Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

About GW Fins

We hope our dress policy is comfortable for all. Coats and ties are not required. Slacks, dress jeans, dress shorts are great. We ask that gentlemen wear at least a collared shirt. T-shirts, cut off shorts, and athletic wear are not permitted. We ask Gentlemen to remove their hats in the Dining room.

Experience the cuisine that has created raving fans of local diners and national and local food critics alike. Chef Tenney Flynn (New Orleans magazine's 2004 and 2011 "Chef of the Year") ensures the highest quality seafood by flying in products from around the globe and featuring only the best from local waters - both at their seasonal peak. This commitment to freshness and quality are some of the many reasons GW Fins prints its menu daily. GW Fins has received numerous glowing reviews in The Times-Picayune (4 beans), Food & Wine, Southern Living and Esquire magazines. We look forward to serving you soon so we may learn what you think.

808 Bienville St.
New Orleans, LA 70112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bourbon, Dauphine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 581-3467

Website:
http://www.gwfins.com/

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available for up to 3 hours at Premium Parking, located at 911 Iberville St.

Public Transit:
Bienville & Rampart

Executive Chef:
Michael Nelson

Private Party Facilities:
GW Fins' Private Dining Room has a maximum capacity of 30 people, however, we can accommodate 210 people for a sit down dinner and up to 350 for a cocktail reception with a buyout of the restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
George Elmer: (504) 581-3467

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

GW Fins Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (286)
Good for a Date (231)
Good for Anniversaries (213)
See All
Creative Cuisine (200)
Romantic (190)
Fit for Foodies (190)
Local Ingredients (160)
Good for Birthdays (153)
Business Meals (150)
Notable Wine List (134)
Worth the Drive (103)
Quiet Conversation (89)
Authentic (89)
Hot Spot (75)
Neighborhood Gem (73)
Good for Groups (72)
Handcrafted Cocktails (66)
Fun (52)
Cozy (46)
Pre/post Theatre (46)
Bar Seating (38)
Seasonal (34)
Casual (33)
People Watching (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Great for Lunch (18)
Tasting Menu (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Late-night Find (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Great for Brunch (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Great Beer (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Scenic View (4)
Live Sports (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
8116 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Delightful fish. Very knowledgeable staff. Nice modern ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Best scallops in the city. Cook them perfectly every time. All of the seafood is great, but their pork belly appetizer is outstanding. Have not had a bad meal there and have been plenty of times.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing food, service, and atmosphere. As with all fancy restaurants the portions are on the smaller side, but definitely worth it. The scallops melted like butter they were perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

GW Fins never disappoints. I went there this weekend for the annual lobster fest. Yummy. Was a bit disappointed that they did not offer the lobster options as a prix fixe menu, which is what I was used to, but I was able to order ala carte. All held up to Fins consistently good standard.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

GW Fins was amazing. We had great service, and the food was very fresh and delicious. I would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Dinner was wonderful as usual. The four of us went specifically for Lobster Fest and were not disappointed. The service was great. HIGHLY recommend G.W. Fins!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Nice except for crying baby....out of your control...but strang at a fine establishment

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 3 days ago

Top notch as always. Celebrating our 37th Anniversary and GW pulled out the stops. Managed to make it for the next to last night of Lobster Fest. Outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Food is excellent -- the special is truly special. I visited New Orleans 2 years ago and it was recommended to me by the concierge at the hotel. I returned to New Orleans last weekend and made sure I came back here.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Went for lobster feast and it was great. Always very consistent with food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Food and service were superb! The lobster dumplings and wild mushroom risotto were my favorite, but everything was really excellent! Save room for dessert...

