About Gulfstream Cafe

1536 S Waccamaw Dr
Garden City, SC 29576
View Larger Map

Voted “best restaurant with a view” & “most romantic” by The Sun News. Watch the sun set from the upstairs deck and savor the creamy She-Crab soup, jumbo lump Crab Cakes or Southern favorite, fried Lobster Tail. Offering seasonal Oyster Roasts, Sunday brunch and family-style to go.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday:10:00am -2:30pm;
Sunday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
Atlantic Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 651-8808

Website:
http://www.gulfstreamcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonal live entertainment on the Sunset Deck.

Catering:
Authentic, big flavors from the South are available including appetizers like N'awlins Shrimp and Grits and large party favorites like Low Country Seafood Boils and freshly steamed Oyster Roasts.

Delivered direct to your home with an optional full service staff for any order, small or large. Convenient same day ordering available.

Parking Details:
Free self-parking is available for cars, golf carts and bikes. Boat docking is available at Marlin Quay Marina, as well as a water taxi.

Public Transit:
Water taxi is available at Marlin Quay Marina.

Private Party Facilities:
Gulfstream Cafe’s Sunset Deck is as unique as the restaurant itself. With romantic views of the sunset, its own entrance and bar– it’s like having a small restaurant reserved just for you and your guests.

The deck and bar can accommodate up to 80 guests for a seated event or up to 100 for a cocktail reception. Our main dining room can also be reserved for larger private events.

Private Party Contact:
Jef Kirk: 8436518808x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Grouper Francaise
Black and Blue Tuna
King Crab Omelet
Hushpuppies
Biscuits and Gravy
Roasted Duck
She crab soup in bread bowl
bruschette
“Oysters” on the Half Shell
Grouper Francais
Chipotle Au Gratin
Filet Mignon
Alaskan King Crab Legs
fried oysters
Filet Medallions
Brunch
Seafood Crepe
Tenderloin Medallions And Crab Cake
Oyster Shooters
Stuffed Lobster Tail
Lobster Tail

Gulfstream Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
South Carolina
Most Booked
Myrtle Beach
Best Restaurants in Garden City/Murrells Inlet ›

Scenic View (160)
Great for Outdoor Dining (96)
Special Occasion (89)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (72)
Romantic (69)
Good for Groups (61)
Great for Brunch (46)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Kid-friendly (26)
Great for Lunch (18)
Hot Spot (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
703 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Gulfstream Cafe is a very good seafo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Gulfstream Cafe is a very good seafood and steak restaurant. The food is very good and the service is great. We had reservations and out table was ready when we arrived. The food value is a good average for the area and the bar mixes a good drink.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Gulfstream Cafe has great ambience. It ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Gulfstream Cafe has great ambience. It is terrific for seeing the great sunsets from all over the restaurant . The service was excellent. The food was delicious. I ordered a steak and it came exactly how I like it! The others with me were also very happy with their food. One of them had the Seafood platter and the the other the half of roast chicken. The portions were generous. We needed a to go box? This restaurant was recommended to me by a friend and I have recommended to others. It was a great dining experience.

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very average - especially seafo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was very average - especially seafood dishes which were quite dry. We had a party of 9 and the place was pretty busy. Server was hustling and doing a nice job, but the food was not what we expected. Menu was intriguing, but ultimately disappointing. Very good view of the water and convenient to Garden City residents or vacationers. Probably won't return.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Of all the restaurants that we have eate ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 7 days ago

Of all the restaurants that we have eaten in Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach area, Gulfstream tops them all! Seafood is wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a visit to this place has been an annual ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 7 days ago

a visit to this place has been an annual ritual for at least the past decade. I go to Myrtle Beach every year to visit my aunt and uncle plus soak up some beach time. Traditionally the last full day I am in town we will go to the Gulfstream for dinner. They have a terrific early bird menu. Normally it is first come first serve so I was excited to see that I could use open table to make a reservation! When we were seated, there was a party of eight, we were given regular dinner menus. When we asked for the early bird menus we were advised BECAUSE WE MADE A RESERVATION WE WERE NOT ABLE TO GET THE EARLY BIRD MENU. After speaking to the manager we were permitted to order from the early menu. I suggest that a disclaimer be added to state that if you book a dinner reservation during the 4 to 6 pm period you can not take advantage of the early bird specials. we did not hold it against our server and left her a $40 tip.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Amazing fried shrimp. Not your typical ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Amazing fried shrimp. Not your typical crusted fried shrimp, just dusted and delicious. Amazing salads. Great view. My guest had the crab legs that were amazing. The filet was great. Meal was awesome. Prices are high though. But the delivery of a great meal was there so you get what you pay for.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The sunsets over the marsh are amazing. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The sunsets over the marsh are amazing. We love dining on the roof, enjoying the view.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

