About Green Forest Restaurant

655 Rodi Road
Penn Hills, PA 15235
View Larger Map

Authentic Brazilian churrasco sliced at your table. We offer 18 different kinds of meat, a hot buffet with 5 Brazilian dishes include feijoada daily, a salad bar with sushi and sashimi made fresh by our sushi chef. All of our desserts are homemade. We recommend that you check out our wine list, enjoy a Caipirinha, brazilian drink, our homemade sangria and much more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 1:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 371-5560

Website:
http://www.greenforestdining.com/

Executive Chef:
Jairo M. Azevedo

Private Party Facilities:
Private room can be used on Tuesday , Wednesday , Thursday and Sunday all day only.

Private Party Contact:
Flavia: (412) 371-5560

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Green Forest Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Good for Groups (18)
Worth the Drive (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Authentic (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fun (7)
Casual (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Family Style (5)
Romantic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Cozy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Business Meals (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
People Watching (1)
Live Sports (1)
Private Room (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
319 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Very good. Everything was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great service,great food and friendly waitress and waiters

Recommend it!!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

awesome meats, tremendous variety, salad, seafood, cheese, bread, soups fresh and delicious. almost too much food. Service was excellent. Come hungry and you have to enjoy meats.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great meat but the woman who co-owns the placed stomped around the dining area with a perpetual snarl, making the staff seem worried and the guests at our table uneasy. Smiles everyone, smiles!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent place to dine. Food is great, the workers are very kind, pleasant and helpful. I highly recommend this place!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent food, great ambiance, and worth the high price tag. Top of the line meats with exotic shell fish and salad choices.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful! We went for valentines dinner; made reservations and was seated right away. Very attentive nice staff and delicious food. Pricey but worth it for s special occasion

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The hot side selection was limited but it was a Wednesday. Not sure if the weekend is different. The meats were amazing! Kinda pricey but delicious. The lamb is to die for.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Visiting son and nephew at college

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent food selection. Staff was courteous. All questions were answered.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Second trip, brought friends along to share the experience! Outstanding - great staff. We have gone both times during restaurant week and haven't felt like we were treated any differently by taking advantage of the savings. Will return again.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

They didn't offer pineapple and we found hair in the mashed potatoes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Sooooo good! My husband was in his glory with all the meat selections

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

A little cold.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Amazing as always, service only 4/5 this visit if only because it was few and far between that we saw our waitress for drink refills, and it took a little long to get the check... But seeing as it was a full house, that was probably the cause.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Service was excellent. Our waitress was outstanding. However this was my 2nd time going to Green Forest for Pittsburgh Restaurant week. Not going back when it is. It seems they don't have a lot of different selections coming around when it is Pittsburgh Restaurant Week. The 1st time I went there I couldn't keep up with the food and the selections were so many. This time we waited and waited for food to come around and sometimes had to ask our waitress to tell the staff what we wanted to come around. With that being said the food is always outstanding. I just suggest not going there doing restaurant week. My only other issue wear a very warm sweater or jacket. Every time I have gone it is freezing. Even every person in my party thought it was cold and we kept commenting to each other how cold we were.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The meat was excellent. My favorite was the steak with the chimichurri sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Food kept coming out rare and to get food medium to medium well done was a real chore

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I went to green forest in the restaurant week, and the 35 dollar deal for buffet worths every penny i spent. The food and service is very good. Cold bar is very good too. I love their smoked salmon and shrimp. If you are a meat lover, you're gonna love this place!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Wonderful. Everything fresh. They keep refilling the salad bar so food was not setting out for hours. The meats are excellent

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Be sure to come hungry! We have enjoyed every visit we have ever made to the Green Forest Café, but on New Year's Eve, everything we tasted was exceptionally delicious. We took my in-laws as part of their Christmas present, and it was their first visit. My father-in-law at one point exclaimed that he was in heaven! The food is exquisite, from the cold seafood and salad offerings on the salad and antipasto bars, to the lobster mashed potatoes on the hot food bar, and of course, there are the meats! The staff is always courteous and extraordinarily gracious for our patronage. I can think of nothing negative to say about them!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food! Friendly service! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Authentic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My wife is Brazilian and it was the first time she felt like she was home since she left Brazil. The food is delicious and authentic. The staff is friendly and engaging.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

My wife and I always enjoy our experience there... Service is to notch and the food is always great.

Tags: Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Meat was excellent but side dishes were lacking. I felt very rushed. Very pricey for the experience

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The service was great. The meat was of decent quality, but almost all of it was terribly over salted. (as were the mashed potatoes.) We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Wide variety of food options..fresh vegetables, fish, oysters etc. The meat preparation and options were excellent and the drinks were great!

