About Grünauer

101 W. 22nd Street
Historic Freight House
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Grünauer is a classic Viennese style restaurant with Central European influences of German, Hugarian, and international specialties. Peter Grünauer, executive chef, his son Nicholas, and daughter Elisabeth opened Grünauer in May of 2010. Peter is from Austria and his brother and sister still run their family restaurant in the Neubau region of Vienna. The menu offers simple straight-forward, and affordable cuisine high-lighting some of the best cuisine Central Europe has to offer. The menu here is meant to satisfy every customer that walks in the door. The Wunder Bar offers an array of wines, beer, and spirits unlike any other restaurant in Kansas City. The authentic Biergarten outside is one of kind as well. There is no other place in the city to match the atmosphere of Grünauer. We pride ourselves on offering the best customer service and knowledge of our product. We want to offer you a fine dining experience with a family feel so, make a reservation today!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Austrian, German

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; DINNER: Monday- Thursday: 4:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday:4:00pm - 11:00pm; BRUNCH: Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm (brunch menu served ALL DAY) WUNDER BAR: Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-1:00am Sunday: 11:30am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Baltimore

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 283-3234

Website:
http://grunauerkc.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking provided free of charge directly south of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Peter Grunauer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come in this Sunday September 18th! We are having an authenic pig roast and Miles Bonny will be playing on the patio! Also 2nd ANNUAL OKTOBERFEST SEPTEMBER 30TH-OCTOBER 2ND!!! Call to inquire for more details!!

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 4:30PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Tue 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Grünauer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (90)
Good for a Date (78)
Special Occasion (71)
See All
Great Beer (70)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Comfort Food (57)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Creative Cuisine (52)
Business Meals (46)
Worth the Drive (46)
Historic (43)
Good for Groups (41)
Romantic (40)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Pre/post Theatre (38)
Cozy (36)
Casual (35)
Great for Lunch (30)
Sunday Lunch (29)
Bar Seating (28)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Fun (28)
Notable Wine List (22)
Great for Brunch (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Seasonal (11)
Private Room (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Family Style (9)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Happy Hour (8)
People Watching (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Scenic View (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Live Sports (2)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
1928 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went for Valentine's Day everything was ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Went for Valentine's Day everything was great from the food to the service. Would not hesitate to go again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our second time here, this time for Vale ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Our second time here, this time for Valentine's Day. The food is absolutely phenomenal. Pretty authentic as well. Beers and wines you won't find many other places in the city. Awesome atmosphere. Definitely worth the money and we can't wait to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We certainly enjoyed our Valentine's Day ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

We certainly enjoyed our Valentine's Day dinner. Delicious food!! The strolling violinist was a wonderful touch!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second experience was as enjoyable as th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Second experience was as enjoyable as the first. Authentic German cuisine. Wait staff is attentive & well versed in answering questions.

Tags: Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I ate here for an early Vale ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I ate here for an early Valentines date. The food was great. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and helpful in suggestions for what to eat. The waiter was also helpful in assisting us in selecting a wine for dinner. The restaurant was comfortable and not overly crowded or noisy even with a couple of large parties in the dining room. I highly recommend Grunauer for a change of pace in food selection.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the best dining experiences in Ka ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

One of the best dining experiences in Kansas City

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Grunauer is one of my go-to restaurants ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Grunauer is one of my go-to restaurants in KC for business or casual dining. Phenomenal service and food. The bar is small, but nice, and you can make a meal of drinks, appies, and dessert if you like. Don't forget to save room for apple struedel... the best this side of the Shoenbrun Castle in Vienna!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to Grunauer every year for our ann ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We go to Grunauer every year for our anniversary and everything is always fantastic. It is a little pricey but the food is incredible. Take your time and get something that you like. I recommend the smoked salmon for appetizer!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was perfect...Food was outst ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was perfect...Food was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the authentic menu options. The ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We loved the authentic menu options. The flavors were a bit bland compared to food in Austria.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service always a great pl ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food and service always a great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Gunauer to celebrate Valentin ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We went to Gunauer to celebrate Valentine's Day. I ordered the jaeger schnitzel and my husband ordered the special, which was beef in a red wine sauce. Both were very good. We shared the strudel for dessert and I was stuffed! The service was good too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Was there in June with my niece and her ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Was there in June with my niece and her husband, at that time we enjoyed the food and restaurant. This visit we took my sister, my niece's mom, to enjoy what they had enjoyed.. My sister lives in Lincoln, Nebraska.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My family introduced me to this restaura ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My family introduced me to this restaurant for my birthday, and I'm so glad they chose it! The Austrian cuisine was fabulous from the Schnitzels to the Sausages and the Gulasch. But, my favorite was the Schweinebraten, which was topped off by the Apple Strudel for dessert that was equally devine (enough for three to share). I also enjoyed my first Underberg which I didn't see on the menu, but our fabulous server was happy to oblige us. The ambiance is wonderful and such a beautiful interior. We all plan to go back and take others!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wanted to be more impressed with Gruna ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I wanted to be more impressed with Grunauer than I was. We spent 3 weeks in Germany, Austria and Switzerland 2 years ago. Hoping for a reunion of sorts.

