Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Grünauer

Grünauer is a classic Viennese style restaurant with Central European influences of German, Hugarian, and international specialties. Peter Grünauer, executive chef, his son Nicholas, and daughter Elisabeth opened Grünauer in May of 2010. Peter is from Austria and his brother and sister still run their family restaurant in the Neubau region of Vienna. The menu offers simple straight-forward, and affordable cuisine high-lighting some of the best cuisine Central Europe has to offer. The menu here is meant to satisfy every customer that walks in the door. The Wunder Bar offers an array of wines, beer, and spirits unlike any other restaurant in Kansas City. The authentic Biergarten outside is one of kind as well. There is no other place in the city to match the atmosphere of Grünauer. We pride ourselves on offering the best customer service and knowledge of our product. We want to offer you a fine dining experience with a family feel so, make a reservation today!

101 W. 22nd Street
Historic Freight House
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Austrian, German

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; DINNER: Monday- Thursday: 4:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday:4:00pm - 11:00pm; BRUNCH: Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm (brunch menu served ALL DAY) WUNDER BAR: Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-1:00am Sunday: 11:30am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Baltimore

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 283-3234

Website:
http://grunauerkc.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking provided free of charge directly south of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Peter Grunauer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come in this Sunday September 18th! We are having an authenic pig roast and Miles Bonny will be playing on the patio! Also 2nd ANNUAL OKTOBERFEST SEPTEMBER 30TH-OCTOBER 2ND!!! Call to inquire for more details!!

Grünauer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (61)
Special Occasion (56)
Great Beer (51)
See All
Good for a Date (47)
Worth the Drive (40)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Comfort Food (36)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for Groups (33)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Casual (27)
Business Meals (27)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Romantic (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Fun (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Great for Lunch (16)
Cozy (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Seasonal (7)
Great for Brunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
2107 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely amazing place for German food. Loved the apple strudel drink and dessert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

First time dining there. Excellent in every way. Great recommendations from our server. Wished we had room for the dessert of the day!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I have been here several times the food and service is always excellent. You will not be disappointed. 😋

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Date night for a birthday celebration. Waiter was amazing, very attentive, and helped guide us through the menu. Best service I've ever received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Very nice! Everyone enjoyed their meal and our server was very knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We had a great time at Grunauer this past weekend for brunch. We had a group of 8, and everyone found something to their liking on the menu. The brunch items were outstanding and it was nice being able to order from the lunch menu, too (the Schnitzel was pretty amazing). Highly recommend, for lunch, brunch or dinner !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Son was home from college and it was his first time. He really enjoyed. We will bring him again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Our meal and service was great at Grunaur. Super unusual cocktails and the service was outstanding. Katie helped us and she spoke "menu" fluently. We'll be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Our server did an excellent job of assessing my beer taste preferences and then recommending the perfect solution.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Casual, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Friends in town from Pennsylvania. Wanted to take them somewhere they haven't been. They loved the food! (As do we!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I love this place. I eat there every chance I get. Authentic German/Austrian food. The Spatzel is amazing as is their schnitzel. Great wine list and beer selection.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Grünauers is a consistently excellent restaurant. Having lived in Europe for a number of years I can say this is as close to Austrian food as any restaurant I have visited in the US.

Don't change anything!

Dave

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Birthday dinner. The Hefeweisen beer is the best. We had pork shanks and sautéed liver. Service was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 31, 2017

I have been a Grunauer patron since the restaurant first opened and it is the restaurant where my daughters and I celebrate special occasions. I love the cuisine. We had a friend of our family visiting Kansas City for the first time so we wanted to share our favorite restaurant with her. The food was great but our waitress was terrible. She was not attentive to our table at all though the table next to us received frequent visits from her to attend to their requests. I would add her name but she never introduced herself as is customary by the Grunauer staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Casual, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Excellent Viennese/German fare. Great friendly service. Good beer/Wine selection although I do not personally drink. The schnitzel was top notch as was the spetzel. Wife had salmon special and though I do not particularly care for salmon, I thought it was delicious. Coffee was superb, as was strudel. I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Was very satisfied with the setting, food and swiftness of the service. Will be going again soon.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great place to meet friends for a delicious, relaxing meal. Really yummy Bloody Marys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Spent our 50th and 52nd anniversaries here! Both times food and service were excellent! Ate on the patio last time...beautiful evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

