About Grünauer

101 W. 22nd Street
Historic Freight House
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Grünauer is a classic Viennese style restaurant with Central European influences of German, Hugarian, and international specialties. Peter Grünauer, executive chef, his son Nicholas, and daughter Elisabeth opened Grünauer in May of 2010. Peter is from Austria and his brother and sister still run their family restaurant in the Neubau region of Vienna. The menu offers simple straight-forward, and affordable cuisine high-lighting some of the best cuisine Central Europe has to offer. The menu here is meant to satisfy every customer that walks in the door. The Wunder Bar offers an array of wines, beer, and spirits unlike any other restaurant in Kansas City. The authentic Biergarten outside is one of kind as well. There is no other place in the city to match the atmosphere of Grünauer. We pride ourselves on offering the best customer service and knowledge of our product. We want to offer you a fine dining experience with a family feel so, make a reservation today!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Austrian, German

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; DINNER: Monday- Thursday: 4:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday:4:00pm - 11:00pm; BRUNCH: Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm (brunch menu served ALL DAY) WUNDER BAR: Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-1:00am Sunday: 11:30am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Baltimore

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 283-3234

Website:
http://grunauerkc.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking provided free of charge directly south of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Peter Grunauer

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come in this Sunday September 18th! We are having an authenic pig roast and Miles Bonny will be playing on the patio! Also 2nd ANNUAL OKTOBERFEST SEPTEMBER 30TH-OCTOBER 2ND!!! Call to inquire for more details!!

Restaurant Photos

Grünauer
Scharfe Kilbasa
Kalbsbratwurst
Stiegl Pils
Red Cabbage And Mashed Potatoes
Apfel Strudel mit Schlag
Sausage Duo
Schnitzel a la Holstein
Stuffed Pork Tenderloin
Schweinebraten
Cheese
Split Pea Lentil Curry Soup
pretzel
Tafelspitz
Jausenbrettl
Smoked salmon
Bavarian Creme
Staropramen Czech Beer
Stiegl Grapefruit Radler
Bread
Port Glühwein
Hungarian Beef Gulasch
Croquettes
Unnamed Cocktail
Szegediner Gulasch
Räucherforelle
Stiegl Goldbrau Beer
House Smoked Rainbow Trout
Staropramen
Stiegl Goldbrau
Sweet Waltz
Salad
Goulash
Tomato Bisque
Sausage Trio
Sausage Platter
Stiegl Piels
Krautfleckerl
Schnitzel
Reissdorf Kölsch
Hungarian Beef
Veal Schnitzel
Pumpkin Cream Soup
Red Cabbage
Kolsch Stiegl
Cabbage Rolls
Sausages
Käsespätzle
Viennese Apple Strudel
Spinach Salad
Sausage Sampler
Chechvar Beer
Farmer's Plate
Czechvar Beer
Austrian Taffelspitz
Meinl Double Espresso
Wienerschnitzel
Pork
Espresso Martini
Kasekrainer Sausage (Viennese Sausage With Cheese)
pumpkin soup
PAPRIKAHUHN
Sourbraten
House Salad
Wiener Schnitzel
Hofbräu Maibock
Celebrator Dopplebock
Hofbrau Beer
Red Cabbage Salad
Chocolate torte
Viennese Fried Mushrooms
Sausage
  cheese Strudel

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 5:00PM - 10:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Grünauer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Kansas City, MO
Best Ambiance
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Crossroads / Freight District / Boulevard ›

fit for foodies (121)
special occasion (118)
good for groups (72)
See All
neighborhood gem (64)
romantic (51)
great for lunch (44)
great for outdoor dining (40)
notable wine list (26)
vibrant bar scene (20)
great for brunch (17)
hot spot (15)
late-night find (11)
scenic view (9)
kid-friendly (8)
Sort By:
Newest
1610 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Grunauer many times, and ...

Dined 4 days ago

We have been to Grunauer many times, and have never had a bad experience. Our server Anthony was fun and witty, as well as being an excellent server.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best authentic Austrian food in the ...

