Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.89mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.89mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.89mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.89mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.24mi

About Gulfstream Cafe

Voted “best restaurant with a view” & “most romantic” by The Sun News. Watch the sun set from the upstairs deck and savor the creamy She-Crab soup, jumbo lump Crab Cakes or Southern favorite, fried Lobster Tail. Offering seasonal Oyster Roasts, Sunday brunch and family-style to go.

1536 S Waccamaw Dr
Garden City, SC 29576
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday:10:00am -2:30pm;
Sunday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
Atlantic Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 651-8808

Website:
http://www.gulfstreamcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonal live entertainment on the Sunset Deck.

Catering:
Authentic, big flavors from the South are available including appetizers like N'awlins Shrimp and Grits and large party favorites like Low Country Seafood Boils and freshly steamed Oyster Roasts.

Delivered direct to your home with an optional full service staff for any order, small or large. Convenient same day ordering available.

Parking Details:
Free self-parking is available for cars, golf carts and bikes. Boat docking is available at Marlin Quay Marina, as well as a water taxi.

Public Transit:
Water taxi is available at Marlin Quay Marina.

Private Party Facilities:
Gulfstream Cafe’s Sunset Deck is as unique as the restaurant itself. With romantic views of the sunset, its own entrance and bar– it’s like having a small restaurant reserved just for you and your guests.

The deck and bar can accommodate up to 80 guests for a seated event or up to 100 for a cocktail reception. Our main dining room can also be reserved for larger private events.

Private Party Contact:
Jef Kirk: (843) 651-8808

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gulfstream Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (90)
Scenic View (89)
Special Occasion (52)
See All
Good for a Date (49)
Romantic (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Casual (37)
Worth the Drive (36)
Great for Brunch (35)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Sunday Lunch (28)
Good for Groups (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Cozy (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Comfort Food (17)
Authentic (17)
Great for Lunch (13)
Fun (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Business Meals (11)
Seasonal (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Family Style (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Disabled Access (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Historic (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
People Watching (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Great Beer (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (0)
Sort By:
S
962 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Very nice, server was extremely friendly, overall the music and scenery was very nice.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 4 days ago

One of our have to visit restaurants in this food centric area. Always good and Inlet vista!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service and food. View is very good. Only complaint is it is very noisy.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

What a perfect night to eat out on the porch!!!!!
Food was very good as always!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

Father's Day brunch. Brought Dad and Mom along with7 other family members. The food on the buffet was awful. My hashbrowns and cod were rick hard as well as my granddaughters buscuit. My nephews french toast was also hard and dry. I was embarrassed to have brought my Dad and husband here for there special day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Went for Father's Day Sunday Brunch- very good- location is great!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Went for Fathers day Brunch/Anniversary. The line was outrageously long for the buffet. Wound around the restaurant. The food was good for a buffet. The amount of food that they had out for the number of people was a problem. It did not allow the line to move. They had to keep filling things and taking them away, so you had to wait for them to come back. We will try it off season and not on a holiday.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

I thought the seafood had a bit too much breading. I ordered the shrimp dinner and received a dozen fried shrimp and a baked potato. We also got the oysters Rockefeller and they were very good. The view is amazing! We will definitely go back and try different food on the menu next time.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Kid-friendly, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

We had been in the car for 10 hours and were so excited to have some sea food. We made a reservation "just in case" they were busy (and they wetter not. Steady, but there were plenty of open tables). We were unaware that this restaurant has a reservation penalty, which is ridiculous. Although we arrived at 5:15, we had to order off a different, and far more expensive, menu from those around us because we had a reservation. We spoke with the manager, who simply shrugged and said it was their "policy." Local places struggle often due to their focus being on themselves and not pleasing the customers. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant was 83° and was so incredibly uncomfortable you couldn't enjoy your meal. My family and I go there every year when we visit garden city and unfortunately the restaurant has gone downhill and only gets worse each year.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Absolutely a perfect evening. Thinking about going back again this week!!!!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun, Casual, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great food. We eat here at least 4 times a year when we are at the beach. They're she crab soup was on point. Seafood platter was great and my son had the swordfish which we all tasted and agree, awesome. The only thing that is better than their food is the sunset view. Our waitress was very attentive to needs the entire meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The view was great and the seafood was delicious. We are going again before this vacation is over.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The restaurant itself was very nice and the view was outstanding. Our waitress was very attentive and the food was absolutely delicious. However it was our 10th anniversary celebration and we were seated at the only table on the outdoor patio where one person in the party had their back to the beautiful scenery. My wife and I explained that this was a special occasion and that we had made reservations weeks before. Initially our waitress was very kind and offered to move us to another table where we could both enjoy the beautiful views. As we were being moved to the new table the hostess informed us that we would not be allowed to move. Despite our complaints to the management they made no offer to make this right. The tables on that side of the patio were squeezed so tightly together that the next table had to get up and move in order for us to be able to exit our table. They were a Party of Five that were squeezed into a four top table. The entire appeal of this restaurant was their beautiful views and they failed to meet this customer's expectations.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

