About GW Fins

808 Bienville St.
New Orleans, LA 70112
View Larger Map

We hope our dress policy is comfortable for all. Coats and ties are not required. Slacks, dress jeans, dress shorts are great. We ask that gentlemen wear at least a collared shirt. T-shirts, cut off shorts, and athletic wear are not permitted. We ask Gentlemen to remove their hats in the Dining room.

Experience the cuisine that has created raving fans of local diners and national and local food critics alike. Chef Tenney Flynn (New Orleans magazine's 2004 and 2011 "Chef of the Year") ensures the highest quality seafood by flying in products from around the globe and featuring only the best from local waters - both at their seasonal peak. This commitment to freshness and quality are some of the many reasons GW Fins prints its menu daily. GW Fins has received numerous glowing reviews in The Times-Picayune (4 beans), Food & Wine, Southern Living and Esquire magazines. We look forward to serving you soon so we may learn what you think.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bourbon, Dauphine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 581-3467

Website:
http://www.gwfins.com/

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available for up to 3 hours at Premium Parking, located at 911 Iberville St.

Public Transit:
Bienville & Rampart

Executive Chef:
Michael Nelson

Private Party Facilities:
GW Fins' Private Dining Room has a maximum capacity of 30 people, however, we can accommodate 210 people for a sit down dinner and up to 350 for a cocktail reception with a buyout of the restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
George Elmer: 504-581-3467x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

GW Fins
GW Fins
GW Fins
GW Fins
GW Fins
GW Fins
GW Fins
Lobster Dumplings
Blue Crab Pot Stickers
Salty Malty Ice Cream Pie
Grilled John Dory W/ Lump Crab And Crispy Cappers
Fried Lobster Poboy
Gumbo
Fin Wings
Chicken Crusted Drum
Parmesan Crusted Sheepshead
Scalibut With Lobster Green Beans And Lobster Risotto
Parmesan Crusted Flounder with Jumbo Lump crab, Meyer lemon, asparagus, crispy capers, brown butter
Sautéed American Red Snapper with shrimp etouffée, Louisiana Jasmine rice, lobster butter
Pumpkin Seed Crusted Triggerfish with butternut squash risotto, Shiitakes, crispy leeks, sage brown butter
Mashed Sweet Potatoes with Bourbon, banana, brown sugar, vanilla bean
Wood Grilled Gulf Shrimp, Smoked pepper salsa, Chipotle butter
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake Appetizer
Smoked Sizzling Oysters
Molten Chocolate Cake served with vanilla ice cream
Wood Grilled Butterfish with Pineapple Basil glaze, sweet potato hash, crispy plantains, roasted corn butter
Blackened Redfish with crispy shrimp, spinach, mashed potatoes, roasted corn butter, chili hollandaise
Lobster Poboy
Lobster With Drawn Butter
Wood-grilled Columbia River Sturgeon with mascarpone polenta and puttanesca sauce
Wood Grilled Grouper with sweet corn spoonbread, crawfish tails, thin beans, maque choux
Sea Scallops With Mushroom Risotto
BBQ Shrimp
Crispy Soft Shell Crab
Black Bottom Pie
White Chocolate Caramel Bread Pudding
Seafood
#1 Yellowfin Tuna Tartare with avocado, mango, radish, wasabi
Fried Lobster Tails
Honey Lavender Panna Cotta
Sautéed Jolt Snapper with Brie and white truffle macaroni, Maine lobster, Sugar Snap peas, lobster butter
Oysters
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)
Fried Calamari
strawberry shortcake
Jolt Snapper With Corn Cake And Crawfish
Wood Grilled Pompano
Apple Pie
White Chocolate Bread Pudding
Crab Potstickers
Parmesan Crusted Flounder with Jumbo Lump crab, asparagus, crispy capers, brown butter
Yellowfin Tuna Tartare
lobster pot
Grilled Shrimps
Chargrilled Oysters
Grouper With Mashed Potatoes, Corn And Fried Plantains
Baked Salmon With Mashed Potatoes And Corn
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake
Hot Chocolate Cake
Wild Mushroom Ravioli
Compressed Watermelon Salad
Sauteed Black Grouper with tomato and lobster risotto
Butterfish with sweet potato hash
Parmesan Crusted Drum
Molten Chocolate Cake
Tripletail
Pork Belly
Lemonfish
Apple pie with cheddar cheese top crust, served with vanilla ice cream
Sauteed Tripletail
Triple Iceberg Wedgie
Lobster Rolls
Crispy Lobster Tail W/ Remoulade And Drawn Butter
Biscuit
Sauvignon Blanc
Lobster & Ravioli
Barbeque Shrimp with Louisiana long grain rice, ciabatta crouton
Blackened Redfish
Short Smoked Scottish Salmon with mashed potatoes, thin bean succotash, roasted corn butter
Sauteed American Red Snapper with shrimp etouffee & mashed potatoes
Baby Arugula Salad with bruleed figs
Wood-grilled pompano with three-melon salsa
Baked Lobster stuffed with deviled crab
Sauteed John Dory with sticky rice, bok choy, beech mushrooms, lemongrass beurre blanc
Grouper
Wood Grilled New Bedford Sea Scallops
Scallibut
Escolar Crudo
Drum Fish
Sauvignon Blanc By Supernatural
Scalibut
Lobster Bisque
Blackened Swordfish
Pecan Pie
Domaine Chandon
Biscuits
Pimm's Cup
Spinach Salad
Grilled Oysters
Grilled Gulf Shrimp

