About Green Valley Grill

624 Green Valley Road
Greensboro, NC 27408
View Larger Map

Visit us and enjoy informally elegant dining and seasonal food using old-world European culinary sensibilities and flavors from areas such as the Tuscan area of Italy or the Provence region of France. Our wine list receives the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence each year and features 50 wines by the glass. Have your own private wine tasting with our Wine Flights. The freshest food prepared by a passionate team, and served by friendly and competent people, is a recipe for a great dining experience. When you add an eclectic décor and dining alfresco in our Courtyard, you will imagine that you have traveled farther than you did. We welcome you to dine with us seven days a week for lunch, dinner, or late night. Adjacent to the O.Henry Hotel.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:15am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 4:00pm
Thanksgiving Day: Dinner menu plus traditional favorites 12 noon - 8pm; Bar open until 10pm

Cross Street:
Friendly Avenue & Benjamin Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 854-2015

Website:
http://www.greenvalleygrill.com/

Catering:
Our versatile banquet facilities at Green Valley Grill and O.Henry Hotel can accommodate just about any need, whether you have 5 or 200 guests. Our elegant surroundings, convenient location in central Greensboro, attentive staff, gracious amenities and accomplished catering team ensure that you will enjoy every moment of your event.

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking. Adjacent to the O.Henry Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Leigh Hesling

Private Party Facilities:
Our versatile, elegant banquet event spaces are located in the AAA Four Diamond O.Henry Hotel. Menus are specially designed for an unforgettable feast. We are conveniently located in central Greensboro, near UNCG, Moses Cone, downtown, Friendly Shopping Center and Greensboro airport.

Private Party Contact:
Kristin Sanecki: 3368542000

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join Green Valley Grill Executive Chef Leigh Hesling for Cooking Class and Wine Pairing in a private event space at the O.Henry Hotel.

Visit our website for more events such as our special tea parties.

Restaurant Photos

Green Valley Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Food
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Service
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
11 More
Best Ambiance
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Value
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Great for Lunch
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Most Booked
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Greensboro
Best Food
Greensboro
Best Service
Greensboro
Best Ambiance
Greensboro
Best Value
Greensboro
Special Occasion
Greensboro
Most Booked
Greensboro
Best Restaurants in Greensboro ›

special occasion (208)
great for lunch (143)
good for groups (142)
See All
romantic (138)
fit for foodies (138)
great for brunch (99)
neighborhood gem (94)
great for outdoor dining (93)
notable wine list (77)
vibrant bar scene (37)
late-night find (35)
hot spot (31)
scenic view (28)
kid-friendly (15)
Sort By:
Newest
1994 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Executive Assistant

Dined 2 days ago

This was my first time and it was recommended by coworker for a farewell celebration. It did not disappoint. The food was delicious! I have gluten allergies and they were able to speak intelligently about it and provide an alternative for me. The waitress was gracious and kind and very knowledgeable. We really enjoyed our time there.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always great

Dined 4 days ago

This is our go-to restaurant in Greensboro, particularly for lunch. The restaurant is very pretty, the staff are great, and the food is always excellent. Lunch is a particularly good deal, very well-priced.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food for reasonable prices. Ni ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful food for reasonable prices. Nice, energetic atmosphere. Would definitely go back.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The NY strip was not good at all! It wa ...

Dined 5 days ago

The NY strip was not good at all! It was very tough and tasted like it had been baked instead of grilled. It was a total waste of money. I was very disappointed! The bread and dessert were delicious!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Don't miss it!

Dined 6 days ago

Our second time here and we loved it. Great atmosphere, good service, very good food, and even though entrees are a bit pricey, they include a side salad. Wine list includes some reasonably priced good wines. Nice place to celebrate graduation or any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent and consistent. Highly recomm ...

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent and consistent. Highly recommend

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a delightful lunch last Fri, May 20 ...

