About Gyu-Kaku - Houston

510 Gray St
#A
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ in Houston is the ideal spot for an amazing experience! Traditionally called Yakiniku, this Japanese barbecue spot is known for their delicious, fresh (never frozen), high-quality meats! Enjoy an ice cold beer as you grill your own meat. Happy Hours offer the best deals on food and drinks, so be sure to wind down and get the night started right with us.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Barbecue, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Mon-Fri: 10:30AM–6PM
Sat-Sun: 11AM–6PM

Dinner
Mon–Thu: 4PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 4PM–11:30PM last call
Sun: 4PM–9:30PM last call

Happy Hour
Mon–Fri: 10:30AM–6PM
Sat & Sun: 11AM–6PM

Mon–Thu: 9PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 10PM–11:30PM last call

Cross Street:
Smith St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 750-9520

Website:
http://www.gyu-kaku.com/

Parking Details:
Private Lot, Street

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Gyu-Kaku - Houston can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: 8559658874

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Gyu-Kaku - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Houston
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Good for Groups (31)
Special Occasion (29)
Casual (27)
See All
Good for a Date (27)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Happy Hour (23)
Fun (23)
Great for Lunch (19)
Family Style (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Cozy (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Romantic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Authentic (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Tapas (5)
Business Meals (5)
People Watching (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great Beer (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Spicy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Fireplace (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (2)
Private Room (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
264 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome food and extremely good service. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Awesome food and extremely good service. The only downside was that the table for 4 was a little small and we had problems accommodating all our dishes on the table.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great alternative for the thanksgiving f ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great alternative for the thanksgiving feast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not the quiet thanksgiving experience I ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Not the quiet thanksgiving experience I was expecting! Service was rushed. They literally ran by the table and dropped the food off. They spoke so fast that we didn't hear what the different meats were.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

we had a lot of fun they treated us very ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

we had a lot of fun they treated us very nicely even after arriving late to our reservation only down side to it is the parking lot but that is something you get used to it in houston

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was so m ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 20, 2016

LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was so much fun and the food is absolutely delicious. It was highly recommended to us by a close friend who is a local Houstonite. Definitely easier if you make a reservation because it's such a popular spot!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, great experie ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food, great service, great experience. Perfect for date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I LOVE this place. Everytime I come her ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I LOVE this place. Everytime I come here, the ambiance is great, and the food is even better. The prices and food selections are reasonable. I can't wait until I get to return to this gem located in the heart of Midtown !!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to go for any special occasi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great place to go for any special occasion or just to get a quick bite. Very frindly staff and well mannered. Only thing i dont like about the place is that nearly everytime my friends and I go to eat and try to have a good time it just gets ruined by some adults in their early 30s or 40s sitting next or across our table giving us mean stares and whispering to each other whilst looking at us as if we couldn't see what they were doing. I dont know if its a race thing or if they are annoyed because we are having a conversation instead of mindlessly looking down at our phones and being quiet, it just really disappoints me that we cant go out to a nice place like this and be at peace. We almost dont want to eat here anymore but we still do simply because the service and the food is amazing! Really wish it was a better atmosphere for younger adults who want to have a good time with friends. Other than that this place coulnt be any better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Casual, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This is my second time here. The meat is ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This is my second time here. The meat is high quality and very tasty. Only issue is they took forever to bring our rice. Go during happy hour for the discount.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Gyu Kaku has become one of our favorite ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Gyu Kaku has become one of our favorite restaurants. We love the selection and there is always something new on the menu to try.

I just don't understand why they can't bring the whole order out so if everyone is eating something different, everyone can start eating rather having to wait for their selection of meats, seafood, etc. There were four of us in our party and we all ordered something different and asked for our meats to ALL come out at the same time. It didn't happen and one of the four of us had to wait 10 minutes before their first plate of meat arrived.

Besides that, the food was very good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Healthy, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

everything was good except that I could ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

everything was good except that I could get a knife or for because they run out... very disappointing

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

Always enjoyable.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Always enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy the interactive dining a Gy ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Always enjoy the interactive dining a Gyu Kaku! Their hot sake is on point. Happy hour is a great value!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner with a good dining experien ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great dinner with a good dining experience. After reading reviews about how busy the restaurant can be at times, we made a reservation and were not disappointed in the least. Everyone enjoyed the meal (for a party of four adults, we ordered two combination meals), and there was more than enough food for us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Halloween happy hour was a great deal ju ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Halloween happy hour was a great deal just like the extended happy hour

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I have been here twice. Ea ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My family and I have been here twice. Each time was enjoyable. Loved the Happy Hour.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Just wished there was a bit more rice in ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Just wished there was a bit more rice in the bowl. It was great altogether though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my husband's birthday! We had a g ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 19, 2016

It was my husband's birthday! We had a great time! The food was delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very fun place but its just like a hibac ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Very fun place but its just like a hibachi steakhouse, the grill is in the table which was fun. Massive amount of food & for the most part health-ish. I liked how they did not use a lot of salt in their food.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great service. Great food. Always a grea ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great service. Great food. Always a great time. Our server was training, he did a great job. He will be a great asset to the team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great reverse happy hour specials and gr ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great reverse happy hour specials and great dink specials.

