About Gravy

135 South Wilmington Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Ask any Italian-American what ‘gravy’ is, and they'll tell you it's the pasta sauce that their mothers and grandmothers cooked fresh every night. At Gravy Restaurant we take the same care, preparing our signature sauce every day using select tomatoes and locally grown herbs. The heart and soul poured into the preparation of traditional Italian-American dishes pairs with inspired modern twists and a focus on seasonal ingredients to define Gravy’s unique approach to this classic cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Mon- Fri: 11:00AM-4:00PM
Sat 11:00AM-3:00PM
DINNER
Mon-Thur: 4:00PM-10:00PM
Fri 4:00PM-11:00PM
Sat 5:00PM-11:00PM
Sun 5:00PM-10:00PM
BRUNCH
Sun 11:00AM-3:00PM

Cross Street:
Hargett

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 896-8513

Website:
http://www.gravyraleigh.com/

Catering:
We're now offering group catering! Please call the restaurant at 919.896.8513 for more information.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage next door, plus on street parking

Public Transit:
The R line stops around the corner on Hargett and South Wilmington.

Executive Chef:
Justin Bartolet

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For information regarding private dining, please contact Amy Amerson at Amy@empireeats.com or 919.455.0351

Restaurant Photos

Spaghetti and Meatballs - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Garlic Knots - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
The Family Gravy - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Caesar Salad - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
bread knots - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Parpadelle Bolognese - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Arancini - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Risotto Cakes - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Caprese Salad - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Ravioli - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
 Chicken Marsala - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Torte - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Eggplant Rollatini - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Baked Zitti - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Gnochi With Portabelo In A Shallot Cream Sauce - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
lasagna - Gravy, Raleigh, NC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For information regarding private dining, please contact us. Banquet Facilities: Gravy has a private wine cellar that can accommodate up to 40 people for private parties

Gravy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Italian
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

Special Occasion (60)
Good for a Date (52)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
See All
Fit for Foodies (38)
Comfort Food (35)
Casual (33)
Romantic (32)
Authentic (32)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Cozy (29)
Local Ingredients (29)
Notable Wine List (28)
Fun (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Great for Lunch (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Outstanding Value (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Business Meals (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Family Style (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
People Watching (6)
Healthy (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Organic (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great Beer (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Historic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1624 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were downtown and had wanted to try t ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

We were downtown and had wanted to try this place, so we decided stop by for lunch. The experience was amazing, and the food was fantastic. The lasagna was the best I've ever had. Seriously good food, and great environment. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great, both pasta dishes lac ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was great, both pasta dishes lacked taste. I had heard good things, but was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was outstanding! The service w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was outstanding! The service was excellent and they have a great wine list, we will be back soon and often!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the lasagna was great. Highly ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 30, 2016

As always, the lasagna was great. Highly recommend the calamari as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Within walking distance and in the "cool ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Within walking distance and in the "cool" area of Raliegh. Good Manhattans!!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The food here is delicious. In fact, it ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The food here is delicious. In fact, it might be too good. Why? Well, to be honest, I probably can't honestly say the food is delicious because in the five times I have been here, I've ordered the same thing. Gnocchi. It's that good. I can't try anything else because all I can think of is going to Gravy to order gnocchi again! So, honest review of all other possible menu choices - it all looks good and smells good going to other people.

Quick service, nice decor. It is a little tight in the dining area and the noise level can get a little loud but not so loud that you can't hear your dinner mate.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Italian food in the Triangle. Bolo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Best Italian food in the Triangle. Bolognese sauce is to die for.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My niece and I went for her birthday, an ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My niece and I went for her birthday, and although I had not mentioned it in advance, our server Phoebe heard us talking and at the end of our meal offered the dessert menu for a complementary selection. We split the mos delicious tiramisu I have ever had. The lasagna is wonderfully cheesy, and my dish was excellent also.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Max was a great server

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Max was a great server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Family of 5 we went out for my daughters ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Family of 5 we went out for my daughters 17th. High quality food and service, reasonable prices. I enjoyed the spaghetti w/ meatballs, kids chicken park and wife had the lasagna, all enjoyed our dishes. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good. Our server was ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was very good. Our server was even better. He asked if we had something to do after dinner -- we did, seeing a play -- and he made sure we were out on time while at the same making us feel there was no hurry. We will certainly be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter, Zach was very attentive. Th ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our waiter, Zach was very attentive.

The gnocci was phenomenal....

will go back for more

Tags: Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Authentic, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time. The service cou ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We had a wonderful time. The service could not have been better! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The gnocchi was amazing! The service was ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The gnocchi was amazing! The service was fast and the atmosphere could balance between a romantic date or a fun dinner between friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the second time I dined at Grav ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 15, 2016

This was the second time I dined at Gravy. Loved the first time, second time was OK. We got the calamari for the appetizer, that was one of the best I've ever had, the gnocchi dish with the mushrooms was also delicious, but three in our party got the braised beef bbq ravioli and that was not good at all. I like my pasta al dente but this was almost raw. Also the sauce was so thin, I really would not recommend this dish, all three people in my party did not like it. I told them to send it back but they are too nice and did not. All in all, except for that one ravioli dish, we had a very nice experience and the other entree's were great. I will dine there again just will stay with the traditional dishes. The pasta with seafood was also good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

