About Grill 23 & Bar

161 Berkeley Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Grill 23 & Bar has been Boston’s top Steak and Seafood Grill for over 30 years. Consistently named Boston's Best Steakhouse by The Improper Bostonian Magazine and Boston Magazine, as well as New England's Best Steakhouse in New England Travel & Leisure Magazine. Always striving to offer our guests the best dining experience, we deliver only the best all natural dry-aged prime beef to our customers. In addition to the A La Carte selections, we create an innovative and inventive weekly Signature Specials menu, which emphasizes the region’s freshest bounty. Grill 23 & Bar proudly offers a 1000+ bottle wine list that encompasses wines from around the world and is the recipient Wine Spectator’s Best of-Award of Excellence since 2002.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm -10:30pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Bar: Opens at 4:30 Daily. Valet begins at 5 pm. Dress is Business Casual.

Cross Street:
Stuart Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 542-2255

Website:
http://www.grill23.com/

Catering:
For Private Dining Information, please contact us at (617) 542-2255, or email us at events@grill23.com

Parking Details:
Valet at 5:00pm / $21 per car

Public Transit:
Green Line, Arlington T stop.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:30PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Grill 23 & Bar offers private dining for any occasion; business breakfast and meetings, luncheons, dinners, celebrations and wedding. We have 7 distinct private rooms, including our brand new state-of-the-art Private Dining Suite that can accommodate up to 140 guests.

Grill 23 & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Boston
American
Boston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

special occasion (254)
notable wine list (167)
fit for foodies (146)
See All
good for groups (141)
romantic (113)
vibrant bar scene (71)
hot spot (67)
neighborhood gem (29)
great for lunch (16)
late-night find (14)
scenic view (9)
great for brunch (8)
kid-friendly (7)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3642 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waiter could have been a bit more percep ...

Dined 4 days ago

Waiter could have been a bit more perceptive but overall service was good.

Tags: hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great night. Delicious food. Attentive a ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Great night. Delicious food. Attentive and personable service. One of our favorite restaurants in Boston.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Dry Aged New York Prime at Grill 23 is o ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Dry Aged New York Prime at Grill 23 is one of my all-time fave steak meals and that includes comparison to most of the top rated NYC steakhouses. I try to go whenever Im in Boston.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was great, but the noise level ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The food was great, but the noise level was outrageous. I went there to celebrate a birthday and definitely not the place for that. Food took to long but well worth the wait in taste

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience3
service2

Over commit and under deliver. High tens ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Over commit and under deliver. High tension among staff. Poor service and food. Good wine list.

food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Service lets down great food and wine

Dined on May 14, 2016

An amazing wine list and excellent food make this restaurant a standout, especially for a special occasion. It is, however, very loud, and on a Saturday night in mid-May was over-crowded... the result was service that was spotty, even forgetful. The staff did try to make up for the service lapses with desserts on the house, and the sommelier was awesome - knowledgeable, friendly, responsive and generous.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great way to end week in Boston

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Restaurant packed and very loud the night we visited. Wait and kitchen staff looked overly extended as it seemed a long time for our meal to come out. Steak good but pricey. Oysters delicious. Had called prior to our arrival to tell them it was wife's birthday which said they would acknowledge. Never happened. Would go back on next visit to Boston but maybe try a week night instead

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, wine and single malts.

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food and wine were outstanding and the selection of single malts is second to none.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group of 4 (2 local and 2 from NYC) ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Our group of 4 (2 local and 2 from NYC) went to Grill 23 primarily because we had a gift certificate procured at a silent auction. We had such a great time. The servers were attentive, polite, appropriate and friendly. In fact, a wrong dish was brought to the table. It was an easy mistake and really not a big deal. The manager came over with the replacement dish, apologized, and coolly handled the situation perfectly. The food and champagne were extraordinary. The coconut cake for dessert was fantastic. I really can't say enough about Grill 23. We will definitely go again and recommend it to others.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

great place best steak I've ever had

Dined on May 13, 2016

great place best steak I've ever had

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Grill 23 is the high end steakhouse you ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Grill 23 is the high end steakhouse you always hope for. It is a treat to enjoy the best beef and attentive and well informed service. We took our son for his commencement from Boston University, a joyous event, and Grill 23 did not disappoint. The wine list was top, finding a nice Morth Coast cab franc at a reasonable price. It was among the best porterhouse I've had and I'm a steak snob.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Get the dry aged ribeye. Really tasty st ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Get the dry aged ribeye. Really tasty steak. We also had the American waygu cap steak, which was tasty.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

They did not read the comment box.