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We choose to celebrate our wedding anniv ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 10, 2016

We choose to celebrate our wedding anniversary at Gyu-Kaku. We were not able to find a babysitter, so we had to bring our two children. It was not our ideal situation, but its life- I was so amazed how the wait staff helped show both of my kids how to work the grill. I did not feel out of place because my kids were there. It was actually a very fun, because the dinner was a lot of fun and a great memory for my entire family. The kids had a great time "cooking" our dinner, and the smores were delicious!

I would recommend this as a date night, as a lady's night out, night with family or friends. The food is great, and the concept is very unique. Thank you for making my anniversary night so memorable.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and delicious food. Must g ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great service and delicious food. Must go during their happy hour! Definitely hit the spot and will likely return soon.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Tapas, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great experience. They informed ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 2, 2016

It was a great experience. They informed us how long each item was supposed to be heated for. We could hear the greetings from everyone, each time someone was seated.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Quick Bite, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Gyu-Kaku for my birthday and ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We went to Gyu-Kaku for my birthday and because my son had eaten there in Japan. It was a Saturday so busy but got seated right away. Since this is a cook your own meal kind of place, it can be quite noisy but we were in a booth on the side which allowed us to here each other.

Lychee martini very good when the food started coming. You feel inclined to cook and eat, cook and eat but they didn't push us. Just lots of good items. Beef, Shrimp, mushrooms, veggies, all good. Overall a fun birthday. Hate fondue but liked this.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This restaurant offers cook for yourself ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This restaurant offers cook for yourself meats which are all marinated and thinly sliced, they tasted really good if you're not a good cook. Their lunch combos are good value and adding $3 to get the upgraded rice bowl is really worth it.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent! Love the food, drinks, servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Excellent! Love the food, drinks, service. Great Experience overall.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was good. Kids definitely enjoyed it. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

It was good. Kids definitely enjoyed it. Will be coming back for more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

First time here. Made a reservation for ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

First time here. Made a reservation for 7 but didn't get seated till about 20mins later. Other than that food was amazing. Servers were kind and checked up on us a lot. Will come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My new favorite place for a night on the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 23, 2016

My new favorite place for a night on the town is Gyu-KaKu. My partner and I really enjoyed his Birthday at this place and our wait staff was Awesome!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, friendly knowledgeable serve ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great food, friendly knowledgeable servers, and fun atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This happened to be my first time visiti ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 14, 2016

This happened to be my first time visiting the restaurant, and I had a wonderful time. My boyfriend thought he could take over the grill, but that was not happening! I had a black martini which was right up my alley. Made very well. We got a fresh appetizer of tuna, which I feel like you can judge a restaurant on the quality of their meat selection very easily upon. VERY good.

We got scallops, steak, pork, and mushrooms for the grill that was all very good, and flavorful. I had a great time. The only complaint was that we might have been checked on a little too often, but that really isn't a bad thing I suppose. We also got a fun goodbye when we left. Overall, loved it. Will definitely be back, and bring friends.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had and overall good time I always en ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had and overall good time I always enjoy coming and dining here.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place was packed and we had to wait ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The place was packed and we had to wait about 10 minutes for our table even though we had reservations. We were seated in a small room where the ventilation was poor so the AC was blowing directly on us as we were dining. I imagine because of the table cooking methods - this is why the restaurant opted to setup the tiny room this way. We felt like we were sitting in a refrigerator, freezing while we were cooking our food at the table. We asked the waiter if he could adjust the temperature but he said they were unable to do so.

Besides the AC issue, the food was great and so was service. The next time I come here, I would ask not to be seated in this room or else bring a very warm jacket. Remember, this is table cooking so you probably do not want to wear a wool or leather jacket as your clothes will smell of the food for days after you leave the restaurant.

Tags: Spicy, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Another great experience at Gyu-Kaku. V ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Another great experience at Gyu-Kaku.

Very noisy, very brisk.

Our only complaint is that the meat is dropped off so quickly that you aren't actually sure what is being delivered; however, it is delicious all the same.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my first time having Japanese B ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

This was my first time having Japanese BBQ. Me and 3 other girls shared the meat lovers package (supposedly meant for 2 people to share). We all thought their meat selection was great. We went on a Friday night and it was very busy and pretty noisy. Will definitely be back but probably during happy hour for the lower prices.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

They ran out of the Sapporo Draft specia ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 6, 2016

They ran out of the Sapporo Draft special but honored the price with Asahi. Great time for all as usual and the app points were redeemed easily.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

It was so fun to grill at the table with ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2016

It was so fun to grill at the table with friends! We've done many Korean BBQ, but this was our first Japanese BBQ!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience. My second time here a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great experience. My second time here and I loved it as much as the first time.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was delicious and the service was awe ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 2, 2016

It was delicious and the service was awesome! The experience was something different, but fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.