About Greg's Grill

395 SW Powerhouse Drive
Bend, OR 97702
View Larger Map

Owners Greg & Teresa Hubert opened Greg's Grill in the spring of 2007. Their long history in the restaurant industry and passion for excellent service and great food led them to create a beautiful restaurant that reflects their high standards and attention to detail.
Situated in the heart of the historic Old Mill District of Bend Oregon, Greg's Grill sits amidst the bustle of movie theaters, art galleries and restaurants.
A lively place for any occasion, it offers a variety of foods with an emphasis on contemporary Northwest cuisine to include rotisserie prime rib, choice-cut steaks, seafood, and chicken cooked to perfection over our apple-wood and mesquite fired grill.
Inside, Northwest style architecture utilizes natural materials and floor-to-ceiling windows, which overlook beautifully landscaped patios, the Deschutes River and the Cascade mountain range. Greg's Grill is a comfortable place to sit and enjoy good times with friends and family.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM, Friday - Saturday: 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
SW Mill View Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(541) 382-2200

Website:
http://www.gregsgrill.com/

Parking Details:
Self parking is available throughout the Old Mill

Executive Chef:
Dana Cress

Private Party Facilities:
Greg"s Grill offers a warm and comfortable setting for a wide variety of events. Parties up to 35 will enjoy traditional cooking styles with a focus on wood-fired grill and rotisserie cooking.
If it's a hot day, your guests can flow onto the patio, which overlooks the

Deschutes River and distant mountains. Even in the middle of winter, guests can still take in the view through our floor-to-ceiling windows.
Our team will work with you to make sure every need is met.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Lopez: 5413822200x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Greg's Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Bend / Deschutes County
Most Booked
Bend / Deschutes County
Best Restaurants in Bend ›

Scenic View (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Special Occasion (14)
See All
Good for Groups (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for a Date (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Waterfront (6)
Casual (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Romantic (4)
Modern Decor (2)
People Watching (2)
Fireplace (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Fun (1)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Cozy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
436 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Appetizers and salad were good. Main cou ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Appetizers and salad were good. Main course was mediocre at best (spareribs), don't recommend them. Service was great!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Terrible service. The food was salty and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Terrible service. The food was salty and way over done. It was expensive and not worth a penny. Simply aweful...dont recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Greg's is on our very short list of spec ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Greg's is on our very short list of special places to take our out of town guests. The food and service are always superb. That reservations are taken is a plus. Great view, low noise level, and well thought out seating that creates a good space around those dining.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was highly recommended, but v ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

This place was highly recommended, but very ordinary. It had limited menu choices, drinks were watery and it had the feel of a chain.

Tags: Modern Decor, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Our server, Mitchel, was probably the be ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Our server, Mitchel, was probably the best server I've had in Bend. We originally had planned on just getting a couple glasses of wine and some appetizers. We ended up having full meals, 2 BOTTLES of wine, and a couple of mixed drinks. The mixed drinks were actually not very good, and Mitchel took them away and didn't charge us for them. I'd come back here just for the service. Food was fantastic as well.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great location! Great space and layout! ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great location! Great space and layout! Great waterfront views!

Limited menu. Average service. Below average quality.

May try again, but with so many better places in the area, it would be a hard stretch me..

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The waitress was nice but somewhat forge ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The waitress was nice but somewhat forgetful. The food tasted ok but seemed over priced for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The staff was top notch and gave our gro ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The staff was top notch and gave our group a wonderful dining experience! We came on a busy concert night and were amazed at the personal service and seeing how the Manager was out on the floor, greeting everyone and ensuring that we were taken care of.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our reservation was at 715pm. We checked ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our reservation was at 715pm. We checked in early, at 705pm. We were seated at 730pm. With two bored toddlers we almost left. The hosts need to refine there seating plan.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This restaurant has it all, great food, ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

This restaurant has it all, great food, wonderful service and the view of the river is beautiful !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my wife for her 65th birthday. Goo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Took my wife for her 65th birthday. Good food great view good service. Just a good evening

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

My husband and I have been going to Greg ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My husband and I have been going to Greg's Grill for several years. It has been outstanding for its very reasonably priced great food and great service. This time though we were very disappointed that the prices have gone up and the serving sizes have gone down; also the waiter was pretty insensitive to one of our party's concerns. Now it seems just a pretty restaurant in a competitive market. We will probably start to explore other options at this point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Nice location in Old Mill district, tabl ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Nice location in Old Mill district, tables by the water, great people watching. Menu is good but

even 'healthy' alternatives are typically restaurant fatty and sweet s. Given that, food was excellent. Although trying hard, our server was a bit on the grump end, maybe the brew fest across the river was putting some strain on the evening.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

