About Grove - Grand Rapids

919 Cherry Street SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49506
View Larger Map

Grove brings Earth to Table dining to Grand Rapids.
Winner of Restaurant of the Year in Grand Rapids for four years running, Grove serves honest dining experiences with modern, creative cuisine in a walkable, urban setting. Delight your senses with artfully crafted dishes, impeccable service, and intimate ambiance. Celebrate community with honest food straight from the local people who are growing, raising, and preparing it.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 5-10
Friday & Saturday 5-11
Sunday 11 am-9 (brunch and dinner)

Cross Street:
Eastern and Cherry

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 454-1000

Website:
http://www.groverestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
We offer limited private parking with handicap accessibility and street parking.

Public Transit:
Route 4 Southbound (Cherry and Eastern)
Approximate .14 miles East of the bus stop on Cherry. Located on the North side of Cherry Street.

Executive Chef:
Bob Waterbury

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp and Grits
Albacore Tuna
Gnocchi
Butterscotch pudding
Gooseberry Cove Cod
Roast Beef Tacos
Potato Soup
Okonomiyaki
Bread
Smoked Fish Deviled Eggs And Bahn Mi
Lamb Tartar Bruschetta
Scallops Ceviche
Salted Dark Chocolate Fudge
Beef Tartare
Marinated Veggies
Smoked Duck Rillettes
Blackfin Tuna Nicoise
Bruschetta
Chickpea Hummus
Heirloom Tomato Salad
Warm Cornmeal Buttermilk Cake
Steak Tataki
Corvina Two Ways
Sea Scallops
Sea scallop and cheswick pork belly duo
Ahi tuna
Scottish Salmon Carpaccio
Parisian Gnocci
Beat Salad
Flank Steak Tacos
Otto's Chicken Two Ways
Pan Fried S&S Chicken Livers
Sea Scallops A La Plancha
Fall Farm Vegetables And Their Purees
Local Trout With Fried Egg, Cornbread And Succatash.
Beef Tartare, Chicken Rillettes', Pork Terrine.
Ceviche Duo
Kimchi Stew, Su Vide Egg, Chicken Leg Confit, Pork Loin
Chicken Two Ways
Fried Green Tomato Napoleon
Sockeye Salmon Crudo
Black Bean Soup
Ratatouille
Salted Dark Chocolate S'more
Cheese Tasting
Ham Farm Beet Salad
Scallops
Wild Sockeye Salmon
Banh Mi
Beet And Citrus Salad
flourless chocolate cake
Coho Salmon Crudo
S&S Crispy Chicken Livers
Earthkeeper Baby Kale And Farm Vegetable Salad
Coffee And Doughnut Braised Pork Shoulder
Yummy
Winter Mojito
Beef Carpaccio
Scottish Salmon
S&S Duck Breast
Thai Style Beef Salad
Pork Belly
Yummy2
Creswick Crispy Pork Torchon
Grove Fashioned
House Made Cavatelli Pasta
Pig Head
Surf Clam Bloody Caeser
Amish Rabbit With Cauliflower 3 Ways
Pig's Head
Pork Belly Tacos
Fried Chicken Livers On Brioche, With Maple Gastric And Friuit.
Lamb Meatballs With Parisian Gnochhi
Pork Molé Taco
House Made Fettuccini
Salmon Tartare
Cucumber Gaspacho
Local Heirloom Tomato Salad
Meatloaf Slider
Shrimp
3 Course $25 Menu
Lamb T-Bones With Nicoise
The Barnyard
Fried Green Tomatoes
duck confit risotto
Grove Paella
oxtail
BBQ Albacore Tuna
Dark Chocolate Pudding Cake
Braised Pork Risotto
Butternut Squash Soup
Roja Vieja
Harrietta Hills Trout
Dayboat Sea Scallops A La Plancha
Salted Fudge (S'mores Style)
mushroom risotto
Quail
Salted Fudge Smore Style!
Olli Speck
Full

Grove - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Neighborhood Gem
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
6 More
American
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Best Overall
Grand Rapids
Best Service
Grand Rapids
Fit for Foodies
Grand Rapids
Most Booked
Grand Rapids
Best Restaurants in Grand Rapids ›

fit for foodies (117)
special occasion (97)
neighborhood gem (78)
See All
romantic (50)
notable wine list (43)
hot spot (35)
great for outdoor dining (33)
good for groups (19)
great for brunch (17)
vibrant bar scene (5)
scenic view (4)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1147 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall a pleasant experience and excell ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 5 days ago

Overall a pleasant experience and excellent menu. Food was good. However the earth-to-table was a bit extreme. Although creative, serving practically raw vegetables didn't meet expectations. I would definitely visit again but choose a different plate. I had the quail.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

We would be hard pressed to cite better ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We would be hard pressed to cite better food in Michigan. Great service. Love the outdoor seating. Only negative is that Grove thinks it can't live without televisions in the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Absolutely exquisite farm-to-table dinin ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Absolutely exquisite farm-to-table dining! The Essence Group nailed this one!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

fantastic farm to table food....so delic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

fantastic farm to table food....so delicious!! A group of 6, and EVERYONE loved their meals. Great service to top it off.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I made my reservations online and indica ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I made my reservations online and indicated that my husband and I were both celebrating our birthdays. The service was excellent , the food was wonderful not your ordinary everyday fare. We each had a complimentary dessert for our birthday and again it was outstanding. We both agreed that we need to go there more often.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great find. Fantastic food and se ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

