About Gulfstream Cafe

1536 S Waccamaw Dr
Garden City, SC 29576
View Larger Map

Voted “best restaurant with a view” & “most romantic” by The Sun News. Watch the sun set from the upstairs deck and savor the creamy She-Crab soup, jumbo lump Crab Cakes or Southern favorite, fried Lobster Tail. Offering seasonal Oyster Roasts, Sunday brunch and family-style to go.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday:10:00am -2:30pm;
Sunday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
Atlantic Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 651-8808

Website:
http://www.gulfstreamcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonal live entertainment on the Sunset Deck.

Catering:
Authentic, big flavors from the South are available including appetizers like N'awlins Shrimp and Grits and large party favorites like Low Country Seafood Boils and freshly steamed Oyster Roasts.

Delivered direct to your home with an optional full service staff for any order, small or large. Convenient same day ordering available.

Parking Details:
Free self-parking is available for cars, golf carts and bikes. Boat docking is available at Marlin Quay Marina, as well as a water taxi.

Public Transit:
Water taxi is available at Marlin Quay Marina.

Private Party Facilities:
Gulfstream Cafe’s Sunset Deck is as unique as the restaurant itself. With romantic views of the sunset, its own entrance and bar– it’s like having a small restaurant reserved just for you and your guests.

The deck and bar can accommodate up to 80 guests for a seated event or up to 100 for a cocktail reception. Our main dining room can also be reserved for larger private events.

Private Party Contact:
Jef Kirk: 8436518808x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Gulfstream Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
South Carolina
Scenic View
South Carolina
Best Ambiance
Myrtle Beach
2 More
Neighborhood Gem
Myrtle Beach
Most Booked
Myrtle Beach
Best Restaurants in Garden City/Murrells Inlet ›

scenic view (98)
special occasion (66)
great for outdoor dining (62)
See All
romantic (48)
neighborhood gem (47)
great for brunch (41)
good for groups (38)
fit for foodies (24)
great for lunch (16)
kid-friendly (15)
hot spot (8)
notable wine list (5)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
598 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The delicious fresh seafood and beautifu ...

Dined 6 days ago

The delicious fresh seafood and beautiful sunsets are amazing enough, but add crisp white linens and superb wait staff and you have the finishing touches to this excellent dining experience. I recommend the cioppino, but my husband's mussels in creamy white wine sauce were yummy as well. And don't leave without a piece of key lime pie! It's incredible!

food4
ambience5
service5

Had a nice rooftop table for eight. Beau ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Had a nice rooftop table for eight. Beautiful sunset over the inlet. Food is good overall. Excellent staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marvelous service with food to match

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent food, and great service

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was not our first time at this rest ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

This was not our first time at this restaurant. We have been there many times and have enjoyed it every time. This has been our favorite restaurant when visiting Murrell's Inlet. Our waitress was exceptional as are most of them. I wished I remembered her name. I liked the Open Table reservation system, it made it so easy to make a reservation.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Service was good. View was awesome. Di ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Service was good. View was awesome. Dinner food was good but please do yourself a favor and save room for dessert!!!

food5
ambience5
service4

She-crab soup was one of the best crab b ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

She-crab soup was one of the best crab bisque I've ever had! Calamari was super tender. You must sit outside or with a view at the window. Sunset is beautiful there!! Service pretty good. Salmon a little bit dry. Seafood cioppino very good. Wine prices excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5

This is the kind of place you want to ea ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

This is the kind of place you want to eat. Magnificent view. Great food. Watched the sun set over great seafood.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Surprised!

