About Grünauer

101 W. 22nd Street
Historic Freight House
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Grünauer is a classic Viennese style restaurant with Central European influences of German, Hugarian, and international specialties. Peter Grünauer, executive chef, his son Nicholas, and daughter Elisabeth opened Grünauer in May of 2010. Peter is from Austria and his brother and sister still run their family restaurant in the Neubau region of Vienna. The menu offers simple straight-forward, and affordable cuisine high-lighting some of the best cuisine Central Europe has to offer. The menu here is meant to satisfy every customer that walks in the door. The Wunder Bar offers an array of wines, beer, and spirits unlike any other restaurant in Kansas City. The authentic Biergarten outside is one of kind as well. There is no other place in the city to match the atmosphere of Grünauer. We pride ourselves on offering the best customer service and knowledge of our product. We want to offer you a fine dining experience with a family feel so, make a reservation today!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Austrian, German

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; DINNER: Monday- Thursday: 4:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday:4:00pm - 11:00pm; BRUNCH: Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm (brunch menu served ALL DAY) WUNDER BAR: Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-1:00am Sunday: 11:30am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Baltimore

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 283-3234

Website:
http://grunauerkc.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking provided free of charge directly south of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Peter Grunauer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come in this Sunday September 18th! We are having an authenic pig roast and Miles Bonny will be playing on the patio! Also 2nd ANNUAL OKTOBERFEST SEPTEMBER 30TH-OCTOBER 2ND!!! Call to inquire for more details!!

Restaurant Photos

Grünauer
Scharfe Kilbasa
Kalbsbratwurst
Stiegl Pils
Red Cabbage And Mashed Potatoes
Sausage Duo
Apfel Strudel mit Schlag
Schnitzel a la Holstein
Stuffed Pork Tenderloin
Schweinebraten
Cheese
Split Pea Lentil Curry Soup
pretzel
Tafelspitz
Jausenbrettl
Bavarian Creme
Smoked salmon
Stiegl Grapefruit Radler
Staropramen Czech Beer
Bread
Port Glühwein
Hungarian Beef Gulasch
Croquettes
Unnamed Cocktail
Szegediner Gulasch
Stiegl Goldbrau Beer
Räucherforelle
House Smoked Rainbow Trout
Staropramen
Stiegl Goldbrau
Sweet Waltz
Salad
Goulash
Tomato Bisque
Sausage Trio
Sausage Platter
Stiegl Piels
Krautfleckerl
Schnitzel
Reissdorf Kölsch
Hungarian Beef
Veal Schnitzel
Pumpkin Cream Soup
Red Cabbage
Cabbage Rolls
Kolsch Stiegl
Sausages
Käsespätzle
Viennese Apple Strudel
Spinach Salad
Sausage Sampler
Chechvar Beer
Czechvar Beer
Farmer's Plate
Meinl Double Espresso
Wienerschnitzel
Austrian Taffelspitz
Pork
Espresso Martini
Kasekrainer Sausage (Viennese Sausage With Cheese)
pumpkin soup
PAPRIKAHUHN
House Salad
Celebrator Dopplebock
Red Cabbage Salad
Hofbrau Beer
Hofbräu Maibock
Sourbraten
Chocolate torte
Wiener Schnitzel
Viennese Fried Mushrooms
Sausage
  cheese Strudel

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Grünauer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City
Best Food
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Crossroads / Freight District / Boulevard ›

Special Occasion (94)
Fit for Foodies (74)
Good for Groups (53)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Romantic (36)
Great for Lunch (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for a Date (20)
Authentic (19)
Great Beer (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Fun (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Casual (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Cozy (10)
Business Meals (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Scenic View (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Historic (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Seasonal (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1662 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and service were amazing!!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 2 days ago

The food and service were amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food here was excellent! I will defi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food here was excellent! I will definitely be recommending it to my friends and family who visit the area.

