About Gulfstream Cafe

1536 S Waccamaw Dr
Garden City, SC 29576
View Larger Map

Voted “best restaurant with a view” & “most romantic” by The Sun News. Watch the sun set from the upstairs deck and savor the creamy She-Crab soup, jumbo lump Crab Cakes or Southern favorite, fried Lobster Tail. Offering seasonal Oyster Roasts, Sunday brunch and family-style to go.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday:10:00am -2:30pm;
Sunday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
Atlantic Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 651-8808

Website:
http://www.gulfstreamcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonal live entertainment on the Sunset Deck.

Catering:
Authentic, big flavors from the South are available including appetizers like N'awlins Shrimp and Grits and large party favorites like Low Country Seafood Boils and freshly steamed Oyster Roasts.

Delivered direct to your home with an optional full service staff for any order, small or large. Convenient same day ordering available.

Parking Details:
Free self-parking is available for cars, golf carts and bikes. Boat docking is available at Marlin Quay Marina, as well as a water taxi.

Public Transit:
Water taxi is available at Marlin Quay Marina.

Private Party Facilities:
Gulfstream Cafe’s Sunset Deck is as unique as the restaurant itself. With romantic views of the sunset, its own entrance and bar– it’s like having a small restaurant reserved just for you and your guests.

The deck and bar can accommodate up to 80 guests for a seated event or up to 100 for a cocktail reception. Our main dining room can also be reserved for larger private events.

Private Party Contact:
Jef Kirk: 8436518808x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Grouper Francaise - Gulfstream Cafe
Black and Blue Tuna - Gulfstream Cafe
King Crab Omelet - Gulfstream Cafe
Hushpuppies - Gulfstream Cafe
Biscuits and Gravy - Gulfstream Cafe
Roasted Duck - Gulfstream Cafe
She crab soup in bread bowl - Gulfstream Cafe
bruschette - Gulfstream Cafe
“Oysters” on the Half Shell - Gulfstream Cafe
Grouper Francais - Gulfstream Cafe
Chipotle Au Gratin - Gulfstream Cafe
Filet Mignon - Gulfstream Cafe
Alaskan King Crab Legs - Gulfstream Cafe
fried oysters - Gulfstream Cafe
Filet Medallions - Gulfstream Cafe
Brunch - Gulfstream Cafe
Seafood Crepe - Gulfstream Cafe
Tenderloin Medallions And Crab Cake - Gulfstream Cafe
Oyster Shooters - Gulfstream Cafe
Stuffed Lobster Tail - Gulfstream Cafe
Lobster Tail - Gulfstream Cafe

Gulfstream Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
South Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Myrtle Beach
Most Booked
Myrtle Beach
Best Restaurants in Garden City/Murrells Inlet ›

Scenic View (163)
Great for Outdoor Dining (94)
Special Occasion (89)
See All
Romantic (71)
Neighborhood Gem (67)
Good for Groups (53)
Great for Brunch (38)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Kid-friendly (26)
Waterfront (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Good for a Date (13)
Casual (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Cozy (5)
Family Style (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Authentic (4)
Seasonal (3)
Business Meals (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
Newest
740 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great Sunday brunch with friends. Dinin ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great Sunday brunch with friends. Dining on the waterfront at the marina is very relaxing. Rod our server was very friendly and efficient. Brunch was outstanding. My husband loves the omlettes to order and I love the oyster shooters and lunch offerings on the brunch bar.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great for the value. We com ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was great for the value. We come here at least once during our annual visit to Myrtle Beach. This was the first time we had the Brunch. I would recommend it!

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We vacation every year in Myrtle Beach a ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 6 days ago

We vacation every year in Myrtle Beach and Gulfstream Cafe is a must.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, People Watching, Disabled Access, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had made reservations for my wife's b ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

We had made reservations for my wife's birthday for 8pm for three people. We arrived 5 mins early and a group that arrived ahead of us with no reservations were seated at one of the last remaining water view tables. We were told to wait and after 5-10 mins we were seated at a water view table right next to the patio door which had constant traffic and the other side of the table the person sitting there had little room due to a large party sitting at the next table. An air conditioning vent was located under the table which was uncomfortable. We tried to make the best of it but eventually we asked for the manager and she had a bit of attitude but found another table. My point in this is if you have a party with a reservation arriving I would think you would hold the best table for them not sit a party that didn't take the time to make a reservation ahead of them. We are regular customers of the Gulfstream Cafe and still will continue to visit. Just a bad experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Highlights of our 30th anniversary meal: ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Highlights of our 30th anniversary meal: Crab legs over cooked, garlic mashed potatoes - were garlic mush, green beans - blan, she-crab soup was outstanding, steak was excellent, fries were cold and tasteless, cheese cake - just a cold lump on the plate-Gordon Ramsey would not be pleased!

