About Gyu-Kaku - Broadway - Vancouver

201-950 West Broadway
Vancouver, BC V5Z 1K7
View Larger Map

Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ in Vancouver, BC is the ideal spot for an amazing experience in British Columbia! Traditionally called Yakiniku, this Japanese barbecue spot is known for their delicious, fresh (never frozen), high-quality meats! Enjoy an ice cold beer as you grill your own meat. Happy Hours offer the best deals on food and drinks, so be sure to wind down and get the night started right with us.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Barbecue, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Everyday: 11:30AM–4PM

Dinner
Mon–Thu: 4PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 4PM–11:30PM last call
Sun: 4PM–10PM last call

Happy Hour
Monday: All Day

Early Hours
Everyday 11:30AM–6PM

​Late Hours
Mon–Thu: 9PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 9:30PM–11:30PM last call
Sun: 9PM–10PM last call

Cross Street:
Oak St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 558-3898

Website:
http://www.gyu-kaku.com/cn/broadway.htm

Executive Chef:
You!

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wine

Gyu-Kaku - Broadway - Vancouver Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Japanese
Vancouver / British Columbia
Japanese
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Fairview ›

good for groups (46)
great for lunch (28)
fit for foodies (24)
See All
special occasion (19)
late-night find (17)
neighborhood gem (10)
hot spot (9)
kid-friendly (7)
romantic (6)
great for outdoor dining (4)
scenic view (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
notable wine list (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always my favorite restaurant.

Dined on June 11, 2016

All good. Since I firstly expeirenced gyu kaku in 2013, it has been my number 1 favorite restaurant. Easy to book a table through website, servers are always kind. Just one thing that when it is really busy, it is little bit hard to call a server to change grills, order for desert, etc. But it is still an awesome place

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect!

Dined on June 10, 2016

Everything was perfect, I love your food!. I highly recomend this restaurant, very nice and friendly staff

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Not cheap but worth the cost

Dined on May 29, 2016

I've been to Gyu-Kaku in Vancouver and on Broadway maybe 8-9 times. Always good food and a good time too. Several times we've taken friends there from out of town and everyone seems to enjoy themselves. The menu has a good variety and I've never had to send anything back. Cooking on the grille is good fun for the group - the only gripe is that the grilles COULD be a little larger to accommodate more food; 4 people with foil packages of veggies and a few shrimp or cuts of meat and you're out of room and stealing food from your other group members!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service!

Dined on May 26, 2016

Great service!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was great, we had a ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The food and service was great, we had a table of 6, and we had lots to eat and choices to pick from with the happy hour menu.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent food, good ambiance and value

Dined on May 16, 2016

Went to Gyu-kaku for the first time with the wife for our night out. Made a reservation on open table and table was ready for us when we arrived despite us being 15 minutes late. The servers were very attentive and we thought the quality of the food was excellent for the price, especially their set combinations.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go-to Gyu

Dined on May 1, 2016

We strayed recently on a night when Gyu-Kaku was full, and tried yakiniku at the competition down the street. Never again! From now on yakiniku for us is Gyu-Kaku or nothing. Superior everything: service, selection, value, taste, and desserts!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious salad and good service

Dined on April 20, 2016

Delicious salad and good service

food4
ambience3
service2

The meats were all marinated deliciously ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

The meats were all marinated deliciously, and the portions were fair for the price. However, the vegetables were a little lacking in comparison, with portions being a tad smaller than expectations. Service was wonderful at the beginning, and our server was attentive and welcoming. All this changed around half an hour into our meal. She seemed very busy and we could barely get a hold of her to ask for more tea and a change of the grill. In fact, it got to a point where our grill was so charred we couldn't cook any meat until she changed it. Our server also forgot 2 of our orders and food generally took longer to come out than at the beginning. My group of 4 sat down at around 7:45 and service began to deteriorate by around 8:30. The place was at the average level of busy, with few empty tables, so we weren't sure what attributed to the sudden drop in service. Overall, the food was delicious but we were extremely thirsty and couldn't wait to leave near the end.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good food!

Dined on April 5, 2016

Originally my friend and I were looking to go to the Downtown one but it was fully booked. Instead, we decided to come here and we love this one so much more! The tables are mostly booths which gives enough separation from the other tables. The booths are spacious and comfortable. The service was a bit slow although it was a fully packed restaurant that day (it was happy hour Monday). Food was great and I would definitely come back again!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Food quality gone down - March 2016

Dined on April 1, 2016

Food was not as good this time around... been there previously and we all enjoyed our lunch specials... but this time, the food was dry, and MUCH SMALLER portions.... our large party were all disappointed in the texture and the flavours, they just were not very tasty on this visit. Will be giving them another chance, but if portion sizes keep going down, definitely not worth going back ever again.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome !!

Dined on March 29, 2016

Overall just great! They've been really nice and always on top of their groove. Foods delicious! Great service! Even teaches us how to some tricks about grilling!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

too noisy

Dined on March 28, 2016

Their food is always good but it is just TOO noisy.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent food, excellent service

Dined on March 26, 2016

We had a great experience at Gyu Kaku - the service was fantastic and the food was delicious! Definitely the best BBQ restaurant we've been to.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Their duck breast BBQ is really good

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Their duck breast BBQ is really good

food4
ambience5
service3

our server forgot out dishes -~-

Dined on March 8, 2016

our server forgot out dishes -~-

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

service need to improve

Dined on February 27, 2016

The waitress serviced our table was pretty slow. When we ask for the bill, the waitress tell us that there's still have three plates of meat not come yet. The food was good though!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

everything was a waiting game...

