About Guard & Grace

1801 California Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Chef Troy Guard’s largest and most exciting concept, Guard & Grace, is a 9,000 square ft. modern American steakhouse located at 1801 California Street in downtown Denver. The sophisticated new space offers private dining areas, one of Denver's largest patios, an expansive raw bar, a wood burning oven and open kitchen.

Complimentary valet parking is located outside of the restaurant on California St.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Social Hour: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: CLOSED

Cross Street:
18th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 293-8500

Website:
http://www.guardandgrace.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet

Executive Chef:
Troy Guard

Private Party Contact:
Jeorgette: x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
2nd Annual Rose & White Wine Party

http://guardandgrace.com/rose-white-wine-party-new-date-fri-june-5th-reservations-recommended/

Guard & Grace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Denver
Best Service
Denver
1 More
Steakhouse
Denver
Best Restaurants in Downtown / LoDo ›

special occasion (136)
fit for foodies (135)
notable wine list (95)
See All
hot spot (83)
romantic (78)
good for groups (72)
vibrant bar scene (48)
great for lunch (42)
neighborhood gem (20)
late-night find (13)
great for outdoor dining (12)
great for brunch (9)
scenic view (6)
 (4)
 (3)
 (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
482 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience5
service5

We usually love this place but the food ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

We usually love this place but the food was way off this time.

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Nice, but not outstanding

Dined 5 days ago

The restaurant was nice, but definitely not a quiet venue. The macaroni and cheese was absolutely amazing, but the rest of the meal (baked potato, cornbread, filet mignon, rib-eye, steak tartare, and spinach cheese dip) were simply average. The cocktail made with maple syrup was also outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An amazing evening

Dined on May 21, 2016

Had our post engagement dinner at G&G and were blown away. Staff signed a "congrats" card for us, sent over prosecco and a delicious tasting bite of pork belly. Food was top notch, service was friendly and knowledgeable and non intrusive. It's a fairly loud restaurant so be prepared for that.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really terrific meal - perfect service, ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Really terrific meal - perfect service, outstanding food. I also love that the tables aren't super crammed in - makes for a relaxing meal. Loved it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Favorite Restaurant

Dined on May 18, 2016

The food is amazing and the service is always top notch. I can't get enough of G&G!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Graduation Dinner

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife finished her masters degree so we went here to celebrate with her family. The service was truly exceptional and almost felt choreographed. The octopus appetizer was to die for, and the steaks were the best I've had in Denver. It was fun comparing the differences between cuts of prime and grass-fed beef. Overall, this was the best steakhouse experience I've had in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My single complaint for this is the four ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

My single complaint for this is the four-top circle tables. They are too large for this concept. The open floor plan as well as kitchen makes for a robust noise level. The large circle tables make it difficult to hear what your table mates are saying without raising your voices over the din. Combine that with the lack of sound-dampening materials in the restaurant and you'll find yourself a wee bit hoarse by the end of your meal. For someone who is obviously an experienced restaurateur, Troy Guard (or his design team) missed the mark on these tables. But, otherwise, an impeccable dinner/experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Guard and Grace, one of Troy Guard's gro ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Guard and Grace, one of Troy Guard's growing collection of Denver restaurants, is located in an office building two blocks off the 16th St. Mall. You won't accidentally find it while strolling around so you need to know where it is to enjoy a great meal. It's a steak place. There are other foods on the menu but why would you do that? They offer numerous cuts in three categories: prime, Angus and grass-fed, with sizes from 22 oz down to just 4, and the wait staff is happy to explain the differences. They even offer a "flight" of beef - the same cut but from the various sources. That's a great way to become familiar with the different types of beef. I've eaten here three times over the past year and most recently had the Angus rib eye with bourbon butter, a side of foraged mushrooms and some Brussels sprouts. Each meal has been wonderful - beef cooked perfectly and sides that are large enough to share. It's a pleasant room but a little noisy, which seems to be the trend nowadays. A table far from the bar/lounge at the entrance would be a little quieter. Guard and Grace is on a par with other top steak houses in Denver and that's a very high bar.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My parents came to visit and I wanted to ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