Over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

It was very loud and hard to have a conv ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was very loud and hard to have a conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

It was a very relaxing experience! The f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was a very relaxing experience! The food was delicious, the view very pretty, and the service was very good!! We will be back!

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking for a nicer seafood plac ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were looking for a nicer seafood place and this place is perfect. At the suggestion of our server we tried the Shrimp and Grits appetizer and it was great. My wife ordered the Mahi and I had the Lump Crab Cakes and both were great. Will certainly go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had reservations we arrived early and we ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had reservations we arrived early and were promptly seated. Staff was friendly and the food was excellent. I will be returning and recommending this place to all friends. Great job!!!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food came cold (with an attitude). Once ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Food came cold (with an attitude). Once it came hot, it was very good.

Tags: Waterfront, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Simply fabulous...great service and wond ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Simply fabulous...great service and wonderful food! I will be back! And the sunrise...without words :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great scenic view. The food is good and ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great scenic view. The food is good and prices are reasonable. The service is just fair.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The food was excellent and the Sunday br ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was excellent and the Sunday brunch offered a great variety. Have eaten there 4 times and it is my favorite Restaurant in the Surfside, Garden City, Murrels Inlet area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside at sunset and the view co ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We sat outside at sunset and the view combined with excellent food and service makes for a perfect evening. I highly recommend Gulfstream Cafe.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is excellent. This was my 3rd ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This place is excellent. This was my 3rd visit in a week. I am hooked

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Gulfstream C ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

This was our first visit to Gulfstream Café and it is now on our "favorites" rotation. I booked this reservation because of a recent review that said this place was one of the two "best views" spots in SC. Since it was just up the street from where we were staying I thought we'd give it a try. The sunset view from the outside dining area is by far the best in the Myrtle Beach area. Our meal was very enjoyable, we all had something different and nobody had any regrets regarding their selection or how things were prepared. The wait staff was helpful and attentive, the cocktails were well done and a great experience was had by all. We will definitely be going back the next time we are in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Best place in Garden City to enjoy a gre ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Best place in Garden City to enjoy a great meal while watching a beautiful sunset!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Family Style, Scenic View, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Gulfstream Café is a yearly destinat ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The Gulfstream Café is a yearly destination for our family during our stay in Myrtle Beach. We made a reservation, and were seated immediately upon arrival. Our waitress was friendly. One of our family members requested an item that was no longer on the menu. Our waitress was able to have the chef prepare it for him. All in all you can't beat the food and the fabulous view!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The outdoor seating gave a wonderful amb ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The outdoor seating gave a wonderful ambiance for preparing to see the sunset over the marsh. The idea of this is what drew me to the Gulfstream Cafe and I wasn't disappointed, except for a young child being seated next to me. I immediately ordered what sounded like a tasty cocktail, but it ended up being simply ok; nothing to brag about or worth ordering a second. I then switched to wine. Even though the special of the Blackened Mahi sounded delicious, I thought it a little overpriced for where I had just had it the night before at a nearby restaurant. So, I decided on the fried flounder. I was happy with my choice, as it was delicious!! The hush puppies had somewhat of a sweet taste to them which is not my preference, so I skipped finishing those. One thing I wish could be done is the top rail of the outdoor porch seating be lowered. The view of the marsh is a big selling point for this place and yet when you are seated, it is difficult to get a good picture of the view without getting up and moving away from your table. Everyone seemed to be doing just that, so it was a bit distracting. Overall, my meal was very tasty and a relaxing, enjoyable dining experience. My server Jesse was the highlight of the experience as he was very attentive and took very good care of me.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We visit Gulf Stream every trip to the M ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We visit Gulf Stream every trip to the Myrtle Beach area. Wonderful outdoor seating. Very nice views, great sunset. Good food, reasonable price. Great friendly service. Highly recommended for anyone visiting the Myrtle Beach area

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to gulfstream 2 times this summe ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We went to gulfstream 2 times this summer, once for the early bird special and liked it very much so decided to return and try the regular menu. These were our problems the second time.

1. No utensils on our table. We had to ask twice.

2. Had to ask for bread plates.

3. Salad was served with no dressing...had to ask for some.

4. Requested more water. It never came.

5. The filet mignon was served raw in the middle. It was sent back twice.

6. Asked for leftover box 3 times before it came.

I wish I could say something positive, but the whole experience was very frustrating. I guess the positive is we didn't have to pay for the filet since we couldn't eat it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Great food, good service and great view. ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great food, good service and great view. We will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is across the street from wh ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This place is across the street from where we vacation. we took a friend this year telling her about the wonderful crab soup. not as wonderful this year. soup was just warm and not served with a side of sherry. when asked our just average server said we no longer do that . So glad this was not out first time.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

