Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Gyu-Kaku - Broadway - Vancouver

Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ in Vancouver, BC is the ideal spot for an amazing experience in British Columbia! Traditionally called Yakiniku, this Japanese barbecue spot is known for their delicious, fresh (never frozen), high-quality meats! Enjoy an ice cold beer as you grill your own meat. Happy Hours offer the best deals on food and drinks, so be sure to wind down and get the night started right with us.

201-950 West Broadway
Vancouver, BC V5Z 1K7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Barbecue, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Everyday: 11:30AM–4PM

Dinner
Mon–Thu: 4PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 4PM–11:30PM last call
Sun: 4PM–10PM last call

Happy Hour
Monday: All Day

Early Hours
Everyday 11:30AM–6PM

​Late Hours
Mon–Thu: 9PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 9:30PM–11:30PM last call
Sun: 9PM–10PM last call

Cross Street:
Oak St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 558-3898

Website:
http://www.gyu-kaku.com/cn/broadway.htm

Executive Chef:
You!

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Gyu-Kaku - Broadway - Vancouver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Happy Hour (63)
Casual (59)
Good for Groups (57)
See All
Fun (54)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Good for a Date (46)
Great for Lunch (41)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Special Occasion (39)
Family Style (29)
Tapas (24)
Authentic (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Comfort Food (22)
Tasting Menu (21)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Hot Spot (18)
Great for Brunch (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Cozy (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Late-night Find (13)
Great Beer (12)
Romantic (12)
Seasonal (9)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Spicy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Business Meals (6)
Quick Bite (5)
People Watching (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Live Music (2)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
231 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

We came here for my birthday and everything was amazing as usual! Especially the Monday all day happy hour!! Will definitely be back in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic spot to take friends. We pop in here for supper once every few weeks for the late night happy hour and the place is always packed so the Opentable reservation is a must! Its may not be the finest dining but the selection of meats to grill is great, prices are good and service is really attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

IT WAS F*CKING AMAZING. I WENT WITH MY GIRLFRIEND AND OUR TABLE HANDLER WAS SO NICE. WE WERE THE YOUNG COUPLE AND WE'RE DEFINITELY COMING BACK!!

(I am well aware I am in caps, and this was the only way to express my excitement and joy for this place, other than using exclamation marks repetitively.)

Tags: Fun, Casual, Healthy, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Server was nice and food was great! The rice was a bit oily though, but everything has was right!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Very good price right now. Always my favorite place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

I came here for my birthday and it was SO GOOD! I didn't expect it to be so delicious. Amazing value too. Come here!! You won't regret it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 25, 2017

This is the first time I have attended this restaurant and I am impressed. The portions were generous and the service was very good.
I have recommend this restaurant to friends and family.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 25, 2017

This place was great!
A little spendy, but they have happy hour and super happy hour sometime every day!
The meat is primarily all marinated, so the meat is a bit sweeter and flavorful.
They had a great selection and for two people who eat a lot, we spent about 75$ on food, drinks, and dessert. Not bad at all!!!

Fun atmosphere and great service. It does get busy though, so I would suggest a reservation.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Great choice of BBQ meat in menu and even happy hour specials. Service was good and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

We went to gyukaku with a group of 8 people on a Saturday night. Free Parking in the area wasn't so great but glad they had paid parking by the actual restaurant. As we got in we got good service, restaurant was bustling with life with all the servers greeting welcome.(as per japanese tradition)

Food was great and portions were decent. We even had a vegan come with us to try some of their salads and vegetables and they liked it. Decent variety of liquor but not the best.

10/10 would come again

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The server Kevin was excellent . Food was great . The beef that day was very juicy and tasty. The environment was clean .

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food! This was my first time at this style of restaurant and my husband and I had a great time. The servers were very attentive and the food was delivered to our table very quickly. The food quality is high and the menu selection had a great variety. We definitely plan to return the next time we are in Vancouver.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Fun, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I'm a regular customer at Gyukaku! I've spent over $1000 at this restaurant for treating friends and family to dinner here. Great atmosphere and seating for groups or just for two, especially a long night after work during happy hour time! Never had an issue with service despite how busy they get. Staff are always friendly.

