About Great Maple San Diego

We Serve Dinner, Lunch, Brunch and Weekday Breakfast. We are a modern American eatery featuring seasonal fare, fresh house made pies, and local produce cocktails. We have a full bar and a social wine list.
Outdoor dining, counter bar, food bar, and full room dining. Cocktail cart for special cocktails and tostas delivered on a 7 foot board. Cheers

1451 Washington St.
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Farm-to-table

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast

Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 11:30am

Lunch

Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Brunch

Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 255-2282

Website:
http://www.thegreatmaple.com/

Entertainment:
Food Boards run through the room... Yes. Cool

Catering:
Speak to General Manager it based on a case by case basis.

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot and local street parking.

Public Transit:
Bus stop right in front and Hillcrest trolly stop near by.

Executive Chef:
Carmine Lopez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Great Maple San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (99)
Neighborhood Gem (71)
Casual (68)
See All
Fit for Foodies (58)
Creative Cuisine (56)
Comfort Food (54)
Great for Lunch (45)
Sunday Lunch (41)
Good for Groups (37)
Fun (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Good for a Date (33)
Special Occasion (31)
Worth the Drive (30)
Cozy (30)
Local Ingredients (27)
Kid-friendly (24)
Hot Spot (21)
Authentic (21)
Modern Decor (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Family Style (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Afternoon Coffee (13)
Seasonal (12)
People Watching (12)
Healthy (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Business Meals (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Organic (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Romantic (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Spicy (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Great Beer (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Vegan (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Sports (1)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
1259 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 hours ago

Was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Great place. Great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Love this place! Sweets to savory - it's all great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Highly recommend that you make a reservation when going there on the weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was fantastic. The fresh made maple and bacon donuts are a must! Bloody Mary was made to perfection although was surprised to see a the Bloody Mary mix was not house made.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

It was a good time, good food & great vibe. Their waffle maker was broken so the kids couldn't have the waffle on a stick. Should always have a back-up waffle maker if one of your attractions is a waffle on a stick. But they wound up having the generously portioned french toast that will feed two kids.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Ambiance was excellent. Food choices were spectacular. French toast logs were the best with endless bacon toppings. The most interesting people filled the restaurant and were incredibly friendly. Great place for my adult daughter's birthday!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Salmon, ribs and seasonal pie were wonderful! Great fast service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Adorable patio. Eclectic and quiet. Loved the popovers and calamari for appetizers and the salmon entree was the envy of our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Haven't had a bad meal yet. The dishes were fantastic and the apple pie is my new favorite.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We came down to San Diego for a getaway weekend with friends, and actually had a friend recommend we find and go to Great Maple. Was it worth it? Yes! Food was good, meat was like butter melt in your mouth full of goodness. We tried the famous Bacon Maple Donuts, and sorry I wasn't really impressed, but let me say I am not a big Bacon eater like lots of people, so you may like it. I loved, loved, loved the Beignets with the lemon sauce on the side, so yum. Ordered a bloody mary which is made fresh and comes with different assortment of toppings, ours was a giant pickle, freshly made. This place is busy, busy, busy, even with reservations we had to wait to be seated about 15 min. I just wish they would come down to Vegas and open a spot, they would be HUGE here, Vegas doesn't have many great breakfast places to choose from. Overall, would totally come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 6, 2017

This place is entirely too expensive for what you get. Avocado toast and egg whites for $16.95? I don't think so!!! That's outrageous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Love the bacon maple donuts and the French toast is to die for. Service was friendly and fast.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 2, 2017

First time visiting for brunch. The food never disappoints. The flat bread with prosciutto was a great choice as was the quich of the day. The crust was the best part, yum!

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Had a reservation for 8:15 am. Was seated in a timely manner and server took our order. Then we never saw our server again. We saw her checking in on other tables but never ours, and we sat and watched 5 other tables that were seated after us all got their food, ate and paid their bill all before our food ever showed up. It was about 45 minutes from taking the order to actually receiving it. The food was very good but service was definitely lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Absolutely delicious food! A must for brunch! Get the maple bacon doughnuts - like nothing I've ever tasted before!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Amazing as always !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Wonderful as always. Love the food and the service was even better than usual--which is saying something! Love great maple!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The Maple Bacon Donuts, Lavender Lemonade, speciality blended hot tea, quirky food combinations are very much worth driving around for a parking spot or finding a spot with a little walk. Love this place!

