About Grove - Grand Rapids

919 Cherry Street SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49506
View Larger Map

Grove brings Earth to Table dining to Grand Rapids.
Winner of Restaurant of the Year in Grand Rapids for four years running, Grove serves honest dining experiences with modern, creative cuisine in a walkable, urban setting. Delight your senses with artfully crafted dishes, impeccable service, and intimate ambiance. Celebrate community with honest food straight from the local people who are growing, raising, and preparing it.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 5-10
Friday & Saturday 5-11
Sunday 11 am-9 (brunch and dinner)

Cross Street:
Eastern and Cherry

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 454-1000

Website:
http://www.groverestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
We offer limited private parking with handicap accessibility and street parking.

Public Transit:
Route 4 Southbound (Cherry and Eastern)
Approximate .14 miles East of the bus stop on Cherry. Located on the North side of Cherry Street.

Executive Chef:
Bob Waterbury

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp and Grits
Albacore Tuna
Gnocchi
Butterscotch pudding
Gooseberry Cove Cod
Roast Beef Tacos
Potato Soup
Okonomiyaki
Bread
Smoked Fish Deviled Eggs And Bahn Mi
Lamb Tartar Bruschetta
Scallops Ceviche
Salted Dark Chocolate Fudge
Beef Tartare
Marinated Veggies
Smoked Duck Rillettes
Blackfin Tuna Nicoise
Bruschetta
Chickpea Hummus
Heirloom Tomato Salad
Warm Cornmeal Buttermilk Cake
Steak Tataki
Corvina Two Ways
Sea Scallops
Sea scallop and cheswick pork belly duo
Ahi tuna
Scottish Salmon Carpaccio
Parisian Gnocci
Beat Salad
Flank Steak Tacos
Otto's Chicken Two Ways
Pan Fried S&S Chicken Livers
Sea Scallops A La Plancha
Fall Farm Vegetables And Their Purees
Local Trout With Fried Egg, Cornbread And Succatash.
Beef Tartare, Chicken Rillettes', Pork Terrine.
Ceviche Duo
Kimchi Stew, Su Vide Egg, Chicken Leg Confit, Pork Loin
Chicken Two Ways
Fried Green Tomato Napoleon
Sockeye Salmon Crudo
Black Bean Soup
Ratatouille
Salted Dark Chocolate S'more
Cheese Tasting
Ham Farm Beet Salad
Scallops
Wild Sockeye Salmon
Banh Mi
Beet And Citrus Salad
flourless chocolate cake
Coho Salmon Crudo
S&S Crispy Chicken Livers
Earthkeeper Baby Kale And Farm Vegetable Salad
Coffee And Doughnut Braised Pork Shoulder
Yummy
Winter Mojito
Beef Carpaccio
Scottish Salmon
S&S Duck Breast
Thai Style Beef Salad
Pork Belly
Yummy2
Creswick Crispy Pork Torchon
Grove Fashioned
House Made Cavatelli Pasta
Pig Head
Surf Clam Bloody Caeser
Amish Rabbit With Cauliflower 3 Ways
Pig's Head
Pork Belly Tacos
Fried Chicken Livers On Brioche, With Maple Gastric And Friuit.
Lamb Meatballs With Parisian Gnochhi
Pork Molé Taco
House Made Fettuccini
Salmon Tartare
Cucumber Gaspacho
Local Heirloom Tomato Salad
Meatloaf Slider
Shrimp
3 Course $25 Menu
Lamb T-Bones With Nicoise
The Barnyard
Fried Green Tomatoes
duck confit risotto
Grove Paella
oxtail
BBQ Albacore Tuna
Dark Chocolate Pudding Cake
Braised Pork Risotto
Butternut Squash Soup
Roja Vieja
Harrietta Hills Trout
Dayboat Sea Scallops A La Plancha
Salted Fudge (S'mores Style)
mushroom risotto
Quail
Salted Fudge Smore Style!
Olli Speck
Full

Grove - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Service
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
8 More
Neighborhood Gem
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
American
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Overall
Grand Rapids
Best Food
Grand Rapids
Best Service
Grand Rapids
Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids
Most Booked
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

fit for foodies (115)
special occasion (95)
neighborhood gem (72)
See All
romantic (53)
notable wine list (44)
hot spot (31)
great for outdoor dining (24)
great for brunch (17)
good for groups (16)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for lunch (5)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1134 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible service and food to match. Fa ...

Dined 5 days ago

Incredible service and food to match. Fantastic attention paid to allergies.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrific service and wonderful food Rain ...

Dined 7 days ago

Terrific service and wonderful food Rainbow trout was perfect! Will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Typically love all of the essence group ...

