About Griffin Market

403 Carteret St
Beaufort, SC 29902-5513
View Larger Map

Griffin Market brings relaxed elegance and a taste of Italy’s Piedmont region to the low country of South Carolina. Situated on Carteret Street in historic downtown Beaufort, the restaurant features the culinary and wine expertise of Laura and Riccardo Bonino. The couple moved the restaurant from its original location in the neighborhood of Georgetown, Washington D.C. in 2011. Laura is a veteran executive chef whose talent has been featured at numerous fine-dining restaurants across the country. Riccardo is an accomplished sommelier and is recognized for his unique gift for pairing wine with food. Griffin Market offers seasonal fare made with expert refinement for dinner 6 days a week and lunch 3 days a week.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Thursday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner

Tuesday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Craven St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 524-0240

Website:
http://www.griffinmarket.com/

Executive Chef:
Laura Bonino

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Raspberry Sorbetto
Tagliatelle
Spaghetti all'Amatriciana
Seared Skirt Steak With Tarragon Butter
Cheese Plate
Vitello Tonato
Chocalate Bunet
Watermelon Salad
quail egg
Home-Made Pappardelle With Ragout Of Duck And Portabello Mushrooms
Braised Rabbit With Red Peppers & Polenta
Blue Crab Crostini

Griffin Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
South Carolina
Fit for Foodies
South Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
South Carolina
12 More
Notable Wine List
South Carolina
Special Occasion
South Carolina
Italian
South Carolina
Best Overall
Hilton Head
Best Food
Hilton Head
Best Service
Hilton Head
Best Value
Hilton Head
Fit for Foodies
Hilton Head
Neighborhood Gem
Hilton Head
Notable Wine List
Hilton Head
Romantic
Hilton Head
Special Occasion
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Beaufort ›

Fit for Foodies (41)
Notable Wine List (40)
Special Occasion (36)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Romantic (24)
Good for Groups (11)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
 (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
 (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Cozy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Authentic (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
479 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is a fabulous restaurant. The food ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is a fabulous restaurant. The food is just incredible and the owner will help you pick out a perfect wine to accompany your meal. Well worth the price. For 4 of us, with a bottle of wine, it was about $250.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always one of our favorites. Food is con ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Always one of our favorites. Food is consistently wonderful. Service is always good, they make you feel very special. You are never rushed. Each course is a presentation. Great wines...cannot say enough... if you want a special evening this is the place!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely limited menu, no substitutions ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Extremely limited menu, no substitutions, no separate checks, no butter allowed for bread,

bread served only with certain foods and certain courses, no deletions of any items from

salad or entre', no going to the kitchen and talking to the chef......and so on

We felt like third graders

In other words, the chef is always right...not the customer

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We loved Griffin Market. We were thrille ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We loved Griffin Market. We were thrilled with our 4 course meals. The whole branzino was cooked perfectly and nestled on top of summer tomatoes, arugula, and fennel salad. The shrimp entree was served over creamy polenta with delicious sauce. Our pasta course had long thick pasta sprinkled with olive oil and basil and tomatoes. We also had an end of summer salad. Dessert was a special chocolate cake. The owners are very serious about their restaurant being a special place for people to dine. Prices were reasonable considering the quality.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious! Authentic Italian. Owners c ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Delicious! Authentic Italian. Owners come greet their guests. Going again and again and again! Check their hours and make a reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We happened on Griffin Market while sear ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We happened on Griffin Market while searching online for a nice restaurant to dine with friends on a Sunday evening. Although we live in Beaufort we didn't know this restaurant existed. There is no sign on the building. The Griffin Market can probably survive on word of mouth, it is an Italian restaurant that some might label as pricey, but what you get for the cost is wonderful and it's not the usual "Italian Fare." It was a real discovery. The Sunday hours were 6-9 and it was a 4 course meal with a fixed price of $38.00, wine is not included and some wines are VERY expensive. Not sure what weeknight meals are like, but Sunday's meal was fabulous. We will return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We usually reserve Griffin Market when w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We usually reserve Griffin Market when we want one of the most special restaurants in Beaufort. We always try to take out of town guests so they have the experience of authentic Italian dishes prepared by Laura. Ricardo is always a pleasure to chat with and he never fails to recommend exactly the right wine for dinner. Not to be missed if you find yourself in Beaufort SC.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is exceptional. Chef has a spec ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food is exceptional. Chef has a special touch with food. Always a special treat to dine at the Griffin Market

