About Green Valley Grill

624 Green Valley Road
Greensboro, NC 27408
View Larger Map

Visit us and enjoy informally elegant dining and seasonal food using old-world European culinary sensibilities and flavors from areas such as the Tuscan area of Italy or the Provence region of France. Our wine list receives the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence each year and features 50 wines by the glass. Have your own private wine tasting with our Wine Flights. The freshest food prepared by a passionate team, and served by friendly and competent people, is a recipe for a great dining experience. When you add an eclectic décor and dining alfresco in our Courtyard, you will imagine that you have traveled farther than you did. We welcome you to dine with us seven days a week for lunch, dinner, or late night. Adjacent to the O.Henry Hotel.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:15am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 4:00pm
Thanksgiving Day: Dinner menu plus traditional favorites 12 noon - 8pm; Bar open until 10pm

Cross Street:
Friendly Avenue & Benjamin Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 854-2015

Website:
http://www.greenvalleygrill.com/

Catering:
Our versatile banquet facilities at Green Valley Grill and O.Henry Hotel can accommodate just about any need, whether you have 5 or 200 guests. Our elegant surroundings, convenient location in central Greensboro, attentive staff, gracious amenities and accomplished catering team ensure that you will enjoy every moment of your event.

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking. Adjacent to the O.Henry Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Leigh Hesling

Private Party Facilities:
Our versatile, elegant banquet event spaces are located in the AAA Four Diamond O.Henry Hotel. Menus are specially designed for an unforgettable feast. We are conveniently located in central Greensboro, near UNCG, Moses Cone, downtown, Friendly Shopping Center and Greensboro airport.

Private Party Contact:
Kristin Sanecki: 3368542000

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join Green Valley Grill Executive Chef Leigh Hesling for Cooking Class and Wine Pairing in a private event space at the O.Henry Hotel.

Visit our website for more events such as our special tea parties.

Restaurant Photos

Salmon
Baby Back Ribs
lasagnia
Scallops
Parmasean Crusted Chicken
Sea Bass Branzino
Burger
Fork And Knife Burger
Creme Brulee
Blue Crab & Spinach
High Tea Mad Hatter Brunch
Mad Hatter High Tea
Blushing Rose
Paella
Potato Leek Soup
Morrocan Meatballs
Chicago Style Hot Dog
Smoked Salmon with Cream Cheese, Capers, Tomatoes And A Bagel
Apple Crisp
Bread And Merlot
Kitchen
Lamb Souvlaki Gyro
Burrata Cheese Bruschetta
Shrimp And Blue Crab Ciabatta Melt
Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich
Short Ribs
Bacon Wrapped Pork Loin
Simple Salad
Pan Seared Paprika Dusted Scallops
Gvg Dessert Sampler
Truffle Fries With Grated Parmesan
Filet Mignon
Shrimp And Cr
Giacomos  Sausage Flatbread
Sun Dried Tomato And Roasted Chicken Salad
Short Rib Slider
Truffle Fries!
Fried Calimari

Green Valley Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Service
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Ambiance
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
10 More
Best Value
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Great for Lunch
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Most Booked
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Greensboro
Best Food
Greensboro
Best Service
Greensboro
Best Ambiance
Greensboro
Best Value
Greensboro
Special Occasion
Greensboro
Most Booked
Greensboro
Best Restaurants in Greensboro ›

special occasion (185)
good for groups (135)
great for lunch (134)
See All
fit for foodies (127)
romantic (118)
great for outdoor dining (100)
great for brunch (99)
neighborhood gem (86)
notable wine list (61)
vibrant bar scene (35)
late-night find (34)
hot spot (27)
scenic view (26)
kid-friendly (16)
Sort By:
Newest
2023 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE had an outstanding dining experience ...

Dined 4 days ago

WE had an outstanding dining experience with very affordable prices. Extremely convenient venue as we spent the weekend at the O.Henry hotel. The entire service staff was courteous and professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

They just continue to squander what shou ...

