About Grove - Grand Rapids

919 Cherry Street SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49506
View Larger Map

Grove brings Earth to Table dining to Grand Rapids.
Winner of Restaurant of the Year in Grand Rapids for four years running, Grove serves honest dining experiences with modern, creative cuisine in a walkable, urban setting. Delight your senses with artfully crafted dishes, impeccable service, and intimate ambiance. Celebrate community with honest food straight from the local people who are growing, raising, and preparing it.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 5-10
Friday & Saturday 5-11
Sunday 11 am-9 (brunch and dinner)

Cross Street:
Eastern and Cherry

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 454-1000

Website:
http://www.groverestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
We offer limited private parking with handicap accessibility and street parking.

Public Transit:
Route 4 Southbound (Cherry and Eastern)
Approximate .14 miles East of the bus stop on Cherry. Located on the North side of Cherry Street.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Paquin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Three Course Taste of Grove $39

Special valid Jan 6, 2017 - May 6, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Three Course Taste of Grove $39

Special valid Jan 6, 2017 - May 6, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Delight your senses with artfully crafted cuisine. Enjoy three courses at Grove for only $39!. Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 6, 2017 - May 6, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Grove - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (56)
Good for a Date (45)
Special Occasion (43)
See All
Creative Cuisine (41)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Romantic (28)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Healthy (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Tasting Menu (23)
Worth the Drive (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Cozy (18)
Authentic (17)
Modern Decor (17)
Business Meals (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Organic (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Seasonal (12)
Casual (11)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Fun (8)
Vegan (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Great Beer (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Family Style (3)
People Watching (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Sports (1)
Waterfront (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1330 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I would recommend this place to anyone. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

I would recommend this place to anyone. The food is amazing, the service is perfect and the atmosphere is good for a casual night out or for any special occasion. I wouldn't pass this place by, the food is worth the price as you won't find many places better than this one.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Romantic, Seasonal, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been here several times and it neve ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

I've been here several times and it never disappoints. Get the Chef Tasting with the wine pairing. You can't lose.

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food!

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Best ribeye that I have had in a very lo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Best ribeye that I have had in a very long time...Great service with a very friendly staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and, of course, the staff at Gr ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and, of course, the staff at Grove made our celebration special. There's room for improvement on the Chardonnay selection (IMHO) but we had a memorable time. Attentive staff, food came out at the perfect time, hardly any wait (we made reservations in advance though).

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service! I have recommend ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food and service! I have recommended to all my friends!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at Grove had sagged a bit after ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food at Grove had sagged a bit after the original head chef left. The kitchen seemed to be adrift, struggling to find its way. With new head chef Jeremy Paquin, late of the beloved and very missed Mia & Grace, Grove appears to be back on track.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overpriced, tasteless food! Would never ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Overpriced, tasteless food! Would never go back with all the fabulous choices in GR!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Amazing! As always.

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Amazing! As always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing!!! And our server g ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was amazing!!! And our server gave excellent recommendations!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazing. Thank you so much for a ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always amazing. Thank you so much for a memorable birthday nick!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been here 4 times and have not been ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I've been here 4 times and have not been disappointed. Excellent menu that changes regularly, great food, knowledgeable wait staff, nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to the Grove a year ago when the ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We went to the Grove a year ago when they had a different chef... I would have to say the first time was much better than the second time. For the price of the food we were a little disappointed at the quality and flavor of the main dishes. Menu was a little confusing too. We would rather go across the street to Greenwell and pay less where we thought the food was better...

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved it a lot. Called you all the next ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Loved it a lot. Called you all the next day and raved

Tags: Vegan, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time for Sunday brunc ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was our first time for Sunday brunch and it won't be the last! Great options, reasonable portion sizes, and excellent service. As always. I ordered the carrot-potato soup and brunch taco. Very tasty. I eat gluten free and always find it easy at Grove. My husband ordered sausage and biscuits and raved on and on. He loves the cocktails too.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for a date. It was a typical ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great place for a date. It was a typical busy Saturday night in Grand Rapids which made my reservation a little late but management quickly acknowledge the issue and addressed it. Totally satisfied with the visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Grove was very tasty and tasteful. I wou ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Grove was very tasty and tasteful. I would certainly recommend eating there. I will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dine occasionally at the Grove and ar ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We dine occasionally at the Grove and are never disappointed. This time we sat in the bar for a livelier ambiance and a quicker meal. Service was attentive and farm to table menu choices still creative and hard to choose from, another reason why we keep returning. Ordered from the Prix menu plus a few starters. Wonderful dinner - will return again soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our trips too Grove. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We always enjoy our trips too Grove. We ordered off the Taste of Grove menu. I'm not sure if it's always available, but the options on it were fantastic. Food is always fresh and local. Enjoy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Grove has consistently proven itself ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The Grove has consistently proven itself a winner. We have been going since its opening, at least two or three a year. We have never been disappointed in service and originality, variety and quality of the food. The ambiance is upscale casual, a bit noisy unless you have a booth, but I would suspect the noise level is a good part of the enjoyment for many of their patrons.

