About Green Dragon Tavern & Museum

6115 Paseo del Norte
Carlsbad, CA 92011
View Larger Map

Green Dragon Tavern & Museum is the latest major attraction to open in the Carlsbad, CA, area. The 22,000 sq. ft. space features a museum, restaurant, two story tavern, coffee house, gift shop and a "state of the art" Ballroom for corporate or private catered events. G.D.T.& M. creates a welcoming atmosphere for celebrating, remembering and honoring early American history, our founding fathers and their many contributions to our past and modern day society. Offering complimentary admission, the Museum at G.D.T.& M. will house documents from the Colonial and Revolutionary War-eras and will provide individuals of all ages with an opportunity to further appreciate our country's rich history. Additionally, Chef de Cuisine Gregory Krol has created a menu that reflects "old world" meets "new world" cuisine and features locally farmed and sustainable ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Californian

Hours of Operation:
The Museum

Monday- Saturday
11:00 a.m.- Until Close

Sunday
10:30 a.m.- Until Close


The Coffee House and Museum Bookstore

Monday- Tuesday
7:00 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.

Wednesday- Friday
7:00 a.m.- 6:00 p.m.

Sunday
10:30 a.m.- 8:00 p.m.


The Tavern

Monday- Saturday
11:00 a.m.- 9:00 p.m.
(Happy Hour- 3:00 p.m.- 6:00 p.m.)

Sunday
10:30 a.m.- 8:00 p.m.
(Sunday Brunch Menu- 10:30 a.m.- 2:30 p.m.)
(Happy Hour- All Day)


The Dining Room

Friday-Saturday
5:00 p.m.- 9:00 p.m.
(Happy Hour- 5:00 p.m.- 6:00 p.m.)

Sunday
5:00 p.m.- 8:00 p.m.
(Happy Hour- 5:00 p.m.- 8:00 p.m.)

Cross Street:
Palomar Airport Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 918-2421

Website:
http://www.greendragontavernca.com/

Executive Chef:
Gregory Krol

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Promotions

NORTH COUNTY'S BEST HAPPY HOUR!

Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

NORTH COUNTY'S BEST HAPPY HOUR!

Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 7:30PM

Mon - Thu 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 6:30PM - 8:30PM

Fri 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 7:00PM - 8:45PM

Sat 11:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:00PM 7:00PM - 8:45PM

Private Dining

The Green Dragon Tavern & Museum offers a beautiful private dining ballroom with full amenities such as LCD projectors and large screens, microphones, full A/V capabilities, and much more! GDT&M also includes beautiful semi-private dining rooms for any occasion.

Green Dragon Tavern & Museum Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Carlsbad ›

great for lunch (37)
good for groups (30)
special occasion (29)
See All
neighborhood gem (24)
fit for foodies (23)
great for brunch (18)
kid-friendly (10)
vibrant bar scene (7)
romantic (5)
notable wine list (5)
scenic view (1)
hot spot (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love this menu. the brussel sprouts ar ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

I love this menu. the brussel sprouts are to die for and the New England plates are just great. they have a good beer list, too.

Sold restaurant. our waiter was friendly and fun. thanks.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Pleasantly surprised! Try the wings and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

Pleasantly surprised! Try the wings and the hummus plate for sure! Staff is super friendly and attentive. The inside is classier than most local places but you will not feel out of place In jeans and flip flops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous place, great food. Can't wait ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous place, great food. Can't wait to take my wife.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Visited for the first time and tried a b ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Visited for the first time and tried a bit of everything. It was all delicious. The staff was courteous and efficient. The museum is interesting and worth your time.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My two lady friends and I enjoyed our br ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My two lady friends and I enjoyed our brunch. One of the ladies was not happy with her pulled pork hamburger but didn't mention to our very nice waiter. She took it home for her dog in a container. Kind of feel it was something she should have handled right then. Other than that, the other two meals were great. We love this place to meet.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always a pleasure to visit and dine ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It's always a pleasure to visit and dine at the Green Dragon. The food and service are great and friendly like your relaxing at a friends house, very relaxed. They always go out of their way to conjure up something wonderful if don't see it on the menu. Thank you and we'll see you next time.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great service, and the Colon ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Great food, great service, and the Colonial museum to boot! A history-lovers dream come true! Looking at the banquet areas it looks like a wonderful place to host special events as well. Bar seemed lively but the dining area was quieter which was perfect for us. Book and gift shop were an added bonus!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was good but not great. Service is a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