GW Fins Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Food
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Service
New Orleans / Louisiana
9 More
Best Value
New Orleans / Louisiana
Seafood
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Overall
New Orleans
Best Food
New Orleans
Best Service
New Orleans
Best Value
New Orleans
Fit for Foodies
New Orleans
Most Booked
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

special occasion (483)
fit for foodies (470)
romantic (325)
See All
notable wine list (251)
good for groups (222)
neighborhood gem (183)
hot spot (178)
vibrant bar scene (83)
great for lunch (34)
late-night find (34)
great for brunch (18)
scenic view (14)
kid-friendly (11)
great for outdoor dining (6)
Sort By:
Newest
5862 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was delicious. Flavors were wo ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 2 days ago

The food was delicious. Flavors were wonderful. The service was the best I have seen in any city!! I will be going back when I visit New Orleans again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was superb and food was absolute ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service was superb and food was absolutely wonderful!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was fantastic. Top notch appe ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This place was fantastic. Top notch appetizers such as the soft-shell crab and lobster dumplings. I had the blackened swordfish and it was succulent juicy and divine; it was cooked perfectly and the accompaniments were complimenting. One of the best seafood experiences ive ever had. The hostess could have been more accommodating however the food speaks volumes regarding this restaurants reputation. Excellent-a must visit for foodies.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Men must have a colored shirt when this ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Men must have a colored shirt when this establishment is only 1/2 block from Bourbon Street is a slight reach.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service from start to finish was Fan ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The service from start to finish was Fantastic, very Professional all around. Great People. Will certainly be back. Thank You.

Pat McMahon

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was exquisite and the service even ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was exquisite and the service even better! A great selection of seafood; the roasted cauliflower was to die-for and the Salty Malty dessert was amazing.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is excellent! Service is impecc ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food is excellent! Service is impeccable! The best seafood I've ever tasted!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had heard about GW Fins from Trip Adv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had heard about GW Fins from Trip Advisor where it is rated the #1 restaurant in New Orleans and I'm happy to say it didn't disappoint. I'll start by saying that we were very impressed with the service we got. We asked our waiter to recommend both appetizers as well as entree and he hit the mark! We enjoyed 2 appetizers(Lobster dumplings & BBQ shrimp) as well as shared a main course(Scalibut) and they were all to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is interesting. Blackened fish ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food is interesting. Blackened fish is excellent. Seafood is very fresh and the sauces and marinades do not overpower the freshness of the ingredients. The servers are very knowledgeable and are able to guide us in our orders.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Some of the best seafood we have had in ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Some of the best seafood we have had in a long time. Scallops were 10/10. Apple pie was another 10/10. Highly recommended.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dine here at least once a month since ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We dine here at least once a month since daily menu changes keep it interesting, though I've ordered just favorites several times.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience , everything was pe ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Wonderful experience , everything was perfect. The staff went out of there way to make sure our anniversary was very special. I definitely recommend this for restaurant for both locals and tourist.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was EXCELLENT. The menu offered ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food was EXCELLENT. The menu offered many choices. It was hard to decide. Everything sounded so good. We had a 7PM reservation & the dining room was not full but they still made us wait 15 minutes before seating us. Something I did not understand. Our waiter answered all our questions about the menu but you could tell he was put out about having to answer questions. Service was extremely slow. That being said, the food was so good that we will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Had a lovely anniversary dinner here. Bu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Had a lovely anniversary dinner here. Busy place so a little noisier than I'd like for a romantic dinner but the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was excellent. I had the red sn ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The food was excellent. I had the red snapper and my wife had the halibut. Both were great. They also brought biscuits around before meal and when the dish was empty a gentleman carrying a hot tray would replace with another. They were also wonderful. Staff very attentive but not overbearing. We will definitely go back!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with a dear friend to celebrate my ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Went with a dear friend to celebrate my last night in town, we went late and were the last two there. Food was awesome as always (my third time ther) We never felt rushed and we left happy and full of delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent local food. Wondefully seasone ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Excellent local food. Wondefully seasoned. Very personable.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Unfortunate. I had brought a couple o ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Unfortunate. I had brought a couple of colleagues after being there and loving my meal the last time I was in town. We were seated at a table to large to make conversation for a party of 3 easy. Additionally, our service was very poor for the type of establishment. Our waiter failed to bring our appetizers, suddenly our entrees were arriving. He also poorly compensated for the error, saying he didn't realize we wanted them rather than offering to bring them. He then never asked for another drink order, which we also would have appreciated. The only beverages came from the cocktails we brought with us from the bar while we waited for our table. He offered to comp dessert- no thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We had a great experience as first time ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We had a great experience as first time guests! Jason and Omar were prefect waiters! Would highly recommend GWFins!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Had yellowfin tuna and chicken skin wrap ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Had yellowfin tuna and chicken skin wrapped snapper. Both very good.

