About GW Fins

808 Bienville St.
New Orleans, LA 70112
View Larger Map

We hope our dress policy is comfortable for all. Coats and ties are not required. Slacks, dress jeans, dress shorts are great. We ask that gentlemen wear at least a collared shirt. T-shirts, cut off shorts, and athletic wear are not permitted. We ask Gentlemen to remove their hats in the Dining room.

Experience the cuisine that has created raving fans of local diners and national and local food critics alike. Chef Tenney Flynn (New Orleans magazine's 2004 and 2011 "Chef of the Year") ensures the highest quality seafood by flying in products from around the globe and featuring only the best from local waters - both at their seasonal peak. This commitment to freshness and quality are some of the many reasons GW Fins prints its menu daily. GW Fins has received numerous glowing reviews in The Times-Picayune (4 beans), Food & Wine, Southern Living and Esquire magazines. We look forward to serving you soon so we may learn what you think.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5:00pm - 10:00pm Friday & Saturday 5:00pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Bourbon, Dauphine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 581-3467

Website:
http://www.gwfins.com/

Parking Details:
Validated parking is available for up to 3 hours at Premium Parking, located at 911 Iberville St.

Public Transit:
Bienville & Rampart

Executive Chef:
Michael Nelson

Private Party Facilities:
GW Fins' Private Dining Room has a maximum capacity of 30 people, however, we can accommodate 210 people for a sit down dinner and up to 350 for a cocktail reception with a buyout of the restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
George Elmer: (504) 581-3467

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

GW Fins Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (316)
Good for a Date (280)
Good for Anniversaries (243)
See All
Fit for Foodies (229)
Creative Cuisine (206)
Good for Birthdays (183)
Romantic (173)
Local Ingredients (172)
Notable Wine List (151)
Business Meals (130)
Worth the Drive (100)
Modern Decor (94)
Neighborhood Gem (91)
Authentic (85)
Good for Groups (82)
Handcrafted Cocktails (78)
Hot Spot (76)
Pre/post Theatre (72)
Quiet Conversation (71)
Cozy (59)
Fun (51)
Bar Seating (46)
Casual (41)
People Watching (40)
Outstanding Value (37)
Healthy (37)
Seasonal (35)
Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
Historic (26)
Comfort Food (25)
Private Room (20)
Tasting Menu (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Molecular Gastronomy (16)
Gluten Free Options (16)
Family Style (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Organic (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Scenic View (5)
Great Beer (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Spicy (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Fireplace (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
7091 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

During Mardi Gras, the food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Ryan our server was gracious, there when we needed him, but unobtrusive. This was for my 70th birthday and we are from out of town. We chose the restaurant based on trip adviser reviews and were very satisfied. Delicious food, calm and elegant atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

FRESH FRESH Seafood with excellent service. I got BQ shrimp to start , triple iceberg salad, American Red Snapper. All delicious and perfectly prepared. My husband had the lobster ravioli, poached pear salad and Blackened Swordfish. He enjoyed his dinner too. Service is a step above most upscale restaurants. Fantastic wine list too. Will most definitely return if ever in New Orleans again. Highly recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Visited during Mardi Gras, got right in for our 7p reservation. The staff was friendly and helpful with the menu. We ordered the seafood gumbo and the roasted cauliflower. Both were delicious- the gumbo was perfect. We ordered the red fish and the cobia- also excellent. The okra on the red fish was an excellent touch. The nana-mills dessert was just ok- too frozen so it was hard to eat. The coffee was not great. . We would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined 3 days ago

We are in New Orleans on vacation and to see Mardi Gras. GW Fins is, in a word, OUTSTANDING. Everything from greeting at the door to desert was first class all the way! Our waiters were superb and met every need from ice water to pouring our chosen bottle of wine to match the pace of our delicious dinner. We had sizzling oysters followed by the triple wedge salad with three awesome different house-made dressings to the main course of Skalibut. The desert was apple pie ala mode fresh from the oven! Do yourself a favor and experience dinner in this lovely venue!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Best overall restaurant. We love the food and always make reservations when coming in from Boston.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was absolutely wonderful. We had the lobster ravioli and oysters for appetizers. Do not miss either. Just spectacular. The rolls were slightly sweet and just so enjoyable. Every meal we had was memorable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Very attendant wait staff despite some difficulties with food allergens that kept my wife from ordering (not restaurant's fault).

