About Gulfstream Cafe

1536 S Waccamaw Dr
Garden City, SC 29576
View Larger Map

Voted “best restaurant with a view” & “most romantic” by The Sun News. Watch the sun set from the upstairs deck and savor the creamy She-Crab soup, jumbo lump Crab Cakes or Southern favorite, fried Lobster Tail. Offering seasonal Oyster Roasts, Sunday brunch and family-style to go.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday:10:00am -2:30pm;
Sunday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
Atlantic Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 651-8808

Website:
http://www.gulfstreamcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonal live entertainment on the Sunset Deck.

Catering:
Authentic, big flavors from the South are available including appetizers like N'awlins Shrimp and Grits and large party favorites like Low Country Seafood Boils and freshly steamed Oyster Roasts.

Delivered direct to your home with an optional full service staff for any order, small or large. Convenient same day ordering available.

Parking Details:
Free self-parking is available for cars, golf carts and bikes. Boat docking is available at Marlin Quay Marina, as well as a water taxi.

Public Transit:
Water taxi is available at Marlin Quay Marina.

Private Party Facilities:
Gulfstream Cafe’s Sunset Deck is as unique as the restaurant itself. With romantic views of the sunset, its own entrance and bar– it’s like having a small restaurant reserved just for you and your guests.

The deck and bar can accommodate up to 80 guests for a seated event or up to 100 for a cocktail reception. Our main dining room can also be reserved for larger private events.

Private Party Contact:
Jef Kirk: (843) 651-8808

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Report a photo problem

Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Grouper Francaise - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Black and Blue Tuna - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
King Crab Omelet - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Hushpuppies - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Biscuits and Gravy - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Roasted Duck - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
She crab soup in bread bowl - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
bruschette - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
“Oysters” on the Half Shell - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Grouper Francais - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Chipotle Au Gratin - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Filet Mignon - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Alaskan King Crab Legs - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
fried oysters - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Filet Medallions - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Brunch - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Seafood Crepe - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Tenderloin Medallions And Crab Cake - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Oyster Shooters - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Stuffed Lobster Tail - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC
Lobster Tail - Gulfstream Cafe, Garden City, SC

Gulfstream Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (44)
Scenic View (34)
Special Occasion (29)
See All
Good for a Date (25)
Romantic (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Casual (19)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Great for Brunch (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Cozy (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Family Style (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Seasonal (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Authentic (5)
People Watching (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Historic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
807 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As usual had a great experience. Our wai ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

As usual had a great experience. Our waiter was Jason and he was wonderful. The only complaint we have ever had was the length of time after eating till when you get your bill. But that's not anything that would keep us away

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great we are 3 houses away, we ca ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Always great we are 3 houses away, we can walk there. I would like to see some change on the menu though. The oyster shooters are awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We are frequent diners at Gulfstream Caf ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We are frequent diners at Gulfstream Café but on this particular occasion, we went for Sunday brunch on New Year's Day. The food was good, our waitress was attentive, and the view, as always, was spectacular. This was my first Sunday brunch in years, so I'm unsure whether the menu is always the same, but the diversity and quality was good. The different Bloody Mary's were a nice option, but I very much miss the Sunday Bloody Mary bar this restaurant used to offer. On my evening visits to Gulfstream, I usually choose to eat at the bar, mainly because the regular bartender, Jamie, is so terrific. The evening food is consistently good but the main problem, particularly for a foodie, is that the menu never changes. Gulfstream could be a truly fabulous dining venue-one fit for foodies- if only the chef were encouraged to be more creative and innovative. I do not believe the menu has substantially changed in 10 years and even the "specials " aren't anything new. It's really a pity because this place has so much potential.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We went for Sunday Brunch. The food was ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for Sunday Brunch. The food was good and hot. The server kept replenishing everything If in the area, would go again

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My family and friends have been Gulfstre ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My family and friends have been Gulfstream patrons for 20 years. The last few times we've eaten at Gulfstream we've been disappointed with the service. Wait staff seem frenetic and too busy to be attentive. My wife and I spent three nights dining out. We spent approximately $100 each night excluding gratuity. The competing restaurants were much more attentive to our needs. Gulfstream needs staff to handle water and tea service. Staff are nice but the experience is becoming more of a casual dining experience than an more elegant experience. The food is always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a reservation for 16 on New Years ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a reservation for 16 on New Years eve. We were seated promptly, and service was on time. Food came out hot and all orders were correct. Everyone enjoyed themselves.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

New Year's Eve diner was excellent, serv ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve diner was excellent, service was slow. We had a new waitress and she was unsure of everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Beautiful view, excellent service, varie ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Beautiful view, excellent service, varied menu choices. Delicious she crab soup. Will return when in area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great service ! Highly recommend ! Well ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service ! Highly recommend !

