About Great Maple San Diego

1451 Washington St.
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

We Serve Dinner, Lunch, Brunch and Weekday Breakfast. We are a "European Dinette" featuring seasonal fare, fresh house made pies, and local produce cocktails. We have a full bar and a social wine list. Outdoor dining, counter bar, food bar, and full room dining. Cocktail cart for special cocktails and tostas delivered on a 7 foot board. Cheers

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 11:30am
Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch
Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 255-2282

Website:
http://www.thegreatmaple.com/

Entertainment:
Food Boards run through the room... Yes. Cool

Catering:
Speak to General Manager it based on a case by case basis.

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot and local street parking.

Public Transit:
Bus stop right in front and Hillcrest trolly stop near by.

Executive Chef:
Carmine Lopez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Great Maple San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
San Diego
Most Booked
San Diego
Great for Brunch
San Diego
1 More
Most Booked
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Hillcrest ›

great for brunch (172)
fit for foodies (163)
neighborhood gem (144)
See All
great for lunch (94)
good for groups (82)
hot spot (66)
kid-friendly (55)
special occasion (51)
great for outdoor dining (48)
romantic (8)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
notable wine list (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
834 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service3

The beef brisket popover was delicious!! ...

Dined 4 days ago

The beef brisket popover was delicious!!!

food5
ambience3
service3
value4

A charming place for breakfast/brunch. ...

Dined 5 days ago

A charming place for breakfast/brunch. We had a reservation, so we were seated right away. The wait could be very long. We ordered the mimosas, they were amazing! The beignets were excellent. We ordered the chorizo scramble melts and pork belly popover. The food was fabulous and right now they are THE best breakfast in town. There is definitely room for improvement in their service.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Maple is worth it JUST for the map ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great Maple is worth it JUST for the maple bacon donuts. The fact that the food is amazing just makes it that much better. One of my favorite spots for brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was outstanding! Definitely com ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food was outstanding! Definitely come hungry! Not a lot of room for groups but we managed.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I remember this place as a 24 hour coffe ...

Dined 6 days ago

I remember this place as a 24 hour coffee house where you could order breakfast any time of day. The coffee was always hot and it always got busy when the bars were closing. Today, this place has some very nice and varied choices on the menu. The food was nicely presented and the taste was excellent. Our server was very attentive but not obtrusive. There was one large party going on that got a bit loud but what do you expect when family and friends get together on a Friday evening. Just for fun try the popovers.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always. Not good to require 50 ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Great as always. Not good to require 50 characters. just let us say what we want.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Beter to go when is super busy. The rest ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Beter to go when is super busy. The restaurant prepares well and has the A team working. The last time I went it was not busy, the food took longer to make it to the table and was almost warm.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

If you love bacon and maple, this is the ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

If you love bacon and maple, this is the place to go. Portions are more than average with delicious taste (not your ordinary eggs and bacon). Bacon and maple doughnuts are made to order...worth the wait. Pancakes and french toast absolutely delicious! Great experience. Do recommend reservations.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food, amazing service, sweet gem ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Awesome food, amazing service, sweet gem of a restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Maple exceeded my expectations! T ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great Maple exceeded my expectations! The food was amazing and plentiful. We started Father's Day brunch with the hot, fresh cooked beignets which were served with the most wonderful lemon curd (think lemon meringue pie filling) for dipping. Then we were tempted into trying one of the fruity pebbles donuts fresh from the oven that were paraded by our table on a 6 foot plank. It was marvelous! Then our meals were served: the brioche french toast with blueberries, bacon and syrup was enormous and scrumptious; the pancakes with peanut butter, fried banana and syrup was filling, and my son's cheeseburger was excellent. He also had the huckleberry Italian soda and enjoyed it very much. I'm looking forward to going back again. It was VERY busy and a little loud but we were still able to have a conversation at the table. I strongly recommend a reservation!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Mmmmm, bacon maple donuts are what alway ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Mmmmm, bacon maple donuts are what always lures us to Great Maple. But we have been enthusiastic about every dish we have eaten, sweet or savory! Best bet is to order multiple dishes to share.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We always enjoy our dinners here. Food i ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We always enjoy our dinners here. Food is a great mix so something for everyone. Tried some different desserts this time but the donuts are the best! Lights were pretty bright for night time dining but our server was great about turning them down. Will return in the future.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful meal at Great Maple. ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at Great Maple. Our friends loved it and said they would definitely be back. The Bacon Maple donuts are a must for sharing at the table.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

The food was excellent!! We had a good t ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was excellent!! We had a good table but it was extremely warm in the restaurant, even our server was sweating which is not a good thing when he is serving your food. The noise level was too loud for our taste to have a normal conversation. I feel like I was yelling. I would go back because the food was good, next time I will sit outside!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service4

The french toast is the best I've ever h ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The french toast is the best I've ever had...

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

good food but really loud

Dined on June 11, 2016

We love to come here for the food, but always forget how loud it is inside. I love the maple bacon donuts - it's a wonderful flavor combination. However, the bacon could be a little crispier.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A Favorite

Dined on June 10, 2016

This was our first dinner here, having only come for brunch before. The food was great: two ordered the salad with salmon and I ordered the turkey burger. I can say it was THE BEST BURGER I HAVE EVER EATEN!! For dessert we shared the GM donuts - what more can I say? Yum!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, drinks and service!

