Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Grünauer

Grünauer is a classic Viennese style restaurant with Central European influences of German, Hugarian, and international specialties. Peter Grünauer, executive chef, his son Nicholas, and daughter Elisabeth opened Grünauer in May of 2010. Peter is from Austria and his brother and sister still run their family restaurant in the Neubau region of Vienna. The menu offers simple straight-forward, and affordable cuisine high-lighting some of the best cuisine Central Europe has to offer. The menu here is meant to satisfy every customer that walks in the door. The Wunder Bar offers an array of wines, beer, and spirits unlike any other restaurant in Kansas City. The authentic Biergarten outside is one of kind as well. There is no other place in the city to match the atmosphere of Grünauer. We pride ourselves on offering the best customer service and knowledge of our product. We want to offer you a fine dining experience with a family feel so, make a reservation today!

101 W. 22nd Street
Historic Freight House
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Austrian, German

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; DINNER: Monday- Thursday: 4:00pm -10:00pm, Friday & Saturday:4:00pm - 11:00pm; BRUNCH: Sunday: 11:30am - 9:00pm (brunch menu served ALL DAY) WUNDER BAR: Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-1:00am Sunday: 11:30am-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Baltimore

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 283-3234

Website:
http://grunauerkc.com/

Parking Details:
Ample parking provided free of charge directly south of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Peter Grunauer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come in this Sunday September 18th! We are having an authenic pig roast and Miles Bonny will be playing on the patio! Also 2nd ANNUAL OKTOBERFEST SEPTEMBER 30TH-OCTOBER 2ND!!! Call to inquire for more details!!

Grünauer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (75)
Authentic (69)
Great Beer (59)
See All
Good for a Date (57)
Comfort Food (51)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Worth the Drive (43)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for Groups (33)
Romantic (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Business Meals (29)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Casual (27)
Fun (26)
Bar Seating (24)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Great for Lunch (23)
Cozy (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Historic (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Local Ingredients (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Seasonal (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Family Style (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
People Watching (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Private Room (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Scenic View (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Healthy (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Tapas (2)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
2060 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We made a reservation about an hour before we came and were seated quickly when we arrived. The restaurant shares a parking area with several good eating places, so allow walking time. My wife and I shared the spaetzle for an appetizer, she had a glass of wine, and we shared a snittzel. No dessert. The food was excellent, the service very good, and the timber frame environment nice. and maybe I am getting old, but 62 bucks for all of that, including a tip, for sharing one appetizer, sharing one entree, and a single glass of wine and water, seemed a bit high.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

First time here and loved the Freight House historic setting. My wife's family is from Austria and the food was spot on authentic. Delicious! Service was outstanding with a little history from our waiter on the building and area. The crepes were a nice touch for a dessert. Will definitely go back for another special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Passed through Kansas City twice in two weeks, liked it enough the first time to search them out on the return trip. Fantastic Austrian fare, great service, fantastic wines. Would absolutely recommend

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing little slice of authentic Austrian cuisine and culture! Fantastic service, food and atmosphere. We will definitely dine here again the next time we aware in KC.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

The service was great and the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

We invited friends as a gift to celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary. Chef Matthias Seyfrid made a special Bavarian dish for all of us as well as a couple of other items. Our waiter, Anthony, was amiable and very helpful throughout our long lunch. Sehr Gemutlich!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Food was great! I had the trout and enjoyed every bit of it. Service was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Outstanding. We have wanted to come to Grunauer for about a year now. It was preconcert dining and did not disappoint. The service was great, food high quality with large portions, a lot to choose from and the dining room is beautiful. Can't wait to dine again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Came here for an anniversary lunch date with our almost 2-year-old after the babysitter canceled on us. Excellent service and the server knew how to cater to toddlers--lidded cup, extra napkins, small appetizer utensils, etc., and she didn't make us feel guilty for bringing her along! The food was outstanding--he had the goulash, I had the sausage sampler. Kiddo had the backhendl (fried chicken and French fries) and we are looking forward to having the leftovers! I'd go back in a heartbeat, with and without the kiddo.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We had a wonderful meal, and my wife's trout was outstanding. She was here for her birthday, and she loves trout, and the fish was cooked to perfection. We would probably come more often, if there were more fish entres. But I know that Germany and Austria are noted for their meats and sausages. My wife eats fish more than meat.
We had eel, when we visited Germany and the Czech Rep., so that seems to be popular there. It was really excellent. I guess they aren't popular here, but we really loved them Central Europe.
The Grunauer Veltliner spritzer with cucumbers was a hit with my wife. We even had to buy some of the cucumber liquor later, do we could make more ourselves at home this Summer.
Overall, a very lovely evening. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Grunauer is a wonderful place for truly authentic Viennese cuisine. We savored every bite from the wursts and freshly baked pretzels to start our meal, to the perfect schnitzels and sublime flavors of the Goulash. Such a treat! I can't wait to go back and try something new.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great service! Awesome space and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great food. No blue cheese olives for martinis. Unthinkable!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 26, 2017

