About GW Fins

808 Bienville St.
New Orleans, LA 70112
View Larger Map

We hope our dress policy is comfortable for all. Coats and ties are not required. Slacks, dress jeans, dress shorts are great. We ask that gentlemen wear at least a collared shirt. T-shirts, cut off shorts, and athletic wear are not permitted. We ask Gentlemen to remove their hats in the Dining room.

Experience the cuisine that has created raving fans of local diners and national and local food critics alike. Chef Tenney Flynn (New Orleans magazine's 2004 and 2011 "Chef of the Year") ensures the highest quality seafood by flying in products from around the globe and featuring only the best from local waters - both at their seasonal peak. This commitment to freshness and quality are some of the many reasons GW Fins prints its menu daily. GW Fins has received numerous glowing reviews in The Times-Picayune (4 beans), Food & Wine, Southern Living and Esquire magazines. We look forward to serving you soon so we may learn what you think.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bourbon, Dauphine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 581-3467

Website:
http://www.gwfins.com/

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available for up to 3 hours at Premium Parking, located at 911 Iberville St.

Public Transit:
Bienville & Rampart

Executive Chef:
Michael Nelson

Private Party Facilities:
GW Fins' Private Dining Room has a maximum capacity of 30 people, however, we can accommodate 210 people for a sit down dinner and up to 350 for a cocktail reception with a buyout of the restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
George Elmer: 504-581-3467x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Lobster Dumplings - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Blue Crab Pot Stickers - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Salty Malty Ice Cream Pie - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Grilled John Dory W/ Lump Crab And Crispy Cappers  - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Fried Lobster Poboy - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Crab Claws - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Gumbo - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Vanilla bean panna cotta - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Parmesan Crusted Sheepshead - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Chicken Crusted Drum - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Parmesan Crusted Flounder with Jumbo Lump crab, Meyer lemon, asparagus, crispy capers, brown butter    - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Sautéed American Red Snapper with shrimp etouffée, Louisiana Jasmine rice, lobster butter    - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Wood Grilled Gulf Shrimp, Smoked pepper salsa, Chipotle butter    - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake Appetizer - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Mashed Sweet Potatoes with Bourbon, banana, brown sugar, vanilla bean    - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Pumpkin Seed Crusted Triggerfish with butternut squash risotto, Shiitakes, crispy leeks, sage brown butter    - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Chicken Fried Fish - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Smoked Sizzling Oysters    - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Blackened Redfish with crispy shrimp, spinach, mashed potatoes, roasted corn butter, chili hollandaise    - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Wood Grilled Butterfish with Pineapple Basil glaze, sweet potato hash, crispy plantains, roasted corn butter    - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Molten Chocolate Cake served with vanilla ice cream    - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Lobster Poboy - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Lobster With Drawn Butter - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Wood-grilled Columbia River Sturgeon with mascarpone polenta and puttanesca sauce - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Wood Grilled Grouper with sweet corn spoonbread, crawfish tails, thin beans, maque choux    - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Sea Scallops With Mushroom Risotto - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
BBQ Shrimp - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Crispy Soft Shell Crab - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Black Bottom Pie - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
White Chocolate Caramel Bread Pudding - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Seafood - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
#1 Yellowfin Tuna Tartare with avocado, mango, radish, wasabi    - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Honey Lavender Panna Cotta  - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Fried Lobster Tails - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Sautéed Jolt Snapper with Brie and white truffle macaroni, Maine lobster, Sugar Snap peas, lobster butter    - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Oysters - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Fried Calamari - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Lobster Roll (Sandwich) - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
strawberry shortcake - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Jolt Snapper With Corn Cake And Crawfish - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Wood Grilled Pompano - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Apple Pie - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Parmesan Crusted Flounder with Jumbo Lump crab, asparagus, crispy capers, brown butter - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
lobster pot - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Crab Potstickers - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
White Chocolate Bread Pudding - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Grilled Shrimps - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Chargrilled Oysters - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Yellowfin Tuna Tartare - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Baked Salmon With Mashed Potatoes And Corn - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Grouper With Mashed Potatoes, Corn And Fried Plantains - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Wild Mushroom Ravioli - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Hot Chocolate Cake - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Sauteed Black Grouper with tomato and lobster risotto - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Compressed Watermelon Salad - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Butterfish with sweet potato hash - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Parmesan Crusted Drum    - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Molten Chocolate Cake - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Pork Belly - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Tripletail - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Scalibut With Lobster Green Beans And Lobster Risotto - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Lobster Bisque - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Lemonfish - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Apple pie with cheddar cheese top crust, served with vanilla ice cream - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Lobster Rolls - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Triple Iceberg Wedgie - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Sauteed Tripletail - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Crispy Lobster Tail W/ Remoulade And Drawn Butter - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Sauvignon Blanc - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Biscuit - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Barbeque Shrimp with Louisiana long grain rice, ciabatta crouton - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Lobster & Ravioli - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Blackened Redfish - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Baby Arugula Salad with bruleed figs - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Short Smoked Scottish Salmon with mashed potatoes, thin bean succotash, roasted corn butter    - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Wood-grilled pompano with three-melon salsa - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Baked Lobster stuffed with deviled crab - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Sauteed American Red Snapper with shrimp etouffee & mashed potatoes - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Sauteed John Dory with sticky rice, bok choy, beech mushrooms, lemongrass beurre blanc - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Grouper - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Wood Grilled New Bedford Sea Scallops - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Scallibut - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Drum Fish - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Escolar Crudo - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Scalibut - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Sauvignon Blanc By Supernatural - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Blackened Swordfish - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Creme Brulee With Fresh Berries - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Steamed Oysters - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Pecan Pie - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Domaine Chandon - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA
Biscuits - GW Fins, New Orleans, LA

