Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.74mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.74mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.74mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.74mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About Grove - Grand Rapids

Grove brings Farm to Table dining to Grand Rapids.
Winner of Restaurant of the Year in Grand Rapids for four years running, Grove serves honest dining experiences with modern, creative cuisine in a walkable, urban setting. Delight your senses with artfully crafted dishes, impeccable service, and intimate ambiance. Celebrate community with honest food straight from the local people who are growing, raising, and preparing it.

919 Cherry Street SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49506
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 5-10
Friday & Saturday 5-11
Sunday 11 am-3 pm (brunch)

Cross Street:
Eastern and Cherry

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 454-1000

Website:
http://www.groverestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
We offer limited private parking with handicap accessibility and street parking.

Public Transit:
Route 4 Southbound (Cherry and Eastern)
Approximate .14 miles East of the bus stop on Cherry. Located on the North side of Cherry Street.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Paquin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Grove - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (52)
Special Occasion (50)
Creative Cuisine (44)
See All
Local Ingredients (44)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Worth the Drive (31)
Tasting Menu (28)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Authentic (24)
Romantic (21)
Organic (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Seasonal (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Cozy (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Business Meals (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Casual (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Fun (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
People Watching (7)
Vegan (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tapas (3)
Spicy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Scenic View (0)
Family Style (0)
Sort By:
S
1456 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food. Impeccable service from Erin. Would go back tomorrow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The first stop in our 2017 restaurant week picks. The food is exceptional - creative offerings which showcase local, fresh ingredients. My husband enjoyed the shrimp and grits, while I indulged In the fried quail ... the flavors intermingled between sweet, sour, smokey- resembling an upscale barbecue. The service is some of the best experienced in Grand Rapids.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Organic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding evening. Menu diverse and creative with a delicious blend of flavors, colors, and textures. Excellent service. Not rushed although they were very busy. One of GR's Best!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

The food here is as beautiful as it is delicious. Pate was a work of art, and the salmon was the best I have tasted, each bite a melt in my mouth declaration that I had never really tasted salmon before. Loved the wine paring. If you can have one really great restaurant experience, this is the place.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2017

I can't wait to get back to the Grove. Fantastic.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Charming. Excellent service. Delicious Food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was excellent, but service was a little slow.

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food, wine, and service were excellent, as always! 5 stars.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Fantastic meal and service, very diverse menu and everything was perfect. Thanks

Tags: Organic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We are never disappointed with either the food, drinks or waitstaff. Presentation is just incredible and the taste matches the ecquisite presentation.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food was superb. Beautifully prepared and many options that were hard to choose between. Portion size was surprisingly ample too. The only complaint was a casually sexist remark by our server towards my partner about requiring a "big girl knife" for her food.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Service was excellent! They even worked with us to find a bottle of wine that suited us. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Always amazing, unique food and outstanding service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Passing through Grand Rapids on the way back east... google led us to Grove and we happy for it. Excellent food. The beef tare tare was amazing - very well prepared. The the dishes were also flavorful, well prepared, seasoned. A lovely meal out - would totally go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 26, 2017

This restaurant had excellent reviews but the food was less than mediocre! The people were friendly and the place itself was attractive but the food was the killer for me.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Love this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Our server Nathan was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine. 3 course tasting menu was delicious. Huge portions for the price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We got the tasting menu an exceptional value. Food was top notch and perfectly made.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We chose the 3 course dining option. Every one of the 6 dishes my husband and I had were absolutely wonderful. We also chose the wine pairing and let our waiter (Nicholas) choose the wine. He did a superb job. I am really not a wine drinker and usually chose a mild wine when I drink it. Without my telling him anything he chose light wines that I was able to drink and enjoy. Of course he paired them with what I ordered. I have to take a moment and say our dining experience was made as wonderful as it was because of Nick. He knew so much about the menu and he made this dinner about us and what we wanted. The rabbit, pork tenderloin, shrimp and grits, chicken liver pate (almost like butter) and quail were so tasty. This restaurant is a bit pricey if you want to do it right, but oh so worth it. Would go back to Grand Rapids just to go here to eat, but I would request that I had to be seated with Nick.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We have dined at Grove several times and have never had a disappointing experience. Food, service and ambience have always been first class. The service is very professional and the servers are knowledgeable and friendly. We look forward to our Grove visit every time we are in the area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Food was incredible, service was great, awesome dessert menu and wine pairs. Unfortunately, it was extremely pricey. Would definitely go back but only for special occasions - I wish it was more accessible we would have made it a regular place.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Organic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We had the 3-course option and were pleased with each dish. The tomato salad with a slight smoked vinaigrette dressing and the red pork stew were our favorites. A must have is the chocolate fudge dessert to end the meal. Highly recommend this restaurant...one of the best in GR.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Excellent menu variety, expertly and creatively prepared. Local veggies abound in each entree. Attentive service, casual atmosphere. Parking is a little hard to find given other popular eateries in the area; nearby parking lots were all full. If you don't mind the walk, side street parking is available. A little on the pricey side, so best for a special occasion meal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 16, 2017

