About Green Valley Grill

624 Green Valley Road
Greensboro, NC 27408
View Larger Map

Visit us and enjoy informally elegant dining and seasonal food using old-world European culinary sensibilities and flavors from areas such as the Tuscan area of Italy or the Provence region of France. Our wine list receives the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence each year and features 50 wines by the glass. Have your own private wine tasting with our Wine Flights. The freshest food prepared by a passionate team, and served by friendly and competent people, is a recipe for a great dining experience. When you add an eclectic décor and dining alfresco in our Courtyard, you will imagine that you have traveled farther than you did. We welcome you to dine with us seven days a week for lunch, dinner, or late night. Adjacent to the O.Henry Hotel.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:15am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 4:00pm
Thanksgiving Day: Dinner menu plus traditional favorites 12 noon - 8pm; Bar open until 10pm

Cross Street:
Friendly Avenue & Benjamin Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 854-2015

Website:
http://www.greenvalleygrill.com/

Catering:
Our versatile banquet facilities at Green Valley Grill and O.Henry Hotel can accommodate just about any need, whether you have 5 or 200 guests. Our elegant surroundings, convenient location in central Greensboro, attentive staff, gracious amenities and accomplished catering team ensure that you will enjoy every moment of your event.

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking. Adjacent to the O.Henry Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Leigh Hesling

Private Party Facilities:
Our versatile, elegant banquet event spaces are located in the AAA Four Diamond O.Henry Hotel. Menus are specially designed for an unforgettable feast. We are conveniently located in central Greensboro, near UNCG, Moses Cone, downtown, Friendly Shopping Center and Greensboro airport.

Private Party Contact:
Kristin Sanecki: (336) 854-2000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, High Tea, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join Green Valley Grill Executive Chef Leigh Hesling for Cooking Class and Wine Pairing in a private event space at the O.Henry Hotel.

Visit our website for more events such as our special tea parties.

Green Valley Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (108)
Good for a Date (95)
Romantic (74)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (73)
Good for Birthdays (62)
Great for Lunch (57)
Worth the Drive (56)
Business Meals (54)
Creative Cuisine (54)
Good for Groups (48)
Quiet Conversation (47)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Cozy (41)
Seasonal (41)
Great for Brunch (40)
Sunday Lunch (38)
Local Ingredients (37)
Notable Wine List (36)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Casual (31)
Afternoon Tea (30)
Healthy (30)
Bar Seating (30)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Comfort Food (27)
Authentic (26)
Wood Oven (24)
Outstanding Value (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Good Vegetarian Options (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Historic (19)
Open Kitchen (18)
Fun (17)
Happy Hour (14)
Family Style (11)
Tapas (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Scenic View (7)
People Watching (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Organic (6)
Private Room (6)
Vegan (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Live Music (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (2)
Fireplace (2)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2453 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of our favorite places to go over th ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 11 hours ago

One of our favorite places to go over the past 10 years. First time coming for Sunday Brunch and will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Green Valley Grill is a favorite restaur ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 2 days ago

Green Valley Grill is a favorite restaurant for my family. The food is consistently delicious. The prices are reasonable and in line with other better restaurants in the Greensboro area. I had the duck entree. It was moist, tender and well presented. The portion was large in comparison with a duck entree that I had at a competing restaurant recently. I usually order the chef's special but instead chose the duck entree on this occasion. The waitress was attentive, knowledgeable and friendly. We look forward to our next dining visit to Green Valley Grill.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, , Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food has gone downhill. More attent ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 3 days ago

The food has gone downhill. More attention needed in the kitchen now that the hotel, restaurant and jazz lobby are doing so well.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food and service as always!!!! So ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and service as always!!!! So popular we had to postpone Valentine's Day so we could celebrate at Green Valley Grill. No where else would do.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and service was w ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was delicious and service was wonderful. Beautiful decore too!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful as always. Very relaxed dinner ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful as always. Very relaxed dinner with no pressure. Superb food-perfectly prepared. Excellent wait staff. We changed tables before being seated as we preferred one of their cozy booths--no problem. Accomplished with no fuss. Continues to be in our top three restaurants in GBO. Have never been disappointed. Very good value for an excellent dining experience. Will return.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A real gem in Greensboro, quiet, cozy, c ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

A real gem in Greensboro, quiet, cozy, comfortable atmosphere. Service is excellent as well as the food.

Tags: Historic, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time eating at Green Valley Grill, ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

First time eating at Green Valley Grill, nothing less than spectacular, the Lamb was amazing, I would recommend to any of my family and friends

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I enjoyed feeling very sp ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I enjoyed feeling very special with a wonderful server and great food. We were impressed with the beef mushroom soup appetizer. If possible, I would appreciate the recipe for that soup!

For the last several years, we have been given an O.Henry special package Christmas gift by our son. We have been consistantly impressed with the dinner in the Green valley Grill every time!

Thank you for your professionalism that is known all over the United States!

Sincerely,

Bonnie Troxler Graham

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful dining experience --- ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Another wonderful dining experience --- good food, good service, good value.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, , Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience!

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had Afternoon Tea for a Va ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I had Afternoon Tea for a Valentine's Day special treat. We enjoyed it very much. We have also enjoyed brunch there on many occasions. We have always found that it is a very pleasant place to dine.

