Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

About Green Dragon Tavern & Museum

Green Dragon Tavern & Museum is the latest major attraction to open in the Carlsbad, CA, area. The 22,000 sq. ft. space features a museum, restaurant, two story tavern, coffee house, gift shop and a "state of the art" Ballroom for corporate or private catered events. G.D.T.& M. creates a welcoming atmosphere for celebrating, remembering and honoring early American history, our founding fathers and their many contributions to our past and modern day society. Offering complimentary admission, the Museum at G.D.T.& M. will house documents from the Colonial and Revolutionary War-eras and will provide individuals of all ages with an opportunity to further appreciate our country's rich history. Additionally, Chef de Cuisine Gregory Krol has created a menu that reflects "old world" meets "new world" cuisine and features locally farmed and sustainable ingredients.

6115 Paseo del Norte
Carlsbad, CA 92011
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Californian

Hours of Operation:
The Museum

Monday- Saturday
11:00 a.m.- Until Close

Sunday
10:00 a.m.- Until Close


The Coffee House and Museum Bookstore

Monday- Tuesday
7:00 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.

Wednesday- Friday
7:00 a.m.- 6:00 p.m.

Sunday
8:00 a.m.- 8:00 p.m.


The Tavern

Monday- Saturday
11:00 a.m.- 9:00 p.m.
(Happy Hour- 3:00 p.m.- 6:00 p.m.)

Sunday
10:00 a.m.- 8:00 p.m.
(Sunday Brunch Menu- 10:00 a.m.- 2:30 p.m.)
(Happy Hour- All Day)



Cross Street:
Palomar Airport Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 918-2421

Website:
http://www.greendragontavernca.com/

Executive Chef:
Gregory Krol

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Green Dragon Tavern and Museum will be closed on Tuesday, October 18th for a private party. The dining room will still be available for regular dining to our guests.

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Join us for our 4th Annual Thanksgiving Buffet! Skip the hassle of cooking and cleaning and make a reservation today to enjoy a truly wonderful Thanksgiving feast in beautiful ambiance! Start your new tradition!
11:00am-5:00pm
$49.95 | $19.95 | 0-3 Free

Private Dining

The Green Dragon Tavern & Museum offers a beautiful private dining ballroom with full amenities such as LCD projectors and large screens, microphones, full A/V capabilities, and much more! GDT&M also includes beautiful semi-private dining rooms for any occasion.

Green Dragon Tavern & Museum Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (24)
Comfort Food (16)
Good for Groups (14)
See All
Fun (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Great Beer (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Cozy (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Business Meals (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Authentic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Romantic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
452 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

I love this place it is not only a great eatery and bar but a great place to learn our American history !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

I love this place more every time I go. First of all the farmhouse motif and whether to sit main dining, the fine bar or oooh! Maybe upstairs! Fun already! Great beer flight. So early America reflected in the ambiance and the menu: New England fave lobster roll done two ways, Maryland crab cakes, steak &fries and a succulent baked cod. Delicious! Pretzel bites with cheese sauce went well with that beer flight. Wanted to stay longer. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a great lunch of Lobster Rolls and a great birthday sundae. Our friend from Massachusetts loved the museum. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2017

OK to say that you've been there. Interesting theme. Early American history meets Gastro Pub.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Unique,, as this restaurant is also a history museum. I found the food yummy as did my husband, reasonable priced and excellent service. Enjoyed the educational museum too.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Food and service were very good. Noise level extremely irritating. Couldn't hear conversation at our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2017

The food did not live up to the cost.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

We absolutely loved it. Perfect place for a date with my husband. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Beautiful restaurant and museum! Ask for Matthew! He’s great and our service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We go here regularly and it's always great. Good food, nice staff, and cool atmosphere.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 24, 2017

First visit wasn't so stellar. I think we hit a bad night. I've been wanting to try this place, mostly due to the museum. The museum was nice, informative and the right size for a before dinner stroll. Best part, you can enjoy a beverage while strolling. However it took a while to get a beer at the bar, although it wasn't busy. Meals were slow to come to the table. It seemed like maybe the waitress forgot to put in our order. After checking on us, she spent some time at the order station giving us the impression she forgot us! It also seemed like they were short handed. There was one waitress and one of the bartenders was serving tables. We overheard the waitress mention both chefs had left within a month of each other and the menu was all new, so maybe they just need to work out some kinks with a newer stage. Overall it wasn't a bad experience and we will try it again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Had the lobster roll. It was delicious. My friend had the fig flatbread and beet salad, which she enjoyed. Our waitress was great.

It was fairly quiet when we came in to eat, but the noise level increases to a very loud level as more people came in for lunch, making it hard to hear each other . Could hardly wait to leave. Green Dragon needs to improve their acoustics with some sound proofing.

