Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Grünauer

Grünauer is a classic Viennese style restaurant with Central European influences of German, Hugarian, and international specialties. Peter Grünauer, executive chef, his son Nicholas, and daughter Elisabeth opened Grünauer in May of 2010. Peter is from Austria and his brother and sister still run their family restaurant in the Neubau region of Vienna. The menu offers simple straight-forward, and affordable cuisine high-lighting some of the best cuisine Central Europe has to offer. The menu here is meant to satisfy every customer that walks in the door. The Wunder Bar offers an array of wines, beer, and spirits unlike any other restaurant in Kansas City. The authentic Biergarten outside is one of kind as well. There is no other place in the city to match the atmosphere of Grünauer. We pride ourselves on offering the best customer service and knowledge of our product. We want to offer you a fine dining experience with a family feel so, make a reservation today!

101 W. 22nd Street
Historic Freight House
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Austrian, German

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; DINNER: Monday- Thursday: 4:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday:4:00pm - 11:00pm; BRUNCH: Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm (brunch menu served ALL DAY) WUNDER BAR: Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-1:00am Sunday: 11:30am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Baltimore

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 283-3234

Website:
http://grunauerkc.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking provided free of charge directly south of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Peter Grunauer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come in this Sunday September 18th! We are having an authenic pig roast and Miles Bonny will be playing on the patio! Also 2nd ANNUAL OKTOBERFEST SEPTEMBER 30TH-OCTOBER 2ND!!! Call to inquire for more details!!

Grünauer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (89)
Authentic (81)
Great Beer (77)
See All
Good for a Date (65)
Comfort Food (62)
Worth the Drive (52)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Good for Groups (37)
Casual (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Romantic (33)
Business Meals (31)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Cozy (28)
Bar Seating (28)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Fun (26)
Great for Lunch (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Historic (22)
Great for Brunch (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Seasonal (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Family Style (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Disabled Access (6)
People Watching (6)
Scenic View (6)
Private Room (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Fireplace (2)
Healthy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2038 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Very good food at reasonable price. Liked the ambiance and menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Good menu... perhaps a little mor advice and server interaction would be good. Like recommend!!!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Great location, great bar & drinks, unique menu choices and well prepared food. Service is good, ambience is nice but nothing special. Go for the food and be well rewarded. One of our favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The service was great. The food was good though not exactly like the schnitzel we had in Germany but still very good and authentic. A little pricey for us to go very often. Loved the cucumber salad. I would recommend the restaurant to NY one looking for quality German/Austrian food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I have been here many times and am pleased to say the food continues to be excellent. I brought my Father who has not previously experienced the cuisine here and he was impressed. He also remarked several times on the excellence of the draft beer list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Service was top-notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This is the best meal my husband and I have had in the last year. The white asparagus soup was "one of the top five best bites of food I have ever had" - very savory. Nothing disappointed. My husband's late mother was German, and the cuisine at Grunauers is authentic German food like his mom prepared growing up.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Nice German restaurant. I had the schnitzel a la Granauer and it was quite good. House smoked salmon excellent. Kolsch beer - excellent.
Sunday was quiet with a few empty tables.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Really like German/Austrian food. This is authentic, well run and reasonably priced. This was our first visit and will definitely not be our last.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The food at Grunauer is Austrian/German. We can recommend the Schweinebraten (pork loin) and the Cordon Bleu Schnitzel. The red cabbage is authentically good- as good as my German grandma's. The beet, arugula and goat cheese salad was wonderful, with red and gold beets - we ordered that as an appetizer. They had a special cherry-strawberry cobbler with ice cream that three of us split for dessert, and we loved that too. The beer is good and so is the coffee. It is fun to eat here if you love German food. Perfect for pre theater dinner and only a few blocks from the Kauffman Center.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Very authentic Austrian menu. Can recommend the Sauerbraten special and the Tafelspitz, both of which were tender and perfectly braised. Didn't save room for dessert. If beer is your thing, try the Austrian Stiegl.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 31, 2017

There were 3 of us in our group. Two of us enjoyed our meals very much. They ran between $20-$25. The third person, my mom, did not like their food. It was the "Special". Schnitzel with noodles. My mom is from Germany and thought the sauce was bland and there were too many noodles. To her surprise, the "special" that wasnt very good to her, was $31. She was disappointed in the meal and definitely the price.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We've been to Grunauer several times now and have always enjoyed the food, good service, and great beer selection. We had a big group this time for a special occasion, and they handled us well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My experience was amazing! The food was awesome and the staff was top notch. Earlier in the day I brought in some flowers for my date and wanted them to be on the table when we showed up for dinner. My special request was followed perfectly even though I changed my reservation time twice. I will definitely be going back again. The food was super flavorful and tender.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Business Meals, People Watching, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 25, 2017

