About Great Maple San Diego

We Serve Dinner, Lunch, Brunch and Weekday Breakfast. We are a "European Dinette" featuring seasonal
fare, fresh house made pies, and local produce cocktails. We have a full bar and a social wine list.
Outdoor dining, counter bar, food bar, and full room dining. Cocktail cart for special cocktails and
tostas delivered on a 7 foot board. Cheers

1451 Washington St.
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, American, Farm-to-table

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast

Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 11:30am

Lunch

Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Brunch

Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 255-2282

Website:
http://www.thegreatmaple.com/

Entertainment:
Food Boards run through the room... Yes. Cool

Catering:
Speak to General Manager it based on a case by case basis.

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot and local street parking.

Public Transit:
Bus stop right in front and Hillcrest trolly stop near by.

Executive Chef:
Carmine Lopez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Great Maple San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (87)
Comfort Food (59)
Casual (56)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Sunday Lunch (45)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Fun (39)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Great for Lunch (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Hot Spot (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Kid-friendly (26)
Special Occasion (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Cozy (22)
Modern Decor (21)
Afternoon Coffee (18)
Authentic (17)
Seasonal (16)
Family Style (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Bar Seating (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
People Watching (9)
Healthy (8)
Organic (7)
Tasting Menu (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Vegan (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Business Meals (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great Beer (3)
Romantic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1118 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 13 hours ago

Great food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Best food for breakfast! Everyone was ordering the maple bacon donuts. They are a must have! Mimosa and bloody Mary's are second to none. Take your out of town friends

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely love Great Maple!! The food is amazing, staff is very cool, and I love the vibe and decor of the restaurant! 5 stars, highly recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

Great service. Very busy so make a reservation. Maple donuts were great, breakfast foods so so. Good portions but everything is on the pricey side. Loved the lavender lemonade although it was on the sweeter side. Overall though good ambiance and really nice wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

The French toast is unbelievable! The best I've ever had. The food is always phenomenal. Be careful of the bloody marys - they are quite spicy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food awful service. Forgot and got order wrong. Also tried to charge us for items we didn't get multiple times.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Went to Great Maple again before the farmers market. We love this place. Been 5 times now and never disappointed. Tried the French toast this time. It was huge shared with table. The French toast was light and airy with maple syrup and chucks of bacon. Loved it. Table ordered the staple of. Avon maple donuts and rest of the family got their regulars. A pop over, a melt and silver dollar pancakes. There were 5 of us and still had left overs. Waiting till next time. Keep up the great work

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

I've been seeing many good reviews about Great Maple, and with all the good pictures on Yelp I just had to go! I was not disappointed! I got the brioche French toast and it was amazing, glazed with just the right amount of maple syrup, sprinkled with bacon pieces, blueberry as a garnish and literally as long as my for forearm. Accompanied by the caramel bacon, Yum! Don't trust any pics you see on the internet of the food here, it's better than it looks and three times the size! Perfect texture nothing soggy. Perfection on a plate. A little on the pricey side but in the case of this place you only live once! My suggestion GO FOR IT!

Tags: Family Style, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great people and Good
Manager was Asome!
Will return, turkey burger is vey good
Thanks

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food is so good !nice service ! parking terrible, but I look forward to next time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Expect to wait even if you have reservations. The service and food was great! After indulging in a maple bacon donut and a couple beignets w/ lemon curd, I barely had any room left to devour my beef brisket popover. Can't wait to eat my leftovers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent food as always! Best to make a reservation if possible.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food, great service, noisy cafeteria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Love this place food is extraordinary and service is outstanding. One of the best in San Diego for sure.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Good for Groups, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Organic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great night out with my wife. We've wanted to try this place for a while and are so glad we made it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Made the mistake of the brunch dining. The cacophony simply ruined everything. Recommend brunch only for the young and those who dont mind conversing at a yelling pitch.
Oh yeah, food was great.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Lively spot for great breakfast options. It is crowded and loud and lively with good food and good service. The turn over is pretty quick. They do take reservations which you will need on the weekend.The staff is organized and friendly. Food is worthy of the wait. Creative twists on standards. I had lolliwaffles which come with three dipping sauces all fabulous. My husband had the porkbelly and eggs. It was good but I think slightly overpriced at 17.95? Get the maple bacon donuts, delicious. Also popover combos good choice. It's a millennial Mecca..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I have been here several times for breakfast & lunch. It is always good, always crowded & noisy. The food is excellent with large portions. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Best Pb&J pie we've ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Dinner at Great Maple was a great selection. Good variety on menu. Creative cuisine with some very delicious options. Had flatbread pizza and salad which were great. Other party had lamb burger with fries and he loved it. If you go after 6pm it is very noisy and hard to hear each other.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great Maple was fantastic as usual. The only disappointment was that our table wasn't ready at reservation time. We had to wait about 20 minutes until a table was cleared, which was frustrating.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Cozy, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Loved it! Good portion size, and these maple bacon donuts.... mind blowing & so delicious!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent food in this converted diner. Unfortunately, our order must not have been put in originally, so we had a long wait, but the food was worth the wait,

