Grünauer

4.8
2430 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Austrian
Top Tags:
  • Authentic
  • Good for a Date
  • Great Beer
Grünauer is a classic Viennese style restaurant with Central European influences of German, Hugarian, and international specialties. Peter Grünauer, executive chef, his son Nicholas, and daughter Elisabeth opened Grünauer in May of 2010. Peter is from Austria and his brother and sister still run their family restaurant in the Neubau region of Vienna. The menu offers simple straight-forward, and affordable cuisine high-lighting some of the best cuisine Central Europe has to offer. The menu here is meant to satisfy every customer that walks in the door. The Wunder Bar offers an array of wines, beer, and spirits unlike any other restaurant in Kansas City. The authentic Biergarten outside is one of kind as well. There is no other place in the city to match the atmosphere of Grünauer. We pride ourselves on offering the best customer service and knowledge of our product. We want to offer you a fine dining experience with a family feel so, make a reservation today!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Austrian, German
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
LUNCH: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; DINNER: Monday- Thursday: 4:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday:4:00pm - 11:00pm; BRUNCH: Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm (brunch menu served ALL DAY) WUNDER BAR: Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-1:00am Sunday: 11:30am-9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(816) 283-3234
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Peter Grunauer
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Baltimore
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Ample parking provided free of charge directly south of the restaurant.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Come in this Sunday September 18th! We are having an authenic pig roast and Miles Bonny will be playing on the patio! Also 2nd ANNUAL OKTOBERFEST SEPTEMBER 30TH-OCTOBER 2ND!!! Call to inquire for more details!!
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 2430 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Great place for authentic German/Austrian cuisine. Love the goulash.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Food was authentic and filling. Staff was friendly and helpful. Service was prompt. Would go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Love this place

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Great food and service. We were celebrating our 31st anniversary.
Hansel was a superior waiter. Took care of our needs and gave good food, drink and dessert recommendations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Schnitzel was delicious as was the strudel. A really nice atmosphere and very good service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Came here to celebrate Father's Day. We like European cuisine and Grunauer's did not disappoint. The cheese plate as and appetizer or after dinner dessert is wonderful. We each chose a traditional entrée. Good beer and wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful Sunday brunch experience - highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Great Fathers day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Love the food, atmosphere, service and beer!!! We lived in Germany and visited Austria several times. Grunauer gives us a taste of both! Steigl beer is one of our absolute favs so we love coming here on our annual pilgrimage to KC from Little Rock!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

The food was amazing and the server was very attentive. We loved the location and the flavors. I was stationed in Germany while I was in the Army, and this compared pretty well. SF

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

We had an outstanding experience Saturday evening. Three couples made up our table and both the food and the service were both just stellar. Our server was Ashley W and she was top-notch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

We had an excellent lunch with outstanding service. The menu is varied enough that it is easy to please a family with varied likes and even the vegetarians in our group. The price value is particularly good and the Austrian flavors are so welcomed in the area where we see so few recipes if this nature.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 15, 2018

We were in Kansas City for my significant other's work. We could see the location from our Hotel Room. Checking out the visible restaurant we learned that next door was Grunaeur's German Restaurant. Since my significant other is of German decent, we wanted to try it out. We were pleasantly surprised when I ordered a drink in the bar that tasted identical to his Mother's famous German punch. The rest of the meal was as authentic for both of us. Loved the Red Cabbage, Schnitzel and the Spaetzle! Brought back some wonderful "foodie" memories of our youth growing up working at his family's German Guest House in New Hampshire.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Fun birthday luncheon for my daughter

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Food is excellent along with the great old location. Have been there a few times and my only complaint is the amount of time it takes to get a drink/cocktail. This time the drinks didn't come until after the appetizer came even though we ordered them at separate times. After the meal came I had to practically beg to get another drink and it took forever. I really thought restaurants made money of their drinks but whomever runs this restaurant has not been told this.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

The food and service were outstanding. Will be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

My favorite restaurant in KC. Great food and never disappoints.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Love this place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Tasty tasty food. Great service. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

I had made a reservation through this site and specified that it was for our anniversary (#35) and that we would like a table with a view. We were not asked if we were there for a special occasion, the little table light wouldn’t stay lit due to the overhead fan (ambience bummer) and we were just seated in a regular table/spot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

First visit to this restaurant and would highly recommend to anyone looking for great service, atmosphere and food. Everything was wonderful and it was a good value for the money.
We'll definitely return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

We loved everything about the meal and the restaurant! The only thing we were not impressed with was the bread brought to the table with the meal. It seemed to be just ordinary bread and was actually kind of dry.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

This was a special occasion for my husband's 50th birthday and the server was very friendly, made sure he got his complimentary dessert, explained all the menu questions, and everything was just great. The host and hostess were super as well. It's just a great place to have a positive dining experience. We've eaten there several times and all of them were wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Excellent meal; Service was great. Friendly staff greeted you and saud goodbye onway out. Special food request was accommodated without any issues.. Nice variety of beverages available.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

I had a wonderful birthday dinner here! Their sausages, wammerl, and beer are my favorites! Staff are super friendly. Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 1, 2018

We go here once a year for our anniversary and always have a great time. The food is not inexpensive but it’s also fantastic and well worth it for us on a special occasion. We highly recommend Grunauer’s for a special occasion or just if you want a fancy meal and quiet conversation in a classic environment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

My fiance ordered the prime rib that was on special and had said it was probably the best prime rib he had ever eaten. Cooked perfectly (medium rare) and juicy. Priced very reasonable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Everything was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Always a pleasure to dine at Gruenauer. Great Austrian food, lovely surroundings, great for meeting up with friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

We had a wonderful dinner with family. Our server was wonderful and the food delicious. My son had recently returned from studying abroad in Germany/Austria and wanted to eat somewhere with authentic schnitzel for his birthday, he was not disappointed. It was a wonderful evening!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Excellent server...Jessica! Good food and ambience...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Grünauer never disappoints! The food was amazing from the appetizer all the way to the dessert. Our waiter Anthony was fabulous and his recommendations were on point! The food is always fresh and the flavors are extraordinary. If you're looking for something different in KC this is the place!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Outstanding service, great beer selection and authentic food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

I lived in Germany for four years and ate schnitzel as much as I possibly could... You could call it an addiction. The Jäeger at Grünauer was the first I had ever had without breading, and it was SO good! The spaetzle was the best I've had. I wish I would have tried the apple strudel, but the flourless chocolate cake with hazelnuts was good. Our waiter was amazingly knowledgeable and attentive, plus gave us a great recommendation on where to go for drinks after dinner. Will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 25, 2018

I believe our waiter was named James. He was very prompt and explained the menu very well. The food was superb. I really liked the birthday card and voucher for a free dessert that was on the table when we arrived. As good as Edelweiss in CO springs. My new favorite spot!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

The Grunauer experience can be summed up with one word. AWESOME, SIMPLY AWESOME.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Our server Sean was attentive and knowledgeable, which made the dining experience better than it would have been. However when we ordered a veal cutlet a la holstein (which was good) he did not advise us that there would be an upcharge for the different preparation. We were satisfied with the food and drinks and the price...just be clear when there is an upcharge.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Excellent menu with something for every taste. Good service. We always have a great experience here. Wonderful desserts.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Best restaurant in Kansas City. The food is always delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

We introduced friends to this restaurant a few nights ago. They raved about the food. I knew they would. One had halibut and the others had Jäger Schnitzel Vom Schwein and Cordon Bleu Schnitzel. All terrific. Service was wonderful, too.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
61

Tweets by Grünauer