About Green Dragon Tavern & Museum

6115 Paseo del Norte
Carlsbad, CA 92011
View Larger Map

Green Dragon Tavern & Museum is the latest major attraction to open in the Carlsbad, CA, area. The 22,000 sq. ft. space features a museum, restaurant, two story tavern, coffee house, gift shop and a "state of the art" Ballroom for corporate or private catered events. G.D.T.& M. creates a welcoming atmosphere for celebrating, remembering and honoring early American history, our founding fathers and their many contributions to our past and modern day society. Offering complimentary admission, the Museum at G.D.T.& M. will house documents from the Colonial and Revolutionary War-eras and will provide individuals of all ages with an opportunity to further appreciate our country's rich history. Additionally, Chef de Cuisine Gregory Krol has created a menu that reflects "old world" meets "new world" cuisine and features locally farmed and sustainable ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Californian

Hours of Operation:
The Museum

Monday- Saturday
11:00 a.m.- Until Close

Sunday
10:00 a.m.- Until Close


The Coffee House and Museum Bookstore

Monday- Tuesday
7:00 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.

Wednesday- Friday
7:00 a.m.- 6:00 p.m.

Sunday
10:00 a.m.- 8:00 p.m.


The Tavern

Monday- Saturday
11:00 a.m.- 9:00 p.m.
(Happy Hour- 3:00 p.m.- 6:00 p.m.)

Sunday
10:00 a.m.- 8:00 p.m.
(Sunday Brunch Menu- 10:00 a.m.- 2:30 p.m.)
(Happy Hour- All Day)


The Dining Room

Friday-Saturday
5:00 p.m.- 9:00 p.m.
(Happy Hour- 5:00 p.m.- 6:00 p.m.)

Sunday
5:00 p.m.- 8:00 p.m.
(Happy Hour- 5:00 p.m.- 8:00 p.m.)

Cross Street:
Palomar Airport Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 918-2421

Website:
http://www.greendragontavernca.com/

Executive Chef:
Gregory Krol

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

NORTH COUNTY'S BEST HAPPY HOUR!

Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

NORTH COUNTY'S BEST HAPPY HOUR!

Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Sweet Potato Fries $3, Fried House Pickles $5, Calamari $8, Buffalo Wings $8, Pretzel Bites $7, Flatbreads $6, Fried Brussels and Bacon $4. 1$ off all Drafts and Wines by the glass. $4 Select Drafts and House Wines, $3 Coors Light bottles. Includes Tax and Tip. Happy Hour all day Sunday, from 10am to 8pm!. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Oct 1, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 7:30PM

Mon - Thu 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 6:30PM - 8:30PM

Fri 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 7:00PM - 8:45PM

Sat 11:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:00PM 7:00PM - 8:45PM

Private Dining

The Green Dragon Tavern & Museum offers a beautiful private dining ballroom with full amenities such as LCD projectors and large screens, microphones, full A/V capabilities, and much more! GDT&M also includes beautiful semi-private dining rooms for any occasion.

Green Dragon Tavern & Museum Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego
Great for Lunch
North San Diego
American
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Carlsbad ›

Good for Groups (27)
Special Occasion (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Historic (7)
Notable Wine List (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Casual (4)
Romantic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Authentic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great Beer (2)
Seasonal (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
261 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I used the Open Table app to make a lunc ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

I used the Open Table app to make a lunch reservation during the week. Disappointing that the restaurant seemed not to know anything about it and we waited quite a while for a table.

During the lunch hour, seating is only in the bar, none of the dining rooms are open. Quite noisy and difficult to have a quiet conversation.

Food was good, but I don't think it's a great place for a business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Great Menu - small plates, salads, entre ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great Menu - small plates, salads, entrees - all good. Hand crafted cocktails are top-flight. Ambience is inviting and comfortable. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A touch of New England in SoCal. Options ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

A touch of New England in SoCal. Options include dining in the bar or formal dining room. A neat Revolutionary War museum is in the back of the restaurant. Excellent food and service. Plenty of parking. The dining options are New England fare such as Sfepherds Pie, crab cakes, lobster rolls and fish and chips. Some sandwich options were also available. Excellent craft beers.

