About Green Dragon Tavern & Museum

6115 Paseo del Norte
Carlsbad, CA 92011
View Larger Map

Green Dragon Tavern & Museum is the latest major attraction to open in the Carlsbad, CA, area. The 22,000 sq. ft. space features a museum, restaurant, two story tavern, coffee house, gift shop and a "state of the art" Ballroom for corporate or private catered events. G.D.T.& M. creates a welcoming atmosphere for celebrating, remembering and honoring early American history, our founding fathers and their many contributions to our past and modern day society. Offering complimentary admission, the Museum at G.D.T.& M. will house documents from the Colonial and Revolutionary War-eras and will provide individuals of all ages with an opportunity to further appreciate our country's rich history. Additionally, Chef de Cuisine Gregory Krol has created a menu that reflects "old world" meets "new world" cuisine and features locally farmed and sustainable ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
The Museum

Monday- Saturday
11:00 a.m.- Until Close

Sunday
10:30 a.m.- Until Close


The Coffee House and Museum Bookstore

Monday- Tuesday
7:00 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.

Wednesday- Friday
7:00 a.m.- 6:00 p.m.

Sunday
10:30 a.m.- 8:00 p.m.


The Tavern

Monday- Saturday
11:00 a.m.- 9:00 p.m.
(Happy Hour- 3:00 p.m.- 6:00 p.m.)

Sunday
10:30 a.m.- 8:00 p.m.
(Sunday Brunch Menu- 10:30 a.m.- 2:30 p.m.)
(Happy Hour- All Day)


The Dining Room

Friday-Saturday
5:00 p.m.- 9:00 p.m.
(Happy Hour- 5:00 p.m.- 6:00 p.m.)

Sunday
5:00 p.m.- 8:00 p.m.
(Happy Hour- 5:00 p.m.- 8:00 p.m.)

Cross Street:
Palomar Airport Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 918-2421

Website:
http://www.greendragontavernca.com/

Executive Chef:
Gregory Krol

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Green Dragon Tavern & Museum offers a beautiful private dining ballroom with full amenities such as LCD projectors and large screens, microphones, full A/V capabilities, and much more! GDT&M also includes beautiful semi-private dining rooms for any occasion.

Green Dragon Tavern & Museum Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Carlsbad ›

great for lunch (34)
good for groups (28)
fit for foodies (23)
See All
neighborhood gem (23)
special occasion (21)
great for brunch (16)
kid-friendly (12)
vibrant bar scene (6)
notable wine list (5)
romantic (4)
hot spot (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
216 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was good for a brunch. What I d ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was good for a brunch. What I did not like is the location of the food stations. They were located down a hallway into the museum area...kind of a hike from the dining room. I think they need to re-evaluate that situation. I will not return for a brunch.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always great food and atmosphere

Dined on May 8, 2016

Elegant dining room. Great food and service. Mother's Day brunch was excellent but pricey.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4

Even though we had A reservation, we sti ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Even though we had A reservation, we still had to wait 10 to 15 minutes to be seated. Thought that was a bit odd. The food was good. Nice selection of seafood. Maybe priced a little high though? Three of us ordered iced tea and I swear it was lemonade. It was yellow, tart and tasted like the lemon.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great happy hour deals in the bar!

Dined on May 2, 2016

Great happy hour deals in the bar!

food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Great food, beer and wine.

Dined on May 1, 2016

We really enjoyed the food, beer and wine, plus my wife said the mules were great. The main thing missing from the bar was any sort of ambiance. It was very antiseptic and quiet. Great location, plenty of parking.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent ambiance and menu

Dined on April 29, 2016

I came here with my boyfriend for our anniversary and loved it. We were seated by the fireplace, received as much attention as we wanted and needed, and enjoyed every last bit of the roasted sprouts, the risotto, and the mussels. We have and definitely will be back again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have stopped here several times on ou ...

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

We have stopped here several times on our way home from San Diego to Redondo. We have dear friends who live in Carlsbad and it's a good place for dinner. And the museum and history lesson about the Revolutionary War is amazing. My three dining companions had burgers and raved about them as well as the waffle fries. I had the shepherds pie - delicious. A bit richer than expected with the demi glaze sauce but good - and three portions - I had it for lunch and dinner the next day. We had hoped to sit in the dining room rather than the bar for a more quiet setting, but the dining room had closed by then (Sunday night) but the bar was still fine and it was a great evening. Fun pub/club feel. I'm sure I'll be back at some point when driving along the 5 freeway.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Just ok. Expected a better experience

Dined on April 24, 2016

Staff was very good. Drinks were good. Food (risotto) just ok. Small portions

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food

Dined on April 24, 2016

The taste of the Seafood Bake (or whatever it was called) was very, very bland. It lacked any taste at all. The Cioppino totally lacked enough soup in the bowl which is what Cioppino is all about!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Apps and Ribs