Not much in the atmosphere when you walk in or sit to say "Austrian" food. Service was excellent. The menu had many selections and I had the special wiener shnitzel stuffed with mushrooms and cheese. It was ok. A little over cooked and dry. My wife had the shoulder roast in a paprika sauce that was much better.

We are going to try Grunauer again. Hoping we find something we are crazy about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Service was much faster than anticipated ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service was much faster than anticipated - in and out in less than an hour, which was good since we were headed to a show. Dishes were excellent and wine selection was good. Crowded and busy but didn't feel too bad with reservation. Wouldn't go here as a walk-in.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a fabulous German style dinner he ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a fabulous German style dinner here. Our waiter, Daniel was outstanding. He explained each of the menu items and answered all of our questions. The wait staff is attentive without being disruptive. Great ambience and a special evening for us. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Authentic, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place for authentic regional food f ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Nice place for authentic regional food from Germany/Austria/Hungary. Great selection of beers. Wait staff friendly and helpful with recommendations for food and beer.

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Grunauer never disappoints and the early ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Grunauer never disappoints and the early Sunday Fruhschoppen is particularly outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The service was impeccable but the light ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The service was impeccable but the lighting was poor and I could barely read the fine print menu. Food was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Went to the KC Grunauer to celebrate a n ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Went to the KC Grunauer to celebrate a new job. Had a great dinner. From appetizer to dessert, all the dishes were delicious. We tasted a little bit from each others plates and everything was very tasty. We ate a little early, but at 6pm on a Thursday, there were seats available and the service was excellent.

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our family plus a visitor from G ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We took our family plus a visitor from Germany. He loved it. The meal will be remembered always.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing! We were craving Aust ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Absolutely amazing! We were craving Austrian beer and food; we felt like we were back in Salzburg experiencing the real thing. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is good. Wine isn't. We had two bot ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food is good. Wine isn't. We had two bottles of red opened and both were bad.

Next time I will skip the wine and have a cocktail instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent German Austrian cuisine. Fine ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Excellent German Austrian cuisine. Fine beers and wine. Recommend the Weinstphaner weisse.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual, Historic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance of this restaurant is wonde ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The ambiance of this restaurant is wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

They put the restaurant week menu on Kan ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

They put the restaurant week menu on Kansas City restaurant week website but I was surprised when we need to choose between 2 courses and not having three courses menu like others.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dinner several times. Food has b ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We have dinner several times. Food has been good. Service adequate. We attended for restaurant week and one of the lunch options was unacceptable. Disappointing after our previous experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Excellent restaurant week 2017 lunch men ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent restaurant week 2017 lunch menu. I can't pronounce any of the names but the beef and pork dishes were both delicious.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was exceptional. Food was perfe ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Service was exceptional. Food was perfection. I came at the tail end of KC Restaurant week and didn't have high expectations and was blown away,e even with ordering off of the prix fixed menu. I cannot wait to come back and order off of the regular menu. Also really enjoyed the wine which was very priced very well.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu choices for Restaurant Week wer ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The menu choices for Restaurant Week were very good. The salmon was terrific.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband & I visited Grunaer's for lun ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My husband & I visited Grunaer's for lunch during restaurant week. The food was very good & we had exceptional service. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was far from attentive, I waited ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Service was far from attentive, I waited at least 10 min. with tepid at best food. I even made eye contact with our waiter several times, but she went the other way so she could get the other items, and not have to put herself out by making two trips. When the food was brought back it was quite good! The restaurant has a very good menu with plenty of choices.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Always a treat to go.....wonderful food ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Always a treat to go.....wonderful food and service. You won't find this quality of Austrian/German food many places in the Midwest. Grunauer is one of our favorite

places to dine.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I dined at Grunauer durin ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My husband and I dined at Grunauer during Restaurant Week to try something new. We were not disappointed. We each ordered from the special menu (beef shoulder with mashed potatoes and sauteed Brussels sprouts). OMG. We were in heaven. With the lunch pricing and the fact that we hadn't eaten breakfast, we each ordered another entree. And it came with dessert. The chocolate dessert was tasty, but the apple dessert was AMAZING. Our server was knowledgeable and checked on us frequently without being a nuisance. Several other servers took away our plates and filled our water glasses seamlessly. With a packed dining room, their teamwork showed me what exceptional service really is. I am making another reservation as I type.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Grunauers a number of ti ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We have been to Grunauers a number of times, but this time visited during restaurant week and had the beef dish which was fantastic, the Brussel sprouts were wonderful as well. The dessert we chose, the Viennese pancakes was a little disappointing, tasty but not a pretty dessert. Our server was outstanding, Matthew was attentive and informative about the menu. He also got special kudos for packaging the leftover beef with two lovely pieces of bread for a sandwich presentation. Charming place, with interesting and well prepared food, I recommend it!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

They have delicious food and great servi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

They have delicious food and great service. We loved the braised short ribs and the apple dessert. What a wonderful way to end Restaurant Week!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The waiter was enjoyable and relatable. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The waiter was enjoyable and relatable. He made our meal fun and introduced us to new food! The restaurant week lunch course was delicious from start to finish and the wine... 😍 heckin good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and service. Enjoy the ch ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fantastic food and service. Enjoy the change of pace from traditional menus.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and suggestions, particula ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great service and suggestions, particularly for some family members not familiar with German cuisine. Food was cooked perfectly and everyone left full and satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.