About Greg's Grill

395 SW Powerhouse Drive
Bend, OR 97702
View Larger Map

Owners Greg & Teresa Hubert opened Greg's Grill in the spring of 2007. Their long history in the restaurant industry and passion for excellent service and great food led them to create a beautiful restaurant that reflects their high standards and attention to detail.
Situated in the heart of the historic Old Mill District of Bend Oregon, Greg's Grill sits amidst the bustle of movie theaters, art galleries and restaurants.
A lively place for any occasion, it offers a variety of foods with an emphasis on contemporary Northwest cuisine to include rotisserie prime rib, choice-cut steaks, seafood, and chicken cooked to perfection over our apple-wood and mesquite fired grill.
Inside, Northwest style architecture utilizes natural materials and floor-to-ceiling windows, which overlook beautifully landscaped patios, the Deschutes River and the Cascade mountain range. Greg's Grill is a comfortable place to sit and enjoy good times with friends and family.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM, Friday - Saturday: 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
SW Mill View Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(541) 382-2200

Website:
http://www.gregsgrill.com/

Parking Details:
Self parking is available throughout the Old Mill

Executive Chef:
Dana Cress

Private Party Facilities:
Greg"s Grill offers a warm and comfortable setting for a wide variety of events. Parties up to 35 will enjoy traditional cooking styles with a focus on wood-fired grill and rotisserie cooking.
If it's a hot day, your guests can flow onto the patio, which overlooks the

Deschutes River and distant mountains. Even in the middle of winter, guests can still take in the view through our floor-to-ceiling windows.
Our team will work with you to make sure every need is met.

Private Party Contact:
Jennifer Lopez: 5413822200x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Greg's Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Bend / Deschutes County
Most Booked
Bend / Deschutes County
Best Restaurants in Bend ›

scenic view (32)
great for outdoor dining (27)
good for groups (20)
See All
special occasion (16)
fit for foodies (12)
great for lunch (12)
romantic (10)
neighborhood gem (8)
notable wine list (7)
kid-friendly (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for brunch (3)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
416 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Happy hour has always been good. But we ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Happy hour has always been good. But we decided tonight to have dinner ahead of the balloons night glow. Bad choice. All I can say is... time for a new executive chef. I have no idea what that was, but certainly not a dinner I would expect from Greg's Grill. Sloppy, oily, unimaginative, and overpriced. Location and atmosphere are the best suits here. Quality of food and service are not.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Greg's Grill is a classic! Lovely menu w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

Greg's Grill is a classic! Lovely menu with consistent friendly service. Wonderful NW food!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fair however the steak sala ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was fair however the steak salad quality seemed very poor.

Lettuce very wilted and tasted liked it had not been washed steak was tough. Completely

uninspiring.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Brought out of town guests here for lunc ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Brought out of town guests here for lunch. Sat outside. Great view and setting. Food and service good but you're coming for the overall experience (view, setting).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

A little gem found in the mill district ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

A little gem found in the mill district of Bend..great service (Quinn quite considerate!), very good food and presentation, nice wine list, an excellent cocktail, nice ambience and scenery. The wait staff was excellent. We had made reservations, but they were able to get us in earlier without a problem. We will definitely be back when in Bend, OR!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although we've been to Greg's Grill many ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Although we've been to Greg's Grill many times and enjoy the atmosphere and location, the last few visits we've been disappointed in the quality of the food and for the $$, haven't really found the value we once did.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Wait staff and food was excellent!!! Lov ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wait staff and food was excellent!!! Loved the salmon! Management needs to put window shades on interior to stop the direct sun in your face at dining tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Greg's once again provided good food wit ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Greg's once again provided good food with bad service. The waitress didn't deliver drinks promptly - called us all "hon" - forgot items requested and generally did a poor job. We asked to dine on the deck and a party of 5 was seated at a table for four. Admittedly they warned us but can't they move tables? Waitress had the nerve to fill out our survey for us with highest marks. REALLY?

probably won't be back soon

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Went there based on good reviews on Trip ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Went there based on good reviews on Trip Advisor. Even with a reservation we were directed to a table (not given choice). The table was basic, available, and obviously assigned to a selected server's area. Given a choice, we would have preferred a more private and romantic spot out of the direct sunlight streaming through the front windows. I did not challenge the seating assignment as I am unwilling to tell restaurants how to treat a special guest, a reservation, or how to run their business.

