Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is permanently closed. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Sushi RockSushi Rock
(558)
$$$$
Asian | Arlington, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Booked 9 times today
Ray's The SteaksRay's The Steaks
(732)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Arlington, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Booked 48 times today
Fire Works - ArlingtonFire Works - Arlington
(48)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Arlington, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Booked 18 times today
Ireland's Four CourtsIreland's Four Courts
(89)
$$$$
Irish | Arlington, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Bistro 360Bistro 360
(119)
$$$$
International | Arlington, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Booked 1 time today
Mele Bistro (formerly Village Bistro)Mele Bistro (formerly Village Bistro)
(420)
$$$$
Italian | Arlington, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Booked 9 times today
Il RadicchioIl Radicchio
(61)
$$$$
Contemporary Italian | Arlington, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Booked 1 time today
Barley MacBarley Mac
(119)
$$$$
American | Arlington, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Booked 23 times today
MeJanaMeJana
(1053)
$$$$
Lebanese | Arlington, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Booked 13 times today
Kona Grill - ArlingtonKona Grill - Arlington
(92)
$$$$
American | Arlington, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Booked 9 times today
Ambar - ArlingtonAmbar - Arlington
(93)
$$$$
Tapas / Small Plates | Arlington, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Booked 86 times today
Courthaus SocialCourthaus Social
(6)
$$$$
American | Arlington, Virginia - DC Suburbs
CIRCA at ClarendonCIRCA at Clarendon
(150)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Arlington, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Booked 17 times today
La Tasca - ArlingtonLa Tasca - Arlington
(788)
$$$$
Spanish | Arlington, Virginia - DC Suburbs
Booked 8 times today
Arlington Rooftop Bar & GrillArlington Rooftop Bar & Grill
(169)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Arlington, Virginia - DC Suburbs

About Permanently Closed - Guarapo Lounge

2039 Wilson Blvd
Arlington, VA 22201
View Larger Map

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - A sleek lounge with international flair, hookah pipes and the only place in town that offers Guarapo cocktails, a sugar cane syrup mixed deliciously with vodka and lime juice.

Andean-flavored tapas menú marinated mushrooms, chicken empanadas, grilled shrimp and a variety of ceviche styles. Cutting-edge DJs and live bands.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Latin American, Tapas / Small Plates, Latin / Spanish

Hours of Operation:
HOURS
4:00PM – LAST CALL

HAPPY HOUR:
MONDAY – FRIDAY
5:00PM – 8:00PM

LATE NIGHT MENU
Available until 12:30am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(703) 528-6500

Website:
http://www.guarapolounge.com/

Entertainment:
Tuesday: Karaoke Night
Wednesday: Free Salsa Lesson
Thursday: Live music
Friday: Latin Night with DJ
Saturday: Latin Night with DJ

Catering:
Whether you're planning a social or corporate gathering that calls for attention to detail, a wedding reception, board luncheon, or a Mitzvah; our Executive Chef Javier Angeles-Beron develops menus for every taste.
Visit www.latinconceptscatering.com OR Contact Newsha: Newsha@latinconcepts.com (202)677-0529.

Parking Details:
Street & Parking Garage

Public Transit:
Courthouse Metro (Orange)

Executive Chef:
Javier Angeles-Beron

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit: http://www.guarapolounge.com/#!upcoming_events/c1mya

Guarapo Lounge - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.5

ambience

3.0

value

3.3

noise

Energetic

33% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
See All
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Groups (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
38 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First and last time at this place. The m ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

First and last time at this place. The music was too loud. Couldn't have a conversation. Great place for Spanish food and music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had to leave due to the noise. This p ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had to leave due to the noise. This place used to have a calm and nice atmosphere... but they brought a DJ and made it impossible to have a conversation. Also, part of the food was definitely not as good as it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

When for my Birthday had a great time wi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 31, 2016

When for my Birthday had a great time with all my close friends . Not crazy at all just chill fun ambient

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the venue, the food is delicious, t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Love the venue, the food is delicious, the ambiance is laid back with a splash of class. The manager was very accommodating to our groups needs even though we had a group member not feeling up to par. The only concern was our server was not attention everyone or friendly.

He came to my table asking what we wanted to eat. He hasn't gotten out drink orders so I asked if I could order my drink first. I ordered a water for the time being and he took my order down only and walked away from our table.

Most of our table went to the bar for their drinks after that.

