About Green Valley Grill

624 Green Valley Road
Greensboro, NC 27408
View Larger Map

Visit us and enjoy informally elegant dining and seasonal food using old-world European culinary sensibilities and flavors from areas such as the Tuscan area of Italy or the Provence region of France. Our wine list receives the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence each year and features 50 wines by the glass. Have your own private wine tasting with our Wine Flights. The freshest food prepared by a passionate team, and served by friendly and competent people, is a recipe for a great dining experience. When you add an eclectic décor and dining alfresco in our Courtyard, you will imagine that you have traveled farther than you did. We welcome you to dine with us seven days a week for lunch, dinner, or late night. Adjacent to the O.Henry Hotel.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:15am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 4:00pm
Thanksgiving Day: Dinner menu plus traditional favorites 12 noon - 8pm; Bar open until 10pm

Cross Street:
Friendly Avenue & Benjamin Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 854-2015

Website:
http://www.greenvalleygrill.com/

Catering:
Our versatile banquet facilities at Green Valley Grill and O.Henry Hotel can accommodate just about any need, whether you have 5 or 200 guests. Our elegant surroundings, convenient location in central Greensboro, attentive staff, gracious amenities and accomplished catering team ensure that you will enjoy every moment of your event.

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking. Adjacent to the O.Henry Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Leigh Hesling

Private Party Facilities:
Our versatile, elegant banquet event spaces are located in the AAA Four Diamond O.Henry Hotel. Menus are specially designed for an unforgettable feast. We are conveniently located in central Greensboro, near UNCG, Moses Cone, downtown, Friendly Shopping Center and Greensboro airport.

Private Party Contact:
Kristin Sanecki: 3368542000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, High Tea, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join Green Valley Grill Executive Chef Leigh Hesling for Cooking Class and Wine Pairing in a private event space at the O.Henry Hotel.

Visit our website for more events such as our special tea parties.

Restaurant Photos

Salmon
Baby Back Ribs
lasagnia
Scallops
Parmasean Crusted Chicken
Sea Bass Branzino
Burger
Fork And Knife Burger
Creme Brulee
Blue Crab & Spinach
High Tea Mad Hatter Brunch
Mad Hatter High Tea
Blushing Rose
Paella
Potato Leek Soup
Morrocan Meatballs
Chicago Style Hot Dog
Smoked Salmon with Cream Cheese, Capers, Tomatoes And A Bagel
Apple Crisp
Bread And Merlot
Kitchen
Lamb Souvlaki Gyro
Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich
Burrata Cheese Bruschetta
Shrimp And Blue Crab Ciabatta Melt
Simple Salad
Gvg Dessert Sampler
Bacon Wrapped Pork Loin
Short Ribs
Pan Seared Paprika Dusted Scallops
Truffle Fries With Grated Parmesan
Filet Mignon
Shrimp And Cr
Sun Dried Tomato And Roasted Chicken Salad
Giacomos  Sausage Flatbread
Short Rib Slider
Truffle Fries!
Fried Calimari

Green Valley Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Food
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Service
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
12 More
Best Ambiance
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Value
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Great for Lunch
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Most Booked
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Greensboro
Best Food
Greensboro
Best Service
Greensboro
Best Ambiance
Greensboro
Best Value
Greensboro
Fit for Foodies
Greensboro
Special Occasion
Greensboro
Most Booked
Greensboro
Best Restaurants in Greensboro ›

Special Occasion (181)
Great for Lunch (130)
Good for Groups (129)
See All
Romantic (119)
Fit for Foodies (116)
Great for Brunch (90)
Neighborhood Gem (86)
Great for Outdoor Dining (84)
Notable Wine List (63)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Late-night Find (28)
Hot Spot (24)
Kid-friendly (20)
Scenic View (16)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Historic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fun (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Business Meals (1)
Healthy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Authentic (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2096 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had excellent service for our party o ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 3 days ago

We had excellent service for our party of seven, everything was on time, and prepared perfectly. The facility is beautiful, we will definitely be coming back

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate outside and, as usual, the servic ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 3 days ago

We ate outside and, as usual, the service was great and the food was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday celebration dinner was perfect. ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 4 days ago

Birthday celebration dinner was perfect. Dined outside terrace and great food, service. Easy to hear for conversation. Complimentary BD cake with candle to top it off.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Healthy, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our anniversary and the staff gre ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

It was our anniversary and the staff greeted us and congratulated us on this special occasion. We were very pleased and the food was delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Historic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good, no matter what you order. Fi ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Very good, no matter what you order. Fine staff and appropriate pricing.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner at Green Valle ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Green Valley Grill. The service was amazing and the food was excellent! We would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Extremely charming and attractive settin ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Extremely charming and attractive setting and ambiance. Music in background was just the right level and did not impede conversation, while creating an elegant tone. Quite nice wine variety. Outstanding appetizers/small plates. Dinner entrees were a bit weaker. Service was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Great gluten free options for my wife and attentive to her requests. We will return and would strongly recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Green Valley Grill has a wonderful ambie ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Green Valley Grill has a wonderful ambience, especially at night. We particularly loved the zucchini cakes with feta cheese and golden raisins. The Girard chardonnay was delicious also.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good but the server very in ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was good but the server very inattentive to the point of no interaction such as refilling water glasses unless asked and not checking wine or other normal duties at a restaurant with an equal reputation. Overall, below expectations and far below its sister, Print Works.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

I wasn't thrilled about sitting so close ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I wasn't thrilled about sitting so close to the kitchen and the food portions were small considering the high price of the entrees. My birthday balloons were lost on the ceiling and no one answered how I can retrieve the balloons.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Delicious! Trout is awesome

