About Green Dragon Tavern & Museum

6115 Paseo del Norte
Carlsbad, CA 92011
View Larger Map

Green Dragon Tavern & Museum is the latest major attraction to open in the Carlsbad, CA, area. The 22,000 sq. ft. space features a museum, restaurant, two story tavern, coffee house, gift shop and a "state of the art" Ballroom for corporate or private catered events. G.D.T.& M. creates a welcoming atmosphere for celebrating, remembering and honoring early American history, our founding fathers and their many contributions to our past and modern day society. Offering complimentary admission, the Museum at G.D.T.& M. will house documents from the Colonial and Revolutionary War-eras and will provide individuals of all ages with an opportunity to further appreciate our country's rich history. Additionally, Chef de Cuisine Gregory Krol has created a menu that reflects "old world" meets "new world" cuisine and features locally farmed and sustainable ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Californian

Hours of Operation:
The Museum

Monday- Saturday
11:00 a.m.- Until Close

Sunday
10:00 a.m.- Until Close


The Coffee House and Museum Bookstore

Monday- Tuesday
7:00 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.

Wednesday- Friday
7:00 a.m.- 6:00 p.m.

Sunday
8:00 a.m.- 8:00 p.m.


The Tavern

Monday- Saturday
11:00 a.m.- 9:00 p.m.
(Happy Hour- 3:00 p.m.- 6:00 p.m.)

Sunday
10:00 a.m.- 8:00 p.m.
(Sunday Brunch Menu- 10:00 a.m.- 2:30 p.m.)
(Happy Hour- All Day)


The Dining Room

Friday-Saturday
5:00 p.m.- 9:00 p.m.
(Happy Hour- 5:00 p.m.- 6:00 p.m.)

Sunday
5:00 p.m.- 8:00 p.m.
(Happy Hour- 5:00 p.m.- 8:00 p.m.)

Cross Street:
Palomar Airport Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 918-2421

Website:
http://www.greendragontavernca.com/

Executive Chef:
Gregory Krol

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Green Dragon Tavern and Museum will be closed on Tuesday, October 18th for a private party. The dining room will still be available for regular dining to our guests.

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Bring your special someone in for a romantic dinner.
Champagne poached pear salad- toasted almonds, shaved fennel, cranberry pear vinaigrette, Maytag blue cheese & Surf and turf- 5 oz filet, 3 oz crab cake, asparagus, truffle whipped potatoes, béarnaise sauce & Chocolate espresso mousse

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 7:30PM

Mon - Thu 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 6:30PM - 8:30PM

Fri 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM

Sat 11:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:00PM

Private Dining

The Green Dragon Tavern & Museum offers a beautiful private dining ballroom with full amenities such as LCD projectors and large screens, microphones, full A/V capabilities, and much more! GDT&M also includes beautiful semi-private dining rooms for any occasion.

Green Dragon Tavern & Museum Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (27)
Comfort Food (23)
Casual (21)
See All
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Cozy (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Authentic (13)
Fireplace (12)
Romantic (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Family Style (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Fun (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Business Meals (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great Beer (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Live Sports (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Healthy (5)
Private Room (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
324 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We keep going back because the food is v ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We keep going back because the food is very good but the service is poor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We had a great leisurely lunch in front ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We had a great leisurely lunch in front of the fireplace....everyone wanted their meal. Great bourbon speciality drinks!

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was visiting my daughter and grandson ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I was visiting my daughter and grandson for the week and looking for a nice place to take them that would be "different" - not like the standard Chili's or Fridays that we usually attend with a 5 year old. The Green Dragon Tavern was a wonderful choice. The staff were very attentive and cheerful. The atmosphere was relaxing but could also be a nice dressy date night place. Food was creative and well prepared. I would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall great experience! The brussel sr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Overall great experience! The brussel srpouts, steak and short ribs were delicious!

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

This is my third trip to this restaurant ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is my third trip to this restaurant - a couple times with my husband and with girlfriends. I have recommended this restaurant to a couple people. Food is great, service is great, but especially love the unique, historic decor. As a Colonial WIlliamsburg supporter this is the only place I know of in San Diego that comes close to that traditional, historic atmosphere. Highly recommend this great place and it has become a favorite.

