About Grill 23 & Bar

161 Berkeley Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Grill 23 & Bar has been Boston’s top Steak and Seafood Grill for over 30 years. Consistently named Boston's Best Steakhouse by The Improper Bostonian Magazine and Boston Magazine, as well as New England's Best Steakhouse in New England Travel & Leisure Magazine. Always striving to offer our guests the best dining experience, we deliver only the best all natural dry-aged prime beef to our customers. In addition to the A La Carte selections, we create an innovative and inventive weekly Signature Specials menu, which emphasizes the region’s freshest bounty. Grill 23 & Bar proudly offers a 1000+ bottle wine list that encompasses wines from around the world and is the recipient Wine Spectator’s Best of-Award of Excellence since 2002.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm -10:30pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Bar and Bar Menu: Open at 4:30 Daily. Valet begins at 5 pm. Dress is Business Casual.

Cross Street:
Stuart Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 542-2255

Website:
http://www.grill23.com/

Catering:
For Private Dining Information, please contact us at (617) 542-2255, or email us at events@grill23.com

Parking Details:
Valet at 5:00pm / $21 per car

Public Transit:
Green Line, Arlington T stop.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

100 Day Dry Aged Ribeye
Grill 23 Tots
Steak
Clam Chowder With Lobster
Broccoli Asparagus Spinach Shisito Peppers
Heirloom Tomatoes
Bread Basket
Beef tenderloin
Truffled Tater Tots & Asparagus
Cotuit Oysters
Diver Sea Scallops
100 Day Wet Aged Ribeye
Shrimp Cocktail
Duckfat Tots
Tuna Tartare
Lobster Tail
Rhubarb Cobbler
Coconut Cake
Epic Pot Roast
Seafood Platter
Meatloaf
Coconut Cak
Bone-In Ribeye
Garlic Mashed Potatoes
Steak Tartare With Quail Egg
Tater Tots
Grand Sampler

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Fri 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Grill 23 & Bar offers private dining for any occasion; business breakfast and meetings, luncheons, dinners, celebrations and wedding. We have 6 distinct private rooms, including our brand new state-of-the-art Private Dining Suite that can accommodate up to 140 guests.

Grill 23 & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston / New England
American
Boston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

Special Occasion (133)
Notable Wine List (93)
Good for Groups (75)
See All
Romantic (67)
Fit for Foodies (66)
Hot Spot (39)
Vibrant Bar Scene (36)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Business Meals (24)
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Late-night Find (12)
Authentic (8)
Scenic View (8)
People Watching (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Private Room (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Historic (4)
Fun (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Cozy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Casual (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3786 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A group of 5 for moms bday while visitin ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

A group of 5 for moms bday while visiting Boston for a couple of days. Sat us promptly but we waiting a while for our server, once he came over we put in our whole order. Place is so loud we can't talk to each other & although our server was really nice & trying to be attentive but wasn't. Seems they are extremely busy & might need additional wait staff. All in all everyone enjoyed their dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very expensive. Not as good as it usual ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very expensive. Not as good as it usually is. Reserved table for 4 many many weeks in advance and got sat in the middle of the floor. When i asked to move, they said there was no room on the main floor.

It was a birthday occasion. It was very very very loud and difficult to enjoy the special occasion.

This is my favorite restaurant. I will go back and hope for my usual superb experience.

Service was impeccable.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Best steak I've ever had!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Best steak I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The tenderloin was delicious but the atm ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

The tenderloin was delicious but the atmosphere left me feeling like I was out for a business meeting instead of a special date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Service was a 10

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Service was a 10

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took a group of clients for an early din ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Took a group of clients for an early dinner at 530pm on a Tuesday and the place was very quiet. We were seated promptly, service was quick to take our drink and app orders. Entree selections aren't huge unless you want steak, but covered the bases pretty well. Food came out very quick and was prepared perfectly, but most importantly tasted fantastic. I've eaten here about half dozen times and have never been disappointed.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our evening started out poorly but the r ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Our evening started out poorly but the restaurant did recover nicely. There were 3 orders of steak frites at medium well and 1 order of filet mignon at medium. All 4 orders were cooked incorrectly. The steak frites orders were medium rare at best and the filet was well done. The waiter immediately recognized the mistake and they did get us all new steaks and new sides and comped us dessert. It was an inconvenience that you do not expect at this price point but it was still a rather large inconvenience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous from start to finish!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Fabulous from start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent all around from table, to serv ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent all around from table, to service to meal. Highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We brought my parents on their first Bos ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We brought my parents on their first Boston visit to Grill 23 and had a wonderful dinner. The restaurant was full but there is enough space between tables to lend a feeling of intimacy with your fellow dining companions. Service was across the board excellent - attentive, friendly, but not obsequious or invasive. (We were similarly impressed by the service when my husband and I came here for his birthday.)