Tags: Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Space is adequate. Decent décor. Noise level is high. Patio area and small bar. Wait times without a reservation are ridiculous. Even with my Open Table reserve had to wait 10 min to be seated. Very busy location. Food and service were very good. Prices are mid to higher for what they serve. parking is difficult. have some seating by the door leading to the patio that is way too high traffic. Do not allow them to seat you there.

Tags: Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food at Great Maple is amazing! The staff is friendly, the ambience is great. Overall delicious, fun, trendy place to brunch!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We enjoy eating here, it's one of the better breakfast places to eat at.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

It was all OK. Nothing was wrong. Food was fine. Service was very good on a relatively slow Friday evening. Had a good local IPA and my wife enjoyed her Chardonnay. My turkey burger was all right. Fries were actually perfect. For some reason it just didn't grab us and it was a little expensive for an "OK" place. We probably won't return. The friends who recommended it didn't say, "You're going to love it," but rather "Let us know what you think." The execution of a relatively confused and uninspired menu was really good, but couldn't make up for the design flaws.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great Maple is a wonderful new find! It is delicious and the menu is wonderful! The maple bacon donuts are to die for!

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We really like this restaurant; the food is always very good...the French Toast is awesome. The noise level, however, can be overwhelming.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Best brunch experience I've had in San Diego! I had been wanting to try this place for so long and my sister being in town was the perfect occasion. Food and service were great!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fun, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Make a reservation! This restaurant was a mad house on a Sunday. When we arrived we were told that they were behind on reservations with no indication of what that meant. Luckily we were seated just 8 minutes after our reservation time. The food was so good - the brisket popover rocked my world. We also indulged in the basic, yet oh-so delicious fruity pebble pancakes. The dining room was very loud but luckily didn't ruin the experience. If you're hard of hearing I don't recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Kid-friendly, Fun, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food, service and menu. Tables were pretty tight though and it was super loud.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Fried mushrooms, pasta, and lime pie were all very tasty. Ribs seemed to be too sweet for us, but it will be good for someone who likes sweet taste.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was great (as always). Super impressed with the quality.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on February 24, 2017

So so good. Food was great, mimosas were delish. AND THE MAPLE BACON DONUTS MY WORD. a little pricey but you get what you pay for!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The food was delicious to the service. We had no complaints overall. (Sunday brunch will be next)

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We hadn't been here for about 3 years. The menu had changed from our first visit but the food was really good. Service was good and, when I mentioned it was a birthday celebration, they even brought out a special dessert with a candle. Very nice!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We had a reservation thankfully as the place is very busy and lots of people waiting to get in to be seated. Booth was the way to go and the food was delicious. More comfort food (you get a lot) than healthy but very enjoyable. Lots of people had the "Maple Doughnuts".

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The service was outstanding and I loved my meal. The cocktails were very inventive and delicious. Everyone in our party was very happy with their food and drinks. The prices are very reasonable. We'd definitely go back. I was a little nervous when we walked up to this restaurant and thought...uh oh.. it is a "diner" and not what we expected. I think they are open for breakfast and lunch, but at night, they just need to turn the lights down a bit and add some candlelight to upgrade the ambiance to align with their lovely menu and drinks.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.