There were 6 of us celebrating my Mom's ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

There were 6 of us celebrating my Mom's 91st birthday and we were greeted with a special birthday menu and our server was joyful and very attentive. Everything was brought to the table quickly and refills were right away. The food was good but the service and ambience were outstanding!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and good cocktails. The pr ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great service and good cocktails. The prime rib was actually a bit on the tough side and the filet a bit overdone. The fish dishes were very good. The restaurant was very busy and this may have contributed somewhat to the problems and certainly to our decision not to return our meals. However, these limitations weren't evening killers as our meals were fine, just not wonderful as the pricing promised. In general, it was an excellent evening for the four of us with just a cloud or two.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding gluten free clam chowder. Si ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Outstanding gluten free clam chowder. Simply delicious and the Caesar salad is extra special with the caramelized garlic in it.

However, it took way too long for our food, people who came in after us got their food before us and we just ordered soup and salads. When the soup came, it was cold.

The manager was very gracious and apologized and offered us desserts on them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

We like Greg's Grill for everything from ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We like Greg's Grill for everything from the two of us to our last event which was 9 people. The service is always great and the view is tremendous. Great selection of food, wine and desserts. Overall value is excellent too!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good service, food was very good, s ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Very good service, food was very good, served in a timely manner. Good wine list with very reasonable prices. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Tomato basil soup tasted like a lukewar ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Tomato basil soup tasted like a lukewarm bowl of Ragu. Current menu trying to be more upscale but dishes fall short . The bar food is better than their dining room food, so if you go, head to the bar. Also you couldn't order bar menu in dining room.

Our waitress was more suited to Denny's than a good restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

It was ok. Not bad, not great. We were g ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was ok. Not bad, not great. We were greeted and immediately seated after arriving 20 min early for our reservation. Great ambiance, great location down in the old mill district. As far as the food it was just basic. nothing special. If you can get in right away then give it a try but if it's busy don't wait as you won't walk away with any kind of experience other then the scenic view (if your outside)

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Happy hour has always been good. But we ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Happy hour has always been good. But we decided tonight to have dinner ahead of the balloons night glow. Bad choice. All I can say is... time for a new executive chef. I have no idea what that was, but certainly not a dinner I would expect from Greg's Grill. Sloppy, oily, unimaginative, and overpriced. Location and atmosphere are the best suits here. Quality of food and service are not.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Greg's Grill is a classic! Lovely menu w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Greg's Grill is a classic! Lovely menu with consistent friendly service. Wonderful NW food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fair however the steak sala ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was fair however the steak salad quality seemed very poor.

Lettuce very wilted and tasted liked it had not been washed steak was tough. Completely

uninspiring.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Brought out of town guests here for lunc ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Brought out of town guests here for lunch. Sat outside. Great view and setting. Food and service good but you're coming for the overall experience (view, setting).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

A little gem found in the mill district ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

A little gem found in the mill district of Bend..great service (Quinn quite considerate!), very good food and presentation, nice wine list, an excellent cocktail, nice ambience and scenery. The wait staff was excellent. We had made reservations, but they were able to get us in earlier without a problem. We will definitely be back when in Bend, OR!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although we've been to Greg's Grill many ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Although we've been to Greg's Grill many times and enjoy the atmosphere and location, the last few visits we've been disappointed in the quality of the food and for the $$, haven't really found the value we once did.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Wait staff and food was excellent!!! Lov ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wait staff and food was excellent!!! Loved the salmon! Management needs to put window shades on interior to stop the direct sun in your face at dining tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Greg's once again provided good food wit ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Greg's once again provided good food with bad service. The waitress didn't deliver drinks promptly - called us all "hon" - forgot items requested and generally did a poor job. We asked to dine on the deck and a party of 5 was seated at a table for four. Admittedly they warned us but can't they move tables? Waitress had the nerve to fill out our survey for us with highest marks. REALLY?

probably won't be back soon

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Went there based on good reviews on Trip ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Went there based on good reviews on Trip Advisor. Even with a reservation we were directed to a table (not given choice). The table was basic, available, and obviously assigned to a selected server's area. Given a choice, we would have preferred a more private and romantic spot out of the direct sunlight streaming through the front windows. I did not challenge the seating assignment as I am unwilling to tell restaurants how to treat a special guest, a reservation, or how to run their business.