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

The Green Dragon has amazing Short Ribs. They have a great rib entree and they put the ribs on a burger - wow it's good! We had the pretzel bites (great spicy dipping sauce) and fried brussels (tasty). It has nice ambiance and the servers are friendly and attentive.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Green Dragon

Dined on April 8, 2016

Met up with a group of friends and enjoyed a great lunch in the Pub on a rainy day! The museum is an added bonus, and very interesting! The staff was very friendly and gave great recommendations. We also enjoyed watching The Masters playing in the background as we dined and visited! We were a small group of men and women aging from 40 - 60 and plan on going back!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice Happy hour selections

Dined on April 6, 2016

Four of us went for business happy hour. One of our employees hasnt had a proper lobster roll, so we chose this place to be her first experience. She loved the ct roll. Good meal as always, nice happy hour, somewhat upscale. Good craft beer selections.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

wonderful service and very nice menu. en ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

wonderful service and very nice menu. enjoyed the museum

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

East Sunday

Dined on March 27, 2016

Booked this for Easter not realizing they had were doing a buffet this year for Easter Sunday . Last year was a regular brunch menu. Was disappointed this year that I could not have the lobster eggs benedict, and it was a little pricey for brunch (considering it did not include champagne like I might expect for this price). Good over-all, but not what I had hoped.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

Staff were fantastic , food was good . S ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Staff were fantastic , food was good . Setting was poor as a lot of the tables were still not cleared from long departed guests - also closes very early despite high number of guests in bar and restaurant areas .

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Unique setting!

Dined on March 26, 2016

A New England tavern and restaurant in Southern California. Great place with very good food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch

Dined on March 20, 2016

This is one of my favorite place to meet my friends for lunch or brunch! I always suggest this place.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a great experience at the Green D ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Always a great experience at the Green Dragon Tavern. And no, it is not a Chinese restaurant!

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

What a great find

Dined on March 19, 2016

We had friends give us a gift certificate to the Green Dragon Tavern and the meal was fantastic, the atmosphere was very pleasant and the museum was an added bonus. We will go back, soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

St Patrick's Day at the Green Dragon

Dined on March 18, 2016

Other than running out of Guiness at 6PM on St Patrick's Day (are you kidding me?), we had a great time.

food5
ambience5
service2
value4

St P's Day

Dined on March 18, 2016

This was our second visit to the Green Dragon Restaurant. Our first was all 5 stars so we invited another couple to treat to the special St. Patrick's Day celebration dinner. They had never been or heard of the Green Dragon. Although they knew what we were doing we kept the location a secret to be a surprise to for them. And they were surprised and impressed with the building. The meal was also a very big hit for all of us. The food arrive hot and was delicious.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good overall

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Our Family meal was good. Nothing more and nothing less. Nothing that would keep me away, but little that would want me to go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great lunch!

Dined on March 9, 2016

My friend and I had a great time; it was his first time at the Green Dragon. I have visited many times, at many hours!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Nice Birthday Dinner

Dined on February 28, 2016

We are no strangers to the Green Dragon having eaten there for both lunch and dinner a number of times but we had not been in about 6 months. When we needed a place for a small 55th birthday celebration with some close friends (party of 6) Green Dragon was the first place that came to mind. We love the historical theme of the restaurant (the museum is interesting for first time guests) Dinner was excellent, each of us had a different item from the menu and everyone was happy with their choice . Note: You must to try the fried Brussel sprouts as a starter. On this visit our service (especially bar service) was a little slow. Not sure if they were under staffed or just a bigger crowd than normal. The only criticism we have re the venue is that it can get very noisy in the dinning room making casual conversation difficult at times. I think a lot of it is bleed over noise from the bar side of the house.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5 pm supper date

Dined on February 24, 2016

Our first time visiting the Green Dragon Tavern. The occasion was in celebration of our anniversary. Our waitress, Sierra was very friendly and helpful. She made us feel comfortable, provided recommendations upon our request, and checked with us for our needs during the meal. Our food was served hot and tasted great. We definitely will return and bring people with us. Thank you for helping to make it a memorable evening for us!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Great Food and Service but No Scenic Views

Dined on February 22, 2016

I've been intrigued for years by the large building that looks like it's been relocated from the east coast with its brick walls and giant white pillars. We finally dined at the Green Dragon Tavern & Museum for my birthday. We made a reservation early enough to watch the sunset; I was disappointed to arrive and find the West side of the building bricked up with small frosted windows... no view. However, my spirits were turned around quickly with the pleasantness of the wait staff and taste of champagne. The food was delicious and we dined in a nice quiet atmosphere... no screaming kids! After dinner, we toured the first floor of the 'museum' and weren't all that impressed with the lack of artifacts. It was mostly printed material and photographs. I noticed there are several banquet halls and even an upstairs but we did not venture into those areas. I think this would be a great space to have a large function, reception, Christmas party, etc.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, fantastic large museum.

