About Grünauer

101 W. 22nd Street
Historic Freight House
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Grünauer is a classic Viennese style restaurant with Central European influences of German, Hugarian, and international specialties. Peter Grünauer, executive chef, his son Nicholas, and daughter Elisabeth opened Grünauer in May of 2010. Peter is from Austria and his brother and sister still run their family restaurant in the Neubau region of Vienna. The menu offers simple straight-forward, and affordable cuisine high-lighting some of the best cuisine Central Europe has to offer. The menu here is meant to satisfy every customer that walks in the door. The Wunder Bar offers an array of wines, beer, and spirits unlike any other restaurant in Kansas City. The authentic Biergarten outside is one of kind as well. There is no other place in the city to match the atmosphere of Grünauer. We pride ourselves on offering the best customer service and knowledge of our product. We want to offer you a fine dining experience with a family feel so, make a reservation today!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Austrian, German

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; DINNER: Monday- Thursday: 4:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday:4:00pm - 11:00pm; BRUNCH: Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm (brunch menu served ALL DAY) WUNDER BAR: Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-1:00am Sunday: 11:30am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Baltimore

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 283-3234

Website:
http://grunauerkc.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking provided free of charge directly south of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Peter Grunauer

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come in this Sunday September 18th! We are having an authenic pig roast and Miles Bonny will be playing on the patio! Also 2nd ANNUAL OKTOBERFEST SEPTEMBER 30TH-OCTOBER 2ND!!! Call to inquire for more details!!

Restaurant Photos

Grünauer
Scharfe Kilbasa
Kalbsbratwurst
Stiegl Pils
Red Cabbage And Mashed Potatoes
Apfel Strudel mit Schlag
Sausage Duo
Schnitzel a la Holstein
Stuffed Pork Tenderloin
Schweinebraten
Cheese
Split Pea Lentil Curry Soup
pretzel
Tafelspitz
Jausenbrettl
Smoked salmon
Bavarian Creme
Staropramen Czech Beer
Stiegl Grapefruit Radler
Bread
Port Glühwein
Hungarian Beef Gulasch
Croquettes
Unnamed Cocktail
Szegediner Gulasch
Räucherforelle
Stiegl Goldbrau Beer
House Smoked Rainbow Trout
Staropramen
Stiegl Goldbrau
Sweet Waltz
Salad
Goulash
Tomato Bisque
Sausage Trio
Sausage Platter
Stiegl Piels
Krautfleckerl
Schnitzel
Reissdorf Kölsch
Hungarian Beef
Veal Schnitzel
Pumpkin Cream Soup
Red Cabbage
Kolsch Stiegl
Cabbage Rolls
Sausages
Käsespätzle
Viennese Apple Strudel
Spinach Salad
Sausage Sampler
Chechvar Beer
Farmer's Plate
Czechvar Beer
Austrian Taffelspitz
Meinl Double Espresso
Wienerschnitzel
Pork
Espresso Martini
Kasekrainer Sausage (Viennese Sausage With Cheese)
pumpkin soup
PAPRIKAHUHN
Sourbraten
House Salad
Wiener Schnitzel
Hofbräu Maibock
Celebrator Dopplebock
Hofbrau Beer
Red Cabbage Salad
Chocolate torte
Viennese Fried Mushrooms
Sausage
  cheese Strudel

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 5:00PM - 10:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Grünauer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (123)
fit for foodies (120)
good for groups (69)
See All
neighborhood gem (62)
romantic (52)
great for lunch (44)
great for outdoor dining (40)
notable wine list (24)
vibrant bar scene (21)
great for brunch (16)
hot spot (15)
scenic view (11)
kid-friendly (9)
late-night find (7)
Sort By:
Newest
1627 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food, menu options were impressive. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Good food, menu options were impressive. One of our four meals was inadvertently missed but the staff responded quickly and saved our night. Great staff.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Grunauer did their usual good job with o ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Grunauer did their usual good job with our late Sunday afternoon birthday dinner. Service was a click slow getting starting but went well once underway. They also handled an unexpected additional guest with grace and ease.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We've been here more than a few times an ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 7 days ago

