About Griffin Market

403 Carteret St
Beaufort, SC 29902-5513
View Larger Map

Griffin Market brings relaxed elegance and a taste of Italy’s Piedmont region to the low country of South Carolina. Situated on Carteret Street in historic downtown Beaufort, the restaurant features the culinary and wine expertise of Laura and Riccardo Bonino. The couple moved the restaurant from its original location in the neighborhood of Georgetown, Washington D.C. in 2011. Laura is a veteran executive chef whose talent has been featured at numerous fine-dining restaurants across the country. Riccardo is an accomplished sommelier and is recognized for his unique gift for pairing wine with food. Griffin Market offers seasonal fare made with expert refinement for dinner 6 days a week and lunch 3 days a week.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Thursday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner

Tuesday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Craven St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 524-0240

Website:
http://www.griffinmarket.com/

Executive Chef:
Laura Bonino

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Raspberry Sorbetto  - Griffin Market, Beaufort, SC
Tagliatelle - Griffin Market, Beaufort, SC
Spaghetti all'Amatriciana - Griffin Market, Beaufort, SC
Seared Skirt Steak With Tarragon Butter - Griffin Market, Beaufort, SC
Cheese Plate - Griffin Market, Beaufort, SC
Vitello Tonato - Griffin Market, Beaufort, SC
Chocalate Bunet - Griffin Market, Beaufort, SC
Watermelon Salad - Griffin Market, Beaufort, SC
quail egg  - Griffin Market, Beaufort, SC
Home-Made Pappardelle With Ragout Of Duck And Portabello Mushrooms - Griffin Market, Beaufort, SC
Braised Rabbit With Red Peppers & Polenta - Griffin Market, Beaufort, SC
Blue Crab Crostini - Griffin Market, Beaufort, SC

Griffin Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
South Carolina
Fit for Foodies
South Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
South Carolina
10 More
Notable Wine List
South Carolina
Romantic
South Carolina
Special Occasion
South Carolina
Italian
South Carolina
Best Overall
Hilton Head
Best Food
Hilton Head
Best Service
Hilton Head
Best Value
Hilton Head
Fit for Foodies
Hilton Head
Special Occasion
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Beaufort ›

Special Occasion (24)
Notable Wine List (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Romantic (14)
Authentic (13)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for a Date (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Cozy (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Casual (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Business Meals (3)
Healthy (3)
Family Style (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
 (1)
Seasonal (1)
 (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
 (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
504 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Been there many times and it is always w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Been there many times and it is always wonderful. Very creative menu. A thoroughly enjoyable experience. Rick and Gloria

Tags: Vegan, Healthy, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

GM is getting boring....Same fabulous fo ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

GM is getting boring....Same fabulous food, same great, friendly service, superb wines; nothing changes - except I'm getting older and harder to please - they don't seem to have a problem with that. I'll keep going back until they disappoint. So far it about 140-0, favor GM....It's not for everyone. If you think an authentic Piedmontese Restaurant should serve a couple of loves of bread, spaghetti and meatballs, go somewhere else, please. It's hard enough to get a table there as it is (unless you know Contessa...) ;-)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

First time dining at Griffin Market. Th ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

First time dining at Griffin Market. The whole experience was FANTASTIC! Will definitely return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took friends that are real foodie's a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We took friends that are real foodie's and they were very impressed. Authentic Northern Italian menu changes based on seasonal fare. A must dining experience when you are in Beaufort, SC.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Our 3rd time having dinner at Griffin Ma ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our 3rd time having dinner at Griffin Market. It was as good this time as it was the first two times. It gives you the feeling that you are in a restaurant in Italy. The food is fresh and the wine list extensive. It has to be good if the owner is serving it! We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What a gem of a place to have in our lit ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

What a gem of a place to have in our little town of Beaufort. The food is remarkable...all the way to the dessert...we are not drinkers so we did not opt for wine paired with our dinner but I am sure if we did it would have been another home run. There are only two weak links for us.

  1. The coffee is sub standard drip.

  2. The music offered was a good choice but a bit loud and looped with it advertising

the stations name over and over...

Can not wait to take visiting family members and ourselves back!

