About Grünauer

101 W. 22nd Street
Historic Freight House
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Grünauer is a classic Viennese style restaurant with Central European influences of German, Hugarian, and international specialties. Peter Grünauer, executive chef, his son Nicholas, and daughter Elisabeth opened Grünauer in May of 2010. Peter is from Austria and his brother and sister still run their family restaurant in the Neubau region of Vienna. The menu offers simple straight-forward, and affordable cuisine high-lighting some of the best cuisine Central Europe has to offer. The menu here is meant to satisfy every customer that walks in the door. The Wunder Bar offers an array of wines, beer, and spirits unlike any other restaurant in Kansas City. The authentic Biergarten outside is one of kind as well. There is no other place in the city to match the atmosphere of Grünauer. We pride ourselves on offering the best customer service and knowledge of our product. We want to offer you a fine dining experience with a family feel so, make a reservation today!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Austrian, German

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; DINNER: Monday- Thursday: 4:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday:4:00pm - 11:00pm; BRUNCH: Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm (brunch menu served ALL DAY) WUNDER BAR: Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-1:00am Sunday: 11:30am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Baltimore

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 283-3234

Website:
http://grunauerkc.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking provided free of charge directly south of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Peter Grunauer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come in this Sunday September 18th! We are having an authenic pig roast and Miles Bonny will be playing on the patio! Also 2nd ANNUAL OKTOBERFEST SEPTEMBER 30TH-OCTOBER 2ND!!! Call to inquire for more details!!

Restaurant Photos

Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Scharfe Kilbasa - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Kalbsbratwurst - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Stiegl Pils - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Red Cabbage And Mashed Potatoes - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Sausage Duo - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Apfel Strudel mit Schlag - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Schnitzel a la Holstein - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Stuffed Pork Tenderloin - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Schweinebraten - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Cheese - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Split Pea Lentil Curry Soup - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
pretzel - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Tafelspitz - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Jausenbrettl - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Bavarian Creme - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Smoked salmon - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Stiegl Grapefruit Radler - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Staropramen Czech Beer - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Bread - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Port Glühwein - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Hungarian Beef Gulasch - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Croquettes - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Unnamed Cocktail - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Szegediner Gulasch - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Stiegl Goldbrau Beer - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Räucherforelle - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
House Smoked Rainbow Trout - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Staropramen - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Stiegl Goldbrau - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Sweet Waltz - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Salad - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Goulash - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Tomato Bisque - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Sausage Trio - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Sausage Platter - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Stiegl Piels - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Krautfleckerl - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Schnitzel - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Reissdorf Kölsch - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Hungarian Beef - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Veal Schnitzel - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Pumpkin Cream Soup - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Red Cabbage - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Cabbage Rolls - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Kolsch Stiegl - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Sausages  - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Käsespätzle - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Viennese Apple Strudel - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Spinach Salad - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Sausage Sampler - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Chechvar Beer - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Czechvar Beer - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Farmer's Plate - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Meinl Double Espresso - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Wienerschnitzel - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Austrian Taffelspitz - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Pork - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Espresso Martini - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Kasekrainer Sausage (Viennese Sausage With Cheese) - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
pumpkin soup - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
PAPRIKAHUHN - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
House Salad - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Celebrator Dopplebock - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Red Cabbage Salad - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Hofbrau Beer - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Hofbräu Maibock - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Sourbraten - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Chocolate torte - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Wiener Schnitzel - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Viennese Fried Mushrooms - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
Sausage - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO
  cheese Strudel - Grünauer, Kansas City, MO

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Grünauer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City / Kansas
Best Food
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Crossroads / Freight District / Boulevard ›

Special Occasion (66)
Authentic (54)
Fit for Foodies (50)
See All
Good for a Date (48)
Worth the Drive (43)
Great Beer (42)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Good for Groups (35)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Comfort Food (32)
Business Meals (31)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Fun (28)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Casual (25)
Romantic (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Cozy (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Great for Lunch (20)
Historic (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Seasonal (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Scenic View (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
People Watching (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Private Room (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1725 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wanted to have a authentic German meal. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Wanted to have a authentic German meal. Overall fairly good. The goulash could use much more spetzle. Our waiter brought our food but never checked back to see how it was, he only had 2 other tables. So, not up to our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great service, wonderful atmosphere! Gr ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service, wonderful atmosphere! Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had such a great night! Food was gre ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

We had such a great night! Food was great, atmosphere amazing and our waitress was top notch!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our cocktails were expertly mixed and th ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Our cocktails were expertly mixed and the well liquor (which we opted for)was above average. Our entrees were well prepared and very flavorful. We felt our server, although knowledgeable was less than enthusiastic and seemed a bit impatient. Other than that slight issue our experience was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We are no strangers to Grünauer and have ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We are no strangers to Grünauer and have never been disappointed. This time we were able to share this special KC gem with good friends who had never eaten there, though they actually live within walking distance and actually walked to the restaurant that evening. Due to work responsibilities they travel internationally often and are familiar with German/Austrian cuisine, enough to recognize regional differences.