That being said, the food and service was good and they comp'd the birthday desert. That was much appreciated. We enjoyed our evening. This is a good restaurant and they treated us well.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Never disappointed with the food or serv ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Never disappointed with the food or service. Nice job!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed at the limited menu a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I was disappointed at the limited menu at Craig's Grill this past Father's Day. My husband, daughter and I had very few options we liked from which to choose. This is not normally so. I see no reason that this was done; although I am sure many male employees would like to be home with their families. Perhaps the number of planned employees was limited so the menu was also.

Didn't really enjoy my meal. I ended up with a chicken club sandwich and the chicken was just one big slice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Food great as always. Absolutely love th ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food great as always. Absolutely love their Coconut Shrimp. Meal is wonderfully balanced with tropical sweetness and spice. Great presentation! The restaurant boasts a beautiful view of the river while embracing the Old Mill District. Our number one place to go whether it be for lunch or dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was a graduation celebration for ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This was a graduation celebration for our daughter. The table was fabulous and we thank them for adhering to our request for a nice table. The service was less that great. The waitress was OK not great. The food was not so great. The chicken artichoke dinner was dry and looked like it had been prepared long before it hit the plate. The potatoes on the plate looked like they had been under a warmer for a really long time before the plate hit the table. Not great value for the price.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Service, food, room, view and menu price ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Service, food, room, view and menu prices. Greg's Grill has it all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Places to dine in Bend

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We walked by the day before and its facade is impressive, so we wanted to try it out.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Greg's was a pleasant place for a Mother ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Greg's was a pleasant place for a Mother's Day lunch, especially on the patio overlooking the river. The menu, however, was a little puzzling. Even though it was high noon, we seemed to get a combination of the lunch and dinner menus. They had a nice-looking assortment of salads, some burgers and grilled sandwiches, and a few specials in the $12-18 range. And then, as if they were trying to compete with all of the fancy restaurants offering expensive Mother's Day Brunch Buffets, they had several entrees from the dinner menu in the $32-38 range. I can handle $35 at noon if it comes with a made-to-order omelette, all-you-can-eat bacon or carved ham, fresh pastries, and six types of dessert. But I wouldn't even consider it for a lunch entree even if it is Mother's Day.

I choose the Artichoke-Parmesan Chicken, which was tasty, but a little tougher than it should've been. My wife seemed to enjoy the Monte Christo. The service, for the most part, was efficient and excellent. The waitress was very friendly and refreshed my Arnold Palmer several times. But as seems to be the case at many restaurants, everything slowed to a crawl when we ordered dessert. It shouldn't take 20 minutes to slice a piece of cheese cake.

Overall, it was a very good meal. And Greg's always seems to have plenty of room on special days like Mother's Day and Valentine's when other places are packed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

GREAT SERVICE - GREAT OCCASION

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Abbreviated Family gathering to celebrate my Son's Birthday. Everyone remembered to wish my Son a happy Birthday.

Our server, Teresa, was impressive.

-From the start she exhibited a Very Positive Approach to making our experience special.

-She recommended dishes (each a perfect pick). Well acquainted with the menu/options/specials...

-She was attentive without intruding on our Family time.

GREAT view from a window seat, as the sun slowly set.

We'll go back!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I ordered their sirloin steak and the st ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I ordered their sirloin steak and the steak was cooked correctly but had no flavor. The calamari was terrible I would never order again. My nieces steak entrée was very dry and blah.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Glorified franchise

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

I was amazed at how bad the service was here in light of the great location they have. We arrived on one of the most beautiful days in spring only to be told "there are no tables on the deck" I hate it when they say this, because it sounds better, when what they really mean is we don't want to staff, or cannot staff, or would rather seat in a way to make it convenient for them, not for the customer. Also, after we endured the wait and a hostess that seemed not to care, or know what she was doing, she actually cancelled our reservations and our points on Open Table. I will say a manager stepped in, moved us outside after my complaining, and that the food is truly mediocre. Great location, outside sitting, if they let you sit there, but not the greatest food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

Lively atmosphere on the Deschutes

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

This restaurant is in Bend's Old Mill area right on the Deschutes river. Nice outdoor area with fire pit when weather permits. Food and service was good. This place can be very busy during peak times but fits the mall area well. We would go back or recommend.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love the outdoor fireplace. After our me ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Love the outdoor fireplace. After our meal we took our drinks outside and sat by the nice fire.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Music - Owner's play list

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Music selection (Owner's iPod) was loud and suited more for a "beer garden" not a restaurant that has veuve clicquot champagne on their menu- poor price/quality ratio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Plate of Glop

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Potatoes were a shiny, sticky puddle of ? Asparagus plopped on plate hanging over edge.

