About Great Maple San Diego

1451 Washington St.
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

We Serve Dinner, Lunch, Brunch and Weekday Breakfast. We are a "European Dinette" featuring seasonal fare, fresh house made pies, and local produce cocktails. We have a full bar and a social wine list. Outdoor dining, counter bar, food bar, and full room dining. Cocktail cart for special cocktails and tostas delivered on a 7 foot board. Cheers

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 11:30am
Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch
Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 255-2282

Website:
http://www.thegreatmaple.com/

Entertainment:
Food Boards run through the room... Yes. Cool

Catering:
Speak to General Manager it based on a case by case basis.

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot and local street parking.

Public Transit:
Bus stop right in front and Hillcrest trolly stop near by.

Executive Chef:
Carmine Lopez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Great Maple San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (63)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
See All
Casual (31)
Hot Spot (27)
Comfort Food (27)
Special Occasion (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Fun (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Kid-friendly (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Family Style (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Seasonal (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Cozy (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Authentic (7)
Romantic (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Healthy (6)
People Watching (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great Beer (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Organic (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Scenic View (2)
Business Meals (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
977 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved the popovers and donuts. Best fish ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved the popovers and donuts. Best fish ant chips!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too noisy, and the menu hasn't changed i ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Too noisy, and the menu hasn't changed in a while, but great food and service. Decor is also outstanding

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We love this restaurant and took some ou ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We love this restaurant and took some out of town guests for brunch because the food and service is outstanding. We love the food, but our guests found it too loud and crowded and couldn't wait to get the meal over with. We have to agree that we may not be back because of that. Tables are VERY close together and the noise level is an assault to the senses. We have been to Great Maple's location in Newport Beach (Fashion Island) several times, and that restaurant has a MUCH more pleasant ambiance...night and day compared to this location. We wish they would move their San Diego restaurant to a larger location similar in scale to their other locations. Please, please : )

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Great place! I thought the vibe was gre ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great place! I thought the vibe was great, the food was delicious, and the staff were excellent.

Only downside is that their cocktails are a little too sweet all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent menu and food quality. Great ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent menu and food quality. Great inventive cocktails too.

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Amazing thanksgiving prix fixe menu! Bes ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Amazing thanksgiving prix fixe menu! Best thanksgiving food I have ever had, and ending with an amazing apple pie to die for. The waiter misheard and got me the gingersnap cookie dessert but immediately went back to get me a pie and corrected the mistake. I would come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hectic service ,misleading info, quite d ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Hectic service ,misleading info, quite disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Pricey, $100 for breakfast for 4, no alc ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Pricey, $100 for breakfast for 4, no alcohol. The food was creative but just good and meal was cold. Service was excellent. Overall, didn't live up to the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

I would eat there everyday if I could. M ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 23, 2016

I would eat there everyday if I could. My kids (15&16) loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A definite neighborhood gem and one of m ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 21, 2016

A definite neighborhood gem and one of my favorite restaurants. I love their burgers as well as their creative specials. Staff is very warm and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I really love this place.

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I really love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just know you might have to wait awhile ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Just know you might have to wait awhile even thou you have a reservation. Food was really good and great service. The place is loud but the servicei is professional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Glad we made a reservation Hard tp find ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Glad we made a reservation

Hard tp find parking. Use DMV on Sat! Huge portions..french toast is a loaf of bread. Cute presentation and great waIt staff

Fun, crowded and noisey!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our table was not ready for our reservat ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our table was not ready for our reservation, and the food was just Ok for the price, lots of better breakfast and brunch options in this area for the amount they charge. I don't think we would return for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We've been here several times via open t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We've been here several times via open table without a problem. Last night's reservations and request for a booth wasn't honored--first time this has happened in the 7+ reservations we've made at Great Maple. Hostess invited us to wait at the bar for 30 min to see if larger parties didn't show up--even though we had a reservation. And I should add that there were plenty of open tables/booths available. Last night was an anniversary dinner. That said, we left and had an excellent dinner/service at The Prado.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Super fun menu, and great dining experie ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Super fun menu, and great dining experience. I already made another reservation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We each ordered something different and ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We each ordered something different and everyone was thrilled with their entrees.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Maple bacon donuts are the best! RX make ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Maple bacon donuts are the best! RX make reservation or there may b a wait

