Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.74mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.74mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.74mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.74mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About Grove - Grand Rapids

Grove brings Farm to Table dining to Grand Rapids.
Winner of Restaurant of the Year in Grand Rapids for four years running, Grove serves honest dining experiences with modern, creative cuisine in a walkable, urban setting. Delight your senses with artfully crafted dishes, impeccable service, and intimate ambiance. Celebrate community with honest food straight from the local people who are growing, raising, and preparing it.

919 Cherry Street SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49506
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 5-10
Friday & Saturday 5-11
Sunday 11 am-9 (brunch and dinner)

Cross Street:
Eastern and Cherry

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 454-1000

Website:
http://www.groverestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
We offer limited private parking with handicap accessibility and street parking.

Public Transit:
Route 4 Southbound (Cherry and Eastern)
Approximate .14 miles East of the bus stop on Cherry. Located on the North side of Cherry Street.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Paquin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Three Course Taste of Grove $39

Special valid Jan 6, 2017 - May 6, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Three Course Taste of Grove $39

Special valid Jan 6, 2017 - May 6, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Delight your senses with artfully crafted cuisine. Enjoy three courses at Grove for only $39!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 6, 2017 - May 6, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Enjoy a farm to table inspired brunch from 11 am - 3 pm!

Grove - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (59)
Good for a Date (51)
Creative Cuisine (48)
See All
Fit for Foodies (46)
Special Occasion (43)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Romantic (35)
Healthy (30)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Tasting Menu (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Modern Decor (18)
Cozy (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Business Meals (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Organic (15)
Authentic (14)
Seasonal (14)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Fun (11)
Casual (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Vegan (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great Beer (4)
Family Style (3)
People Watching (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Waterfront (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1353 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Dining at Grove is a unique experience. Their tasting menu isn't something we have experienced before, but our server Nick did a wonderful job explaining how it worked. He was friendly, attentive and paced our meal perfectly! The dining room manager Alanna greeted us at the door with a smile and really went out of her way to make our date night special. Grove is definitely a restaurant I can recommend confidently. We look forward to returning soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 5 days ago

The food here is a culinary treat. Cannot wait to dine here again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We had a lovely time here! Our server was helpful and informative. We did the 3 courses for $29 (vegetarian menu). At first we thought the dishes were small, but we all struggled to finish the final course, and realized they were perfectly proportioned. I am not even a strict vegetarian but love ordering off the veg menu here because everything is so delicious. They really show how amazing veggies can be! Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food is experimental so it can be got or miss. Last night was a hit on all courses. The area is loud and open so not overly romantic but for for a date if you don't mind the table next to you overhearing your conversation. The bartenders mix solid drinks and they have a good selection. Portions are quite large especially if you do the tasting menu. I eat here 3-4 times a year. For a couple it usually runs about 120-150 depending on drunks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Week night birthday celebration. Service was excellent! Menu is very creative. Foods are prepared in a unique manner. Asian inluence. For example, steak tartare was chopped meat, not ground, and had more of a slaw appearance. Very good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 11, 2017

As usual, the food was excellent and the service very professional. We enjoyed every bite. My only complaint was the table: it was stuffed in a corner right up against another table. I would suggest that Grove take away one table from the row on the far wall so that everyone can have a bit more room and more privacy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We arrived 30 minutes early for our 6:15 reservation on a Saturday night. Content to have a drink at the bar, they were able to seat us early which was nice. Waitress was great. It was my husbands 40th birthday and we had plans at 8. Our meal took 2 hours to complete. Starting at 5:45 we left at 7:35 barely making it to our event at 8. The food took extremely long. We each had a three course meal plus a dessert which we almost left without. The food was delicious and we loved the atmosphere but the timing was very disappointing.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Grand Rapids! Amazing food and outstanding quality and service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Love the food and service at Grove. Their unique menu, wide range of options and great wine list and top notch service make it one of our favorite places. That said, if you are looking for a quiet romantic place their may be better options