Tags: Vegan, Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I had the popover with goat cheese stuffed squash blossoms and there was deliciousness in every bite! There was no problem with parking and Great Maple was convenient and easy to get to. I will go back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Organic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Unique menu. Food presentations are unique. Helpful and professional wait staff.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We've gone to Great Maple several times for dinner but finally tried it for Sunday brunch, which is insanely, insanely packed and busy. So there was a bit of a service trade-off. We still had to wait even with a reservation. It took forever to order. Some of our drinks never came. But overall it was a good experience, servers were friendly and the food was very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Went to Great Maple with friends and 4 small kids for Sunday breakfast. It was really busy, so I was glad to have a reservation because we were seated immediately, and I was surprised how kid-friendly it was. The staff was so welcoming and friendly, and the wait staff was extremely attentive. We started with the Maple Bacon Donuts (which are a must for any meal here) and beignets, which were also delicious! Each of us ordered something different, and we all enjoyed our meals! I have been to Great Maple many times for breakfast and dinner, and I have always had a great experience and superb food! I recommend Great Maple for any meal, but if you are planning on going on the weekend or popular times, I recommend making a reservation.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Absolutely incredible food. Super creative menu with locally sourced fresh ingredients. The Ribs and the heirloom tomato salad were a highlight. Already made reservations to go back!!

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great food, but still had to wait 30 minutes before we were seated.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The food was top notch. The popovers are a must! The Salted Caramel Ribs (I think that's the name) were awesome! Obvious it's an old Denny's building, but re-done creatively adding some nice touches. Our server was very friendly, but also forgetful. Had to remind her of appetizer, coffee and drinks ordered and not delivered.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We live walking distance and come often.
My only complaint is the wine service is very slow since only the bartender pours wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Two days later and I'm still stuffed. I tried the smoked brisket hash, delicious and enough to bring back dinner. Also loved the mini Bloody Mary because it's a blessed thing to be able to drink a wee bit at lunch when you still have most of the day to get through. Spouse tried the vegan hash and liked it but one of our friends tried the shrimp hash and said it wasn't great.

The servers were very helpful and efficient. It was a comfortable, fun place to have brunch with friends.

We took home an apple pie to eat later. It was tasty and reheated well. Great crust and nice and tart. The portions are a bit large and that's all that would keep me from returning. There are a few things that look great but unless I can get someone to split them with me I just don't think I can eat that much food in one sitting! I will probably never get to the donuts for that reason, sigh.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 21, 2017

As always, chic and professional. We really, really miss the house salad that for some reason vanished when the menu reduced the options.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Somewhat overpriced... Disappointed there were few if any vegetables on menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 19, 2017

There are delicious food options at the Great Maple. The servers are kind and professional .

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Cozy, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Had a wonderful meal with good friends. Beet salad was very tasty. My Friends had the fish and chips, they were good and plentiful.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great place with amazing food. Even picky people who like their food a particular way are impressed! :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We loved this restaurant! We were celebrating Fathers's Day and a birthday. The ambience was great and the food was amazing. We had so much fun. The maple bacon doughnuts are an absolute must.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great maple is amazing!! Everything on the menu that we tried was delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I would not go back unless I can sit outside. Way too loud and crammed in a little table in the middle of the room🙁

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great time at Great Maple. If you have food sensitivities then you may not be able to indulge in all that Great Maple offers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fathers Day

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We had a fabulous dinner! Between the 4 of us we had the scallops, salmon and the risotto. They were all fantastic! Best scallops we'd ever had. Then there's the maple bacon donuts, oh my! Out of this world! Blanca was our server and she was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great Maple has the most delicious donuts I've ever had. Always served hot. The menu is a bit small, but everything I've eaten so far has been tasty and well prepared. The restaurant itself has a cool retro vibe, but it's hard to tell because the place is always so packed. Definitely suggest making a reservation, otherwise, you WILL be waiting. Also, parking is terrible, but I suppose that's true of most places in North Park.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.