About Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa

612 N. Dale Mabry
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

Grille One Sixteen is a “Freshly Elevated” dining experience from culinary concept, practice, and customer service; wrapped in a “CHIC” and “METROPOLITAN” atmosphere. Grille 116 has put together a menu that is “American Contemporary” and extraordinary. All of the steaks are organic and 100% Hormone Free. Our Fish is locally caught or flown in to provide you with the freshest seafood available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Tuesday: 11:00am to 10:00pm, Wednesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Friday: 11:00am - 12:00am Saturday: 5pm-12:00am Sunday: 5pm-10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 350-0216

Website:
http://www.grilleonesixteen.com/

Executive Chef:
Bryan Gallagher

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Non-Smoking Area, Smoking Area, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bone-In Ribeye
Donuts
Grilled Shrimp
Mac and Cheese
Grilled Kobe Beef Sliders
Sauteed Mushrooms
House Salad
Caesar Salad
Kona Steak
Fried Calamari
Tuna Tartare
Basket Of Fries
NY Strip
Oak Grilled Chicken Breast
Moet & Chandon Imperial Brut Champagne
Ceviche
Flourless Chocolate Hazelnut Mousse Pyramid
Watermelon martini
Grouper Picatta

Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Value
Tampa
Romantic
Tampa
1 More
Contemporary American
Tampa
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

special occasion (25)
fit for foodies (21)
good for groups (21)
See All
romantic (20)
hot spot (11)
great for lunch (10)
neighborhood gem (8)
vibrant bar scene (8)
notable wine list (7)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
412 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server Connor was great. Very patien ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Our server Connor was great. Very patient and answered all of our questions patiently. Food was great, Mojitos awesome.

I just had mojitos and donuts so I was thrilled, but everyone else loved their food. It was my first time there and I loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit and I really e ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was my second visit and I really enjoyed it. It has not been really busy either time that I have been here and I don't understand why. It is a beautiful restaurant, very modern decor. The food and service has been excellent on both occasions. Dan has waited on us both times and he does a fabulous job. I had the Surf and Turf with the Chilean Sea Bass and the Small filet with mushrooms. They were both excellent and the steak was cooked perfectly. I would definitely recommend it to others and will be back again for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place....great prices...amazin ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Love this place....great prices...amazing food...and outstanding service. Will return again!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second time dining at Grille ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was my second time dining at Grille One Sixteen - the first time was for dinner and this time was for lunch on Father's Day. The menu was a bit limited for lunch, and our food arrived slightly warm, not hot.

We started out with the seviche, which was good but not great. I had the meatloaf, which as ok.

Our previous dining experience was much better.

The service was attentive & good.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server was on top of her game and ve ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our server was on top of her game and very hospitable. She is a gem. The ambiance is exactly as shown on the website, which was my goal in impressing my date. Good work.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food was wonderful and our service w ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our food was wonderful and our service was outstanding. Attention was paid to the fact that the 4 of us were celebrating special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Grat spot

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I love this restaurant. I am surprised that is not busier. The service is awesome and the food is amazing. I have had several dishes and they have always been delicious. The sangria is very good.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall excellent

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Very nice atmosphere. Very creative menu. Try the Bacon nachos with Gruyere grits!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dining experience. Staff wa ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Outstanding dining experience. Staff was friendly and food was amazing. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grille 116

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

New York restaurant feel, great service, very good food....and consistent.

If you have not tried....your missing out.

Stop at the bar for an incredible and unique cocktail.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but portion size was weak

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great staff prompt attentive clean however the food portion was very weak for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Outstanding Experience

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Grille One Sixteen is consistently outstanding. The menu features elevated American Contemporary fare complemented by an excellent wine selection, hand-crafted cocktails, and other premium spirits, all served in a chic but comfortable atmosphere with a "metropolitan" feel. The servers are friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. Grille 116 has become my favorite spot for a happy hour or late-night drink and personal and business lunches and dinners.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good, not great.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall, my experience was good enough. Their calamari appetizer included a lot of calamari (enough for 3 or 4 people) and was some of the best I've ever had. Their salted caramel cheesecake was also deeeelicious and was big enough for me to eat half there and half at home; however, I tend to eat small portions. I had the sirloin dinner for an entree and it literally tasted like it was soaked in salt for. . . 10 years. It was so TERRIBLE! My palette was traumatized for the entire day. It was so so so bad, I just cringed remembering the taste. Oh, I also had their "famous" doughnuts which were mediocre, very mediocre. The waitress was pretty underwhelming, but she did her job. It was my birthday and she didn't seem to be interested in that fun tidbit at all. She did, however, put a candle in my dessert (which I asked for). I would probably go back and would definitely recommend it to others. It's very chic!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Almost perfect

