Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Guard & Grace

Chef Troy Guard’s largest and most exciting concept, Guard & Grace, is a 9,000 square ft. modern American steakhouse located at 1801 California Street in downtown Denver. The sophisticated new space offers private dining areas, one of Denver's largest patios, an expansive raw bar, a wood burning oven and open kitchen.

Complimentary valet parking is located outside of the restaurant on California St.

1801 California Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Social Hour: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: CLOSED

Cross Street:
18th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 293-8500

Website:
http://www.guardandgrace.com/

Parking Details:
90 minutes complementary valet from 11am to 4pm. Dinner service is fully complementary.

Executive Chef:
Troy Guard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
2nd Annual Rose & White Wine Party

http://guardandgrace.com/rose-white-wine-party-new-date-fri-june-5th-reservations-recommended/

Private Dining

Guard and Grace is a modern steakhouse by Chef/Owner Troy Guard, which offers the finest prime steaks and freshest seafood available. Inviting dining rooms and large lounges offer a wonderful place to dine and socialize.

Guard & Grace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on all time ratingsThis restaurant has not received enough recent ratings to display a current ratings snapshot
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (1055)
Fit for Foodies (1009)
Hot Spot (675)
See All
Notable Wine List (667)
Good for Groups (591)
Romantic (574)
Vibrant Bar Scene (371)
Great for Lunch (355)
Great for Outdoor Dining (205)
Neighborhood Gem (177)
Good for a Date (156)
Good for Anniversaries (136)
Business Meals (110)
Good for Birthdays (101)
Late-night Find (96)
Creative Cuisine (67)
Handcrafted Cocktails (66)
Worth the Drive (63)
Bar Seating (62)
Great for Brunch (52)
Fun (47)
People Watching (43)
Pre/post Theatre (41)
Cozy (39)
Happy Hour (37)
Local Ingredients (35)
Authentic (30)
Scenic View (29)
Paleo Friendly (23)
Gluten Free Options (20)
Healthy (19)
Casual (17)
Kid-friendly (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Tasting Menu (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Seasonal (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Organic (9)
Disabled Access (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great Beer (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Tapas (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort by
S
883 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Everything about Guard and Grace was outstanding except the noise. A restaurant of the quality of Guard and Grace should have a quiet atmosphere with music in the background chosen for conversation. It was our 55th anniversary and it was nearly impossible to carry on a conversation over the very loud, rock-style music that was being blasted. The grass-fed filet mignons were melt in your mouth tender and cooked perfectly to our wishes. The wait staff were attentive without being obtrusive. My wife had a wine question and our server summoned the sommelier who was very helpful in assisting with our choices.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Went there for a dinner the first night we got to Denver for a bachelor party weekend. Amazingly quick bar service while we waited, even though the restaurant was packed.

Once we were seated, the service and food were fantastic. Great steaks.

Our servers even helped us out with some recommendations on where to head for a post dinner drink.

Next time I'm back in the Denver area, I'll be wanting to come back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Too loud, dark - but not intimate. Had to ask to be moved to a booth, because the chairs were so uncomfortable. If you're expecting the dining room to look like the pictures online (clean, crisp, well lit) you'll be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The quality of the meat was ruined by the SALT content applied to it
we literally could not finish our meal it was so bad
Bread was delivered after the main course had started
SALT PALACE

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Celebrated our 27th anniversary at Guard & Grace and it was absolutely a great experience. The service was top notch and the food was delicious! Great variety of wines and drinks and the steaks are fabulous.

Tags: Great Beer, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I will start with the good things: the food was excellent. Everything that we ate was really really good. But the bad was the wait on the food and drinks. I am not one to complain in a restaurant as I know what can happen but it got to the point every time the waiter would walk by I thought he would offer to comp the meal as we were waiting that long in between courses. So I don't think it was his fault and we all got the same steak cooked the same way so it was a complicated order it was just very slow. Is the food worth the wait.. maybe. Thank goodness we didn't have anywhere to be after the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We enjoyed everything! Service was incredible. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great urban feel. Service was excellent. Appetizers are the highlight

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

As always, the food was incredible... sevice was professional but not cold... definitely worth the price, even though they are on the higher side. You will not leave hungry!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 22, 2017

It was a pretty good steak house, some very tasty appetizers and salads. Steaks were good, like many other upscale steak houses. However, nothing about the ambiance or menu really stood out, though service was top notch. We had to wait a number of weeks to reserve a table for a weekend evening, however, as we sat through dinner, THREE other tables around us were empty and as we left (towards 9pm) there were many more empty tables.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Just awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Our server was super engaging and knowledgeable, and had recommendations at the ready when we began to order. He made two excellent wine recommendations, and brought an "extra" something to the table when the time between appetizer and dinner got a little long. The food was exactly what you would expect from one of the best chefs in town, and everyone left happy. Have recommended the restaurant multiple times since our dinner.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This place was recommended to me by a colleague and it did not disappoint. I wanted a special place for my husband's birthday dinner and the staff at Guard and Grace were wonderful. The food was delicious and the ambiance was just perfect for a special dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Food and service were excellent. Noise level was very loud - too loud! Steaks were cooked to order. Caesar salad could have been a meal for one! It was fabulous.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We had an excellent meal (outside of one salad that tasted very bland). We split the filet flight. I do recommend this entree. Service was good until bill arrived. Initial bill overcharged us by an extra entree.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 9, 2017

