Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Grünauer

Grünauer is a classic Viennese style restaurant with Central European influences of German, Hugarian, and international specialties. Peter Grünauer, executive chef, his son Nicholas, and daughter Elisabeth opened Grünauer in May of 2010. Peter is from Austria and his brother and sister still run their family restaurant in the Neubau region of Vienna. The menu offers simple straight-forward, and affordable cuisine high-lighting some of the best cuisine Central Europe has to offer. The menu here is meant to satisfy every customer that walks in the door. The Wunder Bar offers an array of wines, beer, and spirits unlike any other restaurant in Kansas City. The authentic Biergarten outside is one of kind as well. There is no other place in the city to match the atmosphere of Grünauer. We pride ourselves on offering the best customer service and knowledge of our product. We want to offer you a fine dining experience with a family feel so, make a reservation today!

101 W. 22nd Street
Historic Freight House
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Austrian, German

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; DINNER: Monday- Thursday: 4:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday:4:00pm - 11:00pm; BRUNCH: Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm (brunch menu served ALL DAY) WUNDER BAR: Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-1:00am Sunday: 11:30am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Baltimore

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 283-3234

Website:
http://grunauerkc.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking provided free of charge directly south of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Peter Grunauer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come in this Sunday September 18th! We are having an authenic pig roast and Miles Bonny will be playing on the patio! Also 2nd ANNUAL OKTOBERFEST SEPTEMBER 30TH-OCTOBER 2ND!!! Call to inquire for more details!!

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 4:30PM - 6:30PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Tue 4:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Grünauer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (103)
Great Beer (96)
Good for a Date (94)
See All
Special Occasion (86)
Comfort Food (69)
Good for Anniversaries (67)
Creative Cuisine (61)
Fit for Foodies (57)
Worth the Drive (53)
Good for Birthdays (48)
Romantic (48)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Historic (45)
Business Meals (41)
Good for Groups (41)
Casual (40)
Pre/post Theatre (39)
Sunday Lunch (37)
Cozy (36)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Bar Seating (35)
Fun (29)
Great for Lunch (29)
Notable Wine List (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Great for Brunch (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Family Style (12)
Private Room (11)
Seasonal (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Disabled Access (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Outstanding Value (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
People Watching (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Scenic View (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Sports (2)
Healthy (2)
Spicy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Sort By:
S
1985 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

The food is incredible. We went when they were serving white asparagus. I'm not usually a fan of asparagus but I loved the white asparagus. I highly recommend Grunauer. I only wish I lived closer and could dine here more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Have come to Grunauer many times for a few Radler's, but never really eaten dinner. There were 6 of us dining and the food was fabulous. Everyone tried something different. Will certainly go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Not what I was expecting from reading reviews but nonetheless, we enjoyed ourselves. I think the expectations exceeded the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Everything was fabulous! Looking forward to our daughters rehearsal dinner here in about a month!!

Tags: Family Style, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This is a GREAT place for dinner and drinks. Take it slow and enjoy the German/Austrian/Kansas City vibe that was both cosmopolitan and country. Great food which most decidedly falls in the comfort food category with surprises that would delight foodies and aficionados alike. Great local and imported draft bier choices with a good selection of wines. The sausage, spätzle, and sauerkraut are everything a German-o-file could wish for. The selection of local artisan cheeses was delicious and added a piquant change to the comforting savoriness of the food. And the streusel was pleasingly un-sweet. Much closer to European tastes than expected. Along with the fresh (unsweetened) house made whipped cream it was a crisp finish to a delightful meal.

Tags: Late-night Find, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fireplace, Cozy, Great Beer, Fun, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Exceptional dinning experience from food to service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Quite good. Food was great, service was great, and the fact that the Royals finally won a baseball game while I was there was particularly great. Excellent work, Grünauer!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The service was amazing and so was the food! It would be a great time for a celebration or a date night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 7, 2017

As always, the food was excellent. The Butternut Squash Cheesecake was beyond outstanding. I had the Salsbury special of the day - pork tenderloin stuffed with mushrooms, sauteed onions, and swiss cheese - this should be on the menu.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Great place! Took my German girlfriend, who took delight in the authenticity. Nice to give her a taste of home!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

For authentic, delicious Austrian fare, Gruenauer is an excellent restaurant. Great staff and building.

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Absolutely love this restaurant... it doesn't get enough review, but the staff is great, love the beer selection and the food is wonderful. it's a bit more in the "pricey" range, so it's more of a special event restaurant than an every day dining opportunity, but a gem none the less! Thanks for the great beer recommendations!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was great. Though, their Pomme Frittes were not traditional German. They were just seasoned fries but, that was the worst of it.
I had the KasePatzle, which was amazing!
My husband had the Jager Schnitzel and he loved it.
We also had a bottle of Riesling wine. 2013 Kesseler, which was perfect with the food.
The dining room is open. A mix of modern and a bit of old-being in the Freight district. But, it was a bit loud being so open. Not too horrible tho.
The staff was excellent. Very attentive and they made every effort to make it special for our Anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We enjoyed the Germanic food and sharing some side dishes and dessert. We were served in a timely manner, and we were able to get to the theatre on time.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Awesome! Went for a late lunch on a Thursday afternoon. Great building, location, service and food. Very fun to try many different options!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Historic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Best place in town for wiener schnitzel and apfel strudel. Love their other menu options too! Great place to satisfy my craving for Austrian food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 29, 2017

I took my mother and sister here before a concert to enjoy some great German food. We've been looking for this type of food for awhile now and have finally found our gem! Schnitzel, brats, sauerkraut, red cabbage .... all fantastic!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Very nice atmosphere, attentive but unobtrusive service, excellent good and drink.

