About Grove - Grand Rapids

919 Cherry Street SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49506
View Larger Map

Grove brings Earth to Table dining to Grand Rapids.
Winner of Restaurant of the Year in Grand Rapids for four years running, Grove serves honest dining experiences with modern, creative cuisine in a walkable, urban setting. Delight your senses with artfully crafted dishes, impeccable service, and intimate ambiance. Celebrate community with honest food straight from the local people who are growing, raising, and preparing it.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 5-10
Friday & Saturday 5-11
Sunday 11 am-9 (brunch and dinner)

Cross Street:
Eastern and Cherry

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 454-1000

Website:
http://www.groverestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
We offer limited private parking with handicap accessibility and street parking.

Public Transit:
Route 4 Southbound (Cherry and Eastern)
Approximate .14 miles East of the bus stop on Cherry. Located on the North side of Cherry Street.

Executive Chef:
Bob Waterbury

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Grove - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Neighborhood Gem
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
9 More
American
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Overall
Grand Rapids
Best Food
Grand Rapids
Best Service
Grand Rapids
Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids
Neighborhood Gem
Grand Rapids
Notable Wine List
Grand Rapids
Most Booked
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

fit for foodies (125)
special occasion (110)
neighborhood gem (78)
See All
romantic (78)
notable wine list (54)
hot spot (39)
good for groups (17)
great for brunch (15)
vibrant bar scene (13)
great for outdoor dining (12)
late-night find (7)
 (6)
 (6)
great for lunch (5)
 (4)
 (3)
kid-friendly (3)
 (1)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1117 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was once again outstanding. Servic ...

Dined 3 days ago

Food was once again outstanding. Service was a little off. Waitress was very nice, and knowledgeable, but a little frazzled. My drink was not properly prepared (used sugar instead of simple syrup). But, the food is soooo good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second visit and won't be our last. ...

Dined 4 days ago

Our second visit and won't be our last. The service was superlative. Our server was attentive and checked on us always at just the right time. Her suggestions were perfect. The food...ah the food! the real reason we will return. No matter what we choose we are delighted. It is visually appealing with complex flavors.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

We have eaten at the Grove many times an ...

Dined 5 days ago

We have eaten at the Grove many times and have always had exceptional meals and service. We have always felt the food at the Grove is the best in town. Unfortunate for us, we must have caught them on an off night. Everyone's meal was bland and for the price of our meals the protein portions were minuscule. We're hoping it was just a bad night.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Didnt have the updated menu on the websi ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Didnt have the updated menu on the website to reflect the stores menu, was looking forward to certain items and was unable to order them. Had a beer and left.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5

Unlike any other time I've dined at Grov ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Unlike any other time I've dined at Grove, this time the food was off. Corn chowder tasted like cooked, plain oats. Sauce for flat iron steak was bitter and off putting. Usually the food is so phenomenal! Must have been an off night.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service was amazing and the food a u ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The service was amazing and the food a unique experience.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A delicious time in family during a late ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

A delicious time in family during a late brunch! The only bad point was the mustard sauve in the kids meals... Otherwise everything was tasty, well prepared and unique! We will come back for sure to try a romantic dinner;-) I can't wait!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Came highly recommended by a friend. Did ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Came highly recommended by a friend. Did not disappoint! Loved it!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

disappointed

Dined on May 20, 2016

I was disappointed that the tasting menu no longer offered you the option to pick from all of the different courses. The service was good but we did have to call the waiter over a couple of times to reorder drinks and refill water glasses.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Disappointing

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

As the best rated restaurant in GR, we were quite disappointed. We ordered several appetizers and none were ones we'd order again. I found the dishes to be very heavy, over-done, and just "too much." When you have the special touch of creating delicious food/dishes, simplicity should prevail. For example, the smoked lamb was too smoky; it might as well been a cheap piece of meat from your local and not-so-good BBQ joint as it was no longer lamb but just an over-smoked piece of meat. The cheese was good but served with milk bread that overpowered the cheese and competed too much for flavor, texture, etc. The beef tartar was doused in so much Parmesan that you could barely taste the meat, and it was served on a very large piece of bread, detracting from what should have been the star of the dish: the tartar. Most disappointing of all was what was touted as Grove's best dish, the shrimp and grits. The shrimp were overcooked to the point of being rubber, and the grits tasted as if they were from a cardboard box. Please take a trip to Charleston or Savannah for real and truly divine shrimp and grits. In short, go somewhere else if you want amazing food as Grove was no where near a restaurant that should even receive two stars for their overly "foodie" try at creating delicious and inspiring dishes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious food - the Vegetar ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Absolutely delicious food - the Vegetarian/Vegan menu is top notch! I highly recommend this gem to anyone looking to have an amazing dinner experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious as always.

