About Gyu-Kaku - Houston

510 Gray St
#A
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ in Houston is the ideal spot for an amazing experience! Traditionally called Yakiniku, this Japanese barbecue spot is known for their delicious, fresh (never frozen), high-quality meats! Enjoy an ice cold beer as you grill your own meat. Happy Hours offer the best deals on food and drinks, so be sure to wind down and get the night started right with us.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Barbecue, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Mon-Fri: 10:30AM–6PM
Sat-Sun: 11AM–6PM

Dinner
Mon–Thu: 4PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 4PM–11:30PM last call
Sun: 4PM–9:30PM last call

Happy Hour
Mon–Fri: 10:30AM–6PM
Sat & Sun: 11AM–6PM

Mon–Thu: 9PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 10PM–11:30PM last call

Cross Street:
Smith St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 750-9520

Website:
http://www.gyu-kaku.com/

Parking Details:
Private Lot, Street

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Gyu-Kaku - Houston can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: 8559658874

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Gyu-Kaku - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Houston
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Good for Groups (46)
Special Occasion (38)
Great for Lunch (37)
See All
Fit for Foodies (33)
Hot Spot (24)
Kid-friendly (16)
Late-night Find (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Romantic (11)
Fun (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Casual (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Family Style (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Tapas (2)
Cozy (2)
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (1)
Fireplace (1)
Scenic View (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Authentic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
236 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time here. Made a reservation for ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 3 days ago

First time here. Made a reservation for 7 but didn't get seated till about 20mins later. Other than that food was amazing. Servers were kind and checked up on us a lot. Will come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My new favorite place for a night on the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

My new favorite place for a night on the town is Gyu-KaKu. My partner and I really enjoyed his Birthday at this place and our wait staff was Awesome!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, friendly knowledgeable serve ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great food, friendly knowledgeable servers, and fun atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This happened to be my first time visiti ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

This happened to be my first time visiting the restaurant, and I had a wonderful time. My boyfriend thought he could take over the grill, but that was not happening! I had a black martini which was right up my alley. Made very well. We got a fresh appetizer of tuna, which I feel like you can judge a restaurant on the quality of their meat selection very easily upon. VERY good.

We got scallops, steak, pork, and mushrooms for the grill that was all very good, and flavorful. I had a great time. The only complaint was that we might have been checked on a little too often, but that really isn't a bad thing I suppose. We also got a fun goodbye when we left. Overall, loved it. Will definitely be back, and bring friends.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had and overall good time I always en ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had and overall good time I always enjoy coming and dining here.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place was packed and we had to wait ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The place was packed and we had to wait about 10 minutes for our table even though we had reservations. We were seated in a small room where the ventilation was poor so the AC was blowing directly on us as we were dining. I imagine because of the table cooking methods - this is why the restaurant opted to setup the tiny room this way. We felt like we were sitting in a refrigerator, freezing while we were cooking our food at the table. We asked the waiter if he could adjust the temperature but he said they were unable to do so.

Besides the AC issue, the food was great and so was service. The next time I come here, I would ask not to be seated in this room or else bring a very warm jacket. Remember, this is table cooking so you probably do not want to wear a wool or leather jacket as your clothes will smell of the food for days after you leave the restaurant.

Tags: Spicy, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Another great experience at Gyu-Kaku. V ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Another great experience at Gyu-Kaku.

Very noisy, very brisk.

Our only complaint is that the meat is dropped off so quickly that you aren't actually sure what is being delivered; however, it is delicious all the same.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my first time having Japanese B ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This was my first time having Japanese BBQ. Me and 3 other girls shared the meat lovers package (supposedly meant for 2 people to share). We all thought their meat selection was great. We went on a Friday night and it was very busy and pretty noisy. Will definitely be back but probably during happy hour for the lower prices.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

They ran out of the Sapporo Draft specia ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

They ran out of the Sapporo Draft special but honored the price with Asahi. Great time for all as usual and the app points were redeemed easily.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

It was so fun to grill at the table with ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

It was so fun to grill at the table with friends! We've done many Korean BBQ, but this was our first Japanese BBQ!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience. My second time here a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great experience. My second time here and I loved it as much as the first time.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was delicious and the service was awe ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

It was delicious and the service was awesome! The experience was something different, but fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had no idea how the restaurant was set ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I had no idea how the restaurant was set up before we went. Had I known that you had to grill your own meat and sides I probably would have passed. I like to be served, not do the cooking myself, but that's just my preference. However, our server and food runner were a fantastic duo! They were very good about busing dirty/used plates and I really appreciate that!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Unique experience. Good food. Good servi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Unique experience. Good food. Good service. Super friendly staff. Overall an awesome place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Such a hotspot, must make a reservation ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Such a hotspot, must make a reservation to get in! Amazing service, being able to cook the food yourself if fun

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, People Watching, Fun, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most amzing food experience definite ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The most amzing food experience definitely going again ....warn you do come hungy lol

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is absolutely amazing as well ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food is absolutely amazing as well as the atmosphere ; however when it comes to the reservation especially to repeat customers I'd recommend if a party is 20-30 mins late for their reservation not to completely push them off so far outside of the reservation they had made but rather invite them to wait at the bar and get them in 30-45 mins later specifically return customers

