About Green Forest Restaurant

Authentic Brazilian churrasco sliced at your table. We offer 18 different kinds of meat, a hot buffet with 5 Brazilian dishes include feijoada daily, a salad bar with sushi and sashimi made fresh by our sushi chef. All of our desserts are homemade. We recommend that you check out our wine list, enjoy a Caipirinha, brazilian drink, our homemade sangria and much more.

655 Rodi Road
Penn Hills, PA 15235
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 1:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 371-5560

Website:
http://www.greenforestdining.com/

Executive Chef:
Jairo M. Azevedo

Private Party Facilities:
Private room can be used on Tuesday , Wednesday , Thursday and Sunday all day only.

Private Party Contact:
Flavia: (412) 371-5560

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Green Forest Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Good for Groups (26)
Good for a Date (20)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Authentic (13)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Casual (9)
Fun (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Family Style (7)
Business Meals (6)
Romantic (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Cozy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
330 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Love that atmosphere when they bring the food right to your table! The waiter and waitress were very helpful when a meat missed are table they made sure that we did not leave without getting the specific meat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The variety of meats was very good and all were cooked to perfection. My favorite was the lamb chops and my son's was the parmesean filet, he couldn't get enough of it. The service was very friendly and attentive and the meat servers were fun to talk to about the various cuts of meat and how they were prepared. The price may seem a bit steep, but believe me, the food is worth it and you won't leave hungry!! They have a good wine list too, and it's reasonable. You have to try it once, and you'll probably get hooked like me.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Non-chain, family-run charascaria. Selection of meats was frequently marred by way too much salt. The salad bar/buffet was probably the best aspect. Meh with a capital M.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Have been here before but decided to revisit for my birthday and happy that I did. The same great food that I came to expect and love.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Enjoy the food and the attentive service of the staff. Never complained about a bill when I had good food, but me and my father had ice tea, lol I had to take a double check, it was 7.50 for 2 ice teas. Almost a joke. They ice tea wasn't even good. So everyone please drink water, who knows what a Miller lite cost maybe ten dollars?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Green Forrest features a relaxed friendly atmosphere very similar to a Brazilian restaurant I visited in Rio de Janeiro. The buffet items were fresh and delicious. The meats were like a tasting menu for carnivores. The beef short ribs, prime rib, and Brazilian sausage were particularly good. The only disapointment was the lamb, which was well done, at least the piece I had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent experience. Our waitress was professional, attentive and polite. Churrassco meats were excellent. Salad bar and hot food bar were good but food was slightly cold. Atmosphere was nice, certainly not luxurious or deluxe. Was very quiet making it a pleasure to converse without distraction. Value of the meal was pretty good, $100 for the pair of us. I recommend this place for a nice evening of food and conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We love the food here, and the service is always good.
Rebecca took very good care of us. The drinks were on point as well.

Tags: Fun
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Pretty expensive, some of the servers were a bit patronizing. Might go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Green Forest is really great! This was our first visit and we were waited on by the owner. She was excellent. So much better than the chain across town. We will go back... as soon as save up to do it again.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The food and service were great. Also, it was my husband's birthday and they treated him to a desert with candle and singing :) Overall, they did a lot to make us feel taken care of and we left VERY well fed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Very good. Everything was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great service,great food and friendly waitress and waiters
Recommend it!!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

awesome meats, tremendous variety, salad, seafood, cheese, bread, soups fresh and delicious. almost too much food. Service was excellent. Come hungry and you have to enjoy meats.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great meat but the woman who co-owns the placed stomped around the dining area with a perpetual snarl, making the staff seem worried and the guests at our table uneasy. Smiles everyone, smiles!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent place to dine. Food is great, the workers are very kind, pleasant and helpful. I highly recommend this place!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent food, great ambiance, and worth the high price tag. Top of the line meats with exotic shell fish and salad choices.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful! We went for valentines dinner; made reservations and was seated right away. Very attentive nice staff and delicious food. Pricey but worth it for s special occasion

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The hot side selection was limited but it was a Wednesday. Not sure if the weekend is different. The meats were amazing! Kinda pricey but delicious. The lamb is to die for.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Visiting son and nephew at college

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent food selection. Staff was courteous. All questions were answered.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Second trip, brought friends along to share the experience! Outstanding - great staff. We have gone both times during restaurant week and haven't felt like we were treated any differently by taking advantage of the savings. Will return again.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

They didn't offer pineapple and we found hair in the mashed potatoes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Sooooo good! My husband was in his glory with all the meat selections

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

A little cold.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Amazing as always, service only 4/5 this visit if only because it was few and far between that we saw our waitress for drink refills, and it took a little long to get the check... But seeing as it was a full house, that was probably the cause.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Service was excellent. Our waitress was outstanding. However this was my 2nd time going to Green Forest for Pittsburgh Restaurant week. Not going back when it is. It seems they don't have a lot of different selections coming around when it is Pittsburgh Restaurant Week. The 1st time I went there I couldn't keep up with the food and the selections were so many. This time we waited and waited for food to come around and sometimes had to ask our waitress to tell the staff what we wanted to come around. With that being said the food is always outstanding. I just suggest not going there doing restaurant week. My only other issue wear a very warm sweater or jacket. Every time I have gone it is freezing. Even every person in my party thought it was cold and we kept commenting to each other how cold we were.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The meat was excellent. My favorite was the steak with the chimichurri sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Food kept coming out rare and to get food medium to medium well done was a real chore

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I went to green forest in the restaurant week, and the 35 dollar deal for buffet worths every penny i spent. The food and service is very good. Cold bar is very good too. I love their smoked salmon and shrimp. If you are a meat lover, you're gonna love this place!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Wonderful. Everything fresh. They keep refilling the salad bar so food was not setting out for hours. The meats are excellent

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Be sure to come hungry! We have enjoyed every visit we have ever made to the Green Forest Café, but on New Year's Eve, everything we tasted was exceptionally delicious. We took my in-laws as part of their Christmas present, and it was their first visit. My father-in-law at one point exclaimed that he was in heaven! The food is exquisite, from the cold seafood and salad offerings on the salad and antipasto bars, to the lobster mashed potatoes on the hot food bar, and of course, there are the meats! The staff is always courteous and extraordinarily gracious for our patronage. I can think of nothing negative to say about them!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food! Friendly service! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Authentic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My wife is Brazilian and it was the first time she felt like she was home since she left Brazil. The food is delicious and authentic. The staff is friendly and engaging.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

My wife and I always enjoy our experience there... Service is to notch and the food is always great.

Tags: Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Meat was excellent but side dishes were lacking. I felt very rushed. Very pricey for the experience

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The service was great. The meat was of decent quality, but almost all of it was terribly over salted. (as were the mashed potatoes.) We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Wide variety of food options..fresh vegetables, fish, oysters etc. The meat preparation and options were excellent and the drinks were great!
Would go again for sure.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Service was great. Very friendly staff. I will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I enjoy this restaurant a great deal. It is fun and the staff are efficient and friendly. Come hungry!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.