About Green Forest Restaurant

655 Rodi Road
Penn Hills, PA 15235
View Larger Map

Authentic Brazilian churrasco sliced at your table. We offer 18 different kinds of meat, a hot buffet with 5 Brazilian dishes include feijoada daily, a salad bar with sushi and sashimi made fresh by our sushi chef. All of our desserts are homemade. We recommend that you check out our wine list, enjoy a Caipirinha, brazilian drink, our homemade sangria and much more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 1:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 371-5560

Website:
http://www.greenforestdining.com/

Executive Chef:
Jairo M. Azevedo

Private Party Facilities:
Private room can be used on Tuesday , Wednesday , Thursday and Sunday all day only.

Private Party Contact:
Flavia: 4123715560x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Meat - Green Forest Restaurant, Penn Hills, PA
  • Beef Ribs Sandwich - Green Forest Restaurant, Penn Hills, PA
  • Cold Bar - Green Forest Restaurant, Penn Hills, PA
Meat - Green Forest Restaurant, Penn Hills, PA
Beef Ribs Sandwich - Green Forest Restaurant, Penn Hills, PA
Cold Bar - Green Forest Restaurant, Penn Hills, PA

Green Forest Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Food
Pittsburgh
Best Service
Pittsburgh
9 More
Best Value
Pittsburgh
Fit for Foodies
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Food
Pittsburgh
Best Service
Pittsburgh
Best Value
Pittsburgh
Fit for Foodies
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Penn Hills ›

Special Occasion (21)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
See All
Good for Groups (13)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Authentic (9)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Fun (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Romantic (5)
Casual (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Family Style (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Business Meals (1)
Healthy (1)
Cozy (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
289 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I always enjoy our experienc ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

My wife and I always enjoy our experience there... Service is to notch and the food is always great.

Tags: Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meat was excellent but side dishes were ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Meat was excellent but side dishes were lacking. I felt very rushed. Very pricey for the experience

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

The service was great. The meat was of d ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The service was great. The meat was of decent quality, but almost all of it was terribly over salted. (as were the mashed potatoes.) We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Wide variety of food options..fresh vege ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Wide variety of food options..fresh vegetables, fish, oysters etc. The meat preparation and options were excellent and the drinks were great!

Would go again for sure.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Service was great. Very friendly staff. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Service was great. Very friendly staff. I will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I enjoy this restaurant a great deal. I ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I enjoy this restaurant a great deal. It is fun and the staff are efficient and friendly. Come hungry!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The ambiance was quiet and calm, we arri ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The ambiance was quiet and calm, we arrived early close to their opening time so meat was not cooked yet. We had the place to ourselves on a week night until we were done. It isn't as aesthetically pleasing as Texas de Brezil but the hot food was better. Texas de Brezil has more options however for a comprable price. The service is what is best about this location, especially at a slow time. For people who have never gone, they bring a variety of meat to your table for endless options, and provide a salad and hot food bar. Drinks and dessert are not included but the desserts are also very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

great friendly staff. clean. wonderful f ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 8, 2016

great friendly staff. clean. wonderful food. they give you time to relax and encourage you to stay as long as possible to enjoy all the meats they offer. we will defiantly go back!!!!!!!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. The staff had g ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food was excellent. The staff had great personalities and friendly. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Although the restaurant was a little pri ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Although the restaurant was a little pricey, the food was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The foodwasjusta m azing, the service wa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The foodwasjusta m azing, the service was outstanding. Wewillgo back, ifwe have the money.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good and the service was ve ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was good and the service was very good, but the selection in all areas was limited. The salad bar and hot food bar did not have much variety. I did enjoy the sushi bar, but even that only had two types of sushi. Also, I would recommend going closer to dinner time because the best meats were coming around after we were already finished. Our reservation was for 4:30 on a Saturday but it was not necessary. There were open tables when we left at 5:30. For two adults, we spent over $100 before tip and no alcohol.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Location in a suburban office park and a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Location in a suburban office park and an interior that is bland and outdated detract considerably from a place marketed and priced as suitable for special occasions.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Green Forest is always fun. The salad b ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Green Forest is always fun. The salad bar is very extensive with a wide array of seafood, cured meats and cheeses along with a wide variety of vegetable and side dish options. The variety of meats that are table delivered on long fire skewers and hand cut table side are brilliantly cooked and perfectly seasoned. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. On our most recent visit we happened to be there when the seating had gone from rather crowded to a little lighter and the original onslaught on meats delivered was a little too rapid and a bit head spinning at the beginning (but we caught up and all was well) Dishes we did miss this time was the absence of pork belly (the roasted bacon was not quite the same) there was no flank steak nor pork offerings as there had been in the past. Otherwise the lamb, tenderloin, skirt steak, rib eye, beef ribs, prime rib, sausage, siracha chicken wings were all wonderful. Sirloin has never been one of my preferred cuts yet Green Forest has a marvelous hand at making it quite tasty.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My guest and I thoroughly enjoyed our ex ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 25, 2016

