Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

BucaBuca
(972)
Italian | King West, Toronto
Reserve Now
The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - King WestThe Keg Steakhouse + Bar - King West
(31)
Steakhouse | King West, Toronto
Reserve Now
LavelleLavelle
(35)
Contemporary French | King West, Toronto
Reserve Now
Cibo Wine Bar King St WestCibo Wine Bar King St West
(949)
Italian | King West, Toronto
Reserve Now
LeeLee
(1373)
Global, International | King West, Toronto
Reserve Now
Jacobs & Co. SteakhouseJacobs & Co. Steakhouse
(913)
Steakhouse | King West, Toronto
Reserve Now
MarbenMarben
(295)
Canadian | King West, Toronto
Reserve Now
PatriaPatria
(373)
Spanish | King West, Toronto
Reserve Now
Alo RestaurantAlo Restaurant
(179)
Contemporary French | Downtown / Entertainment District, Toronto
Reserve Now
Blowfish Restaurant + Sake BarBlowfish Restaurant + Sake Bar
(223)
Creative Japanese | King West, Toronto
Reserve Now
Weslodge SaloonWeslodge Saloon
(163)
Contemporary American | King West, Toronto
Reserve Now
The Cloak BarThe Cloak Bar
Reviews Coming Soon
Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service | King West, Toronto
Reserve Now
Colette Grand Cafe and BakeryColette Grand Cafe and Bakery
(427)
French | King West, Toronto
Reserve Now
Spice Route Asian Bistro & BarSpice Route Asian Bistro & Bar
(1467)
Contemporary Asian | King West, Toronto
Reserve Now
LokaLoka
(24)
Contemporary Canadian | Queen West, Toronto
Reserve Now

About Gusto 101

101 Portland St
Toronto, ON M5V 2N3
View Larger Map

Janet Zuccarini presents Gusto 101, a restaurant that serves southern Italian food with modern twists. Daily specials are available for both lunch and dinner. Dine on antipasti dishes such as tagliere misto, polipo or carpaccio or choose an insalate dish like rucola or gusto greens. Indulge in the ravioli alla norma, lumache con tonno or rigatoni bolognese, or order from Gusto 101's pizza menu. Enjoy the flavors of the Tuscan wood-fired grill with grilled chicken, artichokes, field mushrooms, soft egg, pecorino and lemon or the branzino, a grilled Mediterranean sea bass, beluga lentils, escarole, salsa verde, red pepper jam and basil oil. Gusto 101 offers premium beverages before, with and after your meal with an extensive list of spritz, house cocktails, bollicine, birre, vini bianchi, vini rossi and multiple liquors such as tequila, bourbon and scotch.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
King St. West

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 504-9669

Website:
http://www.gusto101.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lots can be found at Portland and Adelaide and Portland and Richmond. Meter street parking on King St. West and Adelaide Ave. West.

Public Transit:
Streetcar stop: King St. West and Portland

Executive Chef:
Daniel Mezzolo

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining options range from our private WINE CELLAR or ROOFTOP PARTY TABLE (separate but not private) each for up to 20 guests, to private buyouts of our all-seasons ROOFTOP for up 100 guests, or our entire RESTAURANT for up to 200 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Sejah Coombs: 8557815589

