About GW Fins

808 Bienville St.
New Orleans, LA 70112
View Larger Map

We hope our dress policy is comfortable for all. Coats and ties are not required. Slacks, dress jeans, dress shorts are great. We ask that gentlemen wear at least a collared shirt. T-shirts, cut off shorts, and athletic wear are not permitted. We ask Gentlemen to remove their hats in the Dining room.

Experience the cuisine that has created raving fans of local diners and national and local food critics alike. Chef Tenney Flynn (New Orleans magazine's 2004 and 2011 "Chef of the Year") ensures the highest quality seafood by flying in products from around the globe and featuring only the best from local waters - both at their seasonal peak. This commitment to freshness and quality are some of the many reasons GW Fins prints its menu daily. GW Fins has received numerous glowing reviews in The Times-Picayune (4 beans), Food & Wine, Southern Living and Esquire magazines. We look forward to serving you soon so we may learn what you think.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bourbon, Dauphine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 581-3467

Website:
http://www.gwfins.com/

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available for up to 3 hours at Premium Parking, located at 911 Iberville St.

Public Transit:
Bienville & Rampart

Executive Chef:
Michael Nelson

Private Party Facilities:
GW Fins' Private Dining Room has a maximum capacity of 30 people, however, we can accommodate 210 people for a sit down dinner and up to 350 for a cocktail reception with a buyout of the restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
George Elmer: 504-581-3467x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

GW Fins
GW Fins
GW Fins
GW Fins
GW Fins
GW Fins
GW Fins
Lobster Dumplings
Blue Crab Pot Stickers
Salty Malty Ice Cream Pie
Grilled John Dory W/ Lump Crab And Crispy Cappers
Fried Lobster Poboy
Gumbo
Fin Wings
Chicken Crusted Drum
Parmesan Crusted Sheepshead
Scalibut With Lobster Green Beans And Lobster Risotto
Parmesan Crusted Flounder with Jumbo Lump crab, Meyer lemon, asparagus, crispy capers, brown butter
Sautéed American Red Snapper with shrimp etouffée, Louisiana Jasmine rice, lobster butter
Pumpkin Seed Crusted Triggerfish with butternut squash risotto, Shiitakes, crispy leeks, sage brown butter
Mashed Sweet Potatoes with Bourbon, banana, brown sugar, vanilla bean
Wood Grilled Gulf Shrimp, Smoked pepper salsa, Chipotle butter
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake Appetizer
Smoked Sizzling Oysters
Molten Chocolate Cake served with vanilla ice cream
Wood Grilled Butterfish with Pineapple Basil glaze, sweet potato hash, crispy plantains, roasted corn butter
Blackened Redfish with crispy shrimp, spinach, mashed potatoes, roasted corn butter, chili hollandaise
Lobster Poboy
Lobster With Drawn Butter
Wood-grilled Columbia River Sturgeon with mascarpone polenta and puttanesca sauce
Wood Grilled Grouper with sweet corn spoonbread, crawfish tails, thin beans, maque choux
Sea Scallops With Mushroom Risotto
BBQ Shrimp
Crispy Soft Shell Crab
Black Bottom Pie
White Chocolate Caramel Bread Pudding
Seafood
#1 Yellowfin Tuna Tartare with avocado, mango, radish, wasabi
Fried Lobster Tails
Honey Lavender Panna Cotta
Sautéed Jolt Snapper with Brie and white truffle macaroni, Maine lobster, Sugar Snap peas, lobster butter
Oysters
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)
Fried Calamari
strawberry shortcake
Jolt Snapper With Corn Cake And Crawfish
Wood Grilled Pompano
Apple Pie
White Chocolate Bread Pudding
Crab Potstickers
Parmesan Crusted Flounder with Jumbo Lump crab, asparagus, crispy capers, brown butter
Yellowfin Tuna Tartare
lobster pot
Grilled Shrimps
Chargrilled Oysters
Grouper With Mashed Potatoes, Corn And Fried Plantains
Baked Salmon With Mashed Potatoes And Corn
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake
Hot Chocolate Cake
Wild Mushroom Ravioli
Compressed Watermelon Salad
Sauteed Black Grouper with tomato and lobster risotto
Butterfish with sweet potato hash
Parmesan Crusted Drum
Molten Chocolate Cake
Tripletail
Pork Belly
Lemonfish
Apple pie with cheddar cheese top crust, served with vanilla ice cream
Sauteed Tripletail
Triple Iceberg Wedgie
Lobster Rolls
Crispy Lobster Tail W/ Remoulade And Drawn Butter
Biscuit
Sauvignon Blanc
Lobster & Ravioli
Barbeque Shrimp with Louisiana long grain rice, ciabatta crouton
Blackened Redfish
Short Smoked Scottish Salmon with mashed potatoes, thin bean succotash, roasted corn butter
Sauteed American Red Snapper with shrimp etouffee & mashed potatoes
Baby Arugula Salad with bruleed figs
Wood-grilled pompano with three-melon salsa
Baked Lobster stuffed with deviled crab
Sauteed John Dory with sticky rice, bok choy, beech mushrooms, lemongrass beurre blanc
Grouper
Wood Grilled New Bedford Sea Scallops
Scallibut
Escolar Crudo
Drum Fish
Sauvignon Blanc By Supernatural
Scalibut
Lobster Bisque
Blackened Swordfish
Pecan Pie
Domaine Chandon
Biscuits
Pimm's Cup
Spinach Salad
Grilled Oysters
Grilled Gulf Shrimp

