About Gravy

135 South Wilmington Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Ask any Italian-American what ‘gravy’ is, and they'll tell you it's the pasta sauce that their mothers and grandmothers cooked fresh every night. At Gravy Restaurant we take the same care, preparing our signature sauce every day using select tomatoes and locally grown herbs. The heart and soul poured into the preparation of traditional Italian-American dishes pairs with inspired modern twists and a focus on seasonal ingredients to define Gravy’s unique approach to this classic cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Mon- Fri: 11:00AM-4:00PM
Sat 11:00AM-3:00PM
DINNER
Mon-Thur: 4:00PM-10:00PM
Fri 4:00PM-11:00PM
Sat 5:00PM-11:00PM
Sun 5:00PM-10:00PM
BRUNCH
Sun 11:00AM-3:00PM

Cross Street:
Hargett

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 896-8513

Website:
http://www.gravyraleigh.com/

Catering:
We're now offering group catering! Please call the restaurant at 919.896.8513 for more information.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage next door, plus on street parking

Public Transit:
The R line stops around the corner on Hargett and South Wilmington.

Executive Chef:
Justin Bartolet

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For information regarding private dining, please contact Amy Amerson at Amy@empireeats.com or 919.455.0351

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Spaghetti and Meatballs - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Garlic Knots - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
The Family Gravy - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Caesar Salad - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
bread knots - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Parpadelle Bolognese - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Arancini - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Risotto Cakes - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Caprese Salad - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Ravioli - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
 Chicken Marsala - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Torte - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Eggplant Rollatini - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Baked Zitti - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
Gnochi With Portabelo In A Shallot Cream Sauce - Gravy, Raleigh, NC
lasagna - Gravy, Raleigh, NC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For information regarding private dining, please contact us. Banquet Facilities: Gravy has a private wine cellar that can accommodate up to 40 people for private parties

Gravy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (53)
Special Occasion (45)
Good for Birthdays (37)
See All
Casual (34)
Comfort Food (30)
Local Ingredients (29)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Authentic (28)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Cozy (25)
Fun (20)
Romantic (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Outstanding Value (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Business Meals (9)
People Watching (8)
Family Style (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Happy Hour (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1756 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very quaint environment and intimate. Th ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Very quaint environment and intimate. The food was amazing, gravy was authentic and ingredients were fresh. I enjoyed every bite and encourage you all to go and enjoy.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation and came in about ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

We made a reservation and came in about 10 minutes late. We were seated about 10 minutes after walking in which we completely understood because we did come late. After being seated, no one came by for 15 minutes. Not even a hello from servers and the host who sat us who passed by us at least 12 times (yes we started accounting at one point out of boredom). We love the food here and I think it's great but the service needs to improve greatly in order for it to become a good restaurant. At this point, it's average at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Wes was amazing and the food was excelle ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Wes was amazing and the food was excellent! Great dinner, drinks and atmosphere. Perfect spot for friends to gather, eat, drink and laugh.

Tags: , Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great. Made a reservation and ar ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was great. Made a reservation and arrived 10 minutes early and was seated right away. Great waiter! Loved my family pasta dish! Husband had chicken scappalini which wasn't as exciting as my dish with GRAVY.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Want to celebrate my daughter's 21st bir ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Want to celebrate my daughter's 21st birthday, and as usual, Gravy was awesome! Delicious appetizers and cocktails (Risitto Balls are fantastic), mouth watering entrees (Shrimp Risitto is mouth watering). Service, atmosohere, perfect. Gravy never disappoints, best Italian in Raleigh.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food with local ingredients. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Excellent food with local ingredients. Service was fast and our server was very attentive. I would recommend making a reservation, especially if going on a weekend - the restaurant is not very big but its cozy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gravy is our Friday-night go-to restaura ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Gravy is our Friday-night go-to restaurant. It can fill up quickly, so we eat at the bar, talk with the bartenders, have cocktails and share the kale caesar salad and have delicious entrees. Always gracious, warm service, and the food is great comfort after a tough work week.

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Second great experience. Love the calama ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Second great experience. Love the calamari and gnocchi!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Enjoyed a birthday dinner with a group o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Enjoyed a birthday dinner with a group of six friends. The food was delicious, as always, and the wait staff were great. They even brought the birthday boy a piece of tiramisu cake! Love this place!

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience. They have goo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Always a great experience. They have good food and great service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We arrived on time for our reservation a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We arrived on time for our reservation and were promptly seated. The host was very friendly and the server was equally so. The latter was very engaging in presenting the list of specials and very attentive throughout the meal. The food was superb!

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our first time at Gravy was very good. W ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our first time at Gravy was very good. We had a table reservation, but opted to sit at the bar instead. The bartender was very attentive and helpful and my husband loved the Cranberry Old Fashioned. I recommend the fried risotto balls and the gnocchi. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ambiance & service were great. Food was ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ambiance & service were great. Food was okay but not memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

It was a great place service was really ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was a great place service was really nice our waiter was friendly and they welcomed us it had a home feel to it so i will be back

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and fantastic service. All a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and fantastic service. All around wonderful meal!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the food. Staff very professional a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Love the food. Staff very professional and friendly. Very happy with our dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best calamari around. The gnocchi in ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The best calamari around. The gnocchi in wild mushroom sauce, was outstanding. The garlic knots were delicious as well. Have ready recommended it to friends and neighbors. We will be going back!!!