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

GW Fins will have a special set menu to toast to a happy and healthy New Year! The set menu will consist of three courses, all for $95 (exclusive of tax & gratuity). We will be open from 5:00 PM – 10:30 PM.

GW Fins Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Food
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Service
New Orleans / Louisiana
9 More
Special Occasion
New Orleans / Louisiana
Seafood
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Overall
New Orleans
Best Food
New Orleans
Best Service
New Orleans
Special Occasion
New Orleans
Seafood
New Orleans
Most Booked
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

Special Occasion (327)
Good for a Date (247)
Fit for Foodies (225)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (214)
Creative Cuisine (198)
Romantic (188)
Good for Birthdays (158)
Notable Wine List (155)
Local Ingredients (151)
Business Meals (119)
Neighborhood Gem (102)
Worth the Drive (98)
Modern Decor (90)
Good for Groups (82)
Authentic (72)
Hot Spot (70)
Quiet Conversation (68)
Handcrafted Cocktails (64)
Cozy (55)
Pre/post Theatre (53)
Fun (47)
Healthy (46)
Bar Seating (41)
Outstanding Value (39)
Vibrant Bar Scene (35)
People Watching (34)
Seasonal (32)
Casual (31)
Historic (27)
Comfort Food (22)
Private Room (19)
Tasting Menu (17)
Scenic View (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Molecular Gastronomy (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Family Style (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Fireplace (4)
Organic (4)
Great Beer (4)
Vegan (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tapas (3)
Spicy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
6444 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, service and experience.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Great food, service and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After a terrible dinner elsewhere the ni ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

After a terrible dinner elsewhere the night before, we chose GW Fins. It was above our expectactions. Everything from the welcome, room ambiance, service, wine and menu were superb. We had lobster dumplings, pork belly appetizers, both of which were terrific. The biscuits were phenomenal. Then I had the seared salmon and my wife had the drum. The generous portions were well prepared and flavorful, with creative sauces. We then had the ban nila dessert and the salty malty ice cream cake. Both were yummy. Service by Alan was perfect. We highly recommend this restaurant and look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived early for our reservation and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

We arrived early for our reservation and had a cocktail in the bar. We were seated right on time. I can't remember our servers name but he was fantastic. He answered all of our questions and recommended some great items from the menu. We split two appetizers between the four of us. Lobster Dumplings and Tempura Fin Wings both were fabulous. Two of us had the Scalibut one had the Duck and one had the Crusted Sheepshead. All were tremendous! Had a variety of desserts and they were wonderful.

Can't say enough, will definitely be returning to GW FINNS!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal there with excellent ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a great meal there with excellent service!! Nick was Awesome!! Nick was very knowledgeable and gave us some wonderful choices that were fantastic!! He made the experience that much better!! So many great fish dishes to choose from!! We will be back again!!!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went based on the reviews and it did not ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Went based on the reviews and it did not disappoint. Just off Bourbon Street so very convenient if you're walking around the French Quarter. Highly recommend the Scalibut, one of the house specialties. Excellent wine list and great service.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I live in the New Orleans area, so I hav ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

I live in the New Orleans area, so I have access to all the food, all the time. GW Fins, the best service I had in years, the trio salad works really well, the best gumbo with perfect roux, fresh fish with excellent sides and the Salty Malty dessert was light and rich at the same time. I will recommend to all my friends and return in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am a 61 year old native of New Orleans ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

