About Gravy

135 South Wilmington Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
View Larger Map

Ask any Italian-American what ‘gravy’ is, and they'll tell you it's the pasta sauce that their mothers and grandmothers cooked fresh every night. At Gravy Restaurant we take the same care, preparing our signature sauce every day using select tomatoes and locally grown herbs. The heart and soul poured into the preparation of traditional Italian-American dishes pairs with inspired modern twists and a focus on seasonal ingredients to define Gravy’s unique approach to this classic cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH
Mon- Fri: 11:00AM-4:00PM
Sat 11:00AM-3:00PM
DINNER
Mon-Thur: 4:00PM-10:00PM
Fri 4:00PM-11:00PM
Sat 5:00PM-11:00PM
Sun 5:00PM-10:00PM
BRUNCH
Sun 11:00AM-3:00PM

Cross Street:
Hargett

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 896-8513

Website:
http://www.gravyraleigh.com/

Catering:
We're now offering group catering! Please call the restaurant at 919.896.8513 for more information.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage next door, plus on street parking

Public Transit:
The R line stops around the corner on Hargett and South Wilmington.

Executive Chef:
Justin Bartolet

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For information regarding private dining, please contact Amy Amerson at Amy@empireeats.com or 919.455.0351

Restaurant Photos

Spaghetti and Meatballs
Garlic Knots
The Family Gravy
Caesar Salad
bread knots
Parpadelle Bolognese
Caprese Salad
Arancini
Risotto Cakes
Ravioli
Torte
 Chicken Marsala
Eggplant Rollatini
Baked Zitti
Gnochi With Portabelo In A Shallot Cream Sauce
lasagna

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For information regarding private dining, please contact us. Banquet Facilities: Gravy has a private wine cellar that can accommodate up to 40 people for private parties

Gravy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

fit for foodies (55)
special occasion (54)
neighborhood gem (48)
See All
romantic (31)
good for groups (29)
notable wine list (27)
hot spot (24)
great for lunch (20)
great for brunch (7)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1481 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

We always love going to Gravy. The food ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We always love going to Gravy. The food and service are outstanding. They were also very accommodating for our 1 year old child.

food2
ambience3
service2

Food was just okay. Service started off ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was just okay. Service started off great but then took forever.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience was great. We got ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our dining experience was great. We got lucky that there was a time slot available as it was the evening before Father's Day. The food was delicious and Gravy found a way to make their Italian dishes unique from other Italian restaurants. I would definitely eat there again!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have never had a bad meal at Gravy. Ev ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I have never had a bad meal at Gravy. Everything is delicious and quality. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great find!

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great find!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My Chicken Parm was overcooked and the " ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

My Chicken Parm was overcooked and the "Gravy" on my spaghetti was pretty bland. I would NOT order this again but I definitely loved the ambiance of this place.....I just wish the food was better!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food and service was excellent. We will ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Food and service was excellent. We will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

There were a few food gems on the menu a ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

There were a few food gems on the menu and the food was fresh. But all in all the food was boring and overpriced. As far as noise level, go early and it is quieter. Otherwise during peak dinner hours, it is loud. it would break up the loud noise if there were dividers between the booths. Also, too many tables and too close together. Hard to have an intimate dinner when you can reach out and eat off of the neighbors plate. The server was excellent! He made the experience enjoyable! However, the hostesses were not friendly and wore a pasted on smile.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time here and it was Simply Ama ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

My first time here and it was Simply Amazing! Food was spectacular, I was very, very pleased with the flavor of my meal and the portion was huge. Will definitely return!!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gravy NEVER disappoints. The menu chang ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Gravy NEVER disappoints. The menu changes up enough to always make it interesting and I have never had a bad experience there. It's a "go to" in DTR.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

So, I really liked the ambience and deco ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