The service was exceptional. Great care ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The service was exceptional. Great care of diners' needs. Filet mignon was overdone was returned to kitchen and perfectly served second time around. Stuffed lobster was wonderful. Side cream spinach was salty. Shrimp appetizer was very good. Great sunset.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We had a lovely time out with our 9mo wh ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a lovely time out with our 9mo while on vacation. I was pleasantly surprised by the vegetarian option that wasn't on the menu (pasta with vegetables and Alfredo sauce). Server was not super friendly, but service was fine, food was great, and view was terrific. Would have been even better if we had stayed until the sun set, but...9mo :)

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good food good service reasonable cost. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Good food good service reasonable cost. Brunch omlet service, other standard fare. Prompt friendly and clean.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

food was good only very small portions ( ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

food was good only very small portions (for a man). the view was spectacular however the table we sat at was in front of the door to go outside so every time it was opened we got a burst of very hot air, this make eating uncomfortable. in addition our table was the only one facing west for the sun set that did not have a 'screen to block the sun'. having been to gulf stream several times my husband was very disappointed in the serving size. the quality was excellent as usual. the table was very uncomfortable.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

As usual, the she crab soup was outstand ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

As usual, the she crab soup was outstanding. The tuna was a fresh catch and was good but the presentation and spices were rather plain. My wife said the grouper was good. The view of the sunset is always worth doing. Still one of my favorite places but they just need to step up their tuna dish.

Advice, go a bit later to avoid the noisy kids and catch the sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We didn't know what to expect when we ha ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We didn't know what to expect when we had chosen the restaurant as we had never been there before or new anyone that had been there. Turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. Restaurant was very nice, food was good, wine was great, view was beautiful. More kids than we were expecting, but they handled it very well.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very noisy. Food was average at best. Sl ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Very noisy. Food was average at best. Slow service but friendly servers. Expensive overall. Can't say for sure that I would recommend. View was excellent.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Service was slow, but food excellent and ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Service was slow, but food excellent and views spectacular.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

The view here was amazing! It was a be ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The view here was amazing! It was a beautiful setting to sit outside and look out on the inlet. The big disappointment was the sides that came with my entree. They were not good. And not worth what I paid for the meal. The fries were old and not fresh and the spinach was a low quality creamed spinach. I just had higher expectations for a $25 meal.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

I love this place- The food is good- The ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I love this place- The food is good- The scenery is better!

The prices are lower than other places in the same area and we had plenty to eat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We went for Sunday Brunch. The food was ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We went for Sunday Brunch. The food was wonderful, we had the buffet. There was a great variety of food on the buffet and everything was very tasty. We highly recommend this restaurant. We will definitely eat here again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, beautiful sunset vie ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent service, beautiful sunset view from the table , our server Lira was very professional

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delicious. Service was wonderful. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Always delicious. Service was wonderful. Perfect date night.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant, beautiful setting nice ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Nice restaurant, beautiful setting nice views from the patio, worth eating there before sun sets to appreciate the views. The food was perfect we had tuna, the service was on the spot. we will go again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took friends to the Gulfstream Café. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We took friends to the Gulfstream Café. It was the first visit for all of us and we had no idea what to expect. The restaurant was larger and more upscale than we anticipated, but very comfortable. This restaurant is owned by a group that owns several other well known restaurants throughout the Southeast. The food was very good, though the menu was a bit short. There was no option for a stand alone salad and it took some manipulating to get the house salad that came with my dinner to be served along with everyone else's appetizers. Other than that odd wrinkle, the service was very good. Beautiful views of the marshlands, good sunset.

