Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.89mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.89mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.89mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.89mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.24mi

About Gulfstream Cafe

[Celebrating Veterans Day on Sunday, November 12]

For more than 30 years, Gulfstream Cafe has been a sought-after spot for birthdays, anniversaries and more thanks to the picturesque waterfront view and authentic coastal cuisine. The laid-back atmosphere at this Garden City institution complements the fresh seafood and southern favorites, choice options include broiled Lobster Tail, creamy She-Crab Soup and jumbo lump Crab Cakes. Head back for Sunday brunch, seasonal Oyster Roast or watch the sunset on the rooftop deck, all wildly popular (and Instagram-worthy).

1536 S Waccamaw Dr
Garden City, SC 29576
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday:10:00am -2:30pm;
Sunday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
Atlantic Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 651-8808

Website:
http://www.gulfstreamcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonal live entertainment on the Sunset Deck.

Catering:
Authentic, big flavors from the South are available including appetizers like N'awlins Shrimp and Grits and large party favorites like Low Country Seafood Boils and freshly steamed Oyster Roasts.

Delivered direct to your home with an optional full service staff for any order, small or large. Convenient same day ordering available.

Parking Details:
Free self-parking is available for cars, golf carts and bikes. Boat docking is available at Marlin Quay Marina, as well as a water taxi.

Public Transit:
Water taxi is available at Marlin Quay Marina.

Private Party Facilities:
Gulfstream Cafe’s Sunset Deck is as unique as the restaurant itself. With romantic views of the sunset, its own entrance and bar– it’s like having a small restaurant reserved just for you and your guests.

The deck and bar can accommodate up to 80 guests for a seated event or up to 100 for a cocktail reception. Our main dining room can also be reserved for larger private events.

Private Party Contact:
Jef Kirk: (843) 651-8808

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gulfstream Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (91)
Waterfront (84)
Good for a Date (58)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (56)
Special Occasion (44)
Casual (44)
Worth the Drive (43)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Romantic (34)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Good for Groups (25)
Local Ingredients (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Cozy (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Authentic (20)
Great for Brunch (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Seasonal (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Fun (15)
Comfort Food (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Business Meals (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1090 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was great and our view was awesome. We sat outside on the back deck. Our waiter was not the friendliest and always seemed rushed. We would have given 5 stars if we had friendly wait staff.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Nice outdoor seating. The seafood was good but the vegetables were not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

This is one of our local favorites, right on the water at the Inlet. Limited menu, but excellent fresh catches and cooked to perfection. A little noisy on a Friday night, but a very popular place for great evening out at reasonable price. Wait staff and management always makes us feel welcome and glad to see us. Friendly and a great change from the hustle-bustle of most "seafood" restaurants up and down the beach.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

The service and food is awesome. Our favorite place.

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Set on the salt marsh the views are excellent, especially at sunset Features outdoor seating, a bold wine list and a very tasty menu, service was wonderful, fast,courteous and friendly. Beware weekends are very busy and parking can be problematic

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We have been meaning to try Gulfstream for quite some time and finally made it. It is in a nice quiet spot in Garden City away from the crowds. The menu isn't huge but the food was excellent. Everyone in my group got the fried seafood platter. It was $24 and was worth it. The hot bread that came out was great too. Wish the meal came with a salad but that was extra. Service was great.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Amazing views, clean, beautiful inside and out - had wonderful Sunday brunch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Took a group of six for dinner and everything was great. Lobster, crab cakes and Southern Fried Seafood platers were all delicious and served right on time! Our waitress was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We had a girls weekend in Garden City and were so excited to be able to have our final meal of the weekend as brunch at Gulf Stream. It did not disappoint.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

We have attended the Sunday brunch at CS cafe before and the ambiance and food is very consistent, will have to return for dinner in the near future.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Delightful ambiance, terrific service, wonderful seafood restaurant!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 27, 2017

We had a pleasant evening dinner with a great waiter. We go to this restaurant every time we visit Murrells Inlet. The restaurant is actually in Garden City. The menu is primarily seafood but has chicken and steak options. They also have great early bird specials.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Casual, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Excellent food. One of our favorites when we visit. Love the apple walnut pie.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

Always a pleasure dining at your restaurant. Have been there several times through the years with our family. We have recommended GSC to our friends.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Best brunch around with a good variety of food. Reasonably priced.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

We go as often as we possibly can for brunch, it is def. the best brunch we have had in Myrtle Beach area. The staff is great, the views are breathtaking and the food is fresh and always perfect, never a bad dish.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food was disappointing compared to prior years dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

While we enjoyed the food, we felt the menu was limited somewhat. Also, they brought our entrees while we were still eating our salads. They should watch to be sure the patrons are ready for the next course as the tables are kind of small and intimate.