Tags: Bar Seating, Historic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very loud. Piece of shell in my lobster ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Very loud. Piece of shell in my lobster roll that I chomped on. Told waitress, she didn't care. Lobster was dry. Husband got Shepherds pie. Overly salty. Big portion. Beer flight was good. $10 for 4 tasters of IPA. Interesting decor.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Happy Hour is good value but VERY noisy. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Happy Hour is good value but VERY noisy. Our waiter brought something to our table we did not order and seemed totally confused.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Another great meal at Green Dragon! I h ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Another great meal at Green Dragon! I highly recommend their brunch on Sunday. The lobster benedict is amazing!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food and drinks. Loved being near ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Good food and drinks. Loved being near the fireplace. Short ribs were great, and the cod and Maryland crab cakes would satisfy any New Englander.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Paris was great

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Paris was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When we sat down, first thing we noticed ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

When we sat down, first thing we noticed was how warm it was so we asked if they could up the air conditioning. Then after our appetizers were finished and lunch was served I realized they took my silverware. Not a big issue but took a while to get a servers attention. We had the lobster roll and it was delicious. Very nice people and good place to meet up with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

I enjoyed the uniqueness of the colonial ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I enjoyed the uniqueness of the colonial decor and feel, and especially looking through the museum.

The freshness of the lobster in the lobster roll was as good as can be found anywhere... even on the east coast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the historical element in this lo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I love the historical element in this lovely restaurant. The food when I went last time was better than this time but the service both times was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for families!

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great place for families!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were excited to try this place for th ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We were excited to try this place for the first time, as the concept of restaurant/museum sounded interesting and menu looked good. We used a deal from the San Diego U/T, so at least we weren't disappointed with the value. However, even though we had reservations for dinner, they tried to seat us upstairs, in the balcony area overlooking the bar and it was far too loud. We told the hostess this and asked if we could sit downstairs, in the dining room which was nearly empty and very quiet. She then tried to seat us down in the bar (??) - we repeated our request for the dining room, she checked with the other hostess and then seated us there. We then realized they had just one waiter for the entire area (again, it was nearly empty). He was struggling to keep up with everything and made some mistakes but he certainly tried and was very nice. We both had the short rib dinner, which was great, except the risotto was too al dente. The Brussel sprouts with dried cranberries and pork belly were great. Also, the dressing on the Caesar salad was great, with a little whole grain Dijon. The the ambiance in the dining room was very bland and the bar too loud. We still need to go back to see the museum, though, so might try it one more time.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

First time at Green Dragon. Very impress ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

First time at Green Dragon. Very impressed with the facility, historical museum, and service. Breakfast was fine, with substantial portions and good flavor. We will return and try other items (Maryland crab cakes and Maine lobster roll).

Coffee was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak was tough & meal was altogether un ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Steak was tough & meal was altogether underwhelming. Dining room floor & walls amplify noise so it was quite unpleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

An extremely unique venue! Parker took g ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

An extremely unique venue!

Parker took great care of us.

Can't wait to get back there.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each time is always a great experience. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Each time is always a great experience. I enjoy bringing new people !

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, good portions and servic ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food was great, good portions and service was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a unique restaurant AND museum. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This is a unique restaurant AND museum. You can walk around with your happy hour drink and enjoy some wonderful memorabilia from the earliest years of our country. There is also a coffee shop and bookstore. Enjoy sports and dine in the bar, or enjoy a quiet dinner in the dining room. Also great food and desserts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great! Noise level was jus ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was great!

Noise level was just too high; we could barely talk to each other

Service was ok; the waiter was a nice guy but he forgot to bring us the appetiZer prior to our food arriving so we had to cancel it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Loved it! Great service and fun atmosphe ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Loved it! Great service and fun atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten dinner at the Green Dragon ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We have eaten dinner at the Green Dragon twice and both times, I've been struck by the creativity of the chef. The combinations of flavors are unique and delicious. Although the New England Cod was cooked perfectly, it might have been bland, but thanks to the chorizo and sautéed kale, the dish popped! The Braised Short Ribs were the best I've had - tender, with very little fat; just outstanding. Last, but not least, the fresh honeycomb on top of the Bacon Wrapped Chicken was an amazing addition to a dish that was already excellent.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I just love, love this restaurant! On M ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

I just love, love this restaurant! On Monday this week, I took a friend for lunch here and I was a bit embarrassed by her actions towards her meal. It is NOT how I would ever behave but she did. She grabbed the survey that came with the bill and filled it out before I even knew what happened!!! I felt so bad that when I got back home, I called and spoke with your hostess and apologized for my friend's comments. I asked her to please let Cierra, our adorable and attentive waitress, that I had called so that she didn't think she was not A+ because she was fantastic.!!!! It is still my favorite restaurant and where I want to take my friends for a delicious experience.. Best to all of you there at Green Dragon. 😊

