About Gyu-Kaku - Philadelphia

1901 Callowhill Street
Philadelphia, PA 19130
View Larger Map

Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ in Philadelphia is the ideal spot for an amazing experience in Pennsylvania! Traditionally called Yakiniku, this Japanese barbecue spot is known for their delicious, fresh (never frozen), high-quality meats! Enjoy an ice cold beer as you grill your own meat. Happy Hours offer the best deals on food and drinks, so be sure to wind down and get the night started right with us.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Barbecue, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Everyday: 11:30AM–5PM

Lunch Specials
Everyday: 11:30AM–3PM

Dinner
Sun–Thu: 5PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 5PM–11:30PM last call

Happy Hour

Food
Everyday: 11:30AM–6PM
Mon–Thu: 9PM–10:30PM last call

Alcohol
Mon–Thu: 6PM–7PM last call
Mon–Fri: 9PM–Close

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(267) 603-9482

Website:
http://www.gyu-kaku.com/

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Gyu-Kaku - Philadelphia can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: 8559003883

Restaurant Photos

  • Gyu-Kaku - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
  • Gyu-Kaku - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Gyu-Kaku - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Gyu-Kaku - Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Gyu-Kaku - Philadelphia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.7

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Art Museum ›

Good for Birthdays (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Fun (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Family Style (7)
Casual (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Cozy (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Romantic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great Beer (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Business Meals (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Modern Decor (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
158 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

the food is so so. the wine list is terr ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

the food is so so. the wine list is terrible. shouting everytime a new customer comes in the door is totally annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Great work on a busy night by the hostes ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Great work on a busy night by the hostess, server and expediter!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The loud greeting with each arrival was ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The loud greeting with each arrival was unnecessary.

There was a piece of glass in my salad. As I was dining with an elderly couple, I did not want to alarm them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We love Gyu Kaku. We'll be back again s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We love Gyu Kaku. We'll be back again soon!! Thank you!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to the locations in New York ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I have been to the locations in New York and Chicago and have had a consistently good service. This location, however, needs to get more organized. They served us our rice first and had to wait about 20 mins for the meats to arrive. By the time we got the meats cooked, the rice was cold and had been sitting there awhile. We were supposed to get 2 salads - only served one. Our edamame didnt get served until we asked for it when the meats were delivered.

This location needs to get their act together. There didnt seem to be an experienced manager on site.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We went for their thanksgiving dinner al ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We went for their thanksgiving dinner all you can eat at 24.99 12 items. the place was packed. even though we made reservations we were made to stand and wait for at least 30 minutes before we were greeted, that was after i searched for the hostess. we ended up leaving because there was such a long wait and my husband had to work in the next 2 hours. Their excuse was sorry the guests took too long to dine. There was a 90 minute dining limit so they should have not overbooked. if there were reservations, I say stop taking walk ins if you know you cant seat your reservations. Do this on a special occasion? such a turn off. We dined at same restaurant before and we thought it was a bit pricey. We did not returned for like a year, and then they sent us email for promotions so we thought we would try back. This is what happened. I dont think we will be wasting our time coming back to this place again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

We arrived at 8pm, and were seated promp ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We arrived at 8pm, and were seated promptly. We were given 2 menus and 1 drink menu for 6 people. 25 minutes later a server came over, she took our drink orders and walked away. 10 minutes later, waters came to the table.

At this point, we had been at the restaurant for 45 minutes, and just received our first round of drinks. 2 of us ordered the $18 Sake Flight, which I've had before and enjoyed! The flight came out and had 3 of the same types of Sake, rather than 3 different. Since the server was no aware to be found, i went to the bar. The server saw me and stepped in, she said she didn't know much about Sake, but she would send the manager over.

The manager arrived 30 minutes later! 1.5hrs onto our meal, still 2 of us didn't have proper drinks, while the rest of the table was on their 2nd. The manager proceeded to tell us that they were out of the other types of Sake, and that he would get something else instead. He said he would remove the flights from our tab, and took them from the table, rather than offering to leave them. The food finally started to arrive, yet each couple was missing part of their appetizer orders.

