About Grille 29

445 Providence Main Street, Ste 101
Huntsville, AL 35806
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Providence in Huntsville, Alabama, Grille 29 offers diners a wide variety of dinner choices in a classy comfortable atmosphere. The specialties of the house are in the "From the Grille" menu section with tender cuts like our 8 oz. Filet Mignon and 12 oz. New York Strip Steak. Coupled with Shrimp with Jumbo Lump Crab Meat or broiled Jumbo Scallops, these savory and hearty entrees are uniquely presented and prepared to your liking. The stylish all wood bar at Grille 29 features full liquor service and is manned by some of the area's most professional and courteous bartenders. The wine list consists of 104 varieties of bottled wine, 52 of which are available by the glass. The enticing signature Martinis and cocktails enhance your overall dining experience. Make new friends and enjoy a drink at the bar or meet with old friends for drinks in the relaxing lounge.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week for Lunch & Dinner

Lunch: Everyday (7 days per week) 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm

Saturday: 10:00am - 10:30pm
Sunday : 10:00am - 9:00pm
*Brunch Menu only available on Saturday and Sunday from 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Please note that we are closed on: New Years Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day, 4th of July, Thanksgiving, and Christmas.

Cross Street:
Hwy 72

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 489-9470

Website:
http://www.grille29.com/

Entertainment:
-

Catering:
Grille 29 has quickly become the leader in upscale dining in Northern Alabama. As a seven- time winner of the Taste of Huntsville, Grille 29 has earned a solid reputation for excellence and menu creativity. Our Executive Chef has kept the ever-changing menu fresh,innovative, and current. We are excited about providing the same elegant experience in the comfort of your office, home, private event venue, or wherever your special occasion takes us. Our Catering program is designed to bring our professional services to you.

Parking Details:
-

Public Transit:
-

Executive Chef:
-

Private Party Facilities:
Grille 29 is the perfect place for your gatherings from 10 to 200 people. With a large banquet room and a classy, yet comfortable feeling, Grille 29 is ready to take your reservation for any occasion. Club meetings, family reunions and office parties are all reasons to choose Grille 29.

Private Party Contact:
Regina Burnett: 256-489-9476x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Peanut Butter Truffle
Peanut Butter Mousse
Grouper Oscar
Gorgonzola Bread Sticks
Fish and Chips
Raspberry Chocolate Mousse
Ahi tuna
Short Ribs
Crab Cakes Egg Benedict
egg sandwich
Cheesecake
Cowboy Ribeye
Burlee Trio
Gruyere Mushroom Burger
Lobster Pot Pie
Vegetable Frittata
Roast Beef Hash
Chicken and Waffles
Peanut Butter & Chocolate Mousse
Firecracker Shrimp
Short Rib Tacos
Roast Half Duck
Tiramisu
The Girl Scouts of North America Samoas Cheesecake
Smoked Salmon Flatbread
Appetizer Sampler
Lobster and Shrimp Flatbread
Beet Salad
Talipia
Georges Bank Sea Scallops
Scottish Salmon Brulée
Hunan Acadian Redfish
Rootbeer Float Cheesecake
Block Island Swordfish
Tilapia w/ a Sauce Vierge, Grilled Polenta & Asparagus
Carrot Cake
Gorgonzola Fondue
Caramel Mousse Pyramid
Banana Split Cheesecake
Warm Sour Cream Fudge Cake
Filet 29
Sirloin Steak
Local Strawberry & Goat Cheese Salad With Blackened Salmon
Grand Marnier French Toast
Bourbon Filet Tips
Sesame Crusted Tuna
Fried Redfish
Filet Mingon
Halibet Fish
Escargot
salmon eggs benedict

Grille 29 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Alabama
Most Booked
Alabama
Best Overall
Huntsville
6 More
Best Food
Huntsville
Best Service
Huntsville
Best Ambiance
Huntsville
Best Value
Huntsville
Special Occasion
Huntsville
Most Booked
Huntsville
Best Restaurants in Huntsville ›

Special Occasion (109)
Romantic (91)
Good for Groups (63)
See All
Fit for Foodies (62)
Neighborhood Gem (54)
Great for Outdoor Dining (53)
Great for Brunch (51)
Great for Lunch (49)
Notable Wine List (35)
Hot Spot (21)
Scenic View (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Kid-friendly (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1637 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dined at Grill 29 Huntsville on Saturday ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 3 days ago

Dined at Grill 29 Huntsville on Saturday August 20. I had made reservations in advance for 7PM. Arrived promptly at 7PM and was immediately seated in a very comfortable setting. I had previously ordered flowers to be held and to be delivered to the table after we were seated. This was carried out to perfection!