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Love this restaurant great food great lu ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Love this restaurant great food great lunch prices and great services.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They finally got some Kobe beef on the l ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

They finally got some Kobe beef on the lunch menu. B

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

High quality and fun for groups. I got ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

High quality and fun for groups. I got a special birthday treat!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic... Loved it.... Food and servi ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fantastic... Loved it.... Food and service was amazing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at this restaurant. I have be ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

First time at this restaurant. I have been looking for a good Korean BBQ place around town but thought I would give Japanese BBQ a try as well. The service was amazing. I tipped well over 20%. The food was good along with the pricing. The ambiance was nice. I definitly recommmend this place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second lunch at Gyu-Kaku. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was our second lunch at Gyu-Kaku. The food is excellent and the service very good. Our first waitress was very thorough in explaining everything and giving us useful guidance. The second time, the waiter was new, but did a good job. The lunch specials are very affordable and the whole dining experience is very pleasant and enjoyable. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Love it here! Just moved to Houston 1.5 ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Love it here! Just moved to Houston 1.5 months ago and have been here 4 times!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for happy hour on a Wednesday. Our ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Went for happy hour on a Wednesday. Our server was friendly and attentive. It was very loud in there. Food was great and fun to cook, as always. Only issue was the new menu, with higher prices.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food are delious. It has so much fu ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food are delious. It has so much fun that everyone can cook together and eat together. If you are a meat lover, this is the right place for you. Even though you are not a meat eater, the vegetables are very fresh, too.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Last year when I was in Japan, I heard a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Last year when I was in Japan, I heard a lot of good things about Gyu-Kaku, I really wanted to go but didn't get a chance to. Even since I found out there's a Gyu-Kaku in Houston, I was really excited and expected nothing but perfection. My boyfriend and I went there for my birthday last night, maybe because we had such high hopes, we came out a little disappointed.

While the Harami Miso Skirt Steak (perfectly aged, tender and flavorful) and Beef Sukiyaki Bibimbap (a nice twist on the traditional Korean Bibimbap) were absolutely delicious, the short rib (very chewy) and beef tongue were not our favorites. We also order a Gyu-Kaku salad, which was nothing special. The steamed dumplings and mushroom medley weren't too bad.

Since it is a very well known chain bbq restaurant, I definitely expected a better quality of food especially for the price point $8 or 9 for 6 pieces of meat. I'm sure I've been to many all you can eat bbq place and came out happier.

Gyu-Kaku is still worth a try, just don't keep your expectations too high.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Good service and a decent meal. It's a n ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Good service and a decent meal. It's a nice experience overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

It was a great experience. My family and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was a great experience. My family and I enjoyed being there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The service was great and the server was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service was great and the server was of great help since this is the first time we went to this restaurant. It is a fun experience! You get enough food to share and you cook it at the table (they prepare the food for you).

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was pretty bad.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service was pretty bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Great food and concept! Prices are highe ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food and concept! Prices are higher than other Japanese bbq restaurants. Extremely loud and constant yelling from the servers. A bit tight and very small bar area. Hard to track down servers. Very hustle and bustle.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We live in The Woodlands, but happily tr ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We live in The Woodlands, but happily travel to Midtown to eat here. This quickly became one of our favorite restaurants. The wait can be incredibly long at night on weekends- The first time we went (Saturday night around 9pm) we waited almost 2 hours to be seated. The bar area is tight, but they do have extremely cheap drinks and a great bar menu to hold you over till you're seated. After that experience, we began making reservations and never had any issues with them. Highly, highly recommend checking out this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very fun spot. Lots of dining options. I ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very fun spot. Lots of dining options. It's really fun to cook your food over the grill. If you order a combination it is super affordable! I would definitely recommend this restaurant. Do not expect this to be a quick sit down dinner or lunch. You do need to allow time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

It was my first time trying the Japanese ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

It was my first time trying the Japanese BBQ. It's kinda same as Korean BBQ but the price is affordable and the food was so great. I love love love everything I ordered that day. I will come back. They have matcha crepes for dessert but I was so full, will try next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is always good! Love the spicy pork ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food is always good! Love the spicy pork and Kalbi short ribs! This is a great experience with family, friends and for date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great value, but extremely noisy, which ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great value, but extremely noisy, which is the Japanese culture. I was a bit disappointed with the few Sake options.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

Great for a party of 2 or a large crowd. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great for a party of 2 or a large crowd. The ambiance is well done and I love the restaurant set up. Wonderful, diverse menu to help those who have never been before (me) when attempting to decide what to eat. The food was delicious and fun to prepare at the table, and the waiters who attended us were so nice and truly did an excellent job taking care of not only us, but everyone around us as well as food came out and they had to go back and forth to make sure we were taken care of. Will be coming back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a 7:30 appointment and were seate ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had a 7:30 appointment and were seated slightly earlier. The food was great and would have been a good lunch spot if you don't mind being rushed out. There were 3 in our party and larger parties waiting to get in. So while I was still eating, food in hand, the server literally took my plate and bowl of rice out from under me. Then immediately returns with the bill saying "no rush"! I will not be returning or recommending it to anyone else. We were not even at our table for 40 minutes.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Always good and a lot of fun too. Wort ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Always good and a lot of fun too. Worth it to ask for a larger table if you get led to a small table and they are not busy.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.