Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.25mi

About Green Valley Grill

Informally Elegant, Zestful Dining!

We invite you to join us at Green Valley Grill, adjacent to the O.Henry Hotel and Friendly Center in Greensboro. Enjoy fresh seasonal Old World European and Mediterranean flavors from the wood-fired rotisserie and grill. Pair it with your choice of artisanal cocktails, craft beers and 500 wines. In fact we’re the only restaurant in Greensboro to receive the Wine Spectator “Best of Award of Excellence”.

Dine outdoors in our Courtyard garden. Gather with friends in our friendly bar. Check out our Veggie Bike with the latest farm fresh finds. Experience Cooking Classes, Afternoon Tea or Cocktails & Jazz. View photos of our Chef’s current features on our website!

624 Green Valley Road
Greensboro, NC 27408
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, European, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH: Monday - Friday: 11:15 AM - 4:00 PM
DINNER: Monday - Thursday: 4 PM - 10:30 PM, Friday and Saturday until 11 PM, Sunday until 10 PM
BRUNCH: Saturday & Sunday: 9 AM - 4 PM
BAR: Friday & Saturday: 4 PM - 11 PM, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm;
Open 365 Days a Year!

Cross Street:
Friendly Avenue & Benjamin Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 854-2015

Website:
http://www.greenvalleygrill.com/

Catering:
Green Valley Grill Executive Chef Leigh Hesling and his team create bespoke custom menus to fit any need. Our culinary team works with you to create one-of-a-kind memorable events that will wow your guests. Small details make big impressions, so having your own O.Henry or Green Valley Grill planning professional will help you with everything.

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking. Adjacent to the O.Henry Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Leigh Hesling

Private Party Facilities:
Our versatile event and banquet spaces are located in the adjacent O.Henry Hotel and can accommodate just about any group comfortably up to 200 guests. As an employee-owned boutique hotel, we offer exceptional service and custom menus from Green Valley Grill chefs to fit any need. All of your meeting needs will be taken care of by a team of experienced culinary, event and hotel operations professionals who have an honest desire to be of genuine service to our guests.

Private Party Contact:
O.Henry Sales Team: (336) 854-2000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for our Cooking Class Series, Thursday night Cocktails & Jazz, Select Saturday O.Henry Jazz, Daily Afternoon Tea and specialty children's teas.

Visit our website to see all our happenings.

Green Valley Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (101)
Good for a Date (86)
Good for Birthdays (81)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (73)
Creative Cuisine (69)
Romantic (62)
Great for Lunch (59)
Business Meals (55)
Neighborhood Gem (55)
Great for Outdoor Dining (53)
Worth the Drive (53)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Sunday Lunch (49)
Quiet Conversation (48)
Great for Brunch (47)
Local Ingredients (44)
Casual (42)
Good for Groups (37)
Notable Wine List (35)
Cozy (33)
Seasonal (33)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Afternoon Tea (28)
Bar Seating (27)
Authentic (20)
Fun (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Disabled Access (12)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Tapas (9)
People Watching (8)
Organic (7)
Scenic View (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Great Beer (6)
Live Music (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Vegan (4)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
2752 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

The Blue Crab dip appetizer is excellent, as well as the Potato Soup. The food does not disappoint- our party had the Parmesan Chicken ( a favorite), the pork medallions, salmon, and the prime rib special. The service on Saturday evening seemed to be lacking from what we usually experience when dining at the Green Valley Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely great service and food. Ambience was upscale yet comfortable.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Overall, our experience was fine. Patio seating was great for the birthday gathering we were having. We had late reservations so it wasn't too crowded or noisey. The food that I ordered was very good. Unfortunately the service was not. The waitress was inattentive. She never asked anyone how their meal was or if we needed anything after the meal was served. We had to track her done many times for things that we needed. She would walk by our table but wouldn't stop by the table. She wasn't rude she just seemed like she didn't want to be waiting on us. She seemed uncomfortable.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Casual, Cozy, Live Music, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I have been disappointed with GVG that last few times I have been there. The short ribs were a bit over cooked and the NY strip was very tough and had ligaments running through it. I understand the NY cut of meat and it was tougher than usual. the appetizers were delicious as was the bread and always the drinks. The venue is nice for bringing a business guest.