Our wine was ordered and promptly served. The server was in quite attendance to keep our glasses filled but not so as to disturb our conversation. We were given plenty of time to order, with suggestions as to "what looks good coming out of the kitchen this evening." Our orders were placed and the food was delivered exactly as ordered. The quality and quantity was excellent as expected. Yes we will return for another evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I eat here frequently but mo ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I eat here frequently but most of the time at lunch. Friday nights and weekends are a little more crowded. I like the mood and noise level Monday thru Thursday and at lunch time. Use to have a very good rib eye steak that was taken off of the menu for some reason but it was by far the best steak on the menu. Staff is always nice and will fix any problems without a hassle. Let them know if you are having a special occasion and they usually acknowledge it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was adequate for the price poin ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was adequate for the price point. The grouper, contrary to what is advertised, should not be considered one of the top 100 dishes to eat in Alabama, before one dies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

My friend and I enjoyed the selection fo ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

My friend and I enjoyed the selection for restaurant week and definitely would return

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most delicious meal we have ever had ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The most delicious meal we have ever had and we travel throughout the world. Reasonably priced and wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent in all aspects. My steak was P ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent in all aspects. My steak was PERFECTLY cooked and the service was great. I will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a party of five to celebrate my g ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a party of five to celebrate my grandmother's birthday with my wife and our two teens. The service was prompt without being intrusive, and a good balance of personal and professional. Our orders were correct and timed well as sequential courses, with a presentation you would expect from finer dining. Steaks were all cooked correctly to ordered temperature and cuts with no distracting bits. I didn't know quite what I was in the mood for, so I offered that the waitress could order whatever she thought was exemplary. Fortunately, my "waitress surprise" of sea bass was perfect.

At the time of reservation, I let the restaurant know that it was for a birthday. They made sure to have a greeting card at the table when we arrived, and wrote the obligatory Happy Birthday in chocolate on the plate. While a bit cliche, the attention was much appreciated.

Overall, we had a great meal, relaxing for a couple of hours in celebration. I would recommend this restaurant for anyone who wants consistency in experience, customer service, and food quality, as we have never had any real complaints in the dozen or so times we've visited.

Cheers!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grill 29 relies heavily on heavy, salty ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Grill 29 relies heavily on heavy, salty sauces. Those sauces are tasty, but if you're someone who prefers fresh, top-quality ingredients served simply, do not go here.

The prime rib was overcooked — ordered medium rare, got medium well. (I didn't return it because we were in a rush.) It was covered in a clear gravy that made it difficult to taste the meat. My wife asked for her grouper with the hollandaise on the side. While it was expertly cooked, it lacked any flavor without the sauce.

Like most Huntsville restaurants, the vintages on the wine list at Grill 29 aren't accurate. For example, I ordered a 2012 Napa cab and they brought a 2014. Prices are a little high ... about 3x what you'd pay retail if you bought the wines with a modest discount.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

First time at this restaurant. Definitel ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

First time at this restaurant. Definitely not impressed. Will not bother to return. Does not live up to hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Outstanding food, Great service!!! An ex ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Outstanding food, Great service!!! An excellent place for every Occasion.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great experience. They had left ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

It was a great experience. They had left a Happy Anniversary card on our table that was signed by all of the staff and included a small gift certificate. It was a very nice and personal touch.

Lauren was our server and she was fantastic! Very polite, courteous and made for a pleasant experience for our dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great. The service was great. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was great. The service was great. It was a little expensive, but I was aware of this before hand. The white cheddar grits were amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Met our expectations. Service was excell ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Met our expectations. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

From start to finish Grille 29 was outst ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

From start to finish Grille 29 was outstanding! Our server was fantastic and well versed on every element of our meals. When I travel to Huntsville Grille 29 is my first choice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVE this place....it's ALWAYS fabulo ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We LOVE this place....it's ALWAYS fabulous! We have never had a bad meal, bad service or anything!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great brunch, food and service was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Had a great brunch, food and service was great! Always happy with this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service from our server Wilson and ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great service from our server Wilson and the manager on duty on the 29th of July. We ordered the avocado appetizer and the avocados were rock hard. The manager gave us two free desserts to make up for the appetizer. We all appreciate service like this. Food was delicous.

Thank you

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have frequented Grill 29 for many yea ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We have frequented Grill 29 for many years and have always found the food excellent. I ordered the Grouper Oscar and it was tough and not very good. I grew up eating lots of grouper so am knowledgeable of how it should be. The Grouper was obviously from a very large fish because the flakes were very large. Sorry to be negative but hope this isn't to spoil the restaurant for us. Thanks for the many years of service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Grille 29 is always a great place to eat ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Grille 29 is always a great place to eat. The service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A few friends and I met up for Sunday b ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

A few friends and I met up for Sunday brunch. The atmosphere was beautiful and the food was great. We were waited on by Christian in the bar area. Needless to say, his service was impeccable!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am not sure I can find the words to ex ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I am not sure I can find the words to express how impressed I was with Grille 29. We (a party of 4) were seated immediately upon arrival at our reservation time. There were so many delicious choices on the menu that it was difficult to decide what to have. We settled on the tuna appetizer and steaks for our entrees. The tuna could not have been more perfect. Next time, we will order at least one more because we were all sad when it was gone.

