About Great Maple San Diego

We Serve Dinner, Lunch, Brunch and Weekday Breakfast. We are a modern American eatery featuring seasonal fare, fresh house made pies, and local produce cocktails. We have a full bar and a social wine list.
Outdoor dining, counter bar, food bar, and full room dining. Cocktail cart for special cocktails and tostas delivered on a 7 foot board. Cheers

1451 Washington St.
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Farm-to-table

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast

Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 11:30am

Lunch

Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Brunch

Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 255-2282

Website:
http://www.thegreatmaple.com/

Entertainment:
Food Boards run through the room... Yes. Cool

Catering:
Speak to General Manager it based on a case by case basis.

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot and local street parking.

Public Transit:
Bus stop right in front and Hillcrest trolly stop near by.

Executive Chef:
Carmine Lopez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Great Maple San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (82)
Casual (62)
Neighborhood Gem (58)
See All
Comfort Food (49)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Fun (37)
Great for Lunch (37)
Sunday Lunch (36)
Good for a Date (33)
Worth the Drive (31)
Special Occasion (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Good for Groups (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Authentic (21)
Cozy (21)
Hot Spot (21)
Local Ingredients (18)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
People Watching (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Organic (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Romantic (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Business Meals (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Seasonal (5)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1336 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Food, service, atmosphere all A+. Great morning noon and night

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

The food and service were outstanding. Very popular. Need reservations on weekends. Bacon was out of this world!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome casual place. Very unpretentious but great food. Wanted to try everything from the dinner menu. Maple bacon donuts a must. Will definitely be back to try brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous food but the cocktails were very special. Enjoyed toasting the weekend with the entire restaurant, and the round table for the five of us made for a lively meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

It was our first couple's trip to San Diego and this place started our day off right. I had the quiche special and he had the sausage scramble and potatoes. Really great options and recommendations from the staff. I loved the decor and even the bathroom was very modern but retro. There are lots of parking spaces and it is at a great location on the corner. I love the minimalist menu but the food was still very good.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We got seated quickly! Large food portions, and definitely worth the money! Service was good. I would come again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Best French toast ever, served with thick bacon pieces and large blueberries!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Only 1 complaint. I like mexican beer and they only had Corona!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Love this place, local favorite, has some not so calorie friendly, but delish food.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Our server was the best part about our experience; she was funny, witty and comfortable in formal conversation. However, we felt rushed and ended up paying and leaving before we were done when a woman from another table came and told us that a host told her to ask us to hurry up because their party had been waiting. Mind you- though we had a 9am reservation, we weren't sat until 945 due to some complications with our group. Our table went to someone else and we were happy and waited with no complaints or issues! Totally enjoying the vibe... I suppose we would have stayed a little longer to indulge in the setting had we not been asked to leave to accommodate a party...

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

ON MY MY MY! This place has one of the most unique menues with DELICIOUS food to match! DOn't miss the Bacon glazed maple donut. My dauther who doesn't eat "sweet Donuts" said it was so good and not too sweet. We had a great time. It's loud and fun.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

This was an amazing find. The ambiance is cool, the food delicious!! The entire family enjoyed our food immensely.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Excellent server and service; not busy midweek, so this was a nice choice for quietly celebrating my husband's birthday. All four of us thought our dinners were delicious. Cool decor!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 11, 2017

This was my second time at Great Maple and it was just as fabulous as the first experience. I have been missing table side beignets in my life and the Lemon Curd is #life! Thanks for a memorable Blunch experience. I hope to dine here again very soon :p

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great Breakfast Venue! Well worth the wait if reservations not available. A regular for Sunday Brunch and then hit the Farmer's Market next door to walk off some of the calories.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Fun, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Very, very busy on a Saturday morning. We had a 1045am reservation and were seated by about 1115am. Service was super quick, efficient, courteous and friendly. The maple bacon doughnuts were a-mazing. One order is 3 doughnuts and enough for a table to 5 to share as an appetizer. The avocado toast was fresh and delicious and the blueberry pancakes were a hit too!
The crowds made it a little bit frenetic and not quite as relaxing as a brunch should be, but if you don't mind the jostling and noise, the food is worth it!! I'd love to get back at a quieter time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Always love coming here. The food is creative comfort food, always executed well with fresh, local ingredients. Service is excellent, ambiance is top notch and value is great.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Had the Maple donuts for the first time.. one word.. AMAZING!! I wanted to like the board the donuts were served on.
My wife loves the One Armed Mary (bloodymary). I will be back many times in my life time!!YUM!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Good food with tasty meal options and a creative take on classics.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

