About GreekTown Kitchen & Wine Bar

2005 4th St SW
Calgary, AB T2S 1W6
View Larger Map

Nestled downtown in the heart Calgary’s bustling and vibrant 4th street, GreekTown is a new take on traditional, rustic Greek home cooking. We’re combining the freshest ingredients to re-create regional Greek specialties with a casual and contemporary feel.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Sunday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between 20th and 21st Ave SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 460-0911

Website:
http://www.greektowncalgary.com/

Parking Details:
Parking Lot

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wine, Wine Bar

GreekTown Kitchen & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (18)
good for groups (14)
fit for foodies (13)
See All
special occasion (11)
great for lunch (10)
great for outdoor dining (5)
romantic (5)
kid-friendly (5)
great for brunch (3)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
141 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very good Greek food. The restaurant was ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very good Greek food. The restaurant was quiet but with good food and good service, very pleasant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Relatively nice atmosphere. Appetizers w ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Relatively nice atmosphere. Appetizers were awesome but we ordered the seafood platter for 2. The halibut and salmon were dry while the calamari was over done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Terrible. Flavorless, dry food. It took ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Terrible. Flavorless, dry food. It took us 45 minutes to get any food. No apologies for screw ups or tardiness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

This was our first time dining at Greek ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was our first time dining at Greek Town but had positive reviews from many friends. I would agree and certainly will be back. Orders are very generous, food very tasty and service is very efficient.

We were visiting with out of town family and the music was a little loud for us. Our request to lower the volume was quickly accommodated.

.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were seeking a Greek restaurant in th ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were seeking a Greek restaurant in the area and we found one that we would recommend again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Flaming saganaki cheese is amazing!

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Flaming saganaki cheese is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is really good. Smaller portion siz ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food is really good. Smaller portion sizes than expected. Service was friendly and quick, restaurant is nice and clean, bathrooms were clean too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

This is Calgary's best Greek restaurant. ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This is Calgary's best Greek restaurant. The folks that run it are from Greece and truly care that you enjoy the dining experience; they replicate the feeling of hospitality you get in Greece.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not a bad little place, however the food ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Not a bad little place, however the food arrived not hot enough. We told our server that we were in no rush, however, the appetizer came within minutes and the main meal came before we completed our appetizer...a little disappointing. The servers were extremely attentive and very friendly. The ambiance left a lot to be desired. We gave this a pass, but it was just OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Our experience here was as amazing as it ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our experience here was as amazing as it always is. Great food, great service, great atmosphere. One of our favourite places in Calgary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, Greektown served up an evenin ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

As always, Greektown served up an evening of great food and friendly service.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time at GreekTown! The food ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Had a great time at GreekTown! The food was fantastic and the service was awesome. Can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful, quick and friendly service. T ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Wonderful, quick and friendly service. Tasty food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Really tasty greek

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Hit it up on a whim. Great location, food was very good and plentiful.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Greek cuisine, nice ambiance and f ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Great Greek cuisine, nice ambiance and friendly staff! Will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Greek Treat!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Fantastic service, amazing food. The Flaming Saganaki Cheese was spectacular and almost hit the ceiling. OPA! Also enjoyed the Sapankopita and the Feta & Olives to round off the apps. dinner was chicken souvlaki skewers with roasted lemon potatoes with some house red wine. We are definitely going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What a great experience!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I recently went for dinner at Greek Town for my birthday. We had a group of 14 people and we were all impressed by the food and service. The staff was super friendly and was joking with us throughout the night. My friends were very happy with the place I had chosen for dinner and we will definitely be back. I cannot stress enough how impressed we all were with the delicious food and amazing service. I highly recommend dining at Greek Town!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was really tasty! We loved th ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Everything was really tasty! We loved the saginaki and had the souvlaki platter, beef souvlaki was my personal favourite !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good welcome, tasty food

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Service is friendly and efficient, food is tasty and well-prepared. You should try it.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food! Had the seafood platter for ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Great food! Had the seafood platter for two and it was amazing! Definitely good for more then two!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Perfect!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We absolutely adore this restaurant!!! The staff, the food, the atmosphere....they never let us down! Getting excited about patio season, great people watching on this patio!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food - enjoyed sampling the appetizers

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Good good. Enjoyed the evening at the restaurant. Very slightly on the expensive side, but nevertheless, enjoyed it.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Not a fan...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

