Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.89mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.89mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.89mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.89mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.24mi

About Gulfstream Cafe

Voted “best restaurant with a view” & “most romantic” by The Sun News. Watch the sun set from the upstairs deck and savor the creamy She-Crab soup, jumbo lump Crab Cakes or Southern favorite, fried Lobster Tail. Offering seasonal Oyster Roasts, Sunday brunch and family-style to go.

1536 S Waccamaw Dr
Garden City, SC 29576
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday:10:00am -2:30pm;
Sunday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
Atlantic Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 651-8808

Website:
http://www.gulfstreamcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonal live entertainment on the Sunset Deck.

Catering:
Authentic, big flavors from the South are available including appetizers like N'awlins Shrimp and Grits and large party favorites like Low Country Seafood Boils and freshly steamed Oyster Roasts.

Delivered direct to your home with an optional full service staff for any order, small or large. Convenient same day ordering available.

Parking Details:
Free self-parking is available for cars, golf carts and bikes. Boat docking is available at Marlin Quay Marina, as well as a water taxi.

Public Transit:
Water taxi is available at Marlin Quay Marina.

Private Party Facilities:
Gulfstream Cafe’s Sunset Deck is as unique as the restaurant itself. With romantic views of the sunset, its own entrance and bar– it’s like having a small restaurant reserved just for you and your guests.

The deck and bar can accommodate up to 80 guests for a seated event or up to 100 for a cocktail reception. Our main dining room can also be reserved for larger private events.

Private Party Contact:
Jef Kirk: (843) 651-8808

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gulfstream Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (70)
Scenic View (70)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Good for a Date (40)
Romantic (38)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Worth the Drive (33)
Great for Brunch (32)
Casual (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Good for Groups (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Cozy (16)
Authentic (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Disabled Access (14)
Fun (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Seasonal (11)
Family Style (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Business Meals (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
People Watching (5)
Historic (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great Beer (3)
Private Room (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Healthy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (0)
Sort By:
S
890 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 19 hours ago

The end of spring break.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

This was a spur of the moment decision, and thanks to the open table app we got to try them out. Food was absolutely Devine. Everything was cooked to perfection. Wait staff was attentive and new the menu items and drinks well. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a great view overlooking the sunset while enjoying a great dinner. Very memorable!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

Best in Garden City. Great Easter Sunday dinner with family.
Waitress was attentive for special cooking directions for my daughter and me.
Brunch was all booked, however next year I'll book EARLY for it!
BTW...food was great

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

Beautiful view. Delicios Food. Great Service. We all enjoyed our dinner and are looking forward to dining at the Gulf Stream Cafe again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

We went for Easter dinner. Good was good & plentiful. Our server, Cara, was new but you never would have guessed - she was attentive & very pleasant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

We were seated at a booth near the kitchen, my least favorite place to sit in any restaurant but considering it was Easter Sunday I took what I could. I would not recommend sitting at the booth if you visit this restaurant - it was very noisy and uncomfortable seating for a family with small children. The wait staff had a tendency to set trays and used dishes on the sides of the booth while attending to other duties. Very unpleasant. Overall the service was inconsistent and we seemed to get more attention the closer it grew toward the end of the meal - tip time.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Hot food was cold, dirty presentation, tough beef, cold ham...just terrible - the fruit was good....Staff was friendly. Not worth the money - even at $20.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My husband, mother-in-law and I attended Easter Brunch. The food preparation, selection and presentation was great and the server was very attentive. We live in the area and visit Gulf Stream frequently. We have never been disappointed in the food or the service. The view from all areas are breathtaking. I would, and do on many occasions recommend Gulf Stream for their early bird and evening fine dining. GREAT JOB TO ALL THE STAFF.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Even though we had a reservation, when we arrived, we still had to wait almost 40 minutes for a table, which was understandable as it was Easter Brunch. I was disappointed that they kept running out of food and it wasn't being replaced quickly, which left everyone hanging around the buffet table. The omlette station was a nice touch, but where it was located, also left people backed up waiting to get other food items. I must admit, the food was amazing and the waiter we had was terrific and very friendly. The view from the porch was amazing and it was the perfect day for an Easter Brunch!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch. Fabulous food, terrific service, and beautiful ocean marsh view!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch was a great choice for me and my family. The service was excellent with the fantastic view of the water sound. The food quality and taste was excellent. I highly recommend all of my friends and family to come here to eat brunch or dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Fun, Historic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went here for Easter brunch on a recommendation from friends. It did not disappoint! We sat outside on patio, great view. My boys watched jellyfish and boats. Food was good, refilled quickly when an item was running low. Our server was attentive, brought us refills on our drinks, cleared plates as we went for buffet. I would recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

If staying out on Garden City beach and you want a spot for cold beer without getting in car to go toward Myrtle Beach etc , this is fine for that. Was expecting (hoping) menu to have local seafood options. We had scallops and shrimp. Fine, just nothing great. Again - beer was cold and that was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food with a view both were excellent. Kids menu was great value.

