About Guard & Grace

1801 California Street
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Chef Troy Guard’s largest and most exciting concept, Guard & Grace, is a 9,000 square ft. modern American steakhouse located at 1801 California Street in downtown Denver. The sophisticated new space offers private dining areas, one of Denver's largest patios, an expansive raw bar, a wood burning oven and open kitchen.

Complimentary valet parking is located outside of the restaurant on California St.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Social Hour: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: CLOSED

Cross Street:
18th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 293-8500

Website:
http://www.guardandgrace.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet

Executive Chef:
Troy Guard

Private Party Contact:
Jeorgette: x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
2nd Annual Rose & White Wine Party

http://guardandgrace.com/rose-white-wine-party-new-date-fri-june-5th-reservations-recommended/

Guard & Grace Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Denver / Colorado
Best Overall
Denver
Best Service
Denver
2 More
Hot Spot
Denver
Steakhouse
Denver
Best Restaurants in Downtown / LoDo ›

special occasion (122)
fit for foodies (115)
notable wine list (82)
See All
hot spot (78)
romantic (71)
good for groups (66)
vibrant bar scene (44)
great for lunch (36)
neighborhood gem (15)
late-night find (13)
great for outdoor dining (13)
great for brunch (7)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
536 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A Denver must ! One of the best meals we ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 4 days ago

A Denver must ! One of the best meals we've had !

The rolls!!! Oh the most amazing pillows of heaven ! Mac and cheese is the best we've had! Steaks are OUTSTANDING !!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic staff and very knowledgeable. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic staff and very knowledgeable. And the food was excellent!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rarely does a restaurant live up to the ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Rarely does a restaurant live up to the hype and far less often does a restaurant exceed the hype......Guard & Grace exceeded the hype.

My boyfriend and I took his parents here for dinner when they were in town visiting. The experience began with great hand-crafted cocktails as we waiting for our table (we arrived 15 minutes before our reservation). My personal favorite was the smash (bourbon, berries, and lemon).

After our cocktails, we were seated at a great booth in the middle of the restaurant.

Our server, Chris, was very attentive without being overbearing. He provided several excellent wine recommendations which everyone appreciated. He also went through the menu and answered all of the questions we had so patiently.

We had the appetizer special, oysters, and the meat and cheese plate to start. For our entrees, we each selected steaks and had the brussel sprouts, mac and cheese, and crispy potato sides. The prime filet was absolutely amazing and melted in your mouth. The prime rib was also a huge hit at the table. For dessert, we had the bread pudding and the cherry tart special. The cherry tart should be a regular on the menu. I'm not a huge cherry fan and I could have eaten dozens of these tarts.

Throughout the entire meal, Chris (our waiter) was there to guide us through the meal. He was more than a waiter. He truly made the meal that much more extraordinary!

Guard & Grace is now on our favorites list and we can't wait for another special occasion to go back.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were disappointed with our dinner at ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were disappointed with our dinner at Guard and Grace. We had early reservations, and the restaurant was almost empty when we were seated. We let our waiter know we had plans following dinner, but it still took 45 minutes to get our appetizer (cheese plate, which was mediocre). We had another long wait before our dinner was brought to the table. The filet was nicely done, but my husband's steak was a poor cut. The mashed potatoes were runny, and a paste-like consistency. The mushroom side dish was probably the best part of the dinner, and we also enjoyed the wine we selected. We were not able to stay for dessert because of how long the rest of the meal took. We enjoy nice, leisurely dinners, but there was no flow to the service, and the food was not worth the wait or the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Quality of food was awesome as was the h ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Quality of food was awesome as was the highly attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was simply amazing.... the food the s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was simply amazing.... the food the service, everything . Pricey but worth every penny

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for lunch. Ordered the French ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Went there for lunch. Ordered the French Dip Sandwich and added Provolone cheese to it. Amazing sandwich; could only eat half and brought the other half home for another meal later. Colleague ordered their pork chop special (lunch portion of the dinner entree option) and he loved it. Server, Kelly, was super fun, smart, witty, attentive. Would love to have her every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really appreciated the 4oz cut steak opt ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Really appreciated the 4oz cut steak options. That way you're not overly stuffed if you opted for an app and dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed our dinner, our waiter (A ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Really enjoyed our dinner, our waiter (Andre) was very attentive, helpful and friendly. My only complaint is that the steak was a bit over-seasoned. It had lots of flavor but so much salt and pepper that it kind of overwhelmed my taste buds. That said, the meat (hanger steak) was cooked perfectly and was very yummy overall. A fun place to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Wonderful food. Our server, Jacob, was ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Wonderful food. Our server, Jacob, was very attentive, and gave great recommendations for the group! Personally loved the NY strip and the Alaskan black cod. The whipped potatoes were a decadent side. Cocktail wise, the Smashed was phenomenal!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were very impressed with every aspect ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We were very impressed with every aspect of our experience! From the personalized birthday card, signed by everyone on staff, to the incredible waiter. ALL staff members were great. Our waiter, John James, was wonderful. The food was EXCEPTIONAL!!! Now I know why it is so hard to get reservations! Well worth the wait.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Best steak i ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Excellent food and service. Best steak in Denver without a doubt.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it! Went with my family to celebra ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Loved it! Went with my family to celebrate a birthday. Group of 6 of us and no one had anything they didn't rave about.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Completely amazing! Food was so good, se ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Completely amazing! Food was so good, service was phenomenal. Denver's best steakhouse by far.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our first visit and we will be ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This was our first visit and we will be back! Excellent service, entrees and dessert. Top of my list for restaurants to eat steak and seafood at!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such incredible service, environment and ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Such incredible service, environment and food! Plain and simple a wonderful place to meet for all occasions!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were so pleased with our experience a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We were so pleased with our experience at Guard and Grace. Perfect anniversary celebration location. Service was amazing. Food was delicious. Will definitely return. FYI the actual tables available in the dining room are limited but there are plenty of bar/lounge/outdoor tables you can be seated at without a reservation. These are almost as romantic and upscale as the dining room. So don't worry if you're not able to get a reservation. You can still have a top notch experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the filet flight - three types of ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had the filet flight - three types of filet: grass fed, Angus and prime. All were fantastic, but we liked the grass fed the most. The smoked octopus was also great, the brussell sprouts were the only thing that wasn't exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best of service food and ambiean! 10 ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The best of service food and ambiean! 10 star rating!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Guard & Grace had very tasty food. Our ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Guard & Grace had very tasty food. Our waitress was wonderful. The table we sat at was a table for two, however, due it's length from my husband to I it did not feel very intimate. I found it difficult to talk to one another. In addition, it was surprising to me not to see someone at every table. We had tried to make reservations at this restaurant previously and found that in order to do so we had to book our reservations at least 6 weeks ahead of time. Our reservations were for 6:00pm and of the 20 tables around us only 10 were occupied. Why did it take so long for us to make reservations when the restaurant isn't full????

