Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Gratzzi Grille

If you're craving classic Italian food in a classy environment, Gratzzi Italian Grille is the place to eat. Choose from your favorite sultry pasta, meat dishes, including chicken, seafood and veal among others. Gratzzi's menu offers an array of feasts to satisfy your Italian cravings, which also includes classic insalatas and paninis for lunch and dinner.

211 2nd Street South
St. Petersburg, FL 33701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean, Continental

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00AM - 4:00PM.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday, Sunday: 4:00PM - 10:00PM. Friday - Saturday: 4:00PM - 11:00PM

Cross Street:
2nd Ave South

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 623-9037

Website:
http://www.gratzzigrille.com/

Catering:
Please contact us for more information.

Parking Details:
We have parkling on the adjacent streets as well as complimentary parking on the weekends on the first floor of the parking garage directly across the street from our restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Tony Mangiafico

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact us for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Dominic: (727) 623-9037

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Gratzzi Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (19)
Good for a Date (19)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Fun (12)
Casual (11)
Business Meals (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Comfort Food (9)
People Watching (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Romantic (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Cozy (4)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
592 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Dinner is always exceptional and a fun evening. Parmesan and salmon risotto is the best.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Hot Spot, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Beyond excellent. Gratzzi strives for perfection in service to match the peerless products of its kitchen.
Voted best Italian restaurant in the Bay area, but I think it is the best restaurant, period.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Always a good choice for a night out in St. Petersburg. The food and service could not have been better

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 23, 2017

First visit and would go again. Lively, terrific Italian food.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food was pretty good but the restaurant feels dated and a bit dirty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Our experience was definitely less than expected and disappointing. The server was not friendly - he was very disengaged and didn't smile the entire time. I felt like he hated being there. The food was extremely slow to be served. We waited 15 minutes for our drink order, 20 minutes later he took our order, another 20 minutes before the salad/soups, and 30 minutes later our entree was served. In our reservation, I made a note of this occasion being a birthday celebration for two of us and there was no mention of it during the evening - yet we saw three other tables with birthdays where the staff brought out a dessert with a candle and the staff sang Happy Birthday. On top of that the dining room was so hot that we couldn't enjoy our meal. I left with a splitting headache from the heat and the noise. Even though the food was good, overall we did not enjoy the evening due to the service and the temperature in the dining room. We will try again and hope that our experience is much improved.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Celebrated my husband's birthday and could not have been happier with the food, service, and ambiance. The food recommendations from the server were superb and ended evening with the best tiramisu and cannoli we have ever had before. They also brought a round of limoncello. Will be back again soon and would recommend to everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Downtown St Pete has several exceptional restaurants, but Gratzzi's stands out, even among these stars. There is a flaming appetizer called Bada Bing which quite possibly is the best dish I have ever tasted. Service is elegant with attention to detail. Even the simple things are special: the bread, the house salad, the house reds by the glass. Equal mix of locals and visitors, because it is just that good.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Amazing food and the service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Dear, dear Gratzzi: what the hell happened tonight??? Were you understaffed or overcrowded? We have been dining with you for years and tonight service was way, way off. We waited 30 minutes to place a wine order and then another 20 minutes for a glass of wine. Andrew was attentive of our water glasses, but totally out of touch with our meal and our wine service and service in general. Maybe it was a kitchen problem because we watched in the mirror and every time Andrew went into the kitchen he was in there way too long. Did Andrew bear the brunt of an understaffed kitchen? Might we suggest that wait staff pitch in to get out a meal. It seemed everything was on Andrew's shoulders and he had no back up. In addition, was there an air conditioner problem? The three of us came out of your restaurant dripping wet from the heat. It pains me to give low stars to you, but tonight deserves it. On the positive side, our food was , as we expected, excellent, flavorful, hot, beautiful in presentation and delicious. So look at the stars in this review. Low ratings for service, good ratings for food. Talk about a high and a low! Tonight will not stop us from coming back as you do put out delicious food but assess what happened tonight and clean up your service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 8, 2017

What a wonderful experience, we had an early brunch with the, "Bada bing" simply amazing. The staff was as friendly as the food was marvalous! A perfect 5 star experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This is one our favorite restaurants in downtown St Pete!!! The menu is varied with delicious dining options for all palates. Plus, they also have an expansive wine & coctltail menu. This is our "go to place", whether it's just the two of us or when we have friends and family in town.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our first visit, but won't be our last! The food is exceptional! We loved the atmosphere inside and out!

