Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

About Green Dragon Tavern & Museum

Green Dragon Tavern & Museum is the latest major attraction to open in the Carlsbad, CA, area. The 22,000 sq. ft. space features a museum, restaurant, two story tavern, coffee house, gift shop and a "state of the art" Ballroom for corporate or private catered events. G.D.T.& M. creates a welcoming atmosphere for celebrating, remembering and honoring early American history, our founding fathers and their many contributions to our past and modern day society. Offering complimentary admission, the Museum at G.D.T.& M. will house documents from the Colonial and Revolutionary War-eras and will provide individuals of all ages with an opportunity to further appreciate our country's rich history. Additionally, Chef de Cuisine Gregory Krol has created a menu that reflects "old world" meets "new world" cuisine and features locally farmed and sustainable ingredients.

6115 Paseo del Norte
Carlsbad, CA 92011
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Californian

Hours of Operation:
The Museum

Monday- Saturday
11:00 a.m.- Until Close

Sunday
10:00 a.m.- Until Close


The Coffee House and Museum Bookstore

Monday- Tuesday
7:00 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.

Wednesday- Friday
7:00 a.m.- 6:00 p.m.

Sunday
8:00 a.m.- 8:00 p.m.


The Tavern

Monday- Saturday
11:00 a.m.- 9:00 p.m.
(Happy Hour- 3:00 p.m.- 6:00 p.m.)

Sunday
10:00 a.m.- 8:00 p.m.
(Sunday Brunch Menu- 10:00 a.m.- 2:30 p.m.)
(Happy Hour- All Day)


The Dining Room

Friday-Saturday
5:00 p.m.- 9:00 p.m.
(Happy Hour- 5:00 p.m.- 6:00 p.m.)

Sunday
5:00 p.m.- 8:00 p.m.
(Happy Hour- 5:00 p.m.- 8:00 p.m.)

Cross Street:
Palomar Airport Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 918-2421

Website:
http://www.greendragontavernca.com/

Executive Chef:
Gregory Krol

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Green Dragon Tavern and Museum will be closed on Tuesday, October 18th for a private party. The dining room will still be available for regular dining to our guests.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 7:30PM

Mon - Thu 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 6:30PM - 8:30PM

Fri 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM

Sat 11:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:00PM

Private Dining

The Green Dragon Tavern & Museum offers a beautiful private dining ballroom with full amenities such as LCD projectors and large screens, microphones, full A/V capabilities, and much more! GDT&M also includes beautiful semi-private dining rooms for any occasion.

Green Dragon Tavern & Museum Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (32)
Good for Groups (18)
Great for Lunch (16)
See All
Bar Seating (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Fun (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Business Meals (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Great Beer (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Historic (7)
Cozy (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fireplace (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Authentic (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Romantic (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
428 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Second time we have been here and had a good experience on both occasions.
This time we were seated in the main restaurant rather than the bar area and, without any background music the ambience wasn't quite as good (as the bar area)
Also our waitress was a little over-attentive this time. Lovely young lady and it's probably better to be this than not attentive enough.
Still, it's somewhere we enjoy and will go back too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely thrilled with our experience! It was such a nice place to take my wife and her parents. We truly enjoyed the American museum and I can't say that enough. If for no other reason (which would be silly since the waiter was fantastic in every way, the food quality was above and beyond expectations and a value to say the least) please go see this unique pice of American history with a drink in hand as the museum is open to all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Date night for the hubby and I. We enjoy the relaxed feel of the bar area. People who want more quiet conversation can sit in the dining room. Great selection of local beer to compliment our delicious food. Clam chowder had plenty of clams. Connecticut lobster roll was yummy. Great side salad. Hubby had fish and chips. His food was good too. I kept stealing his fries. Excellent meal and great service!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great Customer Service, lots of smiling faces. Huge selection of food and Beer on Menu. Never rushed, laid back and casual.

Tags: Casual, Paleo Friendly, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food was mediocre and the tavern side is very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This place is awesome. Just like an old east coast tavern (although really large). The menu is varied and the drink prices are excellent. Happy hour all day on Sundays! The museum is fascinating and of great historical value.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Surprisingly good food and surroundings. For those East Coast transplants to California, it's like walking into a traditional Colonial tavern. In fact, if you are a American history buff, this location is built to look exactly like the famous Green Dragon Tavern in New England that served as the headquarters of the American Revolution.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

We were seated quickly, service was great. Food was excellent! Loved the décor, very comfortable.
Criticism - it was very loud and difficult to hear at times, little higher than usually would spend. Fun to people watch and spend time with friends.
Would go back again.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Great food and an impressive museum! I was pleasantly surprised!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

A member of our party of 5 had gluten dietary issues. The server was very helpful in assisting her to choose a meal to accommodate that issue & still provide her with a great tasting meal. He was also very attentive to any needs we had during the meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

I don't get to too often but always great food and a very welcoming environment.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We took my cousin and her husband from out of town and they loved it. We have been here before, but forgot what a nice selection and good food they had. We all enjoyed our entrees and the brussels sprouts were truly outstanding. Our server, Madison, was very friendly and helpful with making our dining selections. An overall great experience and we'll be back soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Walking thru the Museum was great educational moment for the kids after a great dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Not sure what to expect, but turned out fantastic! Wonderful service, delicious food at a reasonable price. Before and after dinner, the museum provided a great opportunity to talk with our kids about the history of our country.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fun, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

