About Gyu-Kaku - Broadway - Vancouver

201-950 West Broadway
Vancouver, BC V5Z 1K7
View Larger Map

Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ in Vancouver, BC is the ideal spot for an amazing experience in British Columbia! Traditionally called Yakiniku, this Japanese barbecue spot is known for their delicious, fresh (never frozen), high-quality meats! Enjoy an ice cold beer as you grill your own meat. Happy Hours offer the best deals on food and drinks, so be sure to wind down and get the night started right with us.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Barbecue, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Everyday: 11:30AM–4PM

Dinner
Mon–Thu: 4PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 4PM–11:30PM last call
Sun: 4PM–10PM last call

Happy Hour
Monday: All Day

Early Hours
Everyday 11:30AM–6PM

​Late Hours
Mon–Thu: 9PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 9:30PM–11:30PM last call
Sun: 9PM–10PM last call

Cross Street:
Oak St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 558-3898

Website:
http://www.gyu-kaku.com/cn/broadway.htm

Executive Chef:
You!

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Gyu-Kaku - Broadway - Vancouver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Happy Hour (24)
Good for Groups (21)
Good for Birthdays (17)
See All
Family Style (16)
Good for a Date (14)
Fun (14)
Casual (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Tapas (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Cozy (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Seasonal (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Romantic (2)
People Watching (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Scenic View (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
179 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined a day ago

The staff are always welcoming and friendly. The food is amazing. Just the right amount of portions. You can tell the quality of the cuts are high grade. I will be coming back again.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

Great Japanese BBQ, good side dishes too. Fun to cook your own food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Love the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was delicious!!! Great service from the door to the end of the meal!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Quick Bite, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Went for late night happy hour which starts at 9 pm. Great service and the bbq meats were fresh and tender. We all had a very good time and the happy hour Sapporo's helped. Always impressed that they can keep the quality at locations around the world.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

the meats are really good. Love the taiyaki with ice cream

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was good like usual, but the service was poor. The server changed during our meal, so we saw her rarely. Took some time to wait for her to come by and flag her for more tea or something else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Service was awful, waiter not attentive at all, waiter not patient! Will not come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 25, 2017

They were able to accommodate last minute changes to reservation, I arrived earlier than my reservation but was able to be seated immediately. Food tasted great without the long wait, overall great experience would return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Meat was still frozen when served. Staff was usually not in sight and service was extremely slow.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Oishii! So happy to come here! The service was great. The food came out fast. My friends and I throughly enjoyed the meal :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Awesome service! Love the food! Friendly environment and neat!

Tags: Private Room, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very good. Have been there many times in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I made a reservation a week before Christmas eve and we were lucky to get one. I called that day because we were running late. They were very nice and helpful. This place was good for family or friends to get together. It was wonderful experience and we'll be back.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We arrived a bit early for our reservation but did wait a little bit for a table. The server was really friendly and told us how long to grill each item. The value was worth it during lunch time/happy hour. We got the maple syrup icecream too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Food always good. Strict 2hr limit enforced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The service here is amazing. Food is great though portions are small. We ordered a rice dish to fill up our stomach and that's tasty too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Such a great time. Delicious food and fantastic service. We are going back ASAP.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Our server is friendly and efficient but she messed up our bill. Don't know if she did that on purpose because she gets extra money for charging more than what she actually sold? The food is always good there as I have been there many times before. On this occasion, we ordered the Kabuki set course for 3 people, one mega size beer and 2 regular pint size beer. The bill that I got looked way over charged and then I realized what she has done. She charged the Kabuki set course as priced on the menu and then she charged me again for every item on the Kabuki set course individually. I told our server of this mistake and she quickly corrected it. I tipped her 15% on the total of the bill and left. Thru this confusion, I didn't realized later when I got home that she also made another mistake by charging us 3 mega beer instead of 1 mega size beer and 2 regular pint size beer. I will now make sure I check my bill carefully each time before I pay.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Love cooking the fresh food ourselves; servers were attentive and changed the grills when needed; meat dishes were well marinated and tasty. Be prepared to get a little smokey on the hair and clothes. Probably not for toddlers/really young kids who do not yet understand not to touch the hot plate of BBQ but have arms long enough to reach it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I really recommend the BBQ restaurant for friends' get-together. The restaurant is in the second floor, and the parking lot which is under the restaurant is rather convenient. I strongly suggest everyone make a reservation a few days in advance cuz the restaurant is so popular! We only have two hours to have dinner here cuz still lots of people in the waiting list after 2 hours. The service of the waitress was really appreciated. In one word, the atmosphere, the food, the service all are satisfactory.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

quite nice place. The meat is very fresh and delicious. Highly recommeded.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We got a meal set for 3 and it easily fed 4 of us! Great value (especially during happy hour), will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Our server , AI , was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great fun for a group of friends or a date with a great menu selection of BBQ items

