About Griffin Market

403 Carteret St
Beaufort, SC 29902-5513
View Larger Map

Griffin Market brings relaxed elegance and a taste of Italy’s Piedmont region to the low country of South Carolina. Situated on Carteret Street in historic downtown Beaufort, the restaurant features the culinary and wine expertise of Laura and Riccardo Bonino. The couple moved the restaurant from its original location in the neighborhood of Georgetown, Washington D.C. in 2011. Laura is a veteran executive chef whose talent has been featured at numerous fine-dining restaurants across the country. Riccardo is an accomplished sommelier and is recognized for his unique gift for pairing wine with food. Griffin Market offers seasonal fare made with expert refinement for dinner 6 days a week and lunch 3 days a week.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Thursday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner

Tuesday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Craven St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 524-0240

Website:
http://www.griffinmarket.com/

Executive Chef:
Laura Bonino

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Seared Skirt Steak With Tarragon Butter
Spaghetti all'Amatriciana
Tagliatelle
Chocalate Bunet
Vitello Tonato
Watermelon Salad
quail egg
Raspberry Sorbetto
Cheese Plate
Home-Made Pappardelle With Ragout Of Duck And Portabello Mushrooms
Blue Crab Crostini
Braised Rabbit With Red Peppers & Polenta

Griffin Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

noise

Quiet

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Food
South Carolina
Fit for Foodies
South Carolina
12 More
Neighborhood Gem
South Carolina
Notable Wine List
South Carolina
Italian
South Carolina
Best Overall
Hilton Head
Best Food
Hilton Head
Best Service
Hilton Head
Best Value
Hilton Head
Fit for Foodies
Hilton Head
Neighborhood Gem
Hilton Head
Notable Wine List
Hilton Head
Romantic
Hilton Head
Special Occasion
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Beaufort ›

fit for foodies (76)
notable wine list (67)
special occasion (61)
See All
neighborhood gem (55)
romantic (35)
good for groups (11)
great for lunch (7)
hot spot (3)
great for brunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
451 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service. Small, qui ...

Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding food and service. Small, quiet, with great atmosphere. Excellent wine list. Sunday was fixed menu, but selections were great, as were the portion sizes. We'll be back for out next special occasion meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A place for a great meal when visiting B ...

Dined 5 days ago

A place for a great meal when visiting Beaufort. The Sunday night fixed price menu was great. A fine place to celebrate a special event.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My goto place in Beufort

Dined on June 10, 2016

We were greeted as if we were friends or family, The menu is nothing short of enticing and the actual meal product lived up to the expectations. I loved the dishes, the presentation and the wonderfully fresh tastes. We asked Richardo to select a wine for us and after a few questions he made a selection that hit he nail on the head. The greens were all local. The herbs from their garden and the pasta was home made. It is not a cheap place to dine but the overall experience is worth every penny. As Arnold is want to say - I'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great location. Amazing food and excelle ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Great location. Amazing food and excellent service. I had one complaint, and it's very minor. Some or blinds for the windows for around sunset so that certain tables aren't blinded by the sun at that if day. Everything else was perfect. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly Outstanding Meal

Dined on June 9, 2016

This was a truly great meal. We went with a Kale pasta which was outstanding, and also the best spaghetti tossed pasta I have ever had. My wife had the Pork Belly and I had the oxtail. Both just melted in your mouth. Absolutely outstanding. We are already lining up to come here next week and the week after and the week after that!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Best pasta anywhere - very light and fresh. Fabulous whole fish. And dessert of salted caramel gelato and chocolate pastry was wonderful. Far more sophisticated than I'd expect in Beaufort SC. Owner makes you feel like "family".

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A BIRTHDAY TREAT!!!!

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

This was our 7th time here, we came for my birthday celebration.Once again an oustanding meal consisting of Italian ham with cantelope, homemade penne with pesto ,potatoes and asparagus,a braised oxtail entree and chicken Milanese entree .3 courses each paired [by our host] with a wonderful wine by the glass.Then a mouthwatering dessert.A spectacular dinner! Worth the two and a half hour drive! Always special as it was this evening

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What a restaurant. From start to finish ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

What a restaurant. From start to finish everything is perfect. The wine list is extensive. The appetizers are very good and the portion sizes is just right. The pasta dishes can be shared. The entrees are also just the right size. Overall the whole dining experience is just wonderful.

food4
ambience3
service4

My husband and I were very happy to find ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

My husband and I were very happy to find this wonderful restaurant. The pasta was excellent, the best I've had outside of Italy. We shared an order and will not do that again, I want a whole one for myself. The other courses were very good as well and the wines recommended by our host were also excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and are looking forward to our next visit.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it...again!

