About Grill 23 & Bar

161 Berkeley Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Grill 23 & Bar has been Boston’s top Steak and Seafood Grill for over 30 years. Consistently named Boston's Best Steakhouse by The Improper Bostonian Magazine and Boston Magazine, as well as New England's Best Steakhouse in New England Travel & Leisure Magazine. Always striving to offer our guests the best dining experience, we deliver only the best all natural dry-aged prime beef to our customers. In addition to the A La Carte selections, we create an innovative and inventive weekly Signature Specials menu, which emphasizes the region’s freshest bounty. Grill 23 & Bar proudly offers a 1000+ bottle wine list that encompasses wines from around the world and is the recipient Wine Spectator’s Best of-Award of Excellence since 2002.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm -10:30pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Bar and Bar Menu: Open at 4:30 Daily. Valet begins at 5 pm. Dress is Business Casual.

Cross Street:
Stuart Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 542-2255

Website:
http://www.grill23.com/

Catering:
For Private Dining Information, please contact us at (617) 542-2255, or email us at events@grill23.com

Parking Details:
Valet at 5:00pm / $21 per car

Public Transit:
Green Line, Arlington T stop.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

100 Day Dry Aged Ribeye - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Grill 23 Tots - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Steak - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Clam Chowder With Lobster - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Broccoli Asparagus Spinach Shisito Peppers - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Heirloom Tomatoes - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Bread Basket - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Beef tenderloin - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Truffled Tater Tots & Asparagus - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Cotuit Oysters - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Diver Sea Scallops - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
100 Day Wet Aged Ribeye - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Shrimp Cocktail - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Duckfat Tots - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Tuna Tartare - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Lobster Tail - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Rhubarb Cobbler - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Coconut Cake - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Epic Pot Roast - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Seafood Platter - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Meatloaf - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Coconut Cak - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Bone-In Ribeye - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Garlic Mashed Potatoes - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Steak Tartare With Quail Egg - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Tater Tots - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Grand Sampler - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Mon - Thu 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Fri 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Grill 23 & Bar offers private dining for any occasion; business breakfast and meetings, luncheons, dinners, celebrations and wedding. We have 6 distinct private rooms, including our brand new state-of-the-art Private Dining Suite that can accommodate up to 140 guests.

Grill 23 & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (84)
Business Meals (70)
Good for a Date (63)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Notable Wine List (54)
Romantic (51)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Good for Groups (32)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Bar Seating (23)
Cozy (23)
Authentic (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Comfort Food (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
People Watching (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Fun (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Historic (13)
Private Room (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Casual (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Seasonal (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Family Style (7)
Fireplace (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Scenic View (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great Beer (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Healthy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
4208 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of the best Dry Aged Rib Eye in the ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

One of the best Dry Aged Rib Eye in the U.S.A. 100 Day dry aged. Atmosphere, Waitstaff, Price, and Food is great. All around one of the best restaurants i've ever been to.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of those places you go to fe ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

This is one of those places you go to feel good about being able to go to. I felt I did not get the $300 quality my bill suggested, but have no real complaints about the meal itself everything was delicious and immaculate.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Restaurant is lovely . Interior very bea ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Restaurant is lovely . Interior very beautiful but gets very loud because of high ceilings and hard flooring.

Valets were quick and pleasant . Menu was very good . Disappointed there were no specials . Waiter was very busy and not as attentive as he should have been.

Cocktail menu was limited and not very original.

Wine menu was very good. Dessert that claimed to be"famous" coconut cake was not moist or had been refrigerated so not as enjoyable as it could have been .

But steaks and chops were delicious and memorable !

They did acknowledge we were celebrating a birthday and made the dessert festive with a candle and happy birthday written on the plate .

Overall very good .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Sadly, I must admit that not only I, bu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Sadly, I must admit that not only I, but also our entire party was gravely disappointed.

It was my father's 81 bday and when you are paying over $600 for a party of 7, one would expect to at least have a warm environment. We requested an increase in room temp twice and ultimately ended up finding a new table ourselves. Everything else from that point forward dimmed in light of our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Food was good, service was good but disa ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was good, service was good but disappointed the room was cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

All was great but I ordered a $64.00 pie ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

All was great but I ordered a $64.00 piece of steak and it was BURNT... everyone else meals were finr

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

As always great food and service. Not a ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

As always great food and service. Not a fan of the table for two with a small divider next to another table for two. Can hear their conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Young sommelier needs some more training ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Young sommelier needs some more training with respect to offering a variety of wines as well as the timing of approaching dining party.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We had a perfect New Year's Eve dinner, ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a perfect New Year's Eve dinner, followed by a great time at the bar!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

came here for New Years Eve with another ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

came here for New Years Eve with another couple and had a wonderful meal. Server and wine steward very knowledgeable. Food was cooked perfectly.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the vibrant bustling vibe at th ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We loved the vibrant bustling vibe at this place. The dry aged steak was amazing - one of the best steaks we've had in awhile. And, I think the salmon with mushroom glaze over spinach with a puff pastry was the best salmon fish dish I've ever had. We brought our 7-year old daughter with us, and while they don't have a kids menu, they split a portion of the steak off for her, which was great. Service was wonderful and we hope we get to eat at this gem again next time we are in town.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious food but definitely on the exp ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Delicious food but definitely on the expensive side. But we knew that going in. Excellent wine selection too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing service, excellent steaks, and a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Amazing service, excellent steaks, and a staff of true professionals. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Stake house in Boston! Excellent F ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Best Stake house in Boston! Excellent Food Outstanding Service!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food has never once been a let down ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

