About Grünauer

101 W. 22nd Street
Historic Freight House
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Grünauer is a classic Viennese style restaurant with Central European influences of German, Hugarian, and international specialties. Peter Grünauer, executive chef, his son Nicholas, and daughter Elisabeth opened Grünauer in May of 2010. Peter is from Austria and his brother and sister still run their family restaurant in the Neubau region of Vienna. The menu offers simple straight-forward, and affordable cuisine high-lighting some of the best cuisine Central Europe has to offer. The menu here is meant to satisfy every customer that walks in the door. The Wunder Bar offers an array of wines, beer, and spirits unlike any other restaurant in Kansas City. The authentic Biergarten outside is one of kind as well. There is no other place in the city to match the atmosphere of Grünauer. We pride ourselves on offering the best customer service and knowledge of our product. We want to offer you a fine dining experience with a family feel so, make a reservation today!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Austrian, German

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; DINNER: Monday- Thursday: 4:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday:4:00pm - 11:00pm; BRUNCH: Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm (brunch menu served ALL DAY) WUNDER BAR: Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-1:00am Sunday: 11:30am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Baltimore

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 283-3234

Website:
http://grunauerkc.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking provided free of charge directly south of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Peter Grunauer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come in this Sunday September 18th! We are having an authenic pig roast and Miles Bonny will be playing on the patio! Also 2nd ANNUAL OKTOBERFEST SEPTEMBER 30TH-OCTOBER 2ND!!! Call to inquire for more details!!

Restaurant Photos

Grünauer
Scharfe Kilbasa
Kalbsbratwurst
Stiegl Pils
Red Cabbage And Mashed Potatoes
Sausage Duo
Apfel Strudel mit Schlag
Schnitzel a la Holstein
Stuffed Pork Tenderloin
Schweinebraten
Cheese
Split Pea Lentil Curry Soup
pretzel
Tafelspitz
Jausenbrettl
Bavarian Creme
Smoked salmon
Stiegl Grapefruit Radler
Staropramen Czech Beer
Bread
Port Glühwein
Hungarian Beef Gulasch
Croquettes
Unnamed Cocktail
Szegediner Gulasch
Stiegl Goldbrau Beer
Räucherforelle
House Smoked Rainbow Trout
Staropramen
Stiegl Goldbrau
Sweet Waltz
Salad
Goulash
Tomato Bisque
Sausage Trio
Sausage Platter
Stiegl Piels
Krautfleckerl
Schnitzel
Reissdorf Kölsch
Hungarian Beef
Veal Schnitzel
Pumpkin Cream Soup
Red Cabbage
Cabbage Rolls
Kolsch Stiegl
Sausages
Käsespätzle
Viennese Apple Strudel
Spinach Salad
Sausage Sampler
Chechvar Beer
Czechvar Beer
Farmer's Plate
Meinl Double Espresso
Wienerschnitzel
Austrian Taffelspitz
Pork
Espresso Martini
Kasekrainer Sausage (Viennese Sausage With Cheese)
pumpkin soup
PAPRIKAHUHN
House Salad
Celebrator Dopplebock
Red Cabbage Salad
Hofbrau Beer
Hofbräu Maibock
Sourbraten
Chocolate torte
Wiener Schnitzel
Viennese Fried Mushrooms
Sausage
  cheese Strudel

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Grünauer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City
Best Food
Kansas City, MO
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City, MO
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Crossroads / Freight District / Boulevard ›

Special Occasion (99)
Fit for Foodies (89)
Good for Groups (58)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Romantic (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Great for Lunch (35)
Notable Wine List (23)
Hot Spot (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Scenic View (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Kid-friendly (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Great Beer (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1643 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had a fabulous date with my fiancé! Roma ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 3 days ago

Had a fabulous date with my fiancé! Romantic table for two by the window offered great combo of privacy and people watching. Server (Carly) gave amazing service. Absolutely delicious food. Get brave and try something outside your normal comfort zone. It's worthwhile. Good portions, enough for leftovers, good value. Will definitely return and suggest Grunaur to friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fun, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed ourse ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves while dining at Grunauer. The service was exceptional, and the food authentic Austrian dishes! We will definitely return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very impressed with the service. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

I was very impressed with the service. Amanda did an awesome job meeting our needs and was very helpful. The food was absolutely delicious and served within a reasonable amount of time. Just an overall great experience for dinner. Thank you

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Organic, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had no idea what to expect but it was re ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Had no idea what to expect but it was recommended by a friend.