By 10pm our entrees came. The entrees are RAW food. Why it took 2 hours to bring that over to the table is concerning. Again, 2 of the couples received their orders (one was missing part of their order) while 2 of us had none. The other couples were finished their meal, we still 2 people had nothing. Again, we called the server. She made up an excuse about how the kitchen was backed up, then I pushed back. The kitchen was too busy to put raw shrimp, steak and veggies on a plate??

She brought over our entree, 10 minutes later, and then told us it was last call and the kitchen was closing. There was 0 accommodations made on our bill for the 3 hour ordeal. Instead the server explained what the room we were sitting in often gets ignored by the kitchen.

NEVER AGAIN! I wish there was a way to get money back for the awful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

I love this place, the food is phenomena ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I love this place, the food is phenomenal and the staff is so friendly.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my son and two nephews to Gyu-Kak ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I took my son and two nephews to Gyu-Kaku, thinking they would get a kick out of Korean BBQ, and they loved it! Everything was delicious and very reasonable, service was prompt, the restaurant was impeccably clean and the menu has something for everyone.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Usually service is great wit ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food. Usually service is great with help from all servers. However, this visit I felt I had to chase down servers, request refills, missing plates I never received and a long wait . It was not busy when I arrived in a Sunday before dinner time, 3:30-5 2 booths filled when I arrived. Otherwise food was great. Deals were good.

Tags: Family Style, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

My first visit to Gyu-Kaku was 6 months ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 27, 2016

My first visit to Gyu-Kaku was 6 months ago on my birthday. I loved it show much and told my mother about it. She said that she'd love to visit someday. Fast forward to October and I had no idea what to do for her birthday; I asked did she want to go out for dinner at Gyu-kaku, she agreed, even tho it's something that put her out of her comfort zone. But at the same time she, and my family really enjoyed themselves and trying something new. I think what they loved the most was cooking. Not only that but our waitress was amazing and very attentive to us and our needs.

It was a magical night for the birthday girl and the family in general. Y'all will see us in the near future.

P.S. My mother still talks about the beef sukiyaki bibimbap, that was her absolute favorite.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great meal. We got to experienc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 26, 2016

It was a great meal. We got to experience great service.

Tags: Organic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decided to take my wife here for date ni ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Decided to take my wife here for date night. It was delicious and out wait staff was very helpful and friendly. I would recommend it for anyone with a special occasion and at least an hour to relax.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the dining experience! Our ladie ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I loved the dining experience! Our ladies night out was a success. It was different cooking our own food at our table. The food was so Delicious! The service could've been a little better, they weren't prompt but the manager was very good and stepped in to help throughout the night. Only thing is they forgot to bring my mixed vegetables to the table and charged me but I do plan to call them I'm sure they'll compensate me. I will be returning back soon to share the experience with my husband.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Definitely a hit or miss experience. Se ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Definitely a hit or miss experience. Seaweed salad OK, Sauteed Chicken and Noodles OK. In other words, kitchen prepared items are OK. As for the raw food brought out to barbeque at the table, not OK. The Calimari was inedible - just absolutely awful. Raw tofu that sticks to the barbeque grill made no sense. Steamed seasoned broccoli in a pouch was just OK. Mentioned the lousy Calimari to the server, but it was on the bill. Should have been taken off. Service was OK. Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Undue delay in receiving salmon. Then i ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Undue delay in receiving salmon. Then it arrived in one chunk that was not sliced for cooking on table top grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

We sat there for 20 minutes without seei ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We sat there for 20 minutes without seeing our waitress. We had to grab a random waitress to give our order. We gave feedback to the manager, who brought over water soon after. He tried to make up for the bad service which we appreciated but they really need to improve some of the wait staff.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

The A/C is so bad that everyone sweats ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The A/C is so bad that everyone sweats a lot. The food sigmoid though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Place is very fun, awesome for friends m ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Place is very fun, awesome for friends meal. Reasonably priced. Their late night happy hour is the best thing in the world