GW Fins Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Food
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Service
New Orleans / Louisiana
10 More
Best Value
New Orleans / Louisiana
Fit for Foodies
New Orleans / Louisiana
Seafood
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Overall
New Orleans
Best Food
New Orleans
Best Service
New Orleans
Best Value
New Orleans
Fit for Foodies
New Orleans
Most Booked
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

fit for foodies (581)
special occasion (581)
romantic (390)
See All
notable wine list (301)
good for groups (254)
neighborhood gem (201)
hot spot (196)
vibrant bar scene (95)
great for lunch (40)
late-night find (39)
great for brunch (18)
kid-friendly (15)
scenic view (13)
great for outdoor dining (6)
Sort By:
Newest
5840 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

The food was EXCELLENT. The menu offered ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food was EXCELLENT. The menu offered many choices. It was hard to decide. Everything sounded so good. We had a 7PM reservation & the dining room was not full but they still made us wait 15 minutes before seating us. Something I did not understand. Our waiter answered all our questions about the menu but you could tell he was put out about having to answer questions. Service was extremely slow. That being said, the food was so good that we will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Had a lovely anniversary dinner here. Bu ...

Dined 4 days ago

Had a lovely anniversary dinner here. Busy place so a little noisier than I'd like for a romantic dinner but the food was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. I had the red sn ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent. I had the red snapper and my wife had the halibut. Both were great. They also brought biscuits around before meal and when the dish was empty a gentleman carrying a hot tray would replace with another. They were also wonderful. Staff very attentive but not overbearing. We will definitely go back!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Went with a dear friend to celebrate my ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Went with a dear friend to celebrate my last night in town, we went late and were the last two there. Food was awesome as always (my third time ther) We never felt rushed and we left happy and full of delicious food!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent local food. Wondefully seasone ...

Dined 5 days ago

Excellent local food. Wondefully seasoned. Very personable.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Unfortunate. I had brought a couple o ...

Dined 5 days ago

Unfortunate. I had brought a couple of colleagues after being there and loving my meal the last time I was in town. We were seated at a table to large to make conversation for a party of 3 easy. Additionally, our service was very poor for the type of establishment. Our waiter failed to bring our appetizers, suddenly our entrees were arriving. He also poorly compensated for the error, saying he didn't realize we wanted them rather than offering to bring them. He then never asked for another drink order, which we also would have appreciated. The only beverages came from the cocktails we brought with us from the bar while we waited for our table. He offered to comp dessert- no thanks.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a great experience as first time ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

We had a great experience as first time guests! Jason and Omar were prefect waiters! Would highly recommend GWFins!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had yellowfin tuna and chicken skin wrap ...

