About Grille 29

Located in the heart of Providence in Huntsville, Alabama, Grille 29 offers diners a wide variety of dinner choices in a classy comfortable atmosphere. The specialties of the house are in the "From the Grille" menu section with tender cuts like our 8 oz. Filet Mignon and 12 oz. New York Strip Steak. Coupled with Shrimp with Jumbo Lump Crab Meat or broiled Jumbo Scallops, these savory and hearty entrees are uniquely presented and prepared to your liking. The stylish all wood bar at Grille 29 features full liquor service and is manned by some of the area's most professional and courteous bartenders. The wine list consists of 104 varieties of bottled wine, 52 of which are available by the glass. The enticing signature Martinis and cocktails enhance your overall dining experience. Make new friends and enjoy a drink at the bar or meet with old friends for drinks in the relaxing lounge.

445 Providence Main Street, Ste 101
Huntsville, AL 35806
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week for Lunch & Dinner

Lunch: Everyday (7 days per week) 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm

Saturday: 10:00am - 10:30pm
Sunday : 10:00am - 9:00pm
*Brunch Menu only available on Saturday and Sunday from 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Please note that we are closed on: New Years Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day, 4th of July, Thanksgiving, and Christmas.

Cross Street:
Hwy 72

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 489-9470

Website:
http://www.grille29.com/

Entertainment:
-

Catering:
Grille 29 has quickly become the leader in upscale dining in Northern Alabama. As a seven- time winner of the Taste of Huntsville, Grille 29 has earned a solid reputation for excellence and menu creativity. Our Executive Chef has kept the ever-changing menu fresh,innovative, and current. We are excited about providing the same elegant experience in the comfort of your office, home, private event venue, or wherever your special occasion takes us. Our Catering program is designed to bring our professional services to you.

Parking Details:
-

Public Transit:
-

Executive Chef:
-

Private Party Facilities:
Grille 29 is the perfect place for your gatherings from 10 to 200 people. With a large banquet room and a classy, yet comfortable feeling, Grille 29 is ready to take your reservation for any occasion. Club meetings, family reunions and office parties are all reasons to choose Grille 29.

Private Party Contact:
Regina Burnett: (256) 489-9476

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Grille 29 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (72)
Special Occasion (70)
Good for Anniversaries (63)
See All
Business Meals (48)
Quiet Conversation (47)
Romantic (46)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Great for Brunch (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Good for Groups (31)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Worth the Drive (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Cozy (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Great for Lunch (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Casual (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Bar Seating (14)
People Watching (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Healthy (10)
Authentic (10)
Fun (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Private Room (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Live Music (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Scenic View (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Family Style (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
2047 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was bland and my steak was over cooked. Servers spilt two of my drinks in a row and it's kinda overpriced.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 13, 2017

"A Must" Huntsville destination - Excellent food, service & ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 12, 2017

first visit- had a great meal and the menu had a nice variety. Grille 29 is located in a vibrant area. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Was able to get in and out with great and speedy service for a dinner stop after work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Excellent food and service. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 9, 2017

It was just okay....neither good or bad! Their service was decent. I enjoy their dinner but brunch was.....just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 9, 2017

First time having brunch here and it was wonderful. Our server, Jennifer B., was phenomenal and attentive. She kept the mimosas flowing! The food was stellar (try the white corn grits) and everything was cooked well and came out in a timely manner. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Guys, the food is NOT good. It's way overrated, the ribs were more roast beef than ribs, the green beans were way undercooked, my wife's pasta dish was NOT good, Gordon Ramsey would have an absolute field day with your restaurant! I look at restaurants like this, ok, you got me for a meal, meaning one meal. If it's good, I come back. If it's not, you never get another dime out of me! We will NOT be back. You lose my business and that of my friends for ever! Too many other great places to eat with great food! Just because you're in Providence really means nothing to me. Sorry guys, you've got some serious problems in my opinion! On a positive note, the calamari starter was very good! As well as the garlic mash potatoes! But you'd have to try hard to screw up mash potatoes! That was it! We will not be back! Not sure how you've made it this far but good luck to you! You might continue on with someone else's money, but not mine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food was very good. My date and I ordered the filet and I got the grill 29. It was good but over cooked. I asked for medium rare and the waiter said they cook them pretty red at medium rare. I like it with a lot of pink and maybe a hint of red. but it came cooked all the way thru with a tiny,tiny bit of pink. basically no pink. It was good but too done for me. My date's was fine, medium. We both like them the same way. The veggies are good but a salad and a side should come with a $39 steak. The appetizer was very good, a flatbread cheese thing. Service was good but they didn't bring another basket of bread that we would have liked. Bread was very good, just needed some more. Would maybe come back but I would not settle for a steak like that again for $39.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The ginger lime sea bass is outstanding, as well as the scallops and salmon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Out of town guests accompanied us for this reservation. Food and service was great as usual. Special was superb! Thanks

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Good solid meal but not knock your socks off great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Wait staff needs more training! Egg whites were raw.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Stuffed Sea Scallops and
Grouper Oscar, known as one of the (100 foods to eat before you die) and as a dessert Chocolate Peanut butter truffle and creme brulee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great service! Great food! Chocolate soufflé oh my! Great atmosphere!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We went to celebrate our 22nd Anniversary. It was great. We had lobster bisque, calamari, herb roasted chicken and the beef short ribs. Waiter was very attentive. We'll definitely go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We celebrated my birthday with friends. Three of the four had salmon, which is my 'usual'. I had a side order of grits. Our friend, a meat and potatoes man, tasted them and then asked for more. All our entrees were delicious. The waiter was very attentive and had the bar make a dessert drink for me that is no longer on the menu. A very special meal!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great service at both the bar and at our table. Waiters/Bartenders were very personable and knowledgeable. The food was outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 29, 2017

General ambiance - It was a little slow that night, but the noise level was quiet and allowed conversation to be had at the table without having to yell.