Dined 6 days ago

Had a delightful lunch last Fri, May 20th ! Cuisine, Service, and Ambiance were all excellent!! The three of us thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We always enjoy GVG. Good service, exce ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We always enjoy GVG. Good service, excellent food. Wish it was quieter, but GVG can't control the guests enthusiasm.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated a friends retirement here for ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Celebrated a friends retirement here for lunch. My favorite restaurant and it never disappoints.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always we loved our meal at Green Val ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

As always we loved our meal at Green Valley Grill. Love, love truffle fries! Our server was exceptional, too

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service3

The decor was great for casual dining. O ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The decor was great for casual dining. Our food, however, was quite disappointing - especially after reading such raves beforehand. The kids pizza was made with gourmet cheese . . . A no no for kids. The lamb I ordered was very dry and tough and quite honestly the worst I've ever tasted. I had told my server that my 2 kids would be sharing the kid's pizza. I did appreciate that their pizza was separated onto 2 dishes without my asking. Overall, out of a table of 5, each person was disappointed with their various orders.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice ambience, very kind waiter, big por ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice ambience, very kind waiter, big portions, great taste

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Yummiest Food in the Boro

Dined on May 8, 2016

Amazing fresh food with a great atmosphere. The wait staff is always friendly and so good! Their seasonal desserts always offer something for everyone.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4

THE BEST outdoor dining in Greensboro!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

THE BEST outdoor dining in Greensboro!

food5
ambience5
service5

One more amazing dinning experience at G ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

One more amazing dinning experience at Green Valley. This place is awesome and the service is sweet and first class. The menu is so good that it hard to pick what yo order. It is also hard to pass the small plates or appetizers. This time we ordered from the brunch menu - the chef recommendations. So tasty. We also had mimosas to celebrate Mothers Day and the experience was great and different from other places. I got a little bottle of prosecco and a small jar of juice. Nice.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Lunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

We enjoyed a special lunch. The service is excellent. Food is creative.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife there for Mother's Day brunch and it was fantastic. I'm a picky eater and the staff had no problem with me tweaking my order slightly from the dish on the menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

What a surprise!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Was never at the Green Valley Grill before and what a find! My daughter goes to High Point University and I wanted to take her someplace special. Green Valley Grill was THE place! Warm ambiance, great food, attentive service. Try the parmesan chicken...you won't be disappointed. Will definitely be going back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service

Dined on May 7, 2016

I took my mother here for Mother's Day. My wife and sister went with us. We were greeted with a smile and very courteous staff. We had heard many positive things about this restaurant. Needless to say, we were not let down. The food was excellent. The vegetables were fresh and the meats were prepared perfectly. This is an upscale restaurant with a family atmosphere. We had a couple appetizers and four entrées that came to about $100 . This is definitely a spot we will return to again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a special occasion. Ser ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great place for a special occasion. Service is always excellent.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Anniversary Night

Dined on May 6, 2016

My wife and I arrived a little early for our reservation, but were seated very quickly. Our waitress took extremely good care of us. She made it clear that they were glad we chose this restaurant to celebrate our anniversary. We ordered the salmon and the NY strip entrees. The bread was fantastic and I ordered a bowl of potato leek soup (my personal favorite item on the menu). The food was very good, service even better. We topped it off with a Nutty Irishman desert which was also incredible. A very memorable and special anniversary meal.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Go check it out!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Green Valley Grill was excellent! It was our first time dining here, and we loved it. The food was excellent, the service was great, and we would totally suggest it for anyone! I cant wait to go back to try brunch on the patio!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our daughter's colle ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

We were celebrating our daughter's college graduation, and this restaurant was perfect. Our server was warm, professional, and knowledgeable helping to make our evening memorable. All of the food--from the appetizers to the desserts--was delicious. We are only sad that we discovered this restaurant at the end of her college career, but there is already talk about making a special trip to the Green Valley Grill on our next trip to North Carolina.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful brunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

I had brunch with my daughter & my friend who was visiting from NY. We were all very impressed by how beautiful it was. Great service...very prompt ( no waiting for water glass to be refilled) and friendly. The Blue Crab & Spinach dip was AMAZING! Everyone loves their brunch!! We will be back for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on April 28, 2016

We had a marvelous time. The food was incredible. The service was impeccable.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant!

Dined on April 28, 2016

Dined at this restaurant with my wife and we both loved it. Delicious, reasonable food. Great wait staff. Comfortable and well appointed surroundings. Will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Would come back when I was next in town ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Would come back when I was next in town top notch dining experience. Great staff and lovely food.

