About Green Forest Restaurant

655 Rodi Road
Penn Hills, PA 15235
View Larger Map

Authentic Brazilian churrasco sliced at your table. We offer 18 different kinds of meat, a hot buffet with 5 Brazilian dishes include feijoada daily, a salad bar with sushi and sashimi made fresh by our sushi chef. All of our desserts are homemade. We recommend that you check out our wine list, enjoy a Caipirinha, brazilian drink, our homemade sangria and much more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 1:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 371-5560

Website:
http://www.greenforestdining.com/

Executive Chef:
Jairo M. Azevedo

Private Party Facilities:
Private room can be used on Tuesday , Wednesday , Thursday and Sunday all day only.

Private Party Contact:
Flavia: 4123715560x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Meat
  • Beef Ribs Sandwich
  • Cold Bar
Meat
Beef Ribs Sandwich
Cold Bar

Green Forest Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Best Service
Pittsburgh
1 More
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Penn Hills ›

special occasion (28)
fit for foodies (19)
good for groups (19)
See All
neighborhood gem (11)
romantic (8)
hot spot (7)
great for lunch (4)
notable wine list (3)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
265 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food and great service! I wil ...

Dined 7 days ago

Very good food and great service! I will go back really soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is phenomenal. The owners, se ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This place is phenomenal. The owners, servers, and meat slicers made sure we were well taken care of throughout the visit. The white sangria was well mixed, and the meat was perfectly cooked. There was a gray haired gentleman (I didn't catch his name) who made sure we left full! He asked us if we had any requests for particular dishes, and before we knew it, those dishes were at our table! The atmosphere is perfect. Sure this place is pricey, but you get SO MUCH for your dollar! I would recommend this place a thousand times!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great place for meat lovers an ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This is a great place for meat lovers and non-meat eaters alike! I took my guy for his birthday and it was the best meal he's ever had. The cuts of meat were delicious and they came to the table frequently. I got the cold and hot bars, which provided plenty of food for me to eat and get full on. Highly Recommended, this place is a hidden gem in Pittsburgh!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappoints! Expect to be full! Sa ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Never disappoints! Expect to be full! Save room! The restaurant is clean and staff is attentive and friendly. Be careful to not fill up on the cold bar as there is plenty of meats to try! Really nothing bad to say! A great place all around!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food and service was excellent We will ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Food and service was excellent We will definitely be back again!!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was awesome and they kept coming around and that was good, but the variety wasn't as large as the menu suggests. The food tasted really great and the buffet was good. I would recommend this to everyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We recently moved from Houston and were ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We recently moved from Houston and were looking for a Brazilian steakhouse to replace our favorite one from back home. The entire family agrees we have found it!! Tried a similar restaurant in Pittsburgh when we first moved here which food was good but the ambiance and atmosphere were not in line with our expectations. Green Forest was perfect. We will definitely be back. I did feel their dessert selection could be improved but otherwise it was FANTASTIC!!!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal at the Green Forest

Dined on May 17, 2016

We made a reservation for a business dinner at 6 our small group arrived a little early but there was no wait our table was ready and we were seated with out a wait. The waitress was fantastic very friendly outgoing always smiling she made sure everyone knew how the food serviced worked and made a few suggestions on what was very good that night. After making a trip to the salad bar our meat feast started we tried everything a few times and everyone thought the food was fantastic the servers explained each cut of meat. The bacon wrapped steak was awesome. Once we had our fill of meat our waitress suggested a few deserts which we took her advice and ordered well they were all very good the key lime parfait was WOW We had no problems at all and will return to the Green Forest without a doubt.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome staff

Dined on May 15, 2016

Awesome staff

food4
ambience2
service3

If you like meat, this is the place to g ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

If you like meat, this is the place to go. The meat was very good. The salads and side dishes were okay with moderate choices. The biggest disappointment was the atmosphere. Definitely not somewhere you'd take a date if you wanted an intimate evening. The restaurant could use a more modern makeover. Overall, we thought it was good for our first time there. We would go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went for a friend's birthday on Friday ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I went for a friend's birthday on Friday 5/13. Everything was absolutely amazing. The food, staff, owners, etc. Everyone was incredibly kind, the food was absolutely delicious. The caipirinha was amazing! It was an incredibly wonderful experience and we will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was great

Dined on May 8, 2016

Only downfall we could not hear the explaination of how the meal works and that you could make special requests. Once we figure it out everything was fantastic

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Very good service as well as food.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Very good service as well as food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an excellent dining experience. ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

It was an excellent dining experience. We have already made arrangements to return with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food with a wide variety!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was outstanding. The servers are very interactive and knowledgeable. Good for a special night out!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Awesome Awesome!!!!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Something we will never forget! Great service, great food, friendly and a great value! I am a big eater and they made me feel like I didn't eat enough. Every cut of meat and fish was a different experience. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

