About Grove - Grand Rapids

919 Cherry Street SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49506
View Larger Map

Grove brings Earth to Table dining to Grand Rapids.
Winner of Restaurant of the Year in Grand Rapids for four years running, Grove serves honest dining experiences with modern, creative cuisine in a walkable, urban setting. Delight your senses with artfully crafted dishes, impeccable service, and intimate ambiance. Celebrate community with honest food straight from the local people who are growing, raising, and preparing it.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 5-10
Friday & Saturday 5-11
Sunday 11 am-9 (brunch and dinner)

Cross Street:
Eastern and Cherry

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 454-1000

Website:
http://www.groverestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
We offer limited private parking with handicap accessibility and street parking.

Public Transit:
Route 4 Southbound (Cherry and Eastern)
Approximate .14 miles East of the bus stop on Cherry. Located on the North side of Cherry Street.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Paquin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp and Grits
Albacore Tuna
Gooseberry Cove Cod
Gnocchi
Butterscotch pudding
Roast Beef Tacos
Lamb Tartar Bruschetta
Potato Soup
Bread
Okonomiyaki
Smoked Fish Deviled Eggs And Bahn Mi
Salted Dark Chocolate Fudge
Beef Tartare
Marinated Veggies
Blackfin Tuna Nicoise
Smoked Duck Rillettes
Bruschetta
Warm Cornmeal Buttermilk Cake
Chickpea Hummus
Heirloom Tomato Salad
Corvina Two Ways
Steak Tataki
Sea Scallops
Sea scallop and cheswick pork belly duo
Ahi tuna
Beat Salad
Fall Farm Vegetables And Their Purees
Scottish Salmon Carpaccio
Pan Fried S&S Chicken Livers
Parisian Gnocci
Sea Scallops A La Plancha
Otto's Chicken Two Ways
Flank Steak Tacos
Ceviche Duo
Beef Tartare, Chicken Rillettes', Pork Terrine.
Local Trout With Fried Egg, Cornbread And Succatash.
Kimchi Stew, Su Vide Egg, Chicken Leg Confit, Pork Loin
Black Bean Soup
Fried Green Tomato Napoleon
Salted Dark Chocolate S'more
Sockeye Salmon Crudo
Chicken Two Ways
Ratatouille
Cheese Tasting
Scallops
Ham Farm Beet Salad
Wild Sockeye Salmon
Scallops Ceviche
Banh Mi
Beet And Citrus Salad
S&S Crispy Chicken Livers
Beef Carpaccio
Earthkeeper Baby Kale And Farm Vegetable Salad
flourless chocolate cake
Scottish Salmon
Creswick Crispy Pork Torchon
S&S Duck Breast
Pork Belly
Winter Mojito
Thai Style Beef Salad
Coffee And Doughnut Braised Pork Shoulder
Coho Salmon Crudo
Yummy2
Yummy
Grove Fashioned
House Made Cavatelli Pasta
Fried Chicken Livers On Brioche, With Maple Gastric And Friuit.
Pig Head
Lamb Meatballs With Parisian Gnochhi
Pork Molé Taco
Amish Rabbit With Cauliflower 3 Ways
Pig's Head
Pork Belly Tacos
Surf Clam Bloody Caeser
House Made Fettuccini
Cucumber Gaspacho
Salmon Tartare
Meatloaf Slider
Shrimp
Local Heirloom Tomato Salad
3 Course $25 Menu
Fried Green Tomatoes
The Barnyard
duck confit risotto
Lamb T-Bones With Nicoise
Braised Pork Risotto
Harrietta Hills Trout
oxtail
BBQ Albacore Tuna
Roja Vieja
Dark Chocolate Pudding Cake
Grove Paella
Butternut Squash Soup
Salted Fudge (S'mores Style)
Dayboat Sea Scallops A La Plancha
mushroom risotto
Quail
Full
Hanger Steak
Lamb T-bone

Grove - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Neighborhood Gem
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
8 More
Most Booked
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Overall
Grand Rapids
Best Food
Grand Rapids
Best Service
Grand Rapids
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids
Best Value
Grand Rapids
Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids
Most Booked
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

Fit for Foodies (105)
Special Occasion (96)
Neighborhood Gem (83)
See All
Romantic (45)
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Notable Wine List (34)
Hot Spot (33)
Good for Groups (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Great for Brunch (15)
Organic (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Healthy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Vegan (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Casual (5)
Seasonal (5)
Business Meals (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Scenic View (4)
Great Beer (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fun (3)
People Watching (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Historic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious food - very hearty and great f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious food - very hearty and great friendly service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were in town for ArtPrize. It was a l ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were in town for ArtPrize. It was a lovely night so we sat outside. Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything on the menu sounded delicious ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 4 days ago

Everything on the menu sounded delicious and it was hard to choose. It seemed like little pricey,but you pay for the attention to detail .