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very excellent food with good service at ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very excellent food with good service at a reasonable price. Will definitely return.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great and very authentic German food! An ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great and very authentic German food! And that said from a German

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just like being in Vienna. 😊 Reasonably ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Just like being in Vienna. 😊 Reasonably priced high quality Austrian dishes and desserts.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We often visit Grunauer when my husband' ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We often visit Grunauer when my husband's family is in town - it's become one of our favorites. We love the food, the extensive variety of alcoholic wines and liqueurs, the service - and just the ethnicity and experience of it all! It's a great place for a date, too. The history of the old Freight House building where it is located - adjacent to the train tracks and Union Station - all adds to the quaintness and excitement of a meal served there. I highly recommend reservations on the weekend, as they are quite popular and get full easily.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent! Food was great! Service was a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent! Food was great! Service was a above and beyond!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was an amazing experience - and the s ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was an amazing experience - and the service was the best we had experienced in the KC Metro in a very long time.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our family's favorite res ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is one of our family's favorite restaurant. Food is always fantastic and service is always great. I have never had a bad meal there it to everyone.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Authentic, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious German- Austrian cuisine in a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Delicious German- Austrian cuisine in a cozy setting! Service was smooth and attentive by Megan. Schnitzel, spätzle, mashed potatoes and rye bread all very good. Great beer choices - menu very creative.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family celebrated a birthday at Grun ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Our family celebrated a birthday at Grunauer and we were not disappointed. Amazing food and the service was top notch. We will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the Alaskan halibut served "en pap ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I had the Alaskan halibut served "en papillote", not very german, but VERY good. It was moist, light, and buttery -- cooked to perfection.

The service was friendly and appropriately casual.

We really enjoyed the meal after having not been treated all that well at Jacks Stak.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We have eaten here before. And spent a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We have eaten here before. And spent a couple of years in Germany. The Jaegar schnitzel was fabulous as was the spaetzel. Not too mushy but not hard either. There was a small side of cabbage in with the spaetzel, that was also cooked to perfection. I am not a big cabbage eater, but this was really good. And their signature apple strudel was great. Service was also very fast and waitress was attentive without hovering.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely space and light. Food was good. D ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Lovely space and light. Food was good. Drinks were delicious. Service was confused but trying to be helpful.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

The food was tasty, and we were able to ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was tasty, and we were able to eat outside on a beautiful evening. Our waiter was very accommodating. Very good overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, atmosphere and service. Have ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food, atmosphere and service. Have not been to the restaurant in years but so glad we went back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you! Wonderful experience!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Thank you! Wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience for the first time. Spe ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Great experience for the first time. Special day brunch, the food was delicious and generous portions. Only negative feedback was way too much salt in the Jager gravy sauce.

Tags: Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a fabulous date with my fiancé! Roma ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Had a fabulous date with my fiancé! Romantic table for two by the window offered great combo of privacy and people watching. Server (Carly) gave amazing service. Absolutely delicious food. Get brave and try something outside your normal comfort zone. It's worthwhile. Good portions, enough for leftovers, good value. Will definitely return and suggest Grunaur to friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fun, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed ourse ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves while dining at Grunauer. The service was exceptional, and the food authentic Austrian dishes! We will definitely return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the best restaurants in K ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants in Kansas city. The food is consistently good, our server was not very attentive on this occassion, but we still had an excellent dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

I was very impressed with the service. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I was very impressed with the service. Amanda did an awesome job meeting our needs and was very helpful. The food was absolutely delicious and served within a reasonable amount of time. Just an overall great experience for dinner. Thank you

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Organic, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had no idea what to expect but it was re ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Had no idea what to expect but it was recommended by a friend.