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Been here before. Knew that upstairs seating area tends to be more quiet. Requested that in the open table comment section. They did not pay attention to it. They wanted to seat us downstairs. Asked if there were tables upstairs. There were, and lots of it. Requested to be seated upstairs in person. Other than that, fantastic dining experience as always.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Dinner

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

I came here to treat my mother on Mother's Day. We all had the 100 day dry-aged rib eye, which was cooked to perfection. Definitely one of the best steaks I've had in Boston, and at 18oz, one of the larger cuts. While I normally limit myself to one drink or cocktail before the main course comes out, the old fashioneds that I ordered were so well-balanced that I couldn't help myself. Service was impeccable.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2

The food was excellent, but the server w ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was excellent, but the server was inattentive to a degree that detracted from the overall dining experience. We are not likely to return,

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Steak Lovers Paradise

Dined on May 7, 2016

A friend and I recently enjoyed dinner here. The restaurant is pretty large and buzzing with customers and wait staff. The restaurant also has a very nice bar and is in a great area of Boston. I'd go back to Grill 23 & Bar only for a special occassion as the a la carte menu is very expensive as is the wine list. Both of us had steaks and they were delicious!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Grill 23 does a nice job - this is my 3r ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Grill 23 does a nice job - this is my 3rd time there. We went the night of the derby so was a bit noisier then usual, and it showed a bit in the service. Overall they are very good and I will go there again

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect for a special occasion.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Perfect for a special occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak and shrimp I've ever had in m ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Best steak and shrimp I've ever had in my life!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have dined at many "high end" steak ho ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

I have dined at many "high end" steak houses across the country, and Grille 23 sets itself apart from many others. The service was impeccable! Our server was knowledgeable, polite, and knew just when to inject herself to our table, which was an important business dinner. The food was amazing. Steaks cooked to perfection, and the sides were wonderful accompaniments and perfect to share. I highly recommend Grill 23 for that special evening out or an important business dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Boston Staple

Dined on May 3, 2016

Always a great meal, with wonderful steaks, diverse menu options aside from steak, raw bar and an extensive wine list. Service is attentive and professional. Went here last week for a very important business dinner with >10 guests (some arriving later, others leaving earlier for flights than are reservation time) and the management and staff never missed a beat. You can tell this is not a chain like Morton's, Ruth Chris etc. It's got this warm local feel that's hard to describe but easy to spot. They should open the bar menu for restaurant orders especially for large groups to snack and share pre-meal and the wine list makes some pretty big jumps in price for certain regions/types, but aside from this there is little to complain about and much to praise. Definitely, one of my favorite steak houses in the world... and I travel a lot and like a great steak when I do.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good steak, everything else is OK.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Beef tenderloin was poor, but the ribeye was amazing. Really. Outstanding. It is very pricey, but the ribeye was worth it. Place has poor acoustics and does not feel sufficiently intimate.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

delicious steak and desert. Though my butterfly fillet mignon was cooked too much ( I order medium well and it came super well done). Though the steak was still tender. 1st floor is noisy and second floor is quiter. First floor decoration is more special with classic details and high ceiling. Second floor has smaller rooms, low ceiling height and ceiling tiles. The service was great. The hostess though was a bit hard to communicate and looked overwhelmed. He seemed a little like he was doing us a favor by assigning a table for us which I reserved 3 weeks in advance and confirmed our reservation the day before our reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience

Dined on April 30, 2016

Nice drinks, great meat and fantastic desert. A litle noise but excelent service and environment. Definetely will come back

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Going for 23 years loving every meal.

