About Grove - Grand Rapids

919 Cherry Street SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49506
View Larger Map

Grove brings Earth to Table dining to Grand Rapids.
Winner of Restaurant of the Year in Grand Rapids for four years running, Grove serves honest dining experiences with modern, creative cuisine in a walkable, urban setting. Delight your senses with artfully crafted dishes, impeccable service, and intimate ambiance. Celebrate community with honest food straight from the local people who are growing, raising, and preparing it.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 5-10
Friday & Saturday 5-11
Sunday 11 am-9 (brunch and dinner)

Cross Street:
Eastern and Cherry

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 454-1000

Website:
http://www.groverestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
We offer limited private parking with handicap accessibility and street parking.

Public Transit:
Route 4 Southbound (Cherry and Eastern)
Approximate .14 miles East of the bus stop on Cherry. Located on the North side of Cherry Street.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Paquin

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp and Grits
Albacore Tuna
Gnocchi
Gooseberry Cove Cod
Butterscotch pudding
Roast Beef Tacos
Potato Soup
Bread
Okonomiyaki
Smoked Fish Deviled Eggs And Bahn Mi
Lamb Tartar Bruschetta
Salted Dark Chocolate Fudge
Beef Tartare
Marinated Veggies
Blackfin Tuna Nicoise
Smoked Duck Rillettes
Bruschetta
Warm Cornmeal Buttermilk Cake
Chickpea Hummus
Heirloom Tomato Salad
Corvina Two Ways
Steak Tataki
Sea Scallops
Sea scallop and cheswick pork belly duo
Ahi tuna
Beat Salad
Fall Farm Vegetables And Their Purees
Scottish Salmon Carpaccio
Pan Fried S&S Chicken Livers
Parisian Gnocci
Sea Scallops A La Plancha
Otto's Chicken Two Ways
Flank Steak Tacos
Ceviche Duo
Beef Tartare, Chicken Rillettes', Pork Terrine.
Local Trout With Fried Egg, Cornbread And Succatash.
Kimchi Stew, Su Vide Egg, Chicken Leg Confit, Pork Loin
Black Bean Soup
Fried Green Tomato Napoleon
Salted Dark Chocolate S'more
Sockeye Salmon Crudo
Chicken Two Ways
Ratatouille
Cheese Tasting
Scallops
Ham Farm Beet Salad
Wild Sockeye Salmon
Scallops Ceviche
Banh Mi
Beet And Citrus Salad
S&S Crispy Chicken Livers
Beef Carpaccio
Earthkeeper Baby Kale And Farm Vegetable Salad
flourless chocolate cake
Scottish Salmon
Creswick Crispy Pork Torchon
S&S Duck Breast
Pork Belly
Winter Mojito
Thai Style Beef Salad
Coffee And Doughnut Braised Pork Shoulder
Coho Salmon Crudo
Yummy2
Yummy
Grove Fashioned
House Made Cavatelli Pasta
Fried Chicken Livers On Brioche, With Maple Gastric And Friuit.
Pig Head
Lamb Meatballs With Parisian Gnochhi
Pork Molé Taco
Amish Rabbit With Cauliflower 3 Ways
Pig's Head
Pork Belly Tacos
Surf Clam Bloody Caeser
House Made Fettuccini
Cucumber Gaspacho
Salmon Tartare
Meatloaf Slider
Shrimp
Local Heirloom Tomato Salad
3 Course $25 Menu
Fried Green Tomatoes
The Barnyard
duck confit risotto
Lamb T-Bones With Nicoise
Braised Pork Risotto
Harrietta Hills Trout
oxtail
BBQ Albacore Tuna
Roja Vieja
Dark Chocolate Pudding Cake
Grove Paella
Butternut Squash Soup
Salted Fudge (S'mores Style)
Dayboat Sea Scallops A La Plancha
mushroom risotto
Quail
Full
Hanger Steak
Lamb T-bone

Grove - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Neighborhood Gem
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
7 More
American
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Overall
Grand Rapids
Best Service
Grand Rapids
Best Ambiance
Grand Rapids
Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids
Most Booked
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

Fit for Foodies (112)
Special Occasion (96)
Neighborhood Gem (81)
See All
Romantic (50)
Notable Wine List (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Hot Spot (32)
Good for Groups (21)
Great for Brunch (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great for Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Scenic View (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1173 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had not been to Grove for a couple of ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I had not been to Grove for a couple of years when they were difficult to get into and they seem to have changed the format a bit. For some reason I felt their time had passed. The menu was less the small dish sharing feeling I remember and more the traditional menu restaurant, although there was a special that was a choice of different courses for a fixed price. For a Friday night they weren't very busy. It was still very good and the service was good. Just seemed like there was something not as exciting as before.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic server. Excellent knowledge of ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic server. Excellent knowledge of their wine lost and great recommendations for first time guest. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came for our anniversary. The servic ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We came for our anniversary. The service was great and the food was fantastic!

