About Great Maple San Diego

1451 Washington St.
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

We Serve Dinner, Lunch, Brunch and Weekday Breakfast. We are a "European Dinette" featuring seasonal fare, fresh house made pies, and local produce cocktails. We have a full bar and a social wine list. Outdoor dining, counter bar, food bar, and full room dining. Cocktail cart for special cocktails and tostas delivered on a 7 foot board. Cheers

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 11:30am
Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch
Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 255-2282

Website:
http://www.thegreatmaple.com/

Entertainment:
Food Boards run through the room... Yes. Cool

Catering:
Speak to General Manager it based on a case by case basis.

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot and local street parking.

Public Transit:
Bus stop right in front and Hillcrest trolly stop near by.

Executive Chef:
Carmine Lopez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Great Maple San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
San Diego
Best Food
San Diego
Most Booked
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Hillcrest ›

Great for Brunch (154)
Fit for Foodies (139)
Neighborhood Gem (127)
See All
Great for Lunch (81)
Hot Spot (69)
Good for Groups (68)
Special Occasion (58)
Kid-friendly (42)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Romantic (9)
Late-night Find (5)
Notable Wine List (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Scenic View (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
882 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was decent, but given the price, no ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was decent, but given the price, not worth it. Adams Avenue Grill offers delicious affordable food, that is creative. This place is fantastic for drinks and desserts/sweets. Would return, but just for that.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I wish someone would have told us that a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

I wish someone would have told us that a birthday party was going on and we would have sat at a table farther away from the festivities. The food was good, although one said the fish was not a good choice.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Looking for a new breakfast experience - ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Looking for a new breakfast experience - this is the place! The house made, fresh maple glazed doughnuts sprinkled with bacon are to die for! A couple of had scrambled melts, one with chorizo and the other with avocado and bacon. These are served with either tiny roasted potatoes or a potato pancake - seasoned and cooked perfectly. I especially liked the cilantro sour cream topping. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great location, the entrees come in big ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great location, the entrees come in big portions are are well crafted .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we had was delicious. Portob ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Everything we had was delicious. Portobello mushroom fries fabulous. The maple bacon donuts were a big hit with our foursome. Luckily one of us is vegetarian so the other three each got one (three to an order) and scarfed them right up! Service was okay. Took 20 minutes to get a glass of wine, though. Server was not particularly attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Pleasantly surprised with the food, flav ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Pleasantly surprised with the food, flavors and portions!

Wow - Portobello Mushroom Fries!! My absolute favorite! Guests also loved the boards & flavors!

Wait staff could have remembered a few requests (i.e. Coffee w/Dessert and Additional Bar Requests). Outside of that - I found it a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Leslie the server was AMAZING!! I would ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Leslie the server was AMAZING!! I would go back just for her! Donuts were amazing too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Great Maple, their donuts are to ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I love Great Maple, their donuts are to die for. The food is exquisite, the drinks are incredible. This is one of those places you HAVE to have reservations for however, or else you are waiting for hours.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservations are a must.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Reservations are a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappointed. took guests from out ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Never disappointed. took guests from out of town and they loved it. A "show off" place! I order something different each time and I am amazed.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Very original and unique dis ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great food. Very original and unique dishes. A little pricy but very worth it. I would definitely come here again. I recommend maligned a reservation or just arriving early in the morning. Can get busy quickly.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

In my opinion, food wasn't good. The onk ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

In my opinion, food wasn't good. The onky thing good were the signature donuts. Service was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Perfection on so many levels! The resta ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Perfection on so many levels! The restaurant is super chic and classy. Incredible light fixtures and topiaries. The woman's bathroom is beautiful. But the FOOD! Wow. My husband had his standard hash and said it was the best he's ever had. I had brioche french toast which was two giant long pieces of bread soaked perfectly (which means not too much to me) in egg batter and fried to perfection and covered in bacon pieces. Our friends loved their dishes as well and we shared blueberry silver dollar pancakes for the table. OJ was super fresh and cold. Yum! A+ experience. I've already recommended it to friends and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, average service, terrible no ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food, average service, terrible noise level (be prepared to talk very loudly to your friends sitting next to you). Music is obnoxiously loud which makes everyone speak even louder; a vicious cycle.

