Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Grünauer

Grünauer is a classic Viennese style restaurant with Central European influences of German, Hugarian, and international specialties. Peter Grünauer, executive chef, his son Nicholas, and daughter Elisabeth opened Grünauer in May of 2010. Peter is from Austria and his brother and sister still run their family restaurant in the Neubau region of Vienna. The menu offers simple straight-forward, and affordable cuisine high-lighting some of the best cuisine Central Europe has to offer. The menu here is meant to satisfy every customer that walks in the door. The Wunder Bar offers an array of wines, beer, and spirits unlike any other restaurant in Kansas City. The authentic Biergarten outside is one of kind as well. There is no other place in the city to match the atmosphere of Grünauer. We pride ourselves on offering the best customer service and knowledge of our product. We want to offer you a fine dining experience with a family feel so, make a reservation today!

101 W. 22nd Street
Historic Freight House
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Austrian, German

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; DINNER: Monday- Thursday: 4:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday:4:00pm - 11:00pm; BRUNCH: Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm (brunch menu served ALL DAY) WUNDER BAR: Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-1:00am Sunday: 11:30am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Baltimore

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 283-3234

Website:
http://grunauerkc.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking provided free of charge directly south of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Peter Grunauer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come in this Sunday September 18th! We are having an authenic pig roast and Miles Bonny will be playing on the patio! Also 2nd ANNUAL OKTOBERFEST SEPTEMBER 30TH-OCTOBER 2ND!!! Call to inquire for more details!!

Grünauer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (69)
Special Occasion (67)
Great Beer (59)
See All
Good for a Date (53)
Comfort Food (51)
Worth the Drive (45)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Good for Groups (35)
Business Meals (33)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Casual (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Romantic (25)
Great for Lunch (25)
Bar Seating (22)
Cozy (22)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Fun (21)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Seasonal (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
People Watching (6)
Historic (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Scenic View (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Family Style (2)
Tapas (2)
Private Room (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
2087 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Seriously delicious German food in an interesting and historic building

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food and service made for a memorable meal and an enjoyable time for all!

Tags: Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

We brought our out of town visitors for the Sunday Frühschoppen special menu. It was amazing! Everything was authentic, and beautifully prepared. You made our experience memorable, and we will be back again and again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

This was our first time here and we found it to be an excellent choice. Josiah, our waiter, was very attentive and informative. While the schnitzel was excellent, the Julius Meinl coffee alone is worth the visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Always wonderful. Great staff, great food. wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Always good food and good service! My husband and I often order a few sides and seasonal sausages to share. Currywurst is amazing!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

After living in Germany for over a year, I am always on the look-out for good German food. Gruenauer hit the spot. Their schnitzel was outstanding. My husband ordered the trout and loved it, and my daughter had a pot-roasted beef dish (Tafelspitz) that was outstanding...melt in your mouth, flavorful beef with root vegetables. Our waitress knew the menu very well and was able to recommend wine and food that we all ended up enjoying perfectly. We will definitely return to enjoy the food, good service and lovely ambience at Gruenauer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

First time to visit. Date night for my spouse and I. The ambiance was great and the food was delicious! Our waiter was knowledgeable, polite, gracious and friendly. He was also patient with our questions. We had a very enjoyable experience and will definitely return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

The food was excellent. The best German food I've had in a long time. I will definitely be going back. I recommend eating either the Spatzelfanne or the Jager Schnitzel Vom Schwein. Don't forget to order the Apple Strudel! It's Amazing!

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Grunauer is a great restaurant. I have been to Austria and Germany and their food id as authentic as any German restaurant I have ever been in. The service was great and Gruauer has a very extensive beer and wine menu. I would recommend Grunauer to anyone that wants great, authentic German/Austrian food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Casual, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Everything was amazing! The food and service was the best. Our server was Matt and he was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent server and the food was top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We were shopping at Halls and two salesmen there recommended the restaurant. As we are not from Kansas City, we appreciated their helping us make a reservation. We had great German and Austrian beer. I had the Bohemian Wild Mushroom Goulash. It was perfectly seasoned and delicious. My husband had local sausages and the best pomme frites we've had on this side of the Atlantic. Great decor and atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2017

It was disappointing for 2/3 diners. One diner did enjoy his meal. He had the Jäger Schnitzel Vom Schwein- Pork scallopini with a mushroom cream sauce served with spinach spätzle and liked it a lot. I had the beet salad and the beets were undercooked and it was not a particularly inspiring salad. The service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I took a good friend to Grunauer for her birthday lunch. The ambience, food, and service were
all excellent.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Very good flavorful food. I have had spatzle many times, but the spinach spatzle was amazing. Very delicious meal from start to finish and good service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Always fantastic food! This one of our favorite restaurants in KCMO, it never disappoints!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 6, 2017