That being said, the food and service was good and they comp'd the birthday desert. That was much appreciated. We enjoyed our evening. This is a good restaurant and they treated us well.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Never disappointed with the food or serv ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Never disappointed with the food or service. Nice job!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed at the limited menu a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I was disappointed at the limited menu at Craig's Grill this past Father's Day. My husband, daughter and I had very few options we liked from which to choose. This is not normally so. I see no reason that this was done; although I am sure many male employees would like to be home with their families. Perhaps the number of planned employees was limited so the menu was also.

Didn't really enjoy my meal. I ended up with a chicken club sandwich and the chicken was just one big slice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Food great as always. Absolutely love th ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food great as always. Absolutely love their Coconut Shrimp. Meal is wonderfully balanced with tropical sweetness and spice. Great presentation! The restaurant boasts a beautiful view of the river while embracing the Old Mill District. Our number one place to go whether it be for lunch or dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was a graduation celebration for ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This was a graduation celebration for our daughter. The table was fabulous and we thank them for adhering to our request for a nice table. The service was less that great. The waitress was OK not great. The food was not so great. The chicken artichoke dinner was dry and looked like it had been prepared long before it hit the plate. The potatoes on the plate looked like they had been under a warmer for a really long time before the plate hit the table. Not great value for the price.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Service, food, room, view and menu price ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Service, food, room, view and menu prices. Greg's Grill has it all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Places to dine in Bend

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We walked by the day before and its facade is impressive, so we wanted to try it out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Greg's was a pleasant place for a Mother ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Greg's was a pleasant place for a Mother's Day lunch, especially on the patio overlooking the river. The menu, however, was a little puzzling. Even though it was high noon, we seemed to get a combination of the lunch and dinner menus. They had a nice-looking assortment of salads, some burgers and grilled sandwiches, and a few specials in the $12-18 range. And then, as if they were trying to compete with all of the fancy restaurants offering expensive Mother's Day Brunch Buffets, they had several entrees from the dinner menu in the $32-38 range. I can handle $35 at noon if it comes with a made-to-order omelette, all-you-can-eat bacon or carved ham, fresh pastries, and six types of dessert. But I wouldn't even consider it for a lunch entree even if it is Mother's Day.

I choose the Artichoke-Parmesan Chicken, which was tasty, but a little tougher than it should've been. My wife seemed to enjoy the Monte Christo. The service, for the most part, was efficient and excellent. The waitress was very friendly and refreshed my Arnold Palmer several times. But as seems to be the case at many restaurants, everything slowed to a crawl when we ordered dessert. It shouldn't take 20 minutes to slice a piece of cheese cake.

Overall, it was a very good meal. And Greg's always seems to have plenty of room on special days like Mother's Day and Valentine's when other places are packed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

GREAT SERVICE - GREAT OCCASION

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Abbreviated Family gathering to celebrate my Son's Birthday. Everyone remembered to wish my Son a happy Birthday.

Our server, Teresa, was impressive.

-From the start she exhibited a Very Positive Approach to making our experience special.

-She recommended dishes (each a perfect pick). Well acquainted with the menu/options/specials...

-She was attentive without intruding on our Family time.

GREAT view from a window seat, as the sun slowly set.

We'll go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I ordered their sirloin steak and the st ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I ordered their sirloin steak and the steak was cooked correctly but had no flavor. The calamari was terrible I would never order again. My nieces steak entrée was very dry and blah.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Glorified franchise

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

I was amazed at how bad the service was here in light of the great location they have. We arrived on one of the most beautiful days in spring only to be told "there are no tables on the deck" I hate it when they say this, because it sounds better, when what they really mean is we don't want to staff, or cannot staff, or would rather seat in a way to make it convenient for them, not for the customer. Also, after we endured the wait and a hostess that seemed not to care, or know what she was doing, she actually cancelled our reservations and our points on Open Table. I will say a manager stepped in, moved us outside after my complaining, and that the food is truly mediocre. Great location, outside sitting, if they let you sit there, but not the greatest food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

Lively atmosphere on the Deschutes

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

This restaurant is in Bend's Old Mill area right on the Deschutes river. Nice outdoor area with fire pit when weather permits. Food and service was good. This place can be very busy during peak times but fits the mall area well. We would go back or recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.