Would have liked to have dessert, but noise level made it difficult to stay for us, and we left.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Must be new staff. We have been here many times over the last couple years, and have always been pleased. Food was fine as always. Service was slower than usual, even though dining room was not full and there seemed to be plenty of staff. Hopefully the next visit will be a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 11, 2017

They had the Sunday all day appetizer specials and ordered a few dishes. Excellent food at reasonable cost.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Excellent ambiance and experience. Hey friendly and professional staff. Unique idea, a full size replica of the historic American Revolution era Green Dragon Inn. The lobster roll was damn close to authentic New England tastes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Never disappointing. Try something new each time we go andcALWAYS delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Interesting concept combining the museum and tavern. The food is good and the service was really good. Had the burger and fries. Both good.
The museum idea is less impressive. A room of copies of 1700-era documents and artist renditions of Sam Adams, Ben Franklin and others. Ok, not great and small. More modern than expected. Don't get me wrong, interesting but alone not worth the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2017

This place is the BOMB! The food quality is incredible. Best ribeye outside of a home cooked one. Have been here several times - first just for Happy Hour which has excellent selections and prices - then dinner. Have gone for dinner several times now, each time trying a new dish. Never disappointed. Excellent, friendly service as well.

Tags: Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We drove 30 miles for brunch because we had been so happy on previous visits. This was so disappointing. The food took forever was lukewarm at best and horribly overcooked. The calamari and clam strips were almost inedible and could not distinguish what was inside the burned coating. the omelet was hard and cold. The fish tacos were so greasy.
Our server was wonderfully charming so didn't want to complain on her shift.
I don't know if we'll dare to go back with so many other restaurants to choose from. I'll watch other OT comments and say "maybe"
The Wedge isn't served at brunch which might have saved the day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This place was awful. Zero ambiance. The slowest service ever. Forgot one entree. Tables that were seated after us got their food first. Half empty on a Friday night - no wonder. Mediocre food, not terrible but definitely not great. What a wierd joint. Too many other great places. Sorry we wasted a night of our trip here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We shared a delicious Mac & Cheese with lobster and the Seafood Trio.
The entrées were well prepared and the portions were large.
The New England Clam Chowder was also very flavorful.
We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

A really fun and educational setting. The service was very good and the food delicious. The one downside is that the spaces are 6-sided hard walled/floored boxes. The noise level gets exponentially loud as people fill the room and can be noisier than I like.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Second time we have been here and had a good experience on both occasions.
This time we were seated in the main restaurant rather than the bar area and, without any background music the ambience wasn't quite as good (as the bar area)
Also our waitress was a little over-attentive this time. Lovely young lady and it's probably better to be this than not attentive enough.
Still, it's somewhere we enjoy and will go back too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Absolutely thrilled with our experience! It was such a nice place to take my wife and her parents. We truly enjoyed the American museum and I can't say that enough. If for no other reason (which would be silly since the waiter was fantastic in every way, the food quality was above and beyond expectations and a value to say the least) please go see this unique pice of American history with a drink in hand as the museum is open to all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Date night for the hubby and I. We enjoy the relaxed feel of the bar area. People who want more quiet conversation can sit in the dining room. Great selection of local beer to compliment our delicious food. Clam chowder had plenty of clams. Connecticut lobster roll was yummy. Great side salad. Hubby had fish and chips. His food was good too. I kept stealing his fries. Excellent meal and great service!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great Customer Service, lots of smiling faces. Huge selection of food and Beer on Menu. Never rushed, laid back and casual.

Tags: Casual, Paleo Friendly, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food was mediocre and the tavern side is very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This place is awesome. Just like an old east coast tavern (although really large). The menu is varied and the drink prices are excellent. Happy hour all day on Sundays! The museum is fascinating and of great historical value.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We love Green Dragon and make a point of stopping in when we're in the area. We've yet to have a bad meal and our 3-year-old likes it. That's pretty much all we need to know to consider it a family favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Surprisingly good food and surroundings. For those East Coast transplants to California, it's like walking into a traditional Colonial tavern. In fact, if you are a American history buff, this location is built to look exactly like the famous Green Dragon Tavern in New England that served as the headquarters of the American Revolution.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

We were seated quickly, service was great. Food was excellent! Loved the décor, very comfortable.
Criticism - it was very loud and difficult to hear at times, little higher than usually would spend. Fun to people watch and spend time with friends.
Would go back again.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Great food and an impressive museum! I was pleasantly surprised!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

A member of our party of 5 had gluten dietary issues. The server was very helpful in assisting her to choose a meal to accommodate that issue & still provide her with a great tasting meal. He was also very attentive to any needs we had during the meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

I don't get to too often but always great food and a very welcoming environment.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We took my cousin and her husband from out of town and they loved it. We have been here before, but forgot what a nice selection and good food they had. We all enjoyed our entrees and the brussels sprouts were truly outstanding. Our server, Madison, was very friendly and helpful with making our dining selections. An overall great experience and we'll be back soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Walking thru the Museum was great educational moment for the kids after a great dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Not sure what to expect, but turned out fantastic! Wonderful service, delicious food at a reasonable price. Before and after dinner, the museum provided a great opportunity to talk with our kids about the history of our country.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fun, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

I was born in Rhode Island but parents were stationed elsewhere a year after so I have no memories of the East Coast. Fast forward to present day and I'm constantly seeking places for an authentic connection. This place is a gem and I felt that East Coast connection. Thank you. My siblings and I had a super time.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We found the restaurant because we have Passport cards. It was a great evening and we all will return. Bar service was great,cocktails were terrific! We choose an excellent wine, new to us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.