About Grindstone Charley's - Lafayette

3443 South Street
Lafayette, IN 47905
View Larger Map

At Grindstone Charley's, we serve only the finest quality, freshest ingredients, served by a friendly hospitable staff, in a clean, warm and friendly environment. The food and recipes have come from many generations of experience. Started by the Fogelsong family in 1982, we offer a wide variety menu that includes USDA Steaks, Ribs, Seafood, Chicken, Salads, Burgers, and Sandwiches. We take great pleasure in your satisfaction and hope you enjoy!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Burgers, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(765) 449-8692

Website:
http://grindstonecharleys.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout

Grindstone Charley's - Lafayette Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

3.9

ambience

3.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (2)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
See All
romantic (1)
special occasion (1)
Sort By:
Newest
14 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This restaurant seems very dated. It's ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

This restaurant seems very dated. It's in serious need of a remodel. I had ribs with side of chili and a side of coleslaw. The ribs were quite good. The chili's flavor was good but it too cold to melt the cheese. Coleslaw was lacking any flavor. There are better places around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

What a nice restaurant with great staff!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

We took 2 kids and a baby and were treated to a great meal with wonderful service!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food Reasonable Price!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The wife and I had Valentine's Supper at 6 pm. The table was ready as promised. Our waiter (KAT) was exceptional. She was polite, efficient, knowledgeable of the menu, and did a great job. The food was prepared as ordered and tasty. Thanks for a lovely Valentines Day meal. We will return.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food! Awesome Sangria!!! Loved it!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great Food! Awesome Sangria!!! Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

NEW YEARS EVE DINNER

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

I made a reservation for 7 pm on New Years Eve 2015, at the last minute. We arrived and were seated promptly. Wife had the Rib Eye steak and I had the Filet Mignon. Both were cooked perfectly and tasted great. I was surprised that the steaks were so good. Out waiter was very good and accommodating. He was really busy with the full house but attended to our needs. The mushroom appetizer looked liked Deep Fried Baseballs. They were great. Over all, the food and service were exceptional. I will be going back and would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

New Years birthday celebration

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

We had a wonderful dinner! We had the prime rib couples special that was excellent . We like coming here because the service is always good and you don't have to wait forever to get seated. The food is always exceptional and the prices are not bad. I look forward to visiting again real soon:-)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A bargain meal in Lafayette

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

My husband and I enjoyed dining at Grindstone Charley's twice recently. For both visits--one for lunch and one for dinner--we had great meals and cocktails. The restaurant has daily specials that are a real bargain. On Tuesday, we had the lunch tenderloin sandwich special for $6! And it was wonderful. The bar also has unique cocktails and daily drink specials. Definitely worth checking out.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

GREAT PRE GRADUATION GATHERING!!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 15, 2015

This was a perfect setting r our group of 8 to get together to celebrate my son's Graduation from Purdue. The atmosphere was really neat, it was a cozy, warm, clean pub, with cool decor with some fun conversation pieces. Our waitress & manager were both very friendly & welcoming. We felt so comfortable laughing, talking & reminiscing around our table.

Each of us was thoroughly pleased with our menu choice. The food was delicious, hot, and presented with perfect timing. The homemade bread was awesome & Caesar salad were substantial & filling, but I made sure to save room for my steak... cooked to a perfect medium rare, tender & juicy. There were so many great sides to choose from, a real "something for everyone" menu, there was not one complaint about anyone's food & only empty plates were left behind. We enjoyed a few drinks from the fully stocked bar & left with fully satisfied full stomachs.

Our only regrets: wish we'd known about this place a long time ago AND we were all sorry we didn't have more time to spend here!

We'll definitely be coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Solid Experience

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Extensive menu, fairly standard bar and grill fare. The nachos and loaded baked potato soup were very good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good... but not Great

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Our group of 6 was seated immediately upon arrival (with a reservation), and quickly served. The staff was very accommodating of larger groups, as there was a group of 10 and a group of 12 in the same room with us. It was really loud, though. There were at least two TVs in the room, which were a distraction from family conversation. Some might like that, but I prefer to separate TV watching from family time around the table. Service was very good and attentive. Once our food was delivered, there was one minor error in what was delivered, but it was quickly corrected. I was somewhat disappointed by the portion sizes. They were nutritionally appropriate portion sizes, but at other restaurants I usually get more for that amount of money... and have some to take home and have for lunch the next day. I had the salmon... plenty of salmon, but expected a larger portion on the sides. My kids had burgers and fries... the burgers were small and the portion of fries was lacking compared to what we get for the same money at other restaurants. The quality of the food was good... no complaints. When it was time to check-out, there was a minor problem with how they billed one meal, but it wasn't enough to be worth the time to have it corrected so I didn't even mention it. As a Mother's Day gift, the bill included an envelope with a gift card inside for use on a future visit. The envelope has to remain sealed until check-out on that future visit and could have a value of any where from $5 - $50. That will probably accomplish its intended goal of luring us back for at least one more visit!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great casual restaraunt

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

My date had Celiac's Disease and I am severely gluten intolerant, and Grindstone Charley's was a great pick for both of us. They have a sizable gluten free and GF vegetarian menu. The wait staff was kind, and they seem to take care of one another so that if one gets busy someone else will check on you. I had a great prime rib steak and she had a stir fry dish, which were both delicious. They also had some specialty drinks that we had after dinner. I really liked it.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Barbarie

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 1, 2015

First time there...wonderful exsperence. The only...I mean ONLY dowe fall was it appeared on the debit card we were charged twice. My husband called , the person got defensive with him. What should have happened is take our phone number and look into what went on and call us back. That was new years eve, the one was paid and it is now the 2nd and the 2nd swipe of the bill is still pending.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place to stop

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 20, 2014

We stopped to grab something to eat while on a road trip from Illinois to Ohio. Very friendly staff, good menu selection and the restaurant was clean, which is always a plus. Food was good, too!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Great Restaurant

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on November 17, 2014

Excellent Food, never disappointed! I worked at a Grindstone Charley's right after college and during graduate school and met some amazing people, some of whom are still my best friends today! Great Owners to work for and great staff and still great food, I miss it!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.