Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

About Green Dragon Tavern & Museum

Green Dragon Tavern & Museum is the latest major attraction to open in the Carlsbad, CA, area. The 22,000 sq. ft. space features a museum, restaurant, two story tavern, coffee house, gift shop and a "state of the art" Ballroom for corporate or private catered events. G.D.T.& M. creates a welcoming atmosphere for celebrating, remembering and honoring early American history, our founding fathers and their many contributions to our past and modern day society. Offering complimentary admission, the Museum at G.D.T.& M. will house documents from the Colonial and Revolutionary War-eras and will provide individuals of all ages with an opportunity to further appreciate our country's rich history. Additionally, Chef de Cuisine Gregory Krol has created a menu that reflects "old world" meets "new world" cuisine and features locally farmed and sustainable ingredients.

6115 Paseo del Norte
Carlsbad, CA 92011
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Californian

Hours of Operation:
The Museum

Monday- Saturday
11:00 a.m.- Until Close

Sunday
10:00 a.m.- Until Close


The Coffee House and Museum Bookstore

Monday- Tuesday
7:00 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.

Wednesday- Friday
7:00 a.m.- 6:00 p.m.

Sunday
8:00 a.m.- 8:00 p.m.


The Tavern

Monday- Saturday
11:00 a.m.- 9:00 p.m.
(Happy Hour- 3:00 p.m.- 6:00 p.m.)

Sunday
10:00 a.m.- 8:00 p.m.
(Sunday Brunch Menu- 10:00 a.m.- 2:30 p.m.)
(Happy Hour- All Day)


The Dining Room

Friday-Saturday
5:00 p.m.- 9:00 p.m.
(Happy Hour- 5:00 p.m.- 6:00 p.m.)

Sunday
5:00 p.m.- 8:00 p.m.
(Happy Hour- 5:00 p.m.- 8:00 p.m.)

Cross Street:
Palomar Airport Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 918-2421

Website:
http://www.greendragontavernca.com/

Executive Chef:
Gregory Krol

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Green Dragon Tavern and Museum will be closed on Tuesday, October 18th for a private party. The dining room will still be available for regular dining to our guests.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 7:30PM

Mon - Thu 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 6:30PM - 8:30PM

Fri 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM

Sat 11:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:00PM

Private Dining

The Green Dragon Tavern & Museum offers a beautiful private dining ballroom with full amenities such as LCD projectors and large screens, microphones, full A/V capabilities, and much more! GDT&M also includes beautiful semi-private dining rooms for any occasion.

Green Dragon Tavern & Museum Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (14)
Historic (12)
Fireplace (11)
See All
Fun (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Family Style (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Cozy (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Romantic (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Private Room (6)
Great Beer (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Live Sports (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Authentic (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
363 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

First time dining here won't be the last. Really good and very reasonably priced
Great location EZ ON EZ OFF freeway access.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We were surprised to find the lobster roll so good. We had dinner there about a year ago and did not find the food very good. We assume you now have a new chef and will try dinner there again and will order a different dish. Unfortunately the room is very noisy even though there were not many people there. The sound carries and there is not enough insulation to absorb the sound.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Sat in the bar. Lots of incredible noise from a table of 6 near by. Other that that it was OK.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Service has really gone downhill in the past couple years since this restaurant opened. Food has always been excellent, the quality is top notch. Wish they had more fish and vegetarian options. Service is slow and wait staff not very knowledgeable. Very young, and management has not learned how to train them correctly or order enough food, as there is usually something not available when we eat here. Sometimes it's our favorite beers, last time , On Easter Sunday,it was lobster. used to love this place with it's New England charm, felt like home. But we've become quite disappointed and probably won't be returning.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was our second time at this place. As always we enjoyed the food, but this time the service was really slow. We were going to leave because we waited almost an hour for our food to come. We even told our waitress that we are going to leave if we don't get our food for another 10 minutes. She apologized and said that they only have 2 chefs working in the kitchen. The manager came to our table to apologize as well. I told her that the reason we came back because the first time we came, we were impressed by how quick the service was and we enjoyed the food.

I was surprised though because the restaurant wasn't that busy and yet it took almost an hour before our order came. The first time we dine here, we were seated at the dining room, but this time, they seated us at the bar area. If we ever come back again, I guess I have to request to be seated at the dining room and not the bar area.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I love this place, the staff is really friendly, the food is tasty and the ambiance is great. We meet here to play games and it works really well for us for that purpose, but I'd also come here to meeting with family or friends, or on a date.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food and venue are great, my only complaint this time was we waited forever for our appetizer then it finally came and then 2 minutes later they brought out our food. It would have been nice to enjoy the pretzel sticks while they were still warm while we were waiting for our food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Casual, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Good pub food. Excellent friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I wanted to like this place given the reviews but didn't. The food was typical pub type. There are so many restaurants in Carlsbad that I won't be back. I can't really put my finger on it because the food was ok, but it was just that...ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Really enjoyed the food and family get together. The service was great and the space allowed us to enjoy the historical flavor of the restaurant and museum. It is a must for those who enjoy history.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Casual, Happy Hour, Historic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 29, 2017

WE actually go to the Green Dragon tavern often. Usually for a couple of drinks. But I have also been there numerous times for lunch or dinner--their food is excellent. Service is great atmosphere is great!! Hate to highly recommend as I don't want to see it get any more crowded---but in all fairness--highly recommended!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 26, 2017

What a great find! This is truly a Museum with artifacts of the American Revolution and the food and beverages are also great. Green Dragon Tavern is also on the passport dining program and open table in addition to a delicious menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Green dragon has never failed to please. Food is excellent and staff is pleasant

