About GreekTown Kitchen & Wine Bar

2005 4th St SW
Calgary, AB T2S 1W6
View Larger Map

Nestled downtown in the heart Calgary’s bustling and vibrant 4th street, GreekTown is a new take on traditional, rustic Greek home cooking. We’re combining the freshest ingredients to re-create regional Greek specialties with a casual and contemporary feel.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:

Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Sunday: 12:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between 20th and 21st Ave SW

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 460-0911

Website:
http://www.greektowncalgary.com/

Parking Details:
Parking Lot

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wine

GreekTown Kitchen & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
See All
Fit for Foodies (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Romantic (5)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Business Meals (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fun (1)
Family Style (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Healthy (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
148 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dinner and it's presentation was delight ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 6 days ago

Dinner and it's presentation was delightful. Would recommend and would return. Thank you.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food as always.

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great food as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved our dining experience. Excellent s ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Loved our dining experience.

Excellent service, yummy food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

A friend from out of town popped in unex ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

A friend from out of town popped in unexpectedly and I decided to take her to a Greek restaurant. We both ordered the chicken souvlaki wrap and it was amazing good. She wanted honey in her tea and the server took no qualms to squirt some in her tea pot. We want to go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful meal, wonderful people!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Wonderful meal, wonderful people!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fantastic, service was good and ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was fantastic, service was good and prompt. Only complaint is that I think their air conditioning was broke so everyone was sweating.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to Greektown a few times an ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We have been to Greektown a few times and have found the food to be excellent. All the staff are very friendly and attentive while you dine. The manager is very approachable and engaging. Atmosphere is very Greek!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good Greek food. The restaurant was ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Very good Greek food. The restaurant was quiet but with good food and good service, very pleasant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Relatively nice atmosphere. Appetizers w ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Relatively nice atmosphere. Appetizers were awesome but we ordered the seafood platter for 2. The halibut and salmon were dry while the calamari was over done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Terrible. Flavorless, dry food. It took ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Terrible. Flavorless, dry food. It took us 45 minutes to get any food. No apologies for screw ups or tardiness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

This was our first time dining at Greek ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was our first time dining at Greek Town but had positive reviews from many friends. I would agree and certainly will be back. Orders are very generous, food very tasty and service is very efficient.

We were visiting with out of town family and the music was a little loud for us. Our request to lower the volume was quickly accommodated.

.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were seeking a Greek restaurant in th ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were seeking a Greek restaurant in the area and we found one that we would recommend again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Flaming saganaki cheese is amazing!

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Flaming saganaki cheese is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is really good. Smaller portion siz ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food is really good. Smaller portion sizes than expected. Service was friendly and quick, restaurant is nice and clean, bathrooms were clean too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

This is Calgary's best Greek restaurant. ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This is Calgary's best Greek restaurant. The folks that run it are from Greece and truly care that you enjoy the dining experience; they replicate the feeling of hospitality you get in Greece.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not a bad little place, however the food ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Not a bad little place, however the food arrived not hot enough. We told our server that we were in no rush, however, the appetizer came within minutes and the main meal came before we completed our appetizer...a little disappointing. The servers were extremely attentive and very friendly. The ambiance left a lot to be desired. We gave this a pass, but it was just OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Our experience here was as amazing as it ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our experience here was as amazing as it always is. Great food, great service, great atmosphere. One of our favourite places in Calgary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, Greektown served up an evenin ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

As always, Greektown served up an evening of great food and friendly service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time at GreekTown! The food ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Had a great time at GreekTown! The food was fantastic and the service was awesome. Can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful, quick and friendly service. T ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Wonderful, quick and friendly service. Tasty food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Really tasty greek

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Hit it up on a whim. Great location, food was very good and plentiful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Greek cuisine, nice ambiance and f ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Great Greek cuisine, nice ambiance and friendly staff! Will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Greek Treat!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Fantastic service, amazing food. The Flaming Saganaki Cheese was spectacular and almost hit the ceiling. OPA! Also enjoyed the Sapankopita and the Feta & Olives to round off the apps. dinner was chicken souvlaki skewers with roasted lemon potatoes with some house red wine. We are definitely going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What a great experience!