I am a 61 year old native of New Orleans and now live in Houston. I had never heard of GW Fins until I went there with friends a couple of years ago. It is now my favorite restaurant in New Orleans, right along with Commander's Palace.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time. The food, servi ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a wonderful time. The food, service, and atmosphere were great! This is a must for us when we visit New Orleans. You do need reservations, however, so plan ahead.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upon entering the hostess upfront was no ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Upon entering the hostess upfront was not very courteous. Speaking to us in a rushed manor and also customers that came in after us. Started off bad for us. We were seated and the server was great. Food was not as good as I would have thought. Lobster dumplings were bland and duck breast was on the menu but when I ordered there was none and I had to change to a different dish. The wait between appetizer and entree seemed very long. For the price of entree we surely were not impressed. I have had better seafood for way less money. Still a great evening none the less.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I would probably put the fish I had as o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

I would probably put the fish I had as one of the top 10 best dishes I've ever had. And don't miss the chocolate martini! I will never go to New Orleans without having dinner at GW Fins.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time at GW Fins. Room is very ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Our first time at GW Fins. Room is very dramatic, with tiered booth seating around central tables, but a little noisy for me. The server was friendly, but very professional. Occasionally a little slow, but he acknowledged the delays and apologized, which is rare these days. Food was good, and even non-local seafood was very fresh. All in all, a pretty good meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The restaurant was beautiful and the sea ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant was beautiful and the seating was very comfortable. The menu was not huge, however the choices were superb. The servers did not hover and were very attentive. The food was very good. My John Dory was slightly overcooked,but still delicious, nonetheless.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This Place Rocks! The wife loves it!! An ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

This Place Rocks! The wife loves it!! An amazing selection of food and drink options that you cannot find anywhere else.

Tags: Hot Spot, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location, food was amazing. You h ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great location, food was amazing. You have to try the Brussel sprouts, best ever!!!! Waiter was so helpful in picking the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was O.K. The biggest problem w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was O.K. The biggest problem was that the service was rushed and it felt like a fast food establishment. We were there less than an hour for three courses. We pre-booked the table and still had to wait 15 minutes to be seated. It just didnt feel like customer service at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Our second visit to G W Fins and this vi ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Our second visit to G W Fins and this visit was as good as the first. My wife had the Drum for her entree and I had the John Dory (fish, I had not ever heard of). Both meals were excellent! Easy to see why they are rated number 1 on Trip Advisor.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had the John Dory which is a good of a p ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Had the John Dory which is a good of a piece of fish I have had in awhile. The salad (shrimp remoulaude and wedge) are always fresh and tasty. Excellent choice for seafood.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I visit New Orleans frequently on busine ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

I visit New Orleans frequently on business and ALWAYS ensure that on every trip I eat here at least once. The food is excellent and the service is top notch and impeccable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, People Watching, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GW Fins was good in every way. The lobs ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

GW Fins was good in every way. The lobster dumpling appetizer was delicious. We had a sweet apple pecan salad. Then the red snapperceive main course and a banana foster like desert. Service was attentive but not intrusive. Biscuits were excellent. My wife and I split everything and there was more than enough food. We each haday a speciality drink as well and total cost, including tip was about 105. Really, quite pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just true NOLA style, taste, elegant, bu ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Just true NOLA style, taste, elegant, but casual. Food was delicious, server personable, offered great choices...my favorite thing, allowed us to try samples of the wine before we selected the bottle...we didn't like our first choice, and tasting the sample helped. Biscuits OMG. Food presentation great! My friend and I ordered Scalibut and Swordfish entrees. Both were DELICIOUS!!! I highly recommend and I will be going back. Made the the list of my favorite NOLA restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was DELICIOUS! Room was a little lo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was DELICIOUS! Room was a little loud for my taste, but everything else was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We very fortunate enough that my job had ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

We very fortunate enough that my job had called in advance to take care of the bill and they also sent champagne to our table. Even if that didn't happen though, I know the service would have been just as exceptional. The food, the area, the service, the FOOD!!!! Everything was above and beyond and I'm so happy I found this spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great and the food was ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

The service was great and the food was outstanding. Our server, Nick, was very attentive and knowledgeable on types of wine and accompanying types of fish and other entrees. The biscuits were wonderful and staff provided fresh ones every time they saw my bread plate was empty. Great place for special or casual occasions. Location just off Bourbon St is another plus, in my opinion.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding except we thought the noise ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding except we thought the noise level was a loud. This surprised us.