They forgot my bacon after I told them they still didn't bring it and still tried to charge us for it. The waitress also told us three times she would bring us cream for our coffee and never did instead she said our waitress was on break. The food was ok and the service was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The donuts are awesome! As well as the beignets. Thanks!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We got Sunday brunch here. It's a very popular spot, so even with reservations we had a wait. But I think that was primarily due to the front desk staff. The usual person seating guests was on a break when we arrived, and her replacement clearly did not care that we had reservations and kept us waiting for at least 15-20 minutes despite having tables open up. She just gave them to walk-ins. That was remedied when the usual person came back from break. After that hiccup, things went well. The food is great, and our server was terrific, despite a rush. Prices were high (but portions are large), and it was noisy.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Awesome Bloody Mary's!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The service started out rough because we had reservations and arrived a little less than 5 minutes before our reservation time. We were told by the hostess that it would be about 5-10 minutes to get our table ready (understandable). We then sat and watched at least 15 other parties sit before us while we waited for 25 minutes. It was very confusing why if we had reservations, we had to wait for that long to be seated, especially when they were sitting other people. Some of the people who sat had actually arrived after us. So that was pretty annoying. Thankfully, once we sat everything else was fine. Our waitress was warm and the food was prompt and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Everything was great, my wife started with the one armed Mary and I got a mango mimosa, they where just perfect, then she went for the Brisket Popover and I had the French Toast Logs, simply delicious, and finally, we had the Maple Bacon Donuts, wowwww, that thing explodes in your mouth, is just intense, you definitely have to try it, make sure you do make reservations, demand is high for this place...

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fun, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great new find. We've had breakfast here twice and love it. Gluten free options including buckwheat pancakes that were delicious. So convenient to be able to make a reservations during busy times.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The meal options had a unique twist to a traditional breakfast that I really appreciated. The server was very helpful with menu suggestions and the food came out quickly and was delicious. Large portions and quality ingredients. Also, love the silver dollar pancake item! I'm tired of gigantic, thick pancakes.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 2, 2017

My husband had the pork belly and eggs. What an awesome dish! He loved it! It stood out above the rest, which we're all good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

The food and ambiance was excellent but making a reservation didn't really help our seating. The host wasn't present often, making it difficult to check in and when checking back to see if our table was ready. We also waited 20 min over our reservation time. Our server was unhappy and not attentive but we just assumed she was busy. The busser/food runner was friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun, Great for Brunch, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Love The Great Maple! Food is always excellent and service was great. They need to turn on the AC! It was the first day of a heat wave and we were sweating bullets!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Maple Bacon Donuts are TO DIE FOR!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We've been going to Great Maple for several years and have absolutely loved it. We went the other night before attending a concert and had a magnificent meal. Our daughter ordered her favorite which is a lamb burger (Spiced Moroccan Lamb Burger). Unfortunately, they had changed their menu and that item was no longer on the menu. Our daughter asked about it and waitress said that now they have it periodically as a special. She said to wait a minute and she'd check with the chef to see if they could prepare it for her. She did and they would! Our daughter was very happy. This burger is wonderfully seasoned and goes really well with their garlic truffle fries (OMG!).

My wife and I had their Fresh Polenta and Roasted Mixed Mushroom entree. It was absolutely incredible! Such wonderful and rich flavors! It's our new favorite item.

We also enjoyed their Caesar Salad. This time out we elected not to enjoy one of their signature items--Fresh Baked Maple Bacon Doughnuts, which are just wonderful and flavorful. We've had this often in the past and do certainly recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Hot, loud busy, expensive. Good food, real nice staff.

Not during a Sunday morning during a heat wave.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

They have AMAZING food and our server was so chipper and quick! I absolutely love their maple bacon glaze (wehich you can buy an extra side of for $1.00)!

Worth it for the food but super loud because of the building design and way too crowded. They have about 10 too many tables crammed in there.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Family in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We ordered the special, an egg, pork belly, brautwurst hash; they served it with no meat. We got served soggy eggs, and a bug in my daughters Sprite. It was so loud we couldn't hear one another speak. And to make it all worse, it was 82 degrees inside, and I only know this because I was sitting in front of the thermostat. Horrible 1st experience, will not be back. Spoke to the manager and they were nice, apologized, but did not make it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I had an amazing time here. The food was amazing & the staff were attentive & accommodating. I was running about 15 minutes behind for my reservation, but I called & they assisted me graciously & sat me within 5 minutes of arriving, even though it was PACKED, as always. Lovely time with my girlfriends for my birthday brunch. Thanks, Great Maple

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 24, 2017

I would recommend this restaurant for any occasion. The staff is warm and friendly and the kitchen puts out extraordinary food. You cannot go wrong. But do make a reservation as everyone knows how excellent this place really is. Thanks guys

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Everything was nice. The maple bacon donuts were delicious as hyped everywhere. One each was enough for us, with one to take home in a box. Very sweet and rich so we probably could have stopped there. Also shared an order of chilaquiles. Was tasty. Nothing mindblowing. Ended up overstuffed and not able to eat the rest of the day, so I guess $40 for donuts, chilaquiles and a cappuccino isn't so bad when it's all the food 2 people need all day! Service was friendly. Don't know if I would go back, but glad I went to experience the donuts :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.