Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.25mi

About Green Valley Grill

Visit us and enjoy informally elegant dining and seasonal food using old-world European culinary sensibilities and flavors from areas such as the Tuscan area of Italy or the Provence region of France. Our wine list receives the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence each year and features 50 wines by the glass. Have your own private wine tasting with our Wine Flights. The freshest food prepared by a passionate team, and served by friendly and competent people, is a recipe for a great dining experience. When you add an eclectic décor and dining alfresco in our Courtyard, you will imagine that you have traveled farther than you did. We welcome you to dine with us seven days a week for lunch, dinner, or late night. Adjacent to the O.Henry Hotel.

624 Green Valley Road
Greensboro, NC 27408
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:15am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 4:00pm
Thanksgiving Day: Dinner menu plus traditional favorites 12 noon - 8pm; Bar open until 10pm

Cross Street:
Friendly Avenue & Benjamin Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 854-2015

Website:
http://www.greenvalleygrill.com/

Catering:
Our versatile banquet facilities at Green Valley Grill and O.Henry Hotel can accommodate just about any need, whether you have 5 or 200 guests. Our elegant surroundings, convenient location in central Greensboro, attentive staff, gracious amenities and accomplished catering team ensure that you will enjoy every moment of your event.

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking. Adjacent to the O.Henry Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Leigh Hesling

Private Party Facilities:
Our versatile, elegant banquet event spaces are located in the AAA Four Diamond O.Henry Hotel. Menus are specially designed for an unforgettable feast. We are conveniently located in central Greensboro, near UNCG, Moses Cone, downtown, Friendly Shopping Center and Greensboro airport.

Private Party Contact:
Kristin Sanecki: (336) 854-2000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, High Tea, Indoor Smoking Area, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join Green Valley Grill Executive Chef Leigh Hesling for Cooking Class and Wine Pairing in a private event space at the O.Henry Hotel.

Visit our website for more events such as our special tea parties.

Green Valley Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (104)
Good for a Date (91)
Good for Birthdays (80)
See All
Creative Cuisine (66)
Good for Anniversaries (64)
Great for Lunch (62)
Business Meals (59)
Quiet Conversation (55)
Worth the Drive (54)
Romantic (54)
Neighborhood Gem (53)
Great for Brunch (49)
Great for Outdoor Dining (48)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Sunday Lunch (48)
Casual (43)
Good for Groups (41)
Local Ingredients (38)
Notable Wine List (38)
Seasonal (37)
Healthy (32)
Bar Seating (29)
Authentic (25)
Cozy (25)
Comfort Food (24)
Good Vegetarian Options (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Afternoon Tea (21)
Fun (18)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Family Style (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Scenic View (11)
People Watching (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Organic (11)
Disabled Access (10)
Wood Oven (9)
Tapas (9)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Private Room (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Historic (6)
Great Beer (5)
Live Music (4)
Vegan (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Fireplace (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
2651 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 3 days ago

The best at,what they do including chef's seasonal offerings

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

Green Valley Grill is a special place. We have a group of birthday friends. We became friends through work and we all have July birthdays. Now that we have retired, we still get together to celebrate our birthdays. We particularly enjoy GVP.

Tags: Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a Roger Waters concert to attend. Seated, served, catered to and out the door on our schedule. A BIG thanks!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

Solid choice.
Accommodated Vegetarian/ Vegan easily.
Service was absolutely superb and very professional, especially as it was a party of 8.
Will certainly return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 17, 2017

We had a great lunch. Everything was perfect, as usual. Great place to eat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Ambience wonderful with friendly attentive servers who know the menu. A great place for Sunday brunch..always something new on menu. My first time trying amberjack!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 15, 2017