Other than the service we enjoyed our time and we thank you for having us at Guarapos! :)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

We went to Guarapo for a Friday night da ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 9, 2016

We went to Guarapo for a Friday night date and it did not disappoint. The DJ was AMAZING! His ability to mix Latin and Hip-hop music was the best part of the evening. The hookah was good and priced well. The food was okay. The drinks were okay. But, overall the lounge upstairs was great. The crowd was energetic. Everyone was there to have fun. No drama. Great night!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The woman who helped me out was more tha ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The woman who helped me out was more than helpful. She was so sweet and super nice. I was there for my boyfriends surprise party and were originally expecting 10 people but it turned into 20. They were very accommodating and it was not too pricey. Great place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

much nicer than it was

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 30, 2016

love the remodel, much more customer friendly, less crowded invites you to relax and enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Overall Ok

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 13, 2016

The drink were good and ambiance was nice. I would probably only come for hookah and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Good was good and ambience was nice! Se ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Good was good and ambience was nice! Service was good at first but server disappeared once he delivered our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Guarapo has great food, I came back afte ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 9, 2016

Guarapo has great food, I came back after tree months with my girlfriend to celebrate her birthday, first I notice the tables are too close to each other, there is barely any privacy it seem to be like was more a hookah place than anything else.

On the notes for my reservation I ask if there was anything Guarapo can do for my girlfriend birthday and nothing was done, I assume that maybe there was nothing special.

I was hopping for a nice romantic dinner, did not get one.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The service is poor. We paid $700for two ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2016

The service is poor. We paid $700for two tables and got charged $140 gratuity. There was no disclaimer on the website about the gratuity charge for getting a table. That and we only received two bottles of Absolute...never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Quite s bit loud, but the hookah was gre ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 6, 2015

Quite s bit loud, but the hookah was great and the server was fantastic as well. I'd love to come back here again sometime but would just come for an early evening hookah Sosh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Disappointing

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2015

Brought a small group (7 people) from work for some drinks and dinner at Guarapos . During the hour-and-a-half that we stayed we were only able to get a few drinks and a couple of appetizers because the service wasn't good. The place was pretty empty and they lost our order twice. By the time our empanadas arrived everyone was very hungry and our faith in being able to get through the main course disappeared. Paid the bill and ended up going somewhere else for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Great Time!!!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 22, 2015

I went here for my birthday as it had been over 2 years since I had gone for someone else's Birthday dinner. I forgot how great the food was and my husband who is a picky eater really enjoyed it. We will definitely be coming back to eat and dance it up after 10pm. Shout out to DJRuben for playing the hits and making my B-day so special.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrible

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2015

Went on V-day. The restaurant was empty which was very concerning especially on v-day. The drinks were terrible, my girlfriend said it reminded her of mixing brunettes and crystal light back in her college dorm. They forgot my starter, even then it was boring and uninteresting. My steak was overcooked even though I mentioned twice I wanted it medium rare. The vegetables were clearly from a freezer bag (you know the pristine broccoli, carrots, cauliflower). The champagne was also very cheap. I couldn't' even get half way through the glass.

Please save your self the trouble and go somewhere else. Don't waste you money here when anything is much much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Heater was out that evening so . Food was fair

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2015

Food was fair and service was spotty. Great location and upstairs looked fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Good Latin food in courthouse

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 26, 2014

Everything was really tasty. Nice neighborhood place to hang out with friends

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Hmmmm. Okay.

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 6, 2014

Part cocktail lounge, part restaurant, part hookah bar, Guarapo is ambitious. Here's my issue, though. They have 2 floors. I went there with a friend at 7:30 pm on a Saturday planning to have a few drinks and some small plates. But, with the table to our left smoking a watermelon hookah and the table to our right smoking a raspberry hookah, we left without eating. Fruit-flavored smoke is not the accompaniment I want while trying to enjoy small plates. Guarapo needs to rethink their usage of space to accommodate people who want to eat without breathing in musky hookah smoke - or at least during dinner hours. If they don't want to do that later on at night - say, 10pm or later - that may make sense. But during prime dinner hour? Meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Latin Lounge

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 30, 2014

I was very excited about the menu at Guarapo but sadly disappointed once there. The appetizer were all excellent. These seemed freshly made and were all very good. Highly recommend the tenquenos, the yucca frita and papas bravas. We went there for a night out and we could have honestly just order a bunch of appetizers and that would have been enough. Drinks were awesome- we had mojotos and caipirinhas. Beware of the price though, it adds up quickly. The entrees however were horrible! COLD- manager had to come down and apologize. If you are looking for a quiet lounge with good music upstairs was great, but we were the only ones there before 10 pm. A band was setting up to play around 11 be sadly we didn't stay to hear them.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Not going back

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 15, 2014

It was great fun until a group walked in with a guy with a handgun strapped on his waist. We were in the lounge upstairs. While I understand that there is the conceal and carry in Virginia, We aren't comfortable drinking where there are guns. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4

I had my bday party here and had an awes ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 26, 2014

I had my bday party here and had an awesome time. Food was good, waitresses were great and friendly and they made sure that my group was well attended too. The only complaint I have was that the music could been better. The mixture of music wasn't vibrant and jumping. And there wasn't much Latin music played either. Also, parking was a little challenging, but overall very nice place and a great environment.I definitely recommend it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food and drinks.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 26, 2014

We tried Guarapo for he first time. We ordered a few traditional Latin dishes from the small plates menu and they were all excellent. Drinks were fantastic, too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Poor Server

