Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 22 times today

Gulfstream Cafe

4.4
1233 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Waterfront
  • Scenic View
  • Special Occasion
For more than 30 years, Gulfstream Cafe has been a sought-after spot for birthdays, anniversaries and more thanks to the picturesque waterfront view and authentic coastal cuisine. The laid-back atmosphere at this Garden City institution complements the fresh seafood and southern favorites, choice options include broiled Lobster Tail, creamy She-Crab Soup and jumbo lump Crab Cakes. Head back for Sunday brunch, seasonal Oyster Roast or watch the sunset on the rooftop deck, all wildly popular (and Instagram-worthy).
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Southern, Wine Bar
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday:10:00am -2:30pm;
Sunday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm;
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(843) 651-8808
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Gulfstream Cafe’s Sunset Deck is as unique as the restaurant itself. With romantic views of the sunset, its own entrance and bar– it’s like having a small restaurant reserved just for you and your guests.

The deck and bar can accommodate up to 80 guests for a seated event or up to 100 for a cocktail reception. Our main dining room can also be reserved for larger private events.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Jef Kirk: (843) 651-8808
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Authentic, big flavors from the South are available including appetizers like N'awlins Shrimp and Grits and large party favorites like Low Country Seafood Boils and freshly steamed Oyster Roasts.

Delivered direct to your home with an optional full service staff for any order, small or large. Convenient same day ordering available.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Atlantic Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free self-parking is available for cars, golf carts and bikes. Boat docking is available at Marlin Quay Marina, as well as a water taxi.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Water taxi is available at Marlin Quay Marina.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Seasonal live entertainment on the Sunset Deck.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1233 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Visited in 2017 while on vacation. Returned in 2018 because we enjoyed our meals. Best fried seafood combination. Light and nicely seasoned. Will return again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent!!! Had the fried seafood platter. Outside dining was amazing. Great views of Murrells Inlet!! Service was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

Lovely setting, but the food was mediocre-especially for the prices. The menu is adequate but certainly not extensive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

The ambiance of Gulfstream is wonderful. The view over the marsh in the evening is spectacular. Our service was very good and with reservations we had no wait time. The staff was efficient and very friendly. We had an old standby dinner of flounder and seafood platter and as always it was very good. The leftovers the next day was good also. We enjoyed the wine also. It is always a treat to be at Garden City and go there for dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great good with an even better view. Service was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Perfect place for a special occasion or a casual night, beautiful views and excellent fresh seafood

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Would not do the Mother’s Day brunch again. Line too long, food not very warm, and just mediocre for the price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We enjoyed a wonderful Mother's Day Brunch. Food, Cocktails and Service were all excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This was the first time for the Mothers day brunch. The food was delicious and a very nice variety. We sat outside, it was a beautiful day. Wonderful experience and would highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Had 11:30 am reservation for my wife and myself for Mother’s Day. We arrived at precisely 11:30. Hostess asked if we wanted to be seated inside or outdoors. We said outdoors would be good. She advised at table outdoors was being prepared and we would be seated shortly. We took a seat in the waiting area near the hostess. We noticed several guests kept coming up to the hostess and inquiring about their seating. The hostess was consulting with a couple of other associates and looking at their tablets regarding where to seat customers. 15 minutes went by and we were not seated or talked by the hostess. My wife approached and asked about our table. Hostess said it was ready and another hostess took us to the top of the stairs to a table in the bar area. I advised this hostess that we were told we would be seated outdoors. She said okay and we walked back downstairs and hostess advised that they were setting up tables outdoors and we would be seated soon. Another 15 minutes went by. I approached the hostess and asked about our table and miraculously she said our table was now ready. Another hostess escorted us to the outdoor table on the deck which was fine. My wife told me that she had noticed that this table had been open for a long and had not just become available. In any case, we were finally relieved to be seated and had a nice view of the Inlet. Waiter came by promptly and asked for our drink order and brought water and advised we could go to the buffet. At this particular time the line was very short so we code a few food items to start off with. They had a decent selection of food items. Food was decent. The single for the buffet became very long and people had to wait long time to get their food. I would say our waiter was “transactional”, versus being friendly and personable. Bottom line, an Open Table reservation with this establishment is worthless and people working there do not seem to value guests. Main thing going for Gulfstream Cafe is the view.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great Mother's Day Brunch. Food, atmosphere and service were great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We made our reservations over 2 weeks in advance for the brunch on Mother's Day. When we arrived they wanted to seat us upstairs away from the buffet. When I told the check in person I didn't want to go upstairs, she said in a not so nice tone we would just have to wait. Meanwhile she sat another group in a table that would have fit us. Fortunately we didn't have to wait that long and were seated. After we got past the check-in the food was good. We have been to this restaurant numerous times and will go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great food!!! Great atmosphere!! Tim was our server, and he was awesome! I will ask for him next time!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

It was a beautiful night, excellent food, our waitress was the best. Would tell anyone to go to Gulfstream, so glad that we did.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Always great food! My "go to" at the beach. Had dinner Friday with friends and everyone had a nice meal. Plus the sunset. A+

