About Grille 29

Located in the heart of Providence in Huntsville, Alabama, Grille 29 offers diners a wide variety of dinner choices in a classy comfortable atmosphere. The specialties of the house are in the "From the Grille" menu section with tender cuts like our 8 oz. Filet Mignon and 12 oz. New York Strip Steak. Coupled with Shrimp with Jumbo Lump Crab Meat or broiled Jumbo Scallops, these savory and hearty entrees are uniquely presented and prepared to your liking. The stylish all wood bar at Grille 29 features full liquor service and is manned by some of the area's most professional and courteous bartenders. The wine list consists of 104 varieties of bottled wine, 52 of which are available by the glass. The enticing signature Martinis and cocktails enhance your overall dining experience. Make new friends and enjoy a drink at the bar or meet with old friends for drinks in the relaxing lounge.

445 Providence Main Street, Ste 101
Huntsville, AL 35806
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 days a week for Lunch & Dinner

Lunch: Everyday (7 days per week) 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm

Saturday: 10:00am - 10:30pm
Sunday : 10:00am - 9:00pm
*Brunch Menu only available on Saturday and Sunday from 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Please note that we are closed on: New Years Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day, 4th of July, Thanksgiving, and Christmas.

Cross Street:
Hwy 72

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 489-9470

Website:
http://www.grille29.com/

Entertainment:
-

Catering:
Grille 29 has quickly become the leader in upscale dining in Northern Alabama. As a seven- time winner of the Taste of Huntsville, Grille 29 has earned a solid reputation for excellence and menu creativity. Our Executive Chef has kept the ever-changing menu fresh,innovative, and current. We are excited about providing the same elegant experience in the comfort of your office, home, private event venue, or wherever your special occasion takes us. Our Catering program is designed to bring our professional services to you.

Parking Details:
-

Public Transit:
-

Executive Chef:
-

Private Party Facilities:
Grille 29 is the perfect place for your gatherings from 10 to 200 people. With a large banquet room and a classy, yet comfortable feeling, Grille 29 is ready to take your reservation for any occasion. Club meetings, family reunions and office parties are all reasons to choose Grille 29.

Private Party Contact:
Regina Burnett: (256) 489-9476

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Grille 29 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (85)
Good for a Date (83)
Good for Anniversaries (76)
See All
Romantic (58)
Quiet Conversation (57)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Business Meals (44)
Worth the Drive (36)
Great for Brunch (35)
Good for Groups (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Cozy (27)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Great for Lunch (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Modern Decor (16)
Casual (15)
Fun (15)
Healthy (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Private Room (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
People Watching (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Authentic (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Family Style (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Disabled Access (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Music (2)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
2001 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

Loved the atmosphere and was greeted openly by the staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

Absolutely loved Grill 29! Great food, beautiful restaurant, and excellent service. Would definitely recommend to family and friends.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Had the Cajun shrimp dish and it was full of shrimp and the Cajun sauce was very tasty. Mi wife had the Sea Bass that really enjoyed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Late night reservations; no problem with immediate seating. Waiter was punctual and very polite. Bread came out a little late, but was fresh out of the oven. Not a lot of taste to the bread, but the texture (crusty outside, warm and soft inside) was very nice. Main course of filet was very punctual. Reduced sauce spread on the filet gave it an entirely higher level of flavoring. Fantastic. Waiter was very attentive and kept our glasses full, always smiling. Lighting was extremely low; had to use our cell phones to illuminate the menu. Small candle on the table provided a romantic setting. This is our "go-to" place for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food is great! FABULOUS even. The service? They can take a page from the Bottle on customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Friends of mine were coming into town and we decide to meet for dinner at the last minute. I was able to get a reservation at the time we wanted. Because we were catching up, we were in no hurry to eat and leave. The service was not pushy and let us take our time ordering and completing our meal. The food was very good and the menu selections offered a nice variety.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Good as usual. Family lives the chocolate soufflé. Only issue was potatoes were not warm and the server mentioned his ex wife twice trying to be funny

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were there for Mother's Day. The restaurant was viritually empty when we arrived, but it did get busier over the following hour. Our food was delicious and mostly correct when it arrived. The small two issues with food were quickly resolved and easily. We had two problems that were disappointing: (1) the server was unbelievably slow. We never even had a chance to order anything other than appetizers for one entire hour after being seated. She simply did not let us. She put us off at least twice when we tried to force the issue. (2) The restaurant ran out of what we feel is one of their specialities and regular menu items, the lobster bisque. It was a simple disappointment, but dinner service was just beginning, so we never expectedly them to be out of such a fabulous staple item of their menu. The up side is that it is such a fabulous lobster bisque, we will certainly be back for it. All the food was well prepared and we enjoyed our time overall.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Chaz was a great server!
His recommendation on the crab cake Benedict was spot on. A wonderful place for a Mothers Day brunch. We will return again next year.

