About Grille 29

445 Providence Main Street, Ste 101
Huntsville, AL 35806
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Providence in Huntsville, Alabama, Grille 29 offers diners a wide variety of dinner choices in a classy comfortable atmosphere. The specialties of the house are in the "From the Grille" menu section with tender cuts like our 8 oz. Filet Mignon and 12 oz. New York Strip Steak. Coupled with Shrimp with Jumbo Lump Crab Meat or broiled Jumbo Scallops, these savory and hearty entrees are uniquely presented and prepared to your liking. The stylish all wood bar at Grille 29 features full liquor service and is manned by some of the area's most professional and courteous bartenders. The wine list consists of 104 varieties of bottled wine, 52 of which are available by the glass. The enticing signature Martinis and cocktails enhance your overall dining experience. Make new friends and enjoy a drink at the bar or meet with old friends for drinks in the relaxing lounge.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week for Lunch & Dinner

Lunch: Everyday (7 days per week) 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm

Saturday: 10:00am - 10:30pm
Sunday : 10:00am - 9:00pm
*Brunch Menu only available on Saturday and Sunday from 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Please note that we are closed on: New Years Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day, 4th of July, Thanksgiving, and Christmas.

Cross Street:
Hwy 72

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 489-9470

Website:
http://www.grille29.com/

Entertainment:
-

Catering:
Grille 29 has quickly become the leader in upscale dining in Northern Alabama. As a seven- time winner of the Taste of Huntsville, Grille 29 has earned a solid reputation for excellence and menu creativity. Our Executive Chef has kept the ever-changing menu fresh,innovative, and current. We are excited about providing the same elegant experience in the comfort of your office, home, private event venue, or wherever your special occasion takes us. Our Catering program is designed to bring our professional services to you.

Parking Details:
-

Public Transit:
-

Executive Chef:
-

Private Party Facilities:
Grille 29 is the perfect place for your gatherings from 10 to 200 people. With a large banquet room and a classy, yet comfortable feeling, Grille 29 is ready to take your reservation for any occasion. Club meetings, family reunions and office parties are all reasons to choose Grille 29.

Private Party Contact:
Regina Burnett: 256-489-9476x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Peanut Butter Truffle
Peanut Butter Mousse
Grouper Oscar
Gorgonzola Bread Sticks
Fish and Chips
Raspberry Chocolate Mousse
Ahi tuna
Short Ribs
Crab Cakes Egg Benedict
egg sandwich
Cheesecake
Cowboy Ribeye
Burlee Trio
Gruyere Mushroom Burger
Lobster Pot Pie
Vegetable Frittata
Roast Beef Hash
Peanut Butter & Chocolate Mousse
Firecracker Shrimp
Short Rib Tacos
Chicken and Waffles
Roast Half Duck
Tiramisu
The Girl Scouts of North America Samoas Cheesecake
Smoked Salmon Flatbread
Appetizer Sampler
Lobster and Shrimp Flatbread
Beet Salad
Talipia
Georges Bank Sea Scallops
Scottish Salmon Brulée
Hunan Acadian Redfish
Rootbeer Float Cheesecake
Block Island Swordfish
Tilapia w/ a Sauce Vierge, Grilled Polenta & Asparagus
Carrot Cake
Gorgonzola Fondue
Caramel Mousse Pyramid
Banana Split Cheesecake
Warm Sour Cream Fudge Cake
Filet 29
Sirloin Steak
Local Strawberry & Goat Cheese Salad With Blackened Salmon
Grand Marnier French Toast
Bourbon Filet Tips
Sesame Crusted Tuna
Fried Redfish
Filet Mingon
Halibet Fish
Escargot
salmon eggs benedict

Grille 29 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Alabama
Best Overall
Huntsville
Best Food
Huntsville
6 More
Best Service
Huntsville
Best Ambiance
Huntsville
Best Value
Huntsville
Romantic
Huntsville
Special Occasion
Huntsville
Most Booked
Huntsville
Best Restaurants in Huntsville ›

Special Occasion (89)
Romantic (76)
Good for Groups (57)
See All
Fit for Foodies (57)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Great for Outdoor Dining (43)
Great for Brunch (42)
Great for Lunch (39)
Notable Wine List (31)
Good for a Date (20)
Hot Spot (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Scenic View (10)
Business Meals (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Cozy (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Authentic (3)
Casual (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1671 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. E ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined a day ago

Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Excellent menu options, and very fairly priced. Will definitely dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great Brunch at Grill 29. Sunda ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Another great Brunch at Grill 29. Sunday Brunch is one of my favorites!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was excellent, food was fantasti ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Service was excellent, food was fantastic and the atmosphere/ambiance was perfect. Comfortable upscale dining with a great attitude towards service and quality. Grille 29 is my preferred spot to take out of town guests. A wonderful experience as always.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Private Room, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grill 29 is always a solid choice.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Grill 29 is always a solid choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Grille 29 to celebrate our 35 ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We went to Grille 29 to celebrate our 35th anniversary and it was a great pick. We chose the Orange Beach Salad as our appetizer and it was a great choice. It was light and delicious and a great size to split and get started. For our entrée we both had the Grouper Oscar, my wife had the rice pilaf but I substituted the grits at the waiter's recommendation. We both agreed the grits were the way to go, the preparation with a little creamed sweet corn was excellent. We definitely plan to return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Brunch at Grill 29 is great. The ch ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The Brunch at Grill 29 is great. The chicken and waffles was fantastic!!

