About Gravy

135 South Wilmington Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Ask any Italian-American what ‘gravy’ is, and they'll tell you it's the pasta sauce that their mothers and grandmothers cooked fresh every night. At Gravy Restaurant we take the same care, preparing our signature sauce every day using select tomatoes and locally grown herbs. The heart and soul poured into the preparation of traditional Italian-American dishes pairs with inspired modern twists and a focus on seasonal ingredients to define Gravy’s unique approach to this classic cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Mon- Fri: 11:00AM-4:00PM
Sat 11:00AM-3:00PM
DINNER
Mon-Thur: 4:00PM-10:00PM
Fri 4:00PM-11:00PM
Sat 5:00PM-11:00PM
Sun 5:00PM-10:00PM
BRUNCH
Sun 11:00AM-3:00PM

Cross Street:
Hargett

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 896-8513

Website:
http://www.gravyraleigh.com/

Catering:
We're now offering group catering! Please call the restaurant at 919.896.8513 for more information.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage next door, plus on street parking

Public Transit:
The R line stops around the corner on Hargett and South Wilmington.

Executive Chef:
Justin Bartolet

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For information regarding private dining, please contact Amy Amerson at Amy@empireeats.com or 919.455.0351

Restaurant Photos

Spaghetti and Meatballs
Garlic Knots
The Family Gravy
Caesar Salad
bread knots
Parpadelle Bolognese
Arancini
Risotto Cakes
Caprese Salad
Ravioli
 Chicken Marsala
Torte
Eggplant Rollatini
Baked Zitti
Gnochi With Portabelo In A Shallot Cream Sauce
lasagna

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For information regarding private dining, please contact us. Banquet Facilities: Gravy has a private wine cellar that can accommodate up to 40 people for private parties

Gravy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

Fit for Foodies (71)
Special Occasion (70)
Neighborhood Gem (64)
See All
Good for Groups (36)
Romantic (33)
Notable Wine List (26)
Hot Spot (25)
Great for Lunch (25)
Kid-friendly (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Late-night Find (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1535 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious! The Rissoto Balls are outstan ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious! The Rissoto Balls are outstanding! We all wanted to return the next day! Thank you for a wonderful experience and we will be back!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love Gravy. Mallory was a gem!!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always love Gravy. Mallory was a gem!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gravy has never failed to be delicious! ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 7 days ago

Gravy has never failed to be delicious! Their food is great, the service is pleasant and prompt, and it is generally busy without feeling too cramped to enjoy yourself.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Risotto balls were delicious.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Risotto balls were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

I have been to Gravy many times and our ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I have been to Gravy many times and our meal Saturday night was not up to Gravy's normal standards. I felt rushed by the server. Once we ordered our entree, we received it in less than 5 minutes and it was not hot. Disappointing.

I appreciate that it was Restaurant Week, but we were anticipating a special night out with a reservation at one of our favorite restaurants. This was not the case Saturday night.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

We went to Gravy for lunch as a group of ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We went to Gravy for lunch as a group of 8. The service was excellent and the food was amazing. I can't wait to go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had wonderful time! Our server recomm ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had wonderful time! Our server recommended a cocktail that was amazing and very refreshing. The bruschetta was perfect with balsamic vinegar and crostini. I'm going again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fun, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our third time eating at gravy. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This was our third time eating at gravy. Have to say the food was not as great and the service was a little slack.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We tried out Gravy during Downtown Ralei ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We tried out Gravy during Downtown Raleigh Restaurant Week, which was coincidentally at the same time as a special occasion for us. The food was delicious and the service was top notch! We will be back to try more dishes!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were seated immediately for our reser ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We were seated immediately for our reservation. Our waitress was great and our food was served promptly. Everything we ordered was delicious: Kale Caesar salad -- different and delicious, Bruschetta (a hefty portion), Lasagna (also a hefty portion) and the house-made goat cheese spinach ravioli which was awesome! Would recommend highly!

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried to eat here for dinner in Decem ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We tried to eat here for dinner in December 2015 but did not have a reservation so we dined elsewhere. My son and I went for lunch this past weekend and he ordered the best lasagna I have ever tasted. The next time I visit him in Raleigh, we may dine there again

Tags: Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lasagna was in grease. Chicken Parm was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Lasagna was in grease. Chicken Parm was overcooked and served

With dry pasta. Risotto balls and dessert was excellent .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Get the lasagna. Seriously. It is awesom ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Get the lasagna. Seriously. It is awesome!! Also, they have a fantastic wine list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything is always delicious and servi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Everything is always delicious and service is always awesome!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gravy was amazing! Restaurant week was a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Gravy was amazing! Restaurant week was an amazing deal and the food did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always wanted to try Gravy so Restaur ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We always wanted to try Gravy so Restaurant Week was the perfect chance. The food was awesome and our server, Caroline, was the best! We will definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my mom to Gravy for Downtown Rale ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I took my mom to Gravy for Downtown Raleigh Restaurant Week and we loved it! This was my second time here and everything was delicious! You MUST try the Kale Caesar - and the bread given to you at the beginning of the meal is to die for. The service was attentive and wonderful like always. Love Gravy!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had 7 people and the restaurant was t ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had 7 people and the restaurant was to noisy for all of us to talk to each other. The food was amazing though and we will definitely go again. Just in a smaller group so we can talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I love Gravy and their "gravy"; best Its ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I love Gravy and their "gravy"; best Itslian food in the region!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I visited for dinner during ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

