Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.74mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.74mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.74mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.74mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About Grove - Grand Rapids

Grove brings Farm to Table dining to Grand Rapids.
Winner of Restaurant of the Year in Grand Rapids for four years running, Grove serves honest dining experiences with modern, creative cuisine in a walkable, urban setting. Delight your senses with artfully crafted dishes, impeccable service, and intimate ambiance. Celebrate community with honest food straight from the local people who are growing, raising, and preparing it.

919 Cherry Street SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49506
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 5-10
Friday & Saturday 5-11
Sunday 11 am-3 pm (brunch)

Cross Street:
Eastern and Cherry

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(616) 454-1000

Website:
http://www.groverestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
We offer limited private parking with handicap accessibility and street parking.

Public Transit:
Route 4 Southbound (Cherry and Eastern)
Approximate .14 miles East of the bus stop on Cherry. Located on the North side of Cherry Street.

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Paquin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Grove - Grand Rapids Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (65)
Fit for Foodies (60)
Local Ingredients (58)
See All
Creative Cuisine (53)
Special Occasion (53)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Tasting Menu (36)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Romantic (34)
Worth the Drive (30)
Healthy (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Modern Decor (21)
Business Meals (19)
Seasonal (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Cozy (17)
Fun (17)
Authentic (16)
Organic (16)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Casual (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Vegan (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Great Beer (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Family Style (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
People Watching (3)
Tapas (2)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (0)
Sort By:
S
1398 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

The food and service were excellent. My only complaint is the noise level is a bit high.
We went for our anniversary dinner and they recognized us with a glass of sparkling wine for each of us.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

The Grove never disappoints. We were delighted to find many offerings that included seasonal fresh fruit and vegetables. The taste of Grove is indeed a value, with three plates for a reasonable price; it's just hard to decide which three! Service is excellent, and wine and beer choices are varied enough to please anyone.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

This place always comes through. Eclectic menu, fresh ingredients and good service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service. Why there are televisions at the bar of a fine dining restaurant is beyond me. It took away from the atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Usually the food is very good but this time one of us ordered the ribeye stake, but what they served was, we all thought a strip stake. The waiter tried to explain that it was a ribeye with all the fat trimmed off, but we have had ribeye there before, and it was a ribeye and was great. This was a lower grade stake they passed off as ribeye.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day. Food was great, Bloody Mary was unique. Was quite busy, but service was very ggod.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was good, service was good, all around a pleasurable experience. I would recommend to friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful Mother's Day Bruch ... our first visit. A Gem in the Cherry Hill section of Grand Rapids. We plan to go back soon!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food and amazing service. Everything my girlfriend and I ate was phenomenal from first to third course

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Grove, in Grand Rapids, Mi, has been a consistently outstanding dining experience. Selection, variety, and thoughtful presentation are among its virtues. I will always recommend this spot until that unlikely day that they fall short of my past experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Nate provided great service! Great selections for the wine pairings. Wonderful meal with creative and enticing flavors. Never have been disappointed here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Had dinner with a friend and we fully enjoyed the experience! I had the Trout and my friend had the Salmon and they were delicious! I would recommend trying Grove! I don't recommend it for people who like big burgers or fried food. They have great healthy and natural food options!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Very creative food, beautifully served. Very knowledgeable waiter. I can really recommend the wine tasting that is on the menu: great wines that perfectly fit to the different courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

It was our anaversery, they make food very tasty and the wait staff is excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The service was amazing! The food is so interesting and amazingly tasty! The prix fix menu is the best choice.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Our meal and service was outstanding. Our waiter was knowledgeable and attentive. The glasses of champagne for our anniversary was a very nice touch. The only slight glitch was that we arrived slightly early for a reservation and instead of letting us know a booth would be opening soon, the hostess seated us between two tables of people, where we would not be able to have a private conversation. She was gracious when the booth opened and we asked to be moved but it felt awkward.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Amazing place with amazing specialty plates and great staff- a gem of Michigan

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I have been to Grove a few times and each visit has been exceptional. The service is always excellent, the food has been amazing with flavors and texture combinations that make you savor each bite, and the drink selection is what you would expect from such a thoughtfully designed menu. You feel valued and never rushed to finish your meal, which is a rare experience in most restaurants. This really is one of the best dining experiences you can have in Grand Rapids.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Grove has consistently​ provided the best eating experience in Grand Rapids. This is as good as it gets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The Grove never fails to amaze. Everything is very unique - things you'd never be able to make at home and you wont find at other restaurants.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 24, 2017

An outstanding dinning experience. I was traveling with customers from Peru, who are very proud of their cuisine. We each chose The Taste of Grove and flights of wines. We asked our server, Nathan, to pair the wines with our courses. It was excellent! And such fun for me and my guests. Don't know if I will ever be back in Grand Rapids, but if so, I will definitly return!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Amazing experience from the moment you step in the door! Wanted to order a cocktail at the bar while waiting for our table, bar area was full. Bartender came from behind the bar to greet us and take our order. We were celebrating our anniversary, card on the table and we were treated to a champagne toast! Server was attentive despite she had many tables. If we only liver closer, we would be here frequently

