About Gravy

135 South Wilmington Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Ask any Italian-American what ‘gravy’ is, and they'll tell you it's the pasta sauce that their mothers and grandmothers cooked fresh every night. At Gravy Restaurant we take the same care, preparing our signature sauce every day using select tomatoes and locally grown herbs. The heart and soul poured into the preparation of traditional Italian-American dishes pairs with inspired modern twists and a focus on seasonal ingredients to define Gravy’s unique approach to this classic cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Mon- Fri: 11:00AM-4:00PM
Sat 11:00AM-3:00PM
DINNER
Mon-Thur: 4:00PM-10:00PM
Fri 4:00PM-11:00PM
Sat 5:00PM-11:00PM
Sun 5:00PM-10:00PM
BRUNCH
Sun 11:00AM-3:00PM

Cross Street:
Hargett

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 896-8513

Website:
http://www.gravyraleigh.com/

Catering:
We're now offering group catering! Please call the restaurant at 919.896.8513 for more information.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage next door, plus on street parking

Public Transit:
The R line stops around the corner on Hargett and South Wilmington.

Executive Chef:
Justin Bartolet

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For information regarding private dining, please contact Amy Amerson at Amy@empireeats.com or 919.455.0351

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For information regarding private dining, please contact us. Banquet Facilities: Gravy has a private wine cellar that can accommodate up to 40 people for private parties

Gravy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Italian
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

fit for foodies (68)
special occasion (63)
neighborhood gem (50)
See All
romantic (49)
notable wine list (36)
good for groups (32)
hot spot (30)
great for lunch (22)
late-night find (14)
vibrant bar scene (11)
great for brunch (9)
kid-friendly (7)
scenic view (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1452 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Good Gravy!

Dined on May 7, 2016

The wine, drinks, food, service were wonderful! Definitely will return. Our server was Jason (I think - sorry! We were there 5/7/16 in 1st booth @ 7:30). Our problem was the noise level. We sat where we did bec I walk w/a cane, so we didn't go downstairs & probably should have. It was OK tho & we all said we'd come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a pleasant surprise.

Dined on May 7, 2016

The customer service was great, food was great also. The bill came out to be a lot cheaper than we had expected (probably b/c we brought our own 2 bottles of wine, $15 corking fee each). I definitely recommend this place if you guys are a Italian cuisine lovers. Although there are probably 2 other places that we've been to that we know for sure are better. But I would still suggest you check this place out once. The crowd is great and the employees too. Viva Italia!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Consistently high quality food, great se ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Consistently high quality food, great selection of wines by the glass. Can be pretty noisy on busy nights!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was awesome, and the food was ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Our server was awesome, and the food was worth coming back for.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a wonderful server who was very h ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a wonderful server who was very helpful with recommendations. The Gnocchi was AMAZING and we would come back just for this dish. It was a bit loud in the upstairs area but thankfully we were seated downstairs where we could hear each other. The only opportunity for improvement was the bar where there was no inquiry if we wanted our bill until I had to grab her attention after our table was ready. Just a slight hassle but our overall experience was great.

food5
ambience4
service4

Eggplant pie is unreal. Oh so yummy!

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Eggplant pie is unreal. Oh so yummy!

food3
ambience4
service4

The first time we went to Gravy was amaz ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

The first time we went to Gravy was amazing. Girlfriend got lasagna and I got gnocchi. This past experience wasn't quite as great. We went more traditional with spaghetti and meatballs and chicken parmesan. The food was good, but not great. I felt like I could make something equivalent at home. The risotto balls were the highlight of the meal. They are amazing. I would definitely recommend them. If I go again I'll opt for more adventurous menu items.

food4
ambience3
service3

Good meal but not the best I've had when ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Good meal but not the best I've had when it comes to Italian. I would go back however. Like most downtown restaurants it's very cozy and you are seated very close to other guests. It's done like that making best use of the available space but it makes for a very loud dining experience when it's shoulder to shoulder. Service was a bit slow but it was a busy Friday night so I wasn't annoyed by it

food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Meager portions

Dined on April 20, 2016

Not a lot of food for the money. Drinks were pricey. Service was very good and attentive. Really disappointed in the menu.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and drinks

Dined on April 18, 2016

Very pleasurable experience. The staff was very nice, and the food was delicious. I got the calamari as an appetizer and the lasagna. They were both ilamazing. I also got a Manhattan, which was very well made. Noise is not really a problem. I wish the prices were a little cheaper, but the quality food you receive is worth it. I love this place and will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Gravy never disappoints

Dined on April 17, 2016

Gravy is one of our favorite restaurants in the triangle. The food is always delicious, the service is remarkable, and the atmosphere is perfect! We will be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome Dining!