A Celebration of Meat, not Looks

Dined on April 16, 2016

I have been to a few Brazilian Steakhouses, and with its location in what essentially looks like a small office building the Green Forest certainly has the most humble setting of any of them. Nor is the interior decor at the level I would normally see for such a restaurant. It is not bad at all; the comment simply reflects the very high level of furnishing typical of such restaurants. And on the plus side, the price is a bit less than I would normally expect. But where the Green Forest shines is its food and its outstanding staff, and in those it gives up nothing to grander and more expensive steakhouses. I think its top sirloins were especially good; the lamb chops and ribeye were merely good. I had never had a skirt steak before; as suspected, it seemed to be more of a "value cut;" unusual but nothing most would bother with twice. The filet cuts were also quite good, and I was impressed with the swordfish the staff brought around. They also feature some rather good hot dishes in their salad bar, which not every Brazilian Steakhouse offers. I would go there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

People that worked there were great- very helpful.

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

The food was not good at all. You would expect typical buffet food, but this one gets a failing grade all around. The Meats were good and prepared as one would expect. Tried it- never will go back without some major changes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic

Dined on March 2, 2016

I love this place. Food and service are exceptional! Not my first time here, and won't be my last. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for something special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Steak lover's paradise

Dined on February 28, 2016

We had an ample choice of meat cuts. Anyone who likes steak will not go wrong here. I asked for some specific cuts and they were delivered as they became available. Beverages were good and unique for the type of restaurant here. The hot and cold stations provided excellent choices to complement the meal. The dessert was included and the choices were superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

Overpriced and unsatisfying.

Dined on February 26, 2016

Certain meats they said were going to be tender were tough. It was a mistake - all you can eat for $43 and add to that drink ($4) and dessert ($7). It would have been better to go to Morton's and enjoy a single fine steak or go to Outback for much much less and get a good steak.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible find

Dined on February 15, 2016

My fiance and I had dinner here on Valentine's Day. We made our reservation online for the last time slot they had - 8:45, not knowing they were closing at 9. Despite that, the staff were incredible and never once made us feel like we were staying too late, despite being the last people in the restaurant. The food was amazing, especially the Parmesan Filet and the Bacon-Wrapped Turkey. The buffet bar was delicious as well, from the salad to the lobster mashed potatoes. This was a gem of a find, and I can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A grand experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

As I said to my boyfriend over our dinner, I am a do-er, not a reviewer. So even taking the time to write this should tell you everything you need to know. This restaurant is an absolute gem for anyone who enjoys a good foodie adventure. You would never know the place was there driving by, tucked into an industrial park on a back road, but it was an amazing find. We arrived 20 minutes before our reservation on Valentine's day (arguably one of the busiest holidays for restaurants) and we were seated right away. It wasn't crazy busy as I assumed, but quiet and relaxing. Our server came over and explained the salad/seafood/hot dish bar in the front of the restaurant, as well as the varieties of meat that would be brought to the table for us to try. Originally I picked this restaurant because of the meats, it was a surprise for my boyfriend who's favorite meal is Caesar salad and a steak. We drank wine and tried everything in the bar from sushi to spiced eggplant, and each was a delicious surprise. We tried about 10 different meats (there were a few we just did not have room for) and each one was perfectly roasted and tender. they skewer the meat and cut pieces right off at your table, and all of the wait staff seemed to be enjoying themselves as much as we were, in addition to being attentive and friendly. At the end of the meal we had chocolate cake and a berry-cream tart for dessert. The tart was the better of the two in my opinion, but I'm not a great lover of chocolate. The meal was definitely pricey for us, around $70 a head depending on your drink and dessert choices, so not a weekly dinner spot for the average person. But it was well worth the extra expense for a special occasion, and we will definitely find a reason to justify coming back. It was a fantastic experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Brazilian Buffet!

Dined on February 14, 2016

This restaraunt was pretty good. The service was great and very friendly. The food was mostly meat, so it's great if you're a meat eater!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

Dined on February 14, 2016

The salad bar was well stocked and offered a superior selection. The meat offerings were delicious and well prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Churrascaria in the Burgh

Dined on February 14, 2016

I had not gone for a while to the Green Forest and decided to go again for my mother's birthday. They went well beyond expectations, with great service and food that was just magnificent. I have gone to the other churrascaria in Pittsburgh, and Green Forest has a more Brazilian feel. This was the second time I have gone and will likely repeat every month.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

HOLY BALLS THIS IS VALHALLA

Dined on February 13, 2016

ONLY FOOD FIT FOR GODS OF WAR THIS MIGHTY MEAL IS LIKE THOSE SERVED TO WAR HEROES, AND LONG FORGOTTEN WARRIORS OF OLD.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I had been to Green For ...