Dined 7 days ago

Typically love all of the essence group restaurants but wow they were really off on this night. Ordered the cataplana and no idea what I got- first it just had shrimp in it and no idea why but had pork belly in it- which did not go well with the dish at all. Our server for the water was better than our waiter who stood at the bar and chatted with fellow workers after our water server told him what we requested. I will not even talk about our dessert other than the cornbread had a weird texture and the strawberry preserves were minimal therefore making the bread even more drier but the cheese was very good. It was our 24th wedding anniversary so that was a bummer.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

See Nathan the bartender for cocktails. ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

See Nathan the bartender for cocktails. Great guy and exceptional mixed drinks. Food was good. The preparations interesting and tasty. Sitting outside was very pleasant although no real view (just the street). Would go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Great service. Overpriced and very smal ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great service. Overpriced and very small portions.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an awesome time at Grove. The foo ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We had an awesome time at Grove. The food was amazing and our server was incredibly helpful and very knowledgeable about the menu. Overall, it was a great dinner and I would absolutely come here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a nice place to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The food was great. We loved the shrimp ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was great. We loved the shrimp and grits and the butterscotch pudding. The waiter was not the quality one would expect at a restaurant of Grove's quality. He did serve us but was very abrupt, so the experience was like going to an extremely expensive diner.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were on vacation and wante ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

My wife and I were on vacation and wanted to eat at a good farm to table restaurant. The food was uniquely prepared and extremely good. We ordered off the Prie Fix menu and they also brought us an additional plate with three tastes for each of us off the appetizer menu that was also delicious. The service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were outstanding an ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The food and service were outstanding and we were greeted enthusiastically. Everywhere that we could see were people enjoying themselves and the evening. Highly recommend this place for a wonderful dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was absolutely outstanding - everythi ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

It was absolutely outstanding - everything- The Food, The Service - it is all unbeatable! The BEST restaurant we have ever been to. It was only our second time - both times were fabulous. We drove 5 hours to eat there once again and will hopefully be able to go there again sometime.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was fantastic and the service w ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was fantastic and the service was great! The menu changes daily, so there is always something new to try. The only reason I gave it 3 stars for value was because it's quite pricey. But for a special occasion, it was perfect! They even gave us champagne for our anniversary and my husband got his choice of (free) dessert for his birthday! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved sitting outside! Enjoyed a great b ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Loved sitting outside! Enjoyed a great brunch!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorites anywhere in the US

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

I use Open Table at least 1-2 times every week on the road across the country for business. This means I have the privilege of eating in some really great places. As a general rule, I look at the reviews and try to eat at a local restaurant rather than a chain. These reviews are pretty spot-on! This was only my second time at The Grove, both with my wife as we recently bought a cottage south of Grand Rapids and live there only during the summer. She still remembered where she sat and what she had last time, so that tells you it's memorable. We started out with two appetizers, the ahi tuna and the lamb meatballs. The ahi was good, though could've used a bit more kick - this was just average. The lamb meatballs, on the other hand, were one of the tastiest dishes I've ever had. There was a bit of heat to them, and you could taste the depth and layers of flavor. As my wife said, that will be her dinner next time (meaning none for me!). After two appetizers, she went with the shrimp and grits appetizer for her meal, which she really enjoyed. However, my dinner was one she lusted after (with good reason). I got the pork scallopini, something I'm not sure I've seen on a menu elsewhere. It was pounded down but still on the bone, which added to a stunning presentation. It was breaded then cooked in what could only be described as a heavenly way, then had some asparagus, scallions on top with blue cheese that melted in little pools. Not sure when we will get back up to GR but I know where I'm eating and what I'm having!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

THE finest food establishment in West MI ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

THE finest food establishment in West MI. I always feel like an episode of Top Chef. Incredible care taken to provide the best prepared food. Fresh, inventive and delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A+ Brunch

Dined on June 5, 2016

We decided to finally check out Grove for brunch after thoroughly enjoying the small plate multi-course meal a while back! Grove's brunch definitely didn't disappoint! The service was excellent and the food was even better! The only thing I would have liked better is if my Bloody Mary had more than just olives and a lime for a garnish! I mean, a pickle at least, but bump it up a notch with a fancy cheese cube, a pearl onion or even a Fresh stalk of celery!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Time at Brunch

Dined on June 5, 2016

Great food, great service. We had a great time trying to choose from the wide variety of interesting options on the brunch menu. I love that you could add an egg to any choice. Our server was wonderful and had good suggestions - like butterscotch pudding for dessert!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3

Service was a little spotty - especially ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Service was a little spotty - especially at the start of the evening.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was once again outstanding. Servic ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was once again outstanding. Service was a little off. Waitress was very nice, and knowledgeable, but a little frazzled. My drink was not properly prepared (used sugar instead of simple syrup). But, the food is soooo good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second visit and won't be our last. ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Our second visit and won't be our last. The service was superlative. Our server was attentive and checked on us always at just the right time. Her suggestions were perfect. The food...ah the food! the real reason we will return. No matter what we choose we are delighted. It is visually appealing with complex flavors.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

We have eaten at the Grove many times an ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

We have eaten at the Grove many times and have always had exceptional meals and service. We have always felt the food at the Grove is the best in town. Unfortunate for us, we must have caught them on an off night. Everyone's meal was bland and for the price of our meals the protein portions were minuscule. We're hoping it was just a bad night.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Didnt have the updated menu on the websi ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Didnt have the updated menu on the website to reflect the stores menu, was looking forward to certain items and was unable to order them. Had a beer and left.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5