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We hired a limousine service to take mys ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We hired a limousine service to take myself, my wife Michelle, her kidney donor Mason Holland and his fiance out to celebrate a one year anniversary of Michelles kidney transplant (it made world news last year). I had requested a booth or a somewhat quiet area so we could talk. We were escorted next to a table of drunk and obnoxious investment bankers that used profanity throughout our meal. Since no one from the restaurant asked them to quiet down or leave, I'm assuming this is acceptable behavior for this establishment.

We will never return and if anyone asks, they will receive my experience from that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Exvellent place for a business dinner wi ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Exvellent place for a business dinner with clients. Incredible service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We ate here for my husband’s 31st birthd ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We ate here for my husband’s 31st birthday and have an amazing experience, I would 100% recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for great food and great service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best steakhouse in Denver!!!! Aldine ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The best steakhouse in Denver!!!! Aldine food and service!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best bone-in ribeyes I've eve ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

One of the best bone-in ribeyes I've ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous everything! Great wine selecti ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Fabulous everything! Great wine selections. The food is amazing. The service was terrific. Wonderful place to celebrate anything.....think of something!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great date spot. Unfortunately, I'm pre ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great date spot. Unfortunately, I'm pretty sure I got food poisoning from the oysters.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

I had the 21 day dry aged ribeye steak a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I had the 21 day dry aged ribeye steak and it was amazing! Cooked to perfection and their seasoning was delicious as well. The server was very knowledgeable, friendly and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Guard and Grace for our anniv ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We went to Guard and Grace for our anniversary and were not disappointed. We made our reservations well in advance (4-5 weeks) in advance of the date, and we still only had 5:00 or 8:30 to choose from. We don't mind eating early so we took the 5:00. Pretty quiet when we arrived,but it was hopping by the time we left. We started with cocktails. My husband had shrimp cocktail and I had the tuna - both were great. We split the fillet flight- amazing! We also had Brussels sprouts and lobster Mac and cheese- both very tasty...we ended up taking most of each home. Even though we were stuffed, the waitress convinced us we couldn't miss the seasonal dessert and it was the perfect end to a lovely meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The place is beautiful and has a great d ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The place is beautiful and has a great decor. Unfortunately, the food is not good. My steak came out not cooked properly at 75.00. I had to return it but most high end places recook a new steak but they choose to cook the same steak that was cooked wrong in the first place. My wife's steak tasted horrible. She loved the shrimp. The Brussel sprouts were over cooked, I had to use soy sauce to give it flavor. The baked potato tasted good. My wife ordered a drink that came out wrong. I would say this place is very over rated especially overpriced. Plus, I requested the plate be extremely hot with my steak- I received a warm plate. I walked out with a 200.00 bill. I will not return. There are higher end places that deliver on all aspect of dining and this in not one of them. Epic FAIL!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The food was AMAZING! Brought my dad to ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was AMAZING! Brought my dad to celebrate Father's Day - he absolutely LOVED Guard & Grace! So much so that he left a comment on their comment card asking if they could open one in Houston-LOL!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date night, first timers at Guard & Grac ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Date night, first timers at Guard & Grace. Very comfortable, excellent music/vibe, top notch service and a great steak dinner. We will be back soon and highly recommend for both lunch and dinner.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal and time celebrati ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We had a great meal and time celebrating our special occasion

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good service, great food (large portion ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Good service, great food (large portions....order less than you think you'll eat), pleasant atmosphere. No complaints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had a fantastic experience at Guard a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We had a fantastic experience at Guard and Grace. All the employees were welcoming, knowledgeable and friendly. The Speck and Burratta charcuterie was the best. We had the truffle Mac n Cheese and Brussel Sprouts as sides with our NY Strip Steaks. A wonderful dinner. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was outstanding, a perfect an ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Everything was outstanding, a perfect anniversary evening. The food, drinks, service, and the entire restaurant basically, was spot on and most importantly worth the $$$. We can't wait to return and try more of the menu.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Place to dine! Best in town. Great ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great Place to dine! Best in town.

Great food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really strove to make an anniversary din ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Really strove to make an anniversary dinner special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our best meal we had in Denver. ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

This was our best meal we had in Denver. They really know what they are doing here. The place looks great... the tables are well spaced... the staff is friendly, professional and efficient... the food is fantastic. Everything we had was excellent... particularly liked the crab cake, raw bar, prime NY, desserts. Nice wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely phenomenal dining experience ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal dining experience here. The food is divine, the servers are attentive and have perfect timing in terms of when to approach you/bring refills/bring the next course, and the atmosphere is trendy without being pretentious. Highly recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.