About Great Maple San Diego

1451 Washington St.
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

We Serve Dinner, Lunch, Brunch and Weekday Breakfast. We are a "European Dinette" featuring seasonal fare, fresh house made pies, and local produce cocktails. We have a full bar and a social wine list. Outdoor dining, counter bar, food bar, and full room dining. Cocktail cart for special cocktails and tostas delivered on a 7 foot board. Cheers

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 11:30am
Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch
Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 255-2282

Website:
http://www.thegreatmaple.com/

Entertainment:
Food Boards run through the room... Yes. Cool

Catering:
Speak to General Manager it based on a case by case basis.

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot and local street parking.

Public Transit:
Bus stop right in front and Hillcrest trolly stop near by.

Executive Chef:
Carmine Lopez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Great Maple San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
San Diego
Great for Brunch
San Diego
Most Booked
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Hillcrest ›

great for brunch (173)
fit for foodies (159)
neighborhood gem (147)
See All
great for lunch (89)
good for groups (80)
hot spot (73)
special occasion (57)
kid-friendly (51)
great for outdoor dining (43)
romantic (9)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (5)
notable wine list (3)
scenic view (2)
good vegetarian options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
864 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent menu, great service, have alwa ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent menu, great service, have always enjoyed this spot!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved our server Sybelle she was knowl ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

I loved our server Sybelle she was knowledgeable and funny... And kept us munching all morning long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Was sat in time, service was quick, food ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

Was sat in time, service was quick, food came out with in a timely manner. I had the French toast which was great and tried some of the other food that was ordered at my table which was full of flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for brunch! Unfortunately, e ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great place for brunch! Unfortunately, everyone in San Diego knows that too. The maple bacon donuts must be ordered!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service are great! The noise le ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food and service are great! The noise level is extreme so don't expect to carry on a meaningful conversation during peak times. A common problem these days in hip restaurants.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Slow service.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Best bloody Mary's. My favorite place fo ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Best bloody Mary's. My favorite place for brunch !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always a great time at Great Maple. Alwa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Always a great time at Great Maple. Always. The attention to food, detail and service is what makes this a true SD gem.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Maple is consistently good for bre ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great Maple is consistently good for breakfast. Definitely indulge in the french toast and a bloody mary!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was excellent in his service. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our waiter was excellent in his service. Best turkey burger ever. And I really don't like turkey burger. Wife suggested it, good choice. I believe our waiter name was Isaac? He told use that he invented the drink my wife had. Cucumber melon tequila cooler that was excellent. Will definitely return back again. Much Mahalo

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place and it's ambiance. I'l ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Loved this place and it's ambiance. I'll go back again not only because it's beside my home, but the food was great!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Goat cheese popover and THE MAPLE BACON ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Goat cheese popover and THE MAPLE BACON DONUTS

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took family from out of town here for br ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Took family from out of town here for breakfast, they seated us early without any hassle. The food was very good, my brother said the burger he ordered from the brunch menu was top five he's ever had. I don't think I have ever been disappointed with the food here. Only negative point was it was noisy enough that we had to have the waitress repeat the specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Yum yummy as usual! I always have the BL ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Yum yummy as usual! I always have the BLT and it's awesome. Great service every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was awesome as usual, service was s ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was awesome as usual, service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Met 3 girlfriends for a delicious breakf ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Met 3 girlfriends for a delicious breakfast! Everything was superb from the drinks to the food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly, attentive staff. Great food.

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Friendly, attentive staff. Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Trendy food that doesn't taste good. W ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Trendy food that doesn't taste good. Work to make it look nice on plate but not very good. Basic veggie sandwich was on 6" high hard ciabatta bread. Little veggies and almost all bread that was stacked too high to eat like a sandwich. Basic breakfast served with pototatoes $12. Do not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

No strollers allowed

 
 (México)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

No strollers allowed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Simply amazing. We went back a second ti ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Simply amazing. We went back a second time during a short trip because it was so good. Cocktails are worth every penny and the food was all fantastic. We will be back!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A very fun and energetic place to dine. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

A very fun and energetic place to dine. Quite noisy, though. Difficult to carry on a conversation above the din. Food was great: intriguing menu, tasty selections, and unusual presentation. I'd definitely eat here again with friends and family.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappoints! Always delicious! B ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Never disappoints! Always delicious! Brunch is fantastic! Suggest to always make a reservation!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant and should not be m ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Excellent restaurant and should not be missed. Food, libations are all amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great just make sure you make a r ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It was great just make sure you make a reservation for Sunday morning or you'll most likely have to wait at least 45 minutes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is worth The money ! Reservatio ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food is worth The money ! Reservation was easy breezy !