It was good but not great. Service is a little green. Maybe better for museum visitors or out of towers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Bar area was not too buys and a game was ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Bar area was not too buys and a game was on so we opted to sit in the bar area. Food was not very good. Two of us got lobster rolls, one philly cheesesteak and one burger. One the one who got the burger liked their meal. The rest of us did not - we all felt like it was bland. The regular coke soda tasted off too.

We had a discount offer and were glad we tried it with that. We will not be returning.

Tags: kid-friendly, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

This was our second visit to Green Drago ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our second visit to Green Dragon, and we were very pleased. The food was flavorful and well prepared (although my husband's steak, which he ordered medium rare, arrived closer to medium well--but it was still tender and delicious). We will definitely visit again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

My husband and I decided to try this res ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband and I decided to try this restaurant for Father's Day. It was our first time at Green Dragon Tavern and walked in with a reservation at 10:00 am. The gatekeepers (hostesses) finally seated us at our table at 10:15a, not sure why it took them so long because we were the first rez on the list. It took the server another 10 minutes to get to our table and just take our drink order. I had this funny feeling things might not go well. By 10:45 we finally got our meal. The food was not very good. We ordered the Cinnamon Swirl Pancakes with an Apple topping and Eggs Benedict. The pancakes were very soggy and had canned apples lathered on top. The Benedict was just ok. The only pleasant thing was the very good looking waiters! Better luck next time I guess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

service was slow. The food was not hot ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

service was slow. The food was not hot and they didn't handle our special request at all. The burgers were over cooked. Place needs a manager that walks around and see how things are screwed up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Great menu selection. Service was atten ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great menu selection. Service was attenuated and friendly. The addition of a museum added to the experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

disappointed

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The service was incredibly slow, the food only adequate, and the room lacked any acoustics. Therefore, it was really loud due to the large party of ladies sitting behind, who seemed to be yelling the whole time. We couldn't wait to leave.

The museum was interesting though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

Enjoyed our dining experience!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The atmosphere is so comfortable and the food is delicious. Love the jalapeno sweet potato fries and the black bean burger. I can't wait to go back to try other dishes.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Food In Quaint Pub-Like Setting

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Pub Area reminiscent of British/Irish Pubs. Good food. Recommend the risotto with scallops and mussels.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was my second trip to the Green Dra ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This was my second trip to the Green Dragon Tavern and Museum. Last time we sat in the bar area, where it was a bit noisy. This time I made a reservation, and we were given the option of dining in the dining room or the bar area. We sat in the dining room, and it was a great dining experience. The waiter was friendly and attentive, food was great (as it was last time), and it was a much quieter and more romantic atmosphere. I highly recommend this place . Arrive early and view the museum. Unique and well worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was good for a brunch. What I d ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was good for a brunch. What I did not like is the location of the food stations. They were located down a hallway into the museum area...kind of a hike from the dining room. I think they need to re-evaluate that situation. I will not return for a brunch.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Always great food and atmosphere

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Elegant dining room. Great food and service. Mother's Day brunch was excellent but pricey.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Even though we had A reservation, we sti ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Even though we had A reservation, we still had to wait 10 to 15 minutes to be seated. Thought that was a bit odd. The food was good. Nice selection of seafood. Maybe priced a little high though? Three of us ordered iced tea and I swear it was lemonade. It was yellow, tart and tasted like the lemon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great happy hour deals in the bar!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Great happy hour deals in the bar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, beer and wine.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We really enjoyed the food, beer and wine, plus my wife said the mules were great. The main thing missing from the bar was any sort of ambiance. It was very antiseptic and quiet. Great location, plenty of parking.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Excellent ambiance and menu