Dined on February 16, 2016

Great foodie place,delish.Being from CT, we appreciate the east coast New England fare. Very loud & echoey though. They need help with acoustics, like hanging large blankets or rugs on the walls. I suggest braided rugs or quilts, New England style! Large revolutionary war museum.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Super Time

vip
Dined on February 8, 2016

We visited on Superbowl Sunday and what a fantastic time we had. The food was great and even better with special Superbowl pricing. We watched the game on multiple large screen TVs while we enjoyed many of the fine dishes like Shepherds Pie, Crab Cakes, Bacon Wrapped Scallops, and more.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

My wife and I always enjoy coming here. ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

My wife and I always enjoy coming here. Being a New England native, I always enjoy the atmosphere and the decor of the restaurant. My wife LOVES the lobster rolls and I have yet to find something I do not like on the menu. We haven't experienced the museum yet.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Dinner on Saturday evening

Dined on January 24, 2016

I went with a friend and two 11-year olds. The regular dining room was not busy. We were seated promptly once our complete party arrived. Our server had a few tables and approached our table to tells that she would be around to take our orders in a moment. She gave us some food recommendations when we finally ordered. I had a California style lobster roll and it was quite good with a light salad on the side. My daughter ordered the lobster mac and cheese. It was a huge portion. I tasted it and wasn't a fan. Others at our table commented positively on the Seafood Casserole. Turkey on club sandwich was dry. Overall an interesting experience with the adjacent museum but I don't think that there was anything exceptional that would bring me back. Perhaps sit in tavern section next time and watch sports on TV.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Satisfied but not Jumping Up and Diwn

vip
Dined on January 14, 2016

Food is on the rich side being a New England style restaurant. Lots O butter, cream sauces, and fried foods. There is no official gluten free menu but they do a good job trying to accommodate and said they are working on a GF menu. I got a chicken sandwich salad wrap style. They put the chicken between a whole head of lettuce! Didn't like that idea when a few large green leaves would have been much more presentable and easier to eat. Wedge salad rich and delish! Building is large and has very interesting decor and design great for large parties.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Unique Museum and Bistro

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised by the Green Dragon Tavern, which was constructed as a replica of a famous Revolutionary War venue. The restaurant contains a free museum with many historic documents including newspapers, treaties and land records dating back to the 1700s. Dining was fun and satisfying both as to taste and decor, with a wide variety of options on the menu to satisfy every taste. Diners could select between the tavern itself (vibrant) or the formal dining room (quiet and good for special occasions). The venue is also available for larger events and parties. Great experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Find

Dined on January 1, 2016

Food was really good and tasty. Ordered the lobster mac and cheese, and it was delicious! The portion was pretty big too. Maine lobster roll was good as well. Orange creme brûlée was very delicious too. Overall, I highly recommend the place. The service was exceptional, and the ambiance was mellow. Good for date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service3

The lobster rolls are always great, and ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

The lobster rolls are always great, and their lobster mac n cheese is also very yummy.

food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Fabulous Food

Dined on December 25, 2015

Was drawn by the Interesting theme of a Restaurant/Museum. Museum is interesting for history buff who like to read - Restaurant is not as fancy as I expected - booths, tables very basic setup, a bit noisy due to acoustic - but where it lacks in ambience, it makes up in taste. 5 of us all happy with our different meals from the Steak - to - Salmon-to-Shepherd's Pie was delicious, even the hamburger was quite tasty! The services at least on Christmas eve (and it was not busy) was definitely lacking- very slow, staff not very responsive - but maybe they wanted to be with their families as well. Will definitely try again - and hope for a more attentive server!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and history!

Dined on December 25, 2015

I loved the historical atmosphere---old documents, flags, muskets, paintings. Great fireplace , too. Food and service were good, especially sweet potato fries. I'm looking forward to coming back to try the shepherds pie.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, but out of craft beers?!

Dined on December 23, 2015

Our third or fourth time here, we enjoyed the salmon and pot pie, but very disappointed they were out of 8 craft beers, a couple are our faves! Waiter said it was due to Monday night football and holiday (this was a Tuesday), but seems like someone didn't order properly, this should have been predicted.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

New England dining in Carlsbad, CA.

Dined on December 6, 2015

New England dining in Carlsbad, CA. Varied menu, very tasty food and superb service. All this for a fair price.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly recommended

Dined on December 4, 2015

I had a great experience with my family for dinner. I ordered the Shepard's Pie and it was the best I ever had. I will definitely return!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Book club holiday party

Dined on December 3, 2015

My book club with eight women met at Green Dragon for our annual holiday party. The service was fantastic--8 women with different requests-all met. We asked for separate checks (got them), a more comfortable chair for 1 (got it), quiet room, good wine and food, hot rolls. So nice to have a quiet room where we could hear each other talk. Plenty of parking I usually make dinner for the group every December-no more-we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.