So, I really liked the ambience and decor. The art on the walls was nice. The painted over brick wasn't something I would go with but whatever. The food was decent. The pork belly app was good. We also had duck with asparagus and brusselsprouts, as well as the peppercorn tenderloin with spinach. Followed by tiramisu. (I dropped in with a friend for dessert and it was to die for which was I came back.) My main gripe here is that the asparagus and brusselsprouts were undercooked and had little to no flavor or seasoning. Like it was just steamed and that's it, barely chewable. The duck and tenderloin were extremely over cooked. We weren't asked temperature by the server, but I guess we assumed it wouldn't be cooked to death. I'm not exactly surprised by that considering we waited forever for our food. The restaurant was busy but wasn't filled to capacity and the staff was working at a leisurely pace, so I don't see why it was in such disarray. Our server apologized twice for the wait. The manager on duty hid at the expo in the kitchen when hardly any food was ready to run, didn't talk to guests much at all. My spouse and I are restaurant workers, we see pretty much everything and we have a lot of patience. I can overlook wait times and such but when there isn't much flavor in the food I'm dropping around $100 for, then what's the point of going?

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Gravy is a nice intimate restaurant in t ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Gravy is a nice intimate restaurant in the heart of Raleigh. They advertise their homemade sauces as their staple. I had the Family Gravy, which was very light on sauce, heavy on overcooked (white) pasta, and had very little meat to the plate. My husband got the gnocchi which was out of this world. Gravy is an average Italian restaurant, but I have others I would choose before I come here again. Alcohol was wildly overpriced.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I went for Restaurant Week and I'm not s ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I went for Restaurant Week and I'm not sure if it was just the limited menu selection for that, but the food was nothing to write home about. However, our waitress was very friendly and attentive and the atmosphere was nice.

food5
ambience4
service5

The brussel sprout salad, the lasagna & ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The brussel sprout salad, the lasagna & the spaghetti & meatballs all were amazing! Highly recommend Gravy! Looking forward to going back soon.

food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Triangle Restaurant Week

Dined on June 10, 2016

We were given a lovely table outside, the starters and mains were amazing but the mains really let them down - ravioli was undercooked and the sauce watery and the meaty pasta was dry and missing a lot of the ingredients (we were warned they were out of a lot). Bit of a shame as we've always loved Gravy

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Really good service

Dined on June 10, 2016

They had wonderful service and were very accommodating.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Not good any more.

Dined on June 10, 2016

I used to like Gravy but the last few times the food has been terrible. The wait staff seem to expect complaints which is very telling.

food5
ambience5
service5

Risotto balls, beet and citrus salad, an ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Risotto balls, beet and citrus salad, and chicken Parmesan were awesome! Get them.

food5
ambience4
service5

The gnocchi is ALWAYS a standout, but I ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

The gnocchi is ALWAYS a standout, but I add a protein (shrimp) to give it even more love!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gnocchi!

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

We sat up at the bar and had wonderful service. The gnocchi was by far the best I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

good food

Dined on May 30, 2016

My out-of-town guests loved it the food was great the service was good and the ambience was wonderful

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious, as always. You must try the r ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Delicious, as always. You must try the risotto balls!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always!

Dined on May 27, 2016

Great as always!

food3
ambience3
service3
value4

I expected more.

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was good, but somewhat disappointing. The rice balls and salads were wonderful and the portions were great. Our entrees were not as good ... the lasagna was garlicky, and the goat cheese ravioli was swimming in a white wine and shaved brussel sprout sauce. Had I known that the main ingredient in my ravioli dish was brussel sprouts, I would not have ordered it. The desserts were better, but yet again ... not what I would have expected. I wish that restaurants would tell you that they plan to make their dishes in a "fusion" or deconstructed way ... to save the patrons a guessing game.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food. SUPER crowded. So noisy.

