About Green Valley Grill

624 Green Valley Road
Greensboro, NC 27408
View Larger Map

Visit us and enjoy informally elegant dining and seasonal food using old-world European culinary sensibilities and flavors from areas such as the Tuscan area of Italy or the Provence region of France. Our wine list receives the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence each year and features 50 wines by the glass. Have your own private wine tasting with our Wine Flights. The freshest food prepared by a passionate team, and served by friendly and competent people, is a recipe for a great dining experience. When you add an eclectic décor and dining alfresco in our Courtyard, you will imagine that you have traveled farther than you did. We welcome you to dine with us seven days a week for lunch, dinner, or late night. Adjacent to the O.Henry Hotel.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:15am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 4:00pm
Thanksgiving Day: Dinner menu plus traditional favorites 12 noon - 8pm; Bar open until 10pm

Cross Street:
Friendly Avenue & Benjamin Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 854-2015

Website:
http://www.greenvalleygrill.com/

Catering:
Our versatile banquet facilities at Green Valley Grill and O.Henry Hotel can accommodate just about any need, whether you have 5 or 200 guests. Our elegant surroundings, convenient location in central Greensboro, attentive staff, gracious amenities and accomplished catering team ensure that you will enjoy every moment of your event.

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking. Adjacent to the O.Henry Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Leigh Hesling

Private Party Facilities:
Our versatile, elegant banquet event spaces are located in the AAA Four Diamond O.Henry Hotel. Menus are specially designed for an unforgettable feast. We are conveniently located in central Greensboro, near UNCG, Moses Cone, downtown, Friendly Shopping Center and Greensboro airport.

Private Party Contact:
Kristin Sanecki: 3368542000

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join Green Valley Grill Executive Chef Leigh Hesling for Cooking Class and Wine Pairing in a private event space at the O.Henry Hotel.

Visit our website for more events such as our special tea parties.

Restaurant Photos

Salmon
Baby Back Ribs
lasagnia
Scallops
Parmasean Crusted Chicken
Sea Bass Branzino
Burger
Fork And Knife Burger
Creme Brulee
Blue Crab & Spinach
High Tea Mad Hatter Brunch
Mad Hatter High Tea
Blushing Rose
Paella
Potato Leek Soup
Morrocan Meatballs
Chicago Style Hot Dog
Smoked Salmon with Cream Cheese, Capers, Tomatoes And A Bagel
Apple Crisp
Bread And Merlot
Kitchen
Lamb Souvlaki Gyro
Burrata Cheese Bruschetta
Shrimp And Blue Crab Ciabatta Melt
Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich
Short Ribs
Bacon Wrapped Pork Loin
Simple Salad
Pan Seared Paprika Dusted Scallops
Gvg Dessert Sampler
Truffle Fries With Grated Parmesan
Filet Mignon
Shrimp And Cr
Giacomos  Sausage Flatbread
Sun Dried Tomato And Roasted Chicken Salad
Short Rib Slider
Truffle Fries!
Fried Calimari

Green Valley Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Service
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Ambiance
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
10 More
Great for Lunch
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Outdoor Dining
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Most Booked
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Greensboro
Best Food
Greensboro
Best Service
Greensboro
Best Ambiance
Greensboro
Best Value
Greensboro
Special Occasion
Greensboro
Most Booked
Greensboro
Best Restaurants in Greensboro ›

special occasion (170)
good for groups (124)
fit for foodies (118)
See All
great for lunch (118)
romantic (106)
great for outdoor dining (88)
great for brunch (86)
neighborhood gem (78)
notable wine list (56)
late-night find (31)
vibrant bar scene (28)
hot spot (22)
scenic view (20)
kid-friendly (14)
Sort By:
Newest
2047 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The leak and potato soup is the best! H ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 6 days ago

The leak and potato soup is the best! Have to order it every time I go.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

everything quite good---staff was proper ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 6 days ago

everything quite good---staff was proper but insincere, we were just another "party', not a "guest" diner.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We celebrated a birthday and brought our ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated a birthday and brought our cake in. The wait staff was very accommodating bringing us extra plates and silverware. Food was delicious and served at the perfect temperature.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sister restaurant of Print Works. Very g ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Sister restaurant of Print Works. Very good service and food. Great atmosphere in a nice hotel. Would recommend for a nice occasion. Good drinks too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and I have been going to GVG ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My husband and I have been going to GVG for about 13 years now. We usually go for a special occasion. We went last Saturday night and had a wonderful dinner. Food was great and the service was enjoyable. When I made the reservation there is a note as to what occasion are you

celebrating and I typed Anniversary. (46 yrs) Upon time for dessert (we always share) we chose the usual Nutty Irishman. The cake was brought to us and there was the disappointment. GVG usually puts a candle in the cake and makes it festive. In the past we weren't charged for it since the server would say " this is from the grill, happy whatever" Obviously we will continue to frequent the GVG but it was just a little something that seems to have gone away. Not unlike many other things in this world. Please do not take my comments as criticizing it was really more like a disappointment. Thank you for your time. Annie & Steve Summer

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic tomato sampler! We shared it ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fantastic tomato sampler! We shared it and were delighted. Gluten free bread for my wife. The regular bread was excellent.

