About Gyu-Kaku - Houston

510 Gray St
#A
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ in Houston is the ideal spot for an amazing experience! Traditionally called Yakiniku, this Japanese barbecue spot is known for their delicious, fresh (never frozen), high-quality meats! Enjoy an ice cold beer as you grill your own meat. Happy Hours offer the best deals on food and drinks, so be sure to wind down and get the night started right with us.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Barbecue, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Mon-Fri: 10:30AM–6PM
Sat-Sun: 11AM–6PM

Dinner
Mon–Thu: 4PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 4PM–11:30PM last call
Sun: 4PM–9:30PM last call

Happy Hour
Mon–Fri: 10:30AM–6PM
Sat & Sun: 11AM–6PM

Mon–Thu: 9PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 10PM–11:30PM last call

Cross Street:
Smith St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 750-9520

Website:
http://www.gyu-kaku.com/

Parking Details:
Private Lot, Street

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Gyu-Kaku - Houston can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: 8559658874

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Gyu-Kaku - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Houston
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Good for Groups (56)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Great for Lunch (42)
See All
Special Occasion (40)
Hot Spot (25)
Late-night Find (17)
Kid-friendly (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Romantic (12)
Great for Brunch (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Fun (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
220 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Unique experience. Good food. Good servi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 21 hours ago

Unique experience. Good food. Good service. Super friendly staff. Overall an awesome place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The most amzing food experience definite ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The most amzing food experience definitely going again ....warn you do come hungy lol

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is absolutely amazing as well ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food is absolutely amazing as well as the atmosphere ; however when it comes to the reservation especially to repeat customers I'd recommend if a party is 20-30 mins late for their reservation not to completely push them off so far outside of the reservation they had made but rather invite them to wait at the bar and get them in 30-45 mins later specifically return customers

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Love this restaurant great food great lu ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Love this restaurant great food great lunch prices and great services.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They finally got some Kobe beef on the l ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

They finally got some Kobe beef on the lunch menu. B

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

High quality and fun for groups. I got ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

High quality and fun for groups. I got a special birthday treat!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic... Loved it.... Food and servi ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fantastic... Loved it.... Food and service was amazing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at this restaurant. I have be ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

First time at this restaurant. I have been looking for a good Korean BBQ place around town but thought I would give Japanese BBQ a try as well. The service was amazing. I tipped well over 20%. The food was good along with the pricing. The ambiance was nice. I definitly recommmend this place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second lunch at Gyu-Kaku. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was our second lunch at Gyu-Kaku. The food is excellent and the service very good. Our first waitress was very thorough in explaining everything and giving us useful guidance. The second time, the waiter was new, but did a good job. The lunch specials are very affordable and the whole dining experience is very pleasant and enjoyable. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Went for happy hour on a Wednesday. Our ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Went for happy hour on a Wednesday. Our server was friendly and attentive. It was very loud in there. Food was great and fun to cook, as always. Only issue was the new menu, with higher prices.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food are delious. It has so much fu ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food are delious. It has so much fun that everyone can cook together and eat together. If you are a meat lover, this is the right place for you. Even though you are not a meat eater, the vegetables are very fresh, too.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Last year when I was in Japan, I heard a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Last year when I was in Japan, I heard a lot of good things about Gyu-Kaku, I really wanted to go but didn't get a chance to. Even since I found out there's a Gyu-Kaku in Houston, I was really excited and expected nothing but perfection. My boyfriend and I went there for my birthday last night, maybe because we had such high hopes, we came out a little disappointed.

While the Harami Miso Skirt Steak (perfectly aged, tender and flavorful) and Beef Sukiyaki Bibimbap (a nice twist on the traditional Korean Bibimbap) were absolutely delicious, the short rib (very chewy) and beef tongue were not our favorites. We also order a Gyu-Kaku salad, which was nothing special. The steamed dumplings and mushroom medley weren't too bad.

Since it is a very well known chain bbq restaurant, I definitely expected a better quality of food especially for the price point $8 or 9 for 6 pieces of meat. I'm sure I've been to many all you can eat bbq place and came out happier.

Gyu-Kaku is still worth a try, just don't keep your expectations too high.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Good service and a decent meal. It's a n ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Good service and a decent meal. It's a nice experience overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

It was a great experience. My family and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was a great experience. My family and I enjoyed being there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The service was great and the server was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service was great and the server was of great help since this is the first time we went to this restaurant. It is a fun experience! You get enough food to share and you cook it at the table (they prepare the food for you).