please improve upon the quality of meats used.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

A definite restaurant jewel for the town of Greensboro where food, service and ambience all hit the perfect more! The warm Farro salmon salad is always a pleaser and hopefully stays on the new menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

I love all three concepts from QWRH and don't frequent GVG as often as I'd like, but realized how much I missed the tuna salad w/avocado yesterday when dining for a business lunch!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Incredible food , excellent service and ambiance. It deserves a 5 star rating

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Had a wonderful meal celebrating my son's 21st birthday. The food was delicious and unique. The seating in the outdoor patio was very comfortable. I look forward to a return trip.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Many visits with a variety of groups. Each occasion has been near the top.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Went for my mother's birthday and she really enjoyed her meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Casual, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

I've eaten at Green Valley Grill a number of time and it has always been very good - this time it was just okay. Our server missed serving us bread, refilled our water glasses when she brought the check (and they had been empty for quite some time) and overall was mostly out of sight. I had the flatbread with grilled vegetables and smoked mozerella. The veggies were huge - I had to take them off and cut them up to eat them, and the grilled peppers still had the burnt skin on. The outdoor seating was lovely however.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The setting was high class, the menu was expensive, the website with classy but the experience was less than good. The salmon I had was about the small size I cook at home, over seasoned, the bread was dry, they ran out of a main course they advertised and my friend/s steak was overcooked and she had to send it back. It was a very cold and dull atmosphere. I am not that picky about anything but considering the costs of everything, I was very disappointed. Oh, the drinks in the bar were very good. I will not return the next time I am in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Our dinner was delicious and the atmosphere was very nice! We have really enjoyed having O. Henry Hotel and Green Valley Grille in our neighborhood all these years. Dining inside or on the patio has always been a real pleasure. Thank you!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 12, 2017

The restaurant has an "old world" modern vibe. The menu has a wide variety of offerings. The roasted chicken was well executed, but uninspired. The lamb in the souvlaki entree was cooked well and was tender and well-seasoned, but the other ingredients in the entree were not proportioned well, causing the flavors unfortunately to be a bit muddled. The flank steak special was tender and well seasoned, but the grilled asparagus side dish was overcooked and a bit mushy. The server was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. Overall, the meal was enjoyable -- the food was good and executed well enough, but not great. I definitely would return to this restaurant for dinner with non-foodie friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Visitor to the area in which we read the prior reviews, so thought we would try it. So glad we did-the food from appetizers to desserts was nothing short of stellar! The best meal that I have had in a long time! FYI Tomato Salad app is amazing & produce is super fresh & yummy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

It was my birthday my waiter Jason was excellent wished me a happy birthday the food was excellent...Only problem was table was too small for my group but really enjoyed ourselves and we will be back.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Reservations online were easy to make. Quickly taken to our table. Waiter was attentive and professional. Food was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

