About GW Fins

808 Bienville St.
New Orleans, LA 70112
View Larger Map

We hope our dress policy is comfortable for all. Coats and ties are not required. Slacks, dress jeans, dress shorts are great. We ask that gentlemen wear at least a collared shirt. T-shirts, cut off shorts, and athletic wear are not permitted. We ask Gentlemen to remove their hats in the Dining room.

Experience the cuisine that has created raving fans of local diners and national and local food critics alike. Chef Tenney Flynn (New Orleans magazine's 2004 and 2011 "Chef of the Year") ensures the highest quality seafood by flying in products from around the globe and featuring only the best from local waters - both at their seasonal peak. This commitment to freshness and quality are some of the many reasons GW Fins prints its menu daily. GW Fins has received numerous glowing reviews in The Times-Picayune (4 beans), Food & Wine, Southern Living and Esquire magazines. We look forward to serving you soon so we may learn what you think.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bourbon, Dauphine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 581-3467

Website:
http://www.gwfins.com/

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available for up to 3 hours at Premium Parking, located at 911 Iberville St.

Public Transit:
Bienville & Rampart

Executive Chef:
Michael Nelson

Private Party Facilities:
GW Fins' Private Dining Room has a maximum capacity of 30 people, however, we can accommodate 210 people for a sit down dinner and up to 350 for a cocktail reception with a buyout of the restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
George Elmer: 504-581-3467x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

GW Fins
GW Fins
GW Fins
GW Fins
GW Fins
GW Fins
GW Fins
Lobster Dumplings
Blue Crab Pot Stickers
Salty Malty Ice Cream Pie
Grilled John Dory W/ Lump Crab And Crispy Cappers
Fried Lobster Poboy
Gumbo
Fin Wings
Chicken Crusted Drum
Parmesan Crusted Sheepshead
Scalibut With Lobster Green Beans And Lobster Risotto
Parmesan Crusted Flounder with Jumbo Lump crab, Meyer lemon, asparagus, crispy capers, brown butter
Sautéed American Red Snapper with shrimp etouffée, Louisiana Jasmine rice, lobster butter
Wood Grilled Gulf Shrimp, Smoked pepper salsa, Chipotle butter
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake Appetizer
Mashed Sweet Potatoes with Bourbon, banana, brown sugar, vanilla bean
Pumpkin Seed Crusted Triggerfish with butternut squash risotto, Shiitakes, crispy leeks, sage brown butter
Smoked Sizzling Oysters
Blackened Redfish with crispy shrimp, spinach, mashed potatoes, roasted corn butter, chili hollandaise
Wood Grilled Butterfish with Pineapple Basil glaze, sweet potato hash, crispy plantains, roasted corn butter
Molten Chocolate Cake served with vanilla ice cream
Lobster Poboy
Lobster With Drawn Butter
Wood-grilled Columbia River Sturgeon with mascarpone polenta and puttanesca sauce
Wood Grilled Grouper with sweet corn spoonbread, crawfish tails, thin beans, maque choux
Sea Scallops With Mushroom Risotto
BBQ Shrimp
Crispy Soft Shell Crab
Black Bottom Pie
White Chocolate Caramel Bread Pudding
Seafood
#1 Yellowfin Tuna Tartare with avocado, mango, radish, wasabi
Honey Lavender Panna Cotta
Fried Lobster Tails
Sautéed Jolt Snapper with Brie and white truffle macaroni, Maine lobster, Sugar Snap peas, lobster butter
Oysters
Fried Calamari
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)
strawberry shortcake
Jolt Snapper With Corn Cake And Crawfish
Wood Grilled Pompano
Apple Pie
Parmesan Crusted Flounder with Jumbo Lump crab, asparagus, crispy capers, brown butter
lobster pot
Crab Potstickers
White Chocolate Bread Pudding
Grilled Shrimps
Chargrilled Oysters
Yellowfin Tuna Tartare
Baked Salmon With Mashed Potatoes And Corn
Grouper With Mashed Potatoes, Corn And Fried Plantains
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake
Wild Mushroom Ravioli
Hot Chocolate Cake
Sauteed Black Grouper with tomato and lobster risotto
Compressed Watermelon Salad
Butterfish with sweet potato hash
Parmesan Crusted Drum
Molten Chocolate Cake
Pork Belly
Tripletail
Lobster Bisque
Lemonfish
Apple pie with cheddar cheese top crust, served with vanilla ice cream
Lobster Rolls
Triple Iceberg Wedgie
Sauteed Tripletail
Crispy Lobster Tail W/ Remoulade And Drawn Butter
Sauvignon Blanc
Biscuit
Barbeque Shrimp with Louisiana long grain rice, ciabatta crouton
Lobster & Ravioli
Blackened Redfish
Baby Arugula Salad with bruleed figs
Short Smoked Scottish Salmon with mashed potatoes, thin bean succotash, roasted corn butter
Wood-grilled pompano with three-melon salsa
Baked Lobster stuffed with deviled crab
Sauteed American Red Snapper with shrimp etouffee & mashed potatoes
Sauteed John Dory with sticky rice, bok choy, beech mushrooms, lemongrass beurre blanc
Grouper
Wood Grilled New Bedford Sea Scallops
Scallibut
Drum Fish
Escolar Crudo
Sauvignon Blanc By Supernatural
Scalibut
Blackened Swordfish
Creme Brulee With Fresh Berries
Steamed Oysters
Pecan Pie
Domaine Chandon
Biscuits
Pimm's Cup
Spinach Salad