Dined on May 17, 2016

Delicious as always.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful menu, great execution, terrifi ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Wonderful menu, great execution, terrific service from great bartender/server. Loved it. Will return for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to the grove. I ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This was our first visit to the grove. It was so, so good!! Our server Nick was fantastic! The food was delicious and the wine list was great! You will not be disappointed! We give it five stars.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Very nice comfortable surroundings with ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Very nice comfortable surroundings with friendly staff and great service. However, the food was a little disappointing. We may have expected a little more from a restaurant which was ranked the Best in Grand Rapids and one of the top 100 restaurants in the US.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely stellar meal!

Dined on May 12, 2016

As usual, Grove NEVER disappoints. We had a lovely time and our server, Mitchell, was so attentive and helpful in describing the menu to us. They changed the three course menu to two and I thought that was a good change. The ambience is fabulous the food was just divine. Everything is so fresh and executed in a beautiful way. We can't say enough about this establishment and will return soon. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our 25th wedding anniversary ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We went for our 25th wedding anniversary with our children and their dates. We had the absolute best meal we have had in a very long time. The cuisine had some unique touches that made the plate interesting as you ate it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a treat!

Dined on May 9, 2016

I had the 4 course special and I was a little picky about some of the ingredients and they were completely accommodating. The blend of flavors was a real treat! My son had the chicken quesadillas and pork tenderloin which he really liked. I was pleased that the portion sizes were not skimpy! It's a little pricey, but the food was definitely worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The menu at Grove was definitely differe ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The menu at Grove was definitely different. No matter what we thought might be good had some ingredient that we didn't like or either we weren't sure about. I ended up picking lamb which was good but the parsnips under it really added a strange taste that I didn't like. It also said there was collards in it, but only a very few of them. They didn't taste like collards either. As we sat between two large tables on Mothers Day we saw many of the dishes and most of them we would have never been able to match with the descriptions in the menus. We also thought the prices were high for that type of food.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Bring Back the 3 course menu

Dined on May 8, 2016

Pricing for food directly off the menu was a little higher than we are use to spending at Grove. Oh well. We will watch for the 3 course menu to return before we come back.

food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Not the typical Grove quality

Dined on May 7, 2016

We've dined at the Grove on several occasions. Unfortunately, our most recent visit was disappointing. We ordered shrimp and grits to begin. Shrimp was quite over cooked. The four of us ordered from the main menu - halibut, roasted chicken, duck and salmon. The Duck with kimchee was outstanding. Easily won the table. The halibut, chicken and salmon were overcooked and tough. Dessert was butterscotch pudding - which is a Grove special and usually outstanding. This time - it was runny as if it didn't set up well - but still very tasty. Service is amazing here. Professional, quick, polite, knowledgeable. Definitely delivers the WOW experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food

Dined on May 6, 2016

We found that the food was excellent. Very Fresh. The waiter was great. He did pressure you... was able to go at a pace we preferred. Drinks are a little pricey. But very good. Need to go back to try other items on menu.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeds my expectations everytime

Dined on May 4, 2016

I could go on and on about them but will keep this to one word , awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We tried the Sunday brunch and I felt th ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

We tried the Sunday brunch and I felt the menu was too "out there" for a brunch. I would have preferred some variations on a more typical theme, rather than not having much resembling breakfast (except the pancakes, & fritatta). I LOVE the Grove for dinner dining and consider myself a "foodie". My husband loved the crab quesadilla.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

We like the old menu but was still good

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

We like the old menu but was still good

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Restaurant

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was excellent and the menu well varied. The wait staff and waiter were very attentive, helpful, and paced the meal well. The cocktails and wines were a little pricey, but good. Enjoyed our experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and flavors