This place was great and reminded me of some of the German restaurants I visited when I was stationed there. And the food was as authentic as it can be. Drop the mike.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Awesome. Tried a different meal and was very impressed by the presentation and flavor. Simply incredible. Never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We had a terrific dinner and I particularly enjoyed the angry pigeon cocktail!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

It was a great dining experience. We had family in from out of town and they loved it. Everyone had a good time, even the two youngest (10 & 7). We will be back!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

A friend and her family came into town for her birthday. Our party had 4 adults and 4 kids. The service was awesome. The food was delicious. A++ will come again. I do appreciate that the waiter was very patient with us and with the kids (who were pretty well behaved considering they were tired and took a lean on the table). Thank you for a terrific evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Hadn't eaten at Grunauers in a while and was once again very glad we ate there.
The white asparagus appetizer was excellent. Great flavors!! Special that night was Sauerbrauten...excellent flavor, good portion size, wonderful sauerkruat. My wife's beef dish in a large bowl with a consomme-like broth and vegetables was also excellent. Interesting wine choices. Great martini too. Will be back but take less time doing so.

By the way...as Spring warms up even more the outdoor seating at Grunauers is wonderful. Particularly if you like great beer. Added bonus...train watching.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

They changed the sausage supplier since we were there last. I much preferred the previous sausage supplier and wouldn't order the sausage again with the new supplier. The sausages were smaller, not as lean, and less flavorful.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Special appetizer of white and green asparagus wrapped in a crepe and covered with a mild cheese sauce wonderful but a little pricey.
Schnitzel stuffed with cheese and mushrooms served with red cabbage fantastic for me as was the Schnitzel stuffed with creamed spinach that my wife ordered.
A lot of food for the price - brought home enough for a second meal.
Classy ambiance of brick, wood and white tablecloths and NO TV's in the dining area.
We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We have eaten here for years and never been disappointed with food or service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

What a find: authenic German food, served in ample portions; a knowledgeable and helpful wait staff; full wine list; historic location and delicious! We enjoy taking the recommendations of the house and have not been disappointed. Only wish we could afford to dine here more often - ranks in our top three in area

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Business Meals, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The menu selections were very tempting but we chose the spargel for a shared appetizer (scallops and spargel) and our entrees (the filet was fantastic) . Desserts were great and could easily have been shared (flourless chocolate cake and lemon tart).

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent food, service a little slow, but great experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Fantastic food. I'd would go again in a heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great veal Schnitzel with potato/cucumber salad and an extra side of excellent red cabbage!
Love German food and beer.
My wife had a salad and shared some of mine. A definite restaurant we'll come back to.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We sat on the patio and had a wonderful experience. Food is amazing and beer selection was great

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We were seated quickly - we had a reservation, however, there seemed to be a miscommunication of who our waiter was going to be. We waited a good 7 minutes without water or even a hello after being seated.

After the initial 7 minutes, we were asked if we wanted drinks. We ordered a small appetizers also.

Drinks came, but no bread. Everyone else had bread...We ended up having to ask for it.

Refills were few and far between. A little disappointed about the wait service.

The food came in a timely manner. It smelled and looked great. As I dove into my pomme fries, i realized how cold they were. Not warm, but COLD.

I immediately asked the waiter for something else. It seemed as if he may have suspected them to be cold by his tone and facial expression. Nonetheless, he came back promptly with something HOT and boy was it delicious.

Overall, we were very satisfied. Next time, Ill make sure to ask for a more experienced and better bedside table manner waiter.

Oh and the atmosphere inside was interesting, but pleasant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food and service were amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This was our first time at the restaurant and we LOVED it!! the atmosphere was great, the food was excellent and the service was AMAZING!! Matt our server was VERY knowledgeable about the whole menu ,wines and beers. We really enjoyed ourselves and will most defiantly go back and brings friends next time!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Romantic, People Watching, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great service and amazing food. Will definitely go back

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food and service. We have been several times and will be back.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent meal and service for a group of six. One couple was late, but there was no pressure to rush through the meal. Meals were enjoyed by all.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great restaurant with delicious food. Their schnitzel is amazing, but make sure to always get some spatzle, too! We almost always go with the waiter's recommendations, and have yet to be disappointed.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We are never disappointed when we go to Grunauer's. We lived in Germany for seven years and this is as authentic as you can get this side of an Octoberfest. The food was great and the beer excellent with a very good selection. The wine list is varied so no matter what your taste you will find the wine that will go nicely with your food. Dessert was perfect, not too big but very filling. A wonderful evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Very nice surprise; a bit different than running off to another KC steakhouse. Service & meal was exemplary.

Tags: Business Meals, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always a great place to meet up for lunch or dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Restaurant was exceptional! Waiter was very patient and paced our meal beautifully- never felt rushed. My wife had the special of the day, sauerbraten and it was so tender you could cut it with a fork. Went her as part of our anniversary trip to KC. All the ingredients were so fresh! Will definitely recommend to friends, family and anyone looking for Authentic Austrian menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.