My parents came to visit and I wanted to take them to a special restaurant. This exceeded my expectations. The service and food were outstanding. Everyone but me got a steak (I don't eat red meat) and they all loved what they got. I went with a fish dish and was not disappointed at all. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for good food, great service, and a lovely atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our spot for my son's birthday ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

This was our spot for my son's birthday celebration and it was perfect! From the appetizers to the dessert, the cocktails and the wine list, the ambience and the service, the whole night was fantastic! I recommend it for anyone celebrating something special, or just wanting a special night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We went here for the second year in a row to celebrate Mother's Day. Excellent menu choices; inventive cocktail menu; professional servers; an overall wonderful place to spend time eating and celebrating.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience

Dined on May 6, 2016

Great dining experience! We had great service with great food! The ambiance was very romantic with a wide variety of food and wine to make any evening great

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was not my first time at Guard & Gr ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

This was not my first time at Guard & Grace and it certainly won't be my last. I work in the same building as the restaurant and when the craving for a steak takes over I have no willpower to say no! Our server was excellent and was able to fill my request for the unavailable smashed potatoes with the help of the kitchen to a close alternative. While the noise level was a little high the quality of the food and service makes up for it. Highly recommend to anyone who doesn't mind spending a lot more for lunch than usual.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meets lofty expectations

Dined on May 1, 2016

We heard a lot about Guard and Grace being the top steakhouse and one of the top restaurants in Denver and it did not disappoint. I highly recommend the octopus appetizer, which was perhaps the best Octopus I've ever had. We also enjoyed the charcuterie plate. For dinner I had the prime bone-in ribeye, which was well prepared and delicious. My wife had the alaskan cod, which tasted great as well. We then had the 20 layer cake for desert. Overall the service was spot on and timely. The wait staff was very helpful with suggestions and the ambiance was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic, as always!

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

We have now dined here on four occasions and each time is perfection. We did have to send back a steak entree that was not cooked to medium, but it was quickly rectified without losing any flavor or "juiciness." And, it was handled tactfully. We feel confident in recommending this establishment to our friends and family, and we do so. The quality of food and service is exceptional. Thank you for making my birthday a wonderful evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Late Lunch

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

We dine out frequently. This was our best experience in the Denver area. The staff was attentive, helpful and personable. The food was exceptional. We also received a cocktail lesson.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Very good but pricey and a 4 ounce Filet ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Very good but pricey and a 4 ounce Filet is pretty small

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best farewell dinner ever!

Dined on April 24, 2016

This was our second experience at Guard and Grace and it was even better than the first! We brought friends to celebrate for a late dinner and ended up closing the place down. We received the most professional service from our waitstaff-seamless timing and presentation of our drinks and food. The extensive wine list fulfilled the high standards of our friends and the suggested menu items complimented our entrees perfectly. The side dishes were generous in size and the each of our different steaks (angus ribeye, grass fed filet, prime filet) was melt-in-your-mouth divinity! The chargrilled octopus was hands down our favorite first plate, and surprisingly the truffle mac and cheese was the winner for sides, although the brussell sprouts were also amazing. We ordered the sticky toffee cake for dessert, topped with a crunchy caramel wafer-delicious! We felt extremely pleased to have also been treated to a speciality limited dessert tray of macarons and mini tarts by our waiter and a suggested pairing of madeira with the sticky toffee cake. Overall this was hands down the best dining experience I've had in Denver.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Eat here for the best beef in town! Fant ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Eat here for the best beef in town! Fantastic!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Worth a try

Dined on April 22, 2016

The food and service were great. Food was a little pricy but worth the night out. Only negative was I had previously emailed them from their website and never received a reply.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great dinner here while in Denver. ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Had a great dinner here while in Denver. Steak was excellent, perfectly cooked and had a good char. Mushroom side was phenomenal, and the loaded potatoes were very good! A bit pricey but worth it. Great spot to go for a date night or with a group of friends.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Very Happy Birthday