Dined 4 days ago

They just continue to squander what should be an excellent option in town with poor service and food that is not all that original and overly salted. The menu often intrigues, but it lacks the follow through of a place dedicated to making good, healthy, local options available. And the servers are better trained at fast food establishments. Attention to customers needs to be emphasized as opposed to hanging out at tables and chatting with friends.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great lunch! Super atmosphere for large ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great lunch! Super atmosphere for large groups and celebrations. Perfect for romantic dinner! Fantastic wait staff and food selection.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

food and service were great. location i ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

food and service were great. location is good and our reservation was honored and on time. however, we both ordered from the small plate section. regular dinners are huge and pretty expensive. it would be nice to have "real" meals but in smaller sizes.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place! The only thing that k ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I love this place! The only thing that keeps me from eating there more often is the pricing. It's become a special occasion type place for us. The food is always wonderful, service is impeccable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We arrived to find our reservation had m ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We arrived to find our reservation had mistakenly been given to diners with a different spelling of our name. The restaurant staff was quite apologetic, and worked to get us seated quickly. Although it was Fathers' Day and the restaurant was quite busy, we did not wait more than 10 minutes. I was impressed! Our waitress was friendly, capable and attentive, not to mention familiar with the menu. She offered valuable suggestions and explanations. I was most grateful she suggested the Spanakorizo Eggplant - scrumptious! Our table also enjoyed the Parmesan Crusted Chicken (as always!), and the Wood-Fire Grilled Salmon. We ordered 2 desserts for the table, and they were not only divine, but more than ample for the 5 of us. I can't wait to return and try some of the other dishes!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant with great service, ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful restaurant with great service, awesome outdoor dining, and incredible food. Definitely one of our favorites.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

First class operation. Great ambiance an ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

First class operation. Great ambiance and food. Decor and music are internally consistent. 20s theme.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently good food and great service ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Consistently good food and great service. Even though it was a busy weekend (Father's Day) folks were seated fairly quickly. My reservation was honored and we were seated immediately. A restaurant that you can count on for good food and a great wine selection.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Fathers Day. The service was ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for Fathers Day. The service was great and the food for brunch was delicious

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Not usually a complaint but the food cam ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Not usually a complaint but the food came out REALLY fast! And then it was not particularly hot (though it tasted very good). If you are looking to have a bit of time to talk and enjoy a beverage, tell the server.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect from start to finish. Dining ro ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Perfect from start to finish. Dining room was beautiful. Service was spot on and food was delicious. Filet cooked perfectly. Really enjoyed the evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Green Valley ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our first visit to Green Valley Grill and we enjoyed our experience. Our server was helpful and prompt. Our food and wine was perfect and we completely stuffed ourselves. We are already talking about our next trip there for a meal! Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3

Filet was cooked to perfection! Veggies ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Filet was cooked to perfection! Veggies were just right, a little crispy, but not raw crispy. They brought a slice of cake out for my boyfriends bday. It was delish!

food5
ambience5
service5

Very good meal. A little expensive, but ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Very good meal. A little expensive, but worth it for special occasions.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great was not pushy but wa ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was great was not pushy but was there for our needs wonderful visit with friends thank you Kay See you soon

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

my wife and i were celebrating our 55th ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

my wife and i were celebrating our 55th wedding anniversary. this is the place we come to for VERY special events. our daughter, Kelly and her husband, Ward were the first people to tell us about Green Valley and Ward's mom, Elizabeth McLean, stays with you frequently and also recommended you. you are a family affair with us!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food and wine at very reasonable p ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Great food and wine at very reasonable prices. The vegetarian options are always excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful ambiance, food and service. W ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Wonderful ambiance, food and service. We moved out of state about 10 years ago and have not had the opportunity to come back until recently. As always, a pleasure!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Went there for my wife's birthday. Th ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Went there for my wife's birthday. They put flowers on the table, and brought a piece of chocolate moose cake with a candle for dessert. VERY NICE. My steak was really good, cooked properly, etc. Wife's lamb was a little tough. Veggies were steamed nicely and not mushy. Salads were a bit plain - crisp greens in a bowl. So overall, it was real good, but I didn't hear angels singing.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our party of six which included 2 kids h ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Our party of six which included 2 kids had a very pleasant evening and a very good dinner. I would have preferred smaller portions for entrees along with a lower price. All the entrees were well over 1,000 calories. Overall, a good experience dining experience among friends.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place!!

