Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.89mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.89mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.89mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.89mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.24mi

About Gulfstream Cafe

Voted “best restaurant with a view” & “most romantic” by The Sun News. Watch the sun set from the upstairs deck and savor the creamy She-Crab soup, jumbo lump Crab Cakes or Southern favorite, fried Lobster Tail. Offering seasonal Oyster Roasts, Sunday brunch and family-style to go.

1536 S Waccamaw Dr
Garden City, SC 29576
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday:10:00am -2:30pm;
Sunday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
Atlantic Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 651-8808

Website:
http://www.gulfstreamcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonal live entertainment on the Sunset Deck.

Catering:
Authentic, big flavors from the South are available including appetizers like N'awlins Shrimp and Grits and large party favorites like Low Country Seafood Boils and freshly steamed Oyster Roasts.

Delivered direct to your home with an optional full service staff for any order, small or large. Convenient same day ordering available.

Parking Details:
Free self-parking is available for cars, golf carts and bikes. Boat docking is available at Marlin Quay Marina, as well as a water taxi.

Public Transit:
Water taxi is available at Marlin Quay Marina.

Private Party Facilities:
Gulfstream Cafe’s Sunset Deck is as unique as the restaurant itself. With romantic views of the sunset, its own entrance and bar– it’s like having a small restaurant reserved just for you and your guests.

The deck and bar can accommodate up to 80 guests for a seated event or up to 100 for a cocktail reception. Our main dining room can also be reserved for larger private events.

Private Party Contact:
Jef Kirk: (843) 651-8808

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gulfstream Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (46)
Scenic View (42)
Special Occasion (30)
See All
Good for a Date (30)
Romantic (26)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Great for Brunch (20)
Casual (18)
Authentic (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Cozy (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Disabled Access (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Fun (9)
Family Style (8)
Business Meals (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Seasonal (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
People Watching (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Historic (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Private Room (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
853 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food, excellent service, and waterfront dining.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

First time there. Glad we had a reservation because we just walking in and sat by the window
Really enjoyed the food & watching sun set with my wife on our date night
Good job. Usually eat at California Dreaming on date night. Will do it again for sure
Gary

Tags: Quick Bite, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Been going for years and have never been disappointed

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Have been going to Gulfstream for 14 years . We have always enjoyed the food, the service, the wonderful location and have had meals at the Early Bird time, regular dinner menu time and have had Christsmas Day dinner this year and it was excellent!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Brunch was wonderful with traditional items like eggs and French toast, but also featured mussels and cod. Southern favorites were there too, like biscuits and gravy as well as cheese grits. The biscuits are light and fluffy and the gravy was pretty good too- a lot of places get those very wrong. The brunch buffet also features fresh cut fruit and other healthy choices too, like a custom omelette. Pro tip : cheese grits and fried cod are great together.
After the meal you get a really nice fresh baked cookie that's pretty good.
I had a bloody mary and didn't request a specific vodka, though our server did ask- which is nice. It was pretty good but not too spicy. For folks who don't like a spicy one or lots of stuff in theirs, this one is great.
Making a reservation gets you preferred seating by the beautiful windows overlooking the boats and waterway, which is super. But reserve an early table. It fills up quickly.
The value is excellent and food is great quality. Service is good too. Views are great and the building itself is beautiful inside.

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great evening out. We had the featured dish Paella. The dish was well put together and had amazing flavor. The server recommended a Pinot noir with the dish and it paired perfectly. Great food, great location and outstanding service.

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food was wonderful, service was excellent, and the key lime pie was the best I have ever had! I definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Amazing sunset overlooking inlet. Wonderful cocktails great crab cake and grouper. Will definitely go back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Service was superb! We had Jason again(we've had him before) and the food was spot on. I got the grouper and it was delish! My boyfriend got the tuna and he enjoyed it as well. Gulfstream is the perfect spot to have some wine and enjoy the sunset before your dinner!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Spectacular sunset views and good food. Excellent service.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We spent a week in the Myrtle Beach area. This is was the best seafood we had, hands down. Fresh ingredients, perfectly cooked, and some of the best oysters on the half shell I've had in my life. Great building, too, with a wonderful sunset view (yup, sunset over the water - on the East coast!). Already looking forward to coming back again some time.

