive place to dine. Lastly, it became so annoying when they all shouted to greet new customers who entered the restaurant. It was not pleasant at all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience1
service1

I come here a lot but this time was real ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I come here a lot but this time was really not the same as all my previous experience here. Perhaps it's Mother's Day. I had reservation at 7, but I was seated around 8, I had to wait one extra hour even though I showed up on time. And then when we got seated, we waited another 15 min until our waiters show up to us, during that time, no water no service no one cared about us. And then the food was came up so slow, I literally spent 2 hours eating there. And the waiter missed 2 plates, luckily I checked my receipt, or I would just pay for what I didn't get

food5
ambience5
service5

Peter, our server, was excellent. Actua ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Peter, our server, was excellent. Actually, all of the servers were great. The food was great. I loved the ambiance, the music was great, not too noisy. And the service was superb. I cannot wait to come back.

food4
ambience3
service1

Slow service

Dined on April 13, 2016

Slow service

food5
ambience5
service4

I'm partial to restaurants where you coo ...

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

I'm partial to restaurants where you cook your own food but this one stands out. All the meats were great. It was restaurant week a b d the place was packed so that may explain the long delay bring out the meats but there isn't much to do.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, mediocre experience

Dined on April 10, 2016

Love this restaurant! Have been to other locations and this one is just as expected. However, I did book a reservation and wasn't seated until 75 minutes after. Apparently the restuarant was overbooked that night. Besides that, our waitress was really friendly and service was great. Food is always top notch.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Tasty and great service

Dined on April 2, 2016

Good friends out for dinner, add $0.99 Kirin on draft and grilling meat and veggies with fun and responsive servers = great night. Enjoyed the food. Had the meat lovers combo for 2, plus two ramen, seaweed salad and two desserts. Perfect for four. The food was delicious. Definitely recommend the green tea ice cream & crepe cake dessert

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

The $12 Mille crêpe cake was disappointi ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

The $12 Mille crêpe cake was disappointing. It didn't taste fresh. But that didn't turn

food5
ambience4
service4

Great food! Awesome quality,seasoned to ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Great food! Awesome quality,seasoned to perfection. We had a good time!

food4
ambience4
service3

Started out frustrating as we had to wai ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Started out frustrating as we had to wait 30 minutes after our reservation time, even though we were on time. Otherwise, we enjoyed the experience!

food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Great food, poor service

Dined on March 26, 2016

Food quality was great, but the servers were terribly slow and some of them looked very grim. We knew how to grill in this DIY style but I would've freaked out if that had been our first time. The restaurant needs to improve its operation a lot.

food4
ambience4
service3

Very fun experience! The food is very we ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Very fun experience! The food is very well marinated also.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good Asian Barbeque

Dined on March 25, 2016

More familiar with Korean Barbeque, but very much enjoyed this Japanese Barbeque experience. Great bar special, unrushed service. Worked out to a wonderful night. Seems like they get an early rush here, so 7 p.m. isn't the best time for making reservations.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Terrible

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

I was dismayed by everything about this restaurant. I could not believe the other reviews did not prepare me for what we experienced. I had no idea we would have to cook our own lunch. the food was terrible. The restaurant itself was very unattractive. It was a HUGE disappointment.

food5
ambience4
service4

Overall the experience was great. We ha ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Overall the experience was great. We had a 7:00 pm reservation for a party of 8 (4 of were children under the age of 8). We arrived early and knew we had to wait, but when it was 10 past 7:00, we had to speak the manager. He was wonderful. He took our order while we waited and shortly there after we were seated. It didn't take long for the first courses to come out which was great. The kids could not wait much longer. We were right by the kitchen so the food came quickly. The only thing that was a little odd was that we order one of the value meal and the proteins came out at different times and then at the very end the vegetables came out when we were pretty much done. The one other thing to note is that it was loud. It was hard to hear across the table. Other than that we had a great time and I would go back.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great group meal

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

We were a group of 5 and it was a fun, chatty, loungy. We had a nice dinner, great variety of food. Service was pretty good......nice little gem just off BF parkway

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food!

Dined on March 9, 2016

My husband celebrated his birthday in this restaurant and it's both our first time to dine in here. Food was great, and most especially our server. Not sure with his name, average height, white(ron or serge?) Will definitely come back here!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience1
service1

Tasty is not bad but not good quality. S ...

