Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

About GW Fins

We hope our dress policy is comfortable for all. Coats and ties are not required. Slacks, dress jeans, dress shorts are great. We ask that gentlemen wear at least a collared shirt. T-shirts, cut off shorts, and athletic wear are not permitted. We ask Gentlemen to remove their hats in the Dining room.

Experience the cuisine that has created raving fans of local diners and national and local food critics alike. Chef Tenney Flynn (New Orleans magazine's 2004 and 2011 "Chef of the Year") ensures the highest quality seafood by flying in products from around the globe and featuring only the best from local waters - both at their seasonal peak. This commitment to freshness and quality are some of the many reasons GW Fins prints its menu daily. GW Fins has received numerous glowing reviews in The Times-Picayune (4 beans), Food & Wine, Southern Living and Esquire magazines. We look forward to serving you soon so we may learn what you think.

808 Bienville St.
New Orleans, LA 70112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bourbon, Dauphine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 581-3467

Website:
http://www.gwfins.com/

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available for up to 3 hours at Premium Parking, located at 911 Iberville St.

Public Transit:
Bienville & Rampart

Executive Chef:
Michael Nelson

Private Party Facilities:
GW Fins' Private Dining Room has a maximum capacity of 30 people, however, we can accommodate 210 people for a sit down dinner and up to 350 for a cocktail reception with a buyout of the restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
George Elmer: (504) 581-3467

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

GW Fins Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (286)
Good for a Date (256)
Good for Anniversaries (228)
See All
Creative Cuisine (227)
Fit for Foodies (203)
Romantic (191)
Good for Birthdays (175)
Local Ingredients (165)
Notable Wine List (155)
Business Meals (153)
Authentic (106)
Worth the Drive (102)
Neighborhood Gem (86)
Good for Groups (80)
Quiet Conversation (79)
Hot Spot (77)
Handcrafted Cocktails (75)
Fun (60)
Pre/post Theatre (57)
Cozy (52)
Bar Seating (48)
Healthy (42)
People Watching (35)
Seasonal (33)
Casual (31)
Tasting Menu (22)
Comfort Food (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Happy Hour (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Disabled Access (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Scenic View (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tapas (4)
Great Beer (3)
Spicy (3)
Organic (2)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
8401 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Food was to die for. Plates are well proportioned and very filling. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined a day ago

Wonderful menu with delicious and beautiful presentation. Excellent service from entire staff!! Very professional...a must in New Orleans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined a day ago

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing service and delicious food!!!!
We enjoyed it so much! We will be back on our next visit to NOLA 😊

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Our family comes to NOLA once a year from different parts of the USA and go to the same restaurant every time. This time we did something different and tried GW Fins. It is now the restaurant we will always come to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was amazing. Many choices of fresh fish. Service was terrific

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We travel to New Orleans once or twice a year & always eat at GWFins. We had great seafood. Our server Aaron & Lee took great care of us. It is a step above. Highly recommend

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

My husband and I totally enjoyed our experience at GW Fins! Atmosphere, service, and food were excellent!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Fabulous food. Service was attentive without bbeing intrusive. One of the best meals I have had.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Food very good with good service. We split tuna tartar and shrimp romoulade apps (kitchen split for us). Both very good though dressing on romoulade better on shrimp and tomatoe than on salad. Scallops and 'Scalibut' (combo scallop and Halibut) were excellent and tasted fresh. Certainly would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

In my thirty years of living in New Orleans, the dinner was definitely in the top three. Having caught lemonfish in the Gulf, I opted for the cobia. Outstanding flavor and presentation and cooked perfectly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Very good mushroom risotto

