About Gulfstream Cafe

1536 S Waccamaw Dr
Garden City, SC 29576
View Larger Map

Voted “best restaurant with a view” & “most romantic” by The Sun News. Watch the sun set from the upstairs deck and savor the creamy She-Crab soup, jumbo lump Crab Cakes or Southern favorite, fried Lobster Tail. Offering seasonal Oyster Roasts, Sunday brunch and family-style to go.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday:10:00am -2:30pm;
Sunday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
Atlantic Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 651-8808

Website:
http://www.gulfstreamcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonal live entertainment on the Sunset Deck.

Catering:
Authentic, big flavors from the South are available including appetizers like N'awlins Shrimp and Grits and large party favorites like Low Country Seafood Boils and freshly steamed Oyster Roasts.

Delivered direct to your home with an optional full service staff for any order, small or large. Convenient same day ordering available.

Parking Details:
Free self-parking is available for cars, golf carts and bikes. Boat docking is available at Marlin Quay Marina, as well as a water taxi.

Public Transit:
Water taxi is available at Marlin Quay Marina.

Private Party Facilities:
Gulfstream Cafe’s Sunset Deck is as unique as the restaurant itself. With romantic views of the sunset, its own entrance and bar– it’s like having a small restaurant reserved just for you and your guests.

The deck and bar can accommodate up to 80 guests for a seated event or up to 100 for a cocktail reception. Our main dining room can also be reserved for larger private events.

Private Party Contact:
Jef Kirk: 8436518808x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Oyster Shooters
Black and Blue Tuna
Grouper Francaise
King Crab Omelet
Hushpuppies
Biscuits and Gravy
Roasted Duck
She crab soup in bread bowl
bruschette
Chipotle Au Gratin
“Oysters” on the Half Shell
Grouper Francais
Filet Mignon
Alaskan King Crab Legs
fried oysters
Filet Medallions
Brunch
Seafood Crepe
Tenderloin Medallions And Crab Cake
Stuffed Lobster Tail
Lobster Tail

Gulfstream Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
South Carolina
Scenic View
South Carolina
Seafood
South Carolina
3 More
Best Ambiance
Myrtle Beach
Neighborhood Gem
Myrtle Beach
Most Booked
Myrtle Beach
Best Restaurants in Garden City/Murrells Inlet ›

scenic view (106)
great for outdoor dining (77)
special occasion (70)
See All
neighborhood gem (55)
romantic (49)
great for brunch (41)
good for groups (41)
fit for foodies (25)
great for lunch (18)
kid-friendly (17)
hot spot (8)
notable wine list (7)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
623 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The menu lacks availability of side dish ...

vip
Dined a day ago

The menu lacks availability of side dishes. Of the 5 sides available, 3 of them are starches (baked potato, fries, or mash). The outside is beautiful scene, but they could install fans outside. Definitely, my party would have stayed for extra drink, but absence of wind blowing it was hot. Fans outside would help.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gulf Stream is always a must when on tha ...

Dined 3 days ago

Gulf Stream is always a must when on that end of the beach- only place to view the Murrells Inlet sunset and food is always consistent and delicious. Was born in MB and grew up there. This place has been around a long, long time. Now that I have moved away, being able to go back 15 yrs later on family vacations is neat.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Requested window seat and that was what ...

Dined 3 days ago

Requested window seat and that was what we received. Brought my brother there for his first time and he enjoyed it very much.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Reasonably priced, great cocktails, won ...

Dined 3 days ago

Reasonably priced, great cocktails, wonderful seafood, beautiful sunset views over Murrel's Inlet

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant! A friend recommended ...

Dined 3 days ago

Great restaurant! A friend recommended this restaurant to us, so we tried it out. Well worth it! Great food. Great location! Would highly recommend to anyone. Will definitely be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was best in Myrtle Beach area. Crab ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Food was best in Myrtle Beach area. Crab cakes and grouper are excellent! Liked it so much we returned two days later!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

What a great setting. The lovely marsh, ...