All four of us agreed we would return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The lobster topped with crabmeat was won ...

vip
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The lobster topped with crabmeat was wonderful as was the cioppino and grouper francaise Very fresh and tasty. The view is wonderful especially on the deck where we finished our second bottle of wine!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. Plus a gre ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great food and great service. Plus a great view. I will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This time the food wasn't quite as good ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This time the food wasn't quite as good as it was the last time we went. The cheese grits were runny and so were the eggs. The tomatoes were sliced much thinner that were paired with the mozzarella. The food also wasn't 'hot'. We had a reservation at 10am so everything was fresh, it just seemed ok this time compared to excellent a few weeks prior.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The view was spectacular! Our waiter wa ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The view was spectacular! Our waiter was attentive, energetic and personable! Food was terrific. The reservation app worked GREAT!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food , atmosphere & wait servic ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fabulous food , atmosphere & wait service. We eat here every chance we get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a group of 7 which included 3 ch ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were a group of 7 which included 3 children. Our waiter was most accommodating and had a great sense of humor. He was most attentive and made certain no ones glass was empty of their beverage. When booking reservations I requested a window table, which they were able to provide. My grouper entree was delicious and for fried fish proved to be very light. Four of our group ordered steak and all commented how it was prepared as requested and very tender. Salads were a nice mixture of greens and dressing was very tasty. We brought our own wines with us as Gulfstreams corking fee is $10.00/bottle. We didn't even consider dessert because the entrees were more than enough food. We had an enjoyable dinner with great tasting food in a relaxing and scenic restaurant overlooking the inlet at sunset.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We venture to MB every 5 years and one o ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We venture to MB every 5 years and one of our favorite places to come to is Gulfstream Café. We are so pleased that the view, food, and general atmosphere never changes as some places do. We always enjoy a wonderful meal and the gorgeous sunsets and the overall peacefulness. And to add your Bloody Mary Shooters. Keep doing what you do and can't wait for our next visit.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice friendly staff. Food was good alth ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Nice friendly staff. Food was good although we had a 5:30 seating and could not take advantage of the early bird specials which are very good. Will go back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our waiter was probably the best, most p ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our waiter was probably the best, most personable ever! Your She Crab Soup is over the top! We had several bad experiences at Gulfstream and we're glad we gave it another try!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside with a beautiful view of ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We sat outside with a beautiful view of the water and were greeted by our waiter quickly! He was very attentive. I got the crab cakes (mainly crab!! Not a lot of bread or fillers), mashed potatoes and green beans. My husband had the special- Tuna, baked potato and green beans. The food was delicious and served quickly. We were very pleased with the green beans! They appeared to be freshly picked and were cooked just right! Overall- great experience and would eat here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the perfect location to take in ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This is the perfect location to take in water views and a great meal! Jesse was our server and he was awesome!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable. Loved all of the food. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Very enjoyable. Loved all of the food. Our service was great. All good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is very good, but the attractio ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food is very good, but the attraction is the view of Murrell's Inlet at sundown. Magnificent. When the weather cools down, I'd love to dine on the deck, but when we are usually in town (July/Aug) it's not an option, though it's a great place for a drink. The bar and wait staff are also always friendly and efficient.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

THE VIEW IS GREAT, EVEN THOUGH WE DID NO ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

THE VIEW IS GREAT, EVEN THOUGH WE DID NOT CATCH A DECENT SUNSET. PARKING IS DIFFICULT ON A BUSY NIGHT. Food was good, esp the she crab soup. ONE THING ABOUT OUR SERVER...SHE GAVE US THE CHECK BEFORE WE ASKED OR IT, AND NEVER ASKED IF WE WANTED COFFEE OR DESSERT. THOUGHT THAT WAS ODD.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good experience for a party of ten.

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Good experience for a party of ten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great bourbon choices; All the food was ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great bourbon choices; All the food was seasoned well. Fried lobster w/crab cake on top was delish; Fried onion loaf w/blue cheese dip is crazy good; Sour dough bread, she crab soup, mussels and salad were perfect. VISIT THIS PLACE.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Restaurant was noisy and air conditionin ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Restaurant was noisy and air conditioning was not working very well. Our group sweated our way thru dinner we were toooo hoooot to stay for dessert. My grouper francese had poor presentation for $25 dinner. Three 3 by 3 inch pieces and the waiter did not bring us water or get my potato right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Beautiful sunsets and the food is decent ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Beautiful sunsets and the food is decent. A little pricey. Salad should be included

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.