About Great Maple San Diego

We Serve Dinner, Lunch, Brunch and Weekday Breakfast. We are a "European Dinette" featuring seasonal
fare, fresh house made pies, and local produce cocktails. We have a full bar and a social wine list.
Outdoor dining, counter bar, food bar, and full room dining. Cocktail cart for special cocktails and
tostas delivered on a 7 foot board. Cheers

1451 Washington St.
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European, American, Farm-to-table

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast

Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 11:30am

Lunch

Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Brunch

Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 255-2282

Website:
http://www.thegreatmaple.com/

Entertainment:
Food Boards run through the room... Yes. Cool

Catering:
Speak to General Manager it based on a case by case basis.

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot and local street parking.

Public Transit:
Bus stop right in front and Hillcrest trolly stop near by.

Executive Chef:
Carmine Lopez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Great Maple San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (101)
Comfort Food (73)
Casual (65)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (59)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Sunday Lunch (50)
Fun (48)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Great for Lunch (41)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Cozy (31)
Worth the Drive (31)
Good for a Date (30)
Good for Groups (29)
Hot Spot (29)
Kid-friendly (27)
Special Occasion (26)
Modern Decor (25)
Family Style (23)
Afternoon Coffee (22)
Authentic (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Seasonal (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Healthy (12)
Bar Seating (11)
People Watching (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Business Meals (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Organic (6)
Romantic (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Vegan (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (2)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Wood Oven (1)
 (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1153 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

Outstanding food, our waiter was awesome, but the restaurant needs more staff. They are not prepared to handle large crowds w the staff they've got, we waited long for the food, our orders were coming wrong from the kitchen, our coffee cup ran empty for long periods, all the waiters and waitresses looked stressed and working super hard. Don't even try to use the restroom, we had to go somewhere else because of the long line. I came out of there concerned. I will go back on a weekday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

It was very nice , we wanted a diner setting with family but it was more of a casual food with fine dining ambiance . It was nice and we enjoyed ourselves though

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing food, expensive mimosas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Graduation brunch!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Quiet for a Tuesday morning, only a few other customers there at opening. Food was plentiful and the Maple Bacon donuts were very good. Just wish they'd open a little earlier for breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

For a busy Easter Sunday they got us seated quickly, were very attentive and the menu options were well rounded.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Family Style, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The service was great and the food was absolutely delicious. Everybody was satisfied with their choices. The noise level was very high but it was completely packed, understandable because it was Easter. I couldn't take my eyes off the popovers so I am definitely going to go back to try them!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Thanks to the busy staff working hard on Easter Sunday!

The Easter Bunny was fun, but the treats should have been compliments of the house. $2 Easter cookie being passed around on a tray was tacky.

Overall, the staff was great and the host/wait staff were hustling and doing a damn good job.

Most importantly: The food and drinks were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Best bloody Mary's and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Parking is horrific. We had a reservation for 0830, but since there was no where to park, some of our party of 9 were late. We were told that our table was ready for us, but we needed to wait for everyone else. We stood there freezing because the doors open on either side of the entry, so anyone standing or sitting waiting gets cold. I actually asked a customer to let the door go so it would close, as he was talking to someone that was not even out of the car yet! I think the worst part was having a reservation for a party of 9, and being put RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE DOOR LEADING TO THE PATIO. It was cold EVERY TIME a customer or the wait staff and busboys went in and out, and /or held the door open for each other. That's the table we got with a reservation made three weeks prior for a party of 9. The table location wasn't changed because we weren't all there at 0830, it was crappy all along. I will say the food was plentiful, but it was hard to enjoy it knowing at any second I was going to get blasted with cold air. Very disappointed as it was Easter, so no, we won't be going back....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was excellent, as usual!!!!! Portions were large and server-Anna was exceptional. She was attentive and very pleasant. We requested for a different seat with the hostess when we came in and was told that there was not a server assigned to that particular booth, but minutes later guest were sat there. Of course, we were not too happy to be fibbed to maybe we should have talked to the manager.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Family Style, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Casual, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 14, 2017

First time visit, excellent portions for kids, good variety of food. We did not try their signature dish, bacon maple doughnuts, we will need to come back and try these!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The kale and quinoa salad was delicious. I thought there was a little bit too much cheese on it though and the popovers were meh. My boyfriend ordered the French dip with no sauce. The waitress didn't clarify that he was referring to the horseradish sauce and not the au jus. So the au jus was not brought out with the sandwich, but the horseradish sauce was. It came with crispy onion strips as well. I ordered the polenta with mushrooms. I didn't realize it was going to be a porridge size serving of polenta with two fistfuls of mushrooms around the bowl, but the flavor was very rich and creamy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The food, service was great,the waiter is asome! We will go back
Thanks

