About Grünauer

101 W. 22nd Street
Historic Freight House
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Grünauer is a classic Viennese style restaurant with Central European influences of German, Hugarian, and international specialties. Peter Grünauer, executive chef, his son Nicholas, and daughter Elisabeth opened Grünauer in May of 2010. Peter is from Austria and his brother and sister still run their family restaurant in the Neubau region of Vienna. The menu offers simple straight-forward, and affordable cuisine high-lighting some of the best cuisine Central Europe has to offer. The menu here is meant to satisfy every customer that walks in the door. The Wunder Bar offers an array of wines, beer, and spirits unlike any other restaurant in Kansas City. The authentic Biergarten outside is one of kind as well. There is no other place in the city to match the atmosphere of Grünauer. We pride ourselves on offering the best customer service and knowledge of our product. We want to offer you a fine dining experience with a family feel so, make a reservation today!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Austrian, German

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; DINNER: Monday- Thursday: 4:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday:4:00pm - 11:00pm; BRUNCH: Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm (brunch menu served ALL DAY) WUNDER BAR: Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-1:00am Sunday: 11:30am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Baltimore

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 283-3234

Website:
http://grunauerkc.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking provided free of charge directly south of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Peter Grunauer

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come in this Sunday September 18th! We are having an authenic pig roast and Miles Bonny will be playing on the patio! Also 2nd ANNUAL OKTOBERFEST SEPTEMBER 30TH-OCTOBER 2ND!!! Call to inquire for more details!!

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 7:45PM - 10:00PM

Grünauer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City
Best Overall
Kansas City, MO
Best Food
Kansas City, MO
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Crossroads / Freight District / Boulevard ›

fit for foodies (135)
special occasion (133)
good for groups (74)
See All
neighborhood gem (66)
romantic (65)
great for lunch (51)
notable wine list (35)
great for outdoor dining (35)
vibrant bar scene (26)
hot spot (21)
great for brunch (20)
late-night find (16)
scenic view (13)
kid-friendly (8)
Sort By:
Newest
1586 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was delicious. The beer, schn ...

Dined 6 days ago

Everything was delicious. The beer, schnitzel, the streudel, all awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. We took our German exchange ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great food. We took our German exchange student and he agreed the food was very authentic and very well prepared.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our all-time favorite place in Kansas Ci ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our all-time favorite place in Kansas City! It reminds us a lot of being in Vienna. The sausages and topfenstrudel alone are worth the visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was charming, the food wa ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The atmosphere was charming, the food was wonderful but the best part was that we had a waiter who had been there since the opening and was very knowledgeable in regards to the menu which made this our first but not last visit a wonderful experience!!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We ate here on a Friday night and enjoye ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

We ate here on a Friday night and enjoyed our food very much. My companion started with the soup of the day, beer cheese, and i had the vichysoisse. Delicious. He had a schnitzel and i had the trout and it was all good. Our server gave me a wine recommendation which turned out very well. The restaurant is in the freight house district so it has a nice, old world appearance. Service was knowledgeable, friendly and professional. Parking can be a challenge. It is a shared parking lot, so you might have to walk.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Sever was not attentive; main course cam ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Sever was not attentive; main course came out minutes after our cheese plate; food was decent enough but not good enough considering the price, poor service, and lack of atmosphere.

food4
ambience4
service4

The sausages are awesome - pick 1, 3, or ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The sausages are awesome - pick 1, 3, or maybe 6 as an appetizer and they're fantastic. The spatzel as a side is great too. Plenty of main courses to choose from and we really liked them all.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Just Like Grandmas

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is excellent! It tasted just like grandma from Hungary used to make. I would have been able to give 5 stars for everything, but the service was nothing special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

I felt like I was back in Munich, Germany with the food, ambiance, and drinks. Fantastic experience for a post-graduation celebration with my family. Ended up ordering a few meals and sharing them family style so we could try multiple dishes. We ordered what our server said was great and we loved every bite!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eat as if you are in Austria or Germany!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Gruenauer perfectly provides an Austrian/German dining experience. The service is superb, and the food and drink a perfect replication of dining in Salzburg, Munich, and Vienna! Our server (Megan) was exceptional!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, friendly and knowledgeable wa ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Good food, friendly and knowledgeable waiter, quiet atmosphere.

food4
ambience4
service4

Food was phenomenal. Service was excelle ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was phenomenal. Service was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dave

Dined on May 6, 2016

Nice experience. Good amount of tasty food. Excellent service by a knowledgeable waiter.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bavarian Dream

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

The ambiance is moody and old-world, yet hip. The service is stellar; each server has been fully informed and always capable with describing the menu items and giving detailed information about the options. Only place in the KC city limits to find some of these menu items! The apple strudel mit schlag is beyond delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Busser

Dined on May 1, 2016

Good food and waiter. Busser was reaching between us while we were still talking. Very rude and unnecessary.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and the service was top-notch ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great food and the service was top-notch; I was very impressed!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Dining Experience

Dined on May 1, 2016

This was my 3rd trip to the restaurant and each have been delightful, good food Great service and love the outdoor dining this last time, even with the train and trolley going by

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

ATaste of Europe!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Having lived in and traveled through Europe, Grünauer's Jagerschnitzel took me back. It was delicious! The service was great and the atmosphere was nice as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Always an enjoyable dining experience!