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Amazing food, drinks and service!

food5
ambience5
service5

Our first visit was great. Loved the atm ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Our first visit was great. Loved the atmosphere and menu. Wonderful drink menu.

food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Had an ok time. There was a group of lad ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Had an ok time. There was a group of ladies who were so loud that it took away from the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great evening

Dined on June 4, 2016

I have been here several times for dinner and have thoroughly enjoyed my experience each time. Food is wonderful, service is friendly and prompt, and the ambiance is fantastic. I look forward to coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

More for brunch

Dined on May 30, 2016

Although this is considered more of a brunch place I had the pork chop and thought it was delicious. Their maple donuts with bacon is also a winner and I don't even like maple donuts. Definitely a must try. The only downfall is the noise. The waiter seemed to be screaming. Never mind all that. Go for the food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic meal

Dined on May 29, 2016

Great French toast. Very accommodating. Stellar experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Another GM brunch

Dined on May 29, 2016

I love the food at this restaurant, but the noise level is deafening and my throat hurt somewhat just talking across the table

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

No so great at Great Maple

Dined on May 29, 2016

Having spent 5 years in Canada, was looking forward to the lobster Poutine, which was too bad as it failed the basic poutine tests. Fries were soggy and swimming in some kind of liquid (not sure what it was). Did find small pieces of lobster claw and knew it was real since also found shell. Suggest chef visit almost anywhere in Canada to see how poutine really is made. Also shared the Moroccan spiced lamb burger, which was supposed to be medium rare and came with a salad swimming, drowning in salad dressing. Burger was pink in the middle, but, and not sure how they did they did this, it was well done otherwise. Moroccan flavor in burger wasn't there at all, along with the tzatziki. What a disappointment. I had been looking forward to trying this place for so long.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Get the Donuts!

Dined on May 28, 2016

The Maple Bacon Donuts were very good, worth all one thousand pennies. Brisket Popover and Andouille Sausage Popover dishes were delicious too. The bacon, is hog heaven. Tip: Make a reservation, even for breakfast.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We like the food and the vibe... but ser ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We like the food and the vibe... but service was POOR: long waits, misunderstanding of order, pushing: bringing main dishes when starters were still being eaten.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Yum!

Dined on May 26, 2016

Came here with a friend based on another friend's recommendation! Had a great time, and the food was fab. Really enjoyed the house specialties...popover app and maple bacon donuts for dessert. I had the special of the day, which was halibut. They accommodated a special request without any drama (which I appreciated). The service was attentive but not cloying. We actually stayed there for almost 4 hours! No one bugged us to leave, although it was a weeknight and not super busy. I've told many people about this place, and I will - for sure! - be back! :-)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

brunch is not very amazing

Dined on May 22, 2016

The place was very noisy, to the point where my girlfriend and I couldn't talk to each other across the table without elevating our voices. The staff was great but obviously overwhelmed. The food was pretty good but a bit pricey for what you got. I had the "breakfast hotdog" which was essentially scrambled eggs on top of a turkey sausage (they ran out of the brats) on a bun that could accommodate neither. It was awkward to eat since the bun was made of pretzel and could not be cut well but it was too small to hold the scrambled eggs. It came with very unremarkable potatoes, a 2cm slice of cantaloupe, and a solitary blackberry. I was not impressed. I do understand that it was a Sunday at 11am but I wasn't prepared for the noise level or surprisingly weak food. The tables seemed to tightly packed together which probably contributed to the noise substantially. Our server was great though. Very sweet, accommodating and probably a wonderful person in general. She made the meal more enjoyable.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time dining here. Th ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

This was our first time dining here. The menu was intriguing so we decided to give it a try. Everything was great. We'll be back

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

I was pleasantly surprised with the Grea ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised with the Great Maple! The food is fantastic especially the desserts which are huge! Great value for the money and well suited for any occasion including a business meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

OMG!!! The food was great and this place ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

OMG!!! The food was great and this place is fun and trendy. This was my first visit and I am normally not a breakfast outer. However, I would definitely go again. I love that you can make a reservation and the only reason I had to wait was because my group got there early. I'm going to be back!!! Yummy!!! 😋

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Golf trip

Dined on May 21, 2016

Took my three golf buddies to Great Maple. They loved it. The food was fantastic and the service equal. The maple/bacon donuts are to die for. Will be eating here every time I visit San Diego.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Wonderful atmosphere.

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food! Wonderful atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5

The bummer about seasonal menus us that ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The bummer about seasonal menus us that when you go back your favorite dish may not be on the menu anymore. The upside of Great Maple is that your disappointment will be short lived as the new menu inevitably contains something that is destined to become your new favorite.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and cocktails

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great food and cocktails

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food choices with high quality t ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Amazing food choices with high quality taste and incredible chefs.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant overall. Went with frie ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great restaurant overall. Went with friends that live in the area. Great drink menu, apps were delicious. Entree was divine. I would absolutely go back next time I'm in town!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great breakfast menu! Service was so fri ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great breakfast menu! Service was so friendly and they really went above the routine service and were great about it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice French (american) Restaurant in tow ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Nice French (american) Restaurant in town ... Food it's great !!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.