About Grille 29

445 Providence Main Street, Ste 101
Huntsville, AL 35806
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Providence in Huntsville, Alabama, Grille 29 offers diners a wide variety of dinner choices in a classy comfortable atmosphere. The specialties of the house are in the "From the Grille" menu section with tender cuts like our 8 oz. Filet Mignon and 12 oz. New York Strip Steak. Coupled with Shrimp with Jumbo Lump Crab Meat or broiled Jumbo Scallops, these savory and hearty entrees are uniquely presented and prepared to your liking. The stylish all wood bar at Grille 29 features full liquor service and is manned by some of the area's most professional and courteous bartenders. The wine list consists of 104 varieties of bottled wine, 52 of which are available by the glass. The enticing signature Martinis and cocktails enhance your overall dining experience. Make new friends and enjoy a drink at the bar or meet with old friends for drinks in the relaxing lounge.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week for Lunch & Dinner

Lunch: Everyday (7 days per week) 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm

Sunday : 10:00am - 9:00pm
*Brunch Menu only available on Sunday from 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Please note that we are closed on: New Years Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day, 4th of July, Thanksgiving, and Christmas.

Cross Street:
Hwy 72

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 489-9470

Website:
http://www.grille29.com/

Entertainment:
-

Catering:
Grille 29 has quickly become the leader in upscale dining in Northern Alabama. As a seven- time winner of the Taste of Huntsville, Grille 29 has earned a solid reputation for excellence and menu creativity. Our Executive Chef has kept the ever-changing menu fresh,innovative, and current. We are excited about providing the same elegant experience in the comfort of your office, home, private event venue, or wherever your special occasion takes us. Our Catering program is designed to bring our professional services to you.

Parking Details:
-

Public Transit:
-

Executive Chef:
-

Private Party Facilities:
Grille 29 is the perfect place for your gatherings from 10 to 200 people. With a large banquet room and a classy, yet comfortable feeling, Grille 29 is ready to take your reservation for any occasion. Club meetings, family reunions and office parties are all reasons to choose Grille 29.

Private Party Contact:
Regina Burnett: 256-489-9476x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Peanut Butter Truffle
Cowboy Ribeye
Peanut Butter Mousse
Gorgonzola Bread Sticks
Grouper Oscar
Fish and Chips
Short Ribs
Ahi tuna
Raspberry Chocolate Mousse
Crab Cakes Egg Benedict
egg sandwich
Cheesecake
Burlee Trio
Gruyere Mushroom Burger
Lobster Pot Pie
Vegetable Frittata
Roast Beef Hash
Peanut Butter & Chocolate Mousse
Short Rib Tacos
Chicken and Waffles
Firecracker Shrimp
Roast Half Duck
Tiramisu
The Girl Scouts of North America Samoas Cheesecake
Smoked Salmon Flatbread
Appetizer Sampler
Lobster and Shrimp Flatbread
Beet Salad
Talipia
Georges Bank Sea Scallops
Scottish Salmon Brulée
Rootbeer Float Cheesecake
Hunan Acadian Redfish
Block Island Swordfish
Tilapia w/ a Sauce Vierge, Grilled Polenta & Asparagus
Carrot Cake
Gorgonzola Fondue
Caramel Mousse Pyramid
Banana Split Cheesecake
Warm Sour Cream Fudge Cake
Filet 29
Sirloin Steak
Grand Marnier French Toast
Local Strawberry & Goat Cheese Salad With Blackened Salmon
Bourbon Filet Tips
Fried Redfish
Sesame Crusted Tuna
Filet Mingon
salmon eggs benedict
Escargot
Halibet Fish

Grille 29 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Alabama
Most Booked
Alabama
Best Overall
Huntsville
7 More
Best Food
Huntsville
Best Service
Huntsville
Best Ambiance
Huntsville
Best Value
Huntsville
Romantic
Huntsville
Special Occasion
Huntsville
Most Booked
Huntsville
Best Restaurants in Huntsville ›

special occasion (98)
romantic (70)
good for groups (52)
See All
fit for foodies (47)
great for outdoor dining (46)
great for lunch (45)
neighborhood gem (44)
great for brunch (44)
notable wine list (31)
hot spot (17)
kid-friendly (8)
scenic view (8)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1585 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time for brunch and it was fabulou ...

Dined 3 days ago

First time for brunch and it was fabulous! Our waiter was excellent! We had supper the previous night and the food was so yummy!! It was kind of loud that night and hard to here our waiter or carry on a conversation, it hasn't been like that on our previous visits or was not like that at brunch

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2

For my wife's salmon brûlée, she thought ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

For my wife's salmon brûlée, she thought the salmon was a tad dry. I got a special featuring salmon and a seaweed 'topping'; in hindsight I would have rather had the brûlée, but it was worth a try. Two others in our party had only positive things to say about their food. Our only significant complaint was that our waiter would be absent for what felt like conspicuously long intervals, in particular when we wished to pay and leave. Otherwise, we enjoyed ourselves.

