About Grill 23 & Bar

161 Berkeley Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Grill 23 & Bar has been Boston’s top Steak and Seafood Grill for over 30 years. Consistently named Boston's Best Steakhouse by The Improper Bostonian Magazine and Boston Magazine, as well as New England's Best Steakhouse in New England Travel & Leisure Magazine. Always striving to offer our guests the best dining experience, we deliver only the best all natural dry-aged prime beef to our customers. In addition to the A La Carte selections, we create an innovative and inventive weekly Signature Specials menu, which emphasizes the region’s freshest bounty. Grill 23 & Bar proudly offers a 1000+ bottle wine list that encompasses wines from around the world and is the recipient Wine Spectator’s Best of-Award of Excellence since 2002.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm -10:30pm, Friday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Bar and Bar Menu: Open at 4:30 Daily. Valet begins at 5 pm. Dress is Business Casual.

Cross Street:
Stuart Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 542-2255

Website:
http://www.grill23.com/

Catering:
For Private Dining Information, please contact us at (617) 542-2255, or email us at events@grill23.com

Parking Details:
Valet at 5:00pm / $21 per car

Public Transit:
Green Line, Arlington T stop.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

100 Day Dry Aged Ribeye - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Grill 23 Tots - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Steak - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Clam Chowder With Lobster - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Broccoli Asparagus Spinach Shisito Peppers - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Heirloom Tomatoes - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Bread Basket - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Beef tenderloin - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Truffled Tater Tots & Asparagus - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Cotuit Oysters - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Diver Sea Scallops - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
100 Day Wet Aged Ribeye - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Shrimp Cocktail - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Duckfat Tots - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Tuna Tartare - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Lobster Tail - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Rhubarb Cobbler - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Coconut Cake - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Epic Pot Roast - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Seafood Platter - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Meatloaf - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Coconut Cak - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Bone-In Ribeye - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Garlic Mashed Potatoes - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Steak Tartare With Quail Egg - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Tater Tots - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA
Grand Sampler - Grill 23 & Bar, Boston, MA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Mon - Thu 9:00PM - 10:30PM

Fri 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Grill 23 & Bar offers private dining for any occasion; business breakfast and meetings, luncheons, dinners, celebrations and wedding. We have 6 distinct private rooms, including our brand new state-of-the-art Private Dining Suite that can accommodate up to 140 guests.

Grill 23 & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Boston / New England
American
Boston
Most Booked
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

Special Occasion (96)
Business Meals (77)
Notable Wine List (69)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (62)
Good for a Date (62)
Romantic (54)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Good for Groups (41)
Hot Spot (26)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
People Watching (21)
Authentic (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Comfort Food (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Private Room (16)
Historic (13)
Cozy (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fun (10)
Casual (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Open Kitchen (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Family Style (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Fireplace (4)
Great Beer (4)
Seasonal (4)
Scenic View (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
3914 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic food, service and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic food, service and atmosphere. It is a wonderful place for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak in town and definitely a spec ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Best steak in town and definitely a special event kind of place. Everyone is working hard and the wait staff are hustling. Service was a bit slower then usual for this visit and we thought they may have forgotten about us, but just gave us a little more time to enjoy each other's company and drink some more wine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Was a little bummed that we indicated we ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Was a little bummed that we indicated we were going for our anniversary and there wasn't any acknowledgment of it, but we saw that they were doing such at other tables. Also, our table was SO close to the tables behind us that my chair was pressed against the party behind me all night, as was my partner's. For the amount of money you pay for this place/the high end, you would expect both of these things to go differently. Overall, it was fine, can't say I'm rushing to go back though.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Our meal was spectacular and the service ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Our meal was spectacular and the service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had reservations for an ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I had reservations for an early dinner. Restaurant was very crowded which was probably because of the holiday season. The table for 2 was a row of tables against a half wall that you could not move. Our chairs were touching patrons seated behind us. My chicken dinner was just OK. My husband said his NY sirloin was delicious. Don't think I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We don't eat beef almost ever any more b ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