Tags: Organic, Modern Decor, Authentic, Romantic, Healthy, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food has decent taste, but the porti ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food has decent taste, but the portions were ridiculously small...I think my piece of trout was 4oz and the entree was $28. The salad was $13 and had 4 piece of tomato and some zucchini...very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

This is one of the best restaurants I've ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

This is one of the best restaurants I've ever been to. The food just explodes with flavor. It must have to do with how fresh it is as well as some great flavor combinations. Our most recent visit was with a group of four. We all had different items and they were all unique and exceptional. Our waiter was charming, knowledgeable and never seemed rushed but the service was right on time. There's one drawback to Grove and this might not apply to your visit but the one dining room is smallish so if there is a large group they're likely to be in the middle of the room and then it gets loud. Very loud during our most recent visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

This was our first time dining at Grove. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was our first time dining at Grove. We wish we hadn't waited so long to dine there! The food was delicious! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time there from recommendation ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Our first time there from recommendations. The food was everything we expected. I wouldn't give it 5 stars because the tables are a bit close together and the ambiance was a little disappointing.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

All entree's were extremely salty which ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

All entree's were extremely salty which was umfortunate because they were presented well. Not sure about the high rating looked like 50% of capacity in the dining room on Saturday night . Taste the food for seasoning before you put it in front of your patrons !

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our service was excellent and the food was amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was on par with the cruise ship's c ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was on par with the cruise ship's cuisine, in other words, very different, tasty, and eclectic. I had the baked whitefish entree, and although I told my waitress I preferred it fully cooked, the fish was just barely on the side of solid, almost raw. I suppose if I liked sushi or sashimi it would have been ok, but I was not thrilled. I have had salmon prepared that way too...I don't understand the appeal of jelly fish within the barely seared exterior. I did not bother the waitress as she was very busy with two other tables, one of which was a rather large party. And my husband ate most of my whitefish and liked it.

Other than that, we had a very nice experience at The Grove for my husband's birthday celebration. The portions were sufficiently pleasing for hungry people. We enjoyed the $39/per person offer, consisting of choice of appetizer, entree, and dessert. Nice selection of choices, too!

We made our reservations using Google and Open Table, which was easy to use.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great. The restaurant was r ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Service was great. The restaurant was really loud and the food was decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The food wasn't as adventuresome as in t ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The food wasn't as adventuresome as in the past, but still mostly very good. The noise level is still high.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Always love the Grove and really appreci ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Always love the Grove and really appreciate the farm to table menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In Grand Rapids the night before flying ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

In Grand Rapids the night before flying home. Somehow found Grove on the internet. Delighted with our choice. The kind of restaurant that lets you taste a wine to determine if it's the one you want. Very tasty dishes. Especially liked the barley, apple, roasted squash, Manchego cheese salad. Would love the recipe but will try to recreate at home

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a last minute decision and we w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This was a last minute decision and we were so impressed with the quality of the food. What a wonderful staff person. Great drinks!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food. Always new items on the menu ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great Food. Always new items on the menu. Eclectic offering that you won't find everywhere.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nick served us. Best server ever. Very i ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Nick served us. Best server ever. Very informative, very professional.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Scenic View, Historic, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Healthy, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An outstanding culinary experience! Gre ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

An outstanding culinary experience! Great recommendations from our waiter, food and wine, Nate was outstanding!! Great way ending to a 10 day vacation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to dinner for our 54TH wedding anni ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Went to dinner for our 54TH wedding anniversary with my sister and her husband.

They OOOHed and Aaaahed over every course.

They said they would drive up from Cincinnati if we were to do Grove again

Tags: Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rather expensive for food that was not o ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Rather expensive for food that was not outstanding. The service was very good but overall the cost is too much for the overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Awesome food and great service, but a li ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Awesome food and great service, but a little on the pricey side.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our anniversary and we were seate ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

It was our anniversary and we were seated at a table butting up to a wait station. The clanking of dishes and flatware being dropped/thrown into the bins was annoying. The service was good but not as attentive as we've experienced there during past visits. The food, as always was outstanding.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I took my wife here for our anniversary. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

I took my wife here for our anniversary. I was taking a chance, as we had never been here before. We were very impressed. Easily the best presentation of any place we've been to in town, and the food was good to boot. Interesting flavor combinations in both drinks and food make it a wonderful dining experience. The food isn't cheap, however, that is the trade off for fresh and organic ingredients so skillfully prepared.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent experience! I have nothing bad ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Excellent experience! I have nothing bad to say about this hotel.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a "go to" restaurant for us. Cre ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This is a "go to" restaurant for us. Creativity in the menu combines with local ingredient sourcing and precisely cooked food with a good balance of choices. So we will be back. Last Saturday night was busy and it felt under resourced with wait staff. Bearing in mind the food quality and pricing, this is a deficiency that needs to be addressed. But on balance we had a wonderful time.