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was fantastic, the service was superb and everything was going extremely well, until the music started. It almost killed the ambiance as it was loud and was almost out of place ...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Consistently Awesome!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Tampa! We dine here every time we come to Tampa to visit our sons living here. Great bartenders -- love the cocktails. Appetizers and main course of salmon were prepared to perfection! The donuts for dessert are a MUST! The waitstaff is always fun and friendly!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great surprise

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a party of 7 booked on a Saturday evening without much lead time. We got a warm welcome, friendly team service and a great experience. The restaurant has 4 distinct areas: a long row of semi-orivate, apholstered booths, a regular dining area, a bar area with some high top tables, and a private room (looks like another is being added). So when it filled up, it got fairly noisy, but I would call it more like vibrant. The food was really good. We had an order of Nueske bacon as an appetizer... unusual offering, but really tasty. Also tried calamari, which came with a tasy aoli. Everyone loved their entrees, and the shrimp & pasta got passed around and got lots of oohs and ahhs. The wine list was nice and reasonably priced for a restaurant. We went for two orders of the donut desert. Each order was four hot donuts galzed with white choclate, carame, berry and chocolate. Tasted like a kicked up beignet, yummy. We will return if in the area, as this one is a keeper.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The outside is under construction- it th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The outside is under construction- it threw us off- thought it was closed- it is very nice inside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We had the private room and received gre ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We had the private room and received great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best ahi tuna appetizer in my life!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Flatscreens viewable in dining area too away from the ambience. Not EVERYONE is a sports fanatic. For that reason only we won't be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best sea bass we have ever had. Interest ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Best sea bass we have ever had. Interesting cocktails. Very knowledgable bar staff. Have to try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Loved it!

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

This was our first visit to Grille One Sixteen but it won't be our last! We really enjoyed our dinners and will make a point to return on our next visit to Tampa!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great friendly service. Food was good al ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Great friendly service. Food was good also. Good spot for a small group or date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Love the ultra modern decor!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

Well other than the fact that the entrance is hard to find, it was fabulous. The door is on the West side and the only way you notice it is the long silver door handle. They told us many people are stumped the first time they come in. We went here for my Birthday and everything was wonderful. The food was delicious. I had the Shrimp Pasta, my sister had the Tempura Lobster tails and another friend had the Chilean Sea Bass. We were all very please with the food and the service. We will definitely be back and introducing it to other friends.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb service and excellent mixologist. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Superb service and excellent mixologist.

This is the only place in Tampa that cooks meats and fish to their proper requested temperature -- and this includes Berns, Capitol Grill, Del Frisco, and for fish, Eddie Vs, Osytercatchers, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was the second time we dined here a ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

This was the second time we dined here and I wasn't as impressed as the first time. The service was lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

I'm sad that I don't recall our Servers ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

I'm sad that I don't recall our Servers name, but he was very pleasant, personable, helpful and added to the overall wonderful experience we had. I truly enjoyed myself as did the rest of my party. We also appreciated that the chef provided complimentary appetizer to our group. 5 Stars!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always overlooked...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

We often wonder why we don't return here more often. The food is always excellent and they make excellent drinks. The overall ambience is elegant and somewhat exotic as the interior has always been memorable. At one point in an effort to be truly droll they had illuminated menus as the interior was quite dark. Fine if you were engaging in a tryst, but problematic otherwise. We'll be back...maybe this time sooner than later.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service & Quality

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

One of the best dining experiences I've had anywhere. The variety and quality of the food was excellant and the service was outstnding. Congratulations and please keep up the great work.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Tampa Gem

