About GreekTown Kitchen & Wine Bar

2005 4th St SW
Calgary, AB T2S 1W6
View Larger Map

Nestled downtown in the heart Calgary’s bustling and vibrant 4th street, GreekTown is a new take on traditional, rustic Greek home cooking. We’re combining the freshest ingredients to re-create regional Greek specialties with a casual and contemporary feel.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Sunday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between 20th and 21st Ave SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 460-0911

Website:
http://www.greektowncalgary.com/

Parking Details:
Parking Lot

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wine, Wine Bar

GreekTown Kitchen & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (27)
good for groups (24)
fit for foodies (23)
See All
special occasion (21)
great for lunch (18)
romantic (14)
kid-friendly (7)
late-night find (6)
notable wine list (5)
great for outdoor dining (5)
hot spot (3)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
129 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great time at GreekTown! The food ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Had a great time at GreekTown! The food was fantastic and the service was awesome. Can't wait to come back!

food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful, quick and friendly service. T ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Wonderful, quick and friendly service. Tasty food.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really tasty greek

Dined on April 25, 2016

Hit it up on a whim. Great location, food was very good and plentiful.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Greek cuisine, nice ambiance and f ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great Greek cuisine, nice ambiance and friendly staff! Will return

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A Greek Treat!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Fantastic service, amazing food. The Flaming Saganaki Cheese was spectacular and almost hit the ceiling. OPA! Also enjoyed the Sapankopita and the Feta & Olives to round off the apps. dinner was chicken souvlaki skewers with roasted lemon potatoes with some house red wine. We are definitely going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What a great experience!

Dined on April 9, 2016

I recently went for dinner at Greek Town for my birthday. We had a group of 14 people and we were all impressed by the food and service. The staff was super friendly and was joking with us throughout the night. My friends were very happy with the place I had chosen for dinner and we will definitely be back. I cannot stress enough how impressed we all were with the delicious food and amazing service. I highly recommend dining at Greek Town!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Everything was really tasty! We loved th ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Everything was really tasty! We loved the saginaki and had the souvlaki platter, beef souvlaki was my personal favourite !

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Good welcome, tasty food

Dined on April 7, 2016

Service is friendly and efficient, food is tasty and well-prepared. You should try it.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food! Had the seafood platter for ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Great food! Had the seafood platter for two and it was amazing! Definitely good for more then two!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect!

Dined on April 2, 2016

We absolutely adore this restaurant!!! The staff, the food, the atmosphere....they never let us down! Getting excited about patio season, great people watching on this patio!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food - enjoyed sampling the appetizers

Dined on March 27, 2016

Good good. Enjoyed the evening at the restaurant. Very slightly on the expensive side, but nevertheless, enjoyed it.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Not a fan...

Dined on March 26, 2016

I went here for dinner with a friend of mine, and neither of us were impressed. We both had their souvlaki - me the chicken and he the beef. Both souvlaki dinners were pretty tasteless, with both meats really just tasting like grilled meat - no "Greek" flavor! My chicken was incredibly dry - thank goodness for tzatziki! - whereas the beef was nicely cooked. They also put some kind of balsamic reduction on their vegetables, which completely conflicted with and overpowered them, making them inedible. I ordered caesar salad with my dinner and it came out saturated in dressing and completely limp and wilted - I think they'd let my meal sit under a heat lamp. Our waitress never did come back to see how our meals were - another server did - and seemed rather put off when I asked if I could have some rice pilaf to replace my wilted salad. Our waitress filled our water glasses once and as soon as we paid our bill we never saw our waitress again - and we gave her a 15% tip!! She asked if we needed any change, took the money and left! Another waitress saw my empty water glass, and that my friend was still drinking his wine, and thankfully refilled my water. Not impressed with the service of our designated server or response to request for rice to replace wilted salad. Souvlaki was $20 and so not worth it - we didn't even bother to look at a dessert menu, instead opting for Starbucks down the street... If you don't mind giving your money away or leaving hungry, Greektown is great! If you want good food and value for your dollar, head to the Cactus Club Cafe!! :)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, Great food,lovely clean ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Great service, Great food,lovely clean surroundings .Just a lovely experience . I would definitely go again. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food & great service

