About Great Maple San Diego

We Serve Dinner, Lunch, Brunch and Weekday Breakfast. We are a "European Dinette" featuring seasonal fare, fresh house made pies, and local produce cocktails. We have a full bar and a social wine list. Outdoor dining, counter bar, food bar, and full room dining. Cocktail cart for special cocktails and tostas delivered on a 7 foot board. Cheers

1451 Washington St.
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 11:30am
Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Brunch
Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 255-2282

Website:
http://www.thegreatmaple.com/

Entertainment:
Food Boards run through the room... Yes. Cool

Catering:
Speak to General Manager it based on a case by case basis.

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot and local street parking.

Public Transit:
Bus stop right in front and Hillcrest trolly stop near by.

Executive Chef:
Carmine Lopez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Great Maple San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (57)
Casual (39)
Fit for Foodies (37)
See All
Comfort Food (35)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Sunday Lunch (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Fun (23)
Hot Spot (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Great for Lunch (18)
Kid-friendly (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Special Occasion (13)
Seasonal (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Cozy (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Authentic (10)
Bar Seating (10)
People Watching (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Family Style (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Healthy (5)
Organic (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Great Beer (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Romantic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Business Meals (2)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1027 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was great! Our waiter was very n ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined a day ago

Service was great! Our waiter was very nice and attentive. Food was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The pop overs are soooo good. Ate so mu ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined a day ago

The pop overs are soooo good. Ate so much I had a thanksgiving level food coma after. Went for brunch and the drinks were a lot more expensive than other spots in the area so wouldn't go here for a drink but the food was worth it!

Tags: Hot Spot, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Love coming here for Sunday brunch!! The ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Love coming here for Sunday brunch!! They have wonderful mimosas and you can't leave without trying their maple bacon donuts!! The service is always on point and Ivr everything that I've ordered.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was inventive and delicious! A bit ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was inventive and delicious! A bit pricey...

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This is one of our go-to places. We take ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

This is one of our go-to places. We take about an hour drive to come and eat here, it we have yet to be disappointed.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fun, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always busy here but the food is wo ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

It's always busy here but the food is worth it! Make a reservation and avoid the long wait times. Try the potato cake as well as the french toast, olive oil fig cake, and of course the donuts! Everything is outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Casual, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Absolutely love the food, staff and atmo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely love the food, staff and atmosphere! Love this place, highly recommend.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hearty, wholesome, delicious, comfort fo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Hearty, wholesome, delicious, comfort food prepared creatively and beautifully served. I've enjoyed both dinner and lunch and delighted in your menu choices. Can't wait to try more.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Hostess was unfriendly/due to the heavy ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Hostess was unfriendly/due to the heavy rains there was some leaks that put a few tables out of service. I was told I could not be seated until my other guests had arrived, so sat at bench in front of hostess stand only to find the bench was wet due to another leak in ceiling. When I notified the hostess, she smiled & said "oh, that's right. Sorry." Once seated the service was slow- not sure I will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Amazing food! Try the bacon maple doughn ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Amazing food! Try the bacon maple doughnuts! Made to order!

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not only great for breakfast, but for lu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Not only great for breakfast, but for lunch and dinner as well.

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated quickly and our server wa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We were seated quickly and our server was awesome :) I loved the serving sizes and the combinations were surprisingly tasty. Definitely will recommend this place :D

Tags: Family Style, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excessively noisy but everything else wa ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Excessively noisy but everything else was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Took my boyfriend to the great maple for ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Took my boyfriend to the great maple for the first time and he loved it. This was my second time. The food and service is amazing! I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. The Maple Ba ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent food and service. The Maple Bacon donuts are amazing of course but the menu offers many options. I'm sure I will be going back and Open Table makes the process easy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The doughnuts are the reason why we keep ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The doughnuts are the reason why we keep coming back!

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

due to an error i made using my opentabl ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

due to an error i made using my opentable app, my reservation didn't post. The manager helped us out and our family was able to celebrate an important birthday. The food is so delicious too. Looking forward to many more meals there

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for brunch. Large/shareable ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great place for brunch. Large/shareable portions!

Delicious truffle fries

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food but a little on the pricey si ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food but a little on the pricey side for a breakfast/brunch spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Date nite ...NYE was very nice and the f ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Date nite ...NYE was very nice and the food was very good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great fun, unique dishes which were all ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great fun, unique dishes which were all delicious!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Family Style, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Its very loud n small but cozy. Love the ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Its very loud n small but cozy. Love the food and would come more often, especially when I have out-of-town guest but the wait is way to long. Maybe you should expand just a little.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was amazing. Hostesses in the front ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was amazing. Hostesses in the front had a very bad attitude. My reservation was at 1 and they sat me down 130.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Fantastic food. Great atmosphere. Friend ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic food. Great atmosphere. Friendly service. Win all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Enjoyed Maple House; creative and well e ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Enjoyed Maple House; creative and well executed menu!

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Friendly staff, great cocktails, and del ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Friendly staff, great cocktails, and delicious food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for Christmas Eve dinner and the fo ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went for Christmas Eve dinner and the food was fantastic and delicious! The atmosphere was awesome and we truly enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Christmas Eve Dinner. Amazing. Salted ca ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve Dinner. Amazing. Salted caramel pork ribs and the special scallops over butternut squash risotto. Best restaurant in San Diego! Love love love it here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great atmosphere, and wonder ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere, and wonderful service!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Fun, Bar Seating, Seasonal, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service & food. A bit pricey but w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great service & food. A bit pricey but worth the experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Looks like a diner from the outside, but ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Looks like a diner from the outside, but it's really a French style bistro. Famous for brunch and steak frites. Pear salad with prosciutto was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent service, wonderful food. We ha ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent service, wonderful food. We had a party of 6 including kids and everyone at our table raved about their meal and can't wait to go back. Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for delicious French food an ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great place for delicious French food and a cozy atmosphere. They have yummy beers too. Love this place. Also great service from everyone there.

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated are 11th year anniversary ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We celebrated are 11th year anniversary there. Josh our waiter was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Breakfast, lunch , or dinner. This is a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Breakfast, lunch , or dinner. This is a great go-to place. For us, reservations are a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had made our reservation at 11:00 am ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had made our reservation at 11:00 am and were given our table at almost 11:40. Service was very slow and our server forgot some of the items we ordered.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

I absolutely love this place. Anytime I ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I absolutely love this place. Anytime I have friends visiting, or really any excuse to come here, I drive from Orange County because the food and the ambience are unbeatable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although somewhat pricey, the food is ex ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Although somewhat pricey, the food is excellent, the service as well. The decor is straight up vintage cool. An overall pleasant experience.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

GREAT MAPLE IS WONDERFUL IN ALMOST EVERY ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

GREAT MAPLE IS WONDERFUL IN ALMOST EVERY WAY, BUT IF SOMETHING COULD BE DONE TO MANAGE OR REDUCE THE NOISE LEVEL IT WOULD MAKE IT A MUCH MORE ENJOYABLE EXPERIENCE. REALLY APPRECIATE THAT YOU TAKE RESERVATIONS!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Presentation is EVERYTHING😋 I loved how ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Presentation is EVERYTHING😋

I loved how our food was plated.

Next time I'll have to leave room for the donuts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.