Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 29 times today

Grünauer

4.7
2355 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Austrian
Top Tags:
  • Authentic
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
Grünauer is a classic Viennese style restaurant with Central European influences of German, Hugarian, and international specialties. Peter Grünauer, executive chef, his son Nicholas, and daughter Elisabeth opened Grünauer in May of 2010. Peter is from Austria and his brother and sister still run their family restaurant in the Neubau region of Vienna. The menu offers simple straight-forward, and affordable cuisine high-lighting some of the best cuisine Central Europe has to offer. The menu here is meant to satisfy every customer that walks in the door. The Wunder Bar offers an array of wines, beer, and spirits unlike any other restaurant in Kansas City. The authentic Biergarten outside is one of kind as well. There is no other place in the city to match the atmosphere of Grünauer. We pride ourselves on offering the best customer service and knowledge of our product. We want to offer you a fine dining experience with a family feel so, make a reservation today!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Austrian, German
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
LUNCH: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; DINNER: Monday- Thursday: 4:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday:4:00pm - 11:00pm; BRUNCH: Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm (brunch menu served ALL DAY) WUNDER BAR: Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-1:00am Sunday: 11:30am-9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(816) 283-3234
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Peter Grunauer
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Baltimore
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Ample parking provided free of charge directly south of the restaurant.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Come in this Sunday September 18th! We are having an authenic pig roast and Miles Bonny will be playing on the patio! Also 2nd ANNUAL OKTOBERFEST SEPTEMBER 30TH-OCTOBER 2ND!!! Call to inquire for more details!!
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 2355 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 11 hours ago

This is one of our favorite restaurants. They always have great food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

My favorite place to dine in in KC. The food and service are outstanding. We would highly recommend just giving them a try. If you do, you will not be sorry. What you will do is, be coming back as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Awesomeness all the way around. Food value and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic Germanic/Austrian cuisine.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Food is the attraction at Grunauer's. As a Cold War soldier I live in Germany nearly 8 years. I miss Germany and the food. Grunauer's is very close to the German food I grew to love.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Tge food was tasty and nicely presented. The service was warm and welcoming.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Such a gem in KC. I work here and am here weekly. I love coming here just to have drinks at the Bar or have customers here for dinner. The food is FANTASTIC and they are really fast if you want a fast dinner. I always have a great experience when I come here. Come hungry though. The portions are HUGE and the meal is very hearty!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

The halibut was the best I've had. The beer was great. Jessica is a fantastic server.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Authentic, delicious, well-executed Austrian fare. Try the house-made rye bread. Nice beer and wine selection. Waiter was polished and helpful. Our party ordered the farmers plate (includes a yummy smoked pork loin and a bratwurst) and the jaeger schnitzel. Both dishes exceeded our expectations. We also ordered a side of red-cabbage which tasted like it was made by someone's Austrian grandma (ditto on the sauerkraut). I would suggest you save room for dessert but you probably won't be able to. Get a piece of apple strudel "to go" and enjoy it later. If you like Bavarian, Austrian, or Hungarian fare you must try this restaurant. We plan to return and bring our out-of-town visitors here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

This is my third time to visit Grünauer and this time was a business meal with clients and colleagues. It has consistently been great and this time was no different. Great service, great atmosphere and delicious food. A great spot to talk business or for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 11, 2018

We were one of a small number of tables. It took a long time for our food to come out due to it being improperly prepared. When it did arrive, the food was mediocre. The appetizer we ordered was forgotten so it didn't arrive until after we had received our entrees. It felt like the service received was not commensurate with the price paid.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We had a reservation & they seated us within 5 minutes. There were gluten free options which something we needed for our group. The food had great flavor. You can’t cross your legs under the table because of the design.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Our Family Birthday dinner was exceptional! Food was delicious and love the atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We have dined here before and always enjoy the fine cuisine. However, on this night, we were fortunate in that they were serving Sauerbraten, a dish served only every other week-end. It was incredible and delicious. The beer cheese soup and apple strudel were wonderful accompaniments to the meal. For a large restaurant, the service was timely and personal. If you haven't eaten there, you must go.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Really good Black Forest fare and plenty of it

