About Green Dragon Tavern & Museum

6115 Paseo del Norte
Carlsbad, CA 92011
View Larger Map

Green Dragon Tavern & Museum is the latest major attraction to open in the Carlsbad, CA, area. The 22,000 sq. ft. space features a museum, restaurant, two story tavern, coffee house, gift shop and a "state of the art" Ballroom for corporate or private catered events. G.D.T.& M. creates a welcoming atmosphere for celebrating, remembering and honoring early American history, our founding fathers and their many contributions to our past and modern day society. Offering complimentary admission, the Museum at G.D.T.& M. will house documents from the Colonial and Revolutionary War-eras and will provide individuals of all ages with an opportunity to further appreciate our country's rich history. Additionally, Chef de Cuisine Gregory Krol has created a menu that reflects "old world" meets "new world" cuisine and features locally farmed and sustainable ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Californian

Hours of Operation:
The Museum

Monday- Saturday
11:00 a.m.- Until Close

Sunday
10:00 a.m.- Until Close


The Coffee House and Museum Bookstore

Monday- Tuesday
7:00 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.

Wednesday- Friday
7:00 a.m.- 6:00 p.m.

Sunday
8:00 a.m.- 8:00 p.m.


The Tavern

Monday- Saturday
11:00 a.m.- 9:00 p.m.
(Happy Hour- 3:00 p.m.- 6:00 p.m.)

Sunday
10:00 a.m.- 8:00 p.m.
(Sunday Brunch Menu- 10:00 a.m.- 2:30 p.m.)
(Happy Hour- All Day)


The Dining Room

Friday-Saturday
5:00 p.m.- 9:00 p.m.
(Happy Hour- 5:00 p.m.- 6:00 p.m.)

Sunday
5:00 p.m.- 8:00 p.m.
(Happy Hour- 5:00 p.m.- 8:00 p.m.)

Cross Street:
Palomar Airport Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 918-2421

Website:
http://www.greendragontavernca.com/

Executive Chef:
Gregory Krol

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Green Dragon Tavern and Museum will be closed on Tuesday, October 18th for a private party. The dining room will still be available for regular dining to our guests.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 7:30PM

Mon - Thu 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 6:30PM - 8:30PM

Fri 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 7:00PM - 8:45PM

Sat 11:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:00PM 7:00PM - 8:45PM

Private Dining

The Green Dragon Tavern & Museum offers a beautiful private dining ballroom with full amenities such as LCD projectors and large screens, microphones, full A/V capabilities, and much more! GDT&M also includes beautiful semi-private dining rooms for any occasion.

Green Dragon Tavern & Museum Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego
American
North San Diego
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Carlsbad ›

Historic (28)
Comfort Food (22)
Casual (21)
See All
Special Occasion (19)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Cozy (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Authentic (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Romantic (10)
Fireplace (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Business Meals (9)
Family Style (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Fun (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Great Beer (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Live Sports (4)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Private Room (3)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
306 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Green Dragon has really good food, good ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Green Dragon has really good food, good portions and a nice setting. Very casual but you could dress up here as well. A nice tavern feel to it. Their fish and fries are great and pot pie is really good. Huge sandwiches as well along with french fries to die for. I highly recommend this place. The staff are all friendly and very accomodating. There is also ample parking. Visit the museum, it is not large but an interesting history lesson.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Business Meals, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Fun, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Historic, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always. The volume was higher ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great as always. The volume was higher than normal because of a baby crying but other than that it was solid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We took my parents there for the Thanksg ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We took my parents there for the Thanksgiving buffet and had a wonderful experience. The food was tasty (and plentiful), the cocktails were well-made, and most of all, the staff was exemplary. We acknowledge that working on a holiday is never easy, but all the staff were gracious, pleasant and efficient and they made our holiday dinner a lovely experience. We are looking forward to going back at a non-holiday time to try their regular menu and spend more time with in the museum section of the establishment.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Comfort Food, Authentic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for Thanksgiving this year. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went here for Thanksgiving this year. GREAT choice! There was an outstanding buffet with choices for everyone and the food was very, very good. Did not taste like "cafeteria" food at all. Lovely selection of beers, wine and cocktails. Did not feel rushed and it was not too crowded. Would definitely go back next time we are in the area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Here for a Thanksgiving buffet lunch/din ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Here for a Thanksgiving buffet lunch/dinner. Great food and good service. Seated upstairs above the bar...actually a nice atmosphere. Long list of drafts, a decent wine list and some interesting mixed drinks as well. Will need to give it a try for a regular meal...the buffet was set up in the museum area...a neat twist. At least for the buffet, a thumbs up to the pastry chef for some tremendous desserts.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

After eating there several times, we wen ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

