About Great Maple San Diego

We Serve Dinner, Lunch, Brunch and Weekday Breakfast. We are a modern American eatery featuring seasonal fare, fresh house made pies, and local produce cocktails. We have a full bar and a social wine list.
Outdoor dining, counter bar, food bar, and full room dining. Cocktail cart for special cocktails and tostas delivered on a 7 foot board. Cheers

1451 Washington St.
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Farm-to-table

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast

Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 11:30am

Lunch

Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Brunch

Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 255-2282

Website:
http://www.thegreatmaple.com/

Entertainment:
Food Boards run through the room... Yes. Cool

Catering:
Speak to General Manager it based on a case by case basis.

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot and local street parking.

Public Transit:
Bus stop right in front and Hillcrest trolly stop near by.

Executive Chef:
Carmine Lopez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Great Maple San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (94)
Casual (67)
Neighborhood Gem (67)
See All
Fit for Foodies (53)
Comfort Food (51)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Great for Lunch (42)
Sunday Lunch (42)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Good for Groups (35)
Fun (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Worth the Drive (31)
Good for a Date (31)
Special Occasion (30)
Cozy (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Kid-friendly (23)
Hot Spot (22)
Authentic (19)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
People Watching (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Modern Decor (11)
Seasonal (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Organic (9)
Healthy (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Family Style (6)
Romantic (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Business Meals (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great Beer (4)
Spicy (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1293 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Great for Sunday brunch! I would highly recommend making a reservation, otherwise you'll be waiting awhile for a table. As soon as you walk in your senses are assaulted with the comforting smell of maple syrup. There is also a tease of bacon. If you're a sensitive vegetarian you may find the smell of bacon too over powering. The food choices were plentiful and hard to narrow down to only one. The place is full of excitement, perhaps a sugar high from those mini beignets or the bacon and maple glazed donuts? The place has some moderately priced options but it is a little on the pricier side. The food is delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

Disappointing to make a reservation, arrive on time and then be seated 20 minutes after (with multiple other tables being placed before). While definitely a busy day I am not clear on why reservation matters and will probably not bother and just wing it and expect a wait during busy times or go places that work harder at honoring a reservation time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Service and food were excellent. Although they were very busy the staff did not make us feel rushed. Excellent experience and I plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

The staff at Great Maple is always spectacular. The food never disappoints. Always one of my favorite "let's grab a drink and dinner" spots.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Guadalajara)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Delicious French toast! Worth the drive make a reservation on advance it can get really busy!
Big plates worth to share.
Excelent service

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Delicious, innovative food, wonderful service and even an excellent MaiTai!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Seven of us went to Great Maple to have a celebratory brunch and it was WONDERFUL! The food and drinks were delicious and we'll all be returning!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Fun brunch place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Estuvo muy rico
En especial las donas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Had a great dinner! Especially liked the Watermelon salad it was fantastic.

Tags: Comfort Food, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Delicious food. Brisket was super tender. The brioche french toast was amazing! When we were still at our table we were thinking of what we were going to order next time we visited. Grateful to have reserved a table. This way we were seated quickly. Otherwise I heard of folks waiting 40-45 minutes for a table. Nice ambiance too. Enjoy!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great food, beignets are amazing!!!! Price point is good for the value . portions are big

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The salad, entree, and desert were OUTSTANDING!! The folks treated us like friends, not just a guest or customer. The beer was excellent. This was our second time here, just as good as the first.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! The food was amazing, the wait staff was awesome and informative regarding our questions and steered us toward the perfect meal when we could not decide because of so many yummy choices. Highly, highly recommend the Pickle Bloody Mary and the Maple Bacon Donuts! We will definitely bring our out of town guests to WOW them as this was more of a dining experience rather than your day to day restaurant...it's that good!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Enjoyed brunch with a friend on the patio. It was my first time there for brunch so I looked at everyone's plates and drinks when they were served. A lot of unique twists to them. Could not get enough of the brisket popover. Delicious!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Fun, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Delicious breakfast! Salted Maple bacon was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Our table was ready, the staff was amazing and the food was excellent! A little pricy but you get what you pay for! Thank you for a wonderful experience for our friends from Florida!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Don't understand the hype? Beautiful presentation of food but food tasted just ok. However, the maple doughnuts were fabulous. We sat on the patio which was much more quiet than inside. Had to chase down our server because he had to many tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 31, 2017

we loved out first experience at Great Maple. the food was just YUMMY!
we will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 30, 2017

