Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Wren Bistro & BarWren Bistro & Bar
(34)
$$$$
American | Beaufort, Hilton Head
Booked 9 times today
Saltus River GrillSaltus River Grill
(1552)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Beaufort, Hilton Head
Booked 16 times today
Breakwater Restaurant & Bar - BeaufortBreakwater Restaurant & Bar - Beaufort
(1055)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Beaufort, Hilton Head
Booked 8 times today
Plums RestaurantPlums Restaurant
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
Contemporary American | Beaufort, Hilton Head
Husk RestaurantHusk Restaurant
(8244)
$$$$
American | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 132 times today
Halls ChophouseHalls Chophouse
(9157)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 118 times today
MagnoliasMagnolias
(8272)
$$$$
Southern | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 97 times today
Slightly North of BroadSlightly North of Broad
(5893)
$$$$
Low Country | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 85 times today
Fleet Landing Restaurant & BarFleet Landing Restaurant & Bar
(3185)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 85 times today
The Darling Oyster BarThe Darling Oyster Bar
(553)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 64 times today
Hank's Seafood RestaurantHank's Seafood Restaurant
(5990)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 80 times today
BlossomBlossom
(3546)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 36 times today
Cru CafeCru Cafe
(3290)
$$$$
Comfort Food | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 29 times today
PawpawPawpaw
(615)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 56 times today
High Cotton - CharlestonHigh Cotton - Charleston
(5244)
$$$$
Southern | Downtown Charleston, Charleston
Booked 99 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Griffin Market

Griffin Market brings relaxed elegance and a taste of Italy’s Piedmont region to the low country of South Carolina. Situated on Carteret Street in historic downtown Beaufort, the restaurant features the culinary and wine expertise of Laura and Riccardo Bonino. The couple moved the restaurant from its original location in the neighborhood of Georgetown, Washington D.C. in 2011. Laura is a veteran executive chef whose talent has been featured at numerous fine-dining restaurants across the country. Riccardo is an accomplished sommelier and is recognized for his unique gift for pairing wine with food. Griffin Market offers seasonal fare made with expert refinement for dinner 6 days a week and lunch 3 days a week.

403 Carteret St
Beaufort, SC 29902-5513
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Thursday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner

Tuesday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Craven St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 524-0240

Website:
http://www.griffinmarket.com/

Executive Chef:
Laura Bonino

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Sort By:
S
530 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Acapulco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Tremendous meal and service. This is the place to go in Beaufort IF you are lucky enough to get in given their limited seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Real authentic Italian. Excellent fine dining!! 30 guest capacity run by wife and husband most efficiently.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Hands down the best Italian in Beaufort SC. The food is fresh, authentic and never disappoints. The wine is the best, and the ambiance makes for a romantic dinner setting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The Bonino's were very friendly, knowledgeable and provided us with a great dining experience. The wine suggested was a perfect pairing with our choices. Only complaint is we wish it had lasted a little longer. Will go back whenever near Beaufort.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