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Recently I heard about the Grove from a friend. My wife and I went there for our 30th on April 18th and loved it. Unique menu, great service, we loved it and will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

As usual we had a great dinner at The Grove: friendly, knowlegeable staff, creative menu, nice choice of wines: all perfect.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 17, 2017

I think of Grove as adventure dining--good adventure. Unusual flavor combinations and presentations are fun and delicious. Wait staff were helpful in explaining the menu to avoid any unwelcome surprises. Atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. Delightful experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I was a bit underwhelmed, having heard about the Grove since it opened. Had been given a gift certificate and wanted to try. Very noisy. Good food, but not as outstanding as I'd have thought. Prefer Green Well and Bistro Bella Vita.

Tags: Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was fantastic. Always something new and interesting. Old time favorites. Looking forward to our next reservation.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was so good and unique. My only observation was that there were only 4 of us for Brunch and 3 of the 4 dishes came out to the table almost far ahead of the 4th. After 5-8 minutes of polite waiting, I asked my family to go ahead and eat before their breakfast was cold. Other than that, it was nice. Definitely, a once a year. Bruch was $90 2 adults, 2 teens and no drinks.

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious! Many different flavors profiles and textures. Especially loved the Rabbit risotto. The service was great and time between courses was relaxing. Definitely not a one time visit!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Fabulous food
The biscuits were Devine and the coffee butter so original
Fresh food, beautifully prepared and great flavor

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Our server, Nick was attentive and very knowledgeable. Food was outstanding as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Enjoyed the Brunch menu. The food was amazing. Service was top notch. We
all enjoyed it very much. We are wanting to come back for dinner soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Family Style, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 8, 2017

What a fantastic experience for my wife and I. This was our first time at the Grove and we were not disappointed. We actually started across the street at the Greenwell for a pre-dinner cocktail since we were in the neighborhood and early for our 7:15pm reservation. On the electronic board at the bar we noticed that the Greenwell had an affiliation with the Grove since they were advertising the 3 course special "taste" of the Grove. Bartender at Greenwell said we would love it. He was right!
We both ordered the three course taste.
First course my wife had the Green Salad and I the Steak tartare. Wonderful! Wife said salad reminded her of salads in France when she studied there. I never had steak tartare but was excellent with some sort of little micro greens and herbs underneath.
Second course my wife had lasagna and I shrimp and grits. Lasagna was extremely fresh and light with a nice red sauce. Pasta layers were thin and tender. Portion was large (wife said she was probably good after the 2nd course with that size portion...but of course I helped her with finishing it). Shrimp and grits were divine. Creamy and fantastic seasoning with a nice portion of sauteed shrimp...YUM. These were no Waffle House grits!
Third course my wife had a beautiful piece of salmon in some kind of lovely beet puree/sauce. Don't know exactly what it was but just plain fantastic. I had the chicken leg with mushrooms and a sauce with dijon flavoring I think and some crispy spetzles. How the heck can someone make a chicken leg taste that wonderful? Unbelievably tender and tasty!
Food was first rate and extremely fresh. Waitress was fantastic also. Knew when to come over and when to give us space. Wine, cocktail and beer menu great! Loved that they supported local Michigan brews too.
Overheard the people next to us also raving about there meal.
Definitely coming back. Chef, whomever you are...congrats!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Amazing food! We will be back for sure. If you love food that is different, but delicious...this is your restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tapas, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The "Taste of the Grove" deal is a great way to explore the great "farm to table" options!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Interesting variety. Some portions very small. Overall it was a good experience. Our server was phenomenal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Loved every bite!! Fun, unique, and love that they use all local farms. Worth every penny!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fun, Organic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 2, 2017

always good to eat at the Grove we don't get to Grand Rapids often but try to get to the grove whenever we are in town great resturant great food,prices are right.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My husband and I have been on many date nights to Grove. Our last visit was ethereal. Not only is the Taste of Grove back (yay!), and some intriguing new items on the menu, we were told there was a new chef! We were absolutely blown away by the flavor complexities. Each bite was simply awe inspiring. Grove will now happen more frequently on date night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This was our second dining experience with The Grove. They serve seasonal farm to table. The menu changes daily, showcasing local produce goods. I love the atmosphere and the wait staff is top notch. We bought foodie 13 year old and we all had the three course tasting. The deviled eggs 3 ways was a big hit. My son devoured it and the duck tartine and the quail. The food is beautiful plated and scrumptious. My husband and I added the wine pairing and discovered some delicious new wines.
We will definitely go back.

Cheers

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.