About Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa

612 N. Dale Mabry
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

Grille One Sixteen is a “Freshly Elevated” dining experience from culinary concept, practice, and customer service; wrapped in a “CHIC” and “METROPOLITAN” atmosphere. Grille 116 has put together a menu that is “American Contemporary” and extraordinary. All of the steaks are organic and 100% Hormone Free. Our Fish is locally caught or flown in to provide you with the freshest seafood available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Tuesday: 11:00am to 10:00pm, Wednesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Friday: 11:00am - 12:00am Saturday: 5pm-12:00am Sunday: 5pm-10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 350-0216

Website:
http://www.grilleonesixteen.com/

Executive Chef:
Bryan Gallagher

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bone-In Ribeye
Grilled Shrimp
Mac and Cheese
Grilled Kobe Beef Sliders
Donuts
House Salad
Fried Calamari
Caesar Salad
Tuna Tartare
Kona Steak
Basket Of Fries
NY Strip
Sauteed Mushrooms
Oak Grilled Chicken Breast
Moet & Chandon Imperial Brut Champagne
Flourless Chocolate Hazelnut Mousse Pyramid
Ceviche
Watermelon martini
Grouper Picatta

Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Value
Tampa
Contemporary American
Tampa
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

Romantic (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Fit for Foodies (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Business Meals (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
425 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service was good. Totally revam ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food and service was good. Totally revamped menu. Was expecting similar to before. Was good but not great like before. Smaller portion sizes, drinks not as ample.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The service and the dessert was excellen ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The service and the dessert was excellent...the rest of the meal was boring. My wife ordered a drink and after taking a sip she didn't like it. Most restaurants would take it off the bill this one didn't (whatever). She wanted to order an apple martini instead but they didn't have the ingredients to make it. My steak was ok, wife had the salmon which was dry. Would only really come back for the dessert which was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Excellent Service and food, I will be th ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Excellent Service and food, I will be there again soon.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Tampa. Pe ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Tampa. Perfect ambience, great food and service. Kid friendly too. Just love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this restaurant but was disappoi ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I love this restaurant but was disappointed that it was my wife's birthday and they didn't do anything special for her. I told them twice it was her birthday. I thought maybe she would get a free dessert or something.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed this restaurant, the am ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I really enjoyed this restaurant, the ambiance was beautiful and the prices were a little expensive but, the quality of the food was beyond expectation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service!

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff is very attentive. The food i ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The staff is very attentive. The food is always excellent. You can go dressed up or casual attire. We love everything about the restuarant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit to this local restauran ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

First time visit to this local restaurant. General manage came to visit. Waiter was s little timid but was very attentive. The food was good, but a little more bland then expected. I would return, but hope the choice is better. Salad was good. Overall I wood return. Much better then most.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Very good quality of food. Very well ap ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Very good quality of food. Very well appointed and eye appealing. Excellent value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Everything, Service,Food,and S ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent Everything, Service,Food,and Setting !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere and good food. Server ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great atmosphere and good food. Server very knowledgeable. This was not my first time dining at Grille One-Sixteen and it will definitely not be my last. The only problem is that at times the noise level is high.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We booked this reservation through Open ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We booked this reservation through Open Table for a birthday dinner. Unfortunately, when we made the reservations we were not advised that there was a "special" event Happy Hour taking place at the same time. Unfortunately, we could not hear each other talk. Not a single word unless we yelled it really loud to each other. It was not a good experience at all. I mean it looked like a great Happy Hour event, unfortunately, we were there just to celebrate birthdays and enjoy a nice meal and catch up with each other. We were unable to do so. We left early because it was just impossible to hear each other over the Happy Hour crowd.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Our server Connor was great. Very patien ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Our server Connor was great. Very patient and answered all of our questions patiently. Food was great, Mojitos awesome.

I just had mojitos and donuts so I was thrilled, but everyone else loved their food. It was my first time there and I loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit and I really e ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was my second visit and I really enjoyed it. It has not been really busy either time that I have been here and I don't understand why. It is a beautiful restaurant, very modern decor. The food and service has been excellent on both occasions. Dan has waited on us both times and he does a fabulous job. I had the Surf and Turf with the Chilean Sea Bass and the Small filet with mushrooms. They were both excellent and the steak was cooked perfectly. I would definitely recommend it to others and will be back again for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place....great prices...amazin ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Love this place....great prices...amazing food...and outstanding service. Will return again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second time dining at Grille ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was my second time dining at Grille One Sixteen - the first time was for dinner and this time was for lunch on Father's Day. The menu was a bit limited for lunch, and our food arrived slightly warm, not hot.

We started out with the seviche, which was good but not great. I had the meatloaf, which as ok.

Our previous dining experience was much better.

The service was attentive & good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server was on top of her game and ve ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our server was on top of her game and very hospitable. She is a gem. The ambiance is exactly as shown on the website, which was my goal in impressing my date. Good work.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food was wonderful and our service w ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our food was wonderful and our service was outstanding. Attention was paid to the fact that the 4 of us were celebrating special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Grat spot

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I love this restaurant. I am surprised that is not busier. The service is awesome and the food is amazing. I have had several dishes and they have always been delicious. The sangria is very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall excellent

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Very nice atmosphere. Very creative menu. Try the Bacon nachos with Gruyere grits!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dining experience. Staff wa ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Outstanding dining experience. Staff was friendly and food was amazing. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grille 116

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

New York restaurant feel, great service, very good food....and consistent.