Salty malty dessert could be better. Smaller , thinner ice cream layer with little more crust might work. Or maybe multi layers. I'm really picky about desserts.

Great service. Tasty cocktails. I ate at the bar and had a very pleasant experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very delicious food, intimate atmosphere ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Very delicious food, intimate atmosphere, great service. Make sure you have a reservation, because it is very popular, and very close to bourbon street.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great French Quarter dining. Really enj ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great French Quarter dining. Really enjoyed the seafood offerings and the service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant was highly recommended t ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This restaurant was highly recommended to me. My husband and I went to New Orleans for a baby moon and absolutely loved it! From the food to the service, everything was amazing! Not to mention that we were running extremely late for our reservation, they were kind enough to save us a table. I would definitely go again if in New Orleans.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated a friend's 50th Birthday a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We celebrated a friend's 50th Birthday at our favorite restaurant, GW Fins, and as usual we were not disappointed! The food was delicious and Marlin was an exceptional waiter. We will definitely be back again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Innovative and fresh. Service staff very ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Innovative and fresh. Service staff very welcoming and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is the the BEST SEAFOOD restaurant ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This is the the BEST SEAFOOD restaurant in NOLA. Resist those restaurants that only offer fried seafood - there is SO MUCH more than that. Chef Tenney is amazing. This is a must visit restaurant. Food is spectacular and service is phenomenal. Ask for Ashton. Out favorite seafood restaurant for years!! SO worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food was delicious. What ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

As always, the food was delicious. What made our meal so outstanding was the impeccable service. The wait staff couldn't have been more accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The hostess's were not very pleasant. T ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The hostess's were not very pleasant. There are multiple fish options and not much variety otherwise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We have had dinner several times. Our ex ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We have had dinner several times. Our exerience is always exceptional. We heartily recommend Fin's.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time in New Orleans and out celebr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

First time in New Orleans and out celebrating a friends birthday. This restaurant was recommended to us and it didn't disappoint. The food, drinks and service was amazing, everything was so fresh! Would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting New Orleans, but book nice and early as it does get very busy!

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent fish options. Overall excelle ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent fish options. Overall excellent food and service and would return again. I thought the appetizers were small $15 for one crabcake- soups were more cup of soup than bowls- delicious but pricey. Main entrees were reasonable though.

Tags: romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nothing short of excellence. Phenomenal ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Nothing short of excellence. Phenomenal seafood restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another fantastic meal. Very consistentl ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Another fantastic meal. Very consistently fabulous!!!!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A MUST dining experience on New Orleans- ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

A MUST dining experience on New Orleans- I'm a Louisiana native and very critical of the cuisine- it was flawless! Ask for Marlin - he was an amazing server!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As I always say...GW FINS rocks. The fis ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

As I always say...GW FINS rocks. The fish is best in town. LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal of the week. Excellent servic ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Best meal of the week. Excellent service. Great wine list. Most flavorful and tender mussels I've ever had. A light creole tomato salad for a refreshing 2nd course. Parmesan encrusted sheepshead with capers was perfectly prepared. Room has a classy, understated elegance. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

he wait staff was excellent! I truly ap ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

he wait staff was excellent! I truly appreciated the dress code requirement and traditional table service. The wine list was extensive and offered every price point possible. I felt the salmon Carpaccio lacked in flavor and could stand to have a fleur de sal garnish to bring out the flavors of the fish a bit stronger. I also thought the Salmon app was over priced for the size offering.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was good but portions were very lit ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food was good but portions were very little for the money. You have to order a lot in order to get full which can be very pricey at this place. Service was excellent though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Food was great. Appetizers were as creat ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food was great. Appetizers were as creative as I've seen and well prepared except for the crab cakes. Like so many restaurants they are way too full of breadcrumbs. In the Pacific Northwest, they would have been sent back. Way too much breading. I will however be back, just won't have crab cakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We had lobster dumplings, mussels & Amer ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We had lobster dumplings, mussels & American Red Snapper. The food was wonderful. I would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.