Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.74mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.74mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.74mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.74mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About Grove - Grand Rapids

Grove brings Farm to Table dining to Grand Rapids.
Winner of Restaurant of the Year in Grand Rapids for four years running, Grove serves honest dining experiences with modern, creative cuisine in a walkable, urban setting. Delight your senses with artfully crafted dishes, impeccable service, and intimate ambiance. Celebrate community with honest food straight from the local people who are growing, raising, and preparing it.

919 Cherry Street SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49506
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 5-10
Friday & Saturday 5-11
Sunday 11 am-3 pm (brunch)

Cross Street:
Eastern and Cherry

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 454-1000

Website:
http://www.groverestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
We offer limited private parking with handicap accessibility and street parking.

Public Transit:
Route 4 Southbound (Cherry and Eastern)
Approximate .14 miles East of the bus stop on Cherry. Located on the North side of Cherry Street.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Paquin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Grove - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (54)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Local Ingredients (48)
See All
Special Occasion (45)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Tasting Menu (29)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Worth the Drive (28)
Romantic (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Healthy (20)
Notable Wine List (16)
Seasonal (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Cozy (14)
Authentic (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Organic (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Fun (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Casual (11)
Business Meals (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Vegan (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tapas (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (0)
Sort By:
S
1414 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 20 hours ago

Great experience. The food was wonderful and our server did an amazing job with description and recommendations. The staff were all extremely friendly and welcoming as well.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Our second visit at the Grove. Just like the first time the whole experience was magical. Food, service, ambiance, and lots of smiles from the staff. Without question, one of the best restaurants in Grand Rapids.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Great find! Cozy, excellent service, vibrant menu, good wine list. Would definitely recommend.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Vegan, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

We have been here several times in the past few years. Service is great. Food is creative and delicious. Save room for desert.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Authentic, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

It's always fun to see what's new on the ever-changing menu, and this evening's dinner was no exception. Superb! Farm-fresh goodness on each course. And, the always fabulous service from Carmen - with commentary by Jim - made the entire evening so enjoyable!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 14, 2017

My husband and I were extremely happy with the food and the experience! Thank you for providing an amazing overall experience!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We enjoyed the meal(2nd time we have been there) but it is a bit loud. Wait staff very helpful and food (at least for me) is relatively exotic.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My wife and I came here for the first time. I don't normally leave reviews, but both of us were so impressed with the food, service, and overall experience. I picked this place because I thought the menu looked unique. I was blown away with the flavors and presentation of each course of my meal. The server was very knowledgeable about the menu and was passionate about their food. I highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The food was outstanding and so full of flavors. Nick was very helpful in answering our questions and knowledgeable on the wines and pairings. We'll be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 6, 2017

The food is interesting, but there isn't much distinction between the 1st, 2nd, & 3rd courses, so it is mostly like three tastings. Very informal service but competent. The outdoor sitting is fun. But it is a bit expensive for an uncomposed meal.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 1, 2017

This place is always top notch. Unique combinations and great bar.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Selected The Grove because of positive Yelp reviews and we had a good experience at the Green Well also operated but the same people. The Grove exceeded our expectations. We opted for the 3 course meals and our waiter, Mitchell was very knowledgeable and helped us in making selections. Between the three if us we had an amazing array of the menu. All the offerings were a visual feast. Colorful fresh and delicious. I would highly recommend you try The Grove. We will be back!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Celebrating our 46th wedding anniversary, my wife and I enjoyed an excellent meal and outstanding service at Grove. The food was tasty, delightful to the palate and to the eye. Our server, Erin, was helpful in telling us about some of the dishes and provided attentive service. It was a great evening and we'll definitely return to Grove again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 22, 2017

This is my second time at the Grove. The biscuits. THE BISCUITS. The food is outstanding and creative. Fit for foodies and fit for people who just like to eat. The service was outstanding. Staff seem to really enjoy working at a place that has such good food. The cocktails are wonderful. Try the Grove Old Fashioned. I don't live in Grand Rapids but this place makes me want to. The biscuits....