We eat at Gulfstream at least three time ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We eat at Gulfstream at least three times per year and have for the last 10-12 years whenever we stay at our beach house. Most of the time the service and food are excellent. On this occasion the food was great but service was subpar from the moment we walked in till we finished. People were cordial and tried to be helpful but our table wobbled and the staff didn't try to fix it. My son used sweetener packets from the table to steady it. Our server was slow and not the most attentive person. I had to ask him to bring us bread after he served the table beside us who were seated at least 15 minutes after we were seated. All in all things were okay but not great. For the money we spent and the number of times we've been there "okay" is not acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We have been coming to the Sunday Brunc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We have been coming to the Sunday Brunch with friends and family while in the area. Always a good time. Good food, good value and great view.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view... Not much more than tha ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Beautiful view... Not much more than that. Bought a pitcher drink for $23. Lots of ice, lots of juice, no alcohol that we could taste or "feel" after drinking that much. Food was ok and waiter was rushed. (Wasn't that busy at 8:00)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

A really nice restaurant and great sunse ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

A really nice restaurant and great sunset views! Would definitely go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my third visit to the Gulf Stre ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was my third visit to the Gulf Stream Café. The reason my wife and I have come back to this restaurant was 3 things.... Romantic setting, food and service. Unfortunately this last visit we were missing the service. although polite, our server rushed us initially, and when we tried to slow him down by ordering our drinks & appetizers we became forgotten. Walking past with empty drinks, never asking if we'd like to order our dinner. Other couples came and went before our dinner was served. I would still recommend this restaurant because of our other visits. Possibly the server was just having a bad evening.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

We made a 7:00 reservation and requested ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We made a 7:00 reservation and requested a table by the window. We enjoyed a beautiful sunset and a delicious dinner. The shrimp and grits appetizer was very good and not the usual shrimp and grits.

It is a great place for a date or special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great except the hostess ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Everything was great except the hostess (blonde hair up in a bun, white blouse, black slacks)

REAL attitude, not welcoming or friendly. When we left no "hope you had a good time", "have

a nice evening", thanks for coming", "come again"...nothing. If she's there next time, I'll leave.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restautant. Food was very good. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great restautant. Food was very good. Look forward to a return visit.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful views of the sunset and the fo ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Beautiful views of the sunset and the food was excellent! We can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Gulfstream Cafe is a very good seafo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The Gulfstream Cafe is a very good seafood and steak restaurant. The food is very good and the service is great. We had reservations and out table was ready when we arrived. The food value is a good average for the area and the bar mixes a good drink.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Gulfstream Cafe has great ambience. It ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Gulfstream Cafe has great ambience. It is terrific for seeing the great sunsets from all over the restaurant . The service was excellent. The food was delicious. I ordered a steak and it came exactly how I like it! The others with me were also very happy with their food. One of them had the Seafood platter and the the other the half of roast chicken. The portions were generous. We needed a to go box? This restaurant was recommended to me by a friend and I have recommended to others. It was a great dining experience.

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very average - especially seafo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was very average - especially seafood dishes which were quite dry. We had a party of 9 and the place was pretty busy. Server was hustling and doing a nice job, but the food was not what we expected. Menu was intriguing, but ultimately disappointing. Very good view of the water and convenient to Garden City residents or vacationers. Probably won't return.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Of all the restaurants that we have eate ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Of all the restaurants that we have eaten in Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach area, Gulfstream tops them all! Seafood is wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We used to love this place but the menu ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We used to love this place but the menu has become too restricted and expensive for what they served. My meal was not good - and I was supposed to get two side dishes and a salad. They only sent out one side and then charged extra for the salad, anyway. Two other dinners looked good and one other had the same problem mine did. They were busy but they usually are. I will go back for brunch but not for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

a visit to this place has been an annual ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

a visit to this place has been an annual ritual for at least the past decade. I go to Myrtle Beach every year to visit my aunt and uncle plus soak up some beach time. Traditionally the last full day I am in town we will go to the Gulfstream for dinner. They have a terrific early bird menu. Normally it is first come first serve so I was excited to see that I could use open table to make a reservation! When we were seated, there was a party of eight, we were given regular dinner menus. When we asked for the early bird menus we were advised BECAUSE WE MADE A RESERVATION WE WERE NOT ABLE TO GET THE EARLY BIRD MENU. After speaking to the manager we were permitted to order from the early menu. I suggest that a disclaimer be added to state that if you book a dinner reservation during the 4 to 6 pm period you can not take advantage of the early bird specials. we did not hold it against our server and left her a $40 tip.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Amazing fried shrimp. Not your typical ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Amazing fried shrimp. Not your typical crusted fried shrimp, just dusted and delicious. Amazing salads. Great view. My guest had the crab legs that were amazing. The filet was great. Meal was awesome. Prices are high though. But the delivery of a great meal was there so you get what you pay for.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The sunsets over the marsh are amazing. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The sunsets over the marsh are amazing. We love dining on the roof, enjoying the view.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.