About Gulfstream Cafe

1536 S Waccamaw Dr
Garden City, SC 29576
View Larger Map

Voted “best restaurant with a view” & “most romantic” by The Sun News. Watch the sun set from the upstairs deck and savor the creamy She-Crab soup, jumbo lump Crab Cakes or Southern favorite, fried Lobster Tail. Offering seasonal Oyster Roasts, Sunday brunch and family-style to go.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday:10:00am -2:30pm;
Sunday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
Atlantic Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 651-8808

Website:
http://www.gulfstreamcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonal live entertainment on the Sunset Deck.

Catering:
Authentic, big flavors from the South are available including appetizers like N'awlins Shrimp and Grits and large party favorites like Low Country Seafood Boils and freshly steamed Oyster Roasts.

Delivered direct to your home with an optional full service staff for any order, small or large. Convenient same day ordering available.

Parking Details:
Free self-parking is available for cars, golf carts and bikes. Boat docking is available at Marlin Quay Marina, as well as a water taxi.

Public Transit:
Water taxi is available at Marlin Quay Marina.

Private Party Facilities:
Gulfstream Cafe’s Sunset Deck is as unique as the restaurant itself. With romantic views of the sunset, its own entrance and bar– it’s like having a small restaurant reserved just for you and your guests.

The deck and bar can accommodate up to 80 guests for a seated event or up to 100 for a cocktail reception. Our main dining room can also be reserved for larger private events.

Private Party Contact:
Jef Kirk: (843) 651-8808

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gulfstream Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (50)
Scenic View (41)
Special Occasion (34)
See All
Good for a Date (32)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Romantic (23)
Casual (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Cozy (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Authentic (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Family Style (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Fun (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Seasonal (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Bar Seating (4)
People Watching (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Business Meals (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great Beer (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Private Room (2)
Historic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Healthy (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
836 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

My children and I truly enjoyed our meal at the restaurant. They are foodies, so they are very picky and gave everything rave reviews.....for a 9 year old and 5 year old :-)

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Snowbird in Myrtle Beach for Jan and Feb. A friend that lives here and I meet for the Sunday brunch. The selection is excellent and well worth the money. My only recommendation would to serve real eggs and not the processed liquid eggs both for the scrambled and omelets. Not the same taste and really a disappointment to have that on an otherwise wonderful buffet. My friend requested an omelet with real eggs because of an allergy and was told that was not possible.

Tags: Casual, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent brunch, very reasonably priced with exceptional views in a comfortable dining area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 5 days ago

Our dinner was absolutely delicious. The she-crab soup was the best that I have ever eaten! I had the crab stuffed lobster and my husband had the crab cakes. Both meals were exceptional! Our server, Adam, did a wonderful job and provided the best service that I have seen in a long time. We hope to return on our next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Fun, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Our server was attentive and exceptionally courteous.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

I don't remember ever having a bad meal at Gulfstream. We probably eat there 10 or 12 times a year. The food, the waitstaff all make for a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Fun, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food, great view, great service, i would recommend this restaurant highly

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our server Cory was very professional and prompt. Would recommend my friends to ask for him. Food was great, first time my wife had been there.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was awesome. It was a terrific valentines dinner

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Take a coat or jacket. Had to move from original seating and the second spot was just as cold. A/C vents blowing on our legs. Waiter had to hang a table cloth to cut down on the wind. Still chilly!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Just overpriced for the meal and drinks, my opinion. Nice place.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I had Lobster and was not pleased, it was under cooked, the creamed spinach was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great view and amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was fantastic. Made for a wonderful date. I had the best she-crab soup ever. The Filet Mignon was cooked perfectly and the crab cakes were phenomenal. I will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love the Sunday brunch at GulfStream Cafe.....food is great and constantly refreshed on the buffet....made to order o letters are great ...views of the Marsh are beautiful.....and the meal ends with a warm cookie--perfect!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We love the Sunday brunch at Gulfstream, food was excellent, as usual. We were, however, disappointed to find out that the make-your-own Bloody Mary drink bar no longer exists...bring it back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Sunday brunch is outstanding. Pretty much the best grits in the world.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

First time we were at the Gulfsteam cafe and it was excellent. Staff were very courteous and the Sunday brunch was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very pleased with reservation system and the meals at Gulfstream Cafe. Our past experiences with the cafe have always been very good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Pleasant atmosphere, great views, excellent service and great food.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful meal with the best sunset view on the Grandstrand. We were seated promptly , and every aspect of our meal was flawless. We will be back in the area in May , and can't wait to join you again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Superb dining experience... Beautiful sunset over the Marsh, the Sword Fish was to die for.. desert exceptional... waiter very prompt and friendly. A wonderful experience !