This place is not inexpensive, but for us it was a special occasion, and well worth the money. Couldn't do it often, though.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Green Valley Grill not only has a wide v ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Green Valley Grill not only has a wide variety of delicious menu choices to satisfy everyone in your party and great food whether it's lunch, brunch, dinner or late night dining, they offer a wide variety of great desserts too. I appeciate the fact that some menu items are standard but others change within a certain period of time so it never becomes boring even after years of my continued patronage. When you need a break and want someone else to take care of you, this is the place! Every staff member is so accommodating!

They truly appreciate their customers and treat each one as such. I have been dining at this restaurant literally for years and have always had a positive experience. My life is very hectic and this is one place I can go knowing I can relax because the food, staff, atmostphere and overall experience will be a great and memorable one. I don't have to miss out enjoying my own meal wondering if someone else is enjoying his or hers. The staff is warm and just the right amount of attentive without being intrusive whether dining for business or pleasure. I am truly amazed how consistently they deliver each and every time . I don't always provide reviews but I am happy to contribute here because I have all the confidence others do and will have the same experience.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit GVG frequently for office meeti ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We visit GVG frequently for office meetings or for birthday lunches. The food and service is always excellent and they let us pre-order the morning of our reservation so that the food is ready when we arrive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful lunch. We celebrated ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Another wonderful lunch. We celebrated my upcoming birthday and

the staff could not have been nicer. Surprised me with a very large

slice of cake that two of us could not finish at the restaurant. Green

Valley Grill in Greensboro is one my very favorite places to dine as

well as my friends. Always looking forward to dining there again!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant with excellent food cho ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great restaurant with excellent food choices, along with seasonal offerings. The staff is very accommodating and attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the Short rib sliders at Green Valley ar ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

the Short rib sliders at Green Valley are excellent. Service was just okay, really not where it should be, and not up to the standard set by Print Works Bistro, a sister restaurant. I look forward to trying Lucky's, another sister site the next time we are in Greensboro. If we lived in Greensboro, I could see visiting Green Valley Grill as a good everyday dining spot, but not so much for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

They were very patient and gracious with ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

They were very patient and gracious with our difficult group.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Greek salad with wild-caught shrimp ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The Greek salad with wild-caught shrimp and heirloom tomatoes is one of the fantastic seasonal items on the GVG menu, and I admit I wait all year for it to appear. It is so good, it's hard to describe it--try it once and decide if it isn't the best salad you've ever eaten!

BTW, I get mine with Gorgonzola dressing, which takes it completely over the top. Paired the with crusty bread and fresh butter, this salad is the closest thing to heaven you can get on a plate.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, service was nice. Would d ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food was good, service was nice. Would dine again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We enjoyed an anniversary dinner here. T ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We enjoyed an anniversary dinner here. The food was great and what made it so was the flavors. From the small plate Panzanella Salad to the main entrees (Rotisserie chicken / Wood-Fired Salmon), our mouths were entertained. I really enjoyed the ambiance of the place. It's an open, yet private space. Our server, Jeremy, was on top of things in a most-appropriate way. We're glad we went and wish we could afford to go more often!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a treat to dine at GVG. Tonight's ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always a treat to dine at GVG. Tonight's specials, crab cakes topped with tuna, were outstanding. Nicely spicy, definitely out of the ordinary, and certainly delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I made the reservation for my wife's bir ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I made the reservation for my wife's birthday, and called the day of the event to request a table in a quiet area so her special day. We were seated in the table nearest the wait staff station in the busy kitchen-to-seating pathway which is always the least desirable seating... even though the restaurant was less than 50% occupied and we requested a better location. The food - as usual - was very good, the server we had was outstanding in her attentiveness, and other than the horrible seating we were given, the meal was good. We will probably go to Green Valley Grill again because of the excellent meals and servers, but we have promised ourselves that we will walk out if given such poor seating again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

Throughly enjoyed our lunch... excellent ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Throughly enjoyed our lunch... excellent selection of food and service!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wow! Had been a while since visiting. Fo ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Wow!

Had been a while since visiting. Food, service was outstanding. Best desert anywhere at any price. Angel food cake with basil, Fruit and sorbet!!! yUm....