Dined 4 days ago

What a great setting. The lovely marsh, sort of a nautica interior look and big open beams to reveal great strength of construction. The walk-up/down ramp makes it easy for older less mobile customers to get in and out. The food and serviced always exceed ones expectations. The management and staff are great.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are always happy when we eat here. T ...

Dined 5 days ago

We are always happy when we eat here. The best seafood around. We were staying in Charleston but decided to drive up to eat here. Very much worth the trip!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service! I will definitel ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service! I will definitely be back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service5

I've been many times and the food qualit ...

Dined 6 days ago

I've been many times and the food quality seems to be going down. I ordered a supposed "fresh catch of the day," swordfish. It was extremely thin, very dry and left a lot you be desired.

food4
ambience4
service3

Dinner was great but it took a really lo ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Dinner was great but it took a really long time to get our dinner.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We frequent Gulf Stream and consider it ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We frequent Gulf Stream and consider it one of our favorites. The brunch is typically very good and well presented. On those special days, such as Father's Day, the set up of the buffet would be better served if it were two sided. The long line to get to the food weaved throughout the restaurant. It felt much like a school cafeteria, with people standing over us while we were eating. This made conversation at our table a little difficult. The set up was challenging for servers as well. It's a great restaurant, just needs a little tweaking for those special days.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been there many times and it is always w ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Been there many times and it is always wonderful and consistent.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Gulfstream Cafe is a hidden gem in G ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The Gulfstream Cafe is a hidden gem in Garden City / Murrells Inlet. It's on the other side of the inlet from the regular tourist dining fare, and has the best sunset view of any restaurant around. It was easy to get a reservation around Sunset inside.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The place, the food and our waitress: al ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The place, the food and our waitress: all was nearly perfect for a party of 7. We will return for sure.

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Our server was terrible. Brought the wr ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Our server was terrible. Brought the wrong drinks then brought us another tables order. My husband order limp crab cakes one tasted good the other had an odd taste. Disappointed.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Not a good experience this time, it usua ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Not a good experience this time, it usually is a good experience

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service3

The view is nice. The food wasn't very g ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The view is nice. The food wasn't very good. Too salty.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was the best, he was very inf ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Our server was the best, he was very informative and very pleasant . The food was excellent and well prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Not worth it

Dined on June 9, 2016

The scenery was great. The food was not worth the price. Just being honest.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

What a Let down

Dined on June 6, 2016

Prior reviews raved about this one so I booked reservation 4 days in advance for a Monday night requesting a window table. Had to wait 25 minutes in bar for our table. Hostess admitted she made a mistake and forgot our reservation. Nothing was comp'd . Two of our group had crab cakes and thought they were so-so but not great. Shrimp and pasta was way over salted. Broiled lobster was good little over cooked. Tuna special was reported as excellent. Creamed spinach was lousy Was so looking forward to eating here and was so disappointed View is great. Jason was a great waiter

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

Absolutely perfect place for a date nigh ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Absolutely perfect place for a date night or special occasion. Best sunset view around in the area.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gulfstream Cafe

Dined on June 3, 2016

Gulfstream Cafe, part of the California Dreaming chain, is an excellent place to eat. The view is spectacular, especially with the setting sun, and the food is very, very good. The service is excellent and the menu is varied so choices to taste are just fine. Outside dining is terrific and the view from the upstairs bar is exceptional.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Sunday Brunch

Dined on May 29, 2016

Good view of Intercoastal Waterway while enjoying Sunday Brunch and a Bloody Mary

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Watch that reservation book

Dined on May 27, 2016

Good food, but the restaurant was so overbooked that we had to duck every time a server went by with a tray to keep from getting hit. Our 2 top was wedged between several large parties including 1 that had about 20 people in it. We were told to slide our table as close as we could get to a support pole so they could reach the larger parties. We would have come another night if we had been warned that reservations were so overloaded. We left a written complaint with our payment but I doubt if any one there was in the mood to read it. A beer on the house would have made the evening a little bit less of a disaster.

food5
ambience5
service5

The delicious fresh seafood and beautifu ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The delicious fresh seafood and beautiful sunsets are amazing enough, but add crisp white linens and superb wait staff and you have the finishing touches to this excellent dining experience. I recommend the cioppino, but my husband's mussels in creamy white wine sauce were yummy as well. And don't leave without a piece of key lime pie! It's incredible!