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent restaurant- French Quarter, New Orleans. Fish was great, service great!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

Some of the best service in town. The food is great as well.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great dinner. Food was awesome, service was spot on.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was Great! The seafood was fresh. Service was very good. We were seated immediately. Requested a table by the window & we were accomidated.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing lobster dumplings and fresh fish. Our server, Juan, was welcoming, gracious and made great recommendations.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

From the time you walk in until the time you walk out service was fabulous! We will be returning to this restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My boyfriend and I went to celebrate a special occasion. The wine was affordably priced and the food was amazing! You MUST get the lobster dumplings and the scalibut. They were absolutely mouth-watering!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Overall the experience was pleasant however was surprised in the food. It was just okay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I usually do not comment. However, this was an absolutely excellent restaurant, with a very fine menu. The food was exceptional, and the price reasonable. I am from New York, and this restaurant compares favorably, and with a much greater value.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 18, 2017

One of our best dinners ever! Truly a great dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Good was outstanding! Service was above and beyond - Jason was a great waiter. My daughter & I both have celiac and need to eat gluten free. He explained the restaurant's 3 levels of ensuring a gluten free meal, and what our best options would be. He was great! We would highly recommend this restaurant. Best meal and service that we encountered in New Orleans!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Wonderful meal. excellent service. A little on the pricey side but worth every penny.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

My wife and I went to GW Fins because of the great reviews on Open Table. The reviews were spot on. This is a great place. Lots of energy.....the service and attention you'll receive is just right. And the food.......wow.....my wife and I were very very impressed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This restaurant was recommended by a local woman. She did not steer us wrong. The food, from appetizers to dessert were awesome. The Scalibut was beautiful to look at and the best seafood I have ever had. If you find yourself in New Orleans don't miss this restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Smokey sizzling oysters are crackling hot for a long time and are not to be missed along with

lobster dumplings as appetizers and highly recommended . This French Quarter restaurant has

the largest variety of fish , prepared with unique addition to dishes .

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We had dinner on a business trip and it was one of the best meals and dining experiences I ever had in New Orleans. I definitely will be back for another meal. The food was great the service was over the top and the atmosphere was just right.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

OMG I don't know where to start. Awesome service. Excellent food. Great room. I wanted a place for a special occasion and I made the right choice. A shout out to Allan who had great recommendations, was attentive but not intrusive and made my anniversary dinner a very happy one. Oh yeah, loved the warm biscuits instead of bread or buns. I could have eaten them all night!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We went to GW Fins to celebrate my birthday in mid-February. The food was amazing. We had

the Lobster Dumplings to start. Delicate, rich and delicious with fennel, tomato concasse and lobster butter. I ordered the Scalibut, a GW Fins Original for my main entree. Just delicious. It's Halibut, Sea Scallops, lobster risotto, snow peas, pea shoot butter. For dessert, we split the White Chocolate & Caramel Bread Pudding. Which instead of raisins, uses dark chocolate chunks and pecans. Just divine. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our favorite restaurant. Ventured away from the Scalibut for once for the Bluefin Tuna - outstanding! Tuna taco app was delicious. Chocolate martini is my wife's favorite drink of all time! Excellent service as usual. Had a dozen roses at the table for a surprise this time, highly recommended! GW Fins is the best.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Dining at this restaurant is always a very enjoyable experience. We love that is is consistently excellent on all levels !!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Attended for special occasion. Food was excellent and service was great

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We enjoy G W Fins and have since we discovered it. Always leave having eaten too much.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely one of the best dinners ever! Phenomenal service, wonderful food. Back room is small and quiet; main room is larger and much noisier.

Biscuits that were like puffy clouds of goodness. The "scalibut" was fantastic- everything was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Enjoyed the evening and the food. Highly recommended!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is the best restaurant in New Orleans besides Commander's Palace. Loved everything about it!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Healthy, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great meal and great service. We were visiting the area from out of town, and were looking for an upscale restaurant. We will definitely dine at GW Fins the next time we are in in the area.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food and exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was excellent. I especially enjoyed the lobster dumplings. They were so light and airy yet fabulous flavor! The service was great. I would definitely go back on my next visit to New Orleans!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service started off good and then progressively started lacking. I feel the forgot about us at one point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great spot to see Nola hospitality in action. Food was perfectly prepared and those biscuits... they kept showing up out of no where!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 14, 2017

All the dishes we tried were excellent. In particular, the tuna tartar was simple, elegant and delicious. Upon returning home to Alabama, we attempted the dish (with guidance during the meal from our excellent waiter). The delicate lobster dumplings were the best ever, with a light sauce that didn't overwhelm the dish. We learned things, too; such as fried capers, which are salty and interesting as a garnish.

Not cheap, but worthwhile on occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The scalibut was so delicious. Scallops cooked onto halibut. Each bite was fantastic. Prime rib was the best...better than steak houses. The lobster dumplings and apple pie also knocked out socks off. The service was attentive. The setting was conducive to conversation. The manager/owner checked on us for perfection. I'd go back in a heart beat.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 13, 2017

:) loved it

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Wonderful. Ready to go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We were in town for a very limited time and 3 different sources suggested GW. Both of us were not disappointed and loved everything we had!!! Highly recommend your establishment!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great place for a date night while visiting New Orleans. Food was excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Amazing food and service! Highly recommended for all occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The entrees are always the best here! Seafood so fresh and are prepared perfectly! The lobster dumplings are to die for!

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Wife love it! Food excellent!! Server (Kina) - professional, smart, attentive, etc.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful ambient and fantastic flavored seafoods. We had a great experience. Thank you Chef!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Consistent and as always fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.