Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

About GW Fins

We hope our dress policy is comfortable for all. Coats and ties are not required. Slacks, dress jeans, dress shorts are great. We ask that gentlemen wear at least a collared shirt. T-shirts, cut off shorts, and athletic wear are not permitted. We ask Gentlemen to remove their hats in the Dining room.

Experience the cuisine that has created raving fans of local diners and national and local food critics alike. Chef Tenney Flynn (New Orleans magazine's 2004 and 2011 "Chef of the Year") ensures the highest quality seafood by flying in products from around the globe and featuring only the best from local waters - both at their seasonal peak. This commitment to freshness and quality are some of the many reasons GW Fins prints its menu daily. GW Fins has received numerous glowing reviews in The Times-Picayune (4 beans), Food & Wine, Southern Living and Esquire magazines. We look forward to serving you soon so we may learn what you think.

808 Bienville St.
New Orleans, LA 70112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bourbon, Dauphine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 581-3467

Website:
http://www.gwfins.com/

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available for up to 3 hours at Premium Parking, located at 911 Iberville St.

Public Transit:
Bienville & Rampart

Executive Chef:
Michael Nelson

Private Party Facilities:
GW Fins' Private Dining Room has a maximum capacity of 30 people, however, we can accommodate 210 people for a sit down dinner and up to 350 for a cocktail reception with a buyout of the restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
George Elmer: (504) 581-3467

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

GW Fins Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (358)
Good for a Date (302)
Good for Anniversaries (273)
See All
Fit for Foodies (271)
Creative Cuisine (264)
Local Ingredients (236)
Romantic (228)
Notable Wine List (180)
Good for Birthdays (177)
Business Meals (168)
Worth the Drive (121)
Authentic (119)
Neighborhood Gem (105)
Good for Groups (98)
Hot Spot (96)
Quiet Conversation (95)
Handcrafted Cocktails (93)
Fun (80)
Modern Decor (65)
Cozy (63)
Pre/post Theatre (61)
Bar Seating (59)
Seasonal (39)
Healthy (38)
People Watching (36)
Casual (36)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Gluten Free Options (23)
Comfort Food (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Tasting Menu (17)
Paleo Friendly (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Historic (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Scenic View (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Disabled Access (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Private Room (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great Beer (5)
Family Style (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Spicy (3)
Organic (3)
Live Music (2)
Vegan (2)
Tapas (2)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
7868 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 hours ago

Javon provided excellent service. Everything was wonderful. Had Tuna Tartare, Sacllibut and King Salmon. All was cooked to perfection. Service, food and wine all excellent. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined a day ago

Great barbecue shrimp and lobster dumplings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 2 days ago

The service and food were above expectations. We can't say enough nice things about them. However, we were seated by a group of 8 who were loud, drunk and full of profanity. The manager did come over once and ask them to stop using the F bomb. But that didn't stop them. This group, and the management's unwillingness to control them, degraded our dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We went to GW Fins on my birthday and everything was exceptional!
The food was delicious, the service was excellent and the restaurant itself was wonderful!

I would surely recommand it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

We started by sharing a crab cake which was great. I had their Sacalabit ( Halabit with seared scallops on it. This was great. My wife had the drum fish which was also great. They serve hot biscuits which are also very good. The service was very good which made it an enjoyable dinner out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Incredible. My girlfriend and I loved our experience at GW Fins. Top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We had been in New Orleans for 3 days and had many great meals but GW Fins was by far the best dinning and social experience we had during our stay. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

My favorite seafood restaurant which rates next to Milos in NYC.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was simply fabulous. Next time I am in New Orleans I go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Great dinner. We were seated promptly. Wait staff was polite but very busy. The restaurant was loud. We started with lobster rolls. They were very good. My husband had a filet and I the scalibut. Both were good. We had the bread pudding for dessert and it was the highlight of the meal. Absolutely wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Spectacular dining experiences. Had the Prix Fixe menu at $48 each and a bargain bottle of Perrier Juoet at $70. Great food and service

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful meal that was one of the highlights of our trip. The food was fantastic and worthy of the rave reviews I had read.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic food and fantastic service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful service and even better food! Will definitely be dreaming about the biscuits.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food was exceptional, service great. The atmosphere was a bit too 'stuffy' for my tastes, but it was very nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I was really looking forward to trying this restaurant since it was rated #1 on several travelling sites. The food was amazing but I was quite disappointed with the service... I was on my own and I had a reservation at 9:45 pm. It was like everyone was finishing up with their earlier tables and I was in the middle of it all, barely getting noticed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Appetizer list was not impressive.

The Swordfish entree was amazing and the biscuits were unique

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Love this place. Pork belly appetizer was delicious along with bluefin tuna entree. This is a must when in New Orleans. I am never disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great spot for our anniversary dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food, service and experience was everything you would expect from a New Orleans restaurant. The seafood was perfectly prepared, and I loved the unique pairing of the "scallibut" that had thinly sliced scallops on top of a halibut filet. The flavors paired so well I thought it was supposed to be that way.

