Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

About GW Fins

We hope our dress policy is comfortable for all. Coats and ties are not required. Slacks, dress jeans, dress shorts are great. We ask that gentlemen wear at least a collared shirt. T-shirts, cut off shorts, and athletic wear are not permitted. We ask Gentlemen to remove their hats in the Dining room.

Experience the cuisine that has created raving fans of local diners and national and local food critics alike. Chef Tenney Flynn (New Orleans magazine's 2004 and 2011 "Chef of the Year") ensures the highest quality seafood by flying in products from around the globe and featuring only the best from local waters - both at their seasonal peak. This commitment to freshness and quality are some of the many reasons GW Fins prints its menu daily. GW Fins has received numerous glowing reviews in The Times-Picayune (4 beans), Food & Wine, Southern Living and Esquire magazines. We look forward to serving you soon so we may learn what you think.

808 Bienville St.
New Orleans, LA 70112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bourbon, Dauphine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 581-3467

Website:
http://www.gwfins.com/

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available for up to 3 hours at Premium Parking, located at 911 Iberville St.

Public Transit:
Bienville & Rampart

Executive Chef:
Michael Nelson

Private Party Facilities:
GW Fins' Private Dining Room has a maximum capacity of 30 people, however, we can accommodate 210 people for a sit down dinner and up to 350 for a cocktail reception with a buyout of the restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
George Elmer: (504) 581-3467

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

GW Fins Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (340)
Good for a Date (312)
Good for Anniversaries (279)
See All
Fit for Foodies (255)
Creative Cuisine (244)
Romantic (218)
Local Ingredients (209)
Good for Birthdays (180)
Notable Wine List (166)
Business Meals (143)
Modern Decor (118)
Authentic (111)
Worth the Drive (106)
Neighborhood Gem (98)
Good for Groups (96)
Hot Spot (91)
Handcrafted Cocktails (85)
Quiet Conversation (76)
Pre/post Theatre (69)
Fun (63)
Cozy (59)
Bar Seating (53)
Healthy (43)
People Watching (39)
Casual (35)
Seasonal (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
Outstanding Value (30)
Historic (26)
Comfort Food (22)
Gluten Free Options (20)
Tasting Menu (19)
Molecular Gastronomy (17)
Great for Lunch (15)
Family Style (15)
Private Room (12)
Scenic View (11)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Organic (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Spicy (5)
Great Beer (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Vegan (2)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
7429 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food and service. Great location We had scalibut and blue tuna. Both were wonderful. creme brûlée is a must.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Very friendly from the moment we entered. Our waitress, Nicole and the support staff were Outstanding. We Will be back soon and Will ask for her again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

We started with the crab cake & crispy pork belly, both were excellent. I'd definitely have the pork belly again. My husband had the Scalibut with lobster risotto...so good. And I had the Blackened Grouper, which was also so good. Everything we tried was delicious. The only negative thing I would have to say is that we were only offered one biscuit each during our entire dinner. I could have eaten ten, for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome! The lobster dumplings and the biscuits were heavenly!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Food is top notch every time. Service is fabulous. Can be noisy at times. My go to place for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was amazing! From appetizers to deserts every bite was a treasure. Service was great and cocktails were top drawer. We were in from D.C. And this restaurant is one reason we can't wait to come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Seasonal, Healthy, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great time. A very friendly and accommodating staff. The food got out extremely fast...maybe a little too fast. Overall a fun night and would recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

A spectacular meal with great service by Jason and his crew.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, great server, relatively quick service.
The menu offerings are unique and special. Overall, very delicious food at a very fair price point.

For appetizers, I had the smoke sizzling oysters and it was very tasty. Sweetness from the big fresh oysters with smoky favour combining with the sauce and sizzling inside the shells made a perfect combo. Crispy pork belly melt in my mouth and the watermelon help to round out the favour.

As for entree, Scalibut was brilliant and excellent while the Blue Fin Tuna was fresh and meaty, which I'd suggest to pair with a medium to full body red wine.
The decor is contemporary and atmosphere is lively but not chaotic. Service staffs were super friend and helpful. I enjoyed the wine recommendation.

5/5 and highly recommended. Reservation is a wise move.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

I am visiting from Wisconsin for 4 nights and have booked dinner here for ALL 4! Enough said - the BEST!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Delightful evening! The service and food was impeccable.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Definitely one of the best restaurants in New Orleans for the freshest seafood. The service here is outstanding. Attentive, knowledgeable staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Lovely ambience. Food was excellent. Our waiter, Jason, was welcoming and very knowledgeable. He went out of his way to be sure we were taken care of. Nice evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

They made my son's 21st birthday one he'll never forget. Confetti decorated our table upon arrival and the food and service were over the top.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

We LOVE GW fins. One of our Favorite restaurants in NOLA! Unique and flavorful and tons of options for every palate. Extensive wine menu as well!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Overall a very good experience. Food and Service was great. Only disappointment was the signature cocktail we chose. Expensive with little to no alcohol in the drink. We made the switch to Wine and that was certainly better. Recommend you stay away from the poured drinks and go with a wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

I am happy to review this restaurant because the food is really delicious. We had our choice of many places in New Orleans and chose to return a second time because it was so good. First night we had the tuna tartar followed by blackened swordfish and the second time we shared the salmon. They were willing to split our meal (light eaters) and don't miss the dessert.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edinburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Great if rushed service - 10 minutes between starter and main. Capacity crowd pleaser but there are many more unique and delicious offerings located nearby.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Scalibut is absolutely amazing. Old fashions were excellent also.