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food. I love their eggplant pie. Sauce is superb. SUPER crowded. I am a skinny guy, and like, minimal room to bring your fork to your mouth. My elbow was slammed 3 times just in this last visit. Either they need to expand or get rid of some tables. Its always very noisy too. Not in a good way. Hey opentable, change your choices. loud isnt always energetic/good.

food4
ambience2
service4
value4

The food was great and the service was g ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was great and the service was great. The only complaint I have is that the noise level made it hard to hear each other or the server.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I love Gravy and typically have great se ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I love Gravy and typically have great service. This night our waiter (Jessie?)ended up being called over to run the bar as well which caused us to wait long periods to no fault of his own. He was very knowledgable. We started dinner with a 530 reservation (promptly seated) and ended up leaving at 715. The table next to us turned over two times before we ever received our food. It was before the evening rush and didn't order anything special. After dinner, we ordered dessert (tiramisu), however after 20 minutes we just decided that it wasn't worth the wait and asked for our check from a woman that I believed was in management. She said it shouldn't be much longer, however I told her we were no longer interested. When she came back with the check she told us that the dessert was coming up and she could put it back on the bill. I thought maybe after nearly 30 minutes you would box it up for us and say sorry. Very sorry my parents had to experience a mess from a typically on point staff.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service! The tiramisu was ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food and service! The tiramisu was out of this world!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Good Gravy!

Dined on May 7, 2016

The wine, drinks, food, service were wonderful! Definitely will return. Our server was Jason (I think - sorry! We were there 5/7/16 in 1st booth @ 7:30). Our problem was the noise level. We sat where we did bec I walk w/a cane, so we didn't go downstairs & probably should have. It was OK tho & we all said we'd come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a pleasant surprise.

Dined on May 7, 2016

The customer service was great, food was great also. The bill came out to be a lot cheaper than we had expected (probably b/c we brought our own 2 bottles of wine, $15 corking fee each). I definitely recommend this place if you guys are a Italian cuisine lovers. Although there are probably 2 other places that we've been to that we know for sure are better. But I would still suggest you check this place out once. The crowd is great and the employees too. Viva Italia!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Consistently high quality food, great se ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Consistently high quality food, great selection of wines by the glass. Can be pretty noisy on busy nights!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was awesome, and the food was ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Our server was awesome, and the food was worth coming back for.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a wonderful server who was very h ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a wonderful server who was very helpful with recommendations. The Gnocchi was AMAZING and we would come back just for this dish. It was a bit loud in the upstairs area but thankfully we were seated downstairs where we could hear each other. The only opportunity for improvement was the bar where there was no inquiry if we wanted our bill until I had to grab her attention after our table was ready. Just a slight hassle but our overall experience was great.

food5
ambience4
service4

Eggplant pie is unreal. Oh so yummy!

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Eggplant pie is unreal. Oh so yummy!

food3
ambience4
service4

The first time we went to Gravy was amaz ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

The first time we went to Gravy was amazing. Girlfriend got lasagna and I got gnocchi. This past experience wasn't quite as great. We went more traditional with spaghetti and meatballs and chicken parmesan. The food was good, but not great. I felt like I could make something equivalent at home. The risotto balls were the highlight of the meal. They are amazing. I would definitely recommend them. If I go again I'll opt for more adventurous menu items.

food4
ambience3
service3

Good meal but not the best I've had when ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Good meal but not the best I've had when it comes to Italian. I would go back however. Like most downtown restaurants it's very cozy and you are seated very close to other guests. It's done like that making best use of the available space but it makes for a very loud dining experience when it's shoulder to shoulder. Service was a bit slow but it was a busy Friday night so I wasn't annoyed by it

food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Meager portions

Dined on April 20, 2016

Not a lot of food for the money. Drinks were pricey. Service was very good and attentive. Really disappointed in the menu.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and drinks

Dined on April 18, 2016

Very pleasurable experience. The staff was very nice, and the food was delicious. I got the calamari as an appetizer and the lasagna. They were both ilamazing. I also got a Manhattan, which was very well made. Noise is not really a problem. I wish the prices were a little cheaper, but the quality food you receive is worth it. I love this place and will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Gravy never disappoints

Dined on April 17, 2016

Gravy is one of our favorite restaurants in the triangle. The food is always delicious, the service is remarkable, and the atmosphere is perfect! We will be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome Dining!

Dined on April 11, 2016

What a wonderful restaurant! We went to dinner to celebrate a birthday and not one of us left disappointed with our meal. Our waitress was knowledgeable and helpful in recommending menu items. Will definitely be going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.