Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Guard & Grace

Chef Troy Guard’s largest and most exciting concept, Guard & Grace, is a 9,000 square ft. modern American steakhouse located at 1801 California Street in downtown Denver. The sophisticated new space offers private dining areas, one of Denver's largest patios, an expansive raw bar, a wood burning oven and open kitchen.

Complimentary valet parking is located outside of the restaurant on California St.

1801 California Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Social Hour: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: CLOSED

Cross Street:
18th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 293-8500

Website:
http://www.guardandgrace.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet

Executive Chef:
Troy Guard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
2nd Annual Rose & White Wine Party

http://guardandgrace.com/rose-white-wine-party-new-date-fri-june-5th-reservations-recommended/

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Join us on Sunday, May 14th to celebrate your mother! Indulge in this elegant brunch buffet featuring a prime rib carving station, omelet bar, house made charcuterie, sushi and raw bar selections along with Chef Troy Guard's signature dishes. $65 a person/ $25 for children 12 and under.

Guard & Grace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (75)
Good for Anniversaries (60)
Good for a Date (53)
See All
Notable Wine List (47)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Romantic (41)
Business Meals (38)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Modern Decor (37)
Hot Spot (36)
Open Kitchen (33)
Good for Groups (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Bar Seating (22)
People Watching (20)
Fun (19)
Cozy (17)
Happy Hour (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Authentic (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Private Room (12)
Casual (9)
Wood Oven (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Fireplace (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Seasonal (3)
Scenic View (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (2)
Dancing (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
799 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent, helpful service. Food was superior. Brussell sprouts are not to be missed. Never thought I would ever say that about a vegetable. Ribeye was enough for two and very tender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was a 10, music was a 3

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful atmosphere, excellent food, great service!! Was a bit pricy, but for a special occasion it was well worth it!! We will definitely come back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Be ready to eat what is offered on the menu, with limited to no substitution options, as all food is 'pre batched'... not what I would expect from such a 'high end restaurant.'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything was top notch. We were there for Easter brunch. The drinks, from the Bloody Mary's to the coffee to the wine were all good. The food was very tasty although they don't often serve brunch. Our server was quite attentive. We will definitely return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The staff went out of there way to make us feel special on our anniversary. We were given champagne and even a card signed. Y all of the employees. The steak was exceptional and melted in your mouth. We will definitely be back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great meal!!! Great service!! Great cocktails!! Just a tad loud

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Absolutely exceptional food and service. Server knee his menu very well and was attentive. Everything ordered was delicious.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Just amazing. You have to eat here.....................

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 11, 2017

My reservation requested a booth and a notation it was a birthday lunch. We were seated in a comfy booth and given extra attention for our birthday celebration. Our waiter was attentive and friendly and quickly served our wine, lunch and wonderful desert which included 'Happy Birthday', written in chocolate.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Friendly staff, great food. Perfectly cooked food with an eye for the details.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great food & great service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I eat there regularly, but this last time was a bit of a bust. A $90 bone-in filet came out at the wrong temp... twice. Come on! It's beef, not rocket science. Our waiter and the Manager made best efforts to make our dining experience right. Service makes a difference! Thank you for trying, but tell chef to check his temps.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Private Room, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 7, 2017

This is our third time to Guard and Grace, after experiencing a Guard and Grace dinner at the historic Stanley Hotel last year. Troy Guard is amazing and this is our favorite restaurant of his. The service is beyond impeccable. The octopus appetizer is fantastic and my favorite is the hanger steak. None better. We're coming back in two weeks. Have learned to make reservations FAR in advance. Kudos to the entire staff!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Private Room, People Watching, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Food was amazing! The ambience was upscale without feeling pretentious. The waitstaff was impeccable, nothing missed absolutely everything taken care of even before we knew we wanted it.
I will say though that for such a wonderful restaurant the front of the house girls were quite rude. 4 girls/women were at the Hostess stand when we walked in, only 2 even looked at us and just stared, no hello or welcome. When we gave them our reservation name instead of anything remotely nice all we got was an "ok"
The woman who ended up seating is made up for it with a smile and a "thank you for dining with us"
Overall we were very happy and we will be back. Hopefully the front of the house will match the rest

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Amazing experience at Guard and Grace. Never had food that amazing and it was prepared very quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great food, with great service. Servers were very friendly and knowledgable.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Perfect in every way. Food, ambience, service all were impeccable.

