About Great Maple San Diego

1451 Washington St.
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

We Serve Dinner, Lunch, Brunch and Weekday Breakfast. We are a "European Dinette" featuring seasonal fare, fresh house made pies, and local produce cocktails. We have a full bar and a social wine list. Outdoor dining, counter bar, food bar, and full room dining. Cocktail cart for special cocktails and tostas delivered on a 7 foot board. Cheers

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 11:30am
Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch
Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 255-2282

Website:
http://www.thegreatmaple.com/

Entertainment:
Food Boards run through the room... Yes. Cool

Catering:
Speak to General Manager it based on a case by case basis.

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot and local street parking.

Public Transit:
Bus stop right in front and Hillcrest trolly stop near by.

Executive Chef:
Carmine Lopez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Great Maple San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
San Diego
Most Booked
San Diego
Great for Brunch
San Diego
1 More
Most Booked
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Hillcrest ›

great for brunch (198)
fit for foodies (183)
neighborhood gem (158)
See All
great for lunch (108)
good for groups (83)
hot spot (68)
kid-friendly (64)
great for outdoor dining (52)
special occasion (52)
romantic (13)
vibrant bar scene (6)
notable wine list (5)
late-night find (5)
Sort By:
Newest
801 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time dining here. Th ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

This was our first time dining here. The menu was intriguing so we decided to give it a try. Everything was great. We'll be back

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

OMG!!! The food was great and this place ...

Dined 5 days ago

OMG!!! The food was great and this place is fun and trendy. This was my first visit and I am normally not a breakfast outer. However, I would definitely go again. I love that you can make a reservation and the only reason I had to wait was because my group got there early. I'm going to be back!!! Yummy!!! 😋

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Golf trip

Dined 5 days ago

Took my three golf buddies to Great Maple. They loved it. The food was fantastic and the service equal. The maple/bacon donuts are to die for. Will be eating here every time I visit San Diego.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Wonderful atmosphere.

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Great food! Wonderful atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5

The bummer about seasonal menus us that ...

Dined 6 days ago

The bummer about seasonal menus us that when you go back your favorite dish may not be on the menu anymore. The upside of Great Maple is that your disappointment will be short lived as the new menu inevitably contains something that is destined to become your new favorite.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and cocktails

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great food and cocktails

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food choices with high quality t ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Amazing food choices with high quality taste and incredible chefs.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant overall. Went with frie ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great restaurant overall. Went with friends that live in the area. Great drink menu, apps were delicious. Entree was divine. I would absolutely go back next time I'm in town!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great breakfast menu! Service was so fri ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great breakfast menu! Service was so friendly and they really went above the routine service and were great about it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice French (american) Restaurant in tow ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Nice French (american) Restaurant in town ... Food it's great !!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The name says it GREAT

Dined on May 9, 2016

The name says it GREAT

food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Some good, some bad

Dined on May 9, 2016

Made reservation and showed up on-time, but we weren't seated until 20+ minutes after our reservation time. Guess that's the issue with a smaller sized restaurant. Lamb burger is great. Doughnuts are amazing. Cheesecake was good. Lobster Poutine was terrible...avoid that at all costs.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Great Maple

Dined on May 9, 2016

This place is way over priced! The service was good but the quality of the food was lacking.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not too miss

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

So delicious. Do not miss this place. Definitely get the beignets. The service is excellent too

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique and truly gourmet

Dined on May 7, 2016

Make an impression on your guests. One of a kind. They will not be disappointed

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've dined at Great Maple several times ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

I've dined at Great Maple several times - brunch, lunch and dinner - an have never been disappointed. Creative, tasty dishes prepared with care. Great specialty cocktails. Last weeks' polenta was light and fluffy - with marscapone and bacon - heavenly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service, great staff, great brunch!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great Maple is great for many reason, food, quality, service and staff

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Great Maple! Always an amazing e ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We love Great Maple! Always an amazing experience. Food and drinks are fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!!! You must try the Maple Bac ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great food!!! You must try the Maple Bacon Doughnuts - they are excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5

Maple bacon donuts!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Maple bacon donuts!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place that Great Maple.