We've been here more than a few times and each visit brings the same great food and fun beer list to sample different items. It can get a bit loud in there, so plan accordingly, but it's always a treat to eat there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

What an amazing evening! I had asked the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 7 days ago

What an amazing evening! I had asked the restaurant for a quiet table since we were celebrating our anniversary. When we checked in they told us one of their best tables was actually in the middle of the room. We agreed to take their word. The setting is beautiful- a restored brick building. Our waiter, Daniel R, was very helpful with suggestions and came across as loving the food and helping others discover it. We loved what we ordered! ( I copied pictures from Yelp with their names to help) At dessert time the restaurant paid for our dessert. We will definitely be back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic. Service was great; b ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was fantastic. Service was great; bar was fantastic and the bill was reasonable. The only thing to detract was the dining room was hot- probably 80 degrees. It was July and the high that day had been 100, but it was just warm enough to notice.

Otherwise, it was a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great authentic food. Top notch service ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great authentic food. Top notch service. My favorite restaurant in KC!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grunauer fit the bill for my friends and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Grunauer fit the bill for my friends and I. The lunch service was on time and at the ready. The Schnitzell and Bratwurst appetizers were enthusiastically received.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The sausage and service are awesome!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The sausage and service are awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The service was wonderful and the food w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The service was wonderful and the food was delicious. More than any of us could eat! Strudel was the best I ever had! Great wine list and beer choices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding food and beverage selections ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Outstanding food and beverage selections and excellent service. If you don't save room for dessert you should get an order to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Grunauer's is always top notch. Having ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Grunauer's is always top notch. Having family that is German and Austrian, it is nice to have authentic food and drink so close to home. Fantastic as usual..

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm Austrian. The food is just like Mot ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I'm Austrian. The food is just like Mother made. outstanding & authentic.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at an authentic Austrian rest ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

First time at an authentic Austrian restaurant. The beer selection was great. The various sausages were delicious. The cured meat was a GOOD appetizer. The bacon, sausage and smoked ham main course was plate licking good. Will have to come back to try the rest of the menu.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a corporate pilot who travels all ove ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

As a corporate pilot who travels all over the world I was looking for something a little out of the ordinary in K.C. to meet up with family/friends and Grünauer was spot on!! Great atmosphere and feel to this restaurant. The staff was excellent as well as the food. Everyone in the group enjoyed our time that evening and I'm sure, when back in K.C. and full of BBQ, we will venture back in...Maybe even before the BBQ?!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent....the atmosphere ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was excellent....the atmosphere is just plain fun with an old world feel.....and the service was just fantastic.

You'll see us again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious authentic Austrian cuisine - c ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Delicious authentic Austrian cuisine - cool atmosphere and friendly service. Totally recommend the Schnitzel and a tall Radler

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointed in the food! My husb ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Very disappointed in the food! My husband chose to celebrate his birthday with our family at Grunauer. Admittedly, we had not been there in a year. We had previously enjoyed the food and were looking forward to a wonderful dinner. That most definitely was not the case! Had it been just one entree, we would have assumed that it was a fluke. However, the Backhendl, Cordon Bleu, and two orders of Veal Schnitzel were all equally bad. They were overcooked, over breaded, and very dry. We were used to being able to cut our entrees with forks. These were so tough, that even the sharp knives provided needed very firm pressure to cut the meat. On the positive, the red cabbage was fantastic. In fact, it became the main part of our dinners. We had the Apfelstrudel and the mushroom appetizer. They were good. The service was good and our server, Adam B., was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

We have been to Grunauer many times, and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have been to Grunauer many times, and have never had a bad experience. Our server Anthony was fun and witty, as well as being an excellent server.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best authentic Austrian food in the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The best authentic Austrian food in the Kansas City area and one of two restaurants with Germanic food in the region. Well worth the two hour drive for a meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I both hold Grunauer in h ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My husband and I both hold Grunauer in high regard. Their food and service are consistently fantastic. It's hard to believe we found a place where we know that we will be satisfied with the entire experience every single time. Our server on Saturday was Daniel and he was awesome. Very helpful and personable. My husband and I order the A la Grunauer schnitzel for every visit - it's SO GOOD! We want to try other entrees but find it very hard to veer from our most favorite dish. We do like to try different appetizers and desserts each time around and we are never disappointed. I highly recommend treating yourself by going to this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only thing that would have made our expe ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Only thing that would have made our experience better - traditional German music!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

