About Great Maple San Diego

We Serve Dinner, Lunch, Brunch and Weekday Breakfast. We are a modern American eatery featuring seasonal fare, fresh house made pies, and local produce cocktails. We have a full bar and a social wine list.
Outdoor dining, counter bar, food bar, and full room dining. Cocktail cart for special cocktails and tostas delivered on a 7 foot board. Cheers

1451 Washington St.
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Farm-to-table

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast

Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 11:30am

Lunch

Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Brunch

Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 255-2282

Website:
http://www.thegreatmaple.com/

Entertainment:
Food Boards run through the room... Yes. Cool

Catering:
Speak to General Manager it based on a case by case basis.

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot and local street parking.

Public Transit:
Bus stop right in front and Hillcrest trolly stop near by.

Executive Chef:
Carmine Lopez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Great Maple San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (68)
Casual (52)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
See All
Comfort Food (42)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Fun (38)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Sunday Lunch (33)
Worth the Drive (30)
Good for a Date (27)
Great for Lunch (24)
Kid-friendly (22)
Authentic (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Good for Groups (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Special Occasion (19)
Hot Spot (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Cozy (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
People Watching (12)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Healthy (9)
Seasonal (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Organic (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Business Meals (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Romantic (3)
Great Beer (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
1425 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 13 hours ago

Great breakfast spot. Donuts were amazing. The chorizo scramble delicious. Will definitely be back if in San Diego again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Always bring out of town guest in for a cheat day here. So good.... so need a nap after... but always worth it.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Best treat yourself brunch. It’s always delicious. Can’t go wrong with the Bloody Mary or the donuts

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Reserving with Open Table made it easy. We were there and bi-passed the LONG line of people. We weren't rushed and there was great service. A word to the wise - make sure your entire party is there to be seated.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Brought a friend here for her birthday. She ordered the pork banh mi sandwich and I had the hardwood bacon scramble melt. We both enjoyed our meals. Service was pleasant and efficient. There was also a complimentary carrot cake for my friend's birthday. It is a bit on the pricey side ($16 for each of our meals), and it gets pretty crowded and noisy. The food, however, is well-prepared and tasty.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Was in town for girlfriends birthday and had to bring her for her birthday breakfast. Food is amazing! A must when in the area

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Annie was amazing!! Super friendly and upbeat! She had such an ambassadorship about everything. Even within her last hour of the restaurant closing up shop for the night her enthusiasm and positive attitude never faltered. Now the food WOW!!! Mushroom fries with the pesto aoli were to die for and the Flat iron steak with mushroom risotto and chopped asparagus was the bee’s knees! I couldn’t put my fork down, not even through dessert for their famous maple glazed doughnuts with crispy, thick maple bacon 😍😍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Fabulous brunch, huge portions, friendly service . Favorite place in San Diego.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Never fails to br FABULOUS!! THE ASPARAGUS AND FENNEL SOUP WAS A STROKE OF GENIUS!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Great food. Fresh and full Of flavor. Great presentation also. One of my favorite local eateries.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Parking a bit hard on weekends, we used the DMV lot. Definitely make reservations if possible.
Maple bacon donuts are to die for!
Portions are large so sharing is the way to go.
A bit pricey but worth the splurge.
If you want a quieter spot, sit outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2017

This is a great place that we took friends from out of town too. The service was wonderful and the food was great

Tags: Casual, Fun, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Music was really loud for early Sun morning. Service was slow and server was not very friendly and initially slow in refilling coffee. Luckily, food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2017

The meal was amazing!! I typically only got to great maple for breakfast, but we were in the area tonight and decided to check it out. I had the poulet and frites and my friend had the flat iron steak with mushroom risotto. It was two perfect meals that were really great to share. I would definitely recommend dinner and breakfast at great maple.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Never disappoints. I was surprised some in our group had never been and thought it had carried over the diner menu from Brians' (the previous occupant). Great unique food and drinks.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Liverpool)·Dined on December 2, 2017

