About Grille 29

Located in the heart of Providence in Huntsville, Alabama, Grille 29 offers diners a wide variety of dinner choices in a classy comfortable atmosphere. The specialties of the house are in the "From the Grille" menu section with tender cuts like our 8 oz. Filet Mignon and 12 oz. New York Strip Steak. Coupled with Shrimp with Jumbo Lump Crab Meat or broiled Jumbo Scallops, these savory and hearty entrees are uniquely presented and prepared to your liking. The stylish all wood bar at Grille 29 features full liquor service and is manned by some of the area's most professional and courteous bartenders. The wine list consists of 104 varieties of bottled wine, 52 of which are available by the glass. The enticing signature Martinis and cocktails enhance your overall dining experience. Make new friends and enjoy a drink at the bar or meet with old friends for drinks in the relaxing lounge.

445 Providence Main Street, Ste 101
Huntsville, AL 35806
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week for Lunch & Dinner

Lunch: Everyday (7 days per week) 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm

Saturday: 10:00am - 10:30pm
Sunday : 10:00am - 9:00pm
*Brunch Menu only available on Saturday and Sunday from 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Please note that we are closed on: New Years Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day, 4th of July, Thanksgiving, and Christmas.

Cross Street:
Hwy 72

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 489-9470

Website:
http://www.grille29.com/

Entertainment:
-

Catering:
Grille 29 has quickly become the leader in upscale dining in Northern Alabama. As a seven- time winner of the Taste of Huntsville, Grille 29 has earned a solid reputation for excellence and menu creativity. Our Executive Chef has kept the ever-changing menu fresh,innovative, and current. We are excited about providing the same elegant experience in the comfort of your office, home, private event venue, or wherever your special occasion takes us. Our Catering program is designed to bring our professional services to you.

Parking Details:
-

Public Transit:
-

Executive Chef:
-

Private Party Facilities:
Grille 29 is the perfect place for your gatherings from 10 to 200 people. With a large banquet room and a classy, yet comfortable feeling, Grille 29 is ready to take your reservation for any occasion. Club meetings, family reunions and office parties are all reasons to choose Grille 29.

Private Party Contact:
Regina Burnett: (256) 489-9476

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Grille 29 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (67)
Special Occasion (64)
Good for Anniversaries (60)
See All
Romantic (42)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Business Meals (36)
Worth the Drive (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for Groups (27)
Cozy (26)
Great for Brunch (23)
Great for Lunch (21)
Modern Decor (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Casual (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Fun (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Comfort Food (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Healthy (10)
Family Style (9)
Private Room (8)
Seasonal (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Authentic (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (2)
Fireplace (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Historic (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1926 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Great experience. Perfect advice from waiter on substituting grits for rice based in the dish, Grouper Oscar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was average.
Drinks were poorly mixed.
Appetizer was good (Firecracker shrimp) but not as good as Bang Bang.

The meal was simply average for an above average price.
Honestly, the drinks are better and just as good food is less expensive at Cheddars.
Which is where we will go next time...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Birthday dinner for my wife and nine friends and family members. Dinners and wine were pricey ($26 for seafood pasta with no sides). Charged $5 cake fee for us bringing cupcakes. Service was outstanding, however. in summary, decent but overpriced meals for our group.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

A well rounded dining experience with great food and excellent service. They have not compromised their high standards over the last ten years and that is reflected in their devoted customer loyalty.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 20, 2017

I was impressed with the food and wine selection. I had gotten a salad with blackened salmon and it was delicious! Paired with a Tempranillo and it was a perfect dinner. I had gotten the small salad and I'm glad I did since I was starting to have a hard time finishing ;). If you come to Huntsville you should definitely check this place out!

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Our waiter, Travis, was outstanding........so personable and efficient! The Brunch menu never disappoints at Grille 29. We love to celebrate special occasions with family and friends there. The atmosphere and food make our celebrations so memorable and we always look forward to returning.

Janey K

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My husband and I went to Hunstville for a mini vacation. We went to brunch before we headed home and it was one of the best decisions we had made. We both were extremely satisfied with the quick, polite service and the amazing food. The 29 cent mimosas were the reason we went and they were just as delicious as the food. My husband and I agreed that the waiters worked as a team. We had more than one person come to our table to either take our order, get us another drink, or remove our plates. Everything was in a swift and quiet manor so we would not be disturbed. This was one of the best meal experiences I have ever been to and we would love to go back one day.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Amazing meal start to finish. Chef Cara killed it as I expected she would. Our server kept the drinks full and was very helpful explaining some of the wines and allowing us to sample. Anniversary note on the table from the staff was a nice touch when we arrived. It was a special night and one we won't forget

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Consistently good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 15, 2017

David was great, first time r. Allowed options and offer great recommendations. Would return without hesitation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I have given Grille 29 5 stars on previous reviews but this latest visit was very disappointing.

i had reserved a table for 6 at 6:30. We showed up about 10 minutes early and they were able to seat us. However, a 7th person showed up unexpectedly to join us. We were crammed into a table that probably was meant for 4, with a bench on one side of the table and chairs on the other. I asked for another chair for the 7th person but was told that it wasn't possible because it would be too near the table next to us. I asked if they had another table that we could put 7 people at and was told that there was none. Bear in mind this was a Wednesday night.

There was a couple sitting at the table next to us and they left about 6:45. We asked twice if we could use the empty table and told both times that the table was reserved. So we continued to sit at our cramped table with one person eating from the very corner of the table.

