Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

About Green Dragon Tavern & Museum

Green Dragon Tavern & Museum is the latest major attraction to open in the Carlsbad, CA, area. The 22,000 sq. ft. space features a museum, restaurant, two story tavern, coffee house, gift shop and a "state of the art" Ballroom for corporate or private catered events. G.D.T.& M. creates a welcoming atmosphere for celebrating, remembering and honoring early American history, our founding fathers and their many contributions to our past and modern day society. Offering complimentary admission, the Museum at G.D.T.& M. will house documents from the Colonial and Revolutionary War-eras and will provide individuals of all ages with an opportunity to further appreciate our country's rich history. Additionally, Chef de Cuisine Gregory Krol has created a menu that reflects "old world" meets "new world" cuisine and features locally farmed and sustainable ingredients.

6115 Paseo del Norte
Carlsbad, CA 92011
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Californian

Hours of Operation:
The Museum

Monday- Saturday
11:00 a.m.- Until Close

Sunday
10:00 a.m.- Until Close


The Coffee House and Museum Bookstore

Monday- Tuesday
7:00 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.

Wednesday- Friday
7:00 a.m.- 6:00 p.m.

Sunday
8:00 a.m.- 8:00 p.m.


The Tavern

Monday- Saturday
11:00 a.m.- 9:00 p.m.
(Happy Hour- 3:00 p.m.- 6:00 p.m.)

Sunday
10:00 a.m.- 8:00 p.m.
(Sunday Brunch Menu- 10:00 a.m.- 2:30 p.m.)
(Happy Hour- All Day)


The Dining Room

Friday-Saturday
5:00 p.m.- 9:00 p.m.
(Happy Hour- 5:00 p.m.- 6:00 p.m.)

Sunday
5:00 p.m.- 8:00 p.m.
(Happy Hour- 5:00 p.m.- 8:00 p.m.)

Cross Street:
Palomar Airport Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 918-2421

Website:
http://www.greendragontavernca.com/

Executive Chef:
Gregory Krol

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Green Dragon Tavern and Museum will be closed on Tuesday, October 18th for a private party. The dining room will still be available for regular dining to our guests.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 7:30PM

Mon - Thu 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 6:30PM - 8:30PM

Fri 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM

Sat 11:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:00PM

Private Dining

The Green Dragon Tavern & Museum offers a beautiful private dining ballroom with full amenities such as LCD projectors and large screens, microphones, full A/V capabilities, and much more! GDT&M also includes beautiful semi-private dining rooms for any occasion.

Green Dragon Tavern & Museum Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (27)
Lunch (15)
Historic (12)
See All
ChildFriendly (12)
Fun (12)
HappyHour (11)
SpecialOccasions (11)
Groups (11)
NeighborhoodGem (11)
BusinessMeals (10)
Fireplace (9)
GoodForDates (9)
ComfortFood (9)
Birthdays (8)
FamilyStyle (8)
SundayLunch (8)
GreatBeer (7)
QuickBite (7)
Anniversaries (7)
QuietConversation (6)
Brunch (6)
BarSeating (5)
Cozy (5)
Foodies (5)
Healthy (5)
Authentic (4)
CreativeCuisine (3)
Romance (3)
PrePostTheatre (3)
WorthTheDrive (3)
PrivateRoom (3)
LocalIngredients (2)
TastingMenu (2)
GlutenFree (2)
VibrantBarScene (2)
Seasonal (2)
LiveSports (2)
NotableWineList (2)
PaleoFriendly (1)
OpenKitchen (1)
MolecularGastronomy (1)
PeopleWatching (1)
ScenicView (1)
DisabledAccess (1)
AfternoonTea (1)
HandcraftedCocktails (1)
OutstandingValue (1)
AfternoonCoffee (1)
Sort By:
S
325 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Food is usually good and presented attractively. The historic bar area was quite busy, and there were two special events occurring in other areas, but not many customers in the dining area. We felt that service in the main dining area could have been more attentive.

Minor issues this visit included receiving no rolls until they were requested, one full salad was served instead of half-size as ordered, and a beer refill request not fulfilled until our server was reminded, then we were charged for two refills.

This was a Saturday evening. We have dined here on Fridays previously, and our waitress on those occasions covered the whole room much more efficiently than the group of young men who were working on Saturday.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Nice, pleasant dinner. Philly cheesesteak and chicken sandwich were both very good.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

I took my friend, who lives in New England, and he loved the museum attached to the restaurant. It was a little taste of his heritage that he was able to enjoy while visiting Southern California. It was really nice to read about our history. In fact, I learned that Paul Revere started Revereware. Here I thought a company was just using Revere's name this whole time!
Food was great and felt very authentic.