Will be back for Sunday brunch next week. Our server Brittany was the perfect server😀

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

TheGrill is located in acomplex which al ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

TheGrill is located in acomplex which also contains theO'HenryHotel. Both are"a cut above" good service--4 star. I feel well taken care of as well as well fed. I have eaten at the Grill twice with a reserration at the Grill next weekwhen I again travel to Greensboro.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was excellent, he brought me ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Our waiter was excellent, he brought me a cake and candle because he noticed it was my birthday when he checked my ID, we didn't even have to tell h!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must be my 40th visit. This is our favo ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Must be my 40th visit.

This is our favorite dining place in Greensboro. It always pleases. The menu changes every month, with seasonal specials, but I almost always have the pecan crusted trout, which has been on the menu forever. The service is outstanding, the food hot and delicious, and the atmosphere wonderful. We love Green Valley Grill!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and loved the outdoor ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was delicious and loved the outdoor dining. Service was also exceptional. Loved the truffle fries.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

WE had an outstanding dining experience ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

WE had an outstanding dining experience with very affordable prices. Extremely convenient venue as we spent the weekend at the O.Henry hotel. The entire service staff was courteous and professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They just continue to squander what shou ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

They just continue to squander what should be an excellent option in town with poor service and food that is not all that original and overly salted. The menu often intrigues, but it lacks the follow through of a place dedicated to making good, healthy, local options available. And the servers are better trained at fast food establishments. Attention to customers needs to be emphasized as opposed to hanging out at tables and chatting with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Great lunch! Super atmosphere for large ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great lunch! Super atmosphere for large groups and celebrations. Perfect for romantic dinner! Fantastic wait staff and food selection.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

food and service were great. location i ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

food and service were great. location is good and our reservation was honored and on time. however, we both ordered from the small plate section. regular dinners are huge and pretty expensive. it would be nice to have "real" meals but in smaller sizes.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love this place! The only thing that k ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I love this place! The only thing that keeps me from eating there more often is the pricing. It's become a special occasion type place for us. The food is always wonderful, service is impeccable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived to find our reservation had m ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We arrived to find our reservation had mistakenly been given to diners with a different spelling of our name. The restaurant staff was quite apologetic, and worked to get us seated quickly. Although it was Fathers' Day and the restaurant was quite busy, we did not wait more than 10 minutes. I was impressed! Our waitress was friendly, capable and attentive, not to mention familiar with the menu. She offered valuable suggestions and explanations. I was most grateful she suggested the Spanakorizo Eggplant - scrumptious! Our table also enjoyed the Parmesan Crusted Chicken (as always!), and the Wood-Fire Grilled Salmon. We ordered 2 desserts for the table, and they were not only divine, but more than ample for the 5 of us. I can't wait to return and try some of the other dishes!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant with great service, ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful restaurant with great service, awesome outdoor dining, and incredible food. Definitely one of our favorites.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First class operation. Great ambiance an ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

First class operation. Great ambiance and food. Decor and music are internally consistent. 20s theme.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Consistently good food and great service ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Consistently good food and great service. Even though it was a busy weekend (Father's Day) folks were seated fairly quickly. My reservation was honored and we were seated immediately.

A restaurant that you can count on for good food and a great wine selection.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for Fathers Day. The service was ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for Fathers Day. The service was great and the food for brunch was delicious

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not usually a complaint but the food cam ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Not usually a complaint but the food came out REALLY fast! And then it was not particularly hot (though it tasted very good). If you are looking to have a bit of time to talk and enjoy a beverage, tell the server.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Perfect from start to finish. Dining ro ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Perfect from start to finish. Dining room was beautiful. Service was spot on and food was delicious. Filet cooked perfectly. Really enjoyed the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit to Green Valley ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our first visit to Green Valley Grill and we enjoyed our experience. Our server was helpful and prompt. Our food and wine was perfect and we completely stuffed ourselves. We are already talking about our next trip there for a meal! Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filet was cooked to perfection! Veggies ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Filet was cooked to perfection! Veggies were just right, a little crispy, but not raw crispy. They brought a slice of cake out for my boyfriends bday. It was delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Very good meal. A little expensive, but ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very good meal. A little expensive, but worth it for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great was not pushy but wa ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was great was not pushy but was there for our needs wonderful visit with friends thank you Kay See you soon

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

my wife and i were celebrating our 55th ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

my wife and i were celebrating our 55th wedding anniversary. this is the place we come to for VERY special events. our daughter, Kelly and her husband, Ward were the first people to tell us about Green Valley and Ward's mom, Elizabeth McLean, stays with you frequently and also recommended you. you are a family affair with us!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.