Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 1.16mi
  3. Distance: 1.54mi
  4. Distance: 1.90mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 1.16mi
  3. Distance: 1.54mi
  4. Distance: 1.90mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 1.16mi
  3. Distance: 1.54mi
  4. Distance: 1.90mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 1.16mi
  3. Distance: 1.54mi
  4. Distance: 1.90mi

About Grindstone Charley's - Lafayette

At Grindstone Charley's, we serve only the finest quality, freshest ingredients, served by a friendly hospitable staff, in a clean, warm and friendly environment. The food and recipes have come from many generations of experience. Started by the Fogelsong family in 1982, we offer a wide variety menu that includes USDA Steaks, Ribs, Seafood, Chicken, Salads, Burgers, and Sandwiches. We take great pleasure in your satisfaction and hope you enjoy!

3443 South Street
Lafayette, IN 47905
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Burgers, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(765) 449-8692

Website:
http://grindstonecharleys.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout

Grindstone Charley's - Lafayette Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (5)
Good for Groups (2)
Happy Hour (2)
See All
Healthy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Authentic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Fun (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sort By:
S
33 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great Pork Tenderloin sandwich coleslaw and soups.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Family meal while dropping son off to college. We try to find places that offer variety in the food to make kids and parents happy and my husband likes to go places were he can try a locally brewed beer. This place has both. My kids are also picky about the atmosphere of the restaurant and they really liked it here. Loved that you could make reservations online. No waiting. Waitress was awesome. Very friendly. Food was very good and got plenty of it. My one son didn't love his buffalo chicken sandwich, said it was kind of soggy. He would have preferred it crispier. Would definitely go again and would recommend to others.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I enjoyed my food and asked the other 5 people that were with me and each of us had a different meal but everyone said their food was wonderful! I have been there many times and every meal has been great.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fun, Great Beer, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 23, 2017

In Lafayette for a wrestling tournament. Stopped in afterward. Sat at the bar. They had a 1/2 order of their great fried green tomatoes, and my husband loves their onion soup. People were friendly, food was good. We didn't get entrees. We have a Grindstones near us in Indianapolis and it's not great. This location was very nice. Bartender said it is independently owned. Nice place, would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Met our oldest daughter, attending Purdue, after our second oldest daughters high school graduation, for dinner. Good food, great value and Abby, our waitress, provided excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The waitress was very friendly. The manager came to our table to ask us if everything was okay.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I love this restaurant/bar. In fact, I chose it for my Mother's Day dinner. The food is amazing. Portions are generous. The bar area is laid-back and casual. The drinks are great. Melanie has been our server multiple times and her wit, enthusiasm, and personality keeps us coming back. Our last visit was a party of four, over 21 crowd. Everyone loved their appetizers and entree choices. We will go out of our way to visit. Great place!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was very good. Food was good but we have had better. Don't think the Grouper I ordered was the real Grouper. The shrimp kabobs were very good. My wife said she would order them again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was adequate. It was like an Applebee's or some other corporate chain place. I was surprised it was an Open Table offering. The staff did their jobs well enough. The food was mediocre. The setting was in an industrial area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our server was horrible. Not friendly nor efficient. Our orders were not correct and half our party waited a very long time for their food to come out. Bad experience. It was a Saturday night. I go there for lunch often and love it. Probably won't go back for dinner.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Very nice waitress. Varied menu with lots of decent choices: soups, salads, sandwiches, burgers, platters. Strip steak and grouper were pretty good. Nice side salads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Friendly staff, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The waiter was overbooked in his section with three large tables seated about the same time. He did what he could but needed help and no one from management stepped up to help. If it was my place the management staff would be history.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Service wasn't very good. Sat for a long time before the manager finally took our drink orders. I ordered a Caesar salad with my meal, but didn't get it before my meal. I asked for it in a take-out container, but when I got home I discovered I didn't have the Caesar salad, just a plain side salad. On a positive note, the food was delivered fairly quickly after our orders were taken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Everything was delicious. The breaded pork tenderloin is the best. also, a unique pumpkin pie martini.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was tasty and well priced.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Server Leeann was exceptional. Locally sourced steaks and ribs were excellent quality. Enjoyable relaxed evening with a party of 7.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The meal was exactly what we signed up for on our road trip from Chicago to eastern Indiana--relatively quick, appropriately casual, and dependable fare.

The French onion soup was not among the top 10 of this familiar classic- not served terribly hot, lumpy cheese, and scallions on top- I have never seen that before.

The rest of the meals and salads were right on target.