What a gem for Beaufort! My husband took me for my 50th b-day and it was perfect. The owner was our waiter and he was so helpful. He even suggested sharing a few items instead of trying to make us each order an appetizer, pasta and entrée. The menu changes daily based on what is fresh. We shared a charcuterie of meats and a tagliatelle with 3 cheeses. Both were outstanding. I don't usually go for the vegetarian option, but after the cheesy pasta dish, I wanted a lighter entrée and got the roasted asparagus with fontina cheese, an egg and garlic crostini. The asparagus was cooked perfectly and the yolk made such a nice sauce for the dish. My husband had the steak and mushrooms and he loved it. They gave us a complimentary dessert of chocolate pot de crème with cherries and it was divine! We were already full, but we just couldn't stop eating it! We found out the restaurant was celebrating their 5th year anniversary of being open and we hope we'll be back for their 10th, 15th and 20th anniversaries!! One other little tidbit- there was a cute older couple sitting next to us and they each has a glass of wine with their meal. They must have mentioned to the owner how much they liked it, because when they left, he wrapped up a bottle of the same wine for them to take, free of charge. They seemed surprised but really grateful. With that kind of service, I have no doubt this restaurant will be around for many years to come.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Authentic, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We shared two antipasti; the veal meatballs and the mozzarella with roasted Italian sausage both were superb. Laura's fabulous homemade tagliatelle verde is made with fresh kale in a sage butter sauce. For our Secondi, we had a "melt in your mouth" pork and delicious roasted winter vegetable stew. Riccardo offers excellent advice for pairing a wine with the meal. We had a very enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great as usual. Not to be missed. The food will tempt every plate.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Always consistent and interesting menu with emphasis on Primi pastas and Secondi options. Excellent value for price of meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We only eat there as often as we can. When family or friends are in town this is a "must do", number one on their list - which is fine with us. It's not your grandpa's I-tal-in restaurant. (Unless he's actually Italian.)
The cuisine is authentic Piedmontese - Northern Italian with a slight nod to the Low Country. If you like to eat a loaf of bread with your meal - don't go there. They serve (great) bread only with those dishes that would call for it in Piedmont. Without exception every dish is made with the best fresh ingredients, sized to allow you to enjoy 3-4 courses without getting stuffed. Laura (the chef) adds her magic to every plate.
Add to that Riccardo's wine list and talent for selecting the wine or wines to accompany your meal and you have a perfect evening. The menu changes daily so you never know until you get there what surprises await!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great place for a nice evening out. Excellent food and low key relaxed ambiance make this restaurant top of the list while visiting Beaufort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Just a great place to have a fantastic meal. Great wine list, I recommend letting Ricardo pick! He will then suggest which of each course to have with his wine selection(s). He seems to love that responsibility and he is good at it. It makes him happy! The food is incredible and you can see and taste the love that goes into the preparation and presentation of each dish.
Go with the flow and you will be happy!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Everything was great. Food is exceptional. Can't wait t return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Having read articles written about Griffin Market I was anxious to see for myself about the validity of these reviews. I will say that I was not in the least disappointed. The food speaks
for itself. I will absolutely return in the future.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Been there many times and it is always wonderful. Very creative menu. A thoroughly enjoyable experience. Rick and Gloria

Tags: Vegan, Healthy, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

GM is getting boring....Same fabulous food, same great, friendly service, superb wines; nothing changes - except I'm getting older and harder to please - they don't seem to have a problem with that. I'll keep going back until they disappoint. So far it about 140-0, favor GM....It's not for everyone. If you think an authentic Piedmontese Restaurant should serve a couple of loves of bread, spaghetti and meatballs, go somewhere else, please. It's hard enough to get a table there as it is (unless you know Contessa...) ;-)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

First time dining at Griffin Market. The whole experience was FANTASTIC! Will definitely return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We took friends that are real foodie's and they were very impressed. Authentic Northern Italian menu changes based on seasonal fare. A must dining experience when you are in Beaufort, SC.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our 3rd time having dinner at Griffin Market. It was as good this time as it was the first two times. It gives you the feeling that you are in a restaurant in Italy. The food is fresh and the wine list extensive. It has to be good if the owner is serving it! We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