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Griffin Market!! My wife and I have ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Love Griffin Market!! My wife and I have been going there for the last few years when we venture to Beaufort or Hilton Head. Food is always amazing, and they offer a fabulous selection of wines. Desserts are always a treat too!! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food in Beaufort. a real gem not to ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Best food in Beaufort. a real gem not to be missed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb, superb, superb. Griffin Market( ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Superb, superb, superb. Griffin Market(GM) is one of our favorite restaurants in Beaufort. We are 45 minutes away but having lunch or dinner at GM is always GREAT and we do not mind the traveling! The Vitello Tonnato, the pasta linguini and eveything on the menu is delicious. We both had appetizers, primi and secondi platti + dessert. Service always the BEST! Congratulations to Laura and Riccardo. Ricardo and Josefina

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was very good and the service w ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The meal was very good and the service was good. The meal was overpriced - significantly overpriced.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

Great food great service portions pretty ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food great service portions pretty small for the price

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food and wine. Very creative menu. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great food and wine. Very creative menu. Eat here every time we are in the area. More attention to ambiance inside and out would make experience match the excellence of the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

It was our first time and everything met ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was our first time and everything met our expectations and more...Delicious, friendly, romantic. From the fresh vibrant appetizers, homemade pasta and delicate sauce, my skirt steak was cooked just right with a delicious mushroom sauce and the dessert, decadent and just the amount.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quiet, quaint atmosphere, excellent wine ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Quiet, quaint atmosphere, excellent wine list, and the food was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A hidden gem in Beaufort, SC. Small plac ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

A hidden gem in Beaufort, SC. Small place huge on flavor, service and ambience. Like being whisked away to Italy for the evening. A must for us every time we are in Beaufort.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are particular about Italian food. T ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We are particular about Italian food. This place certainly met our expectations for quality, well prepared Northern Italian cuisine. The menu was not extensive as their focus was obviously on serving a menu with special preparation. And it showed. The cured meats antipasti, watermelon orange olive oil infused salad and pasta with crab were all superb. The wine list was also notably the best list I have seen in the region even though it was primarily Italian.

All in all this was a lovely meal and will be a place we will expect to return to often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is an amazing find in Beaufort for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This is an amazing find in Beaufort for authentic Italian food. Portions were perfect for a three course meal and wine suggestions were spot on. Lovely service with fun conversation. We will definitely be back many times

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the top Italian restaurants in th ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

One of the top Italian restaurants in the eastern US. Authentic and well executed. Great wine list. Obviously very C aring owner and chef husband and wife combo. Passion and excellence are abundant here. From Rob Mondavi, Jr

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good stuff. Fixed price menu on Sunday n ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Good stuff. Fixed price menu on Sunday night. Very pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We went to the Sunday night prix-fixe me ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We went to the Sunday night prix-fixe menu for the first time. 3 appetizers for the table to share, and a choice of 1 of 3 items from the primi, secundi, and dessert courses. I've always been delighted with the wines I've had. Fresh pastas and fresh local herbs and foods. Great music that pairs well with dining and talking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Griffin market is more than a place to d ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Griffin market is more than a place to dine. It is an experience in northern Italian cuisine. Leave your ego at the door and enjoy the food and drink.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Griffin Market is a real treat -- its ou ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Griffin Market is a real treat -- its our new favorite restaurant in Beaufort/Hilton Head/Bluffton. A small restaurant, sometimes its tough to get a reservation. It's a very friendly place. What is key for me is that the management seems to go to pains to ensure that the tables (reservations) are spaced in time properly so that the kitchen is never overwhelmed. Therefore, all the meal comes out ideally paced and well prepared. The pastas are all handmade, and are among the best we have had. The "secondi" are varied with balanced flavors. It has an exceptional wine list and the owner is very knowledgeable about the wines. Great place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great. Wonder fresh food, a ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Consistently great. Wonder fresh food, always something wonderful to select from the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistently terrific

