About Guard & Grace

1801 California Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Chef Troy Guard’s largest and most exciting concept, Guard & Grace, is a 9,000 square ft. modern American steakhouse located at 1801 California Street in downtown Denver. The sophisticated new space offers private dining areas, one of Denver's largest patios, an expansive raw bar, a wood burning oven and open kitchen.

Complimentary valet parking is located outside of the restaurant on California St.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Social Hour: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: CLOSED

Cross Street:
18th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 293-8500

Website:
http://www.guardandgrace.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet

Executive Chef:
Troy Guard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
2nd Annual Rose & White Wine Party

http://guardandgrace.com/rose-white-wine-party-new-date-fri-june-5th-reservations-recommended/

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Guard and Grace will be running a feature menu in addition to our regular menu from February 10th through the 14th! Let us share our passion for food, wine, and spirits with the one you love!

Guard & Grace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (69)
Good for a Date (62)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
See All
Romantic (47)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Notable Wine List (37)
Modern Decor (36)
Business Meals (35)
Hot Spot (31)
Open Kitchen (29)
Bar Seating (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
People Watching (18)
Fun (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Private Room (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Authentic (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Paleo Friendly (12)
Cozy (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Tasting Menu (7)
Healthy (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Fireplace (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Casual (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
714 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was fabulous. Best prime rib ev ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was fabulous. Best prime rib ever! And the entire staff worked together to wait in us. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, , Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Guard and Grace always is just absolutel ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Guard and Grace always is just absolutely fantastic. This is my wife's favorite restaurant currently and 2 years in a row we have spent her birthday dinner here.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I were blown away by the ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

My husband and I were blown away by the excellent service. All of the staff from the host staff, bartender and servers that weren't even ours. Our dinner and cocktails were perfect. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious beef tartare, decent east coas ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious beef tartare, decent east coast oysters on happy hour, good wine list and cocktails. Bar staff was friendly and fun.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A rare place where experience exceeded e ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

A rare place where experience exceeded expectation. Nuff said

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated my husbands birthday at Gu ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated my husbands birthday at Guard and Grace and it was our first time there. We really enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Also, our waiter was great. The only complaints I have would be the hostess desk lack of greeting and friendliness as well as the timing and flow of our drinks and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great Restaurant! One of my favorite in ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Great Restaurant! One of my favorite in Denver and definitely my favorite steakhouse! The service is excellent. We sat at the bar to have some cocktails and decided to remain there for dinner and the bartenders were fantastic! Super attentive and just a great experience overall!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our Anniversary and they mad ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

We went for our Anniversary and they made it very special including writing "Happy Anniversary" on the desert plate. Pricey but well worth it for the food and service for special events.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated my husbands birthday and t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

We celebrated my husbands birthday and truly enjoyed it. Delicious food, great atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steakhouse I've ever been to! The o ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Best steakhouse I've ever been to! The octopus was amazing!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable, friendly, attentive wait sta ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Impeccable, friendly, attentive wait staff; excellent food; energetic atmosphere; easy valet parking with friendly valets. Overall excellent dining experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food but too loud

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food but too loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

For a steak house, it left a little to b ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

For a steak house, it left a little to be desired. The aged NY strip didn't have the flavor you would expect for a steak that a restaurant prides itself on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent overall experience at G&G! I d ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent overall experience at G&G! I don't normally go with the steak when eating out, but this was more than worth it. Server and staff went above and beyond in accommodating for one of us with celiac and other dietary restrictions. Looking forward to coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of them best restaurants in Denver. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

One of them best restaurants in Denver. While it's a little pricey, the food is always amazing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is consistently the best steak in D ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This is consistently the best steak in Denver. Another great experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed the food, atmosphere and wine. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Enjoyed the food, atmosphere and wine. Will plan to return soon! My wife's prime rib was undercooked and the waiter quickly took care of the situation. The rest of the meal was outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was amazing and didn't rush u ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our server was amazing and didn't rush us. The sommelier had great suggestions, and the truffle gnocchi were to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Exceptional service, exceptional food. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Exceptional service, exceptional food. Now considered the best steakhouse in the Denver area, the food is the best and prices are very reasonable compared to the other top steakhouses in Denver. When my wife and I left we both said this is our "new favorite restaurant in the Denver area"

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great pick for our 20 Year An ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was a great pick for our 20 Year Anniversary! Guard and Grace did a wonderful job of making it special and providing the best quality of food and wine. It was the best filet that my wife had ever eaten and the recommendation of the black cod was amazing! We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, but very noisy as we were ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was good, but very noisy as we were seated by open kitchen. The table for two was not conducive to discussion without raising your voice. I felt table was too large to talk to your partner for a romantic evening.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Great steaks, amazing sides and the G&G ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great steaks, amazing sides and the G&G Bar dessert is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal! My husband had a sandwich, I ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great meal! My husband had a sandwich, I had enchiladas and my son had a steak. Each was equally perfect.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Private Room, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food and fantastic service.

