About Grill 23 & Bar

161 Berkeley Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Grill 23 & Bar has been Boston’s top Steak and Seafood Grill for over 30 years. Consistently named Boston's Best Steakhouse by The Improper Bostonian Magazine and Boston Magazine, as well as New England's Best Steakhouse in New England Travel & Leisure Magazine. Always striving to offer our guests the best dining experience, we deliver only the best all natural dry-aged prime beef to our customers. In addition to the A La Carte selections, we create an innovative and inventive weekly Signature Specials menu, which emphasizes the region’s freshest bounty. Grill 23 & Bar proudly offers a 1000+ bottle wine list that encompasses wines from around the world and is the recipient Wine Spectator’s Best of-Award of Excellence since 2002.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm -10:30pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Bar and Bar Menu: Open at 4:30 Daily. Valet begins at 5 pm. Dress is Business Casual.

Cross Street:
Stuart Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 542-2255

Website:
http://www.grill23.com/

Catering:
For Private Dining Information, please contact us at (617) 542-2255, or email us at events@grill23.com

Parking Details:
Valet at 5:00pm / $21 per car

Public Transit:
Green Line, Arlington T stop.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

100 Day Dry Aged Ribeye
Grill 23 Tots
Steak
Clam Chowder With Lobster
Broccoli Asparagus Spinach Shisito Peppers
Heirloom Tomatoes
Bread Basket
Coconut Cake
Beef tenderloin
Truffled Tater Tots & Asparagus
Cotuit Oysters
Diver Sea Scallops
100 Day Wet Aged Ribeye
Shrimp Cocktail
Duckfat Tots
Tuna Tartare
Lobster Tail
Rhubarb Cobbler
Epic Pot Roast
Seafood Platter
Meatloaf
Coconut Cak
Bone-In Ribeye
Garlic Mashed Potatoes
Steak Tartare With Quail Egg
Tater Tots
Grand Sampler

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 5:30PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Grill 23 & Bar offers private dining for any occasion; business breakfast and meetings, luncheons, dinners, celebrations and wedding. We have 6 distinct private rooms, including our brand new state-of-the-art Private Dining Suite that can accommodate up to 140 guests.

Grill 23 & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston / New England
American
Boston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

Special Occasion (156)
Notable Wine List (115)
Good for Groups (100)
See All
Fit for Foodies (90)
Romantic (70)
Vibrant Bar Scene (43)
Hot Spot (41)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Late-night Find (16)
Great for Lunch (9)
Scenic View (9)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Kid-friendly (3)
Business Meals (3)
People Watching (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for a Date (1)
Historic (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3740 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Visited today Grill23@Bar with my wife a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 18 hours ago

Visited today Grill23@Bar with my wife and 2 kids... I booked for 8 pm, was late, but my table still was there, thanks for this! I ordered 2 aged 100 days stakes and fillet and wine, and let me tell ya, it was great! Definitely recommend to visit this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Always great service! Wine l ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food. Always great service! Wine list on point!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Drinks were great, cool ambience, food w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Drinks were great, cool ambience, food was decent but not excellent. Would go again

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The food at Grill23 is great. I am from ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food at Grill23 is great. I am from Boston but never got eh chance to experience it until last week. So glad I did!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant dining experience, wonderful sta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Elegant dining experience, wonderful staff with a high caliber of professionalism. Was slightly disappointed by their quality of steaks; not the best I've ever had, and were overcooked (brown throughout when requested med/med rare). Prices were adequate for location/service. Would go back again for another try.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

HIGH PRICES - AVERAGE FOOD Went on a Sat ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

HIGH PRICES - AVERAGE FOOD

Went on a Saturday night which is always very crowded. Sat in first floor area near kitchen. Very small table for two people. Starters/appetizers were small and Caesar salad tasteless. We both ordered steaks, one came out cooked to order, the other did not but we didn't want to send it back. Have to say the steaks were just ok- nothing special. Side of mashed potatoes was very garlicky. Got the hot fudge sunday for desert and could have had it with a straw. All mushy. Very loud room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The quality of the meat was exceptional, ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined 6 days ago

