About Gravy

135 South Wilmington Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Ask any Italian-American what ‘gravy’ is, and they'll tell you it's the pasta sauce that their mothers and grandmothers cooked fresh every night. At Gravy Restaurant we take the same care, preparing our signature sauce every day using select tomatoes and locally grown herbs. The heart and soul poured into the preparation of traditional Italian-American dishes pairs with inspired modern twists and a focus on seasonal ingredients to define Gravy’s unique approach to this classic cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Mon- Fri: 11:00AM-4:00PM
Sat 11:00AM-3:00PM
DINNER
Mon-Thur: 4:00PM-10:00PM
Fri 4:00PM-11:00PM
Sat 5:00PM-11:00PM
Sun 5:00PM-10:00PM
BRUNCH
Sun 11:00AM-3:00PM

Cross Street:
Hargett

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 896-8513

Website:
http://www.gravyraleigh.com/

Catering:
We're now offering group catering! Please call the restaurant at 919.896.8513 for more information.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage next door, plus on street parking

Public Transit:
The R line stops around the corner on Hargett and South Wilmington.

Executive Chef:
Justin Bartolet

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For information regarding private dining, please contact Amy Amerson at Amy@empireeats.com or 919.455.0351

Restaurant Photos

Spaghetti and Meatballs
Garlic Knots
The Family Gravy
Caesar Salad
bread knots
Parpadelle Bolognese
Caprese Salad
Arancini
Risotto Cakes
Ravioli
Torte
 Chicken Marsala
Eggplant Rollatini
Baked Zitti
Gnochi With Portabelo In A Shallot Cream Sauce
lasagna

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For information regarding private dining, please contact us. Banquet Facilities: Gravy has a private wine cellar that can accommodate up to 40 people for private parties

Gravy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Raleigh
Most Booked
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

fit for foodies (67)
special occasion (61)
neighborhood gem (60)
See All
good for groups (36)
romantic (33)
notable wine list (25)
hot spot (24)
great for lunch (23)
kid-friendly (9)
great for outdoor dining (8)
late-night find (7)
great for brunch (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1503 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Lasagna was delicious! Hostess and w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Lasagna was delicious! Hostess and waitress were both very nice.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great service, good menu, that night's s ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great service, good menu, that night's special was not as good as most.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Visited Gravy for the first time to cele ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Visited Gravy for the first time to celebrate a friend's birthday. Gravy went out of their way to make it a special occasion. They called to confirm reservation and to ask what dessert selection our birthday friend would like to make it a special event. Very nice personal touch. Our server, Chris, was very attentive. Each of us had a different item from the menu and everyone thought their selection was great. Garlic knot rolls were the delicious, too. Will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend had recommended this as a great ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

A friend had recommended this as a great Italian restaurant. It was really good. Ordered calamarie which was enough for the two of us and was the best we've ever had. My husband had the arugula salad and spinach and goat cheese which he said was great. I went for traditional chicken Parmesan with spaghetti sauce which was also delicious. Definitely will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining at Gravy and was very ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

First time dining at Gravy and was very impressed with the service and the food was incredible. I had the HOUSE-MADE GOAT CHEESE SPINACH RAVIOLI and was so pleased with the flavors.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently a hit. Never had to look ar ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Consistently a hit. Never had to look around for our server for a water or wine refill. Food great as always. See you Sunday.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had the grilled peach and burrata sal ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had the grilled peach and burrata salad, the caprese salad and chicken Marsala. All super fresh, well seasoned and delicious. Portion sizes were perfect. Loved Gravy and will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