Dined on May 29, 2016

This was our second visit to Griffin Market. Unique selection of foods and wines make this a very special place. The staff makes you feel right at home; very personable. A great dining experience for you and your special someone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Overall we had a fantastic time. The se ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Overall we had a fantastic time. The service was exceptional. I was raised NOT to clear a table until everyone was finished eating. This is the first restaurant I have been in where they did not clear the table until all were finished. The wine, at the recommendation of the owner, was a delightful red wine, and exactly what we requested as far as taste was concerned. The overall experience was exceptional, however, a little pricey!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Now, simply the best restaurant in Beauf ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Now, simply the best restaurant in Beaufort. A little pricey but excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant Food is inovative and ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Great restaurant Food is inovative and delicious Cannot wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My palate is still salivating!

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Ricardo is a chef who loves food. He greets his diners with real enthusiasm. The dining experience is fabulous. A notable meal with everything fixed to perfection. Wines truly compliment the food!! 5 Stars!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant and a great reas ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Our favorite restaurant and a great reason to celebrate.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine list is amazing!

Dined on May 8, 2016

The wine list is just outstanding especially for a sleepy town such as Beaufort.I think the food is equally as outstanding as the wine and we are lucky to have a combination of a talented Chef and deep wine list in such a small town.Sam

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was outstanding but

Dined on May 7, 2016

Portions were too small, and I'm not a big eater. When I left, I needed a small snack.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Italy in Beaufort

Dined on May 6, 2016

Small, intimate place with outstanding food in the Northern Italy style. The wine list is awesome and fairly priced. If you love Italian food you will love Griffen Market.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent ..... best small restaurant in Beaufort

Dined on May 5, 2016

Roberto and Edward were very attentive all during our meal !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Local Gem

Dined on May 1, 2016

Was at the Griffin Market for their Sunday "fixed price" dinner. Great food prepared well. No "drinks" on Sunday, only wine. But the wine list is outstanding. Reservations a must as Sunday is typically "sold out".

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic Italian.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Authentic Italian. Wonderfully delicious. Family owned. Menu changes daily. MUST have reservations. In the words of the unique owner "it's not about tables available, it's about preparation!" Trust his recommendations.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great as ususal

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Menu is always filled with delight offering. It is northern Italian food, which is light and delightful. Something for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gorgeous Food! This is a favorite restaurant!

Dined on April 28, 2016

We don't get to dine there nearly often enough because we live in Charleston, but we go there WHENEVER we get to Beaufort! Some HS friends were visiting in Beaufort and we wanted to share this gem with them so we suggested dinner and booked a motel. My email from Jamie said that it was "really an experience" and "the food was awesome; we've talked about it all weekend"! My husband and I agree. And they have the MOST luscious wines -- and the reds are served at the PROPER temperature -- the temp of the cave they are aged in, which is not the same temperature as a dining room, I assure you! Even by the glass, the reds are done right. Friends said it was the best Chardonnay they'd ever had also (an Italian one). The Tagliatelle Verdi was a huge hit, as were the Chicken Liver Crostini and, a favorite of mine, the Vitello Tonnato. But my girlfriend also really enjoyed the Tuscan vegetable stew and my husband and I loved the roasted whole fish - perfectly cooked and dressed with a lovely and light lemony salad. Ricardo, the owner, returned my phone call and even personally guided us in to the parking lot (next to their own fresh vegetable and herb garden) when I telephoned for directions. It was a perfect evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Outstanding Food

Dined on April 23, 2016

From the Crostini with Pate and the Veal Tonnato to the Seared Duck Breast and the Sheepshead (a fish I had never had the pleasure of trying before), all the food was first rate. Some great finds on a very extensive wine list. Highly recommend as a restaurant on the top of the vibrant Beaufort dining scene.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A Piece of Italy in Beaufort

Dined on April 22, 2016

This is not your typical Italian American restaurant, but a real authentic Italian restaurant in Beaufort SC. They are only open a few nights a week for a few hours each night, so it is not the typical food mill. The wife cooks, the husband takes the food and wine orders, plus make suggestions in his heavily accented Italian. That wait staff was very attentive. The food was excellent and the service and attention to detail superb. Dinner is served in three courses, so you have a chance to truly experience each flavor sensation. It was a wonderful dining experience. Make sure you know their address since there is no name on the building. We would not have found this hidden gem if we had not been told about it by friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Authentic Italian Cuisine in downtown Beaufort.