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great and Loren, our server, wa ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was great and Loren, our server, was awesome as always.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Atmosphere was not. Ligh ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was great. Atmosphere was not. Lighting was harsh. Seating areas were vacuous and lacked intimacy. Other parties felt too close--not because they were seated adjacent but because there is no buffer in the dining room to segregate parties. Service was admirable. Decent value. Surprisingly good food. But, alas, the ambiance was woefully lacking. Although I loved the food, I wouldn't eat here again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Wow! My wife and I went to Grill for he ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wow!

My wife and I went to Grill for her birthday dinner. I am new to Huntsville and Grill 29 came highly recommended by many folks at work, including our local foodie guru.

We were seated near the bar, which wasn't my first choice of places to sit for a romantic dinner(I could have asked to move, but it wasn't that bad). There was an energetic group of folks sitting next to us, who were having a lively group conversation. I noticed that they were done with their meal and decided that they would depart soon enough.

Our server, Carolina (what a great name!), greeted us and took our drink order quickly. I ordered a fantastic single malt scotch and my wife had a glass of nice Merlot. We shared the cured meat and cheese platter for an appetizer. My wife had the Grill 29 Filet and I had the Stuffed Sea Scallops.

First let me talk about the service. Carolina was magnificent! She was there when we needed something and unobtrusive when we didn't need anything. She was a complete joy and really capped off a great dining experience.

Now the food. WOW, is just an understatement. The appetizer was fantastic with a nice selection of meats and cheeses. It really had all the bases covered. My wife's filet was cooked to perfection and butter tender. I swear you could have cut it with a spoon. My scallops were divine! First off, they were cooked perfectly. No rubbery chewy mess here. The crab stuffing added just enough flavor to make them amazing.

We had a wonderful evening at Grill 29. It was a combination of great food and fantastic service that made this my new favorite restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful as usual!!!

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wonderful as usual!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 49th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We celebrated our 49th wedding anniversary and the kitchen staff outdid themselves when presenting our dessert ... Wrote Happy Anniversary on the plate. Nice touch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Both of us had the stuffed scallops and ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Both of us had the stuffed scallops and both of us got food poisoning!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Great food, great service. Grill 29 has ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great food, great service. Grill 29 has been here for many years but never fails to disappoint.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It would be nice if there were more choi ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

It would be nice if there were more choices of vegetables some people like having a veggie plate and not

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Outstanding brunch. The best brunch i ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Outstanding brunch.

The best brunch in Huntsville. Outstanding food and service .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service, food and atmosphere

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Fantastic service, food and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great evening celebrating my bi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

It was a great evening celebrating my birthday with people that truly knows how to treat their customers. Great food every visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is outstanding, always!!!! ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The service is outstanding, always!!!! Our server was amazing, and although restaurant was busy, he never forgot us ;-)

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything at Grille 29 was first class ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Everything at Grille 29 was first class from the moment we were greeted by a courteous and friendly hostess, to the waitstaff and bartender. Devin, our waiter and Christian, the barkeep were great and attended to our every want. My wife and I both had the crab stuffed scallops and they were the best scallops we've had in North Alabama. The scallops came with a side of lobster mashed potatoes which I can only describe as unbelievable and fantastic. We live in Hampton Cove and believe me that it is well worth the drive to Grille 29 for the service and food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I both ordered the Wedge ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

My husband and I both ordered the Wedge Salad & it was amazing! The other items we ordered were good, but only okay.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We were celebrating my wife's birthday. ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We were celebrating my wife's birthday. Last year she received a complimentary dessert along with a gift card. This year...nothing. Food was fine. Service okay. Experience not on par with price tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We chose Grille 29 to celebrate our 25th ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We chose Grille 29 to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. After booking online, I called to request a table close to the relaxing aquarium. Our table was ready, near the aquarium along with an anniversary card. The card was signed by the management & staff on duty that evening---what a nice surprise! Love Grille 29 for Sunday brunch as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went there for our 48th We ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