Tags: , Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Private Room, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Seasonal, People Watching, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Live Sports, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant, cool northeast US feel ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great restaurant, cool northeast US feel. The atmosphere was pretty relaxed. Food was your typical Bostonian cuisine, but nice change of pace for the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was mediocre and overpriced. I thou ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was mediocre and overpriced. I thought the museum and overall architecture would be better. Just a sterile colonial style building. Pot pie was not good. My soup was barely warm. Wedge salad was good and my son enjoyed his lobster roll. I would not go back though. I overheard a server actually saying dessert was bad. Too many other great places in the village.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was fine but overpriced, service ju ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was fine but overpriced, service just ok, historical ambiance interesting.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was pretty ho hum but we didn't tr ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Food was pretty ho hum but we didn't try anything particularly adventurous. I was expecting something a bit more rustic. The inside and the exhibits all seemed just a bit sterile. No complaints but nothing that makes me can't wait to get back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Food and service was petty mediocre. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Food and service was petty mediocre. The place is extremely loud.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

The museum was moderately interesting. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The museum was moderately interesting. But it is free so skip eating here and just see the museum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Green Dragon is a great piece of New Eng ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Green Dragon is a great piece of New England in Carlsbad. If you like New England cuisine with a 'foodie' twist you will like the Green Dragon.

Tags: Live Sports, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is real fav for me! It's always g ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 16, 2016

This is real fav for me! It's always good and a greta place to meet friends.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a pleasant experience but too lou ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 16, 2016

It was a pleasant experience but too loud for us. The person at the table behind us was shouting to be heard the entire time we were there...not fun. The menu was varied with items you don't find everywhere. The calamari appetizer was fantastic. Beer prices are outstanding.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

If you are looking for a good restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

If you are looking for a good restaurant close to Legoland, this is it. We rolled in with the kiddos in tow (ages 2.5 and 5) and while it's not a 'kid place,' they were so nice and accommodating. We got the clam chowder, lobster rolls and Cesar salad and it was all AWESOME. Hector was our waiter and went way above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. Highly recommend this great place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Charming spot. I chose it knowing my fri ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Charming spot. I chose it knowing my friends love history, just as I do. The food, ambiance, and service were excellent. Make sure you stop to read some of the documents on the walls, as well as the museum. I look forward to stopping by the coffee shop next time I'm in the area.

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Green Dragon has really good food, good ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Green Dragon has really good food, good portions and a nice setting. Very casual but you could dress up here as well. A nice tavern feel to it. Their fish and fries are great and pot pie is really good. Huge sandwiches as well along with french fries to die for. I highly recommend this place. The staff are all friendly and very accomodating. There is also ample parking. Visit the museum, it is not large but an interesting history lesson.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Business Meals, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, , Fun, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Historic, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always. The volume was higher ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Great as always. The volume was higher than normal because of a baby crying but other than that it was solid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

clam chowder served in a wonderful hard ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on November 25, 2016

clam chowder served in a wonderful hard crusted bread bowl was tasty, creamy and thick...could have had a refill but on to more appetizers. The brussel sprouts were cooked to perfection and topped with just a small amount of maple syrup. We felt it added just the right flavor. Crab cakes are a favorite as theirs are moist and full of crab not bread crumb filler! The chili calamari was a new dish for us and the chili sauce had just the right amount of "kick"....definately will order again. During happy hour they offer wine very inexpensive and we were pleasantly surprised at the bouquet and roundness which was very refreshing. Thumbs up for great service and clean surroundings along with delicious food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We took my parents there for the Thanksg ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We took my parents there for the Thanksgiving buffet and had a wonderful experience. The food was tasty (and plentiful), the cocktails were well-made, and most of all, the staff was exemplary. We acknowledge that working on a holiday is never easy, but all the staff were gracious, pleasant and efficient and they made our holiday dinner a lovely experience. We are looking forward to going back at a non-holiday time to try their regular menu and spend more time with in the museum section of the establishment.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Comfort Food, Authentic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for Thanksgiving this year. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went here for Thanksgiving this year. GREAT choice! There was an outstanding buffet with choices for everyone and the food was very, very good. Did not taste like "cafeteria" food at all. Lovely selection of beers, wine and cocktails. Did not feel rushed and it was not too crowded. Would definitely go back next time we are in the area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After eating there several times, we wen ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