Tags: , Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Friendly, efficient staff with quick ser ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Friendly, efficient staff with quick service and tasty, interesting food. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place to take the kids following a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great place to take the kids following a day at the Marbles Kids Museum. Swift service. Good variety to choose from. I would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wife's birthday dinner. Great atmospher ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Wife's birthday dinner. Great atmosphere and food was delicious. Price was reasonable. Service was great. First time eating here and will return and recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I heard that Gravy was a good Italian re ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I heard that Gravy was a good Italian restaurant. We tried it for our anniversary dinner. Very, very disappointing. The service was rushed. I had gnocchi which was under cooked and way too large for proper cooking. My husband's vodka sauce dish was mediocre at best. Gravy is better than Olive Garden but not as good as Carraba 's. Sorry, we will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Food was great and service was fantastic ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was great and service was fantastic - might become our new Christmas eve tradition

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An excellent Christmas Eve dinner. May G ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

An excellent Christmas Eve dinner. May God bless us all. / Mark

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall it was a quality experience. The ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Overall it was a quality experience. The service was great and the food was very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our family dined at Gravy prior to atten ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our family dined at Gravy prior to attending a North Carolina Symphony Christmas concert at Meymandi. Everyone was impressed with the savory dishes we selected. For starters, we ordered the risotto balls, a unique and tasty appetizer. Two of us ordered lasagna, and we agreed it was the best we had ever eaten. The other two ordered the special grilled tuna. In a word, amazing! Gravy is easily one of the best restaurants in Raleigh. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific meal with our three sons, aged ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Terrific meal with our three sons, aged elementary to high school.

Apps - bruschetta was fantastic, and calamari were great... 15 yo said he could make a meal of the bruschetta, and the younger brothers liked it.

Entrees - Dad loved the Tagliatelle and would return to Gravy for that alone. 15 yo and mom both enjoyed the Chicken Scarpariello, though moms fave of all was the Cheese Ravioli. 13 yo CRUSHED his spaghetti & meatballs with Alfredo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at this restaura ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This was our first time at this restaurant. Our server was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about all menu items. He was also very polite even to our young diners. The "gravy" is delicious and the salad was also very well prepared. We look forward to a return visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Casual, Special Occasion, , Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gravy is a wonderful place to go when lo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Gravy is a wonderful place to go when looking to experience delicious Italian food in a cozy atmosphere. Service was great and we received our order quickly. We could have been in and out within 30 minutes if we didn't decide to enjoy our wine. Highly recommended!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This has ALWAYS been one of my favorite ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This has ALWAYS been one of my favorite restaurants (LOVE the eggplant pie) but we mentioned we were recently married (only because I could not remember if I changed my last name in Open Table yet, so we were not sure of the last name of the reservation) and they gave us a free glass of champagne to celebrate. Made a special evening even more special and as always, the food and service were impecdable!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd time coming and it was great. Our wa ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 19, 2016

2nd time coming and it was great. Our waiter was running the bar as well so he had a lot going on, but overall great time. Will definitely be back. The Rosetta balls are crazy good

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

There were four of us and we all ordered ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

There were four of us and we all ordered something different. Everyone was pleased with what they ordered. Our water was good. We enjoyed our dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It really was a totally disappointing ex ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

It really was a totally disappointing experience. Will not return anytime in the near future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

When you go out for home style Italian f ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

When you go out for home style Italian food and don't get what you are expecting, it creates a conundrum about whether you are being anti-creative. After giving it some thought, we came down on the side of the food just not being that good. When the food is that far off from what is "supposed" to be in it, then it is time to call it something else entirely. No one wants to send a perfectly edible plate of food back because it "doesn't look at all like carbonara". People want to try new things but at the end of the day it just wasn't good enough to justify the departure from the norm. Was it creativity that caused the tiramisu cake to only be partially dipped in espresso? Or was it inattention to detail? I'd heard that this place had mixed reviews and I thought that it was just people that didn't appreciate Italian food. Now I think it is because people are expecting Italian food and they don't really serve it. If you read this and go anyway your experience will be better because your expectations will be properly managed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Service was impeccable. The signature co ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Service was impeccable. The signature cocktails were exceptional and the salami board was a great start to a wonderful dining experience. My wife and I will most definitely be back to eat here multiple times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my fourth or fifth time visitin ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was my fourth or fifth time visiting, and by far the best! Service was spot on (I wish I remembered our servers name... she was great!). Although it was a busy Saturday night we were still sat, got drinks, apps, entrees and dessert within 70 minutes. The eggplant pie... OMG! All in all, an amazing meal, and I look forward to my next visit!

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My girlfriend and I love this place and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My girlfriend and I love this place and will definitely be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Healthy, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 2nd visit to Gravy and sadl ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This was our 2nd visit to Gravy and sadly it wasn't as good as the first. That said, the lasagna is the best we've ever had, so good. We also had spaghetti and meatballs which wasn't hot (temperature) enough and the Bucatini Amatriciana with panchetta (which we've also had before), but this time the pancetta was cut way too big and it wasn't rendered properly so it was extremely greasy and not as good.

Tags: Family Style, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

tasteful food and abundant menu selectio ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 16, 2016

tasteful food and abundant menu selections. Taste most appropriate for those with select Italian tastes and heavy touch to meal offerings.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Slow service and in attentive waitress

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Slow service and in attentive waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

One of my favorite places in Raleigh. G ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 15, 2016

One of my favorite places in Raleigh. Great Italian food. Reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.