First time. Great food. Loved the vegetarian pate, salmon, bahn mi. Fries were hot and crisp. First time in many celebratory outings that my mom didn't send something back. Cocktails we're strong and well crafted, especially liked the bourbon ones. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great food, drinks, and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Manager Michelle was delightful. Server Annie was great and attentive. Always make a reservation and save yourself the wait-time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 25, 2017

We went to Great Maple for our anniversary dinner. Everything was fantastic from the wine selection to the pork belly appetizer, flat iron steak and my wife's salmon dish. The service was cheerful and attentive. We'll be returning.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food was delicious and our waitress was awesome, would definitely come back!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Saturday Brunch. Good food. No parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Waitress was not friendly, not attentive, and slow, it took her 15 minutes to get our check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We made a reservation on Open Table for Saturday brunch at Great Maple, as our first stop arriving in San Diego. When our flight was delayed, I called the restaurant, and they were very gracious to hold our reservation. We arrived 15 minutes late, and only had to wait about 10 until we were seated.

The food was so yummy! We shared an order of their maple bacon doughnuts - delish! And we all thoroughly enjoyed our entrees! Our server, Erica, was excellent! She answered all of our questions, gave suggestions, and was very attentive, despite the busy-ness of the day!

If you're looking for a great brunch place with a hip vibe, book a table and go to Great Maple!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun, People Watching, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Organic, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

I usually love this place. I've been here five times, but my last visit ruined it for me. I went there with my younger cousins who are around 8. The night before I had left my wallet at my friends house and was unable to get my wallet the next day. Luckily enough I had some cash on me. I paid the bill ok but was unable to leave a big tip due to the predicament I was in with my wallet. Before we left the waiter came over and wanted to "clarify" her tip amount. She was very snopy about it and when we were leaving she said to one of my 8 YEAR OLD COUSINS "how about you learn how to tip." I find this so disrespectful and very rude. The food was great but the lack of respect from the wait staff is unbelievable. It is highly unlikely that I will return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food was fantastic! Service overall was good but we somehow got 2 different servers after we already ordered, the first server did the bulk of the work but the second server ended up getting the tip. Coffee was great but by the end of my second cup the entire bottom was covered in grounds which ended up getting all in my mouth which was unpleasant. We had already paid and were about to leave that's why I didn't bring it up to the server. Will definitely be back for the food and Maple Bacon Doughnuts! :)

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (México)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Deliciosa la comida y menu, servicio bastante malo y poco atento, y el lugar fisicamente un poco cochino. Pero me encanta la comida, desayuno y cena de ese lugar de hace mucho tiempo.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great place. Great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 20, 2017

This is our second time here. This time wasn't as good as the first. The kids yogurt was advertised yogurt and granola but came yogurt and berries. My husband had a coffee and it was full of grounds. The restaurant is over priced but overall my husband enjoyed his breakfast and my french toast was tasty.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great food, great service, great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Love this place! Sweets to savory - it's all great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Highly recommend that you make a reservation when going there on the weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Food was fantastic. The fresh made maple and bacon donuts are a must! Bloody Mary was made to perfection although was surprised to see a the Bloody Mary mix was not house made.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 16, 2017

It was a good time, good food & great vibe. Their waffle maker was broken so the kids couldn't have the waffle on a stick. Should always have a back-up waffle maker if one of your attractions is a waffle on a stick. But they wound up having the generously portioned french toast that will feed two kids.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Ambiance was excellent. Food choices were spectacular. French toast logs were the best with endless bacon toppings. The most interesting people filled the restaurant and were incredibly friendly. Great place for my adult daughter's birthday!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Salmon, ribs and seasonal pie were wonderful! Great fast service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.