About Griffin Market

403 Carteret St
Beaufort, SC 29902-5513
View Larger Map

Griffin Market brings relaxed elegance and a taste of Italy’s Piedmont region to the low country of South Carolina. Situated on Carteret Street in historic downtown Beaufort, the restaurant features the culinary and wine expertise of Laura and Riccardo Bonino. The couple moved the restaurant from its original location in the neighborhood of Georgetown, Washington D.C. in 2011. Laura is a veteran executive chef whose talent has been featured at numerous fine-dining restaurants across the country. Riccardo is an accomplished sommelier and is recognized for his unique gift for pairing wine with food. Griffin Market offers seasonal fare made with expert refinement for dinner 6 days a week and lunch 3 days a week.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Thursday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner

Tuesday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Craven St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 524-0240

Website:
http://www.griffinmarket.com/

Executive Chef:
Laura Bonino

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Raspberry Sorbetto
Spaghetti all'Amatriciana
Tagliatelle
Seared Skirt Steak With Tarragon Butter
Cheese Plate
Chocalate Bunet
Vitello Tonato
Watermelon Salad
quail egg
Home-Made Pappardelle With Ragout Of Duck And Portabello Mushrooms
Blue Crab Crostini
Braised Rabbit With Red Peppers & Polenta

Griffin Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
South Carolina
Fit for Foodies
South Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
South Carolina
11 More
Notable Wine List
South Carolina
Special Occasion
South Carolina
Italian
South Carolina
Best Overall
Hilton Head
Best Food
Hilton Head
Best Service
Hilton Head
Best Value
Hilton Head
Fit for Foodies
Hilton Head
Neighborhood Gem
Hilton Head
Romantic
Hilton Head
Special Occasion
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Beaufort ›

fit for foodies (68)
notable wine list (62)
special occasion (54)
See All
neighborhood gem (49)
romantic (34)
good for groups (12)
hot spot (3)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
465 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was our first time and everything met ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was our first time and everything met our expectations and more...Delicious, friendly, romantic. From the fresh vibrant appetizers, homemade pasta and delicate sauce, my skirt steak was cooked just right with a delicious mushroom sauce and the dessert, decadent and just the amount.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quiet, quaint atmosphere, excellent wine ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Quiet, quaint atmosphere, excellent wine list, and the food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A hidden gem in Beaufort, SC. Small plac ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

A hidden gem in Beaufort, SC. Small place huge on flavor, service and ambience. Like being whisked away to Italy for the evening. A must for us every time we are in Beaufort.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are particular about Italian food. T ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We are particular about Italian food. This place certainly met our expectations for quality, well prepared Northern Italian cuisine. The menu was not extensive as their focus was obviously on serving a menu with special preparation. And it showed. The cured meats antipasti, watermelon orange olive oil infused salad and pasta with crab were all superb. The wine list was also notably the best list I have seen in the region even though it was primarily Italian.

All in all this was a lovely meal and will be a place we will expect to return to often.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is an amazing find in Beaufort for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This is an amazing find in Beaufort for authentic Italian food. Portions were perfect for a three course meal and wine suggestions were spot on. Lovely service with fun conversation. We will definitely be back many times

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the top Italian restaurants in th ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

One of the top Italian restaurants in the eastern US. Authentic and well executed. Great wine list. Obviously very C aring owner and chef husband and wife combo. Passion and excellence are abundant here. From Rob Mondavi, Jr

