Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.25mi

About Green Valley Grill

Visit us and enjoy informally elegant dining and seasonal food using old-world European culinary sensibilities and flavors from areas such as the Tuscan area of Italy or the Provence region of France. Our wine list receives the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence each year and features 50 wines by the glass. Have your own private wine tasting with our Wine Flights. The freshest food prepared by a passionate team, and served by friendly and competent people, is a recipe for a great dining experience. When you add an eclectic décor and dining alfresco in our Courtyard, you will imagine that you have traveled farther than you did. We welcome you to dine with us seven days a week for lunch, dinner, or late night. Adjacent to the O.Henry Hotel.

624 Green Valley Road
Greensboro, NC 27408
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:15am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 4:00pm
Thanksgiving Day: Dinner menu plus traditional favorites 12 noon - 8pm; Bar open until 10pm

Cross Street:
Friendly Avenue & Benjamin Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 854-2015

Website:
http://www.greenvalleygrill.com/

Catering:
Our versatile banquet facilities at Green Valley Grill and O.Henry Hotel can accommodate just about any need, whether you have 5 or 200 guests. Our elegant surroundings, convenient location in central Greensboro, attentive staff, gracious amenities and accomplished catering team ensure that you will enjoy every moment of your event.

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking. Adjacent to the O.Henry Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Leigh Hesling

Private Party Facilities:
Our versatile, elegant banquet event spaces are located in the AAA Four Diamond O.Henry Hotel. Menus are specially designed for an unforgettable feast. We are conveniently located in central Greensboro, near UNCG, Moses Cone, downtown, Friendly Shopping Center and Greensboro airport.

Private Party Contact:
Kristin Sanecki: (336) 854-2000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, High Tea, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join Green Valley Grill Executive Chef Leigh Hesling for Cooking Class and Wine Pairing in a private event space at the O.Henry Hotel.

Visit our website for more events such as our special tea parties.

Green Valley Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (117)
Good for a Date (100)
Good for Anniversaries (87)
See All
Good for Birthdays (83)
Creative Cuisine (74)
Romantic (73)
Business Meals (73)
Great for Lunch (67)
Quiet Conversation (61)
Great for Brunch (59)
Worth the Drive (58)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Sunday Lunch (54)
Good for Groups (50)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
Casual (45)
Notable Wine List (44)
Local Ingredients (41)
Healthy (40)
Seasonal (36)
Cozy (34)
Authentic (33)
Afternoon Tea (32)
Comfort Food (30)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Bar Seating (27)
Fun (23)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Open Kitchen (18)
Wood Oven (17)
Historic (17)
Family Style (17)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Late-night Find (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Tapas (14)
Private Room (14)
People Watching (14)
Scenic View (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Organic (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Disabled Access (10)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Live Music (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great Beer (5)
Vegan (4)
Fireplace (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Waterfront (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
2587 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was wonderful from the tomato and crustini appetizer to the filet mignon.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and incredibly good service...always consistently excellent.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Always good service when eating there. The staff is friendly. Dinner menu is smaller, but delicious. More for special occasions or nicer events.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

This was the perfect place to celebrate my daughter's graduation. The staff was so responsive and the food was fabulous. We had a table for 9 people and we all really enjoyed our meals as well as our time spent celebrating!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Went with a friend from out of town. We were seated as soon as we got there. Very loud for 9:00pm. Had gluten free bun option for friend, which was great. Both ordered burgers, one medium and one medium well. Medium came out very undercooked and was sent back. A new burger was prepared, but not much better then first. Fries were mediocre at best. Medium well was ok, not great. Would recommend from other visits, but not this one.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Service is on point, food is reliably good, never feel rushed, overall a truly enjoyable experience every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Sandra out waitress was truly outstanding taking care of our needs before they came up. Food as always great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were entertaining a guest. We had a great time with great food, service, and ambiance. We have been there many times and consider the Green Valley Grill our favorite.

