Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Grünauer

Grünauer is a classic Viennese style restaurant with Central European influences of German, Hugarian, and international specialties. Peter Grünauer, executive chef, his son Nicholas, and daughter Elisabeth opened Grünauer in May of 2010. Peter is from Austria and his brother and sister still run their family restaurant in the Neubau region of Vienna. The menu offers simple straight-forward, and affordable cuisine high-lighting some of the best cuisine Central Europe has to offer. The menu here is meant to satisfy every customer that walks in the door. The Wunder Bar offers an array of wines, beer, and spirits unlike any other restaurant in Kansas City. The authentic Biergarten outside is one of kind as well. There is no other place in the city to match the atmosphere of Grünauer. We pride ourselves on offering the best customer service and knowledge of our product. We want to offer you a fine dining experience with a family feel so, make a reservation today!

101 W. 22nd Street
Historic Freight House
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Austrian, German

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; DINNER: Monday- Thursday: 4:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday:4:00pm - 11:00pm; BRUNCH: Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm (brunch menu served ALL DAY) WUNDER BAR: Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-1:00am Sunday: 11:30am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Baltimore

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 283-3234

Website:
http://grunauerkc.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking provided free of charge directly south of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Peter Grunauer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come in this Sunday September 18th! We are having an authenic pig roast and Miles Bonny will be playing on the patio! Also 2nd ANNUAL OKTOBERFEST SEPTEMBER 30TH-OCTOBER 2ND!!! Call to inquire for more details!!

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 4:30PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Tue 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Grünauer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (103)
Great Beer (91)
Good for a Date (89)
See All
Special Occasion (81)
Good for Anniversaries (65)
Comfort Food (65)
Fit for Foodies (57)
Creative Cuisine (57)
Worth the Drive (51)
Romantic (47)
Business Meals (45)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Historic (43)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Good for Groups (42)
Casual (39)
Cozy (39)
Pre/post Theatre (37)
Bar Seating (34)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Sunday Lunch (33)
Great for Lunch (29)
Fun (28)
Notable Wine List (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Great for Brunch (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Family Style (11)
Seasonal (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Private Room (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Disabled Access (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Outstanding Value (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
People Watching (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Tasting Menu (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Scenic View (3)
Fireplace (2)
Live Sports (2)
Spicy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
1961 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Springfield)·Dined 4 days ago

Best German/Austrian food we've had in the States. After serving for 10 years in Germany, we have searched long and hard for good German food. Grunauer's is as good as any we had in Germany. Definitely worth going to.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Solid dinner across the board. Everyone enjoyed their entrees and drinks. We had the Räucherlachs (smoked salmon) and Gebackene Champignons (fried mushrooms) to start. Most folks got a salad, either Grünkohlsalat (Kale) or Rübensalat (Beet). A variety of entrees were ordered: Esterhazy Rostbraten (steak and potatoes), Bandnudeln (butternut squash pasta), and Forelle ala Neubau (trout) along with spaetzle and red cabbage as sides. All were good. We finished with the apple strudel. Again, excellent. If you are not drinking alcohol, try Almdudler, an Austrian soft drink.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

We went to Grunauer to thank my mother in law for watching our kids so much. She's quite German and loved the food, especially the spaetzle and schnitzel. Waitress was a bit slow but very busy so forgivable. Kids (11 and 8) ordered from adult menu (no kids menu) and loved their choices. We will go again as a family!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined 7 days ago

Love this place! The smoked salmon brings me back every time I'm in Kansas City!

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I met up with a couple of friends that I have not seen in ages. They had never been there before and I don't even once before and it did not it all disappoint. The service was knowledgeable and friendly and we enjoyed everything that we had

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent food. A wide selection of main dishes. Good service. A nice table. We liked it all. We would recommend Gruneuar to our best friend, expecting he would appreciate our mentioning them.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Waitress was super helpful explaining the different menu items, including the beers. Food was delicious and plentiful.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great dinner, first time experience! Thanks Anthony!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Authentic, tasty food that brought back memories. Great presentation and well prepared. Wait staff was attentive and thoughtful. I'd go back again and again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very good, authentic Austrian-German food, much like what I used to have overseas. The Jägerschnitzel over späetzle was outstanding, my husband enjoyed his gulasch (too much paprika for my taste), and his son had a trio of sausages that were tasty. The ambience was pleasant, and our server was efficient, except when she left during the drink order forgetting to take one person's order. Just a little thing. I would definitely go back when in KC.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My friend and I adore Grunauers. We come here often and are never disappointed. The service is always exceptional. We especially love the variety of food. Our favorites are the sausages, beer and cheese soup, and schnitzel.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was my second experience at Grunauer. Both times were fabulous. The food/service was speedy but the meal was perfectly cooked. Highly recommend for a cozy date night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It was a good experience!! Enjoyed the atmosphere and the food was very good!! I'm glad we went there and definitely will be back! The service was good and my drink was always filled!! So I had an overall excellent experience!! Thank you for a good time!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Wonderful place for a date. To my sweetheart there before the dinner rush. Very quiet and nice place to chat. Great food and priced well... you get what you pay for...(except for the hot tea... it's $4 a bag so be careful... we spent $12 on tea... little dumb... next time BYO teabags and ask for hot water)