Fantastic experience. Good was amazing. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Great steakhouse in downtown Denver. Food and service are both great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 3, 2017

I am really surprised to see Guard & Grace as a top 25 restaurant in Denver. The service was very poor. It took extreamly long for us to receive our drinks, and we were only a party of two. My steak was poorly cooked and my wife was done with her dinner by the time I received my steak from being cooked for the second time. Your money would be spent more wisely by going to a national food chain like Flemings. I won't be recommending any of Troy Guard's restaurants for now.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 3, 2017

1st visit but won't be the last. A special occasion dinner that was very memorable with regard to ambiance, service, quality and price. I highly recommend Guard and Grace.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Went for lunch here, and we're in a hurry. Got in and out super fast thanks to our server! Food was delicious, including the broccolini, even though I typically dislike broccoli.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We love Guard & Grace! Our favorite steakhouse in Denver. This time we took my mother for a special birthday lunch and it was perfect!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

From the time my lady friend and I got there, everything was handled very professionally and friendly. The wine somalier came over to help us choose an excellent wine to go with our dinner. My lady friend said it was the best bottle of wine she ever had. The entire selection of food were prepared excellently and was indeed delicious! My hats off to a fellow Hawaiian who is part of the Kama'aina Ohana. We will definitely be back! Mahalo Nui Loa for everything!!! ... Glen Higashide, 7/4/2017

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Healthy, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We went to Guard and Grace for my birthday dinner and we had an amazing evening. Everything from the food to the service was perfect. Carlos took care of us and went above and beyond to ensure I had a great evening while in Denver. I plan to go back, and ask for Carlos:), the ne t time I'm in town.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The chef is all about sauces from the truffled gnocchi to the filet mignon. Great wine list as well. Well worth the splurge.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great food , wine, and service but, YIKES, was it ever loud! Couldn't really converse with dinner mates. Will ask/hope for a quieter table next time.

Tags: People Watching, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The food was great. Waitress not so much. But, the food was great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The food and service at Guard & Grace are always top-notch. Best burrata in town, along with my favorite lunch - the bubu bowl. This is a great place for a client lunch or a special occasion dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Everything was good, but had to wait almost 20-min to be sat which made the lunch longer than it should have been for a business lunch. Would not have been a big deal, but there were almost a dozen open 2-top tables open and clean when we were sat, so no need for the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 26, 2017

our 57th wedding anniversary. great food and the complementary valet parking
was an added bonus.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We got a handwritten card from the staff for a joint birthday. So sweet! And food is amazing!!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Excelllent. Only my 2nd time but great all the way around. 4oz grass fed filet-yum!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Overall Guard and Grace was really nice. The table they sat the four of us at was huge though so with the noise levels it make it a bit difficult to hear the waiter and the other people in our group. The food was good but pretty pricy so it would be a good spot for a special occasion. Our water was exceptional and took really good care of us. However, the hostess started my experience off on a very low note. I went up to the desk to check our party in for our reservation. She was talking to someone else so I waited patiently. When that customer was taken care of, she completely ignored me and moved on to a woman who had just walked in looking for a walk-in table, checked her backpack, etc. Didn't ever check to see if I was being helped already, let me know she'd be right with me, or even acknowledged me. Luckily another hostess came back up to the stand and started helping me but the first hostess left a very sour taste in my mouth, especially at a higher end restaurant where service is supposed to be fantastic. Also, they were able to seat the walk-in table (around ~5:25) and had plenty of open tables throughout our entire meal (literally half the restaurant was empty). This was interesting to me for two reasons: 1) I heard the original hostess tell the person in front of me (who had a few people running behind) that they had reservations at their table at 7:30 so they'd have to be done by then, and 2) I was only able to get 5pm reservations on their online reservation system. I understand that restaurants space out seatings for efficiency and staffing, but it seems like there is a disconnect between the restaurant and the reservation system, plus a general lack of professionalism by the hostess.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 16, 2017

excellent experience! delicious food/drinks & great service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Portions, quality of fish and the manner in which the sushi was cut were all disappointing. The price of the meal was about 30% high than the Den, and the Den is simply a superior experience across the board.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The entire experience was fantastic!!! Food, Service and Wine were all exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 13, 2017

A top dining experience at top dollar - so you have to be prepared to spend a pretty penny, particularly if you're having wine. If it meets your budget, then you will not be disappointed - they do an amazing job with the food and the service is exceptional. The only thing I am not crazy about is the noise level - it is loud to the point that it is sometimes difficult to carry on a conversation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2017

First time here and we had a great time. The steaks were perfect, the best around town. Oysters were very good. The Caesar is spot on and plenty for two to share. I also recommend the beet martini if you like beets. But the best thing about this place is the service. Everyone was friendly, professional , and super nice. We are going back for sure.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Amazing food! Everything that touched our lips was delicious! We were celebrating our engagement and our waiter brought us free champagne, app taster and dessert plus a card ! Really helped make it special!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Food was excellent, service was attentive...will return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.