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was great to get back to one of our f ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It was great to get back to one of our favorite restaurants in the South. We were first introduced to Griffin Market by the late, great Pat Conroy, and we've been in love with dining there ever since. The husband-and-wife team of Riccardo and Laura make any visit special, with Riccardo handling the front of the house and his wine expertise and Laura fashioning creative Italian-leaning fare. We highly recommend Griffin Market and can't wait to return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wine was fantastic, ambiance and service ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Wine was fantastic, ambiance and service was great, food was just decent. The appetizers were really good, primi pasta was just ok (a pasta in a butter sauce, nice but the flavors of the peppers kinda clashed with the dish), secondi courses were good but not great (sausage and peppers and a Parmesan crusted chicken dish). Both were kinda bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

I selected this restaurant for guests ar ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I selected this restaurant for guests arriving from out of town. They are all foodies. It was a huge hit!!!!!! Everything was delicious. Will be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef Laura never disappoints. Our frien ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Chef Laura never disappoints. Our friends from Ohio loved their mozzarella and prosciutto appetizer, the handmade tagliatelle (which is to die for), as well as an unusual sausage dish. Husband loved his chicken, and I loved my lamb shoulder and beans. We love lamb and cook it often, but we can never get that beautiful somewhat sticky texture that Chef Laura perfectly executed. Riccardo suggested the perfect Sangiovese to accompany our meals. All in all, a delightful experience. We are not easy to please, and we agree with the late Pat Conroy who opined that Griffin Market is the best Italian food that the state of SC has ever seen.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't think of any occasion that Griff ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I can't think of any occasion that Griffin Market would not enhance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely outstanding! Very classy. Foo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Absolutely outstanding! Very classy. Food was amazing! Will be going again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must do in Beaufort! Food and service ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

A must do in Beaufort! Food and service is spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Literally, AMAZING! The food, the servic ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Literally, AMAZING! The food, the service I could go on and on. Our favorite restaurant in Beaufort!

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Superb wine recommendation... Northern I ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Superb wine recommendation... Northern Italian Germanic pilot noir

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The owner is very unfriendly. He will no ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The owner is very unfriendly. He will not accommodate any requests It was not an enjoyable experience and will not be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

It was a perfect evening -- great food, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

It was a perfect evening -- great food, wine, service, good friends, laughs, celebration. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food with extensive wine lis ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Outstanding food with extensive wine list. Laura's food preparation is always fabulous. Ricardo has a great ability to pair a wine that complements the selected meal. Welcoming and friendly service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always excellent with a great variety ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

As always excellent with a great variety

The Best Italian restaurant outside of Italy, and better than most in Italy

Tags: Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The very best Italian restaurant in Beau ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The very best Italian restaurant in Beaufort County and probably S.C. thanks to Ricardo and his lovely wife.

Tags: Family Style, Healthy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fun, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great, lovely selection of ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Consistently great, lovely selection of appetizers, second courses and desserts. Something to please every one.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Organic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not the first time and not disappointed ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Not the first time and not disappointed again. Little pricey. Food is excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This is one of the best restaurants in B ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants in Beaufort. The Sunday evening prix fixe menu is an excellent way to sample a variety of menu options at a fair price. My only wish is that they would brighten up the atmosphere. The wall color is too dark and the lighting is poor.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Superb ingredients prepared simply and e ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Superb ingredients prepared simply and expertly; served in a friendly and professional manner; accompanied by excellent wine selected to enhance the whole experience from an outstanding wine list by a very knowledgeable expert...what could be better!? That is a typical dinner at Griffin Market....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went here for a special occasion, hea ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We went here for a special occasion, hearing it was the best restaurant in Beaufort according to reviews and Pat Conroy's favorite . Fa-geda-bou-dit! Pat was a great writer, but obviously did not know good food or fine dining.

The owner dressed in sneakers and sloppy garb, looking much like a hippie needing a bath, seated us next to a street window that had chipping paint and cobwebs and overgrown weeds outside. We needed to move the table slightly to give my wife a little more room to which the owner said what are you doing?...very rude.