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good stuff. Fixed price menu on Sunday n ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Good stuff. Fixed price menu on Sunday night. Very pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We went to the Sunday night prix-fixe me ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We went to the Sunday night prix-fixe menu for the first time. 3 appetizers for the table to share, and a choice of 1 of 3 items from the primi, secundi, and dessert courses. I've always been delighted with the wines I've had. Fresh pastas and fresh local herbs and foods. Great music that pairs well with dining and talking.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Griffin market is more than a place to d ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Griffin market is more than a place to dine. It is an experience in northern Italian cuisine. Leave your ego at the door and enjoy the food and drink.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Griffin Market is a real treat -- its ou ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Griffin Market is a real treat -- its our new favorite restaurant in Beaufort/Hilton Head/Bluffton. A small restaurant, sometimes its tough to get a reservation. It's a very friendly place. What is key for me is that the management seems to go to pains to ensure that the tables (reservations) are spaced in time properly so that the kitchen is never overwhelmed. Therefore, all the meal comes out ideally paced and well prepared. The pastas are all handmade, and are among the best we have had. The "secondi" are varied with balanced flavors. It has an exceptional wine list and the owner is very knowledgeable about the wines. Great place!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great. Wonder fresh food, a ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Consistently great. Wonder fresh food, always something wonderful to select from the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistently terrific

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Consistently terrific

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great upscale Italian food. Have been th ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great upscale Italian food. Have been there numerous time and will definately go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service. Small, qui ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Small, quiet, with great atmosphere. Excellent wine list. Sunday was fixed menu, but selections were great, as were the portion sizes. We'll be back for out next special occasion meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing service, food and great care was ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing service, food and great care was taken to ensure we had a lovely dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A place for a great meal when visiting B ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

A place for a great meal when visiting Beaufort. The Sunday night fixed price menu was great. A fine place to celebrate a special event.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My goto place in Beufort

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We were greeted as if we were friends or family, The menu is nothing short of enticing and the actual meal product lived up to the expectations. I loved the dishes, the presentation and the wonderfully fresh tastes. We asked Richardo to select a wine for us and after a few questions he made a selection that hit he nail on the head. The greens were all local. The herbs from their garden and the pasta was home made. It is not a cheap place to dine but the overall experience is worth every penny. As Arnold is want to say - I'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location. Amazing food and excelle ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great location. Amazing food and excellent service. I had one complaint, and it's very minor. Some or blinds for the windows for around sunset so that certain tables aren't blinded by the sun at that if day. Everything else was perfect. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Truly Outstanding Meal

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

This was a truly great meal. We went with a Kale pasta which was outstanding, and also the best spaghetti tossed pasta I have ever had. My wife had the Pork Belly and I had the oxtail. Both just melted in your mouth. Absolutely outstanding. We are already lining up to come here next week and the week after and the week after that!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Best pasta anywhere - very light and fresh. Fabulous whole fish. And dessert of salted caramel gelato and chocolate pastry was wonderful. Far more sophisticated than I'd expect in Beaufort SC. Owner makes you feel like "family".

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A BIRTHDAY TREAT!!!!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

This was our 7th time here, we came for my birthday celebration.Once again an oustanding meal consisting of Italian ham with cantelope, homemade penne with pesto ,potatoes and asparagus,a braised oxtail entree and chicken Milanese entree .3 courses each paired [by our host] with a wonderful wine by the glass.Then a mouthwatering dessert.A spectacular dinner! Worth the two and a half hour drive! Always special as it was this evening

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a restaurant. From start to finish ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

What a restaurant. From start to finish everything is perfect. The wine list is extensive. The appetizers are very good and the portion sizes is just right. The pasta dishes can be shared. The entrees are also just the right size. Overall the whole dining experience is just wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I were very happy to find ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

My husband and I were very happy to find this wonderful restaurant. The pasta was excellent, the best I've had outside of Italy. We shared an order and will not do that again, I want a whole one for myself. The other courses were very good as well and the wines recommended by our host were also excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and are looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Loved it...again!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This was our second visit to Griffin Market. Unique selection of foods and wines make this a very special place. The staff makes you feel right at home; very personable. A great dining experience for you and your special someone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall we had a fantastic time. The se ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Overall we had a fantastic time. The service was exceptional. I was raised NOT to clear a table until everyone was finished eating. This is the first restaurant I have been in where they did not clear the table until all were finished. The wine, at the recommendation of the owner, was a delightful red wine, and exactly what we requested as far as taste was concerned. The overall experience was exceptional, however, a little pricey!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Now, simply the best restaurant in Beauf ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Now, simply the best restaurant in Beaufort. A little pricey but excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant Food is inovative and ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Great restaurant Food is inovative and delicious Cannot wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My palate is still salivating!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Ricardo is a chef who loves food. He greets his diners with real enthusiasm. The dining experience is fabulous. A notable meal with everything fixed to perfection. Wines truly compliment the food!! 5 Stars!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant and a great reas ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Our favorite restaurant and a great reason to celebrate.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine list is amazing!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The wine list is just outstanding especially for a sleepy town such as Beaufort.I think the food is equally as outstanding as the wine and we are lucky to have a combination of a talented Chef and deep wine list in such a small town.Sam

