About Grille 29

Located in the heart of Providence in Huntsville, Alabama, Grille 29 offers diners a wide variety of dinner choices in a classy comfortable atmosphere. The specialties of the house are in the "From the Grille" menu section with tender cuts like our 8 oz. Filet Mignon and 12 oz. New York Strip Steak. Coupled with Shrimp with Jumbo Lump Crab Meat or broiled Jumbo Scallops, these savory and hearty entrees are uniquely presented and prepared to your liking. The stylish all wood bar at Grille 29 features full liquor service and is manned by some of the area's most professional and courteous bartenders. The wine list consists of 104 varieties of bottled wine, 52 of which are available by the glass. The enticing signature Martinis and cocktails enhance your overall dining experience. Make new friends and enjoy a drink at the bar or meet with old friends for drinks in the relaxing lounge.

445 Providence Main Street, Ste 101
Huntsville, AL 35806
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week for Lunch & Dinner

Lunch: Everyday (7 days per week) 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm

Saturday: 10:00am - 10:30pm
Sunday : 10:00am - 9:00pm
*Brunch Menu only available on Saturday and Sunday from 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Please note that we are closed on: New Years Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day, 4th of July, Thanksgiving, and Christmas.

Cross Street:
Hwy 72

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 489-9470

Website:
http://www.grille29.com/

Entertainment:
-

Catering:
Grille 29 has quickly become the leader in upscale dining in Northern Alabama. As a seven- time winner of the Taste of Huntsville, Grille 29 has earned a solid reputation for excellence and menu creativity. Our Executive Chef has kept the ever-changing menu fresh,innovative, and current. We are excited about providing the same elegant experience in the comfort of your office, home, private event venue, or wherever your special occasion takes us. Our Catering program is designed to bring our professional services to you.

Parking Details:
-

Public Transit:
-

Executive Chef:
-

Private Party Facilities:
Grille 29 is the perfect place for your gatherings from 10 to 200 people. With a large banquet room and a classy, yet comfortable feeling, Grille 29 is ready to take your reservation for any occasion. Club meetings, family reunions and office parties are all reasons to choose Grille 29.

Private Party Contact:
Regina Burnett: (256) 489-9476

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Grille 29 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Good for a Date (43)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
See All
Business Meals (29)
Romantic (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Great for Brunch (22)
Worth the Drive (19)
Casual (16)
Cozy (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Happy Hour (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Authentic (9)
People Watching (9)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Bar Seating (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Fun (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Great Beer (4)
Scenic View (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Live Music (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2093 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We celebrated my wife's birthday. It was very nice. Food was very good. Not to crowded. Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

In a word, our dining experience was TERRIBLE! My steak was cold, my wife's was over cooked. My steak had a funny taste to it and it was the smallest steak I've ever been served. One of he shrimp was raw. I've had better mashed potatoes from a box. The green beans were cold, too. Dirty plates sat on our table the whole meal. Our waiter was hardly there. He could not get the right food to the right diner. The manager just stood around talking to the staff.

You ruined our anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 16, 2017

This was our 50th wedding anniversary and certainly was not disappointed with our meal. To make the evening a bit more special a surprise $10 gift certificate was provided to us. Will always return to Grill 29 for special occasions or a great lunch getaway.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great service from Potter. Nice atmosphere and amazing food.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

We went for our 29th wedding anniversary. The food was just not good. I had the beef short rib and it was cold. They took it back and still not warm. Third time was finally warm enough to eat, even then nothing outstanding. My wifes grouper dish came with rice. If was so dried out it was crunchy and hard. They took it back and said they had made som fresh rice. Overall she said it was good but nothing special. They offered us 2 free desserts but we declined, we were just ready to get out of there. They did end up taking my meal off the check since it took 3 time to get it warm enough. This is an expensive restaurant and based on our experience, not worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere and amazing food. Sad that the bone in ribeye and onion rings were gone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

We had a wonderful brunch. Unfortunately, I can't remember our server's name. But she was excellent!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Liked the menu, enjoyed the food and server. Atmosphere was nice, quiet enough for easy conversation. Our 50th anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Enjoyed a fabulous dinner of cocktails (best old fashion in town), seared ahi tuna, side Caesar salad, 8oz fillet with oscar upgrade (super good value for what you get), wine, and take home cheesecake. We were very impressed with the flavor of their garlic mashed potatoes and how well everything was prepared. The staff was super attentive and made the overall experience very enjoyable without ever feeling rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 6, 2017

I tried the scallops for the first time and they are amazing. Just the right amount of sear, properly cooked, and melt in your mouth. The filet was tender and juicy as always. The service was impeccable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was accurate.
Nothing special.
Ordered items from the brunch menu.
They were OK. But I guess we expected more.
Service was not as good..mirmosa was just orange juice and warm. But on sale for 3$. Never again..
Then we ordered Prosecco and we got Moscato wine.
Service was very slow and obvious the server did not know the menu or the drinks..
They made it right for us in the end.
But overall we had high expectations I guess.
Maybe we need to try dinner versus Sunday brunch..