After eating there several times, we went for Thanksgiving and were very disappointed. The usually good clam chowder was inedible! Not sure what they did but it tasted like cigarette ashes. The prime rib had good flavor but was grossly overcooked. The turkey was good and well prepared. We were not informed about the drink specials until after we ordered our expensive cocktails. It was definitely not worth the price we paid for the meal and drinks. Not sure if we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Here for a Thanksgiving buffet lunch/din ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Here for a Thanksgiving buffet lunch/dinner. Great food and good service. Seated upstairs above the bar...actually a nice atmosphere. Long list of drafts, a decent wine list and some interesting mixed drinks as well. Will need to give it a try for a regular meal...the buffet was set up in the museum area...a neat twist. At least for the buffet, a thumbs up to the pastry chef for some tremendous desserts.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very long lines for Thanksgiving buffet, ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very long lines for Thanksgiving buffet, but overall good food. We liked the classical music and the chowder.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great place. The food was excellent and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great place. The food was excellent and the service was better. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We are 4 of us went they for dinner, I o ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We are 4 of us went they for dinner, I order the seafood with pasta & the pumpkin soup, the soup was very good, the seafood with pasta, I end up take 80% home have it on next day lunch & dinner, it was very good too, love it, my husband & our friends are very happy they dinner too.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, great service. We went for f ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food, great service. We went for family night out and it was great. Also, good place for a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a birthday dinner with 5 of us. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2016

This was a birthday dinner with 5 of us. All the food was delicious with the exception of my turkey pot pie, which was runny and only mediocre in taste. The service was a bit too slow and as we were leaving they added another waiter, so was probably resolved.

Would still recommend for dinner and we will be back again. Our past visits were much better than this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I am a history buff, and am originally f ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2016

I am a history buff, and am originally from the east coast, so I really enjoyed the museum and the pictures and documents on the walls. Dining room was nice and quiet for conversation, and both the food and service was excellent. I would highly recommend The Green Dragon Tavern!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Reminded me of being in a tavern in New ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Reminded me of being in a tavern in New England. The museum is outstanding. Definitely worth an hour of a guests time.

Would be a great place for business meetings also great for tour buses.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The evening we were there, I found it to ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The evening we were there, I found it to be quite noisy sometimes pierced by the shrill screams of a toddler or two. Previously we had sat in the bar for drinks and bar food. That was probably a better option than the dining room.

Tags: Family Style, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Just a fun place to have a meal

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Just a fun place to have a meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was very good. However, the noise l ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was very good. However, the noise level of the dining room was very annoying, and took away from our dining experience. (The room has terrible acoustics.). For this reason, most likely we will not return

One other thing: Service was very slow. Particularly our bar order. It took forever for wine to be delivered

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

We had a 6pm reservation and the restaur ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had a 6pm reservation and the restaurant was almost 100% filled and loud. It was hard to hear but we sat upstairs above the bar. Food was good. Their clam chowder is THE best East Coast chowder on the West Coast. Service was slow, but maybe it is just slower upstairs. Overall, would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We had a great time! Reminiscent of a B ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a great time! Reminiscent of a Boston pub, it was a fun place to be. We drank beer and had appetizers. The pretzel appetizers are good! The menu has plenty of pubby comfort food, including regular and pastrami burgers, pot pies, short ribs etc. Make sure to leave room for dessert. We got the s'mores and they were unbelievable. Great place to have a good time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed late lunch while surrounded by r ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Enjoyed late lunch while surrounded by remembrance of the American revolution! Cuisine is creative and delicious. Beer selection is outstanding. Happy hour prices make it a steal. Roasted Brussels sprouts with pecans and topped with a fried egg---best ever!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! What a find!!! The Chef creates abs ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Wow! What a find!!! The Chef creates absolutely wonderful plates of delight in record time and the server we had, Elmer, was quick and informative, and very attentive! Highly recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Historic, Happy Hour, Cozy, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Always impressed with new a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great food! Always impressed with new additions in the menu rotation. The crab rolls are my favorite and I asked the chef to keep the the new squash ravioli on the menu. Service is always excellent and servers very helpful with advice on selections for food and drinks. Great beer line and the sangria was very fruity and delicious. The Museum section of Green Dragon is an unusual find in this part of the country and I learned some interesting things about our country's early history.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Green Dragon Tavern is a great venue ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The Green Dragon Tavern is a great venue for meeting with friends, drinking beer and food. The museum is also very cool.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was so delicious. Wish we could hav ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was so delicious. Wish we could have tried more items. Museum is really cool too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.