Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

Grindstone Charley's - Speedway

4.2
22 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups
  • Kid-friendly
  • Neighborhood Gem
At Grindstone Charley's, we serve only the finest quality, freshest ingredients, served by a friendly hospitable staff, in a clean, warm and friendly environment. The food and recipes have come from many generations of experience. Started by the Fogelsong family in 1982, we offer a wide variety menu that includes USDA Steaks, Ribs, Seafood, Chicken, Salads, Burgers, and Sandwiches. We take great pleasure in your satisfaction and hope you enjoy!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Burgers, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(317) 481-1870
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Juan Pablo
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Let us customize a package to meet your needs. From Group Caterings, Brunch, Lunch & Dinner Events, to Receptions with Passed Appetizers, Buffet Style Menus, & More. We can assist you with any audio/visual equipment needs, live Twitter feeds, specialty lighting, and logo projections, floral design, décor packages, and other fun amenities for your event. We look forward to hearing from you.
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Grindstone Charley's offers catering for events at any location. For more information on off-site catering, please contact our Catering Director at 317-440-4602.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout
What 22 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on all time ratings
4.0
food
4.2
service
3.7
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Took almost an hour for food arrive, and it was ok - urge you to go anywhere else!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Need kids tablets like applebees and BWs buffalo wild wings

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Great service.. The fried green tomatoes are. Just amazing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 21, 2017

Fish & chips were very good, chicken and noodles and green beans a bit soggy (overcooked). Portions were huge. Worth the Devour 2/$30 deal, but not special food quality.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 8, 2017

Good inexpensive food and alcohol.Waiter was very friendly and attentive. Next time I'll get a mug from the bar for cheap refills!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 16, 2017

Food was very good. Manager should ask how things are near the END of the meal not near the BEGINNING. The menu has too many items without prices, since it caused our waiter to guess the price of a side (he guessed 1/2 of what it was). The $5 burger week is a joke... we only saved $1 off regular price of burger & side. Waiter got my order wrong (didn't write it down) and should not disappear while we're waiting to pay & leave. Service can improve.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2017

The only person dissatisfied was my step mom ,but since pops passed she dissatisfied with everything .but you guys are AWESOME

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 21, 2017

Had to send our soup back as it was not warm.....soup came out 2 minutes before the entrees....raised the prices on their drinks.....not a bargain anymore

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2017

My food was delicious, and our waiter was excellent. The portion sizes are great for the price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2017

Well presented dishes and appetizing appearance.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 20, 2016

Will not go back - slow service, food was cold, waitress was doing her best but had way too many tables she was trying to cover.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 6, 2016

There for a birthday, but nothing offered to birthday guest, like a free dessert. Fish was not crispy at all. Over all everyone else's was good. Waitress was awesome!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2016

The overall experience was ok. Our waitress was either new or something in that lines. She couldn't remember who ordered what and the check out time was extreme. We will continue to dine here, but hoping for a different waiter/waitress.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 9, 2016

We had a good time, although the food was nothing spectacular. Drink prices were reasonable. I hate getting surprised by beers that are over-priced ($7 or more). We've had better service, but we've had worse. Overall the dinner experience was just average.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 3, 2016

Food was good, large portions, good variety.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2016

While the actual dining experience was exceptional and high quality, I want to share how they went over and above when I left my purse there and called the next morning. Even though not open yet, the manager answered the phone and told me it had been placed in the safe last night and would be waiting for me whenever I could get there. They opened the doors early for me to be able to come in and get it. They showed they cares in the way they treated my purse and me. Very appreciated!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2015

We really enjoyed our dinner. We met with friends and family from all over Indy and they all enjoyed the food. We had excellent service. Considering this was New Years Eve, we were very pleased with the whole evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 4, 2015

The restaurant was incredibly clean and the wait-staff were incredibly friendly. I will be back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 18, 2015

Great place not over crowded at all. Specials every single day. Love the half price appetizers. And the $8 58 Oz long island ice tea pitcher. Service was great. It's my new spot

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2015

Made last minute reservations for Mothers Day for 5. We were seated immediately. Mimosas were excellant as well as the filets and barbecued ribs. The food would have gotten 5 stars but the creme brûlée was cold and the topping was soggy.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 24, 2015

th, e blonde female manager thinks she can do anything there and obviously feels like she can't be replaced. When I asked her about an incident that happened the week before her only response was that they were probably busy, shrug your shoulders and walked away. The tall African American manager, male, is also starting to show an attitude.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2015

great Long Islands... Great great fried green tomatoes and wonderful service

Report
Helpful

Tweets by Grindstone Charley's - Speedway