The quality of the meat was exceptional, I just didn't really think the flavor lived up to what I expected from the aged ribeye for being labeled "best of the best". I feel like I probably could have gotten the "dine out" deal and saved a bunch of money getting the strip and enjoyed it just as much. It was a bit overcooked as well, though not enough to make a fuss and waste it. Mashed potatoes delicious. Broccoli had an odd flavor but was probably good if you like that flavoring. Service was good. Shrimp cocktail was good but a little small for the price. Again it was all good it just didn't quite live up to expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Hadn't been here in about 10 years and w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Hadn't been here in about 10 years and was surprised at how quiet it was at 7PM on a Fri. But that didn't last long, it soon was the bustling Grill 23 that everyone knows. We did a Rest Week dinner which is priced so far below their usual prices. My grilled octopus salad was just ok, friend enjoyed the lobster bisque. We both got the cod dish with a great aioli, fingerling potatoes and veggie. Very tasty. She went choc for dessert as usual, huge brownie sundae w/ mint ice cream while my orange almond cake w/ whipped cream was different and delicious. Waiter was fun and maybe a tad gruff/attitude filled but in an ok way. Not sure he'd treat more stuffy people like that (not that we look so young and cool). Was surpriised I wasn't offered a taste of the Riesling after we discussed the virtues of Riesling vs. Gruner Veltliner but it was a nice wine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

One of the nationalists in the city unfo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

One of the nationalists in the city unfortunately undercut by the food. Bland old menu items that seem to be getting produced with less quality ingredients than they used to be. Not worth the high prices when other steak options are plentiful. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Visited Grill 23 for restaurant week on ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

Visited Grill 23 for restaurant week on my birthday.We all ordered off the restaurant week menu while some of us paid the extra $16 supplemental for the my strip steak instead of the hanger.The cook on my steak was a perfect medium rare but my friends who ordered medium and medium rare received rare pieces of steak.One of my friends informed the waiter of this.The waiter said they would cook his steak again.The steak came back medium but my friend did not enjoy it since it was dry by that time.The appetizers and desserts were good but we expected the steak and be the main focus.ofocus.Overall the restaurant's ambience and service was great but the steak did not meet our expectations.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We have dined here on numerous occasions ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We have dined here on numerous occasions and it was always wonderful!The staff on this past night was especially accommodating as the noise level was quite high. They opened up the upstairs wine room for us (along with 2 other tables of guests) and it was as if we had our own private dinner.Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was AWSOME . You couldn't ask ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The staff was AWSOME . You couldn't ask for a better waiter then Chris and the other staff was great too. They made it a very enjoyable experience. And the food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great dining experience from the hostess ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great dining experience from the hostess to the bar to the table. Great environment with excellent food and a concerned staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for a nice steak dinner as part of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Went for a nice steak dinner as part of a bachelor party and we definitely had it! Awesome food, attentive service and strong drinks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was exceptional. The food was go ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service was exceptional. The food was good but was expecting better f

or the price. The dining area was loud making normal conversation a challenge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Surprised we were able to do a last minu ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Surprised we were able to do a last minute booking for a table of 17 here. Waiter was really accommodating and friendly throughout the evening. Really ensure the food all arrived at the same time in the same area, not scattered throughout the table. No one got their food randomly or had to wait long before their arrived, mainly no one got their order mixed up since we had such a large party. Our waiter really ensure our evening was good and double ensure everyone's food was good. 1 of our friend ordered veal and was surprised how it came out. He thought it was suppose to look more like beef, but it looked more like a pork chop and the waiter offered to switch the order for him because he had a surprise look on his face. Overall, everyone's experience at dinner was really good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service were great! Wait staff ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food and service were great! Wait staff went above and beyond! Definitely would go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricy but worth it. Steak was perfect. S ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Pricy but worth it. Steak was perfect. Sides were great. Wine was on point. Will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Boston must eating destination with m ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A Boston must eating destination with my clients every trip I make. Food is always how you want it to be prepared the variety is always suitable to all who dine and the service is never in doubt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was very impressed with the service an ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I was very impressed with the service and hospitality!!! I will attend again in the future!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved this restaurant and everything i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I loved this restaurant and everything it had to offer. The staff there was friendly, sincere, and genuinely concerned about our dining needs being met. I was beyond impressed! Excellent food and dining experience for my boyfriend's birthday. Thank you!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service great food A ++++

