About Guard & Grace

1801 California Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Chef Troy Guard’s largest and most exciting concept, Guard & Grace, is a 9,000 square ft. modern American steakhouse located at 1801 California Street in downtown Denver. The sophisticated new space offers private dining areas, one of Denver's largest patios, an expansive raw bar, a wood burning oven and open kitchen.

Complimentary valet parking is located outside of the restaurant on California St.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Social Hour: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: CLOSED

Cross Street:
18th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 293-8500

Website:
http://www.guardandgrace.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet

Executive Chef:
Troy Guard

Private Party Contact:
Jeorgette: x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
2nd Annual Rose & White Wine Party

http://guardandgrace.com/rose-white-wine-party-new-date-fri-june-5th-reservations-recommended/

Guard & Grace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Denver
Best Service
Denver
3 More
Hot Spot
Denver
Notable Wine List
Denver
Steakhouse
Denver
Best Restaurants in Downtown / LoDo ›

special occasion (125)
fit for foodies (121)
notable wine list (83)
See All
hot spot (75)
romantic (66)
good for groups (63)
vibrant bar scene (43)
great for lunch (37)
neighborhood gem (16)
great for outdoor dining (12)
late-night find (10)
great for brunch (8)
scenic view (6)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
506 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had the 21 day dry aged ribeye steak a ...

Dined 6 days ago

I had the 21 day dry aged ribeye steak and it was amazing! Cooked to perfection and their seasoning was delicious as well. The server was very knowledgeable, friendly and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Guard and Grace for our anniv ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We went to Guard and Grace for our anniversary and were not disappointed. We made our reservations well in advance (4-5 weeks) in advance of the date, and we still only had 5:00 or 8:30 to choose from. We don't mind eating early so we took the 5:00. Pretty quiet when we arrived,but it was hopping by the time we left. We started with cocktails. My husband had shrimp cocktail and I had the tuna - both were great. We split the fillet flight- amazing! We also had Brussels sprouts and lobster Mac and cheese- both very tasty...we ended up taking most of each home. Even though we were stuffed, the waitress convinced us we couldn't miss the seasonal dessert and it was the perfect end to a lovely meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5

The place is beautiful and has a great d ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The place is beautiful and has a great decor. Unfortunately, the food is not good. My steak came out not cooked properly at 75.00. I had to return it but most high end places recook a new steak but they choose to cook the same steak that was cooked wrong in the first place. My wife's steak tasted horrible. She loved the shrimp. The Brussel sprouts were over cooked, I had to use soy sauce to give it flavor. The baked potato tasted good. My wife ordered a drink that came out wrong. I would say this place is very over rated especially overpriced. Plus, I requested the plate be extremely hot with my steak- I received a warm plate. I walked out with a 200.00 bill. I will not return. There are higher end places that deliver on all aspect of dining and this in not one of them. Epic FAIL!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was AMAZING! Brought my dad to ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was AMAZING! Brought my dad to celebrate Father's Day - he absolutely LOVED Guard & Grace! So much so that he left a comment on their comment card asking if they could open one in Houston-LOL!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date night, first timers at Guard & Grac ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Date night, first timers at Guard & Grace. Very comfortable, excellent music/vibe, top notch service and a great steak dinner. We will be back soon and highly recommend for both lunch and dinner.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a great meal and time celebrati ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We had a great meal and time celebrating our special occasion

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Good service, great food (large portion ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Good service, great food (large portions....order less than you think you'll eat), pleasant atmosphere. No complaints!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fantastic experience at Guard a ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We had a fantastic experience at Guard and Grace. All the employees were welcoming, knowledgeable and friendly. The Speck and Burratta charcuterie was the best. We had the truffle Mac n Cheese and Brussel Sprouts as sides with our NY Strip Steaks. A wonderful dinner. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was outstanding, a perfect an ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Everything was outstanding, a perfect anniversary evening. The food, drinks, service, and the entire restaurant basically, was spot on and most importantly worth the $$$. We can't wait to return and try more of the menu.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Place to dine! Best in town. Great ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Great Place to dine! Best in town. Great food, great service