Dined on March 20, 2016

I loved this restaurant! The food was delicious and the service was excellent. I highly recommend the lamb, it was my favorite; super most and tender.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Pita bread and dip was excellent Baklava ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Pita bread and dip was excellent Baklava also very good but need a bigger portion

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Greek food in town

Dined on March 17, 2016

A real Greek experience in a wonderful traditional Greek environment. The staff and service were perfect and the food is as good as it gets. A great selection of wines and the quiet intimacy make this a must do for everyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

excellent greek!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Our dinner was great, staff were awesome and the food was delicious! The only down side was it got really noisy as there was a large private function that took over almost all the restaurant. They were not seated but rather mingling about,..... Perhaps they should not be open for public if they are catering to a private party, as the restaurant is not that large! However that being said..... the staff did not forget we were there they made sure we were well taken care of, we will definitely go back again the food was soooo good!

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Never a disappointment

Dined on February 15, 2016

The service here is always great, with a very warm and friendly vibe. But most importantly, the food is PHENOMENAL! I love greek food, and this place does it perfectly. Pretty sure I eat the food way too quickly, because it's just so good. Oh, and try the sangria - it's pretty great too. Would definitely recommend to anyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very satisfied

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Picked this place for the first time and was so happy with every aspect. Food was great & our server was so delightful. Definitely returning.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Give this place a try!

Dined on January 26, 2016

I have been to Greek Town on 3 occasions (business, family and friends) and every time the food has been excellent, the server amazing and accommodating and the ambiance has been wonderful. Try the flaming cheese!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and accomodating of allergies

Dined on January 26, 2016

Great food - I had Lamb Shank and thoroughly enjoyed it. I have food allergies to wheat/gluten, eggs, dairy (cheese, butter, milk etc.) and shellfish among other things they able to accommodate with a delicious meal. If you have food allergies and are looking for Greek food then look no further... Highly recommended Greektown to friends and family

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome!

Dined on January 21, 2016

We have been to Greek town on a few occasions. Every single time it has been awesome. The food is really good, the service is great, and we leave saying the same thing. We love this restraunt. Thanks again, see you again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious!

Dined on January 3, 2016

Two families (total 9 people) ate here after returning a long day of snowshoeing in Banff. Decor is very nice, food was delicious and service was above average. Four people shared two platters and the remaining 5 ordered separate entres. Everyone was extremely happy with their food choices. The only thing that would prevent me from returning more often is the price that I felt was a bit high.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food and service were good. The restaur ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

Food and service were good. The restaurant is rather small and cozy.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Christmas eve

Dined on December 25, 2015

My family and I visited the restaurant for Christmas eve. The food was lovely portions were great but the best thing was the dessert. My my my was the ravani (I hope the spelling is correct) was freaking amazing. I will go again and we have already told friend ls to go as well.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptional Greek in Calgary

Dined on December 17, 2015

We were a group of 4, so we had a chance to sample numerous items. We started with the dolmades and the flaming saganaki. Both delicious. The pork chop entre was incredibly tasty. Likewise with the pork ribs. Greeksalad was excellent as was the chicken souvlaki and the mousaka. We stuck with the house wine which we also enjoyed. Too full for dessert, We finished with the dripped coffee, which was also delicious. Excellent service, efficient but not to invasive. Overall a great experience. While not inexpensive, it is great value for the quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Greek Food

vip
Dined on December 16, 2015

Went for a Christmas lunch and had the appetizer and both the food and service were amazing.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Went with a party of 11 for my wife's bi ...