We don't eat beef almost ever any more bec it's not great for us and it's impossible to get tender, flavorful beef in a supermarket now. So we save that experience for special occasions at places that have REALLY good beef. Alway been Ruth's Chris fans but Grill 23 FAR outweighed that. Amazing beef. Def worth the 45 min drive into the city. Looking forward to it again in a couple months!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maybe it was just us, but we left the re ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Maybe it was just us, but we left the restaurant under-whelmed, and $180 poorer! The shrimp cocktail was style over substance - huge presentation dish but 4 shrimps for $21. The fries with the steak frites were not good: very skinny, many over cooked and very salty. My husband had to order a side as his steak did not come with anything: he also ordered the fries but most went back - ran portion was $10!! Service was very professional and efficient but I didn't get any great warmth.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We waited about 15 past reservation time ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We waited about 15 past reservation time. We also waited nearly 20 minutes before our waitress heather hit our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Food could not have been better. Steak, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food could not have been better. Steak, crab cake shrimp cocktail, coconut cake, asparagus and tots...all perfect. We visited from out of town and when we come back I'll ask for a more private table. Demand is deservedly strong but tables are pretty stacked on top of each other. Great experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Prime aged NY strip is best is Boston! ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Prime aged NY strip is best is Boston! Good atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great location and the stakes were very ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great location and the stakes were very good. The price was fair and the serving staff was very attentive to every detail

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I took our son and his gi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 2, 2016

My husband and I took our son and his girlfriend to dinner. It was our son's 28th birthday.

This is our special occasion spot in Boston. We are fortunate enough to eat there about ten times a year.

The food and service are always outstanding. The ambiance is always hopping. We have always been delighted.

Everyone is warm, extremely professional and fun. We live this restaurant.

I also take clients to dinner there regularly and they always rave about the entire experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply outstanding by any measure. Food ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Simply outstanding by any measure. Food is well prepared and delicious. Service is spot on. Not much to say but consistently one of the finest steak houses anywhere in the United States.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent and imaginative food preparati ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent and imaginative food preparation, unusually pleasant and welcoming staff, highly attentive service, background noise level was not too high for easy conversation(although we were there on a not very crowded evening, so I can't generalize on that).

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service is very good but the no ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food and service is very good but the noise from other people's conversation is terrible. We were four at the table and couldn't hear each other. It's my second time there but would not go again because of the that. Recommend they get some help in noise reduction from interior architechts.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

This is a bautiful restaurant with a liv ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This is a bautiful restaurant with a lively atmosphere. I've been wanting to dine here for years and finely made the reservation. Surprisingly, I was not impressed with the food. The steak my partner ordered was overdone and when the second one was served (after I had finished eating) it was underdone. He still enjoyed it but we were unimpressed, especially for the cost and reputation of Grill 23. I will likely come back to enjoy the atmosphere at the bar but will not spend that type of money for average food here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Fine dining at it's best. We went here t ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Fine dining at it's best. We went here to celebrate my daughters birthday with two girlfriends and had a wonderful evening. Everything was perfect from the fresh oysters to the perfectly cooked Ribeye to the fantastic dessert. The service was attentive but not too much and we never felt rushed. If enjoy a perfect meal and like to go out in style this is the place for you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner and wonderful service. We ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great dinner and wonderful service. We were a party of six and, while the restaurant is somewhat noisy, we could have a good conversation. Loved the holiday decorations.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

5 Stars all around! Tim our Waiter was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

5 Stars all around! Tim our Waiter was awesome, food and drinks phenomenal, and the Christmas decorations were beautiful!! It was my parents 50th Anniversary was a night to remember!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lamb chops were not that good. I was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The lamb chops were not that good. I was surprised as I've had them there before and they used to be tender and no grizzle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance and friendly service. Foo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great ambiance and friendly service. Food was a bit salty. Nice experience

