Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Fri, 5/25
Time
7:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 10 times today

Green Dragon Tavern & Museum

4.2
524 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Bar Seating
  • Great for Lunch
Green Dragon Tavern & Museum is the latest major attraction to open in the Carlsbad, CA, area. The 22,000 sq. ft. space features a museum, restaurant, two story tavern, coffee house, gift shop and a "state of the art" Ballroom for corporate or private catered events. G.D.T.& M. creates a welcoming atmosphere for celebrating, remembering and honoring early American history, our founding fathers and their many contributions to our past and modern day society. Offering complimentary admission, the Museum at G.D.T.& M. will house documents from the Colonial and Revolutionary War-eras and will provide individuals of all ages with an opportunity to further appreciate our country's rich history. Additionally, Chef de Cuisine Gregory Krol has created a menu that reflects "old world" meets "new world" cuisine and features locally farmed and sustainable ingredients.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Seafood, Californian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
The Museum

Monday- Saturday
11:00 a.m.- Until Close

Sunday
10:00 a.m.- Until Close


The Coffee House and Museum Bookstore

Monday- Tuesday
7:00 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.

Wednesday- Friday
7:00 a.m.- 6:00 p.m.

Sunday
8:00 a.m.- 8:00 p.m.


The Tavern

Monday- Saturday
11:00 a.m.- 9:00 p.m.
(Happy Hour- 3:00 p.m.- 6:00 p.m.)

Sunday
10:00 a.m.- 8:00 p.m.
(Sunday Brunch Menu- 10:00 a.m.- 2:30 p.m.)
(Happy Hour- All Day)



icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(760) 918-2421
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Gregory Krol
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Palomar Airport Road
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
The Green Dragon Tavern and Museum will be closed on Tuesday, October 18th for a private party. The dining room will still be available for regular dining to our guests.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Green Dragon Tavern & Museum offers a beautiful private dining ballroom with full amenities such as LCD projectors and large screens, microphones, full A/V capabilities, and much more! GDT&M also includes beautiful semi-private dining rooms for any occasion.

View Private Dining Details
What 524 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.3
service
4.2
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Very cool and unexpected! The Green Dragon is both a bar/restaurant and a small Revolutionary War museum; a replica of the Green Dragon Tavern where the founding fathers met. The menu is simple and is very tasty, think New England comfort food with a gourmet touch. The tavern also serves as a sports bar and is a great place to catch a game.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2018

We enjoy the Green Dragon & continue to try out more dishes. The chicken dinner was good, but the fingerling potatoes that it comes with were plain (and boring). They might want to fix them up before we order it again. The Ahi tuna salad tasted great & was sized right for one person's dinner-- I'd order it again. They close at 9PM which is still a bit of a shock.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Pleasantly surprised. I searched and succeeded. This place was great. 4 of us all enjoyed our meals. New England Clam Chowder was great. My CONN Lobster Roll was hot and was swimming in butter just as it should have been...definitely don't order if you're trying to watch your figure. French Dip and Baked Cod ordered by my colleagues - both fabulous choices. Don't pass this place up and don't let the Museum throw you!! It's a cute little place. Service is great. Our waiter was lovely and very helpful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mothers Day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Good selection of beers and tasty food. The decor is styled after the Revolutionary War.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and service we received. Happy hour was just right, with good house wines and tasty appetizers for our party of seven. Being from "out of town" (further south in SD County), we really didn't know any Carlsbad restaurants. Looks like mostly fast food, chains, or expensive options in this town. The Green Dragon fit the bill for us and we look forward to our next visit when we are in the neighborhood again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

The Short ribs & Seared scallops were excellent. We'll be back, but will arrive before 8:45 PM (on a Friday) since we were told that was last call for food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

It was interesting to be in the former Hadley’s store! The Museum was interesting and our lunch was very good. It was a very enjoyable stop on our way home from San Diego to Los Angeles.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

We come here all the time. The restaurant section is much quieter than the bar and better for evening dinners with friends. But the bar is lively and the Happy Hour is amazing.

The food is varied and fresh and beautifully prepared. You are greeted by friendly people and we leave feeling like we were well taken care of. A great neighborhood place but also a destination place for the museum and then the wonderful meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Service was friendly and timely and the food was excellent. Great pub fare.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We meet here on a regular basis. The food is great, the beer is good, and the staff is always nice.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 17, 2018

On vacation, we always have one meal here to share with friends. A tour of the museum is a must for history buffs.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 15, 2018

This restaurant was advertised as kid friendly and we went for Sunday brunch. There was no breakfast menu for children, the overall menu was very limited, there were no other children in the restaurant, and the food and service were marginal. I would not recommend this restaurant and it should not be listed as good for children. Very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Sterile feel, good was not creative, however the steak frites was good. The tomato basil soup was more like thick marinara sauce.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The food was excellent. There was a great variety of choices and everyone in our party was very happy with their choices. The service was excellent and the servers were knowledgeable and very helpful when it came to making decisions. We actually ate there twice in our weekend trip to Carlsbad it was so good.
They also had a great selection albeit small of beers and I though not a beer drinker had a great beer based on the waiter's recommendation. The soups and salads were also excellent. I had the three item seafood grill and it was beyond excellent. The ribeye was perfect and the children menu really did well for our four year old granddaughter. They gave me an unbelievable ice cream topped brownie for my birthday.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The lobster rolls were great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great food and great atmosphere highly recommend we come often for dinner or lunch

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Great venue and close to freeway. Food is excellent and service was prompt.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The menu was extremely limited for Easter and it took an hour to get a limited hamburger. Very disappointing! No excuse !

