About Gulfstream Cafe

1536 S Waccamaw Dr
Garden City, SC 29576
View Larger Map

Voted “best restaurant with a view” & “most romantic” by The Sun News. Watch the sun set from the upstairs deck and savor the creamy She-Crab soup, jumbo lump Crab Cakes or Southern favorite, fried Lobster Tail. Offering seasonal Oyster Roasts, Sunday brunch and family-style to go.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday:10:00am -2:30pm;
Sunday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
Atlantic Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 651-8808

Website:
http://www.gulfstreamcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonal live entertainment on the Sunset Deck.

Catering:
Authentic, big flavors from the South are available including appetizers like N'awlins Shrimp and Grits and large party favorites like Low Country Seafood Boils and freshly steamed Oyster Roasts.

Delivered direct to your home with an optional full service staff for any order, small or large. Convenient same day ordering available.

Parking Details:
Free self-parking is available for cars, golf carts and bikes. Boat docking is available at Marlin Quay Marina, as well as a water taxi.

Public Transit:
Water taxi is available at Marlin Quay Marina.

Private Party Facilities:
Gulfstream Cafe’s Sunset Deck is as unique as the restaurant itself. With romantic views of the sunset, its own entrance and bar– it’s like having a small restaurant reserved just for you and your guests.

The deck and bar can accommodate up to 80 guests for a seated event or up to 100 for a cocktail reception. Our main dining room can also be reserved for larger private events.

Private Party Contact:
Jef Kirk: 8436518808x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Grouper Francaise - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Black and Blue Tuna - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
King Crab Omelet - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Hushpuppies - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Biscuits and Gravy - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Roasted Duck - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
She crab soup in bread bowl - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
bruschette - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
“Oysters” on the Half Shell - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Grouper Francais - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Chipotle Au Gratin - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Filet Mignon - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Alaskan King Crab Legs - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
fried oysters - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Filet Medallions - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Brunch - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Seafood Crepe - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Tenderloin Medallions And Crab Cake - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Oyster Shooters - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Stuffed Lobster Tail - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Lobster Tail - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Celebrate the season with a warm evening of Holiday Spirits at Gulfstream Cafe. From 4pm...

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Celebrate the season with warm company & drinks at Gulfstream Cafe. From 4pm...

Gulfstream Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
South Carolina
Seafood
South Carolina
Best Ambiance
Myrtle Beach
2 More
Best Value
Myrtle Beach
Most Booked
Myrtle Beach
Best Restaurants in Garden City/Murrells Inlet ›

Scenic View (64)
Special Occasion (43)
Waterfront (41)
See All
Romantic (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Good for a Date (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Casual (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Good for Groups (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Cozy (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Outstanding Value (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Disabled Access (9)
Family Style (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Seasonal (7)
Authentic (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Fun (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
People Watching (4)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great Beer (2)
Historic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
781 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is becoming our Sunday afternoon ri ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

This is becoming our Sunday afternoon ritual, going to Gulfstream enjoying a mimosa, and the Sunday Brunch!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very quiet and enjoyable this time of ye ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Very quiet and enjoyable this time of year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have visited the Myrtle Beach area wi ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We have visited the Myrtle Beach area with some frequency but more so after the move to the Charlotte area. A problem is that we haven't found a restaurant to which return. Until now. This is a "keeper." Service was very good (in summer months I definitely recommend having reservations) and the view of the inlet was beautiful. We both had shrimp and they were prepared just right. They were fresh and lightly fried, with no fried taste that often mars them. We'll definitely be returning on our next visit.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanksgiving dinner was out of this worl ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner was out of this world. The service was great and the food was outstanding. Great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Did not get the seat I requested at firs ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Did not get the seat I requested at first. But was accoumated. Some mistakes were made by server but corrected and friendly.

Tags: Waterfront, Seasonal, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food, prices & overall!!! Been ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent food, prices & overall!!! Been many times before, will be back many more times!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gulf Stream never disappoints! The servi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Gulf Stream never disappoints! The service, the view, the food - always top notch. Can't wait to return for another meal in the near future....

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating, Family Style, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional meal for Thanksgiving first ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Exceptional meal for Thanksgiving first time in 35 years my wife did not cook at home.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food, service, and great drink ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent food, service, and great drink menu. Will be going back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit to Gulfstream for Thanksgivi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

First visit to Gulfstream for Thanksgiving with friends and a very pleasant experience. Food good and a great value. Views outstanding. Very positive experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate there for Thanksgiving and was seate ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Ate there for Thanksgiving and was seated up stairs. We had a 1:30 reservation. The over presentation of the meal was not good. Small amount of turkey. Dressing way to salty.Could not eat It. The string beans were soggy looking. Very disappointed. Was there 4 years ago for Thanksgiving and that meal was much better. Will not be going back again.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

We enjoyed our Thanksgiving feast at Gul ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We enjoyed our Thanksgiving feast at Gulfstream Cafe.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Had a delicious Thanksgiving dinner at t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had a delicious Thanksgiving dinner at this restaurant. And our server Mandy was absolutely fabulous! This was my very first visit and I will definitely be back to sample the rest of the menu !