We always enjoy the food. The restauran ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We always enjoy the food. The restaurant is reliable in that the food tastes great no matter what you order or even if you order the same item at each visit. Many times restaurants can be "hit or miss". My Gin Martini tasted wonderful and was definitely not watered down. The only miss on the drink is that I asked for a twist of lime and received a twist of lemon instead without explanation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food excellent wait staff brings b ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food excellent wait staff brings back memories of Europe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and very attentive servic ...

 
 (Fayetteville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent food and very attentive service. The spätzle was outstanding and we really liked the variety of snitzles. We set up our reservation and our table was ready when we arrived with no waiting.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food is always unique and delicious. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The food is always unique and delicious. Service is attentive and not stuffy or overly friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been here a few times and the food ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I've been here a few times and the food has never disappointed. Good service and a lively environment makes for a fun meal. It can get a little loud if it's full or a group is nearby.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely fantastic. Great food, great ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Absolutely fantastic. Great food, great service, great decor, great location, we plan on returning. Get schwarz johannisbeersaft!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good and the ambiance is co ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was good and the ambiance is comfortable and quiet.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Authentic Austrian food. Fast and frien ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Authentic Austrian food. Fast and friendly service.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Warm and home like feeling . Great food ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Warm and home like feeling . Great food and great location downtown KC.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great schnitzel, beer and authentic atmo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great schnitzel, beer and authentic atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable evening

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This was the first time we have eaten at Grunauer. I am not necessarily a fan of German cuisine. However, my meal was delicious. My friends raved about their food as well. It is a beautiful setting and our waiter was top-notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Perennial Favorite

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

A quite-delicious dinner. Prompt seating, even on a First Friday. My wife and I both had the house salad which had an excellent balance of dressing and greens. The cucumbers in the salad had the seeds removed - a nice touch. My wife had the jaegerschnitzel and she gave me a few bites. Extremely tender, perfectly breaded, and the sauce was superb. Loved the spaetzle -- just the right amount of al dente. I had the Hungarian goulash (pork). The sauce was flavorful but I would have preferred just a bit more paprika. The pork was well-cooked. The richness of the dish was nicely offset by the piquant sauerkraut covering it. The bread dumpling had a nice caraway flavor but was extremely dense and not particularly good at helping with the sauce.

We shared an apple strudel which was absolutely fabulous. (Disclosure: I've had Grunauer's apple strudel many times before and it's a favorite of mine.) The whipped cream was not overly sweet and served as a lovely contrast to the acidic flavor of the apples and the flaky pastry. Although a bit of cinnamon might be welcome, it is very successful without.

Dinner was accompanied by a KC Bier Helles lager....quite malty and a slight bit shy of hops but very refreshing and a good selection with my entree.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent and our waiter ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The service was excellent and our waiter was able to describe the entrees perfectly. Our food was prepared perfectly and the atmosphere was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We expected More

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The assigned server never showed. The staff present did there best. The food was not a good value; we found one dish seasoned to near bitterness; another dish was sent back and another dish ordered. The third dish was over breaded and needed sauce that it lacked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

The food and beer were amazing!

 
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The staff was very helpful with recommended food and beers that out of this world!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food, service and overall presence w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food, service and overall presence were ALL great!! Food was absolutely delicious! Would highly recommend and will be visiting again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Couldn't have been more pleased.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our server is one of the kindest people I've met and the food was truly unbelievable. This is one of the restaurants which have absolutely blown me away. We had the smoked salmon appetizer, braised beef, creamed spinach stuffed pork, and swiss roll dessert and each one of them was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was delicious. The beer, schn ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Everything was delicious. The beer, schnitzel, the streudel, all awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food. We took our German exchange ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Great food. We took our German exchange student and he agreed the food was very authentic and very well prepared.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.