Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Gyu-Kaku - Broadway - Vancouver

Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ in Vancouver, BC is the ideal spot for an amazing experience in British Columbia! Traditionally called Yakiniku, this Japanese barbecue spot is known for their delicious, fresh (never frozen), high-quality meats! Enjoy an ice cold beer as you grill your own meat. Happy Hours offer the best deals on food and drinks, so be sure to wind down and get the night started right with us.

201-950 West Broadway
Vancouver, BC V5Z 1K7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Barbecue, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Everyday: 11:30AM–4PM

Dinner
Mon–Thu: 4PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 4PM–11:30PM last call
Sun: 4PM–10PM last call

Happy Hour
Monday: All Day

Early Hours
Everyday 11:30AM–6PM

​Late Hours
Mon–Thu: 9PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 9:30PM–11:30PM last call
Sun: 9PM–10PM last call

Cross Street:
Oak St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 558-3898

Website:
http://www.gyu-kaku.com/cn/broadway.htm

Executive Chef:
You!

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

We're OPEN on Christmas Eve! Come join us for delicious food and a great experience with your Friends & Family!

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Monday, December 25, 2017

Details

We're OPEN on Christmas Day! Come join us with your friends and family and dine by the grill! Make your reservation today!

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

We're OPEN on New Year's Eve! Get ready to celebrate the New Year with delicious food and a great experience with your Friends & Family!

Gyu-Kaku - Broadway - Vancouver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (15)
Fun (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
See All
Happy Hour (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Good for a Date (8)
Authentic (7)
Cozy (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Business Meals (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Romantic (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Healthy (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort by
S
253 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Fabulous food, and a blast for the kids. Affordable, get there before 6pm for Happy Hour pricing on some of their menu items

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Nice place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

Had so much fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 22, 2017

A good place for gathering and good bbq food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 13, 2017

Just disappointed that when I called Gyu-Kaku the Friday, November 10th before the Monday, November 13th reservations, I specifically asked someone on the phone if it was 'Super' Happy Hour on Monday, November 13th and she said 'YES!' Then we arrived that Monday at 2:00 pm, we were told it was not super happy hour, just happy hour! If we only knew, we wouldn't have waited until 2 pm and we could of went earlier for lunch, as we were with our two hungry kids.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Great Place. Love the food and atmosphere . Great communication skills in terms of food service.
:) :)

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 24, 2017

A nice revisit. Great food and decent price. The two-hour-dining-window policy is rather annoying since we had two pitchers of beers. You can’t finish them and the meal in two hours. The waitress was nice, however, to let us move to a next-to but smaller table to finish beers and offered Edamames. Acceptable overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2017

This location and atmosphere is lot better than the one in downtown. Server Lee is very nice and friendly, compare to the servers in downtown, is totally two different stories.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2017

there was a space to put special request so I put it was my son's birthday but they didn't do anything so i guess it didn't matter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Excellent food and service. The Kobe beef was very tasty. I will definitely go back again and again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 12, 2017

The place is OK. As a keen Japanese foody, I found the food to be OK, but nothing exceptional. The atmosphere was OK, too. The downtown Gyu-kaku has a much better atmosphere than this or the Richmond location.

I also like the Japanese staff downtown, that tends to bring more authenticity to the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Seated quickly, service was excellent (as usual), and once food starts being served, it all comes together so be prepared for a full table when you order a combo or many separate plates. Happy hour is always a good deal but it really depends what you want to eat. Many options for the styles of beef, pork, chicken and even vegetables. The sukiyaki bibimbap is always good too, but never ever touch the stone pit it is or the area under it or you will be burned...

All in all, an excellent experience with great meat, vegetables, rice and the best matcha, black sesame and vanilla ice cream.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 5, 2017

This is the second time I've had lunch at this restaurant and I was not disappointed. The server was very pleasant and helpful. We didn't walk away hungry.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

When we arrived, we were told a table is being cleaned. 10 mins later we were still waiting at the door while another party with the same number of people went in and sat at another table which was also available when we were there. Towards the end of the table, the server came and asked what dessert we wanted, we told her, and she brought them over. The problem was, our dinner wasn't even done yet, food still needed to be cooked. We were well within the 2 hrs limit. Not sure what the rush was...

