Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.89mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.89mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.89mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.89mi
  3. Distance: 2.18mi
  4. Distance: 2.24mi

About Gulfstream Cafe

Voted “best restaurant with a view” & “most romantic” by The Sun News. Watch the sun set from the upstairs deck and savor the creamy She-Crab soup, jumbo lump Crab Cakes or Southern favorite, fried Lobster Tail. Offering seasonal Oyster Roasts, Sunday brunch and family-style to go.

1536 S Waccamaw Dr
Garden City, SC 29576
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday:10:00am -2:30pm;
Sunday: 2:30pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
Atlantic Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 651-8808

Website:
http://www.gulfstreamcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonal live entertainment on the Sunset Deck.

Catering:
Authentic, big flavors from the South are available including appetizers like N'awlins Shrimp and Grits and large party favorites like Low Country Seafood Boils and freshly steamed Oyster Roasts.

Delivered direct to your home with an optional full service staff for any order, small or large. Convenient same day ordering available.

Parking Details:
Free self-parking is available for cars, golf carts and bikes. Boat docking is available at Marlin Quay Marina, as well as a water taxi.

Public Transit:
Water taxi is available at Marlin Quay Marina.

Private Party Facilities:
Gulfstream Cafe’s Sunset Deck is as unique as the restaurant itself. With romantic views of the sunset, its own entrance and bar– it’s like having a small restaurant reserved just for you and your guests.

The deck and bar can accommodate up to 80 guests for a seated event or up to 100 for a cocktail reception. Our main dining room can also be reserved for larger private events.

Private Party Contact:
Jef Kirk: (843) 651-8808

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gulfstream Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (85)
Waterfront (79)
Special Occasion (55)
See All
Good for a Date (51)
Romantic (46)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Worth the Drive (37)
Great for Brunch (34)
Casual (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Sunday Lunch (28)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Cozy (20)
Authentic (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Fun (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Family Style (12)
Seasonal (12)
Disabled Access (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Business Meals (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Open Kitchen (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Historic (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Modern Decor (4)
People Watching (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (0)
Sort By:
S
933 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Always excellent food and service. Great views overlooking the water.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

The food is always fabulouse. The weather was perfect for seating on the deck. The sunset made for a lovely backdrop and the staff is always top-notch. We try to get to the Gulfstream Cafe every time we are in town.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

We have been to Gulfstream many times and have never been disappointed. View is great. Food and service are great as well.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

This was our second trip to Gulfstream. First was a family get together and this time for our anniversary. Both times were enjoyable. Had to ask for a different table this time as the window tables have air ducts underneath that were blowing frigid air, but the hostess honored our request very guickly.

Food was very good and cooked as ordered. Service was very timely and friendly although our server seemed a bit distracted a couple of times.

Besides the good food and atmosphere, it's a great place to catch a sunset.

It's a place that we will take our out of town visitors to.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Gulf Stream Cafe is one of our favorite places for a great meal. Crab cakes are the best I've ever eaten. The sunset view is beautiful. Great menu - simple and easy to find exactly what you want.

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We have been coming to Gulf Stream since it opened. She Crab soup is the best anywhere. We asked for window table in our reservation, but were told none were available. We were not happy about that and after a discussion with manager, they moved us. Good and service are always very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

She crab soup was outstanding, as was the cioppino and the scallop and pasta special. Spectacular sunset views !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food is very overpriced, nothing special. Dinner menu only one side, salad is extra. Green Beans are raw and flavorless. Very loud. The bread they bring you is white with no flavor. They should at least bring you a small salad while you wait endlessly to get your dinner.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Terrific views from the Sunset Deck! Food was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed your restaurant several times but a good while has passed since the last visit.
We were both taken aback at the amount of salt in the sea food and it was too dry (possibly cooked a bit too long) We thought "it may be a new owner or even a different cook that made
such differences."
Tiffany was our waitress and we enjoyed her quick and pleasant sense of humor.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Ambiance for Mother's Day dinner here was outstanding (we sat outside with view over the inlet waters). Our reservation was at 5 p.m.; we were quickly seated and our request upon arrival to be seated outside was no problem. Our waiter arrived quickly and was very accommodating when we indicated we wanted to enjoy a leisurely dinner. Once ordered, our food arrived promptly. Even though the food was pretty good, their menu is limited in choices. My Grouper Francaise was good, although it did not have any lemon sauce -- only couple lemon slices to squeeze over it. Choices of sides are also limited. Husband had the bang-bang shrimp appetizer, which he said "was not very bang-bang." Said his entree of Cioppino was also just "ok." Can say, though, that sourdough bread was excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was outstanding, food service was very prompt and food was very delicious. They give you ample amounts of food and the view was everything. Looking forward to going back soon