Dined on May 8, 2016

This restaurant reminds me of Key West and beautiful sunsets. We were sitted immediately upon arrival. The house salad is almost a meal in itself. The menu choices could have been expanded but there is no problem meeting everyone's desire. The only negative is it is so far down the beach from where we live. Will go again

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

great food horrible service

Dined on May 8, 2016

I had the grouper and house salad my wife had the crabcakes and the bbisque soup both were very good . The view was fantastic. ....the service was bad . The waitress never cleaned up our plates didnt bring out lemons till adking for it 3 times and didnt offer the specials or coffee or desert.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Repeat winner!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

This is our fourth time and the food was excellent, our waitress very nice, the kitchen was slow. The menu seems to never change, and with the seafood capitol of SC at the doorstep it would seem there could be more options or creativity. The shrimp and grits appetizer was amazing. Look forward to next year already.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Disappointed

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have had very positive experiences in the past. But they spoiled Mother's Day and my wife's steak. Waiter seemed impatient rather than understanding with my wife's food allergies. We will not go to this restaurant for another special occasion.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellence in dining at an affordable price

Dined on May 8, 2016

Gulf Stream Cafe has become our "go to place" for visiting guests and an excellent dining experience. The service staff are exceptionally attentive and the quality and presentation of the food are top notch. I recommend Gulf Stream to all our friends.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Mother's Day Brunch was good, the view, 5 stars!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's day brunch was good but somewhat overpriced. I realize they added roast beef and ham to their regular brunch buffet but I wasn't looking for roast beef and ham so I didn't benefit from that for the extra price. I think they would have done better to offer more pastries or sweet items instead of more meats and then not charge as much. All they have that was sweet was tiny banana muffins and dry french toast. But the view made up for the brunch. We came extra early and got prime seats. Well worth getting up early for!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on May 7, 2016

Went to gulf stream on Saturday before mothers day for dinner. The entire weekend weather had been beautiful, so the sun setting view from the restaurant was beautiful. Server was very knowledgeable, friendly and prompt. I had the seafood cioppino and the wife had the crab cakes. Her crab cakes were perfectly cooked with almost all crab meat and very large portion. Side items were cooked great too. The seafood cioppino was really good and the broth flavor was excellent. plenty of fish and shell fish. The only negative I had on anything was the shrimp in the seafood cioppino was like chewing a piece of leather. But there was plenty of mussels and fish and clam that I didn't even miss them after I took them out. All in all, will definitely go back again and try some other items on the menu. It is limited, but I like that as it allows for what you get to be cooked really well

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Gulfstream Ambiance Lacking

Dined on May 2, 2016

Food was really tasty, fresh, and nicely presented. Ambiance was seriously lacking though - AC on way too high, music inaudible, lights a bit bright, no candles on tables. We came away generally pleased, but they missed an opportunity to wow us.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful place. View of the marsh/inle ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Wonderful place. View of the marsh/inlet is breath taking during sunset . Food was excellent and service was superb. Grouper French was excellent. Loved the key lime pie and this is always our last meal before we leave to return to New York State every year

food4
ambience4
service4

Great meals, love the side salad with eg ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Great meals, love the side salad with egg and chopped vegetables. Wonderful bread. 8 of us went and was served quickly. Only one downer, our filet mignon ordered medium was not medium and the same with the medium well. Under cooked and had to be sent back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great View, Great Food, Reasonably Priced

Dined on April 28, 2016

We had a dinner for 4 to celebrate the end of a 2 month vacation in Murrells Inlet. 3 different items ordered - Crab Cakes (2), Grouper Francais, and Seafood Ciopino. All were excellent and very tasty. Service was prompt. Recommend a reservation with a request for a window seat if you will be there when the sunsets. Stunning view as the sun slowly disappears behindMurrells Inlet Marshwalk.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good Sunset Location - Good Service- OK Food

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

We had an early dinner ad were seated quickly and well. The menu is not a long one, and while we expected more choice in fish, it really boiled down to Mahi mahi, Grouper or Mussels. The grouper was great. The Mahi mahi grilled pretty god but without a lot of taste. You get to choose two sides and can have a house salad for a slight premium. The house salad was very good and big enough for us to split. For sides we had green beans, which were good but could have been cooked slightly less, garlic mashed potatoes and I had the baked potato. The potatoes in all manifestations were good. The view from inside or one of the two decks is quite nice, looking west to the sunset over Murrell's Inlet.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Lovely view!