The filets were ordered medium rare and cooked perfectly. While they were spectacular, the real stars were the NY Strip and the white corn cheese grits. The flavor of the strip was heavenly. The grits were the best I've ever tasted, and I'm a connoisseur of grits. They weren't too fine, too coarse, too thin, too dry, too sticky, or too lumpy. They were perfection. Grits are much more difficult to do correctly than most people realize which means there are many restaurants that serve bad grits. Grille 29 has a professional in the kitchen and the result is evident in every aspect of what's served.

Speaking of service, you won't be disappointed. It's excellent without being intrusive.

We reserved a table here because another popular, highly-rated restaurant was full. Next time, Grille 29 will be my first choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dining experience! So friendly ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Wonderful dining experience! So friendly and the food was outstanding! Service was amazing!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at Grille 29 in Providence is a ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food at Grille 29 in Providence is always great, and the atmosphere is really nice. Whether it's a special occasion, or just dinner with friends, I would highly recommend Grille 29.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, food and location.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great service, food and location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have always enjoyed myself at Grille 2 ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I have always enjoyed myself at Grille 29, but our server seemed to change his momentum when we informed him that our group size had decreased .

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

What a great dinner to come upon while i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

What a great dinner to come upon while in Huntsville. We had quick service and a nice wine selection to complement our fish dishes. My co worker had sea bass and i had the ahi tuna (waiter recommendation). Both of us were pleased and would go back again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly staff and excellent food.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Friendly staff and excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wedding Anniversary celebration. We tho ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Wedding Anniversary celebration. We thought the food was fairly good but did not justify the hype of being a star restaurant. Maybe it is partly because of the location but the prices were way too high for the environment and the quality of food. The service was fairly good. There were only four other customers there while we were there. I think this is understandable because of their unreasonably high prices. Atmosphere was OK but hardly impressive. Do yourself a favor and look for better value for your restaurant spending, I know we will. Overall we were disappointed. We have lived in Village of Providence for over eleven years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Somewhat underwhelmed by Grille 29. The ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Somewhat underwhelmed by Grille 29. The interior is very spacious and has a nice vibe. The service was very good. I think it's the food that's the problem. Not that it isn't prepared well, it's very good. It's just...safe, I suppose would be the best way to put it. There isn't anything going on here that can't be found in some form in other places nearby. The skill needed to pull off something more creative is there, but it doesn't seem like it's being utilized. I came to this restaurant expecting something more daring, and instead I got a well-executed, tasty, and still somehow boring meal. In a town like Huntsville, truly unique offerings are in very short supply. I was hoping this would be a rare standout, and although I now know it's good for a solid dinner, I didn't experience anything that hooked me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We came here for our anniversary. It was ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We came here for our anniversary. It was possibly some of the best food we have ever eaten! Great service and the ambiance was perfect for our date night!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Service was very good. ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was great. Service was very good. I had a tuna that was spectacular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great Service and Great food. The fille ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great Service and Great food. The fillet is outstanding, but I've had amazing fish as well. Save room for dessert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

met some friends for lunch - wonderful t ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

met some friends for lunch - wonderful treat came out from the chef, then lunch was excellent!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good and very good service ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was very good and very good service. Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grille 29 is always wonderful. $0.29 mi ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Grille 29 is always wonderful. $0.29 mimosas! There's nothing else to say. Would dine again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not to be overly repetitive, but another ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Not to be overly repetitive, but another wonderful dining experience at Grill 29..!! Had the pork chop.....tender, juicy...melted in my mouth. My wife and guest were equally pleased with their dinner...scallops and grouper oscar, respectively. Can't wait to go back....!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Took my girlfriend there and we both lov ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Took my girlfriend there and we both loved it. Everything from the drinks to the scallops were wonderful. Would love to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. The wine list w ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was excellent. The wine list was very good. My family enjoyed the meal very much.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We celebrated my parents 60th birthdays ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We celebrated my parents 60th birthdays with a group of 16. Wait staff was friendly, attentive, and quick. Even thought ahead and brought the child plates with soups and salads. Food was amazing! Loved the truffle deviled eggs and the crab cakes. Leftovers that were taken home heated up nicely and tasted just as good. Manager made an appearance, took care of a few needs of our guests, and told my parents happy birthday. Everyone enjoyed the dinner party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was superb. Service was friendly a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Steak was superb. Service was friendly and impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.