Dined on April 28, 2016

As usual, fantastic good and well mixed drinks. The personality of our waitress and bar tender was fantastic. We had a great time enjoying good food. Everyone should try Great Maple.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Good but overrated.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Parking is a huge pain . Even though we had reservations we had to wait 10 minutes for a table to be ready. The worst thing about this restaurant is how small it is. You are very close to everyone around you and the tables are super close together. This is not a place to go to talk or be private. The service was fine but a little slow. The menu had many good choices and I went with the Portobello fries . It was good and very large, all of our brunch plates were almost overwhelming, and not presented very well (messy). Some greasiness. The brunch mimosa's were OK, not very intense or fruity although they tried.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't leave without the Maple Donuts!

Dined on April 23, 2016

A reservation is a definite must. Don't be tarnished by bad reviews. Give this place an honest try and enjoy a great meal with great friends. Maple bacon donuts are to live for!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was good as always, but conversatio ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was good as always, but conversation is always drowned out by the high noise level. Our add-on order of eggs was missed because our server didn't hear our request. She addressed the issue within minutes, but still. Does it need to be so deafening inside?

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tasty Food

Dined on April 16, 2016

I got the chorizo chillaquiles and it was delicious. The salsa is very spicy, but perfect for dipping. The maple donuts were delicious too. I would definitely return. Parking is tough, but if you get there early you can find a space.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

Tiny portions big price.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Everything was delicious but it was so expensive for the cost.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch is always amazing

Dined on April 9, 2016

We dine at GM pretty often. The hostesses are always rude and stuck up, but aside from their "sense of entitlement", once you get past the hostess stand, everything else from food, to craft cocktails, to service has always been outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

awesome food!

Dined on April 6, 2016

Great service, awesome food! :) Unfortunately very loud & tight seating :(

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Best scramble in town

Dined on April 4, 2016

Best scramble in town

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had to wait past our reservation time ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

We had to wait past our reservation time, but other than that, great brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Noisey but tastey

Dined on April 2, 2016

The food was delicious, but boy was it loud. Despite the noise, I will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Sit outside. Inside is too noisy

Dined on April 2, 2016

Sit outside. Inside is too noisy

food5
ambience5
service5

Try one of the popovers! Amazing!

Dined on March 31, 2016

Try one of the popovers! Amazing!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Such a Find!

Dined on March 27, 2016

We went to Great Maple for the first time on Easter Sunday for brunch. What a treat! We had a reservation as were glad we did because the place was hopping. We had no wait and from there the service continued to be great. The four of us agreed that there were many things on the menu that looked appealing and we would have to return if the food was as good as it sounded. It is! We started by sharing an order of the maple bacon donuts and they are indescribably delicious! Three of us had scrambles and all were very good (although substituting turkey sausage for pork didn't turn out great - the pieces were very large and there was much more than needed). But the fresh basil on the egg/cheese dish was divine. However, what makes these breakfast dishes really stand apart from other places that offer similar fare are the sides: the potato scallion pancake and olive oil fig bread are out of this world! Ask for their homemade preserves and you will be in heaven. Our 4th ordered a grilled chicken sandwich on a croissant along with fries and it must have been good because he didn't leave a bite on his plate. The bread board that makes the rounds was offering lemon blueberry muffins and we took one to go. Lattes were yummy and all in all we had a wonderful experience. We will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Came during Easter. Ordered the pork bel ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Came during Easter. Ordered the pork belly on their special Easter menu and it was delicious. My go-to is the French toast!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Brunch at Great Maple

Dined on March 26, 2016

This is just our second time at Great Maple (Easter 2015) and this Easter Saturday. The food and service are excellent and I expect we will be coming more often this year. I especially enjoyed the grass fed burger and fries. The burger was nice and pink as requested and so juicy! Fries were great too.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We love coming here. Has not failed us y ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

We love coming here. Has not failed us yet.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Always good!

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

We enjoyed a nice dinner at Great Maple. We shared a pork chop and kale sprouts which were unusual and tasty. As always, service was terrific and the food was good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very good but a little overpriced

Dined on March 23, 2016

My GF and I were both very happy with our meals. We had to get the maple bacon donuts which are amazing and definitely worth the trip alone. I had the bacon chocolate pancakes and she had the California scramble. My pancakes were pretty run of the mill but the sausage on the side was delicious. My GF ordered the California scramble which was delicious too. Overall it was good food with great service but definitely a little pricey for what it is. If they seek out local items like they say then maybe I can understand the elevated pricing for breakfast fare. Overall, I would definitely recommend a stop in for breakfast, brunch, or lunch because it's definitely some tasty food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.