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Consistently terrific

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great upscale Italian food. Have been th ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great upscale Italian food. Have been there numerous time and will definately go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service. Small, qui ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Small, quiet, with great atmosphere. Excellent wine list. Sunday was fixed menu, but selections were great, as were the portion sizes. We'll be back for out next special occasion meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing service, food and great care was ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing service, food and great care was taken to ensure we had a lovely dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A place for a great meal when visiting B ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

A place for a great meal when visiting Beaufort. The Sunday night fixed price menu was great. A fine place to celebrate a special event.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My goto place in Beufort

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We were greeted as if we were friends or family, The menu is nothing short of enticing and the actual meal product lived up to the expectations. I loved the dishes, the presentation and the wonderfully fresh tastes. We asked Richardo to select a wine for us and after a few questions he made a selection that hit he nail on the head. The greens were all local. The herbs from their garden and the pasta was home made. It is not a cheap place to dine but the overall experience is worth every penny. As Arnold is want to say - I'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location. Amazing food and excelle ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great location. Amazing food and excellent service. I had one complaint, and it's very minor. Some or blinds for the windows for around sunset so that certain tables aren't blinded by the sun at that if day. Everything else was perfect. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Truly Outstanding Meal

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

This was a truly great meal. We went with a Kale pasta which was outstanding, and also the best spaghetti tossed pasta I have ever had. My wife had the Pork Belly and I had the oxtail. Both just melted in your mouth. Absolutely outstanding. We are already lining up to come here next week and the week after and the week after that!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Best pasta anywhere - very light and fresh. Fabulous whole fish. And dessert of salted caramel gelato and chocolate pastry was wonderful. Far more sophisticated than I'd expect in Beaufort SC. Owner makes you feel like "family".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A BIRTHDAY TREAT!!!!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

This was our 7th time here, we came for my birthday celebration.Once again an oustanding meal consisting of Italian ham with cantelope, homemade penne with pesto ,potatoes and asparagus,a braised oxtail entree and chicken Milanese entree .3 courses each paired [by our host] with a wonderful wine by the glass.Then a mouthwatering dessert.A spectacular dinner! Worth the two and a half hour drive! Always special as it was this evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a restaurant. From start to finish ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

What a restaurant. From start to finish everything is perfect. The wine list is extensive. The appetizers are very good and the portion sizes is just right. The pasta dishes can be shared. The entrees are also just the right size. Overall the whole dining experience is just wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I were very happy to find ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

My husband and I were very happy to find this wonderful restaurant. The pasta was excellent, the best I've had outside of Italy. We shared an order and will not do that again, I want a whole one for myself. The other courses were very good as well and the wines recommended by our host were also excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and are looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Loved it...again!

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This was our second visit to Griffin Market. Unique selection of foods and wines make this a very special place. The staff makes you feel right at home; very personable. A great dining experience for you and your special someone.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall we had a fantastic time. The se ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Overall we had a fantastic time. The service was exceptional. I was raised NOT to clear a table until everyone was finished eating. This is the first restaurant I have been in where they did not clear the table until all were finished. The wine, at the recommendation of the owner, was a delightful red wine, and exactly what we requested as far as taste was concerned. The overall experience was exceptional, however, a little pricey!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Now, simply the best restaurant in Beauf ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Now, simply the best restaurant in Beaufort. A little pricey but excellent food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.