About Gyu-Kaku - Broadway - Vancouver

201-950 West Broadway
Vancouver, BC V5Z 1K7
View Larger Map

Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ in Vancouver, BC is the ideal spot for an amazing experience in British Columbia! Traditionally called Yakiniku, this Japanese barbecue spot is known for their delicious, fresh (never frozen), high-quality meats! Enjoy an ice cold beer as you grill your own meat. Happy Hours offer the best deals on food and drinks, so be sure to wind down and get the night started right with us.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Barbecue, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Everyday: 11:30AM–4PM

Dinner
Mon–Thu: 4PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 4PM–11:30PM last call
Sun: 4PM–10PM last call

Happy Hour
Monday: All Day

Early Hours
Everyday 11:30AM–6PM

​Late Hours
Mon–Thu: 9PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 9:30PM–11:30PM last call
Sun: 9PM–10PM last call

Cross Street:
Oak St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 558-3898

Website:
http://www.gyu-kaku.com/cn/broadway.htm

Executive Chef:
You!

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Gyu-Kaku - Broadway - Vancouver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Vancouver / British Columbia
Japanese
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Fairview ›

Happy Hour (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Fun (17)
See All
Casual (16)
Great for Lunch (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Family Style (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Tapas (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Authentic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Cozy (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great Beer (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Spicy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Business Meals (2)
Romantic (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
S
156 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love cooking the fresh food ourselves; s ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

Love cooking the fresh food ourselves; servers were attentive and changed the grills when needed; meat dishes were well marinated and tasty. Be prepared to get a little smokey on the hair and clothes. Probably not for toddlers/really young kids who do not yet understand not to touch the hot plate of BBQ but have arms long enough to reach it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I really recommend the BBQ restaurant f ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I really recommend the BBQ restaurant for friends' get-together. The restaurant is in the second floor, and the parking lot which is under the restaurant is rather convenient. I strongly suggest everyone make a reservation a few days in advance cuz the restaurant is so popular! We only have two hours to have dinner here cuz still lots of people in the waiting list after 2 hours. The service of the waitress was really appreciated. In one word, the atmosphere, the food, the service all are satisfactory.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

quite nice place. The meat is very fresh ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

quite nice place. The meat is very fresh and delicious. Highly recommeded.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We got a meal set for 3 and it easily fe ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We got a meal set for 3 and it easily fed 4 of us! Great value (especially during happy hour), will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server , AI , was awesome

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Our server , AI , was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fun for a group of friends or a da ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great fun for a group of friends or a date with a great menu selection of BBQ items

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! And lots of it, my partner a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food! And lots of it, my partner and I were very impressed with the quality of the meats and also meats and the meats also, the meats. The ice cream was good too, but boy howdy! The MEATS. The service was also stellar. Our waitresses were on it! Super impressed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great experience! Delicious food . Was a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great experience! Delicious food . Was a bit loud, but to be expected. Will be going back again soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Better to go there for lunch during Week ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Better to go there for lunch during Weekdays (except holiday)

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Harami is a have to!!

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Harami is a have to!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice food,great atmosphere. Will definit ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Nice food,great atmosphere.

Will definitely go back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Super Happy Hour (2pm-5pm) is excell ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The Super Happy Hour (2pm-5pm) is excellent value! Some items are close to half off. If you arrive around 4pm, you can still get the Happy Hour prices after the Super Happy Hour period is over. It makes a great early dinner!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I feel like the quality of the food has ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I feel like the quality of the food has deteriorated a bit this last visit. The chicken karaage which we really enjoyed in the past this time is quite tasteless. Not sure whether they have not seasoned as well before deep frying or whether it is the chicken itself. Also the beef bibimbap came with very little beef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Always excited to come here, not for the ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Always excited to come here, not for the service but for the good food. Although on this visit, our server was great. (Her name is Maria. :) ) Food was yummy as per usual. I love how there are toothpicks and mouthwash in the washroom as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Consistently good, solid service & food.

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Consistently good, solid service & food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great time going here. Been eat ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Always a great time going here. Been eating here for a while now and it's never disappointed. Coming back to eat soon!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Family Style, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the Sukiyaki beef rice bowl. I ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 19, 2016

I ordered the Sukiyaki beef rice bowl. I find it too sweet and too much butter.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

If I want to find a BBQ place to eat, I ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

If I want to find a BBQ place to eat, I would always go to this location. Prices are always acceptable. Happy hours are at a convient timing that me and my friends can go to. Employees are always on point and very friendly. They will also teach you how to BBQ with different techniques! Recommend this place for sure!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fun, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kinda disappointed when there is no alte ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Kinda disappointed when there is no alternative options for birthday specials (ice cream only) as we order combos which already includes ice cream. Otjer than that, every thing is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Price went up from before. Server was ne ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Price went up from before. Server was new, didn't know a lot of things. She put in the effort to give good serice. Service here is quite consistent.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I came back here during lunch super happ ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 9, 2016