Dined on April 25, 2016

We celebrated a birthday and enjoyed a variety of small plates, specials and starters. I loved the atmosphere and we had great service. This is a special occasion restaurant for me but I was please that the total bill was less than I expected. I thought the alcohol prices were pretty high.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

It was ok.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Went on a date-night with my wife, then to GR Symphony. The table was tight. We were sitting at a tiny 2-top with one side against a wall, and the other less than 2 feet from the next table. Overall the food was good, but the Prime Strip Loin was very disappointing. For $36, there could not have been more than 4 oz of meat and it was most definitely not "prime" beef. It was not well marbled, tender nor flavorful. The potatoes were better than the meat. My wife's trout, however, was very good, as was our light appetizer, deviled eggs. The butterscotch pudding that we shared for dessert was delicious. The highlight of the evening was our waitress. She was outstanding in both attentiveness and personality.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very accommodating for food allergies

Dined on April 22, 2016

We went to Grove because we love great food and they indicated they would be willing to work with my celiac disease (I am very intolerant of gluten and dairy). The staff was fantastic about this, from the person who answered my questions over the phone to the waiter to the chefs. The meal was outstanding and both my date (my husband) and I enjoyed the whole experience enormously. It actually made us want to move to Grand Rapids.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Drink cost on the high side

Dined on April 20, 2016

Drink cost on the high side

food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Disappointed

Dined on April 17, 2016

We went to the Grove for our anniversary and were majorly disappointed as this spot came highly recommended. The food was very expensive, portions were small and limited as well as not being very tasteful. I had the walleye and he had the lamb two ways. On the bright side, the butterscotch pudding was amazing, though I was still hungry after finishing my meal. I wish we would have gone somewhere else instead.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"Welcome Back Sir"

Dined on April 16, 2016

I love this place...I had not been in months and within 5 minutes an attentive waiter saw me standing in the bar waiting for my date to arrive and said "welcome back sir"...Do you have any idea how unbelievably rare and special that is? Additionally our wairter (another bloke) had a great sense of humor...low key, no cackling or howling, just sophisticated and attentive. A passion for food, service and hospitality combined with a sense of humor?....A HUGE PLUS. seriously...I dont know where you find your staff, or what you do to train them...but keep it up. Please...keep it up! "Your THE best restaurant in town"

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Disappointing

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

I was really looking forward to dining at Grove because I had heard wonderful things about it. Sadly, it was a disappointing meal. It took a long time to get a drink, my first course was skipped and I had to remind the waiter about it and the pork loin was so dry I couldn't eat it. We ordered bread and it was very weak, dessert was ok but not great. They did adjust the bill for the pork, to their credit. Just wouldn't care about going back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best food in Grand Rapids

Dined on April 11, 2016

Best food in Grand Rapids

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Sunday brunch

Dined on April 10, 2016

Enjoyed Sunday brunch on 4/10. Service was good but not outstanding. Food selections were a bit limited, however our choices were very good...the crab/shrimp quesadilla in particular. Prices were reasonable.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Delicious upscale food

Dined on April 9, 2016

Delicious upscale food

food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Grove has gone downhill.

Dined on April 8, 2016

Perhaps my disappointment in this experience was amplified because I have come to expect excellence from Grove, but our meal would have been underwhelming at a chain restaurant, let alone at one of Grand Rapids's best restaurants. Dry, overcooked proteins, some dishes underseasoned, some oversalted, desserts that did not match menu description...all in all, a truly disappointing experience. I never had a bad meal on the old menu--bring that back and I might return. Otherwise, nope.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary

Dined on April 5, 2016

We were on our anniversary and they offered us a complimentary champagne toast. I was 7 months pregnant so instead they offered us a free dessert! Also, I ordered a t-bone lamb and asked for it to me medium-well, gross I know, but I have to order meat like that being pregnant. Without asking our server went to the back to find me a better option of lamb that wouldn't be dried out. She came back and told me the other option and it was amazing! Its the little things that make a restaurant great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Grove is good

Dined on April 2, 2016

Hush puppies with pork, sweet potato curry soup and lo mein was a good choice. Normal price for beer (at a $5 to $8 for a 12oz or 16oz) not sure why, but that's the way it is in establishments such as grove. If your into wine, you should have no problem finding a bottle that'll meet your expectations. Grove is definitely worth checking out.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding food. Try and leave room fo ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Outstanding food. Try and leave room for a delicious dessert.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.