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Service was attentive, helpful, and helped us make the best decisions to address food allergies. Good drink suggestions. Larger than expected portions in the $39.00 - 3 course special. The food was enjoyable and it is clear what it aspires to be and may become, but it is not quite there yet. Look forward to trying it again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Food wasn't my style but I'm happy I finally made it there for the experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Wonderful service from hostess to bartender, wait staff and waitress. The food was spectacular and I highly recommend the wine pairings with the 3 course meal. I highly recommend the butterscotch pudding for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Awesome! Best in Grand Rapids for us.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My husband is a strictly meat and potatoes guy, where I'm willing to try something new, and The Grove menu accommodates both. Nice steak for him and I tried 3 courses with interesting ingredients! Pork taco with a spiced twist, rabbit lasagna, and duck leg confit. Yumm! Nice vibe in the space and service was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had a fabulous anniversary dinner here! The $39 tasting was fantastic and the service was impeccable - we can't wait to return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Great place to escape from the kids for a nice, relaxing romantic dinner. Food is amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great brunch menu and a fantastic Bloody Mary! My wife and I will be back for brunch

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great birthday brunch!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was our first time experience with Grove. We were pleased with the food and the overall experience. We had excellent service. The after dinner coffee was phenomenal! My only real complaint is that our party of four was stuck in a very small table in the center of the restaurant. It was uncomfortable and did not make for the most pleasant of visits. We were celebrating a friends birthday and it did make it hard to relax and converse comfortably.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent service and food.
Only concern is with some of the proportion sizes. The beef tartare, for example, was excellent, but an extra cracker or two would've been nice.
Also, some bread or rolls and butter for the table would have been appreciated.
Overall though, was excellent.
Thank you

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Absolutely wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

In town on business – had shared dinner with two associates – all had 3 course dinner - beyond excellent – Hard time identifying top 3 ... each seemed better than last. Will definitely be back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Cozy, Business Meals, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I would recommend this place to anyone. The food is amazing, the service is perfect and the atmosphere is good for a casual night out or for any special occasion. I wouldn't pass this place by, the food is worth the price as you won't find many places better than this one.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Romantic, Seasonal, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I've been here several times and it never disappoints. Get the Chef Tasting with the wine pairing. You can't lose.

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Awesome food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Best ribeye that I have had in a very long time...Great service with a very friendly staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food and, of course, the staff at Grove made our celebration special. There's room for improvement on the Chardonnay selection (IMHO) but we had a memorable time. Attentive staff, food came out at the perfect time, hardly any wait (we made reservations in advance though).

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food and service! I have recommended to all my friends!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food at Grove had sagged a bit after the original head chef left. The kitchen seemed to be adrift, struggling to find its way. With new head chef Jeremy Paquin, late of the beloved and very missed Mia & Grace, Grove appears to be back on track.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Overpriced, tasteless food! Would never go back with all the fabulous choices in GR!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Amazing! As always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was amazing!!! And our server gave excellent recommendations!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always amazing. Thank you so much for a memorable birthday nick!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I've been here 4 times and have not been disappointed. Excellent menu that changes regularly, great food, knowledgeable wait staff, nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We went to the Grove a year ago when they had a different chef... I would have to say the first time was much better than the second time. For the price of the food we were a little disappointed at the quality and flavor of the main dishes. Menu was a little confusing too. We would rather go across the street to Greenwell and pay less where we thought the food was better...

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Loved it a lot. Called you all the next day and raved

Tags: Vegan, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was our first time for Sunday brunch and it won't be the last! Great options, reasonable portion sizes, and excellent service. As always. I ordered the carrot-potato soup and brunch taco. Very tasty. I eat gluten free and always find it easy at Grove. My husband ordered sausage and biscuits and raved on and on. He loves the cocktails too.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great place for a date. It was a typical busy Saturday night in Grand Rapids which made my reservation a little late but management quickly acknowledge the issue and addressed it. Totally satisfied with the visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Grove was very tasty and tasteful. I would certainly recommend eating there. I will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We dine occasionally at the Grove and are never disappointed. This time we sat in the bar for a livelier ambiance and a quicker meal. Service was attentive and farm to table menu choices still creative and hard to choose from, another reason why we keep returning. Ordered from the Prix menu plus a few starters. Wonderful dinner - will return again soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.