We had our anniversary dinner here. Amazing food, pleasant atmosphere . The staff are professional and very polite. Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Service was exceptional! Food was very good. Will return in the future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Perfect outdoor dining experience. Trout dish cooked just right, not dry but not runny. Fabulous dessert options, chocolate cake especially good. We dine here whenever we are in Greensboro.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We have eaten here many times and always been highly pleased with all aspects of the experience. This particular visit started off on a negative note however. We were slightly early upon arrival for our patio seating reservation, and were directed by the hostess to wait for a few minutes on the benches near the restaurant entrance while they cleaned/prepped a couple of tables. When it became fifteen minutes past our reservation time, after watching servers lead other similar-size groups right by us out to the patio, I questioned the hostess. Her response--"I'm so sorry, I thought you had been taken to your table". Why would you think we had been seated when we were still waiting in plain view in the same spot? Furthermore, numerous other employees passed us repeatedly, and no one thought to question us or the hostess as to why we had been sitting there so long. Major faux pas! I will credit the management with trying to rectify the situation by bringing us complimentary appetizers. The appetizers and the remainder of the food and drink we ordered were of excellent GVG quality and our group ended up having a nice evening. The table service did seem to be on the slow side for what you'd expect on a Sunday night though, with the restaurant and bar not being very busy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Wonderful Sunday Brunch! Excellent atmosphere and kind staff. Green Valley Grill is one of our favorite places to go in Greensboro, N.C.!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Nice corner booth, accommodated our six people. Service was very polite and attentive, but not overwhelming. Was hoping for Sunday Brunch drink specials, but other than that, it was a very special experience. Food tasted fresh made, nicely presented, dietary needs easily accommodated, and everything was really yummy. Price was slightly on the high side, although not so much, given the level of quality. Setting was also very nice, beautiful woodwork and a nice cozy feel despite being a very large space. Outdoor seating looked quite nice as well as the bar.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Had tapa plate for appetizer. Noticed after eating one of the chicken kabobs that it was raw in middle. Ordered braised short ribs. Portion was good and beef tender but was dry. Needed some sauce or gravy. They took off the cost of the tapas from our bill but probably won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The food (salmon on polenta) was fabulous. Very attentive waiter. Always love background smooth jazz.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We were celebrating our anniversary-so I picked one of my wife's favorite restaurants.-Green Valley Grill.
The appetizers of Mediterranean Tappas were varied and excellent. My wife had a cheese tort that was not only tasty but nice and flaky. Service was as usual-excellent-they know the foods they serve. For our anniversary,They surprised us with a very special desert called-FrozenNutty Irishman-chocolate cake layered with Irish cream mousse and crushed English toffee covered with a chocolate sauce-superb!! An anniversary lunch we will remember.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great food, with the right atmosphere for a very special ocassion. Excellent wine list, worth the value.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Excellent service ! Easily able to accommodate my mother who is in a wheelchair. The food was delicious. Great variety on the menus.

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

I never thought chicken could taste so good or be cooked so perfect. Every little detail goes into creating each dish. The wife loves it for our anniversary dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

GVG is one of our favorites and it was excellent, as it is every time we go. The superb food and service is why we go back often. This time we were celebrating going back to school for the kids and the five of us had a big time. Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Superb! We invited friends to join us for Sunday brunch. The menu was eclectic american fare priced affordably. The food was excellent both visually and on the palate. Each and every member of the staff was friendly and helpful. And our server was both friendly and efficient.

I would recommend this restaurant without reservation (forgive the pun) and intend to return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

I believe the restaurant is elegant and the food exquisite ! I will be back again ! I will recommend to my friends and family! Compared to other restaurants of similiar service and atmosphere the pricing is reasonable ! Thanks for the opportunity to comment !

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Thank you for perfect Bd dinner for 6! Great service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

It has been a while since last visiting and was refreshing to find that the ambiance, food, service and fun was as remembered. Keep up the good work. It was worth every bit of the 30 mile drive. We introduced friends at this visit to the Grill and they were as pleased as we were and say they can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Casual, People Watching, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great flatbread pizzas and burgers. The service was fantastic. Friendly staff and very attentive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Sat on the patio. Beautiful. The food was wonderful and the wait staff was helpful.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

We were staying in Greensboro to drop out son off at college and found the restaurant on TripAdvisor. Looked at the menu and there were great options. The service was great and good was fresh and delicious. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Always excellent in every way. Very enjoyable. I like to go there

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

We love this restaurant! They always list a few "go to" items on their menu and then add some great "different" items that have NEVER let us down. The atmosphere is very pleasing.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.