Dined on February 8, 2016

My boyfriend and I had been to Green Forest before and we loved it. This time, we went on Super Bowl Sunday and ended up being the only people in the restaurant! Our waiter was very attentive, they cooked our meats just how we like them (rare), and even made the cinnamon-crusted pineapple on request. All of the staff are very accommodating. Not to mention the quality of the food. The cold bar itself is worth what you pay I think. I usually don't eat much from it to save room for all the great meats, but in my experience they have fantastic seafood, cheese, and cured meats. The meats they bring out are all great, but my favorites are probably the skirt steak and the Parmesan-crusted steak (I don't remember what cut that one was). Anyway, it's my favorite restaurant hands down, would definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

great service with great food

Dined on February 6, 2016

My husband and I always enjoy the Green Forest. It's a restaurant that seems to just get better over time. The cold bar offers wonderful variety and is always tasty. The meats were cooked perfectly to our taste (red meats med-rare and poultry was moist and spiced perfectly on our last visit--loved the Sriracha chicken). And, as always, the service was fantastic. Employees are attentive, friendly and seem to enjoy where they work. We look forward to going back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Very disappointed

Dined on January 30, 2016

I was there celebrating my birthday with husband, brother and his friend. I was really excited because I have wanted to try this restaurant for a long time but we could not coordinate everyone's work schedules. If you don't like super rare meat this is not the place for you! We were told when we made reservations that this wouldn't be a problem they would accomodate us but when we asked the servers they said there was nothing they could do so there were a lot of things I was not able to try. The foods on the hot bar were cold. The meats brought around were not consistent. They come around with something you really like and then you don't see it again. Sorry but for the price there are too many negatives. We all left disappointed! When my husband made reservations he told them it was a birthday and that was never acknowledged. He was disappointed! This was not an inexpensive experience.

food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Not Worth the Hipe

Dined on January 29, 2016

I was excited to try Green Forest I love Meat of all kinds. BUT when we got there the was only two other tables in the place at 6:00 on a Friday night and they sat us in a separate dining room with no one else. They had so many staff members just standing around and staring at us. I felt under a microscope. The food was ok. But every piece of beef I received was well done except the Prime rib, and it was medium. I prefer beef Rare and that was not an option. And the place was freeze so if you food sat more and a few seconds it was cold. I will never go back and would tell friends not to waste your money.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Green Forest Deluxe

Dined on January 17, 2016

Green Forest is an excellent dining experience that is well worth the price. Staff are always polite and attentive. The food is amazing!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

Dined on January 16, 2016

My husband and I went during Restaurant Week. We had extremely attentive servers, and they were clearly very interested in making sure we had the best dinner experience. The manager was on the floor making sure people were being taken care of. We were never without food on our plates. And the food! The food was absolutely fantastic. Cooked perfectly. Delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome food and the staff was so friend ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

Awesome food and the staff was so friendly and helpful when offering selection choices! Really enjoyed everything and would highly recommend this place!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

All around good experience

Dined on January 16, 2016

This was our second visit to this restaurant and both visits were exactly the same, and that is a very good thing. The staff are all friendly and seem to be happy working together to provide an excellent meal. The food was delicious, and there was plenty of it. We will be visiting again, hopefully sooner than later, and bringing friends to enjoy the wonderful evening with.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Yummy Meat

Dined on January 12, 2016

Visited as a part of restaurant week! Loved the value of that, but also taking others to enjoy this experience for the first time! The staff are light hearted, attentive, and fun while allowing you to enjoy a wonderful meal. Clearly the meats are the highlight and are showcased FRONT AND CENTER. We had some fabulous flavors and cuts of meats. A go back to favorite...the pineapple...YUM. Thoroughly enjoyed and look forward to our next trip!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Green Forest does not disappoint!

Dined on January 10, 2016

Took my GF to eat at Green Forest on a Sunday afternoon, 3pm, Not a lot of customers on that snowy cold day...The food selection was excellent! Buffet Bar loaded with awesome appetizers and salads, along with hot dishes, cheeses, sushi...The smoked salmon (made in-house) was probably the best i've ever had! I know it was made in-house, because i asked! Meat! Meat! Meat! I like Rare...got it! GF likes well done...they fixed her up! I had a couple cold Sam Adams beers with my meal...perfect! I give two thumbs up! A+ Yummy! This was my first visit, and i will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a great experience

Dined on December 16, 2015

We went to Green Forest on a Wednesday night in December. This isn't exactly prime time for this kind of restaurant which seems to cater more towards groups, and with the holiday season its more likely big groups would come on weekends. Since we were a group of 6 with 3 adults and 3 kids, it was nice that it wasn't too busy. The food and service here are always fantastic - which is why we chose to come for this special occasion. We had not brought our kids here before (2 middle school age and one pre-school) but they really loved it - and the price for kids is great. The kids cant wait for our next visit.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommended

Dined on December 16, 2015

Absolutely amazing dining experience with a variety of deliciously prepared meats as well as a very unique cold bar of various salads and also sushi. We entertained our friends there for the first time and they were very impressed with this fabulous place. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Food & Service

Dined on December 11, 2015

We sincerely enjoy our dinner - Great service, Brazilian style meat service (cut at the table) and an excellent buffet which includes sushi and other premium items. I'd strongly recommend Green Forest as a wonderful restaurant for a special night out.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.