Best of all, the service was undeniably sincere and personable. We may stop every time we make the trip.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food and service was excellent, and since it was our first time there they gave us a great coupon to use when we come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2016

This restaurant seems very dated. It's in serious need of a remodel. I had ribs with side of chili and a side of coleslaw. The ribs were quite good. The chili's flavor was good but it too cold to melt the cheese. Coleslaw was lacking any flavor. There are better places around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 3, 2016

We took 2 kids and a baby and were treated to a great meal with wonderful service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The wife and I had Valentine's Supper at 6 pm. The table was ready as promised. Our waiter (KAT) was exceptional. She was polite, efficient, knowledgeable of the menu, and did a great job. The food was prepared as ordered and tasty. Thanks for a lovely Valentines Day meal. We will return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great Food! Awesome Sangria!!! Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2015

I made a reservation for 7 pm on New Years Eve 2015, at the last minute. We arrived and were seated promptly. Wife had the Rib Eye steak and I had the Filet Mignon. Both were cooked perfectly and tasted great. I was surprised that the steaks were so good. Out waiter was very good and accommodating. He was really busy with the full house but attended to our needs. The mushroom appetizer looked liked Deep Fried Baseballs. They were great. Over all, the food and service were exceptional. I will be going back and would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2015

We had a wonderful dinner! We had the prime rib couples special that was excellent . We like coming here because the service is always good and you don't have to wait forever to get seated. The food is always exceptional and the prices are not bad. I look forward to visiting again real soon:-)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 29, 2015

My husband and I enjoyed dining at Grindstone Charley's twice recently. For both visits--one for lunch and one for dinner--we had great meals and cocktails. The restaurant has daily specials that are a real bargain. On Tuesday, we had the lunch tenderloin sandwich special for $6! And it was wonderful. The bar also has unique cocktails and daily drink specials. Definitely worth checking out.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 15, 2015

This was a perfect setting r our group of 8 to get together to celebrate my son's Graduation from Purdue. The atmosphere was really neat, it was a cozy, warm, clean pub, with cool decor with some fun conversation pieces. Our waitress & manager were both very friendly & welcoming. We felt so comfortable laughing, talking & reminiscing around our table.
Each of us was thoroughly pleased with our menu choice. The food was delicious, hot, and presented with perfect timing. The homemade bread was awesome & Caesar salad were substantial & filling, but I made sure to save room for my steak... cooked to a perfect medium rare, tender & juicy. There were so many great sides to choose from, a real "something for everyone" menu, there was not one complaint about anyone's food & only empty plates were left behind. We enjoyed a few drinks from the fully stocked bar & left with fully satisfied full stomachs.
Our only regrets: wish we'd known about this place a long time ago AND we were all sorry we didn't have more time to spend here!
We'll definitely be coming back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 10, 2015

Extensive menu, fairly standard bar and grill fare. The nachos and loaded baked potato soup were very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 10, 2015

Our group of 6 was seated immediately upon arrival (with a reservation), and quickly served. The staff was very accommodating of larger groups, as there was a group of 10 and a group of 12 in the same room with us. It was really loud, though. There were at least two TVs in the room, which were a distraction from family conversation. Some might like that, but I prefer to separate TV watching from family time around the table. Service was very good and attentive. Once our food was delivered, there was one minor error in what was delivered, but it was quickly corrected. I was somewhat disappointed by the portion sizes. They were nutritionally appropriate portion sizes, but at other restaurants I usually get more for that amount of money... and have some to take home and have for lunch the next day. I had the salmon... plenty of salmon, but expected a larger portion on the sides. My kids had burgers and fries... the burgers were small and the portion of fries was lacking compared to what we get for the same money at other restaurants. The quality of the food was good... no complaints. When it was time to check-out, there was a minor problem with how they billed one meal, but it wasn't enough to be worth the time to have it corrected so I didn't even mention it. As a Mother's Day gift, the bill included an envelope with a gift card inside for use on a future visit. The envelope has to remain sealed until check-out on that future visit and could have a value of any where from $5 - $50. That will probably accomplish its intended goal of luring us back for at least one more visit!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2015

My date had Celiac's Disease and I am severely gluten intolerant, and Grindstone Charley's was a great pick for both of us. They have a sizable gluten free and GF vegetarian menu. The wait staff was kind, and they seem to take care of one another so that if one gets busy someone else will check on you. I had a great prime rib steak and she had a stir fry dish, which were both delicious. They also had some specialty drinks that we had after dinner. I really liked it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2014

First time there...wonderful exsperence. The only...I mean ONLY dowe fall was it appeared on the debit card we were charged twice. My husband called , the person got defensive with him. What should have happened is take our phone number and look into what went on and call us back. That was new years eve, the one was paid and it is now the 2nd and the 2nd swipe of the bill is still pending.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 19, 2014

We stopped to grab something to eat while on a road trip from Illinois to Ohio. Very friendly staff, good menu selection and the restaurant was clean, which is always a plus. Food was good, too!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 17, 2014

Excellent Food, never disappointed! I worked at a Grindstone Charley's right after college and during graduate school and met some amazing people, some of whom are still my best friends today! Great Owners to work for and great staff and still great food, I miss it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.