The food was ordinary at best, bread served only with appetizers, second and main courses. The wine list was extensive and expensive with a few varieties by the glass. When I asked for Peroni the waiter looked at me like I was from Mars...they did have Moretti.

I have dined all over the world in the finest restaurants, and Griffen's Market was far the worst.

We obviously will never go there again and warn those inclined to and expecting the best.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

This is a fabulous restaurant. The food ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is a fabulous restaurant. The food is just incredible and the owner will help you pick out a perfect wine to accompany your meal. Well worth the price. For 4 of us, with a bottle of wine, it was about $250.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always one of our favorites. Food is con ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Always one of our favorites. Food is consistently wonderful. Service is always good, they make you feel very special. You are never rushed. Each course is a presentation. Great wines...cannot say enough... if you want a special evening this is the place!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely limited menu, no substitutions ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Extremely limited menu, no substitutions, no separate checks, no butter allowed for bread,

bread served only with certain foods and certain courses, no deletions of any items from

salad or entre', no going to the kitchen and talking to the chef......and so on

We felt like third graders

In other words, the chef is always right...not the customer

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We loved Griffin Market. We were thrille ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We loved Griffin Market. We were thrilled with our 4 course meals. The whole branzino was cooked perfectly and nestled on top of summer tomatoes, arugula, and fennel salad. The shrimp entree was served over creamy polenta with delicious sauce. Our pasta course had long thick pasta sprinkled with olive oil and basil and tomatoes. We also had an end of summer salad. Dessert was a special chocolate cake. The owners are very serious about their restaurant being a special place for people to dine. Prices were reasonable considering the quality.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious! Authentic Italian. Owners c ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Delicious! Authentic Italian. Owners come greet their guests. Going again and again and again! Check their hours and make a reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We happened on Griffin Market while sear ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We happened on Griffin Market while searching online for a nice restaurant to dine with friends on a Sunday evening. Although we live in Beaufort we didn't know this restaurant existed. There is no sign on the building. The Griffin Market can probably survive on word of mouth, it is an Italian restaurant that some might label as pricey, but what you get for the cost is wonderful and it's not the usual "Italian Fare." It was a real discovery. The Sunday hours were 6-9 and it was a 4 course meal with a fixed price of $38.00, wine is not included and some wines are VERY expensive. Not sure what weeknight meals are like, but Sunday's meal was fabulous. We will return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We usually reserve Griffin Market when w ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We usually reserve Griffin Market when we want one of the most special restaurants in Beaufort. We always try to take out of town guests so they have the experience of authentic Italian dishes prepared by Laura. Ricardo is always a pleasure to chat with and he never fails to recommend exactly the right wine for dinner. Not to be missed if you find yourself in Beaufort SC.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is exceptional. Chef has a spec ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food is exceptional. Chef has a special touch with food. Always a special treat to dine at the Griffin Market

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Griffin Market!! My wife and I have ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Love Griffin Market!! My wife and I have been going there for the last few years when we venture to Beaufort or Hilton Head. Food is always amazing, and they offer a fabulous selection of wines. Desserts are always a treat too!! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food in Beaufort. a real gem not to ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Best food in Beaufort. a real gem not to be missed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb, superb, superb. Griffin Market( ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Superb, superb, superb. Griffin Market(GM) is one of our favorite restaurants in Beaufort. We are 45 minutes away but having lunch or dinner at GM is always GREAT and we do not mind the traveling! The Vitello Tonnato, the pasta linguini and eveything on the menu is delicious. We both had appetizers, primi and secondi platti + dessert. Service always the BEST! Congratulations to Laura and Riccardo. Ricardo and Josefina

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was very good and the service w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 22, 2016

The meal was very good and the service was good. The meal was overpriced - significantly overpriced.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

Great food great service portions pretty ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food great service portions pretty small for the price

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food and wine. Very creative menu. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great food and wine. Very creative menu. Eat here every time we are in the area. More attention to ambiance inside and out would make experience match the excellence of the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

It was our first time and everything met ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was our first time and everything met our expectations and more...Delicious, friendly, romantic. From the fresh vibrant appetizers, homemade pasta and delicate sauce, my skirt steak was cooked just right with a delicious mushroom sauce and the dessert, decadent and just the amount.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.