Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Grünauer

Grünauer is a classic Viennese style restaurant with Central European influences of German, Hugarian, and international specialties. Peter Grünauer, executive chef, his son Nicholas, and daughter Elisabeth opened Grünauer in May of 2010. Peter is from Austria and his brother and sister still run their family restaurant in the Neubau region of Vienna. The menu offers simple straight-forward, and affordable cuisine high-lighting some of the best cuisine Central Europe has to offer. The menu here is meant to satisfy every customer that walks in the door. The Wunder Bar offers an array of wines, beer, and spirits unlike any other restaurant in Kansas City. The authentic Biergarten outside is one of kind as well. There is no other place in the city to match the atmosphere of Grünauer. We pride ourselves on offering the best customer service and knowledge of our product. We want to offer you a fine dining experience with a family feel so, make a reservation today!

101 W. 22nd Street
Historic Freight House
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Austrian, German

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; DINNER: Monday- Thursday: 4:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday:4:00pm - 11:00pm; BRUNCH: Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm (brunch menu served ALL DAY) WUNDER BAR: Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-1:00am Sunday: 11:30am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Baltimore

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 283-3234

Website:
http://grunauerkc.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking provided free of charge directly south of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Peter Grunauer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come in this Sunday September 18th! We are having an authenic pig roast and Miles Bonny will be playing on the patio! Also 2nd ANNUAL OKTOBERFEST SEPTEMBER 30TH-OCTOBER 2ND!!! Call to inquire for more details!!

Grünauer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (87)
Special Occasion (84)
Great Beer (81)
See All
Good for a Date (78)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Comfort Food (55)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Worth the Drive (47)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Romantic (40)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Business Meals (34)
Good for Groups (34)
Historic (33)
Casual (32)
Cozy (31)
Sunday Lunch (31)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Bar Seating (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Fun (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Great for Brunch (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Family Style (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Seasonal (8)
Private Room (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Scenic View (7)
People Watching (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
2020 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a terrific dinner and I particularly enjoyed the angry pigeon cocktail!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

It was a great dining experience. We had family in from out of town and they loved it. Everyone had a good time, even the two youngest (10 & 7). We will be back!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

A friend and her family came into town for her birthday. Our party had 4 adults and 4 kids. The service was awesome. The food was delicious. A++ will come again. I do appreciate that the waiter was very patient with us and with the kids (who were pretty well behaved considering they were tired and took a lean on the table). Thank you for a terrific evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Hadn't eaten at Grunauers in a while and was once again very glad we ate there.
The white asparagus appetizer was excellent. Great flavors!! Special that night was Sauerbrauten...excellent flavor, good portion size, wonderful sauerkruat. My wife's beef dish in a large bowl with a consomme-like broth and vegetables was also excellent. Interesting wine choices. Great martini too. Will be back but take less time doing so.

By the way...as Spring warms up even more the outdoor seating at Grunauers is wonderful. Particularly if you like great beer. Added bonus...train watching.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

They changed the sausage supplier since we were there last. I much preferred the previous sausage supplier and wouldn't order the sausage again with the new supplier. The sausages were smaller, not as lean, and less flavorful.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Special appetizer of white and green asparagus wrapped in a crepe and covered with a mild cheese sauce wonderful but a little pricey.
Schnitzel stuffed with cheese and mushrooms served with red cabbage fantastic for me as was the Schnitzel stuffed with creamed spinach that my wife ordered.
A lot of food for the price - brought home enough for a second meal.
Classy ambiance of brick, wood and white tablecloths and NO TV's in the dining area.
We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We have eaten here for years and never been disappointed with food or service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

What a find: authenic German food, served in ample portions; a knowledgeable and helpful wait staff; full wine list; historic location and delicious! We enjoy taking the recommendations of the house and have not been disappointed. Only wish we could afford to dine here more often - ranks in our top three in area

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Business Meals, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The menu selections were very tempting but we chose the spargel for a shared appetizer (scallops and spargel) and our entrees (the filet was fantastic) . Desserts were great and could easily have been shared (flourless chocolate cake and lemon tart).

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent food, service a little slow, but great experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Fantastic food. I'd would go again in a heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great veal Schnitzel with potato/cucumber salad and an extra side of excellent red cabbage!
Love German food and beer.
My wife had a salad and shared some of mine. A definite restaurant we'll come back to.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We sat on the patio and had a wonderful experience. Food is amazing and beer selection was great

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We were seated quickly - we had a reservation, however, there seemed to be a miscommunication of who our waiter was going to be. We waited a good 7 minutes without water or even a hello after being seated.

After the initial 7 minutes, we were asked if we wanted drinks. We ordered a small appetizers also.

Drinks came, but no bread. Everyone else had bread...We ended up having to ask for it.

Refills were few and far between. A little disappointed about the wait service.

The food came in a timely manner. It smelled and looked great. As I dove into my pomme fries, i realized how cold they were. Not warm, but COLD.

I immediately asked the waiter for something else. It seemed as if he may have suspected them to be cold by his tone and facial expression. Nonetheless, he came back promptly with something HOT and boy was it delicious.

