About Grove - Grand Rapids

919 Cherry Street SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49506
View Larger Map

Grove brings Earth to Table dining to Grand Rapids.
Winner of Restaurant of the Year in Grand Rapids for four years running, Grove serves honest dining experiences with modern, creative cuisine in a walkable, urban setting. Delight your senses with artfully crafted dishes, impeccable service, and intimate ambiance. Celebrate community with honest food straight from the local people who are growing, raising, and preparing it.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 5-10
Friday & Saturday 5-11
Sunday 11 am-9 (brunch and dinner)

Cross Street:
Eastern and Cherry

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 454-1000

Website:
http://www.groverestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
We offer limited private parking with handicap accessibility and street parking.

Public Transit:
Route 4 Southbound (Cherry and Eastern)
Approximate .14 miles East of the bus stop on Cherry. Located on the North side of Cherry Street.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Paquin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Shrimp and Grits - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Albacore Tuna - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Gooseberry Cove Cod - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Roast Beef Tacos - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Gnocchi - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Butterscotch pudding - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Lamb Tartar Bruschetta - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Potato Soup - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Bread - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Okonomiyaki - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Smoked Fish Deviled Eggs And Bahn Mi - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Salted Dark Chocolate Fudge - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Beef Tartare - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Marinated Veggies - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Blackfin Tuna Nicoise - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Smoked Duck Rillettes - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Bruschetta - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Warm Cornmeal Buttermilk Cake - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Chickpea Hummus - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Heirloom Tomato Salad - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Corvina Two Ways - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Steak Tataki - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Sea Scallops - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Sea scallop and cheswick pork belly duo - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Ahi tuna - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Beat Salad - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Fall Farm Vegetables And Their Purees - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Scottish Salmon Carpaccio - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Pan Fried S&S Chicken Livers - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Parisian Gnocci - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Sea Scallops A La Plancha - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Otto's Chicken Two Ways - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Flank Steak Tacos - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Ceviche Duo - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Beef Tartare, Chicken Rillettes', Pork Terrine.  - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Local Trout With Fried Egg, Cornbread And Succatash.  - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Kimchi Stew, Su Vide Egg, Chicken Leg Confit, Pork Loin - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Black Bean Soup - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Fried Green Tomato Napoleon  - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Salted Dark Chocolate S'more - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Sockeye Salmon Crudo - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Chicken Two Ways - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Ratatouille - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Cheese Tasting - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Scallops - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Ham Farm Beet Salad - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Wild Sockeye Salmon - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Scallops Ceviche - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Banh Mi - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Beet And Citrus Salad - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
S&S Crispy Chicken Livers - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Beef Carpaccio - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Earthkeeper Baby Kale And Farm Vegetable Salad - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
flourless chocolate cake - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Scottish Salmon - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Creswick Crispy Pork Torchon - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
S&S Duck Breast - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Pork Belly - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Winter Mojito - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Thai Style Beef Salad - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Coffee And Doughnut Braised Pork Shoulder - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Coho Salmon Crudo - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Yummy2 - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Yummy - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Grove Fashioned - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
House Made Cavatelli Pasta - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Fried Chicken Livers On Brioche, With Maple Gastric And Friuit.  - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Pig Head - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Lamb Meatballs With Parisian Gnochhi - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Pork Molé Taco - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Amish Rabbit With Cauliflower 3 Ways - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Pig's Head - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Pork Belly Tacos - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Surf Clam Bloody Caeser - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
House Made Fettuccini - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Cucumber Gaspacho - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Salmon Tartare - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Meatloaf Slider - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Shrimp - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Local Heirloom Tomato Salad - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
3 Course $25 Menu - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Fried Green Tomatoes - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
The Barnyard - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
duck confit risotto - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Lamb T-Bones With Nicoise - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Braised Pork Risotto - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Harrietta Hills Trout - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
oxtail - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
BBQ Albacore Tuna - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Roja Vieja - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Dark Chocolate Pudding Cake - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Grove Paella - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Butternut Squash Soup - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Salted Fudge (S'mores Style) - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Dayboat Sea Scallops A La Plancha - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
mushroom risotto - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Quail - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Full - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Hanger Steak - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI
Lamb T-bone - Grove - Grand Rapids, Grand Rapids, MI

Specials

Three Course Taste of Grove $39

Special valid Jan 6, 2017 - May 6, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Three Course Taste of Grove $39

Special valid Jan 6, 2017 - May 6, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Delight your senses with artfully crafted cuisine. Enjoy three courses at Grove for only $39!. Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 6, 2017 - May 6, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Grove - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (58)
Creative Cuisine (52)
Good for a Date (48)
See All
Fit for Foodies (47)
Special Occasion (45)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Romantic (32)
Healthy (28)
Notable Wine List (25)
Cozy (22)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Authentic (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Organic (17)
Business Meals (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Seasonal (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Casual (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Great for Brunch (8)
Vegan (8)
Fun (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great Beer (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
People Watching (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Waterfront (1)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1303 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is great. Very high quality. Portio ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Food is great. Very high quality. Portion size is slightly small but the quality exceeds that.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great as usual! Food and service were th ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 5 days ago

Great as usual! Food and service were the best in town.