Dined on April 21, 2016

We have been to this restaurant many times, and it never fails to delight us. It is unpretentious, with an understated authority regarding the food. The cuisine is Northern Italian. The pastas are great, I love the Pasta Verde (Kale pasta) with peas. There are modest servings, so you don't feel overwhelmed by the amount of food, but you leave completely satisfied that you have had a special meal, prepared and presented by Ricardo, the real deal, and his fantastic wife.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The place to go in Beaufort

Dined on April 16, 2016

Griffin Market is a wonderful secret. There is no sign. There is no indication at all that an amazing dining experience is hidden behind its low brick wall, but what awaits inside is a superior dining experience. The menu is limited - northern Italian with a touch of low country. The Insalata de Mare is fantastic. The wine selection equal to any fine place in a much larger city. The service was great, but you come here for the food and having done so several time we have never been disappointed. Making a reservation and enjoy a delightful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant in every way

Dined on April 15, 2016

We are often guests at Griffin Market and love it every time. We have never had a bad meal. Very Italian with owner from Italy and his wife is the chef. The pasta is so wonderful and the meats melt in your mouth. Appetizers are unique and always try not to have one, but can't help myself! The very best! We love it. The wine list is so thick with wonderful Italian wines that we try whatever the owner recommends! Always perfect

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gm

Dined on April 10, 2016

Always a great experience dining at griffin market. The service and food are exceptional. We especially enjoy the Sunday evening menu. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Upscale Italian

Dined on April 8, 2016

Griffin Market is my husband's and my favorite restaurant in the Low Country. Laura prepares pasta from scratch so it is light and flavorable. Ricardo is the gracious host who helps guests choose the perfect wine with Laura's food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Beaufort Neighborhood gem

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

The food is fresh Italian food. The preparations are unique, great eye appeal, the flavors are lovely. Most enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A real find!

Dined on April 1, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed my meal. The salad, with calamari and octopus, was excellent and distinctive, and the branzino was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food, Great Service

Dined on March 30, 2016

As usual my wife and I had a great Italian meal. The real thing prepared by a superbly talented chef. The owner, who is Italian, takes care of the front of the house as well as some serving and is always on the lookout for his patrons satisfaction and needs. The restaurant is small enough to be warm and romantic and the food is beautiful. We will continue to go to Griffin Market as often as we can get in.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

GPS

Dined on March 26, 2016

Great People ( Laura and Riccardo) Great Service Great Wine Great Food Pasta that is Palate Friendly Pampered Dishes so fine People Friendly Scumptous Dishes So fine is the Wine Sauces that compliment All is good try anything & I think you will enjoy - let Riccardo help you with your choice of Wine

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food, especially the pasta, and serv ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

The food, especially the pasta, and service were exceptional!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Hidden gem

Dined on March 19, 2016

While staying in Savannah we drove about an hour to Beaufort to this gem of a restaurant. Make sure you have the address because there is no sign out front. It was so worth it. Everything we ordered was wonderful. They suggest 4 courses and my husband and I split the kale pappardelle pasta course but ordered our own for the other 3 courses and were not disappointed. The panna cotta was the best I ever had. The chocolate torte was to die for. The watermelon salad was unique and flavorful. The pate crostini was wonderful. My chicken was cooked to perfection and tender. It was by far the best food we had in the Savannah area during our 4 day stay.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Local FInd

Dined on March 14, 2016

Griffin Market is one of the gems in Beaufort, SC. Outstanding Italian cuisine with a relaxed atmosphere. In addition, I highly recommend the Sunday fixed-price meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious!

Dined on March 10, 2016

I was given verbal recommendations from neighbors in Palmetto Bluff but my husband and I never seemed to remember to drive to Beaufort to eat at Griffin Market. Since I had an appointment in the area, we made a reservation for lunch. What a treat! I was expecting heavy, tomato-based pasta dishes and instead, was pleasantly surprised to read that the menu was derived from the Piemonte (Piedmont) region. This region was influential in the Slow Food Movement and Griffin Market embraces this. We started with a thinly sliced roast beef first course with tonnato sauce and a beautiful toasted baguette drizzled with olive oil. Both of use were eager to eat our second courses after experiencing this delightful dish. Bob had the kale pasta with a very light cream sauce and I had the Italian tuna sandwich that blew me away. We will definitely be back and, next time, we will partake in their extensive wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food and wine in Beaufort.

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

When you walk in to Griffin Market you step into a very relaxed atmosphere with a European feel. The food is exceptional and always something special. Three courses offered, and the menu is designed to flow thru the courses. Ricardo has built an exceptional wine list, very deep in Italian wines which are all food friendly. First place I go when in Beaufort.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

GREAT FOOD,WINE & RICCARDO WILL ENTERTAIN YOU!

Dined on March 3, 2016

Wonderful dining experience, only the freshest ingredients used, menu changes daily, great veal carpaccio, watermelon salad, and entrees that blow your socks off! Let owner Riccardo pick the wines from he extensive wine list! Save room for a great dessert! This restaurant is more than good enough to be in NYC or any major city! What a find!

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.