Additional:
Counter Seating, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Caesar Salad
Beef Carpacchio
Funghi Pasta
Grilled Octopus
tagliata di manzo
Grilled Chicken
Margerita Pizza
Lamb Rigatoni
Beef Tartare
Arancini
Cavolo Nero
Da Dee Pizza
Spaghetti Alla Chitarra Con Vongole
Rigatoni Al Funghi
Salmone Al Brace
Fettucine Ai Funghi
Insalata Cavolo Nero
Oban Scotch 14 Yr.
Lemon Ricotta Pancakes With Blueberries
Polipo
Mushroom Pizza
Hamburger
Polpette
Gelato
lasagna
Uova in camicia
Calamari
Polpette Pizze
Fried Calamari
Fettucine al Funghi
S'mores Creme Brulee
Eggs In Purgatory
Ricotta
Hamburger With Fries And Roasted Red Pepper Sauce
Fresh Fish Of The Day
ricotta pancakes
Fresh Ricotta
Ricotta Gnocchi With Pork Saussage
Duck Leg
Mozzarella Di Bufala
Kale Salad
Steak Salad
Fries
Mucho Gusto
Polpette Pizza
Rigatoni Lucani
Calamari Fritti
Hazelnut Gelato Biscotti Sandwich
Budino Al Cioccolato Con Panna
Dessert Sampler
Char-Grilled Octopus With An Olive Tapenade With Citrus Emulsion
carpaccio
Escarola
Tagliolini Al Nero Di Seppia
Zuppa W Pumpkin
Omelette
Bruschetta Guanciale e Taleggio
Spaghetti al Nero di Seppia
Ravioli Di Zucca
Cavola Nero
Prosciutto Pizza
Sort By:
Newest
34 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We Felt Special

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 15, 2014

The food, service and solarium-like terrace made our dining experience special and memorable. One of my guests had dietary restrictions which was very well accommodated by our waiter. The octopus and branzino were outstanding. Gusto 101 is definitely one of my go-to places on King West

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Gusto hits the spot

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 3, 2014

I would highly recommend Gusto; I have been there for lunch and dinner. The menu has a wide range of options and the food is incredibly tasty. The service is superb and they don't have their nose stuck up in the air, unlike some other trendy restaurants. This is one of the best new restaurants in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The kale was good but....

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 2, 2014

The closest option here to describe the noise level is "energetic". I guess energetic is the new noisy. I arrived early and sat at the bar to await my friend. My bartender was gracious and I had an opportunity to soak up the vibe a bit. I was a bit nervous when I learned we were being seated upstairs. I had heard that it could be cold up there. Well the temperature

was fine but, again, the noise level was nearly intolerable and, unfortunately, the food did not compensate. My Moroccan chicken was dry and uninspired. My girlfriend knows her hamburgers and she deemed hers to be "just okay". The kale salad had been recommended so we ordered that and, yes, it was delicious but can a restaurant hang its reputation on....kale?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

Fantastic fist visit!!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 26, 2014

This is an absolute must stop for people visiting Toronto!! Mouthwatering food, exceptional fun, friendly service, but most importantly...wine by the ounce and good wine at that!! I do believe I asked the chef to marry me lol. Good food is such an important experience for me and visiting Toronto certainly tickles the pallet with so many choices however Gusto's is definitely on my top 5 list and I will look forward, with anticipation, to my next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best Food

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 26, 2014

gustos had a great selection of food that tasted amazing! They offered a great family menu that allowed you to try a bit of everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We were a group of 6 on an

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 14, 2014

We were a group of 6 on an early Friday night Décor is crisp and new, the atmosphere is vibrant and the staff were certainly friendly, helpful and accommodating. However the food was a disappointment. Their braised beef special of the night was tasteless at best and their prosciutto pizza was poor on dough and ingredients. I was disappointed after hearing how good it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Amazing

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 1, 2014

Truthfully one of my better dining experiences. Food was incredible, our server went totally above expectations. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

Took my girlfriend to Gusto 101 for the first time this Valentines Day. Really cool decor and atmosphere as soon as you walk in the door. Service was fast, friendly and very helpful answering any questions you might have. The food was top notch. For someone who is very skiddish when it comes to seafood I really enjoyed the octopus as an appetizer. 1st time Ive had octopus and please note its not calamri. Absolutely delicious. Mains were great too...full of flavour and texture. Dessert was delicious too. Although we just went with Gustos own homemade wine (which you cant beat at $1 an ounce) this place has an incredibly long and detailed wine list for the most distinguished drinker. Would highly recommend to anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun place

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

Good enough food, and fun atmosphere. Convivial bar area to have a drink before your meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Impressive - very.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 11, 2014