I like the beef and pork dishes but my boyfriend likes their chicken. The taiyaki dessert is a great steal, considering its cheaper and bigger than taiyaki from night market!! It also comes with your choice of green tea, mango, or black sesame ice cream. I recommend green tea.

Remember to keep the receipt to redeem points from the Gyukaku app! I always use my points on $25 off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Reliably good and increasingly popular! Lately it is hard to get in at peak times without making a reservation well in advance.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Fun, Romantic, Happy Hour, Tapas, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

AMAZING! A perfect authetic experience that reminds me of being right back in Japan. This is a must-have for Japanese cuisine lovers!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We had a very good experience at Gyu-Kaku! The food was awesome. Everything is fresh and tasty. They change the net frequently so that the meat won't be cooked with left over burnt sauce. We even got a birthday song offered by the staffs there! Will definitely return!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Good food good prices good atmosphwre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I think the restaurant is the good. The food is good, the waiters are friendly, and there is a really cute waitress who works there. So 5 stars it is!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 20, 2017

First time at this restaurant for a business meeting. The food was spectacular. Along with all the BBQ meats and veggies, we also had fried rice...Best rice I have ever eaten! This is now our go to restaurant. Would be a great place to go with friends or family.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I always enjoy this place. food its good
price its right the staff its very friendly
noise sometimes when they said something to welcome people can be a bit loud.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great place to have a nice and fun family lunch. My wife, two daughters, son in law and I, truly enjoyed the experience (and the drinks!) while grilling our food. Not a place I'd recommend with small children, since it is quite the long process to get all things grilled (my impression by looking at a couple in a neighboring table). In all, if you have a couple of hours to have a good conversation while enjoying the process, don't miss out on this uniquely delicious experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

its not Japanese bbq

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I ordered the meat lover combo ,Food not as good as expected , some meat is cheap meat especially those heavy marinate beef , taste like pork liver, and that spicy pork taste so heavy, The food is like a Korean grill ,but Korean one better, nothing close to Gyu Kaku and other Japanese grill in Asia I have no idea how can some rated this the best restaurant in Vancouver , second best is Mcd's?

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We've been here many times and have never been disappointed. The food and service are consistently good. How busy this place is, is a testament to how good everything is. Will always be a favourite place for BBQ. Good value after 9PM ("Happy Hour")!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 4, 2017

This restaurant is always good and never make me down

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great service and food quality. The happy hours are extremely good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 31, 2017

consistently good

Tags: Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 27, 2017

My boyfriend and I were recommended to try Gyu Kaku since we've been meaning to try a bbq experience and we were very happy with our experience here! My boyfriend and I enjoyed the privacy of cooking the food ourselves and tasting the different meats while still feeling like the staff was approachable if we needed help with questions or cooking the meat. We highly recommend this fun and intimate experience. We will be back soon for a special occasion or for a fun time.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The cocktail was awesome. I ordered Tokyo Sunrise and my mother ordered Samurai. Taro beef was my favourite, but other meat choices were also great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Definitely a dining experience! Great for small groups. Come hungry!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 22, 2017

I made a note that it was my birthday dinner and they gave me a free ice cream!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Been to many Gyu Kaku's, Honolulu, San Diego, Kapolei. This was by far the worst experience and quality of food. Wouldn't recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Server was attentive and food came at a good pace. One of my go to place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 15, 2017

great service and good food

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Always a great experience. Food is great, and the atmosphere is fun. Really great deals on happy hour and super happy hour.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Disabled Access, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Tapas, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The server was really friendly! Price of food was reasonable and everyone was always smiling

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 8, 2017

It is not bad

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

It was my mom's birthday, and I was worried that it would be very noisy just like other barbecue places.
However, we had a great experience, The new location suited our needs much better than the old one. Great job! And our server mizuki was the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Pleasurable experience overall. Brought my girlfriend there for a dinner after work, and the food was fantastic, price is a bit high but well worth it. Server attitudes and instructions were helpful and appreciable.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Consistently good food, but more importantly, consistently good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.