Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.25mi

About Green Valley Grill

Visit us and enjoy informally elegant dining and seasonal food using old-world European culinary sensibilities and flavors from areas such as the Tuscan area of Italy or the Provence region of France. Our wine list receives the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence each year and features 50 wines by the glass. Have your own private wine tasting with our Wine Flights. The freshest food prepared by a passionate team, and served by friendly and competent people, is a recipe for a great dining experience. When you add an eclectic décor and dining alfresco in our Courtyard, you will imagine that you have traveled farther than you did. We welcome you to dine with us seven days a week for lunch, dinner, or late night. Adjacent to the O.Henry Hotel.

624 Green Valley Road
Greensboro, NC 27408
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:15am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 4:00pm
Thanksgiving Day: Dinner menu plus traditional favorites 12 noon - 8pm; Bar open until 10pm

Cross Street:
Friendly Avenue & Benjamin Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 854-2015

Website:
http://www.greenvalleygrill.com/

Catering:
Our versatile banquet facilities at Green Valley Grill and O.Henry Hotel can accommodate just about any need, whether you have 5 or 200 guests. Our elegant surroundings, convenient location in central Greensboro, attentive staff, gracious amenities and accomplished catering team ensure that you will enjoy every moment of your event.

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking. Adjacent to the O.Henry Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Leigh Hesling

Private Party Facilities:
Our versatile, elegant banquet event spaces are located in the AAA Four Diamond O.Henry Hotel. Menus are specially designed for an unforgettable feast. We are conveniently located in central Greensboro, near UNCG, Moses Cone, downtown, Friendly Shopping Center and Greensboro airport.

Private Party Contact:
Kristin Sanecki: (336) 854-2000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, High Tea, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join Green Valley Grill Executive Chef Leigh Hesling for Cooking Class and Wine Pairing in a private event space at the O.Henry Hotel.

Visit our website for more events such as our special tea parties.

Green Valley Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (122)
Good for a Date (103)
Good for Anniversaries (93)
See All
Romantic (82)
Good for Birthdays (72)
Worth the Drive (66)
Business Meals (65)
Great for Lunch (63)
Creative Cuisine (60)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Good for Groups (56)
Quiet Conversation (54)
Sunday Lunch (50)
Great for Brunch (46)
Seasonal (44)
Cozy (42)
Notable Wine List (40)
Local Ingredients (40)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Casual (34)
Healthy (34)
Afternoon Tea (32)
Authentic (32)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Comfort Food (29)
Bar Seating (29)
Outstanding Value (25)
Good Vegetarian Options (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Wood Oven (23)
Fun (22)
Historic (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Open Kitchen (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Hot Spot (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Tapas (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Private Room (10)
Family Style (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Organic (9)
Disabled Access (9)
People Watching (8)
Scenic View (8)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Live Music (6)
Vegan (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Fireplace (4)
Great Beer (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2500 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

We met up with out of town friends for a late lunch and this restaurant was ideal. It had great food and a lovely ambiance. I look forward to having another occasion to come to Greensboro and have lunch at the Green Valley Grill.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Always good. Another wonderful dining experience with friends.
Good food, good service, good value.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

We had an excellent brunch. Our server was very knowledgeable and attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Organic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 6 days ago

Always wonderful! Our go to restaurant for every day dining and special occasions.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 6 days ago

We were celebrating a friends birthday. Food was fabulous! It is a great place to go for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a group of 17 people and the restaurant set us up perfectly. One table for 10 and one table for 7. We were given 2 waitresses, which made the ordering and service very timely. We all enjoyed our time. Everyone's meal was excellent and the service was perfect. Thanks for a lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined 7 days ago

The dining experience was pleasant but I was a little let down when compared to an earlier experience. Food was good and service better than average. Thanks for the birthday dessert

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Mom turned 101 on March 16th! This was a fitting occasion for my sister-in-law to fly in from So. CA to help us celebrate Mom's special birthday! Thanks to Open Table, our reservation was easily made and we were seated immediately. Green Valley Grill's ambiance is always superior and helps to compensate for the noise level. Our server, Krista, was very attentive and, we all agreed our dinner was quite enjoyable. All of us had different entrees and Mom's pork chop (I had to sample it) was outstanding! The salads were delicious and so was my glass of wine and a shared dessert! While we all had a pleasurable evening, I have one constructive piece of criticism; the flavorful scallops were small in size and, although few in number, accompanied mouth watering polenta and a side of vegetables. It would have been a better value had the scallops, at least, been larger in size, something what we normally are accustomed to when we dine out. Still, a delightful time was experienced by all of us!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent food & service! Our favorite restaurant when we visit family in Greensboro

