About Great Maple San Diego

We Serve Dinner, Lunch, Brunch and Weekday Breakfast. We are a "European Dinette" featuring seasonal
fare, fresh house made pies, and local produce cocktails. We have a full bar and a social wine list.
Outdoor dining, counter bar, food bar, and full room dining. Cocktail cart for special cocktails and
tostas delivered on a 7 foot board. Cheers

1451 Washington St.
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, American, Farm-to-table

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast

Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 11:30am

Lunch

Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Brunch

Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 255-2282

Website:
http://www.thegreatmaple.com/

Entertainment:
Food Boards run through the room... Yes. Cool

Catering:
Speak to General Manager it based on a case by case basis.

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot and local street parking.

Public Transit:
Bus stop right in front and Hillcrest trolly stop near by.

Executive Chef:
Carmine Lopez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Great Maple San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (101)
Comfort Food (75)
Neighborhood Gem (66)
See All
Casual (66)
Fit for Foodies (57)
Creative Cuisine (53)
Sunday Lunch (52)
Fun (51)
Great for Lunch (48)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Good for a Date (35)
Good for Groups (32)
Cozy (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Special Occasion (30)
Worth the Drive (30)
Modern Decor (29)
Kid-friendly (26)
Hot Spot (25)
Family Style (23)
Authentic (22)
Local Ingredients (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Afternoon Coffee (19)
Seasonal (19)
Bar Seating (15)
Healthy (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
People Watching (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Organic (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Business Meals (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Romantic (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Vegan (4)
Great Beer (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Spicy (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Wood Oven (1)
 (1)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1193 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Super deli y las donas de maple con tocino estan DELICIOSAS!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Good food and great service. Love the portobello fries and the cocktails!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

I love to eat here and try to stop in every time I visit San Diego. Good food, diverse menu, and excellent service!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fun, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Honestly one of the best restaurants in San Diego. I would eat here every day if I could. Every menu item is amazing. Highlights include: maple bacon donuts, the popovers, the great maple dip, Fench cowboy burger. Can't go wrong!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Felt like $67 for 3 for breakfast with no alcohol was a bit pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a lovely mothers day brunch. Our server was a very sweet young man. It was very loud and hard to hear each other talk, but that can't be avoided on a holiday. We had a reservation and were seated promptly. Especially loved the breads and bacon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was amazing however, I did have to wait 20-30 minutes for a table even though I made a reservation. Otherwise an amazing meal, fantastic service, and a very memorable Mother's Day.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day Brunch. Food was excellent. Timely service w our reservation. Food was prepared fast and was delicious. It was my first time there but felt like I've been there before.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Just a Great overall Experience every time we come! My mom enjoyed her Mothers Day Breakfast. Thanks Great Maple for always providing great service and great food!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Where do I begin?!? Everything we ordered was delicious. We had dinner for 4 and ordered: pop overs, lobster poutine, caramel pork ribs, French dip and salmon. All arrived within a reasonable time frame and everything was amazing! Service was also great, can't remember the gals name though. We ended the night with coffee and their infamous maple donuts covered with bacon. Place is a little pricey but well worth it. Love their country chic decor and great atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We usually have brunch here whenever I come out to San Diego to visit my son - which is a very long wait to get in. We decided to do dinner instead and were not disappointed - the food was delicious and our waitress was very nice.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The maple bacon donuts were amazing! Service was fast and friendly. Ambience was nice as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It would be nice if the music wasn't so loud. The food and service were great!!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Always wonderful food that may make you want to wait on starting those fitness apps! Great Maple has fantastic service and super friendly staff that are very attentive. Just wish it was so darn noise dense. Maybe they need to figure out how to add on to their little triangle of a property... too good to pass up!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was delicious! Good service. Good vibes. Very busy, but didn't wait long since we had a reservation! Would definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food! Can't wait to come back! Was a little pricey for a casual place but definitely delicious and worth it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Menu is varied and is "homey" - I would characterize it as good food , very well done and worth the drive. They try very hard to be a great Neighbour good gem and I think they suceeed
I had the fish and chips - the fish was high quality and the batter was crisp. The 'chips' were a little disappointing being thin like Mac Donald's but that's a personal preference. My wife had the special of the day - scallops on a risotto- we would give that 8 out of 10 and choose that again. Others had salmon - looked great . We were all pretty satisfied with the entrees without having any starters - food portion sizes without being too big.

Cocktails are innovative and served in innovative ways. Beers - we had an alagash white and an alagash dark- both good and a little different to standard offerings.