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Ordering the food was a little confusing ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Ordering the food was a little confusing, but after we figured that out, it was OK. The service was really not good at all. I don't know if they don't have enough servers because they think you are doing the cooking yourself, or what the explanation is, but they really need to improve upon the service. The waitress we had was so nice and sweet and informative, but she just had too many tables and customers to take care of.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Food and experience was awesome however ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food and experience was awesome however we waited to be greeted and assisted at the door for 12 minutes until the bartender came and seated us . Even he grew tired of watching us stand there... Also the waiter was not the greatest but still sweet, she kept forgetting to turn the fire on she also forgot certain food items and we had to ask for them. The food was awesome , drinks tasty bit pricy ...I would go back nonetheless

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

The open pit bbq is always a fun interac ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The open pit bbq is always a fun interactive meal. Cheap draft special this month too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Completely blown away. Everything was ab ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Completely blown away. Everything was absolutely perfect

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Tapas, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, People Watching, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time we have been to this location ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Every time we have been to this location, the food and service have both been extraordinary. It seems that the waitstaff is less attentive than previously, which was disappointing. Otherwise, the food was excellent and dinner was great.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great place. I went for lunch with a fri ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great place. I went for lunch with a friend. We each had 2 beers, 2 plates of meat, rice, soup, salad, and we split sides of broccoli and cucumber. The bill was $30. The lunch specials are great and the beer is $2 on tap. Really good, I'm planning a return trip, maybe for dinner. The only reason I rated the atmosphere lower is because the AC was broken, but don't let that stop you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Great place, highly recommend , Food exc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great place, highly recommend , Food excellent and great value

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Japanese BBQ is fun and delicious. Alw ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Japanese BBQ is fun and delicious. Always a favorite on mine. Make sure you are hungry and you have time to relax and enjoy your friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

server is nice but never check on us on ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 4, 2016

server is nice but never check on us on how we doin, did we get our food right? etc, we have to wait for our desserts for a long time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

The service was great the food was good ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 2, 2016

The service was great the food was good and I would recommend this to my friends and family who are looking for a different dining experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Really enjoyed our meal. We will be back ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Really enjoyed our meal. We will be back! Fast and friendly service and staff. Great prices for happy hour and late dining. Really great time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good times every time. The food and drin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good times every time. The food and drinks are delish and the bartender is a whoot! The waiters are very cool.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waitress was not the best and she wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our waitress was not the best and she was my waitress a previous time before and she has not improved. My friends arrived before I did and as they were waiting and looking at the menu our waitress (which my friend did not know would be her) walks over, does not introduce herself and say "just so you know it's expensive" and just walks. The food was great and I wish the lady who was cleaning up our tables as the dishes became empty was our waitress. She was way more helpful, attentive and a pleasure to talk to. Our waitress mad us feel like we were unconvincing her and when the bill came she said "just to let you know gratitude is added automatically to a group of 5 or more." When we looked at the receipt the gratitude was not automically included, she wrote it on there. The food there is amazing and I wish I had her name and the receipt so I could let everyone know which waitress to avoid. This is my second encounter with her and she just isn't pleasant no matter how nice you are to her. But the food is good

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value5

Good food. Make sure to check your bill ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Good food. Make sure to check your bill. Ours was inflated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

there was a mistake on our order, the st ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 15, 2016

there was a mistake on our order, the staff were really good about correcting it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food and service was great - bit on the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food and service was great - bit on the loud side where it became difficult to hear the person sitting next to you without shouting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very small portions for big bucks, the f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Very small portions for big bucks, the food is very good. The experience of cooking your own food on a grill is fun and worth the money.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

Guy kaku has solid food and good service ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2016

Guy kaku has solid food and good service. Recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great staff and service! Food was quick and fun to cook.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience. Delicious food. R ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2016

Wonderful experience. Delicious food. Relatively inexpensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent. The food was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 16, 2016

The service was excellent. The food was sublime. The beef was tender and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.