Dined on April 11, 2016

What a wonderful restaurant! We went to dinner to celebrate a birthday and not one of us left disappointed with our meal. Our waitress was knowledgeable and helpful in recommending menu items. Will definitely be going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

A little below average

Dined on April 10, 2016

My girlfriend and I wanted to try a local Italian place and decided to try Gravy. The overall appearance of the place was nice but that was about it. The server seemed to not care about us and seemed rushed. The food was rather bland minus the bread which was really good. My girlfriend tried a pasta dish with bolognese which really bland. Bland bolognese makes for a sad day. The Gravy was OK but my pasta was over cooked to mush. For the price I expected the food to be spot on. Maybe it was a bad day but I might recommend someone try pasta/sauces before serving

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Good but not fantastic

Dined on April 10, 2016

We had an 8pm reservation but had to wait for about 10 minutes when we arrived. It was cold outside so the area to wait was crowded. I feel sorry for the diners that were in the relative area. My husband had the Eggplant Parm and it was fantastic. I had the NC Hot Pot and found it to be just okay. The noise level was high and restaurant was bustling so probably not ever a place to go (maybe lunch) for a meal with easy conversation.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First time at Gravy

Dined on April 5, 2016

We just moved to the Triangle, and had heard about Gravy from our daughter. Everything was delicious, and the service was good. The menu is reasonably priced, as well. We will definitely go there again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner at Gravy

Dined on April 4, 2016

Gnocchi to die for! The eggplant pie was excellent. I was pleasantly surprised at how delicious the Kale Caesar salad was. Would definitely return and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Gravy to my friends.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service3
value5

Good Meal!

Dined on April 1, 2016

Loved Gravy for it's food. We started with the risotto balls and they were delicious! I think they had a great wine list, and the pasta we got was definitely worth the wait. That being said, my only complaint is that it is VERY noisy and has a "hustle and bustle" type of atmosphere. Our server changed twice, so I didn't know who to ask for the bill from at the end of the night. It was me and my SO and we were placed at a small 2 person table right between the kitchen and everyone else. I felt very crowded and was bumped a couple times, but I really liked the food and the servers we were exposed to were very nice. The food was definitely 10/10 stars! I'd say if you pick a quiet night, it might be more romantic. Otherwise, it's a fun date night if you don't mind the noise.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

My wife and daughter went for Easter bru ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

My wife and daughter went for Easter brunch, the food was top notch, but the service was way below par for a restaurant of this caliber. I am hoping that the sub par service was just a fluke, because we have been at Gravy's before and the food and service were excellent. We will definitely give Gravy another chance.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delish

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food was yummy and the prices reasonable. Would return in a heartbeat!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Thoroughly Enjoyed our Dinner

Dined on March 26, 2016

We went with another couple and neither of us had ever been to Gravy although I had heard good things about it. We loved it. My husband and the other couple had the gnocchi. My husband said it was the best he ever had. The other couple loved the fact that it was slightly browned on the bottom. As an appetizer, we shared the ricotta balls and they were delicious not too sticky and the tomato sauce was not too sweet. Desserts are to die for but the dinner entrees are large and dessert we all split a dessert. I had French pressed coffee that was fabulous. Great night especially because we didn't feel rushed. I hate restaurants that are ready to take your plate away as you put the last bite into your mouth. It was leisurely and no pressure to finish up fast.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Server Josh was amazing with suggestions ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Server Josh was amazing with suggestions, attentive, welcoming and the food just out of this world

food4
ambience3
service4

The kale Caesar was killer with explosiv ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

