About Gulfstream Cafe

1536 S Waccamaw Dr
Garden City, SC 29576
View Larger Map

Voted “best restaurant with a view” & “most romantic” by The Sun News. Watch the sun set from the upstairs deck and savor the creamy She-Crab soup, jumbo lump Crab Cakes or Southern favorite, fried Lobster Tail. Offering seasonal Oyster Roasts, Sunday brunch and family-style to go.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday:10:00am -2:30pm;
Sunday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
Atlantic Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 651-8808

Website:
http://www.gulfstreamcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonal live entertainment on the Sunset Deck.

Catering:
Authentic, big flavors from the South are available including appetizers like N'awlins Shrimp and Grits and large party favorites like Low Country Seafood Boils and freshly steamed Oyster Roasts.

Delivered direct to your home with an optional full service staff for any order, small or large. Convenient same day ordering available.

Parking Details:
Free self-parking is available for cars, golf carts and bikes. Boat docking is available at Marlin Quay Marina, as well as a water taxi.

Public Transit:
Water taxi is available at Marlin Quay Marina.

Private Party Facilities:
Gulfstream Cafe’s Sunset Deck is as unique as the restaurant itself. With romantic views of the sunset, its own entrance and bar– it’s like having a small restaurant reserved just for you and your guests.

The deck and bar can accommodate up to 80 guests for a seated event or up to 100 for a cocktail reception. Our main dining room can also be reserved for larger private events.

Private Party Contact:
Jef Kirk: 8436518808x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Black and Blue Tuna
Grouper Francaise
King Crab Omelet
Hushpuppies
Biscuits and Gravy
Roasted Duck
She crab soup in bread bowl
bruschette
Chipotle Au Gratin
“Oysters” on the Half Shell
Grouper Francais
Filet Mignon
Alaskan King Crab Legs
fried oysters
Filet Medallions
Brunch
Seafood Crepe
Tenderloin Medallions And Crab Cake
Oyster Shooters
Stuffed Lobster Tail
Lobster Tail

Gulfstream Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
South Carolina
Seafood
South Carolina
Best Ambiance
Myrtle Beach
1 More
Most Booked
Myrtle Beach
Best Restaurants in Garden City/Murrells Inlet ›

scenic view (146)
great for outdoor dining (95)
special occasion (88)
See All
neighborhood gem (69)
romantic (63)
good for groups (58)
great for brunch (43)
fit for foodies (35)
kid-friendly (23)
great for lunch (19)
hot spot (13)
notable wine list (11)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
674 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice friendly staff. Food was good alth ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

Nice friendly staff. Food was good although we had a 5:30 seating and could not take advantage of the early bird specials which are very good. Will go back.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our waiter was probably the best, most p ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our waiter was probably the best, most personable ever! Your She Crab Soup is over the top! We had several bad experiences at Gulfstream and we're glad we gave it another try!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside with a beautiful view of ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We sat outside with a beautiful view of the water and were greeted by our waiter quickly! He was very attentive. I got the crab cakes (mainly crab!! Not a lot of bread or fillers), mashed potatoes and green beans. My husband had the special- Tuna, baked potato and green beans. The food was delicious and served quickly. We were very pleased with the green beans! They appeared to be freshly picked and were cooked just right! Overall- great experience and would eat here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the perfect location to take in ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This is the perfect location to take in water views and a great meal! Jesse was our server and he was awesome!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable. Loved all of the food. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Very enjoyable. Loved all of the food. Our service was great. All good.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is very good, but the attractio ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food is very good, but the attraction is the view of Murrell's Inlet at sundown. Magnificent. When the weather cools down, I'd love to dine on the deck, but when we are usually in town (July/Aug) it's not an option, though it's a great place for a drink. The bar and wait staff are also always friendly and efficient.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

THE VIEW IS GREAT, EVEN THOUGH WE DID NO ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

THE VIEW IS GREAT, EVEN THOUGH WE DID NOT CATCH A DECENT SUNSET. PARKING IS DIFFICULT ON A BUSY NIGHT. Food was good, esp the she crab soup. ONE THING ABOUT OUR SERVER...SHE GAVE US THE CHECK BEFORE WE ASKED OR IT, AND NEVER ASKED IF WE WANTED COFFEE OR DESSERT. THOUGHT THAT WAS ODD.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good experience for a party of ten.