food4
ambience5
service5

Had a nice rooftop table for eight. Beau ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Had a nice rooftop table for eight. Beautiful sunset over the inlet. Food is good overall. Excellent staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marvelous service with food to match

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent food, and great service

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was not our first time at this rest ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

This was not our first time at this restaurant. We have been there many times and have enjoyed it every time. This has been our favorite restaurant when visiting Murrell's Inlet. Our waitress was exceptional as are most of them. I wished I remembered her name. I liked the Open Table reservation system, it made it so easy to make a reservation.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Service was good. View was awesome. Di ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Service was good. View was awesome. Dinner food was good but please do yourself a favor and save room for dessert!!!

food5
ambience5
service4

She-crab soup was one of the best crab b ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

She-crab soup was one of the best crab bisque I've ever had! Calamari was super tender. You must sit outside or with a view at the window. Sunset is beautiful there!! Service pretty good. Salmon a little bit dry. Seafood cioppino very good. Wine prices excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5

This is the kind of place you want to ea ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

This is the kind of place you want to eat. Magnificent view. Great food. Watched the sun set over great seafood.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Surprised!

Dined on May 8, 2016

This restaurant reminds me of Key West and beautiful sunsets. We were sitted immediately upon arrival. The house salad is almost a meal in itself. The menu choices could have been expanded but there is no problem meeting everyone's desire. The only negative is it is so far down the beach from where we live. Will go again

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

great food horrible service

Dined on May 8, 2016

I had the grouper and house salad my wife had the crabcakes and the bbisque soup both were very good . The view was fantastic. ....the service was bad . The waitress never cleaned up our plates didnt bring out lemons till adking for it 3 times and didnt offer the specials or coffee or desert.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Repeat winner!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

This is our fourth time and the food was excellent, our waitress very nice, the kitchen was slow. The menu seems to never change, and with the seafood capitol of SC at the doorstep it would seem there could be more options or creativity. The shrimp and grits appetizer was amazing. Look forward to next year already.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Disappointed

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have had very positive experiences in the past. But they spoiled Mother's Day and my wife's steak. Waiter seemed impatient rather than understanding with my wife's food allergies. We will not go to this restaurant for another special occasion.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellence in dining at an affordable price

Dined on May 8, 2016

Gulf Stream Cafe has become our "go to place" for visiting guests and an excellent dining experience. The service staff are exceptionally attentive and the quality and presentation of the food are top notch. I recommend Gulf Stream to all our friends.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Mother's Day Brunch was good, the view, 5 stars!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's day brunch was good but somewhat overpriced. I realize they added roast beef and ham to their regular brunch buffet but I wasn't looking for roast beef and ham so I didn't benefit from that for the extra price. I think they would have done better to offer more pastries or sweet items instead of more meats and then not charge as much. All they have that was sweet was tiny banana muffins and dry french toast. But the view made up for the brunch. We came extra early and got prime seats. Well worth getting up early for!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on May 7, 2016

Went to gulf stream on Saturday before mothers day for dinner. The entire weekend weather had been beautiful, so the sun setting view from the restaurant was beautiful. Server was very knowledgeable, friendly and prompt. I had the seafood cioppino and the wife had the crab cakes. Her crab cakes were perfectly cooked with almost all crab meat and very large portion. Side items were cooked great too. The seafood cioppino was really good and the broth flavor was excellent. plenty of fish and shell fish. The only negative I had on anything was the shrimp in the seafood cioppino was like chewing a piece of leather. But there was plenty of mussels and fish and clam that I didn't even miss them after I took them out. All in all, will definitely go back again and try some other items on the menu. It is limited, but I like that as it allows for what you get to be cooked really well

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Gulfstream Ambiance Lacking

Dined on May 2, 2016

Food was really tasty, fresh, and nicely presented. Ambiance was seriously lacking though - AC on way too high, music inaudible, lights a bit bright, no candles on tables. We came away generally pleased, but they missed an opportunity to wow us.

Tags: neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.