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was pretty bad.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service was pretty bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Great food and concept! Prices are highe ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food and concept! Prices are higher than other Japanese bbq restaurants. Extremely loud and constant yelling from the servers. A bit tight and very small bar area. Hard to track down servers. Very hustle and bustle.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We live in The Woodlands, but happily tr ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We live in The Woodlands, but happily travel to Midtown to eat here. This quickly became one of our favorite restaurants. The wait can be incredibly long at night on weekends- The first time we went (Saturday night around 9pm) we waited almost 2 hours to be seated. The bar area is tight, but they do have extremely cheap drinks and a great bar menu to hold you over till you're seated. After that experience, we began making reservations and never had any issues with them. Highly, highly recommend checking out this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time trying the Japanese ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

It was my first time trying the Japanese BBQ. It's kinda same as Korean BBQ but the price is affordable and the food was so great. I love love love everything I ordered that day. I will come back. They have matcha crepes for dessert but I was so full, will try next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is always good! Love the spicy pork ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food is always good! Love the spicy pork and Kalbi short ribs! This is a great experience with family, friends and for date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great value, but extremely noisy, which ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great value, but extremely noisy, which is the Japanese culture. I was a bit disappointed with the few Sake options.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

Great for a party of 2 or a large crowd. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great for a party of 2 or a large crowd. The ambiance is well done and I love the restaurant set up. Wonderful, diverse menu to help those who have never been before (me) when attempting to decide what to eat. The food was delicious and fun to prepare at the table, and the waiters who attended us were so nice and truly did an excellent job taking care of not only us, but everyone around us as well as food came out and they had to go back and forth to make sure we were taken care of. Will be coming back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a 7:30 appointment and were seate ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had a 7:30 appointment and were seated slightly earlier. The food was great and would have been a good lunch spot if you don't mind being rushed out. There were 3 in our party and larger parties waiting to get in. So while I was still eating, food in hand, the server literally took my plate and bowl of rice out from under me. Then immediately returns with the bill saying "no rush"! I will not be returning or recommending it to anyone else. We were not even at our table for 40 minutes.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Always good and a lot of fun too. Wort ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Always good and a lot of fun too. Worth it to ask for a larger table if you get led to a small table and they are not busy.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This place had great food and I would lo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This place had great food and I would love to come back again!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Matt was AMAZING!!!! I will definitely m ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Matt was AMAZING!!!! I will definitely make sure that I have him when I come here! If you can request Matt please do so!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Good, Excellent Service, a Romanti ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great Good, Excellent Service, a Romantic place to visit or just have drinks with coworkers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the guests in my party was not go ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

One of the guests in my party was not going to make the original reservation (7pm) so I called and tried to move it to a later time. A gentleman answered the phone and began to explain to me that he didn't see my reservation that I had made originally on Open Table but could set me another reservation at 8:15pm. I accepted this. When we arrived at 8:20 they told me that the only reservation I had was for 7 and that we were obviously too late. He also mentioned that if we wanted to wait approx. 30 minutes they would have us seated. At 9:30 we were still waiting for a table.

The food was enjoyable as always and our server Ryan was excellent. However, had I known we would have had to wait until 10pm to eat I would have likely gone somewhere else.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious as always. Great place for din ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Delicious as always. Great place for dinner with friends and quieter on a Sunday evening than previous visits. The food was great - we got the premium set between 4 of us and it was just the right amount of food to fill us up without too much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Service is always quick. Food was great ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Service is always quick. Food was great and the drinks are served cold. Lots of variety on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have really enjoyed our dinner - ther ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We have really enjoyed our dinner - there were 7 of us and the manager, Angel, really made our evening special , by bringing our birthday desserts to our guests and making special cocktails . We were a bit picky and probably difficult, but the whole staff was polite and attentive. Way to go! We will be back !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This has become one of our "go to" restaurants.

There is always something different by changing the marinades on the different meats.

Brisk service, sometimes a little too loud. Choose an individual booth for a little more quiet.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Unique Experience

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I loved it here. I came with my boyfriend on a double date with our close friends. We got the Meat Lover's combo and they got the Premium and there was food covering our table. The Meat Lover's combo could have easily been split between 3-4 people, not just the 2 that it says. Included in our combo was: a salad, 2 soups, veggies, 6 different meats as well as s'mores for dessert. - It was an outstanding value and it was DELICIOUS. The Peach Saketini was also very yummy tasting (albeit a bit sweet) and was only $5.

The guys loved the grilling aspect. They were so happy to have a grill right in the middle of the table to give them something to bond over while the girls talked. Would definitely recommend in a group setting - not so much a date setting because the grilling takes some focus.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The happy hour special is a great why to ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The happy hour special is a great why to sample a variety of items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Awesome food and service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Awesome food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was really slow and unprofes ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The service was really slow and unprofessional. The food took a long time to get there.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Overall it was a good dining experience. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Overall it was a good dining experience. The only thing that was bad was that I made a reservation for 14 and our table wasn't ready for about 35 minutes. I understand that it's dependent on the previous group but the staff wasn't honest about that. They kept saying that they were cleaning about the table and that it's almost ready. Knowing the truth would have been very helpful. Restaurant staff needs to do better planing to minimize the wait for large groups. Maybe leave 2hr Windows between every reservation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A great way to cultivate conversation.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food Great! Great choices of meat! Love the fried cheesecake!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Really great value for the amount of foo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Really great value for the amount of food. We ate the meat lovers for 2 and had more food than we could handle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

the waitress was inexperienced or lack o ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

the waitress was inexperienced or lack of training,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.