First visit, and very pleasantly surprised. Service was first rate and the food outstanding. Great atmosphere...you won't be disappointed. Set aside some time to enjoy the view before and after.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We arrived about 45 minutes before our reservation time (which was 7:15) and let them know we'd really like a west-facing window table that we were willing to wait for. The hostess was so accommodating. We had a drink at the bar (great list of local craft beers) and our table was ready at 7:20. PERFECT view of the sunset over the inlet.

Furthermore, the food was excellent. I sprung for the filet mignon, oscar style, and requested medium rare. As a good restaurant should, they erred very slightly on the side of rare, and the result was perfect. No steak knife needed; the butter knife easily cut through this filet. Couldn't have asked for a better meal.

Very romantic setting, the best possible sunset views, and amazing food. Highly recommended.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

One of our favorites--we go here every time we vacation at Surfside Beach.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

It was excellent as it always is! One of the best places you will find.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Second time to this place and disappointed again. Service was awful. Food cold and nothing special.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 2, 2017

It was our first visit to Gulfstream but it will not be our last. We requested scenic view and we got it. The sun setting was awesome. Our r waitress was excellent and very knowledgeable. The nightly specials were hard to choose from. My husband is a very picky eater ad he loved his flounder. My grandson's girlfriend does not care for sea food and eats very little. She ordered the chicken parmigiana and cleaned her plate. My grandson and I chose salmon and crab cakes along with gumb and she crab soup. We both thought it was the best that we had had. It was a great meal and we left very happy.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Casual, Live Music, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Had a reservation for 8pm and did not get seated until after 9:15. Was told by the hostess "you can leave if you don't want to wait".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Even though they were swamped on Memorial Day weekend with anxious customers in their faces, all the staff did an excellent job taking care of everyone in a polite, courteous manner. Dinner was great too as always!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We have been going to this place for our anniversary for many years on our beach trips and we love it. I think we just went on a bad night this time because the kitchen was amazingly slow. Toward the end of the night our waitress told us that the manager wasn't there for some reason, and I'm sure that was a big factor in the slowdown. It would have been nice to have been told on the front end that things were moving slowly. After our food finally arrived we heard waiters telling other tables that had just been seated that the kitchen was slow that night. It obviously wasn't our waitress's fault that the food was so slow but she should have communicated better with us. We had to ask her a couple of times if she had any idea when we would get our food.

I am sure we will go back and give it at least one more chance in future years. Places have off nights sometimes.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I've dined here many times and had excellent food and service. Tonight was quite the exception. They were clearly overbooked or under staffed. The food was still very good, but the service was abysmal. Quite honestly, even though I understand it's a holiday they could have done much better. I'd have expected better from an establishment that's been around as long as GulfStream

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We come for Sunday brunch twice a year when we come to the beach. The food is always great.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We should have cancelled our reservation when we arrived in the parking lot and there was no parking. It got worse from there: the parking is inadequate for starters. We were promptly seated for our reservation, however.

Our server was inefficient and overwhelmed. He was working two large parties in addition to us, a party of two. It took him quite a while to acknowledge us and to get our drink orders. I asked for a beer list and it took a while to get that. Once I ordered my beer, it took 20 minutes to get a domestic craft bottle delivered to the table (the beer was good, but I did ask the server if he had to go to Charleston, where it was brewed to get it) The appetizer was delivered before my beer.