vip
Dined on December 13, 2015

Went with a party of 11 for my wife's birthday. The service was outstanding and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the evening

food4
ambience4
service3

Good spot for a group

Dined on December 12, 2015

We really enjoyed our dinner, but service could have been a little better. Our waiter got side tracked a couple times while taking our appetizer orders --- not sure what happened. Our appetizer plates took forever to be cleared away. We waited for a good twenty minutes after we were finished. They cleared then once our main entrees arrived and it would have been nice to have them cleared sooner. Overall, dinner was very good! Food was tasty, but meals could have been a little hotter.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings
food5
ambience4
service5

Parking

Dined on December 12, 2015

no parking- spots available; it took us 20 minutes to find a parking-spot.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Wife's Birthday was a hit!

Dined on December 12, 2015

We came here as a group for my wife's birthday. Ages ranged from 9-72, among 8 of us. Everyone raved over the food (it was very good) and the service was perfect, friendly and efficient. Prices were very reasonable for the serving sizes! We've been to all the former Greek restaurants at this location, and this one is by far the best!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun time at GreekTown!

Dined on December 6, 2015

Took our friends here last weekend (3 couples in total) and thoroughly enjoyed it. They have a nice table for 6 that is somewhat separate from rest if you book ahead. The ambiance is casual and welcoming. The staff go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. We sampled a wide range of offerings on the menu and everyone enjoyed their meals. The wine list isn't long but we had no trouble finding something good for everyone. We'll recommend this to our friends and come back again! Thanks for showing us a great time GreekTown!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service4

Lamb shank was tasteless, no greek spici ...

Dined on December 5, 2015

Lamb shank was tasteless, no greek spicing whatsoever, overcooked and dry! Saganaki was not precooked prior to brandy being lit...not good! I would not return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious

Dined on November 25, 2015

Great environment and food. Lovely staff. Reminds of being back in Greece!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service2

Quality and taste

Dined on November 22, 2015

Quality and taste

food5
ambience5
service5

SO much fun!

Dined on November 22, 2015

Thank-you for making our celebration so easy and relaxed. It was exactly what the birthday girl wanted!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food!!

Dined on November 22, 2015

Great food, great friendly service, just way too crowded

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Greek Town is on my return list.

Dined on November 22, 2015

Greeted at the door promptly and with a smile. Led to our table and watered right away. drink order taken and drinks out within 3 minutes. Started with pita platter, saganaki, and calamari. All were great but table super busy with stuff. Staff helped get rid of excess plates and glassware promptly. I had the lamb chops, sooooo good and nice size. All other plates at table were loved. Only weakness here is the wine list. House red is really sweet and all were heavier grapes. Need more French and Italian, celebrate the Mediterranean, and a nice house red. Also wine was warm like kept on a shelf with undercabinet lighting. Needs to be room temp at warmest. Would've had a second glass. Dessert was nice and all food presentation was done well. Also need to serve sugar with all coffee regardless of custom. Nice job guys. hope you do well here as you deserve to.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

Delicious food

Dined on November 13, 2015

The food was excellent, some of the best greek food I ever had in Calgary. Try the bison meatball appetizer-it was awesome! The house red was quite good as well. The restaurant is small but decorated very nicely. The server was very friendly but he was the only one working so the front of house service was a bit on the slow side. The food still came out very quickly. Even though the restaurant wasn't very busy and there were a lot of open tables we were seated right next to two other tables (a pet peeve of mine). Overall it was a very good experience and I would recommend this restaurant based on the food alone, it more than made up for any of the other (small) shortcomings. If you love greek food definitely a must try in Calgary!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner!

Dined on November 12, 2015

We enjoyed Greek Town Kitchen! our visit was after work, so no trouble getting a parking spot in their convenient row of spots at the Macs. very attentive and friendly server. loved the way the house wine came in little tin carafes and tiny glasses. the souvlaki, lamb shank and ribs (huge rack) were all tasty. nice atmosphere-i am sure with a full house it would be hopping!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.