Waited forgot to bring out espresso; then, it took a while to get it, we were done with dinner.

Hostess messed up and canceled my reservation as we were eating! She told me she would reinstate it (so I could get my points), she never did. I had to speak with Sorin, at the end of the day, who is one of the managers. Super nice guy and he took care of it within 30 min.

He saved me as a return customer; I am still leery of the very loud music being played inside the restaurants but I am probably going to return because the food is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

The place was too hot. Should consider r ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The place was too hot. Should consider replacing A/C units. Also, there were a lot of flies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

I love how you use a hand drawn map of t ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I love how you use a hand drawn map of the area for your placemats! Definitely will be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent menu, great service, have alwa ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Excellent menu, great service, have always enjoyed this spot!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved our server Sybelle she was knowl ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I loved our server Sybelle she was knowledgeable and funny... And kept us munching all morning long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Was sat in time, service was quick, food ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Was sat in time, service was quick, food came out with in a timely manner. I had the French toast which was great and tried some of the other food that was ordered at my table which was full of flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for brunch! Unfortunately, e ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great place for brunch! Unfortunately, everyone in San Diego knows that too. The maple bacon donuts must be ordered!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service are great! The noise le ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food and service are great! The noise level is extreme so don't expect to carry on a meaningful conversation during peak times. A common problem these days in hip restaurants.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Slow service.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Best bloody Mary's. My favorite place fo ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Best bloody Mary's. My favorite place for brunch !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always a great time at Great Maple. Alwa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Always a great time at Great Maple. Always. The attention to food, detail and service is what makes this a true SD gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Maple is consistently good for bre ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great Maple is consistently good for breakfast. Definitely indulge in the french toast and a bloody mary!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was excellent in his service. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our waiter was excellent in his service. Best turkey burger ever. And I really don't like turkey burger. Wife suggested it, good choice. I believe our waiter name was Isaac? He told use that he invented the drink my wife had. Cucumber melon tequila cooler that was excellent. Will definitely return back again. Much Mahalo

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place and it's ambiance. I'l ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Loved this place and it's ambiance. I'll go back again not only because it's beside my home, but the food was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Goat cheese popover and THE MAPLE BACON ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Goat cheese popover and THE MAPLE BACON DONUTS

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took family from out of town here for br ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Took family from out of town here for breakfast, they seated us early without any hassle. The food was very good, my brother said the burger he ordered from the brunch menu was top five he's ever had. I don't think I have ever been disappointed with the food here. Only negative point was it was noisy enough that we had to have the waitress repeat the specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Yum yummy as usual! I always have the BL ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Yum yummy as usual! I always have the BLT and it's awesome. Great service every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was awesome as usual, service was s ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was awesome as usual, service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Met 3 girlfriends for a delicious breakf ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Met 3 girlfriends for a delicious breakfast! Everything was superb from the drinks to the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly, attentive staff. Great food.

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Friendly, attentive staff. Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Trendy food that doesn't taste good. W ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Trendy food that doesn't taste good. Work to make it look nice on plate but not very good. Basic veggie sandwich was on 6" high hard ciabatta bread. Little veggies and almost all bread that was stacked too high to eat like a sandwich. Basic breakfast served with pototatoes $12. Do not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

No strollers allowed

 
 (México)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

No strollers allowed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Simply amazing. We went back a second ti ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Simply amazing. We went back a second time during a short trip because it was so good. Cocktails are worth every penny and the food was all fantastic. We will be back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A very fun and energetic place to dine. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

A very fun and energetic place to dine. Quite noisy, though. Difficult to carry on a conversation above the din. Food was great: intriguing menu, tasty selections, and unusual presentation. I'd definitely eat here again with friends and family.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappoints! Always delicious! B ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Never disappoints! Always delicious! Brunch is fantastic! Suggest to always make a reservation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant and should not be m ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Excellent restaurant and should not be missed. Food, libations are all amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great just make sure you make a r ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It was great just make sure you make a reservation for Sunday morning or you'll most likely have to wait at least 45 minutes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.