Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Guard & Grace

Chef Troy Guard’s largest and most exciting concept, Guard & Grace, is a 9,000 square ft. modern American steakhouse located at 1801 California Street in downtown Denver. The sophisticated new space offers private dining areas, one of Denver's largest patios, an expansive raw bar, a wood burning oven and open kitchen.

Complimentary valet parking is located outside of the restaurant on California St.

1801 California Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Social Hour: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: CLOSED

Cross Street:
18th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 293-8500

Website:
http://www.guardandgrace.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet

Executive Chef:
Troy Guard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
2nd Annual Rose & White Wine Party

http://guardandgrace.com/rose-white-wine-party-new-date-fri-june-5th-reservations-recommended/

Guard & Grace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (63)
Good for a Date (46)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
See All
Notable Wine List (42)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Business Meals (38)
Modern Decor (34)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Hot Spot (32)
Romantic (31)
Open Kitchen (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Fun (20)
Local Ingredients (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
People Watching (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Cozy (16)
Happy Hour (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Casual (10)
Wood Oven (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Private Room (8)
Authentic (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Healthy (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Fireplace (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (4)
Organic (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Scenic View (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Tapas (2)
Dancing (2)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
829 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

My parents were visiting from out of town, so I wanted to take them to a good restaurant; they loved it. I ordered the ribeye (no bone), and they both ordered prime rib. For the table, we had the tuna sashimi (appetizer), spinach and artichoke dip (appetizer), mashed potatoes, brussel sprouts, mushrooms, and truffle mac and cheese. I loved everything! For desert, we had the G&G bar, which is kind of like a homemade kit kat, and it was amazing. The restaurant is a little expensive, but in comparison to other steakhouses, I would say it's about the same or even a little cheaper. The service was also outstanding. Our server was very knowledgeable and friendly; he answered all of our questions. The restaurant itself is very nice and clean; it's not stuffy like how a lot of upper end steakhouses are, which I love. I would definitely go again, and I will recommend this restaurant to all of my friends and family who live here and who are visiting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Guard and Grace continues to be our "go to" spot for special occasions. The food is always excellent and the service is outstanding. The noise level is a little high. This is the best steakhouse in Denver for overall experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Poor ventilation. Come out smelling like a kitchen. everything else was great

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 5 days ago

The steaks were cooked to perfection and the oysters grander than even hoped for. Great service!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Great prime rib sandwich for lunch !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service! We were celebrating our anniversay and they had a signed card for us and two complimentary glasses of champagne! Classy place for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Very nice restaurant. The food was amazing. Service team was great. Must try!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Elaborate brunch selections very well prepared. Unsure whether it was worth the price, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The most incredible dining experience we have had. From the service to the food to the valet. 5 stars across the board. The truffled gnocchi is beyond amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The service was top notch! That compliment doesn't come easily either. The food was good (not great). We had the meat and cheese starter (very good), the Caesar salad to split (good), the chicken (dry and a bit salty), the bone in fillet (a special that night, a bit over sauced, didn't let the steak flavor shine through), the mushrooms (nothing special), and the smashed potatoes (nothing to rave about).

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I have a lot of dietary restrictions and gave my card listing my sensitivities to my server, who immediately ran it to the kitchen after assuring me that they'd take care of me. The charcuterie chef personally came to the table, ran me through options, and said he'd make sure everything was kept separate for the table so there'd be no cross-contamination. He went one step further and said, "I have an Escalade in the basement, so if anything happens, I will personally drive you to the hospital." Not that that would've been necessary, but between the chefs, our server (who recommended the most amazing spread and, holy cow, I had no idea octopus could taste like that), and the sommelier who suggested the best champagne I've ever had... I could not have felt more personally cared for or appreciated at a meal. We were celebrating my work anniversary and, other than celebrating a birthday in Italy, I have never had a special occasion feel so special.

Which is saying quite a lot because it's very difficult to eat out like a "normal person." I get told things are safe when they aren't, servers say, "We can't really do that," and the people I eat with ask me if I can find something in such a way that makes it clear they hope my diet won't be a problem, but if it is, well, we're already here, sorry.

If you want to sit down to a meal that's decadent, artful, healthy, flavorful, and meticulously, considerately crafted for you, that you can be sure is what you want and need, go here. They're fantastic people. <3

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Vegan, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I have lunched with you several time and I have always enjoyed it. Thank you for providing a valuable dining opportunity. Janny Fuller

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We had an amazing evening at Guard and Grace, and we went back two nights later. Great restaurant and wine list! Thanks for the great service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Spectacular Restaurant! Definitely will be back. Loved the food, wine, ambiance, wait staff, everything was awesome!

