Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

Grindstone Charley's - Kokomo

4.4
52 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Fun
At Grindstone Charley's, we serve only the finest quality, freshest ingredients, served by a friendly hospitable staff, in a clean, warm and friendly environment. The food and recipes have come from many generations of experience. Started by the Fogelsong family in 1982, we offer a wide variety menu that includes USDA Steaks, Ribs, Seafood, Chicken, Salads, Burgers, and Sandwiches. We take great pleasure in your satisfaction and hope you enjoy!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Burgers, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(765) 453-9125
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Larry Price
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Grindstone Charley's offers catering for events at any location. For more information on off-site catering, please contact our Catering Director at 317-440-4602.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Banquet, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine
What 52 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.2
service
4.2
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Made a reservation. Checked in. Waited 50 minutes and when I asked if this was standard for online reservation the same employee I checked in with told me they didn’t know we were there. 3 hostesses and they couldn’t keep track of us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Good food and good helpings, wait staff was attentive and curious. I would recommend it to a friend

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2018

For not being busy, service was slow. Food was luke-warm & the steak was well done.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Grindstone Charley's was our destination for a lunch date with extended family with all of us coming from different locations. We found the atmosphere to be very pleasant and relaxing. The artifacts on the walls plus the stained glass added to the ambiance. The food was delicious and the wait staff did an outstanding job! We will certainly be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We had fantastic service and fantastic food.
Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Great waitress and friendly service. Loved the open table reservation option... got right in on a packed Friday night!. Great drinks, appetizers and ribs!?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Love the food and atmosphere. Our waitresses have been very good and attentive. Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

We had great friendly service. Food was delicious and the price was well worth the food quality and portion size.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

food was good but disappointed by portion size. service was not great. Not worth what I paid for the meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 4, 2018

We celebrated my sons 30th B-day and all I can say was our experience was exceptional. Great food, waitress, staff. Thank you for helping us make our sons day a special one. Thank you

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Food was great, service was good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Second week in a row to eat here. In our reservation. we specified we wanted the fantastic server we had the week before, Jon. He was once again, spectacular in his service! The food was again, fantastic and we absolutely have added this restaurant to our "regular" visit list. I would make one suggestion. In your reservation process, you offer seating as "Standard" or "Bar". I would suggest under Standard, to offer TABLE ONLY as a selection. Some of us "larger" people cannot fit into the space a booth allows.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We hadn't been there for awhile but I received a email about the opportunity to go for a evening for New Years Eve , so we ask friends to join us , it was a GREAT decision, food was awesome, service was excellent, Great waitress , would definitely do it again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2017

Great table size for a group of 8. Plenty of space. Doesn't take long to get your meals even with a large group.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

I loved the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room with many tvs! My sons ordered the Buffalo burgers with waffle fries and thought they were great. My husband and I ordered filet mignon...very lean and tender. My mom ordered the chicken and noodles on mashed potatoes...huge home made portion. Service was great..never had to ask for drink refills. I definitely would return to try more dishes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 8, 2017

Our server William was great, friendly, knew his stuff and one of the best servers I have had this year. The food was very good. When I called the restaraunt because I was having troubles making reservations, the manager was helpful and walked me through the process. I would definitely recommend Grindstone Charlie's of Kokomo.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 21, 2017

Worst dining experience through Open Table I ever had. Bad bar food coupled with terrible service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 18, 2017

I liked the online reservation program which worked very well. It was crowded due to Father's Day, but the staff and everyone seemed very well prepared for the day. The food was good and the waitress friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 18, 2017

Excellent food options, food for the whole family and with the summer options even better. They have a great drink menu as well. It is a little noisy the way it is set up but it they were busy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 18, 2017

Good food, good service! Reservation needed due to large group. Nice experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2017

It was myself with my son and granddaughter and we all were very pleased with the Food and service. Our overall experience was very nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2017

It's one of our favorite places to eat. We just wish there was one in Westfield

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2017

Called 2 hrs. ahead for reservations. Got seated in just 10 minutes. Studied menu of large variety. Ordered food which took only the normal wait time. Food was good and nice servings.
Price was reasonable. Overall, we both enjoyed our meals and our dining experience. We will
come again, from Noblesville, IN ( 30 min. drive). Not bad for Friday night 6pm.

RON & JAN

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

It was Mothers Day and very busy, the place was packed. We had reservations , but only had a short wait. The staff was friendly, the food was delicious! We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2017

This was the first time I had made a reservation using Open Table and it was Mother's Day. The reservation process was very simple. Since this was the first time I had made a reservation I arrived approx. 10 min early, just to see how the process was going to work. We were seated about 5 min after our reservation time, not too bad. I wasn't happy with the seating! We had four adults and one child and we were seated in a four person booth with a chair at the end on the aisle. Very cramped for four adults when you can't spread out to the end of the booth! This was right at the entrance to the dining area, a busy area! I know that Mother's Day is a challenge but I was a very disappointed with our dining experience that day! This is normally one of our favorite places to dine!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2017

We chose this restaurant to meet at 2:00pm on Easter Sunday, as Kokomo was half way between for family from the north and south in IN. They took reservations on Easter, and the staff and manager were fantastic as accommodating us to a different table (after a short wait) to accommodate 6 adults, a 3 year old and a 5 month old. The food was good, and the place had the casualness that our group needed. Everyone was very cordial...on what was a busy hectic day for them!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2017

Like that this is one of a very few restaurants that take reservations. Nice

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

We went on Valentine Day it was busy! We walked in showed the reservation note was seated in 5 minutes.( while others waited for awhile) We ordered the Prime rib which was outstanding. Our server was very friendly and caring.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2017

Reservations for 7 pm. Seated at 730 pm. Not staff issue. Very crowded, Staff handled it well. Customers at table overstayed visit. No problem. Waitress and food was beyond excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2017

Great meal. My wife said her fillet was best steak she's had in a long time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

We went on New Year's Eve. They were really busy but the stress was not apparent. Everyone, including non-wait staff, was so friendly with words and smiles.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 26, 2016

Our go to place in our home town, have one great waitress we like to deal with in a section we must have. Depending on your serv

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 25, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner and the waitress was very on top of it. She even took special care of our son.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 9, 2016

Was seated quickly and service was good. Waitress was very attentive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 8, 2016

They absolutely have the Best French Onion Soup I've had in years. The service was excellent and prompt!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 9, 2016

Was not impressed, waiter bragged about ribs and they were small and mushy

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 12, 2016

Best ribs in the Kokomo area! Sun King brews are great, too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2016

this mothers day meal went so much better than last years there. We were able to make a eservation and were seated right away. last year we had to wait over an hour and a half because they said we had to big of a party . not happy at all

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was very good. Menu has a lot of choices at affordable prices. Atmosphere was quaint. Service was very timely and the food came quickly. Our Opentable reservation put us ahead of an entryway full of folks waiting for a table. Our wait without a reservation would have been over an hour.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 29, 2016

We made our reservation online at 7pm through open table. When we showed up at 6:55 we let them know we were there. We got seated at 7:35 and everyone there waiting were seated before us. It was pointless to make a reservation online. The service was slow. In fact we did not get back in our car until 8:30. My wife and I have been here several times but it was our first and last making a reservation.

Report
Helpful
1
2

Tweets by Grindstone Charley's - Kokomo