About Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa

612 N. Dale Mabry
Tampa, FL 33609
View Larger Map

Grille One Sixteen is a “Freshly Elevated” dining experience from culinary concept, practice, and customer service; wrapped in a “CHIC” and “METROPOLITAN” atmosphere. Grille 116 has put together a menu that is “American Contemporary” and extraordinary. All of the steaks are organic and 100% Hormone Free. Our Fish is locally caught or flown in to provide you with the freshest seafood available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Tuesday: 11:00am to 10:00pm, Wednesday - Thursday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Friday: 11:00am - 12:00am Saturday: 5pm-12:00am Sunday: 5pm-10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 350-0216

Website:
http://www.grilleonesixteen.com/

Executive Chef:
Bryan Gallagher

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Non-Smoking Area, Smoking Area, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Grille One Sixteen - South Tampa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (37)
romantic (33)
fit for foodies (28)
See All
good for groups (27)
vibrant bar scene (16)
hot spot (15)
notable wine list (13)
neighborhood gem (11)
great for lunch (10)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
402 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grille 116

Dined on May 21, 2016

New York restaurant feel, great service, very good food....and consistent. If you have not tried....your missing out. Stop at the bar for an incredible and unique cocktail.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Food was good but portion size was weak

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great staff prompt attentive clean however the food portion was very weak for the money.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

Grille One Sixteen is consistently outstanding. The menu features elevated American Contemporary fare complemented by an excellent wine selection, hand-crafted cocktails, and other premium spirits, all served in a chic but comfortable atmosphere with a "metropolitan" feel. The servers are friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. Grille 116 has become my favorite spot for a happy hour or late-night drink and personal and business lunches and dinners.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good, not great.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall, my experience was good enough. Their calamari appetizer included a lot of calamari (enough for 3 or 4 people) and was some of the best I've ever had. Their salted caramel cheesecake was also deeeelicious and was big enough for me to eat half there and half at home; however, I tend to eat small portions. I had the sirloin dinner for an entree and it literally tasted like it was soaked in salt for. . . 10 years. It was so TERRIBLE! My palette was traumatized for the entire day. It was so so so bad, I just cringed remembering the taste. Oh, I also had their "famous" doughnuts which were mediocre, very mediocre. The waitress was pretty underwhelming, but she did her job. It was my birthday and she didn't seem to be interested in that fun tidbit at all. She did, however, put a candle in my dessert (which I asked for). I would probably go back and would definitely recommend it to others. It's very chic!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Almost perfect

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was fantastic, the service was superb and everything was going extremely well, until the music started. It almost killed the ambiance as it was loud and was almost out of place ...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently Awesome!

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Tampa! We dine here every time we come to Tampa to visit our sons living here. Great bartenders -- love the cocktails. Appetizers and main course of salmon were prepared to perfection! The donuts for dessert are a MUST! The waitstaff is always fun and friendly!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great surprise

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a party of 7 booked on a Saturday evening without much lead time. We got a warm welcome, friendly team service and a great experience. The restaurant has 4 distinct areas: a long row of semi-orivate, apholstered booths, a regular dining area, a bar area with some high top tables, and a private room (looks like another is being added). So when it filled up, it got fairly noisy, but I would call it more like vibrant. The food was really good. We had an order of Nueske bacon as an appetizer... unusual offering, but really tasty. Also tried calamari, which came with a tasy aoli. Everyone loved their entrees, and the shrimp & pasta got passed around and got lots of oohs and ahhs. The wine list was nice and reasonably priced for a restaurant. We went for two orders of the donut desert. Each order was four hot donuts galzed with white choclate, carame, berry and chocolate. Tasted like a kicked up beignet, yummy. We will return if in the area, as this one is a keeper.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

The outside is under construction- it th ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The outside is under construction- it threw us off- thought it was closed- it is very nice inside

food5
ambience5
service5

We had the private room and received gre ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

We had the private room and received great service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best ahi tuna appetizer in my life!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Flatscreens viewable in dining area too away from the ambience. Not EVERYONE is a sports fanatic. For that reason only we won't be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Best sea bass we have ever had. Interest ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Best sea bass we have ever had. Interesting cocktails. Very knowledgable bar staff. Have to try again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it!

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

This was our first visit to Grille One Sixteen but it won't be our last! We really enjoyed our dinners and will make a point to return on our next visit to Tampa!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

Great friendly service. Food was good al ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Great friendly service. Food was good also. Good spot for a small group or date night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the ultra modern decor!