Dined 4 days ago

The best authentic Austrian food in the Kansas City area and one of two restaurants with Germanic food in the region. Well worth the two hour drive for a meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I both hold Grunauer in h ...

Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I both hold Grunauer in high regard. Their food and service are consistently fantastic. It's hard to believe we found a place where we know that we will be satisfied with the entire experience every single time. Our server on Saturday was Daniel and he was awesome. Very helpful and personable. My husband and I order the A la Grunauer schnitzel for every visit - it's SO GOOD! We want to try other entrees but find it very hard to veer from our most favorite dish. We do like to try different appetizers and desserts each time around and we are never disappointed. I highly recommend treating yourself by going to this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Only thing that would have made our expe ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Only thing that would have made our experience better - traditional German music!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We always enjoy the food. The restauran ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We always enjoy the food. The restaurant is reliable in that the food tastes great no matter what you order or even if you order the same item at each visit. Many times restaurants can be "hit or miss". My Gin Martini tasted wonderful and was definitely not watered down. The only miss on the drink is that I asked for a twist of lime and received a twist of lemon instead without explanation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food excellent wait staff brings b ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food excellent wait staff brings back memories of Europe.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food and very attentive servic ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent food and very attentive service. The spätzle was outstanding and we really liked the variety of snitzles. We set up our reservation and our table was ready when we arrived with no waiting.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always unique and delicious. ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The food is always unique and delicious. Service is attentive and not stuffy or overly friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I've been here a few times and the food ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I've been here a few times and the food has never disappointed. Good service and a lively environment makes for a fun meal. It can get a little loud if it's full or a group is nearby.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic. Great food, great ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Absolutely fantastic. Great food, great service, great decor, great location, we plan on returning. Get schwarz johannisbeersaft!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good and the ambiance is co ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was good and the ambiance is comfortable and quiet.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic Austrian food. Fast and frien ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Authentic Austrian food. Fast and friendly service.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Warm and home like feeling . Great food ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Warm and home like feeling . Great food and great location downtown KC.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Great schnitzel, beer and authentic atmo ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Great schnitzel, beer and authentic atmosphere!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable evening

Dined on June 4, 2016

This was the first time we have eaten at Grunauer. I am not necessarily a fan of German cuisine. However, my meal was delicious. My friends raved about their food as well. It is a beautiful setting and our waiter was top-notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A Perennial Favorite

Dined on June 3, 2016

A quite-delicious dinner. Prompt seating, even on a First Friday. My wife and I both had the house salad which had an excellent balance of dressing and greens. The cucumbers in the salad had the seeds removed - a nice touch. My wife had the jaegerschnitzel and she gave me a few bites. Extremely tender, perfectly breaded, and the sauce was superb. Loved the spaetzle -- just the right amount of al dente. I had the Hungarian goulash (pork). The sauce was flavorful but I would have preferred just a bit more paprika. The pork was well-cooked. The richness of the dish was nicely offset by the piquant sauerkraut covering it. The bread dumpling had a nice caraway flavor but was extremely dense and not particularly good at helping with the sauce. We shared an apple strudel which was absolutely fabulous. (Disclosure: I've had Grunauer's apple strudel many times before and it's a favorite of mine.) The whipped cream was not overly sweet and served as a lovely contrast to the acidic flavor of the apples and the flaky pastry. Although a bit of cinnamon might be welcome, it is very successful without. Dinner was accompanied by a KC Bier Helles lager....quite malty and a slight bit shy of hops but very refreshing and a good selection with my entree.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent and our waiter ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

The service was excellent and our waiter was able to describe the entrees perfectly. Our food was prepared perfectly and the atmosphere was excellent.

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We expected More

Dined on May 29, 2016

The assigned server never showed. The staff present did there best. The food was not a good value; we found one dish seasoned to near bitterness; another dish was sent back and another dish ordered. The third dish was over breaded and needed sauce that it lacked.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and beer were amazing!