Dined on February 29, 2016

Tasty is not bad but not good quality. Service is terrible. Everytime, I need to wait for a long time to get my dishes and it is really hard to find my server. You should be patient for enjoying BBQ..... : (

food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Great food, busy restaurant.

Dined on February 28, 2016

I made reservations a month in advance for 8PM, we showed up at 7:40PM and were told that we couldn't sit early which was fine and sat at the bar near the front. There was only 2 of us and we saw many people sit before us until we were seated at 8:45. The waitress was polite but there was a group of about 8 or so people directly next to us and perhaps our service was slow due to this. We ordered a group meal and added about 3 things to it. All the food was FANTASTIC however some things took too long to come out and we were basically done eating at that point. Soup was fast, then about 3 trays of meat, then veggies, then a good 20 minutes later we got 4 more trays and chicken, then when we were all done rice came out. Again the waitress was very nice and apologized for the wait. Besides the long wait after making a reservation and the wait for our food everything else was wonderful. Drinks were pricey minus the $.99 beers and we were very happy with the food.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Good

Dined on February 20, 2016

Gyu-Kaku is a great place. Lots of options, and you can either pick from their a la carte menu choices or have them do the choosing for you and pick one of their packages. The food is high quality and just delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4

Went for Valentine's day, they ran out o ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Went for Valentine's day, they ran out of scallops and s'more ingredients.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great services great food!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Staff is very friendly and attentive. Food was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Find

Dined on February 13, 2016

Me and my girlfriend been wanting to go to this place for a while so we decided to finally go sense it was Valentine's Day weekend. We went with a group of friends. Food was amazing and the vibe was great. Be aware dinner for 2 was pricy But it was amazing food... The experience of having to cook your own meat was wonderful. And roasting marshmallows for s'mores was great also.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

No complaints

Dined on February 13, 2016

I've only been once, but my lady & I had such a good experience that we'll be back for sure. I can't think of anything that I didn't like .

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Had been wanting to try so my sister too ...

Dined on February 11, 2016

Had been wanting to try so my sister took me for my birthday. Our waiter was great. We had one of the package meals instead of trying to decide on separate items. Everything was great. Special on Kirin beer 99 cents. Awesome! I don't eat s'mores so they brought me a free sundae for my birthday. It was a lot of fun to cook our own food. Will be back.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Overall it's very good for meat lovers.

Dined on February 7, 2016

We order 2 sets for dinner for 2. It's great for meat lovers. We also order the Korean style tofu soup, it's a bad order. It's not traditional Korean style, just some kimchi and tofu inside. Do not order that. But they have some very good appetizers. The drink is just so so. I ordered the virgin mojito, I don't like it. My friends told me I order wrong drink at that place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it !!

Dined on January 30, 2016

Loved the experience we loved how when you get in how your greeted

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

3 hour wait for raw food

Dined on January 16, 2016

We had a party of 4 and reservations at 745. We were finally sat at 845 after approaching the host 3 times. When we finally sat the server took another 15 min to come. We all ordered water as we had had drinks while waiting and one of the guys in our party was served tokic water out of a used cup. Ewww! We ordered one of the meals for 4. No apps x 30 min more. The tuna rolls that came with our meal wear deep fried and gross. We then ended up waiting another 45 min plus for our dinner to come out. The food is raw and you cook it at the table. What took so long? When we complained to our waiter every time we were brushed off. Ridiculous. The manager ended up bringing out our food. The veggies that came with our meal did not com until about 40 min into our dinner cooking so at that point they were useless, just like our waiter and everyone else that we were telling how Crazy the wait was for everything. $150 later they should really have paid us for wasting 3 hrs of our night . Not happy and won't go back

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Japanese style grill ur own meat restaurant.