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The view was second to none. Food and service were great and the prices were very affordable. We will be back many more times. Will tell all what a great place to dine.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Never disappoints! Outstanding

Love early bird specials

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Wonderful and delicious food with great service. The sunsets are spectacular.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 19, 2017

It was the second time my husband and I have been to Gulfstream Cafe. The first, in September, we dined on the rooftop and watched the fireworks over the marsh. It was quite crowded and we had to wait a long time for our seats, even though we had reservations. The food and the view were worth the wait. This time the place was not very crowded, and nearly empty by the time we left. It was a relaxing evening and a fun way to celebrate my cousin's birthday. Our two waitresses were wonderful, the food again was excellent, and we had a great evening. We definitely will return.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

As usual had a great experience. Our waiter was Jason and he was wonderful. The only complaint we have ever had was the length of time after eating till when you get your bill. But that's not anything that would keep us away

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Always great we are 3 houses away, we can walk there. I would like to see some change on the menu though. The oyster shooters are awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We are frequent diners at Gulfstream Café but on this particular occasion, we went for Sunday brunch on New Year's Day. The food was good, our waitress was attentive, and the view, as always, was spectacular. This was my first Sunday brunch in years, so I'm unsure whether the menu is always the same, but the diversity and quality was good. The different Bloody Mary's were a nice option, but I very much miss the Sunday Bloody Mary bar this restaurant used to offer. On my evening visits to Gulfstream, I usually choose to eat at the bar, mainly because the regular bartender, Jamie, is so terrific. The evening food is consistently good but the main problem, particularly for a foodie, is that the menu never changes. Gulfstream could be a truly fabulous dining venue-one fit for foodies- if only the chef were encouraged to be more creative and innovative. I do not believe the menu has substantially changed in 10 years and even the "specials " aren't anything new. It's really a pity because this place has so much potential.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for Sunday Brunch. The food was good and hot. The server kept replenishing everything If in the area, would go again

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My family and friends have been Gulfstream patrons for 20 years. The last few times we've eaten at Gulfstream we've been disappointed with the service. Wait staff seem frenetic and too busy to be attentive. My wife and I spent three nights dining out. We spent approximately $100 each night excluding gratuity. The competing restaurants were much more attentive to our needs. Gulfstream needs staff to handle water and tea service. Staff are nice but the experience is becoming more of a casual dining experience than an more elegant experience. The food is always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a reservation for 16 on New Years eve. We were seated promptly, and service was on time. Food came out hot and all orders were correct. Everyone enjoyed themselves.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve diner was excellent, service was slow. We had a new waitress and she was unsure of everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Beautiful view, excellent service, varied menu choices. Delicious she crab soup. Will return when in area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service ! Highly recommend !

Well worth our visit will return!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This is our 4th visit to Gulfstream Cafe and other than them being out of the Roasted Chicken the dining experience was wonderful as always.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Casual, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Absolutely awesome!! Best crab cakes I have ever had!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had dinner on Christmas, was surprised it was open, glad we made reservations. We were seated right away and our server was very personable. The food was excellent, will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Oysters Rockefeller were awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went with family on Christmas Day , we booked early to be sure to get in. We chose an early sitting, so we would see the marshlands and sunset before it got too dark.. We had a table with beautiful view of the sunset and marshlands. Food was excellent, service great, ambience for the season was perfect.......so nice to hear Merry Christmas being said everywhere around us.

Will defiantly be back again, and not just at Christmas.

Thank You from a family of very happy Canadians .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was good, the service was exceptional...she crab soup is very good and ask for an order of hush puppies...you will want to eat the whole basket

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Best sunset view in the area. The wait staff is always top-notch and accommodating. Food is always excellent. I just love this place! And it's a good value to boot.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

One of my favorite places. It's a family tradition for 2 years now

Tags: Family Style, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This is our third visit for Brunch with Santa. The food is as incredible as the view! We'll be back next year!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Not impressed --food marginal, service spotty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great meal for our team! Excellent food and service!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in all of Murrels Inlet! I love the Sunday brunch. Great variety and excellent food. You can't beat the price.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great food. Great service. We will definitely be going there again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great restaurant with a great view! The server was a nice young man who went to the local college. The food was excellent. Overall, very happy with everything.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This is becoming our Sunday afternoon ritual, going to Gulfstream enjoying a mimosa, and the Sunday Brunch!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.