About Guard & Grace

1801 California Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Chef Troy Guard’s largest and most exciting concept, Guard & Grace, is a 9,000 square ft. modern American steakhouse located at 1801 California Street in downtown Denver. The sophisticated new space offers private dining areas, one of Denver's largest patios, an expansive raw bar, a wood burning oven and open kitchen.

Complimentary valet parking is located outside of the restaurant on California St.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Social Hour: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: CLOSED

Cross Street:
18th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 293-8500

Website:
http://www.guardandgrace.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet

Executive Chef:
Troy Guard

Private Party Contact:
Jeorgette: x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
2nd Annual Rose & White Wine Party

http://guardandgrace.com/rose-white-wine-party-new-date-fri-june-5th-reservations-recommended/

Guard & Grace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Denver
Best Service
Denver
1 More
Steakhouse
Denver
Best Restaurants in Downtown / LoDo ›

Special Occasion (124)
Fit for Foodies (114)
Hot Spot (83)
See All
Romantic (77)
Notable Wine List (71)
Good for Groups (64)
Vibrant Bar Scene (45)
Great for Lunch (42)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Late-night Find (10)
Great for Brunch (6)
Scenic View (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
572 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service and food. Staff every ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service and food. Staff every friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time experience - was not disappoi ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

First time experience - was not disappointed in any way. Greeted with a smile, seated to a table of our choice on the patio and the experience from there was terrific. Wonderful menu - exceptional attention to service needs and the food was amazing. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience. Superb food, outs ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Fantastic experience. Superb food, outstanding service from Josh. Can't fault it. Will be our new favorite restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to G&G for our anniversary. The ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We went to G&G for our anniversary. The service was outstanding, as was the food and drinks. A lot louder than usual, but maybe that's because it was lunch and I usually go during dinner.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best steaks I've ever had and ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

One of the best steaks I've ever had and incredible service!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant is simply outstanding. T ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This restaurant is simply outstanding. The food is delicious, and the service was some of the best we have ever had. Our waiter was very knowledgable and helpful. We would strongly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my wife's and my anniversary. We ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

It was my wife's and my anniversary. We enjoyed the evening very much. Service and food were wonderful. Our only complaint was that, for the price of a $300 evening, just maybe the sliver of cheesecake with the anniversary wish would be complimentary. Also, no refills on Soft Drinks. Really!!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful service and the food is to die ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wonderful service and the food is to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A little disappointed that I had to send ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

A little disappointed that I had to send a very rare filet back after I ordered medium, but other than that, it was wonderful! Service was impeccable and once they returned my steak is was one of the best I've had. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our 10th Anniversary at Gu ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We celebrated our 10th Anniversary at Guard and Grace and the service was great. We arrived a little earlier than our scheduled reservation and they were able to seat us early. They delivered a card which was signed by many of the staff congratulating us on our milestone.

The food was great although there were some things that we wouldn't order again. My NY Strip and the crispy brussel sprouts were stand out items on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best steak restaurant in Denver! I check ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Best steak restaurant in Denver! I checked out this place while travelling to Denver for business, upon raving reviews from Singapore friends.

Service crew is excellent, attentive and knowledgeable. The Filet Mignons are cooked exactly as ordered, tender with unique smoky aftertaste. Try the side dish Brussel Sprouts and the Vietnamese steak salad with a little spice is recommended. Extensive wine list is well paired with steak.

Order coffee or tea after your meal, the surprise in final palate tasting is the restaurant self made cookie that is served with your beverage.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

My wife and I dined here celebrating our ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

My wife and I dined here celebrating our wedding anniversary. We were very pleased with this venue. We were greeted promptly on arrival and soon escorted to our table. Our waiter, 'Matt' was excellent. Friendly, knowledgeable, professional and attentive. Seemed to always be there as and when needed.

All our dishes were timely served, beautifully presented, and delicious. Champagne; Assorted cheeses with grilled bread; seafood tower; Alaskan Salmon; Kobe ribeye; assorted ice cream and espresso.

Looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Connor our waiter was great. Service wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Connor our waiter was great. Service was wonderful. Attentive without being overbearing.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I came here while staying ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

My husband and I came here while staying in Denver for a Rockies game. I had been here once before with my daughter. It was wonderful! Dustin our waiter was the best. The food was fabulous. The bottle of Turley wine we bought was sooo good! It is a very popular restaurant. So, expect it to be busy and noisy. But, we love this kind of experience. And, we cannot wait to come back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Exquisite meal and sensational wine pair ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Exquisite meal and sensational wine pairing for each course. It was quite busy, but not terribly loud.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 2nd Anniversary at the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We celebrated our 2nd Anniversary at the restaurant. We also celebrated our 1st Anniversary at Guard and Grace as well. The food and staff was simply outstanding and went above an beyond to make our dinner and evening very special. The table was perfect and we were presented a anniversary card when we sat down signed by the staff! The service was impeccable. The staff was very knowledgeable with the wine list and the menu items. The food was wonderful as always. The extra special touches with our dessert (writing happy anniversary) was very nice thought. We got engaged later that night Such an amazing experience; we will be back each year.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The drinks are always good, a little pri ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The drinks are always good, a little pricy, as they all are now in restaurants. The burrata starter was heavenly. The bread they serve with it is the best in town. My friend had the French dip sandwich, it was very good. I had the cod, always superb.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food and service - would highl ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food and service - would highly recommend -

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Guard and Grace is ALWAYS amazing! Even ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Guard and Grace is ALWAYS amazing! Even with our pickiest out-of-town eaters, self described "sender-backers," it was great. Marcus, our waiter, helped make the night special. What's not to love about this place?

