Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.89mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.89mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.89mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.89mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.24mi

About Gulfstream Cafe

Voted “best restaurant with a view” & “most romantic” by The Sun News. Watch the sun set from the upstairs deck and savor the creamy She-Crab soup, jumbo lump Crab Cakes or Southern favorite, fried Lobster Tail. Offering seasonal Oyster Roasts, Sunday brunch and family-style to go.

1536 S Waccamaw Dr
Garden City, SC 29576
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday:10:00am -2:30pm;
Sunday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
Atlantic Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 651-8808

Website:
http://www.gulfstreamcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonal live entertainment on the Sunset Deck.

Catering:
Authentic, big flavors from the South are available including appetizers like N'awlins Shrimp and Grits and large party favorites like Low Country Seafood Boils and freshly steamed Oyster Roasts.

Delivered direct to your home with an optional full service staff for any order, small or large. Convenient same day ordering available.

Parking Details:
Free self-parking is available for cars, golf carts and bikes. Boat docking is available at Marlin Quay Marina, as well as a water taxi.

Public Transit:
Water taxi is available at Marlin Quay Marina.

Private Party Facilities:
Gulfstream Cafe’s Sunset Deck is as unique as the restaurant itself. With romantic views of the sunset, its own entrance and bar– it’s like having a small restaurant reserved just for you and your guests.

The deck and bar can accommodate up to 80 guests for a seated event or up to 100 for a cocktail reception. Our main dining room can also be reserved for larger private events.

Private Party Contact:
Jef Kirk: (843) 651-8808

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gulfstream Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (95)
Waterfront (91)
Good for a Date (59)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (54)
Special Occasion (50)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Casual (42)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Worth the Drive (36)
Romantic (35)
Good for Groups (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Local Ingredients (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Great for Brunch (20)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Cozy (20)
Authentic (19)
Fun (15)
Seasonal (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Business Meals (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Healthy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (3)
Great Beer (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1034 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

What a great experience. the view was beautiful, food and service were excellent! very happy! We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Ambiance and Beautiful sunset over the Inlet made this a wonderful evening at a prior favorite we've enjoyed for years. Manager came over and spoke and spent a little time with us. Delightful. Food not quite as expected, but overall a "re-found favorite."

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Reasonable prices, great view, attentive waiter made for a most enjoyable evening

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Good food and drinks and a great view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

A beautiful place to dine. I had the filet and it was perfectly cooked! The ambiance was really nice and our server was very attentIve and efficient. Definitely coming back!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

GREAT FOOD, GREAT VIEW OF THE MARSH, EXCELLENT SERVICE, OUTDOOR EATING IF
PREFERRED.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Fantastic food, fabulous service and gorgeous views of the Inlet. A little pricey but worth every penny.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great Beer, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Come here 2 or 3 times a year and never disappoints !

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

We ate at the Gulfstream, seven years ago on our honeymoon, and it was just as wonderful on our aniversary this year. Our favorite!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Enjoyed our meal here. Only negative was we were seated by the door to the deck and the foot traffic was horrible. Plus you get a draft of hot wind each time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Second trip to the Gulfstream this summer...perhaps was better than first time, which was awesome! She crab soup is among the best I have ever tasted. My wife and I shared both seafood specials, so the tuna and swordfish. Both were prepared exactly as requested. Large portions, excellent sides. Wine list is small, but nice selections. Highly recommended.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great food, service and view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We are locals and live in the Inlet so we go to this place at least 3 times a year, usually for special occasions like birthdays, etc. The food is always delicious but the scenery is to die for. The view of the marina and Inlet boat traffic is only surpassed by the sunsets there. Beautiful! The wait staff is always knowledgeable on the foods and are always willing to accomodate almost any request. One of our favorite places in Murrells Inlet. Reservations through open table are always recognized and treated well. We rarely have to wait with reservations.
Randy & Dixie Kuntz. Murrells Inlet SC.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Appetizer generous and the entrées were outstanding.
The crabcake specifically were spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Everything was great! Beautiful view and great food!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We eat at Gulfstream Café on a pretty regular basis and have never been disappointed with the food or service. Always top notch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Had been seeking a great view of the Sunset since we arrived from New York and finally succeeded on the Sun deck of this lovely restaurant by the water on a perfectly Sunny day! Pictures galore to share w/family and friends; and the food & drinks were a real treat as well! You will not be disappointed!

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We had a great time, the food was very good and the view of Murrell's Inlet is spectacular!

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Steak and Fish were great...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Disappointing meal. Found a large hair in my shrimp cocktail. My baked potato was barely warm and my swordfish was just ok. Service was good but couldn't make up for the poor quality of the food. We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

My sisters and friends and myself came here to celebrate my 40th birthday and we had a wonderful time! The food and service was great! Our server was so sweet and never left us to wait for anything!!! I will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

The Gulf Stream is a wonderful restaurant with fantastic seafood and an amazing view. We make it a point to visit every year when we visit Garden City.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We were seated on the porch upstairs, a beautiful location. But it took a long time to get a server. My wife ordered a plain daiquiri, but the server didn't know what that was. It took over 30 minutes to get the food to our table. Although the food was good, it was cool in temperature and similar dishes were at different levels of doneness. We probably will not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Food was delicious. Service was friendly and quick. Highly recommend if in the area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 26, 2017

You can't find a better view for dining at the Grand Strand. Good food and drink

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 24, 2017

The food is always fresh and perfectly prepared. Great value for dinner. Worth the drive from Myrtle Beach!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Love their Sunday brunch.....always good food and great service!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The Gulfstream Cafe was wonderful! The service and food were incredible. It is a great place to dine alfresco and watch the beautiful sunset. I will definitely visit the Gulfstream Cafe when I'm in the Myrtle Beach area!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

I thought the grouper francais tasted a little old, not very fresh. The baked potato was lukewarm and the green beans were not trimmed properly but tasted good and crisp.service and view were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We dined at Gulfstream while on vacation. We have been dining here for years! It's always great! Beautiful atmosphere, especially at sunset!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Went while on vacation from a locals recommendation....everything good except for hushpuppies, very heavy....delicious lemon cake foe dessert..

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Grouper had a fishy taste indicating to me that it was not fresh. Baked potato was not cooked through. Sunset was beautiful. Our family has decided we will go elsewhere next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 20, 2017

We go to the Gulfstream every year when our family is in the area, and they always exceed our expectations. Service is great, food quality is great and the sunset views over the Inlet are the best around. I hope it remains a hidden gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Just wonderful. This was our second visit to this out-of-the-way gem and it's worth the drive. The food was wonderful, and the prices reasonable. We had salmon and scallops and the platters were fresh, the portions large, and the quality excellent. Even the fresh-baked bread was piping hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Best best best Brunch around!!!! Our server was outstanding--Savannah--was truely exceptional considering we were a large party (6 adults and 3 kids) and there several large parties going on around us. She was attentive and very very personable and great with the little kids in our group. A visit or two to Gulf Stream Cafe is a must when our family comes to visit. Thanks for having it all--great views, great food and great servers!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 16, 2017

This was not our first visit to Gulfstream, but it was our first for their Sunday brunch. There was not one negative thing I could say about the experience. It was the best brunch I have ever eaten.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We loved that you could make a reservation, plus it was the best seafood we had the whole vacation. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Food and service were excellent!! Went for dinner right before sunset and the view was spectacular, will absolutely be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Birthday dinner turned out to be a disappointment. Grouper was disgusting. Swapped for crab cakes which were good although the side items were not. Server was fantastic but manager was terrible. Very disappointing overall. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.