About GW Fins

808 Bienville St.
New Orleans, LA 70112
View Larger Map

We hope our dress policy is comfortable for all. Coats and ties are not required. Slacks, dress jeans, dress shorts are great. We ask that gentlemen wear at least a collared shirt. T-shirts, cut off shorts, and athletic wear are not permitted. We ask Gentlemen to remove their hats in the Dining room.

Experience the cuisine that has created raving fans of local diners and national and local food critics alike. Chef Tenney Flynn (New Orleans magazine's 2004 and 2011 "Chef of the Year") ensures the highest quality seafood by flying in products from around the globe and featuring only the best from local waters - both at their seasonal peak. This commitment to freshness and quality are some of the many reasons GW Fins prints its menu daily. GW Fins has received numerous glowing reviews in The Times-Picayune (4 beans), Food & Wine, Southern Living and Esquire magazines. We look forward to serving you soon so we may learn what you think.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bourbon, Dauphine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 581-3467

Website:
http://www.gwfins.com/

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available for up to 3 hours at Premium Parking, located at 911 Iberville St.

Public Transit:
Bienville & Rampart

Executive Chef:
Michael Nelson

Private Party Facilities:
GW Fins' Private Dining Room has a maximum capacity of 30 people, however, we can accommodate 210 people for a sit down dinner and up to 350 for a cocktail reception with a buyout of the restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
George Elmer: 504-581-3467x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

GW Fins Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Food
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Service
New Orleans / Louisiana
10 More
Best Value
New Orleans / Louisiana
Fit for Foodies
New Orleans / Louisiana
Seafood
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Overall
New Orleans
Best Food
New Orleans
Best Service
New Orleans
Best Value
New Orleans
Fit for Foodies
New Orleans
Most Booked
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

fit for foodies (604)
special occasion (584)
romantic (391)
See All
notable wine list (300)
good for groups (258)
hot spot (192)
neighborhood gem (185)
vibrant bar scene (98)
great for lunch (37)
late-night find (36)
scenic view (15)
kid-friendly (11)
great for brunch (11)
great for outdoor dining (4)
Sort By:
Newest
5681 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal in New Orleans

Dined 3 days ago

Best meal in New Orleans

food4
ambience4
service5

Very good. Had a reservation but was tol ...

Dined 4 days ago

Very good. Had a reservation but was told we had to sit in the bar since my husband didn't have a collared shirt on. It worked out fine.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Another delicious meal at GWFins. We're ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Another delicious meal at GWFins. We're never disappointed. The smoked oysters on the half shell & the crispy fried soft shell crab were delicious appetizers. The local Gulf blue fin tuna & the triple tail were delicious mains. Service was professional & attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always enjoy the visit to GW Fins! Great ...

Dined 4 days ago

Always enjoy the visit to GW Fins! Great fresh seafood, great service and excellent Chocolate Martinis

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Service was very good as was the fish. A ...

Dined 5 days ago

Service was very good as was the fish. As in most upscale restaurants the portions leave you wanting more. The lobster risotto that came with my meal was a mere speck on the plate, but it was good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Get the Scottish Salmon!!! Or the scalib ...

Dined 5 days ago

Get the Scottish Salmon!!! Or the scalibut!!!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Scalibut plate was one of my all tim ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

The Scalibut plate was one of my all time favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great resturant

Dined 6 days ago

GW was great. The food and service were outstanding. The bar noise spilled over to the dining room. I highly recommend this resturant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just an all around great restaurant! Gre ...

Dined 6 days ago

Just an all around great restaurant! Great food, great service and great location.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best meals I've had in New Or ...

Dined 7 days ago

One of the best meals I've had in New Orleans. And I've had a lot of great food in New Orleans.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I was in town for a conference and since ...

Dined 7 days ago

I was in town for a conference and since I have eaten there before I took my business group to the restaurant. They allowed me to alter my original reservation from 2 to 5 which was very helpful. I always get the Scalibut and it is always a wonderful dish. Two people tried the Drum and were also very pleased at how good the dish was. Great wine list that complimented our meal. Service was good and the manager checked in several times to make sure our meal was going well. By the time dessert came around we were full but had to try several dishes and all were yummy. Overall this restaurant was a hit with my business group. I will definitely bring my group back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic restaurant in NOLA. The lobst ...

Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic restaurant in NOLA. The lobster dumplings are to die for. I have them every visit. This is my favorite dinner spot in the French Quarter. Don't miss it.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our food and service was exce ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We enjoyed our food and service was excellent

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit ever to this restaurant, but ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

First visit ever to this restaurant, but certainly not our own. Roomy seating arrangement was welcoming. Tuna appetizer was succulent. And our entrees were both wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything we had here was delicious. Ou ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Everything we had here was delicious. Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu, which was impressive -- he knew how various things were cooked, where the fish and shellfish came from, etc. At the bar before our meal, the bartender was able to educate me about some of the wine with which I was unfamiliar, and he was spot-on in his description. We had the smoked oysters as an appetizer, which were wonderful, but also filling -- I had intended to try the scalibut, which sounded amazing, but after the oysters, I went with another appetizer for my entree, the lobster dumplings ... and they were delicious! My husband has a rule never to order meat in a fish house, but we'd been eating seafood for several days, and he inquired from the waiter about the filet mignon ... The waiter said Fins is a sister restaurant to Ruths Chris, so the steaks are good -- and he was right. The steak was perfectly cooked, tender, and had a wonderful smoky flavor. It was excellent. For dessert we had the bread pudding and the salty-malty ice cream pie. Both were rich, delicious ... The bread pudding has chunks of chocolate in it, which I found delightful, but my husband found too chocolaty for his taste. We both thought the pie was amazing and wished we could have finished dessert, but it was too much food! We are scuba diving instructors and had read online that the chef here is a diver and spearfisher who sometimes harvests his own seafood personally. The night we were here, we discovered (from our server who had an answer for every question!) that the chef had been in Florida for a lion fish round-up the weekend before, and the lion fish special on the menu came from that harvest. We were happy to see the destructive and alien lion fish population being reduced and not wasted, either! All in all we found everything positive and nothing negative about GW Fins and highly recommend. It is pricey, but for a splurge in the French Quarter, go for it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Edith

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Exceptional restaurant. Excellent food and service. This is our favorite seafood restaurant, we dine here every time we come to New Orleans. The entire staff are friendly and welcoming especially Mr. GW

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Seafood impeccably prepared. Cocktail, d ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Seafood impeccably prepared. Cocktail, delicious. Overall though, a bit pricey for what it was.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall the experience at GW Fins was ex ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Overall the experience at GW Fins was excellent. My only issue was my sword fish entre was slightly undercooked. When I brought it to the attention of my server, he promptly removed the plate and asked if I would still like another correctly cooked dish. I did and they brought the new plate (cooked perfectly) out quickly. In any event, the rest of the meal was excellent and they even took my entre off the bill. I would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Better to overdress. The clientele was ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Better to overdress. The clientele was very well dressed.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good, but not up to Finns Standards

Dined on May 16, 2016

We dined at GW Finns last Sunday night. I've eaten there many times before and the food has always been outstanding. This time the food was very good, but just not as good as it has been in the past. I ordered the Scalibut, maybe that is just not my style, not sure. My friends all had the Scalibut too and seemed to enjoy it. The Salty Malty Pie is still to die for! Overall a great night and I will return again for sure. It is one of my favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous meal and service. Brandon was g ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Fabulous meal and service. Brandon was great! Will be back next time I'm in NO.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Not my favorite

Dined on May 15, 2016

During our visit to NOLA we visited a lot of restaurants. Unfortunately this was my least favorite. The food was ok but not great as with the other places we ate at. The atmosphere was loud and the service was not that great. Huge letdown.