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Disappointing visit. We'd been here bef ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Disappointing visit. We'd been here before (maybe a handful of times), but I'm not sure we'll be back. For starters -- our reserved table was right at the entrance -- and across the aisle from a couple who had brought their fussy toddler to dinner. I get it -- it was Father's Day, but the restaurant staff should have put a family WITHOUT kids elsewhere without being prompted. When I asked if we could have a different seat -- the hostess put us next to the kitchen. The food was fine -- not great -- and the service was fine -- also not great. I was disappointed that when our server packed my leftovers, he left quite a bit of the food on the plate -- not such a big deal, except that I paid nearly $30 for what amounted to roast beef and mashed potatoes (the boneless short rib entree was nothing special). I guess with the price point of this restaurant, I expect to be a little more impressed. The three seafood entrees ordered by the rest of our party were reported to be tasty.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Do not let your waitperson convince you ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Do not let your waitperson convince you that tilefish (generic term for several different fish species I later learned) is a good substitute for grouper when you order their famous Grouper Oscar, because it is not. Grouper has large flakey white meat with a delicate, almost sweet taste. Whatever it was on my plate, it was grey, rubbery and had an oily taste. Shame, because the wife and I have always enjoyed their products in the past, though I must admit their Lobster Bisque is amongst the best I've ever had.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Grille 29 has lost it's flair. We did n ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Grille 29 has lost it's flair. We did not really want anything from the lunch/brunch menu and asked if we could see the dinner menu. Due to policy, we were not able to order from the dinner menu with less than 1 hour left during lunch. Only the highest steak on the dinner menu could be ordered.......Really!! Definitely need to reconsider that policy. Our final bill would have been much more than it was. The shrimp and grits had about 4 shrimp and an abundance of sausage and sauce with grits. Grille 29 is definitely not what it used to be.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good experience and treat for my hu ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Very good experience and treat for my husband for Father'S Day

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I made reservations and took my father t ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I made reservations and took my father to Grill 29 for Father's Day. The restaurant was crowded and we were seated 15 minutes after arriving in what looked like an overflow or meeting room. Our waitress was nice and efficient, but very soft spoken. We both ordered unsweetened tea, and the took our order without comment. When the tea arrived, it turned out to be some kind of black current/blackberry-flavored concoction with a metallic flavor, which we didn't enjoy. Turn out they don't serve regular brewed tea–would have been nice to know up front. The meals were delicious, but the service was slow possibly because it was Father's Day. We found it difficult to talk while we waited because the room was extremely loud. I would go back for the food, but I'd rather sit in the main dining room.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been going to Grille 29 for nine ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I have been going to Grille 29 for nine years. Best restaurant in Huntsville. Always consistently great food, atmosphere and service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The kitchen knows how to cook fish. We ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The kitchen knows how to cook fish. We also had a delightful octopus appetizer. Salads are fresh if predictable. Shrimp was firm, fresh, and hot in the pasta. Server was a bit intrusive, interrupting a few times. Courses came early, that is, one course came before we were through with the previous. Got the check early. He was effusive and trying to please. Needs some coaching.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was another great experience at Gri ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This was another great experience at Grille 29. We made our reservations through Open Table as usual and requested a quiet spot near the bar and that is exactly what we got. Jody, our server, was tops. I had the crab cakes and my wife had the filet and both were outstanding. The bartender also make a great Manhattan and Olde Fashion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and our server re ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was excellent and our server really went above and beyond our expectations

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. I've been twice, and ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I love this place. I've been twice, and it was delicious both times. This was my first brunch here, and I will more than likely be back Saturday. Good menu, with a nice range of prices too ($10-16). Plus they had their lunch menu. $3 mimosas, you can't go wrong there.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Our waiter and service was exceptional

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our waiter and service was exceptional

food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and service.

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Felica Sparks

Dined on June 10, 2016

Love eating at Grill 29 in HSV!!! Whether lunch or dinner, service is outstanding and food consistently wonderful!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

24th Anniversary Dinner

Dined on June 6, 2016

Our server was very pleasant, efficient, knew how to time everything out so we never felt rushed or had to wait at any point. They shared personal experiences and chatted to the appropriate level enough to connect with our dining experience but never felt like an intrusion. And I would imagine other diners under their care we're having a similar dining experience around us. Food was magnificently prepared as always. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good but not great.

