Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Gyu-Kaku - Broadway - Vancouver

Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ in Vancouver, BC is the ideal spot for an amazing experience in British Columbia! Traditionally called Yakiniku, this Japanese barbecue spot is known for their delicious, fresh (never frozen), high-quality meats! Enjoy an ice cold beer as you grill your own meat. Happy Hours offer the best deals on food and drinks, so be sure to wind down and get the night started right with us.

201-950 West Broadway
Vancouver, BC V5Z 1K7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Barbecue, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Everyday: 11:30AM–4PM

Dinner
Mon–Thu: 4PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 4PM–11:30PM last call
Sun: 4PM–10PM last call

Happy Hour
Monday: All Day

Early Hours
Everyday 11:30AM–6PM

​Late Hours
Mon–Thu: 9PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 9:30PM–11:30PM last call
Sun: 9PM–10PM last call

Cross Street:
Oak St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 558-3898

Website:
http://www.gyu-kaku.com/cn/broadway.htm

Executive Chef:
You!

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Gyu-Kaku - Broadway - Vancouver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (24)
Happy Hour (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
See All
Fun (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Tapas (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Authentic (7)
Family Style (7)
Great Beer (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Romantic (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Healthy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
People Watching (3)
Cozy (3)
Spicy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Business Meals (2)
Vegan (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
213 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

I think the restaurant is the good. The food is good, the waiters are friendly, and there is a really cute waitress who works there. So 5 stars it is!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 20, 2017

First time at this restaurant for a business meeting. The food was spectacular. Along with all the BBQ meats and veggies, we also had fried rice...Best rice I have ever eaten! This is now our go to restaurant. Would be a great place to go with friends or family.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I always enjoy this place. food its good
price its right the staff its very friendly
noise sometimes when they said something to welcome people can be a bit loud.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great place to have a nice and fun family lunch. My wife, two daughters, son in law and I, truly enjoyed the experience (and the drinks!) while grilling our food. Not a place I'd recommend with small children, since it is quite the long process to get all things grilled (my impression by looking at a couple in a neighboring table). In all, if you have a couple of hours to have a good conversation while enjoying the process, don't miss out on this uniquely delicious experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 11, 2017

its not Japanese bbq

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I ordered the meat lover combo ,Food not as good as expected , some meat is cheap meat especially those heavy marinate beef , taste like pork liver, and that spicy pork taste so heavy, The food is like a Korean grill ,but Korean one better, nothing close to Gyu Kaku and other Japanese grill in Asia I have no idea how can some rated this the best restaurant in Vancouver , second best is Mcd's?

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We've been here many times and have never been disappointed. The food and service are consistently good. How busy this place is, is a testament to how good everything is. Will always be a favourite place for BBQ. Good value after 9PM ("Happy Hour")!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 5, 2017

This restaurant is always good and never make me down

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great service and food quality. The happy hours are extremely good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 1, 2017

consistently good

Tags: Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 28, 2017

My boyfriend and I were recommended to try Gyu Kaku since we've been meaning to try a bbq experience and we were very happy with our experience here! My boyfriend and I enjoyed the privacy of cooking the food ourselves and tasting the different meats while still feeling like the staff was approachable if we needed help with questions or cooking the meat. We highly recommend this fun and intimate experience. We will be back soon for a special occasion or for a fun time.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The cocktail was awesome. I ordered Tokyo Sunrise and my mother ordered Samurai. Taro beef was my favourite, but other meat choices were also great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Definitely a dining experience! Great for small groups. Come hungry!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Been to many Gyu Kaku's, Honolulu, San Diego, Kapolei. This was by far the worst experience and quality of food. Wouldn't recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Server was attentive and food came at a good pace. One of my go to place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 16, 2017

great service and good food

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Always a great experience. Food is great, and the atmosphere is fun. Really great deals on happy hour and super happy hour.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Disabled Access, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Tapas, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The server was really friendly! Price of food was reasonable and everyone was always smiling

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 8, 2017

It is not bad

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

It was my mom's birthday, and I was worried that it would be very noisy just like other barbecue places.
However, we had a great experience, The new location suited our needs much better than the old one. Great job! And our server mizuki was the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Pleasurable experience overall. Brought my girlfriend there for a dinner after work, and the food was fantastic, price is a bit high but well worth it. Server attitudes and instructions were helpful and appreciable.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Consistently good food, but more importantly, consistently good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We just love this place so kid friendly and good value and its fun!

Tags: Great Beer, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Will be back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food are not as good as before anymore.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 17, 2017

It was good~~ will be back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 13, 2017

always good

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Overall it was good service food and we had good dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Friendly server, good location(could find free parking in walking distance), three kinds of sauces(Japanese Tare, Pon-du and spicy sweet sauce) satisfied all of us. Even though my 5 year old kid who does not like meat could enjoy eating Ramen. We celebrated my husband's birthday and ice creams were the nice surprise from the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food and service, the spicy pork was really good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We got seated right away and our server Darren was awesome. Everybody was polite and food was absolutely delicious! Left very stuffed and happy. We ordered the happy hour course for 2.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 20, 2017

It was awesome as always. Food was great and reasonably priced.

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Service was excellent . The server was very nice and explained what each dish is on the menu and the cooking time. She comes back here and then if we need anything. She changes the metal plate for the grill a few times. The Kyoto sunrise cocktail was delicious. I will definitely recommend this place. The service, food and ambience is excellent.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The staff are always welcoming and friendly. The food is amazing. Just the right amount of portions. You can tell the quality of the cuts are high grade. I will be coming back again.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It's a bit expensive for the amount of food you get. Although you're sharing be ready to be paying $50+ per person. Depending if you're drinking, of course it'd be way more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great Japanese BBQ, good side dishes too. Fun to cook your own food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Love the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was delicious!!! Great service from the door to the end of the meal!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Quick Bite, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Went for late night happy hour which starts at 9 pm. Great service and the bbq meats were fresh and tender. We all had a very good time and the happy hour Sapporo's helped. Always impressed that they can keep the quality at locations around the world.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

the meats are really good. Love the taiyaki with ice cream

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.