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really strove to make an anniversary din ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Really strove to make an anniversary dinner special.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our best meal we had in Denver. ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

This was our best meal we had in Denver. They really know what they are doing here. The place looks great... the tables are well spaced... the staff is friendly, professional and efficient... the food is fantastic. Everything we had was excellent... particularly liked the crab cake, raw bar, prime NY, desserts. Nice wine list.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely phenomenal dining experience ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal dining experience here. The food is divine, the servers are attentive and have perfect timing in terms of when to approach you/bring refills/bring the next course, and the atmosphere is trendy without being pretentious. Highly recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, My steak was cooked ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was great, My steak was cooked perfectly! The waiter knew just how to steer us and the sommelier was on point! Everyone had a great time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful way to end a vacation

Dined on June 8, 2016

We ate at Guard and Grace as our final meal on our last trip to Denver. We visit the city often and have found wonderful spots all over but Guard and Grace will now top the list of our favorites. From the impeccable service to the unbelievable food--we will be back on our next stop through town. Highly suggest the charcuterie offerings that they make in house and the flight of Filets.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot for a business lunch

Dined on June 8, 2016

Nice big tables for two for a business lunch. Great service and a broad menu. Try the fish sandwich - excellent! Good wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was absolutely delicious! Ambiance ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Food was absolutely delicious! Ambiance was lovely. Service impeccable. Sommelier knowledgeable with great suggestions. What an amazing evening!

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service. Great food. Presentat ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Wonderful service. Great food. Presentation and taste!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

1 roll served, but had to ask for that, ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

1 roll served, but had to ask for that, a tad lacking this time

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was perfect

Dined on June 2, 2016

The food and service is exceptional! This is the place to go to be spoiled, perfect for girls night or date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing evening

Dined on June 1, 2016

We were visiting Denver on vacation. Went to Guard and Grace for our anniversary dinner and it was everything we were hoping for. Delicious food and very attentive staff. Would definitely go back next time we are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A Very Special Night With Great Service

Dined on May 28, 2016

The front of the restaurant staff, the bar staff and the wait staff, especially Connor, were all excellent; very welcoming and patient and helpful. Connor had so much patience, explaining everything and making recommendations. It was our anniversary and they all made it truly very special. The staff even signed a card for our anniversary, which made us feel great. The food was very good. We had steaks and prime rib, along with house salads and brussels sprouts and the taste & presentation were very good. There are different kinds of beef (grass fed, grain fed, etc.) so it takes time to decide. The noise level is high, but it does make the place feel energetic and popular, and we really did not mind. The house salad is huge, probably enough for 2, if you want to fully enjoy the steaks. The crispy brussels sprouts were great but the portion was so large it seemed like we hardly made a dent in it. We would definitely go again and are very grateful to have been treated so well.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience5
service5

We usually love this place but the food ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

We usually love this place but the food was way off this time.

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Nice, but not outstanding

Dined on May 26, 2016

The restaurant was nice, but definitely not a quiet venue. The macaroni and cheese was absolutely amazing, but the rest of the meal (baked potato, cornbread, filet mignon, rib-eye, steak tartare, and spinach cheese dip) were simply average. The cocktail made with maple syrup was also outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An amazing evening

Dined on May 21, 2016

Had our post engagement dinner at G&G and were blown away. Staff signed a "congrats" card for us, sent over prosecco and a delicious tasting bite of pork belly. Food was top notch, service was friendly and knowledgeable and non intrusive. It's a fairly loud restaurant so be prepared for that.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really terrific meal - perfect service, ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Really terrific meal - perfect service, outstanding food. I also love that the tables aren't super crammed in - makes for a relaxing meal. Loved it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

We went here for lunch and it was good. ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

We went here for lunch and it was good. Expensive but good. Sexy women sat at the next table over which made the food taste that much better.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Favorite Restaurant

Dined on May 18, 2016

The food is amazing and the service is always top notch. I can't get enough of G&G!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Graduation Dinner

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife finished her masters degree so we went here to celebrate with her family. The service was truly exceptional and almost felt choreographed. The octopus appetizer was to die for, and the steaks were the best I've had in Denver. It was fun comparing the differences between cuts of prime and grass-fed beef. Overall, this was the best steakhouse experience I've had in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My single complaint for this is the four ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