Would go again for sure.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Service was great. Very friendly staff. I will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I enjoy this restaurant a great deal. It is fun and the staff are efficient and friendly. Come hungry!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The ambiance was quiet and calm, we arrived early close to their opening time so meat was not cooked yet. We had the place to ourselves on a week night until we were done. It isn't as aesthetically pleasing as Texas de Brezil but the hot food was better. Texas de Brezil has more options however for a comprable price. The service is what is best about this location, especially at a slow time. For people who have never gone, they bring a variety of meat to your table for endless options, and provide a salad and hot food bar. Drinks and dessert are not included but the desserts are also very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 8, 2016

great friendly staff. clean. wonderful food. they give you time to relax and encourage you to stay as long as possible to enjoy all the meats they offer. we will defiantly go back!!!!!!!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The food was excellent. The staff had great personalities and friendly. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Although the restaurant was a little pricey, the food was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The foodwasjusta m azing, the service was outstanding. Wewillgo back, ifwe have the money.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was good and the service was very good, but the selection in all areas was limited. The salad bar and hot food bar did not have much variety. I did enjoy the sushi bar, but even that only had two types of sushi. Also, I would recommend going closer to dinner time because the best meats were coming around after we were already finished. Our reservation was for 4:30 on a Saturday but it was not necessary. There were open tables when we left at 5:30. For two adults, we spent over $100 before tip and no alcohol.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Location in a suburban office park and an interior that is bland and outdated detract considerably from a place marketed and priced as suitable for special occasions.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Green Forest is always fun. The salad bar is very extensive with a wide array of seafood, cured meats and cheeses along with a wide variety of vegetable and side dish options. The variety of meats that are table delivered on long fire skewers and hand cut table side are brilliantly cooked and perfectly seasoned. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. On our most recent visit we happened to be there when the seating had gone from rather crowded to a little lighter and the original onslaught on meats delivered was a little too rapid and a bit head spinning at the beginning (but we caught up and all was well) Dishes we did miss this time was the absence of pork belly (the roasted bacon was not quite the same) there was no flank steak nor pork offerings as there had been in the past. Otherwise the lamb, tenderloin, skirt steak, rib eye, beef ribs, prime rib, sausage, siracha chicken wings were all wonderful. Sirloin has never been one of my preferred cuts yet Green Forest has a marvelous hand at making it quite tasty.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 25, 2016

My guest and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience at Green Forest. We were celebrating her birthday, so she was presented with a candle in the dessert (cheesecake) that she ordered.

The staff was very attentive and my friend was particularly impressed with the drink that she ordered, which is a traditional Brazilian drink (I can't remember the name), because she had these when she was in Rio and said that the drink was authentically mixed and tasted exactly like what she remembered.

The extensive "salad bar" was imaginative and unique in its offerings, but one has to select judiciously because of the many good dishes available.

As for the entree offerings, the meats were all delicious. My personal favorite was the pork loin with parmesan. I sampled only 4 types of meat. At the Green Forest, you really need to pace yourself because there is so much food that you can be full before you know it, so it's important to select wisely.

This was a great dining experience for a special occasion, but at $45/person + drinks and dessert, it's not a place I would frequent for dinner, but one I would highly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Green Forest has the BEST food and top notch service. I would eat there every week if I lived closer. Constant food selection and delicious eats!

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 14, 2016

My 3rd time at Green Forest. Will return at least once a month. Great Food. Great staff. Great Restaurant. 5 Stars.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 5, 2016

This place was wonderful, it exceeded expectations. I've been to other Brazilian Steakhouses around the country and Green Forest tops all of them. Great salad bar, great meats, and great service. It's my new favorite place for special occasions. The location is great in terms of distance to the parkway, free parking, and ease to get in and out of, but you can't see it from the road so you need to enter the plaza and proceed to the back left to find it on the ground floor of the far office building.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was our first time here and it was fantastic. The skirt steak was my favorite, but all cuts were delicious. Service was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 16, 2016

very good experience has great food options you will not leave hungry if you like meat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 2, 2016

I've been twice now, and both times at least one employee has gone out of his/her way to converse with me and my table and make sure we were enjoying the experience. Though, if they hadn't, the restaurant's food (both the churrasco and the buffet) stand for themselves: hands-down, they provide the best dishes I've ever eaten -- definitely try the skirt steak. Green Forest might not be an everyday-type restaurant, but if you've got the chance to go, definitely take it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Every time we are in Pittsburgh , we make a point to eat here. Everything is always fresh and delicious . We love that the owners are always there . The service is excellent as well as the food .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were there as a family for my teenage son's birthday. He wanted to do something different. We had quite a lot of fun trying the different selections of meat that were brought to the table. The staff was extremely attentive when you wanted them to be. The food was tastey and well seasoned. It is definitely too expensive for everyday meals, but perfect for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 25, 2016

2nd time to Green Forest. What can I say? It's a ton of delicious grilled meats. Worth every penny. If you're a lover of sushi and raw fish the cold bar is amazing as well. Lobster mashed potatoes are always great. Love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very good food and great service! I will go back really soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 17, 2016

This place is phenomenal. The owners, servers, and meat slicers made sure we were well taken care of throughout the visit. The white sangria was well mixed, and the meat was perfectly cooked. There was a gray haired gentleman (I didn't catch his name) who made sure we left full! He asked us if we had any requests for particular dishes, and before we knew it, those dishes were at our table! The atmosphere is perfect. Sure this place is pricey, but you get SO MUCH for your dollar! I would recommend this place a thousand times!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 17, 2016

This is a great place for meat lovers and non-meat eaters alike! I took my guy for his birthday and it was the best meal he's ever had. The cuts of meat were delicious and they came to the table frequently. I got the cold and hot bars, which provided plenty of food for me to eat and get full on. Highly Recommended, this place is a hidden gem in Pittsburgh!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.