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I recently went for dinner at Greek Town for my birthday. We had a group of 14 people and we were all impressed by the food and service. The staff was super friendly and was joking with us throughout the night. My friends were very happy with the place I had chosen for dinner and we will definitely be back. I cannot stress enough how impressed we all were with the delicious food and amazing service. I highly recommend dining at Greek Town!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was really tasty! We loved th ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Everything was really tasty! We loved the saginaki and had the souvlaki platter, beef souvlaki was my personal favourite !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good welcome, tasty food

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Service is friendly and efficient, food is tasty and well-prepared. You should try it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food! Had the seafood platter for ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Great food! Had the seafood platter for two and it was amazing! Definitely good for more then two!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Perfect!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We absolutely adore this restaurant!!! The staff, the food, the atmosphere....they never let us down! Getting excited about patio season, great people watching on this patio!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food - enjoyed sampling the appetizers

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Good good. Enjoyed the evening at the restaurant. Very slightly on the expensive side, but nevertheless, enjoyed it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Not a fan...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

I went here for dinner with a friend of mine, and neither of us were impressed. We both had their souvlaki - me the chicken and he the beef. Both souvlaki dinners were pretty tasteless, with both meats really just tasting like grilled meat - no "Greek" flavor! My chicken was incredibly dry - thank goodness for tzatziki! - whereas the beef was nicely cooked. They also put some kind of balsamic reduction on their vegetables, which completely conflicted with and overpowered them, making them inedible. I ordered caesar salad with my dinner and it came out saturated in dressing and completely limp and wilted - I think they'd let my meal sit under a heat lamp. Our waitress never did come back to see how our meals were - another server did - and seemed rather put off when I asked if I could have some rice pilaf to replace my wilted salad. Our waitress filled our water glasses once and as soon as we paid our bill we never saw our waitress again - and we gave her a 15% tip!! She asked if we needed any change, took the money and left! Another waitress saw my empty water glass, and that my friend was still drinking his wine, and thankfully refilled my water. Not impressed with the service of our designated server or response to request for rice to replace wilted salad. Souvlaki was $20 and so not worth it - we didn't even bother to look at a dessert menu, instead opting for Starbucks down the street... If you don't mind giving your money away or leaving hungry, Greektown is great! If you want good food and value for your dollar, head to the Cactus Club Cafe!! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Great service, Great food,lovely clean ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Great service, Great food,lovely clean surroundings .Just a lovely experience . I would definitely go again. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food & great service

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

I loved this restaurant! The food was delicious and the service was excellent. I highly recommend the lamb, it was my favorite; super most and tender.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pita bread and dip was excellent Baklava ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Pita bread and dip was excellent

Baklava also very good but need a bigger portion

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Best Greek food in town

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

A real Greek experience in a wonderful traditional Greek environment. The staff and service were perfect and the food is as good as it gets. A great selection of wines and the quiet intimacy make this a must do for everyone.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent greek!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Our dinner was great, staff were awesome and the food was delicious! The only down side was it got really noisy as there was a large private function that took over almost all the restaurant. They were not seated but rather mingling about,..... Perhaps they should not be open for public if they are catering to a private party, as the restaurant is not that large! However that being said..... the staff did not forget we were there they made sure we were well taken care of, we will definitely go back again the food was soooo good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Never a disappointment

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The service here is always great, with a very warm and friendly vibe. But most importantly, the food is PHENOMENAL! I love greek food, and this place does it perfectly. Pretty sure I eat the food way too quickly, because it's just so good. Oh, and try the sangria - it's pretty great too.

Would definitely recommend to anyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Love this place so much, very authentic.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Love this place so much, very authentic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very satisfied

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Picked this place for the first time and was so happy with every aspect. Food was great & our server was so delightful. Definitely returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Give this place a try!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

I have been to Greek Town on 3 occasions (business, family and friends) and every time the food has been excellent, the server amazing and accommodating and the ambiance has been wonderful. Try the flaming cheese!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food and accomodating of allergies

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

Great food - I had Lamb Shank and thoroughly enjoyed it. I have food allergies to wheat/gluten, eggs, dairy (cheese, butter, milk etc.) and shellfish among other things they able to accommodate with a delicious meal. If you have food allergies and are looking for Greek food then look no further... Highly recommended Greektown to friends and family

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.