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Good Italian restaurant with a large menu; lots of offerings. Traditional Italian and Northern Italian.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Excellent service, food and wine. The Cavatelli Bada Bing is a must try. We had it as an appetizer for 4 people and it was just enough. The table side cooking process is an added bonus.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Great food, great service, great value; a must destination in St Petersburg

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Excellent! Will definitely return! Everyone in our party gave it rave reviews!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Excellent food as always, service was attentive but not intrusive. Waitress was knowledgeable and pleasent. Ambiance is up-scale but way too loud as we were seated in a nice window facing booth that was in the bar.Will return .

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Our overall experience was excellent. We were greeted immediately. Our table was ready. The server was outstanding. The menu selection was filled with great choices. Our meals were authentic and the portions were huge. One of the best Italian meals I've had in the Bay Area.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Authentic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The pasta was homemade and it was incredible! Our server Jorge was hilarious, very attentive and took such good care of us! Entrees are unique so I wouldn't recommend for picky eaters, but it was delicious if you're willing to try different ingredients! We'll definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 29, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in town! Great place for almost any occasion.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 28, 2017

This is by far the most authentic Italian restaurant in St. Pete. Everything is perfectly cooked and beautifully served. The servers give generous attention without being annoying.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great Food, enjoyed every bite.
Didn't know I could reserve a booth, will know better next time I make reservations. I was accommodated. Belated Father's Day dinner. All were happy. THANKS!

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 20, 2017

After dining in St. Pete. many times never ate at this restaurant. What a great surprise! Food was excellent, fun atmosphere and price was reasonable. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Lovely old world feel and romantic ambiance. Loved some of the table side preparations on certain menu items. Food was very good and creative with the traditional Italian favorites one would expect to see on a menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Gone downhill. Ordered a pasta dish which was "on special " for $42, after server told me it could've been done without truffle oil which I cannot eat. Came out with truffle oil embedded inside of the pasta. Server brought in place a bland penne pasta with marinara sauce with nothing else on it so I asked to have it redone with the same sides. Instead it came out with completely different sides which were even worse. Very disappointing that this $42 dish was not removed from our bill since they could not make what I ordered. In addition, the mozzarella used on my husbands dish was not the fresh burrata type they used to use. Seemed to have been shredded Cheese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We chose it because of its proximity to the Dali Museum. Great ambiance, excellent Italian cuisine, very good cocktails, and friendly, good service. Priced appropriately, it's not cheap but it's worth every cent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Gratzzi's is one of my favorite Italian restaurant in the United States. It is always outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Our food was great but our waiter Stephen just did not seem interested in our table. He maybe smiled once and it took forever to place our order. Otherwise the cavatappi bada bing is amazing and they always have great specials !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The swordfish special was outstanding as was the veal special with the burrata and greens.
Friendly and attentive service from Bella.
Only downfall was rude, noisy diners at an adjoining table. Ask to sut in the large dining room vs the smaller room behind the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I went for the early bird dinner as I had tickets for the ball game at 7.
This is by far the best early bird in St Pete. Excellent food and value.
Plus they have free parking across the street which makes it that much better.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Waiters at Grattzi are awesome!!! Food was excellent!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food is always excellent here but the service tonight was really poor. Once seated It took 10+ minutes to be acknowledged by anyone and that was a busboy who delivered the bread, said absolutely nothing and left our water glasses empty. My date asked a nearby server to find our waiter and there seemed to be confusion between two waiters. Apparently they were short one waiter and the manager never assigned our table to anyone. The young lady who finally took our table was very nice and apologized but even she was negligent in filling water glasses and providing overall great service. Probably not her fault but the experience left us feeling dissatisfied.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Excellent food and service, Great place to eat in downtown St Pete!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Food was amazing, great wine, great atmosphere. Service is always impeccable.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Great food and great service. Best Calamari Fritte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The food was excellent; but, our server was not one I would recommend. He seemed friendly enough, had a nice smile, but wouldn't complete the table side dish for which the restaurant is known despite the dish being prepared by other servers all around us. He also indicated that a requested substitution would be honored but "the manager wasn't happy about it"--that was a downer for the diners. Lastly, one of the items ordered by a member of the party was never delivered. Server's name was Alberto, request someone else.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our waiter Stewart and the homemade pasta served up by our table with the big cheese bowl!! Great meal, wonderful service and fun atmosphere. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Food was good as was service. Somewhat pricey. Very noisy even in side room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.