Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

About GW Fins

We hope our dress policy is comfortable for all. Coats and ties are not required. Slacks, dress jeans, dress shorts are great. We ask that gentlemen wear at least a collared shirt. T-shirts, cut off shorts, and athletic wear are not permitted. We ask Gentlemen to remove their hats in the Dining room.

Experience the cuisine that has created raving fans of local diners and national and local food critics alike. Chef Tenney Flynn (New Orleans magazine's 2004 and 2011 "Chef of the Year") ensures the highest quality seafood by flying in products from around the globe and featuring only the best from local waters - both at their seasonal peak. This commitment to freshness and quality are some of the many reasons GW Fins prints its menu daily. GW Fins has received numerous glowing reviews in The Times-Picayune (4 beans), Food & Wine, Southern Living and Esquire magazines. We look forward to serving you soon so we may learn what you think.

808 Bienville St.
New Orleans, LA 70112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bourbon, Dauphine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 581-3467

Website:
http://www.gwfins.com/

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available for up to 3 hours at Premium Parking, located at 911 Iberville St.

Public Transit:
Bienville & Rampart

Executive Chef:
Michael Nelson

Private Party Facilities:
GW Fins' Private Dining Room has a maximum capacity of 30 people, however, we can accommodate 210 people for a sit down dinner and up to 350 for a cocktail reception with a buyout of the restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
George Elmer: (504) 581-3467

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

GW Fins Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (307)
Good for a Date (269)
Fit for Foodies (241)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (240)
Creative Cuisine (216)
Local Ingredients (189)
Romantic (181)
Good for Birthdays (169)
Notable Wine List (146)
Business Meals (127)
Modern Decor (101)
Worth the Drive (96)
Authentic (90)
Neighborhood Gem (90)
Good for Groups (87)
Hot Spot (81)
Handcrafted Cocktails (75)
Pre/post Theatre (70)
Quiet Conversation (67)
Cozy (58)
Bar Seating (47)
Fun (47)
Outstanding Value (39)
Healthy (38)
People Watching (37)
Casual (35)
Seasonal (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
Historic (26)
Comfort Food (23)
Tasting Menu (22)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Family Style (15)
Molecular Gastronomy (13)
Private Room (13)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Organic (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Scenic View (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Great Beer (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Spicy (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
7241 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined a day ago

Great fish , great service !!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Overall a great experience. It's my daughters favorite restaurant ...I love the menu and the foods excellent .

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Arrived 30 minutes early and could not be seated until 5 minutes after reservation? MANY empty tables and servers standing around waiting??? People arriving after us got seated first, with out reservation????? Service was great and food was very good, however towards the end of the meal, several servers and managers began moving table next to us for a larger party...the brought the party in and sat 10 on one side of our table and two more on the other side of our table. They split a large party with our business meal in the middle? If we had been seated when we arrived, we would have been gone before this happened. For the final 15 - 20 minutes the other party walked back and forth between tables and around us to talk and discuss the options on the menu. We skipped dessert, paid and headed for the door. NOT professional or up to the standards I expected for GW Fins, I have never had a problem before and that is why I picked GW Fins for a special client? Will not make that mistake again. By the way bartender was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

WOW! I eat out often and in many cities across the country. GW Fins is hands down the best restaurant that I have been to in a long long time. Fish is exquisitely fresh and beautifully prepared. My friend and I shared the cold smoked oysters which were like nothing else I had ever tasted. They were so good that we ordered a second plate...amazing. Then we had the bluefin tuna and the swordfish. Both were perfect. What a refreshing change in a city that skates by on fat laden tourist menus.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Organic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Fins is a favorite. Fresh and reliable service. Great ambiance that is perfect for dates and business.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service. Will definitely come back. The BEST food In NOLA. Better than commander palace, acme, Felix, oceana, mother's, gumbo shop, bourbon, and emeril's.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Overpriced and overrated. Small portions for dinner entres.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was excellent and service was constitutional.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

GW Fins was amazing. The fish was fresh and the service was impeccable. Our waiter, Juan, was gracious, attentive, friendly, and efficient. The oysters were out of this world (and I'm not an oyster lover). Great evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Having Dinner with my husband. Great Food . Great Service. Nice Location. Worth to be Visite again !