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely wonderful food!! Gumbo was ex ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Absolutely wonderful food!! Gumbo was excellent, as was everything else. Outstanding customer service, they make you feel very special here :)

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was excellent! The Blackened ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Everything was excellent! The Blackened Swordfish was top notch, as was the Fin appy!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't speak highly enough about our expe ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Can't speak highly enough about our experience. Excellent service all night, our waiter provided great recommendations for food & wine. The sizzling smoked oysters were amazing and the highlight of the meal. All dished terrifically well presented and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food! Scallops and red fish en ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Fantastic food! Scallops and red fish entrees were to die for!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Destination for a Special Occassion

Dined on May 13, 2016

Creative dishes, waitstaff were very timely and attentive, drinks were great, best meal my wife and I have had in ages!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and attention to our n ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent service and attention to our needs. The entire meal from start to finish was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top Notch

Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent service, fantastic food - best place we have ever eaten at in New Orleans. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of the best dining experienc ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This is one of the best dining experiences I've ever had in NOLA and you know how amazing restaurants are there. Incredible fish and seafood, great drinks and a wonderful ambience. Can't wait to go back on our next trip

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food. Service. Ambiance.

Dined on May 12, 2016

So often restaurants, especially in tourist areas, seem to put more emphasis on advertising than on food, service and ambiance. Fins doesn't. Our experience was excellent from cocktails to desert. The wine list was quite adequate and the food was done properly, quite tasty and presented very well. Simple things like their biscuits and fried green tomatoes showed attention to detail. The service was well timed from delivery to busing/crumbing. The staff was friendly and engaging though not intrusive. Dress is business casual though more formal wear is not out of place. You do pay for all of this but you do not walk away feeling that you were overcharged.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food aand service

Dined on May 12, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We were promptly seated in a back room, which was quieter than the main dining room. Service was excellent. We had some special dietary requests that were addressed without any issue. The entrees were excellent: the blackened swordfish was perfectly prepared, and the blackened spices did not overpower and take away from the fish. the Drum was also excellent. The fresh vegetables were cooked perfectly. We love seafood and eat it often, and the food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Great food and service at the table. Onl ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Great food and service at the table. Only criticism would be that our table was not ready when we arrived and had to wait along with others, even though we had reserved a table for a specific time.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great wine, food, service a bit lacking

Dined on May 12, 2016

The lobster dumplings were amazing. All of our entrees were impressive. The wine list was nice and expansive. Unfortunately, we could not understand our waiter. He spoke so fast. I had to ask him to repeat himself several times. Many times, we still did not understand him. We almost felt like he was rushing to get us out of the resturant. It definitely look away from the total experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food at Finn's!

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

We were celebrating our last night in New Orleans and we wanted a real top rated hot spot...all the reviews said GW Finns was a cant-miss and a local told me we were lucky to get in. Highlights were Lobster dumplings and the best tuna tartare we ever tasted. Service was spotty. Our waiter seemed to be following a formula and they forgot to bring my appetizer...but these were minor flaws in light of the amazing food. The atmosphere is beautiful, although noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great meal

Dined on May 11, 2016

had a great meal . the lobster dumpling were great. husband loved the smoked flavor of the salmon. would go back...a great date night

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding selection of entrees and app ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Outstanding selection of entrees and appetizers. Red Snapper is a must.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love the relaxed feel of this place, t ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I love the relaxed feel of this place, the service was superb . I definitely would return. The fish dishes were amazing. we were fitted in a very comfortable way. Wines were affordable.

Tags: group bookings, outdoor eating, romance, special occasions, lunch, late night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely wonderful place! The food was ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Absolutely wonderful place! The food was excellent, service very friendly and the mood great for all occasions. This was my third trip here in the last few years and it's just as amazing as it was the first time!

food5
ambience4
service5

Once we were extricated from a booth in ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Once we were extricated from a booth in which the bench seat was too high for my comfort, our evening took a turn to superlative! Our waiter was incredibly helpful both with relocating us to a very comfortable table and providing guidance with the menu selections. We enjoyed the lobster dumplings and shrimp bar-b-q for appetizers. The pear salad and the shrimp and fried green tomato salads were excellent. Main courses were nicely done. Cappuccinos for dessert ended an excellent meal. The menu changes daily so you should always find a culinary delight in store for you!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.