Dined on April 21, 2016

I brought my husband to Guard and Grace for his 64th birthday. After a brief wait on a bustling Wednesday night, we were seated in a more intimate table by the window instead in the middle of the dining room. While we were waiting for our table, refreshing cucumber water were promptly brought to us. Cocktails were on point. Our waiter Matt, who has been in the industry for 15+ years, was personable and knowledgeable. We started with the oven charred octopus with his endorsement and was not disappointed. Generous tentacles of succulent and tender octopus topped a bed of greens, white beans, and smoky bacon strips. The spicy red pepper (?) coulis complimented the smoky starter. We also loved the surprising light and crisp romaine lettuce wedge. This subtle blue cheese dressing was truly lighter than ones you find at more traditional steak houses. The star of the meat, the steaks, arrived perfectly cooked to specifications, and visually stunned. My hangar steak was a larger portion than I expected and sliced and plated appealingly with its pan jus. My husband's 16 oz ribeye was topped with melting bleu butter and also packed with flavor. Both came with an oven charred whole carrot. I highly recommend the mushrooms and Brussels sprouts. Both were rich with umami. Also, the hot out of the oven dinner rolls were like little clouds of love and came with a pat of compound mustard butter. Desserts all look tempting. We went with Matt's recommendation of the Profiteroles which will be sure to satisfy any sweet tooth. It was a bit large in portion for two after such a rich meal. But it's only your birthday once a year.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food were both exceptional.

Dined on April 20, 2016

Service and food were both exceptional.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service was amazing and the food was ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

The service was amazing and the food was superb. I wish I lived closer, I would eat here all the time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top of the line

Dined on April 18, 2016

This was my first meal at Guard and Grace and I was very happy with the service and the food. Try the Vietnamese steak salad - awesome! I'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food and service I've ever had in m ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Best food and service I've ever had in my life! Will be coming back here again.

food5
ambience4
service5

The black truffle Mac and cheese has got ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The black truffle Mac and cheese has got to be one of the most delicious pasta dishes I've ever had. Completely decadent. We'll definitely be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service

Dined on April 12, 2016

Our large party thoroughly enjoyed the great food, wine, and service. G&G always provides a great venue for a business dinner for a group.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing

Dined on April 12, 2016

Everything we ate was amazing and we tied a lot of things!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best most consistent dining e ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

One of the best most consistent dining experiences every single time. The food is AMAZING! The service is outstanding from the moment you walk in the door. One of my favorite spots for date night.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience. We will definitely ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Wonderful experience. We will definitely return!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dining experience

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Food was excellent - everything. Staff s polite, professional and obviously well-trained. Excellent wine selection - very important to me. We'll certainly return soon. Only drawback - the restaurant is a bit loud (not uncommon these days).

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was top notch. Great attentio ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Everything was top notch. Great attention to detail in every aspect of the dining experience. The food was exceptional. Wait staff could not have been more attentive and helpful. Classy but with a little whimsy loved the hop scotch board on the way to the restrooms. Outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday Must

Dined on April 5, 2016

Everyone will help you celebrate your special occasion. The angus filet I had was probably the best filet ever due to mainly how it was prepared. The black cod was an excellent fish entrée and the beet salad was the best my wife has ever had. Do not miss out on the chocolate bourbon bread pudding with bourbon ice cream.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful downtown vibe. Many delicious ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Wonderful downtown vibe. Many delicious menu offerings. The steaks were tender and so enjoyable. The staff was equally friendly, and they went out of their way in helping us celebrate our 40th anniversary. We highly recommend this restaurant and will be back!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food and amazing service.

Dined on April 2, 2016

The filet mignon flight is an amazing way to discover the different flavors of the cut. Our server, Winston, did a fantastic job.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Time

Dined on April 2, 2016

We were in CO for my boyfriend's birthday and decided to celebrate it here. We absolutely loved it, the food was amazing and the staff went above and beyond for us. Will definitely come here again whenever we come back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Shad was amazing. A meal that we'll neve ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Shad was amazing. A meal that we'll never forget.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great, full menu.

Dined on March 31, 2016

Great, full menu.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

MY REVIEW

Dined on March 31, 2016

THIS WAS MY SECOND OPPORTUNITY TO VISIT GUARD & GRACE. FOOD IS GREAT AND THE SERVICE IS OUTSTANDING. MUST TRY THE BRUSSEL SPROUTS!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.