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food but insanely, painfully loud. Seriously, spend some money on acoustic balancing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

In the industry never leave review but this was perfect!!!! From start to finish

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic restaurant, they deserve their number 1 rating on trip advisor. I had the yellowfin tuna and my wife had the blackened swordfish, both were fantastic, cooked to perfection. The service was excellent and the restaurant is beautiful. The prices were reasonable for the best restaurant in New Orleans.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding food, staff and service! Gw Fins is a must visit for the City of Food! Thank you!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Once again GW Fins has exceeded expectations. The food is always fresh and the menu changes constantly with incredible offerings. Best seafood anywhere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved everything. Menus are created day of which means everything is fresh. Definitely would love to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We came here only for dessert and were not disappointed. We got cocktails and pie and it was absolutely delicious. Next time we will come here for a full meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We go here every year for our March wedding anniversary, and Fins never fails to give us a great dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding ! Great service , great ambiance , and great food !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Juan was our waiter and he exceeded all our expectations with service and food quality. I would say this is the best fine dining in New Orleans!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

One word Awesome. I had the # 1 blue fin tuna, great. Must try the Scalibut. I have had it twice, my friend from Tennessee had it, said it was the best piece of fish he ever had. Will be back very soon!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful dining experience with the freshest of ingredients. Innovative dishes. Extensive wine list. Strong cocktails.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

This is one of my favorite restaurants, and I travel from NJ to dine there. The food is so well prepared; delicious flavors explode in your mouth with each bite. The service is very attentive and not at all snooty.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

Have heard about GW Fins for quite some time and finally brought family. Was everything we heard and more. Freshest fish and seafood selections. Service was outstanding. Very enjoyable and will definitely put this on our "Go To" list when we have out of town guest!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

The service was good,the food very good.The portions a little on the small size.actually 3 months ago I would have given everything 5 stars.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful dinner and service. Best place to eat in New Orleans.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent. Lives up to its reputation. My new favorite restaurant in NO

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Healthy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 19, 2017

the dining experience was very good service food prep was a Saturday evening .hammer down busy and full . Will go back again.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

One of the best meals I have ever had and so so amazing!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Wonderful place to eat. The blue fin tuna, American red snapper, and bread pudding were superb. Atmosphere was great. Alittle noisy for a romantic setting. Waiter could have been alittle more knowledgeable. I will definitely be back. Food was fantastic!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great! No complaints.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Went with my daughter for a nice dinner while on vacation. Dinner was amazing. We both got Sheepshead Fish with Capers, Lemon and Asparagus. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food and great service. It was my sons birthday and they made him feel very special

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Wonderful service and food! Honestly it is so good! I had the Parmesan crusted Sheepshead fish and my husband had the best vegan meal ever! They were so accommodating to his diet. The lobster dumplings and bread pudding were also delicious. I will be dining there again next time in NOLA

Tags: Vegan, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner. The food and service were great, and the restaurant was in good location. GW Fins was recommended to us by a friend, and we would recommend it to anyone as well

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 17, 2017

There was something like sand or small pebble in the scallop that hurt my teeth. Other than that, food tasted good and service was good, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My husband and I visited this restaurant on vacation. It was excellent and probably our favorite meal. Everything we ordered had wonderful flavors and was very fresh. Our service was on point. Would absolutely recommend.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Best food and service we had on our NOLA trip. Will be back next time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This is a must do every time we are in NOLA! Never has it disappointed! 3 out of 4 times we have had Jason as our server, he makes it a fantastic experience always. Can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Our meal was outstanding. New Orleans is about food and GWFins was right up there. Highly recommend it. The service was good. Waiter was helpful and attentive. Quite noisy but that is New Orleans. Make reservations.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.