All aspects of the evening were excellent - Food and Service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A gem we have overlooked. An delightful ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

A gem we have overlooked. An delightful menu with extraordinary sauces. Great spot for people who appreciate good food.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Typical German faire slanted toward the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Typical German faire slanted toward the Austrian side. Several Austrian wines. A reasonably pleasant restaurant with reasonably good food at reasonable prices

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Comparing this to another German Restaur ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Comparing this to another German Restaurant in southern KC, the food here was way overpriced for what you get. The flavor was decent, but having German food somewhere else within the city, the flavor could have been better. I ordered the beef sauerbraten. It was good, but it could have more of the sour sauce on the meat instead of all of it being in the cabbage. If a salad on the side went with the meal, I could understand the price of $24. Yes, we did get some bread (1 basket), but having to be gluten free, I could not eat the bread. Others at my table said the bread was dry and not very good. You can get this same meal with a huge roll at the other German Restaurant for half the price. I guess you are paying for the ambiance?

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Wonderful food and a perfect setting! Re ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wonderful food and a perfect setting! Relaxed atmosphere and great for all types of groups!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great as always. On the most recent visi ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great as always. On the most recent visit, had the Sunday pork shank special for two --it was both delicious and a good value.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has now become our "go to" restaura ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This has now become our "go to" restaurant. The food is outstanding and has a home made quality that you can really taste as well as a comfort food feeling from the dishes. The menu selection is pure Austrian and the schnitzels are beyond comparison. The Austrian beer selections are delicious and pair well with the meals. Highly recommend this great restaurant to anyone who would like to experience Austrian food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was such a great experience! Servic ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was such a great experience! Service was a bit slow at first but got better as we went along. Everything we ordered was fantastic. Highly recommend! Better for a group than a date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Occasion: Anniversary dinner First time ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Occasion: Anniversary dinner

First time eating at Grunauer

Food: Overall, the food had good flavor. However, our chicken dish was tough. Cocktails were very good, though a bit overpriced for the size.

Service: Service was below average compared to other restaurants that offer a similar environment, experience and price point. Greeter was very pleasant, but the experience from there was somewhat dissapointing. It was our first time going to a German/Austrian-inspired restaurant, which we were excited about. However, wait staff did not explain the unique menu well at all and rushed through answers we had. Even smirked after we asked what some of the names of dishes were. From there, wait staff wasn't nearly as attentive as we've experienced at other restaurants. It could have been because we were there on a weeknight, so maybe we'll try it again in the future on a weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Excellent and authentic food and great s ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent and authentic food and great service. Would definitely recommend to foodies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere and fantastic food. We ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great atmosphere and fantastic food. We will be back sometime soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic German/Austrian cuisine. The ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Authentic German/Austrian cuisine. The mixed salad was exceptional! The entrees were plentiful and well prepared. The atmosphere in Grunauer's is upbeat and happy. We will definitely dine there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Love it, wonderfully authentic German fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Love it, wonderfully authentic German food! Exceptional beer list. I haven't eaten outside but that space looks lovely!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, menu options were impressive. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Good food, menu options were impressive. One of our four meals was inadvertently missed but the staff responded quickly and saved our night. Great staff.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Grunauer did their usual good job with o ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Grunauer did their usual good job with our late Sunday afternoon birthday dinner. Service was a click slow getting starting but went well once underway. They also handled an unexpected additional guest with grace and ease.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We've been here more than a few times an ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We've been here more than a few times and each visit brings the same great food and fun beer list to sample different items. It can get a bit loud in there, so plan accordingly, but it's always a treat to eat there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

What an amazing evening! I had asked the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

What an amazing evening! I had asked the restaurant for a quiet table since we were celebrating our anniversary. When we checked in they told us one of their best tables was actually in the middle of the room. We agreed to take their word. The setting is beautiful- a restored brick building. Our waiter, Daniel R, was very helpful with suggestions and came across as loving the food and helping others discover it. We loved what we ordered! ( I copied pictures from Yelp with their names to help) At dessert time the restaurant paid for our dessert. We will definitely be back!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic. Service was great; b ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was fantastic. Service was great; bar was fantastic and the bill was reasonable. The only thing to detract was the dining room was hot- probably 80 degrees. It was July and the high that day had been 100, but it was just warm enough to notice.