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Waterfront, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Took my mom for her birthday and she always has loved it there. While we were there (great food and experience that night as well) we received a flyer for mothers day brunch. We decided why not! We took her and it was wonderful. Weather was perfect for brunch outside with great food and great drinks. Savannah was great & did a great job keeping up with us and keeping things light yet personal. Thanks for a great mothers day!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We are local and come serveral times a year, love the Sunday buffet and dinner at sunset can't be better, keep up the great work 😊

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Cocktails over priced and prime rib was very tough. Other than that it was a pleasant experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I always enjoy Gulfstream, this experience was a bit different, but still very nice.

We went for Mother's Day, and it was crowded. We all did the buffet... it's apparently the only option on Sunday for brunch. The food was good, they had an omelet station, mussles, good salad options. Lots of people. Maybe overbooked a little.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food is great and all the employees compliment the meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

went for mothers day brunch
service was fast and friendly,and you can 't beat the ambiance and marsh veiws!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Enjoyed a very nice Mother's Day brunch. The food was wonderful and staff was great. Fantastic views. Micah took great care of us.

Tags: Family Style, Waterfront, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Favorite restaurant of all time! Crab legs are the best and I've had she crab soup a lot of places but this one has the best!! Sunset is the best time to go! Also if you like Moscato...theirs is great!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Family Style, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 12, 2017

A fantastic restaurant located on Murrells Inlet. Lovely view and great seafood!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Always great! Never has let's us down for best seafood in Garden City!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Very much enjoyed the delicious crab cakes and a very nice Chardonnay. The view from the dining room is amazing. My dining companions all enjoyed their meals as well. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Perfect place to have a great meal. Best place ever.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Fireplace, Business Meals, Healthy, Scenic View, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Best Bloody Mary on the Grand Strand! Very good seafood. All four of us loved our meals. Consistently good all around.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 9, 2017

1st time we had gone to the Gulf Stream. We went for our 30th anniversary and the view was spectacular at sunset. Got a little warn till the sun was low but overall comfortable. The food was presented well and had excellent taste and portioning was plentiful. I would recommend the Gulf Stream to anyone looking for a great meal with a wonderful view of the inlet.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Consistently good. Everyone enjoyed the apps and meals. Tim made our experience all the more enjoyable!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was very good. However I was disappointed in the fact that they rushed us. We didn't finish our apps before they brought our salads then we had t finished our salads and they brought the entrees. There was not a waiting line plus for the price of a meal we should have been able to take our time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We love coming here. We've only had brunch so far, but it's excellent. We always make a reservation. We usually take a Harley ride along the coast then settle in for some great food and beautiful views, then it's another ride along the coast home. Food is delish and the atmosphere is lovely. Highly, highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Service was amazing! Had such a wonderful time! Food and drinks were incredible too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very disappointed. We were a party of 6. Four of us ordered the grouper francaise which was OK. One ordered the crab cakes; they were cold . The sixth ordered the ciopinno. The first 5 dinners were delivered at the same time with a promise that the ciopinno would be "right up". It was not and was delivered about 15 minutes after the others. And to make matters worse, several of the clams were not opened. To be fair to the restaurant, they did not charge us for that dinner, but it still made for a disappointing dinner.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Pleasant atmosphere, good service, delicious food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Every time we have a visitors to our home in Myrtle Beach on Sunday's we take them here for the fantastic brunch. It never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Sunday brunch was excellent. Service was very good. Beautiful view of the Inlet. Minimal noise level

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The Sunday brunch buffet had a pretty good selection as well as a omelet bar. I was a bit disappointed in 3 things which are not deal breakers for everyone, just me: 1. Extremely slow service and the restaurant was not busy at all 2. NO LONGER HAS A BLOODY MARY BAR...What??? 3. No shrimp to go with my grits available, only fish. With all that being said, the view is amazing and the buffet is reasonably priced. Don't forget to make reservations on Open Table for an AMAZ view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We had a great meal! The only thing I would do different would be sitting on the deck so we could catch the sunset over the inlet.

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Fun, Happy Hour, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Food was so-so and over priced. Scenery is pleasant, everything else was below average at best.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Air conditioning was blowing hard along window tables, but the waitress had the vents covered and the staff actually turned the unit temp up; very accommodating! Service all evening was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Enjoyed our brunch very much! A must go to place and we visit every year when we go to Garden City, SC

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Absolutely love this place!! Great food and great views

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.