Food was also excellent, from the appetizers (wedge salad, calamari, crab cake) to the a la carte steak and sides to the entrees (short rib, cod, and steak frites). All-american favorites executed with skill.

I like the upstairs dining area for its quieter private club feel, and the downstairs area for its more energetic bistro ambiance. It's a reliably great steakhouse and not a chain, so perfect for bringing family or friends who visit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Steak was dry. The restaurant was extrem ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Steak was dry. The restaurant was extremely loud. menu limited. bad overall experience. would not return

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Grill 23 exceeded our expectations. The ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Grill 23 exceeded our expectations. The food was exquisitely prepared and paired, as well as perfectly portioned. We left feeling a deep level of satisfaction from having neither lingering hunger nor being overly stuffed. The staff was just the right amount of attentive and when I (truly casually) mentioned it was my husband's birthday, they added a candle and a birthday note to our dessert and brought out take-home caramels from the pastry chef.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SUPERB food, excellent wine choice by wa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

SUPERB food, excellent wine choice by waiter. Overall, one of the best meals we have had and we go out every Friday night . Dessert of bread pudding very creative and delicious

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved the food and the atmosphere. A gre ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Loved the food and the atmosphere. A great place to entertain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another enjoyable evening at Grill 23. G ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Another enjoyable evening at Grill 23. Great food and wine - the swordfish and steaks are excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were there for mid-week celebratory d ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We were there for mid-week celebratory dinner. Great steaks. Good variety, but mostly only average sides. Wide, global wine list. Difficult to hold conversation. Service was highly attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ive been here several times but not rece ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Ive been here several times but not recently until this month. This is my new fav steakhouse in the world. A bit better than Mon Ami Gabi in Vegas, slightly better than the Mews of Mayfair in London, better than Birks in Santa Clara and much better than the Chop House in Chicago.

Had twin filets with side of Wild Mushrooms The mushrooms put the experience over the top. they are sauteed in sherry, confit, with shallot, herbs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Arrived 5 minutes before reservation. Wa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Arrived 5 minutes before reservation. Waited 35 minutes to be seated. Host seemed annoyed when I went to check on table 25 minutes after reservation.

Food was phenomenal! Service at the bar while waiting was attentive and the drinks were delicious. Table service was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was excellent. The 100 ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food and service was excellent. The 100 day ribeye was the best steak I have ever ever eaten. Only 2 negatives I have is,it was very noisy in the restaurant so hearing my date was difficult a times.

But,I suppose there's nothing you can really do about that. Also,tthe table were a bit crammed.if you just took one table out of the establishment it would go a long way as far as more space for people to stretch out justa little bit.overall I'd still give it an A

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Booked Saturday afternoon and lucky enou ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Booked Saturday afternoon and lucky enough to get a prime time for prime beef

Great atmosphere, steaks and wine whilst seated literally within a few mins of allocated time despite being busy

Recommend

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at Grill 23 was exception ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Our experience at Grill 23 was exceptional! Every steak we ordered was cooked perfectly! The one and only blemish on our experience was not having serving spoons to go with the sides we ordered to share at the table; however, this mistake was taken to heart by management and staff worked tirelessly to ensure the rest of our experience went smoothly! Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Everything we ate was superb, had to wai ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Everything we ate was superb, had to wait a little for the table but that was ok.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Despite having a reservation and arrivin ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Despite having a reservation and arriving on time, we had to wait nearly 20 minutes for a table. I had gone to the restaurant looking forward to having the Lamb Chops, which I was informed after I had ordered, they were out of. My martini, ordered straight up, had a lot of ice floating in it and was watery with no flavor of gin at all. We ordered a bottle of wine and the waiter brought the wrong bottle to the table, which we had to send back and there was a delay in retrieving the correct bottle. The staff were gracious, though we felt a little rushed, despite the room in which we were dining, having several free tables by later in the evening. Several times the wait staff attempted to clear plates which were not finished as we were having a conversation, the forks and knives were down, we were not finished. This was not up to the standard of my previous visit and the food though good, was not outstanding. I doubt I will return.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Grill 23 is undoubtedly the best steak h ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Grill 23 is undoubtedly the best steak house in Boston. The service is impeccable and the atmosphere is great. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a special occasion spot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner was fabulous. We sat upstairs an ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Dinner was fabulous. We sat upstairs and it was such a nice change. It was quiet and romantic. Of course we both had the Prime and it was cooked perfectly. The coconut cake is my favorite dessert!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Entrance floor was too noisy.

