About Great Maple San Diego

1451 Washington St.
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

We Serve Dinner, Lunch, Brunch and Weekday Breakfast. We are a "European Dinette" featuring seasonal fare, fresh house made pies, and local produce cocktails. We have a full bar and a social wine list. Outdoor dining, counter bar, food bar, and full room dining. Cocktail cart for special cocktails and tostas delivered on a 7 foot board. Cheers

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 11:30am
Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch
Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 255-2282

Website:
http://www.thegreatmaple.com/

Entertainment:
Food Boards run through the room... Yes. Cool

Catering:
Speak to General Manager it based on a case by case basis.

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot and local street parking.

Public Transit:
Bus stop right in front and Hillcrest trolly stop near by.

Executive Chef:
Carmine Lopez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Great Maple San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (69)
Casual (54)
Comfort Food (50)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Sunday Lunch (39)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Fun (28)
Worth the Drive (25)
Special Occasion (23)
Great for Lunch (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Good for a Date (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Kid-friendly (19)
Modern Decor (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Cozy (16)
Seasonal (14)
Afternoon Coffee (14)
Family Style (12)
Authentic (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
People Watching (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Healthy (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Organic (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Business Meals (4)
Great Beer (3)
Romantic (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1078 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We hadn't been here for about 3 years. T ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

We hadn't been here for about 3 years. The menu had changed from our first visit but the food was really good. Service was good and, when I mentioned it was a birthday celebration, they even brought out a special dessert with a candle. Very nice!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a reservation thankfully as the p ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a reservation thankfully as the place is very busy and lots of people waiting to get in to be seated. Booth was the way to go and the food was delicious. More comfort food (you get a lot) than healthy but very enjoyable. Lots of people had the "Maple Doughnuts".

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great taste of the food, Good size overa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Great taste of the food, Good size overall, but sometimes the service goes down a little because it's always super packed and there could be, if you don't have a reservation, an Hour waiting line to get a table for multiple people, and I do believe it's a little overprice, brunch for 2 is going to be 55 dlls with tip, But the food is excellent, still recommend it

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

I made a reservation for Sunday brunch ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

I made a reservation for Sunday brunch and brought two friends who had never been to Great Maple . When we are arrived we were seated outside on the patio. We were never asked if we wanted to sit inside or out. We ordered the donuts right off the bat and they came out pretty quickly. We had asked for plates 3x so by the time we were given plates the donuts were cold and the maple cream had hardened. Not as tasty and they could have been. It was quite chilly outside and one of the heaters by us was not working so we were a bit uncomfortable during our time there. Kinda took away from the deliciousness of our meal and one of my friends said they would never go back. I was disappointed as I have always had a nice, warm, delicious experience at Great Maple.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Food was all delicious and plentiful! W ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was all delicious and plentiful! We were a combo of vegetarians and carnivores--something for everyone! Beignets were a fun way to begin the meal.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This place never disappoints! Love the f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

This place never disappoints! Love the food and the Bloody Mary's are AMAZING!! I always make reservations but if I didn't .. worth the wait!! I do not live locally but when I'm in town I make sure I hit the Great Maple for breakfast. Yum!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect! The food and service were right ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Perfect! The food and service were right on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our third time for dinner absol ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

This was our third time for dinner absolutely amazing food and service .... can't wait to come for breakfast.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect. My server dealt with my friends ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Perfect. My server dealt with my friends card decline graciously and expediently. All three courses were perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our Valentines Dinner here. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We enjoyed our Valentines Dinner here. Reservations are recommended especially for weekends. The host, waiter, and servers were welcoming and attentive the customers. We head a three course meal and the food was delicious, I had sirloin with potatoes and my husband had sea bass on risotto. I definitely recommend this restaurant for anyone out on a date.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was good, but overpriced for wh ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was good, but overpriced for what was basically upscale diner fare. Parking was extremely difficult to find (20+ minutes circling around) on a Sunday morning, and the noise level inside the restaurant was almost deafening. The one outstanding part of our friends' brunch was the stellar service. Our server even happily split the check four ways, which I know is a major annoyance.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

The food was amazing: tastiest breakfast ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was amazing: tastiest breakfast in memory. Servings are huge

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The maple bacon donuts for dessert are a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The maple bacon donuts for dessert are a must! You cannot come here without trying them! I had the fresh turkey bolognese, which was very tasty! My husband had the salted caramel pork ribs and the meat slid off the bone! Be sure to make reservations through Open Table, it's a small restaurant with limited seating. It was a very busy night and loud for a Saturday night. Our server, Gina, was very attentive and extremely nice! I plan to go back to try the burgers and have more donuts! 😃😃😃

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Manager (Soren?) was VERY attentive and ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Manager (Soren?) was VERY attentive and so was server Josh! I'm in the industry and I love seeing people like them out and working their butts off! Family and I were very happy!