My wife and I went there for our 48th Wedding Anniversary. We had been there before, but it had been some time. However, I wanted something special and Grill 29 delivered in every respect. There was a card waiting at table signed by the staff and a special note inside. They seated us immediately to a dimly lit comfortable, quiet booth. The waiter was personable, helpful and took great care of us that evening. Then there was the food: pleanty of variety from seafood to steaks and something in between, including appetizers. The food was fantastic! Then there was the dessert menu and what we selected was REALLY good! No it is not where you go if you are on a tight budget, but neither will you have to take out a loan. I would say it is a GREAT value!! A fantastic experience for that special occasion, definitely. Also, though, a really nice place for good food in a place where you can hold a pleasant converation with friends. There is even an area set aside next to the bar, where you can congregate for adult refreshments with a few good friends. Yes, I would highly recommend Grill 29!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and service as always! Gre ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Awesome food and service as always! Great for special occasions such as anniversary.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Grille 29 lunch and brunch menus are ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The Grille 29 lunch and brunch menus are my favorites. The mushroom burger is very good. The service is always outstanding and the wait staff is very friendly.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everyone enjoyed first courses as well a ...

vip
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Everyone enjoyed first courses as well as entrées but the delicious entrées are very large portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Although pricey, this restaurant has goo ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Although pricey, this restaurant has good food and good service. The mixed drinks (we had a mojito and a martini) are below average though, underfilled glasses and questionable taste, so I recommend you order wine and beer. No complaints about the food, our server was attentive and pleasant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Grille 29 is one of the best restaurants ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Grille 29 is one of the best restaurants in Alabama. From the host, servers, bar tenders to the folks in the kitchen, they are awesome!!! Food is amazing, and is always perfect.

Love this place!!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great and the short ribs ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The service was great and the short ribs were fabulous. Always a great place to go for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent, but serving sizes (d ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Food was excellent, but serving sizes (dinner) were way larger than necessary or healthy. Lunch portion seem more reasonable. Would like to see them reduce the dinner portion size and the cost proportionally. Al fresco service is available.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Calamari was small quantity and over coo ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Calamari was small quantity and over cooked. The rest of our food was good. Guess we are picky when paying over $200.00 for 4 people's meals and that was with no alcohol involved.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Warm ambiance, friendly and competent se ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Warm ambiance, friendly and competent service with a decent wine list. Bartender is knowledgeable with regard to wine pairings. Food is well prepared and delicious. Seafood is always fresh and delightful.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server was very attentive and the fo ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our server was very attentive and the food was good. We had two toddlers in the party and all the servers around us were doting on them. The atmosphere was great for any function, from casual family night out or a formal occasion. The only negative about the restaurant is that the food was overpriced.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Dined at Grill 29 Huntsville on Saturday ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Dined at Grill 29 Huntsville on Saturday August 20. I had made reservations in advance for 7PM. Arrived promptly at 7PM and was immediately seated in a very comfortable setting. I had previously ordered flowers to be held and to be delivered to the table after we were seated. This was carried out to perfection!

Our wine was ordered and promptly served. The server was in quite attendance to keep our glasses filled but not so as to disturb our conversation. We were given plenty of time to order, with suggestions as to "what looks good coming out of the kitchen this evening." Our orders were placed and the food was delivered exactly as ordered. The quality and quantity was excellent as expected. Yes we will return for another evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I eat here frequently but mo ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

My wife and I eat here frequently but most of the time at lunch. Friday nights and weekends are a little more crowded. I like the mood and noise level Monday thru Thursday and at lunch time. Use to have a very good rib eye steak that was taken off of the menu for some reason but it was by far the best steak on the menu. Staff is always nice and will fix any problems without a hassle. Let them know if you are having a special occasion and they usually acknowledge it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was adequate for the price poin ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was adequate for the price point. The grouper, contrary to what is advertised, should not be considered one of the top 100 dishes to eat in Alabama, before one dies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

My friend and I enjoyed the selection fo ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

My friend and I enjoyed the selection for restaurant week and definitely would return

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most delicious meal we have ever had ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The most delicious meal we have ever had and we travel throughout the world. Reasonably priced and wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent in all aspects. My steak was P ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent in all aspects. My steak was PERFECTLY cooked and the service was great. I will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a party of five to celebrate my g ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a party of five to celebrate my grandmother's birthday with my wife and our two teens. The service was prompt without being intrusive, and a good balance of personal and professional. Our orders were correct and timed well as sequential courses, with a presentation you would expect from finer dining. Steaks were all cooked correctly to ordered temperature and cuts with no distracting bits. I didn't know quite what I was in the mood for, so I offered that the waitress could order whatever she thought was exemplary. Fortunately, my "waitress surprise" of sea bass was perfect.

At the time of reservation, I let the restaurant know that it was for a birthday. They made sure to have a greeting card at the table when we arrived, and wrote the obligatory Happy Birthday in chocolate on the plate. While a bit cliche, the attention was much appreciated.

Overall, we had a great meal, relaxing for a couple of hours in celebration. I would recommend this restaurant for anyone who wants consistency in experience, customer service, and food quality, as we have never had any real complaints in the dozen or so times we've visited.

Cheers!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.