Finally, our order arrived. Both of our orders were wrong and we sent it back to be corrected. Our server told me that he forgot my salad and asked me if I wanted it boxed up to go. I told him no, that I wanted that taken off of the check. A few moments later, our order arrived, again incorrect as it was before. By now, there was nothing that could be done in our eyes to rectify what was supposed to be a relaxing dinner at the beach, so I asked for a manager. She did attempt to try again, but the experience was lost and ruined. We paid for our appetizer and drinks and left. The manager offered to box up our incorrect orders and give it to us to take away, but we declined. She never got the fact that it was about the experience, not necessarily the food. Who wants to take boxed up fried seafood and salad back to their hotel room?

From other bad reviews I have read on this site, our bad experience seems to be similar to others and is becoming a pattern. I think that this is more a problem with management than anything else. Beware before you go, I'll never give this establishment another chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 24, 2017

When we were first seated the group next to us was quite loud. We were moved to another table that was much better. My husbands steak was quite difficult to cut. Another one came almost immediately.
Our waiter Brandon was extremely helpful.
Would recommend this restaurant to friends.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Always excellent food and service. Great views overlooking the water.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food is always fabulouse. The weather was perfect for seating on the deck. The sunset made for a lovely backdrop and the staff is always top-notch. We try to get to the Gulfstream Cafe every time we are in town.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We have been to Gulfstream many times and have never been disappointed. View is great. Food and service are great as well.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 17, 2017

This was our second trip to Gulfstream. First was a family get together and this time for our anniversary. Both times were enjoyable. Had to ask for a different table this time as the window tables have air ducts underneath that were blowing frigid air, but the hostess honored our request very guickly.

Food was very good and cooked as ordered. Service was very timely and friendly although our server seemed a bit distracted a couple of times.

Besides the good food and atmosphere, it's a great place to catch a sunset.

It's a place that we will take our out of town visitors to.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Gulf Stream Cafe is one of our favorite places for a great meal. Crab cakes are the best I've ever eaten. The sunset view is beautiful. Great menu - simple and easy to find exactly what you want.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have been coming to Gulf Stream since it opened. She Crab soup is the best anywhere. We asked for window table in our reservation, but were told none were available. We were not happy about that and after a discussion with manager, they moved us. Good and service are always very good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

She crab soup was outstanding, as was the cioppino and the scallop and pasta special. Spectacular sunset views !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food is very overpriced, nothing special. Dinner menu only one side, salad is extra. Green Beans are raw and flavorless. Very loud. The bread they bring you is white with no flavor. They should at least bring you a small salad while you wait endlessly to get your dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Terrific views from the Sunset Deck! Food was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed your restaurant several times but a good while has passed since the last visit.
We were both taken aback at the amount of salt in the sea food and it was too dry (possibly cooked a bit too long) We thought "it may be a new owner or even a different cook that made
such differences."
Tiffany was our waitress and we enjoyed her quick and pleasant sense of humor.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Ambiance for Mother's Day dinner here was outstanding (we sat outside with view over the inlet waters). Our reservation was at 5 p.m.; we were quickly seated and our request upon arrival to be seated outside was no problem. Our waiter arrived quickly and was very accommodating when we indicated we wanted to enjoy a leisurely dinner. Once ordered, our food arrived promptly. Even though the food was pretty good, their menu is limited in choices. My Grouper Francaise was good, although it did not have any lemon sauce -- only couple lemon slices to squeeze over it. Choices of sides are also limited. Husband had the bang-bang shrimp appetizer, which he said "was not very bang-bang." Said his entree of Cioppino was also just "ok." Can say, though, that sourdough bread was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was outstanding, food service was very prompt and food was very delicious. They give you ample amounts of food and the view was everything. Looking forward to going back soon

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Waterfront, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Took my mom for her birthday and she always has loved it there. While we were there (great food and experience that night as well) we received a flyer for mothers day brunch. We decided why not! We took her and it was wonderful. Weather was perfect for brunch outside with great food and great drinks. Savannah was great & did a great job keeping up with us and keeping things light yet personal. Thanks for a great mothers day!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.