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Entrance floor was too noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Really disappointing experience. Food wa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Really disappointing experience. Food was average at best and over priced. We booked this restaurant to celebrate our honeymoon while in Boston but it let us down at every turn. We dined on a Sunday evening and the place was manic and we could sense the tension between staff to turn tables. We started with $21 crab cakes or should I say cake (tiny in size). They were small, bland and dated. We ordered two filet mignons and one came out half the size of the other (in a bad way)! We complained about the size and while the manager apologised and took it off our bill we felt unsatisfied with his response to us. The only positive was Jean our waiter who was so kind and apologetic that our experience was so poor but he couldn't make up for the poor food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The atmosphere and service were very "sp ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The atmosphere and service were very "special occasion". Food was absolutely wonderful from the brilliant steaks to the desserts. Best caramels ever. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Grill 23 is a steak house. It has been ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Grill 23 is a steak house. It has been a Boston landmark for many years. The steaks are great and if you are not a steak eater, there are options such as lamb chops and fish (tuna, salmon, cod). Appetizers are plentiful and sides for the a la carte menu are also really good and varied. The prices are high- as are most steak houses. The service is divine. Waiter there when you want him/her but not when you don't and very helpful in choosing a wine that is affordable from a huge wine list which includes stratospheric prices. We found a really good Cotes De Rhone for 48 dollars. Sitting upstairs meant a bit quieter than downstairs- a good thing for conversation and the evening was great. Mentioned to our waiter that we were celebrating a birthday and a lovely dessert with candle arrived at the end. The steaks are large enough that two could easily split and order sides (french fries are yummy) and eat well and a bit less expensively. Enjoy

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Grill 23 claims to be a great steakhous ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Grill 23 claims to be a great steakhouse. As one who travels the country in search of great steakhouses Grill 23 does not come close . The $57.00, 100 day aged ribeye was full of fat and while the flavor was good you had to fight to get to the meat on the lamb chops.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

My husband and I celebrated our annivers ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at Grill 23 and had a wonderful evening. I had the twin filets, which were perfectly done, and my husband had the ribeye, which he loved. We had the chocolate cake for dessert, which came with a piece of chocolate that had "Happy Anniversary" written on it, which was a nice touch and made the evening even more festive. The service was also fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and good service. Trying to be ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Good food and good service. Trying to be trendy with all the right items on the menu, and all were good, but none blew my mind. Technique was missing a little, e.g. Missing the mark on a great appetizer with too much salt on top or a dessert with too much sugar. The right pieces are there for a fantastic restaurant if the execution was a little bit better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Comparable to other high end steak resta ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Comparable to other high end steak restaurants in Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We arrived at the location one hour befo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We arrived at the location one hour before our reservation. Planned on going to bar before checking in, but host said he could seat us, so we figured we could have a drink at the table instead. It took a LONG time for anyone to take our drink order. Another couple was seated after us at the next table and already attended to before our waiter showed up first time. From that point on, however, service was good and prompt. Local oysters from raw bar to start--I liked but DH thought too salty (we're used to gulf oysters). Caesar salad was fair. DH loved his cod and I was underwhelmed by bland Ahi Tuna. Big props to sommelier who suggested a perfect moderately priced South African red wine to complement our meal, since DH refuses to drink white wine, even with fish. Restaurant's signature Coconut Cake for dessert was fantastic and big enough to be dessert the next night from our hotel room mini fridge.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Heard about this place for years. Tried ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Heard about this place for years. Tried it on a business trip. Food was not great imho. Vegetables seemed like they had been frozen as did the signature potato tots. Steak was ok but overpriced. Reminded me of hotel food. On the other hand service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Fantastic food, knowledgeable servers & ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Fantastic food, knowledgeable servers & sommeliers. Really enjoyed the meal and appreciated the level of detail that was thought of for my time there.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I have been to Grill 23 before and had a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I have been to Grill 23 before and had always loved it! I always said the steak is one of the top steaks I've ever had. This visit was not as successful. I came here with my wife for Restaurant Week and had the steak selection from the menu. It was just "okay." I should have paid the $16 uncharge and had the 14 oz. NY Strip from the Restaurant Week menu. Either that or I should have just ordered from the regular menu which I am sure would have been much better. The service was outstanding as usual. The server was very friendly and knowledgeable about everything on the menu as well as the wine list.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Private Room, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Went on restaurant week and it was great ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Went on restaurant week and it was great, from adorable girl who greeted us and immediately recommended the old fashioned (which was awesome). The service was incredible from manager, sommelier, waiter,to bus boy. Steaks were good "with supplement" for better cut; unfortunately the heirloom tomatoes weren't ripe but dish was great. Desserts both incredible.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Bar Side Menu where the portio ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent Bar Side Menu where the portions are large and the quality of the food and service is outstanding!! We ordered the burger and hanger steak for my wife and I and that was more than we could finish. And needless to say great service at the bar, while it being a little crowded we still had plenty of space to enjoy our diner at the bar.

I highly recommend going.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing, from the waitstaff to the food ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Amazing, from the waitstaff to the food this place was luxurious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.