Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

About GW Fins

We hope our dress policy is comfortable for all. Coats and ties are not required. Slacks, dress jeans, dress shorts are great. We ask that gentlemen wear at least a collared shirt. T-shirts, cut off shorts, and athletic wear are not permitted. We ask Gentlemen to remove their hats in the Dining room.

Experience the cuisine that has created raving fans of local diners and national and local food critics alike. Chef Tenney Flynn (New Orleans magazine's 2004 and 2011 "Chef of the Year") ensures the highest quality seafood by flying in products from around the globe and featuring only the best from local waters - both at their seasonal peak. This commitment to freshness and quality are some of the many reasons GW Fins prints its menu daily. GW Fins has received numerous glowing reviews in The Times-Picayune (4 beans), Food & Wine, Southern Living and Esquire magazines. We look forward to serving you soon so we may learn what you think.

808 Bienville St.
New Orleans, LA 70112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bourbon, Dauphine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 581-3467

Website:
http://www.gwfins.com/

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available for up to 3 hours at Premium Parking, located at 911 Iberville St.

Public Transit:
Bienville & Rampart

Executive Chef:
Michael Nelson

Private Party Facilities:
GW Fins' Private Dining Room has a maximum capacity of 30 people, however, we can accommodate 210 people for a sit down dinner and up to 350 for a cocktail reception with a buyout of the restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
George Elmer: (504) 581-3467

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

GW Fins Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (346)
Good for a Date (306)
Good for Anniversaries (276)
See All
Fit for Foodies (271)
Creative Cuisine (259)
Local Ingredients (238)
Romantic (213)
Good for Birthdays (186)
Notable Wine List (169)
Business Meals (157)
Modern Decor (121)
Authentic (112)
Worth the Drive (109)
Neighborhood Gem (102)
Good for Groups (95)
Hot Spot (92)
Handcrafted Cocktails (89)
Quiet Conversation (82)
Fun (74)
Cozy (65)
Bar Seating (58)
Pre/post Theatre (58)
People Watching (45)
Healthy (39)
Vibrant Bar Scene (38)
Casual (35)
Seasonal (33)
Historic (28)
Comfort Food (24)
Outstanding Value (19)
Gluten Free Options (18)
Molecular Gastronomy (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Scenic View (13)
Paleo Friendly (11)
Family Style (10)
Private Room (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Disabled Access (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Organic (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Great Beer (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Spicy (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Vegan (3)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
7594 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

Fresh and updated New Orleans fare with beautifully prepared seafood. And the crispy pork belly. . . divine!

Tags: Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Absolutely delicious with great service. We celebrated our 30th anniversary there and couldn't have had a more wonderful evening. This restaurant is s treasure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

The soft shell crab was the best we've ever eaten, and that's high praise because we live on the Gulf Coast and often eat SSC. The yellow fin tuna was excellent, and the wine was reasonably priced.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

GWFins never disappoints! Great food, wonderful service. Don't miss the smoked oysters on the half shell. We order it everytime we dine at GWF. The crispy soft shell crab is also excellent. The red fish & the drum were delicious. Go with the local catches! Go to GWFins!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

I had a great birthday there

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely seafood selections. Scalibut is worth the hype! Also enjoyed the crab cake appetizer and the blackened swordfish. Salty malty ice cream cake dessert is to die for!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

I would put GW FIns as a must do seafood dining experience while in New Orleans. Great atmosphere combined with an extensive selection of gulf fish made for a great dinner. I can highly recommend the Sheepshead with lump crab and the Snapper with crayfish etoufee! We started with the Shrimp Remoulade....Chilled Louisiana shrimp, roasted red peppers, fried green tomato and frisée. All were amazing. Deep and varied wine list completes the package.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Over wonderful experience from drinks, food to impeccable service. Pork belly & watermelon is exceptional. Also, lobster dumplings are smooth & creamy, drum was flaky & so fresh. My husband had the snapper & it was flavorful. Will return again for excellent food & service!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Really good food. Really good service. More staff than anyplace else. Convenient location if you're staying in the French Quarter. Goo menu options. Not just spicy Creole.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined 4 days ago

Best dining experience in nola! The food was excellent and staff was fantastic. Espresso martini is da bomb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was amazing and our server Gerry was fantastic. Very Knowledgeable about the menu and extremely accommodating to my wife's shellfish allergy.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Seafood is very fresh and delicious. Our waiter Jason was helpful, accommodating despite being busy with large tables and very kind. Would return in a moment's notice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Took my twin grandchildren for thei 25th birthday celebration. Everything we ordered was delicious, the ambiance beautiful and the service perfect with friendly staff in the bar and in the restaurant. One of our favorite places to dine anytime!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The food is outstanding! The pork belly appetizer was fantastic!!! The smoked oysters were an unusual take and really good. We had salads, gumbo. I had the fish which was fabulous. Just a treat to dine here. The best meal we had in New Orleans. I would definatly come back!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent dinning experience. Highly recommend scalibet, lobster dumplings and soft shell crab.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined 5 days ago