~Cindy

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Authentic, Casual, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I took my mom to The Green Dragon Tavern for a late Mother's Day celebration. We both enjoyed it immensely. She ordered a club sandwich with sweet potato fries. They were the best sweet potato fries either of us have ever tasted! Afterwards, we perused the museum, which consists of memorabilia from the Mayflower - Revolutionary War era. The owner happened to be there, so he gave us some personal attention, which was especially nice.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Food was OK. Not bad, but nothing memorable. Kitchen took way too long. It's was Father's Day and the place was full. They could have planned better. The location and building are beautiful. If you can get the restaurant to match, you'd have a winner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The place was not very busy but It took them 1.5 hours to get our meal. The salmon was good but it was to come with rice pilaf and showed up with potatoes. The salmon was tasty and they did comp our meal . Was not very happy for being the first time I had ever eaten there, don't think I will go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The ambiance is nice, and the quality of the food was very good. I wished for my Crab Benedict, which were very good, I wouldn't have to search with a magnifying glass to find my Hollandaise sauce.....

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

It was a good experience. The food took quite a while to come out and was pretty good. The lobster was over cooked a bit on the Benedict but the rest of the food tasted great. They were a little awkward with my 3.5 year old twins and they were well behaved but didn't like that they were mostly ignored when they spoke to the server.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Staff was very helpful and friendly. Wide food selection and everything we ordered was great! I loved the sangria the best!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The staff at this restaurant is great. I go here regularly with a group of friends and they always bend over backwards to accommodate us. It is also one of the most interesting places in Carlsbad, California.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Second time visiting the Green Dragon Tavern. Both were business related. They have a very nice meeting facility for up to 100 people. Coffee Shop is separate area but connected to the Museum and Restaurant. Overall a great find as a meeting place for groups small and large.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Casual, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 5, 2017

So disappointed with the Green Dragon. I probably should have left when the hostess couldn't recommend anything on the menu. Apparently she has never dined or been given a meal. It was also dead quiet with only 5 parties in the restaurant. I ordered the Lobster Roll because of reviews. There was mostly bread and a medium amount of lobster. My husband had the Shrimp/scallop risotto. The risotto was undercooked and crunchy. Very bland. Wish it was a better experience. We just moved to the neighborhood and would have loved to be a regular.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great place for drinks with friends. Good supply of beers on tap. Try the clam chowder in a bread bowl. It's delicious.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 31, 2017

I was looking for a place to meet someone where we were trying to stay near to the interstate, and this place was easy on and easy off. it is a Tavern. You would expect Tavern type food which is what you get. That said, the salad was very good, the chowder good, but very small portions, but the place had lots to chose from . I would go back.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Who's a great spot on vacation good time learning a little in the museum

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The Green Dragon is a great place for beer and comfort food in Carlsbad.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The vegetables were well prepared.
The salmon was practically cremated.
The short ribs were average and the risotto was way overdone & mush-like.
The scallops were nicely done but a serving was only 3.
The crab cakes (appetizer) were mushy and fell apart like globs of mashed potatoes.
Service, wine list, and ambiance were great. Maybe happy hour would be ok??

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Second time here and this time around is a totally different experience. Julie the manager and Mathtew was awesome. Matthew was very attentive and have knowledge of menu. Will definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We've been to Green Dragon twice. Once a couple of years ago for a few beers on a Saturday afternoon. We also had their cold lobster roll. Expensive, but tons of lobster and very good. We went for the Mother's Day brunch buffet last Sunday, and it was delicious! The wait staff was friendly and prompt (with champagne 😊) There was literally nothing that wasn't excellent, from the bacon to the Spring frittata, to the prime rib and all the sides. Worth the $55 and $10 bottomless champagne. If you like history and great food and drink, check this place out. It's not cheap, but it's a delightful experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great Beer, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything was pretty good. only complaint was the French toastwas soggy, and when we were getting it, one of the employees pretty much stood right on top of my Girfriend so he could replace the food. He should have waited until she moved. it was awkward and unprofessional. Other than that everything was good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Historic, Authentic, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for the first time on Mother's Day and the service and food was wonderful. Very neat museum and full bar area. Mother's Day brunch was expensive but I'm sure the regular lunch and dinner dining is in line. We'll be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The chicken sandwich was just ok. The fries weren't hot. My husband ordered the shepherd's pie which tasted much better. I would go back and probably try one of their east coast specialties and give it one more try. The service was great.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 7, 2017

It was a last minute birthday reservation after leaving the Outlets. Based on reviews and the theme of the restaurant, I was able to secure the reservation within 20min.