This gets 5 stars out of 5. We are foodies and don't give out 5 stars easy. You won't be let down.

Expect to spend at least 100 per person without wine.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I have eaten here many time and they never disappoint. Everything is great. The Octopus appetizer is so good. Steaks are great! You can't go wrong with Guard and Grace for a business dinner or special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 30, 2017

High price but excellent food and service. We were there for a special occasion and the staff went out of their way to make my wife feel special. Outstanding service and quality food

Tags: Wood Oven, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Outstanding food experience and service

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Fantastic! Can't wait to come back. Greeted with a smile - the service was spot on. The food was even better then the service

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This place is my favorite!!!! I went to celebrate for my birthday and got a hand signed card from all the staff! I felt so special and that was truly an amazing gesture!

Tags: People Watching, Outstanding Value, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Delicious meal, outstanding food. A cut above the ordinary steakhouse. Appreciated the smaller sized filet and strip steak; so often steakhouse portions are too big. Prices for these cuts were appropriate. Nice wines by the glass selection with some top shelf choices, fairly priced (for a splurge). Didn't care for the relentless upsell from our server for appetizers, wine, sauces, sides.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I went here for my birthday after having five great experiences at the TAG restaurants since my relocation last week.

I came in, I was scolded for being 10 minutes late and when I asked if it was OK for a specific table to have for my birthday - she said there weren't any available.

When walking by. I saw one - I asked if I could go to that one. She huffed puffed himmm'd and ha'd about me wanting to go there. She talked about how great the other table was and how we would get better service there????

After a few minutes of awkwardly standing in the middle of the restaurant - she said let me see if anyone else has booked it. - even though I specifically booked it!

Five minutes later, she disgruntled walks us to the table and that's how I started my birthday dinner there.

My filet mignon made me a bit sick after and the service was subpar to when John James waits on us.

My friends food was undercooked.

I was so excited for another great meal. - I don't think I'll be back.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 23, 2017

great overall - had scheduled this for our last night in Denver. Noise level was much higher than anticipated and took the "romance" out of the experience.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Went for our anniversary. Found the noise level to be extremely high. Very tough to have a conversation. Other than that the food and the service was terrific

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Guard and Grace never disappoints. The staff is very attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. The food is amazing!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Hosted clients at the restaurant for dinner while in Denver & was very impressed. Great service & food quality was very high. Amazing Octopus appetizer and Black Cod entree was one of the best i've had. Not cheap but they deliver on quality!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This is a very big and lively restaurant. First impressions were good with a nice bar and quick service as we waited for our table. At the table our order got confused which meant we waited an additional 30 minutes for appetisers. Entrees were delayed by another 40 minutes and to be honest steaks were disappointing and in two cases over cooked. Manager was apologetic and did deduct the cost of a steak from the check. Maybe got it on a bad night but my guess is the restaurant is so large when it goes wrong it is hard to bring it back. Overall we were in the place for over three hours!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Everything was phenomenal! The filet trio was great as was the gnocchi!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Guard and Grace never disappoints! It's always a treat having dinner here!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Paleo Friendly
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Delicious filet and really good portion sizes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great meal with outstanding service. Thanks for the hospitality!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 13, 2017

I was beginning to become a little disappointed at food service combo in Denver until I went to Guard and Grace! WOW!! I was blown away by not only the notable food but the outstanding service! I have been given hope for quality on every level! I have been recommending Guard and Grace left and right and I will definitely be back! Thank you!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 13, 2017

absolutely amazing and has not changed at all since I dined there a year ago.
I will always try and dine at guard and grace whenever I am in Denver

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Fantastic food, atmosphere & service. The chicken enchiladas & prime rib French dip were delicious! And the fresh snickerdoodle cookies at the end of the meal were a great treat!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Portions were perfect. Best steak. Ever. The roasted brussel sprouts were heavenly and the meat and cheese tray I could have had for dessert. We rarely go back to places just because we like to experience all this awesome city has to offer but this dining experience must be repeated!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Had such an outstanding meal and experience at Guard and Grace. Thank you to everyone that helped make the night so special. Such amazing food and attentive staff. We will be back!
Greg K

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Organic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.