Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Grünauer

Grünauer is a classic Viennese style restaurant with Central European influences of German, Hugarian, and international specialties. Peter Grünauer, executive chef, his son Nicholas, and daughter Elisabeth opened Grünauer in May of 2010. Peter is from Austria and his brother and sister still run their family restaurant in the Neubau region of Vienna. The menu offers simple straight-forward, and affordable cuisine high-lighting some of the best cuisine Central Europe has to offer. The menu here is meant to satisfy every customer that walks in the door. The Wunder Bar offers an array of wines, beer, and spirits unlike any other restaurant in Kansas City. The authentic Biergarten outside is one of kind as well. There is no other place in the city to match the atmosphere of Grünauer. We pride ourselves on offering the best customer service and knowledge of our product. We want to offer you a fine dining experience with a family feel so, make a reservation today!

101 W. 22nd Street
Historic Freight House
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Austrian, German

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; DINNER: Monday- Thursday: 4:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday:4:00pm - 11:00pm; BRUNCH: Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm (brunch menu served ALL DAY) WUNDER BAR: Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-1:00am Sunday: 11:30am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Baltimore

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 283-3234

Website:
http://grunauerkc.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking provided free of charge directly south of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Peter Grunauer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come in this Sunday September 18th! We are having an authenic pig roast and Miles Bonny will be playing on the patio! Also 2nd ANNUAL OKTOBERFEST SEPTEMBER 30TH-OCTOBER 2ND!!! Call to inquire for more details!!

Grünauer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (57)
Special Occasion (53)
Great Beer (52)
See All
Good for a Date (47)
Worth the Drive (40)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Romantic (32)
Business Meals (31)
Good for Groups (29)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Comfort Food (27)
Casual (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Fun (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Cozy (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Healthy (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Seasonal (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Live Sports (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2132 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Food was excellent, as always! Asked server to recommend beer based on my tastes. He knew the beer I was talking about and recommended a great beer that the restaurant served. Really enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Entree was excellent and staff was knowledgeable, but not overly attentive. My wine glass was chipped and it took me quite a while to get someone's attention to replace it.

Food was very, very good. Dessert wasn't great and I would skip dessert next time I go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Traditional Austrian food. Great bar menu. Could use better acoustics.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Good food and good beer list. Fun atmosphere. Little pricey for what it is but definitely fun. Overall, I would come here again.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Service was great. This is our second time eating there. The first time I thought the food a bit bland. But gave it another try. I ordered the filet, and it was not seasoned and a bit tough. I'd say the food needs a bit of a revamp.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Authentic German/Austrian food done very well. Staff are very pleasant, knowledgeable and professional. After eating at Edelweiss in Colorado Springs earlier this year, my wife and I wanted to look for a similar experience in the metro area. We almost never drive thirty minutes to eat, but have no problem doing so to eat at Grünauer.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We had a group of eight and received excellent service. Staff quite knowledgeable and responsive. Schnitzels, sausages, trout, red cabbage, smoked salmon appetizer and apple strudel: all were beautifully prepared and delicious. Great ambiance, and good beer and wine selection. We enjoyed our evening immensely.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Delicious...lived in Germany for 3 years and found the schintzel quite authentic...only downside for me was the breading was a little loose, still wonderful and will return again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Tried Grünauer for the first time to celebrate our 21st Anniversary. Food was excellent. Everything was made from quality ingredients and tasted great, but arrive hungry because like all Germanic cuisine, the entrees are a bit on the heavy side. Our server and the manager were very attentive, professional and pleasant. The location inside the Freight House is a bit echo-y, but the decor is nice and the interior is very interesting. You pay about what the meal is worth, neither too pricey nor a huge bargain.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Great food - lots of good options. Good coffee. Good service

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

If you like German Food, you will absolutely love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Excellent selection of authentic German / Bavarian cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine here. Good for before and after concerts/operas at the Kauffman Center nearby. Great Viennese food and coffee.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Excellent service. Servers are well-trained. You can ask for the recommendation from them. The selections of beer are very good and price is not too high. Their dishes are quite huge and good valued. Desserts are delicious too. We have been there many times and this restaurant never failed us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

We had received gift cards from a friend, and finally decided on a day and time to visit. I can't say enough about what an all around excellent dining experience this was. The ambience was wonderful, the service was superb, and the food was beyond amazing. Our server was tremendously knowledgable about the beer, wine and menu items. Simply a fantastic dining experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Had dinner with 3 other guests and 2 of them don't care for. Austrian/German food. Everyone had a different dinner plate and the sizes were very filling. It's a little noisy but getting an accordion player or an small German music-playing band would be fantastic. Btw, 1 of the 2 who didn't like Austrian/German food got converted and definitely wants to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