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Good experience for a party of ten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great bourbon choices; All the food was ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great bourbon choices; All the food was seasoned well. Fried lobster w/crab cake on top was delish; Fried onion loaf w/blue cheese dip is crazy good; Sour dough bread, she crab soup, mussels and salad were perfect. VISIT THIS PLACE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Restaurant was noisy and air conditionin ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Restaurant was noisy and air conditioning was not working very well. Our group sweated our way thru dinner we were toooo hoooot to stay for dessert. My grouper francese had poor presentation for $25 dinner. Three 3 by 3 inch pieces and the waiter did not bring us water or get my potato right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Beautiful sunsets and the food is decent ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Beautiful sunsets and the food is decent. A little pricey. Salad should be included

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very nice experience with the exception ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Very nice experience with the exception of the hostess giving our table to another couple who came in about 10 minutes after us. Gulfstream did make up for the mistake in an unexpected, very generous way. Food is delicious and they are excellent at not rushing the courses.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit the Gulfstream every year while ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We visit the Gulfstream every year while on vacation. It never disappoints. The views are amazing, while the food and service are very good Wish the menu selection was slightly larger.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, views and service. Don't do ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great food, views and service. Don't do the specialty drinks, they are expensive and not worth it. That was the only negative. We had the grouper, tuna, she crab soup and crab cakes...alllll were great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The special that night was blackened tun ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The special that night was blackened tuna, and 2 of our 6 in our party ordered it, one rare, and one well-done. Neither were blackened. One was rare, and the well done was actually medium rare. You would think that with such a limited menu, and the specials being promoted by the wait staff, that they could cook these to order and correctly. But, they weren't. Everyone else's food was mediocre. We told another group who stays with us and usually goes to Gulf Stream to skip it this year, the first time in 5 years. They did skip it. We wont' be back either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Been eating at gulf stream for over 20 y ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Been eating at gulf stream for over 20 years. Secret for the locals. Never disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

ordered a filet med-rare came out more m ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

ordered a filet med-rare came out more med. baked potato not served hot. waiter never refilled our water and avoided us after realizing it was sub par.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was good, but limited menu. Not ma ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food was good, but limited menu. Not many side options, and upcharges for everything. Expensive.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Have been there a few times...never disa ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Have been there a few times...never disappointed! Servers are knowledgeable and attentive. Varied menu. The Crab Cakes are not breaded and fried...they are Wonderful!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love...love...love this place...love bei ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Love...love...love this place...love being able to make a reservation on open table even during the busy summer months....dinner menu is small but food is excellent....had filet mingon that melted in my mouth....creamed spinach is so so yummy....had cheesecake for dessert....so so very good and huge piece.....view is beautiful overlooking the marsh....server was excellent and efficient....this place is well worth it!!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Live music which is what a lot of restau ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Live music which is what a lot of restaurants are doing. Maybe a guitar or even ukulele in the bar area or on the deck outside. It is also noisy, but the food and service was very good. I would definitely go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is one of the best restaurants in t ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants in the area. It has an amazing Murrells Inlet view, but it is across the sound away from the mega bar scene -- and no restaurant on the inlet side compares with this one. While it is very difficult to find true fine dining in the area, this place is very solid. The fried flounder was the best I've ever had (but hardly a fine dining selection), but the crab cakes and steaks get high marks. Make a reservation. They get busy.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food, outstanding service, very ni ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great food, outstanding service, very nice view.

We returned to this restaurant to celebrate our anniversary with my wife's brother and sister-in-law. I had mentioned the occasion in the Open Table reservation request and, not only did we get a coveted corner window table with a very nice view, the restaurant had a congratulations card waiting for us on the table. Very nice touch!