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

Yaki Niku is Japanese I believe for grilled meat. In Japan this is popular fare and since Japanese meat and veg are such high quality you are almost guaranteed a fabulous meal. It's commonly done over real charcoal. Gyu Nikku if I remember my pidgin Japanese means cooked beef, and that is the focus of this restaurant, so the name is fitting. There is a round gas grill at each table and you get trays of raw meat and veg that you cook yourself. It's a fun place for a group meal and it's pretty low key. I go to Japan once a year and always have a few dinners at this type of place so my standards are very high, but Gyu Nikku does a decent job at replicating the "real" experience. If I were managing the concept, the meat would be better quality, sliced thinner in some cases, and certainly more consistently so, and the veg would be better suited to the grilling. A half corn cob-what do you do with that, and how do you eat it with chopsticks? Rice bowl had hard grains of uncooked rice in it but it was still pretty good. And the dipping sauces could be a lot more interesting It could very well be that bland American pallets cannot appreciate taking it up a notch, but even though I would definitely go again, most aspects of the meal could be improved with little effort or extra cost. I'm sure the web has real yakiniku photos so the chef and manager can get inspired. But do try it.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Reservation is unnecessary. you just keep waiting

Dined on January 3, 2016

The food is good. And the waitress is really upbeat and friendly. But here is the thing that ruins everything, the receptionist. I got a reservation at 7. And we, 6 of us, arrived on time. At first, the receptionist said they were preparing the table. Well, we all know this happens at busy restaurant. So, we assumed, as usual, it might take up to 5 mins, 10 maximum. Guess what, we waited for more than 20 minutes, and that's the outcome we got after we informed the receptionist three times, while she just kept drinking her beverage and avoiding our eye contacts, and saying "its not my fault." What's the point of "reserve a table" when you have to wait the same amount of time as walking-in? I just don't get it. Even everything else is okay or good, the bad start of dining experience just cannot make it right. BTW, the meat lover's course for 2 is $55, while same course for 6 is more than 55*3 = 165. just FYI

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gyu-Kaku is worth the wait!

Dined on January 2, 2016

My wife and I have had tried to going this restaurant several times but it always has a long wait on weekend early evening and nights. It does have a nice bar to sit at while you wait. Due the nature of DIY dinning takes a long time to eat so dinners tend to take longer to finish, even if you have a reservation you may end up waiting for your table. So if you don't like to wait go for lunch or on a week night. But the food is great and it's fun to cook your own food. Better for large group but a good place for a date too. They run lots of specials and have a good mobile app and rewards program. Also have a great happy hour and Sunday drink specials. Underrated place in the Fairmount/ Art Museum area.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Not for New Years

Dined on January 1, 2016

We made a horrible decision coming here for New Years. They were unorganized and understaffed and not ready for the volume of the reservations booked. The manager was extremely apologetic by the last hour of the four hours we were there, but by the end we still never received some food that was initially ordered. On top of that the place was so crazy and no one oiled the skillets we cooked on so the food that did come out was burnt. It was quite a mess of a night but we hung in there and made the best of it!

food2
ambience2
service4

Foodies Don't Bother

Dined on December 12, 2015

The servers did their best and they were utterly pleasant. But the food is just not that good. We didn't heed the warning signs: when you need to put the bargain proposition on the menu and sell your patrons on raffle tickets and prizes, your best asset isn't the quality of your food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Manager was great and very attentive, d ...

Dined on November 22, 2015

Manager was great and very attentive, despite it being a busy Saturday night. Bar staff were also helpful as regards cocktail menu. Excellent food and service at table also.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, late-night find
food3
ambience4
service3

Good but not blown away

Dined on November 14, 2015

I think we all know that places like this tend to have a high mark up. We did the preset combo. The food was good but I wasn't blown away. If we go again I know we'll stick to the beef/pork dishes as they were considerably tastier than the chicken and seafood. The timing of delivery of all the meats was off too. They don't bring you everything at once and my table mates overfilled on rice because they forgot there was more coming.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Awesome experience

Dined on November 9, 2015

A friend invited me to Gyu Kaku on a Sunday evening and told me the premise of the restaurant. At first I was put off that we have to cook our own food, but overall, I enjoyed it. We ordered the tuna roll appetizer and chicken wings, both were freaking awesome. We each ordered different cuts if steak and both were pretty tender, even after my friend cooked hers well done. The grill inthe middle of the table was safe (I was worried) and easy to cook on. Our waiter was great, unfortunately I can't remember his name. I definitely want to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Celebrated 30th bday with friends

Dined on November 8, 2015

All my friends loved the food, the ambiance, etc of the place. We were able to fit 15 people around a large table with 2 grills. Food and service was fantastic! We had staff catering to our needs all night. It was memorable and i would definitely come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.