On our most recent occasion, the staff, particularly our waitress was excellent. Very attentive, personable and genuinely interested in making sure our experience was memorable.

Lovely dinner. We will be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, , Authentic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I visit the grove once a year and they n ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I visit the grove once a year and they never dissapoint! The food is always fresh and geniusly prepared, and the desserts are sinful!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service, and it can b ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Excellent food and service, and it can be a little noisy. I recommend the Grove Restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, , Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It took about ten minutes for someone to ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 20, 2017

It took about ten minutes for someone to come by and take our drink orders. Besides that it was great

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Organic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I do like the grove but the last times I ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I do like the grove but the last times I went, it was very disappointing . The quail was dry and the fish had no flavor . Dessert menu leaves a lot to be desired. It used delightful but we were very underwhelmed.

Tags: Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value5

Food is great. Very high quality. Portio ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food is great. Very high quality. Portion size is slightly small but the quality exceeds that.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great as usual! Food and service were th ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great as usual! Food and service were the best in town.

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very unique menu with fresh, local ingre ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Very unique menu with fresh, local ingredients. Server was great and the food was excellent. I would definitely recommend this for anyone who appreciates clean and fresh food with original menu choices.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We always have had an excellent experien ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We always have had an excellent experience at Grove, one of our favorites in Michigan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, , Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food (we both had the $39 3-co ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent food (we both had the $39 3-course menu), excellent service, cozy atmosphere on a cold winter night.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the pork belly Benedict and t ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed the pork belly Benedict and the trout dish for brunch. Followed by a orange chocolate cinnamon roll will a cappuccino and an espresso. The food as excellent, The service was very friendly. We were there for the first seating and the environment was relaxed. By the time we were ready to leave there were a significant number of people there and the noise level was getting high.

We will definitely be going back for the brunch.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Just a wonderful all around experience.

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Just a wonderful all around experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved everything about are experience--T ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Loved everything about are experience--The best special occasion dinner & date in Grand Rapids

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Family local favorite... exciting to see ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Family local favorite... exciting to see them growing over the years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It's one of the area's priciest restaura ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It's one of the area's priciest restaurants, but we knew that already and usually only go for special occasions anyways. Service was friendly and superb, and the wine pours are generous. Food was tasty (duck leg for me), but my wife's salmon was undercooked. Management took it back and brought her a "fresh" piece that was about 1/2 the size of the original! We called the manager over again and she agreed to bring out a third piece that was the correct size and temperature. A couple of "bumps" in the road, but it ultimately turned out to be a fun evening of dining.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The menu has evolved at Grove. The dishe ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The menu has evolved at Grove. The dishes are a little less exotic than they used to be, which I don't necessarily think is positive, but it remains excellent. We had the Taste (three courses including dessert - I feel like long ago the prix fixe was three courses prior to dessert, but I'm not sure). For the first course, we had a pierogi and the duck salad. These were both excellent. Somehow every dish we ordered did have the same vegetable complement - beets, carrots, and some potato and cabbage - I think this was probably our fault with respect to what we ordered. The duck was fantastic, and the pierogi was very non-traditional - I think it was fried - and creative. We had for the second course fried quail and trout. The quail was breaded and fried like fried chicken - but it was excellent. The trout was excellent, as well - succulent and falls apart in one's mouth. We had a layer sponge cake and butterscotch pudding for dessert. The butterscotch pudding (which seems to be on their menu a lot) is divine. The layer cake was okay (probably the least good thing about the meal). Mixed drinks were excellent, too. I'm not sure if it's just winter food, but I'm hoping the next time we go back, the menu will be more interesting as it has been in the past. We'll be back, though. I still think Grove is overall the best experience in GR right now.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The best meal, bar none, that I had in 2 ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The best meal, bar none, that I had in 2016. Each course in the wonderfully priced $36 3-Course Tasting menu was not only a tastebud explosion, but a feast for the eyes, as well. The duck salad with its schmear of freshly ground peanut butter on the side was scrumptious. The house made cavatappi carbonara was full of lardons and Brussels sprouts and the salted dark chocolate fudge on brown butter brioche is the stuff dreams are made of. Exquisite, memorable meal! Bravo!

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, , Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have amazing food and great se ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We always have amazing food and great service at Grove. This time we brought friends who have never been. They were equally impressed!

Tags: Vegan, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good farm to table food! Loved the thre ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good farm to table food! Loved the three course offer. A nice spot for our anniversary date!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were in Grand Rapids from Chicago and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We were in Grand Rapids from Chicago and wanted to find a nice restaurant that was open on Christmas Eve. We were pleased to get a reservation at The Grove. It lived up to our expectation--we had a lovely meal with great service. It was a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing as usual, love the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was amazing as usual, love the way they use local ingredients creatively! The wine list is fun - new wines to discover and knowledgeable staff. Our Grand Rapids stop when we are in Michigan!

Tags: , Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.