About Grill 23 & Bar

161 Berkeley Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Grill 23 & Bar has been Boston’s top Steak and Seafood Grill for over 30 years. Consistently named Boston's Best Steakhouse by The Improper Bostonian Magazine and Boston Magazine, as well as New England's Best Steakhouse in New England Travel & Leisure Magazine. Always striving to offer our guests the best dining experience, we deliver only the best all natural dry-aged prime beef to our customers. In addition to the A La Carte selections, we create an innovative and inventive weekly Signature Specials menu, which emphasizes the region’s freshest bounty. Grill 23 & Bar proudly offers a 1000+ bottle wine list that encompasses wines from around the world and is the recipient Wine Spectator’s Best of-Award of Excellence since 2002.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm -10:30pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Bar and Bar Menu: Open at 4:30 Daily. Valet begins at 5 pm. Dress is Business Casual.

Cross Street:
Stuart Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 542-2255

Website:
http://www.grill23.com/

Catering:
For Private Dining Information, please contact us at (617) 542-2255, or email us at events@grill23.com

Parking Details:
Valet at 5:00pm / $21 per car

Public Transit:
Green Line, Arlington T stop.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

100 Day Dry Aged Ribeye
Heirloom Tomatoes
Grill 23 Tots
Bread Basket
Coconut Cake
Beef tenderloin
Cotuit Oysters
Truffled Tater Tots & Asparagus
Diver Sea Scallops
100 Day Wet Aged Ribeye
Shrimp Cocktail
Duckfat Tots
Tuna Tartare
Lobster Tail
Rhubarb Cobbler
Epic Pot Roast
Seafood Platter
Steak
Coconut Cak
Meatloaf
Bone-In Ribeye
Steak Tartare With Quail Egg
Tater Tots
Garlic Mashed Potatoes
Grand Sampler

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 5:30PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Grill 23 & Bar offers private dining for any occasion; business breakfast and meetings, luncheons, dinners, celebrations and wedding. We have 7 distinct private rooms, including our brand new state-of-the-art Private Dining Suite that can accommodate up to 140 guests.

Grill 23 & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Boston
American
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

special occasion (217)
notable wine list (148)
good for groups (135)
See All
fit for foodies (121)
romantic (88)
vibrant bar scene (60)
hot spot (53)
neighborhood gem (33)
late-night find (17)
great for lunch (14)
great for brunch (7)
scenic view (7)
kid-friendly (6)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3678 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific bar scene and service. Everythi ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Terrific bar scene and service. Everything was well prepared and impeccable.

food4
ambience4
service4

100 day dry-aged Ribeye is one of those ...

Dined 6 days ago

100 day dry-aged Ribeye is one of those 100 things you eat before you die! Third visit and it's just as superb as the first time my boyfriend and I had two years ago. Thank you, Grill 23, for another the excellent dinner. I brought my daughters with me this time and they gave you high rating also.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Rib Eye in Boston. And I really lik ...

Dined 6 days ago

Best Rib Eye in Boston. And I really liked the wine suggestions of the sommelier. Just great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favourite restaurants in our ...

Dined 6 days ago

One of our favourite restaurants in our neighbourhood. Always a great dining experience with excellent food and friendly service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was 5 star especially the ser ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Everything was 5 star especially the service( as usual).BUT the noise level was horrendous! There was 8 of us at the table and we all had a very difficult time hearing each other. I do not remember this being a problem before. ??

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always wonderful

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

Always wonderful

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

excellent spot for a superb steak dinner ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

excellent spot for a superb steak dinner!! service was excellent, food was outstanding and the atmosphere was first rate.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was exceptional and the bar ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The service was exceptional and the bar comfortable with an excellent range of cocktails. The food was excellent but the portions enormous!

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

I have eaten at Grill 23 many times but ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I have eaten at Grill 23 many times but sadly this time I was disappointed. All our mains were overlooked whereas in the past everything was perfect. Two orders of salmon, one swordfish and one filet steak and not one done as requested.