What a great find. Fantastic food and service. I will definitely be back the next time I'm in Grand Rapids.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome waitress!! Very accommodating an ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Awesome waitress!! Very accommodating and friendly. Atmosphere was great and the food was fabulous. We will definitely come back to the Grove.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant and its staff never disa ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This restaurant and its staff never disappoint. Best restaurant in Grand Rapids hands down.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came at 8:30 on a Sunday night. They ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We came at 8:30 on a Sunday night. They were out of the first 3 entrees we tried to order. Even though the butterscotch pudding was delicious, it was a disappointing experience. Also the waitress was trying to flirt with my husband! Not cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Our visit to Grove was quite pleasant- h ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our visit to Grove was quite pleasant- high quality food, good service, fine drinks, nice ambiance. Certainly worth a special trip away from your hotel if you are a visitor, or a ten minute drive, if you live Grand Rapids . As to dishes - two stood out - the home ricotta/tomato salad, and the duck breast, with the latter being the most perfectly cooked and tender duck breast we have had in a long time. Wish the sauce had been a little more notable. More cherry-ish.

That noted, for a restaurant that somewhat avers that it is the best in Michigan, something seemed missing that would make it worthy of five stars. Maybe it was the fact that wait staff was dressed too casually for a five star place, or the lack of a little free taste tickler to start, or the very casual dress of the local patrons.

We hail from Chicago; there are probably 50 restaurants here that are better than Grove. This does not certainly mean that it is bad, but rather that it has a ways to go to be in the really top tier in the Midwest.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Grove for my birthday, July 3 ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We went to Grove for my birthday, July 3rd for brunch. We sat on the patio and it was lovely. The food was delicious, the service spectacular! It was enhanced by the fact that everyone had left town for the holiday, but nevertheless, it is a wonderful place to dine. I highly recommend the carrot cake doughnuts! To die for! Thanks again for a lovely time. We will be back again very soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious! The menu changes ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food was delicious! The menu changes every so often I wish I lived locally. The kids menu was inexpensive and the kids enjoyed their dinners, pasta al fredo and grilled chicken. I had the Korean BBQ tacos and Wagu Beef both were spectacular!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food here is amazing. By far the be ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food here is amazing. By far the best experience and food Grand Rapids has to offer. Fresh local food so menu changes for new experience every time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible service and food to match. Fa ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Incredible service and food to match. Fantastic attention paid to allergies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific service and wonderful food Rain ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Terrific service and wonderful food Rainbow trout was perfect! Will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Typically love all of the essence group ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Typically love all of the essence group restaurants but wow they were really off on this night. Ordered the cataplana and no idea what I got- first it just had shrimp in it and no idea why but had pork belly in it- which did not go well with the dish at all. Our server for the water was better than our waiter who stood at the bar and chatted with fellow workers after our water server told him what we requested. I will not even talk about our dessert other than the cornbread had a weird texture and the strawberry preserves were minimal therefore making the bread even more drier but the cheese was very good. It was our 24th wedding anniversary so that was a bummer.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

See Nathan the bartender for cocktails. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

See Nathan the bartender for cocktails. Great guy and exceptional mixed drinks. Food was good. The preparations interesting and tasty. Sitting outside was very pleasant although no real view (just the street). Would go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service. Overpriced and very smal ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great service. Overpriced and very small portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

We had an awesome time at Grove. The foo ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had an awesome time at Grove. The food was amazing and our server was incredibly helpful and very knowledgeable about the menu. Overall, it was a great dinner and I would absolutely come here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a nice place to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great. We loved the shrimp ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was great. We loved the shrimp and grits and the butterscotch pudding.

The waiter was not the quality one would expect at a restaurant of Grove's quality. He did serve us but was very abrupt, so the experience was like going to an extremely expensive diner.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

My wife and I were on vacation and wante ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My wife and I were on vacation and wanted to eat at a good farm to table restaurant. The food was uniquely prepared and extremely good. We ordered off the Prie Fix menu and they also brought us an additional plate with three tastes for each of us off the appetizer menu that was also delicious. The service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were outstanding an ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The food and service were outstanding and we were greeted enthusiastically. Everywhere that we could see were people enjoying themselves and the evening. Highly recommend this place for a wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was absolutely outstanding - everythi ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

It was absolutely outstanding - everything- The Food, The Service - it is all unbeatable!

The BEST restaurant we have ever been to. It was only our second time - both times were fabulous. We drove 5 hours to eat there once again and will hopefully be able to go there again sometime.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic and the service w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was fantastic and the service was great! The menu changes daily, so there is always something new to try. The only reason I gave it 3 stars for value was because it's quite pricey. But for a special occasion, it was perfect! They even gave us champagne for our anniversary and my husband got his choice of (free) dessert for his birthday! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved sitting outside! Enjoyed a great b ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Loved sitting outside! Enjoyed a great brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorites anywhere in the US

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I use Open Table at least 1-2 times every week on the road across the country for business. This means I have the privilege of eating in some really great places. As a general rule, I look at the reviews and try to eat at a local restaurant rather than a chain. These reviews are pretty spot-on!