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a phenomenal experience every tim ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Always a phenomenal experience every time. We come every year over thanksgiving weekend. The steaks are the best here, hands down, and the service is always impeccable. Love how they decorate for the holidays. My son and I always get the filet and my husband always gets the porterhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing meal accompanied by a perfect wi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Amazing meal accompanied by a perfect wine. We came here for an evening and ordered way too much food but it was all extremely tasty. We both had steak and both steaks cooked perfectly. Only downside was an extremely loud table on both sides of us with one guy in particular who was loud beyond belief. Great food and great service just shame about the large group with a loud guy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We've been coming here for a long time b ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We've been coming here for a long time but tonight's experience marked the rock bottom of the restaurant's slow decline into mediocrity. The service was slow and unresponsive. They managed to overcook everyone's steak and a top grade Kobe cap steak in their hands took on the texture of a wet towel. To top it all off, the waiter managed to spill water over most of the table over the course of our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Outstanding martini, delicious tuna entr ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Outstanding martini, delicious tuna entree and amazing bread pudding dessert. The service was excellent as well. This was our second Thanksgiving with Grill 23, and we are already looking forward to our third.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had an excellent Thanksgiving meal, t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had an excellent Thanksgiving meal, throughly enjoyable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We go to Grill 23 for special occasions ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We go to Grill 23 for special occasions and this year we had our Thanksgiving Dinner there. As always the service and food was excellent. It is a bit expensive, but one gets what they pay for at this establishment. The oysters were amazing as was the rest of the dinner menu they had for the holiday.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Table 311 is the best table in the resta ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Table 311 is the best table in the restaurant--if you can request that table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our cocktails were good and the tater to ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Our cocktails were good and the tater tots with truffle oil where the best. Overall the food was good higher-end fare. My steak was not cooked as requested.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We had a nice Birthday celebration for m ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a nice Birthday celebration for my husband. Enjoyed a drink at the bar 1st and then we were seated at a nice table. Our server was very friendly and a good server. Our only complaint would be that we decided to splurge and order the Dry aged Ribeye Steak. It had very good flavor, but had too much fat. We had to remove several pieces of unenjoyable fat from our mouths. Definitely would not order that again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service. Has a 9 pm reservatio ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent service. Has a 9 pm reservation, they sat us at 8:55pm. Excellent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had high expectations of service and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had high expectations of service and food. Staff was top notch and food was outstanding. We came for a great steak and got it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service, and the room make Gri ...

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food, service, and the room make Grill 23 one of the best restaurants in Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were late for our reservation but the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We were late for our reservation but they were nice enough to hold our table, which I appreciated. Our table was in a good spot, the service was professional, friendly and attentive.

To be honest, the food was not spectacular, there wasn't anything wrong with it but it certainly did not live up to the price tag. My girlfriend and I shared the oysters and the wedge salad (the salad was "ok", kind of boring, even for a salad ) to start. For our entrees we had the chicken and my girlfriend had the beef tenderloin which were good. My chicken was somewhat dry and the sides were bland with barely any seasonings. My girlfriend enjoyed her steak.

I was disappointed not to see tiramisu on the desert menu especially since they offer authentic espresso.

I would definitely come back again but would order something else. I should have asked what they're known for, because it was definitely not that chicken dish. Overall, our experience was good, not great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Absolutely fantastic from beginning to e ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Absolutely fantastic from beginning to end, service was impeccable.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great drinks, great service, very up-sca ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great drinks, great service, very up-scale and the appetizers were fantastic, the cod dish and the sashimi Tuna dish we had were awesome. Brought out a little birthday treat for my lovely wife. Great restaurant to take someone as a special treat. A Boston favorite!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My veal chop, outstanding. Maybe the be ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 18, 2016

My veal chop, outstanding. Maybe the best I've ever had. The a la carte vegetables were an absolute disaster and a colossal waste of money. But the site is magnificent and the service is impeccable. Not certain that I would go again with so many great steak houses in the city, but I don't regret this choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Overall the expletive was very nice. You ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Overall the expletive was very nice. Your sommelier,Brad is very very knowledgeable. Kudos to him for another awesome wine pairing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent place. Fantastic food and very ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Excellent place. Fantastic food and very buzzy. Brilliant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have enjoyed the Grill 23 every time I ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 14, 2016

I have enjoyed the Grill 23 every time I have been. The service at the bar and table is amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.