Server was great, attentive and definitely catered to our needs. He also greeted us with a genuine interest of my wife's birthday.

I highly recommend the menu. With a wonderful choice of East Coast favorites, along with some Americana, it was an easy choice to find entrees for our palettes.

Enjoy

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 4, 2017

EZ on EZ off freeway access for driving N to S for lunch. Interesting historical location and excellent service.
The enormous 1/2 wedge salad at $5 can't be beat and other terrific reasonable menu items.
The homemade marshmallow S'more's was outstanding and other desserts looked awesome.
Bring a group to share deliciousness. We're coming back when heading N or S or Cadillac service in Carlsbad with their shuttle to and from.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We want to thank the staff for allowing us to have such a leisure lunch and long conversational stay while our NY guest waited for her Uber.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Always a pleasure to meet friends here, great menu, food & service, love walking around the museum, only complaint is the noisy bar with no curtains or rug makes conversation a bit difficult so people talk louder just like in a tavern!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Healthy, Family Style, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Loved everything :) fun relaxing night!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Nice ambiance. The waiter was attentive, offered suggestions, made adjustments to the sides that came with the meals ans was funny. We had an appetizer, main courses were salads, sandwiches and seafood. Everything was very good. We had alcoholic drinks, hot tea and water. Hot tea came with several different options.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 27, 2017

First time dining here won't be the last. Really good and very reasonably priced
Great location EZ ON EZ OFF freeway access.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We were surprised to find the lobster roll so good. We had dinner there about a year ago and did not find the food very good. We assume you now have a new chef and will try dinner there again and will order a different dish. Unfortunately the room is very noisy even though there were not many people there. The sound carries and there is not enough insulation to absorb the sound.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Sat in the bar. Lots of incredible noise from a table of 6 near by. Other that that it was OK.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Service has really gone downhill in the past couple years since this restaurant opened. Food has always been excellent, the quality is top notch. Wish they had more fish and vegetarian options. Service is slow and wait staff not very knowledgeable. Very young, and management has not learned how to train them correctly or order enough food, as there is usually something not available when we eat here. Sometimes it's our favorite beers, last time , On Easter Sunday,it was lobster. used to love this place with it's New England charm, felt like home. But we've become quite disappointed and probably won't be returning.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was our second time at this place. As always we enjoyed the food, but this time the service was really slow. We were going to leave because we waited almost an hour for our food to come. We even told our waitress that we are going to leave if we don't get our food for another 10 minutes. She apologized and said that they only have 2 chefs working in the kitchen. The manager came to our table to apologize as well. I told her that the reason we came back because the first time we came, we were impressed by how quick the service was and we enjoyed the food.

I was surprised though because the restaurant wasn't that busy and yet it took almost an hour before our order came. The first time we dine here, we were seated at the dining room, but this time, they seated us at the bar area. If we ever come back again, I guess I have to request to be seated at the dining room and not the bar area.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I love this place, the staff is really friendly, the food is tasty and the ambiance is great. We meet here to play games and it works really well for us for that purpose, but I'd also come here to meeting with family or friends, or on a date.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Good pub food. Excellent friendly service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I wanted to like this place given the reviews but didn't. The food was typical pub type. There are so many restaurants in Carlsbad that I won't be back. I can't really put my finger on it because the food was ok, but it was just that...ok.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Really enjoyed the food and family get together. The service was great and the space allowed us to enjoy the historical flavor of the restaurant and museum. It is a must for those who enjoy history.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Casual, Happy Hour, Historic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 29, 2017

WE actually go to the Green Dragon tavern often. Usually for a couple of drinks. But I have also been there numerous times for lunch or dinner--their food is excellent. Service is great atmosphere is great!! Hate to highly recommend as I don't want to see it get any more crowded---but in all fairness--highly recommended!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 26, 2017

What a great find! This is truly a Museum with artifacts of the American Revolution and the food and beverages are also great. Green Dragon Tavern is also on the passport dining program and open table in addition to a delicious menu.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We were very happy with our experience at the green Dragon. The menu looked great with lots of choices. The food was excellent as was the service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.