Dined on June 3, 2016

The food tasted great but the pork chop had a lot of waste, fat and bone. The service was marginally better than ok. Although the server thought everything was "perfect." Really, it's not overpriced for the atmosphere and the food is better than pretty good. Maybe we got their mediocre server. We'll probably go back. So I guess this is a less than whole hearted endorsement.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply outstanding

Dined on June 3, 2016

We decided to enjoy Grille 29 for our 38th Wedding Anniversary. We are always impressed with both the outstanding service and amazing meals. We both had the Grouper Oscar and accompanied with the White Corn Grits and a wedge salad. I have always thought that the wedge salad is the best around and on occasion has been a soup companion for an entire meal. Oh yes, special occasions must be capped off with dessert. Warm Chocolate fudge cake with Vanilla ice cream and chocolate sauce. A great evening and oh yes, Grill 29 makes it very special.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing! You made our ann ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Everything was amazing! You made our anniversary very nice! Will definitely be back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience1
service4

Fantastic food and good service but the ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Fantastic food and good service but the restaurant is in dire need of a renovation.

food5
ambience5
service5

The Grouper is always outstanding but ge ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

The Grouper is always outstanding but get it with cheese grits and not the rice.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating my sisters graduatio ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We were celebrating my sisters graduation and grille 29 was the perfect place. We had a wonderful time and great service. Chaz was our waiter and he did a fantastic job.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to visit Grille ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

This was our first time to visit Grille 29. We had brunch and we are excited to such a great to eat. We will be back as soon as we can for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent guest from out of town was ple ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent guest from out of town was pleased with restruant.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite places when we famil ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

One of our favorite places when we family in Madison. Consistently excellent. Only complaint is that it can be difficult to get a reservation. I wonder why 😃

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The appetizer was good as was the bread. ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The appetizer was good as was the bread. I had the New York steak which I thought was average and was over cooked. I asked for med rare and it came out medium. There was not enough light tell right away but I should have cut it in half to tell how much it was cooked, my mistake. The quality of the steak was not prime as you would expect for the price I paid. My wife's risotto was ok but nothing to write home about.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Experience

Dined on May 17, 2016

I always enjoy the food here. My husband took me here for my birthday.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely pleased with the attentive ser ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Extremely pleased with the attentive service and delicious food at Grille 29. The young lady taking care of us was spot on with her recommendations and we loved having a nice quiet meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on May 14, 2016

We love dining at grille 29, we mainly eat there to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, and special occasions. The wait staff is caring but non intrusive as well as very knowledgeable about the menu and wine selection. We usually make reservations but and always pleasantly surprised when they have a table open at just the right time. One of our favorite restaurants by far.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for Date Night

Dined on May 13, 2016

Went for wedding anniversary dinner - wasn't disappointed! The food was rich, but we were looking for decadence. Husband had steak, he thought it was a good cut and cooked exactly the way he likes it; I had stuffed scallops which were a bit over sauced for my taste but well presented and perfectly cooked. The chocolate souffle was phenomenal and well worth the wait. The wine list is okay, it has the staples you'd expect in a nice dinner restaurant. Wish there had been more variety in wines by the glass. The staff was very knowledgeable about drinks and food pairing which was nice. Good night out, felt full and quite satisfied when we left!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Usual

Dined on May 13, 2016

As usual, the food was outstanding, the service excellent, and the atmosphere inviting. We love this place...!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent as usual. Our table was ready ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Excellent as usual. Our table was ready before we arrived. Service was great and the staff were very friendly. Our food was cooked just right and the portions were healthy. Nice selection of tap beer including local and national varieties. We've eaten at Grill 29 many times and I would highly recommend it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consider Grill 29 to be a perfect place ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Consider Grill 29 to be a perfect place for business lunch. Perfect setting with great food and service. Could ask for nothing more.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Scallops were amazing!!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Scallops were amazing!!!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service, brunch food so-so but fairly priced

Dined on May 8, 2016

Dinners are much better but a bit pricy. Wait staff not as attentive at night.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice upscale restaurant

Dined on May 8, 2016

Better than your typical brunch menu. Very well prepared and presentation is very nice. Furniture, dinning room and dinnerware all upscale. Reasonably priced for an upscale place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is my wife's favorite restaurant for Mothers Day. I booked far in advance to ensure we'd be able to go this year. The place did not disappoint. We had great meal, service, and ambience. We plan to go again next year (and times in between).

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An enjoyable evening meal with friends a ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

An enjoyable evening meal with friends and family. Herbed Chicken was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly Recommended

Dined on May 7, 2016

First time customer and was very impressed. The atmosphere was very romantic. Our waiter. Dave, was friendly and one I would classified as excellent server. The food was delivered hot and just to our liking and in portions that sufficient to satisfied our tastes. Our visit was one of the most enjoyable dining experiences we've had a long time.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

The staff was welcoming and the environm ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

The staff was welcoming and the environment was kid friendly. The food was great and each item was rich with flavor. This place is worth coming back too.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.