A hidden treasure! Kansas City's only Austrian restaurant! A repeat favorite. Excellent service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

One of the best German restaurants I've been to in the US.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Seriously delicious German food in an interesting and historic building

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent food and service made for a memorable meal and an enjoyable time for all!

Tags: Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We brought our out of town visitors for the Sunday Frühschoppen special menu. It was amazing! Everything was authentic, and beautifully prepared. You made our experience memorable, and we will be back again and again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This was our first time here and we found it to be an excellent choice. Josiah, our waiter, was very attentive and informative. While the schnitzel was excellent, the Julius Meinl coffee alone is worth the visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Always wonderful. Great staff, great food. wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Always good food and good service! My husband and I often order a few sides and seasonal sausages to share. Currywurst is amazing!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

After living in Germany for over a year, I am always on the look-out for good German food. Gruenauer hit the spot. Their schnitzel was outstanding. My husband ordered the trout and loved it, and my daughter had a pot-roasted beef dish (Tafelspitz) that was outstanding...melt in your mouth, flavorful beef with root vegetables. Our waitress knew the menu very well and was able to recommend wine and food that we all ended up enjoying perfectly. We will definitely return to enjoy the food, good service and lovely ambience at Gruenauer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

First time to visit. Date night for my spouse and I. The ambiance was great and the food was delicious! Our waiter was knowledgeable, polite, gracious and friendly. He was also patient with our questions. We had a very enjoyable experience and will definitely return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

The food was excellent. The best German food I've had in a long time. I will definitely be going back. I recommend eating either the Spatzelfanne or the Jager Schnitzel Vom Schwein. Don't forget to order the Apple Strudel! It's Amazing!

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Grunauer is a great restaurant. I have been to Austria and Germany and their food id as authentic as any German restaurant I have ever been in. The service was great and Gruauer has a very extensive beer and wine menu. I would recommend Grunauer to anyone that wants great, authentic German/Austrian food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Casual, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Everything was amazing! The food and service was the best. Our server was Matt and he was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent server and the food was top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We were shopping at Halls and two salesmen there recommended the restaurant. As we are not from Kansas City, we appreciated their helping us make a reservation. We had great German and Austrian beer. I had the Bohemian Wild Mushroom Goulash. It was perfectly seasoned and delicious. My husband had local sausages and the best pomme frites we've had on this side of the Atlantic. Great decor and atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2017

It was disappointing for 2/3 diners. One diner did enjoy his meal. He had the Jäger Schnitzel Vom Schwein- Pork scallopini with a mushroom cream sauce served with spinach spätzle and liked it a lot. I had the beet salad and the beets were undercooked and it was not a particularly inspiring salad. The service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I took a good friend to Grunauer for her birthday lunch. The ambience, food, and service were
all excellent.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Very good flavorful food. I have had spatzle many times, but the spinach spatzle was amazing. Very delicious meal from start to finish and good service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Always fantastic food! This one of our favorite restaurants in KCMO, it never disappoints!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 6, 2017

First time, very impressed! Delicious food and great service. What more could I ask for!? We will be back again soon!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Been here before, the Schnitzel is always amazing. We requested the patio on the reservation for my friend's birthday and they totally accommodated us on a busy First Friday. We had the pretzel and chicken strips for and appetizer, both were good. My friend had the steak medallions (loved it) and my other friend had the paprika chicken (she did not care for it), but she is kind of strange and picky when it comes to food. I had the spinach stuffed schnitzel.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We attend First Fridays on a regular basis and always eat here before we enjoy the art. Would recommend this restaurant to all my friends and family.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.