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food and service were excellent. My only complaint is the noise level is a bit high.
We went for our anniversary dinner and they recognized us with a glass of sparkling wine for each of us.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The Grove never disappoints. We were delighted to find many offerings that included seasonal fresh fruit and vegetables. The taste of Grove is indeed a value, with three plates for a reasonable price; it's just hard to decide which three! Service is excellent, and wine and beer choices are varied enough to please anyone.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My husband and I wanted a nice meal to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary. Not only was the food amazing, our waiter made the experience even more enjoyable. We tried the "Taste of Grove" and did the different courses. The food was remarkable. We would definitely go back for another date night.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This place always comes through. Eclectic menu, fresh ingredients and good service.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Excellent food and service. Why there are televisions at the bar of a fine dining restaurant is beyond me. It took away from the atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Usually the food is very good but this time one of us ordered the ribeye stake, but what they served was, we all thought a strip stake. The waiter tried to explain that it was a ribeye with all the fat trimmed off, but we have had ribeye there before, and it was a ribeye and was great. This was a lower grade stake they passed off as ribeye.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day. Food was great, Bloody Mary was unique. Was quite busy, but service was very ggod.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was good, service was good, all around a pleasurable experience. I would recommend to friends.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful Mother's Day Bruch ... our first visit. A Gem in the Cherry Hill section of Grand Rapids. We plan to go back soon!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food and amazing service. Everything my girlfriend and I ate was phenomenal from first to third course

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Grove, in Grand Rapids, Mi, has been a consistently outstanding dining experience. Selection, variety, and thoughtful presentation are among its virtues. I will always recommend this spot until that unlikely day that they fall short of my past experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Nate provided great service! Great selections for the wine pairings. Wonderful meal with creative and enticing flavors. Never have been disappointed here!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Had dinner with a friend and we fully enjoyed the experience! I had the Trout and my friend had the Salmon and they were delicious! I would recommend trying Grove! I don't recommend it for people who like big burgers or fried food. They have great healthy and natural food options!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Very creative food, beautifully served. Very knowledgeable waiter. I can really recommend the wine tasting that is on the menu: great wines that perfectly fit to the different courses.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

It was our anaversery, they make food very tasty and the wait staff is excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The service was amazing! The food is so interesting and amazingly tasty! The prix fix menu is the best choice.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Our meal and service was outstanding. Our waiter was knowledgeable and attentive. The glasses of champagne for our anniversary was a very nice touch. The only slight glitch was that we arrived slightly early for a reservation and instead of letting us know a booth would be opening soon, the hostess seated us between two tables of people, where we would not be able to have a private conversation. She was gracious when the booth opened and we asked to be moved but it felt awkward.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Amazing place with amazing specialty plates and great staff- a gem of Michigan

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I have been to Grove a few times and each visit has been exceptional. The service is always excellent, the food has been amazing with flavors and texture combinations that make you savor each bite, and the drink selection is what you would expect from such a thoughtfully designed menu. You feel valued and never rushed to finish your meal, which is a rare experience in most restaurants. This really is one of the best dining experiences you can have in Grand Rapids.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Grove has consistently​ provided the best eating experience in Grand Rapids. This is as good as it gets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The Grove never fails to amaze. Everything is very unique - things you'd never be able to make at home and you wont find at other restaurants.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 24, 2017

An outstanding dinning experience. I was traveling with customers from Peru, who are very proud of their cuisine. We each chose The Taste of Grove and flights of wines. We asked our server, Nathan, to pair the wines with our courses. It was excellent! And such fun for me and my guests. Don't know if I will ever be back in Grand Rapids, but if so, I will definitly return!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Amazing experience from the moment you step in the door! Wanted to order a cocktail at the bar while waiting for our table, bar area was full. Bartender came from behind the bar to greet us and take our order. We were celebrating our anniversary, card on the table and we were treated to a champagne toast! Server was attentive despite she had many tables. If we only liver closer, we would be here frequently

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Recently I heard about the Grove from a friend. My wife and I went there for our 30th on April 18th and loved it. Unique menu, great service, we loved it and will be back soon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

As usual we had a great dinner at The Grove: friendly, knowlegeable staff, creative menu, nice choice of wines: all perfect.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 17, 2017

I think of Grove as adventure dining--good adventure. Unusual flavor combinations and presentations are fun and delicious. Wait staff were helpful in explaining the menu to avoid any unwelcome surprises. Atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. Delightful experience overall.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.