For desert we shared their signature Maple Bacon donts - frankly too much bacon ( yes there is such a thing) . The rest of the menu was innovative and looked good

We would definitely go back here again. I would recommend if for casual dining with friends and family. Not gourmet - but high quality , very well done . The place was relatively quiet, decor was good with nice succulents as centerpieces etc. small outside dining patio and there is dedicated parking for approx 15 to 20 cars

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I guess was the best kept secret in town the food is excellent amazing service beautiful ambience I'm the best of all those maple bacon Donuts are to die for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great Maple never fails to meet my expectations. When ever we take a guest who has never been before they instantly remark that this is there new go to restaurant.

The food is alway fresh and innovative, but not overtly so. I love the French Toast and how beautifully it is presented. I love to try new items on the menu and am never disappointed.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We made a reservation and were seated right away, which is always great. The food was delicious as were the bloody marys. We were very pleasantly surprised to see the recommendations for this restaurant were accurate.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Set a reservation with The Great Maple over a month in advance and upon arrival, we had to wait over an hour to be seated. The hostess was completely dismissive when we asked about the status of our table. I would not recommend this to a friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food!! They were able to accommodate a change in the number of people on the reservation on short notice. Made the dining experience that much better. Thank you!

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The menu selection was so unique that I wanted to try everything. I had the beef brisket popover and some beignets and everything was amazing; can't wait to go back! It's a very popular restaurant so make sure to make a reservation.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Luckily we made a reservation for two the night before. Everyone else had to wait an hour and a half on a Sunday morning. It was raining outside so their patio dining was unavailable. Even still, the crowd was ridiculous, my meal- the chorizo scramble was tasty, but my friend didn't like her meal. Both meals were overpriced.
Skip the fig cake, it is dry and bland! Must haves include bacon Maple donuts (we took an extra order to go) and bacon slices (plain or salted caramel)!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Portobello fries are the best thing ever created for human consumption.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Tried this place for the first time, heard great things from friends and family so decided to give it a shot. So glad we did, the French toast is bomb!!! If you haven't been here yet don't wait any longer :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great Maple was absolutely fantastic. Our server was so sweet and our food came really fast. Had the maple-bacon donuts, chilaqiles and French toast, all amazing!! We followed recommendations from our server and she didn't disappoint. Also, the ambiance in the restaurant is adorable.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised. Our waitress was great and the food delicious. We both had different salmon dishes and they were prepared perfectly. We will definitely come back again soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

All good, food was a little salty, also they may be using MSG

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The breakfast was quite a gastro experience ! Fabulous , overall, "awesomely" delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We love Great Maple and had a great dinner here for a late birthday celebration. Great service (Friday evening champagne toast!) and good ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

What a fun gem! The building looks like a former fast food place, but once inside the food is anything but. Interesting cocktail list, I tried the lamb burger which was delicious and my husband the turkey burger. His was tasty as well. Mushroom fries were lightly battered with a garlic aeoli and the maple bacon doughnuts are a must! On Fridays they distribute glasses of champagne to everyone for a 6:30 toast to begin the weekend. Great experience would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We go here to eat the bacon maple doughnuts, it's a MUST! All the food we ordered was incredibly delicious, good flavor. Excellent service

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Five ladies for breakfast during the week. I suggest making a reservation for any day of the week, but well worth the wait either way. Food was unique and exceptional. Service was wonderful. Overall, highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 24, 2017

I was counting the moments that I would visit San Diego and be able to dine at my favorite restaurant1. Loved the maple sail on and the kale salad. Thanks for not disappointing!
Already looking forward to my next visit!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

What a great place. Check it out, but do make a reservation or plan on a long wait-it's that good!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Took 45 min to get our table even with a reservation. Took the server almost 10 min to come to the table. Saving grace was the amazing food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This restaurant was a big surprise from the outside it looks like an old Denny's but inside it is remarkably well done. It's so cute and well done inside looks like a French cafe The food was great and the presentation was exceptional we tried several appetizers and all were great. Go there for sure

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We had dinner here to celebrate a birthday for our daughter who has special needs. The staff was awesome and went out of their way to make it very special for her. She had a great time.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Outstanding food, our waiter was awesome, but the restaurant needs more staff. They are not prepared to handle large crowds w the staff they've got, we waited long for the food, our orders were coming wrong from the kitchen, our coffee cup ran empty for long periods, all the waiters and waitresses looked stressed and working super hard. Don't even try to use the restroom, we had to go somewhere else because of the long line. I came out of there concerned. I will go back on a weekday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.