My husband and I ate at Grunauer's for the first time last weekend. What a lovely restaurant. The space is very attractive. Although it is a rather spacious dining room, with a very high peaked wooden ceiling, it was nice and quiet . The food and service were excellent. We'll eat there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Grunauer's makes schnitzel every bit as good as what we've had in Vienna. The menu is authentic Austrian and all items are good. I'm just stuck on how extraordinarily good they make their schnitzel. Good bar too. Overall, a great dining experience and one of our favorite restaurants in all of Kansas City.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Food and drink was fantastic. Service lacked a lot. We would have ordered more drinks but our server barely acknowledged us. Took near 30 minutes before taking our order.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Not the place it used to be. The food is cold and more befitting of a casual chain.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

GREAT SERVICE! Very attentive without being intrusive. Fantastic Jaeger Schnitzel!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Grünauer never disappoints. This week I took a friend there on he occasion if his 65th birthday. A big one! He wanted something special, but personal and above all, dignified. We each ordered three assorted wursts. The sausages were excellent; the mustard and horseradish divine. Because I have a food allergy, I needed to substitute sautéed spinach for saurkraut. The spinach was prepared expertly. My companion enjoyed crepes for dessert. They were hazelnut cream-filled and according to him, just the right special touch for this memorable dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Arrived a little early, the host greeted my party and seated us immediately at our table. The server, Daniel, was cheerful and very knowledgeable regarding the menu and the German beer selection. The meals were thoroughly enjoyed by each of the five in our party, my selection was the Bauernschmaus. The pork was amazing and the sauerkraut was sweet.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

For some reason this time, my Schnitzel a la Holstein seemed dry, and the anchovies seemed old. But this has not been my usual experience.
Hence, I recommend Grunauer's.

Tags: Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 24, 2017

I have been to Grunauer many times. I have never been disappointed. The waiters are helpful and attentive without hovering. The beverage offerings are in keeping with the Austrian food. I will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Absolutely amazing place for German food. Loved the apple strudel drink and dessert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 23, 2017

First time dining there. Excellent in every way. Great recommendations from our server. Wished we had room for the dessert of the day!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 23, 2017

My wife and I have been here several times the food and service is always excellent. You will not be disappointed. 😋

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Date night for a birthday celebration. Waiter was amazing, very attentive, and helped guide us through the menu. Best service I've ever received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Very nice! Everyone enjoyed their meal and our server was very knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We had a great time at Grunauer this past weekend for brunch. We had a group of 8, and everyone found something to their liking on the menu. The brunch items were outstanding and it was nice being able to order from the lunch menu, too (the Schnitzel was pretty amazing). Highly recommend, for lunch, brunch or dinner !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Son was home from college and it was his first time. He really enjoyed. We will bring him again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Our meal and service was great at Grunaur. Super unusual cocktails and the service was outstanding. Katie helped us and she spoke "menu" fluently. We'll be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Our server did an excellent job of assessing my beer taste preferences and then recommending the perfect solution.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Casual, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Friends in town from Pennsylvania. Wanted to take them somewhere they haven't been. They loved the food! (As do we!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I love this place. I eat there every chance I get. Authentic German/Austrian food. The Spatzel is amazing as is their schnitzel. Great wine list and beer selection.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Grünauers is a consistently excellent restaurant. Having lived in Europe for a number of years I can say this is as close to Austrian food as any restaurant I have visited in the US.

Don't change anything!

Dave

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Birthday dinner. The Hefeweisen beer is the best. We had pork shanks and sautéed liver. Service was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 31, 2017

I have been a Grunauer patron since the restaurant first opened and it is the restaurant where my daughters and I celebrate special occasions. I love the cuisine. We had a friend of our family visiting Kansas City for the first time so we wanted to share our favorite restaurant with her. The food was great but our waitress was terrible. She was not attentive to our table at all though the table next to us received frequent visits from her to attend to their requests. I would add her name but she never introduced herself as is customary by the Grunauer staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Casual, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Excellent Viennese/German fare. Great friendly service. Good beer/Wine selection although I do not personally drink. The schnitzel was top notch as was the spetzel. Wife had salmon special and though I do not particularly care for salmon, I thought it was delicious. Coffee was superb, as was strudel. I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.