Tags: Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Visited for Valentine'a Day 2017! Love t ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Visited for Valentine'a Day 2017! Love the food and the staff!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salmon and the rotisserie chicken we ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The salmon and the rotisserie chicken were wonderful. And even though it wasn't Valentine's Day we were able to order dessert off that menu. Great service and great food/drinks for a good price. Will definitely come back here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good. My wife is a vegan and the ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Very good. My wife is a vegan and the waitress brought out a chocolate cake slice for our anniversary. Unfortunately my wife could not eat it. It would've been a very special time if the waitress had thought about my wife

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

My friend and I went to Green Valley Gri ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My friend and I went to Green Valley Grill to celebrate her birthday. Our server was attentive without hovering . Our food was visually beautiful and gastronomically delightful. We were treated with a complimentary piece of cake that couldn't have been more delicious ! Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful choice. We were seate ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always a wonderful choice. We were seated near the kitchen, so it was a little noisier than usual. I think we had a new server, but she did a great job. The food was delicious as always. GVG is always our go-to.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Staff was very patient and friendly, we ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Staff was very patient and friendly, we enjoyed our visit and our meals.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful Sunday so sat outside. Very ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 12, 2017

A beautiful Sunday so sat outside. Very nice ambiance. I had the Eggs Benedict which included a ham whose name I cannot remember but, it was good. Also the potatoes were excellent --- nice & crispy on the outside & so soft on the inside. :)))

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was exceptional as ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food and service was exceptional as always! This is our favorite restaurant and we've never had a bad experience!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we loved everything but the chocolate mo ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

we loved everything but the chocolate molten cake it was not good ,but the server saw that we didn't eat it and insisted on taking it off the bill. the dinner itself was wonderful and the service was excellent .. we will definitely go back , next time I will try the cheesecake..

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The food as usual was outstanding. Some ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food as usual was outstanding. Someone had a crying baby that kept it from being the quiet adult evening that was expected. The server allowed the spoon to go into the carmel on my desert when served so the spoon was really sticky...and I had to wait on the wait staff to check on us to get it replaced.

All in all the food was great as stated..and the service was well above average..just not outstanding.

Certainly will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Fantastic meal!!!! They don't have a ch ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fantastic meal!!!! They don't have a children's " menu" but offer plenty of children's options. We all loved it, including our 10 year old son.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, only the burger coul ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was great, only the burger could have been a little juicer, but over all good. Our server was not very polite. We sat in high chair seating and every time she reached , she never said excuse me. Didn't look like she was having a good day. It was my sisters birthday and celebrated it on 2/11/17 around 3:45p. My chicketn salad was phenomenal. I would definitely recommend this place, just would pick different seating so the waiter is not reaching over you consistently.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Waterfront, Quick Bite, Private Room, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We were visiting from out of state and t ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were visiting from out of state and this restaurant was recommended by some locals. It was so full we ended up taking advantage of 2 seats in the bar. We enjoyed some adult beverages and a couple Small Plates. It was plenty of good food and a pleasant way to get a quick bite at a popular place.

Tags: Quick Bite, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I took my mother there to celebrate Vale ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I took my mother there to celebrate Valentine's Day! I experienced wonderful ambiance, very attentive staff and delicious food! I would go again!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

One word - excellent!!

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 9, 2017

One word - excellent!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching, Romantic, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only negative was the cocktail, the ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The only negative was the cocktail, the bloody Mary was horrible and expensive everything else great thanks

Tags: Authentic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding evening! The food is except ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Outstanding evening! The food is exceptional. They're very good about accommodating someone who is gluten-free. Our server Kelli was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful lunch celebrating a friend's b ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Wonderful lunch celebrating a friend's birthday. Service was wonderful, food was delicious and atmosphere was perfect.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Drove from Charlotte with friends for lu ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Drove from Charlotte with friends for lunch @Green Valley Grill. Varied menu, delicious salmon salad.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I almost always get the Pecan Crusted Tr ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I almost always get the Pecan Crusted Trout... I think it was even better this week than usual!

Left a note on Open Table about it being my Fiance's Birthday, and multiple people wished him a Happy Birthday! Made for an extra special experience.

Still our favorite! See y'all again soon!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a group of six. Everyone loved t ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We had a group of six. Everyone loved their meal. Good service. A favorite!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Again another wonderful meal that was en ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Again another wonderful meal that was enjoyed by all present.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food and friendly and efficien ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

excellent food and friendly and efficient service in a tasteful environment

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service, lovely food, and ext ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Impeccable service, lovely food, and extraordinary surroundings. We always appreciate every meal we have at the GVG. Truly a gem! Spring is right around the corner and outside seating is my favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GVG offers service for a wide variety of ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 29, 2017

GVG offers service for a wide variety of people and the menu reflects a certain degree of safety with dramatic flourishes. Greater attention to "clean" eaters would be useful as it is often difficult to get basic meals without cheeses or sauces -- both for non-meat eaters as well as for persons who want lean meat or fish and healthy options. For a restaurant attached to a hotel, that kind of option is important to travelers who often want less fussy food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was very flavorful and the serv ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was very flavorful and the service, Lynn was outstanding. This was the best meal we have had out in a very long time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First experience at the Green Valley Gri ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 28, 2017

First experience at the Green Valley Grill and it was definitely positive. Wonderful ambiance and service. I enjoyed the dinner and wish I had saved room for dessert. We will be returning again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful meal, happy customers, great s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Wonderful meal, happy customers, great service! I will definitely be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.