If you have not tried....your missing out.

Stop at the bar for an incredible and unique cocktail.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but portion size was weak

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great staff prompt attentive clean however the food portion was very weak for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Outstanding Experience

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Grille One Sixteen is consistently outstanding. The menu features elevated American Contemporary fare complemented by an excellent wine selection, hand-crafted cocktails, and other premium spirits, all served in a chic but comfortable atmosphere with a "metropolitan" feel. The servers are friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. Grille 116 has become my favorite spot for a happy hour or late-night drink and personal and business lunches and dinners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good, not great.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall, my experience was good enough. Their calamari appetizer included a lot of calamari (enough for 3 or 4 people) and was some of the best I've ever had. Their salted caramel cheesecake was also deeeelicious and was big enough for me to eat half there and half at home; however, I tend to eat small portions. I had the sirloin dinner for an entree and it literally tasted like it was soaked in salt for. . . 10 years. It was so TERRIBLE! My palette was traumatized for the entire day. It was so so so bad, I just cringed remembering the taste. Oh, I also had their "famous" doughnuts which were mediocre, very mediocre. The waitress was pretty underwhelming, but she did her job. It was my birthday and she didn't seem to be interested in that fun tidbit at all. She did, however, put a candle in my dessert (which I asked for). I would probably go back and would definitely recommend it to others. It's very chic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Almost perfect

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was fantastic, the service was superb and everything was going extremely well, until the music started. It almost killed the ambiance as it was loud and was almost out of place ...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Consistently Awesome!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Tampa! We dine here every time we come to Tampa to visit our sons living here. Great bartenders -- love the cocktails. Appetizers and main course of salmon were prepared to perfection! The donuts for dessert are a MUST! The waitstaff is always fun and friendly!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great surprise

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a party of 7 booked on a Saturday evening without much lead time. We got a warm welcome, friendly team service and a great experience. The restaurant has 4 distinct areas: a long row of semi-orivate, apholstered booths, a regular dining area, a bar area with some high top tables, and a private room (looks like another is being added). So when it filled up, it got fairly noisy, but I would call it more like vibrant. The food was really good. We had an order of Nueske bacon as an appetizer... unusual offering, but really tasty. Also tried calamari, which came with a tasy aoli. Everyone loved their entrees, and the shrimp & pasta got passed around and got lots of oohs and ahhs. The wine list was nice and reasonably priced for a restaurant. We went for two orders of the donut desert. Each order was four hot donuts galzed with white choclate, carame, berry and chocolate. Tasted like a kicked up beignet, yummy. We will return if in the area, as this one is a keeper.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The outside is under construction- it th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The outside is under construction- it threw us off- thought it was closed- it is very nice inside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We had the private room and received gre ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We had the private room and received great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best ahi tuna appetizer in my life!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Flatscreens viewable in dining area too away from the ambience. Not EVERYONE is a sports fanatic. For that reason only we won't be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best sea bass we have ever had. Interest ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Best sea bass we have ever had. Interesting cocktails. Very knowledgable bar staff. Have to try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Loved it!

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

This was our first visit to Grille One Sixteen but it won't be our last! We really enjoyed our dinners and will make a point to return on our next visit to Tampa!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great friendly service. Food was good al ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Great friendly service. Food was good also. Good spot for a small group or date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Love the ultra modern decor!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

Well other than the fact that the entrance is hard to find, it was fabulous. The door is on the West side and the only way you notice it is the long silver door handle. They told us many people are stumped the first time they come in. We went here for my Birthday and everything was wonderful. The food was delicious. I had the Shrimp Pasta, my sister had the Tempura Lobster tails and another friend had the Chilean Sea Bass. We were all very please with the food and the service. We will definitely be back and introducing it to other friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb service and excellent mixologist. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Superb service and excellent mixologist.

This is the only place in Tampa that cooks meats and fish to their proper requested temperature -- and this includes Berns, Capitol Grill, Del Frisco, and for fish, Eddie Vs, Osytercatchers, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was the second time we dined here a ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

This was the second time we dined here and I wasn't as impressed as the first time. The service was lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

I'm sad that I don't recall our Servers ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

I'm sad that I don't recall our Servers name, but he was very pleasant, personable, helpful and added to the overall wonderful experience we had. I truly enjoyed myself as did the rest of my party. We also appreciated that the chef provided complimentary appetizer to our group. 5 Stars!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always overlooked...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

We often wonder why we don't return here more often. The food is always excellent and they make excellent drinks. The overall ambience is elegant and somewhat exotic as the interior has always been memorable. At one point in an effort to be truly droll they had illuminated menus as the interior was quite dark. Fine if you were engaging in a tryst, but problematic otherwise. We'll be back...maybe this time sooner than later.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.