A great place to enjoy American-Italian ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A great place to enjoy American-Italian cuisine. Everything I've eaten here is consistently fresh. Tonight I had the ravioli and it was a very enjoyable dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we had was excellent - even t ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Everything we had was excellent - even the cocktails. Recommend the aribiata ball appetizer!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was good server was not friendly, s ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food was good server was not friendly, she did basic and that was it. She did smile and wish me a happy birthday. but really did not seem interested in our table.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We were expecting high quality Italian f ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We were expecting high quality Italian food, very disappointing. The Vegetarian Lasagna came out so hot that it burnt our mouths. Very little seasoning and incredibly small portions. The risotto balls were overcooked exterior with a gummy gluey interior consistency. Everything tasted and had the texture of reheated in the microwave food. Will not go back and would not recommend this restaurant to anyone who is looking for good Italian cooking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Found Gravy on a quick search from Googl ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Found Gravy on a quick search from Google and it was great!!! Got a late reservation and the meal was awesome from start to finish! Will be on our rotation for future dinner nights out .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Pricing could have been a li ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food! Pricing could have been a little better, but average for Italian. No more than Olive Garden. Love their noodles.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

My husband and I needed a place to eat a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

My husband and I needed a place to eat as our home lost AC. We decided it was time to try Gravy. We started with fresh mozzarella on toast drizzled with olive oil. Delicious. I had tagliatelle with bolognese with a scoop of fresh ricotta. I wanted to save some for the next day but ate it all it was fabulous. My husband had the lasagna. While it was very tasty he felt it could use less cheese more meat . We ended with tiramisu which was excellent. I'd recommend this spot to all its awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived last Friday at 6:30 for dinne ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We arrived last Friday at 6:30 for dinner and waited at the reception desk along with another couple who were there before us. We moved aside to allow a group of 4 that came in after us. The older woman in the group of 4 started talking to the receptionist. Instead of taking folks in the order they arrived at the restaurant, she placed that group in the back of the main dining area at a very nice table. She then seated the other couple. We got a tall table right by the door. We had reservations and we arrived on time. I told the receptionist about snub and she apologized. It still left a bad taste in our mouths.

We ordered the meal. While we waited, the waitress brought us a couple of rolls. No butter or olive oil to go with them. The rolls were soft and spongy like they hadn't been baked all the way through.

My wife's appetizer was OK, but my "Peach and Burrata" was only 1/2 good. The crackers were like eating hardtack.

Our 2 main dishes were both good. We've always enjoyed going to Gravy and hope this was just an anomaly.

Our waitress was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Very willing to accommodate gluten free ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Very willing to accommodate gluten free needs. Can't wait to go back and try another menu item.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great, service was great. It w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was great, service was great. It was a good night for a family get together.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been here several times, though it ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We've been here several times, though it's been at least 1-2 years since the last one. It may have been that my taste buds just changed, as I've reduced my salt intake, but I found everything far too salty. The gnocchi sauce in particular was overly salty, though my wife's lasagna was quite salty as well. The complimentary bread was also not as good as I remembered. My wife agreed with me even though her dietary patterns have not changed in the interim. The service was fairly good considering how busy it was (our water sometimes sat empty for a fair bit, and they kept forgetting that my wife had soda water).

Overall, we were disappointed that we'd chosen Gravy to take our friends who were visiting from out of town.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

A wonderful downtown location for Italia ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

A wonderful downtown location for Italian food. Good gluten free options as well. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the food and helpful for those in the family who had to choose allergy friendly foods.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love going to Gravy. The food ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We always love going to Gravy. The food and service are outstanding. They were also very accommodating for our 1 year old child.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was just okay. Service started off ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was just okay. Service started off great but then took forever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Our dining experience was great. We got ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our dining experience was great. We got lucky that there was a time slot available as it was the evening before Father's Day. The food was delicious and Gravy found a way to make their Italian dishes unique from other Italian restaurants. I would definitely eat there again!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have never had a bad meal at Gravy. Ev ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I have never had a bad meal at Gravy. Everything is delicious and quality. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great find!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Coming from the NYC I'm a little spoiled ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Coming from the NYC I'm a little spoiled when it comes to my Italian. This place did good for what it is. The server was alert and present . The pasta was decent and the tiramisu was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My Chicken Parm was overcooked and the " ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My Chicken Parm was overcooked and the "Gravy" on my spaghetti was pretty bland. I would NOT order this again but I definitely loved the ambiance of this place.....I just wish the food was better!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and service was excellent. We will ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food and service was excellent. We will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