My wife and I visited for dinner during Raleigh Restaurant Week. Parking deck across the street is convenient. Food and service were outstanding. Noise level started out okay, but quickly rose as more diners arrived. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waiter was wonderful, and the food w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Our waiter was wonderful, and the food was delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed this spot with a small ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We really enjoyed this spot with a small group of friends. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Not up to past standards... Lasagna was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Not up to past standards... Lasagna was on the greasy side, chicken parm itself was great but the pasta with it was dry and the sauce too light for my taste. Service was great but the food was subpar compared to previous visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Gravy was delicious, as always. My fianc ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Gravy was delicious, as always. My fiancé and I went with his parents because we are having our rehearsal dinner there in a couple weeks and they have never been. The food and service were great. My fiancé's stepmom actually got her lasagna taken off the bill because it came out just a few minutes (it really wasn't much longer at all) after the rest of our meals. This was an incredible gesture that didn't need to be taken, but just shows that Gravy does care about their customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for a 65th birthday. My firs ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Went there for a 65th birthday. My first time. I had the ravioli with goat cheese and spinach. it was excellent. Waiter was very nice. The birthday girl received a free dessert. The rolls are good and the dessert was good. The place is not huge inside and I liked that. Warm and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The employees and waiter were outstandin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The employees and waiter were outstanding. Someone accidentally dropped a tray and a little splashed on me. They went above and beyond because of the accident. Honestly, even without that, they were already amazing. The food is awesome, the service is outstanding and the drinks are perfect. Our toddler has a special place in her heart for their garlic knots. I cannot recommend this place enough!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian food in a cool downtown se ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great Italian food in a cool downtown setting. We had fun!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Waitress was friendly and helpful. The l ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Waitress was friendly and helpful. The lasagne and pasta with basil, pancetta and pine nuts were delicious. My first visit and I will go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was so delicious! Our server wa ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was so delicious! Our server was very friendly and attentive. It is a small place so make reservations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Perhaps I shouldn't have read the review ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Perhaps I shouldn't have read the reviews before we went. I knew to expect a crowded space with closely placed tables, so private conversation was out of the question. The hostess looked up from her work soon after we entered and asked us to 'give her a minute'. After many minutes, she finally gave us her attention and we were quickly seated. Our waiter was helpful and attentive, as were the support staff with water refills. We had read very good recommendations for the calamari, so we started with that. It was good and a good size portion, but far from the best I've ever had. The highly touted garlic knots were also OK, but nothing special. We were each going to get an entree, but the calamari was filling so we shared the gnocchi; I'd also read how good it was in many reviews. It was so-so. The gnocchi was large and fluffy but doughy and bland. I love mushrooms and there were mushrooms in the dish, but they were just slivers. I'd also expected more flavor to the sauce, which was rich but not particularly interesting.

We had planned for a nice treat for the end of the work week and were expecting to splurge a bit, but Gravy is definately not worth the splurge. We also had wanted to plan a return visit with another couple, but we'll look for somewhere else. Very disappointing

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

The food was amazing! I went there for a ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was amazing! I went there for a date before a concert....it was a great choice! You must try the eggplant pie..to die for!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Changing menu and great wine list Meatb ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Changing menu and great wine list

Meatballs awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Lasagna was delicious! Hostess and w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The Lasagna was delicious! Hostess and waitress were both very nice.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great service, good menu, that night's s ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great service, good menu, that night's special was not as good as most.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Visited Gravy for the first time to cele ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Visited Gravy for the first time to celebrate a friend's birthday. Gravy went out of their way to make it a special occasion. They called to confirm reservation and to ask what dessert selection our birthday friend would like to make it a special event. Very nice personal touch. Our server, Chris, was very attentive. Each of us had a different item from the menu and everyone thought their selection was great. Garlic knot rolls were the delicious, too. Will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend had recommended this as a great ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

A friend had recommended this as a great Italian restaurant. It was really good. Ordered calamarie which was enough for the two of us and was the best we've ever had. My husband had the arugula salad and spinach and goat cheese which he said was great. I went for traditional chicken Parmesan with spaghetti sauce which was also delicious. Definitely will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining at Gravy and was very ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

First time dining at Gravy and was very impressed with the service and the food was incredible. I had the HOUSE-MADE GOAT CHEESE SPINACH RAVIOLI and was so pleased with the flavors.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently a hit. Never had to look ar ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Consistently a hit. Never had to look around for our server for a water or wine refill. Food great as always. See you Sunday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had the grilled peach and burrata sal ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had the grilled peach and burrata salad, the caprese salad and chicken Marsala. All super fresh, well seasoned and delicious. Portion sizes were perfect. Loved Gravy and will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.