I came back here during lunch super happy hour after my first time visit (was a dinner)again but this time during happy hours..food tasted waaay better especially the Toro Beef! Also the servers were exceptional at this visit! Our server Kevin was very polite and offered great customer service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Their meat quality is pretty good. The ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Their meat quality is pretty good. The atmosphere is very lively. They greet you when you enter and leave the restaurant. Ideal for groups and families.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A reliably enjoyable and delicious exper ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 4, 2016

A reliably enjoyable and delicious experience. Good value; we actually had to take some home.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worst service we've ever encountered in ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Worst service we've ever encountered in our lives. Dipping sauces were almost empty when we sat down, then not refilled once they quickly ran out. Had to constantly ask bussers to get drink refills because our server was nowhere to be found. Turns out the server decided to go on a break during the dinner rush! Not the best idea when you are cooking tiny plates of food that take 2-3 minutes to cook and eat. Finally, to top it all off, the server informs us that we have to leave because there is a reservation for our table! She has the gall to do this as we're cooking our food! Maybe if we had any semblance of decent service we wouldn't have been there as long. Oh and by the way, I booked a reservation too, and since we're still trying to enjoy our meal we sure as ** ain't leaving. She should be honoured that I gave her a $1.00 tip on our $137 meal. Obviously we are never going back there and we will tell everyone we know to avoid this location at all costs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Enjoy it very much! Birthday goodies is ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Enjoy it very much!

Birthday goodies is just ice cream. But a lot of meal combo already includes ice cream. Other than that, everything is just great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything is great there! one thing tha ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything is great there! one thing that I could do without is the yelling every time someone is seated.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and good service. They have ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food and good service. They have weekday happy hour specials which areare really good value too. Awesome dining experience particularly if you like griled meats.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Their service is awesome! I booked a din ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Their service is awesome! I booked a dinner for 2 to celebrate my wife's birthday. I initially asked them to write a card for my wife but they did more than that. They prepared delicious ice cream and almost half of the employees came to our table and sang happy birthday song to us. We we're IMPRESSED. I would recommend everyone go there and enjoy the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had set menu so we get to try a littl ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had set menu so we get to try a little of everything. Good food. Quite full. Point system is an extra bonus if you plan eat here often. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They were very helpful by accommodating ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 25, 2016

They were very helpful by accommodating my last minute request to add one more person to my reservation on a very busy Sunday evening. Our server was very polite and efficient, and patient! I wish they had more locations across the lower mainland and open later for those who are looking for a late meal after 9pm. Love the food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A friend who was in Vancouver last May r ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 25, 2016

A friend who was in Vancouver last May revommended we go to this restaurant and was sure we would enjoy it. She was right!

We loves the BBQ concept and our 10 year old son enjoyed cooking his own food. He worked hard with the chopsticks and would not ask for a fork!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The server (Emily )was very attentive. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 17, 2016

The server (Emily )was very attentive. The place is clean. The booking was made easy by Chloe and Tiffany. The price is very affordable and the food is very tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's different than most restaurant I've ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 11, 2016

It's different than most restaurant I've been to with good friendly atmosphere and special food.

I'll go back again but because it's mostly meet and grilled food, cannot have it too often. Just

for special occasions. Very good over all.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We ordered the $110 for 4 combo. Add 20% ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 3, 2016

We ordered the $110 for 4 combo. Add 20% off. 6 kinds of meat, 1 stone bowl rice, 3 kinds of veggie, 4 bowls of white rice, 4 bowls miso soup, 1 plate of prawns and 4 bowls of ice cream. Delicious! Servers were very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing. Our server Tamako ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was amazing. Our server Tamako was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

False and confusing advertisement. I wil ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 1, 2016

False and confusing advertisement. I will go there again but truly disappointed with the unreal advertisement.

I have already sent out an email to the restaurant about the experience but no response so far.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Good food and a fun way to prepare your ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Good food and a fun way to prepare your meal. Very social and fun for families or groups of friends...not the cleanest place I've been to, the high volume they go through might be the root cause here. Otherwise a good place.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Always my favorite restaurant.

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 11, 2016

All good. Since I firstly expeirenced gyu kaku in 2013, it has been my number 1 favorite restaurant. Easy to book a table through website, servers are always kind. Just one thing that when it is really busy, it is little bit hard to call a server to change grills, order for desert, etc. But it is still an awesome place

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Perfect!

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Everything was perfect, I love your food!. I highly recomend this restaurant, very nice and friendly staff

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not cheap but worth the cost

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 29, 2016

I've been to Gyu-Kaku in Vancouver and on Broadway maybe 8-9 times. Always good food and a good time too. Several times we've taken friends there from out of town and everyone seems to enjoy themselves. The menu has a good variety and I've never had to send anything back. Cooking on the grille is good fun for the group - the only gripe is that the grilles COULD be a little larger to accommodate more food; 4 people with foil packages of veggies and a few shrimp or cuts of meat and you're out of room and stealing food from your other group members!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.