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We were very happy with our experience at the green Dragon. The menu looked great with lots of choices. The food was excellent as was the service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The Green Dragon Tavern has some of the best burgers in Carlsbad and a great beer selection.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Have been here frequently and always have a good dinner or lunch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Had excellent meals on st Patrick's day. Very loud but what was expected for such an occasion.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Always enjoy meeting my friends for lunch at this place. :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Really special place. Their appetizers were very reasonably priced and very tasty. Nobody was disappointed in our party of 5. After dinner, Mr. Bartlett, the owner of all the museum pieces gave us a special tour and special insight on all the history. A very nice and sociable man. Would go back anytime.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The Green Dragon tavern has some great food and great staff.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great find... Thanks Open Table! We had the clam chowder in a sourdough bowl, the South Western Crab Cake, and a wedge salad split for two for starters. We then ate the Chef's Pulled Pork Grilled Cheese, the Short Rib burger and the Green Dragon Turkey Club. All dishes were delicious and well cooked. Cocktails were very tasty and the service was impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Loved getting a little history after our meal. The restaurant decor is outstanding! Colonialism everywhere, I felt as if I were in one of their homes having my dinner! The food looks as good as it smells. I had the short run and it was great!! I highly recommend you visit and try for yourself

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Great food. Try the clam chowder! It is fantastic!

Tags: Great Beer, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 21, 2017

My husband and I went to Sunday brunch once and it was good so I recommended it when several of my friends wanted to go to lunch. First of all, the noise level is extremely high so hard to have a conversation.
Two of us ordered the fish and fries. The fish was so dry and over cooked neither of us ate ours. The fries were excellent. By the time the waitress come by to see how our food was the other two in our party had finished their meals. So when she asked if we wanted something else, we said no, not at this point.
They did take it off the bill, but this is a real pet peeve of mine when a waitress does not come back soon after serving the food to see how things are. When things aren't good who wants to sit there not eating while everyone else is eating? Who also wants another meal brought after everyone else is done?
Waitresses need to understand this and make it a point to come back to the table to make sure all is well soon after being served!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 20, 2017

service was fantastic, they really pamper you with your needs and take their time out to explain each and every detail about the restaurant and museum. worth seeing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It seems bit misplaced trying to be a New England or East Coast Tavern on the West Coast. The Museum piece was interesting but not a must see. Food, service, value, and the ambience was just so-so. Might be an OK place to watch a sports event like baseball or football as there are plenty of TV's for viewing. However, we weren't impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

First time dining here. Unique decor & menu for the area. Didn't get to visit the on-site museum, but the history of the place is intriguing. Really enjoyed the clam chowder and the Connecticut lobster roll, but my husband was disappointed in the fish & chips. Three different areas of dining - traditional dining room, main bar area, and upstairs. We chose upstairs and had a pleasant experience. Tables were spaced far enough apart you had a little privacy. Would like to return to try something different from the menu.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good food great beer awesome time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Good Chowder!

Tags: Live Sports, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Third time guest. Party of four for lunch.Met with out-of-town relatives who chose the venue as they stayed at a hotel close by. The tavern is nicely appointed, but a bit too noisy for everyone to hear one another well, particularly for one member, my 87-year old mother with hearing loss. Our waiter was pleasant, gave us lots of time to decide on orders as we were so caught up with visiting. However, he did not come by for simple things like refilling water. The food was better last year when I ordered the same salad. Seems they skimped a bit on the very tiny chunks of chicken. Lovely concept overall, the museum. Friendly hostesses!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Food was very good when it finally arrived. Server was courteous and attentive, but main course took far tool long to arrive following appetizer. The museum is worth the trip.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We have a gaming group that meets here, they allow us to sit upstairs in a closed-off section so that we don't bother anyone or have too much background noise. Works great, love the food and the beer selection and the staff is very friendly!

Tags: Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Accommodating staff and pleasantly unique environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The place is good, after dinner you could go and see the museum which is kind of interesting. The food was good as well. My favorite is the brussels sprouts appetizer. The price is reasonable. The service is excellent!

Tags: Casual, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Historic, Family Style, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Met friends for dinner. We arrived ahead of our reservation and were seated promptly. Our waiter was extremely polite and helpful and very attentive. The food was excellent. The brussel sprouts and calamari appetizers were great. My short rib burger, ordered med-rare, was med-well, but was still juicy and tasty. It gets rather noisy on the bar side so is difficult to have conversations across the table. They have a separate dining area that may be quieter. They also have an upstairs area however my experience is that you feel a bit forgotten about up there. Overall, this is a decent place, service is great, food is excellent, price is about average for the area.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

They did not disappoint! Tasty warm lobster roll (yum), short ribs, pastrami burger all were great. I had the apricot rum punch and it was delicious and yes, definitely had a punch. Dessert was warm apple pie with salt caramel ice cream and it was gone in 10 seconds. Fun place and atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Always an incredible experience with great customer service and food is exceptional.

Hector was our server and as usual was great.

Brunch on Sunday with happy hour offered all day Sunday with food and beverage deals. The champagne they use is he best in North County and for $10 bottomless mimosas you can't beat this. They also have $5 huge Bloody Mary.

Try the wings, the Brussel Sprouts, Lobster Roll with Wedge salad on the side....

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Historic, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Salads were tasty and the service was outstanding by Ashley. Friendly, courteous and nicely paced. Wonderful experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Went looking for some rainy day comfort food. Dishes looked good on paper but were bland. I needed to put salt on the crab cakes to get any flavor.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We keep going back because the food is very good but the service is poor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.