About Green Forest Restaurant

Authentic Brazilian churrasco sliced at your table. We offer 18 different kinds of meat, a hot buffet with 5 Brazilian dishes include feijoada daily, a salad bar with sushi and sashimi made fresh by our sushi chef. All of our desserts are homemade. We recommend that you check out our wine list, enjoy a Caipirinha, brazilian drink, our homemade sangria and much more.

655 Rodi Road
Penn Hills, PA 15235
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 1:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 371-5560

Website:
http://www.greenforestdining.com/

Executive Chef:
Jairo M. Azevedo

Private Party Facilities:
Private room can be used on Tuesday , Wednesday , Thursday and Sunday all day only.

Private Party Contact:
Flavia: (412) 371-5560

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Green Forest Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Good for Groups (17)
Authentic (16)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Fun (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Casual (13)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Business Meals (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Romantic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Organic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
360 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Great variety of flavorful meats, good sushi and fantastic loaded mashed potatoes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Huge selection, both at the salad bar and in terms of meat options. Our server was great and attentive, and all of the servers coming around to tables with the meat were personable. Quality of the meat varied pretty widely, with some options being just absolutely delicious and some overcooked and underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was delicious, all of it. I'm a big meat eater so this place was amazing for me, but even the salad/cold bar and the hot bar had excellent food as well. And the service was impecable. I got there 30 minutes before closing, which I felt kinda bad about and don't usually like arriving so close to closing, but that was the only chance I had to go and really wanted to try them out. But not for a moment did I feel rushed or anything, and even when I was the last one there and 20 minutes after closing, the staff was still friendly while cleaning up and offered to get me more food. I definitely recommend this place, especially to meat eaters and buffet lovers. But really, everyone should love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

The owners were present and concerned that everyone was happy and served well.
Everyone there works very hard. It was a well oiled machine.
Plates are frequently replaced by servers and owners.
Beverages are refilled often.
The buffet is very clean and is frequently replenished.
The possibilities are endless.
The food was great (although quite salty).
Each offering was explained in great detail.
It was a very enjoyable evening.
All three of us have highly recommended this restaurant to our friends and colleagues.
We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great experience but, Bathrooms needed to be cleaned both times we visited.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Get ready to eat air of meat! Great service. Excellent variety in the hot and cold bars.

Tags: Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Delicious food, great staff, all around wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food particularly the appetizer and salad bar was poor. The food was not flavorful at all. As an example the oysters had no taste and were not at all salty. The meats were fair but not outstanding. The bread tasted like store bought white bread.

The high point was that the wait staff were very good both with their attention and timing.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We love going here. We used to come for just our special occasions but we loved it so much we come at least once a month. I love the sausage! The bacon is delicious, we enjoy the sushi and caprese as a mid meat break. The sangria is delicious too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Absolutely outstanding. I have been to this restraunt twice now. Once with my family and it was such an experience i had to take my fiance. Expect a hefty bill, especially if ordering drinks. But for a night of high end buffet. Well worth it

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We went to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. We had our rehearsal dinner there years ago. This time around our children joined us. The staff was very attentive to the children and to our needs. The food was awesome as always and there was such a variety of foods for the kids to chose from. We enjoyed a delicious bottle of wine and yummy desserts. Can't wait for the next time to celebrate!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 24, 2017

as always the service, food and everything was awesome !! we love there !!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 20, 2017

This is a great restaurant for those who love meat. Vegetarians should stay away! I will definitely be back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food and so many options. My family loves this restaurant !