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We received a gift card for Christmas and had been trying to come for dinner but it never worked out and we got tired of waiting so came for lunch and we loved everything, the decor, food, and great service. We will definately be back for dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Wonderful as always both the food and the service are something special.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Overall the meals were very good, especially those ordered by my date and my sister. However, my filet and my brother-in-law's prime rib were not as good as expected. As always the ambiance was very nice and the service and wine were spot on.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent food and service. Quaint, cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent food. Server tried to rush us all evening starting the Monday monentvwe slid into the booth. Noise level was WAY too loud...bordering on unacceptable where we could barely carry on a conversation.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Apps and entrees were delicious. Disappointed either the desserts. They were not bad, but they were not what we were expecting after the first few courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This was a special birthday for my wife. We invited our son and son-in-law to join us. We each had separate dishes and all were incredibly good. I had the lamb porterhouse which was perfectly cooked in the seasoning was fantastic. It was probably the best lamb I've ever had anywhere The wine list was excellent and the prices were surprisingly low . The ambience was very comfortable with old world charm . Will definitely go back in the near future .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We have eaten at GVG quite a few times over the years, mostly for special occasions. I love the ambiance and, until this last time, the food was excellent. On our recent visit my husband and I shared the trout entree. I found the fish dry and the crust overdone. It just did not have the wonderfully moist, flaky texture I would have expected, or much flavor. Too, the sauce (in a ramekin) was a butter-lemon mix that was a bit waxy (butter hardening) and not really a good addition. :-( We'll go back, but won't order the trout again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 6, 2017

A very nice occasion, everything to eat was extra fresh, great flavor, decor was impressive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Waitress was great. Friendly helpful and professional. Timed visits to our table perfectly. If I am remembering her name correctly (Sandy) would be recommended by us to others if they want great service. We were there on 3/5/17 at 5pm and sat in the back booth corner next to the kitchen.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Reservation at 8. Restaurant was out of half of the entrees including specials. Our waitress when asked what she recommends told us what she didn't like about several entrees. The best part of our meal were the truffle fries and a good bottle of wine. We should have stopped there as the entrees were unfortunately not very impressive.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My brother and sister in law were in town for a visit and we meet other family members at the restaurant for a nice evening meal. The ambiance was soothing and the décor beautiful. We were seated at a large corner booth that allowed us all to converse and eat our meal. We had a wonderful server who was both attentive and yet at times discreet. Everyone enjoyed the meals they had chosen. This was a wonderful shared experience and we were very pleased.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We went there for my wife birthday and it was wonderful. The food was good the service was great. She took time with us and help make the night special for my wife. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Green Valley Grill is one of our top places in the Triad. Reasons-It has a great décor with a Huge Fabulous Painting over the open Kitchen. Lots of dark woods and very modern lighting. Their menu changes ever so often and is very creative in flavors and presentation. Great drinks done right. Service done right. and food done -yes-Right! It works for a romantic evening and a business dinner. As you can tell-we like The Green Valley Grill.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent ambience and service. Very attentive without being overly obnoxious. Food was great with varied menu. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent menu, the Moroccan Meatballs and Calamari appetizers were very good, however, the filter mignon was closer to rare than medium rare, great for me but not for one of my guests. Overall I gave the meal 4 stars due to all the other aspects, especially the steak sauce, quality of the meat, and the superior service. GVG is one of my most favorite restaurants in Greensboro and recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

It was our wedding anniversary on March 3,2017.
Our waiter was well informed and very attentive.
He made great reccomendations.
We had the Blue Crab and spinach dip and it was great.
I had the filet and my wife had the Parmesan Crusted Chicken. Both were great. We will visit again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Green Valley Grill was delightful as usual and the food very nice. I recommend this place for nice lunches or dinner. The ambience is pleasant for conversations and I have been there on many occasions and always enjoyed it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We shared the fantastic Mediterranean tapas. My husband had the Gemelli Bolognese, which he would definitely order again. I had the Parmesan-Crusted Chicken, which was equally good. We were very happy that the wine list had a viognier, Zaca Mesa Viognier, which we will try to find at a wine store. The service was outstanding. All in all, a perfect evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Hard to beat in Greensboro

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our first time to go to Green Valley and was pleasantly surprised at the quality all around. Great service, great food variety and nice wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

from burger and fries to an amazing vegan dish, everyone was thrilled in my group with their meal

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Definitely subpar after picking this place for my birthday brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great service and staff. Excellent food. Unhurried.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Always perfect!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Green Valley Grill is always excellent, and our server, Krysta, was lovely as always. The food was delicious, and a great value for the amount. I always recommend Green Valley as a perfect place for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Took a friend for her birthday. Didn't have to remind anyone of my request via opentable. Great food and service.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Only complaint is that sometimes I call to late for a NYears' Eve reservation and you are booked solid, occurred 2X for me. Other 2X's I called earlier. One of the finest restaurant's in GSO.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Always great, and our server went above and beyond!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I recommend that they add the "Craigle" to their regular Brunch menu. It was spectacularly good. Great music playing in the garden to add to the dining experience. Attentive service and delicious food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 19, 2017

One of our favorite places to go over the past 10 years. First time coming for Sunday Brunch and will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.