First time, very impressed! Delicious food and great service. What more could I ask for!? We will be back again soon!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Been here before, the Schnitzel is always amazing. We requested the patio on the reservation for my friend's birthday and they totally accommodated us on a busy First Friday. We had the pretzel and chicken strips for and appetizer, both were good. My friend had the steak medallions (loved it) and my other friend had the paprika chicken (she did not care for it), but she is kind of strange and picky when it comes to food. I had the spinach stuffed schnitzel.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We attend First Fridays on a regular basis and always eat here before we enjoy the art. Would recommend this restaurant to all my friends and family.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

The staff was super friendly and punctual. Our waitress was really knowledgeable about not just the menu, but the very extensive wine menu and paired a wine that fit both of our meal choices perfectly. The atmosphere was very romantic and the noise level was quiet. I could not have been luckier. My husband found the perfect place to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. Thank you to you and the entire staff (including your chefs, our meals were AMAZING!), who made this memorable event just that, something we will forever cherish! - with much love and gratitude, Mr. & Mrs. Hiegert

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent and authentic Austro-German restaurant, great food, especially the Schnitzel and Schweinebraten, the Grünaur Spargel is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent food but a little pricey. Wide menu options but smaller portions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Food here is authentic Austrian/German/Viennese and is delicious. Variety of choices and styles of food within those cuisines and everything you try is wonderful. We've been there twice this month when visiting the city and would highly recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We had the most amazing time here! Enjoyed a couple of Austrian beers in the beirgarten and our sever, Shawn, was extremely pleasant and helpful in explaining the menu and offering a lot of suggestions for Kansas City touring in general. Great dinner! Tasty and pleasant evening. We loved the potato and cucumber salad as well as the cheese and sausage fritters on the bar appetizers menu. My schnitzel was also delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Great Beer, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

The key for an ethnic restaurant is to replicate the native flavors and dishes. While this can be difficult, Grunauer's menu, beer selections and taste mimic their namesake in Vienna impeccably. From schnitzel to goulash, the dishes transported our group from a Kansas City restaurant to an Austrian Gasthaus.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Trouble reserving a large booth for 5:45 for 7 & this isn't the first time. Throughout our stay the booths were unoccupied. Don't understand!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

We made a reservation about an hour before we came and were seated quickly when we arrived. The restaurant shares a parking area with several good eating places, so allow walking time. My wife and I shared the spaetzle for an appetizer, she had a glass of wine, and we shared a snittzel. No dessert. The food was excellent, the service very good, and the timber frame environment nice. and maybe I am getting old, but 62 bucks for all of that, including a tip, for sharing one appetizer, sharing one entree, and a single glass of wine and water, seemed a bit high.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 21, 2017

First time here and loved the Freight House historic setting. My wife's family is from Austria and the food was spot on authentic. Delicious! Service was outstanding with a little history from our waiter on the building and area. The crepes were a nice touch for a dessert. Will definitely go back for another special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Passed through Kansas City twice in two weeks, liked it enough the first time to search them out on the return trip. Fantastic Austrian fare, great service, fantastic wines. Would absolutely recommend

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Amazing little slice of authentic Austrian cuisine and culture! Fantastic service, food and atmosphere. We will definitely dine here again the next time we aware in KC.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 20, 2017

The service was great and the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We invited friends as a gift to celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary. Chef Matthias Seyfrid made a special Bavarian dish for all of us as well as a couple of other items. Our waiter, Anthony, was amiable and very helpful throughout our long lunch. Sehr Gemutlich!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Food was great! I had the trout and enjoyed every bit of it. Service was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Outstanding. We have wanted to come to Grunauer for about a year now. It was preconcert dining and did not disappoint. The service was great, food high quality with large portions, a lot to choose from and the dining room is beautiful. Can't wait to dine again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Came here for an anniversary lunch date with our almost 2-year-old after the babysitter canceled on us. Excellent service and the server knew how to cater to toddlers--lidded cup, extra napkins, small appetizer utensils, etc., and she didn't make us feel guilty for bringing her along! The food was outstanding--he had the goulash, I had the sausage sampler. Kiddo had the backhendl (fried chicken and French fries) and we are looking forward to having the leftovers! I'd go back in a heartbeat, with and without the kiddo.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We had a wonderful meal, and my wife's trout was outstanding. She was here for her birthday, and she loves trout, and the fish was cooked to perfection. We would probably come more often, if there were more fish entres. But I know that Germany and Austria are noted for their meats and sausages. My wife eats fish more than meat.
We had eel, when we visited Germany and the Czech Rep., so that seems to be popular there. It was really excellent. I guess they aren't popular here, but we really loved them Central Europe.
The Grunauer Veltliner spritzer with cucumbers was a hit with my wife. We even had to buy some of the cucumber liquor later, do we could make more ourselves at home this Summer.
Overall, a very lovely evening. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Grunauer is a wonderful place for truly authentic Viennese cuisine. We savored every bite from the wursts and freshly baked pretzels to start our meal, to the perfect schnitzels and sublime flavors of the Goulash. Such a treat! I can't wait to go back and try something new.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great service! Awesome space and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great food. No blue cheese olives for martinis. Unthinkable!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.