GW Fins Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Food
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Service
New Orleans / Louisiana
10 More
Fit for Foodies
New Orleans / Louisiana
Seafood
New Orleans / Louisiana
Most Booked
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Overall
New Orleans
Best Food
New Orleans
Best Service
New Orleans
Best Value
New Orleans
Fit for Foodies
New Orleans
Notable Wine List
New Orleans
Most Booked
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in French Quarter ›

Special Occasion (455)
Fit for Foodies (410)
Romantic (323)
See All
Notable Wine List (223)
Good for Groups (187)
Neighborhood Gem (169)
Hot Spot (160)
Vibrant Bar Scene (70)
Great for Lunch (37)
Late-night Find (37)
Scenic View (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
Kid-friendly (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Business Meals (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
5977 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food! Will definitely return in th ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food! Will definitely return in the future

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Wasabi wahoo was incredible!! We all tho ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Wasabi wahoo was incredible!! We all thoroughly enjoyed the food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, fresh seafood excellent balance o ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great, fresh seafood excellent balance o options on menu, and outstanding service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed in the meal. Not sure ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very disappointed in the meal. Not sure if they changed chefs but the dishes are not what they used to be. The tilefish was over cooked and dry. Very disappointing as I am usually a big fan of GW Fins.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

We dine at GW Fins at least 6 times a ye ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

We dine at GW Fins at least 6 times a year. They have an excellent wine menu but are lacking in Champagne. They, do, however, have a very generous corking fee should you choose to bring your own bottle of wine or Champagne.

Tags: Hot Spot, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch!! Second time there and hopef ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Top notch!! Second time there and hopefully many more when we come through New Orleans. Probably our most favorite place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

service was amazing but food was ehhh. D ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 5 days ago

service was amazing but food was ehhh. Didn't knock my shoes off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Very accommodating for those who are glu ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very accommodating for those who are gluten free. Excellent food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Place is fantastic.

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 5 days ago

Place is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Restaurant puts open table guests in sec ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Restaurant puts open table guests in secluded room with little character and ambiance. I suggest skipping this restaurant as there are plenty of other fine establishments in New Orleans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

Great food, service and atmosphere. Can ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, service and atmosphere. Can't wait for return visit to try something different.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I and our two kids, ages 7 a ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I and our two kids, ages 7 and 6 had a great meal at GW Fins last week. It's a beautiful space and the food wonderful. My wife and I split the lobster dumpling appetizer and I had the Scalibut and she had the tempura friend whole Sea Bass. There were literally 10 entrees on the menu I wanted to try and I look forward to returning on our next trip to New Orleans.

I also want to mention how great they treated our kids. They gave them coloring when we walked in and made them a pasta dish for dinner. It's always nice when you have kids with you and you can still have a fine dining meal. It was much appreciated!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit after years being told b ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our first visit after years being told by friends that this was a 'must place' when in New Orleans. Everything on the menu looked inviting, food and service were the best. GW Fins is now one of our "must place to dine when in New Orleans"

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service awesome!! We would go b ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food and service awesome!! We would go back every night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anything here is great

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

Anything here is great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the outset, the service was excelle ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

From the outset, the service was excellent. We were seated in a great booth with a view and treated like royalty. The fish is prepared perfectly, and the wine advice was great. We enjoyed every aspect of our meal and would definitely recommend GW Fins for great seafood in the French Quarter!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was terrific..!!! We are very p ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was terrific..!!! We are very picky when it comes to food preparation, presentation and service. GW Fins far exceeded our expectations. The wine choices are vast and the service was amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

They food was outstanding and the assist ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

They food was outstanding and the assistant manager came 2 ask how was service. I felt spec0

