Gyu-Kaku - Broadway - Vancouver

4.5
299 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Happy Hour
  • Casual
  • Fun
Gyu-Kaku Japanese BBQ in Vancouver, BC is the ideal spot for an amazing experience in British Columbia! Conveniently located by the Broadway - City Hall!

Traditionally called Yakiniku, this Japanese barbecue spot is known for their delicious, fresh (never frozen), high-quality meats!

Enjoy an ice cold beer as you grill your own meat. Happy Hours offer the best deals on food and drinks, so be sure to wind down and get the night started right with us.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Barbecue, Tapas / Small Plates
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon: 11:30AM – 10:30PM
Tues: 11:30AM – 10:30PM
Wed: 11:30AM – 10:30PM
Thurs: 11:30AM – 10:30PM
Fri: 11:30AM – 11:30PM
Sat: 11:30AM – 11:30PM
Sun: 11:30AM – 10:00PM


HAPPY HOUR
Monday: All Day Long

EARLY HAPPY HOUR
Every Day: 11:30AM–6PM

LATE HAPPY HOUR
Mon–Thu: 9PM–10:30PM last call
Fri & Sat: 9:30PM–11:30PM last call
Sun: 9PM–10PM last call
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(604) 558-3898
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
You!
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Oak St
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine
What 299 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed a Father’s Day dinner here featuring their Garlic Power Surf and Turf with Sapporo Beer. I got lots of meat and beer. What more could a dad ask for?

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 11, 2018

I've used this place for my son's b day dinner before and they served the free ice cream before. This time they didn't give anything or mentioned nothing even if I made a note when I reserved the seats. A little disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

This is quickly becoming one of my favourites spots in Vancouver. I love the food, the atmosphere, and have I mentioned the food? You get a LOT for what you pay for. 4 of us got the 2 person special and with only a couple more extras we were all full to bursting. Love the options and the meat is always tender and delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

The server seemed fairly new, but did his best to accommodate us and our requests.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Very tasty food, good ambience and service but a bit on the expensive side

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 1, 2018

A little disappointed with my dining this time, we have made a reservation from app for 3:30pm. Due to traffic problem we were 5 mins late, I thought restaurant supposed to hold my table for 15 mins but I have ended up waiting for a table to be opened for more than 20 mins, surely when we started our dining, I couldn’t even get a glass water refill, I have asked 3 waitress for refill my tea and water they all answered to me sure, but I have kept waiting and waiting finally I got a my last waitress attention, because grill also need to be changed, anyway. This is my worse dining experience in this restaurant, I couldn’t believe I am getting this kinda service. It used to be the number one restaurant I wanna to go when it comes to my dining choice. But I have to rethink it again cause the service is bad now

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Not as good as usual.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food and sauces not as good as Richmond's,
NO service at all. Receptionist better than the waitresses. All the help were just gathering at the back chatting.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We dined the day before Mother’s Day. And I was at the Richmond location one month ago and was impressed with the service and food. However we came early at 5:00 pm and comparatively the services between two locations are obvious. Meats were dropped off without telling us what they are. Every staff seemed to be in a hurry. There was no recognition from the staff for Mother’s Day when we have two mothers having dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Super good service today.
The service wasn't very good before, so I didn't dine here for a while. Today's service was exceptional even though it was a casual lunch. I will be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Other than the hostess was very pleasant

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 12, 2018

We went during super happy hour and although only a small handful of items had a super happy hour price, the rest of their menu was happy hour priced. This was great as we were able to try a lot of items for less than we expected. I would particularly recommend that carnivores take advantage of super happy hour pricing, as filet mignon is quite a bit cheaper during this time, as is most of the meat on the menu. My friend and I really enjoyed the experience as it was hands on, since you cook everything on the grill yourself. It also allowed us to eat a lot of meat at a cheaper price, as we often don't eat meat at restaurants as it's usually a lot more expensive than buying and cooking it at home. The only downside was the service was not great. Some items took far longer to come out than they should have, and it was almost impossible to flag down our server after they delivered our first batch of items for cooking. Definitely don't go expecting stellar service but the food and prices during super happy hour are worth a visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

