Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.74mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.74mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.74mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.74mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About Grove - Grand Rapids

Grove brings Farm to Table dining to Grand Rapids.
Winner of Restaurant of the Year in Grand Rapids for four years running, Grove serves honest dining experiences with modern, creative cuisine in a walkable, urban setting. Delight your senses with artfully crafted dishes, impeccable service, and intimate ambiance. Celebrate community with honest food straight from the local people who are growing, raising, and preparing it.

919 Cherry Street SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49506
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 5-10
Friday & Saturday 5-11
Sunday 11 am-3 pm (brunch)

Cross Street:
Eastern and Cherry

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 454-1000

Website:
http://www.groverestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
We offer limited private parking with handicap accessibility and street parking.

Public Transit:
Route 4 Southbound (Cherry and Eastern)
Approximate .14 miles East of the bus stop on Cherry. Located on the North side of Cherry Street.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Paquin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Grove - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (62)
Good for a Date (57)
Special Occasion (55)
See All
Fit for Foodies (54)
Local Ingredients (52)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Worth the Drive (36)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Tasting Menu (35)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good Vegetarian Options (24)
Authentic (22)
Romantic (22)
Organic (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Fun (17)
Cozy (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Business Meals (15)
Seasonal (14)
Hot Spot (12)
Vegan (11)
Casual (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
People Watching (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Great Beer (3)
Tapas (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1515 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Grove is a fabulous asset to the Grand Rapids dining scene. The menu is inventive, the presentation is delightful and our waitress was just the best. Grove is one of the few restaurants where I don't care what I pay for my meal -- the experience is worth every penny.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

The Grove has become the wife and I's go to spot to celebrate our anniversary and the celebration of our 7th year together was to be no different. We went with some more adventurous options and loved all of them (The Chili Pork Taco was superb).

Have said, and will continue to say, that it's the best restaurant in GR.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Vegan, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We drove a long way for our dinner reservation and it was well worth it. We went for our anniversary looking for something that had quality and an adventurous menu. It was exactly what we were looking for and since the menu changes I expect we will ve back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Way to pricy. Three-part meal. Cocktails very pricy. Cocktails not made right. Service from waiter very good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great place - had a good time. food was good for most of us. Noise level is high making it a little hard to hear all the folks at the table. overall a great experience - great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Grove was a very fine restaurant with lots of interesting choices, almost all food locally grown and quite delicious. The 3 course option was nice and worth it and the sparkling water was made from their own distilled water. The Tomato Tart was my wife and my favorite, absolutely delicious. Try this simple but excellent restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 5 days ago

Our go-to celebration location. Always great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I visited Grove for our anniversary this year. They took pride in the small details, congratulating us, and seating us in a way that despite being busy afforded us privacy to enjoy our evening alone. The food was excellent and creative, and the service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Food was excellent and creative. I had the deviled eggs, sweet corn bisque and the potato crusted salmon. All of which were delicious. Highly recommend Grove!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

One of our favorite places in Grand Rapids. Very creative menu that includes regional & imported foods & interesting combinations of ingredients. Menu changes daily. Servers are very well trained & knowledgeable about the menu. They also have a fixed price option that is very flexible in terms of selecting 3 items & you can order 1, 2, and/or 3 without being obligated to all 3 items. That way you can pace yourself & not overeat. Highly ecommended

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 5, 2017

We eat here every year when we attend Art Prize it is always the highlight of our trip. The food is always inventive and delicious. We love it here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Nice food, something for everyone, daily menus fantastic service

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Second visit to the Grove, and enjoyed it very much. Only minor “complaint” was that they seemed to be trying a little too hard to make their main courses more complicated than necessary. I would definitely go back, but my personal preference is for simpler entrees.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

The Grove was pretty nice! The best part of the experience was our server, Corinne. She was wonderful. The layout and small size of the restaurant makes it very noisy, fyi.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

The food at Grove is delicious and beautiful. Service is second to none!