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had not been here since their opening ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had not been here since their opening weekend. The food was much better and so was the service. It is now on our list of local restaurants to eat at and to recommend to friends

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was only our second visit to the Gr ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was only our second visit to the Green Dragon, but it cemented our view that they provide both good food and good service. We ordered a bowl of clam chowder , the Scottish salmon and the steak frites. They do have a children's menu (and provide crayons to keep little ones occupied), but this time, we just shared with the 2 1/2 year old who wasn't keen on the chowder, but happily ate the steak and fish. Everything was delicious and the steak was cooked to my specifications. We will definitely keep Green Dragon on our list when we're up in the Carlsbad area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love this menu. the brussel sprouts ar ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I love this menu. the brussel sprouts are to die for and the New England plates are just great. they have a good beer list, too.

Sold restaurant. our waiter was friendly and fun. thanks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Pleasantly surprised! Try the wings and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Pleasantly surprised! Try the wings and the hummus plate for sure! Staff is super friendly and attentive. The inside is classier than most local places but you will not feel out of place In jeans and flip flops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice way to experience history while goi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Nice way to experience history while going somewhere to eat. Excellent food and service. Happening scene.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous place, great food. Can't wait ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Fabulous place, great food. Can't wait to take my wife.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Visited for the first time and tried a b ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Visited for the first time and tried a bit of everything. It was all delicious. The staff was courteous and efficient. The museum is interesting and worth your time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My two lady friends and I enjoyed our br ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My two lady friends and I enjoyed our brunch. One of the ladies was not happy with her pulled pork hamburger but didn't mention to our very nice waiter. She took it home for her dog in a container. Kind of feel it was something she should have handled right then. Other than that, the other two meals were great. We love this place to meet.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always a pleasure to visit and dine ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It's always a pleasure to visit and dine at the Green Dragon. The food and service are great and friendly like your relaxing at a friends house, very relaxed. They always go out of their way to conjure up something wonderful if don't see it on the menu. Thank you and we'll see you next time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was a unique experience. We ate on ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was a unique experience. We ate on the tavern side. I had the Lobster roll. It had great taste, but it was not the best lobster roll I have had. The atmosphere was fun and relaxing. This is a great place if you want to try something new.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great food, great service, and the Colon ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Great food, great service, and the Colonial museum to boot! A history-lovers dream come true! Looking at the banquet areas it looks like a wonderful place to host special events as well. Bar seemed lively but the dining area was quieter which was perfect for us. Book and gift shop were an added bonus!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was good but not great. Service is a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

It was good but not great. Service is a little green. Maybe better for museum visitors or out of towers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Bar area was not too buys and a game was ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Bar area was not too buys and a game was on so we opted to sit in the bar area. Food was not very good. Two of us got lobster rolls, one philly cheesesteak and one burger. One the one who got the burger liked their meal. The rest of us did not - we all felt like it was bland. The regular coke soda tasted off too.

We had a discount offer and were glad we tried it with that. We will not be returning.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

This was our second visit to Green Drago ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our second visit to Green Dragon, and we were very pleased. The food was flavorful and well prepared (although my husband's steak, which he ordered medium rare, arrived closer to medium well--but it was still tender and delicious). We will definitely visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

My husband and I decided to try this res ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband and I decided to try this restaurant for Father's Day. It was our first time at Green Dragon Tavern and walked in with a reservation at 10:00 am. The gatekeepers (hostesses) finally seated us at our table at 10:15a, not sure why it took them so long because we were the first rez on the list. It took the server another 10 minutes to get to our table and just take our drink order. I had this funny feeling things might not go well. By 10:45 we finally got our meal. The food was not very good. We ordered the Cinnamon Swirl Pancakes with an Apple topping and Eggs Benedict. The pancakes were very soggy and had canned apples lathered on top. The Benedict was just ok. The only pleasant thing was the very good looking waiters! Better luck next time I guess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

service was slow. The food was not hot ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

service was slow. The food was not hot and they didn't handle our special request at all. The burgers were over cooked. Place needs a manager that walks around and see how things are screwed up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Great menu selection. Service was atten ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great menu selection. Service was attenuated and friendly. The addition of a museum added to the experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.