We brought 2 young clients here last week that had not even been…I wasn't surprised but they loved everything - commented on all courses and dishes as having a great amount of taste - fresh, delicious. The service was VERY good - friendly, we didn't feel rushed at all. She was very sweet and knowledgable. A GREAT location, great food, wine, atmosphere. Only thing is being sat upstairs in the winter is not near as pleasant as downstairs…downstairs is very cozy - much more enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food, average service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 10, 2014

Our reservation was for 2 and Gusto easily accommodated a 3rd person who joined us at the last minute. We were seated and then we waited. Almost 10 minutes before anyone came by. The menu is limited but varied enough to more than satisfy everyone. Extensive wine list and the $1/ounce house wine was a good match for our meals. Very pleased. Unfortunately the server didn't come back to ask if anyone wanted a second glass. Also the server came by and quickly sloshed a top up in our water glasses. Unfortunately they used tap water and the glasses were half full of sparkling mineral water. They were gone before the error could be pointed out.

Excellent food unfortunately the service will make me reconsider returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Always great

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 7, 2014

very consistent. anything we've tried on the menu has been great. love the house wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was ok, nice looking spot

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 7, 2014

Very hip place but there are better Italian places in Toronto. We did not think the pizza was as good as we had become accustomed to at other places. Very nice dining room in a great area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great spot!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 29, 2014

Great restaurant - great service, food is spot on and the vibe is very chill. Highly recommended. And check out their Fettuccine ai Funghi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

kale salad

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 27, 2014

Best kale salad in the city. Pair it with the flank steak of salmon. Sooooo good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 25, 2014

Great food and great atmosphere, though sitting upstairs was a bit cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Busy Thursday

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 23, 2014

Luckily I had made a reservation for our lunch, as the place was jammed and very loud. Service was slow - took a long time to get drinks to the table (about 25 minutes) and no offer for a second. Food took almost an hour to arrive. Good thing we didn't have to be back at the office for 1. The food made up for the wait & the noise as it was all very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Second visit to Gusto 101

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 19, 2014

Even better than our first visit. The service could not have been better--friendly, casual, and attentive without being intrusive. Great menu, great food, and it comes out fast! (There's an excellent vegetarian plate on the menu, as well as classic Italian dishes.) Love the wine-by-the-ounce pricing. The website is fun and informative, and you can reserve online.

The space alone is worth a visit--renovated auto mechanic shop, retaining some of the original fixtures as decor. It's noisy for sure, but our table of 7 had no problem hearing one another.

Looking forward to coming back in warm weather when the second floor is open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great House Wine and Yummy Eats!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 18, 2014

My mom and I had a lovely girls night out with lots of delicious house red (that you can order by the ounce!!) and yummy food. The octopus appetizer was to die for and everything else was fabulous as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Amazing food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 18, 2014

Went there for brunch and ordered the kale salad , two pasta and desserts. The main course were amazing, The salad was to die for but the price was a little high. Ordered also the dessert platter which was expensive and not all that impressive. Definitely would return to this restaurant for the main courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

torontoguest101

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 17, 2014

Had a great evening at Gusto 101 in the upstairs dinning room. The atmosphere was perfect for a first time date. Our female server for the evening was pleasant and had a great personality which is great because some restaurant servers sometime can come off as being to pushy for an order *** Brava for her recommending the Porcini & Cream Pasta Dish

This was my 3rd time visiting this eatery and so far it has been 3 for 3 for cuisine and service. I guess the only thing that i would say could have been better was that of the scallop appetizer my companion and I had ordered. For a cost of $12.50, I was expecting to get at least more than 2 scallops.