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Always an enjoyable dining experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get the Pork Shank to Share

Dined on April 24, 2016

This is the most amazing dish! Be sure to call ahead and reserve to make sure you get one!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dad's 60th Birthday

Dined on April 23, 2016

We took my dad there for his 60th birthday, it was our 3rd time there. As usual, the food was great. I had the schweinbraten (pork shoulder and loin) that just fell apart it was so tender. The beer list is made for a beer snob, with a wide selection of import draft, and bottles. The service is great, they're attentive without being in your face about it. The decor is beautiful, open beams in the roof, chandeliers, warm "ambiance"... cozy enough to feel like home, yet pretty enough for date night. Overall, a great experience, if a tad pricey (but, you get what you pay for).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow, wow, wow. Excellent service, food v ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Wow, wow, wow. Excellent service, food variety and flavor, presentation, wine and beer and cocktail lists. Highly reccomend!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First Visit

Dined on April 20, 2016

We took some clients for dinner and had a very good experience. Great food and the service was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5

First time there, and very authentic, wa ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

First time there, and very authentic, was like I was in some of my favorite Viennese restaurants (in Vienna).

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great place to take family for a special ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great place to take family for a special occasion. The food was excellent, the restaurant is beautiful and the staff was friendly.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

4.5 Stars

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Short version: Excellent "Germanic" cuisine that is a nice break from your typical KC restaurant. Longer version: 5 of us met for dinner, with only 1 of us being at Grunauer before. I was "coached" by one of my managers who is from Germany and read the menu before we met in the restaurant. All of the food was excellent - we gave it 10 thumbs up. Our server was attentive but not overbearing and gave great recommendations. Trout, bratwurst, steaks, goulash - all were hits. Yes we would go back. 4.5 stars.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite places

Dined on April 15, 2016

We go here often. The bartender is accomplished. The wine list is unique and can satisfy every palate. The food is always excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Yum!

Dined on April 15, 2016

We were looking for German but found Austrian and thoroughly enjoyed our ethnic adventure!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good not great

Dined on April 12, 2016

Having grown up in the Munich area, I would say the pork roast was good, Cabbage was bland and boring, dumpling was good. Service was good, friendly and attentive at the right level. Nice atmosphere, but a little pricey for the product.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 11, 2016

My girlfriend and I came to celebrate our 1 year dating anniversary because it is one of our favorite places to go. We are obsessed with the schnitzel and potato cucumber salad. The beer list is great, and the cocktails are some of the best around! A must for anyone who likes traditional Austrian or German cuisine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great decision

Dined on April 10, 2016

Grunauer has become one of our favorite restaurants. It has a great menu offering many Viennese standards along with German and other Euro-fare. I find that their food is very accessible for any amount of daring. The beer and wine lists are both great as well. For anything from romantic to group outings, this place will accommodate. I will be dreaming about my Rostbraten for the next week.....

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

Very knowledgeable staff, great food. ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Very knowledgeable staff, great food. They seemed understaffed. Our waiter didn't come back for drinks very often.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for a business meeting

Dined on April 7, 2016

Excellent authentic food. Tables are nicely spaced and the service was very good. A very good place for a business meeting.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Expensive, noisy, average food

Dined on April 2, 2016

We had 2 schnitzel dishes that were dry and plain, but flavorful. Each was served only with potato salad; a vegetable (beans, carrots, asparagus, etc) would have been nice, given the $22-24 price. Salad is an extra $8, good bread was included. Service was prompt, but the high noise level and crowded restaurant do not lead to enjoyment of a relatively expensive meal. It is more of a "bier hall" with fine dining and prices, not a place for an intimate experience. I think I'll pass.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

German food in KC - Excellent

Dined on April 2, 2016

2nd time we have gone there and enjoyed great food in nice atmosphere. We have decided to make it an annual even on our conference trips to KC. Even for non-alcohol drinkers, the food stands on its own. Service top notch - helpful, attentive, and present without being overly so.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place for Austrian/German food lov ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Great place for Austrian/German food lovers plus they have a great German beer list

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We started with the spinach salad and fr ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

We started with the spinach salad and fritattensuppe. Both were quite delicious and the presentation was simple&clean. The paprikahuhn was wonderful and the spätzle is definitely one of my new favorite side dishes. Be sure to try one of their desserts if you have room for it!. We will definitely be going back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fantastic experience!

Dined on March 27, 2016

My wife and I had Easter lunch and the special entree consisting of Roasted Leg of Lamb with Rosemary seasoning, Potatoes, and green beans in bacon was superb. Service was fantastic with friendly, attentive personnel. I wholeheartedly recommend this fine restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a treat. Everything is always so ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Always a treat. Everything is always so good & so special.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Who are they kidding

Dined on March 26, 2016

I used to love Grunauers, and always tend to order the Schweinebraten (roast pork), but no more. They served two pieces of pork, one of which was totally fat. I could not get one sliver of meat off of it. My hubby ordered the same thing. Guess what? Same deal. Note to Grunauers: either serve two decent pieces of meat or just one. They insult my intelligence by throwing that slab of fat on my plate. Also, one time I drove 50 miles to get there on Sunday to order the three pound pork shank which is only served on Sunday. They didn't have it. Why? It takes eight hours and they forgot to start it the night before. Oh, forgot- had the special dessert the other night. Sherbet mixed with Bavarian cream. Yucky. However, the amount was too small to affect my tastebuds all that much. Too bad- it's a lovely place and I adore Austrian food. Have to say, though, portions are small and prices are large.

Tags: great for outdoor dining

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.