About Green Valley Grill

624 Green Valley Road
Greensboro, NC 27408
View Larger Map

Visit us and enjoy informally elegant dining and seasonal food using old-world European culinary sensibilities and flavors from areas such as the Tuscan area of Italy or the Provence region of France. Our wine list receives the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence each year and features 50 wines by the glass. Have your own private wine tasting with our Wine Flights. The freshest food prepared by a passionate team, and served by friendly and competent people, is a recipe for a great dining experience. When you add an eclectic décor and dining alfresco in our Courtyard, you will imagine that you have traveled farther than you did. We welcome you to dine with us seven days a week for lunch, dinner, or late night. Adjacent to the O.Henry Hotel.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:15am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 4:00pm
Thanksgiving Day: Dinner menu plus traditional favorites 12 noon - 8pm; Bar open until 10pm

Cross Street:
Friendly Avenue & Benjamin Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 854-2015

Website:
http://www.greenvalleygrill.com/

Catering:
Our versatile banquet facilities at Green Valley Grill and O.Henry Hotel can accommodate just about any need, whether you have 5 or 200 guests. Our elegant surroundings, convenient location in central Greensboro, attentive staff, gracious amenities and accomplished catering team ensure that you will enjoy every moment of your event.

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking. Adjacent to the O.Henry Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Leigh Hesling

Private Party Facilities:
Our versatile, elegant banquet event spaces are located in the AAA Four Diamond O.Henry Hotel. Menus are specially designed for an unforgettable feast. We are conveniently located in central Greensboro, near UNCG, Moses Cone, downtown, Friendly Shopping Center and Greensboro airport.

Private Party Contact:
Kristin Sanecki: 3368542000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, High Tea, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join Green Valley Grill Executive Chef Leigh Hesling for Cooking Class and Wine Pairing in a private event space at the O.Henry Hotel.

Visit our website for more events such as our special tea parties.

Restaurant Photos

Salmon - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Baby Back Ribs - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Scallops - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Parmasean Crusted Chicken - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Sea Bass Branzino - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Burger - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Fork And Knife Burger - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Creme Brulee - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Blue Crab & Spinach - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
High Tea Mad Hatter Brunch - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Mad Hatter High Tea - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Blushing Rose - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Paella - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Potato Leek Soup - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Morrocan Meatballs - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Chicago Style Hot Dog - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Smoked Salmon with Cream Cheese, Capers, Tomatoes And A Bagel - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Apple Crisp - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Bread And Merlot - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Kitchen - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Lamb Souvlaki Gyro - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Burrata Cheese Bruschetta - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Shrimp And Blue Crab Ciabatta Melt - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Simple Salad - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Gvg Dessert Sampler - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Bacon Wrapped Pork Loin  - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Short Ribs - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Pan Seared Paprika Dusted Scallops - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
lasagnia - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Truffle Fries With Grated Parmesan - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Filet Mignon - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Shrimp And Cr - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Sun Dried Tomato And Roasted Chicken Salad - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Giacomos  Sausage Flatbread - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Short Rib Slider - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Truffle Fries! - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC
Fried Calimari - Green Valley Grill, Greensboro, NC

Green Valley Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Service
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Ambiance
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
7 More
Most Booked
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Greensboro
Best Food
Greensboro
Best Service
Greensboro
Best Ambiance
Greensboro
Best Value
Greensboro
Most Booked
Greensboro
Best Restaurants in Greensboro ›

Special Occasion (85)
Good for a Date (64)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
See All
Romantic (57)
Business Meals (55)
Great for Lunch (52)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Good for Groups (50)
Sunday Lunch (41)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Worth the Drive (39)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Great for Brunch (35)
Notable Wine List (35)
Healthy (35)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Bar Seating (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Local Ingredients (26)
Cozy (23)
Seasonal (23)
Casual (21)
Afternoon Tea (19)
Open Kitchen (17)
Wood Oven (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Outstanding Value (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Authentic (14)
Fun (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Comfort Food (14)
People Watching (13)
Historic (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Tapas (11)
Family Style (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Scenic View (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Vegan (6)
Organic (5)
Private Room (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Live Music (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
2220 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service. Solid food selection. Wel ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service. Solid food selection. Well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I met a friend from out of town for lunc ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

I met a friend from out of town for lunch and found Green Valley Grill to be an excellent choice. The service and food were outstanding. We will definitely dine there again soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and excellent food! D ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service and excellent food! Definitely recommend it!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We make the drive from the Winston-Salem ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

We make the drive from the Winston-Salem area to dine here. It is our very favorite restaurant in Greensboro. The grilled salmon tasted fresh and the polenta was delicious. The salmon portion was adequate but the polenta was a little scant. The green beans in this dish were quite tasty as well. The eggs benedict was made with shaved ham rather than the traditional Canadian bacon but was very good nonetheless. We will definitely return before too long!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding ambiance from the moment you ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding ambiance from the moment you enter the foyer to the dining room and beyond. Cuisine is created with flair for enjoyment. Service is impeccable. Desserts should not be missed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I waitress was very good but she kept fi ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 6 days ago

I waitress was very good but she kept filling our wine glasses constantly. I felt as if she was over doing the pouring to up our tab and her tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always great food and service!