Dined on March 28, 2016

Well other than the fact that the entrance is hard to find, it was fabulous. The door is on the West side and the only way you notice it is the long silver door handle. They told us many people are stumped the first time they come in. We went here for my Birthday and everything was wonderful. The food was delicious. I had the Shrimp Pasta, my sister had the Tempura Lobster tails and another friend had the Chilean Sea Bass. We were all very please with the food and the service. We will definitely be back and introducing it to other friends.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Superb service and excellent mixologist. ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Superb service and excellent mixologist. This is the only place in Tampa that cooks meats and fish to their proper requested temperature -- and this includes Berns, Capitol Grill, Del Frisco, and for fish, Eddie Vs, Osytercatchers, etc.

food3
ambience2
service2

This was the second time we dined here a ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

This was the second time we dined here and I wasn't as impressed as the first time. The service was lacking.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I'm sad that I don't recall our Servers ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

I'm sad that I don't recall our Servers name, but he was very pleasant, personable, helpful and added to the overall wonderful experience we had. I truly enjoyed myself as did the rest of my party. We also appreciated that the chef provided complimentary appetizer to our group. 5 Stars!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always overlooked...

Dined on March 20, 2016

We often wonder why we don't return here more often. The food is always excellent and they make excellent drinks. The overall ambience is elegant and somewhat exotic as the interior has always been memorable. At one point in an effort to be truly droll they had illuminated menus as the interior was quite dark. Fine if you were engaging in a tryst, but problematic otherwise. We'll be back...maybe this time sooner than later.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service & Quality

Dined on March 13, 2016

One of the best dining experiences I've had anywhere. The variety and quality of the food was excellant and the service was outstnding. Congratulations and please keep up the great work.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Tampa Gem

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

My husband and I had dinner to try some of their many delectable menu choices, and they delivered a superb dining experience - from the efficient and friendly staff to the excellent kitchen. My husband loved the three tempura fried lobster tails and perfectly cooked root vegetables, and I truly enjoyed my meat loaf. The dessert is always the same for us: the donuts. Wow, what a treat with their four dipping sauces. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We started off with the Hemingway Daiqui ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

We started off with the Hemingway Daiquiri which was the best I have had - fresh squeezed juices and high end liquor made a big difference. My grouper and my partners filet were excellent. We finished with the assortment of beignets which were fantastic. Our server was very knowledgeable of the food and its preparation. Overall we were very satisfied with everything and would go back again.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Just ok - higher expectations!

Dined on March 4, 2016

Thought the food was just good to average. The calamari I did not like at all and it was recommended by our waiter. Tuna tartar was pretty good. Chilean Sea Bass was also just pretty good but the pricing said it should have been great. I didn't find any value or anything that wowed me.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

116 is 100% Good

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

My husband and I, as well as a friend had a working lunch here to discuss a new monthly meeting facility and to test Grille 116's lunch menu. Since we have all enjoyed dinner here on several occasions, we knew that their dinner service was top-notch, so we expected that our lunch would be the same - it was, and we are now awaiting the banquet manager's call to see if we can make it our monthly meeting location. I think their burgers are the best in town - my husband's steak sandwich was delicious - our friend's meat loaf was delectable. The dessert donuts to share among ourselves were tasty and dangerously delicious. All-in-all a very successful outing - we give it 10 points out of 10.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Winner!

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

My husband and I have been here some four times now, thrice for dinner and once for lunch . . . and all have been enjoyable and filled with delectable treats - as diverse as a superb cheeseburger that I crown the best in Tampa, to a wonderful meat loaf and grits, to my husband's salmon with perfectly roasted root vegetables. He had a steak sandwich for lunch that was superbly seasoned with roasted poblanos and jalapenos. However, the surprise was the dessert donuts with four dipping sauces . . . yum! This place is now on our once a week visit list - it is GOOD.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Very nice atmosphere but the food litera ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Very nice atmosphere but the food literally took an entire hour and all we ordered was the calamari. I don't understand what was going on. Maybe they were short-staffed on that particular evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience3
service1

Because one thing about my experience to ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Because one thing about my experience totally overshadows every thing else about my dinner on this evening, let me tell you about it. I was totally robbed by Grill One Sixteen. I ordered the grilled vegetables. I asked the server (who should get her own paragraph in this poor review) a couple of questions about the entree prior to ordering it. She did not take advantage of that wonderful opportunity to steer me toward something that would be less of a rip off. When it arrived, my mouth dropped. My friend laughed. And we stared at the nonsense that consisted of four asparagus spears, two slices of tomato, a small chunk of broccoli, four baby carrots, about a third of a potato, and a little bit of onion. For this very tiny bit of food, I was charged TWENTY-TWO dollars. Yes. $22. Over the last week I have made a game of showing people this pic asking people "how much do you think I paid for this plate of food, without the salmon". No one has guessed anything close to $22! Because who would?! It's madness. The salmon that you see on the side was added to the plate and priced separately. It was NOT included in the $22. I recognize that this is not an inexpensive restaurant, and I'm cool with that. But really? Let's be serious. $22 for this dish is robbery.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, great food, great atmosph ...

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

Great service, great food, great atmosphere!

food4
ambience5
service5

I decided on the Veggie plate & The lobs ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

I decided on the Veggie plate & The lobster (it melted in my mouth.) Everything was delicious and the service was outstanding. 👍😉

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice restaurant!