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Oh my gosh, this was amazing. Our server ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Oh my gosh, this was amazing. Our server, Jake, was very patient while we debated about wine and cocktails. The lobster dumplings were delicious, and I thoroughly enjoyed my main course and dessert. I try to never eat at the same restaurant twice in this city but I can honestly say that I will be back. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was knowledgeable and very re ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Our waiter was knowledgeable and very responsive. He helped me select a fantastic bottle of Pinot Noir. I think it was called Land of Promise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose GW Fins because of on-line revi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We chose GW Fins because of on-line reviews. What we found lived up to the recommendation s,. The restaurant was a tastefully decorated and despite its open seating, remarkably quiet. Every dish we had was delicious, from the Firecracker Tuna Taco appetizers and soft-shell crab, to an extensive wine list, to their famous Scalibut, to the Parmesan Crusted Drum. In every case the entrees were artfully prepared and presented in unique ways. I googdchoice for anyone, including those who aren't fans of the usual seafood places.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our meal was exceptional, I must have ta ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Our meal was exceptional, I must have talked about my experience at GW fins with everyone who asked about my trip. It was by far the best meal I had while in NOLA our server was so attentive, he never missed about and even recommended one of the best apple pies I've ever eaten. The scalibut was a perfectly cooked dish, there wasn't a highlight on the dish as all ingredients blended together perfectly. I wish we had this restaurant locally and will always be a stop while in NOLA! Thank you to our server and chefs for making our anniversary dinner specatuclar!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a great experience for my girlfrie ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I had a great experience for my girlfriend's birthday dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fins always manages to meet or exceed ou ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Fins always manages to meet or exceed our expect ions with incredible food and excellent fine dining service without any pretence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service outstanding. Food was great. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Service outstanding. Food was great. I am a life-long New Orleans resident & have eaten at most of our wonderful restaurants. This place deserves a spot in the top restaurants of New Orleans.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an early evening dinner and the a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had an early evening dinner and the ambiance , food and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorites and never disappoin ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

One of our favorites and never disappoints. Was able to book a table through website for dinner before the Frankie Valli concert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was somewhat skeptical about this plac ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I was somewhat skeptical about this place since it had mostly great reviews but the bad ones were really bad. I thought the food was very good, service was good too. Portions were just right. Some items on the menu, I thought were a bit overpriced.

We got there early because several reviews said that they had to wait to be seated. We had a concert to attend and did not want to be late. They seated us promptly.

By the time the place filled it was very loud. Like many new restaurants, it does not have much in the way of sound deadening.

I think it's a good place to try. I don't know if I'll return since there are so many other great paces to eat in New Orleans.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

If you are looking for a high-end restau ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

If you are looking for a high-end restaurant to enjoy a really great meal this is the place! The chef even brought my fish tacos out to the table! The waiters were funny and courteous and the food was perfect. Thank you for making our visit down from DC so special. We will be back again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful staff and the food is amazing

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wonderful staff and the food is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the best meal ever. Pompano was ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had the best meal ever. Pompano was delicious. Service was great. We will return as often as possible.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love GW Finns. We tell everyo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We always love GW Finns. We tell everyone who will listen that this is the very best seafood restaurant in New Orleans. Everything we get is always so good and the service is fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous service in a lovely setting. My ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fabulous service in a lovely setting. My only slightly negative comment would regard the lobster dumplings; they were good but not outstanding as I had expected. The scallibut was truly divine though! I would definitely return to GW Fins.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Absolutely delicious seafood with lots o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Absolutely delicious seafood with lots of authentic local cuisine. The bbq shrimp and goats cheese grits were particularly delicious! Excellent service too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we've never been disappointed with a sin ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

we've never been disappointed with a single meal here. Never.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I've loved this restaurant each of the m ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I've loved this restaurant each of the many times that I've visited. This time I ordered a snapper dish that I didn't care for. The fish had very little if any seasoning and sat on an okra mixture. It wasn't my thing. Everything else has been delicious, so I will definitely go there again. I'll just check the description of the dish a little closer.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my top three favorite meals of al ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

One of my top three favorite meals of all time. The Parmesan crusted drum was absolutely incredible. It's not a surprise why this restaurant is rated top on Trip Advisor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience! The food w ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Wonderful dining experience! The food was delicious, and the service was exceptional. Our meal was followed with the best bread pudding I have ever tasted.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best seafood restaurants I ha ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

One of the best seafood restaurants I have ever frequented. I have been going to GW Fins since they opened and cannot say enough about the food and the service. Everything from appetizer to dessert is executed with precision and detail ensuring that every dish is amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pork belly appetizer was amazing! Highly ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Pork belly appetizer was amazing! Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.