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 6 days ago

Always great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Green Valley Grill is always a fabulous ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Green Valley Grill is always a fabulous place to go, whether you are casually meeting friends or celebrating something special. Our waitress was excellent, and food was delicious. We tried dish we had not had before and (like everything else we've had) it was perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NIce selection from the menu with a mix ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 30, 2016

NIce selection from the menu with a mix of familiar and unique dishes.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful anniversary meal. We ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We had a wonderful anniversary meal. We are especially appreciative of the inventive vegetarian option that was available for my husband. We will continue to make this a special go to place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was nice and quiet for an anniversary ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 28, 2016

It was nice and quiet for an anniversary dinner. The food was well prepared and presented as well as flavorful. Service was excellent. The wine list is great as are the unique cocktails. We always enjoy dining here.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My first visit; recommended by a friend. ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 28, 2016

My first visit; recommended by a friend. Not disappointed. Unique cuisine. Good flavors (and I'm a picky foodie!), natural ingredients, with good presentation. Retro Euro ambiance. Staff competent, friendly, and attentive.

Tags: Private Room, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

wonderful service and delicious food and ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 26, 2016

wonderful service and delicious food and selection of drinks.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful experience here. Ever ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a wonderful experience here. Everything was super fresh and prepared beautifully. We had 2 drinks each, salads, entrees, and even split a dessert all at a reasonable price! The atmosphere was classy, but not uptight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for Thanksgiving dinner rather ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Went here for Thanksgiving dinner rather than going through the hassle of making the entire thing myself. Was seated ahead of our reservation time, in a quieter section of the restaurant. Our server was very friendly and attentive and the food was excellent. We definitely didn't regret doing Thanksgiving at GVG, and in fact made reservations to come here for Christmas as well!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was really good and we had more on ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was really good and we had more on plate than last year.

Tags: Organic, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Thanksgiving Dinner at the Green Valley ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving Dinner at the Green Valley Grill. The waitress was well acquainted with the needs of a Celiac and Dairy allergic diner and took good care of us. Although we had reservations for almost a month out we were offered "the Breakfast room" in stead of the main dinning area. It was ok, but is reflected in our overall grading.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

For the first time in 26 years of marria ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 24, 2016

For the first time in 26 years of marriage, I didn't cook on Thanksgiving. My husband took us to Green Valley green instead. Service was excellent! Food was served promptly and at right temperature but my turkey tenderloin was very dry. Mashed potatoes and green beans; insipid. Had reservations for Christmas dinner, already cancelled. For the price, it should have been one of our best Thanksgiving meals ever!... Disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We had Thanksgiving dinner there and eve ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had Thanksgiving dinner there and everything was superb!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite place for special occasions ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our favorite place for special occasions and just treating ourselves. Love the fact that employees now own this business. You can certainly tell! Service is outstanding.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful meal! Thanks to all fo ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Another wonderful meal! Thanks to all for another fantastic meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I am never disappointed when I eat at Gr ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 23, 2016

I am never disappointed when I eat at Green Valley Grill. I is definitely one of my favorite places to dine in Greensboro.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a wonderful evening with family. ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful evening with family. Food and service was great and really enjoyed the quiet atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best places to dine anywhere! ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 22, 2016

One of the best places to dine anywhere! Fantastic service and outstanding menu. Will continue to dine there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Healthy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Green Valley Grill offered it's usua ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The Green Valley Grill offered it's usual very good food and a lovely ambiance. Our waitress, Robin, took a great deal of trouble with us and made our meal extra special. A great venue for any occasion.

Tags: Disabled Access, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Really good food. Excellent service with ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Really good food. Excellent service with helpful attention to gluten free needs. Great touch to bring gf breadsticks with regular bread basket.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were outstanding--could ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Food and service were outstanding--could not have been better!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual we had a wonderful experience. ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 21, 2016

As usual we had a wonderful experience. The food is delicious and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. We have gone to this restaurant for my Mom's birthday since she was 80. She just turned 88. The Chef is always willing to come out and speak to her which makes her day. We love Green Valley Grill!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was great as always. We ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food and service was great as always. We eat at lots of restaurants and this one has never given us a bad meal or service. I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had pre-symphony dinner. My two compani ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Had pre-symphony dinner. My two companions enjoyed their meals. Me, not so much. Portion was small and tasteless (flounder) First time I have been disappointed here. Will return for second chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed food!

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Enjoyed food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved our experience at the green Val ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We loved our experience at the green Valley grill. Our server and the staff went above and beyond our expectations to make our anniversary special. Thanks for the excellent experience. I highly recommend and will return again.

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We have never had a meal less than wonde ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We have never had a meal less than wonderful at Green Valley Grill. Whether it's lunch, dinner, weekday, weekend. The service is always impeccable, too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I live in Durham, but for the past 6 yea ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I live in Durham, but for the past 6 years have had season tickets to the Bryan Series lectures. Before each lecture 2 - 4 of us meet for dinner (this past Sunday for brunch, because the lecture was at 3:30). This is a big part of the reason for driving all the way from Durham!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The service was absolutely outstanding. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The service was absolutely outstanding. Our only issue was the food is not at all what it used to be. Both of our steaks were so full of fat and the asparagus has absolutely zero flavor. Not sure if we will ever return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Food was fantastic and not overpriced. ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was fantastic and not overpriced. The atmosphere is

absolutely beautiful and comfortable. I will be a regular.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Wood Oven, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good choice for a very nice mea ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Always a good choice for a very nice meal in an atmosphere where service matters to the staff and conversation is easy to have at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the salmon and the tea was sweet ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Enjoyed the salmon and the tea was sweet. Burgers were huge and our server was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a very enjoyable evening at the G ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We had a very enjoyable evening at the Green Valley Grill. Kelley, our server gave us excellent service and helped make it a wonderful evening. We will return soon!!!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never had a bad meal at GVG. Never had a ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Never had a bad meal at GVG. Never had an extraordinary one either. However I would rather have consistent and dependable quality than surprises. Service is always excellent. Their bread extraordinary and you can depend on finding something on the menu seasonal and creative.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.