I was born in Rhode Island but parents were stationed elsewhere a year after so I have no memories of the East Coast. Fast forward to present day and I'm constantly seeking places for an authentic connection. This place is a gem and I felt that East Coast connection. Thank you. My siblings and I had a super time.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We found the restaurant because we have Passport cards. It was a great evening and we all will return. Bar service was great,cocktails were terrific! We choose an excellent wine, new to us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We were hungry and it was late so we check OT and found GDT was still open. When we entered the GDT it turned out to be a very nice place, with a welcoming staff a comfortable atmosphere. The menu was broad however we just ordered the House Burger and the Lobster Mac & Cheese and it hit the spot. We will definitely go back to try some of their regular entrees. Note: The service was excellent, there is a number of big screens tv's and convenient parking.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Unique for sure. Grab your glass of wine and puruse the museum which has many authentic original pieces from the early days of our country and revolution. Ironically enough the museum was closed on July 4th. If your inquisitive, enjoy history, good food and drink then this is an experience you will want to check out. The ambiance is casual- there is a bar area and a dining area. The dining area is almost like cafeteria setting but comfortable enough. And our waiter was very attentive, professional, and friendly at the same time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We were excited to try this restaurant but it unfortunately was a negative experience. First, we received our appetizers after our meal was served. The short rib was mostly a hunk of fat. (When alerted the manager did discount the short rib.) We heard another table complaining they were charged more for an item than the price listed on the menu, so as we were leaving we checked the menu against our bill. We were charged $1.95 more for our pretzel appetizer than was listed on the menu. At this point we just wanted to leave so we didn't bring it up. On the positive side our server was very apologetic, my husband did say his lobster roll was really good and we did enjoy being able to take our drinks and check out the small museum. Overall a fun concept and great space but unfortunately just not a great experience overall.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Really enjoyed our dinner and drinks at Green Dragon Tavern & Museum! We had the brussel sprout appetizer and it was delicious. I had the seafood samples for dinner that had a delicious sauce that went well with all items on my plate (cod, shrimp, salmon, asparagus & potatoes). My fiancé had the Connecticut style lobster roll which was huge and super good. The drinks were good and we will be back for sure

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised by the food quality! Very good for the price and a great wine list! We also had a mocha iced coffee and it was by far the best one we had ever had! Not busy at all...secret place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The Museum was very interesting. Enjoyed the New England style ambience. Nice happy hour, good value. However, went for Maine lobster roll...very disappointing and overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The atmosphere didn't fit for Carlsbad. My burger which I ordered medium came out very well done but we had waited so long for food I didn't send it back. The cocktails weren't very good. And the menu in the restaurant was different than what was posted online. Not different enough that it had been changed for a season or something but for some reason sauces or garnishes were omitted without thought to change up the menu in any meaningful way. Overall, the meal was unremarkable. We wouldn't go back and I wouldn't recommend it. There might be a draw with some of the historical stuff but it's in the wrong part of town for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Went fairly early in the evening. Very nice atmosphere and excellent food!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Excellent food! A nice neighborhood restaurant with a unique theme. Although we did not take our kids, it seemed very family.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2017

this restaurant doesn't disappoint. let's me pretend i'm in Boston.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Enjoyed the food and the historical tour of the museum.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food is usually good and presented attractively. The historic bar area was quite busy, and there were two special events occurring in other areas, but not many customers in the dining area. We felt that service in the main dining area could have been more attentive.

Minor issues this visit included receiving no rolls until they were requested, one full salad was served instead of half-size as ordered, and a beer refill request not fulfilled until our server was reminded, then we were charged for two refills.

This was a Saturday evening. We have dined here on Fridays previously, and our waitress on those occasions covered the whole room much more efficiently than the group of young men who were working on Saturday.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Nice, pleasant dinner. Philly cheesesteak and chicken sandwich were both very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 22, 2017

I took my friend, who lives in New England, and he loved the museum attached to the restaurant. It was a little taste of his heritage that he was able to enjoy while visiting Southern California. It was really nice to read about our history. In fact, I learned that Paul Revere started Revereware. Here I thought a company was just using Revere's name this whole time!
Food was great and felt very authentic.

~Cindy

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Authentic, Casual, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 20, 2017

This place has a museum that was very interesting to see after our meal. The food was just okay. The fish and chips entree was wild but the fish was tough to chew :/. Our Server was okay.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I took my mom to The Green Dragon Tavern for a late Mother's Day celebration. We both enjoyed it immensely. She ordered a club sandwich with sweet potato fries. They were the best sweet potato fries either of us have ever tasted! Afterwards, we perused the museum, which consists of memorabilia from the Mayflower - Revolutionary War era. The owner happened to be there, so he gave us some personal attention, which was especially nice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was OK. Not bad, but nothing memorable. Kitchen took way too long. It's was Father's Day and the place was full. They could have planned better. The location and building are beautiful. If you can get the restaurant to match, you'd have a winner.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The place was not very busy but It took them 1.5 hours to get our meal. The salmon was good but it was to come with rice pilaf and showed up with potatoes. The salmon was tasty and they did comp our meal . Was not very happy for being the first time I had ever eaten there, don't think I will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The ambiance is nice, and the quality of the food was very good. I wished for my Crab Benedict, which were very good, I wouldn't have to search with a magnifying glass to find my Hollandaise sauce.....

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

It was a good experience. The food took quite a while to come out and was pretty good. The lobster was over cooked a bit on the Benedict but the rest of the food tasted great. They were a little awkward with my 3.5 year old twins and they were well behaved but didn't like that they were mostly ignored when they spoke to the server.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Staff was very helpful and friendly. Wide food selection and everything we ordered was great! I loved the sangria the best!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Good place to take my dad & toddler to. Kid friendly, not to loud, and decent food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The staff at this restaurant is great. I go here regularly with a group of friends and they always bend over backwards to accommodate us. It is also one of the most interesting places in Carlsbad, California.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.