It was absolutely fantastic!! We went for our anniversary lunch and the food and service was exceptional.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Came by for my wife’s birthday breakfast with our family. Great spot—everyone liked their breakfast, good drinks (we had a Bloody Mary and blood orange mimosas), and great service (even with the place being packed). We come here frequently and it never disappoints. My wife had a lovely small bread pudding on the house (with a candle!).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 2, 2017

We were there a couple years ago and it was amazing. This time our waitress made us feel like we had to leave. Also the place was empty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Great Maple never disappoints. Excellent food, good service, nice atmosphere. On site parking. Very nice inside, don't let the outside fool you. Also nice bar where you can also grab dinner if you are flying solo. This place is a gem.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Always terrific - and especially nice on weeknights when it can be quieter than usual. The salmon on polenta is a huge personal favorite.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Great Maple is consistently great. This visit was no different! The food, the service - it all is fantastic. One of my favorite restaurants in San Diego, and a must-have for my out of town guests when visiting.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Our fav restaurant in San Diego hands down! The maple bacon donuts are the best thing in life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Our server Annie was a delight! We love this place!! (Sorry for all the separate checks Annie... party of ten from today :)

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2017

The server ignored me a couple of times. She was in very close range to hear me and see me waving. She saw me out of the corner of her eye. She was trying very hard to be nice but she wasn’t at all. I’ve been there several times and this is the first for bad service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 22, 2017

Great food. Parking is difficult.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 22, 2017

Had an excellent breakfast at Great Maple. Started off with the made-to-order maple bacon doughnuts and they did not disappoint. Large enough order to satisfy the table of 4, as an appetizer. Followed up by the brisket skillet, which had perfectly poached eggs, fantastic brisket, and a legitimately tasty popover which is not something you find locally very often. What a treat to eat here, as it was a random find recommended by a ride share driver. Not much to look at from the outside, but inside the Great Maple has you covered with both the food and the ambiance. Don't miss this place, it's a gem!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2017

As always a wonderful meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Super plentiful food! We will be back. Lovely outdoor space. Great staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Healthy, Casual, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

El lugar esta bien, la comida es rica. El servicio es amable, sin embargo es muy tardado, la comida tardo mas de 30 minutos en llegar y al llegar no fue lo que esperabamos. Aun asi, lo recomendaría si te consideras una persona paciente

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

The food was good and the mimosa wasn’t bad.. although, I’d prefer a bottle and juice to poor my own. It was very busy; testimony to the food and value, but it was difficult to have a conversation without speaking loud.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Location looked like a converted diner, so I was a little hesitant upon arrival, but I have to admit the food was very tasty and exceeded expectations

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Always fantastic!! The food is super fresh and the drinks were great!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Food was good but pricey. Server attentive. We had an enjoyable time. LOVED the popovers!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Cozy, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2017

The best neighborhood restaurant around. Super great service, food and drinks.... perfect. Always the best place to be worth family and friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Great spot with the most flavorful and I️ retesting combos. Comfort food for the modern age.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Food and service is great. Though this time my pancakes were cold and had to look for my waitress for a coffee refill .

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Brought my parents who’re visiting from the East Coast and they were amazed by the food, service, and absolutely loved the experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 11, 2017

This place was a lot better than I anticipated! It was packed on a Saturday morning but with a reservation we were seated within 5 minutes of checking in. The French toast was amazing & it was huge! All of the food was delicious and we hardly waited very long for our meals. The Great Maple is a really cute place for brunch! We will return soon!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Fried squash blossom popover was unique and delicious. The sides were just as delicious and well cooked as the main part of the meal. Portion sizes were generous and good value for the price. Maple bacon donuts are a must! We took more to go home. Service was excellent at each point (host, server, food runner) and our coffee was topped off frequently!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Great food and service and would definitely go back again!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.