Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

About Grindstone Charley's - Kokomo

At Grindstone Charley's, we serve only the finest quality, freshest ingredients, served by a friendly hospitable staff, in a clean, warm and friendly environment. The food and recipes have come from many generations of experience. Started by the Fogelsong family in 1982, we offer a wide variety menu that includes USDA Steaks, Ribs, Seafood, Chicken, Salads, Burgers, and Sandwiches. We take great pleasure in your satisfaction and hope you enjoy!

3830 South La Fountain St
Kokomo, IN 46902
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Burgers, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(765) 453-9125

Website:
http://www.grindstonecharleys.com/

Catering:
Grindstone Charley's offers catering for events at any location. For more information on off-site catering, please contact our Catering Director at 317-440-4602.

Executive Chef:
Larry Price

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout

Grindstone Charley's - Kokomo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.2

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Sunday Lunch (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Comfort Food (4)
See All
Special Occasion (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Casual (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Family Style (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Sports (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Healthy (1)
Romantic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Authentic (1)
Cozy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
30 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

It's one of our favorite places to eat. We just wish there was one in Westfield

Tags: Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Called 2 hrs. ahead for reservations. Got seated in just 10 minutes. Studied menu of large variety. Ordered food which took only the normal wait time. Food was good and nice servings.
Price was reasonable. Overall, we both enjoyed our meals and our dining experience. We will
come again, from Noblesville, IN ( 30 min. drive). Not bad for Friday night 6pm.

RON & JAN

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was Mothers Day and very busy, the place was packed. We had reservations , but only had a short wait. The staff was friendly, the food was delicious! We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was the first time I had made a reservation using Open Table and it was Mother's Day. The reservation process was very simple. Since this was the first time I had made a reservation I arrived approx. 10 min early, just to see how the process was going to work. We were seated about 5 min after our reservation time, not too bad. I wasn't happy with the seating! We had four adults and one child and we were seated in a four person booth with a chair at the end on the aisle. Very cramped for four adults when you can't spread out to the end of the booth! This was right at the entrance to the dining area, a busy area! I know that Mother's Day is a challenge but I was a very disappointed with our dining experience that day! This is normally one of our favorite places to dine!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We chose this restaurant to meet at 2:00pm on Easter Sunday, as Kokomo was half way between for family from the north and south in IN. They took reservations on Easter, and the staff and manager were fantastic as accommodating us to a different table (after a short wait) to accommodate 6 adults, a 3 year old and a 5 month old. The food was good, and the place had the casualness that our group needed. Everyone was very cordial...on what was a busy hectic day for them!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Like that this is one of a very few restaurants that take reservations. Nice

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went on Valentine Day it was busy! We walked in showed the reservation note was seated in 5 minutes.( while others waited for awhile) We ordered the Prime rib which was outstanding. Our server was very friendly and caring.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Reservations for 7 pm. Seated at 730 pm. Not staff issue. Very crowded, Staff handled it well. Customers at table overstayed visit. No problem. Waitress and food was beyond excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great meal. My wife said her fillet was best steak she's had in a long time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Business Meals, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went on New Year's Eve. They were really busy but the stress was not apparent. Everyone, including non-wait staff, was so friendly with words and smiles.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner and the waitress was very on top of it. She even took special care of our son.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Was seated quickly and service was good. Waitress was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 8, 2016

They absolutely have the Best French Onion Soup I've had in years. The service was excellent and prompt!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Was not impressed, waiter bragged about ribs and they were small and mushy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Best ribs in the Kokomo area! Sun King brews are great, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 8, 2016

this mothers day meal went so much better than last years there. We were able to make a eservation and were seated right away. last year we had to wait over an hour and a half because they said we had to big of a party . not happy at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was very good. Menu has a lot of choices at affordable prices. Atmosphere was quaint. Service was very timely and the food came quickly. Our Opentable reservation put us ahead of an entryway full of folks waiting for a table. Our wait without a reservation would have been over an hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2016

We made our reservation online at 7pm through open table. When we showed up at 6:55 we let them know we were there. We got seated at 7:35 and everyone there waiting were seated before us. It was pointless to make a reservation online. The service was slow. In fact we did not get back in our car until 8:30. My wife and I have been here several times but it was our first and last making a reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2015

My wife and I enjoyed our meal here on New Year's Eve. It was really busy, so we were thankful that we had made a reservation. We were seated quickly and our server was very attentive and friendly. Our food was great, and we thought it was a great value. I really enjoyed the fish and chips. We look forward to visiting again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 16, 2015

Nice place, food was pretty good. I order a side of asparagus that had 4 pieces with it. Not very much on the plates. I think the service was on the fair side. Could of been a lot better.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 11, 2015

Our waiter, charlie??, was excellent! There was 11 of us and he was great at taking our orders, keeping them straight and keeping our glasses filled. We had two birthdays and he made it special with song and free desserts for the birthday guys. Food was delicious. We all had a great time!! Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 25, 2015

We booked Grindstone Charlie's to celebrate a co-workers retirement. The service was fantastic and the food too! Grindstone Charlie's will be highly recommended for other group outings as well as more intimate parties, as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 20, 2015

Made an online reservation because we didn't know how crowded it would be on Friday night.
Didn't have to wait at all. Excellent waitress - she remembered us from previous visits.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2015

My husband and webt here for Valetines Day. Food was good. My husband's steak was under cooked so he sent it back. It took 20 minutes for them to fix and when the waitress went to get it tge cook said it had already been brought out. She apologized and gave us free chocolate covered strawberries even though management didn't want to.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2015

We really had a great experience. Making a reservation for Valentine's Day was a great idea and we didn't have to wait. We had a really good server and the food was great. I was a little skeptical about making the reservation and how it would work, but the staff did a fantastic job and the place was packed. Everything seemed to run smoothly. Had a really nice time and would definitely do it again and recommend it to our family and friends. Thank you!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2015

Good food, reasonablely priced. Service was good... I would recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 30, 2015

Made a 45-50 min. drive just to eat at Charley's. Expecting a wait on a Friday night, we phoned in a reservation and had a table waiting when we arrived. Food was excellent, the best tenderloin I've ever had. Staff is always friendly, waitresses are excellent.

Our only drawback was being at a table next to kitchen. Very crowded and I felt like I was blocking
the aisle for waitresses. Probably because of a large party next to us with tables put together. I've
always been pleased with Grindstone's and will heartily recommend it to everyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 22, 2014

Had business folks in town, needed a late lunch spot. Service was great, food was delicious too!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 9, 2014

Food was tasty, service was good, staff were nice to us. Will be back often, I'm sure. Thanks!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 10, 2014

This place accommodated a party of 16 for my Mom's birthday. They were fast, friendly and on top of everything. We had great food (prime rib & tenderloins) and really enjoyed ourselves. Think this will be our new favorite place.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.