About Grille 29

445 Providence Main Street, Ste 101
Huntsville, AL 35806
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Providence in Huntsville, Alabama, Grille 29 offers diners a wide variety of dinner choices in a classy comfortable atmosphere. The specialties of the house are in the "From the Grille" menu section with tender cuts like our 8 oz. Filet Mignon and 12 oz. New York Strip Steak. Coupled with Shrimp with Jumbo Lump Crab Meat or broiled Jumbo Scallops, these savory and hearty entrees are uniquely presented and prepared to your liking. The stylish all wood bar at Grille 29 features full liquor service and is manned by some of the area's most professional and courteous bartenders. The wine list consists of 104 varieties of bottled wine, 52 of which are available by the glass. The enticing signature Martinis and cocktails enhance your overall dining experience. Make new friends and enjoy a drink at the bar or meet with old friends for drinks in the relaxing lounge.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week for Lunch & Dinner

Lunch: Everyday (7 days per week) 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm

Saturday: 10:00am - 10:30pm
Sunday : 10:00am - 9:00pm
*Brunch Menu only available on Saturday and Sunday from 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Please note that we are closed on: New Years Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day, 4th of July, Thanksgiving, and Christmas.

Cross Street:
Hwy 72

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 489-9470

Website:
http://www.grille29.com/

Entertainment:
-

Catering:
Grille 29 has quickly become the leader in upscale dining in Northern Alabama. As a seven- time winner of the Taste of Huntsville, Grille 29 has earned a solid reputation for excellence and menu creativity. Our Executive Chef has kept the ever-changing menu fresh,innovative, and current. We are excited about providing the same elegant experience in the comfort of your office, home, private event venue, or wherever your special occasion takes us. Our Catering program is designed to bring our professional services to you.

Parking Details:
-

Public Transit:
-

Executive Chef:
-

Private Party Facilities:
Grille 29 is the perfect place for your gatherings from 10 to 200 people. With a large banquet room and a classy, yet comfortable feeling, Grille 29 is ready to take your reservation for any occasion. Club meetings, family reunions and office parties are all reasons to choose Grille 29.

Private Party Contact:
Regina Burnett: 256-489-9476x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Chocolate Peanut Butter Truffle - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Peanut Butter Mousse - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Grouper Oscar - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Gorgonzola Bread Sticks - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Fish and Chips - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Cheesecake - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Raspberry Chocolate Mousse - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Ahi tuna - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Short Ribs - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Crab Cakes Egg Benedict - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
egg sandwich - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Gruyere Mushroom Burger - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Lobster Pot Pie - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Burlee Trio - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Cowboy Ribeye - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Vegetable Frittata - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Roast Beef Hash - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Chicken and Waffles - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Peanut Butter & Chocolate Mousse - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Firecracker Shrimp - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Short Rib Tacos - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Roast Half Duck - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Tiramisu - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
The Girl Scouts of North America Samoas Cheesecake - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Smoked Salmon Flatbread - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Appetizer Sampler - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Lobster and Shrimp Flatbread  - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Beet Salad - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Talipia - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Georges Bank Sea Scallops  - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Scottish Salmon Brulée - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Hunan Acadian Redfish - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Rootbeer Float Cheesecake - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Block Island Swordfish - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Tilapia w/ a Sauce Vierge, Grilled Polenta & Asparagus - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Carrot Cake - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Gorgonzola Fondue - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Caramel Mousse Pyramid - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Banana Split Cheesecake - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Warm Sour Cream Fudge Cake  - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Filet 29 - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Sirloin Steak - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Local Strawberry & Goat Cheese Salad With Blackened Salmon - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Grand Marnier French Toast - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Bourbon Filet Tips  - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Sesame Crusted Tuna - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Fried Redfish - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Filet Mingon - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Halibet Fish - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
Escargot - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL
salmon eggs benedict - Grille 29, Huntsville, AL

Grille 29 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (40)
Special Occasion (37)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
See All
Romantic (31)
Business Meals (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Cozy (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Fun (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Family Style (7)
Seasonal (6)
Private Room (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Casual (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Organic (3)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great Beer (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fireplace (2)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Waterfront (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
1838 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waiter was very enthusiastic and enc ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Our waiter was very enthusiastic and encouraging to those of us with dissenting palettes. The sea scallops were perfectly tender, to the point of being lusciously buttery. The highest praise came from my mother in law who claimed her meal was the best pork chop she had ever eaten. We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Birthday dinner. Had a wonderful experie ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Birthday dinner. Had a wonderful experience once again tonight. Service was impeccable and the food to die for. 5 star experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It can be noisy, but we asked for a quit ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