Small filet was cooked right but not worth almost 40.00. I have pics!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Disappointment

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Food looked pretty, but cesaer salad & salmon flat--not much taste, steaks underdone; did not complain as not sure they could have done anything different. Calamari dip great. Appetizers very good. Service excellent. One person had a prime rib dip and felt it was very good, but not an even spread on horserashish; fries excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

First visit

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

This was my first visit and I will definitely be there. Perfect for a business lunch that makes the right impression, but would like to bring my family for dinner as well.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always good food at reasonable prices

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

appetizer of stuffed meat ball with spinich topping and melted cheddar cheese bed was very good and very interesting. large enough to split and could even be a main course. good coffee and very comfortable setting even with a lively bar. great value.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Greg's Grill is a special place with a BIG view!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We have dined at Greg's Grill for both lunch and dinner many times over many years -- always a special experience -- the "Cascade View" to the West is iconic, the food is excellent at lunch and dinner, the bar offerings and service excellent -- AND the people watching consistently the Best in Bend (their dogs, too!)

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

My family absolutely loves this place for our special occasions! For our family, it's a bit pricey but completely worth it. I also enjoy teaching our kids about fine dining etiquette. The staff has always been wonderful over the years. If you haven't tried Greg's Grill yet, you are definitely missing out!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing meal as always and great service ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Amazing meal as always and great service. Thank you Greg's for making my parent's 50th wedding anniversary memorable and special for them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just a great restaurant! I would recomme ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Just a great restaurant! I would recommend it to everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Another nice NYE

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

My husband and I went to Greg's for NYE.... early, Geezer time. It was quiet, great service... our waiter was more than attentive! I wish we remembered his name. (5:00, lower lever but at a booth) Food was very nice.... this was our 2nd NYE there and would consider it for next year too!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Server was attentive and we had our drin ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Server was attentive and we had our drinks and food in a timely manner. Food was great as were the drinks.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Stellar view and staff

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Acceptably priced with excellent ambiance. Its loud but it allows for a relaxed experience. The food was good, not great. But our server Theresa was fantastic. I had the ahi and it was cooked perfectly rare for my taste. I only knock it for not enough of the soy reduction and wasabi cream sauces. The sauces were so good it needed more of it. The accompanying "sticky" rice wasnt true sticky rice and the dish didnt need it. But the fish was so good it made up for it. I also recommend the chowder starter.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I didn't enjoy the ahi tuna but the serv ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

I didn't enjoy the ahi tuna but the service was great. Beautiful restaurant in Bend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Same as it ever was

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 3, 2015

Greg's Grill maintains the same standards they always have--mediocre adequacy. With a beautiful restaurant, gorgeous views, great location and friendly staff, I always go in hoping for a least an exceptional dining experience, and I continue to be disappointed. Greg's Grill is, at best, passable, and at worst, inedible. Whenever new folks come to Bend, they always ask to try it because of the convenient location, and the food is mediocre. Absolutely nothing special. Over-dressed salads, reheated appetizers--it's on par to equivalent with airplane food, frankly. Bend deserves more innovation and quality from Greg's Grill. With such a fabulous location, this should be a destination spot for dining, and it just isn't. Not sure I can try again.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Somewhat, M'eh

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

We usually enjoy the food at Greg's, but the last two times we've been there it's been so-so. The salmon was under cooked and the steak over cooked this time with a similar experience last time.

Would also like to see more variety on the menu-perhaps more daily options or some fresh new choices including more vegetarian finds.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Could be better

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

The service is great but the food is underwhelming, especially for the price. The menu needs a face lift. Would like to see more locally sourced options and a more creative menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Our waitress Ashley was adorable and a g ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Our waitress Ashley was adorable and a great friendly waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

It was excellent to be able to make a re ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

It was excellent to be able to make a reservation using OpenTable and we're glad Greg's Grill participates in the program. Our table was great and we got immediate attention from the staff. The service was lovely and everyone was kind and attentive. We like the menu and the specials sheet was interesting. I was excited to have Cassoulet as it's rarely on a menu! It wasn't exactly traditional so I was a bit disappointed. It was more like a fall beef stew and for that it was rich and good - it just wasn't cassoulet but I commend the kitchen team for even considering and trying it! Everything else was just fine. We will be happy to put Greg's back into our regular rotation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We had another great dining experience at Greg's

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

We had another great dining experience at Greg's Grill and will definately be back again. The food was great and the service was even better.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.