What a gem of a place to have in our little town of Beaufort. The food is remarkable...all the way to the dessert...we are not drinkers so we did not opt for wine paired with our dinner but I am sure if we did it would have been another home run. There are only two weak links for us.
1. The coffee is sub standard drip.
2. The music offered was a good choice but a bit loud and looped with it advertising
the stations name over and over...
Can not wait to take visiting family members and ourselves back!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It was great to get back to one of our favorite restaurants in the South. We were first introduced to Griffin Market by the late, great Pat Conroy, and we've been in love with dining there ever since. The husband-and-wife team of Riccardo and Laura make any visit special, with Riccardo handling the front of the house and his wine expertise and Laura fashioning creative Italian-leaning fare. We highly recommend Griffin Market and can't wait to return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wine was fantastic, ambiance and service was great, food was just decent. The appetizers were really good, primi pasta was just ok (a pasta in a butter sauce, nice but the flavors of the peppers kinda clashed with the dish), secondi courses were good but not great (sausage and peppers and a Parmesan crusted chicken dish). Both were kinda bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I selected this restaurant for guests arriving from out of town. They are all foodies. It was a huge hit!!!!!! Everything was delicious. Will be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Chef Laura never disappoints. Our friends from Ohio loved their mozzarella and prosciutto appetizer, the handmade tagliatelle (which is to die for), as well as an unusual sausage dish. Husband loved his chicken, and I loved my lamb shoulder and beans. We love lamb and cook it often, but we can never get that beautiful somewhat sticky texture that Chef Laura perfectly executed. Riccardo suggested the perfect Sangiovese to accompany our meals. All in all, a delightful experience. We are not easy to please, and we agree with the late Pat Conroy who opined that Griffin Market is the best Italian food that the state of SC has ever seen.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I can't think of any occasion that Griffin Market would not enhance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Absolutely outstanding! Very classy. Food was amazing! Will be going again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

A must do in Beaufort! Food and service is spectacular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Literally, AMAZING! The food, the service I could go on and on. Our favorite restaurant in Beaufort!

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The owner is very unfriendly. He will not accommodate any requests It was not an enjoyable experience and will not be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Superb wine recommendation... Northern Italian Germanic pilot noir

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

It was a perfect evening -- great food, wine, service, good friends, laughs, celebration. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Outstanding food with extensive wine list. Laura's food preparation is always fabulous. Ricardo has a great ability to pair a wine that complements the selected meal. Welcoming and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

As always excellent with a great variety
The Best Italian restaurant outside of Italy, and better than most in Italy

Tags: Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The very best Italian restaurant in Beaufort County and probably S.C. thanks to Ricardo and his lovely wife.

Tags: Healthy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fun, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Consistently great, lovely selection of appetizers, second courses and desserts. Something to please every one.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Organic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Not the first time and not disappointed again. Little pricey. Food is excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants in Beaufort. The Sunday evening prix fixe menu is an excellent way to sample a variety of menu options at a fair price. My only wish is that they would brighten up the atmosphere. The wall color is too dark and the lighting is poor.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Superb ingredients prepared simply and expertly; served in a friendly and professional manner; accompanied by excellent wine selected to enhance the whole experience from an outstanding wine list by a very knowledgeable expert...what could be better!? That is a typical dinner at Griffin Market....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We went here for a special occasion, hearing it was the best restaurant in Beaufort according to reviews and Pat Conroy's favorite . Fa-geda-bou-dit! Pat was a great writer, but obviously did not know good food or fine dining.
The owner dressed in sneakers and sloppy garb, looking much like a hippie needing a bath, seated us next to a street window that had chipping paint and cobwebs and overgrown weeds outside. We needed to move the table slightly to give my wife a little more room to which the owner said what are you doing?...very rude.
The food was ordinary at best, bread served only with appetizers, second and main courses. The wine list was extensive and expensive with a few varieties by the glass. When I asked for Peroni the waiter looked at me like I was from Mars...they did have Moretti.
I have dined all over the world in the finest restaurants, and Griffen's Market was far the worst.
We obviously will never go there again and warn those inclined to and expecting the best.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is a fabulous restaurant. The food is just incredible and the owner will help you pick out a perfect wine to accompany your meal. Well worth the price. For 4 of us, with a bottle of wine, it was about $250.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Always one of our favorites. Food is consistently wonderful. Service is always good, they make you feel very special. You are never rushed. Each course is a presentation. Great wines...cannot say enough... if you want a special evening this is the place!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.