About Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa

612 N. Dale Mabry
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

Grille One Sixteen is a “Freshly Elevated” dining experience from culinary concept, practice, and customer service; wrapped in a “CHIC” and “METROPOLITAN” atmosphere. Grille 116 has put together a menu that is “American Contemporary” and extraordinary. All of the steaks are organic and 100% Hormone Free. Our Fish is locally caught or flown in to provide you with the freshest seafood available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Tuesday: 11:00am to 10:00pm, Wednesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Friday: 11:00am - 12:00am Saturday: 5pm-12:00am Sunday: 5pm-10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 350-0216

Website:
http://www.grilleonesixteen.com/

Executive Chef:
Bryan Gallagher

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bone-In Ribeye - Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa, Tampa, FL
Grilled Shrimp - Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa, Tampa, FL
Mac and Cheese - Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa, Tampa, FL
Grilled Kobe Beef Sliders - Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa, Tampa, FL
Donuts - Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa, Tampa, FL
House Salad - Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa, Tampa, FL
Fried Calamari - Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa, Tampa, FL
Caesar Salad - Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa, Tampa, FL
Tuna Tartare - Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa, Tampa, FL
Kona Steak - Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa, Tampa, FL
Basket Of Fries - Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa, Tampa, FL
NY Strip - Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa, Tampa, FL
Sauteed Mushrooms - Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa, Tampa, FL
Oak Grilled Chicken Breast - Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa, Tampa, FL
Moet & Chandon Imperial Brut Champagne - Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa, Tampa, FL
Flourless Chocolate Hazelnut Mousse Pyramid - Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa, Tampa, FL
Ceviche - Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa, Tampa, FL
Watermelon martini - Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa, Tampa, FL
Grouper Picatta - Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa, Tampa, FL

Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Value
Tampa
Contemporary American
Tampa
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

Romantic (11)
Good for a Date (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
See All
Great for Lunch (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Business Meals (6)
Cozy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Private Room (5)
Fun (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Casual (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
439 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great salads, great burgers, great... pr ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Great salads, great burgers, great... pretty much everything. Easy to get a table at lunch. Very friendly and attentive staff. Lots of restaurant options nearby, but Grille 116 is an excellent value.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

I , am never disappointed with this one ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 28, 2016

I , am never disappointed with this one of an kind dining experience. I love Grill116 please don't change the menu.

Tags: Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVE this place - the food is amazing ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We LOVE this place - the food is amazing - the service unmatched......the only worry I have with a great review is that we will have to wait to get a seat!! Love it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant has made changes that I d ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The restaurant has made changes that I didn't like. My wife and I dined at the restaurant back in 2014 and it was a totally different experience then. The atmosphere was different. Dim lighting with the light up menus was very elegant. The food was better as well. It has lost its edge over other restaurants in that area. It's no different than a Chillis or Applebee's now. We were very disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

It was my first time there, although I h ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 13, 2016

It was my first time there, although I had intended to go sometime. My girlfriend had been previously. They no longer have lit menus, but the food and service was outstanding.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

very nice. the people were great. Food ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 5, 2016

very nice. the people were great. Food was great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner, great and attentive servic ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great dinner, great and attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been dining at this restaurant f ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We have been dining at this restaurant for several years and every time we are impressed with the quality of the food, the quality of the service but more importantly the value it is very difficult for locally owned restaurants to compete with the larger chains but somehow this place managed to do it and they always exceed our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best places to eat in that ar ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 23, 2016

One of the best places to eat in that area! Never disappoints.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great server and fantastic food. So sad ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great server and fantastic food. So sad that they no longer have a location in north Tampa. Will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Burgers, grits were good pleasant ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great Burgers, grits were good pleasant surprise!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I love Grille 116 and eat there often. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 10, 2016

I love Grille 116 and eat there often.

Wonderful food and great service.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was not our first experience at the ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This was not our first experience at the restaurant. Everything was outstanding from the greeting at the door coming in and throughout the meal service. Highly recommended this restaurant to all my friends. Please bring back the fried lobster tails.. Thanks for your great service

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was awesome went to the old o ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This place was awesome went to the old one and just went to the new one love it

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Spicy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Private Room, Fun, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great Beer, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Family Style, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was good. Totally revam ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food and service was good. Totally revamped menu. Was expecting similar to before. Was good but not great like before. Smaller portion sizes, drinks not as ample.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The service and the dessert was excellen ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The service and the dessert was excellent...the rest of the meal was boring. My wife ordered a drink and after taking a sip she didn't like it. Most restaurants would take it off the bill this one didn't (whatever). She wanted to order an apple martini instead but they didn't have the ingredients to make it. My steak was ok, wife had the salmon which was dry. Would only really come back for the dessert which was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Excellent Service and food, I will be th ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Excellent Service and food, I will be there again soon.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Tampa. Pe ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 14, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Tampa. Perfect ambience, great food and service. Kid friendly too. Just love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this restaurant but was disappoi ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I love this restaurant but was disappointed that it was my wife's birthday and they didn't do anything special for her. I told them twice it was her birthday. I thought maybe she would get a free dessert or something.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed this restaurant, the am ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 11, 2016

I really enjoyed this restaurant, the ambiance was beautiful and the prices were a little expensive but, the quality of the food was beyond expectation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service!

