About Grille 29

445 Providence Main Street, Ste 101
Huntsville, AL 35806
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Providence in Huntsville, Alabama, Grille 29 offers diners a wide variety of dinner choices in a classy comfortable atmosphere. The specialties of the house are in the "From the Grille" menu section with tender cuts like our 8 oz. Filet Mignon and 12 oz. New York Strip Steak. Coupled with Shrimp with Jumbo Lump Crab Meat or broiled Jumbo Scallops, these savory and hearty entrees are uniquely presented and prepared to your liking. The stylish all wood bar at Grille 29 features full liquor service and is manned by some of the area's most professional and courteous bartenders. The wine list consists of 104 varieties of bottled wine, 52 of which are available by the glass. The enticing signature Martinis and cocktails enhance your overall dining experience. Make new friends and enjoy a drink at the bar or meet with old friends for drinks in the relaxing lounge.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week for Lunch & Dinner

Lunch: Everyday (7 days per week) 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm

Sunday : 10:00am - 9:00pm
*Brunch Menu only available on Sunday from 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Please note that we are closed on: New Years Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day, 4th of July, Thanksgiving, and Christmas.

Cross Street:
Hwy 72

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 489-9470

Website:
http://www.grille29.com/

Entertainment:
-

Catering:
Grille 29 has quickly become the leader in upscale dining in Northern Alabama. As a seven- time winner of the Taste of Huntsville, Grille 29 has earned a solid reputation for excellence and menu creativity. Our Executive Chef has kept the ever-changing menu fresh,innovative, and current. We are excited about providing the same elegant experience in the comfort of your office, home, private event venue, or wherever your special occasion takes us. Our Catering program is designed to bring our professional services to you.

Parking Details:
-

Public Transit:
-

Executive Chef:
-

Private Party Facilities:
Grille 29 is the perfect place for your gatherings from 10 to 200 people. With a large banquet room and a classy, yet comfortable feeling, Grille 29 is ready to take your reservation for any occasion. Club meetings, family reunions and office parties are all reasons to choose Grille 29.

Private Party Contact:
Regina Burnett: 256-489-9476x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Peanut Butter Truffle
Peanut Butter Mousse
Gorgonzola Bread Sticks
Grouper Oscar
Fish and Chips
Short Ribs
Ahi tuna
Raspberry Chocolate Mousse
Crab Cakes Egg Benedict
egg sandwich
Cheesecake
Cowboy Ribeye
Burlee Trio
Gruyere Mushroom Burger
Lobster Pot Pie
Vegetable Frittata
Roast Beef Hash
Chicken and Waffles
Peanut Butter & Chocolate Mousse
Short Rib Tacos
Firecracker Shrimp
Roast Half Duck
Tiramisu
The Girl Scouts of North America Samoas Cheesecake
Smoked Salmon Flatbread
Appetizer Sampler
Lobster and Shrimp Flatbread
Beet Salad
Talipia
Georges Bank Sea Scallops
Scottish Salmon Brulée
Rootbeer Float Cheesecake
Hunan Acadian Redfish
Block Island Swordfish
Tilapia w/ a Sauce Vierge, Grilled Polenta & Asparagus
Carrot Cake
Gorgonzola Fondue
Caramel Mousse Pyramid
Banana Split Cheesecake
Warm Sour Cream Fudge Cake
Filet 29
Sirloin Steak
Grand Marnier French Toast
Local Strawberry & Goat Cheese Salad With Blackened Salmon
Bourbon Filet Tips
Fried Redfish
Sesame Crusted Tuna
Filet Mingon
salmon eggs benedict
Escargot
Halibet Fish

Grille 29 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Alabama
Most Booked
Alabama
Best Overall
Huntsville
6 More
Best Food
Huntsville
Best Service
Huntsville
Best Ambiance
Huntsville
Best Value
Huntsville
Special Occasion
Huntsville
Most Booked
Huntsville
Best Restaurants in Huntsville ›

special occasion (100)
romantic (78)
fit for foodies (53)
See All
good for groups (52)
neighborhood gem (49)
great for outdoor dining (45)
great for lunch (45)
great for brunch (42)
notable wine list (32)
hot spot (17)
scenic view (9)
kid-friendly (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1614 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I am not sure I can find the words to ex ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 3 days ago

I am not sure I can find the words to express how impressed I was with Grille 29. We (a party of 4) were seated immediately upon arrival at our reservation time. There were so many delicious choices on the menu that it was difficult to decide what to have. We settled on the tuna appetizer and steaks for our entrees. The tuna could not have been more perfect. Next time, we will order at least one more because we were all sad when it was gone.

The filets were ordered medium rare and cooked perfectly. While they were spectacular, the real stars were the NY Strip and the white corn cheese grits. The flavor of the strip was heavenly. The grits were the best I've ever tasted, and I'm a connoisseur of grits. They weren't too fine, too coarse, too thin, too dry, too sticky, or too lumpy. They were perfection. Grits are much more difficult to do correctly than most people realize which means there are many restaurants that serve bad grits. Grille 29 has a professional in the kitchen and the result is evident in every aspect of what's served.