Service - Our server was named Potter and he did a great job. Personable and attentive without being smothering or bothersome. Allowed us time to enjoy our meal and didn't try to 'shoo' us out.

Pre dinner - Martinis were good, a hair more vermouth I would prefer but I imagine most people would be happy with them. Of the appetizers, the fire cracker shrimp was the best. Good flavor, nice texture.

Soup/Salad - Lobster bisque was overly salty. Wedge salad was fresh and crisp though.

Main Course - NY Strip was extremely tender and flavorful. Oscar grouper was moist and well cooked but, for the price, the portion is a little small. Really enjoyed the cheese grits.

Dessert - Lemon Curd Lava cake was a nice refreshing dessert. Would have preferred a little more berry sauce or a few more berries on the plate as they balance the lemon nicely.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Everything was nicely plated and arrived at the table in a timely manner for a weekday lunch.
I order the Group Oscar ( grouper, lump crab, white corn cheese grits, grilled asparagus and hollandaise) and was disappointed in what was advertised as a signature dish. The hollandaise was a poor representative of "hollandaise"......it was yellow but NO FLAVOR AT ALL. A squeeze of 2 lemon wedges helped. The cheese grits were very sweet and did not add to the dish. The chocolate souffle was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food was good, but there are definitely other restaurants in Huntsville that are superior when it comes to price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Amazing food and wait staff. The gorgonzola fondue is an absolute must here!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Excellent food with excellent server(Darryl). Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We enjoyed father's day brunch so much we came back with family before we left town. The menu was simple and perfect. The service was above and beyond. The dessert was excellent. We would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Wonderful place for lunch. Menu was interesting and had something for everyone, our server was fantastic and the cheese grits are a must!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Excellent service fantastic food stuffed scallops for Superior to anything that's been served in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We celebrated Father's Day lunch at Grille 29. We both ordered the Grouper Oscar , asparagus with hollandaise sauce and cheesy grits . We also had appetizers of truffle deviled eggs,escargot, and lobster bisque soup. The lobster bisque soup was especially delicious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We made a reservation for father's day because we would be in the area. The service was absolutely above and beyond. They opened at 10 and the line out the door was handled quickly and efficiently. There was enough staff to accommodate the full restaurant within minutes of opening.
Our food was delicious. The atmosphere was delightful. Overall fantastic Fathers Day brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I took my boyfriend there for brunch and we loved it. He said he wanted us to come back for a date night. The 29 cent mimosas were fantastic!
I am glad I made a reservation a few days in advance because as soon as they opened the doors, they were booked until 3pm.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food and even better service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Been here many times. First time ever we complained. Wife ordered the fillet medium well. It came out raw. They did nothing on the bill. We paid in full

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Steak was well cooked but had no flavor to it at all. The "intense steak butter" had no flavor. Garlic mashed potatoes had no flavor. Ordered 2 bayou bloody Mary's that said on the menu was served with lemon, lime, pickled green beans, olives, shrimp, and sausage for $14. Neither drinks had all of the following. The first only had shrimp and sausage. Second drink had shrimp sausage and a lime wedge. No olives or pickled green beans.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The food is usually pretty good. The service can be disgenuine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The best firecracker shrimp you will ever eat. My filet was perfect and my husband had the Grouper and he said it was fabulous. Great dining experience for our anniversary. We will be back.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I love Grille29 brunch menu!!! On this visit, I was there for my birthday.... I have a few guest with me that have never been to Grille29. I gave 3 stars for food and service because it took forever for our food to come out. It was tables that came in after we ordered and they received their food before us. The waitress was very nice and never left us with an empty glass

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We love Grill 29. Great food, service and most friendly folks. It is our favorite place for lunch or dinner. I love quite, and grill 29 is the most pleasant, quite atmosphere yet. Thanks for a wonderful experience, time after time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Our fave place for lunch or brunch as well as dinner when we are in the Huntsville area. The Orange Beach Salad is a beautifully presented, generous serving of shrimp, avocados, etc. and makes a great summer lunch. I also recommend the Lobster Bisque as well as the Wild Mushroom Risotto. The piece de resistance is the Grouper Oscar topped with lump crab meat and asparagus. I have never tasted a dish at Grille 29 that was not excellent. The restaurant is truly "fit for foodies." The ambiance is delightful, and the service is superb. I highly recommend Grille 29.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 6, 2017

This was a great place to take a business client. The menu had many options and the quality was outstanding. They also had a nice size wine list.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Excellent food. Thanks again for another great lunch experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.