Tags: Comfort Food, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanksgiving lunch was yummy. If you had ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving lunch was yummy. If you had served your traditional hot baked bread and offered your famous keylime pie. I it would have been perfect.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

It was a nasty windy night and dining at ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It was a nasty windy night and dining at the Gulfstream Cafe made it all better, the dinner for all four patrons was excellant, if you get a chance don't pass this place up it would be a mistake.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's pricey but you get what you pay for ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It's pricey but you get what you pay for. We were celebrating our anniversary so it fit. The food was exceptional and the view. Location is away from commercial areas after a drive down Waccamaw past beach homes.

Great waitress,

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We always enjoy eating at the Gulfstream ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We always enjoy eating at the Gulfstream! The food is excellent and very well presented. The staff is amazing! My husband say they have the best She Crab Soup in Myrtle Beach.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy dining at Gulfstream Caf ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We always enjoy dining at Gulfstream Café. The food is always great and the wait staff is friendly and attentive. It continues to be one of our all time favorite restaurants.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Central Archey resturants are the best r ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Central Archey resturants are the best run resturants around and the Gulfstream Cafe is no exception. Great food and service plus always a beautiful inlet view. This is one of my favorite resturants on the Grand Strand.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were there for a Veterans Day/birthda ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We were there for a Veterans Day/birthday meal and we were not disappointed. They did an amazing meal giveaway for veterans and we appreciate it very much.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always outstanding and the s ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food is always outstanding and the service is fantastic. The view is beautiful. Unfortunately we don't go much in the summer because it is so busy, but the off season we are there often. We always go for Veteran's Day. They treat our vets with the respect they deserve. All the staff is knowledgeably and friendly. Love this place!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is a strong supporter of ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This restaurant is a strong supporter of the military and the community. On Veteran's Day they provided free entrees for me and my neighbor and a 25% discount for our wives. Our meals varied from crab cakes to crab stuffed lobster to salmon and I had a filet mignon. The side salad was a lively mix of greens,egg, bacon and other stuff. The 9 oz. steak was done to a perfect medium rare and the sides were delicious. Service was prompt and not overbearing.

I look forward to returning there again.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Casual, Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Thank-you for graciously treating my hus ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Thank-you for graciously treating my husband (a veteran) and I to a delicious dinner! The lobster, scallops, and crabmeat were perfectly prepared and with our sides were more than we could eat. The place was packed, but our food came in a timely manner and was hot. Your waitstaff did an excellent job serving us and were very personable. The management of such a large crowd was outstanding.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We go to Gulfstream several times a year ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We go to Gulfstream several times a year and are never disappointed. Food, service, ambiance are always top-shelf.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time brunch. Loved the options. Gr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

First time brunch. Loved the options. Great omelette.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Sunday Bruch is a real treat and bea ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The Sunday Bruch is a real treat and beautiful views spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular water views, delicious brunc ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Spectacular water views, delicious brunch selection and fabulous service. Gulfstream Cafe always delivers!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

our steak was a little tough - our view ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 28, 2016

our steak was a little tough - our view was great -

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Thursday date night with my husband. G ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Thursday date night with my husband. Great food, good service and a fantastic view.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

New York Strip " perfect medium rate ". ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 26, 2016

New York Strip " perfect medium rate ". Special Happy Birthday, sparkles on the table top was wonderful

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We visited with friends who were celebra ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We visited with friends who were celebrating an anniversary. Happily, our request for a window table afforded a gorgeous sunset and our table was decorated with confetti for the occasion. We shared excellent calamari to start followed by delicious she-crab soup. Mains included crab cake and portobello salmon. We took away key lime pie and apple walnut to enjoy the next day. Both were excellent. Beautiful setting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not our first visit and we would love to ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Not our first visit and we would love to see some changes on the menu. Also although our server was excellent and kept following up with us it took 15 minutes to get our drinks from the time we ordered. The restaurant was not extremely busy. Then probably another hour before we got dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Eight at our table. Our male server eng ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Eight at our table. Our male server engaging helpfull & attentive. Don't remember name big guy great personality, would hire in a NY minute if he were available. Can't say same for your use of omelet egg mixture. Overall great experience for everyone. Definitely recommend to anyone.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We had Sunday Brunch at GulfStream Cafe. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We had Sunday Brunch at GulfStream Cafe. The waiter was very attentive. The buffet had the usual breakfast items as well as an omelette station plus some seafood lunch items. All the selections were very tasty. Also fresh fruit , Caesar salad and fresh mozzarella caprisi. Of course it was all you can eat. We sat outside with a wonderful view of the inlet.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gulfstream Cafe again did itself proud. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Gulfstream Cafe again did itself proud. Food was excellent, service was very good. My friends that I took there thoroughly enjoyed it and want to go back as soon as possible

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and romantic view --- gre ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Wonderful food and romantic view --- great for our anniversary!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you enjoy waterfront dining, this is ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 2, 2016

If you enjoy waterfront dining, this is the place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Waterfront dining and great views of su ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Waterfront dining and great views of sunset over the marsh

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful sunset view. Food was fresh an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Beautiful sunset view. Food was fresh and delicious. Service was prompt and friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was slow. Not enough wait/barten ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Service was slow. Not enough wait/bartender staff. Some of us ordered MahiMahi franchaise, what we received was deep fried, over cooked fish. Chef might not know the terms. The staff was running around trying to satisfy there tables or bar orders. This was not their fault in my mind. Management made a wrong decision. Our group is all locals, we are out every Friday night. You might not be on our list anymore. Sad, we used to love Gulfstream. John Melzer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.