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great service great food A ++++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent and service spot on. ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was excellent and service spot on. Would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The overall experience was very underwhe ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The overall experience was very underwhelming. We went there for a special occasion which the restaurant knew about and did not feel the staff put the effort in to make it a special evening. After requesting a special table when we originally made the reservation, we got seated next to the waiters station. No excuses, the restaurant was at 30% capacity on this Sunday evening. This was very distracting, noisy and took away from the overall experience. We have gone to other high end steakhouses in Boston and have had a much better experience . Although polite, the feeling we left with was the staff was just going through the motions. It almost seemed like Sunday evenings was not their top notch staff night and more of training staff. On the other hand, our steaks were very good and prepared perfectly. However, the side orders were a disappointment. Our feeling is there are better options in Boston if you are looking for a great steakhouse and overall experience! Sorry Grill 23, you missed it on this one!

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

The food and service were both excellent ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food and service were both excellent. My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary as well as my parents anniversary. When they served our desserts the added a "Happy Anniversary" note on a piece of chocolate which was a special touch. I would definitely recommend and plan on going back on my next trip to Boston

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We were a couple of years ago and it was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were a couple of years ago and it was great. My son decided he wanted to go back and where do I begin. Let's just say we will not be going there ever again. They need chefs who know how to cook and season!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Excellent from the beginning until the e ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent from the beginning until the end. The waiter was highly knowledgeable about the food and drink menu and his service was impeccable. If I lived in Boston I would be a regular.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I chose Grill 23 for the hustle and bust ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I chose Grill 23 for the hustle and bustle of the place - took my boyfriend there for the first time - we were seated in the quietest room out of the way - upstairs - it was awful - i didnt say anything because i felt bad for our server - i wanted to be downstairs - I know i should have asked to be moved but it would have been awkward - i guess maybe they could ask the question

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Dinner was terrific. Had to send back ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Dinner was terrific. Had to send back my New York Strip but it came back to me within 5 minutes cooked to perfection.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I went here for a special meal with coll ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I went here for a special meal with colleagues. I made the reservation at the last minute and they were able to accommodate with a decent table on a Saturday night. Our waiter Benji was terrific; a nice blend of knowledge and attentiveness along with a sweet disposition that made us appreciate him even more. :)

The meal was spectacular from our entrees to our dessert. It was over the top (in terms of how we normally eat) however, the food was impeccably prepared and served. I would do it again ... and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect as always

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Perfect as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience and spectacular food!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Amazing experience and spectacular food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our food was amazing. Would highly reco ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Our food was amazing. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My server Beji was great-attentive, but ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

My server Beji was great-attentive, but very gracious and patient as my guests and I were discussing business points and not focusing on the menus for quite a while. He is a true asset to Grill 23!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attentive staff. Good food. Crowded bu ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Attentive staff. Good food. Crowded but tables are not super-close together so noise level is moderate. Good for special occasions as well as just meeting with friends. Good spot for business dinner meetings. A little high in price but worth it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great and the service was a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was great and the service was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were upstairs in a room down the hall ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We were upstairs in a room down the hall, which I highly recommend because it was much more quiet than the 1st floor. Got the chowder as well as a half dozen oysters. We also had the filet and ribeye plus asparagus, Mac and cheese, and mashed potatoes. All amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My mother and I came to this restaurant ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My mother and I came to this restaurant as a girls' night out event. I had been twice before, but this was the first visit for my mother. We loved our waiter, Chris, who was knowledgeable about the wine list and his favorite items on the menu (by far the best rose wine I have ever had was at this restaurant). We also got a kick out of his sense of humor! The food tasted very fresh, but I must say that I preferred the work of the old chef from my previous two visits. I learned from Chris that there was a recent change in chefs. I ordered the salmon, and while it was okay, there was so much barbecue sauce covering my cauliflower and sweet potatoes that I was beginning to feel sick. Those pairings do not go well together, at least not with that much barbecue sauce. The tater tots were a tasty side, but again, they just were not as delicious as my previous visits and seemed to be missing the spices that made my mouth water previously. The dessert menu was outstanding however, and I do hope to return to try some other decadent cakes and pastries!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I've never had such attentive service an ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I've never had such attentive service and such a good steak before. Ever.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was OK, nothing special. I w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The service was OK, nothing special. I was disappointed in the drinks and food. my wife and I were both very disappointed in our cocktails. We both liked our cuts of steak but they were very bland, unfortunately I had to salt my steak which is not what I expect from an upscale steak house. We will not be coming back, other steakhouses have much better options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.