The kale Caesar was killer with explosive garlic and hot pepper flavor. A standout. The chicken parm was good. The pasta was al dente and great. The sauce was serviceable but under seasoned. A nice little romantic place. My partner had the pork. It was medium and cooked perfectly but underseasoned as was the polenta.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Experience

Dined on March 19, 2016

Food was great. The calamari was the best we've ever had, and it came out SO FAST!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

A hit and a miss for this meal

Dined on March 18, 2016

I've eaten at Gravy a number of times and usually love their food. I ordered the carbonara this time, though, and it was just ... not very good. It was bland, the sauce was thin, and just generally a big miss. This was surprising given that their other dishes are usually so darn good. I will return, though, but will avoid that dish in the future.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First timers

Dined on March 15, 2016

Great food, great service and pleasant atmosphere. Our first time experience was not a disappointment.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

We had a delicious lunch at Gravy! My mo ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

We had a delicious lunch at Gravy! My mom and I had salads (though the bolognese and baked chicken sausage dish looked incredible, we wanted to go a bit lighter). The kale Caesar was absolutely delicious and my mom loved the beet salad. The portions were perfect and it wasn't filled with dressing. My husband had the lasagna and loved it. We can't wait to return!

food5
ambience5
service4

Always great!

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Always great!

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was good, Service was OK ....

Dined on March 11, 2016

My wife and I met another couple for a date night. The food here was well done as expected. Our server was too attentive. He came table-side too many times up-selling and checking that "everything is fine?". We plan to visit here again and hope to get a different server.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always a great experience

Dined on March 5, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants! Food is always great, but this visit for some reason it was even better than great! Definitely recommend!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

Disappointed

Dined on March 4, 2016

After hearing and reading good reviews about Gravy, we took some business associates for dinner. We were extremely disappointed. The menu was very limited, and short on Italian fare (which we were told was the genre of the restaurant). After being told only Italian wines were served, we ordered Chianti, and they didn't carry any. There were 4 of us and each ordered different entrees. No one liked what they ordered. Apparently we are in the minority as the restaurant was packed. But we will not go back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

great!

Dined on March 4, 2016

Gravy was a great experience- the staff was attentive, the wait for our food was minimal and everything was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service1

Went to Gravy for my husband's birthday. ...

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Went to Gravy for my husband's birthday. Good food and good wine and all was fine with our server until a few minutes after we got our food. Then she disappeared, and she never came to our table again. No offer of dessert (which we wanted) and no acknowledgement of my husband's birthday, even though it was noted on the reservation. Very disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Dinner

Dined on February 21, 2016

Had a great time at Gravy. Would recommend the fried risotto balls for a appetizer. Great service and dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was outstanding. My gir ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Food and service was outstanding. My girlfriend and I had an absolutely wonderful experience.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

GREAT PLACE!!!

Dined on February 17, 2016

Had a reservation for 6pm was promptly seated. We were there early I was told it gets busy around 7 and this is true. Food was done in less then 20 min after we ordered. Garlic knots are amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My three friends truly enjoyed a lovely ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

My three friends truly enjoyed a lovely ladies lunch out.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dope!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Love this place, the food, omg, the food oh and the food! Bomb! great service! Great wine selection. I will return soon

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food and atmosphere are great, service lacking

Dined on February 15, 2016

We went to Gravy on Valentine's night 2016. Atmosphere is romantic and food was good. My service; however, could have been better. For some reason our server left after she took our orders, but never came over to tell us who would be taking over for her. Our remaining time there was spent trying to flag down other servers to bring us silverware, dessert menu, shredded cheese, etc. We weren't checked on like we should have been.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delish!

Dined on February 15, 2016

We came in for our yearly Valentine's Day dinner. The food was delicious as always! Our only complaint was that the server wasn't able to recommend a wine based on our preferences because he didn't know about the type of wines we mentioned. Otherwise, everything was great and we'll be back again soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great italian dining experience

Dined on February 15, 2016

Gravy provided my wife and I a great Valentine's Day spot without all the crowds and attention of a more trendy spot. It was the perfect combination of "under the radar" and great quality. It had some very good dishes and wasn't so expensive that you really broke the bank!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.