About Great Maple San Diego

1451 Washington St.
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

We Serve Dinner, Lunch, Brunch and Weekday Breakfast. We are a "European Dinette" featuring seasonal fare, fresh house made pies, and local produce cocktails. We have a full bar and a social wine list. Outdoor dining, counter bar, food bar, and full room dining. Cocktail cart for special cocktails and tostas delivered on a 7 foot board. Cheers

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 11:30am
Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch
Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 255-2282

Website:
http://www.thegreatmaple.com/

Entertainment:
Food Boards run through the room... Yes. Cool

Catering:
Speak to General Manager it based on a case by case basis.

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot and local street parking.

Public Transit:
Bus stop right in front and Hillcrest trolly stop near by.

Executive Chef:
Carmine Lopez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Great Maple San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
San Diego
Great for Brunch
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Hillcrest ›

Great for Brunch (136)
Fit for Foodies (111)
Neighborhood Gem (104)
See All
Great for Lunch (66)
Good for Groups (59)
Hot Spot (55)
Special Occasion (51)
Kid-friendly (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Casual (14)
Good for a Date (12)
Fun (10)
Family Style (10)
Romantic (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Scenic View (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Organic (3)
People Watching (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Business Meals (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great Beer (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
Newest
913 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had lunch here with a friend who I hadn' ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

Had lunch here with a friend who I hadn't seen in a couple of years. I love the food and creative menu, but I always forget how LOUD the place can get. I've never had a meal here where the table wasn't straining to hear the conversations. The fact that the restaurant is full isn't the issue, it's the volume at which the music is played. C'mon Man!

Anywho...the wait staff was awesome as was the quiche that I ordered at the rock shrimp flatbread my friend had.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

We were amazed that the lines and the re ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

We were amazed that the lines and the reviews refer to Great Maple so I can only assume it is a beloved place for locals regardless of food and/or what we ordered were not among their best dishes. We ordered the scrambled egg whites with avocado toast and fruit and the poached eggs over popovers with spinach, mushrooms, tomatoes and hollandaise...herbed potatoes on the side. The popovers were dry and the herbed potatoes were tasteless. We left the egg whites on the plate. Famous for their french toast, be prepared for two log-like pieces of bread drenched in syrup...not sure. Service was disappointing...the waitress simply forgot us! Not auspicious for a return visit.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I made a reservation ahead of time but w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 7 days ago

I made a reservation ahead of time but we still had to wait over 20 minutes to be seated. The service was very pleasant, but extremely slow. I understand servers can be busy but they appeared well staffed that day, so I didn't expect to wait forever. Food was over priced for the amount that you get. I ordered the daily special and they ran out of the main ingredient by 11:30. Overall, I might try it again, but I've been to many places that are cheaper and have outstanding food. However, if you do try it - you must order the bacon donuts! They definitely were to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Everything was perfect from the moment w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Everything was perfect from the moment we walked in. Delicious watermelon salad & spring rolls to start, amazing entrees, and dessert is a must. My favorite is the Key Lime pie!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous time and the service w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had a fabulous time and the service was impeccable. The food was to notch, not that we expected anything less. The reputation of the Great Maple lives up to what I have heard from others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual, Healthy, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Organic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Great Maple for breakfast a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I've been to Great Maple for breakfast and many dinners. The menu changes often and the food and service are always great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nos dieron mesa muy rápido pero no tenía ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Nos dieron mesa muy rápido pero no tenía registrada mi reservación, no sé si fue problema del restaurante o de la app.

We got a table pretty fast although they didn't have my reservation booked, now I don't know if it was the restaurant problem or an app problem.

Best regards

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, fantastic service.

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great food, fantastic service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food were very good. Howeve ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Service and food were very good. However, I made out reservation online about an hour and 15 minutes before we arrived at the restaurant. Even though I had a confirmation on my phone to show the hostess, it was no where in their system. However, we were early enough that we were seated right away.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of the best brunches were ever had. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

One of the best brunches were ever had. Definitely make a res, we got in less than 5 mins with our res. Highly recommend the waffle lollipops and Beignets. We ordered the Florence brunch (polenta, mushroom, egg), portobella brunch and the tofu dish - all amazing :) portions are pretty big, esp after lollipops and benignets. Service was great and they brought out a special dessert for our special occasion. Nothing bad to say

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always fabulous and the serv ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food is always fabulous and the service spot on! Just impossible to park and very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The doughnuts are out of this world. Be ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The doughnuts are out of this world. Be sure you share, large plates. Also the best French Toast in San Diego. They have really good healthy choices

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Fun, Great for Brunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience, great food, g ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Always a great experience, great food, great service.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was so noisy in the restaurant becaus ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

It was so noisy in the restaurant because of full the people. Food was just fine. People who work there were very nice. I think it is a good place for casual family gathering.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Love!! Love love love! The beignets were ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Love!! Love love love! The beignets were the best!! Love the breakfast flatbread

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It's really good food and probably has t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

It's really good food and probably has the best decor of any breakfast place in San Diego, but it's overpriced. 2 eggs with potatoes and toast =$13. Side of bacon=$6. Anything involving both eggs and meat=$15+. $10+ bloody marys. $9+ mimosas. The lengthy wait to get a table at this place clearly proves that people are willing to pay the price, but I don't anticipate going back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Delicious food! Especially the fried chi ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Delicious food! Especially the fried chicken bento box, goat cheese spring rolls, salad, and key lime pie. The ambiance is quietly hip. Fun inventive cocktail list (cocktail of the day was Black Forest Margarita). Highly recommend Great Maple.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this place,unbelievable! Service ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I love this place,unbelievable!