My guest and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience at Green Forest. We were celebrating her birthday, so she was presented with a candle in the dessert (cheesecake) that she ordered.

The staff was very attentive and my friend was particularly impressed with the drink that she ordered, which is a traditional Brazilian drink (I can't remember the name), because she had these when she was in Rio and said that the drink was authentically mixed and tasted exactly like what she remembered.

The extensive "salad bar" was imaginative and unique in its offerings, but one has to select judiciously because of the many good dishes available.

As for the entree offerings, the meats were all delicious. My personal favorite was the pork loin with parmesan. I sampled only 4 types of meat. At the Green Forest, you really need to pace yourself because there is so much food that you can be full before you know it, so it's important to select wisely.

This was a great dining experience for a special occasion, but at $45/person + drinks and dessert, it's not a place I would frequent for dinner, but one I would highly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Green Forest has the BEST food and top n ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Green Forest has the BEST food and top notch service. I would eat there every week if I lived closer. Constant food selection and delicious eats!

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My 3rd time at Green Forest. Will return ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 14, 2016

My 3rd time at Green Forest. Will return at least once a month. Great Food. Great staff. Great Restaurant. 5 Stars.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was wonderful, it exceeded ex ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 5, 2016

This place was wonderful, it exceeded expectations. I've been to other Brazilian Steakhouses around the country and Green Forest tops all of them. Great salad bar, great meats, and great service. It's my new favorite place for special occasions. The location is great in terms of distance to the parkway, free parking, and ease to get in and out of, but you can't see it from the road so you need to enter the plaza and proceed to the back left to find it on the ground floor of the far office building.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time here and it was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was our first time here and it was fantastic. The skirt steak was my favorite, but all cuts were delicious. Service was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I've been twice now, and both times at l ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 2, 2016

I've been twice now, and both times at least one employee has gone out of his/her way to converse with me and my table and make sure we were enjoying the experience. Though, if they hadn't, the restaurant's food (both the churrasco and the buffet) stand for themselves: hands-down, they provide the best dishes I've ever eaten -- definitely try the skirt steak. Green Forest might not be an everyday-type restaurant, but if you've got the chance to go, definitely take it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time we are in Pittsburgh , we mak ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Every time we are in Pittsburgh , we make a point to eat here. Everything is always fresh and delicious . We love that the owners are always there . The service is excellent as well as the food .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there as a family for my teenage ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were there as a family for my teenage son's birthday. He wanted to do something different. We had quite a lot of fun trying the different selections of meat that were brought to the table. The staff was extremely attentive when you wanted them to be. The food was tastey and well seasoned. It is definitely too expensive for everyday meals, but perfect for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

2nd time to Green Forest. What can I sa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 25, 2016

2nd time to Green Forest. What can I say? It's a ton of delicious grilled meats. Worth every penny. If you're a lover of sushi and raw fish the cold bar is amazing as well. Lobster mashed potatoes are always great. Love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food and great service! I wil ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very good food and great service! I will go back really soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is phenomenal. The owners, se ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 17, 2016

This place is phenomenal. The owners, servers, and meat slicers made sure we were well taken care of throughout the visit. The white sangria was well mixed, and the meat was perfectly cooked. There was a gray haired gentleman (I didn't catch his name) who made sure we left full! He asked us if we had any requests for particular dishes, and before we knew it, those dishes were at our table! The atmosphere is perfect. Sure this place is pricey, but you get SO MUCH for your dollar! I would recommend this place a thousand times!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great place for meat lovers an ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 17, 2016

