Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 107 times today

GW Fins

4.8
9486 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
We hope our dress policy is comfortable for all. Coats and ties are not required. Slacks, dress jeans, and dress shorts are great. We require that gentlemen wear at least a collared shirt. T-shirts, cut off shorts, and athletic wear are not permitted. We ask Gentlemen to remove their hats in the Dining room.

Experience the cuisine that has created raving fans of local diners and national and local food critics alike. Chef Tenney Flynn and Executive Chef Mike Nelson ensure the highest quality seafood by flying in products from around the globe and featuring only the best from local waters - both at their seasonal peak. This commitment to freshness and quality are some of the many reasons GW Fins prints its menu daily. GW Fins has received numerous glowing reviews in The Times-Picayune, Food & Wine, Southern Living, and Esquire magazines. We look forward to serving you soon so we may learn what you think.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(504) 581-3467
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Michael Nelson
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
GW Fins' Private Dining Room has a maximum capacity of 30 people, however, we can accommodate 210 people for a sit down dinner and up to 350 for a cocktail reception with a buyout of the restaurant.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Sarah Hidalgo: (504) 581-3467
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Bourbon, Dauphine
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Validated parking is available for up to 3 hours at Premium Parking, located at 911 Iberville St.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Bienville & Rampart
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 9486 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.8
service
4.7
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 11 hours ago

My wife and I have traveled all throughout the country and world searching for great food... We have ate at the best restaurants in Rome, Barcelona, France, Chicago, San Francisco etc... GW Fins was one of the best experiences with food and service we have ever experienced. Both of our meals were cooked to perfection, and the Lion Fish appetizer was something I had never seen on any menu, and it did not disappoint. “Alan and Fallon” were our servers. Both had excellent recommendations and professionalism. Fallon in particular had a great line that had my wife laughing almost to tears... before our entree’s came out she swapped out her silverware and said “Fresh Weapons my lady”... superior food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined a day ago

Great food, great service and a nice dessert for our friends' anniversary celebration.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

GW Fins never disappoints! The food is always outstanding. Our server, Tory, was fantastic. She didn’t miss a beat and was extremely engaging through the entire meal. This will always be one of my favorites!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Always perfection! Best food in Nola!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and service. The scalibut was outstanding, different and delicious. Our server, Marlon, was excellent, knowledgeable and attentive. This was an outstanding restaurant in the French Quarter, better than any more well -known places. Also, don’t miss the salty pretzel Vanilla pie.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Great food, service, experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant had been recommended by multiple people - very upscale graceful ambience & amazing food presentation! A definite must for an evening out!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Best food ever. The lobster dumplings, Gruper, and Halibut with scallops was unbelievable. Will definitely be back again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We chose this restaurant mainly based on the reviews we saw and we were not disappointed! Every part of the meal was fabulous and the Scalibut is one of the best and most unique dishes we've ever had. I would absolutely come back here again, and highly recommend this to anyone looking for a first class experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Excellent fish and great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Food was very tasty (fresh and seasonal) and the service was prompt and helpful. Noise level was a little loud, but that may just mean everyone was enjoying themselves! We went for a birthday and everyone from the hostess, to the server, to the manager stopped by to congratulate the birthday girl which was nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Excellent as always

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

Food was creative but average on the palate. Same food I get in any major high end restaurant in America. Not very Cajun or Creole. Simply high priced continental fare. Service is fabulous. Overall , not a great value. K Paul's is much better. BTW...the French Quarter still smells like a toilet. Why cant this city clean up its act. Disgusting. It is like eating in a toilet.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

A very enjoyable meal—one of the best steaks I have ever had. Service was also excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

great food, even better service! Wide selection of drink options from the bar. Did I mention the biscuits are addicting?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Fantastic choice in the French Quarter. They even printed a commemorative menu with our names on it for our anniversary. Food and service were excellent!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Wow, what amazing food. We had heard it was good it exceeded our expectations! Our waiter Fallon was so professional and described every dish, pros and cons based on what we said we liked. Must recommend the soft shell crab appetizer then the drum fish cover in crunchy chicken skin - sounds crazy but try it!! This will be our restaurant every trip back to NO. Fine dinning but guys can wear nice shorts with a collard shirt.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

I eat there all the time and never been disappointed food great, service great nice atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

As always when I visit New Orleans, GW Fins is my first restaurant I go to, it was absolutely phenomenal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

First time at “Fins”. Lived up to all expectations. Definitely a return in future.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

This place is a must, the food and service are unparalleled, top notch for sure!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

GW Fins a Jewel for an Upscale seafood restaurant . Everything about it was Awesome! Can't wait to return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Popular, lively place with fresh food and fabulous service. If you don't have a reservation, be prepared to wait at least 45 minutes. But if you can find a place at the bar, you can put your name on the list for a spot in there (as opposed to the main dining room) where the full menu is available.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Staff was helpful. Food arrived quickly, nice upbeat vibe for all adult ages. Decor modern enough yet very comfortable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Excellent meal and service !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

GW Fins was outstanding. The food was excellent and the service was simply outstanding. Our waiter made numerous recommendations that were excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 17, 2018

The food was very good and creative and the chef prepared a special vegan plate for my husband.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Fallon was our server and she was delightful.... look forward to getting back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Excellent food, great service, special occasion made extra special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Amazing meal and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Very good food! I would definitely return. We had reservations at 8PM and it was little noisy for me.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Great food, waiter was awesome, sorry can’t remember his name.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Our favorite restaurant of the five top rated restaurants we visited on our recent trip to New Orleans. The contemporary ambience, the food, the drinks, the friendly yet professional service - everything exceeded our expectations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Super delicious! Highly recommend. Service was top notch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Incredible service and food! We were there for our 15th wedding anniversary and we were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

We were directed to this restaurant by the great online reviews and we were not disappointed. The entire experience was excellent from the service to the food to the table decorations at our table to mark the birthday we were celebrating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Tempura fin wings are a do not miss!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Lots of delicious seafood options in a gorgeous setting. Enjoyed the salmon carpaccio, cobia crudo, salads, seared tuna. Very good food, but lacks originality, and service is great but a bit overbearing (think cruise ship). Overall enjoyable!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Great seafood and great service. I had the house special, scalibut, which was great. Hubby had swordfish--also very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Food and service was tremendous. The malty salty ice cream pie was to die for!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
238

Tweets by GW Fins