Tags: group bookings, special occasions
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing dinner with a staff that ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Had an amazing dinner with a staff that went above and beyond to accommodate.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have been going here fo ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband and I have been going here for years. We have never had a bad meal. Every server is top notch professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took our sons and their wives to Grill 2 ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Took our sons and their wives to Grill 23 to celebrate Father's Day. The restaurant was very accommodating as we got to the city early so they parked our car so we could enjoy the Back Bay for a little shopping and pre-dinner drink. Upon arrival we were seated immediately. The service was second to none and the food was delicious. I shared a steak with one of my daughter-in-laws and they were more than happy to serve it separately. All the appetizers and veggies were delicious as well. It was a wonderful evening, enjoyed by all of us. It was even more enjoyable for our sons and spouses as the children were home with babysitters! We will be back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant, fantastic food and ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, fantastic food and impeccable service ! Special aged ribeye was especially great. Fabulous dessert - chocolate ganache flourless cake. Highly recommend !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing filet mignon. I'm only sorry tha ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing filet mignon. I'm only sorry that I did not have room left for the sides and dessert. From my few bites, they were very good as well! The staff were all friendly and helpful.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time at Grill 23 and ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our first time at Grill 23 and we were extremely pleased. We expected excellent food, and we were not disappointed. Each entree was cooked to perfection. What really set Grill 23 apart for our family was the outstanding service. We loved that we were never rushed through any portion of our meal. As we were having a mini family reunion for an early Father's Day, we had plenty of time to catch up and linger over each course of the meal. Our waiter was attentive without being obtrusive. This was unexpected as it was a very busy Saturday night with not an empty table in sight. We will most definitely return to Grill 23!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dinner. Best dinner out I've h ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Fantastic dinner. Best dinner out I've had in years. Incredible food. Great wine. Impeccable service. Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food, drinks & service were all outstand ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Food, drinks & service were all outstanding. Looking forward to a meal there next time I'm in Boston.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the best steak EVER. I am so happy ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I had the best steak EVER. I am so happy that Grill 23 was recommended to me by several colleagues. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great! Celebrated our 39t ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Everything was great! Celebrated our 39th anniversary! We both had steaks,hubby had sirloin I had the 10 oz filet. Tater tots were delicious as the mushrooms . We will be going back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This restaurant has lost its identity. ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

This restaurant has lost its identity. This is a steak restaurant, but the drink menu has no classic whiskey drinks. It only has sweet drinks. Itt has eliminated traditional steak-restaurant sides, including onion rings and hash browns, replaced by green vegetables. And there was no pork on the menu. Meanwhile, the steak au poivre recipe is mediocre. Finally, my steak was slightly over-done.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always

Dined on June 7, 2016

It was the 4th time to Grill 23 for me, and the 6th or 7th for my wife. Our previous visits have been for business dinners. This was for her birthday, together with a couple of family members. The food and service were both superb, as has always been my experience. It is a fairly expensive restaurant and the bill for four of us was about $450 before tip, including drinks, a $60 wine (low end of the wine list) and desserts. But the experience was great in every way. There are restaurants in Boston with excellent food that are much better values, but not many that are so reliably excellent in terms of food and service. I would recommend Grill 23 without reservation for business dinners, but it is also a great place for non-business dinners if you know going in that it will not be cheap.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

if you are in Boston and need a great st ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

if you are in Boston and need a great steak this is the place

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect Special Occasion Restaurant

Dined on June 5, 2016

Super expensive but worth it for a special occasion! We had various steaks and no one was disappointed. Probably the biggest hit was the 24 oz Porterhouse. My 18 yr old said it was the best thing he ever ate. Wonderful service and ambiance.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Steak in Boston!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Every time I've gone here it has exceeded my expectations. I really enjoyed bringing my family here on Saturday. Great service!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Good

Dined on June 4, 2016

For years I have continuously frequented Grill 23 and am always happy with their food and service. Whether its a business dinner, meeting the guy s for dinner & drinks at the bar, taking my wife for date night or going for a special occasion they have always hit the mark 100%. Keep up the good work.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quiet dinner for our 30th wedding anniversary

Dined on June 4, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary by going to dinner at your restaurant on Saturday. Our server was Mario and he did a fantastic job! The food and wine was amazing and we plan to come back again soon. Thank you for a wonderful memory.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Evening!