They're food and service is always top notch! They brought they're A game once again. One of our favorite places to eat and would highly recommend eating there if you haven't before!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This is still my favorite restaurant in Greensboro. However this time the service was spotty. We had a young waitress who seemed a little overwhelmed, and had to be reminded of things several times. Since the service is usually excellent it was surprising. I'm convinced she brought me a regular coffee since I was up all night ! But, the food was delicious and this slip in service was an exception rather than the rule.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Amazing experience in terms of service and food. Wonderful selection and flavors. Very accommodating and helpful (we had a toddler). Great setting in the O'Henry Hotel which is worth a stay.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Had the parmesan crusted chicken. It never disappoints. Companions had the warm faro salmon salad.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Not my first visit, but very disappointing. Made reservations and was asked if this was a special occassion. It was my father's 85th bday. He recently moved here to live with me and GVG was his choice as he had heard about when he lived in Raleigh. We came, were seated at a table in the middle of the room near the kitchen so it was hard to hear (and my father is challenged in that dept anyway) had fair service, wine was forgotten and had to ask to hear the specials. Was disappointed that at no time did anyone acknowledge or ask if we were celebrating anything. Not sure why I was asked at the reservation. Normally a fan of GVG, but not this time. Didn't help that the next night I took a friend to another restaurant for her birthday and they not only had all staff acknowledge her birthday, as they waited on us, they had decorations on the table, gave her free dessert and took our picture. Now, granted, I didn't not expect any of this (and it was a little over the top) and I am sure it was part of the dinner expense, but it made her happy ad added to our meal. My father was having what we considered a milestone birthday and although i know it is hard to recognize everyone's special occassions, it would've been nice for him to hear it. I am sure I will try again, but may stick to lunch. Your salmon is one of my favs!
I am not a complainer and we were patient and did not say a word at dinner, except to ask again for our wine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Our wait staff was GREAT! Very nice and polite and seemed eager to serve us. Appreciate the recognition of a free dessert when telling her it was our wedding anniversary.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great place for celebtating special occasions at anytime of the day.Staff were all wonderful made us feel welcome.Atmosphere is great.The dinning area is Awesome huge open and well appointed area,but yet ,still felt really cosy and homely.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I was so impressed. I have been fortunate to have had dinner at many wonderful places throughout the world. This was one of my very finest experiences. From Pittsburgh but I might consider moving to Greensboro! 😃

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 4, 2017

I would first note that I/we eat here quite often and have generally had good experiences. Tonight our waitress was excellent and attentive however the food preparation was inexcusably poor. The ahi tuna appetizers- ordered rare - came out medium to medium-well. The main course halibut was overcooked and dry. This was replaced with a filet mingon ordered medium-rare: this arrived bloody rare-minus. They re-cooked the filet and got it to more of a medium, at least edible. The manager did comp the whole meal. The waitress was excellent and we left $30 tip for her. I suspect there may have been a change in their kitchen (new chefs?) but can't be certain. This is two weeks in a row that the experience was unacceptable. We will probably take a 4-6 week break from GVG and retry again in the fall. Thankfully there are plenty of fine restaurant alternatives in Greensboro. It would be a shame if GVG does not correct whatever it is that is going on there. The place really has a fantastic atmospheric and nice staff.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Simply awesome! Great food, wonderful atmosphere, and good service. Would definetly return!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was exceptionally good. We were there early, so my mother, who has difficulty hearing, had no trouble in a quiet atmosphere. All-around great dining experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Healthy, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Top notch as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Attentive, unobtrusive service in a lovely garden setting! The tomato starter was attractively presented w just a hint of soft goat cheese. My friend extolled the virtues of the super crispy fries and shortrib sliders. My mixed greens with rare tuna (aka tuna salad) was delightful. Our first dining experience at GVG is now a happy memory, and we plan to return with friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Great restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great food!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The food is consistently great, but every time I go here with a group the service is sub par

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great meal, great service, amazing tomato sampler plate. My son and I enjoyed the experience at Green Valley Grill so much, we went twice during our four-day stay in the area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The waitress was very poor--poor language skills, inattentive, spilled wine. Lamb severely undercooked. Employees moving tables and chairs throughout the meal. Generally we have had good experiences here but on this busy Friday apparently they were understaffed and added poor help.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great first time visit for our anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 20, 2017