Thanks again Gusto for a pleasant evening and see you soon. Ciao

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Well travelled

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 15, 2014

Gusto has a great menu for lunch or dinner mid week or out for a Saturday night. The vibe is great but it could get loud

Located in an old service station it has that loft feel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Fantastic restaurant!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 11, 2014

Great good, great service, overall A+++ experience, will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Trendy

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 9, 2014

Gusto is one of my fav places to go when I feel lazy but want to take a friend - or friends out (I live nearby). I would recommend it for the food - love the mushrooms fettuccini - and the look. I would not recommend it for a romantic dinner. Three times I came with a date, three times we sat and my date decided to go somewhere else - very noisy, especially downstairs. But perfect venue when between girls!

Upstairs bar men are very cute ;)

Note : nice to be able to reserve. Otherwise often packed and long wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Not as great as it used to be...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 8, 2014

Gusto 101 was one of my favourite restaurants until tonight. I went out with my family to celebrate two birthdays, but the night was disappointing. The service was shockingly disrespectful. Our server did not acknowledge my parents whatsoever when receiving our orders and I hope that this was not because we aren't Caucasian. The food was poorly prepared - the steak my father got was burnt, thus, the jus had an ashy flavour. And what happened to the polipo?! The old recipe was much better than the current one. The octopus was so overcooked that it was crumbling in our mouths. However, I have to give the kitchen credit for their daily special of gnocchi with ground pork and the cod, which were both very flavourful (albeit, quite salty).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Great place!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 4, 2014

We had a great time. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The food was great!!! The only improvement would be that the seating arrangement upstairs was a bit tight. Overall great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

LOVED IT!

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 2, 2014

Gusto 101 is one of those fun places that has something for everybody! We visited at night and loved the way the restaurant dining room was lit........very comfortable and cozy. The food, service and atmosphere were excellent! Highly Recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 2, 2014

Had high expectations for first visit to Gusto 101. Had heard great things. But our experience left us cold -- literally. Main floor was frigid (many diners put on their coats and hats, my toes and fingers were numb by the time I left). Granted it was a cold night and the main floor has concrete floors but the forecast for cold weather was no secret and the heating system should have been adjusted accordingly in my opinion. One of our four dishes didn't arrived until 10 to 15 minutes after the other three. I was nearly done my meal before my daughter received hers. Waiter did try to make amends by giving us a free salad and not charging for my daughter's plate, but still seemed inexcusable for a restaurant of this standard. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

NYE at Gusto

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 1, 2014

Loved our experience. Reso was at 9 and we stayed past midnight. Our server was really amazing in accommodating our request to take our time and enjoy the evening. She really let us set our own pace. Arancini (sp?) was delicious and the carpaccio was great. Wine on tap was surprisingly delicious! At $1 an oz, who could pass that up! Great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

dinner out

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 1, 2014

A few friends and I went out to Gusto 101 for our New Year's Eve dinner. Everyone had a great time with the food and atmosphere. However, I made reservation and they put us at a table right by the window/patio door. It was a cold night that night and I was not crazy about sitting there, however my friends did not seem to mind so that was that. The apps we got was so delicious, one was a bruschetta and the other was the octopus (polipo dish). We all liked our mains and we all tried each other and all agreed that everyone's dish was outstanding. So it was a great night!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was very good. The

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 31, 2013

The food was very good. The waiters were always helpful. I had the fettuccini ai funghi. It was just the right portion. The free desserts were a pleasant surprise for our New Year's Eve dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Moroccan Chicken was a gem

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 30, 2013

I can't say enough about this dish. It was delicious, healthy, and beautifully presented. The vegetables were so fresh and the spices used were delicious. I said to my husband that this was one of the best dishes I've had in a long time, and perhaps my favourite chicken dish of all time. My husband enjoyed the pizza, and our friends enjoyed their salad and pasta dishes. I can't wait to go back to Gusto and have that chicken again. The wine list is also very good for a neighbourhood place, and they have both an outdoor patio in the summer and an upstairs space with a glass roof. Definitely worth a visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

good food and atmosphere.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 23, 2013

Pizza was great! The restaurant is loud, so be prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

4 for 5

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on December 23, 2013

Fantastic pizza, sald, pasta and scallops. Should not have order the risotto balls as they brought us down off a fantastic food high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.