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

If you can plan ahead, it gets quiet busy, they take reservations, and it's a breeze! I like this place because they offer traditional brunch options with a twist. Everything is fresh, and a nice sized menu to offer something for everyone. Order the maple donuts, you wont regret it. It only comes in an order of 3, amazingly good! Blood orange mimosas are a beautiful and delicious complement to brunch as well. I'll bring all my friends that are visiting as an easy excuse to return.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I ordered the french cowboy with an iced tea. I took me asking 3 different individuals (last individual was not a server, a hostess) to bring me sugar. My waitress barely approached my table after I was served. I went alone and it felt like her other tables were priority because I was solo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Had a great timev. Food was excellent! Will be back in the near future

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 8, 2017

It was my first time going, immediately I was taken by the atmosphere! Great people, great service, it's cool to have Fun Eating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This place is AMAZING! The maple bacon donuts were out of this world! Thank u for the wonderful service and the fantastic poached eggs on the English popovers!

Love this place and so worth the drive from San Diego!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Seasonal, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

To me, i was expecting more from this being my first time. I made reservations for 12:30(brunch) yet we still had to wait to be seated. If that's the case then why bother making a reservation! That was my only "ugh"moment. Other than that, our waitress was amazeballs lol! She was attentive, gave recommendations on some awesome meals. I would come back but would hope the hostess has a happy attitude and that we don't have to wait! :)

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Loud, great food, slow service but very busy brunch time. Love that they take reservations.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Outstanding dining experience!!! The food was very tasty and service staff was very friendly. I am definitely keeping this one in mind for the future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Ordered off the varied Happy Hour menu. Tasty sliders & deviled eggs. Really good value. Wish they'd open a North County branch

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Another wonderful meal before attending the theater. Love love love their Moroccan Lamb Burger and Mushroom and Mascarpone Polenta! Definitely try their freshly made Maple Bacon Donut. Just outstanding food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Let me start off by the hostess at the front in charge of reservations: Not friendly at all. Not even a smile or anything. If you work at a hospitality job, you need to be very warm and friendly. I understand that it's a Sunday and it was very busy but you work in that kind of an industry so the least thing that you could do is appear that you are enjoying your job. BE PERSONABLE.

Our server was friendly enough and nice but the girl with the green hair that brought our drinks looked very irritated that we had to pause and take a quick photo of my parents.

I also noted that it's my father's birthday and nothing really came out of that. Not even a recognition.

House Mary was super salty. Never ordering that again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

For me, one of the best brunches in San Diego. Excellent food options, no shortage of choices. Amazing taste in everything (love the lavender lemonade). Gets crowded fast so reservations a must (one of the few places that takes them so why not make one). Parking is terrible so try the streets.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had a reservation for 8am since reviews discuss lack of adequate parking; that was the way to go! It filled up fast at 0830. Maple bacon donuts are a must-try. Breakfasts on the brunch menu were different & very good.
We'll go back during the week, but with reservations for 8am again. We don't want to fight for parking.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Met friends here and agreed we would come back often because I of menu, service and location.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Always good. Had breakfast Tuesday, back again for dinner Sat.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2017

I had never been to a Great Maple "eatery", and only after leaving did I learn that there are a number of locations in California.
I went there based only on web reviews, and I invited two invited speakers at a conference. Upon arrival I was initially worried that I had made a mistake with my restaurant selection, since the restaurant looked really casual and I was worried that the food might not be up to snuff.
I was pleasantly surprised by the good quality of the food items and innovative menu.
We enjoyed the English Popovers, the Brown Sugar Smoked Salmon, one of the Burgers for the People,and cappucino was top notch. A great place for a casual meal with friends or family

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The French Toast is the best and the Bloody Mary was great. My girlfriend loved her Eggs Benedict.

Tags: Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Easily the best brunch spot I've found in San Diego County! We split the beignets with lemon curd (OMG amazing!) and I finally landed on the chorizo scramble. I wanted everything on the menu and, despite being crazy full, I wanted to eat more! The fig bread (one of the side options) is fabulous, as is their potato scallion pancake (a better version of hashbrowns). Do yourself a favor, make reservations and GO!

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food is always delicious here. That's probably why it's such popular spot and why it's so noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Really fun & yummy, loved Josh, to bad he's moving!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Really love the menu, but setting feels like a much less expensive diner (like it used to be).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Best food for breakfast! Everyone was ordering the maple bacon donuts. They are a must have! Mimosa and bloody Mary's are second to none. Take your out of town friends

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Absolutely love Great Maple!! The food is amazing, staff is very cool, and I love the vibe and decor of the restaurant! 5 stars, highly recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great service. Very busy so make a reservation. Maple donuts were great, breakfast foods so so. Good portions but everything is on the pricey side. Loved the lavender lemonade although it was on the sweeter side. Overall though good ambiance and really nice wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The French toast is unbelievable! The best I've ever had. The food is always phenomenal. Be careful of the bloody marys - they are quite spicy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.