An absolute must if you visit New Orleans. Superb service of fantastic food in a friendly and relaxed environment. For starters we had the soft shelled crab - a first for Maggie and not the last! and I thoroughly enjoyed the crispy pork belly served with 'compressed' watermelon. For entrees we both had the House Special Scalibut - halibut topped with sliced scallop, beautifully seasoned and sauced and served with mange tout - no regrets there!
All in all this turned out to be a lovely evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

This is our favorite restaurant in NOLA. The food is excellent and the staff is impeccable. We love GW Finns.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent Service. Great atmosphere. The Food was Fresh and Delicious. We will definitely come back and recommend this jem to all of our friends.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

we were warmly greeted by the host and seated promptly. the wait staff explained the menu expertly. the main course came a little to close to our appetizers. the crème brulee was to die for.overall a very nice experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome Food. Only comment is that dining area shares wall with bar/club. Can hear thumps and bass through the wall.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

My first time at this wonderful location. Why did it take so long for me to get here? The restaurant was top notch. Very lovely hosts, great bar, great dining room, spectacular food and wait staff. Excellent job.

Tags: Scenic View, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We were in town to celebrate our 28th wedding anniversary. We made a reservation for Finns requesting a quiet table by the window and let them know it was our anniversary. We got there early, had a drink, they seated us exactly at our reservation time and wished us a Happy Anniversary. On the table was a scrolled menu with the date and Happy Anniversary wishes with the date. We felt right at home with impeccable attention to detail. Our waiter, Marlon, was great, attentive and personal. We had the crab cake and baked oysters for appetizers. Superb. I had the Scallibut - hybrid scallop and halibut dish. Done to perfection and very flavorful. Service was nice and easy and we were brought a great desert on the house for our anniversary. A great place, great service and made us feel special.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We never miss dining at Fins when we are in New Orleans. It is our favorite restaurant, and In my opinion, it has the best fish in New Orleans. The dishes are exquisitely prepared and always fresh, and the service is impeccable. Marlon was our marvelous waiter this week. We could not have been more pleased. I always order the Lobster Dumplings appetizer as I have never tasted anything more heavenly, and twice I have had the Parmesan encrusted Sheepshead with lump crab and fresh asparagus. Highly recommend this restaurant. Only open after five pm. Be sure to make reservations.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Food was good. Expensive relative to the amount of food you are served however. If I order a $40 plate I expect it to be bigger than my fist.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Food and service were excellent. I will make this my go to spot during each visit back to New Orleans.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This restaurant is always perfection ! We eat in New Orleans a lot and this is our number one favorite. Always consistent in quality and service !

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

It's been three days and I am still thinking about the salmon. Amazing!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience here-the food-service-atmoshere were all wonderful-prices were reasonable for the experience-highly reccomend it and will go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Bar Seating, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Excellent seafood some of the best we have ever had, all caught locally and extremely fresh. Service was excellent. Craft drinks were made very well by the bar staff. many unique local seafood, primarily fish, dishes. My wife said the best red snapper she has had in a long time and we eat fish very frequently.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The chefs creativity is beyond imagination! Definitely the best food in New Orleans, if not the world!!!! Worth eating here every night of your stay in city.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Wonderful! Marlon was our server. He was awesome. The food was amazing. The bread pudding.... to. die. for!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Always great. One of the best specialty drink menus around! Bring back the nila wafer dessert!!

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I have dined in many fine dining restaurants including michelin starred restaurants around the world, but GW Fins has the best sizzling oyster and the best value overall. Their service was impeccable with promptness and kindness. Four of us ordered sizzling oysters and crab cake for appetizer, four fresh seafood dishes for main, and one salty malty ice cream pie for dessert. The oysters were huge and mindblowing. All the fish were fresh and melted in our mouth (bluefin tuna, scalibut, and sheepshead were the highlight of the night). We wanted to try more of their dessert which looked really good, but because their portions for entrees were generous, we all left full and happy in the end by sharing one dessert. By far the best seafood and overall experience in NOLA and the States.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Excellent restaurant, superb cuisine, wonderful service. Seated immediately as per reservation and wait staff explained menu and specials of the day. Highly recommended to anyone who relishes great food and service.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

food was subpar...ordered the bluefin tuna (best kind available that night) and halibut..eh. fish was kind of rubbery. the dumplings also weren't that great...tasted bland. wasn't super impressed but ended up with $120 bill anyway. i'm a tourist and it was an experience, whatever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 15, 2017

By far my favorite French Quarter restaurant
Food is always great, best martini in town, service always very good. You will not be disappointed

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great anniversary meal. Our waiter was very attentive and knowledgeable

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Fabulous food and service
Must have the tuna tartare and smoked sizzling oysters!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food so good my friend wanted to kiss the chef! Servers were so nice and knowledgeable and we received roses for mother's day!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Cozy, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food as always. Celebrating an early mother's day.. My wife and family had a great time as always. The biscuits are amazing. The cobia was on point .

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.