Service was a breeze.

Very enjoyable vibe.

Food was rediculous!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fun, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The fresh polenta dish, the portobello m ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The fresh polenta dish, the portobello mushroom fries, and the apple pie were all AMAZING!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was okay except my chilequiles. Eg ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was okay except my chilequiles. Eggs were burned and they still served it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Maple offers some of the best valu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great Maple offers some of the best value (combination of taste + ingredients + service) in San Diego. Better than expected. Casual with a nice, cozy environment. Everything we tried was tasty. They offer both good meat and vegetarian options depending on which way you swing. I ordered a market price fish plate, and the price was not outrageous as at other restaurants. The desserts were good too but just a touch too sweet. The only shortcoming was a lack of local San Diego brews on tap. They only had 1 or 2 available. Overall, Great Maple hit the spot!

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu options, delicious food and a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great menu options, delicious food and a great drink selection. Work the drive out of downtown if your visiting.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service and the food was wonderful ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great service and the food was wonderful. As usual. Love to go here for Brunch. Only thing, I don't think the AC was working that morning. My guests & I were sweating bullets the entire time we were there. But the food & service made up for that.

Tags: Cozy, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love the doughnut and French toast! Ser ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Love the doughnut and French toast!

Service was superb!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Authentic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

This was our second visit to Great Maple ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was our second visit to Great Maple. We had to get the Maple Bacon Donuts again, as they are absolutely some of the best donuts to be had in San Diego! The brisket breakfast bowl (not the actual name) was incredible. I ordered it the last time and had to get it again. While we didn't see much of the waitress after we got our food, she was very kind and accommodating with refills and asking if we needed anything before we ordered. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a breakfast, brunch, or lunch spot. I would go ahead and place a reservation though, as the line was about 30 minutes out when we showed up. Thankfully we had the reservation!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Never had a bad meal. Good service and ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Never had a bad meal. Good service and great food. Love the parmesan truffle fries.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good food, great taste and very g ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Really good food, great taste and very good portions, We did find it expensive, $100 (tip included) for 4 people for breakfast is a bit pricey, would go again on a special occasion.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I love this place. Casual dining and ou ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

I love this place. Casual dining and outstanding food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bad seats for a reservation.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Bad seats for a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was decent, but given the price, no ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was decent, but given the price, not worth it. Adams Avenue Grill offers delicious affordable food, that is creative. This place is fantastic for drinks and desserts/sweets. Would return, but just for that.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

One of my favorite breakfast/brunch spot ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

One of my favorite breakfast/brunch spots in San Diego. Delicious food and mimosas.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were wonderfully surprised at how awe ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were wonderfully surprised at how awesome this place was! We were not familiar with the area, being from out of town, and chose this place off of a map of San Diego. The food was amazing! Our server was equally amazing. He was friendly, efficient, and went out of his way to offer other places for us to check out on our stay. I had a salad that the server recommended, and my friend had the ribs. Now that I'm back to reality, all I can think about is eating there again! Definitely will dine there again the next time I'm in town.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I wish someone would have told us that a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I wish someone would have told us that a birthday party was going on and we would have sat at a table farther away from the festivities. The food was good, although one said the fish was not a good choice.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Looking for a new breakfast experience - ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Looking for a new breakfast experience - this is the place! The house made, fresh maple glazed doughnuts sprinkled with bacon are to die for! A couple of had scrambled melts, one with chorizo and the other with avocado and bacon. These are served with either tiny roasted potatoes or a potato pancake - seasoned and cooked perfectly. I especially liked the cilantro sour cream topping. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great location, the entrees come in big ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great location, the entrees come in big portions are are well crafted .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we had was delicious. Portob ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Everything we had was delicious. Portobello mushroom fries fabulous. The maple bacon donuts were a big hit with our foursome. Luckily one of us is vegetarian so the other three each got one (three to an order) and scarfed them right up! Service was okay. Took 20 minutes to get a glass of wine, though. Server was not particularly attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Pleasantly surprised with the food, flav ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Pleasantly surprised with the food, flavors and portions!

Wow - Portobello Mushroom Fries!! My absolute favorite! Guests also loved the boards & flavors!

Wait staff could have remembered a few requests (i.e. Coffee w/Dessert and Additional Bar Requests). Outside of that - I found it a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Leslie the server was AMAZING!! I would ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Leslie the server was AMAZING!! I would go back just for her! Donuts were amazing too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Great Maple, their donuts are to ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I love Great Maple, their donuts are to die for. The food is exquisite, the drinks are incredible. This is one of those places you HAVE to have reservations for however, or else you are waiting for hours.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservations are a must.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Reservations are a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.