Paul

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

I had not been to Grove for a couple of ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I had not been to Grove for a couple of years when they were difficult to get into and they seem to have changed the format a bit. For some reason I felt their time had passed. The menu was less the small dish sharing feeling I remember and more the traditional menu restaurant, although there was a special that was a choice of different courses for a fixed price. For a Friday night they weren't very busy. It was still very good and the service was good. Just seemed like there was something not as exciting as before.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic server. Excellent knowledge of ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Fantastic server. Excellent knowledge of their wine lost and great recommendations for first time guest. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came for our anniversary. The servic ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We came for our anniversary. The service was great and the food was fantastic!

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, fresh food, well prepared. A ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Delicious, fresh food, well prepared. Ambiance was modern but stylish. My one complaint is that I think Grove is a tad pricey. Otherwise, outstanding!

Tags: Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall it was a nice experience. I made ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Overall it was a nice experience. I made a reservation on Open Table during restaurant week, thinking we'd use the Restaurant Week menu. It turns out that we were at the time when Brunch was being served and the Restaurant Week option wasn't available, neither the menu nor more affordable pricing. In any case, there was much variety in the brunch menu and the food was great, especially knowing that it was farm-to-table. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Vegan, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good choice for casual fine dining. Food ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Good choice for casual fine dining. Food presentation was quite good. The fried green tomato dish was outstanding. Also, the shrimp and grits was good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was good, not great, but the po ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was good, not great, but the portion size was ridiculous. We both went away hungry! This was just about like a commercial that was on TV were you get next to nothing to eat but with "special" presentation. The wine was just as bad, $10 for a small glass of wine that was no more than a $20 bottle of wine at the most.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Grove is our favorite place in Grand Rap ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Grove is our favorite place in Grand Rapids, but we were disappointed when the tasting menu left. We would dine at Grove more frequently if the tasting menu came back. We came for restaurant week and loved the ceviche and the pierogi, both were amazing dishes. I wished the ceviche was a main as I felt the quail was dry and was not a huge fan of the sauce on the ribs, but that's more subjective. Thanks!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at The Grove was spectacular. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food at The Grove was spectacular. Our only criticism is that the restaurant is extremely loud -- so much so that our server had to ask us to repeat some of our orders.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We were in Grand Rapids for the night an ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We were in Grand Rapids for the night and decided to check out Grove based on other Open Table reviews. It was Restaurant Week, so the place was really busy, but the food was excellent and the service was very good. We will definitely return!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I love Grove. It's always been one of my ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I love Grove. It's always been one of my go to's when I want to spend some quality time with my husband.

I decided to take my Marketing Interns there as a farewell dinner. Everything was absolutely great, but you could tell that our server hated her life because it was restaurant week, and really didn't pay as much attention to us as the table beside us, which is kind of upsetting, since I feel like no matter what, people deserve the same treatment, because this experience will determine whether or not I want to come back as often.

If everyone else wasn't as nice as they were, I would probably think twice, since this isn't the first time I've had bad service at Grove. Last time, they got my vegetarian order wrong, and gave me a big sausage instead (it wasn't restaurant week).

So all in all, this is a great place, but I see these new restaurants popping up that I feel like will outperform Grove eventually.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We loved Grove! Great atmosphre, food wa ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We loved Grove! Great atmosphre, food was amazing, and we had exceptional service. Staff was very knowlagable on wine pairings.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Top Notch Restaurant in the City - Fabul ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Top Notch Restaurant in the City - Fabulous food and we especially loved it during Restaurant Week when the values were certainly there. Great Wine list - the service was spectacular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our wedding ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at Grove. We were treated to a glass of champagne. The service was excellent as was the food. We sat outdoors overlooking a neighborhood street.....not too busy on a Sunday afternoon. Very enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were great. The place ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Service and food were great.

The place is super small and the tables are crammed in very tight.

On a very hot and steamy summer evening the air condition did not appear to be working. It was not comfortable in there at all and if it was working, they need to get a larger / stronger unit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.