About Guard & Grace

1801 California Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Chef Troy Guard’s largest and most exciting concept, Guard & Grace, is a 9,000 square ft. modern American steakhouse located at 1801 California Street in downtown Denver. The sophisticated new space offers private dining areas, one of Denver's largest patios, an expansive raw bar, a wood burning oven and open kitchen.

Complimentary valet parking is located outside of the restaurant on California St.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Social Hour: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: CLOSED

Cross Street:
18th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 293-8500

Website:
http://www.guardandgrace.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet

Executive Chef:
Troy Guard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
2nd Annual Rose & White Wine Party

http://guardandgrace.com/rose-white-wine-party-new-date-fri-june-5th-reservations-recommended/

Guard & Grace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (67)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Good for a Date (51)
See All
Romantic (46)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Notable Wine List (39)
Modern Decor (35)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Business Meals (31)
Bar Seating (26)
Open Kitchen (25)
Hot Spot (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Fun (18)
People Watching (17)
Cozy (16)
Authentic (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Private Room (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Casual (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Healthy (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fireplace (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
743 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 2 days ago

Extreme service, literally a team of men and women make sure you never need a napkin clean knife or fork or anything.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

I had the best birthday experience ever at Guard and Grace. The entire staff was so nice + so attentive. Being greeted with a card and champagne was way above my expectations. Also the food was incredibly delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

all in all things were good steaks a little high Wine a Lot!!!! High!!! server was maybe to attentive maybe pushing the table even though there were empty sets all around us but over all a good experience and will return

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Best steaks - and octopus - in Denver. Wonderful service. Good wine List.

If you are on a date they will seat you a quiet table.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

We really enjoyed the food and service. I'm not sure if the entire restaurant is loud but our seat definitely was.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

This was only my second time at Guard and Grace and it was just as amazing as the first time. I chose this spot for my birthday dinner with friends and it did not disappoint. We started with the lamb ravioli and it was wonderful. I then went with the 4oz angus filet mignon, medium rare. Fantastic! Everyone loved their dishes. The short ribs are amazing also. Our sides were the brussel sprouts, the best ones I have ever had and the chipotle lime smashed potatoes. Everything was amazing. The drinks were spot on also. All accompanied by great service. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Loved our evening out with friends!

One of the best meals we have all enjoyed for awhile!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

My boyfriend and I celebrated Valentine's Day here and truly enjoyed our experience. The food was absolutely outstanding, particularly the truffled gnocchi! Chad was friendly and on top of his game. The in-house sommelier (I forget the wonderful lady's name) was knowledgeable and helped us find the perfect wine for the occasion. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting to treat themselves to a memorable night out!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

After hearing many great reviews about this place we thought it would make a nice date night. Boy were we wrong. This seems to be very much akin to your typical overpriced chain steakhouse like Capital Grill. The service was fantastic. The appetizers and drinks were pretty good too. However the $74 ribeye would have been just OK if it had been cooked to medium rare like I ordered, but instead it was purple through most of it. My husbands $64 New York strip was cooked OK but tasted bland and boring. I seriously believe outback would've served a better strip steak. They did offer to put mine back on the grill, but they were also happy to let me keep it. We won't be returning here. It was simply entirely too expensive for mediocre food. There are many much better places in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I am Celiac and our waiter and entire wait staff was amazing. I had a ton of gluten free options and everything they brought they made sure I could have it without it being a "thing". They even surprised me with a gluten free dessert to follow my lunch. Great decor, wonderful staff and delicious food!! Recommend ten times over.

Tags: Authentic, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Amazing service from host, to sever Jake. Staff works great together. Seamless. We got honest options from our server who wasn't trying to upsell on everything. Noted that we were celebrating our anniversary and we were brought 2 glasses of bubbles. Can't say enough how great the service and food was. Beautiful decor too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

G&G was phenomenal! We are visiting Denver and booked reservations here for a late dinner. Service was extremely attentive without being overbearing.

We ordered the wood fired carrots and wood fired octopus. Both were amazing! For dinner we each got a 4 oz. steak. This is the perfect size that allows you to also order sides and not leave feeling overly full. I had the prime filet and it was out if this world! Plus I paired it with their mushrooms and brandy peppercorn sauce for an extra boost of flavor.

Would highly recommend! Pricing is also incredibly reasonable for the service, ambiance and quality of food you receive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome food and service! Steak and lobster were both cooked to perfection. Extremely knowledgeable and attentive wait staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Second time we've eaten dinner here (my wife and I) We thought it was fabulous the first time. The second time was every bit as good. It's hopping. Very crowded but great ambiance, great food and excellent service. Our new favorite in Denver.