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Incredible food and fantastic service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time overall, however our ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had a great time overall, however our experience was pretty much ruined at the very end.

The moment our check was paid, we were informed that our table was needed and that we had to go. We had been ordering drinks and dessert all the way to the end without even a slight pause, so this was a surprise and was not handled well at all - we were over $100/head without tip and without the more expensive dinner options.. i.e. we drank well and profitably for the restaurant.

Extremely amateur move. This was topical conversation for the rest of the evening and really overshadowed the experience.

None of us will be back. Way too many options in Denver for this kind of treatment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Guard and Grace has become one of my fav ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Guard and Grace has become one of my favorite spots in Denver. Excellent service and amazing food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and ambiance. Wait staff ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance. Wait staff was attentive but unobtrusive. Known for their steaks but the salmon was terrific!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very elegant, romantic restaurant with i ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Very elegant, romantic restaurant with impeccable service. We chose to celebrate our anniversary here and we were not disappointed. The fresh made gnocchi is the best we've had outside of Italy, the bread & butter was outstanding and fresh from the oven, steaks cooked perfectly, cocktails were perfect and nice wine list to choose from. Really can't say enough good things about this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice place, enjoyed our Xmas eve di ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very nice place, enjoyed our Xmas eve dinner! Did not like the octopus appetizer but the steak was good and the gnocchi was delicious!

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Really impressed with the food and servi ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Really impressed with the food and service! Definitely want to come back. The tasted chicken, filet and roasted black cod that we had were all divine. The Buratta and roasted carrot appetizers were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service and the oak fired carr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Fantastic service and the oak fired carrots was super!

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinner at Guard and Grace was a gift ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The dinner at Guard and Grace was a gift from friends that I truly appreciate. When we arrived the sign outside the restaurant said "free" valet service. The valet was truly free, the service was the fastest and most attentive I have experienced. The bar area is wide open with plenty of seating, with very friendly and attentive bartenders and wait staff. The steak and wine was very good. We were there over the Christmas holiday's which may explain the festive mood, but seems like a great place for a nice dinner or after work drink.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service. Artichoke dip was fanta ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Awesome service. Artichoke dip was fantastic. But the steaks and mac & cheese were incredibly salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We came for our 5th anniversary and they ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We came for our 5th anniversary and they did a fantastic job! Winston was our server and was amazing. Both my wife and I had filets which were perfectly done. The cocktail selection was also very good. Unfortunately we had to leave quickly to get to a play but the dinner was spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly recommended ! Was there on a fami ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Highly recommended ! Was there on a family trip. Started with Tuna sashimi that was unbelievable! Had the Grass Fed Filet Mignon cooked to perfection and super lean (recommended rare or medium rare)! Great wine and champagne selection as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

There was a great bar area with couches ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

There was a great bar area with couches that we waited in and had a delicious cocktail with blood orange. Yum! We ordered a variety of food which was delicious. The black cod was amazing. My husband was very impressed with the ribeye.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding restaurant - excellent staff ...

 
 (Hong Kong)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Outstanding restaurant - excellent staff food and wine list. Didn't know anything about the restaurant before dining there so we were very pleased with our night out. Would definitely recommend to Australians traveling to Denver.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Groups, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought the streaks were delicious but ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I thought the streaks were delicious but my scallops just ok. The brussle sprouts were yummy but the rest of the food I felt was not worth the price. Very nice ambiance and friendly service.

I would recommend this restaurant for steak lovers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I've eaten here multiple times and have ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I've eaten here multiple times and have yet to be let down with anything. The food is always amazing, the staff impeccable; so polite and very accommodating with any request.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was terrific! It was a 50th birthd ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 19, 2016

This was terrific! It was a 50th birthday celebration and they bent over backwards without making it overbearing! Lovely lunch!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Tapas, Comfort Food, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, People Watching, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.