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food! And lots of it, my partner and I were very impressed with the quality of the meats and also meats and the meats also, the meats. The ice cream was good too, but boy howdy! The MEATS. The service was also stellar. Our waitresses were on it! Super impressed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great experience! Delicious food . Was a bit loud, but to be expected. Will be going back again soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Better to go there for lunch during Weekdays (except holiday)

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Harami is a have to!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Nice food,great atmosphere.

Will definitely go back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The Super Happy Hour (2pm-5pm) is excellent value! Some items are close to half off. If you arrive around 4pm, you can still get the Happy Hour prices after the Super Happy Hour period is over. It makes a great early dinner!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I feel like the quality of the food has deteriorated a bit this last visit. The chicken karaage which we really enjoyed in the past this time is quite tasteless. Not sure whether they have not seasoned as well before deep frying or whether it is the chicken itself. Also the beef bibimbap came with very little beef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Always excited to come here, not for the service but for the good food. Although on this visit, our server was great. (Her name is Maria. :) ) Food was yummy as per usual. I love how there are toothpicks and mouthwash in the washroom as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Consistently good, solid service & food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Always a great time going here. Been eating here for a while now and it's never disappointed. Coming back to eat soon!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Family Style, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 19, 2016

I ordered the Sukiyaki beef rice bowl. I find it too sweet and too much butter.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

If I want to find a BBQ place to eat, I would always go to this location. Prices are always acceptable. Happy hours are at a convient timing that me and my friends can go to. Employees are always on point and very friendly. They will also teach you how to BBQ with different techniques! Recommend this place for sure!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fun, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Kinda disappointed when there is no alternative options for birthday specials (ice cream only) as we order combos which already includes ice cream. Otjer than that, every thing is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Price went up from before. Server was new, didn't know a lot of things. She put in the effort to give good serice. Service here is quite consistent.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 9, 2016

I came back here during lunch super happy hour after my first time visit (was a dinner)again but this time during happy hours..food tasted waaay better especially the Toro Beef! Also the servers were exceptional at this visit! Our server Kevin was very polite and offered great customer service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Their meat quality is pretty good. The atmosphere is very lively. They greet you when you enter and leave the restaurant. Ideal for groups and families.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 4, 2016

A reliably enjoyable and delicious experience. Good value; we actually had to take some home.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Worst service we've ever encountered in our lives. Dipping sauces were almost empty when we sat down, then not refilled once they quickly ran out. Had to constantly ask bussers to get drink refills because our server was nowhere to be found. Turns out the server decided to go on a break during the dinner rush! Not the best idea when you are cooking tiny plates of food that take 2-3 minutes to cook and eat. Finally, to top it all off, the server informs us that we have to leave because there is a reservation for our table! She has the gall to do this as we're cooking our food! Maybe if we had any semblance of decent service we wouldn't have been there as long. Oh and by the way, I booked a reservation too, and since we're still trying to enjoy our meal we sure as ** ain't leaving. She should be honoured that I gave her a $1.00 tip on our $137 meal. Obviously we are never going back there and we will tell everyone we know to avoid this location at all costs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Enjoy it very much!

Birthday goodies is just ice cream. But a lot of meal combo already includes ice cream. Other than that, everything is just great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything is great there! one thing that I could do without is the yelling every time someone is seated.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food and good service. They have weekday happy hour specials which areare really good value too. Awesome dining experience particularly if you like griled meats.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Their service is awesome! I booked a dinner for 2 to celebrate my wife's birthday. I initially asked them to write a card for my wife but they did more than that. They prepared delicious ice cream and almost half of the employees came to our table and sang happy birthday song to us. We we're IMPRESSED. I would recommend everyone go there and enjoy the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had set menu so we get to try a little of everything. Good food. Quite full. Point system is an extra bonus if you plan eat here often. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 25, 2016

They were very helpful by accommodating my last minute request to add one more person to my reservation on a very busy Sunday evening. Our server was very polite and efficient, and patient! I wish they had more locations across the lower mainland and open later for those who are looking for a late meal after 9pm. Love the food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 25, 2016

A friend who was in Vancouver last May revommended we go to this restaurant and was sure we would enjoy it. She was right!

We loves the BBQ concept and our 10 year old son enjoyed cooking his own food. He worked hard with the chopsticks and would not ask for a fork!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.