About Grill 23 & Bar

161 Berkeley Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Grill 23 & Bar has been Boston’s top Steak and Seafood Grill for over 30 years. Consistently named Boston's Best Steakhouse by The Improper Bostonian Magazine and Boston Magazine, as well as New England's Best Steakhouse in New England Travel & Leisure Magazine. Always striving to offer our guests the best dining experience, we deliver only the best all natural dry-aged prime beef to our customers. In addition to the A La Carte selections, we create an innovative and inventive weekly Signature Specials menu, which emphasizes the region’s freshest bounty. Grill 23 & Bar proudly offers a 1000+ bottle wine list that encompasses wines from around the world and is the recipient Wine Spectator’s Best of-Award of Excellence since 2002.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm -10:30pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Bar and Bar Menu: Open at 4:30 Daily. Valet begins at 5 pm. Dress is Business Casual.

Cross Street:
Stuart Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 542-2255

Website:
http://www.grill23.com/

Catering:
For Private Dining Information, please contact us at (617) 542-2255, or email us at events@grill23.com

Parking Details:
Valet at 5:00pm / $21 per car

Public Transit:
Green Line, Arlington T stop.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

100 Day Dry Aged Ribeye
Heirloom Tomatoes
Grill 23 Tots
Bread Basket
Coconut Cake
Beef tenderloin
Cotuit Oysters
Truffled Tater Tots & Asparagus
Diver Sea Scallops
100 Day Wet Aged Ribeye
Shrimp Cocktail
Duckfat Tots
Tuna Tartare
Lobster Tail
Rhubarb Cobbler
Epic Pot Roast
Seafood Platter
Steak
Coconut Cak
Meatloaf
Bone-In Ribeye
Steak Tartare With Quail Egg
Tater Tots
Garlic Mashed Potatoes
Grand Sampler

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 5:30PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:30PM

Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Grill 23 & Bar offers private dining for any occasion; business breakfast and meetings, luncheons, dinners, celebrations and wedding. We have 6 distinct private rooms, including our brand new state-of-the-art Private Dining Suite that can accommodate up to 140 guests.

Grill 23 & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Boston
American
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

special occasion (166)
notable wine list (115)
good for groups (104)
See All
fit for foodies (95)
romantic (66)
vibrant bar scene (43)
hot spot (43)
neighborhood gem (26)
late-night find (13)
great for lunch (9)
scenic view (8)
great for brunch (7)
kid-friendly (5)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3699 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were upstairs in a room down the hall ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined a day ago

We were upstairs in a room down the hall, which I highly recommend because it was much more quiet than the 1st floor. Got the chowder as well as a half dozen oysters. We also had the filet and ribeye plus asparagus, Mac and cheese, and mashed potatoes. All amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb unforgettable steak! Grill 23 is ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Superb unforgettable steak!

Grill 23 is one of our go-to spots for celebrating special occasions. The cap steak is decadently good, but I'd recommend the 100 year aged rib eye. Our appetizers were delicious--steak tartar

flavorful with complimenting accompaniments. I love the duck confit, it had an interesting presentation. We loved our waiter, Paul, he was attentive as well as entertaining!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Last time we eat here (Mother's Day 2016 ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Last time we eat here (Mother's Day 2016) we were very disappointed with the food. This time normal service had been restored and everything was good to excellent.

Tags: special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I highly recommend Grill 23 for steak. T ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I highly recommend Grill 23 for steak. They make sure the food comes out perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Grill 23 & Bar Never Disappoints.... han ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Grill 23 & Bar Never Disappoints.... hands down the best steaks in Boston. The service is 1st class and the wine list = 1000+ to choose from... need I say more... The 100-day aged prime ribeye was outstanding, perfectly cooked and was even more savory when combined with an order of Sashito Peppers with Goat Cheese... I'm still tasting that meal... Can't wait to go back again...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to sit at the bar for dinner, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We decided to sit at the bar for dinner, we are bar people, that being said, had to ask the bartender for bread to go with our salads, and it was weird, he must have known the people next to us at the bar, as he kept talking to them, it felt like we were interrupting to ask for anything. We weren't aware there was a bar upstairs as well, when we checked in, the gal at the Hostess/Host station never told us, or asked do you want upstairs or down, knowing we were visiting from out of town, so somewhat disappointed, when you spend $300 on dinner you expect just a little more, and my favorite restaurant for food and service has always been The Palm, was sorry we didn't just go there. After recommendation from a friend that grew up in Boston and lived there and goes back often, was disappointed.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food great service

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great food great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dinner tonight for our anniver ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Wonderful dinner tonight for our anniversary. The steaks were fantastic, and the service was attentive and personable. The restaurant was quiet - which makes sense for a Monday night - but also well appointed and comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always terrific

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Always terrific

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top notch as always. Oysters are always ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Top notch as always. Oysters are always great to start. Steaks and sides spot on. Whole experience was thumbs up!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was extremely disappointed in the food ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I was extremely disappointed in the food this time around. It was my birthday dinner with 10 of my closest girlfriends this past Saturday night . Four of us, including myself, had to send back our steaks. A medium rare steak should never come out well done and tough at a nice steak house. I ended up having some of my other friends steak and not getting another one because I was so upset. I was extremely embarrassed by this experience on my special day. It did not set the bar for any of my other experiences at Grill 23.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

Everything about Grill 23 is first class ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Everything about Grill 23 is first class, I wouldn't change anything. The attention to detail is second to none and the food is a perfect 10. My wife and I have dined at Grill 23 three times in the last month alone and have enjoyed each time thoroughly. The managers, wait staff and bartenders really give the patron a true feeling that they care about their experience, a real team effort.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steak, great staff with excell ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent steak, great staff with excellent knowledge. Worth every penny