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

I came here with my boyfriend for our anniversary and loved it. We were seated by the fireplace, received as much attention as we wanted and needed, and enjoyed every last bit of the roasted sprouts, the risotto, and the mussels. We have and definitely will be back again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have stopped here several times on ou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

We have stopped here several times on our way home from San Diego to Redondo. We have dear friends who live in Carlsbad and it's a good place for dinner. And the museum and history lesson about the Revolutionary War is amazing. My three dining companions had burgers and raved about them as well as the waffle fries. I had the shepherds pie - delicious. A bit richer than expected with the demi glaze sauce but good - and three portions - I had it for lunch and dinner the next day. We had hoped to sit in the dining room rather than the bar for a more quiet setting, but the dining room had closed by then (Sunday night) but the bar was still fine and it was a great evening. Fun pub/club feel. I'm sure I'll be back at some point when driving along the 5 freeway.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just ok. Expected a better experience

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Staff was very good. Drinks were good. Food (risotto) just ok. Small portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The taste of the Seafood Bake (or whatever it was called) was very, very bland. It lacked any taste at all. The Cioppino totally lacked enough soup in the bowl which is what Cioppino is all about!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Apps and Ribs

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The Green Dragon has amazing Short Ribs. They have a great rib entree and they put the ribs on a burger - wow it's good! We had the pretzel bites (great spicy dipping sauce) and fried brussels (tasty). It has nice ambiance and the servers are friendly and attentive.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Green Dragon

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Met up with a group of friends and enjoyed a great lunch in the Pub on a rainy day! The museum is an added bonus, and very interesting! The staff was very friendly and gave great recommendations. We also enjoyed watching The Masters playing in the background as we dined and visited! We were a small group of men and women aging from 40 - 60 and plan on going back!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Happy hour selections

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Four of us went for business happy hour. One of our employees hasnt had a proper lobster roll, so we chose this place to be her first experience. She loved the ct roll. Good meal as always, nice happy hour, somewhat upscale. Good craft beer selections.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

wonderful service and very nice menu. en ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

wonderful service and very nice menu. enjoyed the museum

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

East Sunday

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Booked this for Easter not realizing they had were doing a buffet this year for Easter Sunday . Last year was a regular brunch menu. Was disappointed this year that I could not have the lobster eggs benedict, and it was a little pricey for brunch (considering it did not include champagne like I might expect for this price). Good over-all, but not what I had hoped.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Staff were fantastic , food was good . S ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Staff were fantastic , food was good . Setting was poor as a lot of the tables were still not cleared from long departed guests - also closes very early despite high number of guests in bar and restaurant areas .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

Unique setting!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

A New England tavern and restaurant in Southern California. Great place with very good food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Brunch

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

This is one of my favorite place to meet my friends for lunch or brunch! I always suggest this place.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience at the Green D ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Always a great experience at the Green Dragon Tavern. And no, it is not a Chinese restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

What a great find

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We had friends give us a gift certificate to the Green Dragon Tavern and the meal was fantastic, the atmosphere was very pleasant and the museum was an added bonus. We will go back, soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

St Patrick's Day at the Green Dragon

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Other than running out of Guiness at 6PM on St Patrick's Day (are you kidding me?), we had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

St P's Day

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

This was our second visit to the Green Dragon Restaurant. Our first was all 5 stars so we invited another couple to treat to the special St. Patrick's Day celebration dinner. They had never been or heard of the Green Dragon. Although they knew what we were doing we kept the location a secret to be a surprise to for them. And they were surprised and impressed with the building. The meal was also a very big hit for all of us. The food arrive hot and was delicious.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Good overall

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Our Family meal was good. Nothing more and nothing less. Nothing that would keep me away, but little that would want me to go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great lunch!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

My friend and I had a great time; it was his first time at the Green Dragon.

I have visited many times, at many hours!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.