Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 83 times today

Great Maple San Diego

4.7
1604 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Brunch
  • Casual
  • Fit for Foodies
We Serve Dinner, Lunch, Brunch and Weekday Breakfast. We are a modern American eatery featuring seasonal fare, fresh house made pies, and local produce cocktails. We have a full bar and a social wine list.
Outdoor dining, counter bar, food bar, and full room dining. Cocktail cart for special cocktails and tostas delivered on a 7 foot board. Cheers
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Contemporary American, Farm-to-table
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast

Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 11:30am

Lunch

Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Brunch

Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(619) 255-2282
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Carmine Lopez
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Speak to General Manager it based on a case by case basis.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Cleveland
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We have a parking lot and local street parking.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Bus stop right in front and Hillcrest trolly stop near by.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Food Boards run through the room... Yes. Cool
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1604 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.6
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined a day ago

Loud, but good food. Be sure to get the maple bacon donuts and absolutely make a reservation or you’ll be waiting for a long time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Best place ever for breakfast/brunch, arrive hungry. Lively place that accommodates children. Our server was bright and helpful, watched our table to make certain we lacked nothing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Excellent breakfast! So many choices, huge plates and very creative! Get ready to ask for a to-go bag, we will not finish those French Toast with bacon bits (a huge portion of bacon).Maybe they should give their clients a bit more of the healthy choices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Had a great dinner celebrating a friend’s birthday. We went in a Monday evening, it was nice and quiet, sat and ate for 3 hrs catching up and took our time.
We shared everything which was a good idea since the portions are more than generous.
Started with the portobello fries, portobellos were nicely fried and sprinkled with Parmesan, the best part was the pesto aioli, nice and creamy but not overly garlicky.
Then has the kale and quinoa salad, light, with the perfect vinaigrette. The kale was fresh and crunchy and the dressing was perfectly coated, not too much, not too lighted. For the entree we had the mushroom risotto with steak, another winner.
We finished the meal with the warm apple pie,it was huge but so good and the crust was buttery and flaky.
Can’t thank the server enough, he recommended us and helped us picked everything.
I’ve been there many times for brunch which is such a great place and fun but now need to come more for dinner. They have some of the items for brunch and dinner
You won’t be disappointed

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Once again a great dining experience. The chef knows what he is doing and is consistent each time I've been there. I highly recommend dinner as it's easier to get a table than breakfast/brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Our family love Great Maple, especially for brunch! It never disappoints!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

I've been a few times to Great Maple. This time we were celebrating a sweet 16. I had made reservations on Open Table and was seated 15 min after we checked in. As usual it was busy for brunch which is what I expected - food was good, but didn't see server too often for refills for our coffee and lavender lemonade which was a bummer. Also wasn't sure if they knew we were celebrating (even though I did mention it) but our celebrant received a cute little cheesecake with a candle which was cute at the end.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

It was a wonderful meal with excellent service and consistently fabulous food. My visiting family members loved eating there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Emil was excellent - great service

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The food wasn't great for the price. I got the brisket sandwich, the beef was bland the sauce was decent. The maple donuts don't have as much flavor as I expected. They were OK, I'd rather go to krispy kreme. My fiance's chorizo was alright. It only came with a piece of bread, some fruit and choice of potato. Our whole meal was not worth $50 + in my opinion, would have rather gone somewhere else

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Food was very delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Great place, long lines, but worth the wait.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Highly recommend, though reservations are a must! Parking is a challenge.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

The best food and experience . Brisket hash was on point, customer service is always on point

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The atmosphere was buzzing and lively. I have to say I was beginning to feel a bit discouraged by the short line of people waiting outside but I decided it was a good sign, and headed in to let the hostess know our party had arrived. Despite there being a handful of folks waiting in the foyer and seemingly every table taken, it wasn’t even a whole 5 minutes before we were seated indoors. We ordered some of the selections from their impressive brunch menu and EACH ONE was ABSOLUTELY AWESOME!! Not to mention the fact that my wife and daughter ordered lattes and noticed there was a lavender flavored lemonade, so they requested to have that flavor added to their coffee and guess what? THE BARISTA OBLIGED!! I have to say that we were VERY happy with our choice of restaurant THIS Sunday brunch. WILL SURELY RETURN!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Maple bacon doughnut appetizer...says it all. Holy cow, yum.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Just dining with the hubby

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Love this place for breakfast and lunch. This was our second dinner and while better than the first, not spectacular. Service was great. My husband loved the brisket sandwich and I thought the hamburger was pretty good. Salad was somewhat tasteless. We will return for breakfast or lunch but probably not for dinner. We appreciate being able to make a reservation on Open Table but one was not necessary at 5:30 PM.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Unique dishes and overall great food. The wee potatoes are nothing exciting-would rather have had hash browns as an option.

Also, the dishes are a bit pricey-$80 for 3 for brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

So, so good. Def one of my favorite breakfast places now!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Excellent service, food and setting. One our SD faves

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Don’t miss the maple bacon donuts!! Very noisy and crowded feeling , other breakfast items good , but the DONUTS!! Will be back when it is not so crazy busy , and one more thing to mention ... the DONUTS !!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The food is creative and delicious. The service was friendly and efficient. The only downside was that it was insanely noisy (granted it was Easter Sunday and very busy, but then it's always busy). We had to shout to have a conversation between three people.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Second time going. This time for Easter brunch. Was super busy but food came out fast and was amazing. The deviled eggs they had on special were to die for. The drinks that were on special were amazing as well. The pear one was the best! Great place and they handle the crowd. Can’t wait till next time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great food! Great service! So much fun! Was here for Easter brunch. Want to go back for dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter. Great place and great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Our waiter (Oscar) did a great job and provided us awesome service. The staff was very friendly! Oscar had an great sense of humor and we had a great time! The food was delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The chef was awesome! It was our second dining at the Great Maple and we will definitely be back for more!!! Those maple bacon doughnuts are delish!!! We assumed that the cheese came with the apple pie but unless we specifically ask for it...it comes with it. We will be sure to order the apple pie ala mode with cheese next time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

My friends and I went here for dinner on Friday night and I'd never been. I was very pleasantly surprised the food and the staff were terrific. And I highly recommend it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Great food and ambiance

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Great ambiance and amazing service!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Even with a reservation there was a 20+ minute wait. However the food made up for the wait!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Yummy! The brisket was amazing! Would definitely come again if I have the chance

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Great evening and a great meal. Once again the Great Maple shows how to have a Great time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Best maple bacon donuts you will ever eat! Will be back soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Celebrated my birthday here and I am always impressed with the food, drinks and staff! Thanks again Great Maple San Diego Staff!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We had a great time! Apparently it was dubbed the best birthday breakfast ever!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Menu items sounded great and my friend and I ended up ordering the same entree....Salted Caramel Pork Ribs. Nice (not huge) portions. Was hoping the sauce would be thicker/stickier, but they were still delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

We have come here every time we visit San Diego. Maple Bacon Donuts are soooo good. Would come back in a heart beat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

We love the Maple glazed doughnuts and beignets!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

I've been to great Maple many times but immediately on entering it was chaotic. The host was nowhere to be found and there were empty tables and no one to seat all the people waiting, . We were finally seated and greeted by a lovely waitress who was super. We received our food and found the portions were not as abundant as in the past. The kale quinoa salad is still a special but the steelhead trout not salmon was very tasty but the portion where skimpy.. The cioppino had a delicious broth but then again the portion was skimpy and the seafood was a little overcooked it was it tasty meal. All in all it was a tasty meal but I wouldn't say it was fabulous! I will return and perhaps it'll be better the next time.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
41