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and good customer service. I ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food and good customer service. I brought two friends that have not been there before. They really enjoyed the atmosphere and food.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service! Delicious food! I highly ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great service! Delicious food! I highly recommend making a reservation. The maple bacon donuts are the best!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have come to GM since it opened and ke ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I have come to GM since it opened and keep coming back for any and all occasions!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and great service. They alway ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food and great service. They always use high quality events. My only gripe is that for a restaurant this large/busy, having one bathroom is unacceptable! Please expand on the number of bathrooms.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great breakfast at Great Maple. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Another great breakfast at Great Maple. The beignets and lemon curd are delicious and the pigs in a blanket are my staple every visit. Great wait staff - clearing the table quickly and filling drinks frequently.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Llegamos 3 minutos tarde pero igual nos ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Llegamos 3 minutos tarde pero igual nos dieron la mesa, excelente lugar para desayunar esas donas con tocino

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love going to great maple on Sunday with ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Love going to great maple on Sunday with the family before the farmers market. Food is always good and the service is family friendly. Make a reservation if you can

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was excellent!!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place! We will go back!!!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great place! We will go back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. Really great portion ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was delicious. Really great portions. The customer service was top notch. Very inviting for as busy and packed they are. Tables are extremely close together, but everyone didn't seem to be bothered by an intimate dining experience lol! Will definitely be going back again and again ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food with large portions. Will ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent food with large portions. Will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were seated 20 minutes after our rese ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We were seated 20 minutes after our reservation and based on the hostess' reaction she forgot to seat us. It happens, but an apology would have been nice.

The food was subpar. The Brunch Flatbread was soggy on the bottom and served on a piece of paper. Cutting the flat bread also cut the paper and we ended up picking bits of paper off the flatbread.

The brisket hash wasn't hash at all. It was dinner sized slices of meat and whole potatoes with a couple of poached eggs on top. I should have sent it back. I ended up taking it home, chopping it up and frying it into an actual hash so at least we salvaged the food.

Server was great but the rest of the meal was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Service was great, food was good, portio ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Service was great, food was good, portions small and ambiance was more Diner feel

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This place never disappoints. They have ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 31, 2016

This place never disappoints. They have a great menu - a lot of variety and an excellent blending of flavors.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent and the staff wer ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was excellent and the staff were very attentive and friendly. What more can you ask foe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had reserved a table for 4 at great m ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We had reserved a table for 4 at great maple for brunch after my sisters bachelorette party. The food was amazing, the beignets were the best as well.

Great drinks, specialty coffees. But hands down, the service was brilliant. So polite and friendly, and funny!! Our waitress even surprised my sister with a sweet treat at the end of our meal. Very impressed and happy with Great Maple San Diego!!

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is usually amazing but mediocr ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food is usually amazing but mediocre on this visit. The service was very poor. We were sat at a rocky table and coffee spilled all over when the table rocked., waitress said she would be back with napkins after I already waited till coffee was cold but never came back. Got up myself to get napkin and condiments as she showed up with the napkin and the bill when we were already done. Such a disappointment, and the food is not cheep

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Great Maple has a pleasant atmosphere, f ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great Maple has a pleasant atmosphere, felt cozy and and quiet on the weeknight I was there. I had the cod and chips, and the fish was outstanding--crunchy outside, moist and flavorful inside, and they give you plenty of it! My friend had the salmon and raved about it. The food is best described as elevated comfort, leaves you happy and satisfied. Service was very attentive too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quite disappointed at this restaurant. ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Quite disappointed at this restaurant. We made a reservation and then showed up about 15 minutes before our reservation. We let the desk know we were there and were told we would have to wait for 15 minutes until our reservation. That was ok and we waited - 30 minutes later we asked and they said our table was being cleaned. Another 15 minutes later and we finally were seated. The server showed up quickly and took our drink orders. I also asked about a brunch scramble that had bacon in it if the bacon could be substituted with something else. He suggested the Turkey Sausage since I do not eat pork. He checked with the chef and came back to tell us we would need to pay for the sausage as a separate side item but would receive no credit for removing the bacon from the scramble. I thought this was pretty petty of the restaurant - but I ordered the Turkey Sausage. About 40 minutes later, our food arrived and my plate was very small with very small portions. My spouse's plate, which consisted of french toast with Bacon and syrup over it was gigantic. Also, the sides that she ordered were much larger than my portions of eggs.

A very disappointment meal - our first meal at this restaurant and I honestly cannot recommend.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The food is always spot on. Never had a ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food is always spot on. Never had a bad meal yet. Prices are a little on the high side for brunch. Sometimes service is a little lacking but still good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent brunch menu. Everything was de ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent brunch menu. Everything was delicious and service was outstanding considering they were packed. Definitely recommend a reservation! We got seated quickly with ours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

So glad we made a reservation as the lin ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 23, 2016

So glad we made a reservation as the line on a Sunday morning was long. Our waitress was super but we felt the food was over priced.

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.