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very unique menu with fresh, local ingre ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Very unique menu with fresh, local ingredients. Server was great and the food was excellent. I would definitely recommend this for anyone who appreciates clean and fresh food with original menu choices.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We always have had an excellent experien ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We always have had an excellent experience at Grove, one of our favorites in Michigan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, , Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food (we both had the $39 3-co ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent food (we both had the $39 3-course menu), excellent service, cozy atmosphere on a cold winter night.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the pork belly Benedict and t ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed the pork belly Benedict and the trout dish for brunch. Followed by a orange chocolate cinnamon roll will a cappuccino and an espresso. The food as excellent, The service was very friendly. We were there for the first seating and the environment was relaxed. By the time we were ready to leave there were a significant number of people there and the noise level was getting high.

We will definitely be going back for the brunch.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Just a wonderful all around experience.

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Just a wonderful all around experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved everything about are experience--T ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Loved everything about are experience--The best special occasion dinner & date in Grand Rapids

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Family local favorite... exciting to see ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Family local favorite... exciting to see them growing over the years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It's one of the area's priciest restaura ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It's one of the area's priciest restaurants, but we knew that already and usually only go for special occasions anyways. Service was friendly and superb, and the wine pours are generous. Food was tasty (duck leg for me), but my wife's salmon was undercooked. Management took it back and brought her a "fresh" piece that was about 1/2 the size of the original! We called the manager over again and she agreed to bring out a third piece that was the correct size and temperature. A couple of "bumps" in the road, but it ultimately turned out to be a fun evening of dining.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The menu has evolved at Grove. The dishe ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The menu has evolved at Grove. The dishes are a little less exotic than they used to be, which I don't necessarily think is positive, but it remains excellent. We had the Taste (three courses including dessert - I feel like long ago the prix fixe was three courses prior to dessert, but I'm not sure). For the first course, we had a pierogi and the duck salad. These were both excellent. Somehow every dish we ordered did have the same vegetable complement - beets, carrots, and some potato and cabbage - I think this was probably our fault with respect to what we ordered. The duck was fantastic, and the pierogi was very non-traditional - I think it was fried - and creative. We had for the second course fried quail and trout. The quail was breaded and fried like fried chicken - but it was excellent. The trout was excellent, as well - succulent and falls apart in one's mouth. We had a layer sponge cake and butterscotch pudding for dessert. The butterscotch pudding (which seems to be on their menu a lot) is divine. The layer cake was okay (probably the least good thing about the meal). Mixed drinks were excellent, too. I'm not sure if it's just winter food, but I'm hoping the next time we go back, the menu will be more interesting as it has been in the past. We'll be back, though. I still think Grove is overall the best experience in GR right now.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The best meal, bar none, that I had in 2 ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The best meal, bar none, that I had in 2016. Each course in the wonderfully priced $36 3-Course Tasting menu was not only a tastebud explosion, but a feast for the eyes, as well. The duck salad with its schmear of freshly ground peanut butter on the side was scrumptious. The house made cavatappi carbonara was full of lardons and Brussels sprouts and the salted dark chocolate fudge on brown butter brioche is the stuff dreams are made of. Exquisite, memorable meal! Bravo!

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, , Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have amazing food and great se ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We always have amazing food and great service at Grove. This time we brought friends who have never been. They were equally impressed!

Tags: Vegan, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good farm to table food! Loved the thre ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good farm to table food! Loved the three course offer. A nice spot for our anniversary date!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were in Grand Rapids from Chicago and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We were in Grand Rapids from Chicago and wanted to find a nice restaurant that was open on Christmas Eve. We were pleased to get a reservation at The Grove. It lived up to our expectation--we had a lovely meal with great service. It was a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing as usual, love the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was amazing as usual, love the way they use local ingredients creatively! The wine list is fun - new wines to discover and knowledgeable staff. Our Grand Rapids stop when we are in Michigan!