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Average at best

Dined on April 22, 2016

This receivedexcellent reviews on several sites. We dine out frequently and quite honestly the meal was mediocre. The appetizer burrata and meatball were bland. The salmon was overcooked and my filet was plopped on top of the worst mashed potatoes I have ever tasted. There was so much demiglace that it was difficult to taste the filet. We do not mind paying for an excellent meal. This restaurant is super expensive with absolutely no wow factor in the food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great way to celebrate!

Dined on April 21, 2016

We were celebrating our 9700 day anniversary! Had a nice cosy booth. Service was there when we needed attention. Food was creative, tea st and plentifull. Took some home. They treated us to a special strawberry desert which we shared. They made the evening memorable.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a great evening overall and will ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

We had a great evening overall and will be back but the food it's self was not good. The trout was dull fried fish and broccoli had brown edges. The bone in veal was a bad idea. Tough and had little flavor. The wine, tomato salad and potato leek soup were amazing as was the Mediterranean plate! Don't get big entrees I guess?

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Need to improve the service

Dined on April 18, 2016

Green valley Grill, was one of my favorite restaurants every time I'm in Greensboro, I attend the furniture market twice a year, at least I used to go two ot three times during those trips for dinner , I had a terrible experience with the service the last time, they didn't change the silverware we used at the appetizer , we needed to ask for change it after the salad and when finally they brought the filet mignon we should help the waiter with the salad plates .....we needed to stop our talking to take out our salad plates for him.... All this accomplished with a super thin " filet mignon" , was a simple steak when in any other restaurant filet mignon means a nice thick center of filet .. Sorry but I was really disappointed

food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Disappointed

Dined on April 16, 2016

I have never had a bad dinner at GVG until my most recent visit. I must say I was somewhat disappointed. I should have sent back the tomato plate, it was a horrible mushy mess and expensive. The tuna small plate was deep fried which took away from the taste of the tuna. I don't remember this being in the description. Service was fabulous. Sorry guys. This experience was not up to par for me.......

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A salad isn't always just a salad

Dined on April 16, 2016

My choice for lunch was the Spanish Cobb Salad with grilled chicken, Serrano ham, hard boiled egg, heirloom tomato, Manchego crisps and avocado over romaine and spinach tossed in Gorgonzola dressing ($12.95). It was superb! The chicken was warm and fragrant with herbs, the Manchego crisps were golden and savory, the avocado was a generous serving of creamy goodness, and the greens were fresh, crisp, and perfect. As always, the Gorgonzola dressing was the best in town. A salad like this, accompanied by GVG's basket of warm, crispy bread and spreadable butter, is about as good as a lunch can get (the only thing better is their Greek Salad with Grilled Wild-Caught Shrimp, which isn't available until the June menu. I look forward to that one all year!).

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to eat at this restaur ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Always a pleasure to eat at this restaurant. Excellent service and wonderful food. Will continue to dine here again and again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding...we keep coming back..wonderful place

Dined on April 15, 2016

The waitress was wonderful, she was attentive, friendly, and very professional. The entire staff was friendly and went out of their way to make our birthday celebration fantastic. The food was absolutely amazing. It's our number one choice when the ladies get together!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Business Lunch

Dined on April 13, 2016

I have been here several times now for lunch with business associates. Tables are large and comfortable, and far enough apart to feel no one is intruding. Very high ceiling and its very easy to carry on what feels like a private conversation. The staff is attentive, knowledgeable, and very friendly. The food is always excellent, and diverse. If I didn't live in California, I would bring my wife here for our anniversary without question.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

Dined on April 5, 2016

Friendly, helpful staff. Good food. Nice quiet dinning experience

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

A very pleasant birthday dinner for my d ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

A very pleasant birthday dinner for my daughter. This is one of her favorite spots. Upscale casual with very good food and attentive service

food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Overpriced and under seasoned

Dined on April 1, 2016

We finally came after a recommendation from a friend and the food was terrible. The best part of the meal was the multigrain bread and the potato soup. I had the Parmesan crusted chicken and my husband had the filet. Both dishes were beautifully presented but tasteless. I will say that the restaurant was beautiful and the waitstaff/manager were excellent. They provided a free dessert when they learned that we did not enjoy our meal. Next time I will go to Ruth's Chris as I had planned in the first place!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5

Good place for a night out

Dined on March 31, 2016

Good place for a night out

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.