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, fresh food, well prepared. A ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Delicious, fresh food, well prepared. Ambiance was modern but stylish. My one complaint is that I think Grove is a tad pricey. Otherwise, outstanding!

Tags: Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall it was a nice experience. I made ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Overall it was a nice experience. I made a reservation on Open Table during restaurant week, thinking we'd use the Restaurant Week menu. It turns out that we were at the time when Brunch was being served and the Restaurant Week option wasn't available, neither the menu nor more affordable pricing. In any case, there was much variety in the brunch menu and the food was great, especially knowing that it was farm-to-table. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Vegan, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good choice for casual fine dining. Food ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Good choice for casual fine dining. Food presentation was quite good. The fried green tomato dish was outstanding. Also, the shrimp and grits was good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was good, not great, but the po ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was good, not great, but the portion size was ridiculous. We both went away hungry! This was just about like a commercial that was on TV were you get next to nothing to eat but with "special" presentation. The wine was just as bad, $10 for a small glass of wine that was no more than a $20 bottle of wine at the most.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Grove is our favorite place in Grand Rap ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Grove is our favorite place in Grand Rapids, but we were disappointed when the tasting menu left. We would dine at Grove more frequently if the tasting menu came back. We came for restaurant week and loved the ceviche and the pierogi, both were amazing dishes. I wished the ceviche was a main as I felt the quail was dry and was not a huge fan of the sauce on the ribs, but that's more subjective. Thanks!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at The Grove was spectacular. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food at The Grove was spectacular. Our only criticism is that the restaurant is extremely loud -- so much so that our server had to ask us to repeat some of our orders.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We were in Grand Rapids for the night an ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We were in Grand Rapids for the night and decided to check out Grove based on other Open Table reviews. It was Restaurant Week, so the place was really busy, but the food was excellent and the service was very good. We will definitely return!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I love Grove. It's always been one of my ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I love Grove. It's always been one of my go to's when I want to spend some quality time with my husband.

I decided to take my Marketing Interns there as a farewell dinner. Everything was absolutely great, but you could tell that our server hated her life because it was restaurant week, and really didn't pay as much attention to us as the table beside us, which is kind of upsetting, since I feel like no matter what, people deserve the same treatment, because this experience will determine whether or not I want to come back as often.

If everyone else wasn't as nice as they were, I would probably think twice, since this isn't the first time I've had bad service at Grove. Last time, they got my vegetarian order wrong, and gave me a big sausage instead (it wasn't restaurant week).

So all in all, this is a great place, but I see these new restaurants popping up that I feel like will outperform Grove eventually.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We loved Grove! Great atmosphre, food wa ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We loved Grove! Great atmosphre, food was amazing, and we had exceptional service. Staff was very knowlagable on wine pairings.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Top Notch Restaurant in the City - Fabul ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Top Notch Restaurant in the City - Fabulous food and we especially loved it during Restaurant Week when the values were certainly there. Great Wine list - the service was spectacular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our wedding ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at Grove. We were treated to a glass of champagne. The service was excellent as was the food. We sat outdoors overlooking a neighborhood street.....not too busy on a Sunday afternoon. Very enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were great. The place ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Service and food were great.

The place is super small and the tables are crammed in very tight.

On a very hot and steamy summer evening the air condition did not appear to be working. It was not comfortable in there at all and if it was working, they need to get a larger / stronger unit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

We went to Grove for Restaurant Week. T ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We went to Grove for Restaurant Week. The food was absolutely amazing. We couldn't stop raving about the fresh flavors, great combinations and textures. We thoroughly enjoyed it. My only comment would be that it's fairly pricey, especially drinks...they are all $10 plus. Tasty, but pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding! A symphony of flavors. The ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Outstanding! A symphony of flavors. The best dessert I ever had. Portions are just right. You leave satisfied but not over stuffed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was presented and taste very we ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our food was presented and taste very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My foodie friend and I wanted to go to t ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My foodie friend and I wanted to go to the Grove because of its presence on a national list of great restaurants. We were planning to be in Grand Rapids so we decided to have dinner. It was wonderful. Attire is business casual. I didn't see anyone wearing jeans but men were sans jacket and tie. Tables were a reasonable distance apart. A conversation was possible. Service was excellent. I had a "Grove Fashioned" which is an Old Fashioned & Manhattan shaking hands, and it was great. I had the shrimp and grits as an appetizer even though I was warned that it was pretty large. It was delicious. My friend chose an outstanding beet salad. My friend had duck breast for her entre. It was superlative. I had ahi tuna and it was the best I ever had. Although I am a breadaholic, I was pleased that they didn't bring any to the table because I was able to eat my meal and still had room for dessert. I had a nearly erotic time with butterscotch pudding. My spoon occasionally landed in my friend's ice cream dessert. We both felt the food and atmosphere was divine. Each of us commented that the price was very reasonable compared with Ann Arbor and Detroit restaurants of the same caliber. Pretty much a perfect dining experience. I'll return whenever I can.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting from out of town, looking for e ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Visiting from out of town, looking for excellent food and found not only excellent food but superb service and perfect outdoor dining. Recommendations from the waiter were spot on. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been to Grove several times. This t ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I've been to Grove several times. This time was a bit underwhelmed. Normally a fantastic location for terrific farm-to-table food. Just felt a bit off tonight. Excellent wine though!