I was very surprised at how reasonably priced the restaurant was. I always thought it was a high-end restaurant with prices out of my range. I was wrong. It is a high-end restaurant at a great value.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 19, 2017

My favorite go-to restaurant in Greensboro for all special occasions and also for just any reason for a super meal. The BEST!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We have been to GVG several times for many occasions. Have never been disappointed. Plus, we live in the neighborhood, so it is convenient. Love Parmesan crusted chicken, creme brûlée, flatbreads, lots of others. I know we'll be back over and over.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food was very good. However, my scallops had a very bitter aftertaste. Other people in our party who ordered the same dish had no problem. Even my husband picked up the bitter aftertaste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Enjoyable meal shared with family for Father's Day celebration/two birthdays...Tanner was our congenial server and our food was delicious and well-presented. Pleasant atmosphere and comfortable temperature made our Sunday Brunch visit memorable. Pleasantly surprised by the culinary selection, presentation, flavors, quality and value...we will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Organic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My family loves Green Valley Grill and chose it for Father's Day. While the food was delicious and our server quite sweet and attentive, the kitchen was very slow. We had a 1:30 p.m. reservation and was served our main course at 2:45. Unfortunately, there were enough empty tables around 2:15 p.m. that all of us were surprised our food took so long. Realizing this was a hectic day for the kitchen, we will prepare for a long wait the next time it's a special occasion. Otherwise, the afternoon was very enjoyable. The Green Valley Grill is one of the most beautiful restaurants (absolutely great atmosphere) in GSO with excellent food and usually not the long wait time we experienced!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My family enjoyed a wonderful Fathers Day lunch! The atmosphere and food were both outstanding. We will certainly return for future family events.

Tags: Organic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 18, 2017

It is a nice environment, but the food is over priced for brunch. Our waiter was also awful. We had mistakes with our order, no checking back, forgetting us when we did manage to ask for something, no refills on water or coffee, and complete cluelessness with the bill. It should be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 17, 2017

the waitress was somewhat rude when asked about specials. Non attentive rushed us to order like it was a chore for her to wait on us. Been coming there for many years worst waitress yet.

unhappy customer.
Gary Shelala
336-339-2050

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was delicious, great atmosphere! The staff was very knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This is our favorite place for a quiet romantic dinner. It's been our restaurant of choice since it opened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Very nice ambiance . . . wait staff was attentive in a good way . . .food was great as usual. . . just a nice overall experience. The only bad thing about it was that I left what they boxed up for me to take home on the table when we left . . . .hate when that happens!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I have eaten here for years whenever I'm in town and when they have prime rib as a special I have usually ordered it as it has been superb. However, it was a disappointment in my most recent visit. A little dry and grainy-tough. Regardless, the ambiance and service are exemplary. My father ordered a special (creole flavored fish) and it was delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We celebrated Father's Day early with our family, including 2 children. We started with the tapas which were very tasty, especially the chick pea salad. It was fun to eat some items that we had never tried. Two of the adults had the daily special which was rockfish and they said it was very good. I had the salmon which tasted fresh and was perfectly prepared. It came with polenta and vegetables which were also good. Two of the adults had the parmesan crusted chicken breast and they enjoyed that as well. The children seemed to like the burgers which were prepared to their specifications. They also enjoyed the creme brulee and the ice cream with hot espresso poured over it. Everyone thought the food and the service were both great!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We have held our client lunches at the Green Valley Inn Grill for the past 4 years. I never have to worry about how it is going to go. Service is always impeccable, the food always fresh and well prepared and presented and the atmosphere the perfect balance of peaceful ambience and privacy that allows us to have a casual business meeting without feeling the tables around us are listening in.
I will continue to visit frequently.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.