Tags: Fun, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Did not seem to be prepared for a crowd at all. Had no silverware. Had to ask twice. Ordered a bottle of wine and they "ran out of wine glasses". We had wine in martini glasses. Disappointed to say the least as a bill for 4 people can be large. Paid quite a bit of money for 1 small crab claw... Might not go back again. Has gone downhill since the last time we ate there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We had made a reservation through Open Table but due to traffic, we were going to be 15 min late. We called Gulfstream and they said no problem. When we arrived, we were put upstairs, near the bar in a table for 5, near a door that goes out to the deck. There were only 2 in our party. It made the conversation difficult between the bar noise and large table and the door slamming going out to the deck.
Food was good as usual.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We had the seasonal Thursday night oyster roast - all you can eat, first come first serve. It was sooo good! We love this place. Salad with bleu cheese is excellent too.

Tags: Family Style, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Fun, Disabled Access, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 12, 2017

My blind date and I had a wonderful meal outside around 7:00. Gulfstream has a unique blend of charm and the only restaurant I know with a Westerly view of Murrells Inlet. The sunset.....
I just wish my date had gone better. She kept getting up to take pictures of the sunset. When I suggested a sunset picture is better with someone in it, she included the couple at the next table for her next photo. Sheesh. It was about then I asked for the check.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We look forward to eating at Gulfstream Cafe each year when we are at the beach.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Perfect setting for view of sunset. A nice quiet meal by candlelight. I had the grouper which was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 10, 2017

I have eaten here before a couple of times and they were all good. But this time my server was slow but I think she was overworked with two large tables. When that is the case you should assign a different server to the smaller tables. The fried platter was way overcooked and the tuna was a bit bland.....I do want to like this restaurant...but it failed bigtime this time.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great experience. Drove 20 mikes to get there and was very pleased. Loved the view and ambience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We had a really wonderful meal & time there! Beautiful waterfront location!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Cozy, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Gulf Stream has become our favorite restaurant at Garden City. The staff is friendly and food is great. We like the smaller portions (and prices) of the early dining plus enjoy the Sunday brunch. It is not possible to get a view every time but we have enjoyed many sunsets sitting at the west windows.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food, amazing atmosphere. The lobster with crab meat was out of this world

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Every time we come to the SC coast we make a point to come to Gulfstream Café. The sunset views are always stunning. The food is delicious and the service is outstanding. One of my favorite places to dine.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great food, great service and nice waterfront view. We will return!

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Fish was fresh..and delicious. Side veggies were done just right. Only disappointment was that you could not substitute a salad. It had to be ordered separately

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I ate dinner at this restaurant many times and was always very pleased , but this was the first time I went there for brunch and was very disappointed,the scramble eggs were watery like they might have been powdered eggs, the sausage links were over cooked, I by passed the scramble eggs and went for the omelet table the omelet I ordered was soso. I requested a table at a window and was very pleased to get my request, the view we had was very nice. I will go back to this restaurant for dinner anytime but for brunch I will think twice.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Seated at front under a low ceiling with table of 10-12 screaming, intoxicated girls / women across from us. We should have asked to be moved - that is on us.
Could not even hear to talk w/ companion. Horrible experience.
Waitress was EXCELLENT. Food was GOOD but not GREAT. Will NEVER GO BACK or recommend.

Tags: Scenic View, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Poor service. Water refilled once only then empty for the remainder of the meal. Never got checked on again. Not offer dessert. No it knowledge meant of the special event the reservation was made for. Food was less than average. Creamed spinach appeared to be chopped frozen spinach not fresh; was inedible. Very disappointed.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Absolutely one of the best dining experiences ever!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Wonderful night, beautiful view, awesome food, almost a perfect restaurant. We went there for our anniversary and had a romantic experience to remember. We're from MD and get great seafood. Gulfstream Cafe is only place in the Myrtle Beach area that we've found to have seafood as good as MD. We ordered quite a few entrees to try out their menu and all the food was truly outstanding. They served the best lobster tail I've ever eaten and 2nd best crab soup (sorry, no one has beat my favorite soup in MD). My wife loved their spicy Shrimp and Grits too. The bar staff was fun and served us good drinks, table service was prompt and attentive, and it's perfect a place for a sunset view. I would recommend this place to everyone.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Enjoyed our time at the Gulfstream as usual. View was nice. Food was ok. Prefer Sunday Brunch. Not a good desert menu.
Back in Canada now, but look forward to our Sunday Brunch at the Gulfstream in December.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Dinner was very good and our server was knowledgeable and helpful. The view of the sunset while having dinner was an added bonus. The crowd was small, maybe because USC was playing in March Madness. We enjoyed it very much and recommend Gulf Stream Cafe.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

I ordered the firecracker shrimp appetizer as my entree and had plenty of food as it surrounded delicious, creamy, mashed potatoes. Great meal and beautiful sunset in Myrtle Beach, SC.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Delicious food, excellent service, and waterfront dining.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

First time there. Glad we had a reservation because we just walking in and sat by the window
Really enjoyed the food & watching sun set with my wife on our date night
Good job. Usually eat at California Dreaming on date night. Will do it again for sure
Gary

Tags: Quick Bite, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Been going for years and have never been disappointed

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.