the food has never once been a let down in the 20 years I've been dining there. Bethany, our server, was attentive and always available when needed. By far my favorite restaurant and restaurant in Boston. Great job, as always.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were excellent. Da ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food and service were excellent. Dana is the best! She made sure that our food and drinks were prepared as requested and checked on us frequently. Great steaks. You MUST order the infamous coconut cake and ice cream dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, service was excellent an ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was great, service was excellent and the reservation was on time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My steak was over cooked. Server never r ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

My steak was over cooked. Server never really checked on us. We probably will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Amazingly special place. A real Boston ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Amazingly special place. A real Boston institution.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place for our Christmas gatherin ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Perfect place for our Christmas gathering with old friends. Very festive Boston experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoy taking my wife here, she ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I really enjoy taking my wife here, she really loves the restaurant. The only bad thing was , we never got our leftovers. We assumed that they would have boxed up what we had and given it to us, it's all good. We will be back...... The potato chips are amazing ... you need to have some :)

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Steak was just OK... not the quality we' ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Steak was just OK... not the quality we've come to expect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

We had a very disappointing experience. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We had a very disappointing experience. From all of the reviews we had read, it was with anticipation that we ate at Grill 23 & Bar. While the food was acceptable, i.e. high end steak fare, the noise level was unbearable. We found ourselves yelling at each other across the table and still could not hear each other. While this is acceptable in a college bar, in a restaurant where the steaks are running $50, the ambiance distracted from any pleasure we might have experienced from the food. It was so loud that we didn't even consider staying for dessert. In addition, the waiter was cocky. I would never, ever recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value1

Look no further, this restaurant is for ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Look no further, this restaurant is for sure the best steak in the city!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb as always- service is impeccable ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Superb as always- service is impeccable as is the food. I've been going for over 20 years and never been disappointed

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The steak was like butter. It was so go ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The steak was like butter. It was so good and prepared to perfection. My son got the chicken and it was prepared perfectly too. We had a wonderful dinner and enjoyed the Holiday decorations.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice holiday decor - attentive serv ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Very nice holiday decor - attentive service & excellent menu expertly executed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We eat here often and it's one of

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We eat here often and it's one of

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

My SO and I visit Grill 23 once a year d ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My SO and I visit Grill 23 once a year during the Christmas season. We've made it an annual tradition. Everything about this place is PERFECT. The food, the service, the ambiance- it's all top notch. Even the bread is to die for. It's great for special occassions, or if you are just in the mood to dress up! I highly recommend this place!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was service was wonderful ... ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Everything was service was wonderful ...waiters were great ..food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sat at the bar this night and it was rea ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Sat at the bar this night and it was really drafty.. made for an uncomfortable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Very good steakhouse! We sat in the bar ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very good steakhouse! We sat in the bar area on the second floor. We had a 730 reservation and it was a bit noisy early on, but it got quiet at 8pm or so. Candace, our waitress, was great. Cocktails (manhattans and cosmos were well made), house salad and oysters were great and steak was perfectly cooked. Had mushrooms as a side and they were delicious. Creme brulee was delicious as well. The restaurant was beautifully decorated for Christmas. We had a great evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding food preparation, presentati ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Outstanding food preparation, presentation, and service.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite Holiday Restaurant. We hav ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our favorite Holiday Restaurant. We have been started the Christmas season with a family dinner at Grill 23 for over 10 years... always great food, great service and great ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas decorations and ambience was v ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Christmas decorations and ambience was very appealing. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Our waiter Chris was very helpful with the menu and of course the food was wonderful; crab cakes, rib eye steak, lamb chops ... sides we liked best - creamed spinach, tater tots, curry squash. Then desserts, so many choices loved the pumpkin cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great selection, competitive ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food, great selection, competitive prices, fantastic service, beautiful seasonal decor. Parking is always a challenge in Boston but there are 3 small lots a few blocks away as well as street parking if you get lucky. The food options were wonderful and the wait staff was friendly, helpful and impeccable. We were on the 2nd floor but I'm not sure if it is accessible for persons with disabilities. The bar was very crowded, a bit noisy, but the patrons were all members of a large Holiday Party and they quickly moved to their private room. The seating was very comfortable. The bathrooms were meticulously maintained and fully stocked with paper goods and soap. I can't think of a single thing to complain about. It was a PERFECT venue for dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service but the noise lev ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food and service but the noise level is high and tough to have a conversation with people not next to you.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, good wine offer, nice am ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent food, good wine offer, nice ambient.... perhaps a little bit expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic food, service and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Fantastic food, service and atmosphere. It is a wonderful place for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak in town and definitely a spec ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Best steak in town and definitely a special event kind of place. Everyone is working hard and the wait staff are hustling. Service was a bit slower then usual for this visit and we thought they may have forgotten about us, but just gave us a little more time to enjoy each other's company and drink some more wine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.