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Baked lobster was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Our server (Nick) was outstanding! WE will ask for him when we come back for sure.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Gets better every time. Been going there for several years.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and service. Stellar seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic as usual. Our one constant restaurant to visit when in New Orleans. Had wonderful pork belly, soft shell crab and I gasped the pasta appetizer for an entree while husband had King Klip fish...all excellent. Don't miss this special place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful dining experience with outstanding menu. Loved the tuna tartar.
Noise level low in small room. In main dining room it was high.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was good. Atmosphere ok. Kinda loud. Service was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

I was very pleased with the food and service during Lobster Feast. I was celebrating 21 years of cancer survivorship and my niece's 55th birthday. There were 4 of us in the party. Everybody thoroughly enjoyed their choices. The complimentary dessert and plate greetings were an appreciated touch. This was not my first visit and won't be my last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything about this place was great. The only complaint I had was the portions were a bit small for the price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

GW Finn's was recommended to us by a frequent visitor of New Orleans!
It meet all our expectations and more!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 19, 2017

I had a informal business dinner here. Everything was outstanding. Food was great, service was outstanding and ambiance was good for business meeting - or really any nice meal you wanted to have with family or friends. Everyone had a different entree and each loved the food. I would highly recommend this place.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Amazing! It was our 25th wedding anniversary so wanted to go somewhere special, GW Fins was perfect! Great staff, great food and lovely ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2017

It was ok, I was expecting amazing after all the hype. It was average nothing special,I can easily get this food in my neighborhood restaurant in NYC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I went for my birthday and the lobster fest the restaurant has every year but I some how manage to miss. I'm so glad I finally got to go and I plan on making sure I go every year for the fest!!! The best Lobster I have ever had and the price was unbelievable.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2017

As always, GW Fins held true to their reputation. Exceptional!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

It was okay is the best I can give it. The service was very good, but our experience did not live up to the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Jared was an OUTSTANDING waiter and paved the way for an outstanding experience for my girlfriend and me. He went through the menu and specials in such a way where you weren't zoned out and were actually anticipating what delicious entree he was going to mention next. He gave us a list of recommendations when we asked about other spots to check out in New Orleans since we were from out of town. I can't recommend this spot enough, especially to the guys who want to take their lady out to a nice dinner and get a win.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Start to finish awesome. Ryan was excellent as well as all the staff and food was amazing. Highly recommend, I am local not a tourist so we have eaten at a lot of places in NO and this place is up at top of list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great food, great service, great vibe, great wine list, great location and reasonable pricing. You won't be dissapointed with a visit here.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Service was some of the best I have had in 30 years our waiter Marlon was fantastic. He knew the menu inside and out and made fabulous recommendations. The food was delicious and very unique. Just a spectacular evening

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We were very late and they were very busy but still seated us. Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Good and service were awesome as always!! Definitely a favorite of ours!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

The restaurant had very friendly staff and the food was excellent. I highly recommend the scallabut very creative and delicious. Also the Samoa dessert was a good take on the cookie.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary here. First of all outstanding service by everyone in that dining room. Second, the restaurant is beautiful and very privet seating (great for special occasions). Our servers were so knowledgable, provided many recommendations and would go out of their way to write lists down of interesting places to visit in the city. Food was spectacular in taste and presentation, lovely experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 15, 2017

As always, delicious fish dishes cooked to perfection with excellent sides and great biscuits.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Fantastic meal! A must visit while in the French quarter. Blackened swordfish maybe the best ever

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Excellent meal! Our server Joe made the evening feel special. We would highly recommend this spot for a date night.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 15, 2017

My wife and I were in New Orleans for a conference and were looking for several places to dine while we were in town. We love trying new places and GW Fins came highly-recommended. They did not disappoint! The food was incredible and the service staff was equally as good. Portions are just right and not over-priced. The only downside of the menu is trying to choose what to order. Thankfully, our waiter gave us great recommendations and I will tell you that the "Scalibut" is a must! The wait staff was so attentive and helpful and they made our evening very special. Also, the ambiance was great and quiet enough we could actually carry on a conversation. Too often, it is hard to carry on a conversation when dining out because of the noise level. No problems here! New Orleans has so many great restaurants that it makes the dining decision process very difficult. Well, as someone who eats out often and looks for those outstanding places go, you need not look any further. This is an easy decision. Do not miss it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Incredible every time! I go there every time I am in NOLA because I know it will be great!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.