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding but

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Portions were too small, and I'm not a big eater. When I left, I needed a small snack.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Italy in Beaufort

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Small, intimate place with outstanding food in the Northern Italy style. The wine list is awesome and fairly priced. If you love Italian food you will love Griffen Market.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent ..... best small restaurant in Beaufort

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Roberto and Edward were very attentive all during our meal !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Local Gem

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Was at the Griffin Market for their Sunday "fixed price" dinner. Great food prepared well. No "drinks" on Sunday, only wine. But the wine list is outstanding. Reservations a must as Sunday is typically "sold out".

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Authentic Italian.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Authentic Italian. Wonderfully delicious. Family owned. Menu changes daily.

MUST have reservations. In the words of the unique owner "it's not about tables available, it's about preparation!" Trust his recommendations.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as ususal

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Menu is always filled with delight offering. It is northern Italian food, which is light and delightful. Something for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Gorgeous Food! This is a favorite restaurant!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We don't get to dine there nearly often enough because we live in Charleston, but we go there WHENEVER we get to Beaufort! Some HS friends were visiting in Beaufort and we wanted to share this gem with them so we suggested dinner and booked a motel. My email from Jamie said that it was "really an experience" and "the food was awesome; we've talked about it all weekend"! My husband and I agree. And they have the MOST luscious wines -- and the reds are served at the PROPER temperature -- the temp of the cave they are aged in, which is not the same temperature as a dining room, I assure you! Even by the glass, the reds are done right. Friends said it was the best Chardonnay they'd ever had also (an Italian one). The Tagliatelle Verdi was a huge hit, as were the Chicken Liver Crostini and, a favorite of mine, the Vitello Tonnato. But my girlfriend also really enjoyed the Tuscan vegetable stew and my husband and I loved the roasted whole fish - perfectly cooked and dressed with a lovely and light lemony salad. Ricardo, the owner, returned my phone call and even personally guided us in to the parking lot (next to their own fresh vegetable and herb garden) when I telephoned for directions. It was a perfect evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding Food

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

From the Crostini with Pate and the Veal Tonnato to the Seared Duck Breast and the Sheepshead (a fish I had never had the pleasure of trying before), all the food was first rate. Some great finds on a very extensive wine list. Highly recommend as a restaurant on the top of the vibrant Beaufort dining scene.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

A Piece of Italy in Beaufort

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

This is not your typical Italian American restaurant, but a real authentic Italian restaurant in Beaufort SC. They are only open a few nights a week for a few hours each night, so it is not the typical food mill. The wife cooks, the husband takes the food and wine orders, plus make suggestions in his heavily accented Italian. That wait staff was very attentive. The food was excellent and the service and attention to detail superb. Dinner is served in three courses, so you have a chance to truly experience each flavor sensation. It was a wonderful dining experience. Make sure you know their address since there is no name on the building. We would not have found this hidden gem if we had not been told about it by friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Authentic Italian Cuisine in downtown Beaufort.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

We have been to this restaurant many times, and it never fails to delight us. It is unpretentious, with an understated authority regarding the food. The cuisine is Northern Italian. The pastas are great, I love the Pasta Verde (Kale pasta) with peas. There are modest servings, so you don't feel overwhelmed by the amount of food, but you leave completely satisfied that you have had a special meal, prepared and presented by Ricardo, the real deal, and his fantastic wife.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.