Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 35 times today

Great Maple San Diego

4.7
1690 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Brunch
  • Casual
  • Fit for Foodies
We Serve Dinner, Lunch, Brunch and Weekday Breakfast. We are a modern American eatery featuring seasonal fare, fresh house made pies, and local produce cocktails. We have a full bar and a social wine list.
Outdoor dining, counter bar, food bar, and full room dining. Cocktail cart for special cocktails and tostas delivered on a 7 foot board. Cheers
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Contemporary American, Farm-to-table
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast

Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 11:30am

Lunch

Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Brunch

Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(619) 255-2282
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Carmine Lopez
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Speak to General Manager it based on a case by case basis.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Cleveland
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We have a parking lot and local street parking.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Bus stop right in front and Hillcrest trolly stop near by.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Food Boards run through the room... Yes. Cool
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1690 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.6
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined a day ago

I had been meaning to try Great Maple since I moved to Mission Hills from Bay Park , heard a lot of great things .
Made a 7 pm reservation 34 min before on a Saturday. It was pretty busy but our adorable server was excellent, on the ball and very efficient. People seem happy to be there and why not, it’s elevated comfort food. I had salmon with a horseradish crust with polenta and watercress, John had caramel short ribs with mashed potatoes and chicory . We started with calamari and wonderful Parmesan popovers with honey butter. Everything was perfectly done, seasoned, the correct temperature, everything delicious and left you to decide to keep eating even after full. Very positive environment and super nice people there . We’ll be regulars here for sure!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Baby gift exchange & brunch

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

We have been more than 25 times. I love the casual, friendly feel, the creative menu and the portion size.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food excellent service creative menu nice ambience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Maple Bacon donuts were the bomb! Everything is great!!! Don’t miss this place for breakfast and dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Everything was great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Sooo good! Everything for
mimosa to breakfast entree recommended by waitress! So much flavor!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Tried their Horseradish encrusted Salmon. Wonderful

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Food was incredible! We shared the portobello mushroom fries, and it was a meal. I had the polenta veggie grill - unbelievably good! My friend had the risotto grilled scallops. So delicious! Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Overall, an excellent experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

My Husbands birthday

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Best pickle Mary beyond words. The food is insanely scrumptious

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Unique and tasty food in a trendy setting. Inside was very loud but they graciously accomadated our request to move to the patio. $35 for 2 entrees, no drinks. Our server was very friendly and professional and we enjoyed our meal there

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Food was delicious and everything was beautifully plated, we had a lot of fun Instagramming!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Enjoyed a great Sunday brunch treating a friend from out of town. We each got our own dishes but HAD to share an order of the french toast. It was HUGE but so delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

bloody Mary didn't live up to the hype but that's okay

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Great place to have breakfast!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Great Maple serves delicious food in a fun environment. The staff is very warm and welcoming and efficient.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Great food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Never got the appetizer we ordered, but the rest of the food was very good. One of the best BLTs I've ever had and our vegetarian was happy with her portobello sandwich. Hamburger lover cleaned her plate. Very crowded and noisy! Could barely hear each other.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

We have been for dinner and drinks a couple of times. We have not had anything that isn't great. The polenta is amazing!! You can't go wrong with the pie, ever, either.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We loved the food! Patio was perfect! Get the brisket popover! 😍

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Loved it and can't wait to try more menu options! We had the french toast logs, avocado toast and Hangover Bloody Mary

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 1, 2018

The food, as always, was spectacular. This is my favorite brunch spot in San Diego. The one thing is that service, while friendly is a bit slow so always get a starter. Recommend maple bacon donuts. To the owner ship, not sure if the delay is in the kitchen or with the serving staff but it is consistently slow. You may need more help.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Amazing food, quite tasty and unique. Got the Louisiana purchase popover which was DELICIOUS and wife got the chorizo omelette which was the best chorizo I have ever had.

HOWEVER if you go here you MUST get the maple donuts. Easily 1000 calories each, but #YOLO (?)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Outstanding server! Food was fabulous. We were fortunate to get seated right away because we made reservations.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

The food at Great Maple was delicious and most of all I appreciated not being rushed even though there was clearly a crowd waiting. Service was slow at times, but that allowed for a leisurely morning. If you're in a hurry I would go during non-peak hours and definitely make a reservation if possible. Fun!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

We enjoyed the unique take on regular breakfast items!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Terrific, we will be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

The best French toast logs in town!!
Love this place!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Food was good and service was mediocre. Food was unique and nice twist for breakfast. I would go back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

The doughnuts and salted caramel bacon were amazing. The mimosas were tasty (and big!) as well. I would definitely recommend making a reservation if you can. Highly recommend!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Love to being friends here cause I know I have great vegetarian choices and they will be wowed by theirs

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Too noisy!!! Too noisy!!! Too noisy !!! Too noisy !!! Too noisy !!!
Too noisy,!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

It was packed I guess because of the holiday. My two guest loved their food. I got the ribeye sandwich it consisted of two pieces of bread and very over cooked meat. There was a jus and a horseradish sauce. Never had anything bad here but was very disappointed it must of been because it was so busy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

My wife loved the French Toast with Bacon and I always like their dollar pancakes. Parking is tough sometimes. Service is good. It can get crowded.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Always enjoyed this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 21, 2018

The maple bacon donuts were my favorite!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

I will definitely be back when I'm in San Diego again. The food was amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Had a great time today at The Great Maple! It was insanely busy but thanks to having made a reservation through Open Table we didn’t have much of a wait. Almost immediately after being shown to our table, our waitress, Erica, greeted us and took our drink orders. Erica was very personable and fun and everyone at our table enjoyed her. She was also very attentive and engaging but always professional- she was what my wife described as “what every person who dines out wants in a waitress but rarely gets - someone who likes what they do and is very good at it”. Needless to say, Erica really helped make our experience fun.

The other star of this experience was the food! Everything was delicious!! My wife had the French toast logs and I had the pigs in a blanket as did one other person in our party and everything was wonderful. Our table shared the maple bacon doughnuts and they were a big hit.

The food at The Great Maple is consistently great and the service is everything you could ask for. I recommend making a reservation because this place is extremely popular. Sometimes the wait can be a bit long but it is definitely worth it!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
43