It can be noisy, but we asked for a quite place and were given the perfect place so we could carry on a conversation. The service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food has been consistently good. Easy a ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Food has been consistently good. Easy access. Have found service staff always excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Wow! Incredible meal. Gorgonzola fondue ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Wow! Incredible meal. Gorgonzola fondue was amazing. Filet Oscar was cooked perfectly to temperature. Desserts were refreshing and delicious. Can't recommend highly enough.

Tags: Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Food was very goo ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Service was excellent. Food was very good, but not out of the ball park. Ambience was pleasant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good time, wonderful food, & gr ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always a good time, wonderful food, & great drinks at Grille 29.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great waiter!

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food! the Grille 29 and the Sea Sc ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great food! the Grille 29 and the Sea Scallops stuffed with lobster, are to dye for. Not to mention the Burnt Orange Bread Pudding. My favorite restaurant in Providence Place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Superb service from Carolina. She alway ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Superb service from Carolina. She always had a smile on her face, was prompt, and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had not been to Grille 29 before, but ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had not been to Grille 29 before, but had heard good reports, so I booked it through Open Table for my wife's birthday. I was looking for an upscale dining experience, but there are definitely better choices in Huntsville.

When I think upscale, I think white tablecloth, but we were seated in a booth, and not far from the busy kitchen door. We are both small people and a booth is neither comfortable, nor upscale, and the traffic from the kitchen even took that down a notch.

Our waiter was quite experienced, but was rather dismissive and seemed alternately to be very busy with someone else or wanting us to hurry with choices. I had made it clear when he first appeared that we were in no hurry and that it was our first time there, but he wanted us to make decisions and only offered explanations when prompted.

My wife had their signature fillet and I had a salmon dish. Her steak was very good, cooked as agreed, but not exceptional in any way. My salmon, while good, was almost overcooked, certainly on the dry side.

On a positive note, the wine list was both extensive, offering a wide variety of choices, and priced rather moderately as restaurant wine prices go.

When I made the reservation through Open Table, I included a note that it was my wife's birthday. When we were seated the host placed a Happy Birthday card on the table, which was a nice touch. Almost any restaurant would have offered at least a small complimentary birthday dessert. They did inscribe Happy Birthday on the plate on which the dessert - which we ordered and paid for - was served.

To summarize, Grille 29 offered good but not excellent food and a very good wine list in a setting that was more like a diner than an upscale restaurant. In the future I will choose one of several white tablecloth establishments in Huntsville that offer a superior dining experience and in addition have the advantage of being much closer to our home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

The food was a big disappointment. The s ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was a big disappointment. The service was okay but I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Anniversary dinner for my parents 54th a ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Anniversary dinner for my parents 54th and they didn't offer dessert and seemed to rush us out the door when we were finished. Also, never even offered us any bread:(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Had eaten here before but always with a ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Had eaten here before but always with a group in an event setting and the food was always great.

First time dining experience ordering off their menu. Started with the Calamari and it was excellent. I ordered the stuffed scallops at the recommendation of our waiter and was not disappointed. Order came with succotash and lobster mashed potatoes as sides. Enjoyed the succotash even though I avoided it as a child but was slightly disappointed with the lobster mashed potatoes as I prefer my potatoes to be creamier. My date had the 8oz fillet and she stated that it was exceptional. She had the garlic mashed potatoes and green beans as sides...she liked the potatoes but was not a fan of the generous portion of green beans.

Comfortable seating inside with a view of the fish tank and interior acoustics allowing for conversation at a reasonable level made for an enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was ok. We are New Yorkers and felt ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was ok. We are New Yorkers and felt for the price of the food did not measure up. We had the calamari- not very good, the shrimp pasta- just ok and the kids had mac and cheese which was just Kraft from a box. Decor felt like a chain restaurant- nothing special

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Another great anniversary meal! Will be ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Another great anniversary meal! Will be returning again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grouper oscar a disappointment! Crab cak ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Grouper oscar a disappointment!