Tags: Historic, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Loved the French Toast! My family and I will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was our first time here. We had the beef short ribs which were excellent and a Cobb salad. We also had calamari which was cooked very well. The bread was fresh and tasty and the desserts that we had were also excellent. Our server Elaina M went above and beyond to provide excellent service. She was friendly and cheerful without being pushy or overbearing. I would like to thank her.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A beautiful restaurant with very good service. We usually love GVG and always have exceptional experience, but unfortunately, this was not our best visit. The restaurant was extremely busy due to local college graduations and Mother's Day Weekend, which impacted the service and quality. The lamb was overcooked and very tough, two dishes came out with the wrong sides and the vegetables were under cooked and practically cold and had to be sent back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Eaten here dozens of times. Food was very good but service was mediocre. Waited for a long time after we finished eating for the waiter, waited for water and butter. Very inattentive which is a rarity at Green Valley Grill.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The wait staff was amazing. Even though the restaurant was full of large groups celebrating graduations, the noise level was only moderate. The food was creative and very good. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 13, 2017

An evolving seasonal menu keeps me trying new things. The Spanish Cobb Salad was excellent and gluten free. The Pecan Crusted Trout was another favorite at the table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Good food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My family went here to celebrate my graduation and had an amazing experience. The service was great, the good left us talking about it the whole evening. It was the perfect place for a celebration.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We had a great experience. Lynn, our server, was fantastic and was on top of everything
She had a great personality, too. Food was delicious, as always.
We shared the Mediterranean appetizer, which we all loved. Special of the night was pork
chops, which were outstanding. I had a wonderful piece of salmon, perfectly cooked. My daughter had the roasted chicken and son-in-law had the salad, which he also raved about!
No complaints here :-)

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Lovely restaurant, food is amazing, great staff; very knowledgeable of the food and ingredients , always going above and beyond to make guest feel welcomed and comfortable.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Excellent service. Lovely ambiance. 9 meals of 12 were cooked just right. All were tasty, but scallops too salty & salmon overcooked. Green beans a little rubbery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Celebrating graduation with family! Excellent food, service and atmosphere!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Our meal was good and service was fine. We were celebrating my friend's birthday, which I had noted on my reservation and the staff wished her a happy birthday, but where was the birthday cake?! They have always ended special occasion meals with a piece of cake! This is one reason we always celebrate birthdays here. Disappointed if they've stopped this nice tradition!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Staff was very attentive. Extra attention for our occasion. Food was very good and selection was great for our large group. Very nice setting. Great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Always a good option. For lunch today I had the swordfish special, which was flavorful but woefully overcooked. Probably just a blip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Graduation

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We went as a family to celebrate our son's graduation. The food was excellent, all four different meals. The service was wonderful and we had a wonderful time. It was a bit on the pricey side but I would recommend for a special occasion. It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 4, 2017

My wife and I dined here for our wedding anniversary. Very pleasant dining experience, delicious food, great atmosphere. Great restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Another delightful pre-concert dining experience. Good food, good service, good value.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 3, 2017

A+ food. Salmon perfectly prepared and presentation very good. Wife had trout nearly as good. Good, but unpolished, service. A bit noisy due to some function in the hotel. Dining room pleasant, but by no means cozy or intimate at all Good wine list, reasonably priced.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on May 2, 2017

I dine at Green Valley Grill every opportunity I can! The food, atmosphere and service is always wonderful. I shall return very soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 2, 2017

I always love being at the Green Valley Grill -- it really is my most favorite restaurant in Greensboro. And now that the weather is warm enough, eating on the outside patio is really nice. If you're there in the spring or fall, don't sit by the fence, though -- every time the wind blew, we had a sprinkle of "stuff" from the trees fall into our food (and hair). Not a big deal, but ... just sayin! :-)

Tags: Tapas, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 1, 2017

I have eaten with my wife at Green Valley Grill many times. The restaurant remains very consistent with good food and good service. I enjoy the seasonal menu changes and my wife likes the wine flights. Our friends also enjoyed their meal and we had an unhurried but appropriately timed dinner. We will continue to return in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 30, 2017

It was our daughter's birthday and we were joined by her husband her son and we had a wonderful brunch food was excellent the service was great people are very friendly

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent food and service highly recommend. Good selections on menu

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 29, 2017

First time having brunch. The food was excellent as always and the server was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

A great romantic quiet place to relax and enjoy a wonderful atmosphere, especially the seating outside. A peaceful surrounding that you just don't want to leave. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 26, 2017

As always, the food was excellent. However, the service was not up to par. The waiter seemed rushed - never refilled water glass, had to ask for a glass of wine, and just walked by and placed a dessert menu on the table without saying a word. I might add that the service was atypical. It is usually excellent - like the food!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Wonderful place to eat...fun, great ambiance, reasonably priced and lively.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The atmosphere was awesome and the fact that there were no TVs and very little noise was a big plus!:) Service was excellent but the food was a little pricey for the quality of the food. Overall I would go back but only for a special occasion:)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Great place, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.