The food was pretty good, and the wine list had good variety. The service was outstanding. Honestly, some of the best service I have had at any restaurant. Our server was friendly, charming, clearly knowledgeable about the menu and the specials, but not clingy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Very good food at reasonable price. Liked the ambiance and menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Good menu... perhaps a little mor advice and server interaction would be good. Like recommend!!!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great location, great bar & drinks, unique menu choices and well prepared food. Service is good, ambience is nice but nothing special. Go for the food and be well rewarded. One of our favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I reserved a booth for 2 for Fathers Day. We were told booths needed to be for 4 people & were taken to a table for 2 overlooking the parking lot. We declined and sat in the bar. Had I known we couldn't reserve a booth, we would have dined elsewhere. What are reservations for? People without any reservation were seated!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The service was great. The food was good though not exactly like the schnitzel we had in Germany but still very good and authentic. A little pricey for us to go very often. Loved the cucumber salad. I would recommend the restaurant to NY one looking for quality German/Austrian food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

A very nice addition to the KC restaurant scene and a different menu.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I have been here many times and am pleased to say the food continues to be excellent. I brought my Father who has not previously experienced the cuisine here and he was impressed. He also remarked several times on the excellence of the draft beer list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Service was top-notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great Authentic German cuisine.
Appetizer: assorted mushrooms with tartar sauce. Breading & sauce was spot on.
Wine: a Viennese Pinot Noir. Very good.
Dinner: Jager Schnitzel with spinach spatezel. Just like my German grandma use to make. Delicious!
Dessert: Crepes with chestnut cream and chocolate. Perfectly sweetened and great end to my meal.
Service was fantastic. Will definitely go back the next time I am in KC.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 12, 2017

This is the best meal my husband and I have had in the last year. The white asparagus soup was "one of the top five best bites of food I have ever had" - very savory. Nothing disappointed. My husband's late mother was German, and the cuisine at Grunauers is authentic German food like his mom prepared growing up.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Nice German restaurant. I had the schnitzel a la Granauer and it was quite good. House smoked salmon excellent. Kolsch beer - excellent.
Sunday was quiet with a few empty tables.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Really like German/Austrian food. This is authentic, well run and reasonably priced. This was our first visit and will definitely not be our last.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The food at Grunauer is Austrian/German. We can recommend the Schweinebraten (pork loin) and the Cordon Bleu Schnitzel. The red cabbage is authentically good- as good as my German grandma's. The beet, arugula and goat cheese salad was wonderful, with red and gold beets - we ordered that as an appetizer. They had a special cherry-strawberry cobbler with ice cream that three of us split for dessert, and we loved that too. The beer is good and so is the coffee. It is fun to eat here if you love German food. Perfect for pre theater dinner and only a few blocks from the Kauffman Center.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Very authentic Austrian menu. Can recommend the Sauerbraten special and the Tafelspitz, both of which were tender and perfectly braised. Didn't save room for dessert. If beer is your thing, try the Austrian Stiegl.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 31, 2017

There were 3 of us in our group. Two of us enjoyed our meals very much. They ran between $20-$25. The third person, my mom, did not like their food. It was the "Special". Schnitzel with noodles. My mom is from Germany and thought the sauce was bland and there were too many noodles. To her surprise, the "special" that wasnt very good to her, was $31. She was disappointed in the meal and definitely the price.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Central Texas)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Great experience! We'll come again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We've been to Grunauer several times now and have always enjoyed the food, good service, and great beer selection. We had a big group this time for a special occasion, and they handled us well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 25, 2017

My experience was amazing! The food was awesome and the staff was top notch. Earlier in the day I brought in some flowers for my date and wanted them to be on the table when we showed up for dinner. My special request was followed perfectly even though I changed my reservation time twice. I will definitely be going back again. The food was super flavorful and tender.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Business Meals, People Watching, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 24, 2017

This place was great and reminded me of some of the German restaurants I visited when I was stationed there. And the food was as authentic as it can be. Drop the mike.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Awesome. Tried a different meal and was very impressed by the presentation and flavor. Simply incredible. Never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We had a terrific dinner and I particularly enjoyed the angry pigeon cocktail!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

It was a great dining experience. We had family in from out of town and they loved it. Everyone had a good time, even the two youngest (10 & 7). We will be back!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

A friend and her family came into town for her birthday. Our party had 4 adults and 4 kids. The service was awesome. The food was delicious. A++ will come again. I do appreciate that the waiter was very patient with us and with the kids (who were pretty well behaved considering they were tired and took a lean on the table). Thank you for a terrific evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Hadn't eaten at Grunauers in a while and was once again very glad we ate there.
The white asparagus appetizer was excellent. Great flavors!! Special that night was Sauerbrauten...excellent flavor, good portion size, wonderful sauerkruat. My wife's beef dish in a large bowl with a consomme-like broth and vegetables was also excellent. Interesting wine choices. Great martini too. Will be back but take less time doing so.

By the way...as Spring warms up even more the outdoor seating at Grunauers is wonderful. Particularly if you like great beer. Added bonus...train watching.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

They changed the sausage supplier since we were there last. I much preferred the previous sausage supplier and wouldn't order the sausage again with the new supplier. The sausages were smaller, not as lean, and less flavorful.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Special appetizer of white and green asparagus wrapped in a crepe and covered with a mild cheese sauce wonderful but a little pricey.
Schnitzel stuffed with cheese and mushrooms served with red cabbage fantastic for me as was the Schnitzel stuffed with creamed spinach that my wife ordered.
A lot of food for the price - brought home enough for a second meal.
Classy ambiance of brick, wood and white tablecloths and NO TV's in the dining area.
We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.