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Delicious! Trout is awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful restaurant. I was looking to ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

A wonderful restaurant. I was looking to impress and have a nice meal. Success on both. The waiter was a self-described as new and was choppy . The blue cheese dressed salad was mostly romaine with chunks of cheese. My wife's salad, purple and greens with parmesan cheese looked much better. The main courses- Flank Steak & Scallops- were well prepared and RICH. Great ambiance. Décor a bit on the dark and heavy side but cool re-use of former courtyard space. Impressive monumental architecture. Liked it!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I tried Miss Angela's Lasagna and was ve ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I tried Miss Angela's Lasagna and was very pleased. The sauce was rich and tasty with the addition of corn and an heirloom tomato slice on top of it. The chef created a wonderful dish that can sometimes be lackluster. Kudos for another wonderful meal at the Green Valley Grill!!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Diverse Mediterranean menu options, very ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Diverse Mediterranean menu options, very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always enjoyable experience Beautiful ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always enjoyable experience Beautiful decor. Food is very well prepared and presented

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The Green Valley Grill was told to use t ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The Green Valley Grill was told to use that it was a formal dining and excellent restaurant. We were there for a birthday dinner and was nowhere near received or welcomed. It was service that ignored us and served us as an "after thought". Would not recommend this restaurant to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Visited years ago for brunch and it was ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Visited years ago for brunch and it was wonderful. Tried again for a date night. The building is beautiful but felt it was a little stuffy. Service was a little slow and the meal I ordered ($32 scallops) was a little off. Scallops good but the watercress salad was tough and the zucchini cakes were soggy and bland. The strong flavor ruined the wine so wished the server would have warned me. Missed the mark for us.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Steak had too much gristle to be served ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Steak had too much gristle to be served at this restaurant. Have eaten here many times before and NEVER had a bad experience. Will go back just won't order steak.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and atmosphere was perfect. I ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food and atmosphere was perfect. I highly recommend this place to others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Green Valley Grill is very accommoda ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The Green Valley Grill is very accommodating. If you want a different sauce, or different method of cooking, etc they are ready to meet your request.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was excellent. The menu could u ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Service was excellent. The menu could use updating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service and food. Great drinks ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wonderful service and food. Great drinks! Phantom Martini was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food in elegant setting with g ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Delicious food in elegant setting with gorgeous music, impeccable service and good value. My favorite restaurant in Greensboro!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed an excellently prepared dinner o ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Enjoyed an excellently prepared dinner outside, followed by free jazz at O. Henry's social lobby.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, the food was tasty, and the men ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Overall, the food was tasty, and the menu had a wide range of options. However, the waitress did not notice that it was my partner's birthday even though it was told beforehand. We were disappointed at her lack of knowledge of the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

A lovely dining room for a special occas ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

A lovely dining room for a special occasion with excellent service. The appetizer was a combination of 6 different items and very nice. So we were both looking forward to our entrees ... The pork chop was very generous but so over salted Gary threw his leftovers away. I had the flank steak but I didn't care for the recipe at all. They were very kind to remove the item from our bill. The homemade bread was out of this world and that's how I finished my dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great atmosphere and very attentive wait ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great atmosphere and very attentive wait staff. Not a big wine person but seemed like an extensive list. Not a huge menu but they do it well.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappointed. This season's menu i ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Never disappointed. This season's menu is incredibly delicious and there is something for everyone. I love to bring clients here as well as out-of-towners. This is Greensboro at its best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My fiance and I have visited GVG for din ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My fiance and I have visited GVG for dinner and lunch, in that order. First for her birthday and second for lunch with a work colleague. Both meals have been excellent and prices have been reasonable. Dinner obviously being about double but was also a special occasion. Highly recommend a visit here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Hostess very friendly and personable. Ev ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Hostess very friendly and personable. Everything about this restaurant is delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When ever I am in the area I go out of m ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

When ever I am in the area I go out of my way to have diner here. Always awesome

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can always count on a good meal and ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

You can always count on a good meal and great service at the Green Valley Grill.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat here each & every year on our wed ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We eat here each & every year on our wedding anniversary. GVG never dissapoints! Thanks for another outstanding meal! See you next year.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful lun ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful lunch with a very dear friend. Our reservation was for 12:30 p.m. and we dined and talked until almost 3:00 p.m. We were seated promptly, ordered cocktails and had a very leisurely lunch. Our waitress was very knowledgeable, professional and friendly. Not once did we feel pressured to end our luncheon and she was at our "beck and call"! We LOVE Green Valley Grille. Will dine there again very soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every part of our dining experience was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Every part of our dining experience was wonderful except it was way too cold. The day was overcast and I am sure the AC was set for a sunny day, but just too cold. Take a sweater.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A delightful dining experience! This is ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

A delightful dining experience! This is one of our favorite restaurants, and our out-of-town guests never fail to be impressed with its ambiance and cuisine!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, great service. Our server ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was good, great service. Our server was wonderful. We had a lovely time with friends. My husband ordered the scallops which were very good however for the price, the scallops were tiny and there was not much to his meal in substance. We will know next time not to order that

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We celebrated a birthday for a friend. F ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We celebrated a birthday for a friend. Food and service were good. It's one of my favorite Gso restaurants.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wow, great dining experience! The chef' ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Wow, great dining experience! The chef's fish special was crispy flounder, awesome beyond words, it should be a signature item on the menu!!!

I'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service & food! Met friends ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Outstanding service & food! Met friends for lunch...all our first time dining here...and all 5 of us were thrilled with our dishes. Margherita flatbread, Zucchini cakes, Greek Salad with shrimp, Quiche & salad, and an additional entree salad. Will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.