About Green Forest Restaurant

Authentic Brazilian churrasco sliced at your table. We offer 18 different kinds of meat, a hot buffet with 5 Brazilian dishes include feijoada daily, a salad bar with sushi and sashimi made fresh by our sushi chef. All of our desserts are homemade. We recommend that you check out our wine list, enjoy a Caipirinha, brazilian drink, our homemade sangria and much more.

655 Rodi Road
Penn Hills, PA 15235
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 1:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 371-5560

Website:
http://www.greenforestdining.com/

Executive Chef:
Jairo M. Azevedo

Private Party Facilities:
Private room can be used on Tuesday , Wednesday , Thursday and Sunday all day only.

Private Party Contact:
Flavia: (412) 371-5560

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Green Forest Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Good for Groups (18)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Authentic (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Casual (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Fun (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Business Meals (7)
Notable Wine List (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Romantic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Family Style (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Cozy (1)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
347 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

This is a great restaurant for those who love meat. Vegetarians should stay away! I will definitely be back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and so many options. My family loves this restaurant !

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good restaurant will come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The buffet was well stocked, but we were there primarily for the meats. We are thinking about going again just for the buffet

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Decided to come here for boyfriend's birthday, this was our first time here. At first I booked a 7:30pm reservation but had decided I couldn't wait any longer and moved it up to 6:30pm. Glad I did because we ended up staying for quite some time. It was our first time at a place like this, and it was amazing! The meat was exceptional, the soups and cheese were awesome. Unfortunately I didnt touch most of the buffet bc the meat was so great. Definitely coming back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The place needed to be updated very run down inside. The food was excellent offering a very good variety. All the wait staff were very attentive overall it was a good experience.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Best food with affordable price. Definitely going again!
The service was outstanding. Got to meet the owners who were very nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Expensive, but worth it. Wonderful service. Amazing selection of food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 21, 2017

6th time eating at this incredible Restaurant. 5 Stars for Food Service and Price. Highly Recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food and excellent service. Our favorite place in Pittsburgh.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Expensive but good. Food was all good, although most of the meats were over-salted, which took away from the flavor of the meat. Overall, a good experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

EXCELLENT....VERY ENJOYABLE BIRTHDAY DINNER....THANK YOU

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Healthy, Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This place is magnificent. Food is the best, service is exceptional. This is my most favorite place to dine. Celebrated many anniversaries and other special occasions here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great experience as always, a little noisy this time around due to the number of parties with children in attendance, but the service and food were great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 26, 2017

This place is a great experience. The meat is delicious and perfectly cooked. The salad and seafood bar are equally delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I love this restaurant. I mean, what's not to love about meat, and more meat. The sangria is really delicious, and there are lots of amazing extras on the salad bar.
I do feel like it's best to go when it's busy to get the most options of meat. When it's slow, or close to closing, I have noticed that the same types of meats keep coming around and some things that I really like there aren't available (pork loin, ribs, chicken).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Love that atmosphere when they bring the food right to your table! The waiter and waitress were very helpful when a meat missed are table they made sure that we did not leave without getting the specific meat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The variety of meats was very good and all were cooked to perfection. My favorite was the lamb chops and my son's was the parmesean filet, he couldn't get enough of it. The service was very friendly and attentive and the meat servers were fun to talk to about the various cuts of meat and how they were prepared. The price may seem a bit steep, but believe me, the food is worth it and you won't leave hungry!! They have a good wine list too, and it's reasonable. You have to try it once, and you'll probably get hooked like me.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Non-chain, family-run charascaria. Selection of meats was frequently marred by way too much salt. The salad bar/buffet was probably the best aspect. Meh with a capital M.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Have been here before but decided to revisit for my birthday and happy that I did. The same great food that I came to expect and love.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Enjoy the food and the attentive service of the staff. Never complained about a bill when I had good food, but me and my father had ice tea, lol I had to take a double check, it was 7.50 for 2 ice teas. Almost a joke. They ice tea wasn't even good. So everyone please drink water, who knows what a Miller lite cost maybe ten dollars?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Green Forrest features a relaxed friendly atmosphere very similar to a Brazilian restaurant I visited in Rio de Janeiro. The buffet items were fresh and delicious. The meats were like a tasting menu for carnivores. The beef short ribs, prime rib, and Brazilian sausage were particularly good. The only disapointment was the lamb, which was well done, at least the piece I had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent experience. Our waitress was professional, attentive and polite. Churrassco meats were excellent. Salad bar and hot food bar were good but food was slightly cold. Atmosphere was nice, certainly not luxurious or deluxe. Was very quiet making it a pleasure to converse without distraction. Value of the meal was pretty good, $100 for the pair of us. I recommend this place for a nice evening of food and conversation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We love the food here, and the service is always good.
Rebecca took very good care of us. The drinks were on point as well.

Tags: Fun
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Pretty expensive, some of the servers were a bit patronizing. Might go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Green Forest is really great! This was our first visit and we were waited on by the owner. She was excellent. So much better than the chain across town. We will go back... as soon as save up to do it again.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The food and service were great. Also, it was my husband's birthday and they treated him to a desert with candle and singing :) Overall, they did a lot to make us feel taken care of and we left VERY well fed!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Very good. Everything was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great service,great food and friendly waitress and waiters
Recommend it!!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

awesome meats, tremendous variety, salad, seafood, cheese, bread, soups fresh and delicious. almost too much food. Service was excellent. Come hungry and you have to enjoy meats.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great meat but the woman who co-owns the placed stomped around the dining area with a perpetual snarl, making the staff seem worried and the guests at our table uneasy. Smiles everyone, smiles!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent place to dine. Food is great, the workers are very kind, pleasant and helpful. I highly recommend this place!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent food, great ambiance, and worth the high price tag. Top of the line meats with exotic shell fish and salad choices.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful! We went for valentines dinner; made reservations and was seated right away. Very attentive nice staff and delicious food. Pricey but worth it for s special occasion

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The hot side selection was limited but it was a Wednesday. Not sure if the weekend is different. The meats were amazing! Kinda pricey but delicious. The lamb is to die for.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Visiting son and nephew at college

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent food selection. Staff was courteous. All questions were answered.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Second trip, brought friends along to share the experience! Outstanding - great staff. We have gone both times during restaurant week and haven't felt like we were treated any differently by taking advantage of the savings. Will return again.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

They didn't offer pineapple and we found hair in the mashed potatoes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Sooooo good! My husband was in his glory with all the meat selections

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.