All aspects of the evening were excellent - Food and Service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A gem we have overlooked. An delightful ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

A gem we have overlooked. An delightful menu with extraordinary sauces. Great spot for people who appreciate good food.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Typical German faire slanted toward the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Typical German faire slanted toward the Austrian side. Several Austrian wines. A reasonably pleasant restaurant with reasonably good food at reasonable prices

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Comparing this to another German Restaur ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Comparing this to another German Restaurant in southern KC, the food here was way overpriced for what you get. The flavor was decent, but having German food somewhere else within the city, the flavor could have been better. I ordered the beef sauerbraten. It was good, but it could have more of the sour sauce on the meat instead of all of it being in the cabbage. If a salad on the side went with the meal, I could understand the price of $24. Yes, we did get some bread (1 basket), but having to be gluten free, I could not eat the bread. Others at my table said the bread was dry and not very good. You can get this same meal with a huge roll at the other German Restaurant for half the price. I guess you are paying for the ambiance?

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Wonderful food and a perfect setting! Re ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wonderful food and a perfect setting! Relaxed atmosphere and great for all types of groups!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great as always. On the most recent visi ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great as always. On the most recent visit, had the Sunday pork shank special for two --it was both delicious and a good value.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has now become our "go to" restaura ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This has now become our "go to" restaurant. The food is outstanding and has a home made quality that you can really taste as well as a comfort food feeling from the dishes. The menu selection is pure Austrian and the schnitzels are beyond comparison. The Austrian beer selections are delicious and pair well with the meals. Highly recommend this great restaurant to anyone who would like to experience Austrian food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was such a great experience! Servic ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was such a great experience! Service was a bit slow at first but got better as we went along. Everything we ordered was fantastic. Highly recommend! Better for a group than a date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Occasion: Anniversary dinner First time ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Occasion: Anniversary dinner

First time eating at Grunauer

Food: Overall, the food had good flavor. However, our chicken dish was tough. Cocktails were very good, though a bit overpriced for the size.

Service: Service was below average compared to other restaurants that offer a similar environment, experience and price point. Greeter was very pleasant, but the experience from there was somewhat dissapointing. It was our first time going to a German/Austrian-inspired restaurant, which we were excited about. However, wait staff did not explain the unique menu well at all and rushed through answers we had. Even smirked after we asked what some of the names of dishes were. From there, wait staff wasn't nearly as attentive as we've experienced at other restaurants. It could have been because we were there on a weeknight, so maybe we'll try it again in the future on a weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Excellent and authentic food and great s ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent and authentic food and great service. Would definitely recommend to foodies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere and fantastic food. We ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great atmosphere and fantastic food. We will be back sometime soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic German/Austrian cuisine. The ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Authentic German/Austrian cuisine. The mixed salad was exceptional! The entrees were plentiful and well prepared. The atmosphere in Grunauer's is upbeat and happy. We will definitely dine there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Love it, wonderfully authentic German fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Love it, wonderfully authentic German food! Exceptional beer list. I haven't eaten outside but that space looks lovely!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, menu options were impressive. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Good food, menu options were impressive. One of our four meals was inadvertently missed but the staff responded quickly and saved our night. Great staff.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Grunauer did their usual good job with o ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Grunauer did their usual good job with our late Sunday afternoon birthday dinner. Service was a click slow getting starting but went well once underway. They also handled an unexpected additional guest with grace and ease.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We've been here more than a few times an ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We've been here more than a few times and each visit brings the same great food and fun beer list to sample different items. It can get a bit loud in there, so plan accordingly, but it's always a treat to eat there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

What an amazing evening! I had asked the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

What an amazing evening! I had asked the restaurant for a quiet table since we were celebrating our anniversary. When we checked in they told us one of their best tables was actually in the middle of the room. We agreed to take their word. The setting is beautiful- a restored brick building. Our waiter, Daniel R, was very helpful with suggestions and came across as loving the food and helping others discover it. We loved what we ordered! ( I copied pictures from Yelp with their names to help) At dessert time the restaurant paid for our dessert. We will definitely be back!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic. Service was great; b ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was fantastic. Service was great; bar was fantastic and the bill was reasonable. The only thing to detract was the dining room was hot- probably 80 degrees. It was July and the high that day had been 100, but it was just warm enough to notice.

Otherwise, it was a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.