After eating there several times, we went for Thanksgiving and were very disappointed. The usually good clam chowder was inedible! Not sure what they did but it tasted like cigarette ashes. The prime rib had good flavor but was grossly overcooked. The turkey was good and well prepared. We were not informed about the drink specials until after we ordered our expensive cocktails. It was definitely not worth the price we paid for the meal and drinks. Not sure if we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Very long lines for Thanksgiving buffet, ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very long lines for Thanksgiving buffet, but overall good food. We liked the classical music and the chowder.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great place. The food was excellent and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great place. The food was excellent and the service was better. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We are 4 of us went they for dinner, I o ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We are 4 of us went they for dinner, I order the seafood with pasta & the pumpkin soup, the soup was very good, the seafood with pasta, I end up take 80% home have it on next day lunch & dinner, it was very good too, love it, my husband & our friends are very happy they dinner too.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, great service. We went for f ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food, great service. We went for family night out and it was great. Also, good place for a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a birthday dinner with 5 of us. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2016

This was a birthday dinner with 5 of us. All the food was delicious with the exception of my turkey pot pie, which was runny and only mediocre in taste. The service was a bit too slow and as we were leaving they added another waiter, so was probably resolved.

Would still recommend for dinner and we will be back again. Our past visits were much better than this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I am a history buff, and am originally f ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2016

I am a history buff, and am originally from the east coast, so I really enjoyed the museum and the pictures and documents on the walls. Dining room was nice and quiet for conversation, and both the food and service was excellent. I would highly recommend The Green Dragon Tavern!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Reminded me of being in a tavern in New ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Reminded me of being in a tavern in New England. The museum is outstanding. Definitely worth an hour of a guests time.

Would be a great place for business meetings also great for tour buses.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The evening we were there, I found it to ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The evening we were there, I found it to be quite noisy sometimes pierced by the shrill screams of a toddler or two. Previously we had sat in the bar for drinks and bar food. That was probably a better option than the dining room.

Tags: Family Style, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Just a fun place to have a meal

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Just a fun place to have a meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was very good. However, the noise l ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was very good. However, the noise level of the dining room was very annoying, and took away from our dining experience. (The room has terrible acoustics.). For this reason, most likely we will not return

One other thing: Service was very slow. Particularly our bar order. It took forever for wine to be delivered

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

We had a 6pm reservation and the restaur ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had a 6pm reservation and the restaurant was almost 100% filled and loud. It was hard to hear but we sat upstairs above the bar. Food was good. Their clam chowder is THE best East Coast chowder on the West Coast. Service was slow, but maybe it is just slower upstairs. Overall, would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We had a great time! Reminiscent of a B ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a great time! Reminiscent of a Boston pub, it was a fun place to be. We drank beer and had appetizers. The pretzel appetizers are good! The menu has plenty of pubby comfort food, including regular and pastrami burgers, pot pies, short ribs etc. Make sure to leave room for dessert. We got the s'mores and they were unbelievable. Great place to have a good time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed late lunch while surrounded by r ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Enjoyed late lunch while surrounded by remembrance of the American revolution! Cuisine is creative and delicious. Beer selection is outstanding. Happy hour prices make it a steal. Roasted Brussels sprouts with pecans and topped with a fried egg---best ever!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! What a find!!! The Chef creates abs ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Wow! What a find!!! The Chef creates absolutely wonderful plates of delight in record time and the server we had, Elmer, was quick and informative, and very attentive! Highly recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Historic, Happy Hour, Cozy, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Always impressed with new a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great food! Always impressed with new additions in the menu rotation. The crab rolls are my favorite and I asked the chef to keep the the new squash ravioli on the menu. Service is always excellent and servers very helpful with advice on selections for food and drinks. Great beer line and the sangria was very fruity and delicious. The Museum section of Green Dragon is an unusual find in this part of the country and I learned some interesting things about our country's early history.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Green Dragon Tavern is a great venue ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The Green Dragon Tavern is a great venue for meeting with friends, drinking beer and food. The museum is also very cool.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was so delicious. Wish we could hav ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was so delicious. Wish we could have tried more items. Museum is really cool too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a business lunch in the tavern. Ver ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Had a business lunch in the tavern. Very good burger plus $2 beer (any) special. Burger was great as was beer. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family of four went on a Sunday eveni ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 24, 2016

My family of four went on a Sunday evening and sat in the dining room not the tavern. The tavern looked lively and fun. Multiple TV's with sports games on. The dining room was much more quiet however their piped in music could have been a little softer. The short ribs were amazing and I will return specifically for that dish again. The fish and chips were just okay and the chicken dishes were very good. Reasonably priced alcohol list. Service was very good. We will return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Having lived in Plymouth, MA for 14 year ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Having lived in Plymouth, MA for 14 years we love the nostalgia of the Northeast represented at the Green Dragon Tavern. It's a great place to take the grandchildren to reinforce their study of American history, too. Some of the dishes - like the baked cod in a milky sauce topped with "Ritz-tasting" cracker crumbs is also an authentic taste of Boston et al.