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Very good restaurant will come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The buffet was well stocked, but we were there primarily for the meats. We are thinking about going again just for the buffet

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Decided to come here for boyfriend's birthday, this was our first time here. At first I booked a 7:30pm reservation but had decided I couldn't wait any longer and moved it up to 6:30pm. Glad I did because we ended up staying for quite some time. It was our first time at a place like this, and it was amazing! The meat was exceptional, the soups and cheese were awesome. Unfortunately I didnt touch most of the buffet bc the meat was so great. Definitely coming back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The place needed to be updated very run down inside. The food was excellent offering a very good variety. All the wait staff were very attentive overall it was a good experience.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I really was looking forward to the lobster potato salad, and they did not have it the day we went. It was pricey compared to other Brazilian Steakhouse's I have been to in Arizona, Texas and California.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Best food with affordable price. Definitely going again!
The service was outstanding. Got to meet the owners who were very nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Expensive, but worth it. Wonderful service. Amazing selection of food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 21, 2017

6th time eating at this incredible Restaurant. 5 Stars for Food Service and Price. Highly Recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food and excellent service. Our favorite place in Pittsburgh.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Expensive but good. Food was all good, although most of the meats were over-salted, which took away from the flavor of the meat. Overall, a good experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

EXCELLENT....VERY ENJOYABLE BIRTHDAY DINNER....THANK YOU

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Healthy, Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This place is magnificent. Food is the best, service is exceptional. This is my most favorite place to dine. Celebrated many anniversaries and other special occasions here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great experience as always, a little noisy this time around due to the number of parties with children in attendance, but the service and food were great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 26, 2017

This place is a great experience. The meat is delicious and perfectly cooked. The salad and seafood bar are equally delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I love this restaurant. I mean, what's not to love about meat, and more meat. The sangria is really delicious, and there are lots of amazing extras on the salad bar.
I do feel like it's best to go when it's busy to get the most options of meat. When it's slow, or close to closing, I have noticed that the same types of meats keep coming around and some things that I really like there aren't available (pork loin, ribs, chicken).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Love that atmosphere when they bring the food right to your table! The waiter and waitress were very helpful when a meat missed are table they made sure that we did not leave without getting the specific meat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The variety of meats was very good and all were cooked to perfection. My favorite was the lamb chops and my son's was the parmesean filet, he couldn't get enough of it. The service was very friendly and attentive and the meat servers were fun to talk to about the various cuts of meat and how they were prepared. The price may seem a bit steep, but believe me, the food is worth it and you won't leave hungry!! They have a good wine list too, and it's reasonable. You have to try it once, and you'll probably get hooked like me.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Non-chain, family-run charascaria. Selection of meats was frequently marred by way too much salt. The salad bar/buffet was probably the best aspect. Meh with a capital M.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Have been here before but decided to revisit for my birthday and happy that I did. The same great food that I came to expect and love.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Enjoy the food and the attentive service of the staff. Never complained about a bill when I had good food, but me and my father had ice tea, lol I had to take a double check, it was 7.50 for 2 ice teas. Almost a joke. They ice tea wasn't even good. So everyone please drink water, who knows what a Miller lite cost maybe ten dollars?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Green Forrest features a relaxed friendly atmosphere very similar to a Brazilian restaurant I visited in Rio de Janeiro. The buffet items were fresh and delicious. The meats were like a tasting menu for carnivores. The beef short ribs, prime rib, and Brazilian sausage were particularly good. The only disapointment was the lamb, which was well done, at least the piece I had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent experience. Our waitress was professional, attentive and polite. Churrassco meats were excellent. Salad bar and hot food bar were good but food was slightly cold. Atmosphere was nice, certainly not luxurious or deluxe. Was very quiet making it a pleasure to converse without distraction. Value of the meal was pretty good, $100 for the pair of us. I recommend this place for a nice evening of food and conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We love the food here, and the service is always good.
Rebecca took very good care of us. The drinks were on point as well.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Pretty expensive, some of the servers were a bit patronizing. Might go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Green Forest is really great! This was our first visit and we were waited on by the owner. She was excellent. So much better than the chain across town. We will go back... as soon as save up to do it again.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The food and service were great. Also, it was my husband's birthday and they treated him to a desert with candle and singing :) Overall, they did a lot to make us feel taken care of and we left VERY well fed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.