We had previously eaten here on several ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had previously eaten here on several occasions and had great food and service. This time however was sub par. The food was mediocre at best and the service was awful. The waitress was rushing us thru the meal and could not get the bill correct at the end. She was in such a hurry for us to leave, she didn't even ask if we wanted coffee or dessert before she brought the check. We ordered the salami and cheese board and when we asked her what cheeses were where, she couldn't tell us. When the food was served, it had obviously sat in the back because it was barely warm. Needless to say the overall dining experience wasn't what we had expected and our family that came for the first time left with a really bad taste. It's sad because we had chosen Gravy because of the exceptional food we had experienced in the past. And the restaurant didn't seem to be that busy. We had expected a lot better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Food was fabulous! Tables were a little ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was fabulous! Tables were a little tight as it was a fairly small dining room. We would go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Server helped me pick a good glass of wi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Server helped me pick a good glass of wine. I liked the pace the servers set for the meal. No rush, just enjoy. Lasagna is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a group of eight. We were seated ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We were a group of eight. We were seated promptly. Our waitress was very attentive and went out of het way to accommodate us. The food came in a timely manner. It was well prepared and everyone enjoyed their meal. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have never had a less than excellent e ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I have never had a less than excellent experience with Gravy. The food is delicious and thoughtful, the cocktails clever and tasty, the staff is stellar, and the prices aren't crazy.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated promptly and enjoyed a wo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We were seated promptly and enjoyed a wonderful Birthday dinner with family. The food was excellent, every dish was delicious. Our waiter was knowledgeable. He answered our questions and advised us regarding our choices. A great birthday experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was delicious. We had Bay Scallops ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was delicious. We had Bay Scallops as appetizers which was yummy. Too bad they ran out of shrimp risotto which i was hoping to get as my entree. Service was impeccable. Overall wonderful experience. I would definitely go back to this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The noise level was too high for much co ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The noise level was too high for much conversation, but the food and service were great. Overall, great experience.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

All four of us enjoyed everything we ord ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

All four of us enjoyed everything we ordered. The eggplant pie was wonderful, as always. Service was good. I feel there is a serious lack of vegetables on this menu. The entrees do not come with veggies, and there are no veggie sides available. Only salads. This will mean I won't eat here often.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

First time at this restaurant. On the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

First time at this restaurant. On the way to the symphony and luckily we couldn't get the 6:30 reservation we wanted--otherwise we would have been late to the music. Seated immediately on a table that wobbled and the waiter was ready with wooden chips and said he balances the tables multiple times each night. Friendly waiter who was fighting a losing battle with the crowd. Had to repeat wine and check orders. Wine list on their internet site is out of date and mediocre in the "by the glass" section but looked much better if buying a bottle. But--the food is very good at a fair price. If we go back it won't be on a Saturday.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

The food and ambiance were perfect! I re ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food and ambiance were perfect! I really dug the vibe as it was unique among other Italian restaurants which are typically very traditional.

However, service was terrible. Felt like we didn't exist (frequently ignored and took forever to get anything ordered). When we did exist, we felt like an inconvenience (no smiling/enthusiasm, short questions, no initiative in explanations).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

We ordered the risotto balls because rev ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We ordered the risotto balls because reviews we had read recommended those, and they did not disappoint! However, the pasta on the special was beyond al dente. Made it hard to enjoy the dish. Other dishes were good. The Pappardelle was especially tasty.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great opportunity to try new place. Good ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great opportunity to try new place. Good service and awesome food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Not my first time here but Sat night was ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Not my first time here but Sat night was not a good experience. Food mediocre and with exception to one waitress, the rest of staff appeared unhappy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Delicious food, outstanding service. Th ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Delicious food, outstanding service. The "Family Gravy" and the risotto balls are my go to when I go to Gravy and they were fantastic as usual.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and prepared with att ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was delicious and prepared with attention to detail. Wait staff was great. Portion size was very good. We enjoyed our visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gravy is a jewel in downtown Raleigh. D ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Gravy is a jewel in downtown Raleigh. Delicious food, attentive, friendly staff. Great atmosphere. We had the calamari for starter; perfect; light and crispy. The chicken Parmesan and lasagna did not disappoint! The bartender was also our server and recommended an excellent wine, she was very knowledgeable and helpful. Love this place.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the pasta with Bolognese sause and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 26, 2016

I had the pasta with Bolognese sause and it was outstanding. The best gravy ever! My husband had Chicken Parmesana and also loved it. The bread is amazing and we also had a lovely cabernet. One of the best restaurants we have been to in the area

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We dine at Gravy whenever we visit Ralei ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We dine at Gravy whenever we visit Raleigh. Not a large menu, but reasonably priced and anything we've ever ordered has been excellent. Wesley, our waiter, took great care of us making food and wine recommendations. We will certainly be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service, good food and price w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Excellent service, good food and price was pretty good too. Our server was very accomodating and attentive to our needs, making suggestions and had a good sense of humor. Good presented well and tasted good too!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome food and awesome service! The Ka ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Awesome food and awesome service! The Kale Caesar salad and lasagna are my favorite! It can get pretty noisy, but overall it's a fantastic place to have dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The eggplant pie was the hit of the even ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The eggplant pie was the hit of the evening for sure and the risotto balls were very delicious as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place to eat. Love the downtown a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great place to eat. Love the downtown atmosphere. Service and food was wonderful. Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very enjoyable evening. The food was g ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

A very enjoyable evening. The food was great and served quickly. The waiter was friendly. He gave a good wine recommendation and answered our questions about the menu. It was a little pricey, but that's what you get when you go to Italian for a nice dinner. Overall a great experience. I would go back again.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

This was a special date night for my boy ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was a special date night for my boyfriend and I. I live in Kentucky,my boyfriend lives

in Raleigh. He has visited Gravy several times before as a special occasion place to go.The

atmosphere was very romantic and the food was spectacular. Our waiter assisted us in

choosing a wonderful bottle of wine that matched our food perfectly. We were thrilled

to see homemade sauce was available for sale by the jar! It was an overall wonderful

special evening and we look forward to many more visits to Gravy in the future!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.