Tags: , Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is a reason the Grove is listed as ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

There is a reason the Grove is listed as Grand Rapid's top restaurant! Wait staff is attentive; the food is presented in an appealing manner; and the taste of the foods (individually) combined well with all items on the plate...Fantastic! Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Menu was awesome and the food was amazin ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Menu was awesome and the food was amazing. Made reservations to go back next week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always interesting food, knowledgeable s ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Always interesting food, knowledgeable staff, broad selection of wines - broad in the sense of variety not necessarily numbers.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Creative cocktails and menu. The staff w ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Creative cocktails and menu. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Nice place to dress up but unnecessary.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!! Amazing combinations ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great experience!! Amazing combinations of food lead to a very flavorful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the best waiter who went out of h ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We had the best waiter who went out of his way for me, I'm gluten free. I was very excited with the menu. Our food was great. We had a wonderful time and stayed late. Thank You for taking time with us and not kicking us out.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great experience. I have ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great food and great experience. I have dined her many times. It's a nice place to take clients that you want to impress. Parking was tough though.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my wife's birthday. Two family me ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 1, 2016

It was my wife's birthday. Two family members of ours are pretty well traveled and regularly enjoy many top of the line restaurants. They absolutely rave about Grove and put it at the top of their list of favorite restaurants. I have a specific diet and they can definitely accommodate. If you are vegan or vegetarian you will be unbelievably happy. They have an alternative menu just for you, with many of the plant based versions of the main menu in addition the other options. If you enjoy your meat, well I am not sure you can beat this place. They literally have something unique and appetizing with every dish. It is the first menu I have ever looked at and said out loud that I could eat everything. Between the four of us, everything that came out was fantastic. Can't say enough about the food. The service was top notch. Service was quick and I never once had to look up to find our waitress. Carmen new her product and gave excellent service. The manager Jim seems to have his eyes on everything and checked in on us periodically and made sure that we had a great experience. I am pessimistic about restaurants over all because honestly, most restaurants are not that great. Very few actually come through for the price you pay. I never right reviews on them. It is a must to write one when one is deserved. Thank you for the hospitality, great food and awesome customer service. We will be back for sure.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Healthy, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, , Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grove hits the fine dining experience we ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Grove hits the fine dining experience well. Attentive staff. We gave feedback on some dishes and were kindly comped dessert. An unfortunate side-effect of a daily menu is that some items still need work. Others did not: fritto misto was table winner as best dish with exceptionally nicely prepared octopus, and tuna was close second for simple high quality of an ingredient.

We've been to worse restaurants which had one Michelin star.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was delicious! Celebrating a 15 ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was delicious! Celebrating a 15 year anniversary...perfect!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was outstanding! Food was great! ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Service was outstanding! Food was great! Wine was wonderful. Dessert was melt in your mouth delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Plus: The chef is very imaginative in th ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Plus: The chef is very imaginative in the menus he creates.

Negative: Two members of our party ordered the Prime Beef Coulet and both thought the meat was tough. Certainly for the price of the entre, you expect a very tender steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was outstanding! So fresh and tasty ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was outstanding! So fresh and tasty!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but not great. Not worth t ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was good but not great. Not worth the price. Tables are too close together. Atmosphere is nothing special

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We had made a reservation so we did not ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had made a reservation so we did not have a long wait after we arrived. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive. We had planned to order the salmon but were told that the salmon was no longer available since it was sold out. We ordered the white fish instead and were very pleased with its preparation and presentation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and outstanding food. ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent service and outstanding food. OpenTable didn't let us down. We had the 3 course tasting menu and it was great value and phone was really good. My wife had the salmon dish and loved it so much she wouldn't share.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Always love the Grove but the past few t ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Always love the Grove but the past few times service has been exceptionally slow .....perhaps understaffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I am a little disappointed. This place u ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I am a little disappointed. This place used to be so great, then they messed up and got rid of the taste of the grove. Now they brought it back, but the food just isn't up to what it used to be.

It is a good place to take someone if you want to impress them, but I do not think I will go just to eat the food anymore.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vegan, Organic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Went for my wedding anniversary and had ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Went for my wedding anniversary and had a great meal. I would definitely reccomend the duck PB&J! Great food, great service, and strong cocktails. My wife and I enjoy eatting farm to table, and the Grove does a great job of this.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dining experience at The ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We enjoyed our dining experience at The Grove. The food was unusual. . . but appetizing. Wish the menu did a better job of explaining the entree's or that the waitstaff did.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food! Great Service! Nick was our ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great Food! Great Service! Nick was our waiter, and was terrific! Great Wine!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful evening. The service ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had a wonderful evening. The service was excellent. We were well cared for but never felt rushed. Each plate needed to be studied before eating because of the beautiful presentation. When dessert arrived I was not sure that I wanted to begin because that would mean that the end was near!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with unique preparations. Spe ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great food with unique preparations. Special place in Grand Rapids.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was very salty--almost couldn't eat ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Food was very salty--almost couldn't eat it. I had the quail--portion was very, very small with lots of vegetables. My wife and I had a difficult time hearing each other due to the closeness of the tables. I cannot see us going there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.