Speaking of service, you won't be disappointed. It's excellent without being intrusive.

We reserved a table here because another popular, highly-rated restaurant was full. Next time, Grille 29 will be my first choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food at Grille 29 in Providence is a ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food at Grille 29 in Providence is always great, and the atmosphere is really nice. Whether it's a special occasion, or just dinner with friends, I would highly recommend Grille 29.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, food and location.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great service, food and location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great dinner to come upon while i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

What a great dinner to come upon while in Huntsville. We had quick service and a nice wine selection to complement our fish dishes. My co worker had sea bass and i had the ahi tuna (waiter recommendation). Both of us were pleased and would go back again!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly staff and excellent food.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 6 days ago

Friendly staff and excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wedding Anniversary celebration. We tho ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 7 days ago

Wedding Anniversary celebration. We thought the food was fairly good but did not justify the hype of being a star restaurant. Maybe it is partly because of the location but the prices were way too high for the environment and the quality of food. The service was fairly good. There were only four other customers there while we were there. I think this is understandable because of their unreasonably high prices. Atmosphere was OK but hardly impressive. Do yourself a favor and look for better value for your restaurant spending, I know we will. Overall we were disappointed. We have lived in Village of Providence for over eleven years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Somewhat underwhelmed by Grille 29. The ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Somewhat underwhelmed by Grille 29. The interior is very spacious and has a nice vibe. The service was very good. I think it's the food that's the problem. Not that it isn't prepared well, it's very good. It's just...safe, I suppose would be the best way to put it. There isn't anything going on here that can't be found in some form in other places nearby. The skill needed to pull off something more creative is there, but it doesn't seem like it's being utilized. I came to this restaurant expecting something more daring, and instead I got a well-executed, tasty, and still somehow boring meal. In a town like Huntsville, truly unique offerings are in very short supply. I was hoping this would be a rare standout, and although I now know it's good for a solid dinner, I didn't experience anything that hooked me.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We came here for our anniversary. It was ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We came here for our anniversary. It was possibly some of the best food we have ever eaten! Great service and the ambiance was perfect for our date night!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Service was very good. ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was great. Service was very good. I had a tuna that was spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great Service and Great food. The fille ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great Service and Great food. The fillet is outstanding, but I've had amazing fish as well. Save room for dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

met some friends for lunch - wonderful t ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

met some friends for lunch - wonderful treat came out from the chef, then lunch was excellent!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good and very good service ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was very good and very good service. Thanks!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grille 29 is always wonderful. $0.29 mi ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Grille 29 is always wonderful. $0.29 mimosas! There's nothing else to say. Would dine again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not to be overly repetitive, but another ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Not to be overly repetitive, but another wonderful dining experience at Grill 29..!! Had the pork chop.....tender, juicy...melted in my mouth. My wife and guest were equally pleased with their dinner...scallops and grouper oscar, respectively. Can't wait to go back....!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was excellent. The wine list w ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was excellent. The wine list was very good. My family enjoyed the meal very much.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We celebrated my parents 60th birthdays ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We celebrated my parents 60th birthdays with a group of 16. Wait staff was friendly, attentive, and quick. Even thought ahead and brought the child plates with soups and salads. Food was amazing! Loved the truffle deviled eggs and the crab cakes. Leftovers that were taken home heated up nicely and tasted just as good. Manager made an appearance, took care of a few needs of our guests, and told my parents happy birthday. Everyone enjoyed the dinner party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was superb. Service was friendly a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Steak was superb. Service was friendly and impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the first time in recent memory I le ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

For the first time in recent memory I left a restaurant stating I would NEVER return! Food was grossly overpriced, service mediocre and ambiance only OK! Upon further reflection my impression has not changed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I have gone to Grille 29 numerous times ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I have gone to Grille 29 numerous times for various occasions and have found it to consistently maintain excellence in food, service and ambiance. It is relaxing and easy to take to fellow diners. I would recommend it hands down.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent, along with the fo ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service was excellent, along with the food. Grille 29 never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was outstanding, and the foo ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The service was outstanding, and the food was excellent. Overall it was a great experience for our anniversary dinner.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first visit was for a birthday lunch ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My first visit was for a birthday lunch with my wife Everything was great.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved sitting outside hearing the music! ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Loved sitting outside hearing the music!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The quality of the food has definitely d ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The quality of the food has definitely declined. This was one of our favorites, but now it is not really worth the cost anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Service was fantastic and the server was ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Service was fantastic and the server was very knowledgable. The food was wonderful and fresh! The scallops are a must get!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was my first time dining at Grille 29 an ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Was my first time dining at Grille 29 and could not have picked a better location for our business dinner. The service and food were exceptional. Would recommend this restaurant without exception.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I visited Grille 29 on 06/28 ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