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 1, 2018

It was Easter Sunday, but the service from the kitchen was extremely slow. Our waitress did the best she could, but when everyone is hungry and there is almost a thirty minute + lag from soup to lunch it is very disappointing.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

It was our first visit. Easter Sunday. Chosen in part for menu options only to learn upon being seated that regular menu wasn’t being offered. Disappointed with limited options as it wasn’t mentioned on web site. Our waitress however spoke with manager and we did receive a 10% discount. What we had was very good (some food allergies limited choices) ... stuck with the soup for one of the offerings. Hopefully we will get to visit again and sample the other options.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Had Easter Brunch in the lounge. We were seated at a table next to the fire. The ambience was very rustic, warm and comfortable. The service was excellent and the drinks were good. We each ordered eggs benedict and it was a little on the cool side, but tasty and edible. I will definitely go back again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Generally service in the past has been spotty at best. This time it was excellent. We ate in the bar area; a bit noisy. Food was tasty and came out hot (one of our requirements).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Great food and great portions, especially on the lobster. Went for brunch and definitely want to go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Good food but certainly not special other than the New England-inspired dishes including lobster roll, baked cod and clam strips. Clam strips were just a fair imitation of what you get in New England, but the other 2 dishes were very good. It's a fun place to visit, although a little weird to find a museum and restaurant combined. Don't let that stop you because the exhibits were very well done and the owner is doing a service to provide such a facility to furthering our knowledge of how this country got started.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

The whole family loved it. Drinks, dinner, and learned some things about the American revolution that I never knew! We'll be back next time we're in town

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We always enjoy coming here. We have never had a bad menu offering. The Brussels sprouts are amazing and, actually, everything is good...just wish they had spinach on some of the dishes.

This time it took a while to get our drinks, though. Waiter was very busy and finally showed after 10 minutes. But he was very nice so all ok.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Always love going there. It’s our go to spot.
I’ve never had anything that I didn’t like.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Our family loves Green Dragon. It is a local gem. Great menu, excellent service and fun for all ages. My boys are 7 and 8 and love the options. Restrooms are always impeccable as well!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

I’d been here before, but my friends had not. They enjoyed it very much, but thought it too loud.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

The food is always great; however, my ribeye was cooked a little more than I like (I like my steak EXTREMELY rare. I said something about it and the waiter took it back to the kitchen and the chef cooked another one for me which came out perfectly! 😊

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

My wife and I went there for our anniversary dinner. The food was good. The first time they brought out our calamari they took it to the wrong table. Then asked if we wanted it after we saw someone take a piece. They did bring us a fresh basket. The entrees were flavorful. The service was slow. If we go again we would order the entree and second drinks at the same time as we ordered our appetizer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Great fun nice atmosphere and so fun to visit the museum. It feels like a trip to the east coast.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Although the Sunday "brunch menu" is limited, they do have bottomless mimosas for $10, happy hour items all day, and the breakfast meals we all ate were delicious. The sausage links are AMAZING!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

We continue to love coming here. The menu is varied and the food is very good. The Brussels sprouts app is AMAZING....Just a fun spot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Valentine Dinner with my husband! Absolutely a perfect choice for an exquisite dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Was our first time and the occasion was Valentine’s Day. Wasn’t sure what the experience was truly going to be but liked the website and menu enough to make a reservation. Staff was friendly, attentive but not overly attentive. Food portions were large, flavor was great and cooked and served in a timely manner. Prices are reasonable .
Didn’t get a chance to visit the museum due to love was in the air ! Will definitely be back and would recommend the Green Dragon

Steve

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Food was ok. Wine selection was really good. I believe the appetizers were the best part

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The food was great! The menu isn't to large, so it's not overwhelming to make a choice. Love the brussel sprouts! Great combination of sweet and savory with the bacon and maple syrup on them. Overall it was a great experience. Will definitely be back in the future.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We were excited to celebrate Valentines as a family and arrived on time for our reservation. The restaurant wasn't crowded and didn't appear too busy at 6:30. Hostess was very courteous and accommodating and settled us into a table of our choice. The waiter arrived frazzled and disgruntled . He reluctantly took our order and seemed to be distracted by other tables. Our calamari app arrived plopped in the middle of the table without side plates which we had to ask for. We had ordered a Caesar salad to share which didn't arrive before dinner. As the waitstaff was arriving with our dinners the salad slipped off her large serving tray and dropped to the ground behind me. No big deal things happen, but what irked me was that she barely apologized and served our entrees to us haphazardly and again plopping the dishes down. My bone in rib eye was served without a steak knife and all of our entrees were lukewarm. Again I had to ask for steak knife. The waiter did arrive with a new Caesar salad that was a huge $12 mess of romaine with a Costco type bottled dressing. For the price the quality of the food was subpar and the overall dining experience was disappointing and uncomfortable. The wait staff didn't offer to accommodate us in anyway for the inconvenience and poor dining experience. Frankly, I don't think the staff had a clue about about giving a customer a good dining experience.
We will not be back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14

Tweets by Green Dragon Tavern & Museum