This was a birthday celebration so we stayed and celebrated with cards and gifts. We left about 9 p.m. and the table next to us was NEVER used.

I understand not giving us the extra table if indeed it was reserved, however, after an hour or so of no use, I feel they could have made and accommodation for us.

Much improvement needed on the care and handling of customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 14, 2017

My husband selected Grille 29 for our anniversary dinner. The atmosphere is upscale and the food was very good. He usually prefers to find 'bargains' so this was an especially nice dinner evening and it made for a lovely anniversary celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Not worth the hefty price. The food wasn't bad but I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants. Dine there often and am never disappointed. Lobster bisque is a must and the ahi tuna appetizer is a great srarter.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My first time at Grille 29 and it was a great experience. We went for Saturday brunch for a friend's birthday and Christian (our server) took great care of us. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We have dinner at Grill 29 whenever passing through Huntsville. The food, drinks and service have always been excellent. We are already looking forward to our next visit which may not happen for several months.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 8, 2017

It is always wonderful to visit Grille 29. Whether a birthday or just Fish & Chips during Lent, it's a great pleasure!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We had the pork chop and the New York strip steak both with grits and green beans. Everything was cooked to perfection. The meat quality was excellent. The waiter made a wonderful wine recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Everything was great but my husbands steak was over cooked he wont say anything but he was disappointed Our waiter Chris was great thank you Chris

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great service from Jenn

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Visited Huntsville this weekend with our young kids. Grille 29 is perfect if you want a fancy dinner but from a restaurant that gets kids. Food was good. I've had better but it was fine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 4, 2017

It was a very pleasant experience from beginning to end

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food and service were fantastic. We will definitely be back again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Went with my wife for an anniversary dinner on a Wednesday evening.The entrees were delicious,with generous portions.Our salads were huge! The waiter's service was very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 26, 2017

the combination appetizer was outstanding - a surprising amount of food and excellent quality. more than enough for four people

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was excellent. Cheese grits are fantastic. Service was very slow. A bit pricey, but good for a special occasion or date.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was good portions but didn't live up to the hype tastewise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My go to place. Great food,service,and atmosphere every time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Second night in a row while visiting. Fantastic food, great service and gluten free savvy.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great food reasonably priced. We had a party of four for a business dinner/meeting. Well prepared and presented appetizers for sharing. Entrees were excellent. Sashimi grade tuna steaks were perfectly rare. Filet mignon was likewise served perfectly medium rare as requested. Good attention to detail. Worth the short drive from Madison.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Great meal! Dave B was very helpful with the menu and pointed out some great ideas of favorites. Restaurant is located in a trendy area with shops and other restaurants. Will be back the next time in Huntsville.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 22, 2017

When I travel to Huntsville this is must stop for me. It was so good I went two nights in a row!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Excellent anniversary dinner. Food was well-prepared, served quickly, and portions were ample. Wine and Bloody Mary were very good. Service was prompt and friendly. We will visit there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wonderful brunch! The chicken and waffles are to die for! The $.29 mimosas did not disappoint either

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The service was a little lacking this time but it is usually very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Grille 29 has become a favorite for evenings with my significant other. I can't get enough of the truffled deviled eggs, and the filet 29 is always incredible and cooked perfectly. A great spot for brunch as well.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great food and service. I strongly suggest it to everyone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a reservation, decided to change it to one hour later and had no problem doing so. Granted, this was our Valentine dinner that we had on 2/15/2017 and it was at 1:30 pm. When we arrived, we were seated immediately and the waiter came within a minute of us being seated. After taking our drink order, we decided what we wanted and were able to place the order as soon as the waiter returned with our drinks. The food arrived much sooner than expected although at the time that we were there, there weren't that many customers there. I believe that the midday crowd had already eaten and left the restaurant by the time we got there.
The food was very good. I ordered the chicken parmesan and fettacini. The chicken was moist, easy to cut with the knife provided and even the fork cut the chicken with little effort. The waiter was prompt with refills and desert. All in all, I will return again and I will rate our dining experience as excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This isn't the first time we visited the restaurant and the last time everything was great,but this time,they my wifes steak was prepar3d like she asked them to prepare it and it was undercooked. The waiter took the steak to fix it,but it took so long to bring it back out,my son and I had finished eating by the time she got it back.
We were not compensated in any way for this small catastrophe. Still paid full price for the meal. I talked with the manager and told him the issue and still nothing happen. This was on Valentines Day and my wife's night,but because of what happened at dinner, my wife didn’t think was the case and was pretty upset.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Quick seating, with reservation (2 min). Waiter was 'Dave', who seemed very authentic, but wasn't very charming and didn't seem to care too much about us. We didn't order any appetizer and grabbed a water and tea at the beginning. I think that turned his attention to other customers with wine orders and appetizers. ;^) Food was excellent. Medium fillet was perfect; not a scrap of fat or gristle on it. Asparagus is not on the menu as a side, but is available. I ordered it and it was perfect. Other side of citrus rice was nothing special. Wife's order of a medium NY Strip was cooked to perfection, but was a bit tough (for a strip). Flavor on both steaks was wonderful. Chocolate souffle' was nothing to write home about. Big build up about ordering it early to serve hot. It WAS hot. But, the flavor was pretty plain. Next time, we'll order a different dessert. Atmosphere was quiet and dim, but not so much as you couldn't see your food. A little pricey at $95 + tip for two steaks, tea, water, and a dessert. But, the food was excellent and, you usually get what you pay for.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.