Tags: Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Good ambiance service & food

The Brussel sprouts were outstanding

Steaks excellent

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Way too loud for lunch but it died down as the business crowd filtered out. The food was incredible. I highly recommend the Mexican Chicken sandwich and the Vietnamese Salad.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing. I've traveled to various destinations throughout the world and I have to say that Guard and Grace is one of my top choices for dining. I hope that you have the opportunity to experience the same exceptional quality and service that I have.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Our dinner at Guard and Grace was wonderful! The wine list was impressive and our server was very helpful. I would definitely recommend it to a friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The service was phenomenal. Beth our waitress was incredibly attentive and we had probably 3-4 other people who checked in on us, refilled water, etc...

The food was fantastic. The oysters were great. I had the scallops, which were to die for. We also had the crab cake and lamb ravioli which were delicious as well.

Their wine recommendation was perfect as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The service was especially good--friendly, attentive but not obsequious . We felt it was as good as any we have had in Denver. Very impressed with the valet attendant; he spotted us getting up and had the car waiting, seat warmers on and heaters going which was much appreciated on the cold, damp night. The filet was super tender and extremely tasty. The Scottish salmon was done to perfection. The house salad was a winner being nicely chopped and flavorful. It was a wonderful meal but one caveat: we couldn't really hear each other , as the table was large for three, and the noise level was fairly high

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Sub-par service and undercooked steaks. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was out of this world delicious. Service was the best we have ever had.

Tags: Healthy, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wonderful food, absolutely the very best service. A great place for a special occasion!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was awesome! Food was amazing and the prices were reasonable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We had heard such great things about restaurant so we decided to try. Decor was very cool liked the bar area better than restaurant. Was loud and food was a little to "fancy" sometimes less is more. We continue to go to Ocean Prime as our go to nice restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Awesome meal - service was also top notch! The octopus appetizer was a highlight, as was the filet mignon. The mac n cheese side was huge and a little disappointing, but the G&G salad was surprisingly excellent! Big fan

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great place had the boned in Ribeye and oysters very fresh, service was fun and helpful

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The food was fabulous. Best prime rib ever! And the entire staff worked together to wait in us. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Guard and Grace always is just absolutely fantastic. This is my wife's favorite restaurant currently and 2 years in a row we have spent her birthday dinner here.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 18, 2017

My husband and I were blown away by the excellent service. All of the staff from the host staff, bartender and servers that weren't even ours. Our dinner and cocktails were perfect. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Delicious beef tartare, decent east coast oysters on happy hour, good wine list and cocktails. Bar staff was friendly and fun.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 17, 2017

A rare place where experience exceeded expectation. Nuff said

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We celebrated my husbands birthday at Guard and Grace and it was our first time there. We really enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Also, our waiter was great. The only complaints I have would be the hostess desk lack of greeting and friendliness as well as the timing and flow of our drinks and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great Restaurant! One of my favorite in Denver and definitely my favorite steakhouse! The service is excellent. We sat at the bar to have some cocktails and decided to remain there for dinner and the bartenders were fantastic! Super attentive and just a great experience overall!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We went for our Anniversary and they made it very special including writing "Happy Anniversary" on the desert plate. Pricey but well worth it for the food and service for special events.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We celebrated my husbands birthday and truly enjoyed it. Delicious food, great atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Best steakhouse I've ever been to! The octopus was amazing!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Impeccable, friendly, attentive wait staff; excellent food; energetic atmosphere; easy valet parking with friendly valets. Overall excellent dining experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food but too loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

For a steak house, it left a little to be desired. The aged NY strip didn't have the flavor you would expect for a steak that a restaurant prides itself on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent overall experience at G&G! I don't normally go with the steak when eating out, but this was more than worth it. Server and staff went above and beyond in accommodating for one of us with celiac and other dietary restrictions. Looking forward to coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

One of them best restaurants in Denver. While it's a little pricey, the food is always amazing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This is consistently the best steak in Denver. Another great experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 4, 2017

It was the first time for my wife and I and our wedding anniversary. We were pleasantly surprised!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 4, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in Denver. The menu is top notch and the wait staff, no matter who you get, are the best around. 5 star experience.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Enjoyed the food, atmosphere and wine. Will plan to return soon! My wife's prime rib was undercooked and the waiter quickly took care of the situation. The rest of the meal was outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our server was amazing and didn't rush us. The sommelier had great suggestions, and the truffle gnocchi were to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Exceptional service, exceptional food. Now considered the best steakhouse in the Denver area, the food is the best and prices are very reasonable compared to the other top steakhouses in Denver. When my wife and I left we both said this is our "new favorite restaurant in the Denver area"

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was a great pick for our 20 Year Anniversary! Guard and Grace did a wonderful job of making it special and providing the best quality of food and wine. It was the best filet that my wife had ever eaten and the recommendation of the black cod was amazing! We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was good, but very noisy as we were seated by open kitchen. The table for two was not conducive to discussion without raising your voice. I felt table was too large to talk to your partner for a romantic evening.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.