The four of us each ordered a different entrée. While the kitchen didn't quite get my filet mignon butterflied and cooked correctly, I had no complaints and enjoyed it very much. The others in our party found their meals very enjoyable, too.

Our server was very friendly and helpful, and was attentive without hovering. He was concerned about the kitchen's mistake and, without it being requested or necessary, comp'd our desserts.

Overall, we were very, very pleased with our visit. We will definitely be back on our next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Alaskan King Crab legs- perfec ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent Alaskan King Crab legs- perfect portion and perfect price- this is the only place where you can watch the sun set over the water, which is beautiful. Lots of Windows. Great view. Restaurant was warm on a hot night. Wish AC was stronger. We had reservations for two and ended up with 2 terrible table choices. On in the center of the room and next by the door the waiters went in and out constantly to the deck.

Our food took forever to get but we were given a free dessert which was very kind. I'd go back again

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Server was very good but had to wait eve ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Server was very good but had to wait even though I did make a reservation. Food was great.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been talking about going for brunc ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We've been talking about going for brunch here for awhile and we finally made it here last week. The spread was incredible. The food was delish. The atmosphere is laid back with panoramic views. We had a great server who was very attentive but not 'on us'. The price point was great. We really enjoyed everything. We will definitely go back and highly recommend eating here.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd visit in 2 days. Beautiful sunset! ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

2nd visit in 2 days. Beautiful sunset! Strip steak was just ok. On the tough side with lots of fat and grizzle. String beans and mashed potatoes came cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

I have been to this restaurant many time ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I have been to this restaurant many time and bragged about it to my friends. My friends were visiting from FLorida and brought them there for you last night. The service was so slow. It took an hour and a half to get our food and it was cold. I was very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Terrible service at bar. Only 2 bartende ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Terrible service at bar. Only 2 bartenders and long wait. Restaurant too warm and humid Slow dining service Food was excellent.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Nice atmosphere and great food!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Nice atmosphere and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great location with a good mix of land/s ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great location with a good mix of land/sea fare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great views. A lot of fried and salty op ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great views. A lot of fried and salty options. A great location and stop if in Garden City Beach area.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent service, delicious food. Our ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Excellent service, delicious food. Our waitress was friendly, efficient, and professional. She got our complicated orders correct with good humor.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere and wait staff was wonder ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The atmosphere and wait staff was wonderful. However, getting seated was awful, waited over an hour after ordering to get our food, half the food was barely warm, and the taste really wasn't all that great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Had not been here for ten years. Menu n ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Had not been here for ten years. Menu now very very small. Food was good but pricey. $42 for lobster with crab. $4 extra for side salad. Service not what you would expect for upscale prices and setting Beautiful sunset.

Will return for drinks but not food. Too many other good places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Our server seemed very inexperienced and ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our server seemed very inexperienced and rushed us through the meal. He did not present specials or ask if we had questions regarding the menu. After bringing the check, he tried to take it 3 times before it was ready and did not make any apology for rushing us out of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Excellent service. We requested a windo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent service. We requested a window table and they complied with my reservation request. The table was perfect - beautiful view! We felt "special" - they even had a "happy birthday" card on our table for me. I appreciated the thought. Wonderful night.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gulfstream counts on its location and vi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Gulfstream counts on its location and view. Seafood platter was over salted. Blackened Tuna was cooked on one side only with center barely at temperature. Table had a good view but ambient temperature was high relative to the rest of the place and uncomfortable.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was just OK. There are much better ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food was just OK. There are much better places in the area to have seafood. Tuna was not the best grade although they said it was sushi grade, scallop platter had a BIG baked potato, hush puppies and a few small scallops, grouper was just OK.

It's a good place for a cocktail and to watch the sunset from the deck.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

They have excellent crab cakes, with bas ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

They have excellent crab cakes, with basically no breaking-all crab meat. We ate some of the best fried shrimp ever, especially in the Firecracker Shrimp appetizer. Overall they have delicious menu with just enough variety, and it is a great venue for family dining. We will definitely make the drive again during the next vacation to this area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.