They have a good variety of food and most of them are delicious.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Table was not clean and the sauce bottles were dirty and empty. And we got wrong food with cold face. The fried chicken was unripe. But other food was good as usual. I will go other branch rather than this if I have to eat Japanese BBQ.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

delicious food with great service. Having a reservation made life really easy - would recommend

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 31, 2018

The service was very good, the ambiance was good, but the preparation of the food at this location is so-so. I will not go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

hitting them all over the world. Vancouver fairs up!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

If you dont know how to cook the meet,they are going to tell you.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Service was very slow, no good, a lot of empty seat, still wait half hour

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Have been here a number of times now and the food has been consistently good. The servers are all very friendly and very knowledgeable with the menu. I like how the portions are small so you can try different items and the prices are very good especially during happy hour and super happy hour.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2018

• pay street parking; Gyu-Kaku is located on the 2nd floor beside Ihop
• I recommend reservations as this place is always busy & jam packed, you’ll see why
• meal sets are pretty good, its good enough for 2-3 people $50 for the good ones
• the meat marinade is just so good that it’ll make you salivate every time you think about this resto
• comes with small sides like corn & edamame unlike the typical Korean resto wherein they have Kimchi & other side dishes
• for dessert, I chose Lychee ice cream, its light & flavourful
• great service, they top up your tea without you even asking
• they also have points system, if you often, you’ll get free food according to their promo
• check out the photos

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

We went there for the happy hour. Filet mignon and Toro beef are our all-time favorites.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Great place that I often visit. Love their reward program.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Great restaurant and value

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

Typical Gyu-kaku quality, but the price is reasonable during their happy hours. One of the meat came still frozen though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

The food was amazing service was good, we are satisfied with the taste,quality and friendly experience with great price!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Really delicious beef sukiyaki and the chicken and shrimp barbecue was surprisingly good, considering the main focus of the menu is beef. Wonderful Takoyaki too. The only complaint I had was that the hostess didn't offer my daughter her birthday ice cream, which was supposed to be free on her special day! We ended up driving to Glenburn's instead, though, which was probably a good decision. :P

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

always a reliable choice. service is attentive and food is always good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

Food was so nice n gooood~ next time I want to visit again with my friends. Making a reservation was so convenient.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 30, 2018

Food is good but can’t really tell the difference between sauces, Service is good, over all above average

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 27, 2018

The beef wasn't as high quality as I had in the past, probably due to madness of dineout

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Beautiful Japanese bbq - a good alternative to Shabusen. Expect to leave fully stuffed and satiated.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Always a special treat when dining here. One been here for lunch several times, nut this the first time for dinner. A good variety of meats.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2018

Great food and service! I plan to go back again to try more of their great food!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 22, 2018

Fun and tasty. The broccoli and some of the meat could have been cut into smaller pieces, but everything was delicious and our servers were super sweet and helpful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 22, 2018

We ate here as part of Dine Out Vancouver, and were very pleased with the restaurant. Our food was delicious and plentiful, so much so that I gave my fiancé some of mine! The service was really great, very friendly and attentive. We both agreed that we would be back again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 2, 2018

Our server was very attentive and friendly. He explained every dish and how and how long to grill. It was very noisy but lively. The food was delicious more than I expected. I and my husband invited our friends for New Year get together. They love the food. We enjoyed very much. I recommend the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 1, 2018

美味しかったです。満足です。

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 30, 2017

Firstly, need to work on your wait time, at gyu kaku on Nelson, i’ve been seated 5 minutes early or one minute after my reserved time NOT NEARLY TEN MINUTES AFTER.
Secondly, im well aware that all staff have to say welcome and thank you at the start and end of the meal, which was not done and is very poor on reflective true Japanese culture.
Thirdly, My table and I had to constantly ask for our food because the server forgot to write it down and bring it. When it was finally brought it was lukewarm and not hot.
Overall, Gyu Kaku on Nelson set the bar quite high on my standards for any Gyu Kaku location and clearly Gyu Kaku Broadway fell so far under the bar to the point where I will never come back. Gyu Kaku on Nelson is nicer, more orderly, has more respectful and competent staff, and a better authentic japanese environment. I won’t be recommended this specific Gyu Kaku based on all those reasons.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 29, 2017

Host wasn’t providing professional customer service

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8

Tweets by Gyu-Kaku - Broadway - Vancouver