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent service and great tasting food. We were seated right away on a busy Mothers Day morning. Very enjoyable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was wonderful! One of our favorite places. Service and food are both spectacular.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food, especially the desserts. Great service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Amazing Brunch (not to mention the 0.29 Mimosa's from 10-11 are a great deal), food was great and portions for adults and kids were perfect. Our server was very attentive, he was busy but made sure our drinks were full at all times (very rare on at a Brunch to have such great service).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our first time to experience Grille 29...our new favorite! Definitely will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Enjoyed dinner with the family in the covered outside dining area----food and service were great and the atmosphere enjoyable.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Higher end dining and good food but portions are a little small. Service was outstanding and food quality was high.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The recommendations were perfect! Chicken and waffles, Mimosas, and service can't be beat!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Odd atmosphere. Outside was nice. Fountain view. However, they had the "windows" down when we got there and it was very hot. Once they opened them, it was much better. Inside wasn't cozy or trendy, but clean.

Enjoyed the food. Reasonable price.

Main problem was service. Didn't ask if we wanted to eat inside or outside (reservation or when we got there). Only saw the waiter a few times. Long time to get food, but would have been ok if the waiter came by to check on us. Went to hostess stand to get dessert menu and order dessert. Waiter wasn't rude, until we went to hostess stand to complain, but was never friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Grille 29 is my favorite place for Weekend Brunch, come early for the 29 cent Mimosa from 10-11 a.m. Everyone at the table loved their food and the décor is my favorite in town, this is my go to place to celebrate special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food is excellent, and this is definitely a great place for an anniversary celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a fantastic evening celebrating our anniversary. Food was excellent. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The people who honored Grille 29's Grouper Oscar with one of its "100 Dishes to Eat Before You Die in Alabama" (which I would've worded, "...to eat in AL before you die," but they didn't ask me), didn't steer me wrong. It was a toss-up whether to try the filet mignon and the grouper, and I decided I could have steak anywhere, but I needed to find out what this award-winning fish was all about. It was all about freshness, tenderness and subtle spiciness. The pan-seared crust was perfectly flavored. My husband had a taste and he liked it too. We were not quite as impressed with the flavor of his crab cakes, but they were good. He liked the French Onion Soup and I liked the Caesar Salad (the cheese was mild, fresh and tasty, the lettuce crisp, crunchy and fresh, the croutons fresh and flavorful; the dressing could've had a tad more garlic for my liking, but it was quite good). When I commented to one of the waiters that I thought the grouper earned its award, he asked if I had the rice or the grits. I had citrus wild rice, which I liked a lot, and he said that they also served it with Southern grits (but I'll pass, thanks; never have liked grits). I've gone to Grille 29 for lunches in the past, and have enjoyed the filet tips and the Grille 29 cheesecake. Our dinner (grouper, crab cake, "small" salad (I took half of it home), soup, Sparkling Voss water for hubby, tap water for me, tax & tip came to $95.00. We call it "Lunch in Bruges (Belgium)", but that's another matter.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The service was terribly slow. We waited 15 minutes to just be asked what we wanted to drink. The steak was flavorless and tough. The chicken was dry and flavorless. For the cost of the meal it should have at least tasted decent. It was our first time there and we were very disappointed. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We dine here quite a few times a month. Food is awesome, and the service is remarkable. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 1, 2017

In-phucking-credible. We will be back. Great service. Great food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food and service are always impeccable !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Best restraunt in Huntsville if you enjoy fresh fish have to try the grouper oscar it's great

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food, as usual, was fabulous. However, for the s fond week in a row, the service was substandard. It seems they were understaffed again. Great server, but just need more of them.
This is the second week in a row that service has been poor. I hope they make some adjustments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This normally outstanding restaurant took a dip on Sunday for brunch. The server was awful. Took our order, which the kitchen staff delivered about 10 minutes later. Stopped by about 30 seconds later task if the food was good, and left. Never saw him again. Ran out of coffee, water and was not offered anything else on the menu. I finally flagged him down for the check, which he dropped on the table without comment, without well wishes and without inviting us back. This is anomalous but troubling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We have eaten here many times since they opened. Flavor of food has declined some in the last year and prices have gone up to the point we don't go very often. We can get a filet equal to theirs for several dollars less at Longhorn.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our organization held an anniversary luncheon for 12 of our members in the private dining room, and our experience was delightful!!! Our server, Carolina, was very professional and attentive, and assisted with every inquiry I had. The food was delicious, and everyone was very pleased with their beverages. I would definitely use this venue for this purpose again, and recommend it to others as well!!!

Tags: Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Everything was perfect as usual. Great food great service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Good food. Quite pricey so would choose for special occasions only.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Great service! Very professional and classy. Food sucked! Third time there and disappointed again. Got their grouper which is supposedly on the list of 100 things to eat in Alabama before you die, I think I could died without eating it and been just fine and not missed out on anything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Great food. FANTASTIC CHOCOLATE SOUFFLÉ!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I came here after prom a couple times. The food is exceptional and great prices. I left spending 60$ including the tip for my date's and my meal. Best filet mignon I've ever had!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Food was extremely over priced for what we received. My husband and I both ordered the grouper. It was over cooked and gummy. I had to cut mine with a knife, it wouldn't tear with my fork. The grouper was also completely tasteless, no seasoning what so ever. I substituted the rice for the garlic mashed potatoes and they were extremely bland and the aspagus was stringy and hard. Overall it was an awful $135 spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Love the food, ambiance, service!! Reasonably priced and great for a date, special occasion or just great food. Brunch was to die for!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Casual, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Went for birthday and had a wonderful time! Great service and good!!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.