About Grünauer

101 W. 22nd Street
Historic Freight House
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Grünauer is a classic Viennese style restaurant with Central European influences of German, Hugarian, and international specialties. Peter Grünauer, executive chef, his son Nicholas, and daughter Elisabeth opened Grünauer in May of 2010. Peter is from Austria and his brother and sister still run their family restaurant in the Neubau region of Vienna. The menu offers simple straight-forward, and affordable cuisine high-lighting some of the best cuisine Central Europe has to offer. The menu here is meant to satisfy every customer that walks in the door. The Wunder Bar offers an array of wines, beer, and spirits unlike any other restaurant in Kansas City. The authentic Biergarten outside is one of kind as well. There is no other place in the city to match the atmosphere of Grünauer. We pride ourselves on offering the best customer service and knowledge of our product. We want to offer you a fine dining experience with a family feel so, make a reservation today!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Austrian, German

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; DINNER: Monday- Thursday: 4:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday:4:00pm - 11:00pm; BRUNCH: Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm (brunch menu served ALL DAY) WUNDER BAR: Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-1:00am Sunday: 11:30am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Baltimore

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 283-3234

Website:
http://grunauerkc.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking provided free of charge directly south of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Peter Grunauer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come in this Sunday September 18th! We are having an authenic pig roast and Miles Bonny will be playing on the patio! Also 2nd ANNUAL OKTOBERFEST SEPTEMBER 30TH-OCTOBER 2ND!!! Call to inquire for more details!!

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Scharfe Kilbasa - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Kalbsbratwurst - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Stiegl Pils - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Red Cabbage And Mashed Potatoes - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Sausage Duo - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Apfel Strudel mit Schlag - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Schnitzel a la Holstein - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Stuffed Pork Tenderloin - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Schweinebraten - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Cheese - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Split Pea Lentil Curry Soup - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
pretzel - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Tafelspitz - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Jausenbrettl - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Bavarian Creme - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Smoked salmon - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Stiegl Grapefruit Radler - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Staropramen Czech Beer - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Bread - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Port Glühwein - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Hungarian Beef Gulasch - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Croquettes - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Unnamed Cocktail - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Szegediner Gulasch - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Stiegl Goldbrau Beer - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Räucherforelle - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
House Smoked Rainbow Trout - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Staropramen - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Stiegl Goldbrau - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Sweet Waltz - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Salad - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Goulash - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Tomato Bisque - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Sausage Trio - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Sausage Platter - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Stiegl Piels - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Krautfleckerl - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Schnitzel - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Reissdorf Kölsch - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Hungarian Beef - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Veal Schnitzel - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Pumpkin Cream Soup - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Red Cabbage - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Cabbage Rolls - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Kolsch Stiegl - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Sausages  - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Käsespätzle - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Viennese Apple Strudel - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Spinach Salad - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Sausage Sampler - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Chechvar Beer - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Czechvar Beer - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Farmer's Plate - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Meinl Double Espresso - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Wienerschnitzel - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Austrian Taffelspitz - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Pork - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Espresso Martini - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Kasekrainer Sausage (Viennese Sausage With Cheese) - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
pumpkin soup - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
PAPRIKAHUHN - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
House Salad - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Celebrator Dopplebock - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Red Cabbage Salad - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Hofbrau Beer - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Hofbräu Maibock - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Sourbraten - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Chocolate torte - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Wiener Schnitzel - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Viennese Fried Mushrooms - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Sausage - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
  cheese Strudel - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 4:30PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Tue 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Grünauer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (74)
Special Occasion (72)
Good for a Date (60)
See All
Great Beer (57)
Fit for Foodies (53)
Creative Cuisine (51)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Worth the Drive (47)
Comfort Food (44)
Business Meals (39)
Good for Groups (38)
Romantic (35)
Historic (34)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Fun (29)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Cozy (28)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Casual (26)
Bar Seating (22)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Great for Lunch (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Seasonal (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Hot Spot (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Late-night Find (8)
People Watching (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Private Room (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Family Style (5)
Scenic View (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1872 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went there during restaurant week, the f ...

