Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.74mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.74mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.74mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.74mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About Grove - Grand Rapids

Grove brings Farm to Table dining to Grand Rapids.
Winner of Restaurant of the Year in Grand Rapids for four years running, Grove serves honest dining experiences with modern, creative cuisine in a walkable, urban setting. Delight your senses with artfully crafted dishes, impeccable service, and intimate ambiance. Celebrate community with honest food straight from the local people who are growing, raising, and preparing it.

919 Cherry Street SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49506
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 5-10
Friday & Saturday 5-11
Sunday 11 am-3 pm (brunch)

Cross Street:
Eastern and Cherry

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 454-1000

Website:
http://www.groverestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
We offer limited private parking with handicap accessibility and street parking.

Public Transit:
Route 4 Southbound (Cherry and Eastern)
Approximate .14 miles East of the bus stop on Cherry. Located on the North side of Cherry Street.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Paquin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Three Course Taste of Grove $39

Special valid Jan 6, 2017 - May 6, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Three Course Taste of Grove $39

Special valid Jan 6, 2017 - May 6, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Delight your senses with artfully crafted cuisine. Enjoy three courses at Grove for only $39!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 6, 2017 - May 6, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Join us for Mother's Day! Celebrate Mom with an exceptional dining experience.

Grove - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (62)
Good for a Date (62)
Fit for Foodies (56)
See All
Creative Cuisine (54)
Special Occasion (51)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Romantic (38)
Tasting Menu (37)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Healthy (32)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Cozy (20)
Modern Decor (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Business Meals (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Fun (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Organic (17)
Seasonal (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Authentic (14)
Casual (14)
Hot Spot (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Vegan (8)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Great Beer (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Family Style (4)
People Watching (3)
Tapas (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Waterfront (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1377 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing experience from the moment you step in the door! Wanted to order a cocktail at the bar while waiting for our table, bar area was full. Bartender came from behind the bar to greet us and take our order. We were celebrating our anniversary, card on the table and we were treated to a champagne toast! Server was attentive despite she had many tables. If we only liver closer, we would be here frequently

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 5 days ago

Recently I heard about the Grove from a friend. My wife and I went there for our 30th on April 18th and loved it. Unique menu, great service, we loved it and will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

As usual we had a great dinner at The Grove: friendly, knowlegeable staff, creative menu, nice choice of wines: all perfect.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 6 days ago

I think of Grove as adventure dining--good adventure. Unusual flavor combinations and presentations are fun and delicious. Wait staff were helpful in explaining the menu to avoid any unwelcome surprises. Atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. Delightful experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I was a bit underwhelmed, having heard about the Grove since it opened. Had been given a gift certificate and wanted to try. Very noisy. Good food, but not as outstanding as I'd have thought. Prefer Green Well and Bistro Bella Vita.

Tags: Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was fantastic. Always something new and interesting. Old time favorites. Looking forward to our next reservation.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was so good and unique. My only observation was that there were only 4 of us for Brunch and 3 of the 4 dishes came out to the table almost far ahead of the 4th. After 5-8 minutes of polite waiting, I asked my family to go ahead and eat before their breakfast was cold. Other than that, it was nice. Definitely, a once a year. Bruch was $90 2 adults, 2 teens and no drinks.

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious! Many different flavors profiles and textures. Especially loved the Rabbit risotto. The service was great and time between courses was relaxing. Definitely not a one time visit!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Fabulous food
The biscuits were Devine and the coffee butter so original
Fresh food, beautifully prepared and great flavor

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Our server, Nick was attentive and very knowledgeable. Food was outstanding as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Enjoyed the Brunch menu. The food was amazing. Service was top notch. We
all enjoyed it very much. We are wanting to come back for dinner soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Family Style, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 8, 2017

What a fantastic experience for my wife and I. This was our first time at the Grove and we were not disappointed. We actually started across the street at the Greenwell for a pre-dinner cocktail since we were in the neighborhood and early for our 7:15pm reservation. On the electronic board at the bar we noticed that the Greenwell had an affiliation with the Grove since they were advertising the 3 course special "taste" of the Grove. Bartender at Greenwell said we would love it. He was right!
We both ordered the three course taste.
First course my wife had the Green Salad and I the Steak tartare. Wonderful! Wife said salad reminded her of salads in France when she studied there. I never had steak tartare but was excellent with some sort of little micro greens and herbs underneath.
Second course my wife had lasagna and I shrimp and grits. Lasagna was extremely fresh and light with a nice red sauce. Pasta layers were thin and tender. Portion was large (wife said she was probably good after the 2nd course with that size portion...but of course I helped her with finishing it). Shrimp and grits were divine. Creamy and fantastic seasoning with a nice portion of sauteed shrimp...YUM. These were no Waffle House grits!
Third course my wife had a beautiful piece of salmon in some kind of lovely beet puree/sauce. Don't know exactly what it was but just plain fantastic. I had the chicken leg with mushrooms and a sauce with dijon flavoring I think and some crispy spetzles. How the heck can someone make a chicken leg taste that wonderful? Unbelievably tender and tasty!
Food was first rate and extremely fresh. Waitress was fantastic also. Knew when to come over and when to give us space. Wine, cocktail and beer menu great! Loved that they supported local Michigan brews too.
Overheard the people next to us also raving about there meal.
Definitely coming back. Chef, whomever you are...congrats!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Amazing food! We will be back for sure. If you love food that is different, but delicious...this is your restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tapas, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The "Taste of the Grove" deal is a great way to explore the great "farm to table" options!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Interesting variety. Some portions very small. Overall it was a good experience. Our server was phenomenal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Loved every bite!! Fun, unique, and love that they use all local farms. Worth every penny!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fun, Organic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 2, 2017

