About Great Maple San Diego

We Serve Dinner, Lunch, Brunch and Weekday Breakfast. We are a modern American eatery featuring seasonal fare, fresh house made pies, and local produce cocktails. We have a full bar and a social wine list.
Outdoor dining, counter bar, food bar, and full room dining. Cocktail cart for special cocktails and tostas delivered on a 7 foot board. Cheers

1451 Washington St.
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Farm-to-table

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast

Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 11:30am

Lunch

Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Brunch

Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 255-2282

Website:
http://www.thegreatmaple.com/

Entertainment:
Food Boards run through the room... Yes. Cool

Catering:
Speak to General Manager it based on a case by case basis.

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot and local street parking.

Public Transit:
Bus stop right in front and Hillcrest trolly stop near by.

Executive Chef:
Carmine Lopez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Great Maple San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (86)
Casual (61)
Neighborhood Gem (58)
See All
Comfort Food (47)
Fun (46)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Sunday Lunch (41)
Great for Lunch (37)
Worth the Drive (35)
Kid-friendly (30)
Special Occasion (30)
Good for a Date (28)
Good for Groups (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Hot Spot (22)
Authentic (21)
People Watching (18)
Cozy (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Bar Seating (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Healthy (8)
Organic (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Romantic (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Seasonal (5)
Business Meals (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Great Beer (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1371 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Waited 10 mins despite reservation. Hostess and waitress were alright in terms of customer service. One waiter did come over and assist us and he was nice. The food was incredible and makes up for the alright service. I would go back.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

Busy brunch hangout. Expect lines. Very good food with excellent service. You'll want to order the Pickle Mary if only for the selfie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was amazing!! The best French Toast in the world. Our server Jenna was super friendly , helpful & FUN!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Went for the 1st time to celebrate my birthday. (They asked, when making the reservation if this was a special occasion & what the occasion was). They made no mention of it when we were there. Maple bacon donuts were great. Loved the coffee. Chilaquiles were a bit watery on bottom of dish = just ok. Waitress was very pleasant.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was good, but served barely warm. Yummy maple bacon donuts. Anything with bacon is a winner. Loved the vibe of the decore. Too loud though, too difficult to have a conversation during crowded breakfast service. Staff very polite and efficient.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Always delicious and a great experience. Indulge wand order the donuts!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Te presionan mucho para terminar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Great Maple has great burgers and the donuts are amazing!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic place! Never had a bad experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Delicious and great service. Parking can be hard to find, plan ahead but definitely worth it!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 9, 2017

I had a reservation for noon. I arrived on time, but had to wait 5 or so minutes for a table for 4. Pretty busy on a Monday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Came specifically for the maple bacon doughnuts and they did not disappoint. Service was great, although probably should not have sat outside because there were a lot of flies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Even with a reservation and getting there five minutes prior, the hostess made us wait about 10 minutes while she sat customers who were there without reservations. I realize there was a crowd, but that’s why I made the reservation. I think once here is enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great price quality. We've never had a bag meal her and the price is really reasonable. The menu is always great, with many things one wishes to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Delicious as always . It get really busy for brunch.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Please bring back the shrimp and polenta brunch dish. It was our favorite!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Everything I have ordered at Great Maple has been delicious. I tried the Key Lime pie for the first time this time--- it was amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Great good and service! Would definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2017

I was glad I made a reservation because it was very busy on Sunday around 2pm. The indoor part of the restaurant has upbeat music playing at a high level so for quiet, we chose outdoor seating. Food was prepared artfully and tasted great. The brisket sandwich is amazing! I recommend the mimosas as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

So amazing had my birthday brunch here. Definitely encourage making a reservation but the wait nonetheless will be worth it!
I give it 50 starts so so so delicous

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fun, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great food and I love the French toast . Will definitely be back .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We decided to stop here and see what all the hype was about. This place did not disappoint. Maple bacon doughnuts are as good as they get. French toast was on point and big enough or two. This is now my must stop when I’m in San Diego

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Our server, Jenna was excellent. Our meal was delicious. We all thought the menu was a nice change from the typical breakfast place.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Disappointingly long wait (half hour) after arriving five minutes before confirmed reservation time. Bit loud and crowded on this day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Came here on a Saturday for brunch and it did not disappoint. It was super busy, so I highly recommend making a reservation. We shared the maple bacon doughnuts to start and enjoyed their bloody Mary's. I ordered the brisket popover which was amazing. My sister got the pig in a blanket which was huge. I'd definitely come here again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2017

The waitress was very friendly. Food was great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Breakfast was excellent we had the smoked brisket has and Louisiana popover plate, both were excellent. Above average portions and excellent flavors.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 29, 2017

I can literally walk to Great Maple and it's a great neighborhood restaurant
Lots of French wine
Innovative food

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Had a wonderful meal - excellent service, really good food and wine. Highly recommend this for a nice evening out - different from all the rest.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 27, 2017

A friend and I went for Restaurant Week Lunch. We ate outside due to the noise level inside; however, younhave to swat the flies constantly outside! Challenging decision?! Our waitress was really running to cover the whole patio, but she did it with a smile!

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

I usually love Great Maple but I was pretty disappointed this time- I basically paid $18 for scrambled eggs with sauce? It was outrageous. We all got the squash blossom popover expecting a way better product. It was basically eggs on a piece of pastry and with one squash blossom. It was really disappointing. Will probably be back but will be more cautious of what I order

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Food, service, atmosphere all A+. Great morning noon and night

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

The food and service were outstanding. Very popular. Need reservations on weekends. Bacon was out of this world!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 24, 2017

A little pricier than what we would normally spend for breakfast, but the food was delicious!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Best smoked salmon I ever had!!!! Great choice of healthy but yummie food items, home made desserts and perfect cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Awesome casual place. Very unpretentious but great food. Wanted to try everything from the dinner menu. Maple bacon donuts a must. Will definitely be back to try brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Awesome experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Fabulous food but the cocktails were very special. Enjoyed toasting the weekend with the entire restaurant, and the round table for the five of us made for a lively meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2017

It was our first couple's trip to San Diego and this place started our day off right. I had the quiche special and he had the sausage scramble and potatoes. Really great options and recommendations from the staff. I loved the decor and even the bathroom was very modern but retro. There are lots of parking spaces and it is at a great location on the corner. I love the minimalist menu but the food was still very good.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We got seated quickly! Large food portions, and definitely worth the money! Service was good. I would come again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.