About Guard & Grace

1801 California Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Chef Troy Guard’s largest and most exciting concept, Guard & Grace, is a 9,000 square ft. modern American steakhouse located at 1801 California Street in downtown Denver. The sophisticated new space offers private dining areas, one of Denver's largest patios, an expansive raw bar, a wood burning oven and open kitchen.

Complimentary valet parking is located outside of the restaurant on California St.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Social Hour: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: CLOSED

Cross Street:
18th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 293-8500

Website:
http://www.guardandgrace.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet

Executive Chef:
Troy Guard

Private Party Contact:
Jeorgette: x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
2nd Annual Rose & White Wine Party

http://guardandgrace.com/rose-white-wine-party-new-date-fri-june-5th-reservations-recommended/

Guard & Grace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Denver
Best Service
Denver
1 More
Steakhouse
Denver
Best Restaurants in Downtown / LoDo ›

Special Occasion (63)
Good for a Date (52)
Hot Spot (42)
See All
Fit for Foodies (39)
Business Meals (37)
Romantic (37)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Notable Wine List (33)
Modern Decor (31)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Open Kitchen (20)
Bar Seating (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Private Room (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Fun (14)
People Watching (13)
Paleo Friendly (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Cozy (9)
Authentic (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Healthy (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Seasonal (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fireplace (4)
Organic (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Casual (3)
Family Style (3)
Great Beer (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
659 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love this restaurant, the food is alwa ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

I love this restaurant, the food is always exceptional as well as the service. No matter how busy and noisy it gets you can always hear the conversation at your table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

G&G never disappoints! This has become ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

G&G never disappoints! This has become my favorite place for a special occasion, but I enjoy a happy hour or girls night here too! Beautiful and delicious spot!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy, Modern Decor, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice experience on my wife's birthd ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Very nice experience on my wife's birthday. They presented her a birthday card and a special desert with a candle. I did not even ask the waiter to do any of this, they just surprised us.

We had the bone-in Ribeye. Wife thought it was the best Ribeye she ever had.

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place, great location, great food. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place, great location, great food. I would highly recommend going to this place, and the food, well flight of filets is all I can say.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My 3rd time to Guard and Grace and it ha ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 1, 2016

My 3rd time to Guard and Grace and it has yet to disappoint. Always a very friendly and attentive staff. The food is amazing and the steaks are always cooked to perfection. The crispy brussel sprouts alone would make me come back-by far my favorite side dish offered. Will be back 100%

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch the first few times, this last ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Top notch the first few times, this last time was a little disappointing. My steak was over done, and my second one simply just missed the mark a bit on flavor. Although my wife & daughter were thoroughly pleased with theirs & my son loved their chicken.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food, presentation, ambiance ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Outstanding food, presentation, ambiance and service. Definitely recommend for fine dining in the Denver metro area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was great ! Would definitely go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious prime steaks and truffle mac a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Delicious prime steaks and truffle mac and cheese. Everything that we ordered was awesome. The rolls they bring out before the meal are remarkable. A lot of nice touches. We were visiting from out of town and give it two thumbs up!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was phenomenal. The food was del ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Service was phenomenal. The food was delicious. The cocktails were even better. Would certainly return!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was excellent--the service wa ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Everything was excellent--the service was fair--rather mechanical; detracted from the dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Great experience! The steak was great, a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great experience! The steak was great, as well as, the apps and sides. I also enjoyed the atmosphere and drinks! Our server, Jake, was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Now this is what I was hoping for in a s ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Now this is what I was hoping for in a steakhouse! What a treat! A flight of filets?! Are you kidding me? What a wonderful way to experience and compare different cuts of meat. Mouthwatering!!! Bone-in ribeye was ridiculously good. The couple we were with stated it was the best they've ever tasted. I got my aged NY Strip Pittsburg style with a blue center and it was PRECISELY ON TARGET! The sommelier paired everything beautifully. Then just to cap off the night just right, we had to do the flights of Macallan. Unbelievable! A definite must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dining was a blast. Service was incredib ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Dining was a blast. Service was incredibly personalized for my husband and I. We spent two and a half hours enjoying our experience from cocktails to dessert!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding. The Pork Chop ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food was outstanding. The Pork Chop and the Rib Eye were beyond words. The food was seasoned just right. The service was outstanding and the wait staff were very attentive. There are several rooms that are amazing. Unfortunately we did not request a quieter room. Overall if you sit in the wrong section, there is a noise level problem. I should note that we were a party of 4 and 2 of us have hearing problems. Want to be fair. It is hard to get reservations. Reserve early.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Andre our server was fabulous. The food ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Andre our server was fabulous. The food was delicious (huge sides!) and the wine great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good but not outstanding. Tartar app wa ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Good but not outstanding. Tartar app was very good, octopus was OK. Wedge salad was good. Steak was good. Brussel sprouts were very good.

Service was a little slow (crossed the line from 'dining experience' to slow service) and inattentive at times (wine glasses got empty).

