Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Guard & Grace

Chef Troy Guard’s largest and most exciting concept, Guard & Grace, is a 9,000 square ft. modern American steakhouse located at 1801 California Street in downtown Denver. The sophisticated new space offers private dining areas, one of Denver's largest patios, an expansive raw bar, a wood burning oven and open kitchen.

Complimentary valet parking is located outside of the restaurant on California St.

1801 California Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Social Hour: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: CLOSED

Cross Street:
18th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 293-8500

Website:
http://www.guardandgrace.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet

Executive Chef:
Troy Guard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
2nd Annual Rose & White Wine Party

http://guardandgrace.com/rose-white-wine-party-new-date-fri-june-5th-reservations-recommended/

Guard & Grace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (57)
Good for a Date (44)
Fit for Foodies (42)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Notable Wine List (39)
Business Meals (38)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Hot Spot (28)
Romantic (27)
Open Kitchen (24)
Modern Decor (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Local Ingredients (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Happy Hour (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Cozy (15)
People Watching (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Fun (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Authentic (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Private Room (7)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Organic (4)
Tapas (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Scenic View (3)
Fireplace (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Family Style (2)
Dancing (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
847 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

Excelllent. Only my 2nd time but great all the way around. 4oz grass fed filet-yum!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Overall Guard and Grace was really nice. The table they sat the four of us at was huge though so with the noise levels it make it a bit difficult to hear the waiter and the other people in our group. The food was good but pretty pricy so it would be a good spot for a special occasion. Our water was exceptional and took really good care of us. However, the hostess started my experience off on a very low note. I went up to the desk to check our party in for our reservation. She was talking to someone else so I waited patiently. When that customer was taken care of, she completely ignored me and moved on to a woman who had just walked in looking for a walk-in table, checked her backpack, etc. Didn't ever check to see if I was being helped already, let me know she'd be right with me, or even acknowledged me. Luckily another hostess came back up to the stand and started helping me but the first hostess left a very sour taste in my mouth, especially at a higher end restaurant where service is supposed to be fantastic. Also, they were able to seat the walk-in table (around ~5:25) and had plenty of open tables throughout our entire meal (literally half the restaurant was empty). This was interesting to me for two reasons: 1) I heard the original hostess tell the person in front of me (who had a few people running behind) that they had reservations at their table at 7:30 so they'd have to be done by then, and 2) I was only able to get 5pm reservations on their online reservation system. I understand that restaurants space out seatings for efficiency and staffing, but it seems like there is a disconnect between the restaurant and the reservation system, plus a general lack of professionalism by the hostess.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Portions, quality of fish and the manner in which the sushi was cut were all disappointing. The price of the meal was about 30% high than the Den, and the Den is simply a superior experience across the board.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

The entire experience was fantastic!!! Food, Service and Wine were all exceptional.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 14, 2017

A top dining experience at top dollar - so you have to be prepared to spend a pretty penny, particularly if you're having wine. If it meets your budget, then you will not be disappointed - they do an amazing job with the food and the service is exceptional. The only thing I am not crazy about is the noise level - it is loud to the point that it is sometimes difficult to carry on a conversation.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2017

First time here and we had a great time. The steaks were perfect, the best around town. Oysters were very good. The Caesar is spot on and plenty for two to share. I also recommend the beet martini if you like beets. But the best thing about this place is the service. Everyone was friendly, professional , and super nice. We are going back for sure.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Amazing food! Everything that touched our lips was delicious! We were celebrating our engagement and our waiter brought us free champagne, app taster and dessert plus a card ! Really helped make it special!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Food was excellent, service was attentive...will return!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 13, 2017

good food; nice place; Very good customer service:

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 13, 2017

I took a date here for a special occasion dinner and the whole experience was underwhelming. I've dined here before and never minded paying the extra dollars for good service and good food.. but neither were that great this time around. I won't be going back for a while.... if ever.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Great server, great food. Happy to let us take our time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great food, even better atmosphere

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Best steak we have ever had, coupled with impeccable, friendly service, and nice wines. Try the truffled gnocchi!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 7, 2017

This restaurant is fantastic. I have been there about seven times. They have the best steaks in town. My wife got the black cod and I tasted it and it was so succulent. Everything on the menu is good. I'd recommend the octopus appetizer. Great restaurant for a date, business meeting or for celebrating a major life milestone with your significant other!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Graduation dinner