There were a few food gems on the menu a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

There were a few food gems on the menu and the food was fresh. But all in all the food was boring and overpriced. As far as noise level, go early and it is quieter. Otherwise during peak dinner hours, it is loud. it would break up the loud noise if there were dividers between the booths. Also, too many tables and too close together. Hard to have an intimate dinner when you can reach out and eat off of the neighbors plate.

The server was excellent! He made the experience enjoyable! However, the hostesses were not friendly and wore a pasted on smile.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

My first time here and it was Simply Ama ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My first time here and it was Simply Amazing! Food was spectacular, I was very, very pleased with the flavor of my meal and the portion was huge. Will definitely return!!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gravy NEVER disappoints. The menu chang ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Gravy NEVER disappoints. The menu changes up enough to always make it interesting and I have never had a bad experience there. It's a "go to" in DTR.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

So, I really liked the ambience and deco ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

So, I really liked the ambience and decor. The art on the walls was nice. The painted over brick wasn't something I would go with but whatever. The food was decent. The pork belly app was good. We also had duck with asparagus and brusselsprouts, as well as the peppercorn tenderloin with spinach. Followed by tiramisu. (I dropped in with a friend for dessert and it was to die for which was I came back.) My main gripe here is that the asparagus and brusselsprouts were undercooked and had little to no flavor or seasoning. Like it was just steamed and that's it, barely chewable. The duck and tenderloin were extremely over cooked. We weren't asked temperature by the server, but I guess we assumed it wouldn't be cooked to death. I'm not exactly surprised by that considering we waited forever for our food. The restaurant was busy but wasn't filled to capacity and the staff was working at a leisurely pace, so I don't see why it was in such disarray. Our server apologized twice for the wait. The manager on duty hid at the expo in the kitchen when hardly any food was ready to run, didn't talk to guests much at all. My spouse and I are restaurant workers, we see pretty much everything and we have a lot of patience. I can overlook wait times and such but when there isn't much flavor in the food I'm dropping around $100 for, then what's the point of going?

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Gravy is a nice intimate restaurant in t ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Gravy is a nice intimate restaurant in the heart of Raleigh. They advertise their homemade sauces as their staple. I had the Family Gravy, which was very light on sauce, heavy on overcooked (white) pasta, and had very little meat to the plate. My husband got the gnocchi which was out of this world. Gravy is an average Italian restaurant, but I have others I would choose before I come here again. Alcohol was wildly overpriced.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

I went for Restaurant Week and I'm not s ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I went for Restaurant Week and I'm not sure if it was just the limited menu selection for that, but the food was nothing to write home about. However, our waitress was very friendly and attentive and the atmosphere was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The brussel sprout salad, the lasagna & ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The brussel sprout salad, the lasagna & the spaghetti & meatballs all were amazing! Highly recommend Gravy! Looking forward to going back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Triangle Restaurant Week

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We were given a lovely table outside, the starters and mains were amazing but the mains really let them down - ravioli was undercooked and the sauce watery and the meaty pasta was dry and missing a lot of the ingredients (we were warned they were out of a lot). Bit of a shame as we've always loved Gravy

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Really good service

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

They had wonderful service and were very accommodating.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Not good any more.

 
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I used to like Gravy but the last few times the food has been terrible. The wait staff seem to expect complaints which is very telling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Risotto balls, beet and citrus salad, an ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Risotto balls, beet and citrus salad, and chicken Parmesan were awesome! Get them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The gnocchi is ALWAYS a standout, but I ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The gnocchi is ALWAYS a standout, but I add a protein (shrimp) to give it even more love!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.