Dined on April 27, 2016

Very nice view of Murrells Inlet, service very attentive. Had crab cakes, which were good. Lovely decor, a bit upscale.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Disappointing

Dined on April 24, 2016

Dined there multiple times over the past 5 years. Found the food presentation lacking - flounder greasy, cutlery second class, no more candle on table, cheesecake completely naked, no fruit drizzle, and no more leather bound menu, now laminated diner style.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

All 4 of us had good meals. The best pa ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

All 4 of us had good meals. The best part was the spectacular sunset.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Early bird dinner is better than brunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

Our brunch didnt compare to the quality of the early bird dinner....service is always excellent...brunch was ok,not outstanding as the dinners...magnificent view overlooking the water

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent as was the view over ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Food was excellent as was the view over the marsh. Definitely an in the know location as it wasn't as busy as it should have been! Glad we ran into a local who recommended it.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I had blackened swordfish (the fresh cat ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

I had blackened swordfish (the fresh catch of the day - totally amazing - really!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Family dinner

Dined on April 16, 2016

As always, it was a great experience. This is our "go to" restaurant, and has been for the last 12 years. Especially for sunsets!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

The meal was very well prepared and the ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The meal was very well prepared and the portions were very good. Largest piece of salmon I have ever gotten in a restaurant. Excellent experience and will return

food5
ambience5
service5

This was my 1st visit to Gulfstream Cafe ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

This was my 1st visit to Gulfstream Cafe,and you can bet I'll be back. The Mahi Mahi was fresh and delicious. The deserts AMAZING. It was a wonderful birthday dinner for my hubby.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great view and delicious brunch!

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

This restaurant has been named one of the twelve best rooftop dining experiences in SC. We had heard the Sunday brunch was superb and it was! We want to go back when we can sit outside. There are beautiful views of Murrell's Inlet. Great place for a romantic dinner!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and sunset views are as good as it gets!

Dined on April 8, 2016

Grouper francaise was delicious. Service is efficient and friendly and atmosphere very good. For a Friday night at 6:30 we were surprised at how many tables were available!

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Awful

Dined on April 3, 2016

The view was the only thing this place had going for it. The buffet style breakfast was gross - watery, powdered eggs, frozen hashbrowns, soggy French toast, soggy Caesar salad, sticky, bland grits . . . I could go on and on. They do good business because there aren't many options with a view like that but we felt rushed and like they just wanted to get us in and out so they could get in the next group. The layout of brunch items was also hectic and overall - just don't waste your money.

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience3
service3

Had a poor meal of fried chicken. Will n ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Had a poor meal of fried chicken. Will not go back or refer

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday treat for me

Dined on March 30, 2016

Best Alaskan King crab legs we ever had! Vegetable side dishes were delicious too. Crab soup was yummy. Chocolate mousse cake for dessert, perfect end.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Go for the view

Dined on March 27, 2016

Food was okay and service was good. It rained the day I was there. I'm sure it would be a much better experience on a nice day. It was a little to warm and humid in the restaurant as if the ac wasn't working well. Also, for some reason the floors were slippery. I probably will try again on a nice day.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it. Amazing service

Dined on March 27, 2016

Loved it. Amazing service

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Tasty Plates

Dined on March 27, 2016

Very good food. Nice view. Tables are a bit too close together and it was loud. Service was not the best but not the worst either.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Experience

Dined on March 27, 2016

We really enjoyed our Easter Brunch this past weekend. The staff at the restaurant was friendly and welcoming. Our server was able to multi-task in removing plates and refreshing beverages even though she had many tables to server. The food was delicious and there was a good selection of items.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We always enjoy our food here, so it was ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

We always enjoy our food here, so it was very good! The only complaint I have was the fact that they were out of the roasted chicken that I ordered.

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Just plain GRATE

Dined on March 23, 2016

Good food , nice sunset view , excellent service, can't wait to go back

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gulfstream experience

Dined on March 21, 2016

Great food, great view, super waitress, no rushing, quiet

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.