 
·Dined a day ago

Went there during restaurant week, the food taste delicious, but the portion my husband and I both think is too small.. will give it a try again for their regular menu.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We had impeccable service and food for l ...

 
·Dined a day ago

We had impeccable service and food for lunch. It was very busy, but the service didn't show it. The schnitzel is special. Very cold, good German beers. Nice size portions. Dessert was amazing! The chocolate flourless torte was my favorite - Mohr im Hemd.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was excellent. Our orders were t ...

 
·Dined a day ago

Service was excellent. Our orders were taken promptly and courses were brought out in a timely manner, without making us feel rushed! Our meals were cooked perfectly and exactly as we ordered! Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had not been in quite awhile so thoug ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We had not been in quite awhile so thought it was a good time to go back during KC Restaurant Week. We were NOT disappointed. The food was delicious and the service was great. Noted several other dishes on the menu we will go back and try.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food, on the pricy side but nice. ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Great food, on the pricy side but nice. Service is spotty, we had a server, she wasn't friendly until we got the check. I was disappointed in that, the food had some seasoning issues but overall-good. Good atmosphere and parking.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Just back from Germany and Czech so it i ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Just back from Germany and Czech so it is unfair to compare, but for a KC/local offering it was very good!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We chose to have dinner at Grünauer beca ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We chose to have dinner at Grünauer because we were looking for authentic Austrian food and not the typical "American-German" dishes. We were not disappointed and had a very good meal at a great historic building. Cost was a little high but in line with the style and the food did not disappoint. Found that their choices of beer and hard liquor was better than most restaurants in KC. My only complaint is that like ours table, much of their seating is along the wall which diminishes the style. They would be better served to replace the wall seating with standard tables to make the atmosphere more intimate.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful night! Great service, creative ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful night! Great service, creative menu. We will definitely be back. Love the ambiance as well.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit Vienna Austria two to three tim ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We visit Vienna Austria two to three times a year to visit family. To satisfy our need for authentic Austrian cuisine between trips to Vienna we dine at Grunauers. The service is excellent! Highly recommend for all occasions!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food, great service, and wid ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Exceptional food, great service, and wide selection of german beers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were both of the hi ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service were both of the highest quality. The menu is diverse and the meals are so full of flavor. It was truly an enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found the restaurant during restauran ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We found the restaurant during restaurant week, thought we'd try something new. The interior is very cool, lots to look at. Our young kids (6,8) joined us and the staff couldn't have been better with them. Very friendly, very knowledgeable about the menu. Recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for lunch during Restaurant Week ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We came for lunch during Restaurant Week. Grunauer is a favorite of ours and did not disappoint. The server was a little abrupt with one of our friends when she requested a different salad dressing than was offered on the fixed menu. It was unnecessary. We love the design of the place and, as folks who are travelers to Austria when we can, the fact that it is Austrian.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Great server! Good food. We went our ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great server! Good food. We went our first time during restaurant week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The waiter did not do very well. He woul ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The waiter did not do very well. He would disappear for long periods of time and when he was in the room it was very difficult to get his attention as he rarely looked in our direction. The corner where we sat was so dark it was difficult to see the menu. The amuse bouche that was supposed to accompany a Restaurant Week order never arrived. One dessert order was messed up. The apple strudel tasted good but the dough was so tough it could barely be cut with a fork.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

First time...nice décor, love preservati ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

First time...nice décor, love preservation of older building. Wait staff was very informative, pleasant and attentive. Food was very flavorful. Beer and wine selection was nice. Would suggest reservations as it filled up very quickly. Bar area looked fun and inviting.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Grunauer lived up to its reputation. Th ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Grunauer lived up to its reputation. The escalope of pork loin was tender and rich in a creamy, buttery sauce. I like how it was not overly breaded and fried. The Viennese style pancakes were just right for a lunch dessert, not too filling and not overly sweet.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dined with friends for restaurant week. ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Dined with friends for restaurant week. Delicious food, nice choices. Great service. Love this place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to Grunhauer. We came during ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

First time to Grunhauer. We came during restaurant week and had the dinner option. Beef shoulder with mashed potatoes was absolutely spectacular. My partner had the pork schnitzel and that was fantastic as well. Best meal I have had out in Kansas City hands down. Great beer and atmosphere. Highly recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was a little cold/abrupt at first ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Server was a little cold/abrupt at first but gradually became more engaging. Food was on point. Great beer.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Delicious food, frustrating service: The ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food, frustrating service:

The food was AMAZING. Everything was perfectly seasoned, well-plated and portions were ample.