Dined on May 29, 2016

The staff was very helpful with recommended food and beers that out of this world!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

The food, service and overall presence w ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food, service and overall presence were ALL great!! Food was absolutely delicious! Would highly recommend and will be visiting again.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Couldn't have been more pleased.

Dined on May 28, 2016

Our server is one of the kindest people I've met and the food was truly unbelievable. This is one of the restaurants which have absolutely blown me away. We had the smoked salmon appetizer, braised beef, creamed spinach stuffed pork, and swiss roll dessert and each one of them was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was delicious. The beer, schn ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Everything was delicious. The beer, schnitzel, the streudel, all awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. We took our German exchange ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great food. We took our German exchange student and he agreed the food was very authentic and very well prepared.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our all-time favorite place in Kansas Ci ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our all-time favorite place in Kansas City! It reminds us a lot of being in Vienna. The sausages and topfenstrudel alone are worth the visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was charming, the food wa ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The atmosphere was charming, the food was wonderful but the best part was that we had a waiter who had been there since the opening and was very knowledgeable in regards to the menu which made this our first but not last visit a wonderful experience!!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We ate here on a Friday night and enjoye ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

We ate here on a Friday night and enjoyed our food very much. My companion started with the soup of the day, beer cheese, and i had the vichysoisse. Delicious. He had a schnitzel and i had the trout and it was all good. Our server gave me a wine recommendation which turned out very well. The restaurant is in the freight house district so it has a nice, old world appearance. Service was knowledgeable, friendly and professional. Parking can be a challenge. It is a shared parking lot, so you might have to walk.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

As always: my absolute MUST GO in Kansas ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

As always: my absolute MUST GO in Kansas City. Try the "Jausenbrettl" cold cuts, the Schnitzel's, the goulash stew, and the fantastic local brewed beer to wash it all down with. 5 stars for the food!! Would (and will) return anytime.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Sever was not attentive; main course cam ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Sever was not attentive; main course came out minutes after our cheese plate; food was decent enough but not good enough considering the price, poor service, and lack of atmosphere.

food4
ambience4
service4

The sausages are awesome - pick 1, 3, or ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The sausages are awesome - pick 1, 3, or maybe 6 as an appetizer and they're fantastic. The spatzel as a side is great too. Plenty of main courses to choose from and we really liked them all.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Just Like Grandmas

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is excellent! It tasted just like grandma from Hungary used to make. I would have been able to give 5 stars for everything, but the service was nothing special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

I felt like I was back in Munich, Germany with the food, ambiance, and drinks. Fantastic experience for a post-graduation celebration with my family. Ended up ordering a few meals and sharing them family style so we could try multiple dishes. We ordered what our server said was great and we loved every bite!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eat as if you are in Austria or Germany!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Gruenauer perfectly provides an Austrian/German dining experience. The service is superb, and the food and drink a perfect replication of dining in Salzburg, Munich, and Vienna! Our server (Megan) was exceptional!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best place in town

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Best place in town

food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, friendly and knowledgeable wa ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Good food, friendly and knowledgeable waiter, quiet atmosphere.

food4
ambience4
service4

Food was phenomenal. Service was excelle ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was phenomenal. Service was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dave

Dined on May 6, 2016

Nice experience. Good amount of tasty food. Excellent service by a knowledgeable waiter.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bavarian Dream

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

The ambiance is moody and old-world, yet hip. The service is stellar; each server has been fully informed and always capable with describing the menu items and giving detailed information about the options. Only place in the KC city limits to find some of these menu items! The apple strudel mit schlag is beyond delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Busser

Dined on May 1, 2016

Good food and waiter. Busser was reaching between us while we were still talking. Very rude and unnecessary.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and the service was top-notch ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great food and the service was top-notch; I was very impressed!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Dining Experience

Dined on May 1, 2016

This was my 3rd trip to the restaurant and each have been delightful, good food Great service and love the outdoor dining this last time, even with the train and trolley going by

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.