I will come back and look forward to their next daily menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Unique, delicious meal creations! That B ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Unique, delicious meal creations! That Butterscotch Pudding is worth the trip alone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I ate at the Grove on our va ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My wife and I ate at the Grove on our vacation. The food was amazing, and the menu gave my wife, who eats a whole foods-plant based diet, several options. Can't wait to go back and take the rest of our family!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed my birthday dinner very much, in ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Enjoyed my birthday dinner very much, including the "weird" granola, beet, blueberry salad. Just delicious, a real treat. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a great experience. The menu get ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Always a great experience. The menu gets updated regularly and always something new that is a surprise. It is a real gem in Grand Rapids. We really like the Pick 3, and they are willing to adjust the menu to fit ones desire. The beverage list is also great. There are times where we want to try many of the wine selections, but can only get through a couple.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was rather slow. Took about an h ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Service was rather slow. Took about an hour in between the appetizer and the main course. They did give us cheese grits because it was slow but they weren't anything to write home about. Overall decent food but not worth it for the price.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Overall a pleasant experience and excell ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Overall a pleasant experience and excellent menu. Food was good. However the earth-to-table was a bit extreme. Although creative, serving practically raw vegetables didn't meet expectations. I would definitely visit again but choose a different plate. I had the quail.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

We would be hard pressed to cite better ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We would be hard pressed to cite better food in Michigan. Great service. Love the outdoor seating. Only negative is that Grove thinks it can't live without televisions in the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Absolutely exquisite farm-to-table dinin ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Absolutely exquisite farm-to-table dining! The Essence Group nailed this one!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

fantastic farm to table food....so delic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

fantastic farm to table food....so delicious!! A group of 6, and EVERYONE loved their meals. Great service to top it off.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I made my reservations online and indica ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I made my reservations online and indicated that my husband and I were both celebrating our birthdays. The service was excellent , the food was wonderful not your ordinary everyday fare. We each had a complimentary dessert for our birthday and again it was outstanding. We both agreed that we need to go there more often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great find. Fantastic food and se ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

What a great find. Fantastic food and service. I will definitely be back the next time I'm in Grand Rapids.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome waitress!! Very accommodating an ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Awesome waitress!! Very accommodating and friendly. Atmosphere was great and the food was fabulous. We will definitely come back to the Grove.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant and its staff never disa ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This restaurant and its staff never disappoint. Best restaurant in Grand Rapids hands down.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came at 8:30 on a Sunday night. They ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We came at 8:30 on a Sunday night. They were out of the first 3 entrees we tried to order. Even though the butterscotch pudding was delicious, it was a disappointing experience. Also the waitress was trying to flirt with my husband! Not cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Our visit to Grove was quite pleasant- h ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our visit to Grove was quite pleasant- high quality food, good service, fine drinks, nice ambiance. Certainly worth a special trip away from your hotel if you are a visitor, or a ten minute drive, if you live Grand Rapids . As to dishes - two stood out - the home ricotta/tomato salad, and the duck breast, with the latter being the most perfectly cooked and tender duck breast we have had in a long time. Wish the sauce had been a little more notable. More cherry-ish.

That noted, for a restaurant that somewhat avers that it is the best in Michigan, something seemed missing that would make it worthy of five stars. Maybe it was the fact that wait staff was dressed too casually for a five star place, or the lack of a little free taste tickler to start, or the very casual dress of the local patrons.

We hail from Chicago; there are probably 50 restaurants here that are better than Grove. This does not certainly mean that it is bad, but rather that it has a ways to go to be in the really top tier in the Midwest.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Grove for my birthday, July 3 ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We went to Grove for my birthday, July 3rd for brunch. We sat on the patio and it was lovely. The food was delicious, the service spectacular! It was enhanced by the fact that everyone had left town for the holiday, but nevertheless, it is a wonderful place to dine. I highly recommend the carrot cake doughnuts! To die for! Thanks again for a lovely time. We will be back again very soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious! The menu changes ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food was delicious! The menu changes every so often I wish I lived locally. The kids menu was inexpensive and the kids enjoyed their dinners, pasta al fredo and grilled chicken. I had the Korean BBQ tacos and Wagu Beef both were spectacular!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food here is amazing. By far the be ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food here is amazing. By far the best experience and food Grand Rapids has to offer. Fresh local food so menu changes for new experience every time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible service and food to match. Fa ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Incredible service and food to match. Fantastic attention paid to allergies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.