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The staff were all so kind! The food was great and our server was incredible. Thank you for this experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Amazing restaurant with impeccable service. Very knowledgeable staff and the food was outstanding. Arguably one of the best meals I've ever had. Will be a restaurant I'll always go to when I'm in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We ate lunch here and it was awesome. It always is. The quality of the food is A+. Service is strong as well.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent service and presentation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

My wife and I were spending a couple of days in Denver, and heard good things about Guard and Grace and decided to try it. This place was excellent, next time we are back in Denver we will definitely be returning to have another excellent meal. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We usually only go out for special occasions (this time it was our anniversary), so we're always looking for the best restaurants; Guard and Grace did not disappoint. The food was amazing as well as the service. While it was a bit noisy when we arrived at 8:45, the noise quickly died down as it got closer to closing time. We ended up spending a little more money than anticipated, but it was well worth it for the quality of food we got. Everything we ordered was absolutely perfect! We will absolutely be back in the future. Thanks for a wonderful experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Splendid evening. Sat at the chefs table! Interaction from the culinary team and service team brought the whole experience to a new level. I would recommend the tuna app and the truffle mac and cheese but if you go for no other reason the toffee cake will bring tears of joy.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Fun, Worth the Drive, Casual, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

A very nice upgrade of your normal upscale steak and potatoes steakhouse.
Menus to reflect a more eclectic pallet where the octopus was the star in my opinion.
Family style sides were a huge win for us, as were the butters and sauces for the steak.

The prime cuts of steak were cooked perfectly to our medium rare orders and were seasoned appropriately. Hind sight we would have ordered a larger 22 oz and split the meat like the sides.

Service was impeccable from top to bottom.
We will be visiting again to order a larger bone in steak.

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Visiting from LA and had a fantastic dinner here on my first night. Great ambience, top notch service, fantastic food, well rounded wine list, though they would do well to have a few more wines by the bottle at more modest price points. Hats off to our server Jake for his impeccable service. My partner works in hotels and rose through the ranks in food and beverage; so when he's impressed, it's a great sign!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had an amazing server named Jake, Jake walked us through the entire menu and knew his market very well. All 6 of us were beyond pleased with our dishes and thoroughly impressed with the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Service and food were excellent. Ambiance did not match the price. I would have expected a white table cloth setting. Noise level was high. My wife and I could hardly hear each other across the table. Service was prompt and attentive and fun.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great for special occasions. Carlos walked us through the extraordinary menu and Kelly knows her wine selection. Their personal care made the evening very memorable. Make the reservation, go, enjoy for yourself.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We read about this restaurant before we made a reservation. The food was delicious and the service, very good, without hovering. Everyone in our "party" loved what they ordered. The complimentary almond cookies were the best I have ever eaten.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Excellent, helpful service. Food was superior. Brussell sprouts are not to be missed. Never thought I would ever say that about a vegetable. Ribeye was enough for two and very tender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Food was a 10, music was a 3

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, excellent food, great service!! Was a bit pricy, but for a special occasion it was well worth it!! We will definitely come back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Be ready to eat what is offered on the menu, with limited to no substitution options, as all food is 'pre batched'... not what I would expect from such a 'high end restaurant.'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything was top notch. We were there for Easter brunch. The drinks, from the Bloody Mary's to the coffee to the wine were all good. The food was very tasty although they don't often serve brunch. Our server was quite attentive. We will definitely return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The staff went out of there way to make us feel special on our anniversary. We were given champagne and even a card signed. Y all of the employees. The steak was exceptional and melted in your mouth. We will definitely be back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great meal!!! Great service!! Great cocktails!! Just a tad loud

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Absolutely exceptional food and service. Server knee his menu very well and was attentive. Everything ordered was delicious.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Just amazing. You have to eat here.....................

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 11, 2017

My reservation requested a booth and a notation it was a birthday lunch. We were seated in a comfy booth and given extra attention for our birthday celebration. Our waiter was attentive and friendly and quickly served our wine, lunch and wonderful desert which included 'Happy Birthday', written in chocolate.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Friendly staff, great food. Perfectly cooked food with an eye for the details.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.