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Lunch, Organic, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Cozy, Romantic, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Incredible entrees and so many to choose from. Each dish will liven your taste buds! Will definitely be back next time we are in GR. Note: the menu changes every day.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 28, 2017

This reaturant was on the open table so after reading the reviews we selected it. It was fabulous the farm to table experience was well worth the cost. And the service was nothing but excellent would HIGHLY pass the Grove on to all that I could

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2017

The wine pairings were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2017

great food, unique combinations, good advice from the staff to meet our preferences

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Grove is always an experience. It's amazing what they can do with food. It is one of my favorite restaurants in Grand Rapids.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Friends in from Detroit- they loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Generous portions, varied menu, great selections. We chose the three course tasting menu and we were delighted with our meals. We had a vegetarian dining with us and she was impressed with the vegetarian menu and offerings.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Never disappoints, outstanding food and service. Wonderful drinks as well, in a cozy fun place. Best to go after the crowds, so a late brunch is always good. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Grove was a GREAT spot to dine in. All the food sounded delicious and the fried quail I had was top notch. My girlfriend also enjoyed her meal as well. Very fine dining in Grand Rapids!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Excellent food and variety. Like the new items and old favorites.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We were expecting an upscale end to our vacation but was somewhat disappointed in our choice. The food was very good but it seems to be more of a local destination. We were riverside and took a cab, after a long ride to a residential area we were sat inside in a non-descript restaurant. Service was okay, not on point, but nice. Menu was small but interesting, we enjoyed sharing the deviled eggs and our entrees were worth sharing a bite because of the difference. The wine list was gave us a couple great choices.
Overall, a really nice place to eat in Grand Rapids, probably not a good choice for travelers with all the great choices closer to the hotels. Took 30+ min. for a return cab.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Favorite restaurant in Michigan! A must if you enjoy a true culinary experience!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Romantic, Cozy, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Organic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Was fairly happy with the food and cost not as bad as some have said. Portions are mid size and some overly flashy not allowing the food to show itself.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Love sitting at the bar! The service is great and the bartender is always kind enough to answer everyone's questions about their drinks they make. Noisier on the weekends, but during the week it has a low noise level.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Food was great. Our server was awful. Wasn't to happy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Vegetarian menu was outstanding. Bartender concocted fabulous virgin Mojito and Nathan well directed our Michigan vodka choices. Service was top rank and professional, exactly what I look for in fine dining evening. Nathan also "lit it up" a little with lighter on que for my birthday Peach Cobbler wish. Chef Jeremy is hitting the mark for vegetarian fare, can't wait for next experience at Grove.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Healthy, Hot Spot, Vegan, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We had the three course tasting dinner and everything was excellent. We had the black bass and the pork short ribs as our main course and both were served with an interesting combination of accompaniments. The peach crisp for dessert was delicious. Our server was friendly and attentive and the food courses came out of the kitchen at a nice pace without rushing us. This is our favorite special occasion restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Grove continues to be our favorite place to meet friends for brunch on Sundays. The food and service are consistently excellent!

We are going to make a point of getting there for lunch and or dinner sometime and look forward to the same outstanding level of deliciousness and service.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2017

New brunch menu is fantastic. The hush puppies and the flatbread were superb. Every single item was so tasty. Great portions. Great value.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We loved everything we ordered! My favorite surprise was the tomato pie which had amazing sauces! The three if us each ordered the tasting menu and shared the amazing butterscotch pudding for dessert. Great spot for a fun dinner- bring an empty stomach. Great price for a large meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Everything was amazing. I can't wait to go back and visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 2, 2017

It was another memorable night at The Grove. They do everything right from the welcome to the relaxed service to the exceptional food. This is one of our favorite restaurants in West Michigan.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Outstanding first time experience! Excellent choice of foods and very good food. The service was prompt and friendly. The atmosphere is comfortable with good noise control. Definitely would go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We made reservations for a birthday celebration. Lots of variety on the menu and farm to table and vegetarian options were good. My birthday celebrant's vegetarian meal lacked flavor and the chef made another dish for her at no charge. Dishes were flavorful and inventive, my only negative comment is that it didn't arrive at the table hot, and that the cost per plate seemed high despite atmosphere and uniqueness.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.