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food and service were amazing and expert ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Food and service were amazing and expertly prepared. The steak with the balsamic glaze was so tasty and melt in your mouth good. Bread and side dishes were perfectly sized and server was very good about providing options and explaining the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic overall. The food is creative ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Fantastic overall. The food is creative - go for the Black Cod, mac & cheese and Brussel sprouts. The big booth tables are awkward for the servers, they will knock glasses off of the table trying to reach for plates etc. and reaching over the back wall is definitely not the solution.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great. The gnocchi brought ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The food was great. The gnocchi brought tears to my eyes! What really stood out was the service. My father is in a wheelchair and on an oxygen concentrator, the staff found us an accessible table where he could plug in the concentrator during dinner. They were so very kind!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous spot for a business meal, after ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Fabulous spot for a business meal, after work happy hour, or a special "treat yourself" experience - from the moment we walked in, we could feel the energy and excellent vibe, and we were not disappointed with our great waiter, Jake, who walked us through menu choices, the history of the restaurant (as well as the entire restaurant group), offered assistance with wines, and selections. Food was prompt, and delicious, with unique twists and offerings for side dishes. Entire experience was fantastic - definitely recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unbelievable food. Everything was cooked ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Unbelievable food. Everything was cooked to perfection and exploding with taste all the way to the last bite. We had very high expectations, and they were exceeded!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a fantastic way to end the Denv ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was a fantastic way to end the Denver trip. Ambiance is romantic, dark, and businesses-like yet the staff are so energetic and easy-going. The food lives up to its high rates, although I wouldn't order the crab legs again. Wasn't worth it. The prime rib and steaks were all cooked to perfection and had delectable flavor. The prosciutto was so good and so was the cod. Just everything was so great. I wouldn't miss out on this restaurant if you're in the area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've ate at Guard & Grace over 15 times ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I've ate at Guard & Grace over 15 times and I'd have to say the quality and quantity has gone down! I ordered the grass fed 8 oz stake and it was terrible, it was more like a 6 oz to start, asked for medium and it was cold in the center as well as bloody. The Brussel sprouts were burnt and taste bitter. My fiancée ordered the salmon and the piece was very small probably 3oz and it was on a bed of three potatoes lol you call that a entree our bill was over $100 and we left hungry and unsatisfied on our anniversary!!! Oh yeah and we spent 40$ on drinks before we sat down for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

Fabulous space, open modern decor, huge ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Fabulous space, open modern decor, huge bar and sprawling restaurant with a NY vibe

Good food, superb service, very accommodating

Fantastic place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here for our wedding anniversary. T ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Went here for our wedding anniversary. The food was good, but not for the money. I'm glad we tried it, the atmosphere is great and the staff was wonderful. Just not impressed with the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was fantastic! Our waiter went above and beyond to make me feel special during my birthday dinner here. There were a couple of other birthday groups who got to be a bid loud, but the overall experience was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved our meal and service was impeccabl ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Loved our meal and service was impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Business lunch. The server did a wonderf ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Business lunch. The server did a wonderful job of reading the table and leaving us alone at important moments the inserting himself properly to keep the lunch moving. The food was delicious. Creative enough for foodies but not off-putting for those just looking for something they recognize. Pricey but definitely worth it for a business lunch or special occassion where the venue plays a role in the event.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Guard and Grace was an amazing restauran ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Guard and Grace was an amazing restaurant. The whole experience was superb. I took my wife on a date and we had a very enjoyable evening. The steak is the best I have ever had and it just melts in your mouth. The hickory smoke flavor from the wood burning grill, gave the meat a flavor second to none. We also had octopus as an appetizer and this was delicious. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Nothing was left out and I will definitely go back, and I live in Nebraska. If you like steak, you will love this place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tomato salad was great. Beef tartare app ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Tomato salad was great. Beef tartare appetizer was great. The last couple of tables up against the kitchen "wall" and in the back had a great view of the dishwashers. Including employees scavenging food, messes noise and commentary - a screen needs to be installed! The Lime smashed potatoes were very good (not very smashed, but that didn't stop us from eating them all!. Service was exceptional. Wine selection was wide enough to be all-inclusive and yet not so large as to be overwhelming. Thanks,

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Our waitress was amazing! She went above ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our waitress was amazing! She went above and beyond as to work with us and get us what we would enjoy the best. I had the prime rib eye, and it was cooked to exactly what I had asked for. We also got foie butter on the side, which was excellent as well. Overall, we had a spectacular time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I were visiting Denver for a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My wife and I were visiting Denver for a long weekend to celebrate her birthday and we ate at Guard and Grace based on TripAdvisor reviews. I was a nice dinner with very good service. When I made the reservation I noted it was a birthday celebration and everyone we interacted with at our table wished my wife happy birthday, which was a nice touch. The menu is quite nice with a lot of interesting dishes - not your typical steakhouse fare. The food was well-prepared and good; however, not as good as a recent celebration dinner at Morton's although Morton's is quite a bit more expensive. We would eat at Guard and Grace again if we find ourselves back in Denver.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Absolutely the best meal we have ever ha ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Absolutely the best meal we have ever had. You didn't need a knife to cut the filet mignon. We were there for 2 hours and enjoyed every minute we were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely disappointed. Diner-quality f ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Extremely disappointed. Diner-quality food, at high-end price tag. Yuck.

Oh, and a clueless careless waiter to really take fine dining to a new low.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Visited for our first anniversary. The b ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Visited for our first anniversary. The bar was great and social hour had good drink specials. Dinner was simply amazing. They recognized our special celebration more than once and the steak is the best I have ever had. They never rushed us - it was simply perfect. Please visit if you can!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best dinner we have EVER had!! Amazing!! ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Best dinner we have EVER had!! Amazing!! Can't say enough great things about Gaurd and Grace!! You MUST go!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was simply the best I've had ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The service was simply the best I've had in Denver for a long time it seems that every restaurant I go to in Denver is completely staffed with hipsters I'm not cool enough to be a hipster it was really nice to have a normal hard-working clean-cut staff

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We went to have a great steak as that is ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We went to have a great steak as that is their specialty. Ordered the prime cut filet and the cut was good but they added a touch of some type of sauce that masked the true beef flavor. At this price point, we will return to the best prime house in town, Del Frisco's.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Enjoyed this lively, popular restaurant ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Enjoyed this lively, popular restaurant while in Denver. Try the Brussels sprouts!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.