Dined 6 days ago

Had yellowfin tuna and chicken skin wrapped snapper. Both very good. Salty malty dessert could be better. Smaller , thinner ice cream layer with little more crust might work. Or maybe multi layers. I'm really picky about desserts. Great service. Tasty cocktails. I ate at the bar and had a very pleasant experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very delicious food, intimate atmosphere ...

Dined 6 days ago

Very delicious food, intimate atmosphere, great service. Make sure you have a reservation, because it is very popular, and very close to bourbon street.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great French Quarter dining. Really enj ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great French Quarter dining. Really enjoyed the seafood offerings and the service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was highly recommended t ...

Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant was highly recommended to me. My husband and I went to New Orleans for a baby moon and absolutely loved it! From the food to the service, everything was amazing! Not to mention that we were running extremely late for our reservation, they were kind enough to save us a table. I would definitely go again if in New Orleans.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the the BEST SEAFOOD restaurant ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

This is the the BEST SEAFOOD restaurant in NOLA. Resist those restaurants that only offer fried seafood - there is SO MUCH more than that. Chef Tenney is amazing. This is a must visit restaurant. Food is spectacular and service is phenomenal. Ask for Ashton. Out favorite seafood restaurant for years!! SO worth it.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, the food was delicious. What ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

As always, the food was delicious. What made our meal so outstanding was the impeccable service. The wait staff couldn't have been more accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The hostess's were not very pleasant. T ...

Dined 6 days ago

The hostess's were not very pleasant. There are multiple fish options and not much variety otherwise.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time in New Orleans and out celebr ...

Dined 7 days ago

First time in New Orleans and out celebrating a friends birthday. This restaurant was recommended to us and it didn't disappoint. The food, drinks and service was amazing, everything was so fresh! Would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting New Orleans, but book nice and early as it does get very busy!

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent fish options. Overall excelle ...

Dined 7 days ago

Excellent fish options. Overall excellent food and service and would return again. I thought the appetizers were small $15 for one crabcake- soups were more cup of soup than bowls- delicious but pricey. Main entrees were reasonable though.

Tags: romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Nothing short of excellence. Phenomenal ...

Dined 7 days ago

Nothing short of excellence. Phenomenal seafood restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another fantastic meal. Very consistentl ...

Dined 7 days ago

Another fantastic meal. Very consistently fabulous!!!!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal of the week. Excellent servic ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Best meal of the week. Excellent service. Great wine list. Most flavorful and tender mussels I've ever had. A light creole tomato salad for a refreshing 2nd course. Parmesan encrusted sheepshead with capers was perfectly prepared. Room has a classy, understated elegance. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

he wait staff was excellent! I truly ap ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

he wait staff was excellent! I truly appreciated the dress code requirement and traditional table service. The wine list was extensive and offered every price point possible. I felt the salmon Carpaccio lacked in flavor and could stand to have a fleur de sal garnish to bring out the flavors of the fish a bit stronger. I also thought the Salmon app was over priced for the size offering.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Food was good but portions were very lit ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Food was good but portions were very little for the money. You have to order a lot in order to get full which can be very pricey at this place. Service was excellent though.

food3
ambience4
service4

Food was great. Appetizers were as creat ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Food was great. Appetizers were as creative as I've seen and well prepared except for the crab cakes. Like so many restaurants they are way too full of breadcrumbs. In the Pacific Northwest, they would have been sent back. Way too much breading. I will however be back, just won't have crab cakes.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had lobster dumplings, mussels & Amer ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

We had lobster dumplings, mussels & American Red Snapper. The food was wonderful. I would definitely recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great seafood restaurant with ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

This is a great seafood restaurant with virtually every type of seafood and shellfish preparation imaginable. The bar was great and vibrant, the dinner service was attentive and very friendly. The cuisine was spectacular, with a wonderful wine list. The dessert selection, the after dinner wine list, cordials, and spirits were great. This restaurant has a very noisy atmosphere, so conversation in a group will be challenging.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Great food, but the entree of Scalibut w ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Great food, but the entree of Scalibut was very meager for the $37 price. The portion should have been double what it was.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most amazing dinner in New Orleans! Ever ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Most amazing dinner in New Orleans! Everything cooked to perfection!! Great attentive wait staff!! Loved it!!!