Tags: Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Last time there were 6 of us, this time 10. Great place, good food. Very enjoyable. Love it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Quality food nicely presented in a very nice atmosphere. Service was excellent . Menu choices were available to please any palate. The overall experience will make you want to return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We had a very good meal and they were right on time. The view is excellent!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Healthy, Historic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We went Sunday for the Brunch. Excellent food, service. Great place for a couple or a group of people. Very clean & comfortable. Servers were very helpful & friendly. I would recommend this to anyone, I already have. I would also advise to make a reservation. It gets very crowded. Really enjoyed everything & will be going back again. We all enjoyed everything.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Waterfront, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a great meal presented to us by a very sweet waitress. Food came out very fast and we had a view of the kitchen from behind a glass wall, no noise!
It was an overall nice experience and would definitely recommend it. I had the lobster stuffed with crab and my husband had the filet. We also ended with a slice of key lime pie! Yum...what are you waiting for make a reservation!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I review for tripadvisor and gave them a great review there

Tags: Casual, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 20, 2017

My children and I truly enjoyed our meal at the restaurant. They are foodies, so they are very picky and gave everything rave reviews.....for a 9 year old and 5 year old :-)

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Snowbird in Myrtle Beach for Jan and Feb. A friend that lives here and I meet for the Sunday brunch. The selection is excellent and well worth the money. My only recommendation would to serve real eggs and not the processed liquid eggs both for the scrambled and omelets. Not the same taste and really a disappointment to have that on an otherwise wonderful buffet. My friend requested an omelet with real eggs because of an allergy and was told that was not possible.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent brunch, very reasonably priced with exceptional views in a comfortable dining area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our dinner was absolutely delicious. The she-crab soup was the best that I have ever eaten! I had the crab stuffed lobster and my husband had the crab cakes. Both meals were exceptional! Our server, Adam, did a wonderful job and provided the best service that I have seen in a long time. We hope to return on our next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Fun, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our server was attentive and exceptionally courteous.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I don't remember ever having a bad meal at Gulfstream. We probably eat there 10 or 12 times a year. The food, the waitstaff all make for a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Fun, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great food, great view, great service, i would recommend this restaurant highly

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our server Cory was very professional and prompt. Would recommend my friends to ask for him. Food was great, first time my wife had been there.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was awesome. It was a terrific valentines dinner

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Take a coat or jacket. Had to move from original seating and the second spot was just as cold. A/C vents blowing on our legs. Waiter had to hang a table cloth to cut down on the wind. Still chilly!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Just overpriced for the meal and drinks, my opinion. Nice place.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I had Lobster and was not pleased, it was under cooked, the creamed spinach was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great view and amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was fantastic. Made for a wonderful date. I had the best she-crab soup ever. The Filet Mignon was cooked perfectly and the crab cakes were phenomenal. I will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love the Sunday brunch at GulfStream Cafe.....food is great and constantly refreshed on the buffet....made to order o letters are great ...views of the Marsh are beautiful.....and the meal ends with a warm cookie--perfect!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We love the Sunday brunch at Gulfstream, food was excellent, as usual. We were, however, disappointed to find out that the make-your-own Bloody Mary drink bar no longer exists...bring it back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Sunday brunch is outstanding. Pretty much the best grits in the world.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

First time we were at the Gulfsteam cafe and it was excellent. Staff were very courteous and the Sunday brunch was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very pleased with reservation system and the meals at Gulfstream Cafe. Our past experiences with the cafe have always been very good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Pleasant atmosphere, great views, excellent service and great food.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful meal with the best sunset view on the Grandstrand. We were seated promptly , and every aspect of our meal was flawless. We will be back in the area in May , and can't wait to join you again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Superb dining experience... Beautiful sunset over the Marsh, the Sword Fish was to die for.. desert exceptional... waiter very prompt and friendly. A wonderful experience !

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The view was second to none. Food and service were great and the prices were very affordable. We will be back many more times. Will tell all what a great place to dine.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.