Dined on February 15, 2016

My husband and I decided to have our Valentine's Day dinner a day late to avoid the crowds and it was a good thing we did...we were able to enjoy a very nice, quiet and romantic dinner almost to ourselves! The food was fabulous (especially the fried lobster tails!) and our waitress was a GEM!! Just a great Valentine's celebration for both my husband and I! We highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unbelievable

Dined on February 15, 2016

Amazing first time experience. The steak was comparable to Charlie's which says a lot because it was my favorite for a long time. General Mgr took the time to visit with us as he was the one who confirmed my reservation. He also gave us a giftcard to return even though everything was remarkable

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Very good

Dined on February 14, 2016

We enjoyed the Mac and cheese eggrolls. Our salads and steaks were good. Bar service was fast. It is a little pricey. Loved the decor

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

very nice restaurant to eat at

Dined on February 14, 2016

a very nice restaurant to relax enjoy food the lobster fried lobster tails was excellent

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Usually great, but this was a bad night

Dined on February 14, 2016

This is one of our favorite places but this was a bad night. The waitress just didn't want to be there (forgot to bring us something 3 times, wasn't very welcoming) and the food was just so so (steak was cooked too hot so outside was charred and inside was pink, seasoned veggies had obviously been sitting around for a while, and the house salad was much smaller than how they usually plate it). I'm usually so full I have to debate on if I can order the donuts but the portions we much smaller on this night so I was still hungry after an appetizer, salad and steak entree. We also felt really rushed. Such a shame because we really love the service and food here on any other night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

My wife and I went here for Valetines 20 ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I went here for Valetines 2016. It was a decent dining experience, but nothing too remarkable that makes us want to make it a regular spot. The good - The donuts! And if there was anything else better than average, I guess it would be the ambiance and atmosphere. The lighting and seating were very nice for a romantic dinner. The volume was just right - not too quiet, not loud at all. Some of the menu items were also unique or had a nice twist which made me want to try a few different things. The so-so - The service, the food, and whatever else I forget to mention (because it was that so-so). The menu didn't have many vegetable options. The ribeye was a bit bland and undercooked (for medium). The lobster tempura was nothing special. (...I thought everything is better fried - I found out not everything.) Now those are not negatives, just that if I wait any longer to write this review, I might forget what everything is like. Keep in mind, that is definitely better than a memorable bad experience. For this price, you WANT to remember how good the dinner was. Unfortunately, it just didn't make its mark. The bad - Nothing really. Maybe that there were just two vegetable options available that night - the root vegetable medley and the asparagus ("for an upcharge" as we were constantly reminded).

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Major bummer

Dined on February 14, 2016

Valentine's Day prices were inflated well above the usual dinner prices. $12 for two scallops, each the size of a 50 cent piece - ridiculous!! Ordered ribs -they were cool, approaching cold. Fries were over-seasoned/over-salted. Steak was ordered medium-well but served medium-rare. Staff seemed to be in a big hurry to get us out the door - service was very fast, dishes were removed before the meal was completely finished, as was the bill (we were there in the mid-afternoon, before the dinner rush). One of my favorite restaurants, food and service are usually outstanding (although not the first time I've been served cool ribs). Hoping this was just a hiccup, but one more experience like this past one and it will be my last visit, ever.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice Spot for an Elegant meal.

Dined on February 14, 2016

I wasn't sure what to expect when I found Grille One Sixteen. It was the only place I could find for Valentine's Night but I was happy to have my late reservation for four. We were seated when our party of four was complete, and marveled at the decor, it truly is one of a kind. Our waitress was sweet, but it was hard to hear her over every one in the place, the noise level was exceedingly loud, and I admit I was surprised that such a venue had tv's over the bar. SInce it was the night folks were celebrating Valentine's night, there were buckets of Champagne set up in places, and some tables had rose petals sprinkled over them for a quaint touch. We were surprised that we got our salads and appetizers before our drinks, but the drinks were worth waiting for. Our food was delicious from the scallops to the steaks everything was absolutely amazing. I would recommend anyone come here for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Surf and turf was delicious! Service was ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Surf and turf was delicious! Service was very attentive and spot on! Loved all the cocktail choices!! Everything was very good! Can't wait to go back! 👍😉

food4
ambience2
service2

Thought we'd see what the hubbub was all ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Thought we'd see what the hubbub was all about. Loud, dark, stark bare walls, and inexperienced servers. We had scallops and sea bass. Good, but the fish filet was particularly small, most unworthy given it was one of the most expensive entrées on the menu. Likely won't return. Over a dozen better restaurants within a mile.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Drinks are amazing and fo ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Great service. Drinks are amazing and food you'll remember

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

Dined on January 25, 2016

Perfect place for a quiet lunch. Excellent food and excellent service. Very modern feel inside.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.