My single complaint for this is the four-top circle tables. They are too large for this concept. The open floor plan as well as kitchen makes for a robust noise level. The large circle tables make it difficult to hear what your table mates are saying without raising your voices over the din. Combine that with the lack of sound-dampening materials in the restaurant and you'll find yourself a wee bit hoarse by the end of your meal. For someone who is obviously an experienced restaurateur, Troy Guard (or his design team) missed the mark on these tables. But, otherwise, an impeccable dinner/experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Guard and Grace, one of Troy Guard's gro ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Guard and Grace, one of Troy Guard's growing collection of Denver restaurants, is located in an office building two blocks off the 16th St. Mall. You won't accidentally find it while strolling around so you need to know where it is to enjoy a great meal. It's a steak place. There are other foods on the menu but why would you do that? They offer numerous cuts in three categories: prime, Angus and grass-fed, with sizes from 22 oz down to just 4, and the wait staff is happy to explain the differences. They even offer a "flight" of beef - the same cut but from the various sources. That's a great way to become familiar with the different types of beef. I've eaten here three times over the past year and most recently had the Angus rib eye with bourbon butter, a side of foraged mushrooms and some Brussels sprouts. Each meal has been wonderful - beef cooked perfectly and sides that are large enough to share. It's a pleasant room but a little noisy, which seems to be the trend nowadays. A table far from the bar/lounge at the entrance would be a little quieter. Guard and Grace is on a par with other top steak houses in Denver and that's a very high bar.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My parents came to visit and I wanted to ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

My parents came to visit and I wanted to take them to a special restaurant. This exceeded my expectations. The service and food were outstanding. Everyone but me got a steak (I don't eat red meat) and they all loved what they got. I went with a fish dish and was not disappointed at all. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for good food, great service, and a lovely atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our spot for my son's birthday ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

This was our spot for my son's birthday celebration and it was perfect! From the appetizers to the dessert, the cocktails and the wine list, the ambience and the service, the whole night was fantastic! I recommend it for anyone celebrating something special, or just wanting a special night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic lunch!

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

The service was impeccable. My grilled shrimp salad was delicious. I wish I had more reasons to dine downtown - G&G is my new go-to spot for a classy lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We went here for the second year in a row to celebrate Mother's Day. Excellent menu choices; inventive cocktail menu; professional servers; an overall wonderful place to spend time eating and celebrating.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience

Dined on May 6, 2016

Great dining experience! We had great service with great food! The ambiance was very romantic with a wide variety of food and wine to make any evening great

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was not my first time at Guard & Gr ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

This was not my first time at Guard & Grace and it certainly won't be my last. I work in the same building as the restaurant and when the craving for a steak takes over I have no willpower to say no! Our server was excellent and was able to fill my request for the unavailable smashed potatoes with the help of the kitchen to a close alternative. While the noise level was a little high the quality of the food and service makes up for it. Highly recommend to anyone who doesn't mind spending a lot more for lunch than usual.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meets lofty expectations

Dined on May 1, 2016

We heard a lot about Guard and Grace being the top steakhouse and one of the top restaurants in Denver and it did not disappoint. I highly recommend the octopus appetizer, which was perhaps the best Octopus I've ever had. We also enjoyed the charcuterie plate. For dinner I had the prime bone-in ribeye, which was well prepared and delicious. My wife had the alaskan cod, which tasted great as well. We then had the 20 layer cake for desert. Overall the service was spot on and timely. The wait staff was very helpful with suggestions and the ambiance was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic, as always!

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

We have now dined here on four occasions and each time is perfection. We did have to send back a steak entree that was not cooked to medium, but it was quickly rectified without losing any flavor or "juiciness." And, it was handled tactfully. We feel confident in recommending this establishment to our friends and family, and we do so. The quality of food and service is exceptional. Thank you for making my birthday a wonderful evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Late Lunch

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

We dine out frequently. This was our best experience in the Denver area. The staff was attentive, helpful and personable. The food was exceptional. We also received a cocktail lesson.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.