My wife and I visited Grille 29 on 06/28/2016 to celebrate our 36th wedding anniversary. We had an overall very enjoyable experience. I had the grouper which was good, but the cheese grits, which I substituted for the rice, were outstanding. My wife had the stuffed scallops - enormous and very good. We both ordered dessert and were pleased with our selections: bread pudding and the chocolate peanut butter truffle. Our waiter, Devon, was attentive to our needs without being obtrusive; I would request him again. We will be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time for brunch and it was fabulou ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

First time for brunch and it was fabulous! Our waiter was excellent! We had supper the previous night and the food was so yummy!! It was kind of loud that night and hard to here our waiter or carry on a conversation, it hasn't been like that on our previous visits or was not like that at brunch

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to grille 29 several times a ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I have been to grille 29 several times and had a great food experience each time. This time, I had a space for a dessert. The chocolate shuffle is so tasty. I liked it so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Grill 29 is one of our favorites. We us ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Grill 29 is one of our favorites. We usually dine there two times per month.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

For my wife's salmon brûlée, she thought ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

For my wife's salmon brûlée, she thought the salmon was a tad dry. I got a special featuring salmon and a seaweed 'topping'; in hindsight I would have rather had the brûlée, but it was worth a try. Two others in our party had only positive things to say about their food.

Our only significant complaint was that our waiter would be absent for what felt like conspicuously long intervals, in particular when we wished to pay and leave. Otherwise, we enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Disappointing visit. We'd been here bef ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Disappointing visit. We'd been here before (maybe a handful of times), but I'm not sure we'll be back. For starters -- our reserved table was right at the entrance -- and across the aisle from a couple who had brought their fussy toddler to dinner. I get it -- it was Father's Day, but the restaurant staff should have put a family WITHOUT kids elsewhere without being prompted. When I asked if we could have a different seat -- the hostess put us next to the kitchen. The food was fine -- not great -- and the service was fine -- also not great. I was disappointed that when our server packed my leftovers, he left quite a bit of the food on the plate -- not such a big deal, except that I paid nearly $30 for what amounted to roast beef and mashed potatoes (the boneless short rib entree was nothing special). I guess with the price point of this restaurant, I expect to be a little more impressed. The three seafood entrees ordered by the rest of our party were reported to be tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Do not let your waitperson convince you ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Do not let your waitperson convince you that tilefish (generic term for several different fish species I later learned) is a good substitute for grouper when you order their famous Grouper Oscar, because it is not. Grouper has large flakey white meat with a delicate, almost sweet taste. Whatever it was on my plate, it was grey, rubbery and had an oily taste. Shame, because the wife and I have always enjoyed their products in the past, though I must admit their Lobster Bisque is amongst the best I've ever had.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Grille 29 has lost it's flair. We did n ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Grille 29 has lost it's flair. We did not really want anything from the lunch/brunch menu and asked if we could see the dinner menu.

Due to policy, we were not able to order from the dinner menu with less than 1 hour left during lunch. Only the highest steak on the dinner menu could be ordered.......Really!! Definitely need to reconsider that policy. Our final bill would have been much more than it was.

The shrimp and grits had about 4 shrimp and an abundance of sausage and sauce with grits.

Grille 29 is definitely not what it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Very good experience and treat for my hu ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very good experience and treat for my husband for Father'S Day

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I made reservations and took my father t ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I made reservations and took my father to Grill 29 for Father's Day. The restaurant was crowded and we were seated 15 minutes after arriving in what looked like an overflow or meeting room. Our waitress was nice and efficient, but very soft spoken. We both ordered unsweetened tea, and the took our order without comment. When the tea arrived, it turned out to be some kind of black current/blackberry-flavored concoction with a metallic flavor, which we didn't enjoy. Turn out they don't serve regular brewed tea–would have been nice to know up front. The meals were delicious, but the service was slow possibly because it was Father's Day. We found it difficult to talk while we waited because the room was extremely loud. I would go back for the food, but I'd rather sit in the main dining room.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I have been going to Grille 29 for nine ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I have been going to Grille 29 for nine years. Best restaurant in Huntsville. Always consistently great food, atmosphere and service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The kitchen knows how to cook fish. We ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The kitchen knows how to cook fish. We also had a delightful octopus appetizer. Salads are fresh if predictable. Shrimp was firm, fresh, and hot in the pasta.

Server was a bit intrusive, interrupting a few times. Courses came early, that is, one course came before we were through with the previous. Got the check early. He was effusive and trying to please. Needs some coaching.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

This was another great experience at Gri ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was another great experience at Grille 29. We made our reservations through Open Table as usual and requested a quiet spot near the bar and that is exactly what we got. Jody, our server, was tops. I had the crab cakes and my wife had the filet and both were outstanding. The bartender also make a great Manhattan and Olde Fashion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and our server re ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was excellent and our server really went above and beyond our expectations

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.