Well worth our visit will return!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our 4th visit to Gulfstream Cafe ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This is our 4th visit to Gulfstream Cafe and other than them being out of the Roasted Chicken the dining experience was wonderful as always.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Casual, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely awesome!! Best crab cakes I h ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Absolutely awesome!! Best crab cakes I have ever had!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had dinner on Christmas, was surprise ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had dinner on Christmas, was surprised it was open, glad we made reservations. We were seated right away and our server was very personable. The food was excellent, will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Oysters Rockefeller were awesome!

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Oysters Rockefeller were awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went with family on Christmas Day , w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went with family on Christmas Day , we booked early to be sure to get in. We chose an early sitting, so we would see the marshlands and sunset before it got too dark.. We had a table with beautiful view of the sunset and marshlands. Food was excellent, service great, ambience for the season was perfect.......so nice to hear Merry Christmas being said everywhere around us.

Will defiantly be back again, and not just at Christmas.

Thank You from a family of very happy Canadians .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, the service was excep ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was good, the service was exceptional...she crab soup is very good and ask for an order of hush puppies...you will want to eat the whole basket

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Best sunset view in the area. The wait s ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Best sunset view in the area. The wait staff is always top-notch and accommodating. Food is always excellent. I just love this place! And it's a good value to boot.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite places. It's a family ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

One of my favorite places. It's a family tradition for 2 years now

Tags: Family Style, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our third visit for Brunch with ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This is our third visit for Brunch with Santa. The food is as incredible as the view! We'll be back next year!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not impressed --food marginal, service ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Not impressed --food marginal, service spotty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Great meal for our team! Excellent food ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great meal for our team! Excellent food and service!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite restaurant in all of ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in all of Murrels Inlet! I love the Sunday brunch. Great variety and excellent food. You can't beat the price.

Tags: Great for Lunch, , Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great service. We will defin ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great food. Great service. We will definitely be going there again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant with a great view! The ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great restaurant with a great view! The server was a nice young man who went to the local college. The food was excellent. Overall, very happy with everything.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is becoming our Sunday afternoon ri ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This is becoming our Sunday afternoon ritual, going to Gulfstream enjoying a mimosa, and the Sunday Brunch!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very quiet and enjoyable this time of ye ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Very quiet and enjoyable this time of year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife wife and I were seated at a wind ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 1, 2016

My wife wife and I were seated at a window table with a beautiful sunset view. Our meal was outstanding and the service was impeccable. We always get the key lime pie, which is the best on the Grand Strand. Thanks for a wonderful evening. Looking forward to our next visit......

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have visited the Myrtle Beach area wi ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We have visited the Myrtle Beach area with some frequency but more so after the move to the Charlotte area. A problem is that we haven't found a restaurant to which return. Until now. This is a "keeper." Service was very good (in summer months I definitely recommend having reservations) and the view of the inlet was beautiful. We both had shrimp and they were prepared just right. They were fresh and lightly fried, with no fried taste that often mars them. We'll definitely be returning on our next visit.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanksgiving dinner was out of this worl ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner was out of this world. The service was great and the food was outstanding. Great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Did not get the seat I requested at firs ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Did not get the seat I requested at first. But was accoumated. Some mistakes were made by server but corrected and friendly.

Tags: Waterfront, Seasonal, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food, prices & overall!!! Been ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent food, prices & overall!!! Been many times before, will be back many more times!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gulf Stream never disappoints! The servi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Gulf Stream never disappoints! The service, the view, the food - always top notch. Can't wait to return for another meal in the near future....

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating, Family Style, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional meal for Thanksgiving first ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Exceptional meal for Thanksgiving first time in 35 years my wife did not cook at home.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food, service, and great drink ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent food, service, and great drink menu. Will be going back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit to Gulfstream for Thanksgivi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

First visit to Gulfstream for Thanksgiving with friends and a very pleasant experience. Food good and a great value. Views outstanding. Very positive experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate there for Thanksgiving and was seate ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Ate there for Thanksgiving and was seated up stairs. We had a 1:30 reservation. The over presentation of the meal was not good. Small amount of turkey. Dressing way to salty.Could not eat It. The string beans were soggy looking. Very disappointed. Was there 4 years ago for Thanksgiving and that meal was much better. Will not be going back again.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

We enjoyed our Thanksgiving feast at Gul ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We enjoyed our Thanksgiving feast at Gulfstream Cafe.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Had a delicious Thanksgiving dinner at t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had a delicious Thanksgiving dinner at this restaurant. And our server Mandy was absolutely fabulous! This was my very first visit and I will definitely be back to sample the rest of the menu !

Tags: Comfort Food, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanksgiving lunch was yummy. If you had ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving lunch was yummy. If you had served your traditional hot baked bread and offered your famous keylime pie. I it would have been perfect.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

It was a nasty windy night and dining at ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It was a nasty windy night and dining at the Gulfstream Cafe made it all better, the dinner for all four patrons was excellant, if you get a chance don't pass this place up it would be a mistake.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's pricey but you get what you pay for ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It's pricey but you get what you pay for. We were celebrating our anniversary so it fit. The food was exceptional and the view. Location is away from commercial areas after a drive down Waccamaw past beach homes.

Great waitress,

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.