Dined on February 21, 2016

We waited 30min pass our actual reservation before getting seated. Food came super late. We sat and ate our salad first then waiting about 10 min before some meat came, then waited another 10 min between every dish. Wasted a lot off time waiting for food.... Very disappointed:(

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very friendly!

Dined on February 14, 2016

I have been to the Gyu Kaku down at Nelson before and had a wonderful experience, so why not try the one at Broadway? Very kindly considerate about my late notice and did not have to wait long to be seated! A nice walk from the station and easy to get to. The please is nicely lit and has a very warm and comforting feel. The service was excellent rarely had to ask the waitress/wait or for anything since they took the step in advance. The food was wonderful and well proportioned. I hope to try the desserts next time! I'm sure to be back!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Different than the traditional sit-down meal

Dined on January 30, 2016

Four of us adults went with two kids under 4. Considering there is raw meat and an open flame at the table, it is not ideal for young restless kids. But the place is load and busy enough so I didnt feel others were bothered by our kids noise. The service was great and quick and accommodating for the kids. Cooking and eating with a group of four requires some organization as your table fills up with plates, and you need to keep track of what food is on the grill, but this is part of the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

You'll get full

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

Visited during dine out and was pleasantly surprised at how much food we got. I was stuffed on the $30 dine out menu! Service was a bit awkward (especially when we were asked to leave) and timing for changing the grill.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4

Perfect sharing spot! All meats tasty a ...

Dined on January 26, 2016

Perfect sharing spot! All meats tasty and flavored before grilling! Albeit expensive but that's with everything nowadays! ~$30/pers is expected. Appies that don't require grilling are all fairly good (fried karaage,tofu). Never disappoints. They come around and change your grill periodically so next items for grilling aren't coming out burnt cuz sticking.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We had worst service ever in this restaurant

Dined on January 12, 2016

We had the worst service ever at this location that night. We could understand that it's getting busy around 630pm there. However, the waiter asked me to take plates from his tray to our table by myself when he served us food. That's such ridiculous experience that I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

poor service

Dined on January 2, 2016

It took so long to have last meat served, we were almost ready to leave. Despite of the poor service, 15 % of tip added to the bill for a group of 8 seems not very fair.

food3
ambience4
service4

a good place if you were a meat lover.

Dined on January 2, 2016

a good place if you were a meat lover.

food4
ambience4
service1

Poor overall experience. We ordered 15 d ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

Poor overall experience. We ordered 15 dishes but only 9 dishes came. Checked with the server and she said everything came as per kitchen and the computer. We surely did not receive 15 dishes in total as we know exactly what we have ordered. Quite disappointed the service. We were party of 4 but the bill comes with automatically 15% gratuity. I never went to a restaurant that charge auto 15% grats for only 4 people. Party of 6 or more than yes but not 4. I will tell my experience everyone I know.

food4
ambience4
service3

Fun to cook your own food. Small portion ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

Fun to cook your own food. Small portions on the set menus! Not enough meat unless you order more. Beer and BBQ always a good combo.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food quality and service

Dined on December 28, 2015

Food quality and service

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Ok food, not service

Dined on December 27, 2015

Food was "ok", but waiter forgot to bring 3 of our appetizers, remembering only later when we were almost done. At least they were not included on our bill! As other posts have stated, waiter presence is almost nonexistent after order is taken.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Enjoyed the miso ramen

Dined on December 22, 2015

Good place for lunch with tasty ramen and friendly service

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Good food and services. The noodle soup ...

Dined on December 15, 2015

Good food and services. The noodle soup is a bit undercooked.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4

Food, atmosphere and service was good, b ...

Dined on December 6, 2015

Food, atmosphere and service was good, but way too expensive for the amount of food we are getting for the set dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

BBQ done your way!

Dined on December 5, 2015

Always a fun place to check out with happy hour specials. Love the meat and the prepared food. Would recommend and will go again!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
food1
ambience1
service1

limit time

Dined on November 16, 2015

They didn't say there is limit time for weekday, we celebrate birthday but they keep ask me leave because there are people waiting outside. I would never come again . I understand 2 hours limit time but I double check with waitress they said we can celebrate birthday on week day but what service we got! Keep take away our dishes and switch table, and ask us pay because a lot of people are waiting!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance for my birthday!

Dined on November 12, 2015

I celebrated my 22nd birthday with my boyfriend at Gyu Kaku and it was an amazing expirience! It was my first time at a Japanese BBQ and I will definitely be back! Not only was the food amazing, but the service was great! The waiters and waitresses always checked on us throughout the evening and made sure to change our BBQ racks consistently. I very thoroughly impressed! Would recommend to everyone :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3

Nice Surprise!

Dined on November 6, 2015

Didn't realize how good it was. Hidden Gem? Maybe not since it's already so busy. Will be back soon!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Goo-goo for Gyu-Kaku!

Dined on November 2, 2015

Happy hour is great, but extended happy hour is even better! Such great deals on certain items when you can come during happy hour.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

We are looking for great food so we re ...

Dined on October 31, 2015

We are looking for great food so we regularly visit gyu-Kaku. We observe that downtown branch offers a bigger serving portion compared to the one at west Broadway. Servers are friendly.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service1

Probably a one-off experience, usually awesome

Dined on October 25, 2015

Usually gyukaku is 100%, but out server this time was very slow. He was nice, but I don't think we should have to wait 22 minutes for the first dish to arrive, 15 minutes for dessert to come after the table has been cleared, and 10 minutes to deliver our bill.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5

AWESOME TIME!

Dined on October 18, 2015

Great food and affordable food. LOVE the HAPPY HOUR! Great Service! Our first server was off earlier then the second server helped out with the same service and greet. Keep up the good work. See you soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.