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, lunch, scenic view, neighbourhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The steaks are phenomenal. My personal f ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The steaks are phenomenal. My personal favorite is the mac and cheese with the thick bacon pieces. The service is second to none and street level or second floor there's not a bad table in the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually not a fan of aged beef, but the ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Usually not a fan of aged beef, but the 100 day aged ribeye was outstanding! Could have wished for a seat away from the busing area, but the service and food are worth a visit here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best dry-aged steak in Boston, hands dow ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Best dry-aged steak in Boston, hands down. Got this tip from a local ;)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was outstanding. The steaks ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The service was outstanding. The steaks were incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner at Grill 23 is always fabulous.. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Dinner at Grill 23 is always fabulous.. Took my husband there for his 50th birthday and it was as lovely an experience as we had expected. The cocktails were perfect, dinners tasty and cooked exactly as ordered, our server was a pro - efficient, pleasant and attentive. A great evening out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I went there for my birthday. It was als ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I went there for my birthday. It was also one day before my wedding, so the night was also a bachelor dinner with my close friends and family. We had a great time! Grill 23 has a semi-private area called the Alcove and that's where we were. The staff was very helpful to my wife who organized the night. They were also very responsive to emails and calls. We appreciate that. We loved the food, loved the semi-private area we had, and the wait staff were all courteous. Great night overall!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We got exactly what we were hoping for - ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We got exactly what we were hoping for - a very good traditional steak house experience. Food was great and service was great. Nothing to complain about...They even brought a complimentary dessert for our son for his birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Terrific bar scene and service. Everythi ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Terrific bar scene and service. Everything was well prepared and impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

100 day dry-aged Ribeye is one of those ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

100 day dry-aged Ribeye is one of those 100 things you eat before you die! Third visit and it's just as superb as the first time my boyfriend and I had two years ago. Thank you, Grill 23, for another the excellent dinner. I brought my daughters with me this time and they gave you high rating also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Best Rib Eye in Boston. And I really lik ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Best Rib Eye in Boston. And I really liked the wine suggestions of the sommelier. Just great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our favourite restaurants in our ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

One of our favourite restaurants in our neighbourhood. Always a great dining experience with excellent food and friendly service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was 5 star especially the ser ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Everything was 5 star especially the service( as usual).BUT the noise level was horrendous! There was 8 of us at the table and we all had a very difficult time hearing each other. I do not remember this being a problem before. ??

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always wonderful

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Always wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent spot for a superb steak dinner ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

excellent spot for a superb steak dinner!! service was excellent, food was outstanding and the atmosphere was first rate.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was exceptional and the bar ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The service was exceptional and the bar comfortable with an excellent range of cocktails. The food was excellent but the portions enormous!

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have eaten at Grill 23 many times but ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I have eaten at Grill 23 many times but sadly this time I was disappointed. All our mains were overlooked whereas in the past everything was perfect. Two orders of salmon, one swordfish and one filet steak and not one done as requested.

Tags: group bookings, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Had an amazing dinner with a staff that ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had an amazing dinner with a staff that went above and beyond to accommodate.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have been going here fo ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband and I have been going here for years. We have never had a bad meal. Every server is top notch professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took our sons and their wives to Grill 2 ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Took our sons and their wives to Grill 23 to celebrate Father's Day. The restaurant was very accommodating as we got to the city early so they parked our car so we could enjoy the Back Bay for a little shopping and pre-dinner drink. Upon arrival we were seated immediately. The service was second to none and the food was delicious. I shared a steak with one of my daughter-in-laws and they were more than happy to serve it separately. All the appetizers and veggies were delicious as well. It was a wonderful evening, enjoyed by all of us. It was even more enjoyable for our sons and spouses as the children were home with babysitters!

We will be back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant, fantastic food and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, fantastic food and impeccable service !

Special aged ribeye was especially great.

Fabulous dessert - chocolate ganache flourless cake.

Highly recommend !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing filet mignon. I'm only sorry tha ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing filet mignon. I'm only sorry that I did not have room left for the sides and dessert. From my few bites, they were very good as well!

The staff were all friendly and helpful.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at Grill 23 and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our first time at Grill 23 and we were extremely pleased. We expected excellent food, and we were not disappointed. Each entree was cooked to perfection. What really set Grill 23 apart for our family was the outstanding service. We loved that we were never rushed through any portion of our meal. As we were having a mini family reunion for an early Father's Day, we had plenty of time to catch up and linger over each course of the meal. Our waiter was attentive without being obtrusive. This was unexpected as it was a very busy Saturday night with not an empty table in sight. We will most definitely return to Grill 23!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Wagyu steak and steak frites E ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent Wagyu steak and steak frites

Excellent Tater tots ordered w/o truffle oil

Attentive service

Ideal for fans of red meat; limited options for vegetarians or poultry fans

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dinner. Best dinner out I've h ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Fantastic dinner. Best dinner out I've had in years. Incredible food. Great wine. Impeccable service. Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, drinks & service were all outstand ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food, drinks & service were all outstanding. Looking forward to a meal there next time I'm in Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the best steak EVER. I am so happy ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I had the best steak EVER. I am so happy that Grill 23 was recommended to me by several colleagues. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great! Celebrated our 39t ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Everything was great! Celebrated our 39th anniversary! We both had steaks,hubby had sirloin I had the 10 oz filet. Tater tots were delicious as the mushrooms .

We will be going back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.