Crab cakes ok

Shrimp and pasta good

Filet good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Love the atmosphere and incredible servi ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Love the atmosphere and incredible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Grille 29. The service is alway ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We love Grille 29. The service is always good and friendly, the food is great. Recommend the Grouoer Oscar, the bread pudding and definitely the chocolate martinis!

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was fantastic as usual, but it ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was fantastic as usual, but it was SO HOT in there. Many people were fanning themselves . Some were requesting to sit outside (even though the tables were wet from it raining earlier in the day)! Our truffled deviled eggs didn't hold their shape well in the heat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

Great food and great service on Christma ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food and great service on Christmas Eve! Definitely will be recommending and will be returning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal! Attentive service! Wonderful ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great meal! Attentive service! Wonderful dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and waiter were fabulous. Love thei ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food and waiter were fabulous. Love their brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed ourselves. It was a 44th Wed ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We enjoyed ourselves. It was a 44th Wedding Anniversary so it was a special occasion. We have been going to Ruth Crist every year and opted for something different. As mentioned above the only demerit was the "Steaks" for both my wife and myself. They were cooked absolutely perfect, medium well for the wife and medium for me, but the texture was not enjoyable. I hope they were not considered prime as they were difficult to both cut and chew. The remaining sides were delicious. We believe in second chances so hopefully we will have occasion to revisit your establishment once again.

Respectfully,

George and Kay Kozub

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

First class food and service. Celebrated ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 24, 2016

First class food and service. Celebrated our 50th anniversary there and consider it memorable.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Family Style, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Nice experience but menu was somewhat li ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Nice experience but menu was somewhat limited for a higher end Steakhouse. Only 2 cuts of meat (beef) offered.

Nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The waitress was excellent and very know ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The waitress was excellent and very knowledgeable about the food and menu. She suggested many things that were tried and turned out to be great suggestions. The only problem we had was the temperature of the venue was too warm and uncomfortable. Overall, we had a good time and enjoyed the food and time together.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was excellent, great list of wines ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food was excellent, great list of wines to choose from. The waiter was very helpful and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I recently went with co-workers for a ho ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I recently went with co-workers for a holiday luncheon and we had a great experience at Grille 29. A relaxed atmosphere and a delicious meal, added to a very memorable dining experience. Our waitress knew just when to come over to our table, and we didn't feel as though we were rushed to finish our meals. A recommendation - the shrimp and grits were fantastic!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grille 29 is one of my favorite places t ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Grille 29 is one of my favorite places to dine in Huntsville. As always, the food was absolutely delicious and the service outstanding. My lunch companion had not been there in several years, and was extremely pleased with the dining experience. It remains one of my best places to dine in Huntsville.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful as always!

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Wonderful as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience while celebrating m ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent experience while celebrating my birthday. The service was awesome and the food was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for a 50th birthday celebration. ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We went for a 50th birthday celebration. We ordered the sampler with shrip

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Food was fantastic! Great service. We lo ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food was fantastic! Great service. We loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went to Grille 29 to celebrate my bir ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We went to Grille 29 to celebrate my birthday. The food was wonderful and the service was excellent. I would strongly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy Grille 29, been many times, ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Always enjoy Grille 29, been many times, have a great appetizer menu, good wine menu and great tasting food. A little pricy, especially the wines, but we enjoy the occasional date night.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I made the reservations for our HR team ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I made the reservations for our HR team to have our Christmas lunch and exchange gifts. It was a total success and we all enjoyed our time together while having lunch. Sitting in a booth was not completely ideal but we made it work since we were only a party of 6. There were several other groups there on Friday for lunch and they were all much bigger groups than us so we totally understood using a booth. We were seated immediately upon arrival!!! Our waiter was GREAT :) He was very attentive and very friendly. It was a very good experience and we will be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as normal

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Excellent as normal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thank you for making our son's college g ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Thank you for making our son's college graduation dinner a success! Everything was superb!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about our first visit was fan ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Everything about our first visit was fantastic! Service was quick and courteous from the minute we sat down until we left. Our server seemed very knowledgeable of and he was helpful giving recommendations. I had the grouper with a lobster bisque and my wife had the scallops and a Caesar salad. Both meals were perfectly prepared and well portioned.

We will definitely make more visits in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.