This was only my second time at The Grove, both with my wife as we recently bought a cottage south of Grand Rapids and live there only during the summer. She still remembered where she sat and what she had last time, so that tells you it's memorable. We started out with two appetizers, the ahi tuna and the lamb meatballs. The ahi was good, though could've used a bit more kick - this was just average. The lamb meatballs, on the other hand, were one of the tastiest dishes I've ever had. There was a bit of heat to them, and you could taste the depth and layers of flavor. As my wife said, that will be her dinner next time (meaning none for me!). After two appetizers, she went with the shrimp and grits appetizer for her meal, which she really enjoyed. However, my dinner was one she lusted after (with good reason). I got the pork scallopini, something I'm not sure I've seen on a menu elsewhere. It was pounded down but still on the bone, which added to a stunning presentation. It was breaded then cooked in what could only be described as a heavenly way, then had some asparagus, scallions on top with blue cheese that melted in little pools. Not sure when we will get back up to GR but I know where I'm eating and what I'm having!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THE finest food establishment in West MI ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

THE finest food establishment in West MI. I always feel like an episode of Top Chef. Incredible care taken to provide the best prepared food. Fresh, inventive and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A+ Brunch

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We decided to finally check out Grove for brunch after thoroughly enjoying the small plate multi-course meal a while back! Grove's brunch definitely didn't disappoint! The service was excellent and the food was even better! The only thing I would have liked better is if my Bloody Mary had more than just olives and a lime for a garnish! I mean, a pickle at least, but bump it up a notch with a fancy cheese cube, a pearl onion or even a Fresh stalk of celery!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Time at Brunch

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great food, great service. We had a great time trying to choose from the wide variety of interesting options on the brunch menu. I love that you could add an egg to any choice. Our server was wonderful and had good suggestions - like butterscotch pudding for dessert!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was a little spotty - especially ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Service was a little spotty - especially at the start of the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Food was once again outstanding. Servic ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was once again outstanding. Service was a little off. Waitress was very nice, and knowledgeable, but a little frazzled. My drink was not properly prepared (used sugar instead of simple syrup). But, the food is soooo good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our second visit and won't be our last. ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Our second visit and won't be our last. The service was superlative. Our server was attentive and checked on us always at just the right time. Her suggestions were perfect.

The food...ah the food! the real reason we will return. No matter what we choose we are delighted. It is visually appealing with complex flavors.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at the Grove many times an ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We have eaten at the Grove many times and have always had exceptional meals and service. We have always felt the food at the Grove is the best in town. Unfortunate for us, we must have caught them on an off night. Everyone's meal was bland and for the price of our meals the protein portions were minuscule. We're hoping it was just a bad night.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Didnt have the updated menu on the websi ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Didnt have the updated menu on the website to reflect the stores menu, was looking forward to certain items and was unable to order them. Had a beer and left.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Unlike any other time I've dined at Grov ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Unlike any other time I've dined at Grove, this time the food was off. Corn chowder tasted like cooked, plain oats. Sauce for flat iron steak was bitter and off putting. Usually the food is so phenomenal! Must have been an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The service was amazing and the food a u ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The service was amazing and the food a unique experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A delicious time in family during a late ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

A delicious time in family during a late brunch! The only bad point was the mustard sauve in the kids meals... Otherwise everything was tasty, well prepared and unique! We will come back for sure to try a romantic dinner;-) I can't wait!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Came highly recommended by a friend. Did ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Came highly recommended by a friend. Did not disappoint! Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

disappointed

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I was disappointed that the tasting menu no longer offered you the option to pick from all of the different courses. The service was good but we did have to call the waiter over a couple of times to reorder drinks and refill water glasses.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointing

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

As the best rated restaurant in GR, we were quite disappointed. We ordered several appetizers and none were ones we'd order again. I found the dishes to be very heavy, over-done, and just "too much." When you have the special touch of creating delicious food/dishes, simplicity should prevail. For example, the smoked lamb was too smoky; it might as well been a cheap piece of meat from your local and not-so-good BBQ joint as it was no longer lamb but just an over-smoked piece of meat. The cheese was good but served with milk bread that overpowered the cheese and competed too much for flavor, texture, etc. The beef tartar was doused in so much Parmesan that you could barely taste the meat, and it was served on a very large piece of bread, detracting from what should have been the star of the dish: the tartar. Most disappointing of all was what was touted as Grove's best dish, the shrimp and grits. The shrimp were overcooked to the point of being rubber, and the grits tasted as if they were from a cardboard box. Please take a trip to Charleston or Savannah for real and truly divine shrimp and grits. In short, go somewhere else if you want amazing food as Grove was no where near a restaurant that should even receive two stars for their overly "foodie" try at creating delicious and inspiring dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.