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

My husband and I had dinner to try some of their many delectable menu choices, and they delivered a superb dining experience - from the efficient and friendly staff to the excellent kitchen. My husband loved the three tempura fried lobster tails and perfectly cooked root vegetables, and I truly enjoyed my meat loaf. The dessert is always the same for us: the donuts. Wow, what a treat with their four dipping sauces. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We started off with the Hemingway Daiqui ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

We started off with the Hemingway Daiquiri which was the best I have had - fresh squeezed juices and high end liquor made a big difference. My grouper and my partners filet were excellent. We finished with the assortment of beignets which were fantastic. Our server was very knowledgeable of the food and its preparation. Overall we were very satisfied with everything and would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just ok - higher expectations!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Thought the food was just good to average. The calamari I did not like at all and it was recommended by our waiter. Tuna tartar was pretty good. Chilean Sea Bass was also just pretty good but the pricing said it should have been great. I didn't find any value or anything that wowed me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

116 is 100% Good

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

My husband and I, as well as a friend had a working lunch here to discuss a new monthly meeting facility and to test Grille 116's lunch menu. Since we have all enjoyed dinner here on several occasions, we knew that their dinner service was top-notch, so we expected that our lunch would be the same - it was, and we are now awaiting the banquet manager's call to see if we can make it our monthly meeting location.

I think their burgers are the best in town - my husband's steak sandwich was delicious - our friend's meat loaf was delectable. The dessert donuts to share among ourselves were tasty and dangerously delicious. All-in-all a very successful outing - we give it 10 points out of 10.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Winner!

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

My husband and I have been here some four times now, thrice for dinner and once for lunch . . . and all have been enjoyable and filled with delectable treats - as diverse as a superb cheeseburger that I crown the best in Tampa, to a wonderful meat loaf and grits, to my husband's salmon with perfectly roasted root vegetables. He had a steak sandwich for lunch that was superbly seasoned with roasted poblanos and jalapenos. However, the surprise was the dessert donuts with four dipping sauces . . . yum! This place is now on our once a week visit list - it is GOOD.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice atmosphere but the food litera ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Very nice atmosphere but the food literally took an entire hour and all we ordered was the calamari. I don't understand what was going on. Maybe they were short-staffed on that particular evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Because one thing about my experience to ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Because one thing about my experience totally overshadows every thing else about my dinner on this evening, let me tell you about it.

I was totally robbed by Grill One Sixteen. I ordered the grilled vegetables. I asked the server (who should get her own paragraph in this poor review) a couple of questions about the entree prior to ordering it. She did not take advantage of that wonderful opportunity to steer me toward something that would be less of a rip off. When it arrived, my mouth dropped. My friend laughed. And we stared at the nonsense that consisted of four asparagus spears, two slices of tomato, a small chunk of broccoli, four baby carrots, about a third of a potato, and a little bit of onion. For this very tiny bit of food, I was charged TWENTY-TWO dollars. Yes. $22.

Over the last week I have made a game of showing people this pic asking people "how much do you think I paid for this plate of food, without the salmon". No one has guessed anything close to $22! Because who would?! It's madness.

The salmon that you see on the side was added to the plate and priced separately. It was NOT included in the $22.

I recognize that this is not an inexpensive restaurant, and I'm cool with that. But really? Let's be serious. $22 for this dish is robbery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Great service, great food, great atmosph ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Great service, great food, great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I decided on the Veggie plate & The lobs ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

I decided on the Veggie plate & The lobster (it melted in my mouth.) Everything was delicious and the service was outstanding. 👍😉

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very nice restaurant!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

My husband and I decided to have our Valentine's Day dinner a day late to avoid the crowds and it was a good thing we did...we were able to enjoy a very nice, quiet and romantic dinner almost to ourselves! The food was fabulous (especially the fried lobster tails!) and our waitress was a GEM!! Just a great Valentine's celebration for both my husband and I! We highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbelievable

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Amazing first time experience. The steak was comparable to Charlie's which says a lot because it was my favorite for a long time. General Mgr took the time to visit with us as he was the one who confirmed my reservation. He also gave us a giftcard to return even though everything was remarkable

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We enjoyed the Mac and cheese eggrolls. Our salads and steaks were good. Bar service was fast. It is a little pricey. Loved the decor

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.