We were thrilled to introduce them to a restaurant that we enjoy (we also travel abroad extensively) and wanted to see if they would share our opinion of Grünauer. They did, of course, and loved everything. For our main course three of us had one of my favorites (also the server's favorite) jägerschnitzel. My wife had the classic schnitzel. Our outstanding server, Daniel, gave the perfect beer pairing and all were impressed by the quality of everything. For dessert we all four split the delicious apple strudle served in the traditional way with heavy whipped cream, not ice cream. I'm sure our friends will be back, as will we.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food with many choices including th ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Good food with many choices including those who are a bit apprehensive about German food. Good wine selection, so a good place to be!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful restaurant, always good servic ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, always good service with well trained wait staff as well as, of course, delicious food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best Bavarian style restauran ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

One of the best Bavarian style restaurants that we have had the pleasure to experience. Staff, presentation, and taste were excellent. First one that I have found to exceed Karl Ratzsch in Milwaukee.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best sauerkraut anywhere!! We've bee ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The best sauerkraut anywhere!! We've been twice and ordered extra sauerkraut because it is so good!!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This was our first time at Grunauer. Th ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This was our first time at Grunauer. The food and beverage selection was great. Our dinner was excellent. We will most definitely be eating here again!

Tags: Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a pre-theater dinner and they got ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We had a pre-theater dinner and they got us in and out at exactly the time we needed to leave. Checks were brought early so we could get on the road. I call that excellent service. We enjoyed our food...two friends had the Jager Schnitzel which they have every time we go there because they love it. The Special Goulash and Fish were excellent also.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here several times and it h ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We have been here several times and it has always been fabulous. The food is delicious. The wine selection and imported beers are wonderful. Just give it a try if you like Austrian food you will be glad you came here.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Recommend the pork bellies! And, the sch ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Recommend the pork bellies! And, the schweinhaxe that you can only get on Sundays.

Everything else is hit or miss.

The steaks are their low points in the menu... especially when a strong BBQ and meat place is next door.

People are friendly and helpful though. I really enjoy them, but the food is struggling to stand out against a sea of great choices in KC.

Best wishes and Prost!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Always fantastic. An exceptional and au ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Always fantastic. An exceptional and authentic Austrian restaurant. Do not miss this when you are in KC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good service. Food was excellent an ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very good service. Food was excellent and brought to table quickly. Wait staff was knowledgeable, friendly and attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've eaten lunch here several times, bu ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We've eaten lunch here several times, but this was the first time for dinner which we vry much enjoyed..

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Looked forward to lunch, very disappoint ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Looked forward to lunch, very disappointed, food not warm enough, but lacking in flavor. Service was slow in a room not busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Always a pleasure. When we have out of t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Always a pleasure. When we have out of town company we always take them out for: 1) some KC BBQ and 2) Gruenauer. Previous time we wanted to linger for a long visit and we were not rushed out by servers. Most recently, we let server know we were headed to the opera and he moved everything along in a timely fashion.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent - the food, servi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Consistently excellent - the food, service and atmosphere were all terrific. A great place to go to experience outstanding Austrian cuisine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Historic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Matt was very patient ex0lain ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our server Matt was very patient ex0lained all items on the menu and gave his recommendations when asked. The food was tasty and plentiful. The beer was great with many options . We plan to return soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We lived in Europe (Germany and Belgium) ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We lived in Europe (Germany and Belgium) for nearly a decade. Grunauer is our Austrian fix for that kind of old world cuisine. The service is excellent, responsive and very attentive.