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I met friends in New Orleans for four nights, and we had planned-out our restaurants in advance. We all have been to New Orleans many times and enjoy the variety of eateries. Our friends recommended G.W. Finns, an upscale restaurant in the French Quarter. They had one of their best meals at the restaurant a couple of years ago. The menu is oriented toward creative seafood dishes with a distinct Louisiana flare.

We ordered the Sizzling Oyster and Barbecued Shrimp appetizers. They were both excellent. Our entrees were the Blackened Swordfish, Parmesan Crusted Sheepshead fish, and the Scalibut. All three were fantastic. The Swordfish was cooked to perfection, not over seasoned, and moist. The service was relaxed and friendly. but attentive. The dining room decor was very nice. I, my wife, and our friends all agreed that GW Fins served the best meal of the trip.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

By far, one of the best dinners ever. From the minute we walked in the door until we left, the evening was perfect. Service is attentive but not intrusive. Food is amazing. Blue fin tuna was to die for! Can't say enough about this place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

We had the best meal EVER at GW Finns. My blackened red snapper was excellent; the best I have had. My husband's and my friend's blackened swordfish was also the best they have every had. My other friend had crab cakes. The starter biscuits are amazing. Loved the seating arrangement; very Las Vegas like. Overall, a wonderful experience, meal, and evening.

(My only issue might be that our waiter, Oliver, grabbed our bill quickly without a thank you or acknowledgement of our patronage or tip or a good bye. Didn't like that.)

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

Fabulous food & Outstanding service. Will definitely be back next time in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Superlative service, fresh fish dishes tastefully presented.. so glad I found this place. We will return

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The cuisine was superb and the quality and service was as superior as I have experienced. I would recommend this restaurant to locals and visitors alike for business, pleasure and special occasions. This chef and his staff really "get it."

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Panama)·Dined on April 17, 2017

New Orleans is noted for great cuisine and this one lives up to the crescent city's reputation. If you think you are not a fan of seafood, once you grace the doors of this well respected establishment, you will certainly have a new appreciation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Fallon was a great waitress, with great suggestions, and we loved the drum with chicken skin, and the wedge salad, chicken breast, and the appetizer cobia with thai sauce!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 17, 2017

One of our favorites in New Orleans!!! The food is always amazing and our service was 6 star!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Gw finns is my favorite place to eat in New Orleans!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We travel to New Orleans at least once a year and have for several years now. We had never heard of GW Fins until a friend checked in there just a week before our most recent trip there. She raved about it and we were looking for a nice date night spot for my birthday dinner, so we immediately made reservations. This place is just steps off of bourbon st buy you'd never know it once you walked in. SUPER nice, such friendly staff, absolutely amazing food!!! This is a MUST if you're looking for something a little more classy than Willie's Fried Chicken or pizza (however those are an after bar must too). We will absolutely come back here every trip from now on and recommend this to everyone!! It's amazing!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I couldn't say enough nice things about GW Fins. It was our first time there and we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. The food was absolutely amazing. It was delicious, creative, fresh and extraordinary. You couldn't top the service we received. They had a beautiful table decorated with glitter and confetti and a menu printed with a personal message to my husband and I, congratulating our anniversary. Our waiter was the most professional and pleasant we have had the pleasure to expeirence. The ambiance is classy and cheerful. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel special, but they did it with ease. The staff told us they love the management and the owners which truly reflected in their conduct and treatment of the customers.

We look forward to dining there again and would highly recommend it to anyone in New Orleans area. They deserve all the great reviews they receive.

Tags: Organic, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Another great meal at GW Finns! Great service. Always a creative menu with fresh seafood.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Cousin's Birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We were very excited to dine at GW Fins based on a friends recommendation. Everything went well until the next morning when my wife and I both became ill. We had the same exact same thing, bbq shrimp, lobster ravioli, and the scalibut. The food wasn't hot but it wasn't that warm either when it came out. Based on our sickness I'm pretty sure we will not return. We live 75 miles away and visit NOLA frequently, we were hoping for a better outcome.
As a follow up, Mike Nelson,executive chef, responded to my concerns and could not have been more genuinely concerned about our experience. I am very appreciative and will have to give GW Fins another shot the next time we are in NOLA. Thank you Mike for taking time on your day off to get back to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Omg. It was the best service, food I have ever had in my life. I am over 50 and consider myself a foodie. Crazy good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was fantastic. My mom really enjoyed her meal. However the wait staff wasn't as friendly. He wasn't rude, but wasn't engaging.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Declious food and reasonable priced for the quality.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Best ever! Scalibut was so good. Also tried the Cobia and it did not disappoint.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We really enjoyed, the service and the foods was absolutely amazing. We will tell all our friends and family from the Turks and Caicos Islands!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.