Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Grünauer

Grünauer is a classic Viennese style restaurant with Central European influences of German, Hugarian, and international specialties. Peter Grünauer, executive chef, his son Nicholas, and daughter Elisabeth opened Grünauer in May of 2010. Peter is from Austria and his brother and sister still run their family restaurant in the Neubau region of Vienna. The menu offers simple straight-forward, and affordable cuisine high-lighting some of the best cuisine Central Europe has to offer. The menu here is meant to satisfy every customer that walks in the door. The Wunder Bar offers an array of wines, beer, and spirits unlike any other restaurant in Kansas City. The authentic Biergarten outside is one of kind as well. There is no other place in the city to match the atmosphere of Grünauer. We pride ourselves on offering the best customer service and knowledge of our product. We want to offer you a fine dining experience with a family feel so, make a reservation today!

101 W. 22nd Street
Historic Freight House
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Austrian, German

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; DINNER: Monday- Thursday: 4:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday:4:00pm - 11:00pm; BRUNCH: Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm (brunch menu served ALL DAY) WUNDER BAR: Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-1:00am Sunday: 11:30am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Baltimore

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 283-3234

Website:
http://grunauerkc.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking provided free of charge directly south of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Peter Grunauer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come in this Sunday September 18th! We are having an authenic pig roast and Miles Bonny will be playing on the patio! Also 2nd ANNUAL OKTOBERFEST SEPTEMBER 30TH-OCTOBER 2ND!!! Call to inquire for more details!!

Grünauer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (57)
Authentic (53)
Good for a Date (48)
See All
Great Beer (46)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Worth the Drive (44)
Romantic (41)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Business Meals (29)
Comfort Food (29)
Casual (28)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Good for Groups (27)
Fun (24)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Cozy (18)
Great for Lunch (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Seasonal (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
People Watching (5)
Healthy (4)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Live Sports (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
2167 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic for winter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Everyone enjoyed their meal and drinks. The sausage platter is a great way to start the meal, especially when sharing with friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2017

A dear friend wanted to have her b-day lunch here. She had a pork chop & red cabbage. I had sausages & sauerkraut. Service was exemplary. Even complimentary slice of cheesecake for the celebrant. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 3, 2017

The only reason I didn’t rate 5 stars overall is because we had a reservation but had to wait almost 20 minutes to be seated. Food is fantastic and great service too!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 3, 2017

As always - loved m

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Great food, service & time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 27, 2017

We had 7 people in our group. They were not busy yet they stuck us in the corner next to the server station. As I was the host for the meal I was disappointed in the seating for 7. I asked about another spot but I was told that it was for others. However after we finished our meal and upon leaving no one filled the space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 26, 2017

We selected the restaurant for its German cuisine and it didn’t disappoint. Great German beer list and food. We lived in Germany so we appreciate the authentic ambiance as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 26, 2017

We enjoyed the meal with friends. The restaurant is cozy and we all liked our food. With one exception: lose the drink with sauerkraut juice! My husband and I had a very nice tall drink with tequila.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Excellent service provided by Anthony who is extremely knowledgeable about the menu. His recommendations were all excellent. Do not hesitate to try some of the more unusual menu items such as escargot soup and veal liver. Surprising good even for the less adventurous eaters at our table. Also, don't miss the red cabbage and spaetzle. The food is well prepared and there is a large beer selection. Reasonably priced for area and for all around quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Grünauer is always a “must go” for me when I’m in KC. I love the ambiance in that old train house, great history. They did downtown KC so nicely, I also love the power and light district. Today I had the smoked salmon as an appetizer (3.5/5), The Holsteiner Schnitzel (5/5) and the Topfenstrudel (2,5/5, was much better last time). Try the “German Bier” brewed in KC: “Helles” (that means “bright” in German) soooo good (5/5). Service was fast, friendly and efficient, as always. Will always come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

Absolutely wonderful! Our favorite place in town! We celebrated my wife getting into school and couldn’t of picked a better place’

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 17, 2017

Everything at Grunaur is fantastic. I recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 14, 2017

Really good restaurant with European food good service excellent beer selection the ambience is wonderful the staff is very friendly and very accommodating

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Food is five Star. However the Desserts are not this level.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

this was my first time here. unfortunately i do not live in kansas city but omaha so would not come here as often as i would like. the food was wonderful and the beer selection is great. also loved the gluhwine!!!!!! i would definitely recommend this restaurant to everyone!! service was great also!! beautiful old building, so much character.

Tags: Disabled Access, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Authentic, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2017

The entree Weinerschnitzel was flavorless, over cooked and tough. The cucumber salad bathed in liquid, the apple dessert crust was so mushy that it was difficut to tell the difference between apple and crust.
I hope that this was just an off night for them.
I won’t return. It isn’t worth the price to have a meal that isn’t superior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 7, 2017

The orange endive with tonight's dinner special was the highlight of the plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We've been to Grünauer's several times and always enjoy it. I was disappointed in my meal this time but everyone else's was great. I typically get Schweinebraten (which is wonderful!) and decided to try the Bohemian gulasch hoping it would be like what I had in Prague especially the potato dumpling. It not only was not like that but it was also pretty bland and creamy like a stroganof. However, my partner's Hungarian gulasch was very good and more like what I was looking for. We went with another couple and they really liked their meals...one was the pork chop special (huge chop!) and the other was the Schweinebraten. I'll know better next time. Everything else was great as usual and we were so glad that our table was ready when we got there as there was quite a waiting line...thanks, OpenTable! We also got a very nice bottle of white wine from southern Austria but I'm afraid I don't remember the name.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Anthony was so wonderful, he made our dining experience outstanding. My favorite is the smoked salmon appetizer. It's so fresh and delicious I can't imagine going here and not having it. And where else can you get spaetzle? It was heaven.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Matt our server was personable and very attentive to our needs. He gave us recommendations for items on the menu which were spot on.
Friendly and efficient .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Excellent food as always. This is a nice sit-down restaurant that makes you feel like you are on a vacation.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 2, 2017