Otherwise, it was a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great authentic food. Top notch service ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great authentic food. Top notch service. My favorite restaurant in KC!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grunauer fit the bill for my friends and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Grunauer fit the bill for my friends and I. The lunch service was on time and at the ready. The Schnitzell and Bratwurst appetizers were enthusiastically received.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The sausage and service are awesome!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The sausage and service are awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The service was wonderful and the food w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The service was wonderful and the food was delicious. More than any of us could eat! Strudel was the best I ever had! Great wine list and beer choices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding food and beverage selections ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Outstanding food and beverage selections and excellent service. If you don't save room for dessert you should get an order to go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Grunauer's is always top notch. Having ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Grunauer's is always top notch. Having family that is German and Austrian, it is nice to have authentic food and drink so close to home. Fantastic as usual..

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm Austrian. The food is just like Mot ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I'm Austrian. The food is just like Mother made. outstanding & authentic.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at an authentic Austrian rest ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

First time at an authentic Austrian restaurant. The beer selection was great. The various sausages were delicious. The cured meat was a GOOD appetizer. The bacon, sausage and smoked ham main course was plate licking good. Will have to come back to try the rest of the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a corporate pilot who travels all ove ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

As a corporate pilot who travels all over the world I was looking for something a little out of the ordinary in K.C. to meet up with family/friends and Grünauer was spot on!! Great atmosphere and feel to this restaurant. The staff was excellent as well as the food. Everyone in the group enjoyed our time that evening and I'm sure, when back in K.C. and full of BBQ, we will venture back in...Maybe even before the BBQ?!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent....the atmosphere ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was excellent....the atmosphere is just plain fun with an old world feel.....and the service was just fantastic.

You'll see us again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious authentic Austrian cuisine - c ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Delicious authentic Austrian cuisine - cool atmosphere and friendly service. Totally recommend the Schnitzel and a tall Radler

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointed in the food! My husb ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Very disappointed in the food! My husband chose to celebrate his birthday with our family at Grunauer. Admittedly, we had not been there in a year. We had previously enjoyed the food and were looking forward to a wonderful dinner. That most definitely was not the case! Had it been just one entree, we would have assumed that it was a fluke. However, the Backhendl, Cordon Bleu, and two orders of Veal Schnitzel were all equally bad. They were overcooked, over breaded, and very dry. We were used to being able to cut our entrees with forks. These were so tough, that even the sharp knives provided needed very firm pressure to cut the meat. On the positive, the red cabbage was fantastic. In fact, it became the main part of our dinners. We had the Apfelstrudel and the mushroom appetizer. They were good. The service was good and our server, Adam B., was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

We have been to Grunauer many times, and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have been to Grunauer many times, and have never had a bad experience. Our server Anthony was fun and witty, as well as being an excellent server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best authentic Austrian food in the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The best authentic Austrian food in the Kansas City area and one of two restaurants with Germanic food in the region. Well worth the two hour drive for a meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I both hold Grunauer in h ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My husband and I both hold Grunauer in high regard. Their food and service are consistently fantastic. It's hard to believe we found a place where we know that we will be satisfied with the entire experience every single time. Our server on Saturday was Daniel and he was awesome. Very helpful and personable. My husband and I order the A la Grunauer schnitzel for every visit - it's SO GOOD! We want to try other entrees but find it very hard to veer from our most favorite dish. We do like to try different appetizers and desserts each time around and we are never disappointed. I highly recommend treating yourself by going to this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only thing that would have made our expe ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Only thing that would have made our experience better - traditional German music!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

We always enjoy the food. The restauran ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We always enjoy the food. The restaurant is reliable in that the food tastes great no matter what you order or even if you order the same item at each visit. Many times restaurants can be "hit or miss". My Gin Martini tasted wonderful and was definitely not watered down. The only miss on the drink is that I asked for a twist of lime and received a twist of lemon instead without explanation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food excellent wait staff brings b ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food excellent wait staff brings back memories of Europe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and very attentive servic ...

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent food and very attentive service. The spätzle was outstanding and we really liked the variety of snitzles. We set up our reservation and our table was ready when we arrived with no waiting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.