This is a great place for meat lovers and non-meat eaters alike! I took my guy for his birthday and it was the best meal he's ever had. The cuts of meat were delicious and they came to the table frequently. I got the cold and hot bars, which provided plenty of food for me to eat and get full on. Highly Recommended, this place is a hidden gem in Pittsburgh!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints! Expect to be full! Sa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Never disappoints! Expect to be full! Save room! The restaurant is clean and staff is attentive and friendly. Be careful to not fill up on the cold bar as there is plenty of meats to try! Really nothing bad to say! A great place all around!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was excellent We will ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food and service was excellent

We will definitely be back again!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was awesome and they kept coming around and that was good, but the variety wasn't as large as the menu suggests. The food tasted really great and the buffet was good. I would recommend this to everyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We recently moved from Houston and were ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 21, 2016

We recently moved from Houston and were looking for a Brazilian steakhouse to replace our favorite one from back home. The entire family agrees we have found it!! Tried a similar restaurant in Pittsburgh when we first moved here which food was good but the ambiance and atmosphere were not in line with our expectations. Green Forest was perfect. We will definitely be back. I did feel their dessert selection could be improved but otherwise it was FANTASTIC!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal at the Green Forest

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 17, 2016

We made a reservation for a business dinner at 6 our small group arrived a little early but there was no wait our table was ready and we were seated with out a wait. The waitress was fantastic very friendly outgoing always smiling she made sure everyone knew how the food serviced worked and made a few suggestions on what was very good that night. After making a trip to the salad bar our meat feast started we tried everything a few times and everyone thought the food was fantastic the servers explained each cut of meat. The bacon wrapped steak was awesome.

Once we had our fill of meat our waitress suggested a few deserts which we took her advice and ordered well they were all very good the key lime parfait was WOW

We had no problems at all and will return to the Green Forest without a doubt.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome staff

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Awesome staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you like meat, this is the place to g ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2016

If you like meat, this is the place to go. The meat was very good. The salads and side dishes were okay with moderate choices. The biggest disappointment was the atmosphere. Definitely not somewhere you'd take a date if you wanted an intimate evening. The restaurant could use a more modern makeover. Overall, we thought it was good for our first time there. We would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

I went for a friend's birthday on Friday ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 13, 2016

I went for a friend's birthday on Friday 5/13. Everything was absolutely amazing. The food, staff, owners, etc. Everyone was incredibly kind, the food was absolutely delicious. The caipirinha was amazing! It was an incredibly wonderful experience and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Only downfall we could not hear the explaination of how the meal works and that you could make special requests. Once we figure it out everything was fantastic

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good service as well as food.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Very good service as well as food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was an excellent dining experience. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 4, 2016

It was an excellent dining experience. We have already made arrangements to return with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food with a wide variety!

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was outstanding. The servers are very interactive and knowledgeable. Good for a special night out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome Awesome Awesome!!!!

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Something we will never forget! Great service, great food, friendly and a great value! I am a big eater and they made me feel like I didn't eat enough. Every cut of meat and fish was a different experience. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Celebration of Meat, not Looks

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 16, 2016

I have been to a few Brazilian Steakhouses, and with its location in what essentially looks like a small office building the Green Forest certainly has the most humble setting of any of them. Nor is the interior decor at the level I would normally see for such a restaurant. It is not bad at all; the comment simply reflects the very high level of furnishing typical of such restaurants. And on the plus side, the price is a bit less than I would normally expect.

But where the Green Forest shines is its food and its outstanding staff, and in those it gives up nothing to grander and more expensive steakhouses. I think its top sirloins were especially good; the lamb chops and ribeye were merely good. I had never had a skirt steak before; as suspected, it seemed to be more of a "value cut;" unusual but nothing most would bother with twice. The filet cuts were also quite good, and I was impressed with the swordfish the staff brought around. They also feature some rather good hot dishes in their salad bar, which not every Brazilian Steakhouse offers. I would go there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.