All of the dishes we ordered were superb except the rib eye steak which was tough and overcooked, but who goes to a German/Austrian restaurant and orders steak? I had the Ungarisches Rindsgulasch, a paprika beef gulasch which was just delicious. Our waitress picked out a terrific Austrian wine that paired nicely with the gulasch. Consistently good food and service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2017

The food was pretty good, but not great. Their were eight of us and we mostly agreed, but one person did not think her food was good at all. The service was VERY slow! Also, they either need to restock their wine cellar or reprint their wine list!!! The first wine we ordered was the Joullian Cabernet. We ordered two bottles, but they only had one, which they poured eight ways (not much!). So we looked at the wine list again - it is extensive, but not many domestic wines, so many we were not familiar with - and ordered an interesting sounding Austrian wine. After we sat there with empty wine glasses for what seemed like forever, our waitress came back with another lady (maitre'd, hostess, or sommelier???) who apologized because they were totally out of the second wine we ordered. She brought out an Oregon Pinot Noir, which she recommended, and said we could have it for the same price as the wine we had ordered (we had no clue what the price was - maybe it was less - who knew???). Bottom line, the pinot noir was not just bad, it was awful! We all left our glasses with wine in them. SOOO, I would recommend this restaurant to friends only with some forewarning about our experience. The one thing that we all loved was the pork belly appetizer. It was delicious!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

AUTHENTIC AUSTRIAN & HUNGARIAN FARE. THIS PLACE STANDS OUT AS TRULY SPECIAL. ELEGANT DINING EXPERIENCE FOR THOSE WITH--OR WANT--REFINED TASTE. ATMOSPHERE PUSHED IT OVER THE TOP. ENJOYED IT SO MUCH, CAME BACK FOR LUNCH!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 28, 2017

I love this restaurant. It’s like visiting Vienna!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

My husband and I have been wanting to try Grunauer for a while, and we are SO glad we finally made the time. The food was spectacular, the ambience was perfect, and the noise level was low. What stood out most was the service. I have a dairy intolerance and the waitress went above and beyond to make sure I was able to get just what I wanted without having to sacrifice the authenticity of the meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

We had a group of eight people and some of us had not seen each other in a while. I wanted a nice restaurant with a great atmosphere, friendly service and a German menu. I had heard great things about Grunauer and I was not disappointed. Our waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu and made us feel like we were her only table. The food was delicious and the portion sizes were large. It is a great place for a large party or a couple. I highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

Delicious, hearty food with great portion sizes and flavor of dishes that mesh well together. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and gave great recommendations about the traditional Austrian dishes and the specials. It was my first time there and I will definitely be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2017

I eat out often and have traveled in US experiencing local restaurants, never chains. This is one of the best restaurants I’ve ever eaten at. Service was impeccable. There when we needed it but not intrusive. Waiter checked back, quietly & quickly, several times to make sure everything was perfect. Restaurant is in a very interesting historical building with fabulous architectural features. Booths make seating very comfortable.
The food: outstanding, perfection. Coming from German ancestry I am familiar with many of the menu items. So much of the menu is house made, all very tasty. Portions are satisfying with doggies bags needed. Every item the three of us ordered was perfection! One member of our party thought she didn’t like Austrian food and is now an enthusiast and ready to go back. Best chicken tenders any of us had tasted (from the children’s menu). Ocme to Grünauer, you will be hooked at first sip and at first bite!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Our waitress Mallory was amazing! She knew the menu for the food and bar items and helped with selections. Ungarisches Rindsgulasch is the best! Flourless chocolate cake for the finish! Yum!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Loved! Went there for my birthday, loved this place!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Just what we wanted. Perfect German food that made our date night even more special. I suggest the red cabbage, it goes with everything!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 20, 2017

I had never had Austrian food before and it was incredible. It's a bit heavy, which is to be expected, so come hungry. We shared the pork belly appetizer which was phenomenal - we were still talking about it 3 days later! The overall aesthetic was cozy and authentic. The beer list was extensive, as you'd guess at an Austrian restaurant. Parking was easy (always a plus) and the service was great. Overall, it was a wonderful experience!

Tags: Authentic, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Food was excellent, as always! Asked server to recommend beer based on my tastes. He knew the beer I was talking about and recommended a great beer that the restaurant served. Really enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Entree was excellent and staff was knowledgeable, but not overly attentive. My wine glass was chipped and it took me quite a while to get someone's attention to replace it.

Food was very, very good. Dessert wasn't great and I would skip dessert next time I go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Traditional Austrian food. Great bar menu. Could use better acoustics.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Good food and good beer list. Fun atmosphere. Little pricey for what it is but definitely fun. Overall, I would come here again.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Service was great. This is our second time eating there. The first time I thought the food a bit bland. But gave it another try. I ordered the filet, and it was not seasoned and a bit tough. I'd say the food needs a bit of a revamp.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.