This was my second time at Grove for brunch and it was consistently outstanding. I ordered two breakfast tacos and they were delicious. My friend and I both modified our orders and they executed them with excellence.
We sat outside and had fantastic service that was attentive without being intrusive....they didn't rush us and I really appreciated it on a Sunday.
Atmosphere was lovely and the coffee was fantastic as well.
I hope to get there for dinner one night too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Grove may just have become our favorite Grand Rapids restaurant. The Taste of Grove menu is a creative, brilliant idea. The problem is picking only three things from the amazing selection. Everything we chose (my husband and I each chose three different items) was excellent! And the service was wonderful. We were served complimentary champagne because we were celebrating our anniversary. When I was having trouble deciding between two wines, our server brought them both out and let me taste them. Everyone needs to experience Grove.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 11, 2017

As usual the food and service were great! The loudness was a bit overwhelming though.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Oh my gosh... it was ALL so wonderful! The food, the service, the ambience, and it was great that they offer a 3 course tasting for added value!! This could now be a favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The bucatini with lamb ragu was outstanding! It should be a permanent addition to the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 10, 2017

My favorite thing about Grove is that everything on each plate is so carefully prepared. While there may be a centerpiece of the entree, such as a piece of fish, what accompanies that fish is so thoughtfully chosen and prepared; no plain scoops of rice or potatoes, or straight-up steamed carrots. The menu is interesting, and while "Taste of Grove" is very filling, it's the best value.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 8, 2017

While the taste was good, the food was over priced for the small quantities that were served. While I am not one with a huge appetite, admittedly i was disappointed with the quantity i was served for the $27 I paid for my plate. If you like exotic food names, with an otherwise acceptable taste level, served pretentiously to make it appear up-scale, but priced way too high for the quantity then you may like this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Impressive as usual!! Our friends from Texas enjoyed it very much

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Good items somewhat esoteric. Can't just order a fish off the menu. Ours was paired with an octopus tentacle. My son ordered it and enjoyed it because he was amused by it. I didn't care much for the texture. I ordered the tacos from the appetizer. Wife ordered the polenta from the vegetarian menu. Tasted good but was oily and a bit too rich. You have to really think before ordering something.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great, friendly service. Food was good but be prepared for a different menu than you see online. Apparently it changes often. Also, vegan items are not on regular menu &you have to ask specifically for it, which is kind of annoying. Other than that however, our experience was great. They gave us extra treats for celebrating our anniversary there & we felt v comfortable being a same sex couple. Highly recommend the almond chocolate pudding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Our dinners were so amazingly beautiful, tastey, and uniquely created. We raved about each course. Truly gourmet cuisine. ❤️

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 28, 2017

This place is outstanding! $42 for three courses is unbeatable. They gave us free champagne because it was our anniversary. Definitely going back! Thank you for the wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We had a lovely dinner. Our waiter made great suggestions and recommendations. The 3 course option is a terrific way to enjoy a variety of dishes, flavors and options. Food was wonderfully prepared and beautifully presented.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Delicious Sunday brunch! My husband and I brought my parents to Grove for brunch based on online reviews. It was delicious! They were accommodating to our 10 month old baby as well!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This was an anniversary dinner for two of us that was noted when we made our reservation. This special occasion was not mentioned or recognized before, during or after our meal. Upon arrival, we were ushered to a table that was set for 4 right next to a server station even though there were at least 4 empty tables for 2 visible at the time. We had to ask for one of those tables. Our food as selected from the tasting menu was good but didn't seem to be as tasty as six months ago when we last visited. Service was fair, but certainly not special. The signature dessert, butterscotch pudding, seemed stale and the usual salt on top was not as apparent as we observed before. Pricing, particularly on wine and beverages, was really high. I would have to think long and hard before recommending this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.