Gut Geschmack

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The delicious and authentic German-Austr ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The delicious and authentic German-Austrian cuisine was highlighted by the attentive service. Extensive wine list, and Euro beers to choose from. Their food, while pricey, is worth every dollar, right down to the dessert and coffee.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is mediocre. I had the sauerbr ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food is mediocre. I had the sauerbraten type dish and there was a ball on the plate that I couldn't identify (I thought it was a potato dumpling, but don't know). My friend had the goulash which was not served with noodles as one would expect. The serving sizes are sufficient and the atmosphere is nice.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and son enjoyed the choice of ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 4, 2016

My husband and son enjoyed the choice of sausages while I had a very good schnitzel sandwich but the pommes frites were the best! Staff was very friendly and efficient. We were definitely done in less than an hour so good place for lunch if you are a working person.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and our waiter Josiah was ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Wonderful food and our waiter Josiah was very helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We celebrated our wedding Anniversary on ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We celebrated our wedding Anniversary on Halloween. Our waiter, Josiah, was such a treat. So accommodating and pleasant. The food, cocktails, wine, and dessert were outstanding. We recommend "the Dirty One" cocktail for a great start to your evening. The Bratwurst and beef Gulasch our among our favorites. The flourless chocolate cake is delectable. We had a wonderful time and will always return for our special occasions. We have had Christmas dinner with our family here the last few years and it is always incredible.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Private Room, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service both top notch. Weiner ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food and service both top notch. Weiner schnitzel and red cabbage are excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was the mixture of contrasting flavor ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

It was the mixture of contrasting flavors that made it so good. We had the calves liver and the pork loin

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

For a flavor of Germanic foods in a beau ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 26, 2016

For a flavor of Germanic foods in a beautiful setting you cannot beat Grunauer. The host was friendly and welcoming, the beer was awesome and our service was top notch. I usually do Grunauer for lunch so it was a pleasant change to do dinner.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First time at Grünauer and I will say no ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 26, 2016

First time at Grünauer and I will say now that I WILL BE BACK! Tremendous German food at a good price. Great beer that goes well with the food also. Sat outside since it was a great night. Perfect place for an intimate meal or a fun time as a group.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food and ambiance. Friendly, pe ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Love the food and ambiance. Friendly, personable service. Terrific beer. Dishes are robust in size and taste. Always filling. Trick is avoiding a food coma.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Fun, Historic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Mallory was our server and she was very ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Mallory was our server and she was very courteous to us as well as helpful (give that lady a raise). Nothing but a perfect meal with professional staff. I have never had an authentic German meal before and I loved it. Whenever I'm in KC again, I williams every effort to reserve a table!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding service from start to finish ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Outstanding service from start to finish. Our reservation was ready on time, table was very nice. Wonderful wine suggestion by our server. Food was great. Not too noisy - we liked the intimate setting. It is a great place to dress up and take someone for a occasion. Or you can sit at the bar or outside and be comfortable in jeans.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Romantic, Historic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food along with great selectio ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Very good food along with great selection of bavariam beer. The side dishes are surprisingly authentic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Grünauer's always delivers. We brought ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Grünauer's always delivers. We brought our teenagers with us for a night out. With reservations, we were seated exactly at the promised time. The bar is a little noisy and hard to talk in so we went outside since it was a nice night. Grünauer's food is to delicious, no matter what you order. My wife and I split al a schnitzel, my son had spatzle, and my daughter got a salad and a bratwurst. Everyone loved their selection. For dessert, we got the apple strudel and the flourless chocolate cake. We all agreed the apple strudel was the better choice. The cake was a little too much for topping off a heavy meal. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Definitely over priced. Food was medioc ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Definitely over priced. Food was mediocre by European standards, but I'm sure that Americans who never ate real Austrian food will Love It. Great service, and really enjoyed the ambiance.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We have been here twice and both times t ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We have been here twice and both times the food has been excellent. For an entree, I chose to go with the Pick 3 Sausage with Sauerkraut . It was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good German/Austrian fare with some upd ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Good German/Austrian fare with some updates. My Jågerschnitzel did not disappoint, its mushroom sauce was thick and flavorful. Good selection of beers and wines. Excellent service. The bar area is somewhat separate, which is nice. We went latish and the room was not too noisy but, with all the wood and the high ceilings, I suspect when the dining room is full, the noise level can be conversation-challanging.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our meal and our serve ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal and our server was friendly and helpful. The coffee and dessert were a perfect way to end a fantastic meal

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Grunauer is always a great dining experi ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Grunauer is always a great dining experience when I am visiting Kansas City, it's truly the best Bavarian food I've had outside of Europe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.