Tags: Historic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Fireplace, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and drinks. Really enjoyed th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Great food and drinks. Really enjoyed the whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

sunday brunch was three star. service ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

sunday brunch was three star. service and decor/ambiance was three star. only

negative is the food was not hot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was good. The steak we had was ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was good. The steak we had was tender and flavorful. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mom and I went for Historic aspect and t ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Mom and I went for Historic aspect and the Tavern has a free Museum about the Bostonian

Revolution, etc.. Quite a treat to browse for free in the Museum, after a very excellent comfort food meal. The service was outstanding, our waitress was very attentive along with other staff.

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Casual, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Historic, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was prepared perfectly. Server did ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was prepared perfectly. Server did a great job if being attentive but not bothersome. Pancakes were declared the "best I've ever had."

Coffee is very good.

Want to go back for lunch or dinner & try something other than breakfast food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great venue to relax and have good beer ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great venue to relax and have good beer and good food with friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my 4th time at this establishmen ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 14, 2016

This is my 4th time at this establishment. First time I wasn't excited about my meal. It was just ok. I ordered fish and chips. They were fried a bit to much for my liking The fish was moist so that was good but fried too much!. In the past I have had the lobster rolls, short ribs and shrimp & Scallop risotto. Also the waitress was very nice and gave my friend a birthday dessert bread pudding. It was a bit on the dry side and could have been a bit warmer. I will go back again!!

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The four of us had a late lunch. I had t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The four of us had a late lunch. I had the bacon wrapped chicken, my wife a salad. Neither was distinctive. The place was loud, with huge TV screens on every wall, broadcasting a football game. The charming 18th Century decor clashed with the ambience of a sports bar. The service was desultory, with the wait staff gathering by the bar to chat, showing only a passing interest in the diners. The bill for the four of us, including the over-priced glasses of wine, came to $128 including the tip. It's a nice place to visit once, but we're not going back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Disabled Access, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

The Green Dragon Tavern is a restaurant, ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The Green Dragon Tavern is a restaurant, sports bar, and museum all rolled into one. The museum is free and open to the public, with excellent displays about the American Revolution and the "original" Green Dragon Tavern in Boston. The bar was popular and noisy, and when we arrived we learned that normally that is where people are seated for Sunday lunch. However, when I requested quieter seating because my parents are in their 90's and don't appreciate a noisy bar atmosphere, the restaurant manager and hosts were very kind and accommodated us in the dining room (which is normally only open in the evenings). The service was exceptional, the dining room was nice and quiet so we could have a good conversation over our meal, and the food was very good. My parents had a chicken salad which they enjoyed very much and others in our party had the Connecticut-style Lobster Roll which was very authentic and loaded with lobster, and one other person in our group enjoyed the fish and chips. After our meal we enjoyed taking some time to look through the museum. Overall, I'd highly recommend the Green Dragon Tavern -- it's like having a little piece of Boston in San Diego County. Just a word of warning -- when making your reservation, double check to see if you'll be seated in the noisy sports bar or in the much nicer dining room (if you prefer a quieter environment).

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too much sale and seasoning on all food. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Too much sale and seasoning on all food. Not very many healthy options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We sat in the side room to avoid the noi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We sat in the side room to avoid the noise in the main room and unfortunately there was a child screaming for about half the time. As usual the parents waited until the noise was at a fevered pitch to take her out. Probably nothing the waiter could do about it but we were looking forward to a quiet discussion with our friends. The food was delicious, our favorite is the lobster roll. Service was excellent. We will be back

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

They were out of the wine listed for hap ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 8, 2016

They were out of the wine listed for happy hour, didn't have a substitute. All of the servers seemed rather "new" and unsure of what they were doing or were supposed to do. Everyone was very friendly and the Maine Lobster rolls, were excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Always enjoy coming for dinner! We broug ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Always enjoy coming for dinner! We brought a friend who is diabetic and they happily accommodated her needs as well. They will also be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This was our first visit to the Green Dr ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 3, 2016

This was our first visit to the Green Dragon Tavern. The building is beautiful, inside and out. They sent out an ad for an Octoberfest special menu, and we wanted to try it. However, the waiter didn't seem to know anything about it....it started mid-September. We both placed drink orders which seemed to take forever. We got there at 6 p.m. and there were only 2 other tables with diners...which seemed a bit odd to me. However, the acoustics were so bad, I couldn't hear the waiter. I can't imagine how bad they would be if the dining room was full.

Our food arrived before the drinks. The food consisted of one sausage, a piece of fried pork, and a strange potato dish that was supposed to be German potato salad. My mother is German and a good cook, and this potato salad in no way resembled German potato salad. It didn't taste bad, just not anything special. We split a crème brulee, which was good. I may go back again to try their regular food, but not anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.