always good to eat at the Grove we don't get to Grand Rapids often but try to get to the grove whenever we are in town great resturant great food,prices are right.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My husband and I have been on many date nights to Grove. Our last visit was ethereal. Not only is the Taste of Grove back (yay!), and some intriguing new items on the menu, we were told there was a new chef! We were absolutely blown away by the flavor complexities. Each bite was simply awe inspiring. Grove will now happen more frequently on date night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This was our second dining experience with The Grove. They serve seasonal farm to table. The menu changes daily, showcasing local produce goods. I love the atmosphere and the wait staff is top notch. We bought foodie 13 year old and we all had the three course tasting. The deviled eggs 3 ways was a big hit. My son devoured it and the duck tartine and the quail. The food is beautiful plated and scrumptious. My husband and I added the wine pairing and discovered some delicious new wines.
We will definitely go back.

Cheers

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Offers a unique menu. One of the best in GR. Good drink menu

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The coffee butter for the biscuits was amazing! Great cocktails as well. Food was interesting, but not outstanding.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 26, 2017

One of the best restaurants I've been to in a long time. Outstanding food and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Very good! Big hit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Dining at Grove is a unique experience. Their tasting menu isn't something we have experienced before, but our server Nick did a wonderful job explaining how it worked. He was friendly, attentive and paced our meal perfectly! The dining room manager Alanna greeted us at the door with a smile and really went out of her way to make our date night special. Grove is definitely a restaurant I can recommend confidently. We look forward to returning soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food here is a culinary treat. Cannot wait to dine here again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We had a lovely time here! Our server was helpful and informative. We did the 3 courses for $29 (vegetarian menu). At first we thought the dishes were small, but we all struggled to finish the final course, and realized they were perfectly proportioned. I am not even a strict vegetarian but love ordering off the veg menu here because everything is so delicious. They really show how amazing veggies can be! Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food is experimental so it can be got or miss. Last night was a hit on all courses. The area is loud and open so not overly romantic but for for a date if you don't mind the table next to you overhearing your conversation. The bartenders mix solid drinks and they have a good selection. Portions are quite large especially if you do the tasting menu. I eat here 3-4 times a year. For a couple it usually runs about 120-150 depending on drunks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Week night birthday celebration. Service was excellent! Menu is very creative. Foods are prepared in a unique manner. Asian inluence. For example, steak tartare was chopped meat, not ground, and had more of a slaw appearance. Very good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 11, 2017

As usual, the food was excellent and the service very professional. We enjoyed every bite. My only complaint was the table: it was stuffed in a corner right up against another table. I would suggest that Grove take away one table from the row on the far wall so that everyone can have a bit more room and more privacy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We arrived 30 minutes early for our 6:15 reservation on a Saturday night. Content to have a drink at the bar, they were able to seat us early which was nice. Waitress was great. It was my husbands 40th birthday and we had plans at 8. Our meal took 2 hours to complete. Starting at 5:45 we left at 7:35 barely making it to our event at 8. The food took extremely long. We each had a three course meal plus a dessert which we almost left without. The food was delicious and we loved the atmosphere but the timing was very disappointing.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Vegan
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Grand Rapids! Amazing food and outstanding quality and service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Love the food and service at Grove. Their unique menu, wide range of options and great wine list and top notch service make it one of our favorite places. That said, if you are looking for a quiet romantic place their may be better options

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Service was attentive, helpful, and helped us make the best decisions to address food allergies. Good drink suggestions. Larger than expected portions in the $39.00 - 3 course special. The food was enjoyable and it is clear what it aspires to be and may become, but it is not quite there yet. Look forward to trying it again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Food wasn't my style but I'm happy I finally made it there for the experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Wonderful service from hostess to bartender, wait staff and waitress. The food was spectacular and I highly recommend the wine pairings with the 3 course meal. I highly recommend the butterscotch pudding for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Awesome! Best in Grand Rapids for us.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My husband is a strictly meat and potatoes guy, where I'm willing to try something new, and The Grove menu accommodates both. Nice steak for him and I tried 3 courses with interesting ingredients! Pork taco with a spiced twist, rabbit lasagna, and duck leg confit. Yumm! Nice vibe in the space and service was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had a fabulous anniversary dinner here! The $39 tasting was fantastic and the service was impeccable - we can't wait to return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Great place to escape from the kids for a nice, relaxing romantic dinner. Food is amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.