Loved it

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Love this place and their food. Have lik ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Love this place and their food. Have liked everything I've tried every time from the hash to the portabello mushroom fries to the popovers. Delicious! Maple bacon doughnuts are so good! The only thing I'd say I wish they'd work on is less fatty/more rendered bacon. The doughnuts and entrees have a lot of undercooked bacon. I know everyone likes their bacon a little different, but all 6 of us in my party agreed we wished the bacon was more rendered.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

All was great except for the extreme pro ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

All was great except for the extreme proximity to other tables and the horrible acoustics in the dining room. It was as though all the guests, staff and music were all yelling the entire hour and a half we were there. They need some god damn curtains or sounds boards to stop the noise from bouncing all over the place. Food drinks and service were great other than that.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

I love this restaurant. The food is fant ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I love this restaurant. The food is fantastic. But it suffers from the typical "SoCal upcharge." $17 for an egg scramble is silly. Even when it's really delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great time. The food was excell ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We had a great time. The food was excellent. The server really made it. I took her recommendations and was very pleased. The noise level was low that allowed my friend and I to catch up. The appetizers was wonderful but not to filling leaving room for the main course. Greta wine also.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Made a reservation for 6, got in right a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Made a reservation for 6, got in right away. Waitress was not friendly, never came and checked back. Menu was wonderful and all items were delicious! Huge quantities, lots to take home. Noise level was high, $185. for 6 people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

This is always one of my all time favori ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is always one of my all time favorite places to go. I love their apple pie with cheese on top.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I just think because I was dining alone ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I just think because I was dining alone focus was more on table with more people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Fantastic meal!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fantastic meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very yummy! If you go you must try the F ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Very yummy! If you go you must try the French dip sandwich it brings us back every time. One thing that is annoying about this restaurant is that the acoustics are Horrible. If you are catching up with friends it can be pretty bad.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Always a treat! Love the food and their ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always a treat! Love the food and their craft cocktails.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too noisy. Couldn't talk. Had to leave. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Too noisy. Couldn't talk. Had to leave.

Server comped a side but we had to leave due to noise levels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

We had a fantastic experience at Great M ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a fantastic experience at Great Maple for dinner. They gave us free champagne for their Friday night toast, and the food was excellent. Our server got caught up having to make drinks/to-go orders so the service was a little slow at times, but we weren't in a hurry and they were very apologetic about it. Overall great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Awesome! Always nice to be back.

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Awesome! Always nice to be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having viewed the menu on line the night ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Having viewed the menu on line the night before, I was disappointed that they offered only a limited menu on Sunday evening. Everything was tasty, though, and I will continue my visits to Great Maple. Note: Sunday at 5 pm was a lot quieter than other times.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Just simply put... Amazing experience! A ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Just simply put... Amazing experience! Above and beyond!

Tags: Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Fun, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was expecting better food. The french ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I was expecting better food. The french toast looked great but it was very dry and boring. The portions have shrunk to about half of what they started with but the prices remain the same. The quiche was ok but my favorite was the smoked bacon scramble. The only thing I would ever go back for would be the maple bacon doughnuts. Everything else can be found at almost any breakfast place. NOthing was horrible, but nothing was exceptional either. Very disappointed.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Inventive and spectacular food. Good val ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Inventive and spectacular food. Good value for money. Very busy and noisy for brunch.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

The service and food was incredible for ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The service and food was incredible for brunch. Lots of fun brunch cocktails and a full range of food options from healthy to super decadent. Definitely get the bacon donuts to start

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here and will be back. Want t ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 28, 2017

First time here and will be back. Want to start first by saying service was exceptional. Attentive, friendly, fast and just a wonderful job. All three of us were very satisfied with our meals. Nicely done. Thanks

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Yum Yum Yum! The salted caramel pancakes ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Yum Yum Yum! The salted caramel pancakes were delish and the pork belly hash was a huge hit with the husband!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, delicious and innovative ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great service, delicious and innovative salads. Crispy and not too greasy fish and chips. Everyone was happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I took my grandmother for her birthday, ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I took my grandmother for her birthday, almost a year after we first experienced Great Maple. This time, we knew we were going to be there for the toast to the weekend, but we didn't realize we'd get the restaurant week menu, and that was a real treat. Josh was a great server, and we loved everything we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

WE came for Restaurant Week, Sunday even ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 23, 2017

WE came for Restaurant Week, Sunday evening at 6:45. Despite the fact that it was practically deserted, the arrival of the order was very slow. On the positive side the goat cheese appetizer and the soup were delicious. The salmon was moist and flavorsome. My husband raved about the Short Ribs Pot Pie. I was disappointed in the citrus tart, but my husband loved the chocolate dessert. The server did an excellent job.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Even with a reservation, be prepared to ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Even with a reservation, be prepared to wait for another 15 min during weekend. Food was in huge amount; one dish could definitely account for two meals.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Made a reservation but still had to wait ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Made a reservation but still had to wait 25 min for a table. Waiter was great but the rest of the staff was unfriendly and boarderline rude. Way too crowded to enjoy.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Excellent Food and Service

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent Food and Service

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.