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 29, 2014

Good place to hang with friends, but eat before you go. All of our food was terrible. It was bland, burned and rushed. Our server was not attentive and made us feel like more of inconvenience than welcomed customers. The gentleman manager at the door was great, and made us smile upon entrance and departure. If you go just eat first and avoid the female server with dark hair, no smile and bad attitude.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Nice night out

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 11, 2014

If you want to have a nice date night dinner with a little fun this is the place and after you can stay for the party. One of my top places to go in Arlington. I always seem to have fun there.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great Food and Great service

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 27, 2014

It was about 10 of us in the group having dinner, and we have an amazing time. Most of the people in our group have never been there. Everyone loved it and I'm sure we will be back. Jason was a great server, he was very attentive and friendly. The only reason I gave this a 4 star is because the hookah. The hookah over all was okay but we wanted to get refills and they don't offer that. We would have to get a new hookah,I didn't like that. However, over all its always a great experience going to Guarapo.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Time

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 27, 2014

Went out for a friends birthday and it was a great environment. The waiter, his name was Jason, was excellent. He was very attentive, friendly and definitely made the dinner enjoyable. The environment was great and I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Not what it used to be

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 12, 2014

I used to live in the Clarendon area about 7 years ago and used to love Guarapo. Mostly because of the food, Spanish music, and great European vibe. We just moved back to the area and came back to the restaurant thinking it would be the same and the only constant thing was the Mojitos (the were delicious) the service and the ambiance on the other hand were horrible. We came in a Saturday around 8pm and they were playing what it sounded like elevator music. The place was empty yet it took our server a while to greet us. So after a few drinks and food we decided to go to La Tasca. Great service and truly a tapas place unlike Guarapo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

We messed up the timing of

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 31, 2014

We messed up the timing of our booking but the staff were great and still fitted us in quickly at a busy time. The service was very good and the food was fine, with the quality matching the price. A great mixed drink choice and a very welcome good draft beer selection. It's a popular bar/latin bistro so it gets busy but we liked that, it felt lively but without feeling overcrowded. Be aware it is a hookah bar.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Staff PUT OFF by non-smoking diners

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 29, 2014

Food - outstanding/ venue well decorated. Had 7:45 resv for 2. Arrived on time & found the 1st floor dinning room nearly empty. Many, many open tables for 2. We were sat directly next to existing diners who were hooka smoking. We asked to be seated at some other table since the place was empty. We were told by the frantic person seating us that there were very many reservations and we could likely not be accommodated if we did not take that table. He was very confused, flustered & visibly annoyed. Also hooka smoking is in the dining room rather than the upstairs lounge / dining area. As a result we went upstairs for dinner & were to only people there. The waitress seemed annoyed that we wanted dinner. We felt they wanted us to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Amazing!!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 23, 2014

Gurapo's was AMAZING! The food, music, atmosphere and people were awesome. I had a large group of eight in for a Birthday and I made reservations a few days prior with no issues. We were a few minutes late, but I called the Restaurant and they said no problem. They appreciated the call and held he table. The food we ordered was out in just a few minutes and was delicious. There were pleanty of hookah flavors to choose from and everyhtign was reasonably priced. If I could give this place 10 stars I would! :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun for groups.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2014

My husband and I came here on a "date night" expecting a little more...we thought there would be a more vibrant scene, perhaps even a dance floor. The restaurant is a lot smaller than we expected (and crowded). We were a bit thrown off by the Latin food and hookah bar combination. Nothing wrong with either one, but it was just odd. We enjoyed the Latin food, considering we are from Miami, FL but it wasn't exactly quite right. Anyway, we had a pleasant evening although the music being played was also, nothing close to what we expected since it was house and techno.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Bad Management

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2014

Went there for my birthday and had a nice time. Until we left and saw that our car was towed. We specifically asked the employees outside if we would get towed and they told us no. Also when the tow truck came to take our car they told the manager what was happening, and he said he would make an announcement in the restaurant which never happened. When we spoke to the manager regarding the issue he was rude and eventually hung up on us. Suffice it to say I will never go back to that establishment again which is sad because it was nice place, but just had poor management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Silence is Golden

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 9, 2014

My grandmother one told me if you can't say something nice... SAY NOTHING

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

LOUD

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 2, 2014

Too loud for dinner!!!

My throat was sore!

Maybe I am too old for this

Nice late night scene if that is what you are looking for.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

Excellent happy hour and food!

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 28, 2014

Loved the happy hour, calamari, empanadas, chifles, and drinks! Great place for date night or girl's night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great atmosphere and food!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 23, 2014

Nice place that was packed and bubbling with people! Appetizers and entrees were tasty and filling. Empanada trio was fabulous! Hookah was fun even though I was with newbies to the hookah world! Server was very attentive and professional. Music/DJ kept the crowd engaged and dancing. Our group enjoyed the evening overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and good price.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2014

Good food and good price. It was SO LOUD however that I could not talk to my date even though she was right in front of me. Nice ambience and good bar scene upstairs.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

great restautant

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2014

great restaurant with great food! Drink selection and hookah choices were great too! Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.