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Only negativ ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Excellent food and service. Only negative -- very noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the best restaurant that we vis ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

This was the best restaurant that we visited during our recent 5 day visit to New Orleans. We started with Lobster Dumplings for my wife and Soft Shell Crab for me - both of which were delicious. Our entrees were the house special Scalibut for me and for my wife the Lime Fish Ceviche. The halibut was moist and perfectly prepared and the caramelized scallops were fantastic - I highly recommend this house special. The wine list was extensive - and for the area reasonably priced, and the service was attentive without being rushed or overbearing. For desert we had the fresh baked apple pie a al mode and again we were very pleased. We highly recommend GW Fins - and will visit it again on our next trip to NOLA.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I LOVE LOVE this place! E ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

My husband and I LOVE LOVE this place! Excellent service, drinks, food....excellent everything!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In New Orleans for four nights; the food ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

In New Orleans for four nights; the food was so outstanding that we returned again for last night. If you are looking for a real gourmet treat, not the same old salty, drown in butter Louisiana fare, go to this restaurant. Beautiful presentation and outstanding service

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The beet salad was amazing. The servic ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

The beet salad was amazing. The service was good as was the menu. I ordered the tuna rare. It was totally overcooked and had no flavor. Basically ate the veggies and nobody even asked how my fish was. One client ordered the Scalibut. She said it was delicious but shortly after got severe food poisoning and was down for the night. Really disappointing. Wanted to make you aware of this to see if anyone else contracted food poisoning the evening of Monday June 20. The third person with me had chicken. Guess that was safe.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent Father's Day dinner! Deliciou ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent Father's Day dinner! Delicious food, great ambiance, and very good service. Table was ready upon our arrival though the restaurant was very busy. Amazing fish dishes but everyone enjoyed everything ordered. We are from NOLA and made a point to go to GW Fins after passing by a few weeks ago and wondering why it had be years since we had been back even though it was great the last time. Well, it was great this time too! Won't be nearly as long before we are back this time around.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful father's Day dinner! ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a wonderful father's Day dinner! Thanks! The service was fabulous and the food delicious. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I am a regular diner at GW Fins and have ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I am a regular diner at GW Fins and have never been diappointed. The food and service are always excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They are always looking after you! No co ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

They are always looking after you! No complaints allowed.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our all time favorite restaurants ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

One of our all time favorite restaurants when we visit new orleans. Never had a bad meal there. we go in with high expectations and are always more than pleased with the meal. Seems that the menu changes often so we've not ever ordered anyting twice, but it's all be great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They treated us very special for our 50t ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

They treated us very special for our 50th Anniversary!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating my birthday here and ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

We were celebrating my birthday here and they went out of their way to make me feel special from the confetti on the table to a personalize menu to keep. We loved the Tempura Fin Wings and the Scalibut. The service was impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service at GW Fins impeccable. All ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The service at GW Fins impeccable. All staff members were welcoming and warm. The atmosphere was vibrant, the level was still for conversation. The food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything from the service to the food ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Everything from the service to the food to the atmosphere was excellent. I'd highly recommend GW Fins to anyone wanting a high quality authentic New Orleans restaurant experience. The wine list was extensive and well organized. I started with the Creole Tomato salad, went with the Red Snapper over rice and crawfish étouffée, and ended with Fresh Apple pie (baked fresh when ordered) and was delivered to our table fresh and warm with two scoops of homemade vanilla ice cream. Nathaniel was an excellent server.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.