About Great Maple San Diego

We Serve Dinner, Lunch, Brunch and Weekday Breakfast. We are a modern American eatery featuring seasonal fare, fresh house made pies, and local produce cocktails. We have a full bar and a social wine list.
Outdoor dining, counter bar, food bar, and full room dining. Cocktail cart for special cocktails and tostas delivered on a 7 foot board. Cheers

1451 Washington St.
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Farm-to-table

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast

Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 11:30am

Lunch

Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Brunch

Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 255-2282

Website:
http://www.thegreatmaple.com/

Entertainment:
Food Boards run through the room... Yes. Cool

Catering:
Speak to General Manager it based on a case by case basis.

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot and local street parking.

Public Transit:
Bus stop right in front and Hillcrest trolly stop near by.

Executive Chef:
Carmine Lopez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Great Maple San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (99)
Comfort Food (66)
Neighborhood Gem (66)
See All
Casual (64)
Creative Cuisine (55)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Great for Lunch (49)
Sunday Lunch (45)
Fun (44)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Good for Groups (35)
Good for a Date (34)
Cozy (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Hot Spot (28)
Special Occasion (26)
Authentic (25)
Kid-friendly (25)
Local Ingredients (24)
Modern Decor (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Seasonal (17)
Family Style (17)
Afternoon Coffee (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Healthy (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
People Watching (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Business Meals (7)
Romantic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Organic (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Spicy (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Vegan (3)
Great Beer (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Tapas (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Sports (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
 (1)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1222 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 12 hours ago

As always, chic and professional. We really, really miss the house salad that for some reason vanished when the menu reduced the options.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

There are delicious food options at the Great Maple. The servers are kind and professional .

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Cozy, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Great place with amazing food. Even picky people who like their food a particular way are impressed! :)

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

We loved this restaurant! We were celebrating Fathers's Day and a birthday. The ambience was great and the food was amazing. We had so much fun. The maple bacon doughnuts are an absolute must.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

I would not go back unless I can sit outside. Way too loud and crammed in a little table in the middle of the room🙁

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Great time at Great Maple. If you have food sensitivities then you may not be able to indulge in all that Great Maple offers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Fathers Day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a fabulous dinner! Between the 4 of us we had the scallops, salmon and the risotto. They were all fantastic! Best scallops we'd ever had. Then there's the maple bacon donuts, oh my! Out of this world! Blanca was our server and she was great!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great Maple has the most delicious donuts I've ever had. Always served hot. The menu is a bit small, but everything I've eaten so far has been tasty and well prepared. The restaurant itself has a cool retro vibe, but it's hard to tell because the place is always so packed. Definitely suggest making a reservation, otherwise, you WILL be waiting. Also, parking is terrible, but I suppose that's true of most places in North Park.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 11, 2017

A great experience and the food was fantastic. Party of 8 with kids and everyone loved the food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Creative favorites expertly prepared. The menu was medium exciting but the execution was top notch. Kudos to the kitchen. Very good casual service. Friendly staff. Dessert does not disappoint.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Good food, large portions, nice waitstaff. But one huge room, which was very loud, and made conversation impossible. Maybe best for parties.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Our food was delicious, loved the portobello mushroom fries. Our waitress was excellent, very friendly and extremely professional.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Good food, great service, good prices,great happy hour. I will definitely recommend to my friends and family.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Though their Sunday brunch is popular, I still recommend going for dinner. It was fantastic food, great spins on classic cocktails and our server Leslie was fantastic. From one chef to the great maple, keep up the good work!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Every time we go we order the Maple Bacon Doughnuts, that is a must! The food is really good as well and the service too. You just need to be patient to be seated if you go on a Sunday morning or anytime in the morning, it gets really crowded.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We came in for breakfast. We were late for our reservation, due to a marathon, but we called the staff and they accommodated us. We were seated on the patio, which was comfortable with heaters even though it was a little chilly.

We shared on order of maple bacon doughnuts which were made fresh and absolutely delicious (but they were three really big doughnuts which several people would be able to split easily)

Our waitress was super helpful in helping us make dining choices when we were unsure about which we'd like to order. I had the brisket popover and it was very very good. It was a huge portion. In fact, all the food we ordered were very generous portions. My family of five (including three kids, two of which are fairly picky) loved the food and we left stuffed.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 4, 2017

An oustanding restaurant! The Chef puts alot of heart in her food. The salted caramel was delicious not too sweet. Definetely will try more dishes.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great beignets and french toast. The 2 egg option was also good. Brisket popover was quite heavy.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great service and great food! Love the toast they do with the entire restaurant and a complimentary glass of champagne.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food was extraordinary. The salted-caramel ribs were one of the most memorable dishes I have ever had. Excellent service, too. Feels like a neighborhood place, with reasonable prices, but every one in our party left raving about the experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Love the place great AM breakfast. We had a 830am RSVP and I ordered the B. French Toast only to be told they were out of French Toast, so I went to my next choice Pigs In a Blanket..still great meal..

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Super crowded and extra noisy at brunch.
Food was good, service was hectic and our table was crammed into the tiniest space possible. It was a good thing the food was good...

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Food was delicious. Our server was friendly, helpful and you could tell she enjoyed working for Great Maple. She made our dining experience more enjoyable PLUS she paid attention to our request for dressing on the side and did refills on ice tea without us asking.
Food will gets us back again soon!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We had to check in twice as they almost forgot about our reservations. Waited ten minutes longer which isn't so bad. Overall had good service/food. Would definitely go back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Spicy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Good food. Yummy French toast and popovers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The meal was well prepared. Would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Super deli y las donas de maple con tocino estan DELICIOSAS!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Good food and great service. Love the portobello fries and the cocktails!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I love to eat here and try to stop in every time I visit San Diego. Good food, diverse menu, and excellent service!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fun, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Honestly one of the best restaurants in San Diego. I would eat here every day if I could. Every menu item is amazing. Highlights include: maple bacon donuts, the popovers, the great maple dip, Fench cowboy burger. Can't go wrong!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Felt like $67 for 3 for breakfast with no alcohol was a bit pricey.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a lovely mothers day brunch. Our server was a very sweet young man. It was very loud and hard to hear each other talk, but that can't be avoided on a holiday. We had a reservation and were seated promptly. Especially loved the breads and bacon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was amazing however, I did have to wait 20-30 minutes for a table even though I made a reservation. Otherwise an amazing meal, fantastic service, and a very memorable Mother's Day.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day Brunch. Food was excellent. Timely service w our reservation. Food was prepared fast and was delicious. It was my first time there but felt like I've been there before.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Just a Great overall Experience every time we come! My mom enjoyed her Mothers Day Breakfast. Thanks Great Maple for always providing great service and great food!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Where do I begin?!? Everything we ordered was delicious. We had dinner for 4 and ordered: pop overs, lobster poutine, caramel pork ribs, French dip and salmon. All arrived within a reasonable time frame and everything was amazing! Service was also great, can't remember the gals name though. We ended the night with coffee and their infamous maple donuts covered with bacon. Place is a little pricey but well worth it. Love their country chic decor and great atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We usually have brunch here whenever I come out to San Diego to visit my son - which is a very long wait to get in. We decided to do dinner instead and were not disappointed - the food was delicious and our waitress was very nice.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The maple bacon donuts were amazing! Service was fast and friendly. Ambience was nice as well.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It would be nice if the music wasn't so loud. The food and service were great!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.