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Repeat customer. Love this place. Service is excellent and ambiance is great. Went this time to celebrate my husbands birthday and when I mentioned it to our service provider, he got a nice desert at no charge.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great selection of authentic German dishes. Several soups and salads to completment or to build a small meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 7, 2017

I love the somewhat faded decadence of the decor. The casual dress of the servers (checked shirts and bluejeans) sets a very pleasant, laid-back ambience that perfectly prepares diners to receive hearty fare. While the menu features many "heavy" entrees, there is also a great selection of lighter items appropriate for any appetite. The beer selection is fabulous. My order is always served at the perfect temperature and in a gracious manner.

Tags: Romantic, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Enjoyed a great menu choice of gulashes I never expected, especially the Bohemian gulash. A wonderful mushroom in a thick sour cream and paprika sauce. It was mouth watering. The service was great with s very attentive waitstaff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food was superb as always. Portions were perfect and the dessert heavenly. Definitely will come again and again. The drink/wine/beer menu is excellent and a great representation of authentic German/Austrian fare

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Always delicious food and love the ambience! We can always account in this restaurant - it's one of our favorites in Kansas City!!!

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great food! Authentic just as if you were in Germany!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Good restaurant overall. I've dined here several times when I'm in KCMO and enjoy the German food. The schnitzel is excellent. The wine list is interesting and features German wines. The only criticism is the spaetzle arrived stone cold. Given how quickly the entree came out, it was obviously preplated and someone forgot to nuke it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 27, 2017

My wife and I were given a gift card at Christmas and finally used it. This was our first trip to Grunauer and we will be back. Every thing was good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We were a group of 4 and ordered 3 entrees to share. The spicy beef gulasch with spätzle was very tasty. The Roast pork with bread dumplings and red cabbage was the favorite of all in our party. The Pork with a mushroom sauce and spätzle was the second most favored. Our server was very knowledgeable and had great suggestions. We will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere ... great food. The beer selection is very nice too

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We lived in Germany for 3 years & this food was comparable to any good authentic German gasthous!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food. Every time we come to KC we go here.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Fantastic food, fantastic service, good German beer selection and an over all great ambiance. Took my wife here for our anniversary and walked away very impressed and eager to return some day!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Ambience and food was great! German entrees cooked to perfection and full of authentic flavor! Love the red cabbage!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I am originally from Austria. Eating here felt like coming home. The food was delicious and all the staff was friendly and polite.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Delicious food with a great atmosphere. The service is always very good and knowledgeable. The price is very reasonable for what you get ($20 plate for a delicious meal in a place with great ambiance).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

One of our favorite places! Fantastic coffee, and the strudel - yum!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Cozy, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My wife is German so, it's a place she will like. We come here every year on our anniversary. The staff is very friendly and knows the special meals and regular fare. The food has great flavor and is filling. The food is a mixture of German & Austrian culture. Since it's a special occasion for us we like to dress up some but, most diners are in business casual attire. It's best to make a reservation on the weekends. For two people you will spend around $100.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day everything was great from the food to the service. Would not hesitate to go again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our second time here, this time for Valentine's Day. The food is absolutely phenomenal. Pretty authentic as well. Beers and wines you won't find many other places in the city. Awesome atmosphere. Definitely worth the money and we can't wait to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We certainly enjoyed our Valentine's Day dinner. Delicious food!! The strolling violinist was a wonderful touch!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Second experience was as enjoyable as the first. Authentic German cuisine. Wait staff is attentive & well versed in answering questions.

Tags: Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I ate here for an early Valentines date. The food was great. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and helpful in suggestions for what to eat. The waiter was also helpful in assisting us in selecting a wine for dinner. The restaurant was comfortable and not overly crowded or noisy even with a couple of large parties in the dining room. I highly recommend Grunauer for a change of pace in food selection.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

One of the best dining experiences in Kansas City

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Grunauer is one of my go-to restaurants in KC for business or casual dining. Phenomenal service and food. The bar is small, but nice, and you can make a meal of drinks, appies, and dessert if you like. Don't forget to save room for apple struedel... the best this side of the Shoenbrun Castle in Vienna!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.