Wait staff was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ordered the "Scalibut", GW's famous dish ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Ordered the "Scalibut", GW's famous dish. Couldn't find a single morsel of scallop in the dish but the flavor was still wonderful. Salmon Carpaccio is a must order app.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Very nice restaurant with delicious food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Very nice restaurant with delicious food, service and ambiance! Loved it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, better service. One of the b ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Great food, better service. One of the better establishments I've been to in New Orleans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time going here. Was absolutely de ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 29, 2016

First time going here. Was absolutely delicious. We also were so happy with our Server. He was personable, funny and great at his job. Everything from appetizer to dessert was great! This restaurant was our favorite during our visit to New Orleans. Would definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful atmosphere with delicious food ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere with delicious food! Seasonal flavors. If they are on the menu, Get the lobster dumplings and crudos! Pace yourself on the biscuits. Bouillabaisse was delicious, be prepared on cracking the lobster claw. Very nice dinner experience on a Sunday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always dine here when in town. They r ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 28, 2016

I always dine here when in town. They removed the smoked oysters from the menu which was a huge disappointment because it is my favorite oyster in New Orleans. I also notice the portion size on the Scalibut shrunk with barely 1/3 cup of risotto under the smaller portion of fish. It still tasted delicious, but the value at $39 for smaller portion is just not there. This will force me to find a new fish restaurant when in town unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

I rarely eat in a restaurant that I thin ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I rarely eat in a restaurant that I think is exceptional. GW Fins is for sure! The menu is very creative and the fish is flown in every day and always perfectly fresh. We had a special blue crab pot sticker appetizer in a green pea shoot sauce - heavenly. I had the swordfish which is very hard to get fresh and to get right. This was perfect! My friend had the halibut with scallops and it was divine. In a tourist town with far too many expensive mediocre restaurants, GW Fins stands out as a fine dining destination that does not disappoint on any level. Highly recommend it for a welcome break from too much Cajun and Creole cuisine. Server Jason was very knowledgeable about both the menu and the small but very nice wine list.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed with the food, they were no ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Disappointed with the food, they were not bad, but certainly not up to the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

It is definitely the best I have ever tr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

It is definitely the best I have ever tried in New Orleans. Thanks god. We chooses to go there the last night we spent in New Orleans. The lobster dumplings are so good. Also, the service is so nice. This all makes me to miss GW Fins. The free biscuits are also delicious. Go and try!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Truly enjoyed our dinner. Recommendatio ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Truly enjoyed our dinner. Recommendations from our waiter were perfect. Not our first visit nor will it be our last.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Heard that this was a good fish house an ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Heard that this was a good fish house and found that to be true..

The Only day-of-reservations available was for 9:45.. got there 8:50 and was able to be early seated because of a no show at 9:00..Hostess very gracious..

Bar area seating was full so that was a real plus..restaurant large and airy..noise not a factor here that night..

Server Ashton was great..

We decided to go with the house speciality entry (s) and sides (listed below)..

Wine list more than adequate and I think on mid range wines very reasonably priced.. we went with a bottle of Avissi Prosecco ($36)..and a pre dinner cocktail ..FINS French 75 ..Ketel One Citron, lemon and bubbly.. strong but enjoyable ($11)

Here's our choices and opinions (for that night:)

Apps..

Lobster dumplings.. 5 and very delicious..great sauce ($10)

Firecracker Tuna Tacos..3 ..small sized... appeared to have cubed rare ahi.. again excellent ( as far as tacos can be judged). ($12)

Entrees..

Scalibut.. House speciality..nicely done ..(but for fun, would like to try it with the lobster butter on it next time).. ($37)

Blackened Swordfish..moist and not over seasoned..(my personal favorite of the two entrees.) ($29)

Oysters not available that night

Sides...

Spaghetti Squash.. better consistency and taste than any I have ever made ($6)

Wood Grilled Asparagus..nice size, numerous and perfectly prepared ($8)

Creme brûlée for dessert.. large enough for two to enjoy..an 8 on a 10 scale.

All in all a great evening..would definitely come back but soooo many other restaurants to try in NO first..

Would recommend highly to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

There wasn't a good value for money. I g ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 26, 2016

There wasn't a good value for money. I guessed the food quality was better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Appetizers great and good value Halibut ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Appetizers great and good value

Halibut specialty great but small for 37.00

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Juan was highly attentive and knowledgea ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Juan was highly attentive and knowledgeable, and of course the food keeps this one of our favorites in NOLA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent in every way.

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had heard that this was a great resta ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had heard that this was a great restaurant and it didn't disappoint. This was our first dinner for our trip to New Orleans and it was outstanding. The scalibut was delicious and the service was great. This is a must for dining in New Orleans.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.