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The whole dining experience was wonderful. The service was great! The food was great! A good service experience makes all the difference! Our family truly enjoyed themselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Food was good, not great. Service was incredibly slow even though restaurant was not overly busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I have gone to Grill 29 since they opened for fun, celebration, conversation, just food. The service is excellent, the service and food are as well. I have gone a number of times on my own and loved it.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Outstanding food, great service, comfortable environment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Great Filet29 !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Visiting from Nashville and we loved our meal and the whole experience! What a treat to celebrate our friends 50th birthday! We enjoyed steak, grouper, pasta and lobster bisque! All of our meals were top notch! We also enjoyed dessert! Don't miss this jewel if you are in Huntsville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We were visiting friends in Alabama and this restaurant was recommended to us as being a bit "pricey" but well worth it. Well....it IS a bit pricey but worth every single morsel from everything thing we ordered. I was torn between crab cakes and salmon so order 4 crab cakes as appetizers and the salmon for my entrée. OMG is all I can say it was probably the best crab cakes I have ever had anywhere in the world I have eaten, and we have traveled extensively. There was almost NO filler and they were just yummy crab. The salmon is awesome and a 9 on scale of 1-10 but I have a 10 on my palate and it's still a 10. We liked this restaurant so much we ate there again the next day! The wait staff was excellent, they did not disappoint in anyway. You will NOT be disappointed if you give them a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Incredible from start to finish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

We were made to fell very special on our date night. The staff was very kind and personable. Glad we made Grille 29 our choice for our Anniversary date.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Love their lunch menu. Good choices to pick from, food was very good. Portions were right too. I made a reservation but during the week it is probably not crowded. Great place to have a conversation without noisy background.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 17, 2017

The best place to eat in Huntsville area, hands down... Every time we venture here, we are never let down. Great food and service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great food with excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 16, 2017

I always receive great food at this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 16, 2017

As always great foot and great service. Staff has never disappointed us in their knowledge, courtesy and attentiveness. Wonderful presentation of all dishes and taste were amazing too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Review will be in TripAdvisor! In the review, food critic, service, and cleanness will be detailed.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We've gotten into a delightful habit of brunching at Grille 29 at least one day on the weekend, with frequent lunches or dinners during the week. We've tried other places, but this is our favorite dining spot in Huntsville/Madison. See you again soon!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great place to have brunch. Just wish they had more brunch options available on their menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 13, 2017

You helped to make the celebration for our 50th that much more special. The card and gift certificate was very thoughtful and appreciated.
Meal and service was excellent. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food was not as good as it should be for the price. I would much rather go to Cotton Row or Connor's for the amount we spent. Service was great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Wanted to go to a place I've never been..Grille 29 fit the bill..I wanted seafood for my birthday without the hassle of dressing up.
Located in Villages of Providence, quaint setting..surrounding small shops and restaurants.
Made a reservation, seated as soon as we arrived.
Server was quick, efficient, informative, friendly.
The ambience here is comfortable and informal. Kinda bar meets good food with some class thrown in.
Escargot appetizer was sufficient, hard not to overdo in ceramic verses the shell. I will take more garlic with it please..and the shells.
I ordered the broiled jumbo scallops, lobster potatoes and succotash.
And I certainly wasn't disappointed!
Perfectly cooked, 4 golden gems that melted in my mouth! The portion was sizable. Leftovers cold the next day were just as good as they were that evening. (Yes, that makes a difference to me! Lol)
Would have preferred another vegetable instead, but not complaining.
Hubby had the grouper. Broiled, little dry for my liking. Served with a tower of rice.
All in all, good eats.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Disappointed in the grouper which was supposed to be a signature dish. Too salty and with a dab of lump crabmeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 4, 2017

WOW - the filet was above & beyond! service was VERY good: prompt, proactive, professional! REALLY regretted allowing you to seat us in "the daycare/kid-room" - BOOO. That WON'T happen again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Excellent food and the service was spot-on. My steak was perfect. And the deviled.eggs divine.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Not our best visit to Grille 29. The waiter did not offer any specials until asked about them. He also had a very hard time opening wine bottles. The bread that was brought to the table was still frozen. Had to be reminded multiple times to refill drinks. The food that we ordered for dinner was very good. It just seemed that the wait staff was very novice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The server was very sweet, but the timing of things was off. I did enjoy his beer and drink assistance. The dessert was awesome. I will return because I have had excellent service and food in the past.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant. The food is fabulous. We are never disappointed. Service is great. Already looking forward to our next visit!! Love Grille 29!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The quality of service and food here is always amazing. Though all of the dishes are great, the scallops are AMAZING. I was shocked by the size of them and devoured the lobster mashed potatoes... I don't even like mashed potatoes usually.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Food was average . Just had fish and chips, though. Pretty expensive for some fried cod .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

I was not impressed by the special. Blacken quail. Just everyday BBQ chicken. About 6oz of meat for $35.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.