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very happy with my experience, from brea ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Very happy with my experience, from bread to desert, everything was excellent! Very modern atmosphere, I will need to find a place like this in my hometown Boston

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a trendy type of spot. Flavorful ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This is a trendy type of spot. Flavorful food, unique mixed drinks, etc. Not the best for families with younger kids, but they accommodated that need for the most part (no kids menu though, so their focus is obviously NOT on the family experience). I had an expensive dry aged strip steak which was very good, but not out of this world perfect. Flavorful and tasty-yes. Large cut (but with bone-in) makes it smaller than the large oz. size, but not by too much. My steak did have a bit too much fat around the outside edge of the steak, which is not marbling and is certainly not something you'd want to eat. For $51, it should have been trimmed neater. That's really my one food-related gripe, otherwise, a good experience overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a gift card from Christmas. The f ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We had a gift card from Christmas.

The food was excellent.

Service was excellent.

Wine was special.

Had a very relaxed enjoyable evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff was friendly and made us very ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The staff was friendly and made us very comfortable. The main problem was timing of food delivery. It took over 2 hours to get the entrees on the table! Additionally my wife's prime rib was overdone,tough and the au jus was greasy.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Guard & Grace was amazing. The service, ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Guard & Grace was amazing. The service, food and ambiance were all wonderful. We will absolutely be coming back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was excellent.

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Server was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice restaurant. Noise level a bit ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Noise level a bit too high though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The service was incredible and the food ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The service was incredible and the food was one of the best we've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely fabulous in all aspects! Our ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Absolutely fabulous in all aspects! Our waiter, Dustin, was impeccable, very attentive and provided great input on entree selections when questioned. The steak was the best I have ever tasted - cooked to perfection and succulent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Guard and Grace exceeded our taste buds ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Guard and Grace exceeded our taste buds expectations! Black Cod entree our overall favorite from the night, don't skip the burrata nor the heirloom salad to start nor the gnocchi to share with dinner. Enjoy it all with their slutty Pessimist from Paso. Plan on dessert elsewhere, perhaps Sugarmill!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

It was difficult to carry on a conversat ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

It was difficult to carry on a conversation given the noise. So go here for the food, but don't expect to hear the person sitting across the table from you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

What a fabulous place the food was great ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

What a fabulous place the food was great and our server , Nate?, was fantastic.

the whole experience was delightful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined here for our 35th Anniversary - ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We dined here for our 35th Anniversary - they made us a card, signed by the staff and presented it at our table. Service was excellent - we lacked for nothing. House salad, charcuterie, salmon, double pork chop and dessert were all perfect.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I found the food to be very tasty, but o ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I found the food to be very tasty, but overpriced. I would visit here again if they prices were more appropriate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I hosted a business lunch at G&G. The f ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I hosted a business lunch at G&G. The food was very good -- I loved the grilled octopus. My guests all loved their food too. The menu is very eclectic, which was great for a business lunch. I will return to try one of their steaks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our first visit to Guard and Grace was a ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our first visit to Guard and Grace was at recommendation of our son and it delivered as he said it would. Our server was excellent, walked us thru the menu choices and shared his favorites and made excellent recommendations. Wine list was top rate, as was each dish. Beet salad was great, we both had 4oz filets with sides of Brussels sprouts and fries. Skipped desert to finish our bottle of wine.

Our server shared the history of Troy Guard's progress in building his restaurant empire. We visited his other local place, TAG, the next night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A Denver must ! One of the best meals we ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

A Denver must ! One of the best meals we've had !

The rolls!!! Oh the most amazing pillows of heaven ! Mac and cheese is the best we've had! Steaks are OUTSTANDING !!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and overall experience ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Excellent service and overall experience to entertain your customers.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic staff and very knowledgeable. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Fantastic staff and very knowledgeable. And the food was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rarely does a restaurant live up to the ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Rarely does a restaurant live up to the hype and far less often does a restaurant exceed the hype......Guard & Grace exceeded the hype.

My boyfriend and I took his parents here for dinner when they were in town visiting. The experience began with great hand-crafted cocktails as we waiting for our table (we arrived 15 minutes before our reservation). My personal favorite was the smash (bourbon, berries, and lemon).

After our cocktails, we were seated at a great booth in the middle of the restaurant.

Our server, Chris, was very attentive without being overbearing. He provided several excellent wine recommendations which everyone appreciated. He also went through the menu and answered all of the questions we had so patiently.

We had the appetizer special, oysters, and the meat and cheese plate to start. For our entrees, we each selected steaks and had the brussel sprouts, mac and cheese, and crispy potato sides. The prime filet was absolutely amazing and melted in your mouth. The prime rib was also a huge hit at the table. For dessert, we had the bread pudding and the cherry tart special. The cherry tart should be a regular on the menu. I'm not a huge cherry fan and I could have eaten dozens of these tarts.

Throughout the entire meal, Chris (our waiter) was there to guide us through the meal. He was more than a waiter. He truly made the meal that much more extraordinary!

Guard & Grace is now on our favorites list and we can't wait for another special occasion to go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were disappointed with our dinner at ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were disappointed with our dinner at Guard and Grace. We had early reservations, and the restaurant was almost empty when we were seated. We let our waiter know we had plans following dinner, but it still took 45 minutes to get our appetizer (cheese plate, which was mediocre). We had another long wait before our dinner was brought to the table. The filet was nicely done, but my husband's steak was a poor cut. The mashed potatoes were runny, and a paste-like consistency. The mushroom side dish was probably the best part of the dinner, and we also enjoyed the wine we selected. We were not able to stay for dessert because of how long the rest of the meal took. We enjoy nice, leisurely dinners, but there was no flow to the service, and the food was not worth the wait or the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.