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

The dishes are authentic and maintain the highest quality levels year after year. I'm never disappointed. Love this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great food and great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

OMGosh, it was absolutely fabulous! We went for Easter Sunday. I had the traditional lamb, but the table also had schnitzel, bohemian goulash (made with mushrooms), and halibut. We all gobbled all of our food, eating everything on our plates, but leaving just enough room for dessert. The wait staff made sure we were happy with all our requests and took care of us thoroughly. It will be a treat we will return to on many occasions from now on.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Had a surprise Birthday Party for my fiancee here. The host and servers were very accomodating to our large party. Our server was very knowledgable about all of the menu items and made some great recommendations for appetizers and entrees. With all of the different dishes the menu can seem overwhelming but don't be afraid to ask if you don't know what a dish is. I would highly recommend for any casual dining. It's a great price point and the portion sizes are very large.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

We had excellent service, food was wonderful and I would highly recommend this restaurant!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Food was excellent and service was superb. Daniel, our waiter new everything we asked him.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Amazing! Best meal & experience we’ve had in months!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Everything was fine with one caveat. It would seem that when a customer makes a reservation for two and, upon arrival, it appears that there is plenty of seating- including tables for two in nice locations, that the two should not have to be placed at a table for four in a location that is less desirable. Just my observation.

The food was fantastic.
Thank you

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Food was good. Service was great; wasn't abundantly checked on. It was a good balance. My husband and I shared our menu selections and the restaurant graciously divided the food for us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Wonderful experience with great ambiance and very special and tasty Austrian menu and beer choices! Great service and top quality all around!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We all enjoyed our lunch together and brought back memories of our trips to Austria!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

The staff was impeccable, the food reminded me of being back home in Austria, and the decor was beautiful! Will be back soon!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

WE had a friend in from Chicago and were looking for something a little different from KC BBQ or Mexican food, Grunaur was mentioned and was available in our time frame. We got there a little early and had a chance to try some fun new cocktails...The Dirty (with Beet juice and pickles!) Delicious! We also tried a Angry bird? Angry something ....Tequila, stiegl Radner...refreshing...for sure.
DInner was quite good as well, our server quite capable and full of helpful suggestions. The kraut served with our trio of sausages was sooo good! We also had a lovely wine...a red, Staka? So good!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Excellent food -- taste, look. Even better service -- very knowledgeable, helpful, and attentive without being overbearing. Terrific light flourless chocolate cake dessert. The restaurant could use a little more illumination - 1 click up on 10 point scale. Will definitely return. Excellent pork belly dish.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The occasion was celebration of my wife's birthday. We arrived early and were seated almost immediately. Both the food and service were outstanding. Although a little pricey, I would highly recommend. We will definitely be visiting this establishment in the future.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Excellent all around!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Food was great with great attention to detail, taste and quality. We’ll be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

I've been there once before; and, was looking forward to my second visit. I was not disappointed. The service was timely and efficient. The food was delightful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

The good was excellent. The pork chops were fantastic

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Loved Grunauer as always. Authenitic. Beautifully presented. A bit pricey, but as a celebratory or Austrian experience it is great place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

The food and service were both excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

It is almost puzzling that such delicious and authentic Austrian cooking can be healthy at the same time. For example, the apple strudel is top-notch -- with apples done to perfect texture without the addition of extra sugar -- super-thin and flaky pastry -- and whipped cream with no sugar added. The idea of strudel as a healthy food -- imagine!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

The service was great, the food was outstanding and the ambiance was perfect! I highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

As German/Austrian food gets harder to find, Gruenauer remains a delicious option in a beautiful location in the Freight House. The atmosphere is quiet and classy. It’s also a great place to meet friends for coffee and dessert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Excellent experience! The food was authentic and delicious. Wonderful presentation. I love going to family owned and run restaurants. Our server Ashley was exceptional, she went out of her way to make sure we had everything just as we wanted. Would absolutely recommend Grunauer, we will be returning!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
59