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The Sunday Brunch is a very good value- the variety and freshness of the foods and the cost make this a wonderful brunch venue.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We were seated quickly but there was only one server for all tables on the deck and another server was definitely needed. You had to ask for condiments like butter, jelly, ketchup - and the server was just too busy to get them to you before you finished your food. The food was good, although the brunch line was slow going. Refilling food should be done from the back side so as not to interrupt the flow of the buffet line. Mimosas arrived when we were finishing up so it seems the bar was backed up. I'd go again, but not during the busy season.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Another great meal at Gulfstream. Beautiful view from our outside table. We always eat here while on vacation. Had dinner one day and brunch on Sunday

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Beautiful views and a great meal! Hate it took me so many years to find this gem. Had a very nice dinner with gorgeous evening water views! Top items from our evening were the filet & the crab cakes. Oh and the Key Lime Pie is a must!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great service. The food was excellent. She crab soup and oyster Rockefeller were exceptional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Always a great meal with great service

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Cozy restaurant with great views. Service was good and food was ok. Place looked great for a convenient neighborhood establishment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great food and service. We are always happy with the food. The crabcakes are amazing.love the hushpuppies too!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Everything was wonderful, however, as beautiful as your hostesses are, they should have their long hair either tied back, or put up... I wouldn't want one of those long hairs finding it's way to my food, or table. Otherwise, superb as always!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

This was our first time to the Gulfstream Cafe, but it WILL NOT be our last! Our server Morgan rocked it as she was the one taking care of the whole upper deck. We had a wonderful meal, live music (with a little comedy), and great service...all while we watched the sunset over the marsh! Great time!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Love the she crab soup....always our favorite ! Disappointed with Lobster Tail this time...overcooked, dry and chewy....first time weve been disappointed..it is usually fantastic! But still the best seafood reataurant at the beach!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Great location to watch the sunset - it was great. We had a great dinner. RAY and I had grouper francaise and it was very good. RAY also had she crab soup and enjoyed it very much. Tim had flounder and enjoyed it very much service was great and we enjoyed it all very much.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Great food. Hostess was excellent. Server was OK. Will be back on next trip to Myrtle Beach. It is on the other side of the Inlet, but very worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

My wife and I have been here several times before and love it. We suggested it to friends who are staying in North Myrtle Beach and they were willing to make the drive. They all loved it! We were there early and were seated right away. Service was excellent as always and the food was great. Blackened tilapia was good and not too spicy. Scallops were perfect.
Our friends talked about the great experience the next day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed the Sunday buffet! The food selection was expansive, well prepared and seasoned, and fresh! A perfect setting for a reunion of family and friends.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Have been to the Sunday brunch several times over the years and it is a very nice experience. Reservations make it easy with no waiting. Great location on the water and plenty of parking. The food is nicely presented with great selections including an omelette station. Overall, a pleasant dining location with very good food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

We were there for Sunday Brunch with family to celebrate a birthday. Best brunch in area, biscuits are great, wonderful variety of options for omelets and you can't beat the view!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Well the food was reasonable (nothing oustanding), but the service was horrific!
I was with my 16 year old daughter. Our table was upstairs next to the bar. Almost 5 minutes after we arrived and server took our drink order, a large group (15-20) came to the bar.
So what we thought would be a reasonably quick dinner when we were starving turned out to be over a 2 hour ordeal.

We soon realized that our server was wearing two hats and was also the bar tender.
Had to beg for bread at our table which some other server ended up getting. Flagged down another server for some straws. after 30 minutes original server appeared to take order and then disappeared again back to bar. Not sure if the order never went in, but then we waited almost hour for food to arrive. In the meantime, family sat next to us with a different server who told them about the specials. Who knew because our server never told us!
That family was served and finished and left and 5 miuntes later our food finally arrived.
I flagged down another server to request a glass of wine to go with my dinner and she told me to ask my server and I told her I had not seen her for an hour.

Well - nothing was taken off of our bill for the poor service and I did look for manager on my way out to explain the challenges and couldnt find that person either.

Obviously they did not have the staff to cover this night and I think we should have been compensated in some way for that.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

She crab soup to die for. Large portions for the price. Great Key Lime pie. Dinner for 2 came to $105 plus gratuity which was 2 glasses of wine, 2 appetizers, 2 entrees, 2 desserts and coffees.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

We have been going to the Gulf Stream for several years and it never disappoints. It is a beautiful setting. The She Crab Soup is yummy...nice creamy with plenty of crab. Seafood Ciopini is delicious....that sauce with the warm bread is a meal in itself. Crab cakes are always delightful..lots of crab and just a little filling. I would say the grouper is my least favorite dish....I am just not a fan of the breading....a little too thick for me. Whatever you do....remember to make a reservation!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 19, 2018

The food, and view was great! The waitress was unfriendly, apathetic and not happy with her job which took a lot away from the dining experience. This is a high end restaurant with high dollar prices and the service should be pleasant and she was far from it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Best view in the area. Our favorite place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Crumbs all over floor - cocktail sauce was half full and appeared to be old shrimp small in shrimp cocktail waitress forgot the wine - salad and dressing was good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Excellent seafood, my wife and I have enjoyed the lobster stuffed with Crab the last two trips to Pawleys Island, just a short drive to Garden city. I highly recommend this restaurant, the food, service and atmosphere are excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

The place is always good. Best brunch around. The staff is amazing .

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
31

Tweets by Gulfstream Cafe