Tags: Romantic, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We had a dinner-out date, and then lunch and a late-afternoon strudel and coffee with out-of-town friends, all within two days. Food and service was exceptional every time. The menus are authentic, the beer and wine selections are both tasteful and cuisine-complementary, and the ambience is perfect. We'll be back - and often!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Business Meals, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was our first dining experience at Grunauer, and it was a very good one. Although we are a small group of 4 our tastes are very diverse, including a vegetarian. There were excellent choices on the menu for each of us, and the waiter did an outstanding job of guiding each of us through the "best" entrees to match our respective menu options. The appetizers and salads we selected and shared were also very good complement to the entrees. The wine and beer selection is fairly extensive and there are many choices to pair with the food. This restaurant is true to it's Austrian heritage, a joy to experience, and one we will want to return to again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had a great experience dining here. Attentive server and great food. Good prices for the portions especially for lunch.

Tags: Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great food as always. This place is always on our list to stop at whenever we get to Kansas City!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Quality ingredients comma consistently delicious. It is my go-to restaurant When I visit Crown Center.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great Beer, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Springfield)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Best German/Austrian food we've had in the States. After serving for 10 years in Germany, we have searched long and hard for good German food. Grunauer's is as good as any we had in Germany. Definitely worth going to.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Solid dinner across the board. Everyone enjoyed their entrees and drinks. We had the Räucherlachs (smoked salmon) and Gebackene Champignons (fried mushrooms) to start. Most folks got a salad, either Grünkohlsalat (Kale) or Rübensalat (Beet). A variety of entrees were ordered: Esterhazy Rostbraten (steak and potatoes), Bandnudeln (butternut squash pasta), and Forelle ala Neubau (trout) along with spaetzle and red cabbage as sides. All were good. We finished with the apple strudel. Again, excellent. If you are not drinking alcohol, try Almdudler, an Austrian soft drink.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We went to Grunauer to thank my mother in law for watching our kids so much. She's quite German and loved the food, especially the spaetzle and schnitzel. Waitress was a bit slow but very busy so forgivable. Kids (11 and 8) ordered from adult menu (no kids menu) and loved their choices. We will go again as a family!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Love this place! The smoked salmon brings me back every time I'm in Kansas City!

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I met up with a couple of friends that I have not seen in ages. They had never been there before and I don't even once before and it did not it all disappoint. The service was knowledgeable and friendly and we enjoyed everything that we had

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent food. A wide selection of main dishes. Good service. A nice table. We liked it all. We would recommend Gruneuar to our best friend, expecting he would appreciate our mentioning them.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Waitress was super helpful explaining the different menu items, including the beers. Food was delicious and plentiful.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great dinner, first time experience! Thanks Anthony!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Authentic, tasty food that brought back memories. Great presentation and well prepared. Wait staff was attentive and thoughtful. I'd go back again and again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very good, authentic Austrian-German food, much like what I used to have overseas. The Jägerschnitzel over späetzle was outstanding, my husband enjoyed his gulasch (too much paprika for my taste), and his son had a trio of sausages that were tasty. The ambience was pleasant, and our server was efficient, except when she left during the drink order forgetting to take one person's order. Just a little thing. I would definitely go back when in KC.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My friend and I adore Grunauers. We come here often and are never disappointed. The service is always exceptional. We especially love the variety of food. Our favorites are the sausages, beer and cheese soup, and schnitzel.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was my second experience at Grunauer. Both times were fabulous. The food/service was speedy but the meal was perfectly cooked. Highly recommend for a cozy date night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It was a good experience!! Enjoyed the atmosphere and the food was very good!! I'm glad we went there and definitely will be back! The service was good and my drink was always filled!! So I had an overall excellent experience!! Thank you for a good time!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Wonderful place for a date. To my sweetheart there before the dinner rush. Very quiet and nice place to chat. Great food and priced well... you get what you pay for...(except for the hot tea... it's $4 a bag so be careful... we spent $12 on tea... little dumb... next time BYO teabags and ask for hot water)

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Repeat customer. Love this place. Service is excellent and ambiance is great. Went this time to celebrate my husbands birthday and when I mentioned it to our service provider, he got a nice desert at no charge.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great selection of authentic German dishes. Several soups and salads to completment or to build a small meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 7, 2017

This was our first visit to Grunauers and we were not disappointed. The German/ Austrian menu selections are extensive and varied. The staff was first class. The wine list is very extensive and our waiter "right on" with pairing suggestions. We found it on the pricy side put will return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.