My biggest complaint was with our server. Other servers talked to people about the menu and the options. Ours didn't. When we asked questions, she answered them, but as briefly as possible. The restaurant was mostly empty, so she wasn't over-worked. We ordered multiple courses and specifically asked for some time between courses. She said, oh of course! And each course came out practically on top of each other. I would have liked to eat each course while it was hot, but we had plates on top of plates sitting on our tiny table for two. We enjoyed the food, but we don't plan to return. If we're going to spend over $100 on a dinner for two, I expect better service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

Excellent food, get a reservation, order ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food, get a reservation, order any beer on tap.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, however, I was completely ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was good, however, I was completely disappointed in their lack of ability to accommodate allergies. We went here for Restaurant Week and specifically did research for allergies. We got there and was immediately told 'no substitutions' and they would not budge. I understand the food is mass produced but I did my research and knew what I could and could not have. Asking for a minor change should not result in me feeling like an outcast. The waitress was completely rude about it - if she had handled it another way, I'd probably be writing a different review.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

The food was amazing. The staff is very ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was amazing. The staff is very pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Peefect atmosphere to celebrate a family ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Peefect atmosphere to celebrate a family members birthday w brunch!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service!

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Wonderful food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very disappointed. When we arrived the c ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

Very disappointed. When we arrived the chef was in the bar. Probably not a good sign. Later in the evening...but not too late...8ish. Seemed as if the food was previously prepared. Looked like it was put together quickly and without any thought. Seemed like the food came from a buffet...Extremely disappointed especially for the price. Would not recommend this restaurant at all. Will never go there again. Definitely stay away. Terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Great restaurant for someone craving for ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great restaurant for someone craving for german food. Highly recommended!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years Eve

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Katie was our server and she did a pheno ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Katie was our server and she did a phenomenal job. The filet Oscar was incredible and cooked to a perfect medium rare.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went on New Years Eve. The food was v ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went on New Years Eve. The food was very good and the service was excellent. The price matches the quality. We will definitely try again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Josiah was a very attentive server with ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Josiah was a very attentive server with some great suggestions on menu items. The food was delicious, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Party of seven. We did not order appeti ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Party of seven. We did not order appetizers. Food was excellent and was served promptly. Server was knowledable about wines and menu items. A few in our party thought the menu was limited. Food seemed authentic German/Austrian.

Enjoyed our early dinner!

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first trip to Grunauer and we will d ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our first trip to Grunauer and we will definitely be back! Fantastic food and a very nice atmosphere. Beer selection, as you would imagine for a Belgian/German restaurant was outstanding. Very enjoyable experience!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Passing through Kansas City and always m ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Passing through Kansas City and always make it a point to ask locals their favorite places to eat. This was suggested by a local bartender at a great wine bar. As a lover of saukraut and most all German food, I was excited to try this place. The ambiance and decor is spot on. In an old depot style building, the use of old brick and tall ceilings gives this a modern feel, yet still warm and inviting. The service was good and the waitress answered all of our questions and have lots of suggestions. The food itself was a let down. Everything was a bit cold and underwhelming. The meat was pretty dry and as a restaurant person myself, I felt like the food had sat for a bit before being served, which was most likely the reason for a bit of lackluster. I would probably give this place a second try and credit the bad food to just an off night, which I understand happens.

Tags: Family Style, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Very pleasant dining experience. Staff w ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very pleasant dining experience. Staff was freindly helpful and made good suggestions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and atmosphere were both fantas ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food and atmosphere were both fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent as always!

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food in the authentic central ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Fantastic food in the authentic central European tradition. They have a wide selection of beers to choose from and a warm atmosphere to complement the warmth of the cooking.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, , Great Beer, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful place to spend your evening. T ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Wonderful place to spend your evening. This was our second year coming for Christmas Eve, and we will be back. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.