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff is very attentive. The food i ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The staff is very attentive. The food is always excellent. You can go dressed up or casual attire. We love everything about the restuarant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit to this local restauran ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 6, 2016

First time visit to this local restaurant. General manage came to visit. Waiter was s little timid but was very attentive. The food was good, but a little more bland then expected. I would return, but hope the choice is better. Salad was good. Overall I wood return. Much better then most.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Very good quality of food. Very well ap ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Very good quality of food. Very well appointed and eye appealing. Excellent value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Everything, Service,Food,and S ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent Everything, Service,Food,and Setting !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere and good food. Server ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great atmosphere and good food. Server very knowledgeable. This was not my first time dining at Grille One-Sixteen and it will definitely not be my last. The only problem is that at times the noise level is high.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We booked this reservation through Open ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 27, 2016

We booked this reservation through Open Table for a birthday dinner. Unfortunately, when we made the reservations we were not advised that there was a "special" event Happy Hour taking place at the same time. Unfortunately, we could not hear each other talk. Not a single word unless we yelled it really loud to each other. It was not a good experience at all. I mean it looked like a great Happy Hour event, unfortunately, we were there just to celebrate birthdays and enjoy a nice meal and catch up with each other. We were unable to do so. We left early because it was just impossible to hear each other over the Happy Hour crowd.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Our server Connor was great. Very patien ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Our server Connor was great. Very patient and answered all of our questions patiently. Food was great, Mojitos awesome.

I just had mojitos and donuts so I was thrilled, but everyone else loved their food. It was my first time there and I loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit and I really e ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was my second visit and I really enjoyed it. It has not been really busy either time that I have been here and I don't understand why. It is a beautiful restaurant, very modern decor. The food and service has been excellent on both occasions. Dan has waited on us both times and he does a fabulous job. I had the Surf and Turf with the Chilean Sea Bass and the Small filet with mushrooms. They were both excellent and the steak was cooked perfectly. I would definitely recommend it to others and will be back again for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place....great prices...amazin ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Love this place....great prices...amazing food...and outstanding service. Will return again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second time dining at Grille ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was my second time dining at Grille One Sixteen - the first time was for dinner and this time was for lunch on Father's Day. The menu was a bit limited for lunch, and our food arrived slightly warm, not hot.

We started out with the seviche, which was good but not great. I had the meatloaf, which as ok.

Our previous dining experience was much better.

The service was attentive & good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server was on top of her game and ve ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our server was on top of her game and very hospitable. She is a gem. The ambiance is exactly as shown on the website, which was my goal in impressing my date. Good work.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food was wonderful and our service w ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our food was wonderful and our service was outstanding. Attention was paid to the fact that the 4 of us were celebrating special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Grat spot

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 10, 2016

I love this restaurant. I am surprised that is not busier. The service is awesome and the food is amazing. I have had several dishes and they have always been delicious. The sangria is very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall excellent

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Very nice atmosphere. Very creative menu. Try the Bacon nachos with Gruyere grits!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dining experience. Staff wa ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Outstanding dining experience. Staff was friendly and food was amazing. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grille 116

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 21, 2016

New York restaurant feel, great service, very good food....and consistent.

If you have not tried....your missing out.

Stop at the bar for an incredible and unique cocktail.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but portion size was weak

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great staff prompt attentive clean however the food portion was very weak for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Outstanding Experience

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Grille One Sixteen is consistently outstanding. The menu features elevated American Contemporary fare complemented by an excellent wine selection, hand-crafted cocktails, and other premium spirits, all served in a chic but comfortable atmosphere with a "metropolitan" feel. The servers are friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. Grille 116 has become my favorite spot for a happy hour or late-night drink and personal and business lunches and dinners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good, not great.

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall, my experience was good enough. Their calamari appetizer included a lot of calamari (enough for 3 or 4 people) and was some of the best I've ever had. Their salted caramel cheesecake was also deeeelicious and was big enough for me to eat half there and half at home; however, I tend to eat small portions. I had the sirloin dinner for an entree and it literally tasted like it was soaked in salt for. . . 10 years. It was so TERRIBLE! My palette was traumatized for the entire day. It was so so so bad, I just cringed remembering the taste. Oh, I also had their "famous" doughnuts which were mediocre, very mediocre. The waitress was pretty underwhelming, but she did her job. It was my birthday and she didn't seem to be interested in that fun tidbit at all. She did, however, put a candle in my dessert (which I asked for). I would probably go back and would definitely recommend it to others. It's very chic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.