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Awesome views and great service. The outside deck was closed for the season but the bartender went out of his way and served us outside anyway. The food was also great. Plan to return often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Excellent service, fantastic food and fabulous views. We were here for a week are dinner there twice. Highly recommend you go if you get the chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

This is a great place for a business meal or dinner with family and friends. We had a party of 7 (including 1 child) and were easily accommodated. Food was excellent - great selection for everyone. Would definitely recommend Gulf Stream.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

As usual, another wonderful dining experience at Gulfstream. That's really all I can say, every time I eat there it is an amazing experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

We found Gulfstream Cafe last year while on vacation on the recommendation of a server at another restaurant! We made a point to return this year. The food is excellent, and the staff is friendly and efficient. The view is serene and very pretty. We will definitely return next year and we would highly recommend the restaurant to anyone visiting the Myrtle Beach or Murrell's Inlet areas.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I have been here many times and I will always come back. Try the She-Crab Soup! It's wonderful! The view of Murrells Inlet at sunset is awesome

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Nice place with a mostly seafood menu. Service was very good. LRge portions on the seafood platter

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner for 7. She-crab soup, oysters rockefeller & fried calamari were scrumptious appetizers! Our party enjoyed grouper francaise, fried lobster tail, seafood cioppino, fried shrimp platter, the new york strip medium & one of the daily specials - blackened, grilled tuna steak medium rare. Everything was cooked to our specifications & on point. The portions were generous, the sides well prepared, & all of it was plated attractively. The sunset view over the marsh was spectacular! No room for dessert this time, but we will address that on our next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We've gone there for 20 years. Terrific fresh seafood and best she crab soup anywhere. Also, a terrific sunset looking back at Murrels Inlet! Stunning!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We have been going to the Gulfstream Cafe for 20 years, but sadly this may have been the last time for us. They have everything going for them...location (we can walk there from where we stay), ambience, and the staff is wonderful. But the food is lacking. I don't think the menu has changed in the all the years we have been going here. If it has changed, it has not changed much. I'm sorry to say I don't think the food is worth the price you pay.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Our 2nd visit to Gulfstream. Ordered blackened swordfish with baked potato; both were excellent. Service was top-notch. Beautiful facility, gorgeous night-time views of the marsh. Will definitely return in the future.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Definitely a great recommendation! The sunset, food, service was excellent!! Great anniversary dinner!! Thank you!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The food and service were again top notch. The view over the water is spectacular.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Party of 4. My fried oysters were cold. Waitress mentioned tuna and clam pasta as specials. She did not know if the tuna was local, and guessed at the pasta price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed our meal. She must choose gluten free options. Outstanding service. We will return to this restaurant when we are able to do so.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Gulfstream Cafe did and outstanding job serving a party of eight diners. The food was most excellent.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We have been here multiple times and every time the food is very good. Able to spend time with visiting family without feeling rushed made the meal more enjoyable

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The Gulfstream Cafe has become our favorite dinner spot in the Myrtle Beach area. The seafood is wonderful every time. We find the service excellent, and the marsh/inlet view makes the choice easy! Everything is beautifully prepared and served, and quality is consistent. The menu is not extensive, but what they do, they do very well!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Not a place for good food or a quiet night out. My Cioppino was tasty but my wife's crab cakes were cold in the middle. They were replaced and better but then she was up with a bad stomach in the night. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 1, 2017

I have been coming to the Gulfstream Cafe for 6 years, each and every time I vacation in Surfside Beach, and typically more than once during the week. The view is incredible (beautiful sunsets), you are on the water and the food and service is great. They have great early bird specials, but early or late is is a great place to dine.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 23, 2017

This is a gem! There are countless restaurants in this area but a number trade on name recognition rather than quality. Gulfstream is a true find. Their seafood is fresh and prepared superbly. Our waiter, Jesse, could not have been more attentive and helpful. This was not our first visit and when we go to Myrtle Beach, we have started including a night at Gulfstream. True, when we stay in North Myrtle, it's a bit of a drive but always worth it. If you haven't tried it, do. And have a reservation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Always make this a stop on our vacation - usually more than once.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.