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent over all experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Food is very good..loved the lobster dumplings..the triple wedge salad and of course the scalibut. I just wish the place didnt feel so snobby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Second visit for dinner and even better than we remembered. Food was wonderful- great ideas and very well prepared. Entrees included "Scallibut" and New Zealand Jon Dory. Each very distinctive with just the right accompaniments to accent the main ingredients without upstaging them. The BBQ shrimp appetizer was equally well done with tender peeled shrimp and delicious sauce. No bibs required. We shared this and the entrees as well as the salty malty ice cream cake dessert, a perfect end to a great meal. Service was fantastic. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the entire menu and gave spot-on recommendations after listening carefully to our questions. He struck the perfect balance of professionalism and friendliness. His assistant was very polite and timely with service. We never felt rushed nor neglected. The owner was also extremely gracious in accepting our thanks as we left. If we lived in New Orleans, we'd be faithful regulars. We'll definitely book in advance whenever we visit. In a city known for it's great cuisine, GW Fins stands out as exceptional in every way.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Exquisite culinary combinations, juxtaposition of cuisines novelly mated, presented with respectful attention to dietary restrictions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Have been there twice in the past two visits to New Orleans and this is one of our favorites. Food is remarkable and the service is excellent. We sat in a booth this time and it helped with the noise. We ate the scalibut and the drum fish and both were outstanding. The wine list is extensive but not overwhelming.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing meal, thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

The good: Service was excellent. Food was served on time, was very good and well presented. Booths were a nice touch os be sure to ask for them. The bad: Sitting below in main room was VERY noisy, but even elevated, we could not talk across the table. Maybe on an slow night the noise level would be better. Recommend a weekday dinner - early to avoid too much crowd noise.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was impeccable. Food was good, but had high expectations given the other reviews. Not the outstanding seafood I had expected. Ambiance was ok. Very loud and hard to communicate across the table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The fish (cobia) had a too sweet pepper jelly with it but was otherwise excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Felt rushed. One dish followed the next in less than 2 minutes. We wanted to relax and felt that they wanted us out so the next guest could occupy our table. With that said the food was excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Very nice! We were celebrating our anniversary and GW Fins was the place to do it. They actually put a personilzed menu on our table which had our names and happy anniversary on it with the date. They gave us a free dessert and also had confetti on the table and a plate with happy anniversary written in chocolate. Service was really good. I would definitely go back. It was very, very nice. I’m happy to know they pay attention to what you tell them when making reservations through open table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Very good food and Nice atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent dining experience at GW Fins for my cousin’s 21st birthday. The team surprised us with birthday confetti on the table and brought a special plate with a candle over along with dessert. A memorable evening - excellent food, service, and company!

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding meal and service. Nice upscale dining in the Quarter.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Dinner with friends. We had gumbo, poached pear salad, American Red Snapper, creme brûlée and salty malty ice cream pie. Would definitely go there again when in New Orleans. Definitely recommend you giving it a try. Do make reservations because they are busy.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Food and service was great would recommend this GW Finns to everyone

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was fantastic, fresh, beautiful presentations and service was outstanding. Our server Fallon was outstanding. Only drawback and I really don’t mean in a very negative way,was the price. It is what Is the norm for the food, service, quality, atmosphere of a high end restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Nice place, food could be tastier.
Fish was a little over cooked.
Veges were mushy.
Biscuits were excellent.

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2017

This restaurant exceeds all your expectations! Every dish is delicious, fresh, authentic. They have lots of "fusion" type choices but I say...when in NOLA...Go NOLA all the way!
Best gumbo and BBQ shrimp.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 11, 2017

My significant other and I reserved a quiet table in a room off the main dining room. The cocktails, wine and food were all outstanding. Same can be said for our waiter, Scott, who knew the menu backwards and forwards and contributed to our enjoyment of a fabulous meal. It's easy to understand why this is one of the best restaurants in the country. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Good meal excellent bread pudding. Wait staff needs to not clean plates before patrons finish eating .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Simply AMAZING! We loved our experience here! The scallibuy and blackened swordfish were perfect!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Outstanding food and service in an attractive atmosphere

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Fabulous food. The biscuits y’all. After you have one, you’ll be tempted to track down the bread server and steal them all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Too good for words. I love this restaurant. Go now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Went to GW Fins to celebrate a 40th Birthday. The service was phenomenal from the moment we were greeted at the door. The host checked in throughout our entire meal and could not have been nicer. Our server, Marlon, was awesome—he kept calling us by name and was very kind and attentive. A true southern gentleman.
Let’s talk about the food—we started with the Lobster Dumplings and they were delicious! Very light and flavorful—a good pick as an appetizer because it was just a lovely taste but not filling. We all ordered the Scalabut, which was a nice thick piece of halibut topped with scallop medallions and served on top of lobster risotto. It was to die for!! I highly recommend this signature dish!
Wonderful meal and overall experience 😍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

Absolutely delicious! Lovely venue and impeccable service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.