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Food was well prepared (though over-seasoned) and came in an orderly fashion. In the open environment setting, servers attended to our needs at an acceptable pace. The price point was reasonable but not worth the value. The cleanliness of the restaurant was mediocre. The server who gave us the receipt (which included a unique one-time code for point accumulation), took the receipt away without asking whether we collected points. We don't know who ended up with the points but it's definitely not in the accounts of their customers!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Very average at best. We didn't have the BBQ which is what they are probably known for... bit expensive for lunch... Ordered a shrimp garlic noodle and portion was rather small for $9 and only had 3 shrimp... tasted more soy than garlic. Was just very average. This location also has pay parking underground but they do not reimburse for parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Loved it! Went here twice, first with my family, and second time with my boyfriend. Will definitely bring my friends here

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Spicy, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

It doesn't seem necessary for all the wait staff to yell out greetings to welcome new diners. It's too loud and annoying when you're trying to have a conversation with your tablemates. I don't think a true Japanese restaurant yells greetings that loudly. Because of that I would find it difficult to recommend the restaurant to anyone.

Other than the noise I enjoyed the food (even if I had to cook it myself). I do like my food hot so having to cook it was ideal cause you can chat between bites and still enjoy a hot meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

We went during all day happy hour, which is every Monday. The meat is very good and it's a fun place to go because you get to grill it yourself. I recommend the sakuratini, a cocktail inspired by Japanese cherry blossoms.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food is oily and overpriced, even during happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Good staff and friendly service. The food was good as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We came here for my birthday and everything was amazing as usual! Especially the Monday all day happy hour!! Will definitely be back in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Fantastic spot to take friends. We pop in here for supper once every few weeks for the late night happy hour and the place is always packed so the Opentable reservation is a must! Its may not be the finest dining but the selection of meats to grill is great, prices are good and service is really attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

IT WAS F*CKING AMAZING. I WENT WITH MY GIRLFRIEND AND OUR TABLE HANDLER WAS SO NICE. WE WERE THE YOUNG COUPLE AND WE'RE DEFINITELY COMING BACK!!

(I am well aware I am in caps, and this was the only way to express my excitement and joy for this place, other than using exclamation marks repetitively.)

Tags: Fun, Casual, Healthy, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Server was nice and food was great! The rice was a bit oily though, but everything has was right!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Very good price right now. Always my favorite place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

I came here for my birthday and it was SO GOOD! I didn't expect it to be so delicious. Amazing value too. Come here!! You won't regret it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 25, 2017

This is the first time I have attended this restaurant and I am impressed. The portions were generous and the service was very good.
I have recommend this restaurant to friends and family.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 25, 2017

This place was great!
A little spendy, but they have happy hour and super happy hour sometime every day!
The meat is primarily all marinated, so the meat is a bit sweeter and flavorful.
They had a great selection and for two people who eat a lot, we spent about 75$ on food, drinks, and dessert. Not bad at all!!!

Fun atmosphere and great service. It does get busy though, so I would suggest a reservation.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Great choice of BBQ meat in menu and even happy hour specials. Service was good and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

We went to gyukaku with a group of 8 people on a Saturday night. Free Parking in the area wasn't so great but glad they had paid parking by the actual restaurant. As we got in we got good service, restaurant was bustling with life with all the servers greeting welcome.(as per japanese tradition)

Food was great and portions were decent. We even had a vegan come with us to try some of their salads and vegetables and they liked it. Decent variety of liquor but not the best.

10/10 would come again

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The server Kevin was excellent . Food was great . The beef that day was very juicy and tasty. The environment was clean .

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food! This was my first time at this style of restaurant and my husband and I had a great time. The servers were very attentive and the food was delivered to our table very quickly. The food quality is high and the menu selection had a great variety. We definitely plan to return the next time we are in Vancouver.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Fun, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I'm a regular customer at Gyukaku! I've spent over $1000 at this restaurant for treating friends and family to dinner here. Great atmosphere and seating for groups or just for two, especially a long night after work during happy hour time! Never had an issue with service despite how busy they get. Staff are always friendly.

I like the beef and pork dishes but my boyfriend likes their chicken. The taiyaki dessert is a great steal, considering its cheaper and bigger than taiyaki from night market!! It also comes with your choice of green tea, mango, or black sesame ice cream. I recommend green tea.

Remember to keep the receipt to redeem points from the Gyukaku app! I always use my points on $25 off.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Reliably good and increasingly popular! Lately it is hard to get in at peak times without making a reservation well in advance.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Fun, Romantic, Happy Hour, Tapas, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Think their portion got smaller, but service is excellent and food taste wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

AMAZING! A perfect authetic experience that reminds me of being right back in Japan. This is a must-have for Japanese cuisine lovers!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We had a very good experience at Gyu-Kaku! The food was awesome. Everything is fresh and tasty. They change the net frequently so that the meat won't be cooked with left over burnt sauce. We even got a birthday song offered by the staffs there! Will definitely return!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Good food good prices good atmosphwre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I think the restaurant is the good. The food is good, the waiters are friendly, and there is a really cute waitress who works there. So 5 stars it is!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.