Unlike any other time I've dined at Grov ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Unlike any other time I've dined at Grove, this time the food was off. Corn chowder tasted like cooked, plain oats. Sauce for flat iron steak was bitter and off putting. Usually the food is so phenomenal! Must have been an off night.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service was amazing and the food a u ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The service was amazing and the food a unique experience.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A delicious time in family during a late ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

A delicious time in family during a late brunch! The only bad point was the mustard sauve in the kids meals... Otherwise everything was tasty, well prepared and unique! We will come back for sure to try a romantic dinner;-) I can't wait!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Came highly recommended by a friend. Did ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Came highly recommended by a friend. Did not disappoint! Loved it!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

disappointed

Dined on May 20, 2016

I was disappointed that the tasting menu no longer offered you the option to pick from all of the different courses. The service was good but we did have to call the waiter over a couple of times to reorder drinks and refill water glasses.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Disappointing

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

As the best rated restaurant in GR, we were quite disappointed. We ordered several appetizers and none were ones we'd order again. I found the dishes to be very heavy, over-done, and just "too much." When you have the special touch of creating delicious food/dishes, simplicity should prevail. For example, the smoked lamb was too smoky; it might as well been a cheap piece of meat from your local and not-so-good BBQ joint as it was no longer lamb but just an over-smoked piece of meat. The cheese was good but served with milk bread that overpowered the cheese and competed too much for flavor, texture, etc. The beef tartar was doused in so much Parmesan that you could barely taste the meat, and it was served on a very large piece of bread, detracting from what should have been the star of the dish: the tartar. Most disappointing of all was what was touted as Grove's best dish, the shrimp and grits. The shrimp were overcooked to the point of being rubber, and the grits tasted as if they were from a cardboard box. Please take a trip to Charleston or Savannah for real and truly divine shrimp and grits. In short, go somewhere else if you want amazing food as Grove was no where near a restaurant that should even receive two stars for their overly "foodie" try at creating delicious and inspiring dishes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious food - the Vegetar ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Absolutely delicious food - the Vegetarian/Vegan menu is top notch! I highly recommend this gem to anyone looking to have an amazing dinner experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious as always.

Dined on May 17, 2016

Delicious as always.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful menu, great execution, terrifi ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Wonderful menu, great execution, terrific service from great bartender/server. Loved it. Will return for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to the grove. I ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This was our first visit to the grove. It was so, so good!! Our server Nick was fantastic! The food was delicious and the wine list was great! You will not be disappointed! We give it five stars.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Very nice comfortable surroundings with ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Very nice comfortable surroundings with friendly staff and great service. However, the food was a little disappointing. We may have expected a little more from a restaurant which was ranked the Best in Grand Rapids and one of the top 100 restaurants in the US.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely stellar meal!

Dined on May 12, 2016

As usual, Grove NEVER disappoints. We had a lovely time and our server, Mitchell, was so attentive and helpful in describing the menu to us. They changed the three course menu to two and I thought that was a good change. The ambience is fabulous the food was just divine. Everything is so fresh and executed in a beautiful way. We can't say enough about this establishment and will return soon. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our 25th wedding anniversary ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We went for our 25th wedding anniversary with our children and their dates. We had the absolute best meal we have had in a very long time. The cuisine had some unique touches that made the plate interesting as you ate it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a treat!

Dined on May 9, 2016

I had the 4 course special and I was a little picky about some of the ingredients and they were completely accommodating. The blend of flavors was a real treat! My son had the chicken quesadillas and pork tenderloin which he really liked. I was pleased that the portion sizes were not skimpy! It's a little pricey, but the food was definitely worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The menu at Grove was definitely differe ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The menu at Grove was definitely different. No matter what we thought might be good had some ingredient that we didn't like or either we weren't sure about. I ended up picking lamb which was good but the parsnips under it really added a strange taste that I didn't like. It also said there was collards in it, but only a very few of them. They didn't taste like collards either. As we sat between two large tables on Mothers Day we saw many of the dishes and most of them we would have never been able to match with the descriptions in the menus. We also thought the prices were high for that type of food.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Bring Back the 3 course menu

Dined on May 8, 2016

Pricing for food directly off the menu was a little higher than we are use to spending at Grove. Oh well. We will watch for the 3 course menu to return before we come back.

food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Not the typical Grove quality

Dined on May 7, 2016

We've dined at the Grove on several occasions. Unfortunately, our most recent visit was disappointing. We ordered shrimp and grits to begin. Shrimp was quite over cooked. The four of us ordered from the main menu - halibut, roasted chicken, duck and salmon. The Duck with kimchee was outstanding. Easily won the table. The halibut, chicken and salmon were overcooked and tough. Dessert was butterscotch pudding - which is a Grove special and usually outstanding. This time - it was runny as if it didn't set up well - but still very tasty. Service is amazing here. Professional, quick, polite, knowledgeable. Definitely delivers the WOW experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food

Dined on May 6, 2016

We found that the food was excellent. Very Fresh. The waiter was great. He did pressure you... was able to go at a pace we preferred. Drinks are a little pricey. But very good. Need to go back to try other items on menu.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeds my expectations everytime

Dined on May 4, 2016

I could go on and on about them but will keep this to one word , awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.