Dined on April 29, 2016

Excellant service, just the right amount of attention.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service2

Awful food. Will not go back

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Awful food. Will not go back

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

very nice birthday dinner with Dad.

Dined on April 28, 2016

Food was great and service was perfect. Always a good place to go when craving a steak.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience3
service4

Newyork strip steak was dry and over coo ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Newyork strip steak was dry and over cooked. My guest did not like it. Left most of it in his plate embarrassing to me. My Tenderloin ordered medium was also over cooked. Desert was good.

food1
ambience2
service3

Good was not good. No other way to put i ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Good was not good. No other way to put it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceeded Expectations

Dined on April 23, 2016

From the time we walked in the door until we rolled out of Grill 23, my wife and I were impressed - and pleased with making the choice to celebrate our Anniversary here. Wait staff, Sommelier and Management could not have been more accommodating. Food was perfect, wine was excellent. Can't wait to save up to go back!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Husband's 60th birthday

Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband has never been to Grill 23. So my son wanted to take him there for his 60th. He had fun and loved the food. One thing I'll add, this wasn't my first choice because last year I came in for Dine out week and the choice of food was terrible. Your regular food is great so went I ranted to my friend and took them there during Dine out week, I and them were very disappointed. Needless to say vowed to never come back and I don't blame them base on that menu so I hope this year will be better.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grill 23 & Bar

Dined on April 23, 2016

I booked the reservation for a 60th dinner party for my husband through open table. I was very impressed that Grill 23 honored my request for a quiet area for 7 adults and an infant. We were placed in a private dining room and had an awesome server, Damon. The food was excellent and the white chocolate with birthday misses and candle on the creme brulee were a special touch. The fact that my son and daughter could relax and the baby was comfortable through the entire time was a blessing. My husband was surprised and enjoyed the time with his family. Would definitely recommend Grill 23 & Bar

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Busy day

Dined on April 18, 2016

As a semi regular at Grill 23, I obviously love the place, we always get great service and are always made to feel important, no matter how busy the place is. On this occasion we visited on Marathon Monday. As expected the restaurant was very busy, just as in previous year's we have dined on that day. However our waiter was very “curt”, even snatching menus out of hands. We wouldn't let that put us off going back anytime though.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Our meals were terrific and the service ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Our meals were terrific and the service was wonderful . My only complaint was that the restaurant was enormous and we were seated so far back on the second floor that we felt very dis-attached from the heart of the restaurant and more like we were eating in a non-descript hotel restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

all-around winner

Dined on April 16, 2016

The bar upstairs is exactly what a bar should be, with helpful, friendly bartenders and luxurious atmosphere. (Plus the Red Sox winning onscreen.) Our waitress was perfect, with a sense of humor and great attentiveness. The whole staff showed its merits when an understandable mishap occurred. (The details are entertaining but I won't disclose them here. Suffice it to say, the waitstaff and managers are not sluggish.) The four of us had an absolutely wonderful time. We don't usually spend so much on meals, so we were very happy to find Grill 23 to be such a great place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience4
service4

Best rib eye I've ever had. And try the ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Best rib eye I've ever had. And try the tater tots.

food4
ambience5
service3

I found it to be an unusual night .. Ser ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

I found it to be an unusual night .. Service pace was off. My steak was over cooked. My first bottle of wine after waiting for it for a while was out. Bread came before water did. Server couldn't suggest a scotch. Just weird for them. Broccoli tasted dry, tots lacked seasoning.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Special Occassion with friends

Dined on April 4, 2016

Friends visiting from Australia. Perfect dining experience. Food is excellent! Service is excellent yet not intrusive. Coconut cake is heavenly!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

All you could want

Dined on April 3, 2016

Great sommelier, great wines and excellent Kobe steak. What more could you want?

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food, great service. Grill 23 ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Excellent food, great service. Grill 23 continues to set the standard.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.