About Grindstone Charley's - Rockville Rd

5383 West Rockville Road
Indianapolis, IN 46224
View Larger Map

At Grindstone Charley's, we serve only the finest quality, freshest ingredients, served by a friendly hospitable staff, in a clean, warm and friendly environment. The food and recipes have come from many generations of experience. Started by the Fogelsong family in 1982, we offer a wide variety menu that includes USDA Steaks, Ribs, Seafood, Chicken, Salads, Burgers, and Sandwiches. We take great pleasure in your satisfaction and hope you enjoy!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Burgers, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 243-8760

Website:
http://www.grindstonecharleys.com/

Catering:
Grindstone Charley's offers catering for events at any location. For more information on off-site catering, please contact our Catering Director at 317-440-4602.

Executive Chef:
Francisco Perez

Private Party Facilities:
Let us customize a package to meet your needs. From Group Caterings, Brunch, Lunch & Dinner Events, to Receptions with Passed Appetizers, Buffet Style Menus, & More. We can assist you with any audio/visual equipment needs, live Twitter feeds, specialty lighting, and logo projections, floral design, décor packages, and other fun amenities for your event. We look forward to hearing from you.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us for Prime Rib on Christmas Eve! Open until 8pm!

Grindstone Charley's - Rockville Rd Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.0

ambience

3.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
See All
Casual (1)
Fun (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
19 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We are so glad Grindstone Charley's is s ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We are so glad Grindstone Charley's is still open! Everything was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

We had a big group of parents and athlet ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 30, 2016

We had a big group of parents and athletes in town for a tournament. We were able to make our reservation throughly open table and the staff was ready for our large group. The food was great and staff was awesome!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

My family and I went for dinner on a Fri ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 17, 2016

My family and I went for dinner on a Friday night. Our server was outstanding. He was friendly and gracious. Everyone enjoyed their food and drink.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Our waiter was very nice & attentive wit ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our waiter was very nice & attentive without being overbearing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Good food, friendly staff, very very slow kitchen.

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were seated behind the bar at the back of the restaurant, although there were plenty of tables available in the much nicer atrium area at the front. It was Mother's Day. A family of 20-24 seemed to have the undivided attention of the kitchen staff, as everyone else in the place seemed to be lacking food. It took 20 minutes for our appetizer to arrive. We had been there an hour by the time our food arrived. The food was very good, but the experience was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Great food and service

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I reserved for a graduation party on Mothers Day. They accommodated us greatly. Food was great and service too. I highly recommend it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food friendly service excellent me ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Great food friendly service excellent meal choices great value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and service!!

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2016

Waiter was very polite and quick! Our food was delicious!! Burgers are the best!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very good lunch spot for work or group g ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 7, 2015

very good lunch spot for work or group gatherings. We use this for our annual Christmas gathering

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

home town goodness

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 5, 2015

This restaurant has been around long time and I have frequent Grindstones often; sometimes for carry out too. Outdoor seating, bar, large parties, vintage decor, great menu they have it all. I go back for the great food and friendly staff.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Not What It Used To Be...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 1, 2015

Although the onion soup and Thai wings continue to be winners, everything else was average. We sat inside in the bar area and were miserably cold. Wasn't just us, the girl at the next table was wearing a sweatshirt in August. We moved to an outside area where the temperature was perfect, but the view was a gas station and when two other couples came out, they immediately began smoking. Because business wasn't great (Friday night) our server was released and another took her place. All in all, the dining experience was extremely fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Nice neighborhood place to gather

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 17, 2015

Nice place to gather with friends where conversation is more important than other factors.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Just okay

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 24, 2015

While a decent place, it didn't live up to the typical Open Table standard. It could have been cleaner and updated. The food was good, but not exceptional in any way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Good food for the price

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 24, 2015

My son and I had dinner here after the Indy 500 race, and the food was good and won't put a big dent into the wallet. Try the prime rib at $17.....very tasty.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Not What I Expected

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 23, 2015

Grindstone Charley is a place I would go to for food that is well prepared and tasty. We had one wait staff attend to our party of 11, and she did a wonderful job getting our orders and serving our food promptly. But what I was looking for when we checked out OpenTable was for a special occasion--to celebrate my daughter's college graduation. We drove 90 minutes from her campus to Indianapolis because it was a central spot for out-of-town friends and family who attended her graduation to dine and travel home from. I had hope for something a little bit more upscale in terms of location, food selection and ambiance. The restaurant we arrived at did not look like what was pictured in OpenTable. It was not in a nice neighborhood--I had hoped we could be in the Downtown area. Next time, I will need to look more closely, instead of letting my husband scout it out alone.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

The jack burger was great, but the sirlo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2015

The jack burger was great, but the sirloin steak left something to be desired. Our waitress was great, but the hostess was talking with other employees when we walked in and another employee had to get her to seat us. It wasn't the worst experience, but I probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

I have been eating here for years, and I ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 25, 2014

I have been eating here for years, and I keep coming back. This place has the best burgers! They also have great salads, tenderloin, catfish, fried fish, and ribs! I also just love the people that work here. Everyone is so cool and down to earth. I have never met a mean rude person here EVER! If you want good food and don't want to spend a lot, then try this place out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My husband and I love your restaurant! ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 5, 2014

My husband and I love your restaurant! We have dined there several times over the last 25 years and one reason we keep coming back is because it is consistently good!! It has good food, good service, always clean, and friendly staff! We love the "neighborhood" feel of Grindstones--even though we live in Plainfield! We recommend it to all our friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 10, 2014

I recently joined OpenTable and this is the ONLY place to have a table set up and ready for us as soon as we arrived at our reservation time. Then the food: we had 5 different entrées, and every meal was fresh and delicious. Our waitress was very friendly and fun too. I'm telling friends and going back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.