Dined on June 4, 2016

We were a large party celebrating a special occasion. We experienced impeccable service, from wait staff as well as management, a flawless meal and fabulous wine/cocktail selections. Everyone had a great time and we won't hesitate to return to Grill 23!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The greatest of Boston Steakhouses

Dined on May 31, 2016

It seems every where you turn there is a great classic steakhouse popping up in Boston -- but Grill 23 is Boston's own and it is the class of them all. Unbelievable hunks of steak cooked to perfection, great sides and interesting appetizers accompanied by personable and attentive servers. What more could you ask for?! The 100 day dry aged ribeye is a revelation. Flavor to the max, nothing else compares. The pricing is not for the faint of heart, but for a special occasion this is the way to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Decent food, poor service

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Food and drinks were good. $250/head was a little steep. Fish tower quantity was a little light , although it was delicious. Waiter stunk. Went on Mem Day weekend, so I think we got the B team. When one of our steaks was overcooked, he just ignored the customer. Not much personality either. I won't be back for awhile. Always felt service was snooty in there. This time, I just felt it was bad. Desserts were excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!!!!

Dined on May 29, 2016

4 old friends having great food in a wonderful atmosphere enjoying a leisurely dinner. Service was subrurd!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful restaurant, great food choices ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Wonderful restaurant, great food choices and not too far from Copley and other sites in the Boston area. I definitely will go there again when I am in the city.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Al the service staff are good. Know thei ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Al the service staff are good. Know their trade, are pleasant and attentive. The problem at Grill 23 is in the kitchen. This restaurant is well known in Boston, is expensive and in a prime location but the main ingredient, the food, doesn't match it. We both had their house chowder which was luke warm and had to go back. The vegetables (spinach and beans) were over cooked and the swordfish was well done instead of the requested rare. We lost the will to complain again. Doubtful we'll return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful dinner. Our 4 year old ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner. Our 4 year old granddaughter loved it too. The waiter was very nice and treated her like any other guest. She loved being included.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Steaks in Boston

Dined on May 26, 2016

100 day old dry aged Freisian beef! This is the finest beef steak I have had, bar none, anywhere in the world! A truly amazing wine list - over 1500 to select from; if you can't find it here, you probably can't find it.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value5

Grill 23 is located in a convenient spo ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Grill 23 is located in a convenient spot in Boston, and that is why we went there after a business presentation. The restaurant was way too cold, and we were all freezing. My husband's skirt steak ( steak frites) was extremely salty, and he had to send it back. I ordered a green salad with goat cheese, but I had to ask for extra goat cheese because it hardly came with any. My swordfish was just OK. The piece was very thin, and it did not have much taste. The service was excellent, though. My parents ordered a fillet mignon, and they were happy with it. Overall, it was not a great experience, but we will probably try the restaurant again.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waiter could have been a bit more percep ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Waiter could have been a bit more perceptive but overall service was good.

Tags: hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great night. Delicious food. Attentive a ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Great night. Delicious food. Attentive and personable service. One of our favorite restaurants in Boston.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Dry Aged New York Prime at Grill 23 is o ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Dry Aged New York Prime at Grill 23 is one of my all-time fave steak meals and that includes comparison to most of the top rated NYC steakhouses. I try to go whenever Im in Boston.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was great, but the noise level ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The food was great, but the noise level was outrageous. I went there to celebrate a birthday and definitely not the place for that. Food took to long but well worth the wait in taste

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience3
service2

Over commit and under deliver. High tens ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Over commit and under deliver. High tension among staff. Poor service and food. Good wine list.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.