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Great place!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Not real inventive and a lot ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Great food. Not real inventive and a lot of comfort.

food4
ambience4
service4

Pleasant unhurried dinner outside by the ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Pleasant unhurried dinner outside by the fountain.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The patio dining area is one of the best ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The patio dining area is one of the best I've experienced. Very green and shaded. Trees and shrubs hide the near by parking lots so well that you do not notice them. Wine list has many affordable options around $30 a bottle. Entrées come in generous servings. Food was very good. Service was quite competent. I would come here again if I wanted a special dinner or lunch in Greensboro. I think that it would also be a great place to meet a friend for drinks and to share one or two of the small plate options. Menu could use more vegetarian options. My vegetarian son is not picky, so he was satisfied with the one vegetarian entrée on the menu the night we dined.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Executive Assistant

Dined on May 24, 2016

This was my first time and it was recommended by coworker for a farewell celebration. It did not disappoint. The food was delicious! I have gluten allergies and they were able to speak intelligently about it and provide an alternative for me. The waitress was gracious and kind and very knowledgeable. We really enjoyed our time there.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great evening . Food was great! ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

It was a great evening . Food was great! I tried a new dish that was very good

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always great

Dined on May 22, 2016

This is our go-to restaurant in Greensboro, particularly for lunch. The restaurant is very pretty, the staff are great, and the food is always excellent. Lunch is a particularly good deal, very well-priced.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food for reasonable prices. Ni ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Wonderful food for reasonable prices. Nice, energetic atmosphere. Would definitely go back.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The NY strip was not good at all! It wa ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The NY strip was not good at all! It was very tough and tasted like it had been baked instead of grilled. It was a total waste of money. I was very disappointed! The bread and dessert were delicious!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Don't miss it!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Our second time here and we loved it. Great atmosphere, good service, very good food, and even though entrees are a bit pricey, they include a side salad. Wine list includes some reasonably priced good wines. Nice place to celebrate graduation or any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent and consistent. Highly recomm ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent and consistent. Highly recommend

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a delightful lunch last Fri, May 20 ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Had a delightful lunch last Fri, May 20th ! Cuisine, Service, and Ambiance were all excellent!! The three of us thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We always enjoy GVG. Good service, exce ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We always enjoy GVG. Good service, excellent food. Wish it was quieter, but GVG can't control the guests enthusiasm.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated a friends retirement here for ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Celebrated a friends retirement here for lunch. My favorite restaurant and it never disappoints.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always we loved our meal at Green Val ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

As always we loved our meal at Green Valley Grill. Love, love truffle fries! Our server was exceptional, too

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Very consistent. Always good

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Very consistent. Always good

food3
ambience5
service3

The decor was great for casual dining. O ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The decor was great for casual dining. Our food, however, was quite disappointing - especially after reading such raves beforehand. The kids pizza was made with gourmet cheese . . . A no no for kids. The lamb I ordered was very dry and tough and quite honestly the worst I've ever tasted. I had told my server that my 2 kids would be sharing the kid's pizza. I did appreciate that their pizza was separated onto 2 dishes without my asking. Overall, out of a table of 5, each person was disappointed with their various orders.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice ambience, very kind waiter, big por ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice ambience, very kind waiter, big portions, great taste

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Yummiest Food in the Boro

Dined on May 8, 2016

Amazing fresh food with a great atmosphere. The wait staff is always friendly and so good! Their seasonal desserts always offer something for everyone.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.