About Grindstone Charley's - Speedway

5822 Crawfordville Rd
Indianapolis, IN 46224
View Larger Map

At Grindstone Charley's, we serve only the finest quality, freshest ingredients, served by a friendly hospitable staff, in a clean, warm and friendly environment. The food and recipes have come from many generations of experience. Started by the Fogelsong family in 1982, we offer a wide variety menu that includes USDA Steaks, Ribs, Seafood, Chicken, Salads, Burgers, and Sandwiches. We take great pleasure in your satisfaction and hope you enjoy!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Burgers, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 481-1870

Website:
http://www.grindstonecharleys.com/

Catering:
Grindstone Charley's offers catering for events at any location. For more information on off-site catering, please contact our Catering Director at 317-440-4602.

Executive Chef:
Juan Pablo

Private Party Facilities:
Let us customize a package to meet your needs. From Group Caterings, Brunch, Lunch & Dinner Events, to Receptions with Passed Appetizers, Buffet Style Menus, & More. We can assist you with any audio/visual equipment needs, live Twitter feeds, specialty lighting, and logo projections, floral design, décor packages, and other fun amenities for your event. We look forward to hearing from you.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout

Grindstone Charley's - Speedway Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
10 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Couples Date Night

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The overall experience was ok. Our waitress was either new or something in that lines. She couldn't remember who ordered what and the check out time was extreme. We will continue to dine here, but hoping for a different waiter/waitress.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Decent Food/prices

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We had a good time, although the food was nothing spectacular. Drink prices were reasonable. I hate getting surprised by beers that are over-priced ($7 or more). We've had better service, but we've had worse. Overall the dinner experience was just average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good, large portions, good vari ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Food was good, large portions, good variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great service!!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

While the actual dining experience was exceptional and high quality, I want to share how they went over and above when I left my purse there and called the next morning. Even though not open yet, the manager answered the phone and told me it had been placed in the safe last night and would be waiting for me whenever I could get there. They opened the doors early for me to be able to come in and get it. They showed they cares in the way they treated my purse and me. Very appreciated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food, excellant service , great price

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

We really enjoyed our dinner. We met with friends and family from all over Indy and they all enjoyed the food. We had excellent service. Considering this was New Years Eve, we were very pleased with the whole evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice location

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 5, 2015

The restaurant was incredibly clean and the wait-staff were incredibly friendly. I will be back soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

love it

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 19, 2015

Great place not over crowded at all. Specials every single day. Love the half price appetizers. And the $8 58 Oz long island ice tea pitcher. Service was great. It's my new spot

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasantly surprised

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Made last minute reservations for Mothers Day for 5. We were seated immediately. Mimosas were excellant as well as the filets and barbecued ribs. The food would have gotten 5 stars but the creme brûlée was cold and the topping was soggy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

poor management

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 24, 2015

th, e blonde female manager thinks she can do anything there and obviously feels like she can't be replaced. When I asked her about an incident that happened the week before her only response was that they were probably busy, shrug your shoulders and walked away. The tall African American manager, male, is also starting to show an attitude.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Drinks!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 17, 2015

great Long Islands... Great great fried green tomatoes and wonderful service

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.