HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 53 times today

Gyu-Kaku - Broadway - Vancouver

4.5
274 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Fun (16)
  • Happy Hour (15)
  • Casual (13)
Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ in Vancouver, BC is the ideal spot for an amazing experience in British Columbia! Conveniently located by the Broadway - City Hall!

Traditionally called Yakiniku, this Japanese barbecue spot is known for their delicious, fresh (never frozen), high-quality meats!

Enjoy an ice cold beer as you grill your own meat. Happy Hours offer the best deals on food and drinks, so be sure to wind down and get the night started right with us.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Barbecue, Tapas / Small Plates
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon: 11:30AM – 10:30PM
Tues: 11:30AM – 10:30PM
Wed: 11:30AM – 10:30PM
Thurs: 11:30AM – 10:30PM
Fri: 11:30AM – 11:30PM
Sat: 11:30AM – 11:30PM
Sun: 11:30AM – 10:00PM


HAPPY HOUR
Monday: All Day Long

EARLY HAPPY HOUR
Every Day: 11:30AM–6PM

LATE HAPPY HOUR
Mon–Thu: 9PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 9:30PM–11:30PM last call
Sun: 9PM–10PM last call
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(604) 558-3898
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
You!
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Oak St
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine
What 274 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5  based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined 4 days ago

Typical Gyu-kaku quality, but the price is reasonable during their happy hours. One of the meat came still frozen though.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on February 16, 2018

The food was amazing service was good, we are satisfied with the taste,quality and friendly experience with great price!

Report
Helpful
ArinnC (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

Really delicious beef sukiyaki and the chicken and shrimp barbecue was surprisingly good, considering the main focus of the menu is beef. Wonderful Takoyaki too. The only complaint I had was that the hostess didn't offer my daughter her birthday ice cream, which was supposed to be free on her special day! We ended up driving to Glenburn's instead, though, which was probably a good decision. :P

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

always a reliable choice. service is attentive and food is always good

Report
Helpful
Katie (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on February 8, 2018

Food was so nice n gooood~ next time I want to visit again with my friends. Making a reservation was so convenient.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined on January 30, 2018

Food is good but can’t really tell the difference between sauces, Service is good, over all above average

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

The beef wasn't as high quality as I had in the past, probably due to madness of dineout

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

Beautiful Japanese bbq - a good alternative to Shabusen. Expect to leave fully stuffed and satiated.

Report
Helpful
Fritz (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

Always a special treat when dining here. One been here for lunch several times, nut this the first time for dinner. A good variety of meats.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on January 24, 2018

Great food and service! I plan to go back again to try more of their great food!!

Report
Helpful
Yummy (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined on January 22, 2018

Fun and tasty. The broccoli and some of the meat could have been cut into smaller pieces, but everything was delicious and our servers were super sweet and helpful.

Report
Helpful
MMDP (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined on January 22, 2018

We ate here as part of Dine Out Vancouver, and were very pleased with the restaurant. Our food was delicious and plentiful, so much so that I gave my fiancé some of mine! The service was really great, very friendly and attentive. We both agreed that we would be back again!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined on January 2, 2018

Our server was very attentive and friendly. He explained every dish and how and how long to grill. It was very noisy but lively. The food was delicious more than I expected. I and my husband invited our friends for New Year get together. They love the food. We enjoyed very much. I recommend the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined on January 1, 2018

美味しかったです。満足です。

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
1.0  Dined on December 30, 2017

Firstly, need to work on your wait time, at gyu kaku on Nelson, i’ve been seated 5 minutes early or one minute after my reserved time NOT NEARLY TEN MINUTES AFTER.
Secondly, im well aware that all staff have to say welcome and thank you at the start and end of the meal, which was not done and is very poor on reflective true Japanese culture.
Thirdly, My table and I had to constantly ask for our food because the server forgot to write it down and bring it. When it was finally brought it was lukewarm and not hot.
Overall, Gyu Kaku on Nelson set the bar quite high on my standards for any Gyu Kaku location and clearly Gyu Kaku Broadway fell so far under the bar to the point where I will never come back. Gyu Kaku on Nelson is nicer, more orderly, has more respectful and competent staff, and a better authentic japanese environment. I won’t be recommended this specific Gyu Kaku based on all those reasons.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
1.0  Dined on December 29, 2017

Host wasn’t providing professional customer service

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on December 28, 2017

The quality of meat is good. The combo-style menu is good for friends getting together. Recommend for parties of three or more.

Report
Helpful
NiceLady (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on December 23, 2017

Birthday dinner for my husband.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on December 21, 2017

Very delicious

Report
Helpful
vipgmtk (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined on December 14, 2017

It’s a fun experience. Tasty food. Just don’t go in expecting too much.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14