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in Denver and it may quite possibly have the best steak in Denver. Top notch custoner service and great ambiance. I absolutely love this place.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We met after work and decided to go back to the basics. For us, that meant the Caesar, which is fabulous, and the filet flight. A side of fries with wine as a prelude to our dinner and the evening was just what was needed. Thank you, Jake, for taking care of us when we arrived. We will be back soon!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My parents were visiting from out of town, so I wanted to take them to a good restaurant; they loved it. I ordered the ribeye (no bone), and they both ordered prime rib. For the table, we had the tuna sashimi (appetizer), spinach and artichoke dip (appetizer), mashed potatoes, brussel sprouts, mushrooms, and truffle mac and cheese. I loved everything! For desert, we had the G&G bar, which is kind of like a homemade kit kat, and it was amazing. The restaurant is a little expensive, but in comparison to other steakhouses, I would say it's about the same or even a little cheaper. The service was also outstanding. Our server was very knowledgeable and friendly; he answered all of our questions. The restaurant itself is very nice and clean; it's not stuffy like how a lot of upper end steakhouses are, which I love. I would definitely go again, and I will recommend this restaurant to all of my friends and family who live here and who are visiting.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Guard and Grace continues to be our "go to" spot for special occasions. The food is always excellent and the service is outstanding. The noise level is a little high. This is the best steakhouse in Denver for overall experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Poor ventilation. Come out smelling like a kitchen. everything else was great

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The steaks were cooked to perfection and the oysters grander than even hoped for. Great service!!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Food was excellent, as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great prime rib sandwich for lunch !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service! We were celebrating our anniversay and they had a signed card for us and two complimentary glasses of champagne! Classy place for a special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Very nice restaurant. The food was amazing. Service team was great. Must try!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Elaborate brunch selections very well prepared. Unsure whether it was worth the price, however.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The most incredible dining experience we have had. From the service to the food to the valet. 5 stars across the board. The truffled gnocchi is beyond amazing.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The service was top notch! That compliment doesn't come easily either. The food was good (not great). We had the meat and cheese starter (very good), the Caesar salad to split (good), the chicken (dry and a bit salty), the bone in fillet (a special that night, a bit over sauced, didn't let the steak flavor shine through), the mushrooms (nothing special), and the smashed potatoes (nothing to rave about).

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I have a lot of dietary restrictions and gave my card listing my sensitivities to my server, who immediately ran it to the kitchen after assuring me that they'd take care of me. The charcuterie chef personally came to the table, ran me through options, and said he'd make sure everything was kept separate for the table so there'd be no cross-contamination. He went one step further and said, "I have an Escalade in the basement, so if anything happens, I will personally drive you to the hospital." Not that that would've been necessary, but between the chefs, our server (who recommended the most amazing spread and, holy cow, I had no idea octopus could taste like that), and the sommelier who suggested the best champagne I've ever had... I could not have felt more personally cared for or appreciated at a meal. We were celebrating my work anniversary and, other than celebrating a birthday in Italy, I have never had a special occasion feel so special.

Which is saying quite a lot because it's very difficult to eat out like a "normal person." I get told things are safe when they aren't, servers say, "We can't really do that," and the people I eat with ask me if I can find something in such a way that makes it clear they hope my diet won't be a problem, but if it is, well, we're already here, sorry.

If you want to sit down to a meal that's decadent, artful, healthy, flavorful, and meticulously, considerately crafted for you, that you can be sure is what you want and need, go here. They're fantastic people. <3

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Vegan, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I have lunched with you several time and I have always enjoyed it. Thank you for providing a valuable dining opportunity. Janny Fuller

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We had an amazing evening at Guard and Grace, and we went back two nights later. Great restaurant and wine list! Thanks for the great service!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Spectacular Restaurant! Definitely will be back. Loved the food, wine, ambiance, wait staff, everything was awesome!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Organic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The staff were all so kind! The food was great and our server was incredible. Thank you for this experience!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Amazing restaurant with impeccable service. Very knowledgeable staff and the food was outstanding. Arguably one of the best meals I've ever had. Will be a restaurant I'll always go to when I'm in town.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We ate lunch here and it was awesome. It always is. The quality of the food is A+. Service is strong as well.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent service and presentation

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great food and service!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

My wife and I were spending a couple of days in Denver, and heard good things about Guard and Grace and decided to try it. This place was excellent, next time we are back in Denver we will definitely be returning to have another excellent meal. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We usually only go out for special occasions (this time it was our anniversary), so we're always looking for the best restaurants; Guard and Grace did not disappoint. The food was amazing as well as the service. While it was a bit noisy when we arrived at 8:45, the noise quickly died down as it got closer to closing time. We ended up spending a little more money than anticipated, but it was well worth it for the quality of food we got. Everything we ordered was absolutely perfect! We will absolutely be back in the future. Thanks for a wonderful experience!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Splendid evening. Sat at the chefs table! Interaction from the culinary team and service team brought the whole experience to a new level. I would recommend the tuna app and the truffle mac and cheese but if you go for no other reason the toffee cake will bring tears of joy.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Fun, Worth the Drive, Casual, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.