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Not to miss when you are in San Diego or ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Not to miss when you are in San Diego or even a local. We first discovered it July 4th 4 years ago and make a point to go there every time we are in town. The food is different and inventive. The eggs and portabello fries are one of the most delicious things I have ever had. Beignets are a must order as well as the maple bacon donuts.

Make sure to make a reservation on open table, there is always a wait and parking can be challenging when it is crowded. Worth the wait and the walk though.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The first two times we went were AMAZING ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The first two times we went were AMAZING. Excellent food and service. This last time was a little disappointing. Service was still great and the mimosas are still perfection but the food was not as great as we remember. I was very excited to see a stuffed squash blossom (in season!) on the popover menu but was so sad to get just one tiny blossom that was tasty but seemed like an after-thought rather than the star. Instead, the dish was HEAVY on the roasted veggies which were drenched in a very sweet balsamic reduction. Eggs were poached perfectly and the popovers were great. Beignets were also delicious. Husband got the brisket popover and it was very dry, not ooey gooey like last two times. My son got the pork belly and loved it. Will come back but sad for the inconsistency.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and service awesome as usual. A bit ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food and service awesome as usual. A bit too noisy. It would have been perfect if the patio would have been available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The beef brisket popover was delicious!! ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The beef brisket popover was delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

A charming place for breakfast/brunch. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

A charming place for breakfast/brunch. We had a reservation, so we were seated right away. The wait could be very long. We ordered the mimosas, they were amazing! The beignets were excellent. We ordered the chorizo scramble melts and pork belly popover. The food was fabulous and right now they are THE best breakfast in town. There is definitely room for improvement in their service.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Great Maple is worth it JUST for the map ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great Maple is worth it JUST for the maple bacon donuts. The fact that the food is amazing just makes it that much better. One of my favorite spots for brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding! Definitely com ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was outstanding! Definitely come hungry! Not a lot of room for groups but we managed.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I remember this place as a 24 hour coffe ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I remember this place as a 24 hour coffee house where you could order breakfast any time of day. The coffee was always hot and it always got busy when the bars were closing.

Today, this place has some very nice and varied choices on the menu. The food was nicely presented and the taste was excellent. Our server was very attentive but not obtrusive. There was one large party going on that got a bit loud but what do you expect when family and friends get together on a Friday evening.

Just for fun try the popovers.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great as always. Not good to require 50 ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great as always. Not good to require 50 characters. just let us say what we want.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beter to go when is super busy. The rest ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Beter to go when is super busy. The restaurant prepares well and has the A team working. The last time I went it was not busy, the food took longer to make it to the table and was almost warm.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

If you love bacon and maple, this is the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

If you love bacon and maple, this is the place to go. Portions are more than average with delicious taste (not your ordinary eggs and bacon). Bacon and maple doughnuts are made to order...worth the wait. Pancakes and french toast absolutely delicious! Great experience. Do recommend reservations.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome food, amazing service, sweet gem ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Awesome food, amazing service, sweet gem of a restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Maple exceeded my expectations! T ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great Maple exceeded my expectations! The food was amazing and plentiful. We started Father's Day brunch with the hot, fresh cooked beignets which were served with the most wonderful lemon curd (think lemon meringue pie filling) for dipping. Then we were tempted into trying one of the fruity pebbles donuts fresh from the oven that were paraded by our table on a 6 foot plank. It was marvelous! Then our meals were served: the brioche french toast with blueberries, bacon and syrup was enormous and scrumptious; the pancakes with peanut butter, fried banana and syrup was filling, and my son's cheeseburger was excellent. He also had the huckleberry Italian soda and enjoyed it very much. I'm looking forward to going back again. It was VERY busy and a little loud but we were still able to have a conversation at the table. I strongly recommend a reservation!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mmmmm, bacon maple donuts are what alway ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Mmmmm, bacon maple donuts are what always lures us to Great Maple. But we have been enthusiastic about every dish we have eaten, sweet or savory! Best bet is to order multiple dishes to share.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We always enjoy our dinners here. Food i ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We always enjoy our dinners here. Food is a great mix so something for everyone. Tried some different desserts this time but the donuts are the best! Lights were pretty bright for night time dining but our server was great about turning them down. Will return in the future.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.