Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Gyu-Kaku - Broadway - Vancouver

Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ in Vancouver, BC is the ideal spot for an amazing experience in British Columbia! Traditionally called Yakiniku, this Japanese barbecue spot is known for their delicious, fresh (never frozen), high-quality meats! Enjoy an ice cold beer as you grill your own meat. Happy Hours offer the best deals on food and drinks, so be sure to wind down and get the night started right with us.

201-950 West Broadway
Vancouver, BC V5Z 1K7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Barbecue, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Everyday: 11:30AM–4PM

Dinner
Mon–Thu: 4PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 4PM–11:30PM last call
Sun: 4PM–10PM last call

Happy Hour
Monday: All Day

Early Hours
Everyday 11:30AM–6PM

​Late Hours
Mon–Thu: 9PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 9:30PM–11:30PM last call
Sun: 9PM–10PM last call

Cross Street:
Oak St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 558-3898

Website:
http://www.gyu-kaku.com/cn/broadway.htm

Executive Chef:
You!

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Gyu-Kaku - Broadway - Vancouver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Happy Hour (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Fun (12)
See All
Good for Birthdays (12)
Casual (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Family Style (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Tapas (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Cozy (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Romantic (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great Beer (1)
Authentic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
189 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 17 hours ago

Food are not as good as before anymore.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 17, 2017

It was good~~ will be back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 13, 2017

always good

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Overall it was good service food and we had good dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Friendly server, good location(could find free parking in walking distance), three kinds of sauces(Japanese Tare, Pon-du and spicy sweet sauce) satisfied all of us. Even though my 5 year old kid who does not like meat could enjoy eating Ramen. We celebrated my husband's birthday and ice creams were the nice surprise from the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food and service, the spicy pork was really good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We got seated right away and our server Darren was awesome. Everybody was polite and food was absolutely delicious! Left very stuffed and happy. We ordered the happy hour course for 2.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 20, 2017

It was awesome as always. Food was great and reasonably priced.

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Service was excellent . The server was very nice and explained what each dish is on the menu and the cooking time. She comes back here and then if we need anything. She changes the metal plate for the grill a few times. The Kyoto sunrise cocktail was delicious. I will definitely recommend this place. The service, food and ambience is excellent.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The staff are always welcoming and friendly. The food is amazing. Just the right amount of portions. You can tell the quality of the cuts are high grade. I will be coming back again.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It's a bit expensive for the amount of food you get. Although you're sharing be ready to be paying $50+ per person. Depending if you're drinking, of course it'd be way more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great Japanese BBQ, good side dishes too. Fun to cook your own food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Love the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was delicious!!! Great service from the door to the end of the meal!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Quick Bite, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Went for late night happy hour which starts at 9 pm. Great service and the bbq meats were fresh and tender. We all had a very good time and the happy hour Sapporo's helped. Always impressed that they can keep the quality at locations around the world.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

the meats are really good. Love the taiyaki with ice cream

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was good like usual, but the service was poor. The server changed during our meal, so we saw her rarely. Took some time to wait for her to come by and flag her for more tea or something else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Service was awful, waiter not attentive at all, waiter not patient! Will not come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 25, 2017

They were able to accommodate last minute changes to reservation, I arrived earlier than my reservation but was able to be seated immediately. Food tasted great without the long wait, overall great experience would return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Meat was still frozen when served. Staff was usually not in sight and service was extremely slow.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Oishii! So happy to come here! The service was great. The food came out fast. My friends and I throughly enjoyed the meal :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Awesome service! Love the food! Friendly environment and neat!

Tags: Private Room, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very good. Have been there many times in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I made a reservation a week before Christmas eve and we were lucky to get one. I called that day because we were running late. They were very nice and helpful. This place was good for family or friends to get together. It was wonderful experience and we'll be back.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We arrived a bit early for our reservation but did wait a little bit for a table. The server was really friendly and told us how long to grill each item. The value was worth it during lunch time/happy hour. We got the maple syrup icecream too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Food always good. Strict 2hr limit enforced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The service here is amazing. Food is great though portions are small. We ordered a rice dish to fill up our stomach and that's tasty too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Such a great time. Delicious food and fantastic service. We are going back ASAP.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Our server is friendly and efficient but she messed up our bill. Don't know if she did that on purpose because she gets extra money for charging more than what she actually sold? The food is always good there as I have been there many times before. On this occasion, we ordered the Kabuki set course for 3 people, one mega size beer and 2 regular pint size beer. The bill that I got looked way over charged and then I realized what she has done. She charged the Kabuki set course as priced on the menu and then she charged me again for every item on the Kabuki set course individually. I told our server of this mistake and she quickly corrected it. I tipped her 15% on the total of the bill and left. Thru this confusion, I didn't realized later when I got home that she also made another mistake by charging us 3 mega beer instead of 1 mega size beer and 2 regular pint size beer. I will now make sure I check my bill carefully each time before I pay.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Love cooking the fresh food ourselves; servers were attentive and changed the grills when needed; meat dishes were well marinated and tasty. Be prepared to get a little smokey on the hair and clothes. Probably not for toddlers/really young kids who do not yet understand not to touch the hot plate of BBQ but have arms long enough to reach it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I really recommend the BBQ restaurant for friends' get-together. The restaurant is in the second floor, and the parking lot which is under the restaurant is rather convenient. I strongly suggest everyone make a reservation a few days in advance cuz the restaurant is so popular! We only have two hours to have dinner here cuz still lots of people in the waiting list after 2 hours. The service of the waitress was really appreciated. In one word, the atmosphere, the food, the service all are satisfactory.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

quite nice place. The meat is very fresh and delicious. Highly recommeded.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We got a meal set for 3 and it easily fed 4 of us! Great value (especially during happy hour), will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Our server , AI , was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great fun for a group of friends or a date with a great menu selection of BBQ items

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food! And lots of it, my partner and I were very impressed with the quality of the meats and also meats and the meats also, the meats. The ice cream was good too, but boy howdy! The MEATS. The service was also stellar. Our waitresses were on it! Super impressed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great experience! Delicious food . Was a bit loud, but to be expected. Will be going back again soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Better to go there for lunch during Weekdays (except holiday)

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Harami is a have to!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Nice food,great atmosphere.
Will definitely go back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.