I went here for dinner with a friend of mine, and neither of us were impressed. We both had their souvlaki - me the chicken and he the beef. Both souvlaki dinners were pretty tasteless, with both meats really just tasting like grilled meat - no "Greek" flavor! My chicken was incredibly dry - thank goodness for tzatziki! - whereas the beef was nicely cooked. They also put some kind of balsamic reduction on their vegetables, which completely conflicted with and overpowered them, making them inedible. I ordered caesar salad with my dinner and it came out saturated in dressing and completely limp and wilted - I think they'd let my meal sit under a heat lamp. Our waitress never did come back to see how our meals were - another server did - and seemed rather put off when I asked if I could have some rice pilaf to replace my wilted salad. Our waitress filled our water glasses once and as soon as we paid our bill we never saw our waitress again - and we gave her a 15% tip!! She asked if we needed any change, took the money and left! Another waitress saw my empty water glass, and that my friend was still drinking his wine, and thankfully refilled my water. Not impressed with the service of our designated server or response to request for rice to replace wilted salad. Souvlaki was $20 and so not worth it - we didn't even bother to look at a dessert menu, instead opting for Starbucks down the street... If you don't mind giving your money away or leaving hungry, Greektown is great! If you want good food and value for your dollar, head to the Cactus Club Cafe!! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Great service, Great food,lovely clean ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Great service, Great food,lovely clean surroundings .Just a lovely experience . I would definitely go again. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food & great service

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

I loved this restaurant! The food was delicious and the service was excellent. I highly recommend the lamb, it was my favorite; super most and tender.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pita bread and dip was excellent Baklava ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Pita bread and dip was excellent

Baklava also very good but need a bigger portion

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Best Greek food in town

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

A real Greek experience in a wonderful traditional Greek environment. The staff and service were perfect and the food is as good as it gets. A great selection of wines and the quiet intimacy make this a must do for everyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent greek!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Our dinner was great, staff were awesome and the food was delicious! The only down side was it got really noisy as there was a large private function that took over almost all the restaurant. They were not seated but rather mingling about,..... Perhaps they should not be open for public if they are catering to a private party, as the restaurant is not that large! However that being said..... the staff did not forget we were there they made sure we were well taken care of, we will definitely go back again the food was soooo good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Never a disappointment

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The service here is always great, with a very warm and friendly vibe. But most importantly, the food is PHENOMENAL! I love greek food, and this place does it perfectly. Pretty sure I eat the food way too quickly, because it's just so good. Oh, and try the sangria - it's pretty great too.

Would definitely recommend to anyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Love this place so much, very authentic.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Love this place so much, very authentic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very satisfied

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Picked this place for the first time and was so happy with every aspect. Food was great & our server was so delightful. Definitely returning.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Give this place a try!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

I have been to Greek Town on 3 occasions (business, family and friends) and every time the food has been excellent, the server amazing and accommodating and the ambiance has been wonderful. Try the flaming cheese!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food and accomodating of allergies

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

Great food - I had Lamb Shank and thoroughly enjoyed it. I have food allergies to wheat/gluten, eggs, dairy (cheese, butter, milk etc.) and shellfish among other things they able to accommodate with a delicious meal. If you have food allergies and are looking for Greek food then look no further... Highly recommended Greektown to friends and family

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

We have been to Greek town on a few occasions. Every single time it has been awesome. The food is really good, the service is great, and we leave saying the same thing. We love this restraunt. Thanks again, see you again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Two families (total 9 people) ate here after returning a long day of snowshoeing in Banff. Decor is very nice, food was delicious and service was above average. Four people shared two platters and the remaining 5 ordered separate entres. Everyone was extremely happy with their food choices. The only thing that would prevent me from returning more often is the price that I felt was a bit high.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food and service were good. The restaur ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Food and service were good. The restaurant is rather small and cozy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Christmas eve

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

My family and I visited the restaurant for Christmas eve. The food was lovely portions were great but the best thing was the dessert. My my my was the ravani (I hope the spelling is correct) was freaking amazing. I will go again and we have already told friend ls to go as well.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptional Greek in Calgary

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

We were a group of 4, so we had a chance to sample numerous items. We started with the dolmades and the flaming saganaki. Both delicious. The pork chop entre was incredibly tasty. Likewise with the pork ribs. Greeksalad was excellent as was the chicken souvlaki and the mousaka. We stuck with the house wine which we also enjoyed. Too full for dessert, We finished with the dripped coffee, which was also delicious. Excellent service, efficient but not to invasive. Overall a great experience. While not inexpensive, it is great value for the quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Greek Food

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on December 16, 2015

Went for a Christmas lunch and had the appetizer and both the food and service were amazing.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with a party of 11 for my wife's bi ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Went with a party of 11 for my wife's birthday. The service was outstanding and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.