If you don't do dessert, please make an exception with the salty malty ice cream cake. Best dessert I had in my time in NOLA. We were very happy with our meal and will recommend this to our foodie friends who head to the South looking for a great meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 14, 2017

GW Fins certainly lived up to its hype. This restaurant is a top 10 on every list that I've read, in regards to top New Orleans restaurants. Excellent food and even better service. Could not have had a better dining experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Best food in New Orleans and that is saying A LOT! We've eaten here several times and it only gets better. The staff never lets us down, they all are so knowledgeable and helpful. Our waiter Nick was an exceptional host, he did everything to make our evening perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Everything was FABULOUS!! We started with crab pot stickers and lobster dumplings and neither disappointed. I had the scalibut and it was seriously one of the most delicious meals I've ever had !! My husband had the snapper and loved it. One of our servers had never eaten any of the food which we thought was too bad. We actually paid for him to have a meal on his free time. My husband comes from a 10 year background in the food industry and this should be a given at a place as reputable as this. Overall we both give it 5/5 stars. Amazing food !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Amazing service and food was equally as good, would go back again and recommend to friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Chef inspired dishes, I received great attention, and the food was amazing. I am always in search of a chef willing to speak to guest from the kitchen and it was a great conversation through empty plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Our meal was perfection and our service was even better. We've eaten in Michelin star and fine dining restaurants around the world and Jason was one of the best servers we've ever had. The proper balance of professionalism and personality. Greeted me with a handshake and thanked me at the end with a handshake. Most importantly steered our choices with excellent suggestions.

The pork belly app is melt in your mouth. The scalibut and mangrove snapper were both prepared perfectly. The wine selections were appropriate. Our only regret is that we were on a time constraint and couldn't spend the whole evening trying everything on the menu. We would recommend to anyone visiting New Orleans as a must for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I enjoyed GW Fins a lot. I came to celebrate my girlfriends birthday, and she loved it!! would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 12, 2017

It's a very pretty room. Unfortunately we didn't get to experience it because we were shuffled off to a side room where we experienced a bit of a service breakdown. The food was very good and I would give the place another try.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Seafood here is "good as it gets." Everything we ate was ultra fresh and exceptional in taste. Excellent cocktails, an innovative wine list, and a very professional staff added to a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Excellent meal and service. Food was presented beautifully and tasted so fresh and delicious. Definately a prime choice when visiting NOLA.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 10, 2017

I can not say enough good things about this place. The food, drinks, service and everything was excellent. It was all top notch and would be first on my list to go back if I were to return to the city!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 10, 2017

I took my husband for dinner for his birthday. They had a wonderful booth ( our favorite) ready for us with decorative confetti in the middle of the table.
Also gave my husband a menu with his name and the date. It was presented as a really beautiful scroll.

The food was excellent and service was very good and professional!
They presented a plate with Happy Birthday wishes in chocolate with 1 burning candle. How beautifully exquisite!

Loved the whole experience.
Thank you

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The waiter was awful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great food & service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The food at G W Fins is spectacular!!! We r from NYC and was blown away on how good the food was here, especially the Crispy Pork Belly, Lobster Dumplings and Scalibut. This is our second time here and it didn't disappoint. The food here is equal to a food organism.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The food is magnificent. The last two times that I've been in town, I've eaten at GW Finn, but this was the least impressive. I made sure my waiter knew I needed gluten free but the dessert had cake at the bottom. Additionally, the decaf coffee I ordered kept me awake until 2:30am. I'm disappointed in those two things but the meal was so good that I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 9, 2017

One of the best meals we've ever had. We can't wait to go back to New Orleans and eat here again.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My two friends and I had an amazing meal last weekend. Everything was great from the waiter to the hostess. The food was amazing and fresh. The wine list is perfect, with lots of choices. Overall great experience one of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great good. Service was great...Gary was our waiter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I enjoyed my dining experience at G.W. Fins. First, My date and I were going to be late for our initial reservation time, and they were able to find us another time slot quickly. As far as ambiance, the restaurant is quite trendy and upscale. The lighting is soft and fun, giving a romantic feeling, but not overly so. It's a great spot for group outings and celebrations with close friends. The food? Also tasty. Just make sure you like seafood, because this is the majority of the menu. Extensive wine list. Our waiters were very attentive, quick, and friendly. The only thing that was somewhat of a bother was that biscuits were presented continuously throughout the meal. I would have preferred to Just be presented with a basket at the beginning of the meal, rather than being interrupted every 10 minutes with one more single biscuit. But they were delicious, as was the dinner itself. Overall, My husband and I had a great experience. It's not our favorite restaurant in Nola, but it was very nicr and we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.