Overall, we were very satisfied. Next time, Ill make sure to ask for a more experienced and better bedside table manner waiter.

Oh and the atmosphere inside was interesting, but pleasant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food and service were amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This was our first time at the restaurant and we LOVED it!! the atmosphere was great, the food was excellent and the service was AMAZING!! Matt our server was VERY knowledgeable about the whole menu ,wines and beers. We really enjoyed ourselves and will most defiantly go back and brings friends next time!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Romantic, People Watching, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great service and amazing food. Will definitely go back

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food and service. We have been several times and will be back.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent meal and service for a group of six. One couple was late, but there was no pressure to rush through the meal. Meals were enjoyed by all.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great restaurant with delicious food. Their schnitzel is amazing, but make sure to always get some spatzle, too! We almost always go with the waiter's recommendations, and have yet to be disappointed.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We are never disappointed when we go to Grunauer's. We lived in Germany for seven years and this is as authentic as you can get this side of an Octoberfest. The food was great and the beer excellent with a very good selection. The wine list is varied so no matter what your taste you will find the wine that will go nicely with your food. Dessert was perfect, not too big but very filling. A wonderful evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Very nice surprise; a bit different than running off to another KC steakhouse. Service & meal was exemplary.

Tags: Business Meals, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always a great place to meet up for lunch or dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Restaurant was exceptional! Waiter was very patient and paced our meal beautifully- never felt rushed. My wife had the special of the day, sauerbraten and it was so tender you could cut it with a fork. Went her as part of our anniversary trip to KC. All the ingredients were so fresh! Will definitely recommend to friends, family and anyone looking for Authentic Austrian menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Waitress very attentive and helpful. Quiet. Love their schnitzel cordon blue.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Really good food - we shared an assortment of sausages. The food and service were very good!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great sausages great value and service. Definitely a place I would come back to next time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Love atmosphere but waitress was not very friendly tho' other service people very nice I've eaten here before and disappointed that the food has been served warm (sometimes even cool),not hot ... coffee too

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Had an absolutely amazing time! The waiter we had (Jake) was absolutely awesome, an amazing couple next to us paid for our dessert, and the food was indescribable. Definitely was the highlight of prom and of the week! I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants amazing food on a nice date.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We went with another couple in a visit to KC. We had been before but the other couple had not. They were very impressed with the Austrian specialties. My wife and I found the food to be just as good as the last time. Be sure to try the Austrian wines and beers. The cap off an excellent meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I've never had a bad experience at Grunauer. The service is always top notch, the atmosphere is comfortable yet classy. We went Saturday before a theater performance, with my wife and 8 year old boy, and didn't feel out of place in a suit, but I've been before in a polo and jeans and didn't feel out of place either. The food is authentic German / central European of the highest caliber, and there's never shortage of great Deutsche beers and wines with which to pair! Kids love the kasespaetzle (it's mac and cheese to them!) or backendl (chicken tenders), both of which are fitting and delicious for adults alike!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great cocktails amazing food. We had 3 couples and just shared food, not how it is set up, but we went early and they were not busy so the waitress was happy to entertain help us. One friend loved the beet juice vodka cocktail.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The staff was very friendly. The ambiance was perfect. Food was amazing!!! I strongly recommend this place. One of the best places to eat in KC. I will definitely be back. Love it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Family Style, Modern Decor, Cozy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food was awesome! Had some of the brats and the a la granuer schnitzel. Only problem was the service. Took them a while to greet us at our table- about 10 minutes. We had a big group of 8 and we all agreed our server was not friendly. She kept making some snide comments.. for example, someome was drinking their water fast and she says you know you can just fill your glass up on your own (from the water pitcher at the table). Also after dinner we stuck around for 30 min just talking at the table, and she kept looking over giving us mean looks and making comments to another server. Anyways, food was great, service just needed a lot of improvement.

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food is incredible. We went when they were serving white asparagus. I'm not usually a fan of asparagus but I loved the white asparagus. I highly recommend Grunauer. I only wish I lived closer and could dine here more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Have come to Grunauer many times for a few Radler's, but never really eaten dinner. There were 6 of us dining and the food was fabulous. Everyone tried something different. Will certainly go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Not what I was expecting from reading reviews but nonetheless, we enjoyed ourselves. I think the expectations exceeded the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Everything was fabulous! Looking forward to our daughters rehearsal dinner here in about a month!!

Tags: Family Style, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This is a GREAT place for dinner and drinks. Take it slow and enjoy the German/Austrian/Kansas City vibe that was both cosmopolitan and country. Great food which most decidedly falls in the comfort food category with surprises that would delight foodies and aficionados alike. Great local and imported draft bier choices with a good selection of wines. The sausage, spätzle, and sauerkraut are everything a German-o-file could wish for. The selection of local artisan cheeses was delicious and added a piquant change to the comforting savoriness of the food. And the streusel was pleasingly un-sweet. Much closer to European tastes than expected. Along with the fresh (unsweetened) house made whipped cream it was a crisp finish to a delightful meal.

Tags: Late-night Find, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fireplace, Cozy, Great Beer, Fun, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Exceptional dinning experience from food to service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.