Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Guard & Grace

Chef Troy Guard’s largest and most exciting concept, Guard & Grace, is a 9,000 square ft. modern American steakhouse located at 1801 California Street in downtown Denver. The sophisticated new space offers private dining areas, one of Denver's largest patios, an expansive raw bar, a wood burning oven and open kitchen.

Complimentary valet parking is located outside of the restaurant on California St.

1801 California Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Social Hour: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: CLOSED

Cross Street:
18th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 293-8500

Website:
http://www.guardandgrace.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet

Executive Chef:
Troy Guard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
2nd Annual Rose & White Wine Party

http://guardandgrace.com/rose-white-wine-party-new-date-fri-june-5th-reservations-recommended/

Guard & Grace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (74)
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Good for a Date (54)
See All
Fit for Foodies (53)
Notable Wine List (47)
Romantic (45)
Modern Decor (40)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Business Meals (30)
Open Kitchen (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Good for Groups (28)
Hot Spot (27)
Bar Seating (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Fun (21)
Cozy (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
People Watching (17)
Authentic (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Local Ingredients (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Private Room (10)
Wood Oven (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Casual (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Healthy (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Fireplace (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Dancing (2)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
771 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined a day ago

I went here for my birthday after having five great experiences at the TAG restaurants since my relocation last week.

I came in, I was scolded for being 10 minutes late and when I asked if it was OK for a specific table to have for my birthday - she said there weren't any available.

When walking by. I saw one - I asked if I could go to that one. She huffed puffed himmm'd and ha'd about me wanting to go there. She talked about how great the other table was and how we would get better service there????

After a few minutes of awkwardly standing in the middle of the restaurant - she said let me see if anyone else has booked it. - even though I specifically booked it!

Five minutes later, she disgruntled walks us to the table and that's how I started my birthday dinner there.

My filet mignon made me a bit sick after and the service was subpar to when John James waits on us.

My friends food was undercooked.

I was so excited for another great meal. - I don't think I'll be back.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined a day ago

Went for our anniversary. Found the noise level to be extremely high. Very tough to have a conversation. Other than that the food and the service was terrific

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

Hosted clients at the restaurant for dinner while in Denver & was very impressed. Great service & food quality was very high. Amazing Octopus appetizer and Black Cod entree was one of the best i've had. Not cheap but they deliver on quality!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined 5 days ago

This is a very big and lively restaurant. First impressions were good with a nice bar and quick service as we waited for our table. At the table our order got confused which meant we waited an additional 30 minutes for appetisers. Entrees were delayed by another 40 minutes and to be honest steaks were disappointing and in two cases over cooked. Manager was apologetic and did deduct the cost of a steak from the check. Maybe got it on a bad night but my guess is the restaurant is so large when it goes wrong it is hard to bring it back. Overall we were in the place for over three hours!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was phenomenal! The filet trio was great as was the gnocchi!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Guard and Grace never disappoints! It's always a treat having dinner here!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Delicious filet and really good portion sizes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great meal with outstanding service. Thanks for the hospitality!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 13, 2017

I was beginning to become a little disappointed at food service combo in Denver until I went to Guard and Grace! WOW!! I was blown away by not only the notable food but the outstanding service! I have been given hope for quality on every level! I have been recommending Guard and Grace left and right and I will definitely be back! Thank you!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 13, 2017

absolutely amazing and has not changed at all since I dined there a year ago.
I will always try and dine at guard and grace whenever I am in Denver

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Fantastic food, atmosphere & service. The chicken enchiladas & prime rib French dip were delicious! And the fresh snickerdoodle cookies at the end of the meal were a great treat!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Portions were perfect. Best steak. Ever. The roasted brussel sprouts were heavenly and the meat and cheese tray I could have had for dessert. We rarely go back to places just because we like to experience all this awesome city has to offer but this dining experience must be repeated!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Had such an outstanding meal and experience at Guard and Grace. Thank you to everyone that helped make the night so special. Such amazing food and attentive staff. We will be back!
Greg K

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Organic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Wonderful spot for a business lunch. The food, service and room are all perfect.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Amazing service, eats, and drinks!

The ribeye was cooked to perfection - my party and I all ordered different cuts and we couldn't stop talking about how good it was the next day.

Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The food is awesome but the service is horrible ..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Overall Guard and Grace was great. They put two of us in an amazing semi-circle booth. The cocktails were creative and not too pricey. The steak was cooked perfectly and all the food was fantastic. The chef brought out pallet cleansing appetizers. Will definitely return!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Rob was our server and he was outstanding! His attention to detail was mind blowing! Thank you for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Everything was wonderful from the cocktails to the oysters to dessert. The grilled octopus was the best. Highly recommend...but not if you're on a budget. Service was wonderful too...we celebrated a birthday and they made it very special.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Lived up to its hype. Beautiful setting; outstanding food, and exceptional service. I want to come back TODAY!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Beautiful Restuarant, excellent service and attention to detail. Was not impressed with quality of some of the foods. We ordered surf and turf. The crab legs. Should not be part of menu. The size was so small.
The steaks were great. Service was great. Very attentive .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great location. Ambience is good. friendly service and sumptuous food. The oak grilled carrots are a must try starters here...

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great food, great service, great everything. I brought my in laws here for dinner and it was the best steak they have ever had.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Dancing, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Pricey but worthwhile. They were hesitant to overcook a steak. I ordered mine medium-rare and it was perfect. My mom likes them burnt and they wouldn't do it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Extreme service, literally a team of men and women make sure you never need a napkin clean knife or fork or anything.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Service to the food, everything was eye popping and mouth watering. Loved the octopus. A forever favorite!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I had the best birthday experience ever at Guard and Grace. The entire staff was so nice + so attentive. Being greeted with a card and champagne was way above my expectations. Also the food was incredibly delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 22, 2017

all in all things were good steaks a little high Wine a Lot!!!! High!!! server was maybe to attentive maybe pushing the table even though there were empty sets all around us but over all a good experience and will return

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Too loud for conversation. Turn the music/muzak down if it is not live music. Other than that it was a great first-time experience. I would definitely go back and recommend it to others.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Live Music, Healthy, Dancing, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Best steaks - and octopus - in Denver. Wonderful service. Good wine List.
If you are on a date they will seat you a quiet table.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We really enjoyed the food and service. I'm not sure if the entire restaurant is loud but our seat definitely was.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was only my second time at Guard and Grace and it was just as amazing as the first time. I chose this spot for my birthday dinner with friends and it did not disappoint. We started with the lamb ravioli and it was wonderful. I then went with the 4oz angus filet mignon, medium rare. Fantastic! Everyone loved their dishes. The short ribs are amazing also. Our sides were the brussel sprouts, the best ones I have ever had and the chipotle lime smashed potatoes. Everything was amazing. The drinks were spot on also. All accompanied by great service. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Loved our evening out with friends!
One of the best meals we have all enjoyed for awhile!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Best meal we have had anywhere. We will be going back for the lamb and wedge salad

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

My boyfriend and I celebrated Valentine's Day here and truly enjoyed our experience. The food was absolutely outstanding, particularly the truffled gnocchi! Chad was friendly and on top of his game. The in-house sommelier (I forget the wonderful lady's name) was knowledgeable and helped us find the perfect wine for the occasion. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting to treat themselves to a memorable night out!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

After hearing many great reviews about this place we thought it would make a nice date night. Boy were we wrong. This seems to be very much akin to your typical overpriced chain steakhouse like Capital Grill. The service was fantastic. The appetizers and drinks were pretty good too. However the $74 ribeye would have been just OK if it had been cooked to medium rare like I ordered, but instead it was purple through most of it. My husbands $64 New York strip was cooked OK but tasted bland and boring. I seriously believe outback would've served a better strip steak. They did offer to put mine back on the grill, but they were also happy to let me keep it. We won't be returning here. It was simply entirely too expensive for mediocre food. There are many much better places in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I am Celiac and our waiter and entire wait staff was amazing. I had a ton of gluten free options and everything they brought they made sure I could have it without it being a "thing". They even surprised me with a gluten free dessert to follow my lunch. Great decor, wonderful staff and delicious food!! Recommend ten times over.

Tags: Authentic, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Amazing service from host, to sever Jake. Staff works great together. Seamless. We got honest options from our server who wasn't trying to upsell on everything. Noted that we were celebrating our anniversary and we were brought 2 glasses of bubbles. Can't say enough how great the service and food was. Beautiful decor too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

G&G was phenomenal! We are visiting Denver and booked reservations here for a late dinner. Service was extremely attentive without being overbearing.
We ordered the wood fired carrots and wood fired octopus. Both were amazing! For dinner we each got a 4 oz. steak. This is the perfect size that allows you to also order sides and not leave feeling overly full. I had the prime filet and it was out if this world! Plus I paired it with their mushrooms and brandy peppercorn sauce for an extra boost of flavor.
Would highly recommend! Pricing is also incredibly reasonable for the service, ambiance and quality of food you receive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome food and service! Steak and lobster were both cooked to perfection. Extremely knowledgeable and attentive wait staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.